About Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)

Casual Fine Dining in a comfortable atmosphere is the best way to describe Gainesville's premier Downtown eatery. Great food prepared with attention to detail, an unparalleled wine list and the best wait staff North of Atlanta are some of the hallmarks of Scott's.
We are located in downtown Gainesville in the historic Pilgrim Estes building. Our menu offers a wide range of choices from USDA Prime, hand cut steaks, the freshest seafood and local produce with seasonally inspired weekly specials. With a wine list of over 150 wines,many by the glass you will certainly be able to find a perfect match for your menu selection. Enjoy one of our five private dining rooms for two to celebrate that special occasion or one of our larger rooms for social and business events. We have dinner hours, live entertainment on Saturday night and lunch hours during the week. Our bar and lounge opens at 4:30 with Happy Hour from 5-7pm ! We are Atlanta & North Georgia's best kept secret!

131 Bradford St NW
Gainesville, GA 30501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 pm -9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 9:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Brenau Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 536-1111

Website:
http://www.scottsdowntown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday evenings. Vocalist, saxaphonist and guitarist are just a few of our entertainers scheduled weekly. Entertainment schedule available at www.scottsdowntown.com

Catering:
The Loft at Scott's is our special event facility with seating up to 500. We also provide off premises catering. We offer a complete line of corporate and social catering including: Concert Baskets, Day on the Lake Picnics, Weddings, Bridal Luncheons, Rehearsal Dinners, Company parties, Holiday Gatherings.

Call on Scott's Catering Department to put together a memorable event for you.

Parking Details:
Parking after five available in neighboring parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Scott Dixon Chef De Cuisine - Peter Brandes Exec Sous - John Dinzole

Private Party Facilities:
Scott's Downtown is the perfect place to host your next private event. The Restaurant offers two private dining rooms to accommodate up to 24 and The Loft at Scott's can accommodate larger groups up to 500! Business meeting space is available up to 24 with audio and visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Kay Dixon: (888) 672-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer private meeting/event spaces as well as the option to rent the entire restaurant out. Minimum Food and Beverage charges apply to complete rental.

Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Private Room (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Historic (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, service and music were superb. The decor is a bit confusing. Old mill style ceiling with exposed mechanicals and modern drywall walls. Cool wooden barrel with a reception area like a hair salon. It was like it couldn't decide what it wanted to be. Fortunately, the food makes a clear statement and that is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent service and outstanding food in a comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Our server was extremely knowledgeable. The food was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent food excellent service. Nice ambiance for special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Reserved a table at Scotts for my wife's birthday on a Saturday night. Had never been there. It was very nice. The restaurant is beautiful inside (it is in an old downtown building with hardwood floors etc.). We were seated at a very nice table in the front. We started with a spinach dip appetizer which came with fried bowtie pasta for dipping (different and nice). My wife and I then both had the spicy tomato bisque which we both found excellent and true to its name, had a very nice spice to it. I had the seafood trio with brussel sprouts and parmesan risotto (very yummy). The sweet chili shrimp and crab cake on the trio were excellent. The Mahi Mahi on the trio was good but could have used a little more seasoning. My wife had a steak that was done nicely and my daughter a very nice chicken dish. A live singer provided a nice ambiance for dinner. Our server was very attentive.

I would definitely go back there again for a special occasion or just for a nice meal out in Gainesville.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Love Scotts! Our favorite anniversary restaurant! They will make you feel special and the food is delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have dined at Scott's since day 1 - always fine selections, service & good wine available!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall the experience was very nice for my wife and me for our anniversary. The sesame tuna appetizer was delicious as was the raspberry cheesecake and crane brûlée, the best part of the meal for us. The Cajun Ribeye was very tender and good but not as flavorful as I had expected. My wife had the Shrimp and Grits and though good was not as good as expected. Overall we liked the whole evening and will probably go again. Waiter was very good. Ambience was what made it special along with my beautiful wife!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We were in Gainesville overnight and were searching for a place to have a nice dinner. After reading reviews on TripAdviser, we decided to give Scott's a try. What a gem! We sat in a little private alcove, which was romantic and quiet enough for easy conversation. The menu was varied and original. From the tuna to the brussel sprouts to the grits to the prime filet - everything was exquisitely prepared. The wine list is extensive, and reasonably priced. We would absolutely go back if/when we are ever in Gainesville again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent menu and wine list that has never disappointed us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Still being relatively new GA residents, Scott's Downtown was recommended as an excellent restaurant to try for our "birthday" dinner. Located about 40 miles from our home in Athens, now that we have eaten there once and know just how great it is, we would drive twice that distance to enjoy having dinner there.

The moment we walked in we were greeted in the most friendly manner and welcomed to Scott's. Our dining experience was truly exceptional, from the staff to the wine to the appetizers to the main course to the dessert. Our server was friendly, professional and remained very attentive throughout the entire time we were there, which was about two hours. Adding to the superbly prepared meal and fabulous overall experience, Scott, himself, came by to say hello and ask how everything was, which we found pleasurable and very meaningful.

Since we moved to Athens two years ago, my wife and I have continued to search for a restaurant that "wowed" us and we have now finally found "our" place....Scott's Downtown. We are already looking forward to going back again, but this next time, friends of ours have already said they are going with us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. We always go on special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonderful environment and outstanding food, a must stop when in Gainesville

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was our first visit. I ordered the Cajun ribeye and my wife order glazed chicken. Both dishes were over cooked. When we said something to the server, she just said "I'm sorry" and brought us our $160.00 check.

For a restaurant that claims their specialty is steak, they should know how to cook a medium steak. I will not go back as the price is not justified at all. I will continue to visit Luna's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My husband took me to Scott's for my birthday dinner and everything was perfect. The service was exceptional, the food was phenomenal, excellent wine and luscious dessert. I couldn't have wished for a nicer birthday! Wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Although I've been here before and always enjoyed it, I must add that is continues to be a favorite. I was with a group of 10 and everyone agreed that all was excellent and this is the place to meet again. We had a private room where it was quiet and everyone could be heard as we conversed. A big PlUS! The service...excellent! The food was also excellent. I had a glazed salmon that was perfectly done with wonderful glaze, amazing Brussels sprouts that were shredded and roasted with bacon, and grits with Gouda cheese. I'm not a grit liking person but this side was to die for! Obviously, I will return!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was not full but they were working at capacity. They didn't have enough wait service personnel to really make the experience top rated.
The drinks were delightful and the food excellent. I would go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. More upscale with reasonable prices. My only negative is service is a little slow but it usually is at these type resturants so expect to be there over an hour.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best fine dining in Gainesville. Quiet, professional, upscale, and friendly. No need to drive to Atlanta, Scott's is where it is at. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I travel to Gainesville once a year on business. Scott's is the best Gainesville restaurant that I've been in. A lot of very interesting menu choices... I was in a party of five... And all of the food was tasty. This is a Gainesville gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

As always DELISH!!! My favorite restaurant in Gainesville.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Scott's. It was a perfect night. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and the steaks were cooked to perfection. Scott came by the table and made our night ! What a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fabulous treasure.... loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What a great place in the town of Gainesville Georgia. Really a big city quality with sensational food and service.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful evening. Great food. Hostess not the friendliest. Waited to be seated while she arranged menus. Once seated our waitress introduced herself and said she would be back to light our candle and give us the specials. 20 mins went by and then Scott came out checking on everyone. I politely told him our situation and he was so gracious and friendly. He took care of the mixup, gave us first round of drinks on him. Then the night went smoothly and food delicious and ample. A+ on the comeback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a great dining experience. The food was perfect, and our server, Jane, could not have been more attentive. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Kudos to all. The noise level was too high for our tastes; but it was prom night, so we cannot hold that against the restaurant. We just need to remember and celebrate on a date earlier or later next year. That was the only thing that kept the evening from reaching a perfect 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Not enough servers left us sitting. Scott intervened to save the evening. Food is excellent but pricey but your choices are limited in the country.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We try and eat at Scott's whenever we visit Gainesville. It's the nicest place for an upscale dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our "go to" spots for dinner. It was extra busy due to prom night so service was a little slow getting started. The waiter handled it beautifully. We offered to go to the bar for a before dinner drink since we were not in a hurry. The hostess said no but we should have gone a way. I still LOVE it and highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ambiance was nice. Food was bland and expensive for what it was. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food, location and service. Could have had some extra help for waiters for water refills and the like. Will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great private dining for anniversary ! We loved the friendly service . Please add strawberry margaritas to cocktails .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Outstanding service and excellent appetizers and entrees. We look forward to dining at Scott's again soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

great room for our meeting thank you Scott,xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, good cocktails, upscale ambience. I was impressed by the private dining nook for 2! I immediately thought "anniversary!" The only thing I would improve is the beer selection. With such an extensive wine collection, maybe 10 rotating craft bottles would make it a favorite for my husband, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Brunch at Scott's this year and we were all pleasantly surprised. The seafood selection was outstanding. Everyone commented on how FRESH the seafood was. Fresh oysters, shrimp and the BEST smoked salmon! The salad and fresh fruit sections were great as well. Everyone in our group said the Prime Rib (carving station) was excellent. The Eggs Benedict was overcooked though- no runny yolk. I enjoyed the bananas foster french toast. The Krispy Kreme donut bread pudding was unique and yummy. Others at the table said the Creme Brûlée was the best of all the desserts. Chef Scott was out and about conversing with diners. Nice touch. The servers were friendly although we had to ask for our table to be cleared of dirty dishes once. Scotts has really good food however, the place could use a major reno. We are foodies and consider atmosphere a major "ingredient" in dining. The restaurant itself is just not very inviting with old chairs and outdated art, carpets...ALL IN ALL THOUGH, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and service were excellent. We made a special request for a side dish that wasn't on the menu that night and the staff did not hesitate to meet our request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The pear cocktail was excellent and the food was very good. Service was way too slow, though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ambiance: Website showed live entertainment for 4/1, perhaps it was an April Fool's joke since we were presented with a special "reserved" seating in front of where the singer was to perform, yet received the closest proximity to the wedding noise upstairs and the constant interruption of people using the staircase to/from the wedding reception. The restaurant has ample duo "cave" rooms available for private moments, but we did not receive one of those tables, despite the availability upon arrival. I asked our server about this and was told "I guess they decided not to come tonight due to to the wedding noise upstairs, it would be hard for them to be heard". WTH?

Food: I compared this restaurant with others in the NE corridor, that I have visited prior, and was eager to try this. While the seafood mixed grill that I had was good, the shrimp my wife had was of questionable doneness (unbelievable to make shrimp and grits questionable). This place is not worth the price point that is required. Open Table users will be better served visiting neighboring establishments, perhaps Antebellum in Flowery Branch (visited 4 times and always flawless), or Cotton Calf Kitchen in Braselton.

Service: One final thing I have never had happen at a place of this price point before, is the wait staff deliver two meals to our table that were meant for a completely different couple. The dishes were set down before us and I had to tell our waiter, that took our order btw, that this is not our meal. This, along with the shrimp, is attention to detail that should never be compromised at a place at this level.

Overall: My worst rating ever on Open Table, which is hard because I have typically given great reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent meal and service!
Celebrated daughter's 21st birthday. Chef visited our table twice to make sure we were happy. Great night out for our party of 7.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.