About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Chris Prinz seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sheldon Guindon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
  • Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB
Scopa Neighbourhood Italian, Calgary, AB

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Neighborhood Gem (53)
Casual (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Fun (21)
Cozy (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Family Style (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (8)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fireplace (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to have gathering with frien ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to have gathering with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere, very pleasant server, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere, very pleasant server, and tasty food.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the bruschetta, and for its pr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I ordered the bruschetta, and for its price it was horrible. The crostini was not even homemade bread. It was definitely store bought. In Italian there called fette biscotto. I can even buy them at Linas. Secondly the tiramisu was awful. It was to creamy and had chunks of ricotta in between. Not very good.

Definitely a disgrace to Italian cuisine. Trust me I know I lived there for 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Remain consistent week after week, month ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Remain consistent week after week, month after month. Great service, management and of course food! Suitable for a date with your honey, get together with friends or a business luncheon/dinner. Will keep coming back! Good work Scopa!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and very good service in an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great food, and very good service in an excellent Italian Restaurant!

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Everyone seemed happy with th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food. Everyone seemed happy with their meal. Noisy though. Kid screaming half the time we were there . They should have controlled their kid😡

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great experience, our server An ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a great experience, our server Angie was delightful, was knowledgeable and was able to have fun with us. We would definitely recommend Scopa to others. Fantastic evening!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never been disappointed when dining ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Have never been disappointed when dining at Scopa the Beet Caprese salad is a must try.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was attentive, however we had to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was attentive, however we had to let the server know right away that we were not in a hurry, as diners around us were being served very quickly, then left. Scopa does not appear to be the kind of restaurant where one should be hurried through their appetizer, main course etc. , however on this particular evening the Servers were talking, and serving extremely quickly, like they needed to get onto the next table. This was a turn off, as the food was flavorful and prepared well; thus, needed to be savored, not gobbled down like fast food!!! A second server appeared once we announced that we were not in a hurry, and this slowed things down somewhat, to a reasonable comfort level, to relax and enjoy our dining experience. We walked to Scopa, as we live nearby; this was our first time there for dinner, and we were surprised at the amount of people at the restaurant!!! Perhaps the servers did not expect such a crowd on this particular evening! We felt rushed, like we needed to eat and run.

Anyway, the food was great, but just slow your servers down somewhat in order for patrons to enjoy each course, with time in between to digest!! They are an energetic group, but must also realize that there is a wide range of demographics that will expect a different type of service, instead of the frenetic fast pace, that perhaps a 'younger crowd' might opt into!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fresh and Delicious. Upscale from Lina' ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fresh and Delicious. Upscale from Lina's Deli. Love this restaurant for good food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Scopas 5 times in the pa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have been to Scopas 5 times in the past 6 months, we live near by which i believe is what Scopas focuses on. The kids love it as do we. Menu is good, pizza is very good, as is pasta and short ribs, usually one feature fish the halibut was very good. We will be going back for sure

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It's been about a year since I have been ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It's been about a year since I have been there and the menu has significantly changed. It's not as good as it used to be. Very little pasta options now. They used to have a pesto pasta which was amazing and it's unfortunate it's not on the menu. My friend ordered cannelloni and it was cold so it had to be sent back. The service was great but we were not impressed with the food.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We try to frequent this restaurant as mu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We try to frequent this restaurant as much as we can, really enjoy the atmosphere service is great! Food is good as well. Brought our friends here for the first time, they absolutely enjoyed it! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My second time enjoying this wonderful r ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My second time enjoying this wonderful restaurant! Great wine and appetizers. Service is fantastic as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fast and professional. D ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was fast and professional. Despite the place being busy on a Saturday, everything arrived quickly, and the staff was able to accommodate substitutions without a fuss.

Expensive for the portion sizes, but undeniably very tasty. Not a place I'll go regularly, but I enjoyed the visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service is hit and miss. I think th ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service is hit and miss. I think the hostess hates children, because she is always giving our son the evil eye. The food is great, pasta sauce is always fresh. Our last visit we made the economical choice, a first for us, to order salad and pizza and fed our family of three no problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic food and great service had a r ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic food and great service had a really good time. Thanks going back tonight!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Italian in the NW! The servic ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent Italian in the NW! The service and attention to details was fantastic.

The dinners were generous portions and very fresh ingredients were presented. One distraction - the salads were a bit on the expensive side. Yes they are about 4 cups of greens; however, using prosciutto instead of bacon doesn't make for an $18 Caesar salad. Since there was no side salad option, bring a dining partner who will split this one with you to make it a better value.

I found the beets and trout a nice addition to the winter menu. There was a good selection on the menu overall and again, the service was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service were good. I had th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food and service were good. I had the Carbonara and it was very tasty. My friend was impressed with the pizza. My other friend had the pork tenderloin and she said the meat didn't have a lot of flavor, no seasoning on it, but liked everything else on the plate. We will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service. Great value - food i ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent service. Great value - food is always innovative and tastes as good as it looks. Desserts are worth the splurge!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My second time to dine at Scopa and this ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My second time to dine at Scopa and this time with kids. Great Italian cuisine and excellent service. Highly recommended for anyone wanting authentic Italian food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pizza con Funghi was delicious, with jus ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Pizza con Funghi was delicious, with just a hint of truffle oil, and Spaghetti Carbonara was spicy and creamy and authentic!

Our server, Casey, was fun and interesting and "eclectic" (her word 😁), which added to our enjoyment of our birthday celebration. We tend to be sort of silly, and she indulged that silliness!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service was great, and we were able ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our service was great, and we were able to taste our wine before we decided.

The bruschetta was amazing, as was the carbonara, but the ravioli was a bit small for an entree.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Second visit was a little disappointing ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Second visit was a little disappointing compared to the first due to my pasta dish swimming in oil. Server was not friendly unlike previous server. Still would go again to give them another chance as my first time there was fabulbous

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary and e ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary and everything was just perfect!

The service was outstanding, great atmosphere and the food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was really great. She was kin ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server was really great. She was kind and quite efficient. The kitchen was a little slow for a late lunch on Saturday but our server more than made up for the delay. Food was really tasty when it did arrive.

She is an example of what servers should be like at better restaurants in Calgary. Service at Scopa is top notch. A very classy touch after hearing about my mothers birthday. They've created such loyalty for our family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there to celebrate a birthday. We s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went there to celebrate a birthday. We shared appetizers, salads and then pizza in three courses. Also enjoyed a bottle of wine. It took two and a half hours and was a pleasure. Our server was very personable and when we said we wanted a long, leisure lunch, she paced our meal perfectly.

The food was excellent. The ingredients were very fresh and tasty. The restaurant is a bit on the noisy side when full but we could converse easily. Not for a romantic dinner but great for friends.

Will definitely go again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been with a group of 6 and with m ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I have been with a group of 6 and with myself and a date. Both experiences were great. Terrific food and attentive wait staff who know both the menu and wine list very well. Scopa will become a favourite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BEST lasagna in YYC NW! Allison was our ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

BEST lasagna in YYC NW! Allison was our server and was FANTASTIC. The staff are always welcoming and the food is delish!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very great place. Served 8 in our party. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very great place. Served 8 in our party. No problems

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Too pricy for restaurant and average foo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Too pricy for restaurant and average food better value at other restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great as usual, enjoy the convenience an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great as usual, enjoy the convenience and ambiance. Casual & excellent food & wine choices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Romantic, Tapas, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great family dining. Pizza tastes like ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great family dining. Pizza tastes like Italy. I would like to see more pasta options on the kids menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very much enjoyed the mean and atmospher ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very much enjoyed the mean and atmosphere, as usual.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was outstanding and the services was good.

A bit pricey for a neighbourhood restaurant.

The website gave the impression that the ambiance would be high end classy however it was and the servers dressed like we at The Keg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

great food, hit 1/2 price wine day which ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2016

great food, hit 1/2 price wine day which was an added bonus!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The ambiance and service were good. The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The ambiance and service were good. The four of us all had some derivative of the Chicken or Veal on noodles, done 4 different ways. The veal and chicken were extremely dry, and just overall devoid of seasoning or flavor. obviously the place is going downhill.... What a pity, we used to really enjoy it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Love this restaurant. I am recommending ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love this restaurant. I am recommending it to everyone I know.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere was just what we needed. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The atmosphere was just what we needed. Neighborhood Italian says it all. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful, warm, rustic spot with spec ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 6, 2016

A beautiful, warm, rustic spot with spectacular food and AMAZING service! We cannot wait to visit Scopa again soon!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.