About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Justin Lall seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Authentic (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Family Style (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Romantic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (0)
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Scopa remains one of our favoured establishments for special family occasions. Our family consists of all age groups from age 5 to 65. Scopa's staff, the variety of food and the quality of food and service will keep us coming back for more. Keep up the good work.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice evening. Celebrating a birthday and Scopa gave a 10% off card to the birthday girl. Had a lovely meal and great wine recommended by our server.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Matt was our waiter and was very attentive. The food was excellent!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Dinner was fantastic as always. Our service was great.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We chose to sit on the patio since it was such a beautiful day. Because the patio is on centre street it can be a bit noisy at times but that's to be expected.
Our server was attentive but not intrusive so we were able to have a conversation.
We shared the Tuscan salad and the Fungi pizza which is a favourite. Both were very good and large enough to share. The focaccia and balsamic is always a great start to lunch.
We had a 1/2 litre of Alpha Zeta Pinot Grigio which is a perfect match for the mushroom pizza.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It was a great experience. We were in a rush but the servers were very accommodating. The food the server recommended was great.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We are always extremely happy with our time at Scopa!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Neither my girlfriend were able to finish our meal. This was my third visit and I had been looking forward to a romantic friendly meal. Previously there had always been at least chicken breat which had been excellent. I requested TWICE spaghetti meatballs. The meatballs were extremely spicy and due to a personal quirk I can't enjoy pasta. The waitress said when I complained that they were both the same ??? Even the tiramisu was delicious but soooooo bland. RESULT. !! Guess ?? The only enjoyable thing was my companion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 30, 2017

we sat on the patio, perfect. The flowers we amazing, just a lovely spot to spend a lunch hour.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent food and a great experience, it was our first time at Scope, we will definitely go back and I can see it being one of our favorites.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Although this wasn't our first visit to Scopa, we thought we'd try it again since it had been a while. Our experience left us quite disappointed in many ways. The ambiance, waiter etc was very nice but the menu and food were disappointing. I will qualify that by saying that the special that evening was quite good but our other 3 dinners were disappointing and expensive.
The menu is very limiting...for instance, I would have like to see a seafood fetticinne but there was only a risotto seafood...even after I asked for it. My lemon veal was plain and had so few pasta noodles under it you couldn't even see it at first. Wine was great and so was our waiter!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Overall the experience was a positive one. The food and wine list had some very good options. We especially enjoyed our appetizers of Calamari and House Marinated Olives. We found the risotto to be a little too much Elena dente. The Veal Picatta was quite good as was the chicken satimboca however the servings seemed a little small for the price. The dessert being a flourless chocolate torte was a standout dish. Tons of hazelnuts in the cake with candied hazelnuts on the side made this a decadent Ferraro Roche like (but in cake form) experience.

The service was a little brusque but our server warmed up as the restaurant emptied out. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list though.

We liked it a lot and would go back more often if we lived closer. We recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

we had a lovely time and the food was fantastic. not sure what it would be like dining outside when the traffic was heavier but we were there on a long weekend monday and it was fine. my only complaint was the music. it was just plain weird. lots of barry white and other 70's makeout music. just doesnt match family dining or frankly any dining. need to class it up a bit guys. we will go back though no matter the music. sooooo good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Nice patio. The service was slow. Pasta was cold. Pizza ok but very greasy. We've been going to Scopa several times a year since it opened. Not the same as it was. Very disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This is not the first time for us at Scopa and for sure will not the last! We loved it, and celebrated our 20th anniversary there this week. Took the kids as well, and everyone loved their appies and mains! Service was stellar, and food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The kids had the linguine and clams in white wine sauce (no leftovers!). I had the mushroom pizza with proscuitto (had leftovers but sadly forgot them there!) and hubby had the carbonara. Delicious and overall a wonderful evening out for us with our kids.

Thanks Scopa!!! We will be back for sure!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food in an unpretentious environment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Once again a great experience and great food. Tyler at the bar was very attentive and friendly. This continues to be one of our "go to" restaurants with very few choices in the north.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great service, price, food and ambiance. Parking is limited, but other than that the restaurant is comfortable with an authentic Italian eatery feel. Great food served in a well coordinated, timely fashion. The restaurant is in a quiet older neighborhood. We went on a Saturday evening and we were pleasantly surprised by the relaxing, friendly atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Disappointed with quality and shocked with the menu pricing. It appeared that as a non drinker and little opportunity to up-sell us didn't help. Unlikely to return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My daughter and I had a beautiful evening with excellent food and drinks, thanks!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderfully flavored and presented food. Exceptional service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 4, 2017

First time trying this restaurant out. Half the food was bland. Service wasn't the greatest.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very attentive staff food portions are good and good menu selection from appetizers to mains

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Scopa is one of my favorite neighborhood gems. Great Italian food. Good size portions. I love the Aranchi (rice balls)! So tasty! Can't go wrong! All are good including the pizza, lasagna, risotto, etc.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Disappointed with the food. My main course was Luke warm to cold. After sending it back it was still the same coming back to me. The server/kitchen mixed up my appetizer with another person at the table (we had both ordered the same item) it was all served on the one plate to me. They realized their mistake and came back to tell us, both appetizer was on the same plate for sharing..... obliviously trying to cover up their mistake. They should have told us the truth and fix the issue. I sent the appetizer back to be split with the other guest as there was no other option offered.... they should have made a fresh one for my guest at the table and not have divide the plate I had been eating from... gross overall not impressed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The parmigiana that my friend and I had was very good but my friend didn't like the salad that came with it. She thought it was too lemony. My other friend had ordered his steak sandwich without onions and it came with them. The server took it back to the kitchen and replaced it. My husband had the pork tenderloin which he enjoyed. Our server was not very personable or friendly. I've had better service in my previous visits. The tiramisu was very good. I'll definately go back to this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had our favorite server today who timed our food and drinks perfectly at the pace we wanted. As always, we enjoyed a lovely meal and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 10, 2017

3 of us had the veal and it was very disappointing. Flavourless, no sauce, tough.. appetizers were very good

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love the food! Best pizza in Calgary. Our 9 year old daughter loves the Veal served with Kale, "the best ever"!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was lovely as usual. Attentive service. Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2017

clean and quiet setting, attentive, unobtrusive service, delicious, fresh food, somewhat overpriced

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 2, 2017

As always, this continues to be a favorite for girls nights, date nights and family dinners. They are absolutely amazing at accommodating the variety of allergies in our group!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Lovely place. Great service. Very tasty food. Loved it

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great friendly service and delicious food!

Only drawback for us was the noise level, which made it difficult to carry on conversations. But don't think it would stop us from coming back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Wood Oven, Family Style, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Unbeatable Italian!
Enjoyed a wonderful lunch with my sister who could not compare the greatness of her meal from that of any resto from her home in Ottawa.
I know where we will come on her next visit!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing food and service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It's a great place to have a birthday dinner and drinks . It was a busy Wednesday but staff was great . We started with the calamari . I had the risotto as my main and ended with a cannoli.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Good food, great verde salad, friendly service. bar area was a bit noisy. The only downside for us: menu does not label GF items and the waiter forgot that I wanted GF but made up for it by bringing me GF pasta after being served.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food was good but the portions were small compared to the prices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Constantly great food and service. Always a great spot for Supper

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Family Style, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.