Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)

4.4
623 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Casual Fine Dining in a comfortable atmosphere is the best way to describe Gainesville's premier Downtown eatery. Great food prepared with attention to detail, an unparalleled wine list and the best wait staff North of Atlanta are some of the hallmarks of Scott's.
We are located in downtown Gainesville in the historic Pilgrim Estes building. Our menu offers a wide range of choices from USDA Prime, hand cut steaks, the freshest seafood and local produce with seasonally inspired weekly specials. With a wine list of over 150 wines,many by the glass you will certainly be able to find a perfect match for your menu selection. Enjoy one of our five private dining rooms for two to celebrate that special occasion or one of our larger rooms for social and business events. We have dinner hours, live entertainment on Saturday night and lunch hours during the week. Our bar and lounge opens at 4:30 with Happy Hour from 5-7pm ! We are Atlanta & North Georgia's best kept secret!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00 pm -9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 9:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(770) 536-1111
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Scott Dixon Chef De Cuisine - Peter Brandes Exec Sous
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Loft at Scott's is our special event facility with seating up to 500. We also provide off premises catering. We offer a complete line of corporate and social catering including: Concert Baskets, Day on the Lake Picnics, Weddings, Bridal Luncheons, Rehearsal Dinners, Company parties, Holiday Gatherings.

Call on Scott's Catering Department to put together a memorable event for you.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Brenau Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking after five available in neighboring parking lots.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music Saturday evenings. Vocalist, saxaphonist and guitarist are just a few of our entertainers scheduled weekly. Entertainment schedule available at www.scottsdowntown.com
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We offer private meeting/event spaces as well as the option to rent the entire restaurant out. Minimum Food and Beverage charges apply to complete rental.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 623 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Felt that for the cost of $33.95 a person for the Mother's Day Brunch in which our total bill was $200.00 with tip....it is really petty to charge $3.50 for a very small cup of coffee and $2.75 for a soda. The brunch was very basic and the food on the line was not always refilled.

Would not recommend it nor will we go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Food as always was simply Amazing, everything for the Brunch was far beyond anything that one might expect to find at other fine dining establishments in the area. That, along with a high level of excellent service and a warm and friendly Atmosphere, made Scott's Downtown the perfect Mothers Day occasion. ~ Lance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Scott's is rapidly becoming our go-to restaurant for special friend get-togethers. Their menu fits almost all tastes and is fresh and tasty. on a recent outing with friends, I had the ribeye, cooked to a perfect medium rare. Very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Scott's is ideal for a business meal or gathering and is excellent for large and small groups. The food is always consistently great with a very welcoming environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The Diver's Scallops were excellent again, sitting on the potato pancake. The special fish trio was the best of all the times I have tried it...snapper, Arctic char and a crab cake. The beautifully decorated 37th Anniversary dessert plate was a crowning touch. Always love going to Scott's.
Jesse Knowles

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

When we go to Road Atlanta we go to Scott’s, that’s our tradition. This visit left me ready to find a new restaurant. The food was fine, the service was shaky but ok, too much average for $140.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This is our 2nd visit to Scott’s and it was fabulous once again. My filet and crabmeat was melt in your mouth delicious and the desserts...AMAZING! We had the creme brûlée and the lemon cake. Our server was great and very attentive. A perfect 10 meal from salads to dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We have eaten there several times and have never been dissapointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We had a wonderful meal and time at Scott's Downtown. Food is outstanding and service is excellent. Owner is wonderful and spent time talking to us about his business. Would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The food was delicious. I highly recommend the fired oyster appetizer. We were a party of four and everyone had a different entree. It was all great. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The service here was below par. Our waitress was not attentive and took a long time for all of our drink orders. A diet Coke was served flat, 2 out of 3 times. One of us had to leave by a specific time, so waitress brought her salad to eat while no one else was eating. (had plenty of time, so that was not necessary) She never refilled coffee or waters. Then to top it off the restaurant automatically puts the tips on the bill, for 5 or more people. We were 5. Not a pleasant experience. Won't be going there again. My lunch was very good, but others said theirs was just OK.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went for the Easter Brunch. Wonderful variety of foods all delicious. Very reasonably priced. Beautiful restaurant great ambiance. Friendly, courteous staff. Highly recommend Scott’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch was delightful. Great food and I was stuffed (in a good way).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Our server, Jessica was excellent. She was extremely knowledgeable of the menu and wine pairings. The food and atmosphere was perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had mixed reviews on Scott’s. I had the salmon which was excellent. My husband ordered the Cajun steak which was not edible. The cut of meat was horrible however the restaurant did not charge us for the item and offered another filet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

This was a nice restaurant the food was wonderful but pricey. The waiter Shawn was a delight . it was a Friday night very quit not many people at all I would have preferred to be somewhere with people. Yes I would recommend for a quit night for one on one conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Divers scallops on almond-risotto was outstanding. The shrimp-corn chowder was also great, and not too heavy or creamy...very good broth that was not too salty. The tuna-crab-avocado tower as an appetizer has always been good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Best calamari ever! Excellent sea bass and the special with seared scallops over almond risotto with asparagus. The Italian Lemon Cake is worth going just for that! Our server, Sean was nice and attentive without being intrusive. ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The service and meal is always top notch and very consistent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

A special place to dine in Gainesville. The food was spectacular, the service impeccable and the ambiance of the restaurant made for a romantic evening celebrating a special anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

My husband and I went to Scott’s for the first time after moving to the area. Our special evening celebrating our anniversary was made memorable by the impeccable service and the quality and presentation of the food. This place our go to spot for any night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

We had a great dinner at Scott's before going to a local concert. We were a little pushed for time, but our server took care of us and moved the drink and meal process right along. The food was excellent as were the salad and drinks. A great time was had by all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Friends out for dinner at Scott’s...what a great idea. Our neighbors in Chateau Elan were very delighted with our evening out in nearby Gainesville. With 4 different entrees all rated “Excellent “ by their consumer, it made for a great meal. Various wines by the glass suited the palettes of everyone given the broad range of meats The Italian lemon cake was the taste of fine bakers

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful meal with exceptional service celebrating a birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Gainesville hidden gem!!!

Took my girlfriend there for her birthday and we both absolutely enjoyed the service and the great food.

Highly recommend.

Thank you

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Music was so loud we could not hear each other or the waitress. Asked to turn it down and they did. But mgr turned it back up. Serving sizes were small, fried food was greasy and waitress made sure our coffee was refilled with luke warm coffee all night. Terrible experience - will never go back!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Great food as always. Great night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

All very good. Hard to talk with the jazz soloist though

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent food and service! I can’t wait to dine here again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Walking in the front door, I felt like I had walked into a friend's home., not a restaurant. Anna Getz was our waitress, and she was wonderful. She was cheerful and fun, and I would definitely request her again. The steak was great, and the spinish was superb. The owner/chief came to our table and and greeted us.
We would definitely recommend this to others, and plan to return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Scot's is great. We requested and were able to get the "private dining". Everything was wonderful. Our server was maybe a bit over hospitable. This is not a really big deal but...
with the private dining.... we could have had a bit more privacy. Very small criticism
but just to be noted for the future. We have had "private dining" before and it is
a real treat. Very unlike the usual. Food is excellent here. As noted before: This is
the best restaurant in Gainesville GA.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Well I went during a busy time so they were an hour late to sit me and wife at table, upon arrival I checked in and was asked to sit in the bar. After sitting and waiting about 25 min I had to stop a waitress and ask her could we get a drink and then she asked me “ are you eating here” wow really service was not very good. However I will say that the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We went for the Valentine’s Day dinner. The food was amazing, but the service was slow. With 5 courses, you expect the food to be slow to come out, but it took us 2 and 1/2 hours to finish eating. Our waitress left our water glasses empty and we had to ask for refills. The food was amazing though. My steak was perfectly cooked and the desserts were on point.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Used to love this place. Came back after not eating there for a while on a Vday date. Food was good, but not the same standard as previously experienced, service was very bad, laughably so.
We were stuck there over 2 hours, the waiter didn't correct his mistake when switching our bill with another table, and among some other issues the over all experience just fell short on what was supposed to be a special night. They could have just been overwhelmed by the special occasion/event perhaps, but for the money I was pretty disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Chef Scott prepares incredible cuisine, let there be no mistake about that. That being said, our annual tradition of spending Valentine's Day at Scott's Downtown was a far cry from previous years.

The service was abhorrent. We were shuffled from the ambiance of the main room to a side group room where the music that we have come to enjoy was little more than a muffled murmur. For a four (they called it five) course prix fixie, a total visit of one hour and fort-five minutes. Our water glasses went unattended. We poured our own wine. It was not the kind of evening that one would associate with romance. I'm afraid it has become untenable to make the drive from Buford for such inconsistency.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Just the most wonderful Valantines Day ever!!!! You can take that to the Bank!! Kay, Anna and the whole team at Scott's are remarkable...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Fabulous meal - fabulous table - and quite pricey, but worth it

I made dinner reservations at Scott's several weeks in advance for Valentine's Day evening and was promised one of the few very private tables for two. We were not disappointed. We arrived at a few minutes early at about 6:20pm and were soon taken to the best table in the place. And, given the fairly moderate sound level within the restaurant I am convinced that it was the best table. We could hear ourselves converse without having to raise our voices.

Service was a tad on the slow side but, given the importance of the evening and the number of patrons I wouldn't knock them too much for it. We were surprised that it was a fixed price menu but again, given the night it should not have been unexpected. I won't go into great detail on the food items as this was a special menu with items one may not often find. We started with an amuse bouche, then had appetizers, followed by salad, entree and a two-course dessert beginning with chocolate-covered strawberries and champagne and ending with a slice of pomegranate cheesecake and a slice of red velvet cake "in the round". Everything we had was marvelous. There were no complaints at our table.

We were well taken care of and fed well. Was it worth the price? Well, for us it was, but we are "romantic foodies" who have been known to indulge for special occasions. Would I recommend Scott's for dinner? You bet! For a romantic night out or just another Tuesday. Either way, you will enjoy yourself.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines special. A little slow between plates. Do the price of the evening the individual plates should have come with a little more regularity. Great food though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

great place, great food. Went for Valentines day lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

All four of us had great food, scallops over vegetable risotto, shrimp and grits, bourbon salmon and beef medallions, excellently prepared. Would recommend highly!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)