HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - School Street Bistro

4.4
138 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (172)
  • Fit for Foodies (139)
  • Special Occasion (108)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Bistro is defined as "a small informal restaurant serving wine" and School Street Bistro is a true bistro located in the heart of Lodi wine country. Focusing on the comfort foods of the Southern United States combined with fresh locally grown produce, wild sustainable seafood, and top quality meats, School Street Bistro delivers a unique "hometown" restaurant experience. School Street offers an extensive hand-picked local and imported wine list, as well as domestic and imported beers. Owned and operated since 2002 by a local Lodi Winemaker and his Family who have roots in the South, the Bistro offers a casual dining experience with warm Southern hospitality.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(209) 333-3950
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Ross
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Elm and Locust
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 138 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
viphappy (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

We are sad to see this gem of a restaurant close its doors. Having dined here for 15 plus years it could be said that we really loved this place. The food was prepared with artistry and care by the kitchen staff, served by knowledgeable and friendly wait staff and overseen by inquiring owners and other management. Tears were shed the last night this wonderful restaurant was in business.

Report
Helpful
JoyF (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2016

School Street Bistro is always great food, great place to spend time with friends and in Downtown Lodi. We love this place!

So sad to hear that this is the last weekend that School Street Bistro will be open!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2016

It was delicious. Noisy but I think it was someone's birthday.

Report
Helpful
ValerieF (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on December 14, 2016

My granddaughter summed it up right - "phenomenal" was what she said about the food and the attentiveness and friendliness of the waitstaff- for her surprise 18th birthday dinner! I can't wait to go again

Report
Helpful
vipSusan (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on December 3, 2016

Great Spot in Lodi

My husband and I had the crab tater tots as an appetizer (delicious) and we both had the arctic char served on white beans seasoned with ham as a main course. Everything was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Also drank a bottle of Lange Twins cabernet sauvignon and shared an icebox cake dessert. Wonderful service and a thoroughly enjoyable meal, as always at School St. Bistro.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2016

Great as usual. A little noisy, some noise canceling panels on the ceiling would be a good addition,

Report
Helpful
62carman55 (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on November 23, 2016

Always wonderful, this was no exception. We had the special, delicious plus a great value. You must try dessert, all wonderful.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on November 19, 2016

Never had a bad meal at this Restaurant. Quality always meets or exceeds my expectations. Recommend making a reservation if you plan to eat here. I like to say, it's been discovered.

Report
Helpful
Rosarian (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on November 5, 2016

We always enjoy our times at School Street Bistro. The service is outstanding, and the food presentation is perfect, with each entree we've had being very tasty and perfectly prepared. The wine selection shows how much effort the owner has put into each detail of our dining experience with the wide variety of choices and great values. Pair a dinner here with a movie across the street at the Lodi Stadium 12 and you have the perfect date.

Report
Helpful
Slim (Sacramento)
3.0  Dined on November 2, 2016

Nice little place to have lunch before wine tasting. Enjoyed the shrimp poor boy sammy! You gotta like garlic - its loaded!

Report
Helpful
viphappy (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on October 29, 2016

Innovative dishes using fresh local produce and fish.
I am constantly amazed with the entree.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Sacramento)
4.0  Dined on October 21, 2016

I was a little put off by how loud it was but the service and food more than made up for it.

Report
Helpful
vipJeff (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on October 8, 2016

I have never eaten in Lodi before and this placed seemed to have the best reviews. It was a somewhat mixed meal, with some items quite good and others not. For starters we ordered both the calamari and the fried green tomatoes. The calamari was good, the fried green tomatoes absolutely fabulous - really, if you eat at this restaurant, you can't miss them - it's the best thing on the menu. I ordered a glass of Sauvignon Blank with the calamari and it arrived cool, but not chilled, which is definitely a miss on a hot afternoon. Then the entrees arrived: 2 of the 3 of us who ordered mains ordered the shrimp, and they were outstanding - hearty portfolio with great flavor. So often when you order shrimp the portions are too small, but not here. I ordered the meatloaf, which was too sweet and too dry at the same time, definitely so-so. I also ordered the caesar salad with my entree, and for $3.95 extra that was about $3.75 too much - the salad was lousy. For desserts we had the bread pudding (outstanding) and a brownie of some sort (meh). On balance it was a nice evening in Lodi, and a good meal, but certainly this side of great. Were I to return to Lodi I would happily eat here again, but I might prefer to try another restaurant as well. Finally, I had made a reservation for 2 - a mistake on my part, as there were 4 of us. The hostess graciously seated all of us, and on time. That was very kind of her.

Report
Helpful
Yumyum72 (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on October 7, 2016

Our first visit and it was delicious!! When we arrived it was not busy but by the time we left it was packed. Hubby had the meatloaf and I had the fried chicken and both were delicious! Fried chicken was juicy, crunchy and cook to perfection. The sides were perfect accompaniment to the chicken. Excellent service!!

Report
Helpful
vipAnnie (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on October 1, 2016

Very, very noisy, but the wonderful food made up for it. Excellent salad, and the pecan-pumpkin seed crusted fried chicken was to die for, as was the bread pudding. Service was excellent, and our waitress even apologized for the noise level, which was nice. All in all an excellent restaurant - and next time if the weather is still as nice, I will definitely sit outside - that looked wonderful!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10