About Scarlett Begonia

11 W Victoria St. Ste 10
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Scarlett Begonia will always strive to have interesting, thoughtful food.
Menus change weekly with an innovative fresh look at breakfast and lunch and dinner. Cocktails and appetizers begin at 4:30pm Tuesday thru Saturday nights with full dinner service from 5:30pm to 9:00pm, with breakfast and lunch running 9am-2pm Tuesday thru Sunday. It is our goal to provide Santa Barbara with a restaurant that showcases progressive modern food, using sustainable, organic, high quality ingredients coupled with innovative cooking to be one of the most food-centric restaurants around.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch

Tuesday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2143

Website:
http://www.scarlettbegonia.net/

Parking Details:
Parking is located in City Lot #5

Executive Chef:
George Murkowitz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Scarlett Begonia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

great for outdoor dining (26)
great for brunch (22)
fit for foodies (19)
See All
great for lunch (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
romantic (7)
good for groups (5)
special occasion (4)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

They have tables at the patio and the am ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

They have tables at the patio and the ambience is great! The ricotta lemon pancakes are awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4

Friendly staff, a creative menu, delicio ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Friendly staff, a creative menu, delicious food, and a delightful patio. Don't miss the pretzel or the chicken oysters!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was incredible. I was full and ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was incredible. I was full and content when we left. Definitely good eats

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must have brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Three of us had brunch and couldn't have been happier unless we had more room to eat more. We are all foodies and can be picky. This place did not disappoint. The eggs were very light in both the Benedict and the scramble we had. The veggies were fresh and flavorful. Their homemade scones were flaky and delicious. The Earl Grey latte was an extra treat as was the bacon marmalade. And the staff was friendly and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Scarlett Begonia

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have eaten here twice and are impressed on all fronts. The food is amazing and has a beautiful presentation. The staff is always warm and friendly. We have a small dog so must do patio dining. The heat lamps are always set to accommodate our comfort. This restaurant has not been only about the amazing food and service. Both times we have just had a plain old great time. It is truly a find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food OK, Service Terrible

Dined on May 22, 2016

We ate at Scarlett Begonia on a Sunday morning. It wasn't crazy busy, but it wasn't dead either when we arrived. Food was ok. The lemon ricotta pancakes were really tasty, nice lemon zip. Also ordered the eggs benedict which were disappointing. The sauce is a little heavy on the mayo or something. The big disappointment though was the service. I'm sure it was just a mistake but we waited at least 30 minutes for our food to be delivered. We watched entire tables arrive, order, eat, and leave between the time we ordered and when our food actually arrived. This is all forgivable of course if the waiter recognizes the mistake, apologizes, and makes some attempt to make it right. But there was no recognition at all of any mistakes. It was very disappointing. We left wishing we had swung by Starbucks for something quick and spent the morning by the pool instead of waiting for our breakfast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met a friend I had not seen in many year ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Met a friend I had not seen in many years for brunch. Lisa sat us at a lovely table and the chef sent out a nice plate to share before our fabulous brunch. Fresh tasty food, great service. Overall terrific experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wouldn't go back

Dined on May 8, 2016

The hostess was snotty, rude and aggressive. She ruined the entire experience. I would not go back. Our server was lovely. Food was good but overpriced. Nice ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our last meal in Santa Barbara, so worth the trip!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Friendly servers, great menu & wine list! I'm from the south & I'm here to tell u that was the best shrimp & grits ever!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A hidden gem

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter brunch at Scarlett and it was a delightful experience. We had time to chat with the owner who is expanding the restaurant, including adding a bakery for her parents' business which will relocate from their current bakery and provides all baked goods for the restaurant and many other notable SB locations. The meal was very good, service wonderful and the crowd was a mix of couples and families and dogs. It was a special meal ($45 fixed price plus Mimosas) and the coffee cake, kale salad, steak and lamb all very good. A hidden spot for locals that is well worth finding!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The tomato soup is fantastic and new for ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

The tomato soup is fantastic and new for me! Very flavorful and a little spicy. I always love the kale ceasar salad, and it once again was delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic hideaway restaurant

Dined on March 5, 2016

My fiance and I ate here for the first time as a long overdue date night. We had always known about Scarlett Begonia, but hadn't had the opportunity to try it. We were glad we did. The ambiance was fantastic. We sat inside since the outdoor heaters weren't working, but it was just as cozy, quiet and romantic. We opted to share the roasted chicken entree and try multiple appetizers: scarlett bread, smoked salmon and creme fraiche toast, and the fried eggplant. Everything tasted delicious and was reasonably priced, considering Santa Barbara dining. Our bartender and server were also very nice and went out of way to make sure we enjoyed our drinks and food. We will definitely return for dinner and are looking forward to trying their brunch menu as well as their Tuesdays chef's special from the local farmers market.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4

Had prix fixe 3 course Valentine's Day d ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had prix fixe 3 course Valentine's Day dinner. First and main were delicious, presented beautifully. Desserts disappointed. All creamy confections--and they nicely brought another when we didn't like our original choices. Found out why desserts didn't live up to the dinner--they use an outside bakery because they have such a small kitchen. Staff was extremely nice about it and said they'd take our comments to the chef/owner. Beautiful courtyard patio--they did have heaters but it was too cold for us. Would recommend.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Scarlett Begonia Most Enjoyable

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had another excellent meal at Scarlett Begonia's. The perfect place in Santa Barbara for a dinner before night clubbing. We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Great spot, but...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great location and very good food. I would like to see a larger selection, at dinner. The courtyard is charming, but the inside dining room has zero charm, life or color. How about some color on the walls, some nice art work and cover those boring tables with cloths or something!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Expensive. Small portions. Very limited ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Expensive. Small portions. Very limited menu. Ran out of some dishes at 8PM. Average food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and food

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had the Pri-Fixe menu for New Years Eve. It included wonderful, thoughtful dishes that even my kids enjoyed. I loved the spiced carrots with yogurt as an appetizer. The special duck dish was succulent. I also had the best cherry pie ever! The s'mores with key lime was a miss, but otherwise all of our food was delicious. The wait staff was very attentive. It is a small restaurant and it felt very personal.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great coffe and food - never disappoints

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

This time, I had a heavenly persimmon salad. The courtyard provides great outdoor dining when the sun is straight overhead or the air temp is warm.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Best breakfast in a very long time. Come ...

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

Best breakfast in a very long time. Come hungry and leave with a smile on your face. We drove up from Manhattan Beach (2 hours) and were there at 9:00 am and enjoyed many different dishes. All very tasty and carefully cooked. Had a chance to say hi to the chef who appreciated our positive feedback. Highly recommend this "hidden gem".

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh my good!

Dined on December 19, 2015

I cannot say enough!! The Scarlet Begonia was wonderful. We love finding the little restaurants that are creative, and full of flavor! This was a 10. We tried two starters, a soup, a salad and a larger entre. Everything was wonderful. The entire evening we were rewarded with new flavors, textures and outlooks on our favorite dishes. Highly recommend for any foodies out there!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and cocktails, lovely pat ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Amazing food and cocktails, lovely patio with heaters, and very attentive service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Immaculate

Dined on October 16, 2015

The food was beyond expectation - without exception

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food on a wonderful outdoor patio

Dined on October 7, 2015

Great food at good prices. We ate late and there were only 2 other parties on the patio. So great service. Food was marvelous. I had the flat iron steak and my friend ordered the pork loin. We were told it would take 20 minutes for her entree to be cooked, and since we had ordered a bottle of wine, we asked that they bring us a side of fries so we had something in our stomachs while drinking the wine. The fries were amazing. Super hot from the fryer and a huge amount for very little money. My steak was so tasty and cooked to perfection. A huge portion so I took some home. Will go back. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A little hard to find

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

SG is tucked away in a courtyard off the street. So nice, very quiet and intimate. Loved the veg salad and pork. Wife had seafood, it was great, but I don't remember what it was. Great local SB wine selections. Silent movies on the brick wall. And something on the menu for kids too!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice quiet lunch place for outdoor seating

Dined on September 22, 2015

Always enjoy their food at Scarkett Begonnias and the food is always good. We've been here numerous times!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Good for sharing w/ friends

Dined on September 20, 2015

We had a group of 7 and ate out in the patio area. We decided to order several dishes to share with one another. We thought the food was really delicious and it was fun getting small tastes of a variety of dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss Tuesday Farmers Market dinner

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

We sat in the charming outdoor area. Quiet and charming. The Tuesday farmers market choices were delicious and light. To Kill a Mockingbird was illuminated on the large wall. The perfect most delightful evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5

Limited Menu

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

We've been here before and a big negative is the menu is very limited. We went to lunch, and I didn't want a salad . There were 3 salads, cheeseburger, and something with whole wheat tortilla, avocado , chicken , aioli. It was tasty, but fell apart bcuz they put too much aioli on the tortilla which looked homade, but VERY thin.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

A very good experience

Dined on August 23, 2015

My husband hates small plate establishments...and I love them. Scarlett Begonia has both, so it works very well for us. Don't miss the ricotta pancakes with crab meat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service1

Once was enough

Dined on August 14, 2015

Based on the service and the tasteless salad, I will never go back.. Too bad because it's a cute restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service3

Dinner for Four

Dined on August 1, 2015

We had dinner here on a Friday night with a reservation and were seated right on time. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable abut all the dishes and drinks on the menu. She answered all our questions and was very kind and accommodating with my father who is gluten free. The drinks were awesome, I recommend trying anything from their specialty cocktail menu! There was a lot of time between placing our food order and actually receiving the first dish, about 30 minutes or so. But all the dishes we shared family-style were delicious and well presented. We sat outside on the patio which was comfortable and very clean. Thank you, Scarlett Begonia!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Palette pleasing

Dined on June 28, 2015

Continue to enjoy the eclectic offerings at Scarlett Begonia. Same old is not available here, making it a pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Mostly delicious

Dined on June 27, 2015

The kale Ceasar salad and the duck entree were great. Neither my daughter nor I like the cod and whipped potatoes -they seemed rather flavorless. The service was attentive and gracious even after we returned the cod.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food selection.

Dined on June 20, 2015

This is a great place for brunch. All of our food was cooked and prepared to our request. We sat outdoors and enjoyed it. This was our second visit to Scarlett Begonia and we would gladly return again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

Dined on June 11, 2015

Loved everything about our experience here from the staff to the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

vip
Dined on June 6, 2015

Grits and shrimp yum. Share the cinnamon roll. Great coffee. Lovely environment. A must eat at restaurant in Santa Barbara.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2

Great local small outdoors restaurant.

vip
Dined on May 17, 2015

Good, creative, dishes. Tops were smoked mussels. Service was rough and somewhat overwhelmed the evening we were there.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful night out

Dined on May 16, 2015

We came with a large (6) group for a birthday dinner. The staff was very nice and more than accommodating! Not to mention, the food was fantastic! The squid and duck come highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful outdoor place to being friends

Dined on May 13, 2015

We had friends who live in Ca come vist us from another town ....so we wanted to treat them to place that had an outdoor area ...this place was wonderful ..it's in an a court yard so it's nice and quite ..... Very good food and they have space heaters ....

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.