About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Chris Prinz seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sheldon Guindon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Calgary
Outdoor Dining
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

neighborhood gem (128)
fit for foodies (83)
good for groups (82)
See All
great for outdoor dining (69)
special occasion (59)
great for lunch (55)
kid-friendly (36)
notable wine list (25)
romantic (22)
hot spot (17)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have to have the veal meatballs! The foo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 2 days ago

Have to have the veal meatballs! The food is good and it feels like a family is running it for you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great evening here as always. The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great evening here as always. The waiter was especially good and the food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent tasting appetizers, entrees an ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent tasting appetizers, entrees and the tiramisu is fabulous!! Reasonably priced for an evening out with friends!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have the best carbonara I have ever ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

They have the best carbonara I have ever had, even though 17 dollars is a little pricey, it was really good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I ordered Risotto and the waitress sugge ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I ordered Risotto and the waitress suggested shrimp or chicken. I said ok to the shrimp but was shocked when my risotto came to $29!! $12 for 6 shrimp is crazy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Good place to go with friends for a tast ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good place to go with friends for a tasty meal in a casual environment. Been there several times and food has been good. Will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find. Great value and the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

What a great find. Great value and the best fried risotto balls. This was our 2nd time there and we will be back on the next date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very expensive for a small steak ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall very expensive for a small steak & salad with no hot vegetable or potato. The wine was also expensive for a 5 oz glass - Yes we noticed the smaller 5oz compared to the standard smaller glass of 6 oz served at other restaurants. $3.50 for a cup of coffee is outrageous! The cheesecake was delicious , but again$10.00 for a very small portion. When I compare to other similar quality restaurants your prices are very unreasonable for such small servings. The best part of the evening was our friendly waiter Chris.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We have eaten at Scopa previously & real ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have eaten at Scopa previously & really enjoyed everything, this time around the food & service was average at best. They have done a nice job on the outdoor patio and the current menu does not have any real pizzaz. Will come back again in hopes of a better all round experience.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

First time there - we had a large table ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

First time there - we had a large table for 6 , business dinner. The service and food were all excellent. What a gem! We never would have found it if not for Open Table. Customers loved it!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it!!! Food was really great...giv ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved it!!! Food was really great...giving it 4 stars....ONLY because we didn't really like the calamari with the odd sort of flour used. Would really give it 4.8 stars out of 5. Can't beat the service here. Amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, friendly staff and great ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous food, friendly staff and great atmosphere! For appies we had the Polpette (meatballs) and Carpaccio. Both were exactly as they should be. The meatballs were huge and slightly spicy with a super flavorful tomato sauce (great to dip bread in!). The Carpaccio was so yummy! For mains we had the Carbonara, Lasagna, Gnocchi and our 8 year old had the kids spaghetti with tomato sauce. They were all great hits! The servings are a very comfortable size (we each took 1/2 our entree home, after having had the appies). For dessert we tried the cheesecake, tiramisu and our son had the kids brownie. All were perfect. We've been here several times already and it's quickly becoming a favorite for our family.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scopa is a gem! It has a wonderful ambi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Scopa is a gem! It has a wonderful ambiance - cheerful and welcoming. The food and service are great, and the wine list is excellent. Just a delightful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Scopa's the food was incre ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First time at Scopa's the food was incredible and the service was great also. We were very impressed by the quality and quantity of food. My wife has put Scopa at the top of our list of restaurant to go to in Calgary. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scopa continues to be a favourite of our ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Scopa continues to be a favourite of ours. The food has always been good - well prepared and tasty. The pizza is also good. On Tuesday they have a ½ price special on selected bottles of wine. That makes for good value.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service and very good food. F ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful service and very good food. Food made with healthy ingredients and with fresh stuff is always very good. Very Italian.

Consistently wonderful food and service.

Michael

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Scopa, a de ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Scopa, a definite favorite spot. Manager and staff always accommodating and friendly. Food has never disappoint us. Thank you

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here was excellent and the serv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food here was excellent and the service was extremely good. Our waiter was very friendly and was able to make conversation with us. The food came out very quickly and was delicious for the price. Would definetly recommend for date night or just trying something new!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner there with two friends made m ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our dinner there with two friends made my birthday celebration very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alwayd reliable. We've benn going to Sco ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Alwayd reliable. We've benn going to Scopa as a family since they opened and will continue to share it with future generations and friends whenever we have the opportunity.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From the time we called to book our rese ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

From the time we called to book our reservation, our evening was awesome. I had asked for a quiet table which we got, and just happened to be the table I was hoping to get while looking online at Scopa's website. I had also mentioned that it was my wife's birthday, and it was acknowledged very nicely. The atmosphere, food and service were top notch, as was Laura our waitress, who shares the same name as my wife. We will be back. Thank you... D&L

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Great food and ser ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent as always. Great food and service. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good and so is the serv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food is very good and so is the service. The only slightly negative thing is the caesar salad is $16 - very overpriced. Otherwise, prices were reasonable. We really like this restaurant and will be back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was excellent but my pasta co ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything was excellent but my pasta could have been warmer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

bruschetta on dry toast instead of bread ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

bruschetta on dry toast instead of bread an example of corner cutting on quality ingredients, together with a waitress too intrusive was disappointing compared to previous visit

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is always good at Scopa! And love t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is always good at Scopa! And love their panna cotta. Never knew I liked panna cotta until I had Scopa's!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience! Accommodated a toddler ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great experience! Accommodated a toddler and celiac needs at the table. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

~10th time there, will keep coming back. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

~10th time there, will keep coming back. Service is fantastic, food is consistently awesome and the atmosphere is vibrant and quaint. A must try if you have never been.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to this place many times and will r ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Been to this place many times and will return many more. Thanks Scopa

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

If we lived closer Scopa would be our go ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

If we lived closer Scopa would be our go-to place much more frequently ! Great food, wonderful service, fairly priced. THANKS!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tuesday wine nights

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Always good food but on our recent visit there was no bread left & the wine we ordered was out of stock. Since there are only 3 select wines on for 1/2 price wine night, it was surprising that Scopa wouldn't have plenty of stock on hand.

It wasn't a big deal but typically most good restaurants will offer substitutes or something when the first 2 things you order are not available.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice ambiance, great service, good tradi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice ambiance, great service, good traditional Italian food. Portions were all well served - especially the appy meatballs! The patio is nice, but the inside seemed very loud and noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find!!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food, excellent service - a gem for dinning inside or on the patio.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a most delightful meal at Scopa. The food was divine and the service was spectacular. We were sitting inside but will definitely be back to try out the lovely patio! Thank you, Scopa!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommended

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great Atmosphere for a Group get together. Lovely Staff and Wonderful Recommendations. Specials are great priced, wine list is wonderful but too highly priced.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great find in Tuxedo! Server was great, knew the menu well. Food was great we will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent! Ambience very nice

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Excellent! Ambience very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Now comes the tough part

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

When Scopa first opened it blew the doors off! It was fantastic! Now that it's established....it seems to be slipping. The unique flavors are vanishing and it is becoming rather run of the mill. Lunch earlier this week was "ok". Nothing more. Veal picquatta in a brown sauce was a bit odd, as well as over cooked. And the magic Caesar salad is now ordinary. Bring back the original Scopa!!!!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been with family and friends 4 ti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I have been with family and friends 4 times. Each one a pleasure. the ambience is a perfect blend of trendy and cosy. Bonterra has been my favourite restaurant for years and I see the same attention to detail and quality here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a birthday dinner that was Ok. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This was a birthday dinner that was Ok. Half price wine night brings the otherwise overpriced bottles down to a normal amount but without that deal I would probably pass on the wine list here. The entrees were consistently good if not a little cool on the temperature. Portions are just right and the quality is there. I would have liked a little more attention from our server who never offered pepper and sort of disappeared after the meal was served until a dessert menu was brought over. Overall, this place is okay. It's not going to knock your socks off but if you're in the area and in the mood for Italian it's worth a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.