About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $15 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Brian Malarkey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Restaurant Photos

Searsucker Downtown San Diego
Searsucker Downtown San Diego
Opah
Beef Tartare
Tuna
smores
fried porkbelly, poached eggs, cheese grits, and gravy. or, breakfast.
Sirloin
Scallops
Tongue & Cheek
Prosciutto Wrapped Ahi Tuna
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
San Diego
American
San Diego
Hot Spot
San Diego
1 More
American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

fit for foodies (88)
hot spot (74)
good for groups (69)
See All
vibrant bar scene (66)
special occasion (50)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for brunch (21)
great for lunch (20)
great for outdoor dining (20)
romantic (20)
late-night find (19)
notable wine list (14)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love the design and overall look of th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love the design and overall look of the restaurant and the food was exceptional. I would return for the quality and unique touches to the dishes alone.

My only drawback is how loud the music was making it very hard for our group to converse at our table. That's expected in a lively bar, but not in an upscale restaurant. Perhaps that's a Gaslamp District thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, especially desserts! Not suit ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, especially desserts!

Not suitable for a date night because of the noise level which makes it difficult to speak to each other...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food in small to moderate portions. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food in small to moderate portions. Duck fat fries were great.

VERY loud, but fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My table was next to a west-facing windo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

My table was next to a west-facing window without shades in full sun. It was an uncomfortably hot table. The staff did everything they could to help mitigate the issue, but they really need to install sun shades for their window-table guests. Other than that, the restaurant is great. The food was outstanding, and the staff were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is amazing and drinks are too!! Pri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food is amazing and drinks are too!! Pricey but still love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Comic Con week! Friday early evening at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Comic Con week! Friday early evening at Searsucker's! Outside corner table! People watching! Fabulous SS bites! Impeccable service and attentive servers! Three year tradition....Priceless!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast and easy lunch.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fast and easy lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love Seersucker! Their food is incred ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

I love Seersucker! Their food is incredible and the waitstaff was so accommodating. We didn't have a dirty plate or empty glass on our table for longer than 1 minute. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends here for dinner. We had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Met some friends here for dinner. We had a great time! The servers were all super friendly, the food was delicious and the cocktails were some of the best we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server did a great job! Great meal. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server did a great job! Great meal. Highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cons - Super loud so if you are looking ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cons - Super loud so if you are looking to be loud, then this is the place to be. It was a saturday night at 8:30 pm, so it was still relatively early. We saw the fried chicken dish on the menu and was sold. Subsequent to seeing it on the menu, I asked the server what she recommended and her first dish she recommended was the fried chicken. Placed our orders and we were good to go...So I thought. Five minutes later, in anticipation of the fried chicken dish, the server came back and informed us the restaurant was out of that dish. Really?! We are talking about chickens, buttermilk and flour?! Had to settle for something else; was not a happy camper.

Pros - Food is good, however, a little too expensive for the type of cuisines they had. Don't get me wrong, dishes are very satisfying with great flavor, but lacked the "wow" factor. Very energetic atmosphere so this is not the place for a date night or romancing...

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic. One of San Diego's best

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic. One of San Diego's best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service. Waiter did a great jo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic service. Waiter did a great job guiding us through choices, was attentive and ever present without being intrusive.

We shared 3 of the small plates which was more than enough for two of us.

Pork belly was great as were the duck wings and crab cake.

We will make this a regular stop when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good was over salted. Crab cakes and Br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good was over salted. Crab cakes and Brussel sprouts were burnt. If you restaurant offers valet parking and restaurant is open until 10pm; it is reasonable to expect valet parking would close no earlier than 10 too but our car was parked way down 2 blocks and my elderly guest had to walk. They had the audacity to charge $15 for this ctappy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Our server was fantastic. The hosting st ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our server was fantastic. The hosting staff was on point and took note of my notes in the reservation. Drinks were great. Food was fabulous. Everything was ON POINT. Would absolutely recommend to anyone and everyone. Thanks Searsucker staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun night out with friends. Service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fun night out with friends. Service was great. There was a DJ the night we were there. Food was good and just an overall fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time dining at this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our second time dining at this wonderful restaurant the staff was exceptional and very attentive and knowledgeable. Emily, the general manager, was delightful, and very attentive and went out of her way to make sure that everyone was having a great dining experience. The Buttermilk Fried Chicken was a new menu addition and was so crisp and juicy that just writing about now is making me salivate! My husband ordered the Ono and received a very large portion and it was very flaky and seasoned to perfection. The grilled octopus appetizer small plate at the perfect amount of char and seasoning and everyone at the table enjoyed it immensely as we also enjoyed the short rib appetizer, it was so tender you could cut it with a spoon. The Searsucker is a must visit dining experience if you're ever in the San Diego gaslamp district for any reason, or actually, just go to San Diego to eat at the Searsucker...I would!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The greens were delicious but bordered i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The greens were delicious but bordered in being too salty. The plates were beautiful but the portions a little small. Overall, I expect a little me for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have eaten at Searsucker on three diff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have eaten at Searsucker on three different occasions, with large groups as well as my family of four, and every meal has been fantastic! After our last visit, we could not stop talking about how good the food was and days later we are still daydreaming about the warm brown butter cake..oh my goodness... I don't often provide a review online, because something really has to wow me in order to spend time on a written recommendation. However, in this case, I didn't have to think twice about leaving a comment. Eat here as soon as you get a chance!! Also, our server, Dominique, was awesome. That girl deserves 5 stars too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from Zack! We had a terrif ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service from Zack! We had a terrific time during brunch one Saturday. I'd gladly go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our female Boss was in from PHX, Az. She ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our female Boss was in from PHX, Az. She's hip to the Gaslamp. This was our second "corporate meal" at Searsucker and both times have been fun times. The service on 6/30/16 was excellent without being overbearing. Thanks for that. Excellent wine too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. one of my absolute fav ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great experience. one of my absolute favorite places to eat. the food is always AMAZING and the staff is friendly and fun. they seem to like their job! the manger gave us great places to check out afterwards as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food came out faster than expected, but ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food came out faster than expected, but I was surprised at such a small portion for its price tag. Ambiance wasn't great because there was a screaming baby close to our table. But I guess it's the parents' fault for not being considerate of other diners.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

I've also been to Burlap and this chef/o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've also been to Burlap and this chef/owner has very interesting menus. I really appreciate the variety of small plates. I like to try as many things on a menu as I can without having to be rolled out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a variety of small plates which t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a variety of small plates which the waiter staggered coming out. Staff was exceptional and the food was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my husband and my first time di ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my husband and my first time dinning at searsuckers and had no idea what to expect! We were blown away, it was outstanding! The cost was a little high but the food was more than worth the money. I had a New York strip steak and my husband had the lamb neck and both were cooked to perfect and tasted amazing! The waitress we had was patient and stayed on top of everything all night! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had 2 seven year olds with us and ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had 2 seven year olds with us and our waiter was very sweet to them and very accommodating! It was early so it wasn't that crowded, so the noise level was very low. The food was excellent! I would go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great meal and fantastic service!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great meal and fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was fabulous ! Other staff member ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Server was fabulous ! Other staff members helped me buy a gift for a family member.

Overall great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my experience at Searsucker in d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I loved my experience at Searsucker in downtown San Diego. I went with three friends and we ordered a few bottles of wine along with multiple small plates. We probably ordered 10 or 12 dishes. They arrived in a staggered fashion so we were able to focus on and enjoy 2 or 3 plates at a time. Everything was presented beautifully and tasted delicious. We left satisfied and full after a few hours of enjoying each other's company. The restaurant was decorated cute and modern. The bar area seemed quite lively with the dining area a bit more relaxed and tranquil. I will definitely be back to enjoy Searsucker during my next visit to San Diego!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance. Service was spectacu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved the ambiance. Service was spectacular. Cocktails were great. Food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have been to Searsucker several times and this was the finest! Excellent service, incredible dishes, beautiful playing. This is definitely one of my favorites in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Party of five. We enjoyed cocktails and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Party of five. We enjoyed cocktails and food primarily from the small plates menu. We enjoy delicious food and would rather share lots of "tastes" then feast on an entrée. And...we weren't disappointed. Everything was fantastic. My only complaint was that when we ordered our first round of small plates, they brought all of them out all at once. Clearly, that's not the best way to thoroughly enjoy each item. Other than that...it was a great evening! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our food took longer tha it should have, but we were brought a complimentary appetizer on the house. Our waitress was phenomenal and the food was tremendous! A fantastic place for a date with my husband!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great date night place

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Really great server; food was really flavorful and perfectly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What took me so long?

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I don't know why I didn't get in here sooner. When Searsucker first opened, the lines were out the door, and I wasn't interested in waiting that long. I don't have an excuse for waiting so long to try again. It was fantastic! Now, I hope to become a regular. We had the NY strip steak, beet salad and Brussels sprouts - all delicious - so now I want to try everything else on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite brunch spot in downtown SD! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My favorite brunch spot in downtown SD! Everything is amazing! Great for groups and love the bottomless mimosas and live band.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was perfect, especially the service! A+++

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was great. Music too loud for din ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Staff was great. Music too loud for dining. Chicken was dry. Steak was good but tough. Broccoli was good. Wine was good. Brussel sprouts too salty but tasty. Maybe better for younger folk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We were looking very forward to our dinn ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were looking very forward to our dinner at Searsucker. We had late reservations at 9:30pm and the kitchen closes at 10:00. We ordered several Plates to Share and then the Tomahawk Porterhouse steak to share which we requested to be cooked Medium. The side dishes were very good, but when the $75 Tomahawk steak came out, it was as rare as could be, we couldn't even cut through it. The server agreed and she took it back to the cooks. The server came back and told us that the grills were off and they could only put it in the oven to cook it more which is completely unacceptable to us for a steak of this caliber. We ended up not even accepting the steak and they wrote it off our bill and gave us a complimentary dessert. I am disappointed that a restaurant of this caliber was so unaccommodating to their patrons. We will think twice before having dinner again at Searsucker. We would highly recommend an earlier reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.