Scusa Italian Ristorante

4.5
1219 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for a Date
100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(530) 542-0100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1219 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.3
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This is a lovely restaurant with excellent Italian food. We had a lobster ravioli as an appetizer and we all had different pasta dishes for dinner. Quite large portions. What delicious pasta. Prices are quite reasonable. The ambience is nice if you are in one of the two main dining rooms. This restaurant is upscale and a great addition to some of the mediocre places along Highway 50. The location is excellent, right on highway 50 between the “Y” and Stateline.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We love coming to Scusa any time that we are in town. The food is always great, the servers are friendly, and the ambiance is warm and inviting. They have live jazz music some nights that adds a fun vibe to the great atmosphere. Definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Trip to Tahoe for the weekend. Had dinner at Scusa. One of our favorite Italian restaurants. We made reservations and arrived at our chosen time. Place was packed. Lucky we made reservations. Wait was 45 minutes for those who didn’t.
We were greeted by Diana, who seated us after a 5 minute wait. She is very pleasant and a hard worker. She’s like the energizer bunny.
Our server greeted us and I ordered a glass of wine. In conversation she told us it was her first night as a server. She did great. I think her name is Mika. She will be very successful as a server.
We ordered the garlic bread as a starter. Wife ordered a green salad. The salad looked great with a lot of shrimp. For mains wife had the seafood pasta with linguini noodles instead of the other pasta, and I had the linguini and clams (lots of clams, really should change the menu to read clams and linguini). Both pasta dishes were delicious. For dessert wife had the bread pudding, she loved it.
Everything was great. Great service, food and time. You need to try this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great food, friendly service, not too expensive. Enjoyed wondeful dinner, would go back .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Scallops were excellent, service with waiter Dale was excellent. Looking forward to going back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food was very, very good. Large portions, good value. Dale our waiter had a very different delivery but was very knowledgeable about the food and helped out with suggestions when asked, friendly. I highly recommend Scusa's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Always great food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The service was friendly and engaging and made you feel very welcome. The place was crowded but not overwhelming. Food was authentic and delicious. Overall a very nice dinner for our weekend in Tahoe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The food is always amazing, there are no words to describe... We always have a great time :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

So glad we decided to eat at Scusa's! It was Sunday night on Memorial Day weekend and we were able to get a reservation that day for dinner that night. We were quickly seated, service was excellent and the food was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great filet of Rex sole nightly special entree and chicken Marsala entree were excellent and we loved the cream of garlic soup and Italian blue cheese salads! Service was good, but not as good as it’s been on past visits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Dinner was excellent. We loved the lobster ravioli appetizer and the clam linguini. The room was a bit noisy and tables were packed together. But wait staff was fun and very helpful. We will certainly go to Scusa again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

My husband and I had a great experience dining at Scusa's for our anniversary. The food was excellent, our waiter was attentive, and they gave us a surprise dessert for our anniversary. We visit Scusa's when we want excellent food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The food was great- everyone loved their meals. Generous portions and nice atmosphere. We loved the live jazz!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Always good food and service (Thanks Dale). One of our top spots in Lake Tahoe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

My Go to spot in South Lake. Try the Scollops Mediterranean with a red wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

This was our first time at Scuza. It was recommended by a friend visiting Lake Tahoe. The food was delicious. This will be our go to Italian restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great experience
Food was OUTSTANDING
We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Food, Great service & reasonable
Prices. A little disturbing that young
People insist on bringing crying babies
To such a nice restaurant & ruining a
Peaceful dinner for everyone else but
That isn't the restaurants fault.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our favorite restaurant on the south shore. Good Italian at a fair price. The service with Dale is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great experience, as always, with our waiter, Dale!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful lasagne! Great live alto saxophonist!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This is about the forth time we have been to Scussa's. Everytime we are in Tahoe, we try to make a reservation. On this occasion, although the food was as good as usual, and although it was not especially crowded, we felt we were left in the hands of staff who were in a rush, and not as friendly and personable as they could be. So, I am not saying the service was bad, but there wasn't much smiling going on or casual small talk that makes the dining experience more enjoyable. We will certainly return, as it may jusy have been an "off night".

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I enjoyed my meal. The food and service was excellent. Pricing a bit on the high side; I would go back, but not everyday ;)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The food was excellent in its presentation, its taste and flavor. The service was quite good. I definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for well prepared Italian food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The sole was out of this world, perfectly sautéed, grape and tomato sauce wow, chicken and cheese ravioli was also great😃🍷

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Outstanding!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The atmosphere is the best thing here. They obviously go for a SPECIAL OCCASIONS vibe, but the food is nothing to write about and unfortunately overpriced. There are other choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

best italian dinner we had in years. always a favorite, but this time the food was just amazing.. we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

As usual, this place is amazing. Love, love, love the lobster raviolis. Three different dishes ordered: Petrole Fish, Clams & Linguine, Veal Saltimbocca, and all were wonderful. On our way to a concert and our waiter made sure to get our order in quickly so that we were on time for the concert. Highly recommend!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food highly recommend for family and special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

This was our first visit to Scusa and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and the service attentive. We’ll definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This was our second visit in two weeks, just as delicious as the first time. The New York was a great cut and the Angel hair pasta was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Saxophone was a little too noisy

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The ambiance is nice, tables comfortably separated , dim lighting, nice service. The food was good and reasonably priced. If I'm south shore it,'s worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food was delicious and would highly recommend to anyone wanting some yummy Italian food in South Lake Tahoe!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

LOVE LOVE LOVE everything!!!! Our server Dale has always taken care of us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Our favorite hidden gem in Tahoe that only me and my boyfriend go to! We Love the lobster ravioli and bread and the live music is always a nice feel for the restaurant. Overall, our favorite eating place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The clam fettuccine is the best I've ever experienced. Brownie sundae, exceptional.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31