About Seaview at Ocean Place

1 Ocean Blvd
Long Branch, NJ 07740
View Larger Map

With stunning ocean views and a newly remodeled dining room, Seaview introduces itself as one of New Jersey's premier oceanfront restaurants. Enjoy a cocktail at our beautiful marble-top bar, celebrate with family and friends at a large table, or cuddle up in a quiet, candle-lit corner with a loved one. Chef Peter Csikos has put his signature twist on a world-class contemporary menu. Dive into his seasonal specialties including a slow-cooked short rib burger, with hand cut French fries -- or try his unique daily pasta and fresh catch specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Breakfast: Saturday & Sunday 7am - 12pm
Brunch: (winter months only) Sunday: 11am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Seafood Buffet Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 9pm

Live entrainment on the weekends

Cross Street:
South Broadway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 571-5767

Website:
http://www.oceanplace.com/dine/

Entertainment:
Our oceanfront seating area boasts stunning views and live music throughout the year. Call ahead for schedule of entertainment and specials

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Our executive chef is happy to work with you to cater any sized event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available in our secure hotel lot for all dining room guests.

Public Transit:
We are walking distance from the Long Branch train station on the NJ Transit East Coast line.

Executive Chef:
Peter Csikos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Seaview at Ocean Place
Seaview at Ocean Place

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Seaview at Ocean Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.0

service

2.6

ambience

3.1

value

2.4

noise

Moderate

30% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (4)
special occasion (3)
great for lunch (2)
See All
kid-friendly (2)
fit for foodies (2)
great for brunch (2)
good for groups (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
notable wine list (1)
romantic (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
39 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It took a long time for us to get menus ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It took a long time for us to get menus and have a waitress take our order. After we ordered, we waited a long time for our food. We sat down at 12:45 pm and didn't leave until almost 3 pm. That wasn't because we were lingering over our food, it was because it took so long for our waitress to bring it to us. The restaurant was not busy at all and they had lots of people setting tables and walking around. Our waitress did not seem busy either. She just kept disappearing. This is a very expensive restaurant and when you are paying top dollar for a meal, I expect better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

FYI, Beach resort so buffet was they o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

FYI, Beach resort so buffet was they offered. It was good for all you can each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Very disappointed in the entire experien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very disappointed in the entire experience. Not so much the restaurant but the hotel accommodations . Never came to clean our room asked 4 times. Will not go back. This was our 3rd trip. There and it has changed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I'm sorry, this restaurant was not good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I'm sorry, this restaurant was not good at all. We booked our reservations through Opentable. It was the July 4th weekend, we had no problem getting a table because the place was basically empty. Upon walking in we were shocked how empty it was. However, it is a beautiful place. The outside, The Tiki Bar was packed with middle aged people. We asked for a window to see the ocean. We got a window next to the Tiki bar, with tons of drunks blocking the view to the ocean. The hostess asked if we want a menu or wanted to eat from the buffet. After going to our seat and looking at the menu we felt that it would be better eating from the buffet. We sat there and sat there for a half hour, the only one who came right over was a young man to give us our water. Finally, I asked the hostess what should we do. She stated that we could just go to the buffet and help ourselves and our wait staff would be around shortly to get our drink order. Well another 30-40 minutes later, we asked what was going on. The people next to us were even more upset, they were there longer and received the same crummy service. Finally, when our waitress came by she was very sweet and apologetic. Meanwhile, the manager came over to speak to the people who were sitting next to us and then we nicely explained our disappointment and made some suggestions to maybe help in the future, he was apologetic but right away blamed the hostess. Our bill was $100...2 buffets, one glass of wine. How do you tip the waitress? And he didn't even through in a glass of wine or take anything off the bill. Just horrible. BTW the buffet was room temp to cold. Save your time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Menu on website showed the hours for bru ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Menu on website showed the hours for brunch as 11-2, so we booked for 11:15. We got tree to find out that there was no brunch, but we could do breakfast buffet. Wish we knew there was no brunch. A bit over priced for the breakfast we got, but it has a nice view and the tiki bar outside for drinks afterwards is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Saturday night busy but our open table r ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Saturday night busy but our open table reservation was recognize right away

With crowd they did a buffet but offered menu items two of us did buffet and one menu

Food selection and quality were good

Service by hostess and Sean our waiter were great

Drinks well served

Busy hotel feel but service and quality were what we were looking for nice job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were so excited to go to seaview for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were so excited to go to seaview for the first time. The bar is lovely though bartenders could've been a little more friendly and attentive - I ordered a second drink but the bartender never came back! Before making reservations, I went on their website to view the menu and saw so many things we wanted to try. However when we went to be seated we were told they were only offering a buffet - their website did not say anything of the sort! We were too hungry to find another place so we decided to stay thinking the food would be great but it was not. To top it all off, one of the waiters served me lobster bisque from the buffet, then threw the ladel back in the crock pot and the soup splashed all over my dress. Everyone just shrugged it off. Not the experience we thought it was going to be at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

bad service with poor quality food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was served almost cold temperature. Waiter never brought an appetizer that we ordered . Chicken in chicken piccata was dry. Hamburger was ordered medium, but was cooked well done and dry. Even french fries was bad. The only item that was good was pecan cheesecake. Overpriced for mediocre quality of food and very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Mother's Day - excellent

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect for Mother's Day brunch - waiter service outstanding, table Setting nice, ambiance relaxing, buffet set up easy and great selection of food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too high of a tip!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Nice buffet but could have been a better value, the 21% in cluded in the tip was far to high for a buffet!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food outstanding, service very prompt + ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food outstanding, service very prompt + friendly (Sharon) Special requests handled promptly. Comfortable seating, low noise level, piano entertainment a plus! A great experience on a cold March day. We will be back - soon!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice place

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We went during the off season so it wasn't crowded. The service was great and the food was great too. There was a live band that played after dinner in the nearby lobby area. My 6 and 9 year old loved it too.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a Great Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We never had a Waitress come to greet us and bring us drinks. We had to find a Waitress to order drinks. The Brunch was not good. Most of the food was cold and when you go to open the tray to put the food on your plate, the lid falls off and there is no one to help put it back on so you are holding your plate and struggling to get the lid closed.

There was no bread to make toast for your breakfast. We had to also ask for that. There were no Pancakes or French toast. There was a Waffle Maker but no one was making Waffles. We were extremely excited to go there for Valentine's day and we were completely disappointed. We were waiting for over a half hour for our check when we decided to get up and go find where to pay and sure enough that is when the Waitress came and found us. Extremely disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Very slow service from the kitchen - be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Very slow service from the kitchen - be prepared to wait. Waitresses are good but it's too bad they have to get the brunt of it. Be patient with the servers / but there's no excuse for slow service in the kitchen (when there's virtually no one else dining)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good but poorly set up

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

The good news is the food is good. Not great, average. We weren't sure if we wanted to do the buffet or order off of the menu but our server suggested it would be cheaper to do the buffet. Looking over the menu we assumed much of what was there was available at the buffet. Unfortunately the way it is set up unless you walk around the entire thing first you won't realize until too late if there are things for you to eat. There was no tray with cold meats and cheeses, but there was some fruit, muffins and rolls, bacon, sausage, 2 kinds of potatoes, and at least 5 people making made-to-order omelets. However, since I don't eat eggs, after getting bacon and potatoes I went to get french toast or pancakes. But there were none. Only made-to-order waffles, which I also don't eat. I asked about them and was told they had to be ordered off of the menu. Now I had food on my plate but not enough to make a meal. Fortunately our server was equally as confused and was kind enough to arrange the bill so I wasn't charged for both the buffet and the french toast I had to order ala carte. But, even though it wasn't overly crowded I waited a ridiculously long time for the french toast (server kept telling me the kitchen was backed up). The food was good, as I said. Not sure it was worth all of the overhead. Finally, the floors looked like no one had bothered to sweep up after diners left. There were pieces of food everywhere. I was planning on bringing a party of about 20 to the buffet in October. Given all that went on, I am rethinking this.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Awesome onsite restaurant - Seafood buffet good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Happy to hear there was a seafood buffet being offered onsite for a reasonable price. Arrived on Saturday, happy to have an early check in and more happier to find a 1,000 point reservation on Open Table for their onsite restaurant - Seaview!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Awful . Food was below mediocre. Pork wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Awful . Food was below mediocre. Pork was old and overcooked, pasta had no flavor and was cold. We ordered beer and recieved it after 10 minutes, when there were only 5 tables seated, besides us ( we had an early reservation). Servers were nowhere to be found. Only good part was the live band. We just bought a beach house a block away and we will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Was pleasantly surprised and will bring ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Was pleasantly surprised and will bring others back with me.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Spur of the moment

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Did a quick look for 1000 pt restaurants and chose this for location. We chose to sit outside for the view even though there are different menus for each. Menu is not the same as menu listed on open table site. They did allow us to order off either menu as we did not want bar food. We had water glasses on table but our drinks were served in plastic cups which were changed upon request. Can't drink wine in a plastic cup. The menu was not extensive but the food was very good. We both had seafood. Service was a little slow but the waitress was very pleasant and attentive. Will probable return after the summer season ends. Open table should advise that the parking is free but you need to deposit 20 dollars and get it returned if your dinner receipt is over 50 dollars.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Food, Horrendous Service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

The food here was delicious, and the ambiance was lovely. But the service was terrible! It took 10 min before someone even approached us, took about 30 min to get our drinks (the server had to come back a second time to ask for our drink order again), and the drinks we received were not the ones we ordered. So it took another 15 min before that was fixed. The service here is terrible. During out dinner, we watched a party get up and leave because they waited for over an hour to get their food. I would have recommended this place if it weren't for the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Great outdoor beach dining

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Sit outside overlooking the ocean on a weekend and get the seafood buffet. A great experience with good seafood selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Not Great

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Well, the bar is nice and our bartender was fantastic. That's as good as it gets. Both bartenders made faces when we asked what food to order. They both recommended other places in the area and said that the only thing worth ordering on the menu were the Drunken Clams. It was after 7pm on a Saturday night and the place was completely empty. Not a good sign. There was a buffet that we ended up getting. The cocktail shrimp were very good and the raw clams and oysters were fresh. One other item, a bourbon steak was decent. Everything else was 'meh'.....

Won't be going back except maybe to stay at the hotel which is supposed to be very nice.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Biggest disappointment was menu was so u ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

Biggest disappointment was menu was so unlike Open Table's posted menu. Both dinners were also luke-warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

GREAT EXPERIENCE!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Had a fantastic dinner. We had the Scallops which were larger than any I have seen served in a restaurant and the steak which was big juicy and done medium rare just the way I like it. Our waiter was very pleasant and went beyond the call of duty to help us make our decisions. One of the drinks we wished to order was only to be gotten by the waiter going to the outside bar which was jam packed with people partying outside! So, he brought us samples of the drinks we thought we would like, which was so nice for him to do! It was my friends birthday and he even sang to her! We were not rushed, (got there 5:30pm) and left around 7/7:30 pm. It was a nice relaxing pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

disappointing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

Did not expect the prices we found. Only had soup and salad as the rest was so overpriced. Fun atmosphere ,salad was presented as interesting but can't really call this gourmet dining/

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great view

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

It was my girlfriend and I first time dining at Seaview. We were very happy with the outdoor dining area set up for the restaurant. It was quiet and has a great view of the ocean. Overall, for the price we paid though the quality of the food fell short. This spot is definitely more for those looking for a great atmosphere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Amazing as usual

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

My husband and I have been choosing the Ocean Place for celebratory meals and special occasions for about a year now. The service and food are both always outstanding and we love the comfortable atmosphere. We are looking forward to many future visits.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

"We ran out of that"

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

Didn't have many dinner menu items because they ran out of food during brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Dinner at Seaview at Ocean Place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Starting off, the menu was completely different from anything online which is why we chose it. The service was OK - however, there are no busses, the waiters essentially do everything and disappear at times. Management tries to support which is why we gave it a good. The food was overly salty across the board. The management offered free desert, which was appreciated, but they need to look at how they prepare their dishes. It was OK, and we may try it again in the summer to see how it is outside, but it was not someplace that we have to go back to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Large group for brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2015

We were a group of 7 on a day when a major event was taking place in the area. Excellent food, prompt and friendly service, and no sense of being rushed. We sat for 2 hours!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lack luster service/view. Food hit or miss.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2015

Although the restaurant was deserted, the hostess had us wait for her phone call to end before acknowledging us. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant instead of by the floor to ceiling scenic windows. The waiter handed us menus and then asked for drinks, not giving us a wine list until we asked. My husband asked to put in an appetizer and the waiter told us we had to wait until he brought back our drinks. After bringing our drinks he left again.

When we could order there were no specials. The mahi dinner with lobster risotto and lump crab salad sounded delicious. Unfortunately when my husband tried to order it, he was told they don't have it. I asked if they were substituting another fish in and was bluntly told no. I explained to the waiter that the sides were what we were interested in and if there was any way to get one of those...No.

He brought us stale bread, and cold butter that tasted of refrigerator. The barbecue shrimp appetizer was good, but the crab hash it was served with was delicious.

My salmon dinner was overcooked and bland. His tuna dinner was very good.

Over all, the restaurant has great decor, with an ok view. Our server was terrible and disinterested in making our visit enjoyable. The food had potential, but was not consistently good.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Outstanding

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

My husband and I had an incredible dinner at Seaview. It was quiet, intimate and cozy. The staff was attentive, including the manager who came over to our table twice. The food was absolutely delectable. The menu is inventive and has something for everyone. Everything is fresh and is served hot. Everything about Seaview is amazing and we are looking forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food seems like an afterthought

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

Bread was cold, chicken was dry, ravioli wasn't fresh, and the apple pie and molten chocolate cake were both cold. The service was fine, but the poor, inexperienced girl had no support considering the food was so bad. The ambience is nice and the place looks great, but the food is an utter travesty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Great spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2014

First things first, the menu's light up, so that's cool. There was almost no one else there, which surprised me. You can see the beach from where you sit and its beautiful. Food was cool/good too! Worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Impressed with their new menu!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

Ocean Place has made major renovations in the past year, starting with the rooms and continuing through their dining venues. There is now a huge nice indoor bar. We ate outside, near the tiki bar and live band. The menu has been completely revamped, and has a lot of seafood, shellfish and fish options.the food was really great. We ordered several appetizers, including the scallops, ceviche and truffle fries (was a side, but we couldn't wait). For entrees, most had fish, and someone had the skirt steak. Everything came out cooked to the requested temperature, and the sides were yummy. My only complaint was that the umbrellas were up at night and there was no lighting, so we really couldn't see what we were eating. Will definitely go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A basic hotel restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

While Seaview claims that they are a seaside fine dining experience, it is just a typical hotel restaurant. Small servings, basically prepared with little imagination. For example, the grouper with quinoa was very small, served only with a side of quinoa. This was $32. The pork chop was just a cooked pork chop. Veal Milanese was decent, with a nice arugula salad topping. However the veal was over fried and on the dry side. Appetizers were OK, but also quite small.

You are paying for the "ambiance" of ocean front dining. However, if the Seaview wants to attract diners other than hotel guests, they need to step up their game. There are many other better dining choices in the area.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Poor Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

I have never written a bad review of a restaurant but I can't help myself. We arrived on time for our 8PM reservation and were seated quickly in a half-filled restaurant. Then we waited 20 minutes and nobody served us. Finally I grabbed a busboy and asked him to send over our server. Somebody finally came over, then had to leave to get the drink menu. She took our drink order and never came back. We waited another 20 minutes before the drinks arrived. I complained again that nobody took our order and a 2nd server showed up and took our order. Then a 3rd server showed up, said he was our server & took our order again. We did not actually eat until 9:30. The food was fair (not great) and to be fair the Maitre'd took 15% off our bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great View

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2014

The food, service and view were great. The oceanfront dining was really nice. However, on a windy day it can be very cold. I would recommend the restaurant use heaters. We asked our server to bring us pool towels, which she very nicely did. But it was still cold and our food got cold quickly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

An Enjoyable Dinner!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2014

Our first experience at Seaview was a positive one. This past Sat night they have a band playing outside so it was fun having dinner with the live music. The food was very good, crab cakes were the standout dish. I will definitely come for dinner again during the summer season. The restaurant is part of the hotel and is right next to Pier Village so location is prime. The parking attendant never heard of the restaurant so maybe the hotel should do a better job of making the place known to their workers. We were almost steered in the wrong direction but found the restaurant on our own.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.