About Seasons At The Ocean House

One Bluff Avenue
Westerly, RI 02891
View Larger Map

At the Ocean House's fine dining restaurant, the perfect accompaniment to every meal is a stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean. The menu at Seasons changes daily and exemplifies the "farm-to-table" concept that reflects our commitment to using the freshest local ingredients and inspires the cuisine throughout the resort. Seasons dinner offers a Three Course Menu at $90.00 per person, while breakfast and lunch offer an ala Carte experience. The traditional decor and open exhibition kitchen provide a dining experience unlike any other in the region.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:30am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday Evenings: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 584-7000

Website:
http://oceanhouseevents.com/

Executive Chef:
John Kolesar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our Special Events Website for all of our exclusive events ranging from wine tasting to guest Chef dinner on the first Wednesday of each month.
oceanhouseevents.com

Restaurant Photos

Venison - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
La Colonial - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Ricotta Tartlet - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Green Salad With Green Apple And Fennel Bread - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Eclipse - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Mini Olive Rosemary Baguette - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
French 75 - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Amouse Bouche Yukon Potato Applewood Smoked Bacon Soup - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Line Caught Cod - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Pheasant - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Yellow Fin Tuna - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Chocolate Goat Cheese Semifreddo - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI
Roasted Winter Vegetables With Polenta.  Special Order, Compliments Chef Miles - Seasons At The Ocean House, Westerly, RI

Seasons At The Ocean House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Romantic
Rhode Island
Scenic View
Rhode Island
1 More
Special Occasion
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Westerly ›

Scenic View (34)
Special Occasion (28)
Waterfront (22)
See All
Romantic (22)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Historic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fireplace (5)
Seasonal (4)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
 (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely a gem - a real magical setti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Absolutely a gem - a real magical setting with outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we stay at the Ocean House every year, a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

we stay at the Ocean House every year, and every year we have dinner at the restaurant, and every year we say: "that was good, but it should have been great". the setting is beautiful, the bar is great, the views are great, the service is very good and friendly and the food is fine. the menu is creative, the ingredients are fresh, the presentation is inventive, but for some reason (i'm clearly not eloquent enough to describe) the food is just fine/good. it's not memorable or mind-blowing. in this setting, at these prices, it ought to be.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Having visited Seasons many times before ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Having visited Seasons many times before, this trip was among the best. Food and service were very good and the view stupendous. This is a really special place.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Dining the way it used to be . Elegant a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Dining the way it used to be . Elegant and sophisticated . If your looking to impress or just yearning for the Downtown Abby Days this is the place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to meet friends for lu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My favorite place to meet friends for lunch at the shore.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came to Season's for our anniversary lun ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Came to Season's for our anniversary lunch. We had a perfect table overlooking the beach. The service here is impeccable. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special day or just because!!!!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Seasons restaurant was closed when w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The Seasons restaurant was closed when we were at The Ocean House but ate in their other dining facilities. Basically the food is mediocre, more like country club fare than anything special. It's not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our reservation for Sunday brunch was at ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our reservation for Sunday brunch was at 1:30. We were on the early side, but we were not seated until 1:55. A rather long wait with no regular updates from the staff. As we waited there was a wonderful jazz trio playing which helped during the delay. Once seated we were treated very well because of the late seating. Food was excellent and the buffet was plentiful and well beyond what would normally be expected for a buffet.

It was a long drive for us, but we will come back on special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful birthday celebration ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration although despite letting the restaurant know it was a celebration, they did nothing. However, the next table got a celebration surprise

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ocean house is always special to us we w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Ocean house is always special to us we were married there and we always go back to celebrate our anniversary and other special occasions . Walking in you instantly feel transported back to a another time. They do a fabulous job from beginning to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an absolute gem. It brings you b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is an absolute gem. It brings you back to a time when fine dining was a luxurious and splendid experience. The service is impeccable (perhaps the best we have ever experienced) and the food is sublime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Seasons always has fantastic service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The Seasons always has fantastic service and outstanding food. It has a great view overlooking the ocean. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sun set was amazing from our table, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The sun set was amazing from our table, the wait staff were knowledgeable and the food delicious. Portion sizes were appropriate for the multiple courses provided in the prefixed menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A lovely place. The view is extraordina ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

A lovely place. The view is extraordinary and the service - from the greeting at the door and throughout the establishment - is friendly, efficient and competent. Unfortunately, the food is more or less average resort fare, not especially well executed. Prices are high but not out of line for the resort.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy the Sunday brunch - fre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We always enjoy the Sunday brunch - fresh food- wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my friends birthday at the Su ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Celebrated my friends birthday at the Sunday brunch. We had a wonderful dining experience taking our time and enjoying the full array of offerings. My only disappointment was not being able to hear the Jazz Trio in the dining room. It would be nice if the music could be piped in.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always enjoyed the dining experi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We have always enjoyed the dining experience at Seasons. The view is fantastic. Our last experience did not provide the value we expected. While the service was fantastic, the meal was only good and the price had been increased substantially from our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Had the 3 course meal. The food was grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had the 3 course meal. The food was great but the portions were very small.

I'm not a big eater (150lbs), but I left still hungry.

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This was truly a memorable experience. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was truly a memorable experience. The setting was beautiful, the service was wonderful and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a gift from a family member. It ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was a gift from a family member. It was a wonderful gift! We are planning our next brunch as soon as possible! The staff was outstanding , views breathtaking and all in all a wonderful experience !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seasons at the Ocean House prepared the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Seasons at the Ocean House prepared the best swordfish dinner that I have ever tasted. The scallops were also cooked to perfection. I will certainly eat there on my next trip to Rhode Island.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the view from Seasons at ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

You can't beat the view from Seasons at The Ocean House, and the gracious service and bottomless cocktails during the Sunday brunch were much appreciated. The food was good, not great especially at the $65 pp price tag, the pace is relaxed and sophisticated. It's the experience here: Great views of the ocean (and Taylor Swift's rocky perch), lovely furnishings and linens, a wide array of buffet food items, and lovely service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy. Our waiter Ian gets 5 sta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always enjoy. Our waiter Ian gets 5 stars. Sad to note that not all men were in jackets. It is one of the rare restaurants where you actually dress for dinner. Please keep it that way.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A tremendous place... The food was excel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

A tremendous place... The food was excellent. It was an excellent choice for my wife's birthday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ocean House is a magnificent hotel l ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Ocean House is a magnificent hotel located along a gorgeous stretch of beach. It is a treat to visit in the summer and to enjoy the extraordinary atmosphere. I booked a dinner at the Seasons Restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and was deeply disappointed with the experience. The concept of locally sourced, farm to table ingredients is not so special any more. Nonetheless, I appreciate that approach to designing a menu. And the dinner that was served was tasty but the food was precious in the extreme. At $47 per main course, dinner was barely enough to feed an anorexic teenager. It was artfully presented, but the portions were laughably small . We literally laughed out loud when the meal was served.

Our server was lovely. But I felt cheated by the experience of paying top dollar for a microscopic meal. I would not return to Seasons and would definitely not recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Fixed menu/3 course meal, not many optio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fixed menu/3 course meal, not many options, food was not hot, and service was 3 hours for only two of us. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The setting and view from our table was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The setting and view from our table was wonderful. But the food was not so great, especially at the price. My wife felt her food was high quality but the presentation a little fussy. I had the veal and it was not very good. Not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Made a reservation -- as it turned out m ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Made a reservation -- as it turned out my friend and I were the only ones in the entire restaurant for lunch until a party of 4 arrived as we were finishing. A very rainy day so this is probably why. A gentleman took our cocktail order, another waitress brought it to us - we gave our order and it was served. Never saw another person until I hailed someone as they walked by to see if they could get our check. No follow up for follow thru at all.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Once again, this is the best restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Once again, this is the best restaurant we have eaten at this year. We are from Boston and spend a week every summer in Rhode Island at the beach and treat ourselves to a dinner at the Ocean House . It is always a wonderful experience with local, seasonal ingredients, expertly prepared foods and fantastic sommelier recommendations for wine pairings. We have never had a meal in any Boston restaurant that is as consistently good as our dinner here every summer for the past eight years or so. This year, the service was a little uneven (waited for a while for menus, had to ask for napkins, little things that were not a big deal but were less than the stellar service we have received in the past) but the food and overall experience are so superb that we still had an amazing time once again. Absolutely love this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Just a beautiful location. We had made ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Just a beautiful location. We had made a reservation for Sunday brunch. Service was good, especially at the lounge as we waited for our table. Unfortunately, the quality of the food was just fair for this price point which ultimately was disappointing. We would recommend the Inn at Castle Hill in Newport by comparison, or any Newport Restaurant Group restaurant. The outstanding food, service, and location justify the top dollars.

Sorry, Ocean House. We were expecting better.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Brought family of 5 to celebrate wedding ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Brought family of 5 to celebrate wedding anniversary. Beautiful hotel and restaurant. Everyone loved the buffet choices, although the portions were very small. Newly trained and confused waitstaff was a bit disappointing as this was a very expensive brunch (over $300 for our family) and we had a high expectation of service. Our a la cart breakfast order was not taken until late in the seating, and by the time it arrived we were no longer hungry. Dirty dishes sat on our table for far too long before being cleared and we were rarely asked if we needed anything. Overall the food was good, but at such a high price we were looking forward to and expecting outstanding service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The Ocean House is a grand hotel, superi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Ocean House is a grand hotel, superior now to the vintage when the original was built, an icon of days gone bye, with up-to-date menus for the food in the restaurant. It is a bit expensive for frequent patronage, but excellent for the right kind of event. And always tour the hotel and the grounds. It is all part of the experience.

The entrees for brunch are sometimes so unusually good, like the prosciutto hash or the seared ahi. Sometimes there are mistakes, like combining barbecue with hollandaise. This weekend it was pastrami hash, which did underwhelm a bit compared to other options like the excellent shrimp crepes and the steak crepes, or the raw bar, or the desserts. Where else do you find French macaroons in the US? Not often, at least, but regularly at the Ocean House and this Sunday, too.

It is so worth saving up a few bucks to go to the brunch here.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always over delivers!!! The wine list i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always over delivers!!! The wine list is fantastic and the service impeccable. The menu choices were both seasonal and rewarding. I can't wait for my return visit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The portions are extremely small. The f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The portions are extremely small. The food is bland. Our bill for two was $300. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

I was vey disappointed in my experience, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was vey disappointed in my experience, and I can not understand how this restaurant got the prestigious ratings it has. The place basically has no decor and relies on its view. No flowers, wall hangings, or ways to create ambiance. I was celebrating an anniversary and was seated within ear shot of a wailing toddler, then a large family of 6 (very loud) were seated near us. I could not hear any music or our own conversation! The chef seemed incapable of cooking rare meat. Because the steak had to be sent back (very hesitantly by our server) , we ate our meals separately. Long time in waiting for a new glass os wine while food was getting cold. Alas, it took 40 minutes to get our check paid after we were done.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I was seated promptly at a window seat, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was seated promptly at a window seat, where my view was the Atlantic Ocean. The service was excellent and the food impeccable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch at the Ocean House is always a sp ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch at the Ocean House is always a special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant was absolutely fabulous ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant was absolutely fabulous and the scenic view was gorgeous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean House Seasons offers stunning scen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Ocean House Seasons offers stunning scenery, fine wine, a delicious luncheon menu at an affordable price! It is a favorite gathering place when my sisters come into town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun to enjoy lunch with such a fa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always fun to enjoy lunch with such a fantastic view! The staff is always very friendly and the food is delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.