About Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square)

131 Bradford St NW
Gainesville, GA 30501
View Larger Map

Casual Fine Dining in a comfortable atmosphere is the best way to describe Gainesville's premier Downtown eatery. Great food prepared with attention to detail, an unparalleled wine list and the best wait staff North of Atlanta are some of the hallmarks of Scott's.
We are located in downtown Gainesville in the historic Pilgrim Estes building. Our menu offers a wide range of choices from USDA Prime, hand cut steaks, the freshest seafood and local produce with seasonally inspired weekly specials. With a wine list of over 150 wines,many by the glass you will certainly be able to find a perfect match for your menu selection. Enjoy one of our five private dining rooms for two to celebrate that special occasion or one of our larger rooms for social and business events. We have dinner hours, live entertainment on the weekends and lunch hours during the week. Our new bar and lounge is now opened! We are Atlanta & North Georgia's best kept secret!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Brenau Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 536-1111

Website:
http://www.scottsdowntown.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday evenings. Vocalist, saxaphonist and guitarist are just a few of our entertainers scheduled weekly. Entertainment schedule available at www.scottsdowntown.com

Catering:
The Loft at Scott's is our newest event facility with seating up to 500. We also provide off premises catering. We offer a complete line of corporate and social catering including: Concert Baskets, Day on the Lake Picnics, Weddings, Bridal Luncheons, Rehearsal Dinners, Company parties, Holiday Gatherings.

Call on Scott's Catering Department to put together a memorable event for you.

Parking Details:
Parking after five available in neighboring parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Scott Dixon Chef De Cuisine Jeremy Wilkson

Private Party Facilities:
Scott's Downtown is the perfect place to host your next private event. The Restaurant offers two private dining rooms to accommodate up to 24 and The Loft at Scott's can accommodate larger groups up to 500! Business meeting space is available up to 24 with audio and visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Kay Dixon: 8886721780

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer private meeting/event spaces as well as the option to rent the entire restaurant out. Minimum Food and Beverage charges apply to complete rental.

Scott's Downtown (fka Scott's on the Square) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Romantic
Atlanta / Georgia
7 More
Special Occasion
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Northeast Atlanta
Best Food
Northeast Atlanta
Best Service
Northeast Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Northeast Atlanta
Best Value
Northeast Atlanta
Special Occasion
Northeast Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Gainesville ›

Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (5)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dancing (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Saturday night (11/26) with exceptional ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Saturday night (11/26) with exceptional menu choices and impeccable service. Jeff had great wine insights and couldn't have been friendlier!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great break from all the restaurants tha ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great break from all the restaurants that dot the landscape to provide fast food at competitive prices, with no thought to make anyone feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have enjoyed going to Scott's restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I have enjoyed going to Scott's restaurant for sometime now. It is very eloquent and the ambience Light feature, they offer, for a couple to enjoy with their significant other only makes the dining experience even more charming.

The staff was very professional, great personality, the owner himself took time out to come to our table and introduce himself and Took the time to find out a little about us. They made both of us feel very special.

Now the best part, our food. It was absolutely delicious. The way Our dinner was prepared, was excellent. The choice of side items were great. our entrée was definitely top grade.

I would recommend Scotts restaurant downtown to anyone of my friends or family.

Thank you for such a great experience, and thanks for providing Gainesville such an eloquent and fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Dancing, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service, wonderful ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food, great service, wonderful ambience! What would make the evening was the chef's recommendations for deserts. Don't miss the espresso pie

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The interior decoration was fabulous! Lo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The interior decoration was fabulous! Loved everything about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible. Perhaps the be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was incredible. Perhaps the best steaks we've had in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and very good food. Li ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service and very good food. Like the option to be seated in a cozy booth.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was delicious and our waiter was very knowledgeable and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Scott's on the Square for our da ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We love Scott's on the Square for our date-nights. Having the option to sit in a quite dining alcove is the perfect way for my husband and myself to enjoy some private time for ourselves. However, if we are feeling like mingling and people watching, the hostess is always will to seat our preference out by one of the beautiful windows looking onto the square, or amide the lively hustle and bustle of the dinning room. We both had the special of the evening, Lamb and Sea Bass, and could not have been pleased by the maître d' recommendation in wine. I am very pleased with our visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could give them 7 stars I would. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

If I could give them 7 stars I would. The food is always outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good steaks, great sides, value wine lis ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good steaks, great sides, value wine list with a lot of by-the-glass choices. Calamari and Italian cake dessert were misses. Steak and lamb were competent. Grits, creamed spinach, Brussels sprouts and mushroom side excelled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful environment- not only the deco ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Beautiful environment- not only the decoration, but also the service, and music. Great experience, the chef even came out and greeted us. Great service

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined here 4 timrd before;always ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Have dined here 4 timrd before;always excellent. Held a group reunion witha social hour followed by dinner all raved about service and good

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food,outstanding service.We we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent food,outstanding service.We were there celebrating our anniversary.Nice to have such an outstanding restaurant so close to home.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Restaurant! Appetizers are outst ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing Restaurant! Appetizers are outstanding (try the stuffed avocado!) & the entrees were done to perfection. The menu selection is incredible & the side dishes have exceptional flavors!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. A little pricey but ov ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was amazing. A little pricey but overall great. However, we went to celebrate a birthday and the waiter told us as we sat down that dessert would be free to celebrate the birthday and when we got the check he said he couldn't take it off so it added $10 to our bill. Other than that everything was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service was outstanding.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

imaginatively conceived and perfectly pr ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

imaginatively conceived and perfectly prepared food; spectacular service. Our experience was a sheer delight. It's wonderful to have such a jewel in our midst.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed here. Pr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have never been disappointed here. Prices are on the high side, but worth the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, the meal was outstanding. the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2016

As usual, the meal was outstanding. the Grouper special and bourbon glazed salmon were cooked to perfection. No visit goes without their delicious oyster appetizer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food presented excellently. Frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food presented excellently. Friendly and knowledgeable server. Seating in main restaurant or small individual "rooms" for that special occasion. Best in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent Scott's and have always enjo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We frequent Scott's and have always enjoyed our experiences. This visit was disappointing. We both had the same reaction...way too salty overwhelming other flavors. Being a person who leans to liking salty vs sweet, I was a bit surprised at our dishes tonight. Hopefully this was a fluck.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time to Scott's Downt ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first time to Scott's Downtown, and we definitely look forward to going back! It was everything we expected and more. The best steaks we had ever eaten, and the desserts were very tasty, and just the right amount. The entire experience was a great part of a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of the food was outstanding, ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Quality of the food was outstanding, service was exceptional, and the seating arrangements with the alcove seating for two allowed for plenty of privacy to discuss business or to have a romantic evening. I would recommend Scott's to any of my friends or business associates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambiance - fantastic Service - impeccabl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Ambiance - fantastic

Service - impeccable

Food - outstanding !! Everything we had was delicious. Food came out hot (unless, of course, it was a cold item). Drinks and wine were superb. The unique food combinations delighted our palate.

We look forward to returning soon.

Thank you Scott, Sarah and Hannah for a delightful evening to celebrate our 29th anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad that a friend told us about Scot ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

So glad that a friend told us about Scott's! The food is fantastic and the service and ambiance is very good as well. It's a little bit pricey, but we will definitely go back. Delicious steak and seafood, and yummy desserts. Scott's is now on my list of local favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I always like to try new pla ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I always like to try new places, especially local restaurants. This was our first time at Scott's, and we loved it! We told the hostess it was our first visit and she seated us in one of the alcoves, which was nice. Our server was really great and knowledgeable. The food was excellent!! Cleaned plates. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't believe we waited so long to go ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I can't believe we waited so long to go to Scott's. We had heard about this place but just never went but we wanted to go somewhere special to celebrate our anniversary. We were so glad we made a reservation. Everything we had was excellent from salad, to steak and seafood grill to dessert. It truly is a little gem in Gainesville that we will try again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and precise cooking. Unexpected ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Creative and precise cooking. Unexpected flavors put together -- brilliant. The highlight of our tour through Georgia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a large group of family that w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great for a large group of family that was in town. Quiet restaurant, not very packed. Steak was a little over-salted but otherwise the rest of our meal was really good. Good wine selection also!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was only OK relative to price. Din ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was only OK relative to price. Dining room was practically empty for a Friday night. Best item we had was the brocoli cheese soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food and atmosphere. Be prepared, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Be prepared, it is expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant, the food was excep ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent restaurant, the food was exceptional, the atmosphere was outstanding. I would recommend to family, friends and co-workers. Thank You

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a great restaurant, chef driven, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really a great restaurant, chef driven, which makes a difference. Scott is very personal and makes a point to circulate to visit with guests. Great food and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really hate to rate the food at less t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I really hate to rate the food at less than a 5, but....the calamari tasted like they dropped a pound of salt on it. We (wife and myself) could NOT eat it. Other than that, the food was nothing short of incredible!! as was the service. Beware--- After you have the steak, you will

never be happy with anything less again.(Yep...that good)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

A touch of elegance without astronomical ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2016

A touch of elegance without astronomical pricing. Very good food (and nice portions) and a pleasant atmosphere and wait staff. Parking can be interesting if things are busy (there's a free city deck 2 blocks away for a nice stroll over and back). Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I chose Scott's for our anni ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2016

My wife and I chose Scott's for our anniversary dinner. I really wish we had know about the private enclaves as a choice to reserve because we would have chose one for a more private setting. Our server was Jade and she was great. She was attentive, but not intrusive and had a wonderful knowledge of the menu. I would highly recommend Scott's to others. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to Scott's for our anniversary as w ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Went to Scott's for our anniversary as we were staying in Gainesville to attend my Granddaughters dance recital. My wife ordered the candied bacon for starters and was very good, while I had the shrimp cocktail that was very good as well. The sauces were fantastic. My wife ordered filet and I the prime steak....cooked and seasoned to perfection. We both had the Brussel sprouts which were very good while she had risotto and I had the mushrooms as sides...all delicious..we ended our meals with the Italian cake, one piece each, and one order of crème brulee to share for dessert. Ate more than we should have but it was for our anniversary and very delicious......

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & great service

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We went to celebrate a work milestone with a group of 13. As always, the food was fantastic - great choices with great variety, beautifully prepared. The service was excellent, including a visit from Scott himself to make sure that everything had gone perfectly. Definitely the place to go for any kind of special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We dined here for our wedding anniversary. The food was great (the fried oysters were the best!), our waiter was attentive but not intrusive - just perfect. The little private rooms that they have for 2 people are perfect for a romantic dinner. We will surely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.