About Seagar's Restaurant

Hilton Sandestin Resort
4000 S. Sandestin Blvd.
Destin, FL 32550
View Larger Map

Seagar’s Prime Steaks & Seafoods features only the best USDA Prime Beef, fresh seafood and private wine rooms with more than 600 labels. We invite you to experience the good life and to indulge in the finest dining experience at Seagar’s. Our elegant atmosphere, classic fine cuisine and unsurpassed attention to service have designated us as the Emerald Coast’s only AAA 4-Diamond steakhouse. Seagar’s offers a complete fine dining experience, including captain service, table side preparation of items such as Steak Diane, Dover Sole and Bananas Foster, as well as an intimate lounge, featuring music from our grand piano. Dress code is Sophisticated Casual. Gentlemen are asked to wear collared shirts and long pants. No T-Shirts, Athletic Wear or Hats. Jackets not required but appreciated.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily Sunday through Saturday
Bar opens at 5:30pm
Dinner begins at 6:00pm.
Restaurant closes at 10:00pm.

Open 7 Days a Week from Memorial day to Labor day.
Reservations Strongly Requested.

Cross Street:
Highway 98 East

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 622-1500

Website:
http://www.seagars.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music nightly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking located in Hilton Sandestin Golf Resort & Spa.

Executive Chef:
Dan Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
Seagar’s offers private dining rooms, perfect for rehearsal dinners, VIP dinners or larger opulent business affairs for meetings or receptions. Seagar's Prime Steaks and Seafood is proud to offer private dining facilities for every occasion.

Private rooms available for groups sizes from 2-40.
Customized menus for group dining.

*GROUPS OVER 40 MAY BE SEATED SEMI-PRIVATELY IN THE MAIN DINING ROOM.

Private Party Contact:
Charlotte Levaughn: 850-622-1500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheesecake
  • Scallops
  • Creme Brulee
  • Dover Sole
  • Brownie
  • Bone-In Filet
  • Wedge Salad
  • Stone Crab
  • Bread and Butter
Cheesecake
Scallops
Creme Brulee
Dover Sole
Brownie
Bone-In Filet
Wedge Salad
Stone Crab
Bread and Butter

Seagar's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Notable Wine List
Northwest Florida
Romantic
Northwest Florida
9 More
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Romantic
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

special occasion (54)
romantic (46)
notable wine list (37)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good and never disappoints. Our ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always good and never disappoints. Our waiter, Ken, was great. 5 stars all the way.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever we're in Destin, we make a poin ...

Dined 7 days ago

Whenever we're in Destin, we make a point to go there. Our favorite restaurant, by far. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was ok but didn't justify the price ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was ok but didn't justify the price tag.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are vacationing from Orlando, where c ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

We are vacationing from Orlando, where chains abound. We were looking for a nice restaurant for a date night and found Seagar's on Open Table. We could not have been happier with our choice. The ambiance was wonderful, the service was among the best we've had anywhere, and the food was fantastic! The quail appetizer was delicious and the fried South African lobster tail was scrumptious! Same for dessert. I highly recommend the restaurant.

food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Generally when I travel I like to find a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Generally when I travel I like to find a great steak house and compare it to my previous adventures. If this is on your list to try - SKIP IT - If you are in the Destin area and looking for a great steak go somewhere else - like Flemming's or Ruth's Chris - you will also find the clientele much more appropriately dressed for high end steakhouse. I visited their website and wore a jacket as requested when i arrived I watched in astonishment as they allowed patrons in wearing faded denim shorts and a T-shirt. There was also a child wearing a tank top. Now let's discuss the food - we ordered the Scallop appetizer which was well prepared and fresh. For the main course we both ordered the Bone in Filet along with half a Maine lobster, asparagus and the twice baked potatoes. I asked steak medium rare plus and the waiter said it was not possible - anyone had a steak in Chicago lately? - so i ordered it Medium. The seasoning was weak and there was not much flavor. As far as the lobster - only one word can describe it - RUBBER - enough said - we opted to skip desert - so all of this with 4 drinks and the casual atmosphere :/ cost me just shy of $400 for two - bottom line you have been warned.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb Anniversary Dinner! We drove over ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb Anniversary Dinner! We drove over from our B&B near Seaside. Parking was valet and easy. Some of the best service we have recently had. Brought a complimentary glass of Prosecco for us for the occasion. We each had a starter (salad and special fried green tomato and crab), entrée, and a dessert (I highly recommend the Peach/Bananas Foster!) Would return for a special dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the service was outstanding, a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I thought the service was outstanding, and our waiter was very attentive. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the food and we all shared our 'sides' because they were so huge. It was a memorable evening, but one thing was a little disturbing. I ordered a glass of wine as it was a special birthday for me. When they brought the glass of wine, I thought they forgot to put some of the wine in the glass. I had about 6 sips and that was about it. I think for the price of the glass of wine, it could have been perhaps half full.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service. Great steaks. Wedge w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service. Great steaks. Wedge was not very good and neither was the foie gras. They deleted from traditions and tried to combine tastes that just didn't work. Sat us at a table that was not our norm and told us that the one we wanted was booked and we stared at it empty the entire 2.5 hours we were there. That kind of grated on me as well. Steaks are top notch though. Pricey but good usually

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time...still very good

Dined on June 9, 2016

5 Stars....no...wine was too warm. Needs to be at cellar temp... 56-58 degrees Wine selection was impressive for this size restaurant Service was wonderful....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

In past years, we have enjoyed a dinner ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

In past years, we have enjoyed a dinner during a combination seminar and vacation stay at the Hilton. The past years were very good. This year not so. We were seated promptly at 6:45 as our reservation. A drink order was taken promptly and served. Onion rings as an appetizer were served. Lobster bisque was extremely salty. We ordered our meals but did not receive the entrees for over an hour. It was almost 10 PM when we left. The oyster appetizer was very poor. A porterhouse steak was not very good and off taste. My wife who loves a good rare steak, could not eat it. A disappointment compared to previous years when ordering steaks. Other tables that were seated after us received their meals ahead of us. Overall, the quality of the food was not as previous years and the service was poor. When we are back in Sandestin and the Hilton, we will skip Seagar's. Much better restaurants in the area. My wife and daughter did inform the Hilton staff the next day of our unfortunate experience.

food4
ambience4
service5

The first one to greet us allowed us to ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

The first one to greet us allowed us to move to a booth so we could sit next to each other. The server who took care is us, Sandy, was great. She listened to our requests and accommodated us with our wishes. What a fine experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

delicious food and the best wine list I ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

delicious food and the best wine list I have ever seen

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steakhouse Period!

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I just had one of our best meals of all time! Must dine here if in Destin area or a day's drive away! We live in Atlanta and originally from the Northeast and Seagar's could hang if not beat many of these others easily! Ask for Sandy and her team and they will truly make it a memorable experience! 14 oz Bone In Filet was simply the Best! Can't wait to come back soon!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

Everything from sitting at the bar waiting for our friends to get there to the desserts - it was fabulous. Wine, main course (no appetizers), desserts were wonderful! Will definitely go back there when on vacation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Enjoyed the table s ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding service. Enjoyed the table side Caesar salad prep. Great wine choices. Food was great too! It was a very pleasant dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 13, 2016

So disappointed as ambiance and service were great. We had chateaubriand which was just ok. Wedge salad was worst ever, vegetables were awful, chocolate dessert literally not worth getting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. The wait staff wer ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful experience. The wait staff were all great. The food was amazing. It was a perfect meal and a great choice for our anniversary.

food3
ambience3
service5

Been there a few times and this time the ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Been there a few times and this time the food did not deliver. At a cost of $400 for 2 people everything needs to be grade A. No room for error.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Classic steakhouse

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant is a classic steakhouse. Nice steaks, family-style sides, and fancy desserts. We dined on a Wednesday night so it was not very crowded...however, we received terrible service. We did not seem to have a dedicated server so it was impossible to get beverage refills (other than water) and it took forever to order dessert. We almost went to the bar to request the check. I felt like the value was subpar at best....quite disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a 30th Anniversary, ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We were celebrating a 30th Anniversary, and the entire restaurant staff knew it and treated us accordingly. The service was superb, the wine excellent, the food outstanding, and it was a totally enjoyable experience. An evening to remember....and we shall! Thanks to Open Table for your contribution.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant ever in my book!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We eat at Seagars when we come to Destin every year Its where we celebrate our anniversary every year. I have never had a steak as delicious as their filet. Its incredible. The baked potatoes,the lobster bisque soup,the creme brulee,its all scrumptious. Scotts service was perfection. So friendly,eager to please,and pays attention to every detail... This is my all time favorite restaurant I cannot wait for our trip every year to Seagars. There is no better dining experience or more delicious food than Seagars in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Another amazing meal! Always love the Ma ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Another amazing meal! Always love the Mac n cheese. Top notch service, food and drinks. One of our favorite places ever.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was pretty good, but service was terrible.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

See above - they need some help to make this a place that people staying in the hotel would like to utilize

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was wonderful. We were celebra ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was wonderful. We were celebrating our anniversary and they made it special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant...we travel to Desti ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Fabulous restaurant...we travel to Destin twice per year and always make Seagars part of our dinner plans. Good for families but pricey.... Great for couples who love great food and a romantic atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Too easily overlooked, this is an excell ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Too easily overlooked, this is an excellent dining experience.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very average

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak was average. Sides were good. Very expensive for very average food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in DESTIN!

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been frequenting this restaurant since it opened in 1998! The food is excellent, the service impeccable and the atmosphere inviting. The Captain recommended the pork belly appetizer topped with calamari and the stone crab claws entrée, and both were excellent! Their steaks and seafood are always the best quality and they have an extensive, notable wine list. I never miss dining here several times per year that I visit Destin for business or pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent service and food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding evening in private wine room thanks to Captain Bob.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not bad at all

Dined on April 15, 2016

Seagar's was excellent for Destin but just alright in a big city. We had some of the food Seagar's was proudest to offer. It was better than good but not quite delicious... and the salad and some appetizers were overpriced. The porterhouse was very good, and the Peaches Foster was fantastic and absolutely worth the price. Our waiter paired a wine for us with the steak and did a nice job.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Slow Service and Overpriced

Dined on April 15, 2016

The decor of the Resteraunt is very nice and they have a tremendous wine list, the staff were also friendly. Besides the aforementioned, save your money and go someplace else because it is very overpriced, staff is abundant but took forever to take our order and the food is good but not great! When you spend $80 for a single steak it better be so tender that it can be cut with a fork! I have had way better for half the price.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We are from out-of-town but have been to Sandestin for conferences (Alabama Bar Meetings) . We can say, by far, that Seagers is our favorite restaurant to date! The atmosphere, service and food are outstanding. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining

Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband & I celebrated our anniversary at this fine restaurant. Everything was top notch & five star from the ambiance, waiter & of course our dinner. Definitely a great choice all around. Everything was prepared perfectly. Thank you for not disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Love this place!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service & atmosphere

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Great atmosphere & service ( Sandy). Foie Gras was outstanding ! Be sure to have the tableside Caesar- delicious. Wine list Delivered on iPad - great choices . They do try to upsell, but actually is their job I guess. many wines under $50 that are perfect. Ribeye was good(though not the best ever- we are spoiled by Jeff Rubys!!) Truffle fries were a must try and corn was another great choice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

At the start of this review, I must admi ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

At the start of this review, I must admit that I frequently ask for things to be specially prepared, and at over 70 years old, I've eaten in many excellent restaurants around the world. Seagars is a touch pretentious, apparently catering to more of a vacation group who want to have that one great experience before they leave the resort. With the prices charged, patrons should expect everything to be professional, particularly the service. What I found instead was a somewhat trying experience, from a cocktail that was not prepared the way I had asked, to electronic menus (an abomination), to having an argument about bread being available during the entrée. Lots of smiling and head nodding, but not so much listening and understanding. The food was very good, and if the service was as good, the experience would have almost been worth the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Destin

Dined on March 24, 2016

Dining at Seagar's is always a planned evening out whenever we vacation in Destin, Florida. Excellence is the standard achieved in all measures of a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Not a good value.

Dined on March 20, 2016

This restaurant is pleasant enough to be in, but management seems to equate high prices for food and drinks with excellence and for us, just the reverse was true. Only our steaks were done correctly. The side items were substandard. The staff was friendly and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the staff so p ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The service was great and the staff so personable! Food was great.Definetly going bacj!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.