About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Justin Lall seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$10 Pizza

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$10 Scopa Burgers

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

$10 Pizza

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Enjoy any of our pizzas for just $10 after 8pm, Monday to Thursday nights. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

$10 Scopa Burgers

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our Scopa Burgers for just $10 every Monday, all day. Excludes Tax and Tip. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Casual (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tapas (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Overall the food was amazing and the alcohol was top-notch but it was a bit expensive and portion sizes on both the good and alcohol were small for the price charged. Would recommend to somebody wanting a nice dining experience who has a few dollars to spare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall experience was good! Excellent service and fun atmosphere! The food was really good except they were very frugal on the pasta portion for my linguine vongoles!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Scopa is a wonderful restaurant with good Italian cuisine and very reasonable prices. Our waitress was fabulous and very understanding when we asked to move tables as there was a child next to us who was shrieking. I almost went to talk to them as even with a table on the other side of the restaurant her shrieks hurt my ears. When my own did anything like that years ago we left the restaurant immediately; she learned quickly to behave. The patio is a good addition and was obviously well-used that evening. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

A favourite restaurant for me. Enjoyed a delicious dinner on the patio.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fast, friendly efficient service. Food is good but not the best Italian that I have eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food and service was satisfactory. However we were seated by the window. My guest noticed about 10 dead flies on the window sill. Your staff removed the BUT within minutes two more dead flies fell from the shutters. Obviously NO cleaning of this area has been undertaken in weeks!! Very poor impression.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We come in here fairly often. Good Italian food. Had the burrata bruschetta topped with white anchovy, which added nice tangy flavour to the tasteless but creamy cheese. I opted for the genoa pizza which was excellent. My partner had a humungous portion of lasagna- also very tasty.
Good consistent quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was a bit too cheesy and the server had to constantly say "I'll be right with you." I did appreciate the birthday card from Scopa, though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food and value . I will recommend it to friends and definitely come back . The only thing we didn't like was the waitress, she was a in a rush to get us out but tge food was worth it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We often use Scopa when we are entertaining friends or out of town company and never have been disapointed in the
food or service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food was Delicious! We were dining with 6people and each meal was presented well and very tasty. Our server was attentive, and knowledgeable regarding menu options. We all had a great evening. I will tell my friends :)
Please note - we did have a problem trying to change the original Open Table reservation
from 5 to 6 people. Instead, somehow the reservation time was changed to 5:15pm (originally booked for 6:00pm) ?? We were trying to make the time change online from the confirmed email.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was good but the service was a bit slow. But overall very good. We live on the other side of town but we would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our group of four was on the patio which is very nice and built to keep out wind and direct sun and also has heaters if it gets cool outside. It was not noisy on the patio. Service was good. My meal of cannelloni was a disappointment as it was barely warm and was not flavourful at all. We also had the bruschetta combo which was tasty but the bread was very thin and crisp and broke apart when we took a bite. Not sure how my friends meals were as we had other things to talk about. I have been to Scopa probably a dozen times and have found the food to be generally quite good. I hope it's not a case of the management letting the restaurant get a little "tired".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We tried this restaurant based on the good reviews but even trying to be completely open minded - can't figure it out! To start, there are maybe 6 parking spots, from the outside, there is a nice patio and decor of restaurant nice and homey. Hostess was friendly and attentive but after that .... server was abrupt to the point of rude, our starter, calamari was overlooked and came to the table with such a strong fishy smell one of us wouldn't even try it - no sauce, too much coating, meals were like warm and pasta actually cold and sticky (from sitting). Our table was jammed in with other tables even though there were others available, didn't have enough settings for our whole table.... took almost 1/2 hour to get our bill after the meal. Unfortunately quite a poor experience. The place was fairly busy though so it must have appeal to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I booked a table for 2 but ended up on a high table at the bar, I was not happy with that but the place was full. One expects a proper table when you book it, next time I will request a proper table on my reservation.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We went out for dinner with a busy 5 year old and a person with food allergies and intolerances and were still made welcome and comfortable by our server. The food was delightful and the wine delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great place.... First time, won't be the last time... Love the Patio

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was really good! The service was inattentive. It didn't seem to be a busy night but they may have been short staffed and I would try it again. Appetizers arrived before the wine and we had to flag our waitress to get service and attention to details like water and more bread.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Have enjoyed Scopa every time we have been there. Food is always good, service is great. This time we tried Linguini and a Carbonara, both were good. Especially enjoyed the half price half litre of wine. Will be going back soon. A local restaurant is much more fun enjoyable than a chain restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very comfortable and friendly! Excellent wholesome Italian. Family friendly too. Affordable wine selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Enjoyed our light & quick dinner in a great ambiance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Service was very lackluster and slow. Patio was beautiful, food was very good, it just seemed like they had too little staff (both support & service) for the night in question. In addition, our server did not seem to be in much rush to try to make up for the fact that they were understaffed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As usual the food was all very tasty and the service fine. They advertised half price prosecco and after 2 glasses they charged the full price saying it only applied to bottles. They changed the bill to reflect a 50% discount but it would be helpful if their messaging was a little more detailed to avoid this kind of issue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Scopa is frustrating as they have very good pizza's and good drink promos but fall down badly for entree's.
A supposedly signature veal dish shouldn't have veal that is overcooked, dry and tasteless placed on a bed of 6 noodles then sprinkled with capers that overpower everything. The kale was actually good. 2 plates showed up the same so it wasn't a one off.
Two orders of seafood risotto that had mystery rice, an off putting flavor and minuscule portions of seafood.
Two other orders were judged to be OK but nothing to say the kitchen is doing anything special.
So in the end you will probably be disappointed, poorer and leave hungry if you have is an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It was our first time at Scopa. I found you by typing in list the "best Italian restaurants in Calgary and you came up. We were celebrating our friends birthday. We all liked our meals (I asked) and I know we will be back and recommend you to others as well.

Thank you for a fine evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Scopa remains one of our favoured establishments for special family occasions. Our family consists of all age groups from age 5 to 65. Scopa's staff, the variety of food and the quality of food and service will keep us coming back for more. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice evening. Celebrating a birthday and Scopa gave a 10% off card to the birthday girl. Had a lovely meal and great wine recommended by our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Matt was our waiter and was very attentive. The food was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 14, 2017

First time at Scopa's and I'll definitely be back - loved the atmosphere, the food and the service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I've come her multiple times. The food and service are usually great. There was a party and it was super loud and our waitress was slow and forgot things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Dinner was fantastic as always. Our service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Loved the lunch and menu. New managers are doing a great job and have some fantastic ideas. Will be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We chose to sit on the patio since it was such a beautiful day. Because the patio is on centre street it can be a bit noisy at times but that's to be expected.
Our server was attentive but not intrusive so we were able to have a conversation.
We shared the Tuscan salad and the Fungi pizza which is a favourite. Both were very good and large enough to share. The focaccia and balsamic is always a great start to lunch.
We had a 1/2 litre of Alpha Zeta Pinot Grigio which is a perfect match for the mushroom pizza.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was a great experience. We were in a rush but the servers were very accommodating. The food the server recommended was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We are always extremely happy with our time at Scopa!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Neither my girlfriend were able to finish our meal. This was my third visit and I had been looking forward to a romantic friendly meal. Previously there had always been at least chicken breat which had been excellent. I requested TWICE spaghetti meatballs. The meatballs were extremely spicy and due to a personal quirk I can't enjoy pasta. The waitress said when I complained that they were both the same ??? Even the tiramisu was delicious but soooooo bland. RESULT. !! Guess ?? The only enjoyable thing was my companion.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 30, 2017

we sat on the patio, perfect. The flowers we amazing, just a lovely spot to spend a lunch hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent food and a great experience, it was our first time at Scope, we will definitely go back and I can see it being one of our favorites.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Although this wasn't our first visit to Scopa, we thought we'd try it again since it had been a while. Our experience left us quite disappointed in many ways. The ambiance, waiter etc was very nice but the menu and food were disappointing. I will qualify that by saying that the special that evening was quite good but our other 3 dinners were disappointing and expensive.
The menu is very limiting...for instance, I would have like to see a seafood fetticinne but there was only a risotto seafood...even after I asked for it. My lemon veal was plain and had so few pasta noodles under it you couldn't even see it at first. Wine was great and so was our waiter!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Overall the experience was a positive one. The food and wine list had some very good options. We especially enjoyed our appetizers of Calamari and House Marinated Olives. We found the risotto to be a little too much Elena dente. The Veal Picatta was quite good as was the chicken satimboca however the servings seemed a little small for the price. The dessert being a flourless chocolate torte was a standout dish. Tons of hazelnuts in the cake with candied hazelnuts on the side made this a decadent Ferraro Roche like (but in cake form) experience.

The service was a little brusque but our server warmed up as the restaurant emptied out. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list though.

We liked it a lot and would go back more often if we lived closer. We recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.