About Seasons At The Ocean House

One Bluff Avenue
Westerly, RI 02891
View Larger Map

At the Ocean House's fine dining restaurant, the perfect accompaniment to every meal is a stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean. The menu at Seasons changes daily and exemplifies the "farm-to-table" concept that reflects our commitment to using the freshest local ingredients and inspires the cuisine throughout the resort. Seasons dinner offers a Three Course Menu at $90.00 per person, while breakfast and lunch offer an ala Carte experience. The traditional decor and open exhibition kitchen provide a dining experience unlike any other in the region.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:30am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday Evenings: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 584-7000

Website:
http://oceanhouseevents.com/

Executive Chef:
John Kolesar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our Special Events Website for all of our exclusive events ranging from wine tasting to guest Chef dinner on the first Wednesday of each month.
oceanhouseevents.com

Restaurant Photos

Seasons At The Ocean House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston / New England
Scenic View
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Rhode Island
5 More
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Romantic
Rhode Island
Scenic View
Rhode Island
Special Occasion
Rhode Island
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Westerly ›

scenic view (32)
special occasion (31)
romantic (28)
See All
great for brunch (21)
fit for foodies (16)
notable wine list (8)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
good for groups (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant with delicious food!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable, would definitely go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!!

Dined on April 20, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful meal and experience at Ocean House last week. The food that was prepared by chef Jacob and his staff was delicious and beautifully presented. Each portion of the dish had a special flavor which added to the experience of the entire dish. Our server Stephanie was knowledgeable and explained each dish as it was presented. When she was not available other staff members were there to add to the experience. Definitely a special place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous setting. Upscale atmosphere. Gr ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Gorgeous setting. Upscale atmosphere. Great food. Friendly staff -- especially David and Chelsea in the Bar.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

Incredible food, service and scenic view. Wait staff teamed together for an incredible experience for our 32 wedding anniversary. The cocktails to start the night were perfectly mixed. We had the 3-course dinner and each serving was presented in spectacular fashion. The steak my wife had and the lamb that I ordered were some of the best tasting, and tender cuts we've experienced anywhere. Thank you for making our night out very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent, in every way!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything about the Ocean House is amazing: location, architecture, history, dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and service!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The sea food presentation was amazing and fresh. The server was well verse on the menu ! I would highly recommend .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was lovely! The service was ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was lovely! The service was outstanding, and there was a great selection on the menu. The gingerbread martini was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View awesome and many delectable food choices

Dined on January 31, 2016

Our third annual brunch visit for our family for a birthday celebration. Ocean view spectacular and great food choices for all to enjoy. Fitzroy our waiter surprised the birthday guest with a dessert treat with birthday candle. We were able to relax and enjoy the whole brunch experience. Not rushed at all! Thank you. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food and Service

Dined on January 24, 2016

Everything about this visit was enjoyable. The valet service was unexpected and professional. The maitre d' escorted my party to our table despite that we were early and explained all of the stations and the menu in great detail. The wait staff were friendly, attentive, and prompt, and all of this before even getting to the food. Oysters were prepared and chilled well, the crepes were perfect, and the entrees varied and delicious. Overall this was an excellent experience and I will happily come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great for Brunch

Dined on January 3, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and excellent food. Friendly staff, although our service was less than expected.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1

Christmas Day, awful experience, over pr ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Christmas Day, awful experience, over priced, worst service (from the bartenders to the servers) so slow!! Will never go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way.

Dined on December 24, 2015

Ocean House is one of the most elegant settings for a truly enjoyable meal. The views are phenomenal, the service outstanding and the food exceptional. This is our favorite place for Christmas Eve lunch. It is elegant yet comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Ocean House Wonderful

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Always a wonderful experience. Expensive, but worth it for the ambiance. Never a bad meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Ocean House, a Special Place

Dined on December 7, 2015

I've enjoyed several celebration dinners, including a surprise dinner for my birthday, at Seasons, have visited the bar once or twice, had a glass of wine on the Terrace, and most recently, lunch at Seasons. Every visit felt like a privilege; the food is memorable, and the staff made my companions and me feel like honored guests. The original Ocean House was a special place, and the new one is, too. And it's awesome that it's open year-round!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

For $62 a person for the breakfast buffe ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

For $62 a person for the breakfast buffet, it was definitely not worth it. Very few buffet stations and for your main breakfast course, you can only order one plate of the menu. Quite the ripoff.

food5
ambience5
service4

Ocean House

Dined on December 6, 2015

The Ocean House is according to T+L the number one rated resort in the country. The property is an outstanding reconstruction of the historic hotel and the dining areas have sweeping views of Block Island Sound. But the food is more outstanding, from salads to crepes, to the raw bar, to the entrees and desserts. Have a crepe for a starter, and watch it being made before your eyes, and so quickly. I chose the turkey carbonara this time. Outstanding was the prosciutto hash that my wife chose, with chunks of potato and slices of the dried ham. Wow. My turkey enchiladas were merely excellent. A fruit crepe instead of prepared desserts is exceptional. The prepared desserts are enchanting. But take one macaroon, real Parisian style macaroons. Sure it's a bit expensive, but so worth it. And plan to skip dinner like we did, and eat until not quite full.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

As good as touted

Dined on November 26, 2015

We enjoyed Thanksgiving at the Ocean House. We opted for the buffet and it was great from every perspective; variety, quality, flavor, atmosphere and service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Special

Dined on November 18, 2015

Thank you for the amazing birthday lunch, and for the birthday card and gift of honey. The Ocean House is my go to for celebrating special occasions. Just perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating my wife's birthday a ...

Dined on November 17, 2015

We were celebrating my wife's birthday and I mentioned that when I booked. Everybody was very nice and made a point in wishing her a Happy Birthday. The food and service were outstanding and the wine list was impressive. It was a quiet day so we had a table with a great view of the ocean. We will certainly be back again. Thank you to everyone who made our visit feel so special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Dining

Dined on November 12, 2015

The Ocean House is an exceptional spot for lunch. The Seasons dining room overlooks the beach with a gorgeous view of the water and surrounding properties. The hot lobster roll and the clam chowder are not to be missed. You will pay a premium but the value (including free valet parking - they do not accept tips) is exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2

Disappointed

Dined on November 8, 2015

I was very disappointed in the Ocean House this time. I have been there and everything was beyond expectations. Not this time. Crepes were doughy. The food on the buffet would continuely run out so you had to wait to have it replenished. The staff would tell you that you had to wait and come back. My husband went back 3 time before the seafood bar was replenished. The coffee had gounds in it. My husband requested the bloody mary bar and was not given any chocie, it was just made for him and the waitress did not ask him his choice of vodka or what he wanted in it. When asked the waitress about a certain item, she told us that they couldn't do it, only to find out for ourselves that they could. Ocean House is know to try to accommdate the customer's requests. The dessert bar was empty when we went up to get dessert. It appeared they were trying to clean up early even though they had about 20 minutes until the end of the brunch time. The waitress was not very attentive and we had to try to find her when we needed something. We drove 2 hours only to be disappointed. The manager, Lee, did come to our table, and we told him how we felt, but that didn't seem to improve the service and the buffet was still out of food.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite setting, food and service!

Dined on October 18, 2015

Our visit for Brunch was the most outstanding dining experience we have ever had!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2

Mr

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

There were empty tables but the maître d took forever to seat us. It took too long before a waiter came over to offer us water or give us a menu. The soup was great but my lobster roll was a bit tiny. My wife's veggie Panini was missing the veggies. All in all it was not in keeping with our prior visits to Season's.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2

Made reservations with request for windo ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

Made reservations with request for window view and was seated in inner dining room next to large bachelorette party...it happens but was disappointing. Food was just ok this visit. Reservation was at 12:30 and buffet options were not replenished well. I wanted charcuterie but everytime I went up the one chef doing this and crepes was busy and we didnt want to wait as we were hovering over a table in that area. They should have one at each for level of service and cost. The last reservation we made for my birthday in December was made by mistake on wrong day by reservationist and they wouldn't honor the mistake. There is a lack of customer service with management. It is just average now, the service and standards from years past is now lacking.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect view! I love the view, however, ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Perfect view! I love the view, however, guest of the restaurants are not allowed to go down to the beach. Nevertheless, the view from the top is still lovely and wonderful. For the food and service, it was good. I will definitely come back again!

food5
ambience5
service5

Overall fantastic experience

Dined on September 27, 2015

We had a wonderful celebration for my husband's birthday: Champagne Brunch at Seasons at The Ocean House was my gift to him. Food was fantastic - lots of choices, and our server Krystal was just so pleasant and attentive. Unbelievable views of the ocean - couldn't be happier!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Table location matters

Dined on September 27, 2015

I wish I had specified that we wanted a table by a window on the outermost enclosed porch. We had an inbound table next to interior windows edging the main dining space. Kind of dreary, considering the restaurant location on the shore.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

First rate

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

Well prepared interesting great food. Nice portion sizes. Excellent, well timed service by competently, attentive trained staff. Very comfortable to hear. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose this as it was roughly halfway b ...

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

I chose this as it was roughly halfway between a friend, whom we were meeting, & us. It was near perfection!!! Also, many added touches. The drink list was incredibly imoressive. It is an experience that I will never, ever, ever forget!!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Seasons at ocean house

Dined on September 6, 2015

The valet staff was not very welcoming and disorganized . The valet on the walkie was not helpful and rude to us. The waitstaff was slow and forgot our drinks. The food was good. The atmosphere was beautiful

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A true gem

Dined on September 6, 2015

This was our second visit in a month for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. It was so perfect the first time that we had to share our experience with our adult children and their spouses . Perfect in every way, weather, food, service, ambiance . We all agreed that we will return again and again. Do Rhode Islanders realize what a " hidden gem "they have in their back yard?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance!

Dined on September 6, 2015

We went for the jazz brunch. It's a three man jazz band that plays in the foyer. It's hard to hear them from inside, so after brunch we got a drink and sat in the comfortable couches to listen to the band. It was a good selection of food in the buffet along with a la carte selections. Beauty surrounds the Ocean House no matter where you are. Overall a fantastic experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

champagne

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

Served glasses of our champagne to adjoining table. We mentioned this to our waitress and notified manager. Our waitress said that the champagne will be replaced with the same champagne. This was not true. We were given a different bottle of champagne which was not as liked as what we ordered. When bottle of champagne was brought to our table, it was not shown - just opened and served - not good protocol for any restaurant - especially this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Disappointing Treatment

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

My wife and I drove over two hours to experience Oceans House and have lunch. Our lunch in dining room had beautiful views and while the Clam Chowder was very light on clams the lobster rolls were excellent. After we finished eating we tried to sit on the half empty patio and enjoy cocktails. We were refused seating because the "patio is reserved for dining guests only". Even after explaining we had just finished dining inside we were again refused. Apparently, if you eat at the patio you may then continue to sit there and enjoy beverages, but if you eat inside and spend more money you may not. Stupid rules that really soured our visit. Not likely to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding once again

vip
Dined on September 2, 2015

This is the best restaurant in New England. While we live in Boston, we come here to celebrate our anniversary every year. It is head and shoulders above the top restaurants in Boston, both in food and service (and there are many excellent ones that we frequent). The attention to detail is unbelievable--I've never seen a slice of jalapeño sliced so thinly and it gave just the right level of heat. Their wine list is unmatched. Take a trip down to Watch Hill! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great anniversary destination

Dined on August 30, 2015

Ocean House helped make our anniversary a memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch with a View

Dined on August 30, 2015

Amazing selection of food with wonderful service. The restaurant was busy but not loud and our waiter was very attentive. The view of the water from our seats was beautiful! We will definitely visit again!

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Modest yet extraordinary

Dined on August 30, 2015

Even with the spectacular setting, required dress code, and expensive, creative menu, the spot-on service manages to be both personal and unpretentious. Overall, a rare treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

No better brunch exists in the world.

Dined on August 23, 2015

I live in Westerly so getting here is easy. I have had brunch here 5 times and have always had wonderful food. It can get busy, so the service can vary at times. I have had breakfast and brunch all over the world...and there is no comparison to this. Throw in the beautiful view and you have a very unique experience...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

If you Have to Ask, You Can't Afford It.

Dined on August 20, 2015

There's a saying about yachts; if you have to ask how much it costs to run one, you can't afford to own one. Same with the Ocean House. Stunning , ocean front location, hundreds of millions of dollars in renovations, top quality staff and food raw materials--OF COURSE, it can be blindingly expensive. However, go to lunch rather than dinner, pick prudently from the wine list and menu, and you can end up with a bill that is less than what you would spend for the same thing at a decent but boring restaurant in Providence. but here's the delightful kicker. Dress appropriately (not necessarily expensively), show that you know food and drink, be polite and ask intelligent questions, and YOU WILL BE TREATED LIKE A MILLIONAIRE. I went with a group of 6 middle-class foodies, and we were treated better than the table full of obnoxious (but ostentatiously affluent) hedge fund barons seated and squealing nearby. There IS some justice in the world. In the conventional reviewing sense, what can you say? Beautifully trained staff, unostentatious but impeccable service, excellent (but somewhat conventional) menu, overwhelming wine list, stunning view, relaxed atmosphere, and you are confronted with the Paradox of Rhode Island. World class surroundings and natural views, and only 45 miles north is the squalid cesspool of Rhode Island politics. Talk about your love-hate relationship---.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.