About Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)

Casual Fine Dining in a comfortable atmosphere is the best way to describe Gainesville's premier Downtown eatery. Great food prepared with attention to detail, an unparalleled wine list and the best wait staff North of Atlanta are some of the hallmarks of Scott's.
We are located in downtown Gainesville in the historic Pilgrim Estes building. Our menu offers a wide range of choices from USDA Prime, hand cut steaks, the freshest seafood and local produce with seasonally inspired weekly specials. With a wine list of over 150 wines,many by the glass you will certainly be able to find a perfect match for your menu selection. Enjoy one of our five private dining rooms for two to celebrate that special occasion or one of our larger rooms for social and business events. We have dinner hours, live entertainment on Saturday night and lunch hours during the week. Our bar and lounge opens at 4:30 with Happy Hour from 5-7pm ! We are Atlanta & North Georgia's best kept secret!

131 Bradford St NW
Gainesville, GA 30501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 pm -9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 9:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Brenau Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 536-1111

Website:
http://www.scottsdowntown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday evenings. Vocalist, saxaphonist and guitarist are just a few of our entertainers scheduled weekly. Entertainment schedule available at www.scottsdowntown.com

Catering:
The Loft at Scott's is our special event facility with seating up to 500. We also provide off premises catering. We offer a complete line of corporate and social catering including: Concert Baskets, Day on the Lake Picnics, Weddings, Bridal Luncheons, Rehearsal Dinners, Company parties, Holiday Gatherings.

Call on Scott's Catering Department to put together a memorable event for you.

Parking Details:
Parking after five available in neighboring parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Scott Dixon Chef De Cuisine - Peter Brandes Exec Sous - John Dinzole

Private Party Facilities:
Scott's Downtown is the perfect place to host your next private event. The Restaurant offers two private dining rooms to accommodate up to 24 and The Loft at Scott's can accommodate larger groups up to 500! Business meeting space is available up to 24 with audio and visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Kay Dixon: (888) 672-1780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer private meeting/event spaces as well as the option to rent the entire restaurant out. Minimum Food and Beverage charges apply to complete rental.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for our annual Easter Grand Buffet Brunch. Reservations are required.
$33.95 per person for adults.
$13.95 Kids 6-12 Children 5 and under complimentary Enjoy selections such as carved Prime Rib, Chilled Seafood Bar with Shrimp, Oysters, and Crab Claws, Salads, Breakfast and Lunch Items

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for our annual Easter Grand Buffet Brunch. Reservations are required.
$33.95 per person for adults.
$13.95 Kids 6-12 Children 5 and under complimentary Enjoy selections such as carved Prime Rib, Chilled Seafood Bar with Shrimp, Oysters, and Crab Claws, Salads, Breakfast and Lunch Items

Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The atmosphere is very nice; however the main reason for going out to eat is the food.
AND, The food was very good, presented well and a nice selection that will meet every ones taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Nice. Quiet. Food was delish! Would go ahead for meeting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went there for a birthday dinner on a Saturday night. We never saw the live music. The food was good and the desserts. A bit pricey and our waitress was good but didn't check on us much after we received our food.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I booked through open table and made a comment that it was for my wife's birthday and I would like a small cake. Scott's had the reservation and we were seated immediately.
We ordered a bottle of wine and the waiter came back some minutes later and stated they did not have any bottles left and suggested another bottle which was ok. He apologized.
I mentioned to the waiter twice that it was my wife's birthday.
The waiter explained the specials and my wife ordered the special. The waiter came back some time later and said she could not have the special they were out. This was 6:30 pm and he just explained the specials how they could be out that early in the evening is really poor or something else was going on. He apologized again.
We had our appetizer and when finished the waiter said he would bring bread. We received the next course and the main course both not delivered by our waiter nor did we see him much. I asked about the bread and he brought it after our main meal was delivered. he apologized again and apologized for not asking us about our meal. He asked if we wanted dessert and we both declined.
A couple things if there are comments to be made on open table I would expect that Scott's would read it and how can they be out of the special at 6:30 pm on a Saturday. The food was excellent however.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a marvelous time...quiet dinning, EXCEPTIONAL food---in fact the BEST we`ve had in years---and superb service. Worth every penny and more! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service. Well trained staff that pays attention to detail. Food always top notch. Scott personally comes to the table to speak to us and check to see that everything was good. We go often and have used their venue and catering as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have never been a fan of the prix fixe menu options most restaurants have on holidays but Scott's did a great job with the selections. The food was excellent and I was quite pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I ate there for the first to celebrate his birthday. We both loved the food and the atmosphere. Great bar too. They seated us in a cute little cubby hole table for two (which may have affected the service since we couldn't be seen). But we had a great time, the owner came over and greeted us, we will definitely make this a "regular".

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Took my boyfriend for his birthday and he loved the steaks and option of drinks. Wonderful wine list and superb service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was recommended to try Scotts while at the One Marriage conference and was definitely not disappointed!!! The meal, service and atmosphere were exceptional!! It made for a great date night to cap off our special weekend! Service was fast and very well timed!! Food was outstanding and cooked perfectly!!! Definite 5 star experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Took our Mom for dinner on her 80th birthday. Nice ambience. Great tasting food and presentation. Service a little slow but kind and thoughtful. She felt it was a classy dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband and I had a nice, leisurely meal-perfect after a long work week. The service was wonderful and the food even better. My husband appreciated the selection of single malt scotch whiskys. There was an extensive wine list. Not only were the entrees great, but the daily selection of sides was just as good. I appreciated the ambience; we were actually able to hold a conversation without raising our voices, unlike many restaurants these days.
We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and the food was delicious and service great. From previous experience eating there, I have discovered the best dessert on the dessert menu is the dessert of the day. This time was no different; it was excellent. We usually go for lunch when we eat there, and the food is always great

I would, and have recommended this place to anyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our waiter Jeffery was very attentive. We had the Mahi Mahi special of the day and the steak medallion entree. Both very good. The buttermilk mashed potatoe melted in your mouth. Parmesan risotto and the Brussel sprouts were both delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love it!!!!!!! WOW. OVERALL THE BEST AROUND!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The entire experience was amazing! The staff was personable and the chef/owner, Scott, showed true ownership, mingled with his patrons, and actually gave everyone attention. The food was spot on! Fresh, tasty, and unique.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Appetizer, main course and dessert were all excellent. Just the right proportion. The beef /crab topping was tender and prepared the just the way it was order. The bourbon glazed salmon was delicious. Waiter was very good, except when we needed another drink, he wasn't around. We waited a few minutes before he returned. The restaurant was not crowded. But otherwise he was knowledgeable of the menu and served us well.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our server Peter was superb. He was very knowledgeable of the extensive wine list and meal preparation. This was my first visit to this restaurant and I was thoroughly impressed with the menu and elegant atmosphere. I was pleased with my dinner option as so was my SO. We walked around the restaurant after dinner so I can have a better understanding of the layout because it was huge! This would be a perfect location to host a special event such as a wedding reception.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wife and I had dinner and while the staff and ambience was nice the food lacked. Some sides appeared to be instant and ready made. The dessert was almost non eatable. The staff was good and the restaurant is very nice inside. I suggest a change in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had my wife's birthday dinner there. Peter was a wonderful server and took great care of us. The food was incredible. It was our second trip but not our last for sure. This must become a regular stop for us. Close to home. Reasonable. They should be slammed every night.

5 Stara for sure.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years 5 course dinner. Very good food, nice music and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was amazing. Had the rack of lamb and Seafood Grill (Grouper, Mahi Mahi, and Crab Cakes). Lamb was cooked to perfection. Also had tomato soup, which was excellent. The building itself is unusual - a very large open space, which carries noise easily. However, there are some small 2-person cubbies that give a sense of privacy, each with its own dimmer light control. Lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Scott's was very accommodating to our group! They gave us our own room and even helped us with a last minute add to our party. The decorations were festive and the staff were knowledgeable. My group and I had a fantastic time!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Christmas dinner with family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great service with delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Third year in a row to have a year end lunch with one of our best and most loyal customers. This restaurant is enjoyed by the locals as well as me, an out of towner. The setting is very nice and creative. From the time I entered the restaurant, where the hostess took my coat, until the time we left, they gave great attention to our party. Our server was very attentive and knowledgable, and she was helpful in explaining the specials of the day. Of course, the food was great (again) and most of us got different dishes and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our food. The desserts were amazing! Another nice touch is that the chef came out to ask us if we enjoyed the food; he has done this each time we have been there so it showed me he is genuinely concerned that the food is acceptable. I think this has turned into a year end tradition with my customers and me, and I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful service. Make sure you ask for Sarah to
Be your server. Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Took my team and their wives our for Christmas dinner. Our waiter (Pete) was excellent. He kept our drinks filled, prompt with requests, and knowledgeable of the menu. The food was top notch. Scott visited our table twice throughout the evening. I definitely will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Saturday night (11/26) with exceptional menu choices and impeccable service. Jeff had great wine insights and couldn't have been friendlier!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great break from all the restaurants that dot the landscape to provide fast food at competitive prices, with no thought to make anyone feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I have enjoyed going to Scott's restaurant for sometime now. It is very eloquent and the ambience Light feature, they offer, for a couple to enjoy with their significant other only makes the dining experience even more charming.
The staff was very professional, great personality, the owner himself took time out to come to our table and introduce himself and Took the time to find out a little about us. They made both of us feel very special.
Now the best part, our food. It was absolutely delicious. The way Our dinner was prepared, was excellent. The choice of side items were great. our entrée was definitely top grade.
I would recommend Scotts restaurant downtown to anyone of my friends or family.
Thank you for such a great experience, and thanks for providing Gainesville such an eloquent and fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Dancing, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food, great service, wonderful ambience! What would make the evening was the chef's recommendations for deserts. Don't miss the espresso pie

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The interior decoration was fabulous! Loved everything about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was incredible. Perhaps the best steaks we've had in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service and very good food. Like the option to be seated in a cozy booth.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was delicious and our waiter was very knowledgeable and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We love Scott's on the Square for our date-nights. Having the option to sit in a quite dining alcove is the perfect way for my husband and myself to enjoy some private time for ourselves. However, if we are feeling like mingling and people watching, the hostess is always will to seat our preference out by one of the beautiful windows looking onto the square, or amide the lively hustle and bustle of the dinning room. We both had the special of the evening, Lamb and Sea Bass, and could not have been pleased by the maître d' recommendation in wine. I am very pleased with our visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good steaks, great sides, value wine list with a lot of by-the-glass choices. Calamari and Italian cake dessert were misses. Steak and lamb were competent. Grits, creamed spinach, Brussels sprouts and mushroom side excelled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

If I could give them 7 stars I would. The food is always outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.