Not bookable

This restaurant is temporarily offline. Please contact the restaurant directly or check back shortly for availability.

Scotiabank Captains Room-Rogers Arena

4.5
133 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Live Sports
  • Special Occasion
  • Business Meals

Similar Restaurants

About

NOTE: Scotiabank Captains Room is a MEMBERSHIP based restaurant. For information on how to purchase a membership, please contact (604) 899-GOAL(4625).

Scotiabank Captains Room is an exclusive membership-based restaurant and is home to award-winning Executive Chef Summer Stuart. Enjoy a premium all-you-can-eat dining experience for $63 per person (beverages are an additional cost). Join us two hours prior to Canucks home games.

The Scotiabank Captains Room menu changes from game to game. Chef Summer Stuart uses the freshest locally sourced products in order to create a dining experience that is second to none.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open during all regulation Vancouver Canucks home games. Doors open two hours prior to the start of the game.

The dining menu in Scotiabank Captains Room changes each night.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 899-7525
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Summer Stuart
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Expo Bldv and Pacific Blvd
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Captains Room is closed for concert events.
Additional
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 133 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

excellent servers. very good buffet style food service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Always good food & great service - my customers from Seattle are always impressed with everything about the Captains Room... Thank-you all

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great selection of food & the carvery never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our server Erika was wonderful as always. Food has been outstanding this year

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2018

I have been going to the Captains Room for the past 7 years. The past 2 years I have found the quality of the food is going down. My last meal there on Monday March 5th both my clients comment on their food and how they did not enjoy the meal.

I really like the Captains Room as the servers are alway great and the atmosphere is great. I really hope the food quality will increase back to where it was in the past.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great service, friendly staff, treated very well

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

this was a pre Canucks game dinner.

Thought the wine prices were a little steep for that venue

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Everything first class here. The food couldn’t have been better, and you get as much as want of it, the service was great, and the staff was as nice as can be. I’d eat here every night if I could.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Service is excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The food was really good quality. Price was kind of high but was a good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Unfortunately our service was not what we expected. Been there before and the service was good, but on this night sadly not good...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Once again another fantastic night. Great place to take clients. Please bring forward some antibiotic free meats.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Dinner choices were excellent as always, but what stood out tonight was the attentive service. One of the desserts were not labelled as containing nuts, to which two members of our party had an allergy. Not a life threatening one. Would have only caused some redness & itching. We pointed out to our server and up to two separate management staff visited us to apologize. And one of our meals comped. Overall, great service, I'm sure it was an oversight by the kitchen. We will still be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Best dinner and service I could have ever hoped for during a sports event!!!
Made the night super enjoyable.
I will highly recommend!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

The service, food & atmosphere is always great which helps compensate for the poor performance of the team these days...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Great place for a family outing prior to the hockey game.

Food selection could be expanded a little bit more, but all in all great value.

We are season ticket holders ( non club) and had to make special arrangements for reservations. I would suggest that access should be reviewed and reconsidered

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Last time I ate at the Captain's Club was several years ago. At that time, it was much less expensive and there was a much wider selection of items on the buffet including actual appetizers in addition to the salads.
This time there was less to choose from and the smoked salmon at the carvery station was very poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Our server Erica was fantastic. She always looks after my business dinner clients.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 5, 2017

Overall...the service is excellent.
I would caution that the exorbitant price for 2 people does not mean you are
getting ambiance or your money's worth.
The noise level from the low ceilings is" loud."
You may need to raise your voices at some point, better to sit "next to each-other"
then across. Come when they open for the quietest 30-45 minutes.

Starters:
-Salads ( interesting and not your average fare), so don't expect that much,
you may not like the combinations. Though the presentation is good.
-Cold Prawns: Huge, solid, cooked to perfection...A+ rating.
Cold Crab: Large and small legs mixed...go for the small the large has no taste.
-Cheeses, nuts, dry salami, dried fruit,olives....a great assortment and good quality.
-Breads: Beautiful assortment with great tastes. Butter is not served and you must ask for it from your server.

Entres:
Prime Rib, (If you like cool temperature meat and blood...this is for you.
Nothing medium, medium well ( light-pink). It is tender though.
Not even remotely hot. Yes that bothers me. I like a meal thats at least fairly warm to hot.

Pork a bright red glazed blob ....80% fat, they sliced it for us and we just declined it as there
was no meat but a sliver in the centre the rest just clear fat...who eats this ?

In the hot servers:
- Duck, lamb, beef w/ pasta...all okay but the heated servers don't keep
it warm at all. Maybe they don't work.
-Vegetable: Mixed squash potato combo...would have been good if the separated.
Lots of hard chunks (uncooked) of unknown vegetable origin.....grab the potatoes
if you can find any. NO other vegetables in sight.

Go grab a few more prawns, lemon, dipping sauce.... or you may be hungry.

Desert:
Good assortment of fresh fruit: blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, pineapple.
Cookies and pastry: you will enjoy no matter what you choose !
Coffee, quite strong and you get a to-go cup if you want to take it with you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Food varieties should be increased. Desserts should include ice cream

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2017

As a vegetarian I was disappointed with the lack of options. Not worth $63 per person.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 30, 2017

Food and dessert options not as good as in the past. Some food was not as hot as it should be.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The Captains Room is very convenient for a Hockey game - so convenient it helps to outweigh the high cost of the Buffet. The servers were very pleasant. However, we had one issue - they failed to properly account for a Canucks Credit we had with them, resulting in a~$110 overcharge to my VISA card. I have called the restaurant and left a message, and I anticipate it being resolved, but not really something I enjoy spending my time on...!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

I was originally disappointed as I had reserved a special table. When we got there the table was taken. In any case we did get another table and a terrific server. MaeLing - was excellent.
My service was far better than the week before.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Our server Erika was outstanding as always. The CR is a great way to entertain clients.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

It is a great Venue for a Canucks game, the service is fantastic, the ability to come back between periods, great, however the pricing is steep for what you get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent night. Food was great. Service by Jane was top end.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Desserts selection are limited. Otherwise is good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2017

This is such an amazing experience!! The food which is set out as a buffet is incredible!! The staff are very keen on knowing any special things they can do for you!! My wife has alergies to shell fish and ginger.
The chef came out personally and showed her all that she could safely eat, and offered to do special salads so as to not have any cross contamination. Which we declined as there was plenty of delicious options.
Our waiter shared the concern just as much as the chef. We came back up in the first intermission and the waiter and chef had prepared a meat, cheese, and fruit platter for us, and of course already had our drinks on our table as well.
This is not the first time we have been to the Captain's Club and it will not be our last!!
If you have not experienced this yet, please do yourself a favour and try it.
We are always impressed each time we go to the Captain's Club!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2017

Tried out the Captains Room for the first time, likely to go back next year as the value was comparable to going out before the game for dinner. The service was great and our waiter was very pleasant and made sure we had everything we needed. Food was tastey but we are not huge seafood lovers and it looked like there was your pick from the sea. There were however, two carving stations with four types of meat. Advise to parents with infants or small children, call in advance to make sure a high chair is available. My only complaint about the night was the hostess didn't make an effort to find one for us which made it difficult to enjoy eating together.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was awesome as usual. I usually go for dinner so was a bit disappointed by the options out at lunch. But cannot complain about the prawns - they are HUGE! My customers insist on going there before the games now.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2017

Super nice place, great perks when watching the hockey game as you keeps your seats for the entire game. If I could afford it I would dine there before and during every game. But if money is plentiful then this is a great experience .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Went to Captain's Club couple times before and the food selection was better. Somewhat disappointed in the limited variety of dishes. However, the service was 5-star.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

The service provided by Erika is awesome as usual... She adapts well to any group & knows exactly how to handle the hooligans that usually accompany me...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2017

Great for dinner if you're hungry but not a great value if you're a light eater.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2017

Music was so loud our table couldn't carry on a conversation. Food is OK but it all tastes the same. Every game, the food is the same. The menu needs a full overhaul.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2017

Limited food selection but quality was very good. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Hockey Game

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2017

If you have allergies I would be very careful and not trust their allergy warning signs. There was a peanut butter skillet cookie and the allergy warning card only said "contains: gluten, eggs, dairy". I appreciate that they are now using the warning cards however if you cannot trust that the cards are accurate, it would be almost better not having the cards at all, so people would then ask the staff before eating. They need to be careful with something like peanuts because people can die. Also it might be a good idea to individually portion the peanut desserts (like they do with other desserts) as people tend to use the same serving utensil on other desserts at the table.

Getting off topic here but I find Rogers Arena particularly bad for peanuts. Their soft serve ice cream topping bar has peanuts and you can see the servers spilling crushed peanuts into all the other toppings. Hopefully no one has to have a severe reaction or die before they decide to do something about this.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 2, 2017

Our dinner for two, two glasses of wine, and a single latte came to a total of $200. The servers we very kind and having access to the room between periods was unique, but this fell far below expectations for this price point.

We could eat at Joe Forte's for 1/2 this price before a game and countless other options.

The convenience of eating at the rink before the game is interesting but the limited access to in between periods only, the limited food options, the fair but not overwhelming quality of the food-- just doesn't justify this price point.

This is the first time I've left a game and have considered not renewing my seasons tickets.

$200 Captain's Room
$200 Tickets
$35 Parking
$80 Babysitter

$515 for a night out that isn't justifiable regardless of the calibre of the team. This is $21,115/year for 41 games (this doesn't include preseason or postseason)

The game day value just isn't there. Not for $20,000+/year.

Promotions to attract new ticket buyers often trump deals for the loyal seasons ticket holders, not enough attention is spent on game day value, prices are not aligned with other NHL teams and game day experiences. While no company wants to hear "spend more/do more and charge less" this is where our beloved Canucks are today and the ear muffs and blinders are unfortunately firmly in place on the decision makers. And this fan base knows it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Scotiabank Captains Room-Rogers Arena