About Scusa Italian Ristorante

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
5 More
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
good for groups (29)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great saxophone music on the weekend. G ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great saxophone music on the weekend. Good Italian food though a bit heavy on the sauce.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

LOVED Scusa's - South Lake Tahoe

Dined on May 17, 2016

Loved this restaurant!! Had so many wonderful menu choices and our meal was so excellent that we returned the next night for dinner!! A must visit to everyone visiting So. Lake Tahoe!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on May 16, 2016

Once again a great meal. We always eat at Scusa whenever we are in Tahoe. Never disappointed. Eggplant Parmesan is one of the best anywhere. Ordered the clam, mussel and shrimp dish which was on the menu served over pasta, which I didn't want and asked for another option. The shellfish was served over spinach, which was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Very good food and outstanding service

Dined on May 11, 2016

Very good food and outstanding service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scuba is always delicious! We go home fu ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Scuba is always delicious! We go home full and satisfied. The staff is friendly and help make the experience delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

consistently great

Dined on May 6, 2016

I live in SLT and have been to this place about a half dozen times over 3 years. The food is always great, the servers are polite and knowledgable, and the decor and ambiance are wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food . Great service. They al ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Delicious food . Great service. They always let me modify my meal:)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious dinner at Scusa's

Dined on May 2, 2016

Scusa is my go to restaurant whenever I am in South Lake Tahoe. The food is fresh and delicious and the service is excellent. I usually get the fish special. The focaccia bread is to so good I'm going to try and replicate the recipe at home (unless they are willing to give me the recipe; I can always dream). I highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, excellent value, great service

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Fantastic dinner served by a great waiter, Dale, who has served us many times. Very attentive, knows the menu front and back, great service. Always try to get his table when we go there. Food is solid. Varied menu, and love the cream of garlic soup and the lobster ravioli. Tried the sole for the first time and it was excellent. Very worthwhile experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Live Saxophone on Fri

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Live Saxophone on Fri

food4
ambience4
service4

We never miss a trip to Scusa when we ar ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

We never miss a trip to Scusa when we are in SLT. Always delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with wife

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great dinner, service as special. Wife loved it. I had the cabarnaro and wife had the vege pasta. Also ordered the Scusa grams bread, tasty and pricey. Wine was great! No had drinks. Service was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Dont Bother!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

This place was a total waste of time and money. The staff was decent, but the food seemed poured from a sugar jar. No ambiance, nothing worth going for.

food3
ambience4
service5

Overall very tasty pasta selection. Rath ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Overall very tasty pasta selection. Rather heavy on the butter levels for what we are: petrale sole, fettuccine Alfredo and linguine. Wine selection decent.

food5
ambience4
service5

Scusa has become our absolute favorite r ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Scusa has become our absolute favorite restaurant in all of Tahoe. Their food is consistently delicious. They have great variety - there's something for everyone, and all of it has been wonderful. The service was attentive. Our whole family had a great evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in Tahoe it's my opinion

Dined on March 27, 2016

This place,is the best in Tahoe we Have been there 4 times ,every time we are in Tahoe . Give it a try. We. Have never found anything up there like them

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

a must when in Tahoe

Dined on March 26, 2016

The lobbie ravioli was delicious as always ! Caesar salad served at a delightful chilled temp My girl had the special sole , I swear it was the tastiest fish we had ever had ,we both were blown away ! While in Tahoe skiing with my girl or golf tripping with the boys , we always make dinner plans with Scusa our first priority ! Amazing !!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Mediocre at best

Dined on March 26, 2016

After reading reviews, we decide to try as we frequent Tahoe often. The bread was warm, but virtually tasteless. The caprese had frozen tomatoes and again tasteless mozzarella. Our waiter was friendly, but the food was poor and the restaurant could use a good cleaning-dust the blinds, wash the windows, and please clean your menus.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Italian in South Lake Tahoe

Dined on March 25, 2016

Extensive menu. Creative dishes. Reasonable prices. Excellent service. Decor needs a refresh. Bow back dining chairs are uncomfortable, but the wooden chairs are better. Uneven lighting - some tables are brightly lighted, others are very dim. All in all, a good choice for Italian in South Lake Tahoe.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great server knew the menu and wine list ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Great server knew the menu and wine list very well!

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Not Very Good

Dined on March 10, 2016

The fettucine alfredo had a fishy taste and was not eaten by our pre-teen son. He normally is not picky about that type of pasta and was very hungry when it arrived. We sent it back. The lobster ravioli did not appear to have any lobster in it and was filled with salmon instead. We love salmon, but as it was our anniversary, we were hoping for something more special. The chicken piccata was very good and did not disappoint. As for value, the three dinners and two glasses of wine - no dessert - was about $100. Our server was very nice.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always have dinner at Scusa when visiting SLT

Dined on March 5, 2016

Dale was the most professional Waiter who knows the menu and Wine. The food is always prepared and served properly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding, from the ser ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Everything was outstanding, from the service, to the food. Chris, our server, did an exceptional job, going "above & beyond"...this coming from two people who are former food servers.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A looked forward to dinner each year

Dined on March 1, 2016

The lobster ravoli are killer. We always get two orders and share them, along with the Scuca Garlic Bread (hunks of tomato, garlic and melted cheese) to start. You could almost stop there, as is so rich and good. The Veal Parm can be at least two meals, the pasta dishes are all great - and they can hold ingredients that you don't like. My brother always gets the Cesar Salad. Wine choices are reasonably priced. Can't help you with desert as we are always stuffed by that point.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good fun!

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is the 2nd time we've been to this restaurant and we've not been disappointed. Food was good (try the garlic bread) and they split our shared dinner. Atmosphere was lively and everyone around us also seemed to be having a good time. We'll go there again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Nice Repeat Experience

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Enjoyed another dinner here with a group from the Bay Area. Frequent this restaurant in South Lake a few times a year when staying in the area. Always consistent; food and service. Very good local restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in South Lake Tahoe.

Dined on February 21, 2016

This is the best Italian restaurant in South Lake Tahoe! The food is great, tasty, well prepared, not overcooked, and well served.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Stars

Dined on February 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner and service. Enjoyed the food very much. Highly recommend Scusa's friends for a nice evening out that is reasonably priced for the quality of food served.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Solid Italian food. Best in the area. G ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Solid Italian food. Best in the area. Garlic bread is a must along with the cannoli. Traditional Italian like eggplant parm, spaghetti and meatball, chicken Marsala,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Jason was awesome! The meal was wonderful on Valentines Day. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening. Service by Chris was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful evening. Service by Chris was excellent. We were never rushed and our orders came out in a timely manner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Italian

Dined on February 9, 2016

Best Italian food I've had in a while! Their garlic cheese bread is a must & wine prices were good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent place to eat after skiing

Dined on February 5, 2016

Large entrée portions at a reasonable price. No corkage fee if another bottle is purchased from their wine list.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good honest Italian dinner

Dined on January 28, 2016

We were pleased to find this option of good homy Italian food - as an alternative to steak houses that are so popular in the ski area. Large portions of very tasty food, great service, good selection of wines to accompany food, homy and unpretentious - we enjoyed our dinner very much.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1

The Hostess was Rude and Condensending

Dined on January 24, 2016

The Hostess was Rude and Condensending

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

Dined on January 24, 2016

This is the second time that my husband and I have been to this particular restaurant. I absolutely love everything about it. The atmosphere is intimate and friendly, complimenting the staff wonderfully. Also, the food is beyond amazing. I got the eggplant parmigiana, which was brilliant! For appetizers we had the lobster ravioli's, they are to die for! We are Bay Area natives, and visit Tahoe every year, we encountered this place last year when we went and definitely had to come back this year. It is looking like this is definitely going to be a tradition with us. I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone visiting/living in the area! Best Italian place we have ever had, and I wish we had one back home like this!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, reasonably priced

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

This was our second time at Scusa. We went back because we enjoyed it so much the first time! I had the Petrale Sole and my wife had the Salmon. Both were delicious. We started with the Roasted Garlic soup, you must love garlic to enjoy this soup... we both do! I had the House Salad w/baby shrimp and she had the Caesar, it's refreshing to see well made salad for $5.95! Our server was excellent and the entire meal was great. We'll be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

5 stars all the way.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Excellent food, great wine, worth every penny. The special was great. The deserts were perfect. Make a reservation or you will wait a while.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love the saxaphone jazz. Adds so much t ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Love the saxaphone jazz. Adds so much to the dining experience. Great fried calamari.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tahoe gem

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

A must stop for Tahoe visitors and well known to locals Total package from menu, food , service and ambience Top five restaurant in Tahoe region for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.