About Seasons At The Ocean House

One Bluff Avenue
Westerly, RI 02891
View Larger Map

At the Ocean House's fine dining restaurant, the perfect accompaniment to every meal is a stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean. The menu at Seasons changes daily and exemplifies the "farm-to-table" concept that reflects our commitment to using the freshest local ingredients and inspires the cuisine throughout the resort. Seasons dinner offers a Three Course Menu at $90.00 per person, while breakfast and lunch offer an ala Carte experience. The traditional decor and open exhibition kitchen provide a dining experience unlike any other in the region.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:30am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday Evenings: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 584-7000

Website:
http://oceanhouseevents.com/

Executive Chef:
John Kolesar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our Special Events Website for all of our exclusive events ranging from wine tasting to guest Chef dinner on the first Wednesday of each month.
oceanhouseevents.com

Restaurant Photos

Venison
La Colonial
Ricotta Tartlet
Green Salad With Green Apple And Fennel Bread
Eclipse
Mini Olive Rosemary Baguette
French 75
Amouse Bouche Yukon Potato Applewood Smoked Bacon Soup
Line Caught Cod
Pheasant
Yellow Fin Tuna
Chocolate Goat Cheese Semifreddo
Roasted Winter Vegetables With Polenta.  Special Order, Compliments Chef Miles

Seasons At The Ocean House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Romantic
Rhode Island
Scenic View
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Westerly ›

Scenic View (48)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (31)
See All
Great for Brunch (23)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had the 3 course meal. The food was grea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had the 3 course meal. The food was great but the portions were very small.

I'm not a big eater (150lbs), but I left still hungry.

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This was truly a memorable experience. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was truly a memorable experience. The setting was beautiful, the service was wonderful and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a gift from a family member. It ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was a gift from a family member. It was a wonderful gift! We are planning our next brunch as soon as possible! The staff was outstanding , views breathtaking and all in all a wonderful experience !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seasons at the Ocean House prepared the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Seasons at the Ocean House prepared the best swordfish dinner that I have ever tasted. The scallops were also cooked to perfection. I will certainly eat there on my next trip to Rhode Island.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the view from Seasons at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

You can't beat the view from Seasons at The Ocean House, and the gracious service and bottomless cocktails during the Sunday brunch were much appreciated. The food was good, not great especially at the $65 pp price tag, the pace is relaxed and sophisticated. It's the experience here: Great views of the ocean (and Taylor Swift's rocky perch), lovely furnishings and linens, a wide array of buffet food items, and lovely service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy. Our waiter Ian gets 5 sta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always enjoy. Our waiter Ian gets 5 stars. Sad to note that not all men were in jackets. It is one of the rare restaurants where you actually dress for dinner. Please keep it that way.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A tremendous place... The food was excel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

A tremendous place... The food was excellent. It was an excellent choice for my wife's birthday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ocean House is a magnificent hotel l ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Ocean House is a magnificent hotel located along a gorgeous stretch of beach. It is a treat to visit in the summer and to enjoy the extraordinary atmosphere. I booked a dinner at the Seasons Restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and was deeply disappointed with the experience. The concept of locally sourced, farm to table ingredients is not so special any more. Nonetheless, I appreciate that approach to designing a menu. And the dinner that was served was tasty but the food was precious in the extreme. At $47 per main course, dinner was barely enough to feed an anorexic teenager. It was artfully presented, but the portions were laughably small . We literally laughed out loud when the meal was served.

Our server was lovely. But I felt cheated by the experience of paying top dollar for a microscopic meal. I would not return to Seasons and would definitely not recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Fixed menu/3 course meal, not many optio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fixed menu/3 course meal, not many options, food was not hot, and service was 3 hours for only two of us. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The setting and view from our table was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The setting and view from our table was wonderful. But the food was not so great, especially at the price. My wife felt her food was high quality but the presentation a little fussy. I had the veal and it was not very good. Not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Made a reservation -- as it turned out m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Made a reservation -- as it turned out my friend and I were the only ones in the entire restaurant for lunch until a party of 4 arrived as we were finishing. A very rainy day so this is probably why. A gentleman took our cocktail order, another waitress brought it to us - we gave our order and it was served. Never saw another person until I hailed someone as they walked by to see if they could get our check. No follow up for follow thru at all.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Once again, this is the best restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Once again, this is the best restaurant we have eaten at this year. We are from Boston and spend a week every summer in Rhode Island at the beach and treat ourselves to a dinner at the Ocean House . It is always a wonderful experience with local, seasonal ingredients, expertly prepared foods and fantastic sommelier recommendations for wine pairings. We have never had a meal in any Boston restaurant that is as consistently good as our dinner here every summer for the past eight years or so. This year, the service was a little uneven (waited for a while for menus, had to ask for napkins, little things that were not a big deal but were less than the stellar service we have received in the past) but the food and overall experience are so superb that we still had an amazing time once again. Absolutely love this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Just a beautiful location. We had made ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Just a beautiful location. We had made a reservation for Sunday brunch. Service was good, especially at the lounge as we waited for our table. Unfortunately, the quality of the food was just fair for this price point which ultimately was disappointing. We would recommend the Inn at Castle Hill in Newport by comparison, or any Newport Restaurant Group restaurant. The outstanding food, service, and location justify the top dollars.

Sorry, Ocean House. We were expecting better.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Brought family of 5 to celebrate wedding ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Brought family of 5 to celebrate wedding anniversary. Beautiful hotel and restaurant. Everyone loved the buffet choices, although the portions were very small. Newly trained and confused waitstaff was a bit disappointing as this was a very expensive brunch (over $300 for our family) and we had a high expectation of service. Our a la cart breakfast order was not taken until late in the seating, and by the time it arrived we were no longer hungry. Dirty dishes sat on our table for far too long before being cleared and we were rarely asked if we needed anything. Overall the food was good, but at such a high price we were looking forward to and expecting outstanding service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The Ocean House is a grand hotel, superi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Ocean House is a grand hotel, superior now to the vintage when the original was built, an icon of days gone bye, with up-to-date menus for the food in the restaurant. It is a bit expensive for frequent patronage, but excellent for the right kind of event. And always tour the hotel and the grounds. It is all part of the experience.

The entrees for brunch are sometimes so unusually good, like the prosciutto hash or the seared ahi. Sometimes there are mistakes, like combining barbecue with hollandaise. This weekend it was pastrami hash, which did underwhelm a bit compared to other options like the excellent shrimp crepes and the steak crepes, or the raw bar, or the desserts. Where else do you find French macaroons in the US? Not often, at least, but regularly at the Ocean House and this Sunday, too.

It is so worth saving up a few bucks to go to the brunch here.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always over delivers!!! The wine list i ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always over delivers!!! The wine list is fantastic and the service impeccable. The menu choices were both seasonal and rewarding. I can't wait for my return visit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The portions are extremely small. The f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The portions are extremely small. The food is bland. Our bill for two was $300. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

I was vey disappointed in my experience, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was vey disappointed in my experience, and I can not understand how this restaurant got the prestigious ratings it has. The place basically has no decor and relies on its view. No flowers, wall hangings, or ways to create ambiance. I was celebrating an anniversary and was seated within ear shot of a wailing toddler, then a large family of 6 (very loud) were seated near us. I could not hear any music or our own conversation! The chef seemed incapable of cooking rare meat. Because the steak had to be sent back (very hesitantly by our server) , we ate our meals separately. Long time in waiting for a new glass os wine while food was getting cold. Alas, it took 40 minutes to get our check paid after we were done.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I was seated promptly at a window seat, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was seated promptly at a window seat, where my view was the Atlantic Ocean. The service was excellent and the food impeccable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch at the Ocean House is always a sp ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch at the Ocean House is always a special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant was absolutely fabulous ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant was absolutely fabulous and the scenic view was gorgeous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean House Seasons offers stunning scen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Ocean House Seasons offers stunning scenery, fine wine, a delicious luncheon menu at an affordable price! It is a favorite gathering place when my sisters come into town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun to enjoy lunch with such a fa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always fun to enjoy lunch with such a fantastic view! The staff is always very friendly and the food is delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a place to celebrate ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were looking for a place to celebrate our engagement and could not have picked a more amazing place. The food, the staff and the atmosphere were perfect and made the day even more special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought everything was beautiful, food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Thought everything was beautiful, food was very good and the waitstaff was superb. Only one disappointment...could not get to the beach unless you were a hotel guest. We were looking forward to a nice stroll after a lovely brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third time to the Ocean Hou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our third time to the Ocean House for lunch. The setting is very nice. But once again as in the past, the food was not great. I had the fish and chips and the fish was tough. My wife had a scallop roll and she said the scallop in the sandwich was scant. I also noticed a certain malaise among the staff. I did not really sense a warm and fuzzy feeling from them . Also, we came for lunch and we were offered a table in a room with no one else in it. I insisted that we sit in the front room that had other diners in it because it would not have been any fun to sit by ourselves.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

On our way to Nantucket, we make stop in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

On our way to Nantucket, we make stop in the area and have dinner at the Ocean House. It is our reward after fighting the I-95 traffic for hours. We have doing this for the past 2years. The food is amazing, the service is warm and welcoming and it is a beautiful inn and restaurant . It was by far our best dinner of the vacation !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an annual event for us when we a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is an annual event for us when we are in RI. A "don't miss" experience. The service is excellent and attentive without being obsequious. The menu and dishes are creative, fun and delicious. We really can't think of anything we would want them to improve on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brittany, our server, was excellent. Sh ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Brittany, our server, was excellent. She made us feel welcome and created a wonderful atmosphere. The hostess who called to confirm the reservation, plus the hostess who showed us to our seat, made us feel less than welcome. What she didn't know is that my dearest and oldest friend with whom I was dining, is married to an accomplished chef, and both of us have had our fair share of dining at comparable establishments. There must be a better way to have a first impression. On the phone, she asked us if we were actually coming, twice, and then when we arrived, showed us the prix fix menu to ensure we were prepared for the price. I would suggest that they ask to "confirm" our arrival, and share the cost of the prix fix items over the phone in case a guest may be uncomfortable once seared. While we were prepared to foot the bill, I'm sure someone else might be a little surprised; showing the menu as a way to disclose the price puts the diner in an uncomfortable spot. Phone disclosure might allow another diner to bow out without feeling the embarrassment of bowing out in front of a special date. On the flip side, we decided to come back for drinks and appetizers the next day because of the warmth that Brittany showed during our meal. We left on such a high note that it completely overshadowed our first impression.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the tablewas not available We waited 45 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

the tablewas not available We waited 45 min. the manger of both the club and the four seasons were very helpful and even waited on the table wait staff not very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Lovely brunch. We were surprised at firs ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lovely brunch. We were surprised at first by the cost ($62/person), but it was worth it. The staff really let you ale your time and enjoy your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You really have to appreciate molecular ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

You really have to appreciate molecular gastronomy to enjoy the food at Seasons. I'm not particularly thrilled with it but the food was very good. Mostly everything is locally sourced or somewhat locally sourced. The little green salad was outstanding and my veal was very nice. My husband ordered the porchetta appetizer. If you know what porchetta is and expect that you will be baffled! Anyway, I'm over molecular but the restaurant was in our hotel and we enjoyed it well enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great spot and great food. It was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a great spot and great food. It was nice to go home and celebrate at one of the most beautiful hotels in the world, great service combined with excellent food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The waiting staff was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience. The waiting staff was extra courteous, polite and patient. They made us feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Seasons at the Ocean House is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As always, Seasons at the Ocean House is perfect in every way. Being seated by the window, as requested, is an added bonus.

Delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is nothing that can compare to the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

There is nothing that can compare to the view at the Ocean House. The table that was set aside for us was not yet ready, so we were upgraded to table 12 (ask for table 12!), the best seat in the house for 2-4 diners. You can choose from a wide variety of food buffet style, and then you order your main meal. The buffet selections featured delectable items at various stations. Clams on the half shell with various toppings, cold cooked shrimp, little frittatas, croissants, an impressive selections of cheeses, plus oatmeal, fresh berries, etc., etc. I only wish I could have tried everything, but I was saving my appetite for the eggs benedict I'd ordered. That was the only item that was less than stellar because the egg yolks were overcooked and didn't spill out over the ham and English muffin. But that was a very minor disappointment. Unlimited mimosas included! And then there was the dessert bar-- lots of small items-- tarts, fruits, and chocolate delicacies so you could try several different things. Everything we had was mouth-watering. I appreciated the slow pace of the service. The staff was attentive, but we were never made to feel hurried. Is it expensive? Yes, but it's worth it. (I believe the brunch was $62 per person.) I would strongly recommend the Ocean House, especially for a special occasion (it was my mom's 82nd birthday).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Deletions food. Very small portions. Bea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Deletions food. Very small portions. Beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Lunching outside on the veranda terrace ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Lunching outside on the veranda terrace was lovely. Wish I could say the same for the service. Our waiter, who told us this was his third summer working there, could not have received much training during the prior 2 summers. He took our order, disappeared, then served the soup without providing utensils ( we had to ask for them), returned and asked us to reorder! This was only to be outdone by him dropping our coffee cups ( they shattered) and never providing us with the dessert menu- until after we paid. Food was good, the service left something to be desired. Slow...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Expensive for tiny portions. But, it IS ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Expensive for tiny portions. But, it IS an experience...beautiful setting, facility and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and ambiance- but the portion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food and ambiance- but the portions are so small that you're still hungry when you leave- e

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.