About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Justin Lall seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Family Style (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Authentic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Romantic (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined a day ago

Overall the experience was a positive one. The food and wine list had some very good options. We especially enjoyed our appetizers of Calamari and House Marinated Olives. We found the risotto to be a little too much Elena dente. The Veal Picatta was quite good as was the chicken satimboca however the servings seemed a little small for the price. The dessert being a flourless chocolate torte was a standout dish. Tons of hazelnuts in the cake with candied hazelnuts on the side made this a decadent Ferraro Roche like (but in cake form) experience.

The service was a little brusque but our server warmed up as the restaurant emptied out. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list though.

We liked it a lot and would go back more often if we lived closer. We recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice patio. The service was slow. Pasta was cold. Pizza ok but very greasy. We've been going to Scopa several times a year since it opened. Not the same as it was. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This is not the first time for us at Scopa and for sure will not the last! We loved it, and celebrated our 20th anniversary there this week. Took the kids as well, and everyone loved their appies and mains! Service was stellar, and food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The kids had the linguine and clams in white wine sauce (no leftovers!). I had the mushroom pizza with proscuitto (had leftovers but sadly forgot them there!) and hubby had the carbonara. Delicious and overall a wonderful evening out for us with our kids.

Thanks Scopa!!! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food in an unpretentious environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Once again a great experience and great food. Tyler at the bar was very attentive and friendly. This continues to be one of our "go to" restaurants with very few choices in the north.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great service, price, food and ambiance. Parking is limited, but other than that the restaurant is comfortable with an authentic Italian eatery feel. Great food served in a well coordinated, timely fashion. The restaurant is in a quiet older neighborhood. We went on a Saturday evening and we were pleasantly surprised by the relaxing, friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Disappointed with quality and shocked with the menu pricing. It appeared that as a non drinker and little opportunity to up-sell us didn't help. Unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My daughter and I had a beautiful evening with excellent food and drinks, thanks!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderfully flavored and presented food. Exceptional service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 4, 2017

First time trying this restaurant out. Half the food was bland. Service wasn't the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very attentive staff food portions are good and good menu selection from appetizers to mains

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Scopa is one of my favorite neighborhood gems. Great Italian food. Good size portions. I love the Aranchi (rice balls)! So tasty! Can't go wrong! All are good including the pizza, lasagna, risotto, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Disappointed with the food. My main course was Luke warm to cold. After sending it back it was still the same coming back to me. The server/kitchen mixed up my appetizer with another person at the table (we had both ordered the same item) it was all served on the one plate to me. They realized their mistake and came back to tell us, both appetizer was on the same plate for sharing..... obliviously trying to cover up their mistake. They should have told us the truth and fix the issue. I sent the appetizer back to be split with the other guest as there was no other option offered.... they should have made a fresh one for my guest at the table and not have divide the plate I had been eating from... gross overall not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The parmigiana that my friend and I had was very good but my friend didn't like the salad that came with it. She thought it was too lemony. My other friend had ordered his steak sandwich without onions and it came with them. The server took it back to the kitchen and replaced it. My husband had the pork tenderloin which he enjoyed. Our server was not very personable or friendly. I've had better service in my previous visits. The tiramisu was very good. I'll definately go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had our favorite server today who timed our food and drinks perfectly at the pace we wanted. As always, we enjoyed a lovely meal and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 10, 2017

3 of us had the veal and it was very disappointing. Flavourless, no sauce, tough.. appetizers were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love the food! Best pizza in Calgary. Our 9 year old daughter loves the Veal served with Kale, "the best ever"!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was lovely as usual. Attentive service. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2017

clean and quiet setting, attentive, unobtrusive service, delicious, fresh food, somewhat overpriced

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 2, 2017

As always, this continues to be a favorite for girls nights, date nights and family dinners. They are absolutely amazing at accommodating the variety of allergies in our group!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Lovely place. Great service. Very tasty food. Loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great friendly service and delicious food!

Only drawback for us was the noise level, which made it difficult to carry on conversations. But don't think it would stop us from coming back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Family Style, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Unbeatable Italian!
Enjoyed a wonderful lunch with my sister who could not compare the greatness of her meal from that of any resto from her home in Ottawa.
I know where we will come on her next visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It's a great place to have a birthday dinner and drinks . It was a busy Wednesday but staff was great . We started with the calamari . I had the risotto as my main and ended with a cannoli.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Good food, great verde salad, friendly service. bar area was a bit noisy. The only downside for us: menu does not label GF items and the waiter forgot that I wanted GF but made up for it by bringing me GF pasta after being served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food was good but the portions were small compared to the prices.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Constantly great food and service. Always a great spot for Supper

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a great meal with some special friends. Everyone enjoyed the appetizers and meals. Great portions, we were stuffed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great spot. Casual and family friendly! Wonderful home made dishes and tasty pizza! If you like Italian wonderful spot with good value!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had stopped in the first time hoping for some gelato. We weren't disappointed; they had two flavours of gelato and two of sorbet. Delicious!
On the way out we spied a table having pizza...it looked great...so we returned two days later to try it out for ourselves. Again, we were not disappointed. It was as great as it looked; great chewy crust with great tasting toppings. We also tried one of the salads and finished with dessert. Equally tasty!! Our server advised us on portions sizes and was dead on. It was the perfect amount! We will definitely be back to try more of the menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been eating here for many years, even before you reopened as Scopa. For the first time i had the margherita pizza, and did not really like it much. I prefer that type of pizza with tomatoes on it. I thought the sauce was bland with too much garlic, and i find the buffalo mozarella tasteless also. My preference would have been regular moza, or a mix of mozarella and asagio or something similar. Or perhaps you could have a plain four-cheese pizza in addition to the margerita. Anyways, i may be the only one to think this about your pizza, but i figure if no one gives feed back you will never know.
Thanks
Margaret

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We were well looked after after a short initial wait for our table. Had the price fix chef's choice menu and found it to be good value. The food was all excellent!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food and great variety! Very good value for $35 per person! Wide range of selection and chef made us some wonderful food! I would highly recommend Thursday nights! I look forward to trying other featured nights at Scopa!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We enjoyed an afternoon lunch with and appetizer, wine and a ,pizza. Food was excellent and service was truly outstanding. It was our third visit and we will be back

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was really a great experience,being a executive chef myself,i can say it was really a great italian exposure
Thank you so much for the night and especially i really loved the idea of photo camera

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good and the staff were great. We have ben there before and will go again. We have recommended Scopa to friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If your looking for quality Italian from the second you walk in, great flavours and great service Scopa is a must. It was our first time but defiantly not our last!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to SCopa for valantine's Day, a busy night for sure, but they spaced the tables and timed reservations well so that it ran smoothly. They had a special menu (along with the usual menu) which included Tuna carpacio, a seafood pasta and lamb on a vegetable puree. We shared them all and they were perfectly prepared. We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Vegan portion size very small compared to regular meal size. Food was very good and the service excelent. Dining room was a bit noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.