About Seagar's Restaurant

Hilton Sandestin Resort
4000 S. Sandestin Blvd.
Destin, FL 32550
View Larger Map

Seagar’s Prime Steaks & Seafoods features only the best USDA Prime Beef, fresh seafood and private wine rooms with more than 600 labels. We invite you to experience the good life and to indulge in the finest dining experience at Seagar’s. Our elegant atmosphere, classic fine cuisine and unsurpassed attention to service have designated us as the Emerald Coast’s only AAA 4-Diamond steakhouse. Seagar’s offers a complete fine dining experience, including captain service, table side preparation of items such as Steak Diane, Dover Sole and Bananas Foster, as well as an intimate lounge, featuring music from our grand piano. Dress code is Sophisticated Casual. Gentlemen are asked to wear collared shirts and long pants. No T-Shirts, Athletic Wear or Hats. Jackets not required but appreciated.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily Sunday through Saturday
Bar opens at 5:30pm
Dinner begins at 6:00pm.
Restaurant closes at 10:00pm.

Open 7 Days a Week from Memorial day to Labor day.
Reservations Strongly Requested.

Cross Street:
Highway 98 East

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 622-1500

Website:
http://www.seagars.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music nightly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking located in Hilton Sandestin Golf Resort & Spa.

Executive Chef:
Dan Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
Seagar’s offers private dining rooms, perfect for rehearsal dinners, VIP dinners or larger opulent business affairs for meetings or receptions. Seagar's Prime Steaks and Seafood is proud to offer private dining facilities for every occasion.

Private rooms available for groups sizes from 2-40.
Customized menus for group dining.

*GROUPS OVER 40 MAY BE SEATED SEMI-PRIVATELY IN THE MAIN DINING ROOM.

Private Party Contact:
Charlotte Levaughn: 850-622-1500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheesecake
  • Scallops
  • Creme Brulee
  • Dover Sole
  • Brownie
  • Bone-In Filet
  • Wedge Salad
  • Stone Crab
  • Bread and Butter
Cheesecake
Scallops
Creme Brulee
Dover Sole
Brownie
Bone-In Filet
Wedge Salad
Stone Crab
Bread and Butter

Seagar's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Northwest Florida
Romantic
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
7 More
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

special occasion (56)
romantic (48)
notable wine list (41)
See All
fit for foodies (31)
good for groups (16)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wr were celabrating our 36th anniversary ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wr were celabrating our 36th anniversary in Destin and decided to visit Seagar's we were very pleased the food was not only very good but the portions were generous. We have been to many upscale steak houses all over the country and Seagar's is as good as any and better than most 5 stars for food and service slightly higher cost but that may be due to the resort atmosphere. We couldn't have made a better choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Finest restaurant in Destin. Excellent s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Finest restaurant in Destin. Excellent service. Food is imaginative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the nicest places and the steaks ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the nicest places and the steaks were possibly the best we have had to date. One of the best restaurants in not only the Florida panhandle, but in the entire Southeast.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steaks... Great wine list

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent steaks... Great wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Seagers many times and w ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been to Seagers many times and we will continue to go. It is our go to place any time we can get to Sandedtin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service. Waiter was great. I wil ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Awesome service. Waiter was great. I will go back there next time I'm in town

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is very expensive howeve ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This restaurant is very expensive however the food quality and the service make it worthwhile. Our steaks were outstanding and the Caesar salad prepared table side was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband set up a date night without k ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband set up a date night without kids while we were on vacation. We were called about two hours prior to our reservation time, letting us know the dress code, luckily we were prepared but I think they should have called the day before. Dress code was collared shirt, for men with closed toe shoes and woman was nice but no beach wear, dressy sandals appropriate. Upon arrival we were greeted by the host and staff. Very welcoming. Mixed drinks were awful, lobster bisque was ok but not what I expected at a nice restaurant and at the beach. Steak was ok but not for price, twice baked potato and lobster tail was over cooked. Soufflé desert was ok but could have had more taste. Reading previous reviews, and getting a phone call prior to dinner we were nervous that it as going to be overly fancy and just amazing food. We were very disappointed. If we could do it over we would have dined somewhere else and saved our money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fantastic service, I was with a very nee ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic service, I was with a very needy entitled group and everyone was extremely professional in meeting our needs. Going back every time I come down to Destin (once a month).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!! We had the blackened lobster a ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Perfect!! We had the blackened lobster and the South African breaded lobster- both AMAZING!

Bananas foster for dessert. Crab claws appetizer.

We loved everything from the wait staff to the ambiance. Great place and great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seagars bring that old school charm and ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Seagars bring that old school charm and talent of the New York steakhouse to life. It's ambiance service and taste. It was an amazing experience and it was fun and flirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner for our anniversary! We wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great dinner for our anniversary! We were treated to champagne and a great table. Would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was great, except my food. i ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

everything was great, except my food. i ordered N.Y Strip stake. When asked how do i want my steak cooked i replied well done. Server asked: "No pink inside at all?". I said "no pink". Anyways i got my steak with pink inside

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

It had been a couple of years since I la ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It had been a couple of years since I last dined at Seagars and I was curious to see if the usually high quality of food and service was still in place. The meal was one of the best I have had this year so far and I cannot wait for another visit. The wine list also has choices for any interest or price level. An outstanding meal!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good and never disappoints. Our ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always good and never disappoints. Our waiter, Ken, was great. 5 stars all the way.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever we're in Destin, we make a poin ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Whenever we're in Destin, we make a point to go there. Our favorite restaurant, by far. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was ok but didn't justify the price ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was ok but didn't justify the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We are vacationing from Orlando, where c ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We are vacationing from Orlando, where chains abound. We were looking for a nice restaurant for a date night and found Seagar's on Open Table. We could not have been happier with our choice. The ambiance was wonderful, the service was among the best we've had anywhere, and the food was fantastic! The quail appetizer was delicious and the fried South African lobster tail was scrumptious! Same for dessert. I highly recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service & a perfectly prepared ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent service & a perfectly prepared Chateaubriand for two. The maitre d' selected a private table in the wine display/cellar....we were the only party in that side room. It made for a wonderful moment celebrating our anniversary. Our server was superior in every way. Many thanks to Segar's!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Generally when I travel I like to find a ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Generally when I travel I like to find a great steak house and compare it to my previous adventures. If this is on your list to try - SKIP IT - If you are in the Destin area and looking for a great steak go somewhere else - like Flemming's or Ruth's Chris - you will also find the clientele much more appropriately dressed for high end steakhouse. I visited their website and wore a jacket as requested when i arrived I watched in astonishment as they allowed patrons in wearing faded denim shorts and a T-shirt. There was also a child wearing a tank top. Now let's discuss the food - we ordered the Scallop appetizer which was well prepared and fresh. For the main course we both ordered the Bone in Filet along with half a Maine lobster, asparagus and the twice baked potatoes. I asked steak medium rare plus and the waiter said it was not possible - anyone had a steak in Chicago lately? - so i ordered it Medium. The seasoning was weak and there was not much flavor. As far as the lobster - only one word can describe it - RUBBER - enough said - we opted to skip desert - so all of this with 4 drinks and the casual atmosphere :/ cost me just shy of $400 for two - bottom line you have been warned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Superb Anniversary Dinner! We drove over ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb Anniversary Dinner! We drove over from our B&B near Seaside. Parking was valet and easy. Some of the best service we have recently had. Brought a complimentary glass of Prosecco for us for the occasion. We each had a starter (salad and special fried green tomato and crab), entrée, and a dessert (I highly recommend the Peach/Bananas Foster!)

Would return for a special dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the service was outstanding, a ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I thought the service was outstanding, and our waiter was very attentive. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the food and we all shared our 'sides' because they were so huge. It was a memorable evening, but one thing was a little disturbing. I ordered a glass of wine as it was a special birthday for me. When they brought the glass of wine, I thought they forgot to put some of the wine in the glass. I had about 6 sips and that was about it. I think for the price of the glass of wine, it could have been perhaps half full.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great steaks. Wedge w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service. Great steaks. Wedge was not very good and neither was the foie gras. They deleted from traditions and tried to combine tastes that just didn't work. Sat us at a table that was not our norm and told us that the one we wanted was booked and we stared at it empty the entire 2.5 hours we were there. That kind of grated on me as well.

Steaks are top notch though. Pricey but good usually

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Second time...still very good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

5 Stars....no...wine was too warm.

Needs to be at cellar temp... 56-58 degrees

Wine selection was impressive for this size restaurant

Service was wonderful....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

In past years, we have enjoyed a dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

In past years, we have enjoyed a dinner during a combination seminar and vacation stay at the Hilton. The past years were very good. This year not so. We were seated promptly at 6:45 as our reservation. A drink order was taken promptly and served. Onion rings as an appetizer were served. Lobster bisque was extremely salty. We ordered our meals but did not receive the entrees for over an hour. It was almost 10 PM when we left. The oyster appetizer was very poor. A porterhouse steak was not very good and off taste. My wife who loves a good rare steak, could not eat it. A disappointment compared to previous years when ordering steaks. Other tables that were seated after us received their meals ahead of us. Overall, the quality of the food was not as previous years and the service was poor. When we are back in Sandestin and the Hilton, we will skip Seagar's. Much better restaurants in the area. My wife and daughter did inform the Hilton staff the next day of our unfortunate experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The first one to greet us allowed us to ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The first one to greet us allowed us to move to a booth so we could sit next to each other.

The server who took care is us, Sandy, was great. She listened to our requests and accommodated us with our wishes.

What a fine experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

delicious food and the best wine list I ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

delicious food and the best wine list I have ever seen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steakhouse Period!

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I just had one of our best meals of all time! Must dine here if in Destin area or a day's drive away! We live in Atlanta and originally from the Northeast and Seagar's could hang if not beat many of these others easily! Ask for Sandy and her team and they will truly make it a memorable experience! 14 oz Bone In Filet was simply the Best! Can't wait to come back soon!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Everything from sitting at the bar waiting for our friends to get there to the desserts - it was fabulous. Wine, main course (no appetizers), desserts were wonderful! Will definitely go back there when on vacation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Enjoyed the table s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding service. Enjoyed the table side Caesar salad prep. Great wine choices. Food was great too! It was a very pleasant dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

So disappointed as ambiance and service were great. We had chateaubriand which was just ok. Wedge salad was worst ever, vegetables were awful, chocolate dessert literally not worth getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience. The wait staff wer ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful experience. The wait staff were all great. The food was amazing. It was a perfect meal and a great choice for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been there a few times and this time the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Been there a few times and this time the food did not deliver. At a cost of $400 for 2 people everything needs to be grade A. No room for error.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Classic steakhouse

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant is a classic steakhouse. Nice steaks, family-style sides, and fancy desserts. We dined on a Wednesday night so it was not very crowded...however, we received terrible service. We did not seem to have a dedicated server so it was impossible to get beverage refills (other than water) and it took forever to order dessert. We almost went to the bar to request the check. I felt like the value was subpar at best....quite disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We were celebrating a 30th Anniversary, ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We were celebrating a 30th Anniversary, and the entire restaurant staff knew it and treated us accordingly. The service was superb, the wine excellent, the food outstanding, and it was a totally enjoyable experience. An evening to remember....and we shall! Thanks to Open Table for your contribution.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant ever in my book!!

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We eat at Seagars when we come to Destin every year Its where we celebrate our anniversary every year. I have never had a steak as delicious as their filet. Its incredible. The baked potatoes,the lobster bisque soup,the creme brulee,its all scrumptious. Scotts service was perfection. So friendly,eager to please,and pays attention to every detail... This is my all time favorite restaurant I cannot wait for our trip every year to Seagars. There is no better dining experience or more delicious food than Seagars in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing meal! Always love the Ma ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Another amazing meal! Always love the Mac n cheese. Top notch service, food and drinks. One of our favorite places ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was pretty good, but service was terrible.

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

See above - they need some help to make this a place that people staying in the hotel would like to utilize

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was wonderful. We were celebra ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was wonderful. We were celebrating our anniversary and they made it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous restaurant...we travel to Desti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Fabulous restaurant...we travel to Destin twice per year and always make Seagars part of our dinner plans. Good for families but pricey.... Great for couples who love great food and a romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.