Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

About Seasalt - Del Mar

Seafood Bistro with a menu inspired by responsibly sourced local food. It's a place to enjoy fresh, delicious plates and relax by the beach. In addition to fresh fish and seafood, Seasalt Del Mar serves salads, soups, chicken, steak and vegetarian options. It is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Seasalt Del Mar also has a large bar area with HD TVs and a Private Room with Private View Deck.

2282 Carmel Valley Rd.
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Saturday 10:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday 10:00am - 9:00am

Weekend Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Monday - Friday Drink Only (Kitchen Closed) 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Weekend Bar Food Only: 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Daily Happy Hour: 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Via Cortina

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-7100

Website:
http://seasaltdelmar.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your event at our restaurant!

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant can take approximately take parties from 10 - 120 people for large parties. Private dining room can hold 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Salvatore: (855) 720-7421

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Monday - Friday 430-630pm Saturday and Sunday 300pm - close

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 8:45PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 9:15PM

Seasalt - Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (30)
Casual (22)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Waterfront (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice staff and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice friendly spot for dinner with homey atmosphere and view of the estuary.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We were a party if 4 and had scallops, steak, chicken and seafood combo. All meals were fabulous! We were there at sunset and it was crowded and noisy but did get quieter as the evening went on. Favorite food item is the Burata!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We were very happy with our entire visit to Seasalt; the food was very good and the portions were very generous. We also felt that prices were a good value for what you get, especially when compared to restaurants of much lower quality that charge as much or more. Service was very attentive - we couldn't have asked for anything more.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We're hosting out of town guests who wanted fresh fish and close to ocean. Very welcoming and told us not to hurry. Accommodated gluten/celiac guest off the menu. Will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Arrived early with a reservation but still waited 20 minutes for a table. Food was above average but not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and service were excellent, we both had seafood and the linguine alla console and lobster ravioli were outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really wonderful service and the food was excellent. Brought our two kids here and felt very comfortable. From out of state, so didn't know what to expect but will definitely come again next time we're in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sunday brunch, pasta was good. Mashed potatoes were refrigerator cold dry leftovers from the night before. Omelette was over cooked. 3rd string quarterback must have been in the kitchen. Place has potential and may be better in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was good but the service is not the greatest! I loved what we ordered as it was for sunday brunch. The view is very beautiful and pieceful.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful wine Dinner!!! The food was delicious! This was the second wine dinner I attended and it was just as good as the first one. I will continue to go back to this restaurant. The food is always very good!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We stopped in before the theatre and watched the sun set. We just had appetizers but enjoyed watching the food come out of the kitchen. They were setting up for a monthly wine pairing event that I am excited to try!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

SeaSalt was excellent. Great views, the food was excellent! Even the kids menu was great, 3 simple choices but the kids loved them (and asked for their leftovers the next day). We had drinks, appetizers, dinner and dessert and all were perfect! The service was fast and friendly. A great restaurant! Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of my favorite places ! Never disappointed
Love the food- wines - location - great management
Highly recommend!

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic, Family Style, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service, drinks & food😎

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I've eaten here 20 times or more. Always reliable. The patio has a nice view of the estuary and is reasonably quiet. The menu does not rotate in the two years I have eaten here except daily fish specials, but everything on the menu is well done. The portion sizes are quite large. Nice staff that are capable and willing to accommodate menu tweaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Seasalt- Del Mar is actually very special place me and my fiance. After visiting various restaurants, my fiance, back then boyfriend, planned for Seasalt to be our banquet place with our friends and family after the proposal. The proposal day was my first time vising this place and this was my second time visiting. So when we parked and walked into the restaurant, I couldn't help but to indulge in the special memories we gathered at this place.
We actually brought my mom, who just landed from Korea that day. We couldn't wait to introduce to her a special restaurant to us.
Probably because it was a last night on a Sunday, the restaurant was relatively quiet, which we actually preferred. The lighting and the ambiance is relaxing yet romantic, as I remembered :).
Not only do they have great ambiance, but our food choices were very pleasing to our pallets. We ordered two different pastas and a salmon dish. All of them were memorable and I was able to enjoy till the last bit, though the dishes were relatively big.
I definitely recommend all of you guys to visit this restaurant to make a special memories for your selves :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

If you are living in Carmel Valley then you need to go the this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Healthy grill was very well prepared & very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was fine. Started with fried calamari and wedge lettuce salad which were good; not great. Ordered three entrees, the scallops and risotto from the menu and two specials, the sea bass and ravioli that was supposed to be stuffed with fish. Entrees can only be described as terrible. Chef needs to learn how to cook risotto. Sea bass was very tough; if you dropped it on the floor it would have bounced back up. Mashed potatoes were lumpy. I received 4 pieces of ravioli with two sauces - no sides like the other dishes. If there was fish stuffed in the ravioli the quantity was so small it was undetectable. Cannot remember the price of the ravioli however if it was $20 the profit was $18. I guess we were supposed to have bread on the table but we never received. When we paid the bill we provided a Passport card which allows one meal free. The waitress and manager had an argument and the manager claimed with two specials we could not use the card, although the specials were no cheaper than the meal on the main menu. We paid the bill in full, tipped the waitress 20% and left. Total bill was $150 and the food was probably worth $20 total. The food and the atmosphere was appropriate if you came off the beach during the day and wanted to have some fish and chips although I am sure that would be overpriced. In summary the restaurant was terrible, particularly the food. I was embarrassed to take my wife and son promising a good meal. Better to go to the Fish Market in Del Mar where you cannot miss a good meal and at a much cheaper price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Ciopinno is the best! Always fresh and always great

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food. The porter/busser "Kevin" was better than our waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

View was the primary reason we booked this restaurant and had hoped that the food would be good as well. However, we were disappointed in the appetizers (sushi roll, Mussles(we sent back) and decent but oily calamari) that we decided to forgo ordering an entree.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful sunset. Food was great. Had a wonderful diner with my wife.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Work group dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great neighborhood jewel. Good selection of wines. Very fun place to go to.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was great. Everything was good. Cocktails were light due to the HAN not being regular alcohol. Tasted good, but light. Stick with the beer and wine. We never got the salad we ordered, but the server made up,for it with dessert which was really good. Not sure what happened, but it was the only thing that wasn't OK. The appetizers were good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and service was excellent and liked the décor,the owner
was very friendly and personable.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Of all of Salvatore's (owner) restaurants, this one is my favorite. I bring my friends here and we all love it; the service, the decor, the food and of course, Salvatore's charm. We always have a great time together and the staff is superb at ensuring we do!

Although the food can fall into a salty trance, the kitchen is so accommodatingly kind if you request "no salt" or "low sodium". 2 of our party of 4 did that and how I wish I had done that as well. But, I have to say - every time I've been to Seasalt, which is now about a half a dozen times, the food is great and comforting and I'm determined to try everything in their huge menu.

Oh, and you just can't beat that view of that Torrey Pines sunset.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Hot Spot, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The menu items are not very exciting or good but service was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very enjoyable experience with excellent service and friendly staff. The menu has excellent choices which from my experience are quite tasty. We a have been there several times and have always enjoyed it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food ! Waiter lost our order and had to wait about an hour for lunch - but we were not in a hurry - food great 👍
Usually never have any issues - they were quite busy -
Love this place ! One of my favorites! Recommend Seasalt for all occasions !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great little spot, really enjoyed our waitress and food. Will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was an enjoyable dinner and an pverall good experience. The food was very good and the staff friendly. Didn't take long for the food either. We will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was probably the seventh time I have dined at SeaSalt. It has consistently delivered on each occasion. I've been here for dates (dinner and brunch), Mother's Day, birthday celebrations, dinner with friends and now Christmas Eve. They know how to make a seamless experience even when slammed during peak hours and holidays. The food is consistently fresh and superbly made without being overly fancy or too exotic. We had a relaxed, well-paced dinner on Christmas Eve, with courses timed perfectly even though we were eating leisurely while conversing. This time we brought our own wine and the corkage fee was only $15, a bargain these days. The owners are warm, welcoming and never let you see them sweat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We tried SeaSalt out for a family Christmas eve dinner. It's nearby and convenient. Sad to say, I won't go back. Might be a good place for happy hour with a nice view, but food was mediocre at best. Ordered Calamari ($15) and got what looked like a basket of fried onion rings. Perhaps the poorest excuse for Calamari I have ever seen. Fish dishes were just OK, and obviously not fresh. Decor is dated. Way overpriced for what you get.... This place is was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was a great meal, but we were expecting to be able to use the passport dining card, which was not allowed for Brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This restaurant is located outside of the Del Mar along the lagoon with nice views, easy parking, and wonderful food. My favorite meal starts with Roman Artichokes, followed by Macadamia Nut encrusted Halibut on graden risotto and finishes with a Lemon Truffle gelato with a glass of Lemoncello.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We celebrated 2 special birthdays and had a wonderful time. Great staff.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.