About Scopa Neighbourhood Italian

Scopa is a lively Italian-inspired neighbourhood restaurant located in the heart of the Tuxedo Park Community in Calgary. Community is at our core and we work hard to create an atmosphere where our guests are received as if going somewhere familiar, just as you would find in small town eateries all over Italy.



Chef Justin Lall seeks out seasonally fresh, local ingredients and allows them to shine in boldly-flavored contemporary Italian preparations with an emphasis on simplicity. We match our culinary offerings with a hand-selected wine list, served by knowledgeable, friendly, and genuine food and wine enthusiasts.



Really, we just love to eat and drink fine things and share them with our friends.

2220 Centre Street NE
Calgary, AB T2E 2T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Saturday - Sunday: 10:am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
22 Avenue N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 276-2030

Website:
http://www.scopacalgary.com/

Parking Details:
We have two private lots on the property (one on the north side and one on the south side). There is also plenty of street parking in the area.

Public Transit:
CTS #3 stops right across the Centre Street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Justin Lall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$10 Pizza

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$10 Scopa Burgers

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

$10 Pizza

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Enjoy any of our pizzas for just $10 after 8pm, Monday to Thursday nights. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

$10 Scopa Burgers

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our Scopa Burgers for just $10 every Monday, all day. Excludes Tax and Tip. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Scopa Neighbourhood Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Casual (25)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Tables are too small to hold all the glasses & plates & food & is uncomfortable for 4 people.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

I felt it was a bit on the pricey side for what you got. But the flavors were very good so I guess that is what you pay for good food??

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

No reservations necessary - we were the only two in the restaurant at lunch hour! Everyone was next door at Lina's! Brunch menu was very limited - more selection at Lina's deli! They should review their menu and put less emphasis on eggs and burgers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere. Very busy which is a very good sign. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great food
Fortunate to have an engaging server who appeared to really enjoy her job

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

I met a friend for lunch which was delicious as usual. Our server was helpful & attentive. Scopa has become our favorite neighbourhood restaurant (although our neighbourhood is North Haven). Unfortunately, Scopa can be quite noisy, especially at dinner time but the quality of the food makes up for that.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorites, but we went this time to support the restaurant as they were donating all the day's proceeds to the local food bank. Way to support your community Scopa!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great neighbourhood restaurant, great food and service. A nice mix of casual and fine dining. We went to participate in the Restaurants for Change event, and discovered a great place to eat and a nice business that supports the community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Very poor value for the dish I ordered. The ravioli was decent but certainly not worth $25, especially for only 12 small pieces...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

It was a busy Friday night, so when we arrived and asked to have our reservation changed from 2 people to 4 they were very accommodating. However they didn't seem to handle the service very well. We didn't see our waitress much and it was hard for her to hear us with how loud it was. Their portion sizes were very random. I ordered the $25 ravioli and got 11 small pieces of pasta. My brother who assumed he wouldnt be full off of the $20 lasagne order a pizza as well to supplement. However we were very surprised with the large portion that he received. I understand the difference in technique and work that goes into the different dishes, but one of us is bursting at the seams while I am over here starving. I don't care who you are but if the words "we should stop at mcdonalds after this" are said then it was not a good experience. Take all that and add the fact that I had 2 flies in my beer (which I didn't notice until i was almost at the bottom so there could have been more, unfortunately they didn't help fill me up....) I can say we were less then impressed. I will add that the ravioli was delicious I just wish I had more of it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The service and food was awesome. Only regret is that it had been so long since we had been there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Very attentive staff. Great happy hour choices for appetizers & drinks.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Pizza was scant.....pulled pork was on the fatty side....salad was limp
Waitress was friendly and efficient. Food was served in a timely manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent authentic Italian food. I have brought a few friends here for lunch, throughout the year, and each time the food and service has been great. Thanks Scopa, for a pleasant lunch experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great eats! Kid friendly also. Love coming here at every month or so.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This is a great neighbourhood restaurant, luckily it's in my neighbourhood. The food is delicious, they have an interesting wine list and the servers are always very helpful. Like all good restaurants, it can get quite busy so I would recommend a reservation if you don't want to wait or have littles!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Were very nice and helpful at accommodating our dietary needs amd constraints. Pretty rare thing for an Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 3, 2017

This was our first time at Scopa and we were disappointed unfortunately. The service was good with food coming quickly. However, the overall food left you with something to desire. It wasn't overly flavourful. The Arincini Balls were cooked nicely but the sauce was not flavourful, the ceaser salad was okay but nothing special, the calamari was alright but again lacking sauce. The steak was okay but had an odd sauce that overpowered. And unfortunately the restaurant seemed to have a fruit fly issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was tasty and plentiful. Our server was very attentive-absolutely wonderful. She always had a wonderful smile on her face, courteous and we felt we had very personal attention.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, visiting from Vancouver Island and took our grandchildren and their parents to your restaurant , great food and service . Will be back on our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Late-night Find, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Our waitress was fun and enlightening. The food was great-as always. Very consistent. A great local place to go and not break the pocket book

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Family lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2017

friendly staff. Nice summer evening to enjoy a meal on the patio

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great Restaurant and we loved our meals . I would recommend this restaurant for family dinners or girlfriend outings ..

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I was so disappointed with how poor of an experience we had. The food was cold, the service was all over the place, and the quality of food was just not there. Maybe they were having an off night but it will be a while till we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food here is ridiculously over priced, and coming from a very italian family I guarantee this is not even close to authentic italian. It tasted good, but not worth it at all. Ordered the pasta with clams, clam portion was large but the pasta was such a small amount! Its just pasta, I don't know why you can't serve more. Food was fast but our waitress was grouchy, I'll never understand how such a nice and costly restaurant has worse service than East Side Marios.
Also parking is awful, the lot only has space for 5 cars and street parking is permit only so be prepared to hunt for a spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Restaurant had many both dead/alive flies around table, obvious frozen food taste in meals, and unenthusiastic service. Very overpriced for the quality. Restaurant had an interesting look inside, but that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was great and the service excellent. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Avery enjoyable evening, Family Feast was a great experience, would recommend to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 23, 2017

2 of us enjoyed the Wednesday lunch cocktail special - loved the sangria! We each had a pizza, pancetta for my friend, the genoa for me - delicious and substantial, we took lots home with us. Our server was friendly and helpful and attentive, the patio (on Centre Street) is amazingly private and quiet and comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Overall the food was amazing and the alcohol was top-notch but it was a bit expensive and portion sizes on both the good and alcohol were small for the price charged. Would recommend to somebody wanting a nice dining experience who has a few dollars to spare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Overall experience was good! Excellent service and fun atmosphere! The food was really good except they were very frugal on the pasta portion for my linguine vongoles!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Scopa is a wonderful restaurant with good Italian cuisine and very reasonable prices. Our waitress was fabulous and very understanding when we asked to move tables as there was a child next to us who was shrieking. I almost went to talk to them as even with a table on the other side of the restaurant her shrieks hurt my ears. When my own did anything like that years ago we left the restaurant immediately; she learned quickly to behave. The patio is a good addition and was obviously well-used that evening. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 18, 2017

A favourite restaurant for me. Enjoyed a delicious dinner on the patio.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Fast, friendly efficient service. Food is good but not the best Italian that I have eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food and service was satisfactory. However we were seated by the window. My guest noticed about 10 dead flies on the window sill. Your staff removed the BUT within minutes two more dead flies fell from the shutters. Obviously NO cleaning of this area has been undertaken in weeks!! Very poor impression.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We come in here fairly often. Good Italian food. Had the burrata bruschetta topped with white anchovy, which added nice tangy flavour to the tasteless but creamy cheese. I opted for the genoa pizza which was excellent. My partner had a humungous portion of lasagna- also very tasty.
Good consistent quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was a bit too cheesy and the server had to constantly say "I'll be right with you." I did appreciate the birthday card from Scopa, though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food and value . I will recommend it to friends and definitely come back . The only thing we didn't like was the waitress, she was a in a rush to get us out but tge food was worth it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We often use Scopa when we are entertaining friends or out of town company and never have been disapointed in the
food or service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.