About Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)

131 Bradford St NW
Gainesville, GA 30501
View Larger Map

Casual Fine Dining in a comfortable atmosphere is the best way to describe Gainesville's premier Downtown eatery. Great food prepared with attention to detail, an unparalleled wine list and the best wait staff North of Atlanta are some of the hallmarks of Scott's.
We are located in downtown Gainesville in the historic Pilgrim Estes building. Our menu offers a wide range of choices from USDA Prime, hand cut steaks, the freshest seafood and local produce with seasonally inspired weekly specials. With a wine list of over 150 wines,many by the glass you will certainly be able to find a perfect match for your menu selection. Enjoy one of our five private dining rooms for two to celebrate that special occasion or one of our larger rooms for social and business events. We have dinner hours, live entertainment on the weekends and lunch hours during the week. Our new bar and lounge is now opened! We are Atlanta & North Georgia's best kept secret!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Brenau Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 536-1111

Website:
http://www.scottsdowntown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday evenings. Vocalist, saxaphonist and guitarist are just a few of our entertainers scheduled weekly. Entertainment schedule available at www.scottsdowntown.com

Catering:
The Loft at Scott's is our newest event facility with seating up to 500. We also provide off premises catering. We offer a complete line of corporate and social catering including: Concert Baskets, Day on the Lake Picnics, Weddings, Bridal Luncheons, Rehearsal Dinners, Company parties, Holiday Gatherings.

Call on Scott's Catering Department to put together a memorable event for you.

Parking Details:
Parking after five available in neighboring parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Scott Dixon Chef De Cuisine Jeremy Wilkson

Private Party Facilities:
Scott's Downtown is the perfect place to host your next private event. The Restaurant offers two private dining rooms to accommodate up to 24 and The Loft at Scott's can accommodate larger groups up to 500! Business meeting space is available up to 24 with audio and visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Kay Dixon: 8886721780

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer private meeting/event spaces as well as the option to rent the entire restaurant out. Minimum Food and Beverage charges apply to complete rental.

Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Atlanta / Georgia
Special Occasion
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Northeast Atlanta
7 More
Best Food
Northeast Atlanta
Best Service
Northeast Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Northeast Atlanta
Best Value
Northeast Atlanta
Fit for Foodies
Northeast Atlanta
Romantic
Northeast Atlanta
Special Occasion
Northeast Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Gainesville ›

special occasion (33)
romantic (29)
fit for foodies (17)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (13)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We celebrated our anniversary at Scott's ...

Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Scott's. The food was delicious but I thought pricey. Scott is such a great chef and personality - we will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Casual fine dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great dinner for a graduation here with a party of nine and they were very accommodating to the two children in our party. Highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Great dinner! Music on Friday nights in ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great dinner! Music on Friday nights in dinning room was wonderful. Highly recommend this restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Have eaten at most restaurants in Gainesville, GA. Scott's hands down is the best in town. Menu is diverse, wine list is comprehensive. Seafood had seaside quality and steaks have steakhouse quality. Something on the menu for everyone even kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Cuisine and Accommodating Staff

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our travels took us to the Lake Lanier area and we chose Scott's based on a multitude of positive reviews on the web. We were looking for a great wine selection and quality steaks and Scott's definitely delivered on both counts. We made our reservations via Open Table and this proved to be highly helpful as we were delayed quite a bit due to bad traffic and had to move our reservation time back twice using the Open Table app. When we arrived, the hostess was very cordial and greeted us by name. Our server was a lovely young lady, both knowledgeable and helpful. We were seated in one of the private alcoves and enjoyed the special feel of the semi-private setting. Though the restaurant has a high-end feel, diners were comfortable in casual attire. We ordered steaks—premium ribeye for him and filet for me—an Oregon Pinot Noir. The steaks were perfectly prepared and perfectly delicious, as were the sides. It was a delightful meal and we would definitely recommend Scott's Downtown!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Scott's Easter Brunch . . . ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always enjoy Scott's Easter Brunch . . . this year was no exception! Scott's does a fantastic job. We've never had a bad experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This review is for Easter brunch.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was slow, chicken was dry and very tough. Oysters were good, eggs Benedict were good. Good makings for lox and bagels, but no bagels, only crackers and biscuits. They charge you $30 plus for the brunch and then extra for coffee and tea. Just didn't feel right.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Brunch was delicious as usual. I absolutely love the salmon. I look forward to it every Easter. Unfortunately we are always disappointed in the desserts. Overall the food and service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Main meal and appetizer was excellent. S ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Main meal and appetizer was excellent. Sea Bass was especially excellent. Dessert was ok, no bad but not great. Our waiter, Peter was outstanding!!! We'd definitely go back! If you go, ask for Peter!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ladies Lunch Bunch enjoyed lunch!

Dined on February 23, 2016

Although this neighborhood group of ladies enjoy trying different restaurants and not returning to the same ones, Scott's is an exception. Everytime we've been there whether we're 15 or less, we are able to carry on with conversation. Service is always good and, as always, all enjoyed the dishes they were served. Being lunch, I had a chicken salad croissant sandwich and lettuce wedge salad. Great choice. The salad was an iceberg wedge with bacon pieces, blue cheese crumbles, tomatoes and blue cheese dressing. Very fresh! Serving of delicious chicken salad was generous. Of course, we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good

Dined on February 21, 2016

Too good and the waitress was awesome..thank you Jeffrey I will return real soon

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful surprise!!

Dined on February 19, 2016

My husband and I were traveling between Gadsden, AL where we had just selected a Siberian Huskey puppy - my Valentines Day gift - to Clemson, SC. As we do on so many occasions, we checked our opentable app for restaurants nearby. Scott's Downtown in Gainesville, GA was our choice and we were not disappointed. Although we felt under-dressed, every one made us feel welcomed from the host to the owner. We started with the sesame tuna which was prepared perfectly. My husband had the sea bass and I had the crab cakes. They had a wonderful selection of side dishes. I am on a slightly restricted diet and did not have a problem finding something delicious. We finished with coffee and the bread pudding. Could not help myself, I had to have a taste. Lucky for me, my husband decided that it was too good to share. Jeffery, our waiter, was attentive and helpful with just the right amount of humor. I hope I did not spell his name wrong. We had a wonderful evening and talked all about it on our hour and a half trip home. Although we will not be stopping on our way back from picking up Riley, when we go back to select his companion Scott,'s will definitely be on the agenda. We may just make the trip just to go back for dinner and bring children and grandchildren with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Scotts several times. Ea ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been to Scotts several times. Each time was better than the last. The food is excellent and the waitstaff is always top notch. I would recommend it to anyone who loves GOOD food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were VERY pleased with our experience. The only complaint is that we were first offered an undesirable table, then made to wait for a different table in a mostly empty restaurant. The reason given was that reservations had to be considered (we had a reservation), and by the time we finished our delicious meal, the restaurant was still more than half empty. The food was exceptional, and our server was very friendly and personable. We would love to come back for a different special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our server Haley was perfect, there when needed. Good knowledge of menu, very pleasant. Food was wonderful, we enjoyed the grouper and bourbon salmon. The sides complimented our entree. The ambiance was relaxing, live background music ...perfect. We can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed everything. The chef came ou ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

We enjoyed everything. The chef came out and spoke to the table beside us several times but never spoke to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice birthday evening

Dined on February 5, 2016

I took my wife out for her birthday and we had a very good experience at Scotts. The food was seasoned perfectly and cooked well. The mixed grill wa excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Happy Birthday

Dined on January 24, 2016

My husband and I both celebrate our birthdays in January and we had a very noce celebration at Scott's. Food was superb we love the little alcoves, fabulous music and our server was on top of her game.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Gainsville

Dined on January 10, 2016

Easily accommodated increasing our party by 2. Great food and service, so we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great

Dined on January 2, 2016

I had a diet concern and they not only took care of me they made it seem effortless. Several dishes were ordered around the table and everybody was very impressed with the quality of the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

World class restaurant in a small city

Dined on December 23, 2015

Having been lucky enough enough to dine all over the globe my wife and I feel we are entitled to call something world-class. On our first visit to Scott's we both agreed that the food is as good as any we've eaten in Europe, Asia, and around North America...so we told him so. Didn't think upon moving so the small city of Gainesville, Georgia that we'd find this kind of experience. Have been back a number of times and never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. My ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

The food and service were excellent. My wife and I loved the Chipotle sugar glazed bacon appetizer and the baked avocado imperial appetizer. The shrimp and grits with andouille sausage was also fantastic. Service was attentive and helpful when answering questions about the menu. The night we were their they had live entertainment which was just the right sound level during and after dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC PLACE ! YOU MUST GO !

Dined on December 19, 2015

Fantastic food...Service is always special...UNLIKE several restaurants in the area, Scotts is always fresh and served hot the way you want it. And unlike several restaurants in the area, Scott never has to pay patrons for reviews.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent dining

Dined on December 18, 2015

The food was excellent, the waiter was very attentive (without hovering) and was also spot on about the food and wine recommendations. Overall I would say this is a hidden treasure in a small town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Nicely surprised

Dined on December 15, 2015

The restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside but is gorgeous inside.. very nice and spacious. The food is diverse. Their fried oysters are a MUST to try.. overall pretty satisfied, Will go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find in Gainesville! The me ...

Dined on December 8, 2015

What a great find in Gainesville! The menu and wine list rival any fine dining restaurant anywhere. The Decor, food presentation, menu selection, top-notch service, makes this a must go to not just for special occasions but for any occasion. Will be going back for New Year's eve, the menu looks incredible!

food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointed this time

Dined on November 21, 2015

We have been to Scott's many times but lately we have been disappointed. This past visit, the food was fair, canned music seemed inappropriate and wait staff were very friendly but seem disorganized. May return but will think twice before doing so.

food1
ambience3
service2

Bad, overpriced, slow meal.

Dined on November 18, 2015

Overdone meat that was not a filet, cold, starchy and tasteless risotto, micro-mini scallops. Salads took 40 minutes to appear. Prices ridiculous for what we got. Will never return. Ever.

food5
ambience5
service5

Scott's is my go-to place for lunch with ...

Dined on November 4, 2015

Scott's is my go-to place for lunch with VIP clients or as a special evening with friends. The food and service are always top notch.

food4
ambience5
service4

Fine Dining in Gainesville

Dined on November 1, 2015

Wow...what a lovely evening we had at Scott's. It was our first time there, and we were graciously welcomed by everyone, including Scott. We were seated at a cozy alcove table for two (perfect for a romantic dinner), complete with adjustable lighting; there was soft (live) guitar music being played. Very nice ambience and first impression. Our server Elijah took great care of us, going over the wine list and menu, answering questions and making suggestions as needed. Good wine list and creative menu with plenty of choices for every palate. Dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. Since it was a slow evening (Halloween), we got to enjoy some great conversation both with Elijah and Scott. Very enjoyable experience; we will be back and bring friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

2 visits in 2 weeks - must be good!

Dined on October 24, 2015

We had previously eaten Mother's Day brunch at Scott's a few years ago and have to admit, had not really thought too much about it again - for no real reason except that we kind of forgot about it. Our bad - we have now been there twice in 2 weeks with different people and the food and service have been superb. You must try the avocado Imperial and I had the crab and tuna tower both times! The mixed seafood grill is a delight and I had the duck as a main course - wonderful. Great wine list and some cool cocktails - for gin lovers you must try their special with St. Germaine in it - my husband is hooked! Dessets are also very special. Love that Scott himself always visits the table and requests feedback. Gainesville and North Ga is lucky to have this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Good but not Great

Dined on October 24, 2015

This was a special night for my wife and me. It was our 56th wedding anniversary. I was hoping for a flawless dinner experience. We were warmly greeted when we arrived, and had a very fine young man as our server. He was properly informed that this was a special night for us, and he did everything he could to make it memorable. When my iceberg wedge salad arrived, the lettuce was not cold and crisp. My wife and I both ordered the 8 oz prime filet. When they were served, they were beautiful cuts of beef, cooked to the perfect level of doneness. However, they had been finished in salty butter, thus making the steak so salty that we could taste nothing but the salt. This was a huge disappointment, and it dampened our dining experience. I expected better from all that I had read and heard about this fine dining restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Boy Celebrated

Dined on October 8, 2015

Surprised my husband with dinner at Scott's last week and it was a lovely meal as always. I knew without a doubt the food would be spectacular, the service impeccable, and the ambience worth every dollar! Everyone should make this a go-to for special occasions and "just because"!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Birthday lunch

Dined on October 7, 2015

Very friendly staff and great service. Food was very well presented and delicious. Alcove dining was private, but a little dark and cramped for 3 people. Nice spot for two. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

A great find

Dined on September 26, 2015

We totally enjoyed our dinner. The service was pleasent and attentive and could not have been better. Maybe next time we will reserve one of the private rooms.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

No need to drive to Atlanta for fine din ...

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

No need to drive to Atlanta for fine dinning... Scott's has it covered. Excellent service by Gina and outstanding food prepared by Scott. Plus, Scott took the time to come out to our table to tell us about his outstanding restaurant. Good for a date night, special occasions and large groups. If you are local to the area and have not tried this restaurant, you are missing a treat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Scotts Restaurant Review

Dined on September 17, 2015

Dining experience was wonderful. The ambiance and appearance of the restaurant is inviting. The table layouts and seating arrangements are great. We enjoyed a very enjoyable meal along with a varied selections of wines. Our waiter was a great addition to our experience and rounded it out for us. We would recommend both the restaurant and bistro for anyone whois looking for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Scott's on the Square

Dined on September 6, 2015

The food is absolutely fabulous. Wonderfully prepared and the flavors literally burst in your mouth. Excellent wine list and the choices for food and wine are varied and exotic. Service was excellent and our server was friendly and very professional. This is a unique restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

It's not Atlanta!

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

Went to Scotts after a several year break. He was on the square last time we went and the waiters were snooty and food just OK. So now in his new location and after surviving the past few tough years I had hoped the food would have progressed and the service would have settled in with experienced regular waiters. But what I found was an inexperienced waiter, meats and fish way over salted and a wine list with several selections missing. Too bad, we are still waiting for the whole package in at least one restaurant in Gainesville, GA, but alas its not Scotts - don't waste your money here.

food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service. never disappointed

Dined on August 22, 2015

Love this place. Nice to have great food without going to downtown atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.