Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Seasons At The Ocean House

At the Ocean House's fine dining restaurant, the perfect accompaniment to every meal is a stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean. The menu at Seasons changes daily and exemplifies the "farm-to-table" concept that reflects our commitment to using the freshest local ingredients and inspires the cuisine throughout the resort. Seasons dinner offers a Three Course Menu at $90.00 per person, while breakfast and lunch offer an ala Carte experience. The traditional decor and open exhibition kitchen provide a dining experience unlike any other in the region.

Coming soon to Ocean House: COAST by Jennifer Backman

Offering a seasonal menu that changes nightly and showcases the finest of each season’s products. Our collaboration and proximity to local farms allows us to source the highest quality ingredients of not only the season, but of that day, creating a distinctive dining experience for our guests and allowing us to present the best possible menu every evening.

One Bluff Avenue
Westerly, RI 02891
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:30am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday Evenings: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 584-7000

Website:
http://oceanhouseevents.com/

Executive Chef:
John Kolesar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our Special Events Website for all of our exclusive events ranging from wine tasting to guest Chef dinner on the first Wednesday of each month.
oceanhouseevents.com

Seasons At The Ocean House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (19)
Romantic (18)
Waterfront (18)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Historic (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food. Lots of choices..salad bar was disappointing...good oysters, cocktail shrimp, great selection of desserts...staff was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The table that we sat at was in a terrible spot. My chair was hit numerous times (too many to count) by staff, and other patrons. I mentioned it to on of the servers half way thru our visit and his comment was "Next time you make a reservation you should request a specific table to be sure you don't get that one". We moved the table 5 times back and I finally gave up and my husband switched seats with me... My recommendation is remove that table to allow for a better traffic path... I was not a happy person when I left... Perhaps I should have insisted on a different table but the restaurant was very busy.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great experience! The atmosphere was lovely and the views amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I can't believe how terrible this place was. The views are gorgeous if you are lucky enough to get one of the maybe 10 tables in the front room. That's the only positive thing I can mention. I still don't know if we had a waiter. A couple of people randomly came by to take our order and bring us drinks/food. The food was ok. I had a mediocre salad I could have made at home and a tiny piece of halibut that was decent. The terrible part is that those two things took close to TWO hours to get!! It was ridiculous. Once our order was in no one cared to check in again. Since we were staying at the hotel, I actually got up and left before my birthday cake came out. Best part?? When we got our bill the next day, we noticed the waiter (whoever that was) gave themselves 20% gratuity!! Incredible. I have no idea why this place claims to have 5 stars. For food or for the hotel. It was a huge let down. Don't bother.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food and service were spot on, but the best part of eating here is the spectacular view!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day. Very friendly staff. They make awesome cocktails. Food was excellent, No rush. Nice grounds to walk around. Complementary Valet parking. Nice atmosphere with excellent views.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Late lunch on Mother's Day. A bit underwhelmed given the possibilities- unrivaled view and beautiful atmosphere. Limited menu did not help. Good, if young, staff. Seems like the kitchen is in the throes of an identity crisis. Nevertheless, a must visit.
We will return - just with realistic expectations

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service and food was wonderful. The only issue was that since this was a price fixe meal the tip was included in the bill. We didn't understand that when the bill came and added 20% to the meal portion as well as the wine and liquor. We realized this was the case when we returned home. Since the service was so great we decided not to make it an issue.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day splurge. Came here for a Mother's Day splurge. Ocean house was lovely and exquisite. The only option was the tasting menu and my 7 year old daughter was able to order a hot dog from the regular lunch menu. That being said, we were still charged the full amount for her tasting menu. I just don't think that's right. Even though we'd planned for the three of us to have the tasting menu (meaning we anticipated the expense) it still seems wrong to have been charged that much for a hot dog and fries. My advice is to leave the children home when visiting Ocean House, unless they are gourmet friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful service, amazing food, beautiful location and view. Nice atmosphere. Excellent. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were genuinely greeted by ALL the staff. Our server was congenial and engaging. The food was phenomenal for our 5th Anniversary dinner, the Spring Onion soup reminded my husband of his grandmothers French cooking. Unforgettable! Each meal timed perfectly and presented with great care. There was just enough pause in between meals to engage in conversation and enjoy the view, before dessert was elegantly placed in front of us. A special place to spend a lovely Oceanside evening. It is semi formal dining experience, so wear comfortable appropriate clothing and ignore your clothing to enjoy the experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our favorite place for celebrations! Beautiful view, great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have been to the Ocean House brunch many times through the years & feel it is the best brunch overall in the world. However the quality of the service appears to have declined from the last time I was there, not as attentive, definitely not the 5 star service I had experienced in the past: you had to wait for water glass refills, they were slow to clear off the dirty plates when you went for the next course..a major change was the coffee which came out watery & somewhat strange tasting - it was unclear if this was a quality issue caused by the Ocean House, or whether there was a problem with the beans the got from their supplier Dave's Coffee (the waiter obligingly made another pot using more coffee grounds - it was better but still a bit off). The brunch is still a special experience if you haven'the done it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My husband lives and works in Saudi Arabia....I live and work in Seattle, WA. The Ocean House has been OUR place (and our daughters) for years. We have celebrated special events, as well as a simple meal out. We have/will readily travel from our distances, just so that we may spend time at "The House".....our most recent visit was with our daughter and a special friend of her's....we were delighted in sharing our "House" with him. It was his first experience with you.....you now have another devote.....
Thank you again.....see you soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service was mixed. View was disappointing. Hotel, host and brunch staff were very friendly and attentive. Our waiter was less than good. Name was Sean but his name tag read Dana. Apparently his was stolen or lost so he just wears random names. His attention to service matched this attitude. He did not seem to care. The biggest disappointment had to do with our seating. Visiting a venue named Ocean House one would expect to have a view of the ocean. Our view was of the side lawn. Quality of the food was outweighed. Paying a premium for a meal at an ocean front property and not getting to enjoy the view combined with lackluster service is why I would not recommend to a friend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been many times for Sunday Brunch and loved it. This time it was a holiday and the web site did not note that it would take place in the basement with hundreds of families with children. It should be noted on the web site of changes like that as not to be so surprised and upset once arrived!

However, the staff quickly came to the rescue and accommodated us in every way. It was a happy ending to a shocking beginning thanks to the attentive staff.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My Mom and I were doing a day trip from Boston to visit our old stomping grounds, and lunch at The Ocean House was the highlight. We sat on the porch on the most beautiful of days and could practically see the houses on Block Island it was so clear.
Fitzroy was our server and could not have been nicer or more attentive.
The food was very good. We each had a salad and we ordered a side of French fries. The fries were a tad soft and a little more greasy than I like, but they had good flavor and they gave us the biggest portion ever.
The prices were very reasonable. I think their lunch prices have come down some. I remember thinking before that they were quite pricey, but now they are not.
Also, be sure to stop by the gift shop. It is not your normal hotel gift shop!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went at a slow time and were the only two in the restaurant. The staff was super friendly and very on top of things. No complaints what so ever on anything.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Only negative was that it is billed as a "jazz brunch" but the jazz did not start until 1:00. Also, they should have more lunch options. However, the food was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Every detail was perfect for a very elegant birthday lunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our lunch at Seasons was delightful. I took a friend who has never been there and she loved it. Our servers were wonderful. The Ocean House is one of my favorite places in RI. We will be returning there soon. It was a memorable day!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

A wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was great.The food was perfect and the wait staff was friendly.Great ambiance.This was the third time I have attended the Brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were a party of three adults and one 17 month old. We were received cordially and a high chair was quickly supplied. The wait staff were very accommodating. We loved the raw bar, crepe station, desserts, and of course the main breakfast items we ordered. We took our time, but did not feel rushed. The ocean views are spectacular and the ambience is elegant as well as casual. We were celebrating a birthday (second time around; we were there for the same occasion a few years ago, sans baby), and it is a great place for such an occasion. I've only been there for the Sunday Brunch, which I can highly recommend. I'm sure other meals are of the same high quality.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A great night. Service and food were well above expectation. Wine steward was notable for his knowledge and educational approach. Service was very attentive without being intrusive. Food was delicious. We will be back. Off season is a special treat given the light attendance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is a wonderful resort with a great view. The service is impeccable. It is just right for very special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The absolute best brunch !!! Everything is perfect.....The setting, service and of course, the food !!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at the OH!! This place is for people looking for the 3 hour + dining and food tasting experience . Wonderful wine list and superb service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were really looking forward to brunch at Ocean House. The view and location are spectacular and the menu was something to look forward to on a beautiful Sunday afternoon. However, we were disappointed that there were several items that were not available at our reservation time. For the price and reputation of this highly rated restaurant, I would not expect them to be out of the seafood crepe and several offerings of the dessert.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was delicious, well prepared and attractively presented. Service did not match the food unfortunately. While friendly, servers were not well trained. We had to ask for everything from coffee to champagne refills to silverware. Plates were not cleared timely and our server was very confused by my request for hard eggs on the seafood Benedict. They arrived at the table twice, runny and inedible for me. However we will be back and try again because the food and ambience was terrific.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was just OK.Not a lot of selections for the money compared to other high end buffets and service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always the best atmosphere, the best wait staff, and the best food. This is one of the classiest places you will ever go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was a creative blend and stimulating to taste buds.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a table for two, by the water side window reserved weeks ahead of time,....and 2 tables away sat a screaming 1-2 year old in the dining room at 8pm, which went on for an hour plus, as the mom stood holding the child, walked the child around (grunting and screaming). Bringing large toys for the child into the dining room in an attempt to quiet the child. The parents of course were clueless, and the staff made no attempt to let the parents know they were disrupting the entire dining room. Very attentive servers when they were at our table, however long gaps of no one being around especially just prior to the entree's arriving which showed up barely room temperature, and parts of both dishes were very cool. The chairs are porch wicker chairs made for sitting on a deck, porch or lawn.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wonderful holiday experience as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had brunch with Santa. My girls were swept away by the beautiful decorations and Santa was so amazing. The cuisine is wonderful, abundant and super fresh! We will definitely be going again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been going to the Ocean House for Anniversaries and Birthdays since it reopened. After a bit of struggle to get itself going, it became a premier place to go to enjoy especially the Sunday Brunch. We remember many fine choices for our entrees, like seared ahi, prosciutto hash, eggs with thick sliced black forest ham. Unfortunately, the menu has gone downhill this year. A poor boy sandwich at a $60 brunch? The black forest ham sliced like cold cuts! And the crepes used to be sensational. No longer any any seafood option, or beef Bourguignon. Beans! Vegetarian is good but cannelloni beans in a crepe? It did not work. And the French macarons are just minis, no more regular size like you find in the pâtisseries of Paris. I'm sorry but it is no longer worth the price for the atmosphere and view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for brunch, beautiful day, food and service were both very good. Would like to go again soon. Would have liked another option for the cocktail that came with brunch, like a bloody mary.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Absolutely a gem - a real magical setting with outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

we stay at the Ocean House every year, and every year we have dinner at the restaurant, and every year we say: "that was good, but it should have been great". the setting is beautiful, the bar is great, the views are great, the service is very good and friendly and the food is fine. the menu is creative, the ingredients are fresh, the presentation is inventive, but for some reason (i'm clearly not eloquent enough to describe) the food is just fine/good. it's not memorable or mind-blowing. in this setting, at these prices, it ought to be.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.