Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Scusa Italian Ristorante

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (27)
See All
Authentic (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fun (10)
Live Music (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (5)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely find for our last evening in Lake Tahoe. wish we had gone sooner so we could take home remainder of meal. Food was excellent and lovely wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food. Friendly staff. Quick service. We will be back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great dinner with friends on the Patio. The Lamb Osso buco was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service. Their Scusa Bread was very good. Salads were very good. The pork shank was excellent. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

I'm not sure if the people that gave this restaurant a good rating have ever had Italian food before. This restaurant was mediocre at best. Bread was tasteless and hard, salad was ok except for the little canned shrimp, and my entree was greasy and lacking in portion size. Three asparagus stalks is hardly a serving of vegetables. I think I had 20 pieces of penne pasta on my plate along with a slab of breaded and soggy calamari that would have been so much better simply sautéed. Very disappointing meal. Worst 80 bucks I've ever spent on a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Scusas is a wonderful restaurant.
We love the wonderful service, the great food and the nice atmosphere. Things work like a clock in there. We have sat inside and outside in the beautiful patio and love both. The seafood fettuccine is incredible.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere and food, would recommend to everyone

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We love Scusa. Best in all ways! Great service, food, atmosphere in the garden setting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Scuza is outstanding, we love to take friends there for the outdoor dining in the summer. The pasta is always so special. Love the linguini and clams, but all the others are special too. They make a Petrale sole with angle hair pasta that is over the top. Have the lobster ravioli for appetizer if it is available. Please go there hungery as they have great size portions too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was a wonderful evening for our anniversary. We most definitely will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I had a great meal and good service. The menu had exactly what I was looking for - pasta and seafood. I was expecting salmon, but the fish of the day was Petrale Sole. The dish was Cappelini with Petrale Sole and asparagus. My server was efficient. This time, I sat inside.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was not good. Service was excellent. I do not recommend this restaurant to anyone. I wish it had been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This restaurant met and exceeded our expectations. We were able to make reservations through open table and 15 minutes later we were at our table ordering. The food from the salads to our main courses were very good. The service was exceptional. Chris or server knew all about the menu and was able to share information about that day specials. Overall really positive experience and will definitely return the next time we are in Tahoe.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been to in a while. Lovely setting outdoors. Everyone in our group raved about their meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We have been visiting Scusa's for many years, always great food and service. Summer have indoor and outdoor dining options. The food was great as always.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very good food in Lake Tahoe! I would recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The only problem we we sat outside and was all bitten up on ankles from spiders. Ankles were all swollen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We got there, and were immediately sat in a dark area of the restaurant. The main problem that I had with this place was that for the prices they charge, their food should be good. We ordered a buratta that came with hard crostini that could barely be eaten. It was clear that the burratta was store bought and not made in-house. Additionally, we both ordered pasta that came drenched in sauce and lacking any flavor whatsoever. We ate about 3 bites and called it a night. We told the manager and she didn't really do anything to help us either.

At a place that is trying to be this fancy - you at least want some quality food. It was awful. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2017

food was fantastic. best italian food we've had in a long time. outdoor patio was beautiful and quiet. we were very happy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Scuza was highly recommended by a few locals and our motel receptionist. This was our second visit in the past year. This visit was for our birthdays and we enjoyed our dinner and the complimentary lava cakes.

The food is good, not great. It's definitely above average and worth trying. Everyone raves about the lobster ravioli so we gave it a try. It was okay but not worth raving about in my opinion

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We always look forward to our dinners here while vacationing in Lake Tahoe! The food, ambiance (the patio dining is wonderful) and service never disappoints. Our waiter, Rory, was exceptional. Thank you, Scusa's for another perfect dining experience❤️

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Acura is a clean, well-appointed restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining. The menu is diverse, though not extensive, and features several appetizers. A large number of specials were offered, including sauteed petrale sole over angel hair pasta. An impressive wine list was offered that included imported and domestic wines. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. A very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I will start by saying the Lobster Ravioli appetizer was very good. From there it all went down hill. Fettuccini alfredo carbonara for the wife. So much Prosciutto it dominated everything else.
I have veal parmesan. Simple dish correct? Veal was about a 1/4 inch thick but the breading was a inch and a half. it looked more like chicken fried steak than a veal cutlet. Very little cheese and the tomato sauce was just not very good. My advice go for the appetizer at the bar, have a glass of wine then get out as fast as you can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It's been a long time since we've had an Italian dinner this good. The food was excellent and the service was perfect. They have have usual Italian dishes but they add a savory preparation. The specials sounded wonderful. If you like Italian you have to try a Scusa.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Attentive service, great food, good prices, relaxing atmosphere--what's not to like? Plus a complimentary dessert for our anniversary dinner. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in the South Lake Tahoe area. It has nice outdoor seating and at this time of year it is delightful. A good wine list (not great) and delicious food are all part of the package.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 20, 2017

All entrees chosen were excellent and the special lobster ravioli was to die for. Chris our server dis a great job.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Wonderful meal, dined outside, lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great service, good food and reasonable price. We did not have a table with a view. This was our first visit to Scusa.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As indicated above, it was a great dinning experience. The ambiance was spoiled by the one man band in the lobby. We where not able to hear our waiter explain the specials of the day to us without asking him to repeat himself. Having said that, the staff was excellent and attentive. The 'teamwork' approach to serving resulted in very quick service, even though the restaurant was full. The food was excellent. We will definitely return to dine there again. But either the music should be dialed down, or we will need a table far away from the saxophone player.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Go to place for authentic Italian food! We always enjoy the back dining during summer nights.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We make it a point to always have dinner at Scusa when we are in Tahoe. It's simply the best Italian food outside of San Francisco (since I've never been to Italy). Please keep up the superb quality of your excellent food and impeccable service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Italian food in Tahoe-this is it! Food was amazing, nice wine list, excellent/very attentive service, enjoyed lovely outdoor dining area on a beautiful June evening.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Been coming to Scusa's for 25+ years when in Tahoe, never been disappointed, wonderful things on the menue, but specials always sound so good I usually get one of the daily specials .
Great place , wonderful food, one of the servers have been there as long as I have been coming there.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We never miss the chance to enjoy this culinary heaven!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Had house salad always very good and calamari steak entree very good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great Italian dinner made with fresh ingredients, Loved the lasagna and mediterranean scallops. Great garlic bread as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good home cooking, adequate portions and prices, friendly service, lovely live music! Definitely great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This restaurant was great to eat at. The service was amazing.they always came back to fill your water and drink before it got too low. They would also come back just to check ever so often on how we were doing with the food. I would definitely come back and recommend to more people.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.