About Seagar's Restaurant

Hilton Sandestin Resort
4000 S. Sandestin Blvd.
Destin, FL 32550
View Larger Map

Seagar’s Prime Steaks & Seafoods features only the best USDA Prime Beef, fresh seafood and private wine rooms with more than 600 labels. We invite you to experience the good life and to indulge in the finest dining experience at Seagar’s. Our elegant atmosphere, classic fine cuisine and unsurpassed attention to service have designated us as the Emerald Coast’s only AAA 4-Diamond steakhouse. Seagar’s offers a complete fine dining experience, including captain service, table side preparation of items such as Steak Diane, Dover Sole and Bananas Foster, as well as an intimate lounge, featuring music from our grand piano. Dress code is Sophisticated Casual. Gentlemen are asked to wear collared shirts and long pants. No T-Shirts, Athletic Wear or Hats. Jackets not required but appreciated.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday — Saturday
Bar opens at 5:30pm
Dinner begins at 6:00pm
Last seating is at 9:00pm.

Open 7 Days a Week from Memorial day to Labor day.
Reservations Strongly Requested.

Cross Street:
Highway 98 East

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 622-1500

Website:
http://www.seagars.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music nightly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking located in Hilton Sandestin Golf Resort & Spa.

Executive Chef:
Dan Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
Seagar’s offers private dining rooms, perfect for rehearsal dinners, VIP dinners or larger opulent business affairs for meetings or receptions. Seagar's Prime Steaks and Seafood is proud to offer private dining facilities for every occasion.

Private rooms available for groups sizes from 2-40.
Customized menus for group dining.

*GROUPS OVER 40 MAY BE SEATED SEMI-PRIVATELY IN THE MAIN DINING ROOM.

Private Party Contact:
Charlotte Levaughn: 850-622-1500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Seagar's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Notable Wine List
Northwest Florida
Romantic
Northwest Florida
10 More
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Fit for Foodies
Destin
Romantic
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

special occasion (58)
romantic (53)
notable wine list (38)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
good for groups (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Enjoyed the table s ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding service. Enjoyed the table side Caesar salad prep. Great wine choices. Food was great too! It was a very pleasant dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 13, 2016

So disappointed as ambiance and service were great. We had chateaubriand which was just ok. Wedge salad was worst ever, vegetables were awful, chocolate dessert literally not worth getting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. The wait staff wer ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful experience. The wait staff were all great. The food was amazing. It was a perfect meal and a great choice for our anniversary.

food3
ambience3
service5

Been there a few times and this time the ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Been there a few times and this time the food did not deliver. At a cost of $400 for 2 people everything needs to be grade A. No room for error.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Classic steakhouse

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant is a classic steakhouse. Nice steaks, family-style sides, and fancy desserts. We dined on a Wednesday night so it was not very crowded...however, we received terrible service. We did not seem to have a dedicated server so it was impossible to get beverage refills (other than water) and it took forever to order dessert. We almost went to the bar to request the check. I felt like the value was subpar at best....quite disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a 30th Anniversary, ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We were celebrating a 30th Anniversary, and the entire restaurant staff knew it and treated us accordingly. The service was superb, the wine excellent, the food outstanding, and it was a totally enjoyable experience. An evening to remember....and we shall! Thanks to Open Table for your contribution.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant ever in my book!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We eat at Seagars when we come to Destin every year Its where we celebrate our anniversary every year. I have never had a steak as delicious as their filet. Its incredible. The baked potatoes,the lobster bisque soup,the creme brulee,its all scrumptious. Scotts service was perfection. So friendly,eager to please,and pays attention to every detail... This is my all time favorite restaurant I cannot wait for our trip every year to Seagars. There is no better dining experience or more delicious food than Seagars in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Another amazing meal! Always love the Ma ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Another amazing meal! Always love the Mac n cheese. Top notch service, food and drinks. One of our favorite places ever.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was pretty good, but service was terrible.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

See above - they need some help to make this a place that people staying in the hotel would like to utilize

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was wonderful. We were celebra ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was wonderful. We were celebrating our anniversary and they made it special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant...we travel to Desti ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Fabulous restaurant...we travel to Destin twice per year and always make Seagars part of our dinner plans. Good for families but pricey.... Great for couples who love great food and a romantic atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Too easily overlooked, this is an excell ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Too easily overlooked, this is an excellent dining experience.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very average

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak was average. Sides were good. Very expensive for very average food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in DESTIN!

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been frequenting this restaurant since it opened in 1998! The food is excellent, the service impeccable and the atmosphere inviting. The Captain recommended the pork belly appetizer topped with calamari and the stone crab claws entrée, and both were excellent! Their steaks and seafood are always the best quality and they have an extensive, notable wine list. I never miss dining here several times per year that I visit Destin for business or pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent service and food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding evening in private wine room thanks to Captain Bob.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not bad at all

Dined on April 15, 2016

Seagar's was excellent for Destin but just alright in a big city. We had some of the food Seagar's was proudest to offer. It was better than good but not quite delicious... and the salad and some appetizers were overpriced. The porterhouse was very good, and the Peaches Foster was fantastic and absolutely worth the price. Our waiter paired a wine for us with the steak and did a nice job.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Slow Service and Overpriced

Dined on April 15, 2016

The decor of the Resteraunt is very nice and they have a tremendous wine list, the staff were also friendly. Besides the aforementioned, save your money and go someplace else because it is very overpriced, staff is abundant but took forever to take our order and the food is good but not great! When you spend $80 for a single steak it better be so tender that it can be cut with a fork! I have had way better for half the price.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We are from out-of-town but have been to Sandestin for conferences (Alabama Bar Meetings) . We can say, by far, that Seagers is our favorite restaurant to date! The atmosphere, service and food are outstanding. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining

Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband & I celebrated our anniversary at this fine restaurant. Everything was top notch & five star from the ambiance, waiter & of course our dinner. Definitely a great choice all around. Everything was prepared perfectly. Thank you for not disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Love this place!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service & atmosphere

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Great atmosphere & service ( Sandy). Foie Gras was outstanding ! Be sure to have the tableside Caesar- delicious. Wine list Delivered on iPad - great choices . They do try to upsell, but actually is their job I guess. many wines under $50 that are perfect. Ribeye was good(though not the best ever- we are spoiled by Jeff Rubys!!) Truffle fries were a must try and corn was another great choice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

At the start of this review, I must admi ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

At the start of this review, I must admit that I frequently ask for things to be specially prepared, and at over 70 years old, I've eaten in many excellent restaurants around the world. Seagars is a touch pretentious, apparently catering to more of a vacation group who want to have that one great experience before they leave the resort. With the prices charged, patrons should expect everything to be professional, particularly the service. What I found instead was a somewhat trying experience, from a cocktail that was not prepared the way I had asked, to electronic menus (an abomination), to having an argument about bread being available during the entrée. Lots of smiling and head nodding, but not so much listening and understanding. The food was very good, and if the service was as good, the experience would have almost been worth the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Destin

Dined on March 24, 2016

Dining at Seagar's is always a planned evening out whenever we vacation in Destin, Florida. Excellence is the standard achieved in all measures of a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Not a good value.

Dined on March 20, 2016

This restaurant is pleasant enough to be in, but management seems to equate high prices for food and drinks with excellence and for us, just the reverse was true. Only our steaks were done correctly. The side items were substandard. The staff was friendly and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the staff so p ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The service was great and the staff so personable! Food was great.Definetly going bacj!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best in the area time and time again!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Best in the area time and time again!

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I would request a booth

Dined on February 20, 2016

The tables in the lower section seemed pretty close together and it was louder there. On the upper level on the outer edge, overlooking the bigger section, there are tables that are a bit more separated, and booths which are the most private. There's also a really cool bar with it's own private room with a table for four (I believe) and a wine room with a table that was set five (I believe). We didn't go in the bar, but it looked very nice. The panko-encrusted calamari was incredible. The only thing related to service is that the wine service was very slow. It took about 15 minutes to place our drink order, and another 20 to actually get the two bottles of wine that we had ordered. I know it takes time to get to the bottles sometimes, but I don't think we should have had to wait nearly 40 minutes to get a beverage. Food service was excellent. Would definitely recommend. Everyone was dressed nicely - no jeans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Seagar's

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food, service and alonnnnng wine list on a tablet. EXPENSIVE.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great service

Dined on February 20, 2016

Received excellent service from Scott, James and Amanda

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Worth it!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Seagars is awesome. The only complaint I would have was the wait for our food. But that complaint was soon null and void once I tasted the food. Everything had great flavor my steak was cooked perfectly. Our wait or was very informative and patient. Pricey menu but u r paying for quality meat and it is Worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Wait Staff Needs Re-Training

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have enjoyed Segars many times over the last six years. Our last meal was a disappointment . The food, ambiance, menu were great. Our Waiter left much to be desired. This is a upscale expensive restaurant where the customer expects to be treated special. Our Waiter referred to us numerous as "Guys this or Guys that". He explained the menu like someone who worked for McDonalds.....just about screamed at us. Plus was very inattentive as I repeatedly poured my wife wine. The final blow was when he asked "hows the grub tonight?". Yes we will go back to Segars.....just hope this person is no longer there to spoil our evening. Bruce & Judy

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Experience!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was absolutely wonderful. The wine list was extensive, both by the bottle and the glass. We had the Super Tuscan....superb!! Chris was a great server, he was well versed and was able to spit off the evening specials quickly and thoroughly. Trevor was also wonderful. He followed up on us, and brought out the most amazing dessert, banana foster, in which HE MADE at the dessert station from across the restaurant. This was such a beautiful experience, romantic and everything was so delicious. We will definitely be returning

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Filet EVER!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've eaten at Some of the finest restaurants in NYC where 5 star doesn't even begin to describe the experience. Seagars had not only the finest service and ambiance but the BEST - 10oz filet I've ever eaten. You will NOT find a better steak ANYWHERE . Worth every dollar spent ! Hats off to a wonderful establishment. You made our evening a night to remember. ......Very impressive! Thank you! Jeff

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks were incredible.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Steaks were incredible.

food5
ambience3
service5

My wife and I have dined here several ti ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

My wife and I have dined here several times. This visit was pretty much the same as the previous visits with the exception of the host. We did have reservations for 8 pm and we were seated immediately. The issue I had is that he sat us next to some stairs and I requested to be seated somewhere with less traffic. The guy ignored me and didn't even acknowledge my question. I know he heard me because he was looking me in the eye. I go to places like Seagar's expecting a level of courtesy and service that should be expected and received. On a secondary note, the bartender (not sure his name) took in excess of 15-20 minutes to get a bottle of wine. The night wasn't disappointing in any other way. Food is excellent and service is friendly and professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

18th Birthday Spectacular

Dined on February 6, 2016

Seagar's went above and beyond to make my daughters 18th Birthday Celebration one for the history books. She felt so special from the moment we arrived to blowing out her candles. Definitely try the Caesar Salad and the Beet Salad for starters! We all ordered something different and every dish was unforgettable. Lobster, Lamb, Prime Steak - you name it. Very thoughtful menu including the side items. The Mac & Cheese was to die for and I had the best cream corn I have ever had. Extensive wine list and knowledgeable staff. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection!

Dined on February 5, 2016

While on vacation my husband and I were looking for an upscale restaurant to celebrate a special anniversary and Seagar's did not disappoint. Romantic atmosphere, especially if you ask to be seated in a booth or one of their more private rooms off of the main dining area. The "seafood tower" was a delicious splurge and a pretty presentation. The table side Caeser salad was the best we've ever had! My beef medallions were scrumptious and cooked to perfection, covered with mushrooms. If you like martini's, I'd suggest the French--sooo good--and for dessert the chocolate mocha. We also had a simple ice cream with chocolate sauce and berries, very good. We expected it to be expensive and it was, so no surprise. But because this was a special occasion we thought it was worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised!

Dined on January 31, 2016

They exceeded our expectations from the moment we valeted our rental. The staff was very welcoming and the ambiance was just right. Not too loud, not too dark, the tables had space between them and most importantly, the food was absolutely delicious! My hubby had pork bellies (which is hard to find in NY)! The gentlemen helping us were very friendly but not imposing. They made spot-on recommendations . We left there so full, we had to loosen our pants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love Seagar's! We go there for often !

Dined on January 24, 2016

We go there on special occasions or when we want food we know that is not at other restaurants in our area! I feel like I am in NYC which is my favorite city for food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.