About Scratch Kitchen and Cocktails

132 West Main St.
Norman, OK 73071
View Larger Map

We're nerds about flavor. Food fills our thoughts between meals. We spend our free time honing our knife skills, studying spices, dissecting spirits, and doing anything to better prepare daring, delicious feasts, because our reputation is forged in our kitchen and behind our bar. Good food is our best advertising. We're incredibly friendly, but will always fix you a mean plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 801-2900

Website:
http://scratchnorman.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Nuss

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Scratch Kitchen and Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
Great for Brunch
Exclusive
American
Exclusive
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
Great for Brunch
Exclusive
American
Exclusive

fit for foodies (41)
great for brunch (30)
special occasion (29)
See All
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for lunch (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (9)
notable wine list (7)
romantic (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service; the cocktail ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service; the cocktail menu is the best in Norman.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Evening meal

Dined on June 7, 2016

I would say that the dining experience was a bit overrated and overpriced. However, the food was good and the waiter was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Just really good food and service. This was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were good! Restaurant ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service and food were good! Restaurant has fun decor. Fun place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our first visit to Scratch. Liked how e ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our first visit to Scratch. Liked how everything, down to the catsup, is made from "scratch." Everything had a fresh taste to it. It was fun choosing a cocktail by the names. Having house made liqueurs was nice. Abundant amount of food with our orders. Will look forward to going again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good except...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I made the reservations through OpenTable, obviously. When I asked about making sure I got credit (points) from OpenTable, the hostess did not know anything about that. I think she may have heard about OpenTable but even that was not clear. Later on she checked with the manager, and said he said "We do not give Open Table points". Some education may be in order. Two days later, I got OpenTable's email saying I had been awarded 100 points.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great ambiance. Knowledgeable and friend ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great ambiance. Knowledgeable and friendly server but slow on keeping drinks filled. For $96, I expect a lot more, especially having worked in fine dining for ten years. Had blackened chicken pasta and I could do better at home. I felt ripped off actually.

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very good. There was a bit of trouble getting the dishes out in the correct order (entree arrived well before the salad) but everything was good. The downsides were the noise level and seating. It was extremely loud in the restaurant, with our group of 5 having to yell across the table to be heard. We had a booth which was very uncomfortable -- the benches were an inconvenient height, as well as a strange distance from the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We were a group of ten and were seated i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were a group of ten and were seated in a birds' nest like room off by ourselves. The arrangement was very uncomfortable with no room to lift our arms and even read the menus side-by-side. We asked and were nicely given another larger table. Unfortunately, the U-style table and loudness of the room made it nearly impossible to talk with anyone across the table. The U in the table set us about 5-6 feet away from them and it was very frustrating because this was a special meal celebrating graduation and we were unable to enjoy people we were trying to get to know better. The food was very good, the drinks were okay, and the service was alright too. Noise level is extremely high.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE this place. One of the best restaur ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

LOVE this place. One of the best restaurants in Norman; especially if quality & sourcing of food is important to you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In Norman for OU Graduation

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food and service were top notch. We had the fillets and the medallions and they were cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful place, worth the price for a s ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Wonderful place, worth the price for a special occasion! Everything is made from Scratch! 😍

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice treat!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Found this spot while searching for places in Norman to have Mother's Day Brunch with my OU student and his younger brother. We had a later reservation, and I think we missed some live music, but the inside decor was very nice. The place had slowed down a bit, but they hadn't run out of anything on the menu. My kids cleaned their plates of the waffles and bacon, and my mimosa was yummy. The spinach, sun dried tomato and goat cheese quiche I ordered was cold. I was surprised, but the server explained that it is supposed to be served that way, but she'd have them warm it for me. It wasn't any warmer when she returned with it, but it was so good it no longer mattered! I just went with it. Overall a very nice experience in a an area of Norman I had not visited yet.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing! Everything was deliciou ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is amazing! Everything was delicious! Have been here many times and will continue to come back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Service and Delicious Food

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family recently met here for a Mother's Day lunch. The service was excellent as has always been the case whenever I have been to Scratch. Their crab cakes and spinach dip are two of my favorite appetizers. I have also been here for brunch and found the food to be above average. The house salad is very nice with fresh green beans, broccoli, tomatoes, and lettuce. Their cocktails are where they really shine! The wait staff is always helpful when suggesting cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was truly delicious! Our party ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was truly delicious! Our party enjoyed breakfast and are making plans to have dinner at Scratch Kitchen and Cocktails, soon. I'd like to give special notice to Claire. Her attention to our table was wonderful. She was a delight and very knowledgeable about the course offerings. She answered our questions thoroughly and explained from the onset all sauces, condiments, bread, indeed everything, was made from scratch. The restaurant doesn't even house a microwave. The food certainly upheld this claim. My only negative comment is in regard to the Mimosas, though I know most people would not object. The balance of champagne to orange juice was too heavy on the champagne for my taste. This, of course, is easily corrected. Next time, I will request a lighter version. All in all, I would highly recommend Scratch for a weekday dinner or a special occasion. We were celebrating the latter and my mother, whom we were honoring, was made to feel very special. We will, most definitely, be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

Scratch is the go-to place for our girl friend get-together. We love the happy hour specials and the creative drinks. The Sooner Board is one of our favorites. It changes all the time and is always a treat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

First time here for brunch. Downtown location in old building. Were seated promptly and service was excellent. Knowledgeable server who was not annoying and was around when we needed something. Food choices made it difficult to decide. I did wish they had a couple of less breakfast type lunch entrees though since I had already eaten breakfast. Everything is made from scratch so prices are a little on the high side but not unreasonable. Overall a nice meal and experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome food

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything is made from scratch, and the food was amazing! The pulled pork nachos was the absolute best appetizer I've had to date.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great sandwiches, salads, fries, and craft cocktails!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was amazing and, the cocktail list was quite extensive and well described. The set up was very nice yet simple and elegant. Due to the small size the noise level is higher then desired for casual conversation. I would suggest them enclosing tables from each other for a sound barrier from other tables. Wait staff was a little slow but very nice and did take great care of my table. I will be returning.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent food and service

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We always enjoy dining here! The Brunch menu has everything from migas to blue berry pancakes. There were 8 of us on this visit. Our server was very attentive, the atmosphere very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very knowledgeable waitress. Food alway ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Very knowledgeable waitress. Food always excellent. My wife insists that I bring her a Southwest salad when she's not with me.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent Easter brunch for our family of 9 (ages 2 to 79.) We enjoyed it very much! The music was lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Incredible drinks, great service, delici ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Incredible drinks, great service, delicious desserts. Food was good not great, but overall a great place to go would def be a regular if I lived in Norman!

food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The Good, The Bad, and The Noisy

Dined on March 20, 2016

The menu is surprisingly limited and because most food is seasoned with similar pepper-based spices, the items all begin to taste the same. What appears to be an interesting menu, therefore, does not yield an interesting dining experience. Their food is a one-note performance. The food can be over-priced; for example, a bread basket with two scones and two rolls should be served gratis, not for the price of $10.00. The worst part of Scratch's is that it is unbearable noisy. The acoustics are the worst I have ever experienced. Carrying on a conversation is virtually impossible and attempting to do so is pointless.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Very attentive staff, noise level was an ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Very attentive staff, noise level was an issue but we were seated in a corner booth which helped. Food was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best selection of cocktails in Norman!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Eclectic scene, GREAT bar, really good food. Not for a quiet romantic dinner, very vibrant and noisy in a good way.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1

Meal was horrible!!! Drinks ok when you ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Meal was horrible!!! Drinks ok when you finally get them!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Favorite

Dined on March 2, 2016

We have been to Scratch several times now. Each visit has been excellent. Food is good and they are very attentive. Good service and a unique cocktail offering. I would strongly recommend to all.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2

There are many other places to get bette ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

There are many other places to get better food. Sadly, my chorizo burrito was lacking chorizo and any flavor. This is my fourth time eating here and my fourth disappointment. However, the cocktails are great! Drink your meal here.

food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Shouldn't have picked a special day

Dined on February 15, 2016

An overpowering smell of fish met us at the door. The prices were very inflated for Valentine's Day as well. The normal menu looks good but Im not sure I would try it again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My boyfriend lives in Texas and we have been together for two years. It's hard having a "normal" relationship so far away but man is he worth it! We decided to spend our first Valentine's Day actually together at Scratch kitchen after my friend Zach who use to live above the restaurant recommended it. It really fit our style and our fondness for a quiet surrounding. The Valentine's menu was delicious and our waitress was so polite and quick with our service. We really enjoyed our romantic quiet evening at Scratch Kitchen and would love to come back again to check out what the full menu offers. Thank you for helping us celebrate an important moment and memory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We'll Be Back

Dined on February 14, 2016

The decor of the restaurant was great. It had a date night/late night feel. The food and service were fantastic. Our cocktails were awesome, and they gave us a TON to choose from. My only complaint was everything was expensive for the portions they served, but we went on a holiday, so it wasn't the normal menu. However, we did look at the normal menu, and it seemed fairly reasonable. I highly recommend the Sooner Cobbler cocktail and the Tres Leches Cake dessert. We plan to go back for their brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We've been to Scratch on a couple of occasions and wanted to stay close to home for Valentines Day. Scratch was our clear choice. They have a nice selection of drinks with their unique flair along with a good variety of beers to choose from. We went early so there weren't too many people there so it was nice and quiet (much different than the other times we have been here. For this occasion, they had a special menu. The entree choices covered all the bases (meat, fish, vegetarian) and we both opted for the roast lamb chops. They were prepared perfectly, tasted amazing, and I must say the best lamb chops I have ever had. The server was very courteous although a little disorganized, but with a special menu that was not too surprising. We will be returning here again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are always impeccab ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service are always impeccable. We really enjoy the brunch drink specials and extra touches.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

All food was of high quality, well-presented. Prices perhaps a bit high for some of the selections, but not objectionably so. Server very accommodating, yet unobtrusive. The combination that always satisfies...!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scratch is great!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Scratch quality of food is a 10. The drinks use the freshest ingredients and of a high quality. A little higher than your normal chain restaurants, but much better quality.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

A little loud but overall A+ . Cocktails ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

A little loud but overall A+ . Cocktails were great, food was great, service was good and prices were fair. We will be back for seconds:)

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.