About Scusa Italian Ristorante

2543 Lake Tahoe Boulevard
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
View Larger Map

100 of the Best Seats in Town."
~ Creative Traditional Italian & Fresh Seafood Daily ~ Upscale, Lively Atmosphere ~ Extensive Menu & Wine List ~

For over 20 years, Scusa has remained the perennial favorite of locals and tourists alike. Featuring traditional and creative pasta dishes, from simple Cappellini with fresh Basil and Tomato to Seafood Fettuccine Scusa in a light tomato-red wine sauce. Scusa is rumored to serve the best Linguine & Clams you'll ever have. Let's not forget the variety of Veal and Chicken dishes, and the Scusa Bread is a must! With appetizers from crispy Calamari to the House Specialty Lobster Raviolis in light Basil-Tomato Cream any choice is a good one. If you only have room to split a desert try the Amaretto Bread Pudding or the delicious Cannolis.

Scusa has one of the most romantic outdoor patios in Lake Tahoe, complete with fountain & garden. If you're looking for great food, with warm atmosphere and service, you are sure to enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM | Live Jazz Music Thursday - Saturday 6-9PM

Cross Street:
Hwy 50/Lake Tahoe Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 542-0100

Website:
http://www.scusalaketahoe.com/

Parking Details:
Large private parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private room for up to 20 guests.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fritto Misto Scusa
  • Salmon Special
  • Lobster Ravioli
  • Spaghetti and Meatballs
  • Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream
Fritto Misto Scusa
Salmon Special
Lobster Ravioli
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Chocolate Fudge Brownie With Raspberry Sauce And Vanilla Ice Cream

Scusa Italian Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
4 More
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
Special Occasion (69)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Romantic (50)
Good for Groups (36)
Notable Wine List (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent . Service was perfect ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent . Service was perfect . Super friendly . Can't wait to go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there and the food was very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

First time there and the food was very good and service was great. Friendly place and live music. Good Italian food. Cannoli's were wonderful..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brought a group her for a bachelorette d ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

Brought a group her for a bachelorette dinner. We had great wine and meal for a great price. The patio was adorable. If I live in Tahoe I would come often!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is horrible and way over sauced ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is horrible and way over sauced and over cheesed. Clams need to be washed because I had mouthful of sand when I ate them. The lobster ravioli needs some lobster in the filling. And, service needs to step up. When I made a reservation for my wife's birthday, I expect some form of happy birthday greeting even if just say it. The only saving grace is that at least the food is not over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Scuza is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Scuza is one of my favorite restaurants. It's outside dining is very relaxing, and the food is terrific. The Oso Buco and Sole dishes are perfect. Service is outstanding, and the ambiance is one of the best in the area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is exceptional! The wine lis ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service is exceptional! The wine list is wonderful and the food is very high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding evening. Had not been to Sc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding evening. Had not been to Scusa since they moved to current location and was greatly impressed. Outdoor patio was wonderful, food outstanding, and service by Raymond was just perfect. Would highly recommend and we will be back soon and often.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with very good portions. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food with very good portions. Unfortunately our appetizer arrived after our main courses, which didn't sit too well. Also I would ask that servers not start clearing plates and offering boxes until all at the table are done with their meals. It forces the people still left eating to try to finish up too quickly and it's rude anyway.

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Each of the four of us enjoyed our entre ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Each of the four of us enjoyed our entree choices, salads, and the garlic soup was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Lake Tahoe and found th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were visiting Lake Tahoe and found this Italian restaurant. Both of our meals were great and the prices were very affordable. The restaurant is ready to accommodate any size party.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food and service table for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We loved the food and service table for two was a little to small next time I will ask for a booth. Delicious food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

6 for a Birthday dinner excellent food,s ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

6 for a Birthday dinner excellent food,service etc would highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, authentic Italian food in Sou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good, authentic Italian food in South Lake Tahoe. Service was quick and attentive. Overall a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience. Loved our waiter, Ror ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great experience. Loved our waiter, Rory. Attentive and great service. The food was wonderful! Ordered the Calamari Steak. It was the most flavorful and tender Calamari Steak I think I've ever had. Everyone else at the table thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Will definitely visit again when we're at South Shore Tahoe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our starters were the amazing lobster ra ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our starters were the amazing lobster raviolis and the favorite, Scusa bread. As usual, both were delicious. A cesar salad was ordered with anchovies offered and was good. Our entrees were Petrale Sole, Chicken Picatta, and Grilled Chicken and Raviolis. Pasta was served with the Sole and Picatta Chicken. Asparagus cooked perfectly al dente was on each plate. I tasted each entree and they were so good. Our waiter was appropriately attentive and helpful with our wine selection. Dessert was a blow out. Tiramisu with expresso cream sauce, cheesecake with a brûlée & caramel sauce and a hot fudge brownie with raspberry puree & aa scoop of vanilla ice cream. Each was delicious! Scusas is a favorite restaurant!! Try it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were spending the week in ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My wife and I were spending the week in south Lake Tahoe and always schedule one good dinner out before we go home. Scusa has been our go to place for that dinner and we have never been disappointed. The staff is friendly, attentive and if you are not sure what to order, as all their selections are excellent, they will recommend an entre that they have tried and liked. The lobster raviolis with their garlic bread is excellent and there is enough sauce to dunk you bread in which we highly recommend. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Good meal and Service...Our server ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very Good meal and Service...Our server (from Napa) was fantastic. Food items we tried ranged from good to wonderful. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not our first time to Scuzas and certain ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Not our first time to Scuzas and certainly not the last. Great outdoor dining with music, lighting and perfect weather.

Service was good. Very attentive. Food as always was delicious served hot from the kitchen. We had the eal and fish.

We split a canoli for dessert and it was as good as any we've had in Italy .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice surprise--garden behind restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice surprise--garden behind restaurant was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Saxophone player. Incredible serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great Saxophone player. Incredible service! Waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The outdoor location is excellent even o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The outdoor location is excellent even on a very warm day. Shade is plentiful. Service is wonderful and friendly. The menu includes a variety of choices. The fish is fresh and excellently cooked. The steak and pasta are wonderful. This is a must do. We will return when in Tahoe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic Italian restaurant in the hear ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic Italian restaurant in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Excellent, attentive service. We had the Clams Linguine, with the "Scusa" sauce which our waited recommended, and the Shrimp Scampi. Both were fantastic! Absolutely the best Scampi I have ever had. The table was provided with a delicious house-made focaccia served with an olive oil and balsamic vinegar dipping sauce. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing from start to finish. Goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Simply amazing from start to finish. Good, service, ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the Calamari Steak, it was wonderful ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had the Calamari Steak, it was wonderful. We dine at Scuza every trip to Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

food was great. Must compliment Chef. We ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

food was great. Must compliment Chef. We ordered mostly sea food and was outstanding. A bit noisy. Near by table couple of folks just could not keep it down, may be too much wine :) A little expensive side.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding quality, lots of choices, an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding quality, lots of choices, and appropriately priced. This food literally melts in your mouth it is so delicious!! Highly recommend the lobster ravioli appetizer. It is yummy, very rich and great to share so all can bask in its glory.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice local Italian place we found online ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Nice local Italian place we found online. Delicious food!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We ate outsider. Atmosphere was very nic ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We ate outsider. Atmosphere was very nice. Food was good. The portions were huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I am going to write a review on yelp, I ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I am going to write a review on yelp, I WA so thrilled with my birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

WE WERE SEATED RIGHT AWAY TO A NICE TABL ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

WE WERE SEATED RIGHT AWAY TO A NICE TABLE. THE SERVICE WAS ATTENTIVE BUT NOT RUSHED. THE SUGGESTED WINE WAS GOOD AS WAS THE FOOD. A BIT PRICEY BUT SEEMS TO BE THE NORM FOR THAT AREA. IF VISITING THIS AREA AGAIN, WE WOULD MAKE A POINT OF GOING THERE AGAIN AND MAYBE SITTING ON THEIR DECK THIS TIME.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations are a must. Outside tables ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Reservations are a must. Outside tables are a nice addition in summer. The special sole was excellent. Wine list is somewhat limited, but has some good choices. Booths at the front windows are best seats for noise reduction.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated our Anniversary there. Sat ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Celebrated our Anniversary there. Sat outside on a beautiful summer night. Food was delish as usual and then they brought us an amazing chocolate decadence dessert for free to help us celebrate! Nice! We have never been disappointed here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Jazz player was a pleasant surprise. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Jazz player was a pleasant surprise. The service was excellent. There were 6 kids in our party, pretty wild, but the servers handled them wonderfully. The food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Place was pretty good, and had same day ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Place was pretty good, and had same day reservations on a weekend in South Tahoe. Not bad at all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner. We made reservations ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful dinner. We made reservations for a friends birthday because his adult kids recommended it. I checked reviews and found out that you got complimentary garlic bread if you checked in on Yahoo. We arrived on time and the parking lot was pretty full. The hostess greeted us immediately and when I inquired about the Yelp freebie she explained it. We were seated promptly. Our server came to out table right away and asked about opening the wine we brought with us. While opening the wine we were advised to try the Lobster Ravioli appetizer they are known for. She also explained the specials and then gave us a few minutes. We made our choices and the garlic bread arrived with a note given to save some to savor with the Lobster Ravioli sauce. It was a great dinner because the restaurant has enough staff to cover all the tables servers and food runners. There was sax jazz and a birthday rendition for our friend. Our server, Alyssa, was personable and obviously took pride in her service. Best petrale sole I ever had. Great Osso Bucco. Delicious Eggplant and Veal. Thank you. We will be back!

Tags: Neighbourhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Outdoor Eating, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was up in Tahoe for a few days with the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Was up in Tahoe for a few days with the family and found this restaurant on Opentable. Interior of the restaurant is a little worn/dated, but overall good experience. Lots of standard traditional items on the menu. The food was quality and was prepared perfectly. They correctly accomodated a few "special request". Lobstor ravioli special was amazing and fish we ordered was perfectly prepared. Some may complain that it took a little long to get the food to the table, but I had no problems with the wait time as we were in no hurry. Service was very good and friendly, would return when i'm back up there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and ambience in outside patio ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and ambience in outside patio again. Second time here in last 10 days. Highly recommend v

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't bother! The caesar salad was only ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Don't bother! The caesar salad was only okay. The special appetizer, a ravioli in a very rich tomato sauce, was fine, though very filling. We had to ask the man who brought our main courses to clear our appetizer and salad dishes. The bus boy filled only my date's water once, even though mine was empty for most of the meal and his almost full. The linguine con vongole was okay. I just don't think the restaurant is worth the hassle. Fair food and bad service is a bummer, especially when one is expecting a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Scusa is a very good place if you are hu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Scusa is a very good place if you are hungry for Italian food. We would go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I would recommend sitting outside on the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I would recommend sitting outside on their beautiful patio. Casual yet elegant at the same time. Service can be a bit slow so don't be in a hurry. Been coming here for at least 5 years and some updates to the menu would be appropriate but if you are looking for Italian classics, you will find them all here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.