Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - School Street Bistro

4.4
138 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Bistro is defined as "a small informal restaurant serving wine" and School Street Bistro is a true bistro located in the heart of Lodi wine country. Focusing on the comfort foods of the Southern United States combined with fresh locally grown produce, wild sustainable seafood, and top quality meats, School Street Bistro delivers a unique "hometown" restaurant experience. School Street offers an extensive hand-picked local and imported wine list, as well as domestic and imported beers. Owned and operated since 2002 by a local Lodi Winemaker and his Family who have roots in the South, the Bistro offers a casual dining experience with warm Southern hospitality.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(209) 333-3950
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Ross
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Elm and Locust
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 138 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We are sad to see this gem of a restaurant close its doors. Having dined here for 15 plus years it could be said that we really loved this place. The food was prepared with artistry and care by the kitchen staff, served by knowledgeable and friendly wait staff and overseen by inquiring owners and other management. Tears were shed the last night this wonderful restaurant was in business.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

School Street Bistro is always great food, great place to spend time with friends and in Downtown Lodi. We love this place!

So sad to hear that this is the last weekend that School Street Bistro will be open!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

It was delicious. Noisy but I think it was someone's birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2016

My granddaughter summed it up right - "phenomenal" was what she said about the food and the attentiveness and friendliness of the waitstaff- for her surprise 18th birthday dinner! I can't wait to go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Great Spot in Lodi

My husband and I had the crab tater tots as an appetizer (delicious) and we both had the arctic char served on white beans seasoned with ham as a main course. Everything was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Also drank a bottle of Lange Twins cabernet sauvignon and shared an icebox cake dessert. Wonderful service and a thoroughly enjoyable meal, as always at School St. Bistro.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2016

Great as usual. A little noisy, some noise canceling panels on the ceiling would be a good addition,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2016

Always wonderful, this was no exception. We had the special, delicious plus a great value. You must try dessert, all wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2016

Never had a bad meal at this Restaurant. Quality always meets or exceeds my expectations. Recommend making a reservation if you plan to eat here. I like to say, it's been discovered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

We always enjoy our times at School Street Bistro. The service is outstanding, and the food presentation is perfect, with each entree we've had being very tasty and perfectly prepared. The wine selection shows how much effort the owner has put into each detail of our dining experience with the wide variety of choices and great values. Pair a dinner here with a movie across the street at the Lodi Stadium 12 and you have the perfect date.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 2, 2016

Nice little place to have lunch before wine tasting. Enjoyed the shrimp poor boy sammy! You gotta like garlic - its loaded!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Innovative dishes using fresh local produce and fish.
I am constantly amazed with the entree.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2016

I was a little put off by how loud it was but the service and food more than made up for it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2016

I have never eaten in Lodi before and this placed seemed to have the best reviews. It was a somewhat mixed meal, with some items quite good and others not. For starters we ordered both the calamari and the fried green tomatoes. The calamari was good, the fried green tomatoes absolutely fabulous - really, if you eat at this restaurant, you can't miss them - it's the best thing on the menu. I ordered a glass of Sauvignon Blank with the calamari and it arrived cool, but not chilled, which is definitely a miss on a hot afternoon. Then the entrees arrived: 2 of the 3 of us who ordered mains ordered the shrimp, and they were outstanding - hearty portfolio with great flavor. So often when you order shrimp the portions are too small, but not here. I ordered the meatloaf, which was too sweet and too dry at the same time, definitely so-so. I also ordered the caesar salad with my entree, and for $3.95 extra that was about $3.75 too much - the salad was lousy. For desserts we had the bread pudding (outstanding) and a brownie of some sort (meh). On balance it was a nice evening in Lodi, and a good meal, but certainly this side of great. Were I to return to Lodi I would happily eat here again, but I might prefer to try another restaurant as well. Finally, I had made a reservation for 2 - a mistake on my part, as there were 4 of us. The hostess graciously seated all of us, and on time. That was very kind of her.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2016

Our first visit and it was delicious!! When we arrived it was not busy but by the time we left it was packed. Hubby had the meatloaf and I had the fried chicken and both were delicious! Fried chicken was juicy, crunchy and cook to perfection. The sides were perfect accompaniment to the chicken. Excellent service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 1, 2016

Very, very noisy, but the wonderful food made up for it. Excellent salad, and the pecan-pumpkin seed crusted fried chicken was to die for, as was the bread pudding. Service was excellent, and our waitress even apologized for the noise level, which was nice. All in all an excellent restaurant - and next time if the weather is still as nice, I will definitely sit outside - that looked wonderful!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 30, 2016

Service lagged a bit, with our server anyway compared to others. So loud we could not converse !!! Not good ;)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was great. We sat outside and it was great because it was a beautiful evening. The only downside was the service. We got there at 6:15 and didn't get our food until about 7:30 and had to eat very quickly to catch our movie at 8pm. This was our anniversary meal and we wanted to enjoy it and relax and order dessert, but because the service was so slow, we had to hurry through and not get dessert. The food was great though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 14, 2016

Our favorite place to eat in Lodi. The food and service is always outstanding. It can be noisy but it was quiet this visit. The staff has always been willing to seat us at one of the quieter tables.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2016

We relied on our waiter for dinner suggestions and he did not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I love this place! Amazing food! The crab tater tots are a great starter. For dessert... You have to have the pecan bread pudding. Yum!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2016

Fast & very courteous service. Work on those dinner rolls though. ;-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

Delish! Loved the warm fried green tomatoes for appetizers and steak medallions for entrée!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2016

Always great food! We love bring friends here for there first time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2016

This was an excellent experience, We were greeted at the door, by the server who took great care of us. She knew where were going to be seated and took us directly there. We brought our own bottle of wine from a winery in downtown Lodi, by doing the "downtown Lodi" they waived the corkage fee. The meal was delicious with good variety.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was good (had the sole). Wine list was a little light but sufficient. Waiter was very personable, knowledgeable and friendly. Met up with friends and it was a very enjoyable evening. Desserts were good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great but the noise level gets pretty high when the restaurant is about 2/3 capacity. Little difficult to have conversations.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 23, 2016

I usually love the whole overall experience, but this time my dinner order was very late, well done steak was over cooked, potatoes were cold and we weren't given silver wear until we asked for it. Not sure who this man was coming in and out of kitchen but his facial expression was always a bit angry. I will come back because that was probably a rare off night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2016

the fried green tomato appetizer was wonderful and large enough for an entre for me! wonderful with a glass of chardonnay! hamburger was good but skip the frizzy lettuce and put real lettuce on it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were delicious, as well as, the sole with almonds. Only wish the dinner rolls were not so hard, could be much better. My husband loved the salmon. For dessert we shared the brownie with choc sauce and vanilla gelato, yummy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2016

Everyone was impressed by how delicious all their meals were and the proprofessionalism of the wait staff

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 24, 2016

Happy with everything. Noticed that not all of the employees were in a good mood. If you don't want to be in a great mood at work, Stay Home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2016

We frequently travel 25 miles each way to have lunch or dinner at School Street Bistro. We are greeted by name each time. The food is absolutely delicious. I cannot think of another restaurant that has this type of fare. The fried green tomatoes, the truffle fries, the truffle deviled eggs, the pork loin, I just a few of their specialties. The specialties change with the seasons. School Street Bistro is one of our frequently "go to places"! JoAnn N.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2016

Local California cuisine with a Southern flair. I wish they were open on Sunday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

One of my favorite places. Some if the best food in Lodi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2016

The best little bistro in Lodi!!!, We had our first dining experience on a Friday, and it was wonderful. Wayne took care of us , class act all the way , thank you Wayne for making our evening perfect. The food was outstanding, perfect portions, unique menu, this is our new favorite bistro, everyone worked effortlessly to create a very welcoming , warm feeling. We plan on returning very soon . If you live in or around Lodi you must know its hard to find great dining and great service , try it , they are fabulous!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Lodi. Totally underrated. The food is excellent, the specials are seasonal, and the service is great. I would recommend to any of my foodie friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2016

We try to get here at least once a month. Really like the atmosphere and the food is always very good! Great place to go in downtown Lodi!
Everyone is friendly and we look forward to coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2016

I tried this restaurant with a friend about a year ago, and was delighted with the food, quality of service. School Street Bistro is now my goto restaurant when I'm entertaining foodie friends. The consistent quality of the food and friendly service make this an easy pick. The portions are just right, and the chef always finds a unique blend of traditional Louisiana cooking with some new variations that are a treat. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was delicious and service was impeccable. We never felt rushed in the least, even though it was near closing time when we were finishing up. Will definitely return when in the area again. I read one review somewhere that said portions are small. Not true!! We all were stuffed and sadly had to leave some food on our plates.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4