About Scarlett Begonia

11 W Victoria St. Ste 10
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Scarlett Begonia will always strive to have interesting, thoughtful food.
Menus change weekly with an innovative fresh look at breakfast and lunch and dinner. Cocktails and appetizers begin at 4:30pm Tuesday thru Saturday nights with full dinner service from 5:30pm to 9:00pm, with breakfast and lunch running 9am-2pm Tuesday thru Sunday. It is our goal to provide Santa Barbara with a restaurant that showcases progressive modern food, using sustainable, organic, high quality ingredients coupled with innovative cooking to be one of the most food-centric restaurants around.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch

Tuesday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2143

Website:
http://www.scarlettbegonia.net/

Parking Details:
Parking is located in City Lot #5

Executive Chef:
George Murkowitz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Come celebrate with your Valentine with our special 3 course menu starting at $65 per person.

Scarlett Begonia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (1)
People Watching (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A hidden gem. Beautiful outdoor patio, ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

A hidden gem. Beautiful outdoor patio, wonderful food, excellent service. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were perfect . The ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food and service were perfect . The lighting in the restaurant was cool and unfriendly . Sometimes the LED lights can be a downer.It would not stop me going back but if you want to look nice for your date then this may not be the best restaurant for you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

An amazing experience. The restaurant is ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

An amazing experience. The restaurant is tucked away into a courtyard and oh so charming! Food was excellent. They even give you an amuse-bouche for breakfast and a little treat of toffee when your bill comes. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant offers good and tasting ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant offers good and tasting breakfast choices. Amazing cinnamon rolls (aside from great creative egg dishes👍). They are not afraid to go beyond your basic scrabbled egg dish, etc. check out their menu and see for yourself. A must try if you are only visiting Santa Barbara. Excellent quality food and taste.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the service was w ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was wonderful. We ordered the dirty fries, lemon ricotta pancakes, and brioche French toast. Must try them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a cute place. Food was good.

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was a cute place. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was our third time to the restauran ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our third time to the restaurant. We love that it's tucked away on a courtyard behind all the hubbub of State Street. It feels private and special. Generally, we've enjoyed most of what we've had at this cute little find. But, our brunch got mixed reviews this time. My daughter always loves her fresh pretzel with mustard butter, and the fresh cinnamon rolls that they serve as an appetizer. We were disappointed in a new dish that was added to the menu a fried chicken sandwich. The portion was quite small ( more of an appetizer size) the chicken was chewy and not seasoned to our liking. The restaurant was very nice and quickly offered us a replacement dish. My husband had an excellent egg and cheese sandwich served on a freshly baked croissants. It was delicious! unfortunately he had the last one and I was not able to order the dish for myself! The last dish we tried was the Ricota cheese pancakes. They were just OK – a bit too dry for our taste. One of the standouts are the mocktails. We had a fabulous coconut milk lavender mint concoction, and two others. All fabulous. All in all we enjoyed our visit to the restaurant but would be careful what we order at our next visit and stick to our known favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have loved this restaurant since it op ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

I have loved this restaurant since it opened it's patio. However, it is feeling a little shabby lately. The food is good but a little overpriced. Our waiter put our check down while we were half way through our lunch. That didn't feel right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

slow service, under staffed. medium ok f ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

slow service, under staffed. medium ok food. ambience great, however, the need more "focused" staff peeps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The service here was pretty much non-exi ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service here was pretty much non-existent. Our waiter never even checked back with us to see how we liked the food or if there was anything else that we needed. We had to flag him down to get our check as did other customers. The food was fine tasting, but very small portions. We had really wanted to like this restaurant after reading about it, but were very disappointed with our experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We arrived ten minutes before they opene ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

We arrived ten minutes before they opened, which was also ten minutes before our reservation. No one acknowledged us, which was fine. But, as we say there right near their host station, other patrons began forming a line. when we said we had reservations, the host didn't note it, & we ended up wasting time because the restaurant and Open Table thought we no-showed. Both issues are due to poor training.

We were seated at a table that wasn't clean because it was underneath trees that had leaves and petals falling on it. They don't clean the outdoor tables before they open?

Our waiter wasn't very attentive, & acted like we were wrong to request that the cream be replaced because it had brown swirls in it. It happened again when she brought more cream, but hat time we didn't request another.

The food was delicious. We enjoyed the late summer scramble.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We were on a family trip and found this ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were on a family trip and found this restaurant on Yelp we were excited to go there and did an online reservation for breakfast so we didn't need to wait more than we had to since we were on a schedule, upon entering everything was great and we ordered . We waited a rather long time and noticed a few tables getting g their food before us and we had gotten there and ordered before they did. At this point we had our 2 kids asking why other people were getting there food and wanted to know why it was taking so long. Eventually the waitress came and said oh there was a mix up with the order tickets and your order should be out soon. No apology, just that out order should be out soon. Still waited another 10 minutes or so and finally our food arrived. I was so very disappointed!!!! I was upset that there was no apology either! I felt that because we were the only brown people that we didn't get the same service that the other Caucasian people got. We got out with our kids to dine very frequently and normally tip very generously but I do not feel that this restaurant gave us the customer service that is expected. I will not be back and will tell anyone I can NOT to go there. I really feel that we were overlooked and neglected as customers because of our color and I have never been to a restaurant that I felt that. What made it worse was the lack of an apology. Sometimes all a customer wants to hear is "sorry" and a sincere one at that! But here we didn't even get an apology! So sad that a restaurant would do this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We always enjoy the ambiance of Scarlett ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

We always enjoy the ambiance of Scarlett's. It's beautiful to eat outside. It was a VERY hot day but the patio was cool and pleasant.

The menu has some different items not found in all restaurants. Delicious.

I have enjoyed eating there many times. I was happy to see that it has enlarged and will be able to accommodate more diners…

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden little gem! What a great find - t ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Hidden little gem! What a great find - this was recommended to us by a server at another great restaurant and we're so happy we asked, "where is a great place for brunch"! Tucked in a courtyard the ambiance is very nice and quiet. The food was delicious (fantastic shrimp and grits and the brioche french toast was tasty! and the service great. I have to be honest, their version of the bloody mary did not rock my boat (maybe it's too "organic") but I still finished it. I love that it's not on the main street and doesn't feel touristy. You feel like it's your own neighborhood secret. I highly recommend it and we'll be sure to dine there again next time we're in the beautiful city of Santa Barbara.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting was lovely and the food good ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

The setting was lovely and the food good, but the service was terrible.We were told several times that they were short staffed, or "everyone had come at once," which was not true, as the place was practically empty when we arrived. It took a half hour to get two draft beers (how long does it take to pour a draft beer?) and another half hour to get four slices of French bread (for an additional $3). My husband asked that one of the heat lamps be turned on, but was told they were out of propane. We were both offered blankets, however, which my husband took and I declined. When our dinner eventually arrived (we were told the kitchen had lost our order) the food was piping hot and quite good. Fortunately, we were not in a rush (no tickets at the Vic or Granada that evening), so the long wait was merely inconvenient, but critical.

Under the circumstances, it would have been nice to be comped a dessert or a drink, but no such offer was made. I don't think either of the (only) two wait staff had the authority to make such an offer. They were apologetic, but something extra might have made us willing to come back another time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Love this place for breakfast but dinner ...

 
·Dined on October 5, 2016

Love this place for breakfast but dinner was very disappointing. The portions were small. The fish was over-cooked. The price was high. The outdoor heaters didn't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing food and atmosphere. It was funn ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. It was funny, our waitress struggled to help us differentiate between the dishes we asked about saying "both are amazing". She was exactly right. We ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes and the french toast. After we both tasted both, we knew immediately she was correct - you can't recommend one over the other. Great food and service in a great location.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was friendly but SLOW, and food ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was friendly but SLOW, and food was only mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Very crowded at breakfast. Reservations ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very crowded at breakfast. Reservations recommended. Understaffed. Food was good. Nice outdoor patio.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The location is great, and ambiance love ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The location is great, and ambiance lovely. We each had a cocktail, one was very good, the other was flat. Service was very pleasant and friendly, but the timing was off. Our wine arrived so long after our dinner plates, that it almost wasn't worth having. The food was solidly good, but a nearly $30 halibut dish had about 3oz of fish. A very tiny portion. We left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Great menu, sustainable, everything cook ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great menu, sustainable, everything cooked in sunflower oil, fresh produce, homemade lemonades. Kind service, nice outdoor space. We went for lunch and sat outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Possibly the best restaurant in town. B ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Possibly the best restaurant in town. Best brunch ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were antastic. What ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and drinks were antastic. What a perfect brunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the very creative menu. I had ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We loved the very creative menu. I had a great Kale salad with avacado. That doesn't sound special but it was. The avacado and pine nuts were blended together with the Kale. We also had the chicken oyster appetizer that was very different and very delicious. Great, friendly service. The setting is a lovely courtyard away from everything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried brunch with out-of-town friends ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We tried brunch with out-of-town friends after 3 separate recommendations to the Scarlett Begonia. We were not disappointed. It's in a lovely courtyard setting in the heart of downtown SB. The menu items were interesting and delicious. All four of us ordered different dishes and were were all happy with our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding dinner. Great service, terri ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Outstanding dinner. Great service, terrific food, wonderful courtyard. We will be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were really surprised at how poor the ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were really surprised at how poor the service was. First they forgot to bring our starter, and it went downhill from there. They took away a wine glass that had not been finished, though they were nice to bring another little bit of the wine in another glass. It was just not professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Very nice. We sat outside on the patio a ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice. We sat outside on the patio and it was very comfortable. It seemed like inside would have been rather noisy. The food was very good and so was the service. I would recommend it to friends definitely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Adorable outdoor patio dining with spect ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Adorable outdoor patio dining with spectacular brunch! We really enjoyed the Benedict, grained potatoes and flakey almond croissants. We just had coffee, but were jealous of the other tables' cocktail choices! Looked like maple bourbon, orange juice, and an entire strip of bacon! Will definitely come back to try those!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They have tables at the patio and the am ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They have tables at the patio and the ambience is great! The ricotta lemon pancakes are awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Friendly staff, a creative menu, delicio ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Friendly staff, a creative menu, delicious food, and a delightful patio. Don't miss the pretzel or the chicken oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was incredible. I was full and ...

 
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was incredible. I was full and content when we left. Definitely good eats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Must have brunch

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Three of us had brunch and couldn't have been happier unless we had more room to eat more. We are all foodies and can be picky. This place did not disappoint. The eggs were very light in both the Benedict and the scramble we had. The veggies were fresh and flavorful. Their homemade scones were flaky and delicious. The Earl Grey latte was an extra treat as was the bacon marmalade. And the staff was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Scarlett Begonia

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have eaten here twice and are impressed on all fronts. The food is amazing and has a beautiful presentation. The staff is always warm and friendly. We have a small dog so must do patio dining. The heat lamps are always set to accommodate our comfort. This restaurant has not been only about the amazing food and service. Both times we have just had a plain old great time. It is truly a find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food OK, Service Terrible

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We ate at Scarlett Begonia on a Sunday morning. It wasn't crazy busy, but it wasn't dead either when we arrived. Food was ok. The lemon ricotta pancakes were really tasty, nice lemon zip. Also ordered the eggs benedict which were disappointing. The sauce is a little heavy on the mayo or something. The big disappointment though was the service. I'm sure it was just a mistake but we waited at least 30 minutes for our food to be delivered. We watched entire tables arrive, order, eat, and leave between the time we ordered and when our food actually arrived. This is all forgivable of course if the waiter recognizes the mistake, apologizes, and makes some attempt to make it right. But there was no recognition at all of any mistakes. It was very disappointing. We left wishing we had swung by Starbucks for something quick and spent the morning by the pool instead of waiting for our breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Met a friend I had not seen in many year ...

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Met a friend I had not seen in many years for brunch. Lisa sat us at a lovely table and the chef sent out a nice plate to share before our fabulous brunch. Fresh tasty food, great service. Overall terrific experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wouldn't go back

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The hostess was snotty, rude and aggressive. She ruined the entire experience. I would not go back. Our server was lovely. Food was good but overpriced. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our last meal in Santa Barbara, so worth the trip!

 
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Friendly servers, great menu & wine list! I'm from the south & I'm here to tell u that was the best shrimp & grits ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

 
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.