About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Chris Prinz seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sheldon Guindon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Neighborhood Gem (111)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
See All
Good for Groups (62)
Special Occasion (60)
Great for Lunch (46)
Kid-friendly (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (22)
Casual (15)
Authentic (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been to Scopa a couple times and i ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined 2 days ago

We've been to Scopa a couple times and it's always nice - like any restaurant they have some dishes that are more memorable than others. I would always recommend the gnocchi and the Panna cotta, the wine selection is great and while the season is probably over for it the patio is great too! We will definitely continue to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing! The antipasto was pr ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointing! The antipasto was prefer good. But the veal piccata was not good. The lasagna was massive and overwhelming. We asked for it to be packed up because none of it was eaten because it was so large, but our waiter never brought it back to us. Money wasted. Definitely not an Italian restaurant worth bragging about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great authentic Italian food, superb, fr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great authentic Italian food, superb, friendly, attentive but not overbearing service, wonderful casual ambience. We had the bruschetta for the table for a starter with 5 or 6 different toppings and this was delicious and fresh. Then each of us (4 people) had different entrée's and all were to-die-for! Would highly recommend Scopa - if you go, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food and service for ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently great food and service for a good value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I am sorry to say that I did not enjoy m ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am sorry to say that I did not enjoy my meal at all! I had the calamari! My husband did enjoy his chicken pizza. I also was not satisfied with the choice of 5 oz or half litre wine amounts. Why not offer the standard 6 oz or 9 oz. For one person to enjoy a beer and stay within alcohol limits is fine, the other person having 5 oz for ? $7.50 doesn't satisfy. The previous time we were there , I had gnocchi with truffle oil, which I really enjoyed and was looking forward to having it again. Instead the only gnocchi was with chicken cacciatore which was about $24.00. Last year we took an overseas guest there and we all enjoyed our meals. After this meal, I am sorry to say that I have no urge to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Went to Scopa Friday night for an improm ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went to Scopa Friday night for an impromptu catch up with a girlfriend. As usual it didn't disappoint. It was a lovely warm evening so we sat outside and loved the patio. Surrounded by greenery and very private even though it is on the main street. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and just genuinely nice. Food was incredible. We shared the meatballs and aranchini and split the chicken pizza. It was all amazing. Top class food. For dessert we had the tiramisu and the chocolate cheesecake. I would have given the food a five star rating had it not been for the cheesecake. The tiramisu was superb but the cheesecake was underwhelming and very complicated. Way too many things happening on the plate and the flavours did not all work cohesively together. Overall A fantastic dining experience and will be back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, the host was friendly welcomi ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

As always, the host was friendly welcoming and very accommodating to our requests. Patio was such a fantastic addition to Scopa, well done.... Thank you

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

On this, our first, visit to Scopa we we ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

On this, our first, visit to Scopa we were pleasantly surprised with the friendly service and excellent meal along with great wine. We definitely have plans to return for many more rewarding dining experiences!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appies were very good. My meal was e ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The appies were very good. My meal was excellent, my husband's was good but he wouldn't order it again. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We all had your salmon special which was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We all had your salmon special which was disappointing . The fish was over cooked and dry. Unfortunately this is the second time we have been to your restaurant and experienced the same thing . Our initial experience was with dry , over cooked Artic Char. Not sure we will be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I love the food here! It is always amaz ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I love the food here! It is always amazingly flavourful, with fantastic ingredients. If you bring an appetite, it would be a great place to order multiple courses with wine pairings. The open kitchen makes the ambiance a little more casual and accessible to families or larger groups, but it has also been great for dates and special occasions! The staff is very courteous & professional, and the service has always been 'just right' (always there when you need it, but not overly solicitous). Take a risk and order something new - it has been worth it every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal before our theatre ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We had a lovely meal before our theatre event. Always a great place to be!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a very good restaurant that I wil ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

It was a very good restaurant that I will use again as the food is good and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Friday nite before a long w/en ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went on a Friday nite before a long w/end. Was surprised at how many people were there

Speaks to the fine cuisine and excellent service-which is why we are repeat customers

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and menu recommendatio ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent service and menu recommendations. Our meal was delicious and reasonably priced - thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found it super loud and really hard t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We found it super loud and really hard to have a conversation due to the noise level. Three of us had veal which was ok, not overly flavorful. The pasta was great and the service was good. One bottle of wine and dinner for 4 was $200 not overly good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We enjoyed our "find" for good Italian f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We enjoyed our "find" for good Italian food at a reasonable price. We seem to always look for Italian restaurants with outdoor eating options for our birthdays which are during the summer so we were delighted to eat at Sopa for the first time. And it was nice to enjoy good food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family of 4 adults very much enjoyed ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our family of 4 adults very much enjoyed the outdoor seating and delicious food at Scopa. Everything was great, we'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice patio, pizzas are very skimpy ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very nice patio, pizzas are very skimpy on the toppings but reasonable for the price. Bruschetta sampler is interesting but I would stick with the classic bruschetta, the majority were meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food is fantastic, fresh and modern. Pr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food is fantastic, fresh and modern. Prices are excellent. Service was very slow and not overly friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Been there twice this month and we were ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Been there twice this month and we were more than impressed with the service, food, ambiance and fun of the whole place!! Thank you very much for the 10%off birthday card!!

Nice touch!! Will be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated so well at Scopa! We had ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were treated so well at Scopa! We had a glass break on our table (our fault) and the staff could not have been more helpful and kind to us. The food is always great - Spaghetti alla Carbonara is a personal favourite - and the atmosphere is a perfect balance between cozy and funky :) Thanks Scopa!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I met two friends for dinner at Scopa, a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I met two friends for dinner at Scopa, and we had a great evening. We had exceptional service by our waitress, Sam, and the food was wonderful. It's a great place for sharing pizzas, and salads, and the like, and, of course, wine!

The outdoor patio is beautiful, and on a nice afternoon, or evening, it would be very pleasant.

I have been several times for lunch in the past, and I will most definitely keep going back for more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great time - food was fantastic ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a great time - food was fantastic! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They sang me happy birthday it was aweso ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

They sang me happy birthday it was awesome! I love it here. Bit pricey but the food is great. Best tiramisu in Calgary hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sat on the beautiful patio. Great as al ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sat on the beautiful patio. Great as always. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of our meals were fantastic, but it ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All of our meals were fantastic, but it was too expensive. Dinner for five, one appetizer, three alcoholic drinks came to $180 + 20% tip = 220!! It was good, but not that good...

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Great, consistent food at Scopa. Always ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great, consistent food at Scopa. Always have delicious treats. Service can be so-so but overall, this place is a terrific spot in the neighbourhood for casual, great food. Not pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a great evening celebrating a fri ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great evening celebrating a friend's 50th birthday! The restaurant even have her a gift to mark the special occasion. Such a nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Scopa is hands down our favorite Italian ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Scopa is hands down our favorite Italian restaurant in Calgary. As always this visit was tasty, with wonderful service! If you are a group of four or more and the restaurant is able to accommodate, we highly recommend the Chef's tasting. We do this whenever the restaurant can accommodate and it is delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, fresh and made from sc ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was amazing, fresh and made from scratch. My only regret was that I didn't find Scopa sooner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! Great place for gatherin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fantastic food! Great place for gatherings. Service very good. A favorite for us for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was friendly and casual, dining ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was friendly and casual, dining room was comfortable and stylish. Food was excellent, I would visit Scopa again whenever I am in Calgary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great service! Authentic Ita ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food! Great service! Authentic Italian food. Check it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here on a weekday night for dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went here on a weekday night for dinner on a sunny day. Sat outside; the place had a open wooden cover and umbrellas, but there was still a lot of opportunity for direct sun in your eye. This was a problem for me and many of the other customers. Food was food; my husband had veal and I had an entrée salad. We had desert and the cannoli's were acceptable. Service was good. Overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Had enjoyable time, food was good servic ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had enjoyable time, food was good service was very good. Neighbourhood Gem.. Will be back again

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was really good I will probably ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was really good I will probably come back there again service was really good.

I will come back to eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely brilliant it was my brother f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Absolutely brilliant it was my brother from England's wedding anniversary and Scopa did Canada proud. Top people and my brother could not stop raving about it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have to have the veal meatballs! The foo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Have to have the veal meatballs! The food is good and it feels like a family is running it for you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was very pleasant and well timed ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server was very pleasant and well timed her presence. Lovely patio! Great heirloom tomato salad! Will return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.