About Scusa Italian Ristorante

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Linguine and clams - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
  • Fritto Misto Scusa - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
  • Salmon Special - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
  • Lobster Ravioli - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
  • Spaghetti and Meatballs - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
  • Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Linguine and clams - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Fritto Misto Scusa - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Salmon Special - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Lobster Ravioli - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Spaghetti and Meatballs - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream - Scusa Italian Ristorante, South Lake Tahoe, CA

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
4 More
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Authentic (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (13)
Cozy (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Live Music (11)
Fun (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Family Style (6)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
863 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful, friendly service. Live jazz m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful, friendly service. Live jazz music! Food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the recommendation of some friends, w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

At the recommendation of some friends, we decided to spend our last evening here. Each one of our party of seven exclaimed how good their dish was, which is unusual.

My petrale sole with buerre blanc sauce nestled on a bed of angel hair pasta accompanied with asparagus was cooked to perfection!

My husband's spaghetti and meatballs was hearty and full of flavor.

We are from San Francisco and are used to We will be back the next time we are in Lake Tahoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very nice and the food was perfec ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was very nice and the food was perfect. It was snowing so we felt very lucky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Rory was our waiter and the evening just ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Rory was our waiter and the evening just continued to be great from the moment he approached our table. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. What a fabulous restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great Italian Restaurant!! The l ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 15, 2016

What a great Italian Restaurant!! The lobster ravioli are not to be missed but get as an appetizer size because it is very rich. My husband selected the spaghetti and meatballs after a recommendation from the valet at Harvey's and it was delicious, as was the linguine and clam sauce. The service was also exceptional. There are many choices for great dining in the South Lake Tahoe area but this is not to be missed. We will definitely return on our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated a 60s birthday and that wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We celebrated a 60s birthday and that was very well "supported" with a Hapoybirthday from their live saxophonist and a candle on the desert later on.

Wonderful, good food, really italian style, we will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service. This was our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food and service. This was our second time dining at Scusa. I highly recommend this restaurant if you want outstanding food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really delicious Italian food in South L ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really delicious Italian food in South Lake Tahoe. I admit, I came in a little skeptical, as most of the food in the area is limited to burgers and BBQ. This was a wonderful surprise. The Italian food tasted authentic, not Americanized, and our server couldn't have been more helpful as we tried to decide what to order. A really nice place; we will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food at a reasonable price! S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food at a reasonable price! Service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So delicious. Loved the lobster raviolis ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 8, 2016

So delicious. Loved the lobster raviolis! Everything we ordered was extremely satisfying.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal here last night. T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We had a lovely meal here last night. The place isn't much to look at from the outside but don't let that deceive you. The service is great and the food is excellent. We had the Garlic Bread Scusa, which I definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always exceptional service and excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always exceptional service and excellent meal. We love Scusa and wish you had tshirts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is excellent value for your money. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is excellent value for your money. We originally planned to come on Monday but chose Friday for the live jazz. We had the cream of roasted garlic soup and it was excellent. You can taste the garlic without it being overbearing. The entrees were large without being oversized. We had the mussels, clams and shrimp scuds on linguini in a red wine sauce. A dish I would order again given the opportunity. My wife had cannolis for dessert and they were excellent. Scusa is a definite must for dining in South Lake Tahoe if you are a foodie and love Italian cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Scusa to celebrate our Annive ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went to Scusa to celebrate our Anniversary after reading the great reviews. It was perfect! Excellent service, I mean excellent! Food was attractive and delicious. Really wanted to come back our second night but we had reservations elsewhere. Please do yourself a favor, make a reservation!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoy a dinner here on eve ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife and I enjoy a dinner here on every trip we make to the area. It is a must go to place for us! Good gluten free dishes for my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scosa was great, food , service. We have ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Scosa was great, food , service. We have there three times and each time the food has been great!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dale was our server and he was great! He ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dale was our server and he was great! He was on it, timing was perfect, he was prompt and carried himself professionally. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scusa is hands down the best Italian foo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Scusa is hands down the best Italian food in Lake Tahoe. I've always had wonderful experiences here, the service is top notch, the food is amazing and the ambiance is perfect for that of a romantic Italian dining experience. Highly recommend and can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service and food! Best dinner ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Fabulous service and food! Best dinner we had in Lake Tahoe. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at Scusa. We we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Scusa. We were with our family and everyone loved the food, service and atmosphere.

We loved the focaccia bread and the seafood fettuccine which we split.

We enjoyed a delicious dessert for my sister in law's birthday.

Everyone said it was the best food they had ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food in pleasant surroundi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great Italian food in pleasant surroundings. Quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Anniversary dinner, very nice service by ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Anniversary dinner, very nice service by Drew. Great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our one-year anniversar ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went here for our one-year anniversary and everything was outstanding. They aren't kidding around with their portions. The linguini and clams probably had a pound of little neck clams on it and it wasn't overly seasoned. The sausage and peppers linguini Bolognese had at least four full Italian sausage links sliced up and piled on. We couldn't have asked for a better waiting staff. Everyone was very attentive to our requests. And they surprised us with a special complimentary desert for our anniversary. We loved the live musician playing the saxophone who came to our table to play a little serenade for us. We highly recommend this place for a special date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, People Watching, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was very good. Food was grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Restaurant was very good. Food was great for value of price and setting was great for intention.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an old Tahoe favorite, though we ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This is an old Tahoe favorite, though we had not been in maybe seven years, since it was on Ski Run Boulevard. It's in more spacious digs, with its own traffic signal leading into the parking lot. Scusa did not disappoint; living up to its long-standing reputation. You could taste the browned garlic in the garlic soup, complete with a couple cloves at the bottom of the cup. Very tasty if you are a garlic lover. It would do justice to the Gilroy Garlic Festival. Salmon picatta was perfectly done and flavorful, as was the accompanying spaghetti in light oil. Eggplant parmesan was a generous portion. All very good. Our waiter, Chris and the busboy were very attentive and laughed at our jokes.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Scusa for special occasions, but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We love Scusa for special occasions, but it is absolutely appropriate for an everyday dinner as well. The food is always spot on, and the service was great as well! If you are having a special occasion or want something a bit romantic, ask for a booth with a curtain!

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made my reservation on Open Table and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I made my reservation on Open Table and no surprises when we arrived. Wait staff was attentive and very timely. Food was terrific! I had the Salmon Scaloppini and my wife had the lobster ravioli. Next time we travel to South Lake Tahoe, we'll come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous! Had to go twice during our vis ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Fabulous! Had to go twice during our visit. Service excellent and food absolutely delicious. I love it when the Saxophone player is there on the weekends.

So fun!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the best Italian resta ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Absolutely one of the best Italian restaurants we ever dined at. The food was spot on - not the canned sauce etc. that is the normal fare. Serving size was more than enough. Service was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come to South Shore every September a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We come to South Shore every September and meet up with old friends. We always look forward to our special double date at Scusa. We love the food but would come for the Scusa garlic bread alone. We get to sit, enjoy each other's company and we always come away feeling very satisfied.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Second time in a week, loved food again! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Second time in a week, loved food again! Our friends enjoyed it too. Great service, pleasant staff.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are part time residents in South Lake ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We are part time residents in South Lake Tahoe. Scusa's is alway excellent service, food and great value.

Always make sure we eat there when we're in South Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there and food was great. Fou ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 26, 2016

First time there and food was great. Found on YELP and not disappointed. Also when you "check in" on Yelp you get free garlic bread which was delicious. Lobster ravioli appetizer and the sauce it came in was amazing. Very rich but will likely order as meal next time! Chris our waiter was darling and all staff was very nice and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an outstanding meal! Lobster ravi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had an outstanding meal! Lobster ravioli appetizer was delicious , could have been n entre. Spaghetti and meatballs were yummy. Calamari picatta tender and tasty.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to take guests. The food a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A great place to take guests. The food and service are excellent and the prices reasonable. We have taken friends with varying dining requirements and been able to accommodate everyone, and they've all enjoyed it. If it is not on the menu, the staff will try to invent something to your liking!

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers were amazing! We really enjoy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Appetizers were amazing! We really enjoyed the Fritto Misto Scusa! The Osso Buco special was delicious and fell completely off the bone. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent, however our waiter s ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was excellent, however our waiter somehow spaced out on my husbands entree order and only brought out his salad, never an entree.. Hello! Had to eat half mine and get his to go. Major screw up in my opinion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

The food was absolutely delicious with g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious with good-sized portions. We all ordered different things and everyone loved his/her dish. The setting is good for a special occasion or a nice dinner out, but not overly pretentious. My family visited on a word of mouth recommendation to celebrate my brother and sister-in-law's anniversary. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. They brought us a free lava cake to share at the end. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Tahoe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good value. Excellent italian food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good value. Excellent italian food. Good service

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service! Our waiter Drew was gre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Amazing service! Our waiter Drew was great, as was all the support staff. Another waiter even cleared our plates as he went by because he noticed we were finished. The angel hair pasta with capers and olives was so flavorful, as was the Caesar salad. Wine prices were excellent, too. What a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.