Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Scholars Bar & Lounge

Located along the historic Freedom Trail, at the heart of Boston’s downtown area, is Scholars American Bistro and Cocktail Lounge. Boasting a stylish and vibrant interior, Scholars has established itself as the favored venue for locals and tourists alike. Patrons can savor a mouth-watering selection of food, inspired by regional classics and superbly complimented by our chef’s original approach, late into the night. An extensive selection of tasty cocktails, refreshing beers and fine wines are sure to satisfy any palate. We also serve Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays from 11am until 3pm in addition to our all day menu. Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 10pm Scholars features some of Boston's best DJs playing classic hits.

25 School Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 02.00am

Cross Street:
Tremont & Washington Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 248-0025

Website:
http://www.scholarsboston.com/

Entertainment:
DJ Entertainment every Thursday/Friday/Saturday.

Parking Details:
Parking is conveniently located at the Pi Alley Parking Garage within walking distance of Scholars American Bistro and Cocktail Lounge.

Public Transit:
Red Line to Park Street & Downtown Crossing, Orange Line to Downtown Crossing, Green Line to Park Street & Government Center.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scholars Bar & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (5)
See All
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and value. Very, very noisy - worth it though for the meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I was very disappointed by my experience at scholars. They placed us at a table near a window and it was so cold that we all had to keep our coats on. We only had appetizers but we were very disappointed by the food. Overall I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Mac and cheese was amazing!!! You cant go wrong with the buffalo chicken tacos either!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went during lunch so it was quieter. The menu has a good variety and everyone enjoyed the food. It looks like it would be a fun place at night.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The lunch food wasn't good at all. The flatbread pizza had spoiled chicken on it, which the waiter seemed to notice and didn't care to send back, nor ask if we wanted our money back. Another sandwich was terrible and inedible. The other four meals were mediocre. We won't be going back there for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our office team visited Scholars for a mid week lunch and had a very nice experience. The waitress did a great job dealing with the table, and food and drinks were all delivered in a timely manner. Food was good and the noise was not a problem. All in all, a very positive experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

After 45 minutes of waiting for our food we asked our waiter to check on it. He brought it right out. The food was cold, the cheese on the flatbread had completely congealed. We asked for it to be nuked a minute or two as we were in a rush. 10 minutes later it comes back "new ones" that were fine... Charged for the full meal, not even comped for our sodas. Unapologetic. Meanwhile, this workday lunch took over 1.5 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Buffalo Chicken Tacos, Grilled House made Kielbasa and Scholars Steak were amazing! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had a late lunch with a large family group over the holidays and everyone was pleased. An array of menu items to satisfy different ages and tastes along with vegan and gluten free diners. We visited at an off peak time so the setting was very quiet. The decor is minimal given the large space. Our service was good, we'd return if in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was my second lunch at Scholars. Both meals have really been very good. I have had the short rib salad and the crispy fish sandwich.
I will return for lunch again and next time I will make sure my husband is with me so that he can enjoy good food and pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was glacially slow on a Friday night. Virtually impossible to get a second round of drinks at our table. We ordered a pierogi and kielbasa appetizer. The pierogies were great but the kielbasa was cold--not just room temperature, but actively fresh-out-of-the-refrigerator cold. Very unpleasant. The manager did apologize and remove the appetizer from our bill, which was nice. Friday nights at the Scholar are clearly more about the bar scene and singles mingling. Not recommended for a sit down dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I took 2 customers to lunch here for the first time. The location was perfect. The food was good and fairly priced. The atmosphere was very comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The pleasant, attentive waitress made this dining experience more superb than the food itself!
It was a Friday night after-work crowd (we were a pre-concert couple going to The Orpheum) and the restaurant chose to seat us away from the TGIF hysteria. Great choice!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was great. Our party had the tuna noodle salad, the beet and quinoa salad and the mac and cheese and everyone was thrilled. The service, however, atrocious. We had to finally go ask the hostess to find our waiter and send him over. He then stopped at the two tables next to ours and went away again before coming back 10 mins later to finally check in with us. Apparently this restaurant turns into a club scene at an absurdly early hour. We had to rush through the rest of our meal (which was delayed while we waited for our waiter to come by) to leave because people were packing in around us and there was very loud dance music playing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Dancing, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Ok place, mediocre food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food was excellent. The only gripe I have is that when I asked that they box my leftovers, the waiter just boxed the salmon and threw out the side vegetables without my permission. I was bummed that my lunch shrunk in half by this gaffe. 😒

I also like to suggest an additional buffer to the doorway. My dining party was exposed to the entrance / exit. So the cold wind kept coming in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Bottle of bubbles and mimosa mixes for $30 great start. Food was good and not fussy. Place was no very busy so we took our time and enjoyed. Good spot for a break from shopping.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2016

A very convenient location for a lunch meeting. Good ambience, although the tables close to the door can be a bit drafty. Panini was good if not warmed all the way through. Not outstanding, but we still enjoyed it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were in Boston with some friends for the marathon and decided to have dinner here. The diverse menu attracted us since half our group wanted ethnic food and half wanted American. This was a good compromise. At first we were a little surprised we were asked for our IDs at the door. It was Saturday night, but this really lowered our expectations of what we would find inside. The atmosphere was nice and pretty upscale for dinner but you could tell it would become more active as a bar scene as the night went on. The menu was just what we'd hoped for and the drink list was substantial with many good options. Our meals were excellent too. One of our group got the seafood sampler, one and Asian dish, and one steak...all were great. Our server was really nice and attentive and we all commented on how much we liked her. As the meal went on the restaurant did get kind of loud, but it didn't bother us much since we were getting done with our meal. We would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Nice find to meet up with folks for a bite and to catch up a bit. Salads were fresh and tasty and we got good reports on the risotto with spicy shrimp; prepared well. My margherita flatbread was disappointing; it lacked taste and was not well done...difficult to chew, etc. Service was spirited and we enjoyed chatting with our waitstaff who was friendly and engaging. Nice place to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2016

I enjoy the upstairs bar quite a bit, so decided to reserve a table for dinner. We were seated downstairs by the door, and it was so acoustically unfit we couldn't hear each other across the table. Will go back for a casual going to the bar only...

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 29, 2016

I was recently at Scholars to celebrate a special occasion, and the Manager and staff went above and beyond to make sure everything went smoothly and we were treated exceptionally well. I will not hesitate to return to Scholars for both special occasions and everyday enjoyment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2016

This wasn't bad, bit first impressions go a long way and this was my first time. I wanted to treat a friend to a nice quiet area which I asked for. We got there and they took us to a nice little corner just to come a few minutes later to say that area was reserved including our table and needed to move us...somewhere in the middle of restaurant( so much for privacy).
Our server was nice and friendly. I asked whether I could order (along with regular dinner) an appetizer but was told it was " bar only" even though our table was 3 feet away from the bar. It didn't ruin the experience but it would have been nice to be accommodating after the move of the tables around.
The entries were nice but nothing to die for, I think I might give it another try in the future; but it wasn't a place where I'm excited to go back right away either. Not bad, but not great either.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2016

There are not that many choices. Quiet at lunch time but very slow service. Good food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2016

I read the past reviews. I almost canceled my reservation. But i wanted to see for myself.The following is advice to help grow the business and better its reputation. I'm a manager to an upscale business in the downtown area. I know what it is to provide premium customer service. My major issue at this location was exactly that. Customer service. I will start with the criticism and end with positive notes. I arrived on time. The location opened right on time. But i was not greeted properly. I was seated and given wrong menus. Its okay. I asked for the correct menu and right away i was helped. The problem was that everytime i was in need. I didnt know anyones names. I had to ask. I met Paul and a waitress.( unfortunately i can't remember her name). I waited 15 minutes before a waitress came to my table to ask my party for an order. This would be okay it the place was busy. But I and my guest was the ONLY customers. The food arrived. It was awesome. It was my first time ordering chicken And waffles. Scholars did not disappoint. I was in heaven. Like really. Who inveted chicken and waffles. I loved the food. And the drinks. I suggest the management team retouch on the customer service techniques. I did leave a small tip. A bill consist of two things. 1. The cost of food and drinks. 2. The service. Because the service was so slow and not appreciated. I left less than 5% gratuity. I will return. I hope to receive better service. Thanks for the great in experience with the food. But work on the customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2016

They need to keep their menu up to date so that it has what they say it's going to have on the website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2016

My girlfriend and I had wanted to check out Scholars for the past few months. We scheduled a date night there on Friday, which wasn't the best timing on our part. Friday after work means a vibrant bar scene at Scholars - very fun, if that's what you're there for, but hard to have a conversation on a date. I saw another couple that was initially seated next to us, and it looked like the noise was a challenge for them, too. While the timing may have been bad on our part, the service at Scholars was fantastic. We asked our server if there was a quieter area we could move to, and he found us a table in the back by the lounge - and that worked out perfectly. The new server at that table was equally good (attentive but not obtrusive), and we enjoyed the rest of our date. The food was ok; not out of this world, but I was pleased with it.

Based on the quality of service, I'll definitely go back another time. I'd just opt for a mid-week dinner if it's date night next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2015

Very good for casual dining. Prices fairly reasonable. Lovely decor. Needs improvement (generally) in service. Servers should be more thoughtful, knowledgeable (about cuisine ingredients and wine pairing) and well spoken. I found their behavior somewhat brusque and unmannerly. Conduct is as important as the food. Some servers, on the other hand, were very congenial. Overall, everyone should receive training in customer service. Politesse is the name of the game in the restaurant industry. Boston is trying to increase tourism presence. Show generosity and courtesy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2015

It basically turns into a club after dinner on weekend nights. If you're into that sort of thing, have fun. If you're just looking for dinner, the food is OK but there are lots of other options in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2015

This was the second time I have been to Scholar's for dinner and likely my tenth time overall. The location is easy to get to from around Boston due to it's vicinity to Park Street/Downtown Crossing. The entire establishment is loud and tailor-fit for the younger after-work crowd looking for a drink or quick bite.

There was confusion when we entered; only the bouncer acknowledged that we were waiting to be seated. After we were seated, the waiter was very helpful and quick to ask for drinks & food. Once the food arrived, we saw very little of our waiter. It was difficult to find him for the bill and after 10 minutes of waiting to pay, we were able to ask another waitress to settle our bill. She was quick to get us on our way, important because we had an event to attend.

Outside of the initial confusion and the disappearing waiter, the food was filling and tasty. Steak tips were cooked perfectly and the parsnip & potato puree was delicious. The "Onion Straws" on top were actually two onion rings, which were fine.

We both had the "tremontaine" cocktail which had a refreshing taste thanks in part to the cucumber aroma and flavor. I will seek out other options in the area when dinner is followed by an event or I want a more intimate setting, but Scholar's is perfect for a group of young professionals wanting to drink and socialize after a long work day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2015

Went for dinner which started out great but suddenly music started pumping, the area around us turned into a club and we were given no notice. They stripped our chairs from our table and felt both ignored and out of place during our dinner. Not fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2015

Website says they serve brunch on the weekends from 11-3, went there for brunch at 12:30 and they were not serving brunch. Disappointed and wondering if they ever serve brunch? I also was there March 1st for brunch again at 11:45 with two others that were waiting for the restaurant to open. The sign said they opened at 11 but I don't think they even opened that day, as we waited outside for an hour. Disappointed Bostonian and will probably never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2015

Nothing on menu matched what was posted on Open a Table. Uninspired and limited beer choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2015

Made a reservation for dinner before a concert at the Orpheum - great location and the food was good. I would go back. It was very quiet when we were there but I have been here for cocktails before and it was packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2015

My boyfriend and I wanted a low-key, not-too expensive place to have dinner, so we settled on Scholar's, which we have been to a few times before. I think we made our reservation for too late, because it was not a good experience. Firstly, our waiter took forever to visit our table and it was obvious that he hadn't been to the table next to us either. Our drinks, unsurprisingly, also took forever. We ordered the crab cake appetizer, but when the food runner brought it out we had no plates or silverware. We waited a few minutes for him to return with them, but he never did. I finally had to get up and find someone to bring over plates, which took another few minutes to be delivered. Our food arrived three minutes later, so we then had an excess of food and plates on our small table. Our waiter apologized about the plate incident, but never offered to take the app off of the bill. There were three large parties happening at that time and it appeared he was serving one of them, which explains why he was not attentive to us, but that is just not acceptable Scholars, if you are going to host parties while you are still serving dinner, add more staff.
The food was unremarkable and we left in hurry. Not to mention, bussers removed the tables next to us, so we felt like we were all alone and intruding on dance time. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. We won't be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2014

This is a fun place for lunch in downtown Boston. We had a party of 5 and all liked the lunch dishes we had. Our only gripe was that we didn't get served for a half an hour. Luckily we were not in a rush to get too upset about it.

The macaroni and cheese lunch was the big hit and would come highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2014

I cannot say that I was wildly impressed with my visit. We went there, before a show down the street, so we were slightly pressed for time. I'll start by giving credit where credit is due. Their buffalo chicken dip was excellent. They have a decent bar list. In the bar itself is quite nice looking. But the food for our main meal, was almost inedible. First of all it was served cold, and they got one of the orders completely wrong. My friend got the risotto, it was so watery, that she took two bites and was done. To their credit, they did take the food off the bill. But I would've rather paid for a good meal, than been hungry. They did have Christmas parties going on, so it might have just been an off night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 12, 2014

This place rocks. Great food & drink. Place 4 fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2014

inedible risotto, so bad my guest sent it back (unlike her). I had a chicken panko sandwich it was ok. Our server was very helpful, apologetic and suggested an alternative dish for my guest. Scholars seemed like a good place to have a drink and an appetizer, but dinner eas disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.