About School Street Bistro

116 N School St
Lodi, CA 95240
View Larger Map

Bistro is defined as "a small informal restaurant serving wine" and School Street Bistro is a true bistro located in the heart of Lodi wine country. Focusing on the comfort foods of the Southern United States combined with fresh locally grown produce, wild sustainable seafood, and top quality meats, School Street Bistro delivers a unique "hometown" restaurant experience. School Street offers an extensive hand-picked local and imported wine list, as well as domestic and imported beers. Owned and operated since 2002 by a local Lodi Winemaker and his Family who have roots in the South, the Bistro offers a casual dining experience with warm Southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Elm and Locust

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 333-3950

Website:
http://schoolstbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Christopher Ross

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

School Street Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North San Joaquin Valley
Best Restaurants in Lodi ›

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great. We sat outside and i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was great. We sat outside and it was great because it was a beautiful evening. The only downside was the service. We got there at 6:15 and didn't get our food until about 7:30 and had to eat very quickly to catch our movie at 8pm. This was our anniversary meal and we wanted to enjoy it and relax and order dessert, but because the service was so slow, we had to hurry through and not get dessert. The food was great though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Our favorite place to eat in Lodi. The f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our favorite place to eat in Lodi. The food and service is always outstanding. It can be noisy but it was quiet this visit. The staff has always been willing to seat us at one of the quieter tables.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We relied on our waiter for dinner sugge ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We relied on our waiter for dinner suggestions and he did not disappoint.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I love this place! Amazing f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I love this place! Amazing food! The crab tater tots are a great starter. For dessert... You have to have the pecan bread pudding. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fast & very courteous service. Work on t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fast & very courteous service. Work on those dinner rolls though. ;-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish! Loved the warm fried green tomat ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delish! Loved the warm fried green tomatoes for appetizers and steak medallions for entrée!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food! We love bring friends ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always great food! We love bring friends here for there first time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was an excellent experience, We we ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was an excellent experience, We were greeted at the door, by the server who took great care of us. She knew where were going to be seated and took us directly there. We brought our own bottle of wine from a winery in downtown Lodi, by doing the "downtown Lodi" they waived the corkage fee. The meal was delicious with good variety.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good (had the sole). Wine list ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was good (had the sole). Wine list was a little light but sufficient. Waiter was very personable, knowledgeable and friendly. Met up with friends and it was a very enjoyable evening. Desserts were good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Everything was great but the noise level ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was great but the noise level gets pretty high when the restaurant is about 2/3 capacity. Little difficult to have conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I usually love the whole overall experie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I usually love the whole overall experience, but this time my dinner order was very late, well done steak was over cooked, potatoes were cold and we weren't given silver wear until we asked for it. Not sure who this man was coming in and out of kitchen but his facial expression was always a bit angry. I will come back because that was probably a rare off night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

the fried green tomato appetizer was won ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

the fried green tomato appetizer was wonderful and large enough for an entre for me! wonderful with a glass of chardonnay! hamburger was good but skip the frizzy lettuce and put real lettuce on it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fried green tomatoes were delicious, as ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were delicious, as well as, the sole with almonds. Only wish the dinner rolls were not so hard, could be much better. My husband loved the salmon. For dessert we shared the brownie with choc sauce and vanilla gelato, yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everyone was impressed by how delicious ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everyone was impressed by how delicious all their meals were and the proprofessionalism of the wait staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy with everything. Noticed that not ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Happy with everything. Noticed that not all of the employees were in a good mood. If you don't want to be in a great mood at work, Stay Home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We frequently travel 25 miles each way t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We frequently travel 25 miles each way to have lunch or dinner at School Street Bistro. We are greeted by name each time. The food is absolutely delicious. I cannot think of another restaurant that has this type of fare. The fried green tomatoes, the truffle fries, the truffle deviled eggs, the pork loin, I just a few of their specialties. The specialties change with the seasons. School Street Bistro is one of our frequently "go to places"! JoAnn N.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Local California cuisine with a Southern flair. I wish they were open on Sunday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite places. Some if the b ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

One of my favorite places. Some if the best food in Lodi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

One of the top restaurants in Lodi. Tota ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Lodi. Totally underrated. The food is excellent, the specials are seasonal, and the service is great. I would recommend to any of my foodie friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Times!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We try to get here at least once a month. Really like the atmosphere and the food is always very good! Great place to go in downtown Lodi!

Everyone is friendly and we look forward to coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Lodi Louisiana Gem!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I tried this restaurant with a friend about a year ago, and was delighted with the food, quality of service. School Street Bistro is now my goto restaurant when I'm entertaining foodie friends. The consistent quality of the food and friendly service make this an easy pick. The portions are just right, and the chef always finds a unique blend of traditional Louisiana cooking with some new variations that are a treat. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was impec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was delicious and service was impeccable. We never felt rushed in the least, even though it was near closing time when we were finishing up. Will definitely return when in the area again. I read one review somewhere that said portions are small. Not true!! We all were stuffed and sadly had to leave some food on our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a good dining experience. Food is ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Always a good dining experience. Food is worth the wait and staff is attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love going to School Street Bistro.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Interesting and delicious food served with style and friendly helpful staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

School Street Experience.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great ambience, great food, good wine list. However, they do need more Vegetarian choices.

Very attentive staff. Had a good evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a pleasant time at School Street ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Always a pleasant time at School Street with exceptionally exciting specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Valentine's Experience

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was a wonderful dinner! The food was cooked perfectly. The service was very attentive but not a nuisance. We are definitely making it our place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Visit to School Street Bistro

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit to School Street Bistro and I would definitely return. Though a little loud when we first got there, the food was very good as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the Best in Lodi

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great South Carolina "Low-Country" fare! Make sure that you make a reservation as it is a small restaurant and very popular (rightly so).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my family and parents to dinne ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I brought my family and parents to dinner here for my mother's birthday. Great service, nice downtown Lodi location, and tasty food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and always something new a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Great service and always something new and interesting on the specials list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, long wait

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We made a stop on our way up to Tahoe and the food was great, specially the pasta Jambalaya that was awesome. The wait was excessive though...had to wait over an hour from order to get the food. It was friday night and full but still a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and service. The lighting co ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Great food and service. The lighting could have been dimmed more to make the setting nicer, but overall a great choice for Lodi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is always wonderful, especially the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Food is always wonderful, especially the homemade soups! And Wayne is a fabulous over

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed it

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We look forward to returning to this cozy neighborhood find in the downtown area of Lodi. Our server was particularly helpful in offering gentle guidance through the menu and the choices we made were balanced and wonderfully varied. Don't fail to add at least a single order of the Ghouda Macaroni and Cheese for your table!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Comfortable, great service, AMAZING FOOD!!!!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

This restaurant is perfectly off the beaten path of beautiful downtown Lodi. When you walk in you'll be met by the very friendly manager who will have you seated usually immediately. There is an open and comfortable atmosphere in the small and nicely decorated dining area. The waiting staff are wonderful and after you order, hold on to your seat because everything that will pass by your lips is delicious!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

The service was expedient and friendly! The food was well proportioned and phenomenal, I'll definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We made reservations at 1:45 for lunch a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

We made reservations at 1:45 for lunch and when we arrived at the restaurant they seemed rushed as they closed apparently at two. The onion rings which are normally very good work somewhat cold but the BLT in the hamburger were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

VERY CONSISTENT SERVICE & FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A+

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Have been here 3 times now in an effort to try the different things on the menu that we have wanted to eat. EVERY time the quality of both their service & food has been excellent. I would definitely recommend and we will definitely be back. Thank You.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.