About Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

400 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Sorry for any inconvenience, but we do not accept any reservations during our weekend breakfast and lunch hours. Reservations for dinner begin at 5:00pm.

We are unable to take window requests online; however, we are delighted to take your request upon your arrival.

BREAKFAST:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:30am



LUNCH:
Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



DINNER:
Monday-Sunday : 5:30pm -10:00pm



BAR SERVICE:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-2628

Website:
http://www.schoonersmonterey.com/

Parking Details:
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers two hour complimentary Valet parking. Please let our host know 10 minutes before you leave and we will call valet, your car will be ready on the drive

Executive Chef:
James Waller

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer exclusive buffets with breathtaking views of the Monterey Bay in celebration of Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 16,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace can host groups of up to 600 people.

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
3 More
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

scenic view (72)
special occasion (54)
romantic (42)
See All
fit for foodies (36)
great for outdoor dining (30)
notable wine list (21)
great for lunch (17)
good for groups (16)
great for brunch (14)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Me and my wife got the Go Fish appetizer ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

Me and my wife got the Go Fish appetizer for two, shared the pan seared Salmon and a bottle of wine.

The appetizer was really fresh, delicious. To make it better it could come with different salsas.

The salmon was perfect and the wine made perfect company for the food.

Price was just ok, the view was beautiful as the restaurant is on the pier, and service was great with very attentive waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

You can't beat the beautiful bay view wi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

You can't beat the beautiful bay view with the bonus of good food and great service. Servings are generous.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely location. If you don't immediate ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lovely location. If you don't immediately see what you're looking for on the menu, the chef was able to accommodate special requests. Enjoyable experience and will return again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The view of the water was great, the ser ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The view of the water was great, the service was attentive but unobtrusive. The waiter's recommendation was spot on. Bar drinks were good. Overall great value.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining area had excellent food! The pepp ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Dining area had excellent food! The pepper appetizers were amazing! Great food, great service, great view

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If a colored person wants experience how ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

If a colored person wants experience how it feels when discriminated must visit this place. You'll sit in a back coupe where no one else will sit (like a second coach, especially when there are places at front. The hostess will conveniently forget to ask you for your preferences for sitting and will make you wait for 15 to 20 minutes (other people will get seated in the meantime) even if you have reservation. Oh! The food is very average. Must visit to experience 2nd citizen treatment. BTW it took 35 mins to get our entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We celebrated our niece and nephew's hig ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We celebrated our niece and nephew's high school graduations here and they truly enjoyed the entire event. The service was outstanding, the food was exceptional and the view is awe inspiring. Great starters, fresh seafood and amazing desserts, the kids asked to return for their college graduations!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service. Very attentive. We had ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great Service. Very attentive. We had our 10 ur old with us and he gave it a thumbs up. Seeing the waves crashing up on our window and seeing several sea otters from our window helped.

Food was good. Would recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious dinner, beautiful scenery - we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Delicious dinner, beautiful scenery - we always go to Schooners when we visit Monterey

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! Would definitely b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was amazing! Would definitely be back during our next visit to Monterey.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing romantic spot for dinner. Great ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing romantic spot for dinner. Great view. Server was fantastic

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stopped on a whim and can not wait to go ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Stopped on a whim and can not wait to go again. Food was amazing and seevice even berrer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service, the view was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic food and service, the view was amazing as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been a chef for over 30 years. I ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been a chef for over 30 years. I have achieved Michelin star. The presentations were adequate but The flavor profiles were disappointing. They lacked everywhere they should have excelled and or void salt. I ordered three appetizers, and when the server came back she asked me if I was ready for dessert. She gave me a strange look when I told her I wanted the Petrole Sole. My wife's clam chowder was potato leek soup with five whole clams in it. I would have not guessed this, but potato leek soup was actually on the menu as well so they clearly ran out of clam chowder. Most disappointing. The cooks in the kitchen seem to have skills, they need to leadership end guidance. Please help yourselves such a location in such a majestic hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Keep walking, this place is awful. True ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Keep walking, this place is awful. True to form tourist are overly kind to some of the worst restaurants in touristy markets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great views good food. Server gave us s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great views good food. Server gave us some great sightseeing suggestions in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The seating was excellent, the food was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The seating was excellent, the food was very good, the service up to standard, but the scene was also hectic and loud. We had a great time and would certainly come back.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

For lunch I had the Sea Bass BLT and it ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

For lunch I had the Sea Bass BLT and it was completely wonderful. Juicy fish with the tasty combination of the BLT, sat outside on the patio with possibly the very best view of the waters and bay of Monterey. Came back for dinner and had the flat iron steak with Angry Shrimp add-on. Absolutely delicious one of the best lunches and dinners I've ever had! The flat iron was a very generous serving which u wasn't expecting as it approaches half the price of other steaks. Flavor was superb. The Angry Shrimp was incredibly delicious. It's not hot-spicy but just a slight kick and the sauce includes chunks of citrus, tomato, chile (mild) and whatever else makes this a can't miss item. It can be ordered as appetizer. Ambience cannot be beat as well as the fantastic view across the bay. A beautiful hotel to walk through though I did not stay there. Highly recommended, can't miss if in Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food but a little over priced, the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Good food but a little over priced, the service at times seemed to be slow and the restaurant wasn't busy

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

People were friendly but some of the pat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

People were friendly but some of the patrons were a bit too loud. Food is okay, not the best. But I would say the view is worth dining there for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great menu, awesome view, attentive serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great menu, awesome view, attentive service...and best ...great value for you money

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reservation wasmishandled and we are din ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Reservation wasmishandled and we are dinner in the bar, happy anniversary honey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Sat outside on the deck at Schooners and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Sat outside on the deck at Schooners and had a couple of drinks and appetizers. Steamers were outstanding, and artichoke soup was good as well. Drinks were good pours, however, the bloody mary was a little too spicy for our liking. Service was decent, food was good, and scenery was amazing. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Spectacular view and dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated our 16th anniversary at Schooners, on June 10th. Everyone was so kind. They gave us a window seat with beautiful ocean views. My husband and I both had the filet mignon and it was amazing! We also had a side of the fried mac and cheese, which was also amazing. I raved about schooners to all of my friends, and a few have already booked a table for later this month. We can't wait to come back to schooners!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dissapointing food

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The lobster bisque lacked flavour and was full of cream. The sole was well over cooked, the "creamy mash" tasted of reheated potato and the carrots were so over salted they could not be eaten. To give credit to the waitress she did remove the main course charge. My partner did say the rigatoni was excellent.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

You really can't beat Schooners! Everyt ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

You really can't beat Schooners! Everything is wonderful but our faves are the artichokes, angry shrimp, clam chowder, and mahi mahi.

Service is the best and the views are amazing. Lots of fun watching the birds and the seals as they live their daily lives while we were dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As requested, we had a lovely table righ ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

As requested, we had a lovely table right by the Bay with an outstanding view. Our waiter was so attentive and the food was good. I was surprised that the prices were so reasonable. The local cod was tasty as well as the abalone my husband chose. He enjoyed the date and goat cheese salad while I had fun with the grilled artichoke with balsamic and aioli dip. Too full for dessert. That will have to wait for the next time we visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great environment, amazing sunset view

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Created a reservation in advance for an anniversary dinner and they set us up with a window seating. Menu was short and sweet with all the essentials seafood and steaks. Service was personable and greeted us with a smile. Food arrived quick and cooked to perfection! An amazing dinner with a even better evening view

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Everything we had was exquisite ! All th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything we had was exquisite ! All three courses plus wine - it was wonderful! It's great to be on cannery row!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the unusual occasion where the s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

This is the unusual occasion where the service was way TOO much... we had an earlier dinner reservation on a Sunday evening (6PM)... there was no wait and the restaurant was busy but not completely full. The wait staff hovered way too much... we lost count of the number of times we were asked how everything was and if we were ready for a plates to be cleared. I'd understand if we'd been camped out for 2 hours... this began from the moment we received our appetizers to the moment we requested our check which was a total of 1 hour. We ordered a bottle of wine, appetizers, and main courses... no dessert. Food was good... sole was very good... artichoke soup lacked flavor but wasn't bad. The views are fantastic. How about not sending three different servers to ask how we like our food for each course over the span of an hour. Enough already.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Service... Great view and open lat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great Service... Great view and open late which was an issue for us on our visit

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great but they brought the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was great but they brought the wrong entree for my wife's order which meant that it was impossible for us both to have hot food to eat at the same time. This is one of those restaurants where the waiter who takes the order is not person who delivers the order. It was not clear to me who was taking care of us and rectifying the order and the apology seemed kind of half hearted. While the restaurant did take 10% off the bill, many restaurants at this price range would have comp'd us the whole entree.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This restaurant is right on the water of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This restaurant is right on the water of Monterey Bay. The service was very friendly and accommodating. They made us feel welcome and respected. The food is reasonably priced for high quality food. The wine list is large but a bit on the pricey side. It would be nice if they had some less expensive wines from the local area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So-So!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Let's just say that after reading the online reviews & looking at the menu our expectations were high. Sadly, the cuisine did not live up to those expectations. It wasn't bad, but it lacked the WOW we were expecting. My wife & I are both in the restaurant business & live and work in Napa Valley. Yes, we are foodies, but we are not snooty by any measure, we do enjoy good food, whether it be fine dining, street food or casual, as long as it's done well. On the plus side, plate presentations were lovely, service exceptional, the views captivating & a well thought out wine list available. The manager stopped by to discuss our concerns & took our critique in stride. While not the place for us, I'm sure the tourists will enjoy it.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Superb

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Quite frankly our waiter made our evening by providing excellent service. Celebrating our 27yr anniversary we were seated next to the window. The view was amazing. We felt we were treated special.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We visited Schooners during a vacation trip to Monterey. It has a varied menu, including great sea food. The food was expertly prepared and service was first-rate. We would be "regulars" if we lived in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chosen for a special occasion off the internet

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Chose this restaurant off the internet from back in England. The special occasion was our 30 th Wedding Anniversary and we were extremely impressed. The menu has a lot of choice and the food was excellent. The service was first class and we had a table with a bayview so we were. Entertainecd by Sea Otters in the bay. A fantastic experience and We would thoeoughly recommend the restaurant to others

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, special occasions, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food and everything we tried w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Excellent Food and everything we tried was prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delivers on the desired romantic setting

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We were seated right in the corner of the dining room, with expansive window views of the bay. Masha and Alex were outstanding - prompt, attentive and courteous!

We started with Artichoke soup (more potato flavor than artichoke, sadly) and the Beet/Kale salad (baby kale was tasty and tender; would probably go with green apples instead of the avocado, although it was a nice salad overall). For entrees, the wife had the Mahi Mahi over Coconut Rice, I had the Sole over mashed potatoes. The food was only average, unfortunately - it could have been spectacular with a little more focus on ingredients, maybe more dynamic seasoning, although from a preparation perspective it was fine.

The wine was super (a nice old-vine Zin), as was the olive tapenade; the only issue was that, having been offered gluten-free bread by Masha, Alex brought what we supposed was the afore-mentioned GF bread - that turned out to delicious but unfortunately not GF (good thing it's a food preference issue, not an allergy!).

The Baked Alaska was okay, not great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food and service was excellent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Very good food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.