About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Chris Prinz seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sheldon Guindon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB

Report a photo problem

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for a Date (41)
Casual (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Family Style (22)
Cozy (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Authentic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fireplace (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tapas (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfotunately, every dish was extremely s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Unfotunately, every dish was extremely salty. We had this experience last time we were there, and we thought maybe it was a one-off... nope... different dishes, same thing. Nice ambience and service, but the food is very disappointing. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to Scopa for my birthday. No on ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Scopa for my birthday. No one had never been before, and we were all very impressed with the quality of the food, the service and the ambience at Scopa. The meatball appetizers, Risotto balls and Veal entrees were delicious! Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Scopa - the food, the ambience, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We love Scopa - the food, the ambience, the kid-friendliness, the happy staff and again the food!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good autentic italian menu. Not exp ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

very good autentic italian menu. Not expensive comparing quality/service/size of the plates. Going back for sure. amazing Tiramisu .

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic decor. Food was excellent. T ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic decor. Food was excellent. The service was attentive but not overbearing and very courteous. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food awesome servers and fun a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious food awesome servers and fun ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding as always. Matt, ou ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was outstanding as always. Matt, our server was very attentive and when he was not needed you could still see him out in his section looking at all of his Guests watching for Service ques. Music could be a bit louder so it can be heard.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. 2nd time and will return agai ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food. 2nd time and will return again for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for New Years Eve dinner with fr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Years Eve dinner with friends. Food was fabulous and so was the service. Tim and team, especially Tyler always make us feel welcome! Thanks for a great evening!!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pizza was excellent and house wine is pr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Pizza was excellent and house wine is pretty good. The veal meatballs were the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was sub part at best. We went f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was sub part at best. We went for new years. My husband pizza was bland and average. I had the veal saltinbocca and it was bland and overcooked. The pasta was swimming in

oil and there was more kale on the plate than anything else. That was also covered in oil. The best part of the meal was the wine. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great food, great service, reasonable pr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service, reasonable pricing.

Noise level was moderate.

Staff were most accommodating

Decor is novel with re-purposing old ladders into lighting fixtures.

Will go back another time for sure

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was all well presented for the pric ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was all well presented for the price and ambiance of this place.

We had two young children with our party and it was still quite enjoyable for everyone.

They had colouring to keep them busy from the start offered by the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The third time we have been there. Happe ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The third time we have been there. Happened to get there for a very early dinner during happy hour. Lots of attentive staff great food. Took an Italian and she was impressed!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic server and delicious meal as a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic server and delicious meal as always. Love going to Scopa! Great night out with friends to celebrate the holidays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food and service was as usual exceptiona ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

food and service was as usual exceptional. Server was very friendly and punctual. Love going to Scopa's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food, excellent service. Only ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Very good food, excellent service. Only complaint would be the lack of adequate parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Second visit to Scopa and we weren't dis ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Second visit to Scopa and we weren't disappointed! Service and food excellent and I'd be happy to recommend Scopa to anyone looking for tasty Italian fare at a decent price. Keep up the good work, Scopa - we'll be back again!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had high expectations going, and they st ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had high expectations going, and they still surpassed them. Fantastic restaurant with a great vibe and even better food. I recommend this place to everyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing meal. Feel that Scopa is s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Disappointing meal. Feel that Scopa is slipping. It has been a favourite for several years but the food lacked its former panache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great meal, great atmosphere. A great d ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great meal, great atmosphere. A great dining experience overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hmmm....10th or 15th time coming to Scop ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Hmmm....10th or 15th time coming to Scopa and as usual, did not disappoint!! Remains consistent with great food, service, & ambiance. Great spot for business lunches, team dinners, or for birthdays/anniversaries. Keep up the great work Scopa! Kev

Tags: , Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Family Style, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and amazingly friendly se ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and amazingly friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have gathering with frien ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great place to have gathering with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere, very pleasant server, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, very pleasant server, and tasty food.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the bruschetta, and for its pr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I ordered the bruschetta, and for its price it was horrible. The crostini was not even homemade bread. It was definitely store bought. In Italian there called fette biscotto. I can even buy them at Linas. Secondly the tiramisu was awful. It was to creamy and had chunks of ricotta in between. Not very good.

Definitely a disgrace to Italian cuisine. Trust me I know I lived there for 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Remain consistent week after week, month ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Remain consistent week after week, month after month. Great service, management and of course food! Suitable for a date with your honey, get together with friends or a business luncheon/dinner. Will keep coming back! Good work Scopa!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and very good service in an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great food, and very good service in an excellent Italian Restaurant!

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Everyone seemed happy with th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food. Everyone seemed happy with their meal. Noisy though. Kid screaming half the time we were there . They should have controlled their kid😡

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Have never been disappointed when dining ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Have never been disappointed when dining at Scopa the Beet Caprese salad is a must try.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience, our server An ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a great experience, our server Angie was delightful, was knowledgeable and was able to have fun with us. We would definitely recommend Scopa to others. Fantastic evening!!

Tags: Good for a Date, , Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was attentive, however we had to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was attentive, however we had to let the server know right away that we were not in a hurry, as diners around us were being served very quickly, then left. Scopa does not appear to be the kind of restaurant where one should be hurried through their appetizer, main course etc. , however on this particular evening the Servers were talking, and serving extremely quickly, like they needed to get onto the next table. This was a turn off, as the food was flavorful and prepared well; thus, needed to be savored, not gobbled down like fast food!!! A second server appeared once we announced that we were not in a hurry, and this slowed things down somewhat, to a reasonable comfort level, to relax and enjoy our dining experience. We walked to Scopa, as we live nearby; this was our first time there for dinner, and we were surprised at the amount of people at the restaurant!!! Perhaps the servers did not expect such a crowd on this particular evening! We felt rushed, like we needed to eat and run.

Anyway, the food was great, but just slow your servers down somewhat in order for patrons to enjoy each course, with time in between to digest!! They are an energetic group, but must also realize that there is a wide range of demographics that will expect a different type of service, instead of the frenetic fast pace, that perhaps a 'younger crowd' might opt into!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fresh and Delicious. Upscale from Lina' ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fresh and Delicious. Upscale from Lina's Deli. Love this restaurant for good food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Scopas 5 times in the pa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have been to Scopas 5 times in the past 6 months, we live near by which i believe is what Scopas focuses on. The kids love it as do we. Menu is good, pizza is very good, as is pasta and short ribs, usually one feature fish the halibut was very good. We will be going back for sure

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It's been about a year since I have been ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It's been about a year since I have been there and the menu has significantly changed. It's not as good as it used to be. Very little pasta options now. They used to have a pesto pasta which was amazing and it's unfortunate it's not on the menu. My friend ordered cannelloni and it was cold so it had to be sent back. The service was great but we were not impressed with the food.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We try to frequent this restaurant as mu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We try to frequent this restaurant as much as we can, really enjoy the atmosphere service is great! Food is good as well. Brought our friends here for the first time, they absolutely enjoyed it! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My second time enjoying this wonderful r ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My second time enjoying this wonderful restaurant! Great wine and appetizers. Service is fantastic as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fast and professional. D ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was fast and professional. Despite the place being busy on a Saturday, everything arrived quickly, and the staff was able to accommodate substitutions without a fuss.

Expensive for the portion sizes, but undeniably very tasty. Not a place I'll go regularly, but I enjoyed the visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service is hit and miss. I think th ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service is hit and miss. I think the hostess hates children, because she is always giving our son the evil eye. The food is great, pasta sauce is always fresh. Our last visit we made the economical choice, a first for us, to order salad and pizza and fed our family of three no problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic food and great service had a r ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic food and great service had a really good time. Thanks going back tonight!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.