About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $15 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Brian Malarkey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Restaurant Photos

Opah
Beef Tartare
Tuna
smores
fried porkbelly, poached eggs, cheese grits, and gravy. or, breakfast.
Sirloin
Scallops
Tongue & Cheek
Prosciutto Wrapped Ahi Tuna
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Diego
American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

fit for foodies (98)
good for groups (88)
hot spot (77)
See All
vibrant bar scene (71)
special occasion (52)
neighborhood gem (32)
late-night find (23)
great for lunch (21)
great for brunch (20)
romantic (20)
great for outdoor dining (15)
notable wine list (13)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Food came out faster than expected, but ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food came out faster than expected, but I was surprised at such a small portion for its price tag. Ambiance wasn't great because there was a screaming baby close to our table. But I guess it's the parents' fault for not being considerate of other diners.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I've also been to Burlap and this chef/o ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I've also been to Burlap and this chef/owner has very interesting menus. I really appreciate the variety of small plates. I like to try as many things on a menu as I can without having to be rolled out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a variety of small plates which t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a variety of small plates which the waiter staggered coming out. Staff was exceptional and the food was delish.

food5
ambience4
service4

This was my husband and my first time di ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my husband and my first time dinning at searsuckers and had no idea what to expect! We were blown away, it was outstanding! The cost was a little high but the food was more than worth the money. I had a New York strip steak and my husband had the lamb neck and both were cooked to perfect and tasted amazing! The waitress we had was patient and stayed on top of everything all night! We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service5

We had 2 seven year olds with us and ou ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had 2 seven year olds with us and our waiter was very sweet to them and very accommodating! It was early so it wasn't that crowded, so the noise level was very low. The food was excellent! I would go back again!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and fantastic service!

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great meal and fantastic service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was fabulous ! Other staff member ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Server was fabulous ! Other staff members helped me buy a gift for a family member. Overall great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my experience at Searsucker in d ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I loved my experience at Searsucker in downtown San Diego. I went with three friends and we ordered a few bottles of wine along with multiple small plates. We probably ordered 10 or 12 dishes. They arrived in a staggered fashion so we were able to focus on and enjoy 2 or 3 plates at a time. Everything was presented beautifully and tasted delicious. We left satisfied and full after a few hours of enjoying each other's company. The restaurant was decorated cute and modern. The bar area seemed quite lively with the dining area a bit more relaxed and tranquil. I will definitely be back to enjoy Searsucker during my next visit to San Diego!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance. Service was spectacu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved the ambiance. Service was spectacular. Cocktails were great. Food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb

Dined on June 11, 2016

I have been to Searsucker several times and this was the finest! Excellent service, incredible dishes, beautiful playing. This is definitely one of my favorites in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Party of five. We enjoyed cocktails and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Party of five. We enjoyed cocktails and food primarily from the small plates menu. We enjoy delicious food and would rather share lots of "tastes" then feast on an entrée. And...we weren't disappointed. Everything was fantastic. My only complaint was that when we ordered our first round of small plates, they brought all of them out all at once. Clearly, that's not the best way to thoroughly enjoy each item. Other than that...it was a great evening! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food

Dined on June 8, 2016

Our food took longer tha it should have, but we were brought a complimentary appetizer on the house. Our waitress was phenomenal and the food was tremendous! A fantastic place for a date with my husband!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great date night place

Dined on June 6, 2016

Really great server; food was really flavorful and perfectly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What took me so long?

Dined on May 31, 2016

I don't know why I didn't get in here sooner. When Searsucker first opened, the lines were out the door, and I wasn't interested in waiting that long. I don't have an excuse for waiting so long to try again. It was fantastic! Now, I hope to become a regular. We had the NY strip steak, beet salad and Brussels sprouts - all delicious - so now I want to try everything else on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was perfect, especially the service! A+++

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Staff was great. Music too loud for din ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Staff was great. Music too loud for dining. Chicken was dry. Steak was good but tough. Broccoli was good. Wine was good. Brussel sprouts too salty but tasty. Maybe better for younger folk.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We were looking very forward to our dinn ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We were looking very forward to our dinner at Searsucker. We had late reservations at 9:30pm and the kitchen closes at 10:00. We ordered several Plates to Share and then the Tomahawk Porterhouse steak to share which we requested to be cooked Medium. The side dishes were very good, but when the $75 Tomahawk steak came out, it was as rare as could be, we couldn't even cut through it. The server agreed and she took it back to the cooks. The server came back and told us that the grills were off and they could only put it in the oven to cook it more which is completely unacceptable to us for a steak of this caliber. We ended up not even accepting the steak and they wrote it off our bill and gave us a complimentary dessert. I am disappointed that a restaurant of this caliber was so unaccommodating to their patrons. We will think twice before having dinner again at Searsucker. We would highly recommend an earlier reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I dined with 3 colleagues one evening. ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

I dined with 3 colleagues one evening. Place was very noisy, so that made any business conversation almost impossible. Our waitress suggested the swordfish, saying it was one of the chef's signature dishes. Oops, she forgot to tell us it was very hot and spicy! Otherwise, great food, in a noisy environment!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was terrible... We ordered the ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was terrible... We ordered the $75 ribeye and it cam out rare when we ordered it medium rare. I ordered a filet medium and it came out well done. The waitress with the thick black glasses where no where to be found so we just ate the food. Come on Searsucker... this was a special occasion and you could have done much better

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1

I chose this place for dinner based on a ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

I chose this place for dinner based on a waiter's recommendation. It's in the gas lamp district. The interior decor was a little cold. The Caesar salad and especially the shrimp and grits were excellent. The filet was very good, but we found the Brussels sprouts that were recommended not at all to our liking. They were so heavily seasoned that one couldn't taste them. Neither my wife or I liked them, didn't finish half of them and were disappointed they were left on the bill, even after two of the waitstaff heard our dissatisfaction. Overall, a disappointing experience.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

good fiid

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was well prepared and tasty and the portions generous, although the menu is somewhat limited. The service was good, the wine list ok but somewhat limited. The restaurant was very noisy, but one would still be heard.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son took me to dinner at Searsucker. ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

My son took me to dinner at Searsucker. It was exceptionally good. Everything was perfect. He ordered the swordfish and I ordered the pork chop, we were both very pleased. We ordered two side dishes as well and then took food home. Wonderful experience and delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. T ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Relaxed and friendly. The food was ok. Had the pork belly which was a thick slab and not visually appealing. The ny strip was not bad, had a nice chimichurri sauce. Overall an average dining experience. Was expecting a bit more innovative new American cuisine.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Given the owner's reputation and notorie ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Given the owner's reputation and notoriety, I expected better consistency and quality of preparation from the kitchen. Wait staff was poorly trained: (1) poor attentiveness (2) didn't inform me a primary menu ingredient was missing from my dish. Over easy eggs were all hard (like they sat under a heat lamp for a while. Manager was excellent: apologized and comped my meal because of the poor communication. Pastries were hit and miss: doughnuts were great, the scones were more like muffins. If I can make better food at home, there's no reason to come back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sunday brunch with huge portio ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch with huge portions and friendly service. Relaxing modern atmosphere. A great choice!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The place looked really nice. Bathrooms ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The place looked really nice. Bathrooms private and clean. Crab benny was very salty. Music was loud so not ideal for conversation with your friends as you could hardly hear each other above the music.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great crew

Dined on May 15, 2016

Warm friendly staff took great care of us and the food was, as always, amazing. Loved the mimosas with fresh peach juice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

For the price, this place isn't that gre ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

For the price, this place isn't that great. Our waiter wasn't very attentive and forgot our duck fries. I ordered the tuna poke jar which was a bit too salty. The smore dessert was amazing and the duck pot pie was delish too!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Appetizers and small plates are especial ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Appetizers and small plates are especially good! The tomahawk steak is all a meat-lover could hope for. The duck pot-pie was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

While the meal was pleasant, it was by n ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

While the meal was pleasant, it was by no means a great deal or a gem.

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious dishes! The beef tartare is ab ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Delicious dishes! The beef tartare is absolutely the best I have ever eaten and the octopus served in a maison jar stole my heart. I love this place!!!

food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Too noisy difficult for a normal convers ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Too noisy difficult for a normal conversation Reasonable food but not spectacular

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit, looking for a fun, hip spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

Searsucker did not disappoint! It was loud but fun, great drinks, great table service. The only wrinkle was the hostess who did not seat us because we were just three minutes early and then didn't call us until we went looking for her. However, the actual server and the delicious meal erased the hiccup from our first arrival. Otherwise I'd recommend to anyone looking for a great place for food, people watching and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Satisfied Diner

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our waiter and hostess were very accommodating. I had mentioned that my fish was too salty and without hesitation my meal was replaced. And I got an apology. Things happen but it's nice to know that Seersucker wants to have satisfied diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Poor Service

Dined on May 5, 2016

Came in with a group of 13 on a Wed night. Service was horrible. Took us 30 minutes just to receive our drink order. The server was rude. The food was mediocre. Fish overcooked and lamb very fatty. I will not be back to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had a great time during their brunch! #yass

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went in to celebrate my birthday and enjoyed the nice brunch and good selection of food and drinks! The host/waiter were great and friendly!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely not a sucker for going here!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding dining experience all around. They were flexible with our reservations when we had to push it back. The energy level of the place on a Saturday evening was great, not like any club scene but a good "vibe". The service was great and the food was amazing. There were four of us, 2 couples, and we each shared the Tomahawk bone-in ribeye with some other side dishes. People stopped to watch when the steaks were delivered to our table. They are enormous! The sides, including brussel sprouts, corn and mashed potatoes hit the spot. The meat itself was perfectly cooked and delicious. We had several cocktails and a bottle of wine and enjoyed every minute of it. The only complaint I have is that the chairs they use at some of the tables are not comfortable at all. They're smaller wood rim "bistro" type chairs and they need to go. To enjoy that quality of food I want comfortable seating. That said, it still didn't interfere with that amazing steak! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was amazing but the bartender overcharged me

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was amazing but the bartender overcharged me and then lied about it and then when I told her it was my birthday she laughed and said "too bad"

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. A little noisy for casual co ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food. A little noisy for casual conversation.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

even though we made rez 3 weeks before w ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

even though we made rez 3 weeks before we were seated all the way in the back corner. This was dinner for a bday celebration, waitress had an attitude when we requested to be seated more central. We were seated right next to the kitchen entrance, I don't know which one was worst but definitely the last time we are going there!

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.