About Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)

131 Bradford St NW
Gainesville, GA 30501
View Larger Map

Casual Fine Dining in a comfortable atmosphere is the best way to describe Gainesville's premier Downtown eatery. Great food prepared with attention to detail, an unparalleled wine list and the best wait staff North of Atlanta are some of the hallmarks of Scott's.
We are located in downtown Gainesville in the historic Pilgrim Estes building. Our menu offers a wide range of choices from USDA Prime, hand cut steaks, the freshest seafood and local produce with seasonally inspired weekly specials. With a wine list of over 150 wines,many by the glass you will certainly be able to find a perfect match for your menu selection. Enjoy one of our five private dining rooms for two to celebrate that special occasion or one of our larger rooms for social and business events. We have dinner hours, live entertainment on the weekends and lunch hours during the week. Our new bar and lounge is now opened! We are Atlanta & North Georgia's best kept secret!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Brenau Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 536-1111

Website:
http://www.scottsdowntown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday evenings. Vocalist, saxaphonist and guitarist are just a few of our entertainers scheduled weekly. Entertainment schedule available at www.scottsdowntown.com

Catering:
The Loft at Scott's is our newest event facility with seating up to 500. We also provide off premises catering. We offer a complete line of corporate and social catering including: Concert Baskets, Day on the Lake Picnics, Weddings, Bridal Luncheons, Rehearsal Dinners, Company parties, Holiday Gatherings.

Call on Scott's Catering Department to put together a memorable event for you.

Parking Details:
Parking after five available in neighboring parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Scott Dixon Chef De Cuisine Jeremy Wilkson

Private Party Facilities:
Scott's Downtown is the perfect place to host your next private event. The Restaurant offers two private dining rooms to accommodate up to 24 and The Loft at Scott's can accommodate larger groups up to 500! Business meeting space is available up to 24 with audio and visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Kay Dixon: 8886721780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer private meeting/event spaces as well as the option to rent the entire restaurant out. Minimum Food and Beverage charges apply to complete rental.

Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Atlanta / Georgia
Special Occasion
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Northeast Atlanta
7 More
Best Food
Northeast Atlanta
Best Service
Northeast Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Northeast Atlanta
Best Value
Northeast Atlanta
Fit for Foodies
Northeast Atlanta
Romantic
Northeast Atlanta
Special Occasion
Northeast Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Gainesville ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (25)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food presented excellently. Frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food presented excellently. Friendly and knowledgeable server. Seating in main restaurant or small individual "rooms" for that special occasion. Best in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent Scott's and have always enjo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We frequent Scott's and have always enjoyed our experiences. This visit was disappointing. We both had the same reaction...way too salty overwhelming other flavors. Being a person who leans to liking salty vs sweet, I was a bit surprised at our dishes tonight. Hopefully this was a fluck.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time to Scott's Downt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first time to Scott's Downtown, and we definitely look forward to going back! It was everything we expected and more. The best steaks we had ever eaten, and the desserts were very tasty, and just the right amount. The entire experience was a great part of a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of the food was outstanding, ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Quality of the food was outstanding, service was exceptional, and the seating arrangements with the alcove seating for two allowed for plenty of privacy to discuss business or to have a romantic evening. I would recommend Scott's to any of my friends or business associates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambiance - fantastic Service - impeccabl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Ambiance - fantastic

Service - impeccable

Food - outstanding !! Everything we had was delicious. Food came out hot (unless, of course, it was a cold item). Drinks and wine were superb. The unique food combinations delighted our palate.

We look forward to returning soon.

Thank you Scott, Sarah and Hannah for a delightful evening to celebrate our 29th anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad that a friend told us about Scot ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

So glad that a friend told us about Scott's! The food is fantastic and the service and ambiance is very good as well. It's a little bit pricey, but we will definitely go back. Delicious steak and seafood, and yummy desserts. Scott's is now on my list of local favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I always like to try new pla ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I always like to try new places, especially local restaurants. This was our first time at Scott's, and we loved it! We told the hostess it was our first visit and she seated us in one of the alcoves, which was nice. Our server was really great and knowledgeable. The food was excellent!! Cleaned plates. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't believe we waited so long to go ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I can't believe we waited so long to go to Scott's. We had heard about this place but just never went but we wanted to go somewhere special to celebrate our anniversary. We were so glad we made a reservation. Everything we had was excellent from salad, to steak and seafood grill to dessert. It truly is a little gem in Gainesville that we will try again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and precise cooking. Unexpected ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Creative and precise cooking. Unexpected flavors put together -- brilliant. The highlight of our tour through Georgia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a large group of family that w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great for a large group of family that was in town. Quiet restaurant, not very packed. Steak was a little over-salted but otherwise the rest of our meal was really good. Good wine selection also!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was only OK relative to price. Din ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was only OK relative to price. Dining room was practically empty for a Friday night. Best item we had was the brocoli cheese soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food and atmosphere. Be prepared, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Be prepared, it is expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant, the food was excep ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent restaurant, the food was exceptional, the atmosphere was outstanding. I would recommend to family, friends and co-workers. Thank You

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a great restaurant, chef driven, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really a great restaurant, chef driven, which makes a difference. Scott is very personal and makes a point to circulate to visit with guests. Great food and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really hate to rate the food at less t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I really hate to rate the food at less than a 5, but....the calamari tasted like they dropped a pound of salt on it. We (wife and myself) could NOT eat it. Other than that, the food was nothing short of incredible!! as was the service. Beware--- After you have the steak, you will

never be happy with anything less again.(Yep...that good)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

A touch of elegance without astronomical ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A touch of elegance without astronomical pricing. Very good food (and nice portions) and a pleasant atmosphere and wait staff. Parking can be interesting if things are busy (there's a free city deck 2 blocks away for a nice stroll over and back). Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I chose Scott's for our anni ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My wife and I chose Scott's for our anniversary dinner. I really wish we had know about the private enclaves as a choice to reserve because we would have chose one for a more private setting. Our server was Jade and she was great. She was attentive, but not intrusive and had a wonderful knowledge of the menu. I would highly recommend Scott's to others. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to Scott's for our anniversary as w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Went to Scott's for our anniversary as we were staying in Gainesville to attend my Granddaughters dance recital. My wife ordered the candied bacon for starters and was very good, while I had the shrimp cocktail that was very good as well. The sauces were fantastic. My wife ordered filet and I the prime steak....cooked and seasoned to perfection. We both had the Brussel sprouts which were very good while she had risotto and I had the mushrooms as sides...all delicious..we ended our meals with the Italian cake, one piece each, and one order of crème brulee to share for dessert. Ate more than we should have but it was for our anniversary and very delicious......

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & great service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We went to celebrate a work milestone with a group of 13. As always, the food was fantastic - great choices with great variety, beautifully prepared. The service was excellent, including a visit from Scott himself to make sure that everything had gone perfectly. Definitely the place to go for any kind of special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We dined here for our wedding anniversary. The food was great (the fried oysters were the best!), our waiter was attentive but not intrusive - just perfect. The little private rooms that they have for 2 people are perfect for a romantic dinner. We will surely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were seated in the front table in the comfy chairs and Jeffrey waited on us for the evening. The oysters appetizer was exceptional as well as the herbed goat cheese. The rack of lamb was properly seasoned and the wine pairings were fantastic. Chef Scott came by twice to check on our meal and service. I couldn't have asked for a better evening and will recommend Scott's to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary at Scott's ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Scott's. The food was delicious but I thought pricey. Scott is such a great chef and personality - we will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Casual fine dining

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great dinner for a graduation here with a party of nine and they were very accommodating to the two children in our party. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner! Music on Friday nights in ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great dinner! Music on Friday nights in dinning room was wonderful. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Have eaten at most restaurants in Gainesville, GA. Scott's hands down is the best in town. Menu is diverse, wine list is comprehensive. Seafood had seaside quality and steaks have steakhouse quality. Something on the menu for everyone even kids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Cuisine and Accommodating Staff

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our travels took us to the Lake Lanier area and we chose Scott's based on a multitude of positive reviews on the web. We were looking for a great wine selection and quality steaks and Scott's definitely delivered on both counts. We made our reservations via Open Table and this proved to be highly helpful as we were delayed quite a bit due to bad traffic and had to move our reservation time back twice using the Open Table app. When we arrived, the hostess was very cordial and greeted us by name. Our server was a lovely young lady, both knowledgeable and helpful. We were seated in one of the private alcoves and enjoyed the special feel of the semi-private setting. Though the restaurant has a high-end feel, diners were comfortable in casual attire. We ordered steaks—premium ribeye for him and filet for me—an Oregon Pinot Noir. The steaks were perfectly prepared and perfectly delicious, as were the sides. It was a delightful meal and we would definitely recommend Scott's Downtown!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Scott's Easter Brunch . . . ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always enjoy Scott's Easter Brunch . . . this year was no exception! Scott's does a fantastic job. We've never had a bad experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This review is for Easter brunch.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was slow, chicken was dry and very tough. Oysters were good, eggs Benedict were good. Good makings for lox and bagels, but no bagels, only crackers and biscuits. They charge you $30 plus for the brunch and then extra for coffee and tea. Just didn't feel right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Easter brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Brunch was delicious as usual. I absolutely love the salmon. I look forward to it every Easter. Unfortunately we are always disappointed in the desserts. Overall the food and service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Main meal and appetizer was excellent. S ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Main meal and appetizer was excellent. Sea Bass was especially excellent. Dessert was ok, no bad but not great. Our waiter, Peter was outstanding!!! We'd definitely go back! If you go, ask for Peter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ladies Lunch Bunch enjoyed lunch!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Although this neighborhood group of ladies enjoy trying different restaurants and not returning to the same ones, Scott's is an exception. Everytime we've been there whether we're 15 or less, we are able to carry on with conversation. Service is always good and, as always, all enjoyed the dishes they were served. Being lunch, I had a chicken salad croissant sandwich and lettuce wedge salad. Great choice. The salad was an iceberg wedge with bacon pieces, blue cheese crumbles, tomatoes and blue cheese dressing. Very fresh! Serving of delicious chicken salad was generous. Of course, we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Too good and the waitress was awesome..thank you Jeffrey I will return real soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful surprise!!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

My husband and I were traveling between Gadsden, AL where we had just selected a Siberian Huskey puppy - my Valentines Day gift - to Clemson, SC. As we do on so many occasions, we checked our opentable app for restaurants nearby. Scott's Downtown in Gainesville, GA was our choice and we were not disappointed. Although we felt under-dressed, every one made us feel welcomed from the host to the owner. We started with the sesame tuna which was prepared perfectly. My husband had the sea bass and I had the crab cakes. They had a wonderful selection of side dishes. I am on a slightly restricted diet and did not have a problem finding something delicious. We finished with coffee and the bread pudding. Could not help myself, I had to have a taste. Lucky for me, my husband decided that it was too good to share. Jeffery, our waiter, was attentive and helpful with just the right amount of humor. I hope I did not spell his name wrong. We had a wonderful evening and talked all about it on our hour and a half trip home. Although we will not be stopping on our way back from picking up Riley, when we go back to select his companion Scott,'s will definitely be on the agenda. We may just make the trip just to go back for dinner and bring children and grandchildren with us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Scotts several times. Ea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been to Scotts several times. Each time was better than the last. The food is excellent and the waitstaff is always top notch. I would recommend it to anyone who loves GOOD food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were VERY pleased with our experience. The only complaint is that we were first offered an undesirable table, then made to wait for a different table in a mostly empty restaurant. The reason given was that reservations had to be considered (we had a reservation), and by the time we finished our delicious meal, the restaurant was still more than half empty.

The food was exceptional, and our server was very friendly and personable. We would love to come back for a different special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our server Haley was perfect, there when needed. Good knowledge of menu, very pleasant. Food was wonderful, we enjoyed the grouper and bourbon salmon. The sides complimented our entree. The ambiance was relaxing, live background music ...perfect. We can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed everything. The chef came ou ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We enjoyed everything. The chef came out and spoke to the table beside us several times but never spoke to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice birthday evening

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I took my wife out for her birthday and we had a very good experience at Scotts. The food was seasoned perfectly and cooked well. The mixed grill wa excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Romantic Happy Birthday

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

My husband and I both celebrate our birthdays in January and we had a very noce celebration at Scott's. Food was superb we love the little alcoves, fabulous music and our server was on top of her game.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Gainsville

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Easily accommodated increasing our party by 2. Great food and service, so we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.