About Scarpetta - Fontainebleau Miami Beach

4441 Collins Avenue
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

Scarpetta, by James Beard award recipient Scott Conant, offers a regional Italian menu combining the simplicity of Italy's cucina rustica with the refined flavors of fine cuisine amidst breathtaking views. An Italian expression that means “little shoe” – or the shape bread takes when used to soak up a dish – Scarpetta represents the pure pleasure of savoring a meal down to its very last taste. Scarpetta at Fontainebleau is also a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award. With more than a decade of experience in the culinary industry, Chef de Cuisine Marlon Rambaran brings his culinary prowess to Scarpetta.

To complement our wine list, there is a $30 corkage fee (per 750 ML) for two bottles and $70 for any additional bottle (per 750 ML).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER & LOUNGE
Sun - Thu | 6 - 11 PM
Fri & Sat | 6 PM - 12 AM

Cross Street:
44th & Colllins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(877) 326-7412

Website:
http://www.fontainebleau.com/web/dining/scarpetta

Parking Details:
ENJOY VALIDATED PARKING OF $12 when you savor a variety of delectable dining. (Validated parking will be confirmed at time of purchase. For non-in-house guests only.)

Executive Chef:
Scott Conant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cellar 1954, Wine & Dinner Series by FONTAINEBLEAU, is a monthly event that will pair the world’s most prestigious wines and winemakers with the Scarpetta's award-winning cuisine.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Scarpetta sets the stage for extra-ordinary experiences, from intimate family gatherings to large scale social and corporate occasions. Distinctive backdrops include a private patio overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and dining rooms featuring elegant nautical touches.

Scarpetta - Fontainebleau Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (64)
fit for foodies (56)
romantic (42)
See All
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (34)
scenic view (24)
good for groups (23)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2065 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing! food is really delicious! the b ...

Dined 3 days ago

amazing! food is really delicious! the best Italian in Miami! for sure!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was wonderful. Scott Conant doe ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was wonderful. Scott Conant does, indeed, do pasta beautifully. Our waitress was wonderful, too. She even brought an extra chair to our table for my bag, which I loved. A couple of downsides: the wine list doesn't have many modestly-priced options. Also, while there IS a view of the ocean, the hotel's less-than-attractive swimming pool mars a lot of the view. And vegetarians, please note--some of the bread in the bread basket has salami in it. If you note that you're a vegetarian, they have a separate menu (which is fantastic) and a separate bread basket.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

The Chef Menu was out of this world !!!

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The Chef Menu was out of this world !!!

food3
ambience5
service4
value5

My only real complaint was that the spag ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My only real complaint was that the spaghetti I ordered was very spicy, it does not say on the menu that it contains chili flakes and so I couldn't eat very much of the food, it just should be labeled on the menu.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Slightly high price serious culinary exp ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Slightly high price serious culinary experience. The lamb and desserts were great. The duck disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal! Best service! Wonderful atmos ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Best meal! Best service! Wonderful atmosphere! Cannot wait to return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food. Great location.

Dined on June 8, 2016

I took some businessmen there and we enjoyed the $95/person dinner option. We received a wonderful variety of the chef's favorite items. All were delicious and well presented/explained. Atmosphere was high end. Drinks were on the overly expensive side. Overall, I would recommend the restaurant to people who want to bring business associates, dates or groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on June 7, 2016

The pasta entrees were out-of-this world fantastic!! Wait staff were knowledgeable and recommended our wine and entrees, at our request, and the results were outstanding! I will definitely return to Scarpetta and recommend it to everyone going to Miami Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scarpetta is my favorite!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

I Love scarpetta, so much. It is consitently one of my favorite restaurants in Miami. THe drinks are amazing. We always order 3 things - polenta, duck and foie gras ravioli, and the famous spaghetti. The bread service alone is reason enough to go there. Do yourself a favor and RUN to scarpetta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food..beware of added tip

Dined on June 3, 2016

My sister ordered the spaghetti and I ordered the roasted chicken. The spaghetti was amazing! The chicken was bland. They add an 18% tip, so be careful of that.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Average at Best

Dined on June 3, 2016

I was very excited to eat here. But the food was just ok. It wasnt bad, but it was good. Again, it was just ok... To make matters worse the restaurant was not busy at all, and our service was slow, and very lethargic, the waiter was just going through the motions nothing special with him either. We are in the Fountain Bleau and the place had zero vibe. Thursday night is a hot night there as well, and the restaurant was dead. I see so many positive reviews, and I am thinking maybe the place is better during season or peak times. But it is not worth going again to see if maybe it was an off night.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. Ricotta Ravioli was tasty ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was good. Ricotta Ravioli was tasty. Decor and ambiance was nautical and very comfortable. I would recommend if you are staying at the Fontainbleau.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent and refined elegance mainriwn ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent and refined elegance mainriwn a

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A definite must for a fancy date night

Dined on May 29, 2016

A friend had recommended this place and we were so glad we listened. The duck and foie gras ravioli is a must! They have a fantastic wine selection as well. If youre feeling tropical, try out the coconut, guava, passionfruit dessert concoction. It's like a beach party in your mouth!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food ,great service. A little ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food ,great service. A little noisey

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great place for any occasion. I always ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

great place for any occasion. I always enjoy it. Very chic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service (Thanks again Steve!) ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Incredible service (Thanks again Steve!) and great ambiance. We were a party of 6, but we all got special close attention from service staff. Complimentary dessert for the bachelorette as well. The food was delicious too - worth every dime. Cant wait to come back!

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

bad service the entire night.

Dined on May 8, 2016

service at this place was awful. They were not even that busy but we had to wait about an hour for each course to get to our table (we did the tasting menu and it was not anything special). very ordinary Italian place and food quality is just ok. we asked the manager to come over and he did not seem to care that we are not very pleased. instead he appeared flirty and wanted to know where we are from. The restaurant is also beyond freezing. Overall a terrible night out dining.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Expected better...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was good, but our server was very unattentive, and we got charged double for one of the entrees.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lived in Miami the year Scarpetta opened ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Lived in Miami the year Scarpetta opened (2008) and never got the chance to try it. So glad I did on vacation and it was just as delicious as I expected. The duck foie gras ravioli was one of the best dishes I've ever had. Cudos to the Chef! Next on the list: Scarpetta NYC!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Service not good

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was pre-occupied with 3 good looking women at the able next to us. Also there is an 18% charge listed as service charge then another line for a gratuity. If you didn't read the check carefully you would give the waiter 36%. Very deceiving especially for such terrible service. Food was good UT that was about it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unparalleled Service

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband Ben and I dined at Scarpetta on a weekend trip to Miami on April 29, 2016. We're constantly eating delicious food at restaurants in Washington, DC so we had high expectations, which were fulfilled! We ordered the tasting menu ($100 each) and my husband paired his dinner with red and white wines (additional $115). The restaurant includes 18% gratuity as part of every check. Considering the delicious food, quality of ingredients, portion sizes, wine pairings, and service -- the four course tasting menu was a great deal! The food was delicious and the portion sizes were perfect! We most loved the foie gras ravioli and the squid ink pasta. The creamy polenta and mushrooms were flavorful and filling. The service was impeccable. Our waiter, Victor, was very attentive and hilarious! Victor made certain to add a candle to the dessert for my husband's birthday. I really appreciated that! On top of the 18% gratuity, we added something extra for Victor as a thank you. I truly enjoyed my dining experience at Scarpetta and I will return to this restaurant the next time I am in Miami. Thanks to everyone -- including the bartender, hostess, servers, and managers for a fantastic evening! Photos of our Scarpetta dinner can be found on instagram @surferswimmer. Kish Rusek Washington, DC

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We really loved the food, one of the bes ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We really loved the food, one of the best italian diners we had in a while. Excellent service, wine list with many really good options, great dessert. We did not fell in love with the ambiance, a bit too cold, very low light, hard to see the food. Other people might like it of course. Overall very highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect in every way.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Perfect in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pasta like no other

Dined on April 22, 2016

There are great places who offer delicious pasta dishes but when Scott Conant says his is the best, he is not telling tales. I don't know what they do to the pasta but it is head and shoulders above the already "really good!" We had the SQUID INK TAGLIOLINI and the RICOTTA RAVIOLINI. Both delicious. The mushrooms and creamy sauce on the Raviolini was so delicate. We also had the steak tartar - not something many restaurants make anymore , let alone make well. It was of the highest quality. Only slight disappointment was the over-priced wine list. But we did find a good bottle for $180.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose to dine the evening we checked ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We chose to dine the evening we checked in based on the smell out in the lobby-everything tasted even better than the wonderful aroma out in the hall.

food5
ambience5
service2

Beautiful restaurant. The basic spaghett ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The basic spaghetti was so amazing! Service was not the best.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great restaurant, great food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our waiters were awesome, great service, very attentive. We were sitting at a table that was a little too small for 5 people, but we managed.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We loved the food. We thought it took a ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We loved the food. We thought it took a long time to dine there. But overall was a great experience

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved Scarpetta

Dined on April 10, 2016

Went to Scarpetta on vacation. Waited a little even though we had a reservation and it didn't seem to crowded, but wasn't a big issue. Would have given 5 stars for food and overall but the burrata was horrible. Was looking forward to it for a long time because it is normally my favorite appetizer and was just totally disappointed. The creamy inside was good but the outer layer was so hard (I know it's supposed to be) that it was difficult to even cut through. Should have taken the waiters recommendation and gone with the short rib appetizer instead. However, everything else was fantastic!!! The Polenta appetizer and the Short Rib Agnolotti were amazing. The ravioli (don't remember which one may have been a special) was very good as well. We split the chocolate cake desert and that too was great. Also wines by the glass were good. It was a little pricy, but that is life at the Fontainebleau

food5
ambience5
service5

For appetizers we ordered the tuna tarta ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

For appetizers we ordered the tuna tartare, braised short ribs, polenta, and charred octopus which were all delicious. The ravioli and tagliatelle were good as well. For dessert we had an assortment but my favorite were the panna cotta and chocolate lava cake.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Bar and restaurant service very good.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was mediocre. We had the tasting menu and a couple of drinks. Very very expensive...almost $400.00 for two.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Yummy and Fun!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We went on a girls trip to Miami and Scarpetta was a perfect place for a big group. We did the tasting menu which was delicious but, way too much food. The waiter should have told us that before we ordered. Also to note, everyone must to do the tasting menu but prepared to be rolled out of there or have major left overs... well at least if you are a lady!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite Italian restaurants. ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

One of my favorite Italian restaurants. Authentic food, wonderful service, just a great experience. The Sunday supper was an excellent choice.

food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Expensive Pasta and Exorbitant Wine Mark-ups

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Scarpetta does not provide good value for money. Appetizers run between $14-$25 and entrees between $24-$46. Although the food is very well executed, I see no justification in charging $24 for a simple spaghetti with tomato and basil. The wine list further exemplifies how this restaurant greedily gouges its patrons. It has the highest wine mark-ups I have seen anywhere. Their bottles are marked up 3 to 4 times their retail value. My host ordered a fine red Burgundy from the restaurant's wine list at a cost of $450.00. This same wine retails in the US for $140-$150. To those who plan on visiting Scarpetta, I recommend you bring your own wine and pay their $30.00 corkage fee.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Still going strong

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The venue is elegant and service is impeccable. The menu might need to be refreshed. It is still good and steady, if pricey, but no longer outstanding. For this kind of price you expect to be knocked off your feet.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Beautiful Evening

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. We loved everything, but all agreed that the simplest pasta was the best. One of us had spaghetti with tomato sauce and basil, and that was fantastic. The sommelier was very, very helpful. We gave him several ideas. He candidly agreed that one of the Bordeaux wines we asked about was probably a bit past its prime. We asked for an Italian recommendation, based on what we had already told us we liked, and he found one that was very, very nice and was near our price points. He did exactly what we expect a good sommelier to do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed

Dined on March 30, 2016

Overall great dining experience. The food was beyond our expectations and was probably the best meal we had all trip.

food3
ambience3
service3

Like dining on a cruise ship. A big crui ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Like dining on a cruise ship. A big cruise ship.

food3
ambience4
service3

No real touch on the food.

Dined on March 28, 2016

No real touch on the food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.