About Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)

Casual Fine Dining in a comfortable atmosphere is the best way to describe Gainesville's premier Downtown eatery. Great food prepared with attention to detail, an unparalleled wine list and the best wait staff North of Atlanta are some of the hallmarks of Scott's.
We are located in downtown Gainesville in the historic Pilgrim Estes building. Our menu offers a wide range of choices from USDA Prime, hand cut steaks, the freshest seafood and local produce with seasonally inspired weekly specials. With a wine list of over 150 wines,many by the glass you will certainly be able to find a perfect match for your menu selection. Enjoy one of our five private dining rooms for two to celebrate that special occasion or one of our larger rooms for social and business events. We have dinner hours, live entertainment on Saturday night and lunch hours during the week. Our bar and lounge opens at 4:30 with Happy Hour from 5-7pm ! We are Atlanta & North Georgia's best kept secret!

131 Bradford St NW
Gainesville, GA 30501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 pm -9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 9:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Brenau Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 536-1111

Website:
http://www.scottsdowntown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday evenings. Vocalist, saxaphonist and guitarist are just a few of our entertainers scheduled weekly. Entertainment schedule available at www.scottsdowntown.com

Catering:
The Loft at Scott's is our special event facility with seating up to 500. We also provide off premises catering. We offer a complete line of corporate and social catering including: Concert Baskets, Day on the Lake Picnics, Weddings, Bridal Luncheons, Rehearsal Dinners, Company parties, Holiday Gatherings.

Call on Scott's Catering Department to put together a memorable event for you.

Parking Details:
Parking after five available in neighboring parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Scott Dixon Chef De Cuisine - Peter Brandes Exec Sous - John Dinzole

Private Party Facilities:
Scott's Downtown is the perfect place to host your next private event. The Restaurant offers two private dining rooms to accommodate up to 24 and The Loft at Scott's can accommodate larger groups up to 500! Business meeting space is available up to 24 with audio and visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Kay Dixon: (888) 672-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer private meeting/event spaces as well as the option to rent the entire restaurant out. Minimum Food and Beverage charges apply to complete rental.

Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Private Room (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Historic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was not full but they were working at capacity. They didn't have enough wait service personnel to really make the experience top rated.
The drinks were delightful and the food excellent. I would go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. More upscale with reasonable prices. My only negative is service is a little slow but it usually is at these type resturants so expect to be there over an hour.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best fine dining in Gainesville. Quiet, professional, upscale, and friendly. No need to drive to Atlanta, Scott's is where it is at. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I travel to Gainesville once a year on business. Scott's is the best Gainesville restaurant that I've been in. A lot of very interesting menu choices... I was in a party of five... And all of the food was tasty. This is a Gainesville gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

As always DELISH!!! My favorite restaurant in Gainesville.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Scott's. It was a perfect night. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and the steaks were cooked to perfection. Scott came by the table and made our night ! What a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What a great place in the town of Gainesville Georgia. Really a big city quality with sensational food and service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful evening. Great food. Hostess not the friendliest. Waited to be seated while she arranged menus. Once seated our waitress introduced herself and said she would be back to light our candle and give us the specials. 20 mins went by and then Scott came out checking on everyone. I politely told him our situation and he was so gracious and friendly. He took care of the mixup, gave us first round of drinks on him. Then the night went smoothly and food delicious and ample. A+ on the comeback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a great dining experience. The food was perfect, and our server, Jane, could not have been more attentive. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Kudos to all. The noise level was too high for our tastes; but it was prom night, so we cannot hold that against the restaurant. We just need to remember and celebrate on a date earlier or later next year. That was the only thing that kept the evening from reaching a perfect 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Not enough servers left us sitting. Scott intervened to save the evening. Food is excellent but pricey but your choices are limited in the country.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We try and eat at Scott's whenever we visit Gainesville. It's the nicest place for an upscale dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our "go to" spots for dinner. It was extra busy due to prom night so service was a little slow getting started. The waiter handled it beautifully. We offered to go to the bar for a before dinner drink since we were not in a hurry. The hostess said no but we should have gone a way. I still LOVE it and highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food, location and service. Could have had some extra help for waiters for water refills and the like. Will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ambiance was nice. Food was bland and expensive for what it was. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great private dining for anniversary ! We loved the friendly service . Please add strawberry margaritas to cocktails .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Outstanding service and excellent appetizers and entrees. We look forward to dining at Scott's again soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

great room for our meeting thank you Scott,xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, good cocktails, upscale ambience. I was impressed by the private dining nook for 2! I immediately thought "anniversary!" The only thing I would improve is the beer selection. With such an extensive wine collection, maybe 10 rotating craft bottles would make it a favorite for my husband, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Brunch at Scott's this year and we were all pleasantly surprised. The seafood selection was outstanding. Everyone commented on how FRESH the seafood was. Fresh oysters, shrimp and the BEST smoked salmon! The salad and fresh fruit sections were great as well. Everyone in our group said the Prime Rib (carving station) was excellent. The Eggs Benedict was overcooked though- no runny yolk. I enjoyed the bananas foster french toast. The Krispy Kreme donut bread pudding was unique and yummy. Others at the table said the Creme Brûlée was the best of all the desserts. Chef Scott was out and about conversing with diners. Nice touch. The servers were friendly although we had to ask for our table to be cleared of dirty dishes once. Scotts has really good food however, the place could use a major reno. We are foodies and consider atmosphere a major "ingredient" in dining. The restaurant itself is just not very inviting with old chairs and outdated art, carpets...ALL IN ALL THOUGH, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and service were excellent. We made a special request for a side dish that wasn't on the menu that night and the staff did not hesitate to meet our request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The pear cocktail was excellent and the food was very good. Service was way too slow, though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ambiance: Website showed live entertainment for 4/1, perhaps it was an April Fool's joke since we were presented with a special "reserved" seating in front of where the singer was to perform, yet received the closest proximity to the wedding noise upstairs and the constant interruption of people using the staircase to/from the wedding reception. The restaurant has ample duo "cave" rooms available for private moments, but we did not receive one of those tables, despite the availability upon arrival. I asked our server about this and was told "I guess they decided not to come tonight due to to the wedding noise upstairs, it would be hard for them to be heard". WTH?

Food: I compared this restaurant with others in the NE corridor, that I have visited prior, and was eager to try this. While the seafood mixed grill that I had was good, the shrimp my wife had was of questionable doneness (unbelievable to make shrimp and grits questionable). This place is not worth the price point that is required. Open Table users will be better served visiting neighboring establishments, perhaps Antebellum in Flowery Branch (visited 4 times and always flawless), or Cotton Calf Kitchen in Braselton.

Service: One final thing I have never had happen at a place of this price point before, is the wait staff deliver two meals to our table that were meant for a completely different couple. The dishes were set down before us and I had to tell our waiter, that took our order btw, that this is not our meal. This, along with the shrimp, is attention to detail that should never be compromised at a place at this level.

Overall: My worst rating ever on Open Table, which is hard because I have typically given great reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent meal and service!
Celebrated daughter's 21st birthday. Chef visited our table twice to make sure we were happy. Great night out for our party of 7.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The atmosphere is very nice; however the main reason for going out to eat is the food.
AND, The food was very good, presented well and a nice selection that will meet every ones taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Nice. Quiet. Food was delish! Would go ahead for meeting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went there for a birthday dinner on a Saturday night. We never saw the live music. The food was good and the desserts. A bit pricey and our waitress was good but didn't check on us much after we received our food.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I booked through open table and made a comment that it was for my wife's birthday and I would like a small cake. Scott's had the reservation and we were seated immediately.
We ordered a bottle of wine and the waiter came back some minutes later and stated they did not have any bottles left and suggested another bottle which was ok. He apologized.
I mentioned to the waiter twice that it was my wife's birthday.
The waiter explained the specials and my wife ordered the special. The waiter came back some time later and said she could not have the special they were out. This was 6:30 pm and he just explained the specials how they could be out that early in the evening is really poor or something else was going on. He apologized again.
We had our appetizer and when finished the waiter said he would bring bread. We received the next course and the main course both not delivered by our waiter nor did we see him much. I asked about the bread and he brought it after our main meal was delivered. he apologized again and apologized for not asking us about our meal. He asked if we wanted dessert and we both declined.
A couple things if there are comments to be made on open table I would expect that Scott's would read it and how can they be out of the special at 6:30 pm on a Saturday. The food was excellent however.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a marvelous time...quiet dinning, EXCEPTIONAL food---in fact the BEST we`ve had in years---and superb service. Worth every penny and more! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service. Well trained staff that pays attention to detail. Food always top notch. Scott personally comes to the table to speak to us and check to see that everything was good. We go often and have used their venue and catering as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have never been a fan of the prix fixe menu options most restaurants have on holidays but Scott's did a great job with the selections. The food was excellent and I was quite pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I ate there for the first to celebrate his birthday. We both loved the food and the atmosphere. Great bar too. They seated us in a cute little cubby hole table for two (which may have affected the service since we couldn't be seen). But we had a great time, the owner came over and greeted us, we will definitely make this a "regular".

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Took my boyfriend for his birthday and he loved the steaks and option of drinks. Wonderful wine list and superb service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was recommended to try Scotts while at the One Marriage conference and was definitely not disappointed!!! The meal, service and atmosphere were exceptional!! It made for a great date night to cap off our special weekend! Service was fast and very well timed!! Food was outstanding and cooked perfectly!!! Definite 5 star experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Took our Mom for dinner on her 80th birthday. Nice ambience. Great tasting food and presentation. Service a little slow but kind and thoughtful. She felt it was a classy dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband and I had a nice, leisurely meal-perfect after a long work week. The service was wonderful and the food even better. My husband appreciated the selection of single malt scotch whiskys. There was an extensive wine list. Not only were the entrees great, but the daily selection of sides was just as good. I appreciated the ambience; we were actually able to hold a conversation without raising our voices, unlike many restaurants these days.
We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and the food was delicious and service great. From previous experience eating there, I have discovered the best dessert on the dessert menu is the dessert of the day. This time was no different; it was excellent. We usually go for lunch when we eat there, and the food is always great

I would, and have recommended this place to anyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our waiter Jeffery was very attentive. We had the Mahi Mahi special of the day and the steak medallion entree. Both very good. The buttermilk mashed potatoe melted in your mouth. Parmesan risotto and the Brussel sprouts were both delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love it!!!!!!! WOW. OVERALL THE BEST AROUND!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The entire experience was amazing! The staff was personable and the chef/owner, Scott, showed true ownership, mingled with his patrons, and actually gave everyone attention. The food was spot on! Fresh, tasty, and unique.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.