About Seasalt - Del Mar

2282 Carmel Valley Rd.
San Diego, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Seafood Bistro with a menu inspired by responsibly sourced local food. It's a place to enjoy fresh, delicious plates and relax by the beach. In addition to fresh fish and seafood, Seasalt Del Mar serves salads, soups, chicken, steak and vegetarian options. It is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Seasalt Del Mar also has a large bar area with HD TVs and a Private Room with Private View Deck.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Saturday 10:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday 10:00am - 9:00am

Weekend Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Monday - Friday Drink Only (Kitchen Closed) 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Weekend Bar Food Only: 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Daily Happy Hour: 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Via Cortina

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-7100

Website:
http://seasaltdelmar.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your event at our restaurant!

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant can take approximately take parties from 10 - 120 people for large parties. Private dining room can hold 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Salvatore: 8557207421

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 430-630pm Saturday and Sunday 300pm - close

Restaurant Photos

  • Seasalt - Del Mar
Seasalt - Del Mar

Seasalt - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Scenic View (71)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Romantic (20)
Kid-friendly (12)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great value, didn't break the bank, serv ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great value, didn't break the bank, service excellent, food very good.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place with great service & ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

What a great place with great service & food. Plus the sunset view is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

3 hour lunch was no problem... my friend ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

3 hour lunch was no problem... my friend was visiting from out of town and we sat for hours "catching up." The swordfish sandwich was not as good as I remembered. It was crowded and louder than I remember. Parking can be a bit tricky, but the service was impeccable and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I had read the reviews and they were mix ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I had read the reviews and they were mixed. Most everyone said the food was good, but service was lacking. Unfortunately we found the same. Never found out our servers name till I looked at it on the bill. Only checked once to see how the food was through three courses. Ice tea and water glasses were never refilled. Too many places to go to in San Diego and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Set up a lunch reservation as a going aw ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Set up a lunch reservation as a going away for our boss. Table was ready on time. Good was excellent. Will definitely return and will try to go with the family as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The entire ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped by just by chance as the res ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We stopped by just by chance as the restaurant we planned to go to was closed. We tried Seasalt and we were floored. Amazing ambiance, fabulous food and great attentive service. It's our new favourite place and we are going there again tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dungeness crab cakes and inventive ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great Dungeness crab cakes and inventive and wonderful sea scallops. No complaints about the food at all. The restaurant wasn't that busy but yet not enough staff that I waited 25 minutes for my appetizer, never saw any bread (unlike tables that had 2 or more folks) and another 15-20 minute wait for entree. Never asked if I cared for,another drink and never asked how anything was.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Oysters Rockefeller here are my absolute ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Oysters Rockefeller here are my absolute favorite anywhere. Lightly flavored dishes with great service and wonderful patio space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Swordfish sandwich to perfection... The ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Swordfish sandwich to perfection... The wait staff were attentive without being annoying. Parking can be a bit of a problem, but the location is wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the fish entrees that were or ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed the fish entrees that were ordered and took the leftovers home.

My husband and I enjoy the artichoke appetizer prepared with roasted garlic.

The New England style chowder is fabulous and served very hot (temperature).

Our friends liked their dinner - it was their first time dining there.

The owner, Sal, gave us a complimentary dessert - yum!

We will go back there again - It's one of our favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our food was OK. The only plate that sto ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our food was OK. The only plate that stood out was he fish and chips.

Service was terrible. Our waiter was.......elsewhere. Never brought the bread and when we asked, he brought it after we finished eating. Maybe bread is good with...ice cram.

We also brought two bottles of our own wine. When we asked him to open the second one

he took forever, so we opened it by ourselves. And we were....charged....!!!!

Even the check came 14 minutes after we asked for it.

The tables next to us were lucky. They had a waiter that was on top of everything.

My wife did not finished her plate and nobody asked why. Let it stay a mystery.....!

Don't think I will go back, at least for sometime. Our friends said the same.

I wish the service (and food) was better because the location is amazing.

Too bad

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Everything was great. The service was ex ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everything was great. The service was exceptional. We were a party of 5 and everyone had something different and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very friendly staff and delicious food. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very friendly staff and delicious food. My first time there and I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had just delivered 29 Boy Scouts to Fi ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had just delivered 29 Boy Scouts to Fiesta Island for a week of summer camp. I decided to celebrate by having dinner at Seasalt that was just around the corner from where we were staying. It was a great choice. I had the fried calamari as an appetizer and then chioppino as a main course. Both were fresh and flavorful. Couple the food with a great view of the lagoon from the patio made for a great meal. A good place for seafood and sushi with great service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SeaSalt is just meh. The service is gene ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

SeaSalt is just meh. The service is generally slow, which is the most annoying thing about this restaurant. The food is middle of the road, but some of it is pretty good. The view is really great, across the lagoon to the ocean. There is ample parking, too, which is nice in this neighborhood. We went for lunch and had Sushi. This is not a good place to get sushi. They have a separate sushi menu, but on the regular menu is a sort of incompatible list of mediterranean seafood-centric pasta dishes and the like. That menu is pretty good; maybe not exactly a value, but you are also paying for the view.

I recommend this place mostly for the view, but the non-sushi menu is good, too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

My wife and I went to Seasalt for a Wedn ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My wife and I went to Seasalt for a Wednesday night date night sunset dinner. We were pleased to be seated at a table right next to the window so would have had a great sunset except for the marine layer. Regardless, the view was exceptional and we enjoyed it greatly. The food was pretty good but not exceptional. I had the crab cakes which were good as well as the ciaopino which I enjoyed but would have preferred a little better seasoning. The service was probably the best part of the experience. Our waiter, I apologize that I forgot his name, was on point throughout the night. Everything I expect from a waiter. Overall the night was a great experience. I will likely return to enjoy Seasalt again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place to go for lunch or dinner. I ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great place to go for lunch or dinner. I have been here twice and have been impressed both times. The food is fresh, diverse for all pallets and reasonably priced. I will find more opportunities to visit again. Great job guys!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great view and quick service for an earl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great view and quick service for an early dinner. Highly recommend the crab raviolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing. My wife is from It ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was amazing. My wife is from Italy and this is one of the most authentic restaurants we have been to in awhile. The portions are generous and cooked to perfection. My personal favorite was the Squid Ink pasta.

The service wasn't bad in total, most people seemed busy, except our waiter who was never to be found. When he would show up in the dinning room he had to be waved over to get any help (and would forget to get things that we asked so would have to ask other servers).

We will be back as the food and ambiance was outstanding. The owner is also extremely personable and friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Seasalt does not disappoint. We have now ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Seasalt does not disappoint. We have now been there with various friends for both lunch and dinner. Everyone has been satisfied with the offerings. The service is also good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall nice place. A bit of road noise ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall nice place. A bit of road noise from the street but if you're inside you won't hear it. We had the crab cake, cioppino and scallops. Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This place is a hidden gem. The fish was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place is a hidden gem. The fish was fresh. The owner was very nice. The setting was beautiful. My wife and I truly enjoyed our first visit and plan on going again soon. This place reminded me of going in someone's home. The waiter was new and a little slow, but that was to be expected from someone in training. A great guy with manners! This place is now a place to go for Great Food! Thank You Opentable !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had great time, food was fresh and ta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had great time, food was fresh and tasted really good. Service was good also. Only complaint I would have is that we had to ask for bread and when it came there were only 2 rolls in the basket but we were three of us at the table. I guess they expected us to share it, which we did. Waiter never asked if we need more until it came time to order dessert.

So, only suggestion I would have is to be not stingy about the bread and be generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was my first time there and i loved ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first time there and i loved it. My halibut dinner was delicious and I enjoyed the "Asian" version of my Moscow Mule cocktail. Our waiter was courteous and the food was delivered in record time. Unfortunately, my parent's experience was not the same. A table of noisy kids and parents put a squash on the evening for them as they were celebrating their 45th anniversary. Other than that, I give this restaurant high ratings.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I should have listened to the poor revie ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I should have listened to the poor review. The service was terrible. I was not even served all the food that I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We dine at Seasalt frequently and are ne ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We dine at Seasalt frequently and are never disappointed. Whether you are a vegetarian or omnivore, Seasalt has (or can create) something wonderful for you. The view over the lagoon from the enclosed patio is spectacular. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miguel Angel is the best! He has served ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Miguel Angel is the best! He has served us the two times we have been there and he is absolutely friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food options were fabulous!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food options were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dining experience at Seasa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Another great dining experience at Seasalt!

This time we enjoyed the flounder - awesome !

Service also very good

Love the view too!

Can't beat it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for my girlfriend's birthd ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there for my girlfriend's birthday. Food was fine. View is lovely. I think this restaurant could be better with their PR. My friend is allergic to shrimp so she asked if she could get 2 scallops instead of a shrimp and a scallop with her fish entree. Waiter said yes sure. When the bill came he added a $3 up charge to do it. Petty maybe, but either do it gratis or tell the customer that your restaurant does this. Also the manager or owner is not friendly and the whole wait staff vibe is kind of weird and creepy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Cioppino was disappointing, one shrimp o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Cioppino was disappointing, one shrimp only! Let's get a little more generous for the price! The view made up the difference!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

We love the terrific service and ambianc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We love the terrific service and ambiance. The view is amazing. We really love the cuisine - it's really flavorful and creative - yet healthy - a really challenging combination to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best kept secret in Del Mar.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Sensational dinner spot, can't say enough about food, the service was impeccable, the environment was comfortable, great vibe, the perfect spot for a special dinner. Love Seasalt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had heard great things about this restaurant so we went for the first time. The patio tables do have a pretty view of Torrey Pines beach. Service was inconsistent and we had to wait a very long time for our wine. By the way, they only have beer and wine, no liquor. The crab cake appetizer was very mediocre. The rest of the meal was average; nothing really stood out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Up and coming, working out the kinks

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Fun, good food not too expensive,

Lovely setting, my wife liked the lobster, mussels and squid ink linguini. Bar is large and inviting, but we didnt visit the bar this time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent food and service Love the sea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food and service

Love the seafood dishes especially

Great location

Very enjoyable views

Ample parking

Excellent manager

Always a pleasure !! One of my favorites in the area !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

View was fantastic. Great feel. Nice menu. Food was obviously high quality but very bland. Really lacked any flavor and seemed "uninspired". Would diffinately recommend a different place in this price range for sure.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Our first visit and we will be back and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our first visit and we will be back and bring our friends! We had the Artichoke Hearts appetizer which was delish, followed by 2 awesome and very different salads. In our typical style we shared the main dish, mushroom sausage ravioli- YUM! My new fav !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place but know that there is no fu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great place but know that there is no full bar! And now I need to keep writing because I need to have at least 50 characters - really?! And the one star on food is because they won't let me submit a review without eating food. How do I rate the food if I only had wine and no food??

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.