Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Scusa Italian Ristorante

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
See All
Authentic (42)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (39)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Casual (32)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Fun (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Live Music (14)
Business Meals (12)
Scenic View (8)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1097 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to Scussa's a few times before, and it never disappoints. I am lacto vegetarian, but I can always find things on the menu, but my favorite is the cappalini with basil, tomatoes and garlic. It is simple but elegant! I will always try to frequent Scussa's when I am town, but a reservation is certainly a must. I think if this is your first time you will be pleasantly surprised. On Saturday night they had live Jazz, and it made the dinner that much more special.

Tags: Seasonal, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Scusa was one of our favorite restaurants when we would be in S lake Tahoe...Had not been to the new location and now that we have we would never go again. Old location=Cozy, dimly lit, inviting , romantic excellent food, great service. New Location= bright lights, loud large groups, food was awful, sevice was awful, overall horrible experience and will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Very enjoyable experience. Great service and great food. We came from Atlanta for vacation and our 2 year old granddaughter loved the food so much she didn't throw any tantrums. Well worth the trip. Highly recommend Scusa.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Bring your ear plugs as this is a very loud restaurant! Worth it for the food...servings were too big but amazing flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We have always enjoyed going to Scusa when we are in Lake Tahoe. One of my favorite dishes is the calamari steak and I ordered it again. However, for some reason, it was nowhere as good as usual. Just an ordinary calamari steak. On the other hand, my wife reported that her mushrooms/clam dish was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The best Italian Ristorante in all of Tahoe area! We have been going here every year when we come up to South Lake Tahoe from Fresno for the Tour de Tahoe cycling event. Usually there is something that a customer can complain about about during their dining experience, but not at Scusa's! We were seated promptly for our reservation of 5 people, we were served quickly and the food is exceptional! And there was plenty of delicious tasting marinara sauce with the pasta. The prices are very reasonable for the value of the food. The ambiance is casual and fun. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I made reservations on-line on their website which made it easy. Because of the restaurant's popularity, one should definitely make reservations because they are fully packed on most nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This place makes the best bolognese sauce I have ever tasted!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Bad food. Grossly overpriced wine list. Unauthentic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Delicious! Have been coming to Tahoe forever and never tried it. Will be coming back here every time we visit. Any restaurant that can make tomato/basil capellini amazing is worth it. At most places it's a bland dish, but this was amazing, along with everything else. Spinach buttermilk dressing yum!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was great and service was good. It was just what we were looking for and open table helped find a seat in an otherwise very busy town with 1.5 hour waits.

Thanks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful seating outdoors on a Saturday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Just don't know if we would revisit on account of limited to Beer and Wine .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We ate at 5:00pm before a concert and our meal was delicious! We were seated in the patio and were very comfortable. Fish was tasty and fresh. Fast, friendly and courteous service too! The bread pudding dessert was yummy! This was our second visit to Scusa and we weren't disappointed. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The lasagne, calamari steak, pork osso buco and scallops we're all delicious! They serve two canoli in an order, so make sure more than one person has room for dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I've been her twice now and both times the food and service was excellent! Both times I had one of the fish specials and they are to die for!! This last time I was there to celebrate my sisters 77th birthday. When I made the reservation on line I had added in the comments this is why we would be there. Without any reminders or another mention of her birthday, after our meal our server Zach (who was outstanding!!) brought out a dessert with a candle for her.

I couldn't have asked for a better birthday dinner celebration for my sister.

Thank you Scusa for making a memorable birthday for my sister!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was excellent. The only criticism is that the salads were very small for the somewhat high price. But everything else was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We sat outside. Great atmosphere, service & the food was delicious. Little noise, no problem conversing. Our niece, who lives in Reno, joined us, & we had a wonderful visit.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Outstanding food choices- we had calamari (3 of us) and chicken piccata (1). All four entrees were delicious

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

On vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food was excellent!! My sister and I had dinner here on the last night of our mini vacation. The lobster ravioli for the appetizer, pan seared scallops and scusa are highly recommended!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very good. Overall 4 out of 5. Only complaint is that is was warm in the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Scusas is always a favorite for us when we visit Lake Tahoe. The food is always delicious and the outdoor dining was wonderful. There were four of us and we requested to have separate checks because we were ordering different options, (wine or not, salad or not, dessert or not). The waiter was quite resistant to this request so we figured it out ourselves at the end. Having separate checks makes the dining experience more pleasurable...guess it's too much work?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was mediocre st best. We had petrale sole, based on a previous good meal at Scuza. The fish was greasy and rubbery - very poorly prepared. The ambiance has never been that good, but now the quality of the food has declined significantly. We will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Sat out on the patio ... great ambiance ! Great service ! Good food!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our adorable waiter, Zach, combined with the outstanding freshness and flavors of the food made for a really great evening. The ambience was a bit crowded, and the temperature a bit too warm. All in all, a really great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 24, 2017

A great experience started with a cheerful prompt check-in, immediate attention from the servers, great feedback on our menu questions, a delicious meal and outstanding service!
Well done to all !!!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We love this restaurant. #1 Italian in Tahoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a great table and great service but we were in a very noisy area. I had veal and my husband had filet of sole and we were both disappointed in our dinner, but the calamari appetizer was very good. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent food but service did not match the food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great dinner. Service good
Will be back prices fair

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always a thumbs up when we eat here. One recommendation would be a change to the "special" of the evening. The lobster ravioli are scrumptious but they aren't a special when you eat here more than once.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Really enjoyed the food service was very good but seemed a little rushed. Very polite and attentive but sensed we were rushed. We ordered antipasto which was plenty for the 3 of us to share. We also had thier special garlic bread; really good. My wife loved her lasagna and the osso buco was perfect. Would definitively go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was excellent and very attentive service. We sat in the back patio and the ambience was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was our first visit to Lake Tahoe and selected this restaurant based on the reviews. We were not disappointed! Despite it being a Saturday night, the waiter was attentive, friendly sand gave excellent recommendations. We had the chicken with ravioli and the pasta alfredo. Both were delicious and a nice mix of flavors. Reservations are required unless you want to wait 45 minutes. The outdoor patio has a wonderful ambience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very good authentic Italian food. The roasted head of garlic appetizer was delicious. Have only been able to find it at one other restaurant. Here it was multiple small heads as opposed to one large head and it made for more tender and juicy cloves. The roasted eggplant Parmesan was extremely tasty. Roasting insured that the eggplant was tender and the red sauce was truly old school Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

First time at this place. Made reservations for 6 and when we arrived we were placed outside with rain threatening. No mention of that possibility when communicating (that the outdoor area is uncovered).
Food was well prepared, served hot, but attention after food was served was minimal and check took quite a while to arrive.
Would ask for indoor seating if any risk of inclement weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Scusa Italian Ristorante is a great place for any occasion. No matter what you order from the menu, you will love it! The food was very authentic and delicious. The portions were large for the price.
We celebrated our wedding anniversary there. I made the reservation a few days in advance, and they seated us as soon as we walked in! The waiter was very courteous, professional, had a great knowledge of the menu, and wished us a happy anniversary! There was live music, and the mood was very comfortable and romantic.
If you are ever in the South Lake Tahoe area, Scusa Italian Ristorante is a MUST.
We dine here every time we are in Tahoe.
* Five stars in my opinion *

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very good will back. The food is excellent. Worth the money.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fantastic food and outstanding service! Nice wine selection although pricey. Food quality and quantity was outstanding (we left with doggie bags 😉) We will definitely come back when in Tahoe again! Delicious!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.