About School Street Bistro

116 N School St
Lodi, CA 95240
View Larger Map

Bistro is defined as "a small informal restaurant serving wine" and School Street Bistro is a true bistro located in the heart of Lodi wine country. Focusing on the comfort foods of the Southern United States combined with fresh locally grown produce, wild sustainable seafood, and top quality meats, School Street Bistro delivers a unique "hometown" restaurant experience. School Street offers an extensive hand-picked local and imported wine list, as well as domestic and imported beers. Owned and operated since 2002 by a local Lodi Winemaker and his Family who have roots in the South, the Bistro offers a casual dining experience with warm Southern hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Elm and Locust

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 333-3950

Website:
http://schoolstbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Christopher Ross

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

School Street Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
North San Joaquin Valley
Best Restaurants in Lodi ›

fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (15)
special occasion (11)
See All
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (8)
notable wine list (7)
romantic (7)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top restaurants in Lodi. Tota ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Lodi. Totally underrated. The food is excellent, the specials are seasonal, and the service is great. I would recommend to any of my foodie friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Times!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We try to get here at least once a month. Really like the atmosphere and the food is always very good! Great place to go in downtown Lodi! Everyone is friendly and we look forward to coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Lodi Louisiana Gem!

Dined on April 27, 2016

I tried this restaurant with a friend about a year ago, and was delighted with the food, quality of service. School Street Bistro is now my goto restaurant when I'm entertaining foodie friends. The consistent quality of the food and friendly service make this an easy pick. The portions are just right, and the chef always finds a unique blend of traditional Louisiana cooking with some new variations that are a treat. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious and service was impec ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was delicious and service was impeccable. We never felt rushed in the least, even though it was near closing time when we were finishing up. Will definitely return when in the area again. I read one review somewhere that said portions are small. Not true!! We all were stuffed and sadly had to leave some food on our plates.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good dining experience. Food is ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Always a good dining experience. Food is worth the wait and staff is attentive.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love going to School Street Bistro.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Interesting and delicious food served with style and friendly helpful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

School Street Experience.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great ambience, great food, good wine list. However, they do need more Vegetarian choices. Very attentive staff. Had a good evening.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasant time at School Street ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Always a pleasant time at School Street with exceptionally exciting specials.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was a wonderful dinner! The food was cooked perfectly. The service was very attentive but not a nuisance. We are definitely making it our place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First Visit to School Street Bistro

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit to School Street Bistro and I would definitely return. Though a little loud when we first got there, the food was very good as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best in Lodi

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Great South Carolina "Low-Country" fare! Make sure that you make a reservation as it is a small restaurant and very popular (rightly so).

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

I brought my family and parents to dinne ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

I brought my family and parents to dinner here for my mother's birthday. Great service, nice downtown Lodi location, and tasty food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and always something new a ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Great service and always something new and interesting on the specials list.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, long wait

Dined on January 9, 2016

We made a stop on our way up to Tahoe and the food was great, specially the pasta Jambalaya that was awesome. The wait was excessive though...had to wait over an hour from order to get the food. It was friday night and full but still a lot.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service. The lighting co ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Great food and service. The lighting could have been dimmed more to make the setting nicer, but overall a great choice for Lodi.

food4
ambience4
service5

Food is always wonderful, especially the ...

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

Food is always wonderful, especially the homemade soups! And Wayne is a fabulous over

food4
ambience3
service5

Enjoyed it

Dined on December 6, 2015

We look forward to returning to this cozy neighborhood find in the downtown area of Lodi. Our server was particularly helpful in offering gentle guidance through the menu and the choices we made were balanced and wonderfully varied. Don't fail to add at least a single order of the Ghouda Macaroni and Cheese for your table!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Comfortable, great service, AMAZING FOOD!!!!

Dined on December 6, 2015

This restaurant is perfectly off the beaten path of beautiful downtown Lodi. When you walk in you'll be met by the very friendly manager who will have you seated usually immediately. There is an open and comfortable atmosphere in the small and nicely decorated dining area. The waiting staff are wonderful and after you order, hold on to your seat because everything that will pass by your lips is delicious!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous!

Dined on November 13, 2015

The service was expedient and friendly! The food was well proportioned and phenomenal, I'll definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

We made reservations at 1:45 for lunch a ...

vip
Dined on November 5, 2015

We made reservations at 1:45 for lunch and when we arrived at the restaurant they seemed rushed as they closed apparently at two. The onion rings which are normally very good work somewhat cold but the BLT in the hamburger were good

food5
ambience5
service5

VERY CONSISTENT SERVICE & FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A+

Dined on October 24, 2015

Have been here 3 times now in an effort to try the different things on the menu that we have wanted to eat. EVERY time the quality of both their service & food has been excellent. I would definitely recommend and we will definitely be back. Thank You.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

All four diners in our group agreed thei ...

Dined on October 17, 2015

All four diners in our group agreed their meals were well prepared, tasty and creative. Our server was made us feel as if we were old friends and valued customers. Service was prompt. We also felt the prices were reason

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent find

Dined on October 17, 2015

I found this restaurant online and it was fabulous. Excellent food and the best Lemon Ice Box pie ever!!! Our waitress was very good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regular diners. We have found tha ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

We are regular diners. We have found that School Street Bistro has the complete dining package. Exciting food; attentive and knowledgeable servers; diversified and satisfying wine list that is very reasonably priced; gracious and hospitable owners and management. Treat yourself.

food5
ambience1
service5

Great food, bad chairs.

Dined on October 11, 2015

Excellent cuisine, but needs a better venue. Very noisy for dinner with no acoustics, and the most uncomfortable, metal backed wicker chairs. Wait staff is top notch. Great place for quality food in this little town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Excellent service, delcious food and generous portions. My family and I had a wonderful experience

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As good as always

Dined on October 1, 2015

This is consistantly our first choice restaurant in Lodi. We always enjoy School Street Bistro.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best REstaurant in the Valley !

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

We love this restaurant, everything about it. The service is great, no shortage of staff and they are all friendly and welcoming. They have some real teamwork going on here, so we always feel like they are happy we are there and do everything possible to make our meal a great one. School Street is one of the rare restaurants where the wait staff seems to really take pride in what they bring out from the kitchen. Almost as if the waiter has double-checked my plate to make sure the kitchen did their very best. Always feel they work hard to make sure my meal is the best ever. The food is wonderful; nice portions, always well prepared and delicious, great presentation on the plate and always served at the proper temperature. Most nights they will feature a special that is not to be missed. Big emphasis on locally grown produce and veggies when available. Fried green tomatoes, when in season, are the best anywhere. The spinach salad is just one of my favorites. One of the few kitchens to cook a pork chop just right. Also a good wine list with plenty of local offerings. School Street Bistro has all the ingredients; great staff, great food and warm and friendly room. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Special occasion; special meal

Dined on September 19, 2015

School Street Bistro is always our first choice. We only go out to dinner for special occasions and have never had a better meal in Lodi. The service is first rate. The menu, while static, has many options. We usually end up ordering the same as we usually order. This occasion's meal was wonderful, per usual. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food always

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

The sand dab special and the featured wine were wonderful. We took friends who had never been there. They loved it

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Long wait for food

Dined on September 6, 2015

I've been here before and never had this problem but it took over an hour to get our food and when it came out it was mediocre

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

One of the best in Lodi. Small restauran ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

One of the best in Lodi. Small restaurant that closes at 9. So reserve well ahead of time on a weekend.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meals all round

Dined on August 23, 2015

First time visit and so glad we made it. Came with best friends and we all loved our meals. The wine was wonderful. Our waitress Ms Rogers was outstanding!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

Dined on August 23, 2015

Neighborhood gem to say the least. Favorite for locals and travelers.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem

Dined on August 9, 2015

This is what dinning should be. Relaxing, attended to but not rushed. Suggestions made that are insightful and not rehearsed. Thoughtful menu items. Well Done.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

vip
Dined on August 7, 2015

Thank you for a great dining experience. We love your restaurant!!! Always great. Wonderful soups and salads

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Don't miss out on this hidden gem in Lodi

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

On a recent anniversary trip to Lodi, Ca we made lunch reservations at School Street Bistro....upon entering we where immediately greeted by a very friendly waitress who seated us right away. This restaurant is situated in the old down town area of Lodi and the building itself is very cool and right at age with all the historic neat stuff to look at in down town. This place caters to a more southern type of cooking so for this was great. After a few minutes of deciding we narrowed it down to the snow crab and sweet potato tater tots and a couple Black and Tans to start. This is the part where I need to stop....I could have eaten an entire basket of these they were so good and the aioli sauce I might have swiped the plate with my finger to taste the last little bit. Onto lunch I got the blackened catfish with blue cheese cole slaw and my wife got the chicken and avocado sandwich with salad. I am really not sure how my wives tasted but she raved about it...I was so busy devouring this catfish with this unbelievable aioli drizzled over top of it. I also found myself grabbing a bite of the coleslaw and then the catfish. It was just the right bite of creamy and spice. Probably one of my top favorite places I have eaten at now in the last year. We really wanted to save room for dessert but that just wasn't in the cards for this visit...maybe next time. When in Lodi make sure you make time for School Street Bistro.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and service

vip
Dined on July 29, 2015

Our server, Wayne, was perfect. Attentive and entertaining. The fried green tomato appetizer was excellent! The salmon is always great, as well as the burger! Thank you for a great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Our server Jacob was very attentive, fun ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

Our server Jacob was very attentive, fun and charming. Thank you Jacob for helping us to make our girls night out so much fun!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Too Loud!

Dined on July 25, 2015

The food and service were suburb. The Jambalaya Pasta and the Steak were both excellent. The Meatloaf Special would have been pretty good without the ketchup glaze. The service was above normal. The noise level, Friday night early, made conversation very difficult even with the waiter. If a return visit on a weeknight has the same noise level, we would cross this place off our list.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.