About Scusa Italian Ristorante

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Romantic (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Live Music (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice menu, good service, wine list good ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 8 hours ago

Nice menu, good service, wine list good and fairly priced. Good seafood linguine

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly waiter and very attentive. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Very friendly waiter and very attentive. We both enjoy our meal. Lots of flavor and you got what you Paid for. This is our 2nd time here and the first was equally as good. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had our "holiday" dinner party, a gro ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

We had our "holiday" dinner party, a group of 8. The food was excellent, the service was great, good value, with ample portions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great staff and waiters. One ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great staff and waiters. One of our most favorite places to eat in South Lake Tahoe.

Weekends the have incredible osso bucco, the option for veal is outstanding as well. We've eaten here many times and have loved every visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe nextime ill try to go back there o ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Maybe nextime ill try to go back there on weekdays... So crowded and noisy on weekends... But the food is great...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The saxophone was much too loud...althou ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The saxophone was much too loud...although we sat fairly close to the musician...won't sit that close again...friendly person.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellence food great preparation wonder ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellence food great preparation wonderful appetizers we will return our next trip to Tahoe

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough about Scusa. The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I can't say enough about Scusa. The food was amazing and Jason and staff provided great service. The atmosphere is nice. Prices are reasonable for such great quality. This has become our go to restaurant each time we visit SLT. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, , Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time and it was once ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our second time and it was once again a wonderful evening. Being from the Bay Area and members of a couple of wine clubs, we might be a bit picky. We thoroughly enjoyed everything. Jason was our perfect waiter-attentive, great suggestions, subtle, sweet. The live sax was excellent. And, of course, the food: non-veal (used pork) osso bucco with polenta was delicious as was the grilled chicken and ravioli; the calamari to start was better than most Bay Area places, and our wine was a very nice pairing. There was nothing to complain about and everything to be happy about. We will, of course, be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The food was e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, our waiter was excellent, our table was ready when we arrived right on time. It was a great experience and we will be coming back for sure on our next trip!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a last minute reservation and wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We made a last minute reservation and what a great decision! After reading the reviews and seeing the clam linguini--I knew I wanted to eat at Scusa. We were seated right away and greeted in a timely manner by our server. Zack was great and made excellent suggestions. The house-made bread was delicious and generous. Makes me wonder who orders the garlic bread!! Although, I'm sure it's great, too.

Appetizer: special lobster ravioli (Wow!)

Main course: The 14 oz. steak was tender and flavorful. Linguini with clams was generous with the clams.

Very nice meal. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is fantastic. My wife and I tho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food is fantastic. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Italian Restaurant in the S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite Italian Restaurant in the South Lake Tahoe area, the food and service was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food with amazing servic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always great food with amazing service! Thank you Dale for making our experience a great one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding and food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was outstanding and food was very good. Will go there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband decided to surprise me for ou ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband decided to surprise me for our 1 year anniversary ! What a wonderful experience, the food and service was phenomenal. The amount of food was perfect and we even had left overs to enjoy the next day. Five stars!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Good sized portions. E ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful food. Good sized portions. Excellent service; knowledgeable waitstaff. One of my favorites in Tahoe.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SCUSA'S IS A WONDERFULL PLACE TO GO WITH ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

SCUSA'S IS A WONDERFULL PLACE TO GO WITH THE FAMILY OR FRIENDS. THE PLACE IS A LITTLE LOUD BUT THAT DOESN'T CANCEL OUT THE GREAT FOOD. YOU BETTER BE HUNGRY IF NOT YOU WILL HAVE A DOGIE BAG, ASK FOR MORE BREAD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice.....))))

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice.....))))

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always very good! Sousa bread is good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always very good! Sousa bread is good as is the salmon scallapini

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great Italian food. great service and r ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

great Italian food. great service and reasonably priced. would go back again.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very accommodating wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant was very accommodating with our large group having to change times and seats, the food was tasty, and the service wonderful. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thai restaurant consistently delivers at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thai restaurant consistently delivers at a high level with well prepared, fresh, creative Italian food

Service is always casually elegant

A must date if in the Tahoe area

Superb!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Service was good and ver ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very good food. Service was good and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time here, big portions, cute and ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

First time here, big portions, cute and quiet booth. Overall liked all the food but expect rich flavors along with large portions so plan accordingly. Very nice staff which I focus on since I brought my 6 year old along.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lobster ravioli was too die for, we had ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Lobster ravioli was too die for, we had 6 people in our party & everyone had different dishes that they loved. Service was great & they refilled the water frequently --I would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good waiter. Linguini with clam sau ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very good waiter. Linguini with clam sauce had a ton of clams but not much linguine. Marinara sauce just ok. Sole was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The food is excellent. The service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food is excellent. The service was excellent. The drive from Stateline was worth it. Live jazz on Friday and Saturday evenings was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place We been visit this r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love this place

We been visit this restaurant for the past 10 years and the food was still the same - delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for our wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We came here for our wedding anniversary. Normally we go to another italian resturaunt in town, but this time tried Scusa. The service was great and super fast. Food was delicious! Desert was ok. If I had to do it again for a anniversary dinner or romantic dinner, I would not come on a Saturday night. We were sat next to a bachelorette party that was obnoxiously loud. The wife and I could not hear eachother. I would like to try it again probably during a weeknight, but never on a Saturday night for a quiet romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I have now been to Scu ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My girlfriend and I have now been to Scusa twice. They have excellent food, setting, and service. I definitely recommend trying the lobster ravioli appetizer! Both of our desserts were also excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner. Had a party of 6 ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Another great dinner. Had a party of 6 for a birthday and everyone had a different dish and not one complaint. We will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful, friendly service. Live jazz m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful, friendly service. Live jazz music! Food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the recommendation of some friends, w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

At the recommendation of some friends, we decided to spend our last evening here. Each one of our party of seven exclaimed how good their dish was, which is unusual.

My petrale sole with buerre blanc sauce nestled on a bed of angel hair pasta accompanied with asparagus was cooked to perfection!

My husband's spaghetti and meatballs was hearty and full of flavor.

We are from San Francisco and are used to We will be back the next time we are in Lake Tahoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very nice and the food was perfec ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was very nice and the food was perfect. It was snowing so we felt very lucky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Rory was our waiter and the evening just ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Rory was our waiter and the evening just continued to be great from the moment he approached our table. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. What a fabulous restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great Italian Restaurant!! The l ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 15, 2016

What a great Italian Restaurant!! The lobster ravioli are not to be missed but get as an appetizer size because it is very rich. My husband selected the spaghetti and meatballs after a recommendation from the valet at Harvey's and it was delicious, as was the linguine and clam sauce. The service was also exceptional. There are many choices for great dining in the South Lake Tahoe area but this is not to be missed. We will definitely return on our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated a 60s birthday and that wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We celebrated a 60s birthday and that was very well "supported" with a Hapoybirthday from their live saxophonist and a candle on the desert later on.

Wonderful, good food, really italian style, we will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service. This was our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food and service. This was our second time dining at Scusa. I highly recommend this restaurant if you want outstanding food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really delicious Italian food in South L ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really delicious Italian food in South Lake Tahoe. I admit, I came in a little skeptical, as most of the food in the area is limited to burgers and BBQ. This was a wonderful surprise. The Italian food tasted authentic, not Americanized, and our server couldn't have been more helpful as we tried to decide what to order. A really nice place; we will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.