About Scusa Italian Ristorante

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fritto Misto Scusa
  • Salmon Special
  • Lobster Ravioli
  • Spaghetti and Meatballs
  • Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream
Fritto Misto Scusa
Salmon Special
Lobster Ravioli
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
4 More
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
See All
great for outdoor dining (36)
romantic (31)
good for groups (23)
kid-friendly (11)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It seems we go to Scusa whenever we're i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

It seems we go to Scusa whenever we're in South Shore. Love the Fettuccine with Seafood that can be made with red sauce; try it! Outdoor dining is fantastic and the indoor booths are great, too. Have always had an enjoyable experience at Scusa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was some of the best Italian we ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was some of the best Italian we have tasted!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The outdoor patio area is very special! ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

The outdoor patio area is very special! Food was great, exceptional menu and service !! Would highly recommend to anyone, will go back as soon as possible.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want good Italian food at South L ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you want good Italian food at South Lake Tahoe, go to Scusa's. The pastas are excellent as are all the other dishes. The outside patio is very nice on a beautiful Tahoe night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service! We at at Scus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food and service! We at at Scusa last summer and couldn't wait to have dinner again this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find. Very nice atmosphere, foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A great find. Very nice atmosphere, food is yummy and plentiful , a service was great. Definitely, one to go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jason made the birthday party the best e ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Jason made the birthday party the best ever. Service, friendliness, style all added up to a splendid evening. Scuza's food is beyond compare. The sole in butter special hit all the right notes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent meal at Scusa. We s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had an excellent meal at Scusa. We started spliting the lobster raviolis. There were 4 raviolis that came drowning in a great cream sauce. They were so good that we asked to take home the sauce that was left. We ate that with some leftover angel-hair pasta for lunch the next day and it was tremendous!

Next was a very good Cesar salad that we split. I had the Veal Marsala as I had been craving veal for some time. It was excellent, with lots of mushrooms and a good portion of veal. It was served with some buttered penne pasta and asparagus. I could barely finish but I am not a real big eater anymore.

My partner had the Petrale Sole over angel-hair pasta, again accompanied by a few asparagus spears. I had a taste and felt it was excellent.

We were too full for dessert.

The atmosphere is a little old world Italian and the food is not cutting edge or trendy. But it is real good Italian food prepared very, very well. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, great price. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, great service, great price. Parking was limited during dinner time. Sax player was really good and provided excellent music. Portions were large so your money will go a long way. We'll come back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fantastic!! Some of the best I ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was fantastic!! Some of the best Italian food my wife have ever had. Celebrated anniversary and was treated to desert. Was a nice surprise. Would recommend to all who want great Italian food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated close to our reservation ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were seated close to our reservation which was fine. Bread came way late after ordering and was dry! Salad ordered was wrong correct one brought out was good still charged (fair enough) wine orders took forever dinners were almost over when they came. Eggplant parmessaena was excellent. Chicken ligunine was like soup never offered any fresh parmessaean cheese till mentioned it to the waiter and he said he was suppose to do it and at that point she was done. I ordered the sole which had a great flavor however i didn't feel it was cooked and when the waiter finally came over he told me that is how it is and that they get the complaint all the time. I said I don't really eat sushi and I eat my steaks well done I don't like to see anything pink. He took my dinner and then charged full price!!! I only took 2 bites.

Not once did a manager come over and apologize. Not a good first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great place! Sit outside if you can its ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place! Sit outside if you can its very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All courses of the food were well prepar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

All courses of the food were well prepared. The service was excellent, both knowledgeable of the dishes and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant has excellent seafood ch ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This restaurant has excellent seafood choices and terrific service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat on the patio outside with two chi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We sat on the patio outside with two children. Lovely glass of wine. I had eggplant Parmesan which was good. My husband had the sole special. Excellent. Cheese ravioli and spaghetti meatballs for children were very tasty. Highly recommend this spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Return visit was even better than before ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Return visit was even better than before. Seated outside of his time on a weeknight. Service was near perfect, waiter Dean was great with his knowledge of the menu and service professionalism. Support staff did their job well. All of us enjoyed out entrees and portions were large and just right. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

everytime we are in Tahoe we make a poin ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

everytime we are in Tahoe we make a point to eat here. The food is wonderful and we always order the lobster ravioli as an appetizer. Our server Jason was very attentive and made sure we didn't need anything. The restaurant can get noisy at times especially but the food makes it worth it. Love this place

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There was a big party with several small ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

There was a big party with several small children who were jumping off the backs of the chairs right next to our table as well as jumping up and down. This continued for almost one half hour. The adults should have regulated but they ignored the rambunctious behavior. We felt the wait staff should have nicely asked the parents to have their children sit for their safety as well as the dining enjoyment of the others diners. One table asked to change tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Excellent Italian restaurant in South La ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent Italian restaurant in South Lake Tahoe. Service is always great and the food is very tasty. The bruschetta is very tasty and make sure to save room for dessert. The wine list is respectable with some tasty bottles but is not overly expensive. Bottom line, good food and an excellent value.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There was a table of four young men and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

There was a table of four young men and one woman. They were obnoxious swearing at the top of their lungs the whole time. I asked for another table. Told there was not one. I explained why I was asking to be moved, the profanities and incredible loutishness.

Our server should have at least talked to them, but he did not.

I left a $10 tip but wish I had left nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

We dine there every time we are in town. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We dine there every time we are in town. Our guests always remind us to make a reservation for when they are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GREAT meal and reasonable prices. You w ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

GREAT meal and reasonable prices. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far my favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is by far my favorite restaurant in South Lake Tahoe. We normally order the specials or a seafood dish and have always been very satisfied. The service has always been good. Reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant had a very intimate, cozy ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The restaurant had a very intimate, cozy, indoor setting and a beautiful outdoor setting. We chose to sit outside. It was beautiful. There were families there and couples and groups of friends. Dress was both casual or dressed up. It never was too loud. The service was great, the food was classic Italian (America's version) which is hard to find with all of the big name chains nowadays.

The outdoor seating had heat lamps if needed. And there weren't any bugs around which was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner early and ate outside, whi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had dinner early and ate outside, which is very nice. Order the Scusa bread, delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food eating outdoors under the lar ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food eating outdoors under the large pines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Scusa's is one of our favorite Tahoe res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Scusa's is one of our favorite Tahoe restaurants and one we always visit when we are in town. The service is always good and the food is tasty; especially the garlic bread! The outside patio is a must during the summer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly, knowledgable, and variety of g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Friendly, knowledgable, and variety of good food. Wonderful service and pleasant dining in the back garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great veal dishes and food is always fre ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great veal dishes and food is always fresh. Highly recommend

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great birthday dinner! Food was fa ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Had a great birthday dinner! Food was fantastic thank you for the great experience !

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall pleasant experience. We were a g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Overall pleasant experience. We were a group of 5 on annual summer Tahoe vacation. Choose to dine indoors on a warm evening although outdoor patio dining was available. Entrees were good and portions were large. Of our 5 entrees ordered, the Carbonara was by far the best. Baked mozzarella appetizer was good, unfortunately the calamari app was overcooked. We did not have dessert.

Overall, Scusa was a good find for Italian food in South Lake Tahoe. We have tried many Italian restaurants in the area over the years and have been disappointed until now.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding service and great food. E ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding service and great food. Enjoyed eating on the patio, and the music was at a level that allowed for conservation. Overall it was an excellent evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is very good and service is alw ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food is very good and service is always excellent! Their lobster ravioli appetizer is great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had very high hopes for a special occasi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had very high hopes for a special occasion dinner. We arrived slightly late for our reservation, but were seated immediately. Outdoor seating area is nice, and quieter than expected. Service, unfortunately, was notably slow and the food was decent, but rather disappointing for the price. It's not a bad place, but considering how many other options there are in town, we will probably go elsewhere next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The service great. The environment was g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service great. The environment was great. Live background music from a jazz sax. Chef's special was absolutely fabulous. We will definitely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and a beautiful patio. A ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Fabulous food and a beautiful patio. A wonderful night out, will definitely go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay service and food and decent prices. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Okay service and food and decent prices. Not great just okay . Busy place with many rooms and lots of choices.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Besides the food being superb the servic ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Besides the food being superb the service provided is beyond comparison!! A special thank-you to Rory and Dale whom are 2 of the best we have experienced!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, the service was grea ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great, the service was great. Our server was very friendly and was helpful with food recommendations. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little late seating us (15 minutes) af ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A little late seating us (15 minutes) after our reservation time, but the wait was worth it. Food was excellent, portions were generous. We will be returning very soon. There are many items I'd like to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.