Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

About Seasalt - Del Mar

Seafood Bistro with a menu inspired by responsibly sourced local food. It's a place to enjoy fresh, delicious plates and relax by the beach. In addition to fresh fish and seafood, Seasalt Del Mar serves salads, soups, chicken, steak and vegetarian options. It is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Seasalt Del Mar also has a large bar area with HD TVs and a Private Room with Private View Deck.

2282 Carmel Valley Rd.
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Saturday 10:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday 10:00am - 9:00am

Weekend Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Monday - Friday Drink Only (Kitchen Closed) 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Weekend Bar Food Only: 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Daily Happy Hour: 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Via Cortina

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-7100

Website:
http://seasaltdelmar.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your event at our restaurant!

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant can take approximately take parties from 10 - 120 people for large parties. Private dining room can hold 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Salvatore: (855) 720-7421

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 430-630pm Saturday and Sunday 300pm - close

Seasalt - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (42)
Casual (31)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Business Meals (13)
Waterfront (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Seasalt has a great view and good food ... but it has a lot of competition in San Diego. This was our first visit. Not bad but nothing incredible.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

First time here—definitely won't be the last. We had a simply delightful meal, from the homemade cream of mushroom soup to the seared ahi to the crab ravioli and all the way to the mousse and creme brulee for dessert. And what a delight to watch the fish jumping and ducks floating by across the street!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good. The view was great. Service was great as well. Wait staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I went on a Friday night after work after looking on Yelp ( pretty good reviews). We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We were seated at a table overlooking the lagoon. We started with the mussels and chiorizo appetizer in a tomato broth, which was loaded with mussels and very good. My husband had the cioppino - he loved it - and I ordered the spaghetti with clam sauce. Both were excellent. My husband especially liked his margarita - he said it was one of the best he ever had and we just got back from Mexico! The service couldn't have been better.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very Nice view when dining on the patio. My scallops with risotto was delicious. However my mother in law who ordered the steak received it well done instead of medium rare. Luckily they rectified the situation and gave her a new steak to her liking. Service was ok but not phenomenal as I would expect in a restaurant like this one for the prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time here-- We came here for a last minute mother's day dinner reservation. I was told that the menu was going to be slightly shortened by the host at the time of reservation, what I didn't know is that they were going to remove the sushi menu and carpaccio altogether - so that was definitely a bummer. Also on the online menu they offer gluten-free noodle substitutions to any dish for an additional $2, which was unfortunately not the case when we got there. Luckily there are decent GF and vegetarian friendly options. The service was a little slow but very attentive. We were sat (party of 10) in a beautiful room with a view of the Torrey Pines Reserve and ocean. The food was good, wine was good and overall it was a memorable experience food-wise. I will give this place a try again when their menu isn't compromised.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Seasalt! We have been there many times and once again for Mother's Day. The view can't be beat and the service is excellent. My favorite is the veggie benedict. Yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It was a surprise how good this neighborhood place was....we all had something different and enjoyed them all very much. Definitely will be back again.

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We met some friends there for dinner and had a great time. The server took great care of us and the food was delicious. We enjoyed sitting on the enclosed deck as the sun went down.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was was my first time for dinner at Seasalt on May 4th for a business meeting with an important customer. The fresh seafood was excellent and the menu choices and preparation was perfect. The craft beer and wine list compliments the variety of dinner options.
I have already recommended your location for happy hour and dinner!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The only knock was that they made us wait about 15-20 minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation for a party of 11 on a day when they were not super busy...other than that I highly recommend it. The food was very good over all as well as the service once we were seated.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always a delight. I especially recommend the Artichoke Romano. They are fantastic!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Originally we were seated on the small patio, but it was too hot and very noisy. We really enjoyed our table inside the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant has a lovely view of Los Penasquitos Lagoon and Torrey Pines. My wife and I enjoyed our egg scrambles and the truffle fries were light and tasty!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a wonderful view of the sun setting as we had our dinner last Good Friday. Excellent array of seafood choices especially since it was Lenten Friday when Catholics can only have seafood meals. Have meals (dinners and the occasional lunch) here about once a month and have never had a slow service.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fish was excellent. Perfectly cooked, lightly seasoned and good size portions. Beautiful setting and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Hosted a business dinner here for a small group, which included several people from out of town. Everyone was impressed with the view, the food, and service. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The sushi rolls were huge and delicious. The sea scallops dish came out fresh and hot! Found restaurant by accident but great little hidden spot. Will go again

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My fish entree (salmon) was nicely prepared - it was moist and tasty!

My husband enjoyed his fish dinner too.

The server brought the wrong soup but quickly returned it to the kitchen and brought the
correct item.

I think our friends enjoyed the evening altho it was a bit loud in the area we were seated.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The restaurant was very nice and the food was good. My only wish was that the portions were a little larger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was decent... Not amazing. The calamari was good, but sauces were limited and not a lot of them. The salmon pasta was good...Salmon pieces in instead of a filet was unexpected. Waiter was nice.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

SATURDAY BRUNCH - NO CROWDS. Good food. Easy parking (that I didn't know about -they have a lot).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We booked our reservation via Opentable, and i also have a passport dining card which entitles you to a second entree for free of equal or lesser value. The waiter took our bill, and made the charge. Then the owner comes, and then tells us we cannot combine opentable + passport dining since we are getting both coupons? I am like what the heck are you talking about? He's like i am paying open table $15 for a confirmed reservation, and you are using the passport card, and you cannot use that since i am already paying open table and my rent is expensive. You have to pay full price, i cannot honor passport dining card. I am like so what? I am not using coupons, i booked my reservation on a reservation website, and i am using passport dining card which is paid annually for high-end restaurants, and whatever you pay to open table and your rent is none of my business. Can you believe what the owner did? Made a big scene with other customers are eating, he doesn't have good management skills, and then to top it off he even honored the card, since it was his mistake, and then apologized at the end when it was too late. Any good owner/manager would of never argued like this, when i the customer was right in the first place, pathetic experience ruined our entire quiet night we were having. He wanted to call the opentable guy right there at 8pm at Inight, when they were closed; he also wanted to take my number down to follow up after he called opentable, and i said no i am not giving you my number. This owner is lousy, and doesn't even know what's right. I have never ever encountered anything like this before ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food, plannkng a return visit... outside seating area is very nice...

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was good and the service great! We will go back there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Sat by the window over looking the lagoon, sipped delicious coffee and had a great breakfast. We'll be back, for dinner too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very nice staff and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Nice friendly spot for dinner with homey atmosphere and view of the estuary.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were a party if 4 and had scallops, steak, chicken and seafood combo. All meals were fabulous! We were there at sunset and it was crowded and noisy but did get quieter as the evening went on. Favorite food item is the Burata!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were very happy with our entire visit to Seasalt; the food was very good and the portions were very generous. We also felt that prices were a good value for what you get, especially when compared to restaurants of much lower quality that charge as much or more. Service was very attentive - we couldn't have asked for anything more.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We're hosting out of town guests who wanted fresh fish and close to ocean. Very welcoming and told us not to hurry. Accommodated gluten/celiac guest off the menu. Will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Arrived early with a reservation but still waited 20 minutes for a table. Food was above average but not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and service were excellent, we both had seafood and the linguine alla console and lobster ravioli were outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really wonderful service and the food was excellent. Brought our two kids here and felt very comfortable. From out of state, so didn't know what to expect but will definitely come again next time we're in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sunday brunch, pasta was good. Mashed potatoes were refrigerator cold dry leftovers from the night before. Omelette was over cooked. 3rd string quarterback must have been in the kitchen. Place has potential and may be better in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was good but the service is not the greatest! I loved what we ordered as it was for sunday brunch. The view is very beautiful and pieceful.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful wine Dinner!!! The food was delicious! This was the second wine dinner I attended and it was just as good as the first one. I will continue to go back to this restaurant. The food is always very good!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We stopped in before the theatre and watched the sun set. We just had appetizers but enjoyed watching the food come out of the kitchen. They were setting up for a monthly wine pairing event that I am excited to try!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.