About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Chris Prinz seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sheldon Guindon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for a Date (39)
Casual (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Cozy (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Family Style (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Romantic (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fireplace (5)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

We had stopped in the first time hoping for some gelato. We weren't disappointed; they had two flavours of gelato and two of sorbet. Delicious!

On the way out we spied a table having pizza...it looked great...so we returned two days later to try it out for ourselves. Again, we were not disappointed. It was as great as it looked; great chewy crust with great tasting toppings. We also tried one of the salads and finished with dessert. Equally tasty!! Our server advised us on portions sizes and was dead on. It was the perfect amount! We will definitely be back to try more of the menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been eating here for many years, even before you reopened as Scopa. For the first time i had the margherita pizza, and did not really like it much. I prefer that type of pizza with tomatoes on it. I thought the sauce was bland with too much garlic, and i find the buffalo mozarella tasteless also. My preference would have been regular moza, or a mix of mozarella and asagio or something similar. Or perhaps you could have a plain four-cheese pizza in addition to the margerita. Anyways, i may be the only one to think this about your pizza, but i figure if no one gives feed back you will never know.

Thanks

Margaret

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We were well looked after after a short initial wait for our table. Had the price fix chef's choice menu and found it to be good value. The food was all excellent!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food and great variety! Very good value for $35 per person! Wide range of selection and chef made us some wonderful food! I would highly recommend Thursday nights! I look forward to trying other featured nights at Scopa!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We enjoyed an afternoon lunch with and appetizer, wine and a ,pizza. Food was excellent and service was truly outstanding. It was our third visit and we will be back

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was really a great experience,being a executive chef myself,i can say it was really a great italian exposure

Thank you so much for the night and especially i really loved the idea of photo camera

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good and the staff were great. We have ben there before and will go again. We have recommended Scopa to friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If your looking for quality Italian from the second you walk in, great flavours and great service Scopa is a must. It was our first time but defiantly not our last!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to SCopa for valantine's Day, a busy night for sure, but they spaced the tables and timed reservations well so that it ran smoothly. They had a special menu (along with the usual menu) which included Tuna carpacio, a seafood pasta and lamb on a vegetable puree. We shared them all and they were perfectly prepared. We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Vegan portion size very small compared to regular meal size. Food was very good and the service excelent. Dining room was a bit noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were there for Family Feast on a Thursday night The food was o/s in quality and there was lots of it It was a great financial deal for that quality and quantity. Bring a big appetite.

That meal is a "chef's choice" so that adds to the enjoyment. Their calamari is amongst the best we've had in Calgary

Our experience was enhanced by our server - if Angie is your server you'll have a great friendly service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Scopa is the best just the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love 'em! fantastic spot. highly recommend it!

Anytime, any event.

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion, Private Room, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I booked a reservation for two at Scopa for a birthday dinner/date. It proved a great spot for such an occasion and measured up to what was anticipated.

Scopa is definitely a popular place, so there was no parking left by the time of our arrival (hey! busy is a good sign, no?), but we were able to find a spot across the street which worked just fine. I mentioned it was a birthday dinner and we were very happy with our table by the fireplace. The interior is cozy, definitely a neat place with a lot of character.

The hostess was great. Our server was also great. Knowledgeable, to-the-point, would check up occasionally but not in an overbearing sense.

The food was top-notch. We enjoyed our main dishes. I ordered the Filetto di Maiale which is pork tenderloin (great) with potato gnocchi (my favourite part of the dish - YUM, I would go back for these alone) and vegetables. My date had the lasagna and requested their spicy sausage added on top. We wanted to try their pizza as well and ended up ordering the Pollo Arrosto which includes chicken, pear and pesto. It was absolutely delicious! The crust was excellent, thin and crispy.

We could not leave without ending our dinner on a sweet note and opted to try their Nutella-filled cannoli. All I have to say is... make sure to save some room for dessert.

Overall a great experience and we both agreed we would love to return. Thanks, Scopa!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Would definitely come back. Tables seemed a little small for all the dishes to fit. Nice laid back casual dining.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was great! And fairly busy for a Sunday night. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good food for a fair price. Very casual. Has a side section for smaller groups away from the noise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

While the food was great, our server took awhile to realize we were at her table. I ordered tea but she forgot any sweetener - additional hot water was offered when we asked for our bill. That being said, our order was taken and food was delivered without much emotion or interaction despite our attempts to engage her. My chair, due to the placement of our table was repeatedly knocked by every server that passed without apology. What was very uncomfortable was she stood over us less than a foot away as we paid our bill with the credit card machine - awkward!! Please walk away and let us do our thing like other great restaurants!

We'll be back since the food was so good - but will request a different server.

While the restaurant couldn't avoid it, a child at the next table let out a scream that would have won an Academy performance in a horror flick - all while the parents sat and enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Special occasion spot!! On the pricey side but great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I love scope, but my last visit I ordered my usual gnocchi, and found it with a strong tomato taste and less the usual cacciatore flavour. Very little gnocchi was served and very few pieces of chicken (which by the way tasted reheated). I hope this is not a new recipe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I enjoyed my meal at Scopa except I found the server to be less than friendly. He was quite efficient but seemed to lose interest in our group when only one of us ordered a glass of wine and we were not having appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were not impressed with the food considering it was a little on the expensive side.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great place friendly food was great excuse me write 59 or more good is great need I say more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Unfotunately, every dish was extremely salty. We had this experience last time we were there, and we thought maybe it was a one-off... nope... different dishes, same thing. Nice ambience and service, but the food is very disappointing. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went to Scopa for my birthday. No one had never been before, and we were all very impressed with the quality of the food, the service and the ambience at Scopa. The meatball appetizers, Risotto balls and Veal entrees were delicious! Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We love Scopa - the food, the ambience, the kid-friendliness, the happy staff and again the food!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

very good autentic italian menu. Not expensive comparing quality/service/size of the plates. Going back for sure. amazing Tiramisu .

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic decor. Food was excellent. The service was attentive but not overbearing and very courteous. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious food awesome servers and fun ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was outstanding as always. Matt, our server was very attentive and when he was not needed you could still see him out in his section looking at all of his Guests watching for Service ques. Music could be a bit louder so it can be heard.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food. 2nd time and will return again for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Years Eve dinner with friends. Food was fabulous and so was the service. Tim and team, especially Tyler always make us feel welcome! Thanks for a great evening!!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Pizza was excellent and house wine is pretty good. The veal meatballs were the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was sub part at best. We went for new years. My husband pizza was bland and average. I had the veal saltinbocca and it was bland and overcooked. The pasta was swimming in

oil and there was more kale on the plate than anything else. That was also covered in oil. The best part of the meal was the wine. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great service, reasonable pricing.

Noise level was moderate.

Staff were most accommodating

Decor is novel with re-purposing old ladders into lighting fixtures.

Will go back another time for sure

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was all well presented for the price and ambiance of this place.

We had two young children with our party and it was still quite enjoyable for everyone.

They had colouring to keep them busy from the start offered by the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The third time we have been there. Happened to get there for a very early dinner during happy hour. Lots of attentive staff great food. Took an Italian and she was impressed!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic server and delicious meal as always. Love going to Scopa! Great night out with friends to celebrate the holidays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

food and service was as usual exceptional. Server was very friendly and punctual. Love going to Scopa's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Very good food, excellent service. Only complaint would be the lack of adequate parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Second visit to Scopa and we weren't disappointed! Service and food excellent and I'd be happy to recommend Scopa to anyone looking for tasty Italian fare at a decent price. Keep up the good work, Scopa - we'll be back again!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had high expectations going, and they still surpassed them. Fantastic restaurant with a great vibe and even better food. I recommend this place to everyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Disappointing meal. Feel that Scopa is slipping. It has been a favourite for several years but the food lacked its former panache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great meal, great atmosphere. A great dining experience overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Hmmm....10th or 15th time coming to Scopa and as usual, did not disappoint!! Remains consistent with great food, service, & ambiance. Great spot for business lunches, team dinners, or for birthdays/anniversaries. Keep up the great work Scopa! Kev

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Family Style, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and amazingly friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great place to have gathering with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, very pleasant server, and tasty food.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I ordered the bruschetta, and for its price it was horrible. The crostini was not even homemade bread. It was definitely store bought. In Italian there called fette biscotto. I can even buy them at Linas. Secondly the tiramisu was awful. It was to creamy and had chunks of ricotta in between. Not very good.

Definitely a disgrace to Italian cuisine. Trust me I know I lived there for 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Remain consistent week after week, month after month. Great service, management and of course food! Suitable for a date with your honey, get together with friends or a business luncheon/dinner. Will keep coming back! Good work Scopa!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.