About Scusa Italian Ristorante

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Linguine and clams - Scusa Italian Ristorante
  • Fritto Misto Scusa - Scusa Italian Ristorante
  • Salmon Special - Scusa Italian Ristorante
  • Lobster Ravioli - Scusa Italian Ristorante
  • Spaghetti and Meatballs - Scusa Italian Ristorante
  • Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream - Scusa Italian Ristorante
Linguine and clams - Scusa Italian Ristorante
Fritto Misto Scusa - Scusa Italian Ristorante
Salmon Special - Scusa Italian Ristorante
Lobster Ravioli - Scusa Italian Ristorante
Spaghetti and Meatballs - Scusa Italian Ristorante
Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream - Scusa Italian Ristorante

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
5 More
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (84)
Special Occasion (79)
Fit for Foodies (65)
See All
Romantic (62)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Good for Groups (43)
Notable Wine List (25)
Kid-friendly (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Authentic (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Live Music (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are part time residents in South Lake ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

We are part time residents in South Lake Tahoe. Scusa's is alway excellent service, food and great value.

Always make sure we eat there when we're in South Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there and food was great. Fou ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time there and food was great. Found on YELP and not disappointed. Also when you "check in" on Yelp you get free garlic bread which was delicious. Lobster ravioli appetizer and the sauce it came in was amazing. Very rich but will likely order as meal next time! Chris our waiter was darling and all staff was very nice and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an outstanding meal! Lobster ravi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had an outstanding meal! Lobster ravioli appetizer was delicious , could have been n entre. Spaghetti and meatballs were yummy. Calamari picatta tender and tasty.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to take guests. The food a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

A great place to take guests. The food and service are excellent and the prices reasonable. We have taken friends with varying dining requirements and been able to accommodate everyone, and they've all enjoyed it. If it is not on the menu, the staff will try to invent something to your liking!

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers were amazing! We really enjoy ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Appetizers were amazing! We really enjoyed the Fritto Misto Scusa! The Osso Buco special was delicious and fell completely off the bone. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent, however our waiter s ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was excellent, however our waiter somehow spaced out on my husbands entree order and only brought out his salad, never an entree.. Hello! Had to eat half mine and get his to go. Major screw up in my opinion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

The food was absolutely delicious with g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious with good-sized portions. We all ordered different things and everyone loved his/her dish. The setting is good for a special occasion or a nice dinner out, but not overly pretentious. My family visited on a word of mouth recommendation to celebrate my brother and sister-in-law's anniversary. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. They brought us a free lava cake to share at the end. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Tahoe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good value. Excellent italian food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good value. Excellent italian food. Good service

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service! Our waiter Drew was gre ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Amazing service! Our waiter Drew was great, as was all the support staff. Another waiter even cleared our plates as he went by because he noticed we were finished. The angel hair pasta with capers and olives was so flavorful, as was the Caesar salad. Wine prices were excellent, too. What a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love Scusa , everytime were in tahoe w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I love Scusa , everytime were in tahoe we try to get dinner there one night. Their food has always been delicious. Calamari Scusa, always tasty. I didn't care for the mayo (aoil) they put all over my asparagus this last time. And I usually get the Greek salad but this time I tried the blue cheese/Gorgonzola salad w/bay shrimp. I wasn't impressed :( there were literally maybe 3-4 little pieces of shrimp on some salad greens with a little bit of shredded cheese. Wouldn't order it again. Everything else was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Italian food well prepared with at ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Italian food well prepared with attentive servers

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Waiter wonderful. Food okay. Plastic men ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Waiter wonderful. Food okay. Plastic menu filthy along with the window blinds and ledges that I had to look at all through dinner. Never again. CLEAN IT UP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

First time to Scuza. Went with family m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

First time to Scuza. Went with family members that live in Tahoe. Food was excellent and the service was wonderful. I follow a vegan diet and they were very accommodating. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great ambience and great wai ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food, great ambience and great wait service! This is our go to restaurant every time we visit South Lake Tahoe. We come here annually.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good and would go back to again whe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very good and would go back to again when we return in a year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was our first time at Scusa, although ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was our first time at Scusa, although we have enjoyed food to go from the restaurant. The service was very good, the special preparation of the sole with white sauce and capers was very good, as was the lasagna. We will definitely dine in again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were in South lake Tahoe for 3 days, ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were in South lake Tahoe for 3 days, celebrating our anniversary, and this meal was the best we had during our entire stay. We went to several other very nice restaurants, some selected because of the view of the lake, but the food did not compare with Scusa. Being of Italian decent, I am picky when it comes to Italian food. The menu was wonderful, the food delicious, the value was very reasonable, the service friendly, and the atmosphere delightful. The only thing missing was a view of the lake. Thank you for a lovely anniversary evening, we will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently excellentfood and service a ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistently excellentfood and service all the years i've been dining there, in both locations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here MANY times over the year ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We've been here MANY times over the years and always enjoyed it. This time was extremely sub-par. I'm not sure if ownership changed or the chef changed, but our food wasn't very good. Our veal piccata was swimming in grease--this is a dish we've enjoyed countless times at Scusa. There was asparagus squirted with mayonnaise on the side! Our bottle of wine was warm. Our waiter was extremely inexperienced. We enjoy a good dining experience and don't mind paying for it, but this $200 was wasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Loved the food, it was amazing. The saxo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved the food, it was amazing. The saxophone player and music was too loud. For a dinner house and intimate dining, we could not hear one another talk and felt like we were yelling.

We will return but hope the live music is background music.

Thanks so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good, wait staff excellent. Sat ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was good, wait staff excellent. Sat in a booth next to window with warped, very dusty blinds. A bit of a turn off! Did not match the rest of the decor!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service!!! The petrole s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and service!!! The petrole sole was delicious.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable dinner. Great food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Remarkable dinner. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

On a short vacation to South Lake Tahoe ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

On a short vacation to South Lake Tahoe this is the restaurant we were looking to enjoy. We did.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first dining experience at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This was our first dining experience at Scusa and we were not disappointed. Dinner at Scusa will definitely be in our itinerary every time we are in South Lake Tahoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best spaghetti and meatballs! (Though I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Best spaghetti and meatballs! (Though I seldom if ever order this in a restaurant.) Rediscover this entree as a reason to order spaghetti in a fine restaurant that offers many other fine and exotic dishes. I will return for the spaghetti and meatballs!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This place is fantastic. Definitely give ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This place is fantastic. Definitely give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Excellent staff. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was excellent. Excellent staff. We enjoyed how professional the menu was presented, great job for training your team so well so they deliver a great customer experience.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Scusa's never disappoints! The food and ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Scusa's never disappoints! The food and service is outstanding! A couple of favorites of my husband's and mine is the Garlic Bread Scusa Appetizer and Sticky Bun Bread Pudding Dessert! Everything we have tried has been delightful! If you come in on Friday they have a live Saxophonist playing in the background...very nice!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised to find very good I ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Pleasantly surprised to find very good Italian cuisine during our visit to South Lake Tahoe.

Far enough from the grimy hustle of the casinos but easy to get to.

Go now ! You'll love it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, service and darling outd ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food, service and darling outdoor seating. We loved everything !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for a memorable night! The food w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Thanks for a memorable night! The food was great. Very accomodating for handicapped guests.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Consistently good food, attentive servic ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Consistently good food, attentive service, wonderful outside dining

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect, from our waiter ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Everything was perfect, from our waiter to the food to the outdoor dining! Will highly recommend to friends. One of the best restaurants I've ever been to. Bravo!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

First time here since they opened and gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

First time here since they opened and great food. Recommend the seafood fettuccine with the Scusa sauce. Waiter was friendly and made some great suggestions and alternatives.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent . Service was perfect ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was excellent . Service was perfect . Super friendly . Can't wait to go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there and the food was very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First time there and the food was very good and service was great. Friendly place and live music. Good Italian food. Cannoli's were wonderful..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brought a group her for a bachelorette d ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Brought a group her for a bachelorette dinner. We had great wine and meal for a great price. The patio was adorable. If I live in Tahoe I would come often!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is horrible and way over sauced ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is horrible and way over sauced and over cheesed. Clams need to be washed because I had mouthful of sand when I ate them. The lobster ravioli needs some lobster in the filling. And, service needs to step up. When I made a reservation for my wife's birthday, I expect some form of happy birthday greeting even if just say it. The only saving grace is that at least the food is not over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Scuza is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Scuza is one of my favorite restaurants. It's outside dining is very relaxing, and the food is terrific. The Oso Buco and Sole dishes are perfect. Service is outstanding, and the ambiance is one of the best in the area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.