About Seasons 52 - Birmingham

Seasons 52 is a fresh grill and wine bar that offers a seasonally changing menu inspired by the appeal of a local farmer’s market. Seasons 52 sources ingredients at their peak of freshness and uses rustic cooking techniques, like brick-oven roasting and open-fire grilling over oak and mesquite wood to bring out the natural flavors of food. The menu is paired with an ever-changing international collection of more than 100 wines, with 52 available by the glass, along with exceptional signature handcrafted cocktails.

Open for lunch and dinner daily, with extended hours on the weekend.

If you are searching for a place to host your next group function, Seasons 52 is the perfect setting for your private or semi-private event. We also feature a Chef’s table for smaller groups or more intimate settings. For more information, visit our website at www.Seasons52.com.

245 Summit Blvd
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 968-5152

Website:
http://www.seasons52.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet service.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether you’re hosting a corporate event or a social celebration, we are happy to accommodate you. Our event coordinator will assist with every detail, ensuring you have all the amenities you require. Let us help make your event unforgettable.

Seasons 52 - Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (38)
Seasonal (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Healthy (28)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Casual (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Private Room (11)
Fireplace (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Authentic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Organic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vegan (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tapas (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were celebrating a birthday. Everyone ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 2 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday. Everyone went out of their way to make the occasion memorable and very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has a comfortable, casual atmosphere, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

It has a comfortable, casual atmosphere, not stuffy. The food was delicious and there was a good variety to choose from. They even have a separate gluten-sensitive menu!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Valentines Day Reservation made ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for Valentines Day

Reservation made for 830

Arrived early and immediately sat down

Food was outstanding

Lobster flatbread was fantastic

Service was ok

Food was delivered by different people and not the waiter

The waiter didn't check on us often

Overall the experience was good

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Goodness! Fantastic menu, wonderful serv ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Goodness! Fantastic menu, wonderful service, terrific drinks...awesome!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places in town to ha ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite places in town to have a nice night out. I think I've had the Sea Bass with the Black Rice about 6 times and I still love it!! Service was good. Love the small deserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We would eat here every night if we coul ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

We would eat here every night if we could. Fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ours was a Valentines dinner but we have ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Ours was a Valentines dinner but we have been there for dinner and lunch at other times. The food was, as usual, good and plentiful. The wine selection is as good or better than most other dining establishments. I think because of the busy evening the service was just good and not fantastic.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our experience at Season’s 52 was terrib ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Our experience at Season’s 52 was terrible – the food was good, not great, and the service was horrible.

We had a reservation for 7:30. When we arrived we were told there would be a 15-minute wait. I talked to the managing partner to find out why we had to wait. Her explanation was that the people at several tables were talking and taking longer than expected. She also said they were still trying to seat the 7:00 reservations. I told her that this had happened to me every time I went there. I have a reservation, but when I arrive I am told there will be a 15, 20, or 30-minute wait. This is inexcusable. If someone has a 7:30 reservation, you do not wait until 7:30 to make a table available, you do it before hand. This is just poor table management or an attempt by the restaurant to squeeze extra people in.

8:00 We are finally told that our table is ready. The fifteen minutes have turned into thirty. When we entered the room, we were going to eat in, there were three empty tables. I should also mention that we saw a table in the bar area that sat empty for a considerable time.

8:15 Our order was finally taken. We just sat there for fifteen minutes waiting on a waiter. We ordered a bottle of wine.

8:30 The wine finally showed up. Before the wine came, the manager came into the room to check on the various tables. Adjacent to us was a table of six ladies. When he checked with them, they complained of a two hour wait. (I guess I should feel lucky.) When he checked with us I told him of our wait and that we still had not received our wine. I also told him I overheard the ladies complain, so they had an obvious problem.

9:07 The entrée finally shows up.

9:50 We were finally able to leave.

My wife likes this restaurant, but if it was up to me, I would never go there again.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day Dinner

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance, great service, lousy ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, great service, lousy food. My steak was one of the worse I've ever had. It was bland, dry, and kinda gritty. My veggies and Yukon mash were ho-hum and seemed to miss just as badly. Really no flavor. My wife's risotto was probably left in the pot about 2-hours too long and had a consistency similar to my mashed potatoes. She had no complaints about her sea scallops but wasn't raving about them either. They did have cute yummy little desserts served in shot glasses, but seasons 52 really missed the mark badly for our Mercedes Marathon celebration. Probably my #1 worse when you factor in the price we paid. If/when we return to BHM we will pass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Server was overwhelmed. Not as good as t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Server was overwhelmed.

Not as good as the last time we were there...

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We've praised Seasons 52 to our adult ch ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We've praised Seasons 52 to our adult children several times, so when our son and grandson came to B'ham Sunday, we welcomed the chance to have you prove us right. And you did! They were happy with the variety of menu choices, the food itself (of course), and the attentive service. The topper was those delicious desserts! Thanks for proving us so right.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Private Room, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch with friends. Food as al ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful lunch with friends. Food as always was delicious and well presented. Waiter Danny was super - efficient, humorous, personable. A fun time for friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as always!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service as always!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal. Excellent wine. Celebrated w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Meal. Excellent wine. Celebrated with family and enjoyed the service and food immensely.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for a date night-we enjoyed t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice place for a date night-we enjoyed the crab & shrimp stuffed mushrooms as our appetizer. The risotto came recommended and didn't disappoint.

The small dessert choices were a nice selection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excelllent service and great food! We wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excelllent service and great food! We will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The people were very friendly and the wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The people were very friendly and the waiter was attentive, however the food was average for this price range. Compared to restaurants like Botegas, Hot and Hots, and Satterfield's , it was a disappointment. I had scallops and my husband had tuna (which was cooked perfectly!).There wasn't anything wrong with the food, but there wasn't anything that wowed us. The desserts were a huge disappointment. Basically all the same thing, just different flavors. I also thought the loud music was awful...Rolling Stones "Beast of Burden" being blared isn't my idea of a romantic atmosphere.

Again---nothing wrong, just didn't make the cut for a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Not memorable. Food just average. Usuall ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Not memorable. Food just average. Usually my favorite go to restaurant but tonight not so. Food needs more flavor

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The service is always excellent and the ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service is always excellent and the food is beautifully presented. Plus they take Open Table reservations, and have convenient or valet parking. All these things combine to make this my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, waiter (Bradley) was out ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent food, waiter (Bradley) was outstanding, and all around good time with my friends celebrating birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seasons 52 always delivers an outstandin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Seasons 52 always delivers an outstanding dining experience with fresh, delicious food and excellent, friendly service.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was exceptional. The restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server was exceptional. The restaurant started us out with complimentary champagne. We had before dinner cocktails that were truly exceptional and fresh. The dinner and dessert was great. It's a little pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Seasons 52 was wonderful and consistent ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Seasons 52 was wonderful and consistent as always. We truly enjoy dining here!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a daddy daughter date and Jordan sug ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a daddy daughter date and Jordan suggested a Shirley Temple for my 8 year old and she loved it. My tuna was delicious and the desserts are the perfect size. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love Seasons 52. the food and s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I always love Seasons 52. the food and service are always excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little slow. Servers attentive but kit ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A little slow. Servers attentive but kitchen must have been slow.

Food good but not outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Dinner date with friends and out of the ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Dinner date with friends and out of the four meals presented to our table, three were fair and one was excellent. My wife had the sea bass and it was by far the best meal presented. Two orders of the scallop dinner both of which were very dry and lacked flavor, however the veggie sides were good. The forth meal was the tenderloin which was also rated as just fair. I have eaten here several times on business dinners and my overall impression is that the meals are a bit over priced for quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This is my favorite place! The atmospher ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is my favorite place! The atmosphere is cozy and relaxing but good for special occasions as well. The menu is fresh and changes seasonally. The specialty cocktails are great, if a bit on the expensive side.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food - flatbread appetizer was exce ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food - flatbread appetizer was excellent. Our server - Brooklyn - was very attentive and helpful

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been here several times and it has ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I've been here several times and it has become a regular spot for me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Seasons 52 but this visit wasn't aw ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Love Seasons 52 but this visit wasn't awesome as usual. Service was not the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

It was our third anniversary and we had ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was our third anniversary and we had dined there for our other two. Never disappointed with the service or the food there. A very special dining experience and look forward to having our fourth anniversary celebration there next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were excellent as always ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food and drinks were excellent as always. They were out of the entree I wanted but the substitute was very good. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great meal with friends at Seasons ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Had a great meal with friends at Seasons 52. Most restaurants are closed on Sunday, so it is really good to have a place as good as Seasons 52 open then.

Our server, Jordan, was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A very good experience. Great waiter, gr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

A very good experience. Great waiter, great food, was able to make reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday lunch with friends on a Sunday. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Birthday lunch with friends on a Sunday. They were out of several items on the menu and the server was unwilling to make adjustments/substitutions on other menu items as compensation. Otherwise good was good and we did not feel rushed or hurried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Season's 52 is a very good place to enjo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Season's 52 is a very good place to enjoy a lunch or dinner with friends. The service as well as the surroundings are a plus. The menu offers a great variety of healthy foods. Each seasonal change is a very pleasant surprise and it keeps you coming back for more.

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, , Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined here with my husband. We had pla ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I dined here with my husband. We had planned for a date elsewhere, but that place didn't take reservations and had a 55 minute wait. We made a reservation online for Season 52 and actually arrived 30 min early. We knew we wouldn't be seated instantly, but actually ended up being seated around 715.

I loved that our waiter was very honest. My husband was going to order a different kind of mac and cheese, but the waiter let him know that it hadn't been the biggest hit. Too often, we have had waiters act like everything was delicious, just to be disappointed, so this was a welcome change.

I like that the menu changes throughout the year. The only downside to that is that you'll run the risk of loving something and not being able to get it again.

I had the filet, and it was cooked perfectly. The Yukon mashed potatoes were delicious. I also enjoyed the broccoli. My husband had a lamb shank, but was less impressed. It was seasoned and cooked perfectly on one side, but the other left a lot to be desired. His vegetables were undercooked and hard. Portions are a tad small for the prices.

The desserts here are a bit ... overpriced. There is no desert menu, so they bring out 7 different desserts on a tray. They come in tall shot classes and are $3. They don't tell you the price, and in fact, our waiter said, "and I will bring out the dessert tray because that is how we end every meal". My husband thought they were complimentary, based on that statement. I explained otherwise, due to dining here previously and knowing. Now, not sure if they arrange the desserts themselves, but I heard three separate waiters say, "I will start in the middle, with my personal favourite", when presenting the desserts.

I would dine again, though. Overall, the experience was lovely for an impromptu date night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Greta food and service. I highly recomme ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Greta food and service. I highly recommend the pork tenderloin.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.