Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today
Special offers available. See details

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

4.4
694 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Justin Lall seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–10:00 pm
Sat, Sun 3:00 pm–10:00 pm
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 276-2030
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Justin Lall
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
22 Avenue N
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
From Italian Regional Dinner's to our annual Harvest Festival, Scopa frequently hosts new, fun events. Visit www.scopacalgary.com and join our mailing list to stay in the loop!
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Scopa will be hosting a special Mothers Day brunch from 10am to 3pm, so join us and treat one of the most special ladies in your life. We will also have special features for dinner if mom wants to sleep in that day.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 694 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Such amazing food and friendly staff. Always take my family here when they’re visiting!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We went to Scopa for dinner with our ended soon who was in town visiting. He likes Italian and we decided to try Scopa. We ordered the Chef's four- course menu. We all liked and enjoyed the meal and would recommend Scopa. Jus remember to pace yourself!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great place. Highly recommend you go try this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Always love eating at Scopa. Great pastas, daily specials, pizzas, mains, burger, and gelato. The prices are a bit steep so it's best to try to get one of the wine night deals or late night eats.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food quality was not worth the price paid Pasta was cold and under cooked. Menus has been changed since our last visit. Old Favorites have been deleted

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great place for our monthly dinner group of 8. Great service. Great Italian. Reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

First time here for my friends and I and we were all pleasantly surprised. Half priced bottles of wine on Tuesday was a nice surprise. Food was very tasty. Great job! We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Usually the service/food at scopa is great. This particular day I can’t say it was. The food was served lukewarm and the service was lukewarm as well. We had to ask several times for refills on our water and eventually went up to the bar. We were offered pepper that never came. The restaurant was not busy nor did it seemed understaffed. It was quite a let down for a birthday dinner. I’ve been there serveral times with way better service, it’s a shame but that is how th dinner went.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I have been a client of Scopa for a few years now and there have been some decent meals - not spectacular but OK. However, in the last few times I have been there has been a marked deterioration in the quality of the quality of the food. Today was the final confirmation that it is time to stop visiting.

My dinner partner and I had decided that we would look at a starter and then would share a bacon carbonara. The carbonara was a disaster with a strong and over-bearing flavour of lemon and over-cooked egg. The menu made no mention of lemon, which is not a classic carbonara ingredient, being included. We discussed it with the waitress who apologized and was very gracious when we chose not to finish it and send it back. We specifically discussed that the dish should not have lemon but if this was a decision the chef made then it should be clearly listed on the menu. We felt that it was important that the chef be aware of this. No problem, we were calm but just sent it back... that should have been it with an attempt by the kitchen to resolve the issue... unfortunately it wasn't.

Scopa has an open kitchen and when the waitress went to the kitchen we could plainly hear the chef yelling at her with he and his assistants looking at us with disdain and talking clearly and plainly about us. In a few words this was simply unacceptable. It reached a point where my partner rightfully felt she had to discuss the fact with the manager that our waitress did not deserve to be treated with such disrespect. The manager gratiously refunded all of our food order but the sour and bitter taste of a poorly done carbonara and the "lemon" bitter attitude of a chef out of his element will remain with us - never to be experienced again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

One of our favorites, such good food, service and ambiance. Depending on how busy they are the service can be a bit slow but no complaints because we are never in a hurry to leave.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great Experience for my birthday. Server was very knowledgeable with the menu and wine list.
They brought out a candle on the ice cream for desert, and had a birthday card.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The burger here is my new favourite. My previous favourite was the now closed Bears Den.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Nice place to meet a friend for dinner. Attentive staff and consistently good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Met two good friends at Scopa for lunch. As always, great food and service! Shared some calamari, which was done perfectly and was so good...could have had another bowlful!! Mains were very good...had the cannelloni, which would have been perfect with just a bit more sauce and served a bit hotter than arrived at the table, but overall was very good.
Have never had a bad meal here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Delicious food and great service. Gluten friendly options available as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

First time going with kids, great spot, great service & food, will definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Had a marvellous time--try the Famiglia spread with wine pairings! Great value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Perfect spaghetti carbonara! Half price wine Tuesdays!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Scopa met my expectations on almost every level. I had not been at this location for years and was looking forward to seeing if it was as good as it used to be. I would say it was about the same. Not any worse nor anything more spectacular, which s probably all you could ask for. The only real additional feedback I would give is that the servers were very attentive but not really very friendly. Seemed like they were 'just doing what they were instructed/paid to do" but without much energy about it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

A great spot in a cute neighbourhood. Pretty good Italian food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Good Dayl
We have always enjoyed Scopa, but our last visit was not up to its normally high standard. Two of the guests order the veal with a lemon sauce which did not at all taste of lemon. We mentioned it but it was more or less ignored.
Also the waitress either constantly interrupted the conversation or failed to address everyone's need at the table and had to be asked back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

It was our first time here, we opted for the family style meal . It was very delicious, authentic. It was a Saturday and they were busy but they staff was very attentive. We would definitely go again .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Excellent experience!!! Food awesome service awesome !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Good variety of food and drink. Friendly staff, casual atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

This was our third time to Scopa in two or three years. We always eat family style and always love. I really enjoyed myself.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Love tree food and the atmosphere ... pizza is as close to the real Italian pizza I remember from when we were in Italy 2 years ago keep it up

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Enjoyed the ambience.
Food was nothing special.
Lasagne meat had very little seasoning and was watery.
Arctic char ...very little char...a bit more pasta would have been better
Bread great...dipping vinegar was inadequate for 4 people.
Mushroom bruchetta also under seasoned.
Server was ok, a bit too reserved...we always like our server to be somewhat relaxed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We arrived early but were seated right away. Food was very tasty. They don't seem to have tonic water readily available for a Gin And Tonic. The drink was flat and my husband sent it back and ordered something else. We enjoyed the dinner and would go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wasn't thrilled with our table location by the entrance as people who were waiting for a table or picking up food were virtually over my shoulder...otherwise great food, great service..!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Great menu and wine selection. Tuesday half price bottles of wine. We had the chicken/ veal scallopine with tagliatelle agla e olio. Delicious. Well prepared. Resto ambiance is cool neighbourhood vibe. Service wasn’t 5 star. Server wasn’t unfriendly but not friendly either. Asked about specials - she pointed to the leaflet on table and told us they were listed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Great place for Sunday brunch. We arrived at 10am when it opened; no other customers till at least 10:30. The brunch menu has some amazing and unique options. The lemon and ricotta buttermilk pancakes as was the potatoe pancake; both were so delicious.
The first coffee served was warm - must have been from early morning staff but our server made a new pot and it was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Very good food and great service. It's a little Italian gem that's very easy to get to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Overall we enjoyed our meal very much.
The Linguine Vongole was thoroughly enjoyed.

The trout was very tasty also

However the Risotto was to a little too moist (wet). The scallops tasted quite fishy and the taste permeated the whole dish. Also too much fennel (this that’s what the white pieces were).

Only other downside was the overall price of the extensive wine list. For a neighbourhood restaurant, and family friendly, u would think some of the wine selections would be more budget friendly.

The service we had was excellent!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

I'll start with why I didn't put 5 stars in some categories, especially ambience and value: I looked up "best carbonara in calgary" and Scopa was right up there, so we thought we'd go for a celebratory romantic date night. For "ambiance": We had been once before and sat on the patio and had a lovely romantic quiet dinner, so we thought the experience would be similar, which it was not. The lower "value" score is because for the price-point, we are expected higher-end dining than the reality of this neighbourhood gem. The restaurant was chock-full of families with little children, and it was very noisy, busy, and distracting. I immediately regretted dressing up and wearing anything other than a shirt and jeans, and I can say that it was an especially un-romantic and not relaxed dinner. We were in and out before most of the families around us who had started eating when we arrived.

What I will say, though, is that the food was exceptional and the service was wonderful and friendly. It's basically a typical family restaurant overrun by kids with super amazing food, which we may appreciate more when we have kids ourselves, and which is obviously appreciated by those with children considering that there were always people waiting for a table. Make a reservation!

Side note- the carbonara WAS delicious. However, if you are looking for a traditional creamy or dry style carbonara, this is not where you will find it. If you just want the carbonara template with some amazing flavours, you won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

This is a fun, relaxed restaurant. Service was very good and the food was delicious. Certainly not a cheap place to eat but still good value overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Service and timeliness of meal was second to none again.
Tiramisu is incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We went during a busy time and the service was still impeccable! Our server knew the menu very well, and was efficient in timing of drink refills, food, etc.
The food is always delicious, and the presentation amazing!
Highly recommend this gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We absolutely love Scopa! The service is always top notch. Fast and Friendly. The pastas are fresh and lots to chose from. Very good wine selection. The desserts we had perfect and homemade!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Pizza is $10 after 8 pm in the week...what a deal!! Three of us had a later dinner out at Scopa and we each ordered a different pizza. What were we thinking? Each pie will feed 2 people, so not an individual serving...unless you are really, really hungry!! Had enough pizza leftover for another lunch and dinner. Good deal, along with the 1/2 litres of wine for 1/2 price on Thursdays.

Great way to have a really nice less expensive evening out with good food and an enjoyable atmosphere!! Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We took our family to Scopa and tried the family style tasting menu. The food was excellent, and plentiful, and they were able to accommodate the dietary restrictions of our group. The wine pairings were very good as well. Overall great value for the meal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by Scopa Neighbourhood Italian