About Searsucker Downtown San Diego

611 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Searsucker embodies the social dining experience by encouraging guests to come early and stay late.

Inspired by the simplicity, relaxed and feel-good vibe of the seersucker fabric, Chef Brian Malarkey created a space that invites patrons to relax and enjoy. The airy design features an open kitchen, a lounge space with comfortable seating and a lively bar area. Patrons can watch the action, chat without boundaries and feel as if they’re at a friend’s dinner party rather than a restaurant. Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself. Open for Dinner, Weekday Lunch, Weekend Brunch, Happy Hour and Late Night.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday-Friday: 12pm - 3:30pm

DINNER:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11pm

Happy Hour
Monday-Friday: 4:30pm-7pm

Late Night Menu:
Friday & Saturday: 11pm - 1am

BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
5th and Market

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7327

Website:
http://www.searsucker.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is $15 per vehicle
Metered street parking is an option
Parking Structure on 6th and Market (Park it on Market)

Executive Chef:
Brian Malarkey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private dining inquiries, please contact kaley@searsucker.com

Restaurant Photos

Searsucker Downtown San Diego
Searsucker Downtown San Diego
Tuna
smores
Opah
Sirloin
fried porkbelly, poached eggs, cheese grits, and gravy. or, breakfast.
Beef Tartare
Scallops
Prosciutto Wrapped Ahi Tuna
Tongue & Cheek
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chef Brian Malarkey’s menus are both serious and fun, with creative twists on New American Classics. Dishes range from shared plates and small bites ideal for the whole table, to farm and ocean dishes that you’ll want to keep all to yourself.

Searsucker Downtown San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Diego
American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Fit for Foodies (86)
Hot Spot (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (65)
See All
Good for Groups (62)
Special Occasion (56)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Romantic (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Notable Wine List (9)
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a great place, but know going in ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great place, but know going in that it's LOUD. not a bad thing, just know it.

Food is great, with unique apps.

Our server was fantastic and the drinks were also great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome love the menu & great service... ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome love the menu & great service.......but most favorite of the evening was the music!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great small plates to share - the staff ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great small plates to share - the staff was very knowledgable with their recommendations! Specialty cocktails are right on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the outdoor seating al ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We really enjoyed the outdoor seating along the front sidewalk. Good people watching and a great setting. Our wait staff was very attentive and knowledgable. The Tomahawk Rib Eye is always outstanding. The restaurant is in a great location for easy access, including valet parking. A must if you are in San Diego.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amanda and the support staff gave us awe ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amanda and the support staff gave us awesome service. We loved our experience. Everyone that touched our table were very personable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location. We ate outside. Food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great location. We ate outside. Food and service were fabulous. The owner even stopped by our table and talked for about 5 minutes. Very friendly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service , great food , upbeat a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing service , great food , upbeat ambiance .. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could not have a conversation without ye ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Could not have a conversation without yelling because it is way too loud. Food was average for the prices. Atmosphere is good. Waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great specialty drinks and wonderful ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great specialty drinks and wonderful service. The seafood was off the mark.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Good for just the adults, but also the w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good for just the adults, but also the whole family is welcome. Highly recommend making your way through the small plates - do not miss the shrimp & grits, short rib, or grilled mushrooms. Cocktails with house made infused spirits are excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good, but not great , brunch menu. My fr ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good, but not great , brunch menu. My friend loved her spicy shrimp dish. My chilaquilles were mediocre. Very very slow service. Poor seating - complained about being in the middle of the room at first so were placed behind a larger group and against an awkward pole next. Took a very long time to get our change from cash paid bill . Had to flag the waiter down twice to get it back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I was expecting a dining experience, but ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was expecting a dining experience, but it was really just a big bar experience. The food was better than average bar food, the service was not great. Very slow service, poor timing. If you are looking for a fun bar downtown, this might fit the bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The drinks are amazing. Atmosphere very ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The drinks are amazing. Atmosphere very fun. Service is experienced. Our group thought the small plate items had more taste and flair than the entree's. If we were to go back we would definitely stick with small plate options.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great happy hour

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, outstanding service - ju ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service - just can't afford evenings like that as a norm. I'd order everything we had again, however, I'll focus on making some of it at home instead. I can see going back and ordering just 1 drink and a small plate - still on the pricier side, but could enjoy the great service and a tasty treat. Wait staff was amazing - well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food, wonderful service and awesom ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food, wonderful service and awesome ambiance! We were there for dinner before the theater and loved it and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

hostess was spacey; totally out of it. ...

vip
·Dined on August 2, 2016

hostess was spacey; totally out of it.

server knew NOTHING about the menu. she took forever to come to the table. She did not check on quality of food.

Bun was dry.

fresh catch was over priced and raw in middle- it was not supposed to be seared. sides were whimpy. $25 lunch menu item- def not worth it.

whole lunch menu was over priced.

i had one cocktail made from their house infused vodka. It was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Three of us ordered fish. Two of us rece ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Three of us ordered fish. Two of us received raw fish. They took it back but acted like it wasn't a big deal that it was under cooked. I ordered something else and it was okay. They did comp our dessert. The food was just okay - nothing outstanding. Great location, in the heart of gaslamp and cute decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

A big disappointment with EXTREMELY unco ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A big disappointment with EXTREMELY uncomfortable seating. Food was only average for high prices. Server was the best part of the meal. Won't go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Been to Searsucker before. However, had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Been to Searsucker before. However, had a 2:45 pm lunch, but the kitchen was closing after brunch and there was not much choice on the menu. That was my fault. However, they accommodated us the best they could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the design and overall look of th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I love the design and overall look of the restaurant and the food was exceptional. I would return for the quality and unique touches to the dishes alone.

My only drawback is how loud the music was making it very hard for our group to converse at our table. That's expected in a lively bar, but not in an upscale restaurant. Perhaps that's a Gaslamp District thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, especially desserts! Not suit ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food, especially desserts!

Not suitable for a date night because of the noise level which makes it difficult to speak to each other...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food in small to moderate portions. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food in small to moderate portions. Duck fat fries were great.

VERY loud, but fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My table was next to a west-facing windo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My table was next to a west-facing window without shades in full sun. It was an uncomfortably hot table. The staff did everything they could to help mitigate the issue, but they really need to install sun shades for their window-table guests. Other than that, the restaurant is great. The food was outstanding, and the staff were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is amazing and drinks are too!! Pri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is amazing and drinks are too!! Pricey but still love it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Comic Con week! Friday early evening at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Comic Con week! Friday early evening at Searsucker's! Outside corner table! People watching! Fabulous SS bites! Impeccable service and attentive servers! Three year tradition....Priceless!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast and easy lunch.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Fast and easy lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love Seersucker! Their food is incred ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love Seersucker! Their food is incredible and the waitstaff was so accommodating. We didn't have a dirty plate or empty glass on our table for longer than 1 minute. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends here for dinner. We had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Met some friends here for dinner. We had a great time! The servers were all super friendly, the food was delicious and the cocktails were some of the best we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server did a great job! Great meal. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server did a great job! Great meal. Highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cons - Super loud so if you are looking ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cons - Super loud so if you are looking to be loud, then this is the place to be. It was a saturday night at 8:30 pm, so it was still relatively early. We saw the fried chicken dish on the menu and was sold. Subsequent to seeing it on the menu, I asked the server what she recommended and her first dish she recommended was the fried chicken. Placed our orders and we were good to go...So I thought. Five minutes later, in anticipation of the fried chicken dish, the server came back and informed us the restaurant was out of that dish. Really?! We are talking about chickens, buttermilk and flour?! Had to settle for something else; was not a happy camper.

Pros - Food is good, however, a little too expensive for the type of cuisines they had. Don't get me wrong, dishes are very satisfying with great flavor, but lacked the "wow" factor. Very energetic atmosphere so this is not the place for a date night or romancing...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic. One of San Diego's best

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic. One of San Diego's best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service. Waiter did a great jo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic service. Waiter did a great job guiding us through choices, was attentive and ever present without being intrusive.

We shared 3 of the small plates which was more than enough for two of us.

Pork belly was great as were the duck wings and crab cake.

We will make this a regular stop when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good was over salted. Crab cakes and Br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good was over salted. Crab cakes and Brussel sprouts were burnt. If you restaurant offers valet parking and restaurant is open until 10pm; it is reasonable to expect valet parking would close no earlier than 10 too but our car was parked way down 2 blocks and my elderly guest had to walk. They had the audacity to charge $15 for this ctappy service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Our server was fantastic. The hosting st ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our server was fantastic. The hosting staff was on point and took note of my notes in the reservation. Drinks were great. Food was fabulous. Everything was ON POINT. Would absolutely recommend to anyone and everyone. Thanks Searsucker staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun night out with friends. Service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fun night out with friends. Service was great. There was a DJ the night we were there. Food was good and just an overall fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time dining at this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our second time dining at this wonderful restaurant the staff was exceptional and very attentive and knowledgeable. Emily, the general manager, was delightful, and very attentive and went out of her way to make sure that everyone was having a great dining experience. The Buttermilk Fried Chicken was a new menu addition and was so crisp and juicy that just writing about now is making me salivate! My husband ordered the Ono and received a very large portion and it was very flaky and seasoned to perfection. The grilled octopus appetizer small plate at the perfect amount of char and seasoning and everyone at the table enjoyed it immensely as we also enjoyed the short rib appetizer, it was so tender you could cut it with a spoon. The Searsucker is a must visit dining experience if you're ever in the San Diego gaslamp district for any reason, or actually, just go to San Diego to eat at the Searsucker...I would!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The greens were delicious but bordered i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The greens were delicious but bordered in being too salty. The plates were beautiful but the portions a little small. Overall, I expect a little me for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have eaten at Searsucker on three diff ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have eaten at Searsucker on three different occasions, with large groups as well as my family of four, and every meal has been fantastic! After our last visit, we could not stop talking about how good the food was and days later we are still daydreaming about the warm brown butter cake..oh my goodness... I don't often provide a review online, because something really has to wow me in order to spend time on a written recommendation. However, in this case, I didn't have to think twice about leaving a comment. Eat here as soon as you get a chance!! Also, our server, Dominique, was awesome. That girl deserves 5 stars too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from Zack! We had a terrif ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service from Zack! We had a terrific time during brunch one Saturday. I'd gladly go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.