Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Scholars Bar & Lounge

4.3
108 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Bar Seating
  • Business Meals
  • Great for Lunch
Located along the historic Freedom Trail, at the heart of Boston’s downtown area, is Scholars American Bistro and Cocktail Lounge. Boasting a stylish and vibrant interior, Scholars has established itself as the favored venue for locals and tourists alike. Patrons can savor a mouth-watering selection of food, inspired by regional classics and superbly complimented by our chef’s original approach, late into the night. An extensive selection of tasty cocktails, refreshing beers and fine wines are sure to satisfy any palate. We also serve Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays from 11am until 3pm in addition to our all day menu. Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 10pm Scholars features some of Boston's best DJs playing classic hits.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 11:00am - 02.00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 248-0025
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Tremont & Washington Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is conveniently located at the Pi Alley Parking Garage within walking distance of Scholars American Bistro and Cocktail Lounge.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Red Line to Park Street & Downtown Crossing, Orange Line to Downtown Crossing, Green Line to Park Street & Government Center.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
DJ Entertainment every Thursday/Friday/Saturday.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 108 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

They were super accommodating with making an Opentable reservation, however, it went downhill from there. For starters, there was a hair in my wine. Then we ordered their butternut squash hummus with feta but they put goat cheese instead. The icing on the cake is that our server continually disappeared. Overall, it wasn’t a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

We were in town for the marathon and needed a place to eat close to our hotel. Scholars was right down the street so we tried it out. Fantastic atmosphere, hostess and waitress! The food was great too... so great that we went back with a larger party 2 nights later.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Second time here in last few weeks. Food is really top notch, especially the bowls. Service needs a little work.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The wait staff were very efficient and the food was delicious. Would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Nice, clean and fresh interior. Staff was friendly and professional. Not super prompt with taking the bill, but they were busy and we were talking, so no big deal. The build your own bowls were utterly fantastic. My only complaint is that they are not big enough for a grown man with an appetite and I wished I could pick both rice and greens and more options. I would pay more, as the current price is reasonable. I would happily pay $15 or more for a larger bowl/more stuff in it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food was good, and the ambiance was good also

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Busy after work drinks/snacks/dinner venue that is extraordinarily noisy but still allowed conversation across a high top dinner table. Cocktails were better than average. Food was surprisingly good but the service was disappointingly bad. Our appetizers had just arrived when a runner (no English) showed up at the table with our entrees. It was impossible to communicate with this woman although she eventually went back to the kitchen with the entrees. Five minutes later she was back with the same entrees (WTH??). At that point we asked her to hail our waiter. After a couple of minutes of her blank stare she left. We finally hailed another server and explained that we did not expect our entrees until we had finished our apps and not only had we not seen him since he served our cocktails but their food runner clearly did not understand the issue or our request to speak with him. Thankfully this server completely understood; told the kitchen to prepare new entrees for delivery at the appropriate time and then brought the fresh entrees at the correct time, kept our water glasses full and ensured we were satisfied. Advice to our initial waiter - it is your responsibility to time the delivery of your customers' orders. If you can't manage that then you should turn in your vest and apron dude. Your customers are not there to do your job for you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Unexpectedly large inside (outside looks like not much). Decent food; our service was scattered as two different servers helped us throughout our meal...the place is huge so I understand why each would disappear for many minutes at a time and never appeared together. One came over as we were seated to take our drink order; there were 6 of us and only one cocktail menu, so we asked for a minute to get it sorted. We didn’t see her for 15 minutes but another server came over to take our drink order within a few min. Then the first one came back and I asked if she was our server or the other guy; she said she was pitching in since they were busy...they both continued to wait on us so I hope they split the tip! Anyway it was fine; they were working hard. The steak tips with mashed potatoes (w/goat cheese! Yum) and green beans was straightforward and good; crispy Cobb salad good tho the chicken would have been better grilled instead of breaded and fried; the Mac and cheese was creamy and rich and great. Good sweet potato fries. Would return if in the neighborhood. Good for groups or to meet up with friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

This is one of our offices go to spot in the city. We go for lunch and happy hour often. Food is very consistent and a great value. Love the ambiance day or night it's appropriate.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We went to celebrate my friend’s birthday. The service was excellent, the food was good. The only thing is that they changed their menu sobI couldn’t get my usual drink which I miss but overall it was really good.
We brought our cake cooked at home and they kept it cold and brought it with the candlelights when we asked the waiter and it was a nice surprise for my friend, he was totally amazed. Thank you Scholars to help us make his day more special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Great little find in Boston. Service was excellent; as was the flat bread and cider!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2018

The food is delicious, especially the bowls. Three in our group ordered the make-your-own bowls and one ordered the shrimp/jasmine rice bowl. Healthy options that tasted good, too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 26, 2018

I've been to Scholar's a handful of times, but never actually for dinner, so I shouldn't have been surprised that this wasn't their strong suit.

The food was better than expected, but two wait staff and two hosts all seemed confused as to who were taking care of us, we never got bread or water, and the music piped into the dining area was as loud as everywhere else in the bar.

Scholar's strengths are known, stick to them!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Food and drinks were great! Service was okay - a few orders were missed/delayed but overall the waiter was pleasant and attentive. Lighting was a bit weird and the bathrooms were FREEZING! Overall, we’d definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Good location, the service was excellent (even for a large party) and the food was delicious. Management staff was also really helpful with a special request. Overall a good experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

The waitresses were excellent.
The bar/restaurant turns into a nightclub later in the evening so doesn’t really lend itself to eating amongst he masses who wish to drink and dance.
The food was tasty and served exceptionally quick.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Came to Scholar's for somewhere close to our hotel. Looking for some good food and drinks before a formal event. Scholar's did not disappoint. Was really quiet when we walked in at 4:30pm, but filled up quickly. Restaurant and bar space on first floor is modern, but very comfy cozy. There is a lot of room at the bar to just sit and drink which is what most people were doing that followed us in. There looks to be a balcony and pool tables, but we did not explore or see to confirm.

Had a nice glass of wine and a cocktail before dinner. Boyfriend had the Scholar's burger which he enjoyed. I had the Maple Turkey BLT which was fantastic! Ask for extra ketchup though because they give about half the amount you need for the serving of fries.

Service was average is not slightly inattentive. We were never asked if we wanted additional drinks, and I didn't get to ask for more ketchup. Luckily the fries were perfectly seasoned so ketchup wasn't entirely required. Pricing was appropriate for what we ordered and the service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

A bit disappointed with our experience at Scholars. We arrived early and were grateful that our table was ready. However, it was 6 pm on a Friday and many people were at the bar drinking after work. There were bags on the chair and behind our table and we had to ask for them to be moved and the hostess merely put the backpack that did not belong to us directly next to the chair. The food was not that great, I asked for a plain cheeseburger medium and it was definitely medium well and it was not plain- they had put some sort of sauce on the burger that I could not get off. Overall, we had a good night but I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for dining on a Friday evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

The food was excellent as usual, the atmosphere of the restaurant is really nice as well. The only problem was that we were greeted at the door by a man who just looked at our group and said “ID??” Luckily, my friend group had a reservation and when we said that we were allowed in but if not we would’ve been extremely disappointed as it isn’t even a pub and even though it has a bar, should not be limited to 21+.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Good spot for a casual lunch. We were just walking by and found this place. Made a reservation and went in. Good beer selection. The food was good - both bar menu and full lunch menu. Looks like a good spot for nighttime after work crowd as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

The concept of the lunch bowls was great and it was yummy, but cold! and on a cold day we were really looking forward to our warm lunch bowls! And since we were behind schedule since the waiter disappeared for a while, we did not have time to send it back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Beer and were good, mixed drinks tasted bad. Both the vodka soda and gin and tonic were terrible. The group also felt that every request to the server was a burden, felt like he didn't really want us as a customer.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 13, 2017

One hour for food. "Forgot" one of the orders because they were "busy with 2 other parties". Awful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

I was 15 minutes late because the movie I was attending ran longer than expected. We were seated right away. Nice variety of appetizers and main courses. Our server was pleasant and attentive. I will definitely dine at Scholars again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 8, 2017

More of a bar / lounge than a restaurant. The food was good, not great, highlighted by my dry overcooked salmon. It's evident most of the patrons on this Friday nite felt the same way, as most all were drinking and not eating. It's a very large space, and the crowd was mostly 25 - 35 yrs old enjoying the lounge vibe of the place. Not my kind of place, but others surely liked the drinks/beer/ wine offerings and the energetic and loud space. So go and have fun, but eat somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Had a bite and drinks before concert, good food, we liked the mushroom and arugula flatbread.
Burger was good too.
Good drinks, reasonably priced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Great spot for pre-theater! Lots of great menu options, cocktails and wine by the glass.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 16, 2017

Solid but unspectacular lunch spot. Fish and chips were very good; my friend's crispy shrimp bowl looked good as well. Quick with drink refills. They need some more sweetener options. Sweet and Low doesn't work for everyone (no Splenda, Equal or Truvia).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Although the service was very attentive and friendly, the overall experience was mediocre. Food was middle of the road. The space, while attractively appointed, was way too cavernous for a comfortable dining experience...felt like we were eating in an upscale cafeteria. I am assuming that, because this is a night spot, it fills in later with party-goers. So, I don't want to give this place a complete thumbs down, just because it wasn't a good environment for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Accommodating service in a welcoming interior. The waiter was very helpful recommending nice wines by the glass. The entrees were tasty and a good value. The only thing out-of-balance was music that's a bit intrusive for a relaxing dinner conversation.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Would not recommend, overall very poor service and the staff was negative towards potential customers to the point where they lost themselves a table of 10+.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

I love this place, it is my favorite place to go to unwind and meet friends. The lights are calming and the waiters are patient and make you feel taken care of.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Very nice service and awesome crowd, but I was there on a date and it was very noisy for me to hear anything my date was saying. However the food was good (ordered flatbreads, salad and some sides). Excellent place for the trendy types.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 15, 2017

I met up with a friend who is visiting Boston for dinner and found this place near her hotel. It was a very casual place and had great starter options and entrees for all. It was a great spot to catch up and eat. Everything tasted good and satisfied our hunger. I would definitely come back here for a casual meet up. They had a lot of open space and we had a great time here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, and excellent wine!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Service was horrible. Attentive but incompetent waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 4, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by Scholars. The food was delicious. We had generous portions. There is excellent variety in the menu and the prices are reasonable for downtown Boston.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 19, 2017

Have been going to Scholars for a few company occasions. The food preparation seems to take a long time. Would love to have more updates from the waiter on progress or perhaps offer a snack bite to prevent the table from staring at empty plates for a long time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2017

Went for light dinner and cocktails before show at Orpheum. Great Cocktails, generous portions of food, great service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3