Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Scusa Italian Ristorante

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Authentic (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Cozy (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Romantic (11)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Live Music (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
1147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down the most amazing restaurant we’ve been to. Did research on several restaurants in the area and I’m so glad we chose this one. Can’t wait to go back! Must try the escargot and the lobster ravioli. I’m going to dream about this place tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambience was cozy and romantic. The food was very good. And the service was excellent. A new favorite at South Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

New to the area and found a real gem! We'll be regulars:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Always consistent with food, delicious dishes. The staff is always professional and have great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Food was incredible! We just got awkwardly sat into a booth next to a wedding party. So we got to hear every toast... which was weird. However food and service was exceptional! Will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Delicious food! Only complaint is it is served WAY too fast. My party of 4 ordered a bottle of wine, appetizers, entrees and dessert and they had the food out so fast, we were finished in under 45 minutes.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Service and ambiance was great, I found the food to be overly salty for my taste (both dishes) but overall great experience and will return again when we visit Tahoe again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Always great food and service. We are locals and eat here twice sometimes 2 times amonth. If your visiting Tahoe give it a try-

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We love that they have Frank Family Chardonnay. The food is great and the service is very prompt. It's a wonderful restaurant on South Shore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very slow... Took forever to get anything..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was outstanding. The service was prompt and friendly. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great value, for some awesome food! Very accommodating...and great for the family! Had something for everyone...great spot.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Great Christmas Dinner for our family of 10. Wonderful food & service. The Petrale Sole was delicious - both preparations - as were the steak & pasta dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 26, 2017

To be honest I liked it better in the old location but understand why they expanded. The food was good, there was a very unhappy baby, and perhaps the parents could have left sooner or something to try and calm the baby... but the adult female customers behavior was inexcusable. Stating multiple times at the top of her lungs that she didn’t come to a restaurant like scusas to listen to a baby cry. So to who ever you are thanks for that babies can’t control their actions, but you should have been able to do so...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2017

4 of us came together, a white wine sauce dish, alfredo dish, bolognese, and lasagna. The white sauce dishes weren’t as well executed or flavorful as the red sauce dishes. Service was good, spot was cute. It was interesting, all of our pastas and far more meat than we consider average and far less noodles than we’d consider average... which we found interesting. Anyhow, the bolognese was the favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Good service, nice ambiance with the live jazz but food is subpar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Everything was delicious loved the lobster ravioli appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Everything was excellent and the service was top-notch! My wife and I look forward to going to Scusa every time that we are in Lake Tahoe. Love it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Four of us met here for dinner and three had the Calemari Scusa which had been enjoyed by all before. We had a perfect table by the window and shared wine and complimentary garlic bread before our main courses. The service was excellent as was the food. We stayed for over 2 hours so we could chat and never felt rushed. We topped off the evening with two shared desserts, and were pleasantly surprised with the reasonable price of dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Excellent, will visit every time in town. Excellent lobster ravioli, calamari steak and the Scusa bread is a must! And Jason our server was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 25, 2017

First time there and we loved it. It was our 9 year anniversary and we brought our two kids , Evan 6 and Olivia 5. Had a wonderful time. Staff was great to us and the kids. Food was delicious and came out on time. Day after Thanksgiving thought we would have a hard time in Tahoe but it was just the opposite. Can't wait to go back next trip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Excellent food. Very crowded. I made a reservation thru open table 4 months prior but just got a table that was so close to an adjacent party that our backs were touching. It was soooo loud I could not talk to my family. Not relaxing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Good food, great service, and the ambiance was authentic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Haven’t been there in awhile
Really enjoyed food and service were great

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Very ho hum menu and food. Nothing special. Fettuccine Alfredo was fettuccine and canned sauce (so it tasted) with a bit of parmassan sprinkled top for $15.99. The spaghetti and meatballs had very little spice. The bread was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing food and service. The best Italian food I have had in a long time! The portions were of good size also so I had leftovers for the next day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The first time I ordered escargot here it was very good. The second time it was awful (no garlic- I should've sent it back), and the third time it was just so-so. Hardly any butter or garlic- musts for escargot! I won't order it again.
Our companions had veal and spaghetti and meatballs, and they were very good. I had the arugula salad also and it was good.
So I guess just don't order the escargot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Good service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Always great food and service. Highly recommended to locals as well as tourists.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food was fabulous! Really tasty, really fresh. Service was equally friendly and top notch. Can’t wait to go back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Best dinner that I have had in many years. The service (Zack) was fantastic. Very worth the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Excellent food wonderful service great presentation of entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great dinner, great service and very timely once we sat done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Excellent ambience and food. We had to wait to be seated for 20 minutes off the appointment appointed hour but the wait was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Perfect good and perfect service. A+. The waiting time for food is quite short, quite impressive. Can't find better Italian restaurants in South Lake Tahoe region.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We went here with my in laws on a Saturday night and the food was great! My inlaws shared their meal . They had the sole special and some lobster ravioli. My husband had the clams linguini and he was a little disappointed because it was too lemony tasting ! He would try something else next time . We had the garlic bread and burrata to share ! This was an excellent appetizer! I had the chicken saltemboca with gluten free penne pasta ! It was good ! We had a Barbera from Amador County that was excellent . The cheese cake with a cream brûlée top is a must !!!! Jazz music in the background added to the ambiance! We will come again and try some different dishes ! We would recommend this place for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Ignore the 80's decor and just appreciate the absolutely amazing food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Cappellini should not be a thick spaghetti sauce over angle hair pasta.
Extremely noisy and no ambiance what so ever. Surprised it comes highly recommended and highly patronized.
Far better Italian food to be found throughout San Diego area.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always enjoy Scusa's restaurant whenever we visit Lake Tahoe. Been coming when you had the other location. This restaurant location is really nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary.. food was generous and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.