About School Street Bistro

116 N School St
Lodi, CA 95240
View Larger Map

Bistro is defined as "a small informal restaurant serving wine" and School Street Bistro is a true bistro located in the heart of Lodi wine country. Focusing on the comfort foods of the Southern United States combined with fresh locally grown produce, wild sustainable seafood, and top quality meats, School Street Bistro delivers a unique "hometown" restaurant experience. School Street offers an extensive hand-picked local and imported wine list, as well as domestic and imported beers. Owned and operated since 2002 by a local Lodi Winemaker and his Family who have roots in the South, the Bistro offers a casual dining experience with warm Southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Elm and Locust

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 333-3950

Website:
http://schoolstbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Christopher Ross

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

School Street Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Spot in Lodi My husband and I had ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Spot in Lodi

My husband and I had the crab tater tots as an appetizer (delicious) and we both had the arctic char served on white beans seasoned with ham as a main course. Everything was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Also drank a bottle of Lange Twins cabernet sauvignon and shared an icebox cake dessert. Wonderful service and a thoroughly enjoyable meal, as always at School St. Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual. A little noisy, some noi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Great as usual. A little noisy, some noise canceling panels on the ceiling would be a good addition,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wonderful, this was no exception. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always wonderful, this was no exception. We had the special, delicious plus a great value. You must try dessert, all wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had a bad meal at this Restaurant. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Never had a bad meal at this Restaurant. Quality always meets or exceeds my expectations. Recommend making a reservation if you plan to eat here. I like to say, it's been discovered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We always enjoy our times at School Stre ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always enjoy our times at School Street Bistro. The service is outstanding, and the food presentation is perfect, with each entree we've had being very tasty and perfectly prepared. The wine selection shows how much effort the owner has put into each detail of our dining experience with the wide variety of choices and great values. Pair a dinner here with a movie across the street at the Lodi Stadium 12 and you have the perfect date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice little place to have lunch before w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Nice little place to have lunch before wine tasting. Enjoyed the shrimp poor boy sammy! You gotta like garlic - its loaded!

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Innovative dishes using fresh local prod ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Innovative dishes using fresh local produce and fish.

I am constantly amazed with the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a little put off by how loud it wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was a little put off by how loud it was but the service and food more than made up for it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have never eaten in Lodi before and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have never eaten in Lodi before and this placed seemed to have the best reviews. It was a somewhat mixed meal, with some items quite good and others not. For starters we ordered both the calamari and the fried green tomatoes. The calamari was good, the fried green tomatoes absolutely fabulous - really, if you eat at this restaurant, you can't miss them - it's the best thing on the menu. I ordered a glass of Sauvignon Blank with the calamari and it arrived cool, but not chilled, which is definitely a miss on a hot afternoon. Then the entrees arrived: 2 of the 3 of us who ordered mains ordered the shrimp, and they were outstanding - hearty portfolio with great flavor. So often when you order shrimp the portions are too small, but not here. I ordered the meatloaf, which was too sweet and too dry at the same time, definitely so-so. I also ordered the caesar salad with my entree, and for $3.95 extra that was about $3.75 too much - the salad was lousy. For desserts we had the bread pudding (outstanding) and a brownie of some sort (meh). On balance it was a nice evening in Lodi, and a good meal, but certainly this side of great. Were I to return to Lodi I would happily eat here again, but I might prefer to try another restaurant as well. Finally, I had made a reservation for 2 - a mistake on my part, as there were 4 of us. The hostess graciously seated all of us, and on time. That was very kind of her.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our first visit and it was delicious!! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our first visit and it was delicious!! When we arrived it was not busy but by the time we left it was packed. Hubby had the meatloaf and I had the fried chicken and both were delicious! Fried chicken was juicy, crunchy and cook to perfection. The sides were perfect accompaniment to the chicken. Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very, very noisy, but the wonderful food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very, very noisy, but the wonderful food made up for it. Excellent salad, and the pecan-pumpkin seed crusted fried chicken was to die for, as was the bread pudding. Service was excellent, and our waitress even apologized for the noise level, which was nice. All in all an excellent restaurant - and next time if the weather is still as nice, I will definitely sit outside - that looked wonderful!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service lagged a bit, with our server an ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service lagged a bit, with our server anyway compared to others. So loud we could not converse !!! Not good ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great. We sat outside and i ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was great. We sat outside and it was great because it was a beautiful evening. The only downside was the service. We got there at 6:15 and didn't get our food until about 7:30 and had to eat very quickly to catch our movie at 8pm. This was our anniversary meal and we wanted to enjoy it and relax and order dessert, but because the service was so slow, we had to hurry through and not get dessert. The food was great though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Our favorite place to eat in Lodi. The f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our favorite place to eat in Lodi. The food and service is always outstanding. It can be noisy but it was quiet this visit. The staff has always been willing to seat us at one of the quieter tables.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We relied on our waiter for dinner sugge ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We relied on our waiter for dinner suggestions and he did not disappoint.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I love this place! Amazing f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I love this place! Amazing food! The crab tater tots are a great starter. For dessert... You have to have the pecan bread pudding. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fast & very courteous service. Work on t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fast & very courteous service. Work on those dinner rolls though. ;-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish! Loved the warm fried green tomat ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delish! Loved the warm fried green tomatoes for appetizers and steak medallions for entrée!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food! We love bring friends ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always great food! We love bring friends here for there first time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was an excellent experience, We we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was an excellent experience, We were greeted at the door, by the server who took great care of us. She knew where were going to be seated and took us directly there. We brought our own bottle of wine from a winery in downtown Lodi, by doing the "downtown Lodi" they waived the corkage fee. The meal was delicious with good variety.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good (had the sole). Wine list ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was good (had the sole). Wine list was a little light but sufficient. Waiter was very personable, knowledgeable and friendly. Met up with friends and it was a very enjoyable evening. Desserts were good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Everything was great but the noise level ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was great but the noise level gets pretty high when the restaurant is about 2/3 capacity. Little difficult to have conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I usually love the whole overall experie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I usually love the whole overall experience, but this time my dinner order was very late, well done steak was over cooked, potatoes were cold and we weren't given silver wear until we asked for it. Not sure who this man was coming in and out of kitchen but his facial expression was always a bit angry. I will come back because that was probably a rare off night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

the fried green tomato appetizer was won ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2016

the fried green tomato appetizer was wonderful and large enough for an entre for me! wonderful with a glass of chardonnay! hamburger was good but skip the frizzy lettuce and put real lettuce on it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fried green tomatoes were delicious, as ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were delicious, as well as, the sole with almonds. Only wish the dinner rolls were not so hard, could be much better. My husband loved the salmon. For dessert we shared the brownie with choc sauce and vanilla gelato, yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everyone was impressed by how delicious ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everyone was impressed by how delicious all their meals were and the proprofessionalism of the wait staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy with everything. Noticed that not ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Happy with everything. Noticed that not all of the employees were in a good mood. If you don't want to be in a great mood at work, Stay Home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We frequently travel 25 miles each way t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2016

We frequently travel 25 miles each way to have lunch or dinner at School Street Bistro. We are greeted by name each time. The food is absolutely delicious. I cannot think of another restaurant that has this type of fare. The fried green tomatoes, the truffle fries, the truffle deviled eggs, the pork loin, I just a few of their specialties. The specialties change with the seasons. School Street Bistro is one of our frequently "go to places"! JoAnn N.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Local California cuisine with a Southern flair. I wish they were open on Sunday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite places. Some if the b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 29, 2016

One of my favorite places. Some if the best food in Lodi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

One of the top restaurants in Lodi. Tota ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Lodi. Totally underrated. The food is excellent, the specials are seasonal, and the service is great. I would recommend to any of my foodie friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Times!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We try to get here at least once a month. Really like the atmosphere and the food is always very good! Great place to go in downtown Lodi!

Everyone is friendly and we look forward to coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Lodi Louisiana Gem!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2016

I tried this restaurant with a friend about a year ago, and was delighted with the food, quality of service. School Street Bistro is now my goto restaurant when I'm entertaining foodie friends. The consistent quality of the food and friendly service make this an easy pick. The portions are just right, and the chef always finds a unique blend of traditional Louisiana cooking with some new variations that are a treat. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was impec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was delicious and service was impeccable. We never felt rushed in the least, even though it was near closing time when we were finishing up. Will definitely return when in the area again. I read one review somewhere that said portions are small. Not true!! We all were stuffed and sadly had to leave some food on our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a good dining experience. Food is ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Always a good dining experience. Food is worth the wait and staff is attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love going to School Street Bistro.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Interesting and delicious food served with style and friendly helpful staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

School Street Experience.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great ambience, great food, good wine list. However, they do need more Vegetarian choices.

Very attentive staff. Had a good evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a pleasant time at School Street ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Always a pleasant time at School Street with exceptionally exciting specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Valentine's Experience

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was a wonderful dinner! The food was cooked perfectly. The service was very attentive but not a nuisance. We are definitely making it our place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.