About Seasalt - Del Mar

2282 Carmel Valley Rd.
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Seafood Bistro with a menu inspired by responsibly sourced local food. It's a place to enjoy fresh, delicious plates and relax by the beach. In addition to fresh fish and seafood, Seasalt Del Mar serves salads, soups, chicken, steak and vegetarian options. It is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Seasalt Del Mar also has a large bar area with HD TVs and a Private Room with Private View Deck.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Saturday 10:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday 10:00am - 9:00am

Weekend Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Monday - Friday Drink Only (Kitchen Closed) 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Weekend Bar Food Only: 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Daily Happy Hour: 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Via Cortina

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-7100

Website:
http://seasaltdelmar.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your event at our restaurant!

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant can take approximately take parties from 10 - 120 people for large parties. Private dining room can hold 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Salvatore: (855) 720-7421

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 430-630pm Saturday and Sunday 300pm - close

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 9:15PM

Seasalt - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (19)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Waterfront (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Healthy grill was very well prepared & very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was fine. Started with fried calamari and wedge lettuce salad which were good; not great. Ordered three entrees, the scallops and risotto from the menu and two specials, the sea bass and ravioli that was supposed to be stuffed with fish. Entrees can only be described as terrible. Chef needs to learn how to cook risotto. Sea bass was very tough; if you dropped it on the floor it would have bounced back up. Mashed potatoes were lumpy. I received 4 pieces of ravioli with two sauces - no sides like the other dishes. If there was fish stuffed in the ravioli the quantity was so small it was undetectable. Cannot remember the price of the ravioli however if it was $20 the profit was $18. I guess we were supposed to have bread on the table but we never received. When we paid the bill we provided a Passport card which allows one meal free. The waitress and manager had an argument and the manager claimed with two specials we could not use the card, although the specials were no cheaper than the meal on the main menu. We paid the bill in full, tipped the waitress 20% and left. Total bill was $150 and the food was probably worth $20 total. The food and the atmosphere was appropriate if you came off the beach during the day and wanted to have some fish and chips although I am sure that would be overpriced. In summary the restaurant was terrible, particularly the food. I was embarrassed to take my wife and son promising a good meal. Better to go to the Fish Market in Del Mar where you cannot miss a good meal and at a much cheaper price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

The Ciopinno is the best! Always fresh and always great

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food. The porter/busser "Kevin" was better than our waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

View was the primary reason we booked this restaurant and had hoped that the food would be good as well. However, we were disappointed in the appetizers (sushi roll, Mussles(we sent back) and decent but oily calamari) that we decided to forgo ordering an entree.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful sunset. Food was great. Had a wonderful diner with my wife.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Work group dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great neighborhood jewel. Good selection of wines. Very fun place to go to.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was great. Everything was good. Cocktails were light due to the HAN not being regular alcohol. Tasted good, but light. Stick with the beer and wine. We never got the salad we ordered, but the server made up,for it with dessert which was really good. Not sure what happened, but it was the only thing that wasn't OK. The appetizers were good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and service was excellent and liked the décor,the owner

was very friendly and personable.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Of all of Salvatore's (owner) restaurants, this one is my favorite. I bring my friends here and we all love it; the service, the decor, the food and of course, Salvatore's charm. We always have a great time together and the staff is superb at ensuring we do!

Although the food can fall into a salty trance, the kitchen is so accommodatingly kind if you request "no salt" or "low sodium". 2 of our party of 4 did that and how I wish I had done that as well. But, I have to say - every time I've been to Seasalt, which is now about a half a dozen times, the food is great and comforting and I'm determined to try everything in their huge menu.

Oh, and you just can't beat that view of that Torrey Pines sunset.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Hot Spot, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The menu items are not very exciting or good but service was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very enjoyable experience with excellent service and friendly staff. The menu has excellent choices which from my experience are quite tasty. We a have been there several times and have always enjoyed it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great little spot, really enjoyed our waitress and food. Will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was an enjoyable dinner and an pverall good experience. The food was very good and the staff friendly. Didn't take long for the food either. We will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was probably the seventh time I have dined at SeaSalt. It has consistently delivered on each occasion. I've been here for dates (dinner and brunch), Mother's Day, birthday celebrations, dinner with friends and now Christmas Eve. They know how to make a seamless experience even when slammed during peak hours and holidays. The food is consistently fresh and superbly made without being overly fancy or too exotic. We had a relaxed, well-paced dinner on Christmas Eve, with courses timed perfectly even though we were eating leisurely while conversing. This time we brought our own wine and the corkage fee was only $15, a bargain these days. The owners are warm, welcoming and never let you see them sweat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We tried SeaSalt out for a family Christmas eve dinner. It's nearby and convenient. Sad to say, I won't go back. Might be a good place for happy hour with a nice view, but food was mediocre at best. Ordered Calamari ($15) and got what looked like a basket of fried onion rings. Perhaps the poorest excuse for Calamari I have ever seen. Fish dishes were just OK, and obviously not fresh. Decor is dated. Way overpriced for what you get.... This place is was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was a great meal, but we were expecting to be able to use the passport dining card, which was not allowed for Brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This restaurant is located outside of the Del Mar along the lagoon with nice views, easy parking, and wonderful food. My favorite meal starts with Roman Artichokes, followed by Macadamia Nut encrusted Halibut on graden risotto and finishes with a Lemon Truffle gelato with a glass of Lemoncello.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We celebrated 2 special birthdays and had a wonderful time. Great staff.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

First time to try this restaurant and was very pleased. Will definitely return.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I'm frustrated that this establishment is on Open Table because it regularly cancels your reservations with Open Table although you dine at the restaurant. I would like to receive my dining points. No hostess usually to complete/acknowledge that you attended even though you tell the waiter that you had reservations. BEWARE!!!!! SCAM?????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great location near the ocean. Food was good but nothing special. Great atmosphere inside and outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The staff was very attentive and helpful even though it was a very busy night. The happy hour was reasonable and the food was delicious. I would definitely like to come back.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

WARNING...This place only offers drinks made from rice liquor as they DO NOT have a full bar license. They only sell beer and wine and drinks made from awful rice liquor. My Old Fashion had to be sent back and I ordered a beer instead.

Moreover, the Monk fish and Halibut entrees were tasteless and too expensive. The Monk fish was tough and they offered it as a fish tasting like lobster wrapped in bacon. Strange dish.

Overall, we were disappointed and won't be returning. Beware, the music is LOUD throughout the place and was some type of electronic disco which was annoying to say the least.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service and great food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I asked by phone a week before, and in an e-mail for special requests on Opentable, and in person when we first got there on the day of our reservation if we could have separate checks. Yes, was the answer. It took a very long time to get our check (the first was a single check for all of us). The waiter didn't know we wanted separate checks after all this. Also, we had to ask for the bill. We waited a long time for someone to come. No one had come to check on us. The food was minimally good. Lots of lettuce, but little else in the salad. One of the women said it was the "worst service." We won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food, wine, service were good. Prices fair for what was delivered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A good dinner at a casual place. Nothing exceptional, but an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed the lovely view on the patio, but as it was a sunny day, it became extremely hot. It also was very loud, and I had to strain to hear what my friend was saying. The service was mildly lackadaisical. That being said, we both very much enjoyed our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our server was very helpful. When we were served some bread rolls that had seeds on them I told our server my husband was unable to eat any bread or rolls with seeds he said he would see if there was any other bread or rolls available and he did provide some without nuts or seeds.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My partner had the seafood soup and said it was one of the best he had ever tasted.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner. Excellent food and outstanding service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fun place, great view, happy staff, varied menu. Walkable from beach and town.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Seasalt is 10 out of 10! First visit and it was sensational! Management, waiter, menu, food and ombiance were superb. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We had the sushi. Most of it was good, but we did have one roll that had yellowtail and the fish was not fresh. If that hadn't happened, I would have rated the food higher. Overall, still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We stumbled upon Seasalt, enjoyed our dining experience and keep coming back. We have introduced several of our friends to Seasalt and they will be coming back. It just keeps getting better and better. Sonny, our waiter, was terrific!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our group of 8 women had a wonderful lunch in a private outdoor room. Our server was fabulous and we had a great time celebrating 4 birthdays. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fish and chips were really good. Great fries. Grilled salmon was a bit dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fantastic food. We tried a bit of everything on the menu and it was top notch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Seasalt is a fun restaurant with an interesting menu. They have reduced alcohol drinks which are unusual and we really enjoy it. We go there regularly as a sort of last minute option and we always enjoy the food and the ambiance...sometimes the service is a little slow...

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Good food, great views from the patio, $120 for the two of us after Champagne

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

High quality seafood dishes, good vegetarian options, reasonable prices, limited wine selection, comfortable surroundings. Best Heirloom salad I've ever had. Order the artichoke appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Was not overwhelmed with the dining experience. Made reservations and was hoping for a table on the patio for better ambiance, but was seated inside next to bar. It was not loud, but frustrating that patio tables were open the entire time we were there to eat. The hospitality of the server was OK, not over friendly, but did her job. The guy refilling water glasses was actually more friendly than our server. The food gets the highest score; from appetizers to desserts, the food was great and fairly priced. Not sure I would recommend it to work colleagues for business dinners, but might come back myself and give it another try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

They do it right - small but tastefully decorated (warm) with a lovely view of the estuary across the street. Wonderful fish - creative but not over the top. Small wine list but we've always found something we like. On the other hand there are a lot of choices on the menu and it is sometimes hard to pick one. The deck (covered and enclosed) can get noisier than the inside area by the bar so you choose between the view of the water or having it quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Nice for price tv in bar varied menu oysters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful view of the water. We were there on a hot sunny day for lunch, and we were sweating sitting outdoors. They would benefit from adding umbrellas or some sort of shade on the patio. Food is delicious and fresh.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Lunch was great. The issue was that it was REALLY hot sitting on the patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good fish and Italian local restaurant with enjoyable outdoor patio dining.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a nicely decorated restaurant and the patio was decent. I thought the rice in the salt shaker was a bit tacky for a restaurant that looks upscale. I mean, you see stuff like that at a Chinese Buffet. My husband enjoyed his steak and his fries were tasty, however, my seared scallops were cooked to perfection, but the sauteed bell peppers and onions just ruined the flavor of the risotto and the scallops. I love bell peppers and onions, but it didn't go well with the risotto & scallops. The service was a bit slow to begin with, but our food came out pretty fast. I don't think I would return here, maybe for happy hour.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.