About Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

400 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Sorry for any inconvenience, but we do not accept any reservations during our weekend breakfast and lunch hours. Reservations for dinner begin at 5:00pm.

We are unable to take window requests online; however, we are delighted to take your request upon your arrival.

BREAKFAST:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:30am



LUNCH:
Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



DINNER:
Monday-Sunday : 5:30pm -10:00pm



BAR SERVICE:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-2628

Website:
http://www.schoonersmonterey.com/

Parking Details:
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers two hour complimentary Valet parking. Please let our host know 10 minutes before you leave and we will call valet, your car will be ready on the drive

Executive Chef:
James Waller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer exclusive buffets with breathtaking views of the Monterey Bay in celebration of Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 16,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace can host groups of up to 600 people.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
2 More
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Scenic View (78)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Waterfront (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, don't miss the Baked Ala ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, don't miss the Baked Alaska it is served flaming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After driving up the coast earlier in th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

After driving up the coast earlier in the day, Schooners coastal kitchen was just a place to sit to enjoy a beautiful view and amazing food. Don't let the fact that this is a hotel restaurant dissuade you from going – the location, the views, the very attentive staff, and the upscale restaurant setting and great food all made for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OK, the food was great. The waitress wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

OK, the food was great. The waitress was fantastic. But the hostess, she seats us at the worst table in the restaurant. We're hotel guests, we have a reservation and the restaurant is half empty on a Sunday night. Window seats abound but the cute little hostess won't give the older couple a nice table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced, slow service, dry chicken

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Overpriced, slow service, dry chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

My husband & I ordered one salad and thr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband & I ordered one salad and three seafood appetizer dishes to share for our lunch. Sizes for mussels and shrimps were bit small, but octopus was tender and delicious.

Kale (for salad) was all in baby leaves and easy to eat. The restaurant is facing Monterey Bay, offering a nice ocean view.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My Girlfriend and I were in Monterey on ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My Girlfriend and I were in Monterey on vacation and looking for an upscale patio dining experience with an ocean view.. We read about Schooners and checked the reviews...

The experience surpassed or highest expectations! Beautiful views, relaxing atmosphere.. Friendly, efficient service and amazing food! My Ribeye was the best I've had outside of my back yard! I was so impressed!! My girlfriend loved her clam chowder and crab legs!

Truly one of the best dining experiences we've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant lived up to, and exceeded ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The restaurant lived up to, and exceeded, expectations with its excellent seafood, charming view of the bay and friendly staff. If I am lucky enough to revisit Monterey then I would hope to return.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, great view

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great meal, great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an amazing restaurant. Food was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was an amazing restaurant. Food was unique, yet very well prepared. Seafood tasted as fresh as can be. The ambiance and mood of the restaurant was very serene and romantic, but is also great for groups or small families. Beautiful view. If you're staying at the Monterey Plaza, you'd be crazy not to eat here at least one night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I were on vacation visit ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My daughter and I were on vacation visiting Monterey and decided to try this restaurant. It was a difficult choice because there were so many restaurant options, but we were glad we chose Schooners. Unfortunately, we missed the wonderful view because it was dark when we got there. We started with Oysters on the Half Shell which were so fresh and tasty. We got their amazing clam chowder and lobster bisque. We both ordered the Pan-Seared Petrale Sole because it was a lighter dish. The sole was done to perfection and it was flaky and buttery, but we both agreed that it was pretty bland - not much seasoning at all. The service was attentive, but not intrusive. We enjoyed our experience and would definitely go there if we ever visit Monterey again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good, just the table. We ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was good, just the table. We would prefer a better table but I do understand we reserve last minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I recently booked a table at ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My wife and I recently booked a table at this restaurant to celebrate our 30th anniversary , the welcome and food were great although a little expensive but heh it was a special occasion , what was a little disappointing was that although everyone kept wishing us a " Happy Anniversary " , we weren't offered a coffee , drink or something as a gesture , that would have been nice .

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Everyone was pleased with appetizers and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Everyone was pleased with appetizers and entrees. Service was great!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We started with the roasted Shishito Pep ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We started with the roasted Shishito Peppers, very good, not even a little spicy. Then Clam Chowder, very disappointing, it consisted of a heavy cream with 4 clams in the shell and a scattering of potato. Absolutely not clam chowder. Kale and Beet Salad, they were out of Kale so substituted field greens (we were told before it was served). Sole Seared, Pork Scallopini both just fair. Do not go for the food. Nice view. Go for cocktails.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The view of Monterey Bay is fantastic. T ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The view of Monterey Bay is fantastic. The service was ok, but a bit pushy and seemed to want to rush you to order and finish your meal. The place was not that busy, for a Friday night on Labor day weekend. So we just wanted to relax and enjoy our wine and take in the view before having dinner. Overall, the place has the view. But the food is fresh and good. Not spectacular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful location and staff is friendly ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Beautiful location and staff is friendly . Food selection could be better not the greatest

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We really enjoyed the food. Love the cas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We really enjoyed the food. Love the casual atmosphere, great water view with the upscale food. Our waiter was beyond excellent.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As a local I tend to avoid the tourist o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

As a local I tend to avoid the tourist oriented hotels and restaurants that our community is to full of. However I thought it would be fun to change my habits a bit and give this place a try. I was very surprised how just how excellent the service was from the minute we arrived, to the exceptional quality of food, as well as the wine offerings. Overall a very very nice dining experience, and I will be certainly returning soon. A very well run restaurant that has a terrific menu, beautiful and flavorful food paired with great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great table by the window with binocular ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great table by the window with binoculars supplied to view the wildlife, my only regret is I didn't book the table earlier to enjoy the view prior to it getting dark. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clams in lemon broth were excellent. Por ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Clams in lemon broth were excellent.

Pork belly was very good.

Shishito peppers and spicy shrimp were good

Burrata and artichokes were disappointing. Artichokes were grilled nicely, but overpowered with balsamic vinegar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent seafood and staff was professi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent seafood and staff was professional and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our crab legs and sturgeon. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We loved our crab legs and sturgeon. We sat outside on the deck near the heaters, which was perfect for viewing the bay. Great cocktails too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Schooner's every time we are ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We dine at Schooner's every time we are in Monterey. For lunch, the deck/patio is outstanding. We dined inside this time as it was cold out and the dining room for dinner was beautiful. Our server Colleen was outstanding. The PEI Mussels were out of this world. Everyone was attentive. Beautiful views of Monterey Bay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here to celebrate my girlfriend's b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went here to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday on 8/20. There was no wait for seating, we had a nice sea view, and the food was good. Our server had some good drink recommendations and was attentive, yet not intrusive. Dessert came out with candles (I told our server there was a birthday girl). :)

Overall, very pleased.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall very happy with food, service, v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall very happy with food, service, view and excellent wine list reasonably priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent for a special time, fresh ingr ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent for a special time, fresh ingredients , great flavors.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liked this place so much we had lunch he ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Liked this place so much we had lunch here the next day with friends. Very fresh seafood from around the world. The service was very good but not great but the food more than made up for any slowness. Definitely a seafood establishment that I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location with heated outdoor seati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great location with heated outdoor seating. Food was very good. Cioppino was good but I've had better in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding server!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only restaurant we visited in our 3 ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The only restaurant we visited in our 3 weeks' tour of California where the service was so poor. The food was OK but the portions not standard. On an overall, not good value for money and deceiving experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

After being seated we asked to be moved ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

After being seated we asked to be moved to an open table by the window. Best request of the year! We had reservations were for 7:30 and this was a perfect time. We were able to watch sea lions jumping in the bay. Otters were playing right outside the window, than a shark came by! My girls, 12 & 13, say this dinner was the highlight of the trip. Our waitress, Colleen Kelly , was an absolute gem. Wonderful service and great with the kids. We will definitely be coming back here next time we are in Monterey!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service. Then upstairs ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, good service. Then upstairs to listen to Lee Durley and Joe Indence. Great evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, excellent service, great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was good, excellent service, great views of the water.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, amazingly perfect service. G ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food, amazingly perfect service. Great views too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was surprisingly good for s tou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was surprisingly good for s tourist-type destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our table was in an awkward back corner ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our table was in an awkward back corner with a limited view of the bay. The menu selection was good. I had the grilled swordfish and it was great. The service was good and not overbearing. Yet our drinks were always filled. I would fine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service very friendly and we had table n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service very friendly and we had table next to window, so the view was nice. Food was fresh but tasteless. For $42, a filet mignon better melt in your mouth and have flavor; not this one. Likewise for salmon and swordfish--somewhat dry and without any flavor that made them memorable. That isn't a big deal when it costs less than $20, but for this kind of money it just wasn't worth it. The next night we went to C restaurant in the Clement intercontinental, and the sea bass melted inthe mouth and was so flavorful. Great views of bay. Same price but much better deal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great location, great service, below ave ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great location, great service, below average food. But the ocean makes up for it a bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Easy access on Cannery Row in the Plaza ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Easy access on Cannery Row in the Plaza hotel. The service, food and lookout into Monterey Bay make it worth the trip.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You absolutely cannot beat the view. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

You absolutely cannot beat the view. We made our reservation via Open Table for 6pm and when we arrived early, the Hostess accommodated us with immediate seating and a table with a view! During our dining experience we were entertained with views of Kayakers, Sea Otters on-the-move, and a pod of dolphins swimming circles through the kelp beds. How very special! Ambiance is versatile between romantic and family friendly. Wine list was extensive and well-priced. The dishes were beautifully plated and service was informative and friendly. The issue my husband and I both had was the lack of seasoning in all of our dishes. Our dinner consisted of Clam Chowder and Artichoke Chowder. Both were fresh tasting and mild in flavor. Based on reviews, we ordered Angry Shrimp and the dish was tasty but you need to be a fan of citrus to appreciate the sauce. Sea Bass was the evening special (my entree) and the Sole entree was from the menu (my husband's entree choice). Both dishes were fresh tasting, beautifully presented, generous portions however, the proteins were bland, and wild-rice on Sea Bass plate was under-cooked. Our overall experience was positive enough for us to try Schooners again with hopes for bolder flavors the next time around.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.