About Scusa Italian Ristorante

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Live Music (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (7)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Fireplace (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely find in South Lake. We will be ba ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely find in South Lake. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place to have dinner in Sou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

What a great place to have dinner in South Lake Tahoe! It was enjoyed by all 6 of us. Desserts are outstanding as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty awesome experience. My gf loved i ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

Pretty awesome experience. My gf loved it which in turn means that I made the right decision. Thank you for the service and the amazing food. Will be returning in the near future on our future trips to Tahoe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, , Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal and service was great. Asked for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Meal and service was great. Asked for a special request and they accommodated at no charge. Bread was fresh, wine selection was good. Will find here again when visiting the area.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a wonderful dining experience tonigh ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience tonight. Made for a memorable Valentine's day dinner. Dale, our waiter, was the best you could ask for. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and experience that I've had i ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best food and experience that I've had in ages. And, on Valentine's Day, to spend $100 on a date for that quality and quantity of food. Just awesome. Left feeling stuffed to the brim. A must go-to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Valentines Day dinner Our ex ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines Day dinner Our experience was good but not amazing I had the shrimp scampi and it was delicious 😋 my husband had the Scallops Mediterranean the sauce and pasta were great the scallops were not they were gritty tasted like sand so he kinda lost his appetite Zach our waiter did bring out new scallops but we would have preferred a different entree at that point.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We always like dinner here for a romanti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always like dinner here for a romantic night out and once again it was fabulous. Dean, our waiter was wonderful. The Petrale sole was perfect. The chocolate brownie sundae was heavenly. It was a perfect Valentines Day dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful as usual! Service wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was wonderful as usual! Service was also great. Noise level was much better tonight in the smaller side room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome place

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Family of four dinner and al ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic! Family of four dinner and all adults and kids loved everything from the focaccia through entrees. Too full to get dessert. Excellent service - thanks Dale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb service. Food portion was good, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Superb service. Food portion was good, none of us left hungry. Good value for the money.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Relaxing, comfortable environment. Grea ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Relaxing, comfortable environment. Great food. Wonderful service.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Great quality, friendly st ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Amazing food. Great quality, friendly staff. Best Italian restorante I've been to. Highly recommend for couples to try...!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birt ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birthday and were pleased with the menu options. They also offered a daily special for both appetizer and entree. Given the high prices generally associated with high-end restaurants in the Tahoe area, it is nice to have all the amenities of a nice restaurant that is a bit more affordable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

'Scusa has become a family favorite for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

'Scusa has become a family favorite for us and a "must go to" place when visiting South Lake Tahoe. The staff is professional and accommodating - food is outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Love the liv ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. Love the live music. Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our evening here! Very ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening here! Very good food. Friendly & attentive waitress & not over priced. Cozy too

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice menu, good service, wine list good ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Nice menu, good service, wine list good and fairly priced. Good seafood linguine

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is attentive and friendly. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The service is attentive and friendly. Nice wine list, excellent choices. Be sure to try the lobster ravioli appetizer. Chicken marsala and linguini with seafood also very good. Kids spaghetti with meatballs is a large portion. Share a Caesar salad, large portion. Bread is fantastic and you will want it to soup up the sauce from the ravioli.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Very friendly waiter and very attentive. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very friendly waiter and very attentive. We both enjoy our meal. Lots of flavor and you got what you Paid for. This is our 2nd time here and the first was equally as good. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had our "holiday" dinner party, a gro ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had our "holiday" dinner party, a group of 8. The food was excellent, the service was great, good value, with ample portions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great staff and waiters. One ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, great staff and waiters. One of our most favorite places to eat in South Lake Tahoe.

Weekends the have incredible osso bucco, the option for veal is outstanding as well. We've eaten here many times and have loved every visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe nextime ill try to go back there o ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Maybe nextime ill try to go back there on weekdays... So crowded and noisy on weekends... But the food is great...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The saxophone was much too loud...althou ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The saxophone was much too loud...although we sat fairly close to the musician...won't sit that close again...friendly person.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellence food great preparation wonder ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellence food great preparation wonderful appetizers we will return our next trip to Tahoe

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough about Scusa. The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I can't say enough about Scusa. The food was amazing and Jason and staff provided great service. The atmosphere is nice. Prices are reasonable for such great quality. This has become our go to restaurant each time we visit SLT. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, , Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time and it was once ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our second time and it was once again a wonderful evening. Being from the Bay Area and members of a couple of wine clubs, we might be a bit picky. We thoroughly enjoyed everything. Jason was our perfect waiter-attentive, great suggestions, subtle, sweet. The live sax was excellent. And, of course, the food: non-veal (used pork) osso bucco with polenta was delicious as was the grilled chicken and ravioli; the calamari to start was better than most Bay Area places, and our wine was a very nice pairing. There was nothing to complain about and everything to be happy about. We will, of course, be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The food was e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, our waiter was excellent, our table was ready when we arrived right on time. It was a great experience and we will be coming back for sure on our next trip!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a last minute reservation and wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We made a last minute reservation and what a great decision! After reading the reviews and seeing the clam linguini--I knew I wanted to eat at Scusa. We were seated right away and greeted in a timely manner by our server. Zack was great and made excellent suggestions. The house-made bread was delicious and generous. Makes me wonder who orders the garlic bread!! Although, I'm sure it's great, too.

Appetizer: special lobster ravioli (Wow!)

Main course: The 14 oz. steak was tender and flavorful. Linguini with clams was generous with the clams.

Very nice meal. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is fantastic. My wife and I tho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food is fantastic. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Italian Restaurant in the S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite Italian Restaurant in the South Lake Tahoe area, the food and service was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food with amazing servic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always great food with amazing service! Thank you Dale for making our experience a great one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding and food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was outstanding and food was very good. Will go there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband decided to surprise me for ou ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband decided to surprise me for our 1 year anniversary ! What a wonderful experience, the food and service was phenomenal. The amount of food was perfect and we even had left overs to enjoy the next day. Five stars!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Good sized portions. E ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful food. Good sized portions. Excellent service; knowledgeable waitstaff. One of my favorites in Tahoe.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SCUSA'S IS A WONDERFULL PLACE TO GO WITH ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

SCUSA'S IS A WONDERFULL PLACE TO GO WITH THE FAMILY OR FRIENDS. THE PLACE IS A LITTLE LOUD BUT THAT DOESN'T CANCEL OUT THE GREAT FOOD. YOU BETTER BE HUNGRY IF NOT YOU WILL HAVE A DOGIE BAG, ASK FOR MORE BREAD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice.....))))

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice.....))))

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always very good! Sousa bread is good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always very good! Sousa bread is good as is the salmon scallapini

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great Italian food. great service and r ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

great Italian food. great service and reasonably priced. would go back again.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.