Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Scusa Italian Ristorante

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (23)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (20)
Live Music (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Family Style (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (6)
Private Room (5)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife wanted Italian so we went to Open Table. I found Scusa and read the reviews.The pasta and meatballs were excellent, along with creamy garlic soup and bread. The bill came to $51 plus tip. Very reasonably price, great food, and great server, Raymond. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was excellent, I had the scallops and my wife had the fish special. Garlic bread a must. Our waiter, Chris, was outstanding, very knowledgable and friendly. Menu had many options and would definitely go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Every time we come to Tahoe we make sure to come to Scusa. The food is excellent and the service is fantastic. The shrimp scampi is to die for. Also the private booths are perfect for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great time, very goid food and generous portions. The waitstaff tends to rush you through the meal. Felt this way on several occasions, but will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious food, great service, nice ambiance for night out w friends, family, or date.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We have eaten here many times. The food is pretty good. Most of their dishes are too saucy though. Portions are plentiful. The ambiance is very nice. We have enjoyed live music there in the past, but tonight there was no music. Good menu choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

One of the best meals out I've had in a long time! We were celebrating my girlfriend's birthday and they seated us in a nice private room which was perfect for the occasion. I'm still thinking about the lobster ravioli appetizer. It was incredible! The wine and food were great, they treated us to a nice birthday dessert, and to top it off, the saxophonist popped in to play happy birthday to my girlfriend. Also, the prices are remarkably reasonable, particularly in a vacation/resort town. It would've been worth it at double the price. Don't think twice. Go here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great date night! Great food. We now make it a point to go to Scusa every time we are up at the lake

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We're visiting from chicago so we are sport of food snobs but Scusa was definitely on par with some of our Chicago favorites. Good food and food service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was great and the service equally so. I would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had dinner here with my husband while visiting South Lake Tahoe. The food was outstanding. We started with the kale salad. I had petrale sole in a rustic grape tomato, olive and garlic ragu. It was served over linguini. The fish was perfectly prepared. Fabulous. My husband had the same ragu but with fresh salmon and polenta. For dessert, we had cannoli. One order comes with two servings. There were so many dishes on the menu that I wanted to order I know I will be back time and time again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

They take the time to make creative salads, offer a variety of appetizers and entrees, including vegan/veggie options. Service is appropriately attentive. You will not be disappointed. They aim to please.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very disappointed knowing that after making a note about a ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY on OpenTable and also letting the young male host know it was an anniversary celebration during check in that the server did not acknowledge it during or after the meal. I will not recommend this place to anyone going fwd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was not good or fresh! Salmon salad was not good or fresh. Chicken on salad was very dry. Clams an pasta were dry and meal was cold ! Very disappointed in our meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very nice dinner after a great day of skiing. Service and atmosphere are great, and we also felt comfortable bringing our two young daughters. Food is traditional Italian, prepared very well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A great find after a day of skiing. The restaurant is a good 5-10 minutes away from the hotels of Stateline but the drive was worth it. The restaurant is good sized but still cozy. Our waiter was knowledgeable, experienced, helpful and friendly which made the dinner experience even more memorable. I ordered the homemade Caesar salad and it was fresh and delicious. My friends also ordered caprese salad and the mozzarella and tomatoes were fresh and flavorful. However, the dover sole stole the evening. It was on a bed of pasta and it was well prepared, full of flavor and very hearty. We also had the lobster ravioli with garlic bread and it was out of this world. I highly recommend this restaurant for a truly great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

outstanding food and ambiance. great live music when we were there!
don't miss this one while in Lake Tahoe

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This place was phenomenal! The food was delicious and reasonably priced, the service was also exceptional (a big thank you to our waiter, Jake). The ambiance was very nice and they had live jazz music when we were there. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service and food were excellent. Would highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. Try the eggplant and lobster ravioli. Good size portions. Everything came warm or hot. The bread is excellent but don't dive into until the lobster ravioli comes and you can soak up the sauce. Nice wine menu. Service was good with the exception of clearing finished plates. Kale salad and house salad were good. Skip the baby shrimp on the house salad though. Chairs need some repairs and replacement. There was gum on mine but didn't prevent us from enjoying our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We love this place. The food is excellent. Very comfortable. A bit noisier the closer you get to the weekend because it's crowded. Great wine selection.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Scusa continues to be our favorite restaurant in the South Lake Tahoe area. The food and wine are always wonderful. The service is great. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Very convenient spot in South Lake Tahoe. Excellent attentive and helpful service. Sticky Bun bread pudding for dessert was very tasty. Authentic Italian dishes. Lasagna was made with flavorful Italian sausage. Linguini with clams was also very good. Appetizer of layered eggplant delicious, as well.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We've been to Scusa several times while vacationing at Heavenly Value in lake Tahoe. We've also taken friends there, and we've never been disapointed. The Food is very good and reasonably priced. The restaurant is cozy, with very nice ambiance. Good Wine selection as well. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great food and service. Best locals choice restaurant in South Lake Tahoe

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good menu choices and preparation. Excellent service. Live jazz on Friday night. Prices were good for the quality of the food, though prices a little higher than average. So overall it was a good value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very nice food and service. My husband and I ordered today's special, and our friends order from the menu, all turns out to be very good. The cheese cake for desert is also fantastic. We will definitely go there again when we back to the town.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing, delicious entrees & salad with house dressing! We'll definitely look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our food was very good. The serving were ample size. The service could have a little friendlier but since he just had a large group of 12, we let it pass. All food was delivered hot.
I would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Lovely find in South Lake. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

What a great place to have dinner in South Lake Tahoe! It was enjoyed by all 6 of us. Desserts are outstanding as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Pretty awesome experience. My gf loved it which in turn means that I made the right decision. Thank you for the service and the amazing food. Will be returning in the near future on our future trips to Tahoe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Meal and service was great. Asked for a special request and they accommodated at no charge. Bread was fresh, wine selection was good. Will find here again when visiting the area.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience tonight. Made for a memorable Valentine's day dinner. Dale, our waiter, was the best you could ask for. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best food and experience that I've had in ages. And, on Valentine's Day, to spend $100 on a date for that quality and quantity of food. Just awesome. Left feeling stuffed to the brim. A must go-to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines Day dinner Our experience was good but not amazing I had the shrimp scampi and it was delicious 😋 my husband had the Scallops Mediterranean the sauce and pasta were great the scallops were not they were gritty tasted like sand so he kinda lost his appetite Zach our waiter did bring out new scallops but we would have preferred a different entree at that point.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always like dinner here for a romantic night out and once again it was fabulous. Dean, our waiter was wonderful. The Petrale sole was perfect. The chocolate brownie sundae was heavenly. It was a perfect Valentines Day dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was wonderful as usual! Service was also great. Noise level was much better tonight in the smaller side room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic! Family of four dinner and all adults and kids loved everything from the focaccia through entrees. Too full to get dessert. Excellent service - thanks Dale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.