About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Justin Lall seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From Italian Regional Dinner's to our annual Harvest Festival, Scopa frequently hosts new, fun events. Visit www.scopacalgary.com and join our mailing list to stay in the loop!

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for a Date (37)
Casual (29)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Comfort Food (21)
Fun (19)
Authentic (18)
Cozy (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Service and timeliness of meal was second to none again.
Tiramisu is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

We went during a busy time and the service was still impeccable! Our server knew the menu very well, and was efficient in timing of drink refills, food, etc.
The food is always delicious, and the presentation amazing!
Highly recommend this gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Pizza is $10 after 8 pm in the week...what a deal!! Three of us had a later dinner out at Scopa and we each ordered a different pizza. What were we thinking? Each pie will feed 2 people, so not an individual serving...unless you are really, really hungry!! Had enough pizza leftover for another lunch and dinner. Good deal, along with the 1/2 litres of wine for 1/2 price on Thursdays.

Great way to have a really nice less expensive evening out with good food and an enjoyable atmosphere!! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2018

We took our family to Scopa and tried the family style tasting menu. The food was excellent, and plentiful, and they were able to accommodate the dietary restrictions of our group. The wine pairings were very good as well. Overall great value for the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great service and food we'll worth the drive across the city

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

Excellent service, excellent food.
Outside of our own experience, I was impressed by how many families with small children were accommodated. It was obvious that the tiny kids loved the place! Parents were relaxed, kidlets were stuffing their little faces with pasta, and our date night was not impacted whatsoever by the wee ones. Everyone was happy! We had theatre tickets and our server was fantastic in making sure we had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and make our show.
Thanks for a great night out! We'll be back with our own kids soon! :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Great dinning experience. The only complaint is trying to find parking that is not a block away!

Food was excellent and the service was stellar. Will be back again soon. It is worth the drive from the SW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2018

This was my first time at Scopa. The food and atmosphere were great. Serving staff were professional and courteous. There was a minor mixup with our order, but the error was corrected right away with no questions. Overall, a very nice dining experience. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Awesome place, great food! Loved it! Definitely will recommend it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The Pain au Chocolat and coffee were amazing... and no lineups for Saturday brunch how awesome!

But the brunch menu needs some work.

Potatoe pancakes were too different (who wants salad for breakfast).

And worse the lemon pancakes were not eatable. Way too strong on the lemon, and worse they were burnt on the outside and undercooked on the inside. An order of side sausage was dry and over cooked also uneatable. No excuses it was fully unexceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Year's Eve with some family. The appetizers were good but over prized for the portion. The main dishes also were very skimpy for the price. Had heard great reviews from friends, but we didn't have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Service was good. Didn’t really have any recommendations. Didn’t seem passionate about the food. Will return but not in a rush. Want to give it a second chance. The pizza looks really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Excellent as always. The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2017

I love this place. I drive across town for the food! Excellent service. Ciopino was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great food, great ambiance and great wine choices. All at a reasonable cost. The restaurant was busy but we had no trouble getting a reservation. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2017

We had a great meal! The food was great as was the service. I'll be back for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Service was great. Food was delicious. My brother in law and myself had the duck on special and were amazed at the portion sizes and the flavour of the duck. The veggies on the side were undercooked but the duck made up for this. My sister in law had the linguine vongole which was very good and of a good portion size. My girlfriend had the ravioli which was good; however, the portion was very small, roughly a dozen of the smaller sized ravioli. For dessert we had the tiramisu and the cannoli both of which were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great service - great food - great night!! It is a contagiously fun atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

While the food was incredible, the pasta portions were small and not a great value. The pizza was big and delicious as was the pork chop. And service was awesome! I’m looking forward to going there again sometime soon!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2017

This is probably the 5th time we have taken out of town friends to Scopa and our group has enjoyed each experience. Relaxed, friendly and good food to enjoy. The half price half liter of wine was a nice surprise. The arancini was great as usual and the minnistrone soup was first rate. Half orders of pasta would be nice but overall a favorite restaurant of ours and we will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Lighting was far too bright - felt like you were in a cafeteria. Food is good other than the overload of vinegar in the salad dressing. Brought tears to the eyes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

We tried Scopa as the neighbour Italian. Everyone was helpful and friendly and the atmosphere is nice. I ordered a pizza without mushrooms and my girlfriend chose the Cannelloni. Well, my pizza came with mushrooms, but we got both meals made fresh, since the Cannelloni wouldn’t have kept waiting for a fresh pizza, which seemed very promising.
Unfortunately the freshly re-made food didn’t convince, especially not as Italian. The pizza was quite Americanized over loaded with toppings and pizza 73 style cheese. The Cannelloni were rather bland. The atmosphere and the bill that we generated certainly promised an authentic Italian neighbourhood experience but the food itself just couldn’t live up to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 6, 2017

I have had dining experiences here a few times, but this last visit did not turn out so well. Three of us ordered the veal scallopini and in each of the three dishes there was at least one of the pieces of veal that was off in taste and smell. The Manager was very attentive to our concern and quickly replaced our meals with something else on the menu. As I have not had any other issues before, I will probably come again. Another dining companion ordered the lasagne and it looked amazing. Maybe, I'll try that next time.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 4, 2017

Servers were SO kind!!! But very slow moving.

Needs more vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great food and service! Lasagna was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Good service, delicious food, cozy atmosphere, delicious wine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

The waitress we had was above excellent. The food was exceptional. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2017

As usual everyone was friendly, food was great my only suggestion for frittata would be to use some seasoning...it lacked it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Went to Scopa for dinner to celebrate a birthday. Food was wonderful. Two of us had the seafood pasta special, which was delicious...Scallops were done perfectly!! Appetizers and dessert were a great start and finish.
Only disappointing thing was although we specified in the online reservation that we were coming in to celebrate a birthday, nothing was mentioned by the hostess or the waitress. Why ask if you don't care. Otherwise, food and evening was very enjoyable...we will be back. Cheers!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Must have been an off night considering the reviews I’ve read. Cold server, undercooked pizza, over cooked pasta. Salad was alright. Will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Pasta and pizza are always excellent. Good sized portions which ensure you will be taking home a doggie bag.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Had the prosciutto, pear, Gorgonzola Pizza, plenty for 2 people. Very tasty!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Amazing food, best Italian I’ve had for a while. Everything we ate was great. My only negative would be the seating, the tables could be bigger and the chairs a bit more comfortable. This is a minor thing, only if I’m being picky. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent service! Great food! Wonderful experience! Highly recommended! Oh and the wine is awesome too !!!! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Had a great experience at Scopa! Our server was very knowledgeable in helping us choice our meals, and the meals came hot and in a short amount of time while the restaurant was packed

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Only concern, it was a bit slow at lunch, the staff were challenged by the volume of customers. Maybe they were not expecting so many as most of us were from a conference group.
Excellent food, we went both days it was so nice. Coffee was amazing, which counts big point with me. Great atmosphere, friendly and conscientious staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Friendly service the staff was great. Decent price overall an excellent place

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2017

New menu. Took off some old standards (braised short ribs) Prices appeared to Be higher...Still a great place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Wanted a place in the North and this one looked like a good pick. So happy we tried this gem. We will be back. Great suggestions by the staff. The food is authentic Italian and so flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2017

It was National Pasta Day and Scopa was offering their pasta dishes for $10! It was a great value. My friend and I started with the Caesar Salad - we thoroughly enjoyed it - crispy romaine, with pancetta, croutons and a nice dressing. Our selected entrees were Spaghetti Carbonara and Tagliatelle with veal meatballs. Both entrees were tasty as usual.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.