About Seasalt - Del Mar

2282 Carmel Valley Rd.
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Seafood Bistro with a menu inspired by responsibly sourced local food. It's a place to enjoy fresh, delicious plates and relax by the beach. In addition to fresh fish and seafood, Seasalt Del Mar serves salads, soups, chicken, steak and vegetarian options. It is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Seasalt Del Mar also has a large bar area with HD TVs and a Private Room with Private View Deck.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Saturday 10:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday 10:00am - 9:00am

Weekend Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Monday - Friday Drink Only (Kitchen Closed) 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Weekend Bar Food Only: 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Daily Happy Hour: 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Via Cortina

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-7100

Website:
http://seasaltdelmar.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your event at our restaurant!

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant can take approximately take parties from 10 - 120 people for large parties. Private dining room can hold 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Salvatore: 8557207421

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 430-630pm Saturday and Sunday 300pm - close

Restaurant Photos

  • Seasalt - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Seasalt - Del Mar, Del Mar, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 9:15PM

Seasalt - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (24)
Casual (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Waterfront (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WARNING...This place only offers drinks ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

WARNING...This place only offers drinks made from rice liquor as they DO NOT have a full bar license. They only sell beer and wine and drinks made from awful rice liquor. My Old Fashion had to be sent back and I ordered a beer instead.

Moreover, the Monk fish and Halibut entrees were tasteless and too expensive. The Monk fish was tough and they offered it as a fish tasting like lobster wrapped in bacon. Strange dish.

Overall, we were disappointed and won't be returning. Beware, the music is LOUD throughout the place and was some type of electronic disco which was annoying to say the least.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Great service and great food

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service and great food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked by phone a week before, and in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I asked by phone a week before, and in an e-mail for special requests on Opentable, and in person when we first got there on the day of our reservation if we could have separate checks. Yes, was the answer. It took a very long time to get our check (the first was a single check for all of us). The waiter didn't know we wanted separate checks after all this. Also, we had to ask for the bill. We waited a long time for someone to come. No one had come to check on us. The food was minimally good. Lots of lettuce, but little else in the salad. One of the women said it was the "worst service." We won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

A good dinner at a casual place. Nothin ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A good dinner at a casual place. Nothing exceptional, but an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food, wine, service were good. Prices fa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food, wine, service were good. Prices fair for what was delivered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed the lovely view on the patio, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed the lovely view on the patio, but as it was a sunny day, it became extremely hot. It also was very loud, and I had to strain to hear what my friend was saying. The service was mildly lackadaisical. That being said, we both very much enjoyed our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our server was very helpful. When we we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our server was very helpful. When we were served some bread rolls that had seeds on them I told our server my husband was unable to eat any bread or rolls with seeds he said he would see if there was any other bread or rolls available and he did provide some without nuts or seeds.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My partner had the seafood soup and said ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My partner had the seafood soup and said it was one of the best he had ever tasted.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful birthday dinner. Excellent fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner. Excellent food and outstanding service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun place, great view, happy staff, vari ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fun place, great view, happy staff, varied menu. Walkable from beach and town.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Seasalt is 10 out of 10! First visit and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Seasalt is 10 out of 10! First visit and it was sensational! Management, waiter, menu, food and ombiance were superb. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the sushi. Most of it was good, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We had the sushi. Most of it was good, but we did have one roll that had yellowtail and the fish was not fresh. If that hadn't happened, I would have rated the food higher. Overall, still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We stumbled upon Seasalt, enjoyed our di ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We stumbled upon Seasalt, enjoyed our dining experience and keep coming back. We have introduced several of our friends to Seasalt and they will be coming back. It just keeps getting better and better. Sonny, our waiter, was terrific!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 8 women had a wonderful lun ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our group of 8 women had a wonderful lunch in a private outdoor room. Our server was fabulous and we had a great time celebrating 4 birthdays. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish and chips were really good. Great f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fish and chips were really good. Great fries. Grilled salmon was a bit dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic food. We tried a bit of every ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fantastic food. We tried a bit of everything on the menu and it was top notch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seasalt is a fun restaurant with an inte ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Seasalt is a fun restaurant with an interesting menu. They have reduced alcohol drinks which are unusual and we really enjoy it. We go there regularly as a sort of last minute option and we always enjoy the food and the ambiance...sometimes the service is a little slow...

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food, great views from the patio, $ ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Good food, great views from the patio, $120 for the two of us after Champagne

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High quality seafood dishes, good vegeta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

High quality seafood dishes, good vegetarian options, reasonable prices, limited wine selection, comfortable surroundings. Best Heirloom salad I've ever had. Order the artichoke appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Was not overwhelmed with the dining expe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Was not overwhelmed with the dining experience. Made reservations and was hoping for a table on the patio for better ambiance, but was seated inside next to bar. It was not loud, but frustrating that patio tables were open the entire time we were there to eat. The hospitality of the server was OK, not over friendly, but did her job. The guy refilling water glasses was actually more friendly than our server. The food gets the highest score; from appetizers to desserts, the food was great and fairly priced. Not sure I would recommend it to work colleagues for business dinners, but might come back myself and give it another try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

They do it right - small but tastefully ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

They do it right - small but tastefully decorated (warm) with a lovely view of the estuary across the street. Wonderful fish - creative but not over the top. Small wine list but we've always found something we like. On the other hand there are a lot of choices on the menu and it is sometimes hard to pick one. The deck (covered and enclosed) can get noisier than the inside area by the bar so you choose between the view of the water or having it quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice for price tv in bar varied menu oys ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Nice for price tv in bar varied menu oysters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Wonderful view of the water. We were th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful view of the water. We were there on a hot sunny day for lunch, and we were sweating sitting outdoors. They would benefit from adding umbrellas or some sort of shade on the patio. Food is delicious and fresh.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Lunch was great. The issue was that it ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Lunch was great. The issue was that it was REALLY hot sitting on the patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good fish and Italian local restaurant w ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good fish and Italian local restaurant with enjoyable outdoor patio dining.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a nicely decorated restaurant and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a nicely decorated restaurant and the patio was decent. I thought the rice in the salt shaker was a bit tacky for a restaurant that looks upscale. I mean, you see stuff like that at a Chinese Buffet. My husband enjoyed his steak and his fries were tasty, however, my seared scallops were cooked to perfection, but the sauteed bell peppers and onions just ruined the flavor of the risotto and the scallops. I love bell peppers and onions, but it didn't go well with the risotto & scallops. The service was a bit slow to begin with, but our food came out pretty fast. I don't think I would return here, maybe for happy hour.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We always love coming here. Excellent qu ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always love coming here. Excellent quality, taste, quantity & value for your money.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good location, views, patio dining but j ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good location, views, patio dining but just one option for vegetarian dining which is not surprising for a Sea Food restaurant but having more options can be helpful for person like me to bring others to this restaurant. Pricing seems to be bit on higher side but overall good experience with great service. No issues with parking either.

They do take Passport discount card which helped me saved on the lowest priced entree. This is one of the reasons I went to this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Seasalt: Try it! We really like this p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Seasalt: Try it! We really like this place and hope it finds a broad audience of diners. Great menu items, well prepared and great prices. It's excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a big family dinner with 8 people ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a big family dinner with 8 people. All of our entrees were delicious. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Service, Great Outdoor ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great Food, Great Service, Great Outdoor Patio dining overlooking Penasquitos Lagoon towards the Pacific Ocean.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great value, didn't break the bank, serv ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great value, didn't break the bank, service excellent, food very good.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place with great service & ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

What a great place with great service & food. Plus the sunset view is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

3 hour lunch was no problem... my friend ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2016

3 hour lunch was no problem... my friend was visiting from out of town and we sat for hours "catching up." The swordfish sandwich was not as good as I remembered. It was crowded and louder than I remember. Parking can be a bit tricky, but the service was impeccable and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I had read the reviews and they were mix ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I had read the reviews and they were mixed. Most everyone said the food was good, but service was lacking. Unfortunately we found the same. Never found out our servers name till I looked at it on the bill. Only checked once to see how the food was through three courses. Ice tea and water glasses were never refilled. Too many places to go to in San Diego and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Set up a lunch reservation as a going aw ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Set up a lunch reservation as a going away for our boss. Table was ready on time. Good was excellent. Will definitely return and will try to go with the family as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The entire ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped by just by chance as the res ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We stopped by just by chance as the restaurant we planned to go to was closed. We tried Seasalt and we were floored. Amazing ambiance, fabulous food and great attentive service. It's our new favourite place and we are going there again tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dungeness crab cakes and inventive ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great Dungeness crab cakes and inventive and wonderful sea scallops. No complaints about the food at all. The restaurant wasn't that busy but yet not enough staff that I waited 25 minutes for my appetizer, never saw any bread (unlike tables that had 2 or more folks) and another 15-20 minute wait for entree. Never asked if I cared for,another drink and never asked how anything was.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Oysters Rockefeller here are my absolute ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Oysters Rockefeller here are my absolute favorite anywhere. Lightly flavored dishes with great service and wonderful patio space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.