About Seasons At The Ocean House

One Bluff Avenue
Westerly, RI 02891
View Larger Map

At the Ocean House's fine dining restaurant, the perfect accompaniment to every meal is a stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean. The menu at Seasons changes daily and exemplifies the "farm-to-table" concept that reflects our commitment to using the freshest local ingredients and inspires the cuisine throughout the resort. Seasons dinner offers a Three Course Menu at $90.00 per person, while breakfast and lunch offer an ala Carte experience. The traditional decor and open exhibition kitchen provide a dining experience unlike any other in the region.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:30am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday Evenings: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 584-7000

Website:
http://oceanhouseevents.com/

Executive Chef:
John Kolesar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our Special Events Website for all of our exclusive events ranging from wine tasting to guest Chef dinner on the first Wednesday of each month.
oceanhouseevents.com

Restaurant Photos

Venison
La Colonial
Ricotta Tartlet
Green Salad With Green Apple And Fennel Bread
Eclipse
Mini Olive Rosemary Baguette
French 75
Amouse Bouche Yukon Potato Applewood Smoked Bacon Soup
Line Caught Cod
Pheasant
Yellow Fin Tuna
Chocolate Goat Cheese Semifreddo
Roasted Winter Vegetables With Polenta.  Special Order, Compliments Chef Miles

Seasons At The Ocean House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Westerly ›

Scenic View (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (27)
See All
Great for Brunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was vey disappointed in my experience, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was vey disappointed in my experience, and I can not understand how this restaurant got the prestigious ratings it has. The place basically has no decor and relies on its view. No flowers, wall hangings, or ways to create ambiance. I was celebrating an anniversary and was seated within ear shot of a wailing toddler, then a large family of 6 (very loud) were seated near us. I could not hear any music or our own conversation! The chef seemed incapable of cooking rare meat. Because the steak had to be sent back (very hesitantly by our server) , we ate our meals separately. Long time in waiting for a new glass os wine while food was getting cold. Alas, it took 40 minutes to get our check paid after we were done.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I was seated promptly at a window seat, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was seated promptly at a window seat, where my view was the Atlantic Ocean. The service was excellent and the food impeccable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch at the Ocean House is always a sp ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch at the Ocean House is always a special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ocean House Seasons offers stunning scen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Ocean House Seasons offers stunning scenery, fine wine, a delicious luncheon menu at an affordable price! It is a favorite gathering place when my sisters come into town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun to enjoy lunch with such a fa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always fun to enjoy lunch with such a fantastic view! The staff is always very friendly and the food is delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a place to celebrate ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were looking for a place to celebrate our engagement and could not have picked a more amazing place. The food, the staff and the atmosphere were perfect and made the day even more special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought everything was beautiful, food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Thought everything was beautiful, food was very good and the waitstaff was superb. Only one disappointment...could not get to the beach unless you were a hotel guest. We were looking forward to a nice stroll after a lovely brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third time to the Ocean Hou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our third time to the Ocean House for lunch. The setting is very nice. But once again as in the past, the food was not great. I had the fish and chips and the fish was tough. My wife had a scallop roll and she said the scallop in the sandwich was scant. I also noticed a certain malaise among the staff. I did not really sense a warm and fuzzy feeling from them . Also, we came for lunch and we were offered a table in a room with no one else in it. I insisted that we sit in the front room that had other diners in it because it would not have been any fun to sit by ourselves.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

On our way to Nantucket, we make stop in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

On our way to Nantucket, we make stop in the area and have dinner at the Ocean House. It is our reward after fighting the I-95 traffic for hours. We have doing this for the past 2years. The food is amazing, the service is warm and welcoming and it is a beautiful inn and restaurant . It was by far our best dinner of the vacation !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an annual event for us when we a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is an annual event for us when we are in RI. A "don't miss" experience. The service is excellent and attentive without being obsequious. The menu and dishes are creative, fun and delicious. We really can't think of anything we would want them to improve on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brittany, our server, was excellent. Sh ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Brittany, our server, was excellent. She made us feel welcome and created a wonderful atmosphere. The hostess who called to confirm the reservation, plus the hostess who showed us to our seat, made us feel less than welcome. What she didn't know is that my dearest and oldest friend with whom I was dining, is married to an accomplished chef, and both of us have had our fair share of dining at comparable establishments. There must be a better way to have a first impression. On the phone, she asked us if we were actually coming, twice, and then when we arrived, showed us the prix fix menu to ensure we were prepared for the price. I would suggest that they ask to "confirm" our arrival, and share the cost of the prix fix items over the phone in case a guest may be uncomfortable once seared. While we were prepared to foot the bill, I'm sure someone else might be a little surprised; showing the menu as a way to disclose the price puts the diner in an uncomfortable spot. Phone disclosure might allow another diner to bow out without feeling the embarrassment of bowing out in front of a special date. On the flip side, we decided to come back for drinks and appetizers the next day because of the warmth that Brittany showed during our meal. We left on such a high note that it completely overshadowed our first impression.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the tablewas not available We waited 45 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

the tablewas not available We waited 45 min. the manger of both the club and the four seasons were very helpful and even waited on the table wait staff not very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Lovely brunch. We were surprised at firs ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lovely brunch. We were surprised at first by the cost ($62/person), but it was worth it. The staff really let you ale your time and enjoy your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You really have to appreciate molecular ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

You really have to appreciate molecular gastronomy to enjoy the food at Seasons. I'm not particularly thrilled with it but the food was very good. Mostly everything is locally sourced or somewhat locally sourced. The little green salad was outstanding and my veal was very nice. My husband ordered the porchetta appetizer. If you know what porchetta is and expect that you will be baffled! Anyway, I'm over molecular but the restaurant was in our hotel and we enjoyed it well enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great spot and great food. It was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a great spot and great food. It was nice to go home and celebrate at one of the most beautiful hotels in the world, great service combined with excellent food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The waiting staff was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience. The waiting staff was extra courteous, polite and patient. They made us feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Seasons at the Ocean House is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As always, Seasons at the Ocean House is perfect in every way. Being seated by the window, as requested, is an added bonus.

Delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is nothing that can compare to the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

There is nothing that can compare to the view at the Ocean House. The table that was set aside for us was not yet ready, so we were upgraded to table 12 (ask for table 12!), the best seat in the house for 2-4 diners. You can choose from a wide variety of food buffet style, and then you order your main meal. The buffet selections featured delectable items at various stations. Clams on the half shell with various toppings, cold cooked shrimp, little frittatas, croissants, an impressive selections of cheeses, plus oatmeal, fresh berries, etc., etc. I only wish I could have tried everything, but I was saving my appetite for the eggs benedict I'd ordered. That was the only item that was less than stellar because the egg yolks were overcooked and didn't spill out over the ham and English muffin. But that was a very minor disappointment. Unlimited mimosas included! And then there was the dessert bar-- lots of small items-- tarts, fruits, and chocolate delicacies so you could try several different things. Everything we had was mouth-watering. I appreciated the slow pace of the service. The staff was attentive, but we were never made to feel hurried. Is it expensive? Yes, but it's worth it. (I believe the brunch was $62 per person.) I would strongly recommend the Ocean House, especially for a special occasion (it was my mom's 82nd birthday).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Deletions food. Very small portions. Bea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Deletions food. Very small portions. Beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Lunching outside on the veranda terrace ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Lunching outside on the veranda terrace was lovely. Wish I could say the same for the service. Our waiter, who told us this was his third summer working there, could not have received much training during the prior 2 summers. He took our order, disappeared, then served the soup without providing utensils ( we had to ask for them), returned and asked us to reorder! This was only to be outdone by him dropping our coffee cups ( they shattered) and never providing us with the dessert menu- until after we paid. Food was good, the service left something to be desired. Slow...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Expensive for tiny portions. But, it IS ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Expensive for tiny portions. But, it IS an experience...beautiful setting, facility and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and ambiance- but the portion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food and ambiance- but the portions are so small that you're still hungry when you leave- e

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Visited with a friend for Sunday brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Visited with a friend for Sunday brunch to celebrate her birthday. We were seated promptly. The staff was attentive, professional and very cordial. The food was excellent, selection varied and replenished frequently so you were never faced with an empty platter. We never felt rushed even though the restaurant was busy!

Location and view spectacular!

As we finished, my friend was presented with a parting gift and congratulatory birthday card! Very thoughtful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I generally do not take the time to writ ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I generally do not take the time to write a review, but I will make an exception for Seasons. If I could give the restaurant ten stars, I feel that that would still be inadequate. My wife and I went there for our forty-fifth wedding anniversary and everything about our experience was outstanding. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we were treated with the utmost courtesy and attentiveness by the staff and servers. The bar area, the restaurant and the food were wonderful and the ambience was delightful. We will definitely return again and I highly recommend Seasons to everyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very over priced for the service and qua ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Very over priced for the service and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We love Chef Jacob, his food, sourcing, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love Chef Jacob, his food, sourcing, and crew, especially Richard, and Megan at the front.😍

The hotel is another story. They won't let our retired service dog, now therapy dog stay at the hotel because she is over 40 pounds.😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seasons Buffet Brunch is something to ex ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Seasons Buffet Brunch is something to experience. Not only is the service superb the food is incredible. Will be back to visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

An exquisite experience - stunning setting (outside and inside); creative and beautifully presented food, impeccable service.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday lunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We drove up to Watch Hill from Rye, NY for the day and had lunch at the Ocean House. What a delightful place! Good value for lunch with a spectacular location, inside and out. Our server was not only attentive, but even volunteered to take pictures of us with the wonderful views.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unparalleled in every aspect.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Unparalleled in every aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible. I was very disa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was incredible. I was very disappointed in the service, however. I know it's the beginning of the season, but although the hostess and waitstaff were all very nice, nobody except the valet parking lot attendants were on their game. It had the feeling they were a bunch of kids with their first summer jobs, which might be okay for a less expensive restaurant, but not for a restaurant that's supposed to be at a higher level. We waited a long time for everything, and tried unsuccessfully to get people's attention as they walked on by in zombie trances. It wasn't even that busy. I would go back later in the season when the kids have gotten a little more experienced.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Nice but...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As usual the ocean house is a beautiful place. The view is spectacular. Service was very good.

The food was ok. Apparently food costs are an issue, cause their portions dissapoint. Breakfast was a nice snack for $33 per person. Pastry basket was good. No restaurants food is so special that you should leave hungry. Apparently the Ocean House dissagrees. Feast on the View!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful restaurant with delicious food!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable, would definitely go again!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful meal and experience at Ocean House last week. The food that was prepared by chef Jacob and his staff was delicious and beautifully presented. Each portion of the dish had a special flavor which added to the experience of the entire dish. Our server Stephanie was knowledgeable and explained each dish as it was presented. When she was not available other staff members were there to add to the experience. Definitely a special place to be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous setting. Upscale atmosphere. Gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Gorgeous setting. Upscale atmosphere. Great food. Friendly staff -- especially David and Chelsea in the Bar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Incredible food, service and scenic view. Wait staff teamed together for an incredible experience for our 32 wedding anniversary. The cocktails to start the night were perfectly mixed. We had the 3-course dinner and each serving was presented in spectacular fashion. The steak my wife had and the lamb that I ordered were some of the best tasting, and tender cuts we've experienced anywhere. Thank you for making our night out very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magnificent, in every way!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything about the Ocean House is amazing: location, architecture, history, dining experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view and service!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The sea food presentation was amazing and fresh. The server was well verse on the menu ! I would highly recommend .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was lovely! The service was ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was lovely! The service was outstanding, and there was a great selection on the menu. The gingerbread martini was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

View awesome and many delectable food choices

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our third annual brunch visit for our family for a birthday celebration. Ocean view spectacular and great food choices for all to enjoy. Fitzroy our waiter surprised the birthday guest with a dessert treat with birthday candle. We were able to relax and enjoy the whole brunch experience. Not rushed at all! Thank you. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.