Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Scholars Bar & Lounge

Located along the historic Freedom Trail, at the heart of Boston’s downtown area, is Scholars American Bistro and Cocktail Lounge. Boasting a stylish and vibrant interior, Scholars has established itself as the favored venue for locals and tourists alike. Patrons can savor a mouth-watering selection of food, inspired by regional classics and superbly complimented by our chef’s original approach, late into the night. An extensive selection of tasty cocktails, refreshing beers and fine wines are sure to satisfy any palate. We also serve Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays from 11am until 3pm in addition to our all day menu. Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 10pm Scholars features some of Boston's best DJs playing classic hits.

25 School Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 02.00am

Cross Street:
Tremont & Washington Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 248-0025

Website:
http://www.scholarsboston.com/

Entertainment:
DJ Entertainment every Thursday/Friday/Saturday.

Parking Details:
Parking is conveniently located at the Pi Alley Parking Garage within walking distance of Scholars American Bistro and Cocktail Lounge.

Public Transit:
Red Line to Park Street & Downtown Crossing, Orange Line to Downtown Crossing, Green Line to Park Street & Government Center.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Scholars Bar & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort by
S
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

One hour for food. "Forgot" one of the orders because they were "busy with 2 other parties". Awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2017

I was 15 minutes late because the movie I was attending ran longer than expected. We were seated right away. Nice variety of appetizers and main courses. Our server was pleasant and attentive. I will definitely dine at Scholars again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2017

More of a bar / lounge than a restaurant. The food was good, not great, highlighted by my dry overcooked salmon. It's evident most of the patrons on this Friday nite felt the same way, as most all were drinking and not eating. It's a very large space, and the crowd was mostly 25 - 35 yrs old enjoying the lounge vibe of the place. Not my kind of place, but others surely liked the drinks/beer/ wine offerings and the energetic and loud space. So go and have fun, but eat somewhere else.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Had a bite and drinks before concert, good food, we liked the mushroom and arugula flatbread.
Burger was good too.
Good drinks, reasonably priced

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Great spot for pre-theater! Lots of great menu options, cocktails and wine by the glass.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Solid but unspectacular lunch spot. Fish and chips were very good; my friend's crispy shrimp bowl looked good as well. Quick with drink refills. They need some more sweetener options. Sweet and Low doesn't work for everyone (no Splenda, Equal or Truvia).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Although the service was very attentive and friendly, the overall experience was mediocre. Food was middle of the road. The space, while attractively appointed, was way too cavernous for a comfortable dining experience...felt like we were eating in an upscale cafeteria. I am assuming that, because this is a night spot, it fills in later with party-goers. So, I don't want to give this place a complete thumbs down, just because it wasn't a good environment for dinner.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Accommodating service in a welcoming interior. The waiter was very helpful recommending nice wines by the glass. The entrees were tasty and a good value. The only thing out-of-balance was music that's a bit intrusive for a relaxing dinner conversation.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Would not recommend, overall very poor service and the staff was negative towards potential customers to the point where they lost themselves a table of 10+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I love this place, it is my favorite place to go to unwind and meet friends. The lights are calming and the waiters are patient and make you feel taken care of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very nice service and awesome crowd, but I was there on a date and it was very noisy for me to hear anything my date was saying. However the food was good (ordered flatbreads, salad and some sides). Excellent place for the trendy types.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I met up with a friend who is visiting Boston for dinner and found this place near her hotel. It was a very casual place and had great starter options and entrees for all. It was a great spot to catch up and eat. Everything tasted good and satisfied our hunger. I would definitely come back here for a casual meet up. They had a lot of open space and we had a great time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, and excellent wine!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Service was horrible. Attentive but incompetent waiter.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by Scholars. The food was delicious. We had generous portions. There is excellent variety in the menu and the prices are reasonable for downtown Boston.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Have been going to Scholars for a few company occasions. The food preparation seems to take a long time. Would love to have more updates from the waiter on progress or perhaps offer a snack bite to prevent the table from staring at empty plates for a long time.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Went for light dinner and cocktails before show at Orpheum. Great Cocktails, generous portions of food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, and good food...reasonable as well.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Poor service. "Ran out" of waffles by noon. Server was not attentive and manager was not very helpful is suggesting other dishes not apologetic for not having the one carb item available.

Overal, not worth a visit. This is the third time I've been there for food and have had mediocre service. Skip it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My arugula beet quinoa salad with shrimp had 4 1" beet cubes. The salad was all arugula which was overpriced. The service was poor. Our server went missing and the other waitstaff realized we were actively looking for him and got him out of the kitchen. I go here for lunch regularly and will not get the salad because it was a ripoff.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fish sandwich was just OK. Could have more fish. Presentation was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere! Has a little something for everybody

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great experience at Scholars. I was afraid to find a brunch place that would accommodate a small child (and the gear they come with) in Boston, but they had plenty of space, and the server was more than accommodating. The food was very good and we will be back!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a great meal - excellent food, prompt and attentive service, great menu. A little noisy but otherwise highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

It was conveniently located to our hotel downtown. The food was excellent. The selection of beers and ales was delightfully diverse. The service was prompt and polite, both on a Friday evening and a Monday evening. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food and value. Very, very noisy - worth it though for the meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I was very disappointed by my experience at scholars. They placed us at a table near a window and it was so cold that we all had to keep our coats on. We only had appetizers but we were very disappointed by the food. Overall I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Mac and cheese was amazing!!! You cant go wrong with the buffalo chicken tacos either!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went during lunch so it was quieter. The menu has a good variety and everyone enjoyed the food. It looks like it would be a fun place at night.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The lunch food wasn't good at all. The flatbread pizza had spoiled chicken on it, which the waiter seemed to notice and didn't care to send back, nor ask if we wanted our money back. Another sandwich was terrible and inedible. The other four meals were mediocre. We won't be going back there for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our office team visited Scholars for a mid week lunch and had a very nice experience. The waitress did a great job dealing with the table, and food and drinks were all delivered in a timely manner. Food was good and the noise was not a problem. All in all, a very positive experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

After 45 minutes of waiting for our food we asked our waiter to check on it. He brought it right out. The food was cold, the cheese on the flatbread had completely congealed. We asked for it to be nuked a minute or two as we were in a rush. 10 minutes later it comes back "new ones" that were fine... Charged for the full meal, not even comped for our sodas. Unapologetic. Meanwhile, this workday lunch took over 1.5 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Buffalo Chicken Tacos, Grilled House made Kielbasa and Scholars Steak were amazing! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had a late lunch with a large family group over the holidays and everyone was pleased. An array of menu items to satisfy different ages and tastes along with vegan and gluten free diners. We visited at an off peak time so the setting was very quiet. The decor is minimal given the large space. Our service was good, we'd return if in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was my second lunch at Scholars. Both meals have really been very good. I have had the short rib salad and the crispy fish sandwich.
I will return for lunch again and next time I will make sure my husband is with me so that he can enjoy good food and pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Service was glacially slow on a Friday night. Virtually impossible to get a second round of drinks at our table. We ordered a pierogi and kielbasa appetizer. The pierogies were great but the kielbasa was cold--not just room temperature, but actively fresh-out-of-the-refrigerator cold. Very unpleasant. The manager did apologize and remove the appetizer from our bill, which was nice. Friday nights at the Scholar are clearly more about the bar scene and singles mingling. Not recommended for a sit down dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I took 2 customers to lunch here for the first time. The location was perfect. The food was good and fairly priced. The atmosphere was very comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The pleasant, attentive waitress made this dining experience more superb than the food itself!
It was a Friday night after-work crowd (we were a pre-concert couple going to The Orpheum) and the restaurant chose to seat us away from the TGIF hysteria. Great choice!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was great. Our party had the tuna noodle salad, the beet and quinoa salad and the mac and cheese and everyone was thrilled. The service, however, atrocious. We had to finally go ask the hostess to find our waiter and send him over. He then stopped at the two tables next to ours and went away again before coming back 10 mins later to finally check in with us. Apparently this restaurant turns into a club scene at an absurdly early hour. We had to rush through the rest of our meal (which was delayed while we waited for our waiter to come by) to leave because people were packing in around us and there was very loud dance music playing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ok place, mediocre food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.