About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $15 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Brian Malarkey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Restaurant Photos

Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Tuna - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
smores - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Opah - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Sirloin - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
fried porkbelly, poached eggs, cheese grits, and gravy. or, breakfast. - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Beef Tartare - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Scallops - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Prosciutto Wrapped Ahi Tuna - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Tongue & Cheek - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict - Searsucker Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in 2017 with a special 5-course, prix-fixed menu at Searsucker Downtown!! We can't wait to celebrate with you! All reservations, once confirmed by our team, will be final after December 29th. Any cancellations after that date will be subject to a 50% cancellation fee.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (25)
See All
Modern Decor (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Casual (19)
Fun (19)
Special Occasion (19)
People Watching (19)
Happy Hour (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Tapas (7)
Romantic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Family Style (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun ambience. Good comfort food. we were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun ambience. Good comfort food. we were there during a big meeting at the convention center so the place was packed. Noise level was high at the beginning of our meal, about 8.30 pm, but got better as our meal progress. Friendly waiting staff, great meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed our appetizers such as the sh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our appetizers such as the shrimp and garlic; baked brie and octopus along with my pork chop (would have liked a switch of more vegetables and less beans and a bigger pork chop for the cost!) and enjoyed our drinks and dessert. I would have loved to try the short ribs but overall a very good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This is in a great location, easy walkin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

This is in a great location, easy walking downtown to other restaurants and stores. We were excited to try their popular 'shrimp and grits' but the food was SO salty we were unable to eat it. One of our diners did enjoy the french toast so the entire meal was not a waste.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Our group of 9 had a fantastic time ther ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Our group of 9 had a fantastic time there! Service and food was amazing!! Would definitely go back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the ambiance and food ..everythi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

I loved the ambiance and food ..everything was amazing! The only recommendation is to add choices for milk alternatives for the coffee. But otherwise everything was OUTSTANDING!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite a very busy night they gave me m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Despite a very busy night they gave me my reserved table for 6 right on time; service of hostess and waiter was friendly and efficacious. Food is really fresh and tasty.

Music is a bit too loud to have conversation with the all table. The menu would deserve to have more choices since everything is good.

Highly recommended

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had been highly recommended. Although i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Had been highly recommended. Although it has a great look and feel, and service was attentive, the food was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Their effort to have unique tasting food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Their effort to have unique tasting food has resulted with comfort food (fried chicken) that's over seasoned and almost unrecognizable. Some things are best left more simple. We made the poor choice of ordering the chicken for most of our party, and that was unfortunate as a group.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The service was slow and inattentive wit ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was slow and inattentive with a resaurant that was not that crowded. It took way to long for our server to come to our table. The wine over priced bottle of wine took about 15 minutes to arrive. The food was average and wine selection is sparse with few Cabernet options one medium price and one almost $100. The fried chicken was on the verge of burned. Short ribs were the best thing on the menu. I would not go there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Eclectic menu, but sadly very uncomforta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Eclectic menu, but sadly very uncomfortable chairs. Given that there is a mix, I switched and got a more comfortable option. Chairs that stop in mid thigh should be outlawed. You may as well be sitting on a log. Given the unique good and special drink options, too bad the chair is what I remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The Searsucker Downtown in San Diego off ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Searsucker Downtown in San Diego offers ok food but the music was too loud for normal conversation. Service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been going to Searsucker since th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I have been going to Searsucker since they opened thier doors. recently the food has gone down hill. we returned 4 plates. the food portion got smaller and the taste not even the same. what a shame

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Good food and fun place. Great crowd.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good food and fun place. Great crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing food and service in a perfect se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Amazing food and service in a perfect setting in Gas Lamp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted to eat here on a whim based on ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We opted to eat here on a whim based on reviews and happy hour. We were not disappointed. You MUST have a happy hour drink at the bar. Great taste and even better prices. We tried the house infused vodkas and we're very impressed. The short rib was delicious as an app and the fried chicken was the best we've had. Both of those were recommendations from 2 different servers. Thanks! We would highly recommend this place for a dinner with friends. Great atmosphere too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Menu for brunch was limited. Not a great ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Menu for brunch was limited. Not a great choice for gluten free or vegetarian options. Great drink menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food took a long to arrive to our ta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food took a long to arrive to our table. People arriving after us got their food first. Manager approached us before it was it became too long and was very nice and professional. Overall, the service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best place for bachorelette bunch, pumpk ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best place for bachorelette bunch, pumpkin butter and coffee cake is incredible! Fast and friendly staff, got a table quickly

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Organic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as always!

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started out poor - no service - too loud ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Started out poor - no service - too loud and pounding music - had to sit outside to hear anything. Gentleman came up finally and turned out to be the manager- from that point things went from a one star to a 5 star. Food was outstanding and service catapulted when our waiter took over. Think he was working a large party when we were seated at first.

We almost left at the beginning but glad we stayed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

We had great expectations from reviews b ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had great expectations from reviews but the food was poor, a ceased salad with sodden wet leaves (clearly not dried after washing), croutons that were like small bricks.Similar comments about a mixed green salad that lacked the advertised goats cheese and walnuts. A signature salmon dish and a fish of the day were mediocre but edible. Signature sprout side dish seemed to have been cooked and the reheated many times so despite some promise in flavour and concept it was flabby and granular. Fries were OK. However it doesn't take a genius to guess that given previous reviews either the chef has left or was on holiday. We have eaten in a range of the good San Diego restaurants over the last week and this was the worse and the only one we wouldn't go back to.

Best to cross the street and go the Bluepoint next door.

Final comment on the seating round the edge of the room it is arranged so that half the party looks at a wall so eliminates any enjoyment of the noisy atmosphere. Staff complacent too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The place is large and lively. Lots of s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The place is large and lively. Lots of small plates which were very good. Short ribs and pear salad were plenty to eat. Very welcoming service. Good pre theatre or Symphony spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Get ambiance!!! Awesome food, and specta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Get ambiance!!! Awesome food, and spectacular service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Searsucker never disappoints! We started ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Searsucker never disappoints! We started off with some signature cocktails, try the Strawberry Smash, it's delicious. They also have blue cheese stuffed olives for dirty martinis.

Their small plates are fantastic. The tuna poké, mushrooms and beef tartare are our faves. If you're wanting something sweet to start with, try the pâté mousse. It's like butter, but the chocolate and cherries make the bites sweet and savory at the same time.

We've tried almost all of their entrées, but this last visit the fried chicken and bone-in pork chop were the best. The brussells sprouts, duck fat fries and jalapeño corn were must sides.

Then, if you're not entirely full, split the dessert sampler. The doughnut holes and sauce were cinnamon and sugar heaven and the strawberry shortcake had some caramel on the bottom that was delicious.

We've always had such great service from our server and all the staff and we always bring friends from out of town here that stay in the Gaslamp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming to Searsucker since th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We've been coming to Searsucker since they first opened their doors. Lately the food is a hit & miss, BTW, we come at least once a week, so i know what i am talking about. For the same dish one time it is delicious, the next time it's just OK.

On Saturday we requested for the meat balls to be returned, all they tasted of was salt that's all, they did take the dish away, but didn't even deduct it from the bill . The staff is mostly friendly, but always in such a hurry!!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Got a patio table as requested and had ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Got a patio table as requested and had a great time observing the halloween costumes walking by. The food was excellent as was the wine. All in all a very pleasant and satisfying time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for dinner in a group setti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came here for dinner in a group setting. Beautiful place and decorations. The staff were all in costumes for Halloween. The food and drinks were really good, and a but on the pricey side, but worth it. It was a bit loud from the bar, so if you want a more intimate setting, try to find a table further away. We went out downtown right after and it was in a perfect middle location. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place has a great energy and the fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place has a great energy and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Tuna poke and the Brussel sprouts ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great Tuna poke and the Brussel sprouts were one of the best I've tasted. And if you like Bourbon you're at the right place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

So. I read the reviews in the glossy mag ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

So. I read the reviews in the glossy mags. I know there's already an outpost in Aria in Las Vegas. Let's go to the "original" I say. I'm staying in GasLamp which is terrific and since I knew San Diego in the desolate recession years of the early 90s . . . it truly is transformed. Expectations are high. I'm not feeling it. We have wonderful service from folks who took care of us when we wandered in at 9.30 on a Sunday (last year we went to the LaJolla offshoot) . . and yet the food didn't pop in the way we thought it would. Maybe I'm blase from living in Las Vegas, but the positive spin is this: Don't be intimidated by the reputation. You'll love the food, it's solid, un-fussy and great value. Generously portioned, super-nice staff who tolerated us being super-slow eaters and still let us linger over dessert. Blown away by any kind of culinary innovation? It didn't matter come 11pm on a Sunday.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a 5:30 reservation right when the ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a 5:30 reservation right when they open and was one of 5 tables. Service was terrible for being a slow night. Food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Loving this place!! Seasucker is so wond ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Loving this place!! Seasucker is so wonderful!! We were there Sunday from 11am; made reservation for 3 for close window seating. The gentleman waiter was so outstanding, who serves us with his heart and his full knowledge of the manu and bar drinks!!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We had a table f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and service. We had a table for eight for a business lunch and it was a fun, lively environment. Everyone loved their meal and food allergies/preferences were accommodated with no fuss. Will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service even more so

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service is very top notch, the food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The service is very top notch, the food is outstanding, I will return every time I'm in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The music was so loud that you could not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The music was so loud that you could not hear a conversation across the table. Not good for dining. The food seemed to not be able to figure our whether it was to be hot or cold. Part of the meal was not, the other art was cold, on the same plate. Not good. These guys need to figure out whether they want to be a good food place and work on that, or whether they want to be a good bar place and work on that. They don't do both well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Delicious. Came back the following night ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Delicious. Came back the following night with a set of friends, it was so good even the second time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Far too loud. They need to turn down th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Far too loud. They need to turn down the music. We had to shout at each other to hear one another.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The food and service were terrific. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food and service were terrific.

The valet experience was the worst I've ever had;

After 45 minute wait, went to retrieve my car myself,

paying twice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.