About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Chris Prinz seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sheldon Guindon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Calgary
Outdoor Dining
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Neighborhood Gem (118)
Good for Groups (71)
Fit for Foodies (71)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
Special Occasion (58)
Great for Lunch (48)
Kid-friendly (30)
Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (20)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
 (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We found it super loud and really hard t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

We found it super loud and really hard to have a conversation due to the noise level. Three of us had veal which was ok, not overly flavorful. The pasta was great and the service was good. One bottle of wine and dinner for 4 was $200 not overly good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We enjoyed our "find" for good Italian f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We enjoyed our "find" for good Italian food at a reasonable price. We seem to always look for Italian restaurants with outdoor eating options for our birthdays which are during the summer so we were delighted to eat at Sopa for the first time. And it was nice to enjoy good food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice patio, pizzas are very skimpy ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very nice patio, pizzas are very skimpy on the toppings but reasonable for the price. Bruschetta sampler is interesting but I would stick with the classic bruschetta, the majority were meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food is fantastic, fresh and modern. Pr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food is fantastic, fresh and modern. Prices are excellent. Service was very slow and not overly friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Been there twice this month and we were ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Been there twice this month and we were more than impressed with the service, food, ambiance and fun of the whole place!! Thank you very much for the 10%off birthday card!!

Nice touch!! Will be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated so well at Scopa! We had ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were treated so well at Scopa! We had a glass break on our table (our fault) and the staff could not have been more helpful and kind to us. The food is always great - Spaghetti alla Carbonara is a personal favourite - and the atmosphere is a perfect balance between cozy and funky :) Thanks Scopa!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I met two friends for dinner at Scopa, a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I met two friends for dinner at Scopa, and we had a great evening. We had exceptional service by our waitress, Sam, and the food was wonderful. It's a great place for sharing pizzas, and salads, and the like, and, of course, wine!

The outdoor patio is beautiful, and on a nice afternoon, or evening, it would be very pleasant.

I have been several times for lunch in the past, and I will most definitely keep going back for more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great time - food was fantastic ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a great time - food was fantastic! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They sang me happy birthday it was aweso ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

They sang me happy birthday it was awesome! I love it here. Bit pricey but the food is great. Best tiramisu in Calgary hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sat on the beautiful patio. Great as al ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sat on the beautiful patio. Great as always. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of our meals were fantastic, but it ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All of our meals were fantastic, but it was too expensive. Dinner for five, one appetizer, three alcoholic drinks came to $180 + 20% tip = 220!! It was good, but not that good...

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Great, consistent food at Scopa. Always ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great, consistent food at Scopa. Always have delicious treats. Service can be so-so but overall, this place is a terrific spot in the neighbourhood for casual, great food. Not pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a great evening celebrating a fri ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great evening celebrating a friend's 50th birthday! The restaurant even have her a gift to mark the special occasion. Such a nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Scopa is hands down our favorite Italian ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Scopa is hands down our favorite Italian restaurant in Calgary. As always this visit was tasty, with wonderful service! If you are a group of four or more and the restaurant is able to accommodate, we highly recommend the Chef's tasting. We do this whenever the restaurant can accommodate and it is delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, fresh and made from sc ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was amazing, fresh and made from scratch. My only regret was that I didn't find Scopa sooner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! Great place for gatherin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fantastic food! Great place for gatherings. Service very good. A favorite for us for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was friendly and casual, dining ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was friendly and casual, dining room was comfortable and stylish. Food was excellent, I would visit Scopa again whenever I am in Calgary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great service! Authentic Ita ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food! Great service! Authentic Italian food. Check it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here on a weekday night for dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went here on a weekday night for dinner on a sunny day. Sat outside; the place had a open wooden cover and umbrellas, but there was still a lot of opportunity for direct sun in your eye. This was a problem for me and many of the other customers. Food was food; my husband had veal and I had an entrée salad. We had desert and the cannoli's were acceptable. Service was good. Overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Had enjoyable time, food was good servic ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had enjoyable time, food was good service was very good. Neighbourhood Gem.. Will be back again

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was really good I will probably ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was really good I will probably come back there again service was really good.

I will come back to eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely brilliant it was my brother f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Absolutely brilliant it was my brother from England's wedding anniversary and Scopa did Canada proud. Top people and my brother could not stop raving about it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have to have the veal meatballs! The foo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Have to have the veal meatballs! The food is good and it feels like a family is running it for you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was very pleasant and well timed ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server was very pleasant and well timed her presence. Lovely patio! Great heirloom tomato salad! Will return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a great evening here as always. The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had a great evening here as always. The waiter was especially good and the food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent tasting appetizers, entrees an ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent tasting appetizers, entrees and the tiramisu is fabulous!! Reasonably priced for an evening out with friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have the best carbonara I have ever ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

They have the best carbonara I have ever had, even though 17 dollars is a little pricey, it was really good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I ordered Risotto and the waitress sugge ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I ordered Risotto and the waitress suggested shrimp or chicken. I said ok to the shrimp but was shocked when my risotto came to $29!! $12 for 6 shrimp is crazy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Good place to go with friends for a tast ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good place to go with friends for a tasty meal in a casual environment. Been there several times and food has been good. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find. Great value and the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

What a great find. Great value and the best fried risotto balls. This was our 2nd time there and we will be back on the next date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very expensive for a small steak ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall very expensive for a small steak & salad with no hot vegetable or potato. The wine was also expensive for a 5 oz glass - Yes we noticed the smaller 5oz compared to the standard smaller glass of 6 oz served at other restaurants. $3.50 for a cup of coffee is outrageous! The cheesecake was delicious , but again$10.00 for a very small portion. When I compare to other similar quality restaurants your prices are very unreasonable for such small servings. The best part of the evening was our friendly waiter Chris.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We have eaten at Scopa previously & real ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have eaten at Scopa previously & really enjoyed everything, this time around the food & service was average at best. They have done a nice job on the outdoor patio and the current menu does not have any real pizzaz. Will come back again in hopes of a better all round experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

First time there - we had a large table ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

First time there - we had a large table for 6 , business dinner. The service and food were all excellent. What a gem! We never would have found it if not for Open Table. Customers loved it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it!!! Food was really great...giv ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved it!!! Food was really great...giving it 4 stars....ONLY because we didn't really like the calamari with the odd sort of flour used. Would really give it 4.8 stars out of 5. Can't beat the service here. Amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, friendly staff and great ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous food, friendly staff and great atmosphere! For appies we had the Polpette (meatballs) and Carpaccio. Both were exactly as they should be. The meatballs were huge and slightly spicy with a super flavorful tomato sauce (great to dip bread in!). The Carpaccio was so yummy! For mains we had the Carbonara, Lasagna, Gnocchi and our 8 year old had the kids spaghetti with tomato sauce. They were all great hits! The servings are a very comfortable size (we each took 1/2 our entree home, after having had the appies). For dessert we tried the cheesecake, tiramisu and our son had the kids brownie. All were perfect. We've been here several times already and it's quickly becoming a favorite for our family.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scopa is a gem! It has a wonderful ambi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Scopa is a gem! It has a wonderful ambiance - cheerful and welcoming. The food and service are great, and the wine list is excellent. Just a delightful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Scopa's the food was incre ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First time at Scopa's the food was incredible and the service was great also. We were very impressed by the quality and quantity of food. My wife has put Scopa at the top of our list of restaurant to go to in Calgary. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scopa continues to be a favourite of our ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Scopa continues to be a favourite of ours. The food has always been good - well prepared and tasty. The pizza is also good. On Tuesday they have a ½ price special on selected bottles of wine. That makes for good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service and very good food. F ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful service and very good food. Food made with healthy ingredients and with fresh stuff is always very good. Very Italian.

Consistently wonderful food and service.

Michael

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Scopa, a de ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Scopa, a definite favorite spot. Manager and staff always accommodating and friendly. Food has never disappoint us. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.