About Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

400 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Sorry for any inconvenience, but we do not accept any reservations during our weekend breakfast and lunch hours. Reservations for dinner begin at 5:00pm.

We are unable to take window requests online; however, we are delighted to take your request upon your arrival.

BREAKFAST:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:30am



LUNCH:
Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



DINNER:
Monday-Sunday : 5:30pm -10:00pm



BAR SERVICE:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-2628

Website:
http://www.schoonersmonterey.com/

Parking Details:
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers two hour complimentary Valet parking. Please let our host know 10 minutes before you leave and we will call valet, your car will be ready on the drive

Executive Chef:
James Waller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer exclusive buffets with breathtaking views of the Monterey Bay in celebration of Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 16,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace can host groups of up to 600 people.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
3 More
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Scenic View (78)
Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Brunch (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dine at Schooner's every time we are ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

We dine at Schooner's every time we are in Monterey. For lunch, the deck/patio is outstanding. We dined inside this time as it was cold out and the dining room for dinner was beautiful. Our server Colleen was outstanding. The PEI Mussels were out of this world. Everyone was attentive. Beautiful views of Monterey Bay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here to celebrate my girlfriend's b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went here to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday on 8/20. There was no wait for seating, we had a nice sea view, and the food was good. Our server had some good drink recommendations and was attentive, yet not intrusive. Dessert came out with candles (I told our server there was a birthday girl). :)

Overall, very pleased.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall very happy with food, service, v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall very happy with food, service, view and excellent wine list reasonably priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent for a special time, fresh ingr ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent for a special time, fresh ingredients , great flavors.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location with heated outdoor seati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great location with heated outdoor seating. Food was very good. Cioppino was good but I've had better in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding server!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only restaurant we visited in our 3 ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The only restaurant we visited in our 3 weeks' tour of California where the service was so poor. The food was OK but the portions not standard. On an overall, not good value for money and deceiving experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

After being seated we asked to be moved ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

After being seated we asked to be moved to an open table by the window. Best request of the year! We had reservations were for 7:30 and this was a perfect time. We were able to watch sea lions jumping in the bay. Otters were playing right outside the window, than a shark came by! My girls, 12 & 13, say this dinner was the highlight of the trip. Our waitress, Colleen Kelly , was an absolute gem. Wonderful service and great with the kids. We will definitely be coming back here next time we are in Monterey!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service. Then upstairs ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, good service. Then upstairs to listen to Lee Durley and Joe Indence. Great evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, excellent service, great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was good, excellent service, great views of the water.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, amazingly perfect service. G ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food, amazingly perfect service. Great views too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was surprisingly good for s tou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was surprisingly good for s tourist-type destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our table was in an awkward back corner ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our table was in an awkward back corner with a limited view of the bay. The menu selection was good. I had the grilled swordfish and it was great. The service was good and not overbearing. Yet our drinks were always filled. I would fine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service very friendly and we had table n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service very friendly and we had table next to window, so the view was nice. Food was fresh but tasteless. For $42, a filet mignon better melt in your mouth and have flavor; not this one. Likewise for salmon and swordfish--somewhat dry and without any flavor that made them memorable. That isn't a big deal when it costs less than $20, but for this kind of money it just wasn't worth it. The next night we went to C restaurant in the Clement intercontinental, and the sea bass melted inthe mouth and was so flavorful. Great views of bay. Same price but much better deal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great location, great service, below ave ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great location, great service, below average food. But the ocean makes up for it a bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Easy access on Cannery Row in the Plaza ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Easy access on Cannery Row in the Plaza hotel. The service, food and lookout into Monterey Bay make it worth the trip.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You absolutely cannot beat the view. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

You absolutely cannot beat the view. We made our reservation via Open Table for 6pm and when we arrived early, the Hostess accommodated us with immediate seating and a table with a view! During our dining experience we were entertained with views of Kayakers, Sea Otters on-the-move, and a pod of dolphins swimming circles through the kelp beds. How very special! Ambiance is versatile between romantic and family friendly. Wine list was extensive and well-priced. The dishes were beautifully plated and service was informative and friendly. The issue my husband and I both had was the lack of seasoning in all of our dishes. Our dinner consisted of Clam Chowder and Artichoke Chowder. Both were fresh tasting and mild in flavor. Based on reviews, we ordered Angry Shrimp and the dish was tasty but you need to be a fan of citrus to appreciate the sauce. Sea Bass was the evening special (my entree) and the Sole entree was from the menu (my husband's entree choice). Both dishes were fresh tasting, beautifully presented, generous portions however, the proteins were bland, and wild-rice on Sea Bass plate was under-cooked. Our overall experience was positive enough for us to try Schooners again with hopes for bolder flavors the next time around.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the most incredible restaurants I ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of the most incredible restaurants I've been to. Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Would go back anytime!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Me and my wife got the Go Fish appetizer ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Me and my wife got the Go Fish appetizer for two, shared the pan seared Salmon and a bottle of wine.

The appetizer was really fresh, delicious. To make it better it could come with different salsas.

The salmon was perfect and the wine made perfect company for the food.

Price was just ok, the view was beautiful as the restaurant is on the pier, and service was great with very attentive waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We ate breakfast and dinner twice here a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We ate breakfast and dinner twice here and loved it. I consider myself a wee bit of a food snob and schooners did not disappoint. Saturday night was super busy and they were late seating us but we got a drink at the bar and enjoyed. The staff is very nice and the food was very good. I highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an excellent venue for the food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was an excellent venue for the food and obviously the scenery. But, it would not have been nearly has pleasant had it not been for our server, Colleen. She was an excellently poised communicator who listened to what we were looking for with respect to wine pairings and offerings that were somewhat unclear on the menu. Furthermore, her warm smile and patience was exemplary in the restaurant business.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the beautiful bay view wi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

You can't beat the beautiful bay view with the bonus of good food and great service. Servings are generous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely location. If you don't immediate ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lovely location. If you don't immediately see what you're looking for on the menu, the chef was able to accommodate special requests. Enjoyable experience and will return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The view of the water was great, the ser ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The view of the water was great, the service was attentive but unobtrusive. The waiter's recommendation was spot on. Bar drinks were good. Overall great value.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining area had excellent food! The pepp ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Dining area had excellent food! The pepper appetizers were amazing! Great food, great service, great view

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If a colored person wants experience how ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

If a colored person wants experience how it feels when discriminated must visit this place. You'll sit in a back coupe where no one else will sit (like a second coach, especially when there are places at front. The hostess will conveniently forget to ask you for your preferences for sitting and will make you wait for 15 to 20 minutes (other people will get seated in the meantime) even if you have reservation. Oh! The food is very average. Must visit to experience 2nd citizen treatment. BTW it took 35 mins to get our entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We celebrated our niece and nephew's hig ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We celebrated our niece and nephew's high school graduations here and they truly enjoyed the entire event. The service was outstanding, the food was exceptional and the view is awe inspiring. Great starters, fresh seafood and amazing desserts, the kids asked to return for their college graduations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service. Very attentive. We had ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great Service. Very attentive. We had our 10 ur old with us and he gave it a thumbs up. Seeing the waves crashing up on our window and seeing several sea otters from our window helped.

Food was good. Would recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious dinner, beautiful scenery - we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Delicious dinner, beautiful scenery - we always go to Schooners when we visit Monterey

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! Would definitely b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was amazing! Would definitely be back during our next visit to Monterey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing romantic spot for dinner. Great ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing romantic spot for dinner. Great view. Server was fantastic

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stopped on a whim and can not wait to go ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Stopped on a whim and can not wait to go again. Food was amazing and seevice even berrer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service, the view was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic food and service, the view was amazing as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been a chef for over 30 years. I ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been a chef for over 30 years. I have achieved Michelin star. The presentations were adequate but The flavor profiles were disappointing. They lacked everywhere they should have excelled and or void salt. I ordered three appetizers, and when the server came back she asked me if I was ready for dessert. She gave me a strange look when I told her I wanted the Petrole Sole. My wife's clam chowder was potato leek soup with five whole clams in it. I would have not guessed this, but potato leek soup was actually on the menu as well so they clearly ran out of clam chowder. Most disappointing. The cooks in the kitchen seem to have skills, they need to leadership end guidance. Please help yourselves such a location in such a majestic hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Keep walking, this place is awful. True ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Keep walking, this place is awful. True to form tourist are overly kind to some of the worst restaurants in touristy markets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great views good food. Server gave us s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great views good food. Server gave us some great sightseeing suggestions in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The seating was excellent, the food was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The seating was excellent, the food was very good, the service up to standard, but the scene was also hectic and loud. We had a great time and would certainly come back.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

For lunch I had the Sea Bass BLT and it ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

For lunch I had the Sea Bass BLT and it was completely wonderful. Juicy fish with the tasty combination of the BLT, sat outside on the patio with possibly the very best view of the waters and bay of Monterey. Came back for dinner and had the flat iron steak with Angry Shrimp add-on. Absolutely delicious one of the best lunches and dinners I've ever had! The flat iron was a very generous serving which u wasn't expecting as it approaches half the price of other steaks. Flavor was superb. The Angry Shrimp was incredibly delicious. It's not hot-spicy but just a slight kick and the sauce includes chunks of citrus, tomato, chile (mild) and whatever else makes this a can't miss item. It can be ordered as appetizer. Ambience cannot be beat as well as the fantastic view across the bay. A beautiful hotel to walk through though I did not stay there. Highly recommended, can't miss if in Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food but a little over priced, the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Good food but a little over priced, the service at times seemed to be slow and the restaurant wasn't busy

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

People were friendly but some of the pat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

People were friendly but some of the patrons were a bit too loud. Food is okay, not the best. But I would say the view is worth dining there for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.