About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $15 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Brian Malarkey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Restaurant Photos

Searsucker Downtown San Diego
Searsucker Downtown San Diego
Tuna
smores
Opah
Sirloin
fried porkbelly, poached eggs, cheese grits, and gravy. or, breakfast.
Beef Tartare
Scallops
Prosciutto Wrapped Ahi Tuna
Tongue & Cheek
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
San Diego
American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Fit for Foodies (69)
Hot Spot (61)
Good for Groups (53)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Special Occasion (48)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Romantic (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Scenic View (7)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Cozy (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1797 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice brunch with the ladies. Great serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 20 hours ago

Nice brunch with the ladies. Great service, ambiance, food excellent. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I decided to have our first ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

My wife and I decided to have our first anniversary dinner at Searsucker. We cannot stop raving about the amazing service, stellar food and killer cocktails. A huge kudos to the whole staff at Searsucker. Our dinner date was without a flaw. We can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never been disappointed, this was o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Have never been disappointed, this was our 7th visit and consistency in both food and drinks is why we will continue coming back and recommending to everyone. Staff is friendly and unpretentious with perfect timing. Cannot wait to visit the Las Vegas location!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday brunch. The valet parkin ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. The valet parking was not available. The service was not good - specifically the server seemed to be lacking experience. She placed my drink on the edge of the table right by my elbow! Really? Did not make recommendations or suggestions and did not offer condiments- the manager had to step in and bring them. She would take forever to come back to our table. The place was pretty empty too. The food was not as good as it used to be either. Overall it was decent but not like it used to be.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great place for brunch. Green eggs and h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place for brunch. Green eggs and ham were awesome. Best coffee cake. Highly recommend for brunch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Am foodi visiting from Australia for son ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Am foodi visiting from Australia for sons wedding. So good to have 'American' food of such quality and flavour. Really happy and helpful service. It's very easy to find poor and average American food so sea sucker was a true delight. Will definitely come again as we visit at least twice per annum. Will definitely recommend.

Keep up the good work.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Tapas, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Searsucker has an incredible everchangin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Searsucker has an incredible everchanging menu that never dissappoints. Its a great place to go on a date or a group, the ambiance is incredible and the service is even better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a girls' trip in San Diego an ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were on a girls' trip in San Diego and Searsucker was recommended by a friend for Sunday brunch. We started with the donuts and cinnamon roll and OMG, they were delicious! The cream cheese frosting on the cinnamon roll is still being talked about over a week later. The mussels were also fantastic! I can't really say bad thing about our experience. The staff was great, the atmosphere was perfect for a Sunday brunch, and all of our food and drinks were wonderful. We will definitely be back the next time we visit San Diego!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SERVICE WAS AT A SNAILS PACE, ORU SERVER ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

SERVICE WAS AT A SNAILS PACE, ORU SERVER WAS TRAINING A NEWBIE SO IT TOOK FOREVER YO GET OUR ORDER,DRINKS ETC. EVEN GETTING THE BILL TOOK AWHILE. PORTION OF GREEN EGGS AND HAM BENEDICT WAS A JOKE YOU GET A LITTLE BOTTOM BREAD A CUBE OF PORK BELLY AND 1 BOILED EGG WITH SAUCE AND A LITTLE GREEN SALAD NEXT TO IT. IM NOT A HATER OF ANY SORT BUT NOTHING MY GRUOP OF 4 ORDERED LOOKED GOOD. I REALLY WANTED TO LIKE THIS PLACE TO. BUMMER

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food as always, and our server Eri ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food as always, and our server Erik was very friendly, polite, knowledgeable and fun to interact with. Always a must stop whenever I'm in the Gaslamp District.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, ambience, and service were great. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food, ambience, and service were great. Noise was excruciating. Could barely talk across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurants noise level was off the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The restaurants noise level was off the chart and we had to sit outside. Service was slow. It took forever for our food to arrive and the quality was not good. The only item that was decent were the brussel sprouts. There were four of us and none us would ever dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Fun, lively atmosphere. The entire staf ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fun, lively atmosphere. The entire staff from the hostesses to the waiter did a good job attending to our needs. There was a mixup in bringing out our food, but they promptly addressed the matter. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The service was really good but overall ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was really good but overall I was disappointed in choosing this place for my 1 year anniversary. For every plate to be $30+ and have to order each side dish, I was expecting to be at least wowed by the flavors of what we ordered. The crab cakes were fresh and presented nicely but I would have liked more sauce. My date order the pot pie which seemed burned on the outside and as watery as noddle soup on the inside. My dish was highly recommended by the waiter and he said it was more than enough food for me to be happy with. To be honest I was let down as soon as it showed up, seeing that it was only 4 pieces of chicken on a plate with coleslaw guarnish. Was not impressed visually considering it would have been the same as getting kfc bucket of chicken. Over all the taste wasn't bad but for $30 id rather just eat KFC. To be honest I didn't hate the place, it's just way to expensive for basic American comfort food and that's why I would not be a regular customer.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This is a great place, but know going in ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This is a great place, but know going in that it's LOUD. not a bad thing, just know it.

Food is great, with unique apps.

Our server was fantastic and the drinks were also great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome love the menu & great service... ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Awesome love the menu & great service.......but most favorite of the evening was the music!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great small plates to share - the staff ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great small plates to share - the staff was very knowledgable with their recommendations! Specialty cocktails are right on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the outdoor seating al ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We really enjoyed the outdoor seating along the front sidewalk. Good people watching and a great setting. Our wait staff was very attentive and knowledgable. The Tomahawk Rib Eye is always outstanding. The restaurant is in a great location for easy access, including valet parking. A must if you are in San Diego.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amanda and the support staff gave us awe ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amanda and the support staff gave us awesome service. We loved our experience. Everyone that touched our table were very personable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location. We ate outside. Food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great location. We ate outside. Food and service were fabulous. The owner even stopped by our table and talked for about 5 minutes. Very friendly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service , great food , upbeat a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing service , great food , upbeat ambiance .. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could not have a conversation without ye ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Could not have a conversation without yelling because it is way too loud. Food was average for the prices. Atmosphere is good. Waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great specialty drinks and wonderful ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great specialty drinks and wonderful service. The seafood was off the mark.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Good for just the adults, but also the w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good for just the adults, but also the whole family is welcome. Highly recommend making your way through the small plates - do not miss the shrimp & grits, short rib, or grilled mushrooms. Cocktails with house made infused spirits are excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good, but not great , brunch menu. My fr ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good, but not great , brunch menu. My friend loved her spicy shrimp dish. My chilaquilles were mediocre. Very very slow service. Poor seating - complained about being in the middle of the room at first so were placed behind a larger group and against an awkward pole next. Took a very long time to get our change from cash paid bill . Had to flag the waiter down twice to get it back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I was expecting a dining experience, but ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was expecting a dining experience, but it was really just a big bar experience. The food was better than average bar food, the service was not great. Very slow service, poor timing. If you are looking for a fun bar downtown, this might fit the bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The drinks are amazing. Atmosphere very ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The drinks are amazing. Atmosphere very fun. Service is experienced. Our group thought the small plate items had more taste and flair than the entree's. If we were to go back we would definitely stick with small plate options.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great happy hour

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, outstanding service - ju ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service - just can't afford evenings like that as a norm. I'd order everything we had again, however, I'll focus on making some of it at home instead. I can see going back and ordering just 1 drink and a small plate - still on the pricier side, but could enjoy the great service and a tasty treat. Wait staff was amazing - well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food, wonderful service and awesom ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food, wonderful service and awesome ambiance! We were there for dinner before the theater and loved it and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

hostess was spacey; totally out of it. ...

vip
·Dined on August 2, 2016

hostess was spacey; totally out of it.

server knew NOTHING about the menu. she took forever to come to the table. She did not check on quality of food.

Bun was dry.

fresh catch was over priced and raw in middle- it was not supposed to be seared. sides were whimpy. $25 lunch menu item- def not worth it.

whole lunch menu was over priced.

i had one cocktail made from their house infused vodka. It was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Three of us ordered fish. Two of us rece ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Three of us ordered fish. Two of us received raw fish. They took it back but acted like it wasn't a big deal that it was under cooked. I ordered something else and it was okay. They did comp our dessert. The food was just okay - nothing outstanding. Great location, in the heart of gaslamp and cute decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

A big disappointment with EXTREMELY unco ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A big disappointment with EXTREMELY uncomfortable seating. Food was only average for high prices. Server was the best part of the meal. Won't go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Been to Searsucker before. However, had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Been to Searsucker before. However, had a 2:45 pm lunch, but the kitchen was closing after brunch and there was not much choice on the menu. That was my fault. However, they accommodated us the best they could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the design and overall look of th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I love the design and overall look of the restaurant and the food was exceptional. I would return for the quality and unique touches to the dishes alone.

My only drawback is how loud the music was making it very hard for our group to converse at our table. That's expected in a lively bar, but not in an upscale restaurant. Perhaps that's a Gaslamp District thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, especially desserts! Not suit ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food, especially desserts!

Not suitable for a date night because of the noise level which makes it difficult to speak to each other...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food in small to moderate portions. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food in small to moderate portions. Duck fat fries were great.

VERY loud, but fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My table was next to a west-facing windo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My table was next to a west-facing window without shades in full sun. It was an uncomfortably hot table. The staff did everything they could to help mitigate the issue, but they really need to install sun shades for their window-table guests. Other than that, the restaurant is great. The food was outstanding, and the staff were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is amazing and drinks are too!! Pri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is amazing and drinks are too!! Pricey but still love it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Comic Con week! Friday early evening at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Comic Con week! Friday early evening at Searsucker's! Outside corner table! People watching! Fabulous SS bites! Impeccable service and attentive servers! Three year tradition....Priceless!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.