About Scotiabank Captains Room-Rogers Arena

800 Griffiths Way
Vancouver, BC V6B 6G2
View Larger Map

NOTE: Scotiabank Captains Room is a MEMBERSHIP based restaurant. For information on how to purchase a membership, please contact (604) 899-GOAL(4625).

Scotiabank Captains Room is an exclusive membership-based restaurant and is home to award-winning Executive Chef Robert Bartley. Enjoy a premium all-you-can-eat dining experience for $63 per person (beverages are an additional cost). Join us two hours prior to Canucks home games.

The Scotiabank Captains Room menu changes from game to game. Chef Kyle Dampsy uses the freshest locally sourced products in order to create a dining experience that is second to none.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open during all regulation Vancouver Canucks home games. Doors open two hours prior to the start of the game.

The dining menu in Scotiabank Captains Room changes each night.

Cross Street:
Expo Bldv and Pacific Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 899-7525

Website:
http://rogersarena.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Bartley

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Captains Room is closed for concert events.

Sort By:
Newest
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Last Game Of The Year, Best Spread Of The Year!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

An excellent dining experience this past weekend @ Scotiabank Captains Room. Great selection of meats (prime rib, porchetta, pork schnitzel, fried chicken). A protein lovers dream! Service was prompt and very friendly. Normally a noisy room, but hey.........it's a hockey game!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wine

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Wine list is extensive but the mark ups are obscene

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Hockey Night in Vancouver

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Service is always excellent... Wish the on ice team performance could match the performance of the team in the Captains Room... 2nd to none...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Captain's Room

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

A great way to enjoy a hockey game with a most excellent dinner. Convenient as it gets with the extra plus of being able to come up between periods to grab a dessert , coffee or top up with another beverage that you can also bring down to your seats. Food quality is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great food great people

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

What more is there to say? People are helpful and friendly, and very accomodating. Enjoy going back between periods.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food are great. They take gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Service and food are great. They take great care and attentive to every need whenever I am dining in the Captains Room. Thank you .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to go before a Canuck game.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Awesome service, and very relaxing and tremendous vibe at the club.

Would recommend highly, especially if tickets are on same side of club and you like to go somewhere between periods. We came back for desert and coffee during each intermission.

Left our coats there, and everything was ready when we arrived.

Food is vast and on the very tasty side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Comment in dinner on January 9, 2016

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

All was fine except I have never before paid $25 per glass for bar wine. This was extremely poor value. The buffet price was high but OK.

The service was very good.

When I received the bill for the wine I was taken aback. Overall therefore the value was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Great Choices!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Some new, delicious choices for buffet items on this night, very enjoyable!

Service was very good and we were seated promptly!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

tables too close together.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Have been to this venue many times before but have never gone out of my way to seek out supervisors to give feedback about what great service we received from a server - Sarah has been by far the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Even better when served with a Canucks win

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Good selection of food items combined with excellent service...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Captains Room

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

this is my 3rd experience at the captains room .. I'm a season ticket holder from Victoria and find it a convenient place to dine. The food has been excellent though at times the hot entry's are not so hot ,warm at best ..the service waiters and staff also excellent ...great selection of wines was noted ..the bar on all 3 occasions was a little on the slow side ..taking a little longer than it should for the drinks to arrive ...

all in all a good meal and fine experience had my all in my party ..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great experience, delicious food & superb service.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

From the moment we arrived, the service was fantastic . All staff members were attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Food was delish. Enjoyed all the food especially the beet salad and spinach gnocchi. It was great that our table and fresh drinks were waiting for us between periods. Our waiter was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Taking client or hockey game and captain ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

Taking client or hockey game and captains room was recommended. It did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pre-Game Dinner - Score!

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

We have been going to the buffet in Rogers for many years and still enjoy it. They have reduced the offerings in both dinner and dessert courses however it is still very good and there is plenty of food. The dessert selections are playful and interesting and despite not usually eating dessert, I always take a look - and usually succumb to temptation. The wine list is good and the service is usually excellent. Overall, it is expensive compared to other options in the arena but the convenience of being in the building and walking down to your seat after a very good meal is always a huge hit with our guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pre-game dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

The best way to go to a hockey game. Relax, have a wonderful buffet dinner, then--Game on !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Captains Room has really stepped it up this year!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

I have been dining at Captains for over 10 years so I am most qualified to give you an update on this season's 2015-2016 season. The food on my visit Oct 18,2015 was excellent. Good choice of seafood, meats(chicken,short ribs, prime rib etc...). Kyle the executive chef went out his way to create a vegan platter (for the person I share season tickets with) which was made with great care and effort. Also, noticed the staff this year very kind/courteous ...very well trained.

Will keep me coming back :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Captains Club

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Great Venue for Hockey if you want it to be convienent. Great Buffet but lots of empty serving dishes. For the price the buffet is thin. No Vegetables. What was there tasted Great. However pricey for what you get.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

good variety of very good food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Overall the food was very good with a great selection of food from large fresh prawns, crab legs to the beef and pork selections as well as a good selection of deserts. The waitress we had was exceptional to a point of bringing us wiped cream for the apple pie that was not on the desert table. The wine selection has been expanded so that there is a good selection for all foods and pallets. The only thing we missed was having sushi other then that it was great and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Expensive, but worth it

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Not everyone can make a reso for the Captain's Room. You need to be a member or have Club seats. We had club seats. My client loves to eat here before the game. Good buffet. We come back to out table in between periods and the waiter has our drinks waiting for us - we have the table for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was great, service was great.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Extra bonus, they save your table for the length of the game. Perfect for intermissions of the game! No line up for drinks or washroom

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

afternoon pre game dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Service was above and beyond. My daughter has a number of food allergies and the waitress not only saw to it that she was well informed on every food item on the plentiful buffet, but also had a special dinner item served to her that was not even on the food tables. When we returned at intermission, our table was already set up with dessert selections and coffee was quick to arrive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Convenience, good food before, during Canucks game

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 17, 2015

Great pregame meal and convenience of being at the arena. Nice that reservation and table are available to you before, during and after the game. Our server was friendly, polite and attentave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very friendly and helpful staff

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Great food and atmosphete prior to the game. The location can't be beat.

One idea, as I am dairy allergic, a fruit tray for the dessert table would be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but good

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 9, 2015

Service was fast, food was great, but the prices were quite high. I guess that's the Rogers Arena experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Not Worth $60

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

Food was average, and not special. Service was horrible, it was if short staffed. Obviously hiring for looks and not work ethic. Definately not as enjoyable as in years past.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Peter

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 2, 2015

I enjoyed the experience. Service was excellent. Wine is way too expensive. Food was good. Selection was limited. Overall expensive but a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

First Time Here

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 2, 2015

This was our first visit to the Captain's Room at Rogers Arena. I took my father prior to the canucks game and what a surprise. The food was amazing and the service absolutely top notch. Mir was great to have a full meal before the game and then come back in the first intermission for coffee and desserts

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Captains Room - not as good as before

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 2, 2015

I have been dining at Captains Room for over 8 years and usually had good experience. This year Aramark contract was not renewed and thus they changed the executive cook , waitresses, management etc... . The food was ok but just seems less overall selection. The start of the new season started out well w great food quality/selection but feels like going downhill. One of the cabbage coleslaw salad was way too tart. Romaine Caesar not crisp and was too limp. The beef ribs were a bit bland/way too undercooked. Other than that other food items were not bad.

Hmmm maybe I being bias b/c of my experience this time around.

Apparently they changed their policy on no small take out boxes even IF guests don't eat anything but a few bites. They reason I noticed it this year b/c I hosted a suite on Jan 1/2014 with 16 guests. We sat at 540 and left in 45 mins as we headed back to the suite. Few of my guests including my sister didn't eat much bc of upset stomach....when I asked if it is possible get a take out box for few of my guests I was flatly denied saying policy changed. Unsympathetic and a flat no policy changed was only provided.

Drink orders were not correctly tabulated as well as my group are non alcohol drinkers and noticed more than half only drank water :(

Also, I was perplexed why they charged me 18% gratuity automatically when I have never seen that before the past 8 years! The waitress just stated oh by the way there is a standard gratuity added. Any establishment must clarify this policy prior to sitting. Obviously not going to discuss this in front of guests but definitely disappointed.

Also, noticed the place was only 60% full. Wondered why they had seats that abutted right behind ours including mine whereas I had no room to move my seat back to any degree.Really hope they turn it back around b/c it was one my favorite spots where I have dined over hundreds of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Lovely experience.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 2, 2015

Food was fabulous. First rate and very appealing. Wine is very over priced. 15.00 for 5 ounces and you can get the same wine at the game for half price. Wine prices should match game prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre game dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

I went with my adult son for my second visit this year to the Captain's Room. It was also my second visit in 3 days. For some reason the intial beverages were slow in arriving, but came with apologies and after that the service was great. The food was superb again as well. My only complaint is that they do not post their menu ahead of time so you can decide if a particular night's menu is attractive to both yourself and the guest you are bringing. I can eat almost anything but other family members cannot or do not and it would be very helpful if the menu were available before making the reservation. While others seem to find the ability to return for a beverage between periods is attractive, it holds nothing for me as my seats are on the opposite side of the arena and there is not enough time to get to the dining area and back without missing some of the game.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

pre game buffet

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

This was my first time at the Captain's Room this season. I loved the changes. The food was superb

and the service was outstanding. In previous years the waiter was invisible after bringing drinks when you first arrived. Our waitress was by several times to check on our feedback for the food and

ask about topping up beverages. Plates were removed frequently as well. I am going back for the next game in two days.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre-Hockey game

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

As usual. Excellent buffet and excellent surroundings in a pre- game environment of excitement and anticipation. A little noisy but what to expect ?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Expensive treat

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 18, 2014

It was great being able to go back to the table during the intermissions and have a drink waiting. The service was excellent. But would not do it on my own dime - glad was expensing it. It was expensive for 2 and we did not drink alcohol. Can't imagine what the bill would have like if we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great place to eat before the game and l ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

Great place to eat before the game and love the idea of returning to your table between periods

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food, experience, gone downhill.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 12, 2014

We were regulars at the Captain's club for the past couple seasons. The staff and food were always top notch and we never had any issues. Unfortunately since the change from Aramark the overall dining experience has gone downhill. The price has been raised only to serve less than equal food to last year. Last year there was always a large amount of seafood, sushi, wonderful salads, fresh pastas and a large roast. In our dining experience this time there were cold cuts, fried chicken, potato salad, coleslaw, a small amount of cold seafood, a Gnocchi station and a beef roast. The cooks at each station were under educated on what was actually in the foods (we had a person with an allergy at our table). We found some of the staff to be very rude. When asked to speak to a chef to address the allergy he came over to only joke that this person really couldn't eat anything. When she had a question he abruptly stopped her and asked her to wait till he was finished talking. We felt bad for our server who felt the need to apologize for some of the staff. It seems like the restaurant is trying to cut corners on costs by providing food that still tastes good but the quality and assortment just isn't there.

The dessert table was nothing special. We really missed the assortment of desserts that were provided last season. (chocolate fountain, assortment of cakes, and crème Brule)

Overall we will not be back to the Captain's Room this season unless the food and staffing issues dramatically improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

perfect

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

Enjoyed the entire experience from food selection to excellent service provided by our waiter!

Loved that we could return to our table between game periods for snacks, desserts, drinks and coffee!

It was a very special anniversary for us indeed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 27, 2014

We visited the Captains Room on Sunday Oct 26th before heading down for the Canuck's Game. The overall experience was outstanding! Our waitress went above and beyond - as far as having drinks waiting for us during the intermission. The food was delicious - a wide variety of items, something for everyone! Would definitely recommend having dinner here if you have the opportunity

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor Value

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 19, 2014

Overall very disappointed in the quality of food provided in terms of value for the dollar. Roast beef on a bun along with fried chicken and biscuits does not add up to a $60.00 per person buffet in my books! A 8 ounce glass of wine for $17.50 was the icing on the cake. Quite frankly this would have been poor value at 1/2 the price. Desert table was great. Service was very slow when it came closer to game time despite the fact that there seemed to be plenty of staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Needs some polishing.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

Good:

- While not a lot of selection, what there was, was cooked well. This restaurant only really has one seating per night as you can come and go during intermissions so you pay for that privilege.

Bad:

- Service was only OK

- Bar was extremely slow

- Jay Jones was responsible for the drink selection? Well clearly not the training then. A manhattan served in a tall glass with ice and a straw? Please. Worst manhattan ever.

- After asking for bill, they asked for my credit card to run it through without showing me an actual bill. Wanted to get to my seat so let them run it. When they returned, they only brought one copy for me to sign. Um... where is my copy? "oh you want a copy?" - geez.

In the end, we did not receive a copy of the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.