About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $15 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Brian Malarkey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
On Sunday, June 19th, spoil dad with our brunch classics like Pork Belly & eggs or Eggs Benny at Searsucker!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Diego
American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

fit for foodies (101)
good for groups (92)
hot spot (83)
See All
vibrant bar scene (78)
special occasion (53)
neighborhood gem (41)
late-night find (25)
great for brunch (22)
great for lunch (22)
romantic (20)
great for outdoor dining (20)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service1

I chose this place for dinner based on a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I chose this place for dinner based on a waiter's recommendation. It's in the gas lamp district. The interior decor was a little cold. The Caesar salad and especially the shrimp and grits were excellent. The filet was very good, but we found the Brussels sprouts that were recommended not at all to our liking. They were so heavily seasoned that one couldn't taste them. Neither my wife or I liked them, didn't finish half of them and were disappointed they were left on the bill, even after two of the waitstaff heard our dissatisfaction. Overall, a disappointing experience.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

good fiid

Dined 5 days ago

The food was well prepared and tasty and the portions generous, although the menu is somewhat limited. The service was good, the wine list ok but somewhat limited. The restaurant was very noisy, but one would still be heard.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son took me to dinner at Searsucker. ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

My son took me to dinner at Searsucker. It was exceptionally good. Everything was perfect. He ordered the swordfish and I ordered the pork chop, we were both very pleased. We ordered two side dishes as well and then took food home. Wonderful experience and delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. T ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. The food was ok. Had the pork belly which was a thick slab and not visually appealing. The ny strip was not bad, had a nice chimichurri sauce. Overall an average dining experience. Was expecting a bit more innovative new American cuisine.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Given the owner's reputation and notorie ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Given the owner's reputation and notoriety, I expected better consistency and quality of preparation from the kitchen. Wait staff was poorly trained: (1) poor attentiveness (2) didn't inform me a primary menu ingredient was missing from my dish. Over easy eggs were all hard (like they sat under a heat lamp for a while. Manager was excellent: apologized and comped my meal because of the poor communication. Pastries were hit and miss: doughnuts were great, the scones were more like muffins. If I can make better food at home, there's no reason to come back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sunday brunch with huge portio ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch with huge portions and friendly service. Relaxing modern atmosphere. A great choice!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The place looked really nice. Bathrooms ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The place looked really nice. Bathrooms private and clean. Crab benny was very salty. Music was loud so not ideal for conversation with your friends as you could hardly hear each other above the music.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great crew

Dined on May 15, 2016

Warm friendly staff took great care of us and the food was, as always, amazing. Loved the mimosas with fresh peach juice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

For the price, this place isn't that gre ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

For the price, this place isn't that great. Our waiter wasn't very attentive and forgot our duck fries. I ordered the tuna poke jar which was a bit too salty. The smore dessert was amazing and the duck pot pie was delish too!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Appetizers and small plates are especial ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Appetizers and small plates are especially good! The tomahawk steak is all a meat-lover could hope for. The duck pot-pie was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

While the meal was pleasant, it was by n ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

While the meal was pleasant, it was by no means a great deal or a gem.

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious dishes! The beef tartare is ab ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Delicious dishes! The beef tartare is absolutely the best I have ever eaten and the octopus served in a maison jar stole my heart. I love this place!!!

food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Too noisy difficult for a normal convers ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Too noisy difficult for a normal conversation Reasonable food but not spectacular

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit, looking for a fun, hip spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

Searsucker did not disappoint! It was loud but fun, great drinks, great table service. The only wrinkle was the hostess who did not seat us because we were just three minutes early and then didn't call us until we went looking for her. However, the actual server and the delicious meal erased the hiccup from our first arrival. Otherwise I'd recommend to anyone looking for a great place for food, people watching and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Satisfied Diner

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our waiter and hostess were very accommodating. I had mentioned that my fish was too salty and without hesitation my meal was replaced. And I got an apology. Things happen but it's nice to know that Seersucker wants to have satisfied diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Poor Service

Dined on May 5, 2016

Came in with a group of 13 on a Wed night. Service was horrible. Took us 30 minutes just to receive our drink order. The server was rude. The food was mediocre. Fish overcooked and lamb very fatty. I will not be back to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had a great time during their brunch! #yass

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went in to celebrate my birthday and enjoyed the nice brunch and good selection of food and drinks! The host/waiter were great and friendly!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely not a sucker for going here!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding dining experience all around. They were flexible with our reservations when we had to push it back. The energy level of the place on a Saturday evening was great, not like any club scene but a good "vibe". The service was great and the food was amazing. There were four of us, 2 couples, and we each shared the Tomahawk bone-in ribeye with some other side dishes. People stopped to watch when the steaks were delivered to our table. They are enormous! The sides, including brussel sprouts, corn and mashed potatoes hit the spot. The meat itself was perfectly cooked and delicious. We had several cocktails and a bottle of wine and enjoyed every minute of it. The only complaint I have is that the chairs they use at some of the tables are not comfortable at all. They're smaller wood rim "bistro" type chairs and they need to go. To enjoy that quality of food I want comfortable seating. That said, it still didn't interfere with that amazing steak! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was amazing but the bartender overcharged me

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was amazing but the bartender overcharged me and then lied about it and then when I told her it was my birthday she laughed and said "too bad"

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. A little noisy for casual co ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food. A little noisy for casual conversation.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

even though we made rez 3 weeks before w ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

even though we made rez 3 weeks before we were seated all the way in the back corner. This was dinner for a bday celebration, waitress had an attitude when we requested to be seated more central. We were seated right next to the kitchen entrance, I don't know which one was worst but definitely the last time we are going there!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Cocktails were especially good.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Cocktails were especially good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sisters Weekend

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had an incredible dining experience. The waitress was fabulous. Attentive without hovering. Food was amazing - we all enjoyed our sides, main course and cookies and milk. We had a delicious moderate priced bottle of Malbec - one of my favorites varietals. I had attended a special event there a few days earlier and the apps were so good I knew I wanted to come back with my sisters over the weekend. We were a party of 6.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, not exactly what we were looking for

Dined on April 11, 2016

My husband was not impressed with the flavor of the chicken (or lack thereof, according to him). I thought my duck pot pie was delicious and fresh, but the artichoke hearts and duck fat fries weighed us down. Definitely should have ordered only one of those, because they were high fat and didn't have much acidity or lightness to cut the intensity of the dish. Overall very good food, but expensive for an entrée that didn't WOW.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

tourists only

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

all of this area of San Diego is polluted with tourists druggies and homeless. Police are frequently seen making arrests. If you are looking for ok food and good drinks in a very loud tourist environment this is for you. otherwise avoid SD like the plague or stay in your hotel. maybe if you are with a convention group......

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Happening Place Good, but very noisey

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food and drink were above average for the price. Great location. The noise level is very loud. On top of that there is very loud music with a heavy base playing at thime of our dinner. Makes talking very difficult so everybody is yelling, that cause the noise factor to go way up. If the noise factor was reduced probably would go back

food3
ambience4
service3

NY strip (of unknown weight) - Cooked pr ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

NY strip (of unknown weight) - Cooked properly per request. Ralph's quality meat. Nothing special. Two fingerling potatoes cut in half and a few spears of broccoli rabe. It was okay. Beef tartare of potatoes chips was pretty good. Fries with bacon? ketchup are good. Pork belly was decent. The sweet bread underneath was good. $15 "specialty" cocktails - I didn't try them. They have Alpine Duet on tap though.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've had in a long ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a long time! Everything was absolutely delicious! Between the 3 of us, we had the duck fat fries (so so insanely good), artichokes (beware, this is a super cheesy DIP. While delicious, not what the menu led me to believe it would be), corn, shrimp & grits, NY strip and filet. Everything was seasoned perfectly and cooked correctly. Exceptional service, awesome ambiance. All around, fabulous dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the scallops and the fo ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

I really enjoyed the scallops and the foie gras mousse.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food!!! I loved the shrimp and grits

Dined on April 1, 2016

The pork belly and duck fat fries were amazing! Every dish we had was perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Has never disappointed

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Having visited Seersucker 4 times in the past year, it has always been a goto restaurant when in the San Diego area. Great food and wine, and the scallops have been the best my wife and I have ever eaten. Service prompt and efficient. Maybe a bit too noisy for those who are a bit hard of hearing, but they do have some nice outside tables along the street. Will return whenever possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great vibe, interesting food, try the sh ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Great vibe, interesting food, try the short rib!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

winner

Dined on March 26, 2016

service was excellent. cocktails and food were great, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Delicious, and almost unbearably loud

Dined on March 24, 2016

Why oh why do good restaurants think that somehow they can attract a younger, hipper crowd by cranking up the thumping music, forcing diners to YELL AT EACH OTHER while eating what was a innovative, interesting and delicious meal? All 6 of us loved every course, and even stayed right through dessert, but I couldn't wait to get outside to the relative quiet of the Gaslamp District on a busy night. The chef's good work was almost totally negated by the terrible ambience. Not sure I would go back, as much as I liked the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food!!! Mahi Mahi was amazing

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent food!!! Mahi Mahi was amazing

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Thumbs up for Searsucker

Dined on March 22, 2016

My wife and I tried the Searsucker and really enjoyed it. It isn't a quiet romantic spot, but lots of energy, great selection of small plates and entrees, and wait staff was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

fabulous shared plates

Dined on March 17, 2016

We did a series of shared plates for a group of four and never regretted a bite. The duck-fat fries have ruined all other fries for me. The poke was fabulous. The brown butter cake was a perfect ending. The cocktails were interesting and refreshing and the environment was a nice evening out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Surprise

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

The quality of food here was far better than I expected in the Gaslamp district. Pulled Pork sandwich was really great, and the beer selection on tap very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch spot!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Loved the mimosa combinations - my favorite was the pear and the group favorite was the original orange juice. We wanted peach but they were out of it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

My son and I don't drink but we went because we read that they are growing their own produce locally and that much of the staff chooses to work on the farm. We love that and wanted to help support it. We were blown away with the food. We ordered more food than we could eat because we wanted to try different dishes that sounded really good. We loved everything and just took the rest home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.