About Seasons At The Ocean House

One Bluff Avenue
Westerly, RI 02891
View Larger Map

At the Ocean House's fine dining restaurant, the perfect accompaniment to every meal is a stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean. The menu at Seasons changes daily and exemplifies the "farm-to-table" concept that reflects our commitment to using the freshest local ingredients and inspires the cuisine throughout the resort. Seasons dinner offers a Three Course Menu at $90.00 per person, while breakfast and lunch offer an ala Carte experience. The traditional decor and open exhibition kitchen provide a dining experience unlike any other in the region.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:30am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday Evenings: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 584-7000

Website:
http://oceanhouseevents.com/

Executive Chef:
John Kolesar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our Special Events Website for all of our exclusive events ranging from wine tasting to guest Chef dinner on the first Wednesday of each month.
oceanhouseevents.com

Restaurant Photos

Venison
French 75
Mini Olive Rosemary Baguette
Green Salad With Green Apple And Fennel Bread
Ricotta Tartlet
Amouse Bouche Yukon Potato Applewood Smoked Bacon Soup
Line Caught Cod
Eclipse
La Colonial
Pheasant
Yellow Fin Tuna
Chocolate Goat Cheese Semifreddo
Roasted Winter Vegetables With Polenta.  Special Order, Compliments Chef Miles

Seasons At The Ocean House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
Great for Brunch
Boston / New England
10 More
Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Rhode Island
Best Food
Rhode Island
Best Service
Rhode Island
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Best Value
Rhode Island
Romantic
Rhode Island
Scenic View
Rhode Island
Special Occasion
Rhode Island
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Westerly ›

scenic view (31)
special occasion (29)
romantic (29)
See All
great for brunch (21)
fit for foodies (14)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for lunch (7)
notable wine list (7)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I generally do not take the time to writ ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

I generally do not take the time to write a review, but I will make an exception for Seasons. If I could give the restaurant ten stars, I feel that that would still be inadequate. My wife and I went there for our forty-fifth wedding anniversary and everything about our experience was outstanding. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we were treated with the utmost courtesy and attentiveness by the staff and servers. The bar area, the restaurant and the food were wonderful and the ambience was delightful. We will definitely return again and I highly recommend Seasons to everyone else.

food3
ambience2
service2

Very over priced for the service and qua ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Very over priced for the service and quality of food.

food5
ambience5
service5

We love Chef Jacob, his food, sourcing, ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We love Chef Jacob, his food, sourcing, and crew, especially Richard, and Megan at the front.😍 The hotel is another story. They won't let our retired service dog, now therapy dog stay at the hotel because she is over 40 pounds.😢

food5
ambience5
service5

Seasons Buffet Brunch is something to ex ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Seasons Buffet Brunch is something to experience. Not only is the service superb the food is incredible. Will be back to visit again

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite experience

Dined on May 26, 2016

An exquisite experience - stunning setting (outside and inside); creative and beautifully presented food, impeccable service.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday lunch

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We drove up to Watch Hill from Rye, NY for the day and had lunch at the Ocean House. What a delightful place! Good value for lunch with a spectacular location, inside and out. Our server was not only attentive, but even volunteered to take pictures of us with the wonderful views.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Unparalleled in every aspect.

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Unparalleled in every aspect.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

The food was incredible. I was very disa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was incredible. I was very disappointed in the service, however. I know it's the beginning of the season, but although the hostess and waitstaff were all very nice, nobody except the valet parking lot attendants were on their game. It had the feeling they were a bunch of kids with their first summer jobs, which might be okay for a less expensive restaurant, but not for a restaurant that's supposed to be at a higher level. We waited a long time for everything, and tried unsuccessfully to get people's attention as they walked on by in zombie trances. It wasn't even that busy. I would go back later in the season when the kids have gotten a little more experienced.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice but...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

As usual the ocean house is a beautiful place. The view is spectacular. Service was very good. The food was ok. Apparently food costs are an issue, cause their portions dissapoint. Breakfast was a nice snack for $33 per person. Pastry basket was good. No restaurants food is so special that you should leave hungry. Apparently the Ocean House dissagrees. Feast on the View!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant with delicious food!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable, would definitely go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!!

Dined on April 20, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful meal and experience at Ocean House last week. The food that was prepared by chef Jacob and his staff was delicious and beautifully presented. Each portion of the dish had a special flavor which added to the experience of the entire dish. Our server Stephanie was knowledgeable and explained each dish as it was presented. When she was not available other staff members were there to add to the experience. Definitely a special place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous setting. Upscale atmosphere. Gr ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Gorgeous setting. Upscale atmosphere. Great food. Friendly staff -- especially David and Chelsea in the Bar.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

Incredible food, service and scenic view. Wait staff teamed together for an incredible experience for our 32 wedding anniversary. The cocktails to start the night were perfectly mixed. We had the 3-course dinner and each serving was presented in spectacular fashion. The steak my wife had and the lamb that I ordered were some of the best tasting, and tender cuts we've experienced anywhere. Thank you for making our night out very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent, in every way!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything about the Ocean House is amazing: location, architecture, history, dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and service!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The sea food presentation was amazing and fresh. The server was well verse on the menu ! I would highly recommend .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was lovely! The service was ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was lovely! The service was outstanding, and there was a great selection on the menu. The gingerbread martini was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View awesome and many delectable food choices

Dined on January 31, 2016

Our third annual brunch visit for our family for a birthday celebration. Ocean view spectacular and great food choices for all to enjoy. Fitzroy our waiter surprised the birthday guest with a dessert treat with birthday candle. We were able to relax and enjoy the whole brunch experience. Not rushed at all! Thank you. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food and Service

Dined on January 24, 2016

Everything about this visit was enjoyable. The valet service was unexpected and professional. The maitre d' escorted my party to our table despite that we were early and explained all of the stations and the menu in great detail. The wait staff were friendly, attentive, and prompt, and all of this before even getting to the food. Oysters were prepared and chilled well, the crepes were perfect, and the entrees varied and delicious. Overall this was an excellent experience and I will happily come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great for Brunch

Dined on January 3, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and excellent food. Friendly staff, although our service was less than expected.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1

Christmas Day, awful experience, over pr ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Christmas Day, awful experience, over priced, worst service (from the bartenders to the servers) so slow!! Will never go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way.

Dined on December 24, 2015

Ocean House is one of the most elegant settings for a truly enjoyable meal. The views are phenomenal, the service outstanding and the food exceptional. This is our favorite place for Christmas Eve lunch. It is elegant yet comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Ocean House Wonderful

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Always a wonderful experience. Expensive, but worth it for the ambiance. Never a bad meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Ocean House, a Special Place

Dined on December 7, 2015

I've enjoyed several celebration dinners, including a surprise dinner for my birthday, at Seasons, have visited the bar once or twice, had a glass of wine on the Terrace, and most recently, lunch at Seasons. Every visit felt like a privilege; the food is memorable, and the staff made my companions and me feel like honored guests. The original Ocean House was a special place, and the new one is, too. And it's awesome that it's open year-round!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

For $62 a person for the breakfast buffe ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

For $62 a person for the breakfast buffet, it was definitely not worth it. Very few buffet stations and for your main breakfast course, you can only order one plate of the menu. Quite the ripoff.

food5
ambience5
service4

Ocean House

Dined on December 6, 2015

The Ocean House is according to T+L the number one rated resort in the country. The property is an outstanding reconstruction of the historic hotel and the dining areas have sweeping views of Block Island Sound. But the food is more outstanding, from salads to crepes, to the raw bar, to the entrees and desserts. Have a crepe for a starter, and watch it being made before your eyes, and so quickly. I chose the turkey carbonara this time. Outstanding was the prosciutto hash that my wife chose, with chunks of potato and slices of the dried ham. Wow. My turkey enchiladas were merely excellent. A fruit crepe instead of prepared desserts is exceptional. The prepared desserts are enchanting. But take one macaroon, real Parisian style macaroons. Sure it's a bit expensive, but so worth it. And plan to skip dinner like we did, and eat until not quite full.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

As good as touted

Dined on November 26, 2015

We enjoyed Thanksgiving at the Ocean House. We opted for the buffet and it was great from every perspective; variety, quality, flavor, atmosphere and service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Special

Dined on November 18, 2015

Thank you for the amazing birthday lunch, and for the birthday card and gift of honey. The Ocean House is my go to for celebrating special occasions. Just perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating my wife's birthday a ...

Dined on November 17, 2015

We were celebrating my wife's birthday and I mentioned that when I booked. Everybody was very nice and made a point in wishing her a Happy Birthday. The food and service were outstanding and the wine list was impressive. It was a quiet day so we had a table with a great view of the ocean. We will certainly be back again. Thank you to everyone who made our visit feel so special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Dining

Dined on November 12, 2015

The Ocean House is an exceptional spot for lunch. The Seasons dining room overlooks the beach with a gorgeous view of the water and surrounding properties. The hot lobster roll and the clam chowder are not to be missed. You will pay a premium but the value (including free valet parking - they do not accept tips) is exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2

Disappointed

Dined on November 8, 2015

I was very disappointed in the Ocean House this time. I have been there and everything was beyond expectations. Not this time. Crepes were doughy. The food on the buffet would continuely run out so you had to wait to have it replenished. The staff would tell you that you had to wait and come back. My husband went back 3 time before the seafood bar was replenished. The coffee had gounds in it. My husband requested the bloody mary bar and was not given any chocie, it was just made for him and the waitress did not ask him his choice of vodka or what he wanted in it. When asked the waitress about a certain item, she told us that they couldn't do it, only to find out for ourselves that they could. Ocean House is know to try to accommdate the customer's requests. The dessert bar was empty when we went up to get dessert. It appeared they were trying to clean up early even though they had about 20 minutes until the end of the brunch time. The waitress was not very attentive and we had to try to find her when we needed something. We drove 2 hours only to be disappointed. The manager, Lee, did come to our table, and we told him how we felt, but that didn't seem to improve the service and the buffet was still out of food.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite setting, food and service!

Dined on October 18, 2015

Our visit for Brunch was the most outstanding dining experience we have ever had!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2

Mr

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

There were empty tables but the maître d took forever to seat us. It took too long before a waiter came over to offer us water or give us a menu. The soup was great but my lobster roll was a bit tiny. My wife's veggie Panini was missing the veggies. All in all it was not in keeping with our prior visits to Season's.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2

Made reservations with request for windo ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

Made reservations with request for window view and was seated in inner dining room next to large bachelorette party...it happens but was disappointing. Food was just ok this visit. Reservation was at 12:30 and buffet options were not replenished well. I wanted charcuterie but everytime I went up the one chef doing this and crepes was busy and we didnt want to wait as we were hovering over a table in that area. They should have one at each for level of service and cost. The last reservation we made for my birthday in December was made by mistake on wrong day by reservationist and they wouldn't honor the mistake. There is a lack of customer service with management. It is just average now, the service and standards from years past is now lacking.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect view! I love the view, however, ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Perfect view! I love the view, however, guest of the restaurants are not allowed to go down to the beach. Nevertheless, the view from the top is still lovely and wonderful. For the food and service, it was good. I will definitely come back again!

food5
ambience5
service5

Overall fantastic experience

Dined on September 27, 2015

We had a wonderful celebration for my husband's birthday: Champagne Brunch at Seasons at The Ocean House was my gift to him. Food was fantastic - lots of choices, and our server Krystal was just so pleasant and attentive. Unbelievable views of the ocean - couldn't be happier!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Table location matters

Dined on September 27, 2015

I wish I had specified that we wanted a table by a window on the outermost enclosed porch. We had an inbound table next to interior windows edging the main dining space. Kind of dreary, considering the restaurant location on the shore.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

First rate

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

Well prepared interesting great food. Nice portion sizes. Excellent, well timed service by competently, attentive trained staff. Very comfortable to hear. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose this as it was roughly halfway b ...

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

I chose this as it was roughly halfway between a friend, whom we were meeting, & us. It was near perfection!!! Also, many added touches. The drink list was incredibly imoressive. It is an experience that I will never, ever, ever forget!!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Seasons at ocean house

Dined on September 6, 2015

The valet staff was not very welcoming and disorganized . The valet on the walkie was not helpful and rude to us. The waitstaff was slow and forgot our drinks. The food was good. The atmosphere was beautiful

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A true gem

Dined on September 6, 2015

This was our second visit in a month for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. It was so perfect the first time that we had to share our experience with our adult children and their spouses . Perfect in every way, weather, food, service, ambiance . We all agreed that we will return again and again. Do Rhode Islanders realize what a " hidden gem "they have in their back yard?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.