About Scarpetta - Fontainebleau Miami Beach

4441 Collins Avenue
Miami Beach, FL 33140
View Larger Map

Scarpetta, by James Beard award recipient Scott Conant, offers a regional Italian menu combining the simplicity of Italy's cucina rustica with the refined flavors of fine cuisine amidst breathtaking views. An Italian expression that means “little shoe” – or the shape bread takes when used to soak up a dish – Scarpetta represents the pure pleasure of savoring a meal down to its very last taste. Scarpetta at Fontainebleau is also a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award. With more than a decade of experience in the culinary industry, Chef de Cuisine Marlon Rambaran brings his culinary prowess to Scarpetta.

To complement our wine list, there is a $30 corkage fee (per 750 ML) for two bottles and $70 for any additional bottle (per 750 ML).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER & LOUNGE
Sun - Thu | 6 - 11 PM
Fri & Sat | 6 PM - 12 AM

Cross Street:
44th & Colllins

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(877) 326-7412

Website:
http://www.fontainebleau.com/web/dining/scarpetta

Parking Details:
ENJOY VALIDATED PARKING OF $12 when you savor a variety of delectable dining. (Validated parking will be confirmed at time of purchase. For non-in-house guests only.)

Executive Chef:
Scott Conant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cellar 1954, Wine & Dinner Series by FONTAINEBLEAU, is a monthly event that will pair the world’s most prestigious wines and winemakers with the Scarpetta's award-winning cuisine.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Scarpetta sets the stage for extra-ordinary experiences, from intimate family gatherings to large scale social and corporate occasions. Distinctive backdrops include a private patio overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and dining rooms featuring elegant nautical touches.

Scarpetta - Fontainebleau Miami Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (74)
fit for foodies (69)
romantic (55)
See All
hot spot (50)
notable wine list (48)
good for groups (40)
scenic view (30)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great place for any occasion. I always ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

great place for any occasion. I always enjoy it. Very chic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service (Thanks again Steve!) ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Incredible service (Thanks again Steve!) and great ambiance. We were a party of 6, but we all got special close attention from service staff. Complimentary dessert for the bachelorette as well. The food was delicious too - worth every dime. Cant wait to come back!

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

bad service the entire night.

Dined on May 8, 2016

service at this place was awful. They were not even that busy but we had to wait about an hour for each course to get to our table (we did the tasting menu and it was not anything special). very ordinary Italian place and food quality is just ok. we asked the manager to come over and he did not seem to care that we are not very pleased. instead he appeared flirty and wanted to know where we are from. The restaurant is also beyond freezing. Overall a terrible night out dining.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Expected better...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Food was good, but our server was very unattentive, and we got charged double for one of the entrees.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lived in Miami the year Scarpetta opened ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Lived in Miami the year Scarpetta opened (2008) and never got the chance to try it. So glad I did on vacation and it was just as delicious as I expected. The duck foie gras ravioli was one of the best dishes I've ever had. Cudos to the Chef! Next on the list: Scarpetta NYC!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Service not good

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was pre-occupied with 3 good looking women at the able next to us. Also there is an 18% charge listed as service charge then another line for a gratuity. If you didn't read the check carefully you would give the waiter 36%. Very deceiving especially for such terrible service. Food was good UT that was about it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unparalleled Service

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband Ben and I dined at Scarpetta on a weekend trip to Miami on April 29, 2016. We're constantly eating delicious food at restaurants in Washington, DC so we had high expectations, which were fulfilled! We ordered the tasting menu ($100 each) and my husband paired his dinner with red and white wines (additional $115). The restaurant includes 18% gratuity as part of every check. Considering the delicious food, quality of ingredients, portion sizes, wine pairings, and service -- the four course tasting menu was a great deal! The food was delicious and the portion sizes were perfect! We most loved the foie gras ravioli and the squid ink pasta. The creamy polenta and mushrooms were flavorful and filling. The service was impeccable. Our waiter, Victor, was very attentive and hilarious! Victor made certain to add a candle to the dessert for my husband's birthday. I really appreciated that! On top of the 18% gratuity, we added something extra for Victor as a thank you. I truly enjoyed my dining experience at Scarpetta and I will return to this restaurant the next time I am in Miami. Thanks to everyone -- including the bartender, hostess, servers, and managers for a fantastic evening! Photos of our Scarpetta dinner can be found on instagram @surferswimmer. Kish Rusek Washington, DC

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We really loved the food, one of the bes ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We really loved the food, one of the best italian diners we had in a while. Excellent service, wine list with many really good options, great dessert. We did not fell in love with the ambiance, a bit too cold, very low light, hard to see the food. Other people might like it of course. Overall very highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect in every way.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Perfect in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pasta like no other

Dined on April 22, 2016

There are great places who offer delicious pasta dishes but when Scott Conant says his is the best, he is not telling tales. I don't know what they do to the pasta but it is head and shoulders above the already "really good!" We had the SQUID INK TAGLIOLINI and the RICOTTA RAVIOLINI. Both delicious. The mushrooms and creamy sauce on the Raviolini was so delicate. We also had the steak tartar - not something many restaurants make anymore , let alone make well. It was of the highest quality. Only slight disappointment was the over-priced wine list. But we did find a good bottle for $180.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose to dine the evening we checked ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We chose to dine the evening we checked in based on the smell out in the lobby-everything tasted even better than the wonderful aroma out in the hall.

food5
ambience5
service2

Beautiful restaurant. The basic spaghett ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The basic spaghetti was so amazing! Service was not the best.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great restaurant, great food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our waiters were awesome, great service, very attentive. We were sitting at a table that was a little too small for 5 people, but we managed.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We loved the food. We thought it took a ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We loved the food. We thought it took a long time to dine there. But overall was a great experience

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved Scarpetta

Dined on April 10, 2016

Went to Scarpetta on vacation. Waited a little even though we had a reservation and it didn't seem to crowded, but wasn't a big issue. Would have given 5 stars for food and overall but the burrata was horrible. Was looking forward to it for a long time because it is normally my favorite appetizer and was just totally disappointed. The creamy inside was good but the outer layer was so hard (I know it's supposed to be) that it was difficult to even cut through. Should have taken the waiters recommendation and gone with the short rib appetizer instead. However, everything else was fantastic!!! The Polenta appetizer and the Short Rib Agnolotti were amazing. The ravioli (don't remember which one may have been a special) was very good as well. We split the chocolate cake desert and that too was great. Also wines by the glass were good. It was a little pricy, but that is life at the Fontainebleau

food5
ambience5
service5

For appetizers we ordered the tuna tarta ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

For appetizers we ordered the tuna tartare, braised short ribs, polenta, and charred octopus which were all delicious. The ravioli and tagliatelle were good as well. For dessert we had an assortment but my favorite were the panna cotta and chocolate lava cake.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Bar and restaurant service very good.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was mediocre. We had the tasting menu and a couple of drinks. Very very expensive...almost $400.00 for two.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Yummy and Fun!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We went on a girls trip to Miami and Scarpetta was a perfect place for a big group. We did the tasting menu which was delicious but, way too much food. The waiter should have told us that before we ordered. Also to note, everyone must to do the tasting menu but prepared to be rolled out of there or have major left overs... well at least if you are a lady!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite Italian restaurants. ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

One of my favorite Italian restaurants. Authentic food, wonderful service, just a great experience. The Sunday supper was an excellent choice.

food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Expensive Pasta and Exorbitant Wine Mark-ups

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Scarpetta does not provide good value for money. Appetizers run between $14-$25 and entrees between $24-$46. Although the food is very well executed, I see no justification in charging $24 for a simple spaghetti with tomato and basil. The wine list further exemplifies how this restaurant greedily gouges its patrons. It has the highest wine mark-ups I have seen anywhere. Their bottles are marked up 3 to 4 times their retail value. My host ordered a fine red Burgundy from the restaurant's wine list at a cost of $450.00. This same wine retails in the US for $140-$150. To those who plan on visiting Scarpetta, I recommend you bring your own wine and pay their $30.00 corkage fee.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Still going strong

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The venue is elegant and service is impeccable. The menu might need to be refreshed. It is still good and steady, if pricey, but no longer outstanding. For this kind of price you expect to be knocked off your feet.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Beautiful Evening

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. We loved everything, but all agreed that the simplest pasta was the best. One of us had spaghetti with tomato sauce and basil, and that was fantastic. The sommelier was very, very helpful. We gave him several ideas. He candidly agreed that one of the Bordeaux wines we asked about was probably a bit past its prime. We asked for an Italian recommendation, based on what we had already told us we liked, and he found one that was very, very nice and was near our price points. He did exactly what we expect a good sommelier to do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed

Dined on March 30, 2016

Overall great dining experience. The food was beyond our expectations and was probably the best meal we had all trip.

food3
ambience3
service3

Like dining on a cruise ship. A big crui ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Like dining on a cruise ship. A big cruise ship.

food3
ambience4
service3

No real touch on the food.

Dined on March 28, 2016

No real touch on the food.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Disapointement!

Dined on March 28, 2016

Very expensive for the kind of service they offer. The food was very good. The restaurant is beautiful. But bad service...

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Italian

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Italian food has never been one of my favorites until I went to Italy for "real Italian". Now that I know the difference, I am totally spoiled for that type of food. Scarpetta had a nice menu and they were gracious enough to give us a "tasting menu". As far as the tasting menu goes, the portions were delicious but way too big. Some people would not find that an issue, but I prefer smaller samples of excellent food. The sommelier and our waiter were very attentive and the experience was very nice. Probably too many children to suit me, but for the most part they were well behaved.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Uninterested hostess.

Dined on March 24, 2016

The first person you deal with is the hostess , and she needs to be more friendly and interested in her job and guests. First impressions only come once.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scarpetta Miami Beach

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We love the food here & our experience was enhanced by our server Mario. He was marvelous & managed to cover a number of tables while still delivering great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always outstanding

Dined on March 24, 2016

Food is always outstanding

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Miami hits the best Whiskey Sour

Dined on March 21, 2016

The resturant is fun and has real party atmosphere. The waiter was very helpful and unlike a lot of places in Miami where they encourage you to order special and then charge you an undisclosed fortune, here the waiter tells you the special and the price. Stright forward and transparent. The highlight of the evening for me was the Whiskey Sour. I love this drink and have ordered it around the world only to find most times that the bar tender falls short, well not here, it was perfect with just the right amount of Bourbon to give that tangy sweet flavour and real egg white. The wine list is very pricey but we found a fabulous montepulciano for $40 which was excellent. This was the best night out we had in the week in Miami.

Tags: special occasions, late night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit here and both ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

This was our second visit here and both times were excellent in every aspect. We ordered the 4 course meal, which was amazing, since it allowed us to try small portions of ever course. Great value for the money! Excellent food, service, ambiance, and overall best experience.

food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Good food on a very singular night

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was dinner on a Saturday night just on spring break weekend. Not at all friendly reception. Actually a bad one. The "standard" hostess was not able to look us in the eyes, almost not talking at all. Not elegance at all. We had to wait for a LONG time until someone approached us. Food was GOOD. Service was in between GOOD and ARROGANT. LOUD too LOUD. Good fish, very good lamb tagliatelle, very tasty bread. Good desserts. Ambience was a "fake kind of hipster atmosphere". It was our first time, i heard so many good things, however.... Maybe next time we will go for "delivery" or "pick up" and that will do.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was just good at most , felt rushed the whole time we were there. Halibut and scallops should be served much warmer, pasta was very good. Overall disappointing experience as we called a week earlier and requested nice table and were showed to a corner table with a bar on a side of it, which wasn't acceptable. Third time there was still not satisfied and not coming back for sure, fountainblue deserves a better place.

food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was as good as any we've had in ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

The meal was as good as any we've had in Italy. From the first shared course of pasta to the fabulous second courses of halibut and baked chicken and finally the desserts - a cheese plate and a chocolate torte - all were delicious. Great wine selection also. Will definitely visit Scarpetta again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

very good food

Dined on March 15, 2016

Food was good but very pricey. Waitress didn't ask for parmesan cheese for my son's spaghetti and overall they didn't tried too much to make the evening special. The fact they automatically charge you 18% tip regardless of the service is not fair.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the tasting menu on Sunday night. ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We had the tasting menu on Sunday night. It was the best tasting meal ever.....

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place to eat

Dined on March 13, 2016

Staying in a hotel nearby, I decided to try this place. We were served excellent food : fresh, very tasteful and inventive. I do appreciate gastronomic restaurants and would definitely go there again !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, lunch, late night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, interesting italian food

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

My daughter and I dined at Scarpetta after spending an afternoon at the Lapis Spa (so wonderful). We were greeted and served quickly - having the option of a quartino of wine is something more restaurants should do. Our Orvieto and Rose (quite light and summery) were delicious. The warm breads and toppings were a nice start to the evening. We had the cold vegetable soup with hamachi crudo - very gazpacho tasting but a thinner consistency. Our waiter recommended the Polenta with woodland mushrooms - a chef specialty - and we loved it. So creamy and good it was the highlight of the meal. We did not enjoy the duck / foie gras ravioli - to me it tasted of liver and it was quite bitter. My daughter that the pasta was too thick. The sea scallops were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly excellent!

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

This really is an upstanding restaurant. The service and food are outstanding. It is a physically beautiful restaurant as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.