Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

About Seasalt - Del Mar

Seafood Bistro with a menu inspired by responsibly sourced local food. It's a place to enjoy fresh, delicious plates and relax by the beach. In addition to fresh fish and seafood, Seasalt Del Mar serves salads, soups, chicken, steak and vegetarian options. It is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Seasalt Del Mar also has a large bar area with HD TVs and a Private Room with Private View Deck.

2282 Carmel Valley Rd.
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Saturday 10:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday 10:00am - 9:00am

Weekend Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Monday - Friday Drink Only (Kitchen Closed) 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Weekend Bar Food Only: 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Daily Happy Hour: 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Via Cortina

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-7100

Website:
http://seasaltdelmar.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your event at our restaurant!

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 430-630pm Saturday and Sunday 300pm - close

Private Dining

Our restaurant can take approximately take parties from 10 - 120 people for large parties. Private dining room can hold 30 guests.

Seasalt - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (25)
Good for a Date (16)
Casual (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Waterfront (14)
Healthy (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Expected more. Salmon and swordfish overcooked. Artichoke appetizer was best thing we ate. Appetizers were pricey for what we got. Not hurrying back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We brought another couple to try Seasalt restaurant and we all loved it. The

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Ordered swordfish had to send it back way overcooked. Ordered a second piece of swordfish and it was gristly could only eat half of it. Very disappointed

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2017

The swordfish sandwich was delicious. It was very hot, so we were unable to sit on the outside terrace, but we enjoyed the view from inside nevertheless. We felt very welcomed and pampered.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Great sushi rolls, tasty fish and pasta dishes and excellent service. Can get a little loud when it's busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was great. Highly recommend the Vodka Salmon and the Crab Ravioli. Solid drink selection as well. Only negative was it took a little effort to track down our waiter after the food came. Definitely will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Good food. All meals came out quickly, were cooked well with a nice presentation. Our server was efficient and pleasant. Will come back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The only downside was I made a reservation for 3 @ 7:15 pm and when we got there he said Open Table had overbooked. We waited about a half hour which wasn’t bad but I was slightly annoyed. I believe it was their system. I’ve never had a problem with OpenTable.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was great as well as the service. Great variety of dishes to choose from without having too many choices and a huge menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We saw this on the Resturaunt week website. But they did not honor it. I was disappointed. Since I had 3 small kids and expecting another family, I decided to stay. The menu items on line such as Mac n cheese were not on the menu. another disappointment as my kids expected it. it was my moms bday and she did get a special dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Enjoyable on all fronts. The view is impeccable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Its unfortunate that I have to write this review. We enjoy the food, but there is one server that seems to just dislike us, and she makes it very apparent. We were there a few months ago and she was extremely rude to us. When I mentioned it to her, I guess she realized it and apologized and comped our meal due to the horrible customer experience. I won't even go into some of the nasty and sarcastic comments she made. I chalked it up to everyone has a bad day. We still left a $20 tip, thinking it was an isolated incident.
Last night we went back, and she wasn't as rude to our face with comments, but still not welcoming. We instantly knew it was not going to be an enjoyable experience, but we always try to take the high road and give people second chances. We get through our meal - 2 bowls of soup, a burrata appetizer, fish and chips entree, and a sushi roll. Several beers and a couple glasses of wine. Now we ask for the bill and let her know we have a Passport card. (this a buy one get one type card). SHE DENIES US and will not let us use the card! We have been here so many times and never have this issue. I asked to speak to a manager because this isn't right, and she says she is the manager. WOW. So we actually looked it up on the Passport website and this is the rule: An appetizer may be an entree only if an entree is ordered as well. So with that, we definitely should have gotten an appetizer taken of our bill, but she was on a power trip.

The takeaway is she was just trying to be nasty to us. I will be following up with the owner, and its doubtful we will be back which is unfortunate because we live down the street and walk there. We frequent Seasalt a lot, but that will be changing. If we do ever go back, we will never have her as a server again. That is guaranteed. She is ruining this restaurant's brand and is definitely the bad seed - everyone else seems to be quite nice. It true what they say - one bad apple can ruin the whole bunch - brand is everything.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, great service. Nice atmosphere. Can't ask for much more than that.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Love Sea Salt. Their food is consistently good, the view is gorgeous at sunset and the waiters are attentive. Will be good when they have their full bar.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2017

An unexpectedly delightful evening from beginning to end. Across the road from the Pacific Ocean with on-site parking.
Enrique made us feel welcomed as valued guests. Salad and chowder were great starters. Both seafood entrees were delicious. Desserts were worth the extra calories.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service was very poor for a business meal while in town. We had a private room setup, but the wait staff appeared to be short staffed and took a long time for the food to arrive. One of our guests waited over an hour for his food to arrive which was ridiculous. The manager did her best to help accommodate and ended up giving free desserts to our group which was nice.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were vacationing in Del Mar. we were looking for a casual restaurant with heat food and a casual atmosphere. Sea Salt fit the bill. The food actually exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was delicious, recommendations from the server were excellent, but she became fairly inattentive over the course of the meal. But the food was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

How often do you go into a restaurant and look at the menu, then say I would eat everything on this menu? It doesn't happen very often but it did to me here.

Fanatastic cooked seafood we ordered was complemented by the great sushi. Highly recommended.
We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Decent meal. View and location are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was plentiful and presentation was good - on the whole it lacked seasoning and flavor.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Delicious food and a beautiful location and ambience within the patio and inside.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Rough start, patio was crowded and had to wait 30 minutes past reservation time before seated. Waitress was very apologetic and accommodating. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

With a view of Los Penasquitos Lagoon and the Torrey Pines hill, the patio seating is just perfect. The emphasis on fish and seafood makes for a great menu - and the food is delicious. Service is pleasant. Prices are good. Enjoy!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great location and menu. I always sit on the patio. Great risotto and wedge salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food - great service - lovely view - convenient parking -
Great location - love coming here
It can become a bit noisy during prime eating time on the patio - but that's very difficult to control
One of my favorite regular eating establishments

Recommend !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was really good, but the view was amazing. The patio was such a pleasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Pretty view of Los Penasquitos Lagoon, good food, friendly service-- everything I want! Sometimes fish selection is limited, that's why only four stars for food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The service was horrible starting with the snarky hostess to the server. Food was expensive and bland. Service was slow. We didn't get acknowledged when seated for a long time. Overall bad experience. Would never go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a great time at Seasalt. We meet there for a business dinner. I work for a church and we brought in a special speaker and we wanted to treat him and his wife to a great place to eat. We had great service and an easy atmosphere to talk about the church and get to know him a little better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

One of North County gems. Ambiance great and food is the best. Ask for Sonny he is great waiter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The Food & Service were very Good. My only gripe was that we had reservations, and mentioned it was a special occasion. Everything was great until they sat a table of 10 with five young kids right next to us. UGH! Next time we will just eat in the Bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We appreciate the quality service and the delicious food. We sat at the patio and enjoyed the greens and the waters through the partial enclosed glass enclosures. Just hope the weather was less hot.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our first time art this restaurant and we were very impressed - we will definitely be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great scallops. Enjoyed the experience. Will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Good seating,good wine pairings, moved well i.e. ended on time,very loud area, but to be expected I assume. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great meal...chipotle saffron pasta with shrimp. The service was top notch and friendly. Truly perfect lunch venue with nice lagoon view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Beautiful location, excellent food and service. Parking lot behind the building and plenty of street parking available. Good varied selection of dishes for brunch and lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Even though we had a reservation and went to the restaurant for the view and sunset, we were seated in a dark corner of the bar and waited on by the bar tender. When we asked the hostess about the seating she responded with a curt..this is your seat and there is no where else even though there was other seating that was vacant the entire time we were there. The food was very good and almost made up for the staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This restaurant is consistent in it's service and it's food. At times the customers get too loud and affect other's dining experience but it isn't something that the management can control. Would be wonderful if this restaurant can offer gluten free bread. So many restaurants are doing that especially since it's CA.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.