HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Scratch Kitchen and Cocktails

4.3
112 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (146)
  • Great for Brunch (105)
  • Neighborhood Gem (99)

Similar Restaurants

About

We're nerds about flavor. Food fills our thoughts between meals. We spend our free time honing our knife skills, studying spices, dissecting spirits, and doing anything to better prepare daring, delicious feasts, because our reputation is forged in our kitchen and behind our bar. Good food is our best advertising. We're incredibly friendly, but will always fix you a mean plate.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(405) 801-2900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathan Nuss
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine
What 112 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on June 17, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Norman!

Report
Helpful
AlexP (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service; the cocktail menu is the best in Norman.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
3.0  Dined on June 7, 2016

I would say that the dining experience was a bit overrated and overpriced. However, the food was good and the waiter was excellent.

Report
Helpful
tbinnorman (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on June 3, 2016

Just really good food and service. This was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 21, 2016

Our first visit to Scratch. Liked how everything, down to the catsup, is made from "scratch." Everything had a fresh taste to it. It was fun choosing a cocktail by the names. Having house made liqueurs was nice. Abundant amount of food with our orders. Will look forward to going again.

Report
Helpful
Redskigirl (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 21, 2016

Service and food were good! Restaurant has fun decor. Fun place!

Report
Helpful
vipEnviroqueen (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on May 21, 2016

I made the reservations through OpenTable, obviously. When I asked about making sure I got credit (points) from OpenTable, the hostess did not know anything about that. I think she may have heard about OpenTable but even that was not clear. Later on she checked with the manager, and said he said "We do not give Open Table points". Some education may be in order. Two days later, I got OpenTable's email saying I had been awarded 100 points.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
2.0  Dined on May 20, 2016

Great ambiance. Knowledgeable and friendly server but slow on keeping drinks filled. For $96, I expect a lot more, especially having worked in fine dining for ten years. Had blackened chicken pasta and I could do better at home. I felt ripped off actually.

Report
Helpful
vipHouston808 (Houston)
4.0  Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very good. There was a bit of trouble getting the dishes out in the correct order (entree arrived well before the salad) but everything was good. The downsides were the noise level and seating. It was extremely loud in the restaurant, with our group of 5 having to yell across the table to be heard. We had a booth which was very uncomfortable -- the benches were an inconvenient height, as well as a strange distance from the table.

Report
Helpful
CuzImHappy (Denver)
3.0  Dined on May 14, 2016

We were a group of ten and were seated in a birds' nest like room off by ourselves. The arrangement was very uncomfortable with no room to lift our arms and even read the menus side-by-side. We asked and were nicely given another larger table. Unfortunately, the U-style table and loudness of the room made it nearly impossible to talk with anyone across the table. The U in the table set us about 5-6 feet away from them and it was very frustrating because this was a special meal celebrating graduation and we were unable to enjoy people we were trying to get to know better. The food was very good, the drinks were okay, and the service was alright too. Noise level is extremely high.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 14, 2016

LOVE this place. One of the best restaurants in Norman; especially if quality & sourcing of food is important to you!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 12, 2016

The food and service were top notch. We had the fillets and the medallions and they were cooked perfectly.

Report
Helpful
QualityFirst (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful place, worth the price for a special occasion! Everything is made from Scratch! 😍

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
4.0  Dined on May 8, 2016

Found this spot while searching for places in Norman to have Mother's Day Brunch with my OU student and his younger brother. We had a later reservation, and I think we missed some live music, but the inside decor was very nice. The place had slowed down a bit, but they hadn't run out of anything on the menu. My kids cleaned their plates of the waffles and bacon, and my mimosa was yummy. The spinach, sun dried tomato and goat cheese quiche I ordered was cold. I was surprised, but the server explained that it is supposed to be served that way, but she'd have them warm it for me. It wasn't any warmer when she returned with it, but it was so good it no longer mattered! I just went with it.
Overall a very nice experience in a an area of Norman I had not visited yet.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is amazing! Everything was delicious! Have been here many times and will continue to come back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
4.0  Dined on May 7, 2016

My family recently met here for a Mother's Day lunch. The service was excellent as has always been the case whenever I have been to Scratch. Their crab cakes and spinach dip are two of my favorite appetizers. I have also been here for brunch and found the food to be above average. The house salad is very nice with fresh green beans, broccoli, tomatoes, and lettuce. Their cocktails are where they really shine! The wait staff is always helpful when suggesting cocktails.

Report
Helpful
ReneeP (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was truly delicious! Our party enjoyed breakfast and are making plans to have dinner at Scratch Kitchen and Cocktails, soon. I'd like to give special notice to Claire. Her attention to our table was wonderful. She was a delight and very knowledgeable about the course offerings. She answered our questions thoroughly and explained from the onset all sauces, condiments, bread, indeed everything, was made from scratch. The restaurant doesn't even house a microwave. The food certainly upheld this claim.

My only negative comment is in regard to the Mimosas, though I know most people would not object. The balance of champagne to orange juice was too heavy on the champagne for my taste. This, of course, is easily corrected. Next time, I will request a lighter version.

All in all, I would highly recommend Scratch for a weekday dinner or a special occasion. We were celebrating the latter and my mother, whom we were honoring, was made to feel very special. We will, most definitely, be back!

Report
Helpful
CarrieM (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on May 6, 2016

Scratch is the go-to place for our girl friend get-together. We love the happy hour specials and the creative drinks. The Sooner Board is one of our favorites. It changes all the time and is always a treat.

Report
Helpful
vipSuze (Oklahoma City)
4.0  Dined on April 30, 2016

First time here for brunch. Downtown location in old building. Were seated promptly and service was excellent. Knowledgeable server who was not annoying and was around when we needed something. Food choices made it difficult to decide. I did wish they had a couple of less breakfast type lunch entrees though since I had already eaten breakfast. Everything is made from scratch so prices are a little on the high side but not unreasonable. Overall a nice meal and experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Oklahoma City)
4.0  Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything is made from scratch, and the food was amazing! The pulled pork nachos was the absolute best appetizer I've had to date.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6