Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Scarlett Begonia

Scarlett Begonia will always strive to have interesting, thoughtful food.
Menus change weekly with an innovative fresh look at breakfast and lunch and dinner. Cocktails and appetizers begin at 4:30pm Tuesday thru Saturday nights with full dinner service from 5:30pm to 9:00pm, with breakfast and lunch running 9am-2pm Tuesday thru Sunday. It is our goal to provide Santa Barbara with a restaurant that showcases progressive modern food, using sustainable, organic, high quality ingredients coupled with innovative cooking to be one of the most food-centric restaurants around.

11 W Victoria St. Ste 10
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast & Lunch

Tuesday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2143

Website:
http://www.scarlettbegonia.net/

Parking Details:
Parking is located in City Lot #5

Executive Chef:
George Murkowitz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Scarlett Begonia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Sunday Lunch (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for brunch for Father's Day. Our wait staff was excellent, and efficient, and pleasant. We tried several different entrees, and shared around. And the cocktails are delicious, too! Love Scarlett Begonia and recommend it highly to friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The location of Scarlet Begonia reminded us of cozy little restaurants we have stumbled on in Italy. Like its Italian counterparts, Scarlet Begonia has a warm ambience, a creative, delicious menu selection and charming & informed wait staff. We had a delightful, scrumptious meal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What was good: The venue is beautiful. The waiter was delightful. The cheese plate and drinks were delicious.

What was not so good: It took way too long to receive items as they were ordered. The waiter did a poor job describing the daily pasta dish, which was gluten free and simply flavorless and awful. One of our guests ordered the green goddess salad, and because she is a vegetarian, gave us her shrimp, which was flavorless and rubbery. The portions were small/not very good for the price.

The intent of this restaurant is good, but execution is poor. Fewer unique/fun items prepared well and stream lined in delivery would make a big difference. You may want to consider a plat du jour of something really yummy that enables you to move a decent portion of orders quickly to make time for the rest.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

What a pleasant place! Hidden off the street, it is a quiet, serene oasis. Menu and food were great, as was service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Scarlett Begonia for its prix fixe Easter brunch and it was delicious and fun. It had a smallish but varied buffet to supplement its entrees and bottomless mimosas, champagne, and juices. Our server was great and unfortunately I don't know her name. I always love the courtyard where we sat - it's pretty and quiet but somehow also seems lively. We'll definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch with 3 boys (aged 14, 12, 11) and 4 adults (parents). The menu was creative and the buffet of savory pastries was very good. The cinnamon rolls were to die for!!!! The Easter brunch was expensive at $55 pp (included champagne and juices). We picked up the tab and it was over $650!!!! WHOA!!!! Not exactly worth that kind of jack. Regardless, the food was very good and the service was outstanding. Cute little place with lovely owners and staff. Would hit it up again for dinner when in Santa Barbara.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a very nice brunch with fresh ingredients and creative preparations. Nice patio attentive servers and a delicious fresh squeezed orange juice Mimosa. Was a bit pricey but that's just Santa Barbara overall.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Scarlett Begonia for Easter brunch. Everything (food, service, the ambiance and the set up.....buffet for appetizers/desserts and a la carte for the entree) was excellent. It was a bit chilly that morning, so we were concerned about being outside but they brought us blankets and turned on the heat lamps. It ended up working out perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves (2 adults and 2 children, ages 10 and 13).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and great service!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We loved the indoor, outdoors options. All the dishes we ordered was explained and was happy with all the wonderful flavors. It was a joy to have mixed music off the turntable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch there recently. We brought our dog and the staff were so friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Celebrated my birthday with my out-of-town sis-in-law. Great food, service, ambience...and two mean bloody mary's!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The dinner menu is very small. Not very many choices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Absolutely amazing lunch & great attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love everything about this place but they do run out of food. Go early before they 're out of pretzels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very delicious food! We did wait quite a while to be served but overall it was a good experience. The olives were AMAZING!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Whenever we go to Santa Barbara, we always go to Scarlett Begonia. Their food and ambiance on the outdoor patio is superb. The restaurant is very quaint with a lot of charm

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We arrived right at 9am and we felt a bit awkward like we'd beaten the staff there. Lovely, gorgeous courtyard. Food was good. I think the berry compote on the ricotta pancakes was delicious but wish there had been way more of it. Found it a bit odd that the placemats were tattered, the chair twine is coming off a number of chairs, and there was a chip in my plate. All minor details though. The courtyard is so enchanting, and the food is good enough, I would make an effort to return if back in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

service isn't strong for the price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a 7:30 pm reservation last Saturday night at Scarlet Begonia. There are maybe seven entrees on the menu. They were out of the pasta and the hamburger. No, I'm not ordering the $32 Chicken and Waffles or the $19 omelet. We went next door to the Nugget.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our favorite date night spot!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I've had both breakfasts and lunches here. Quiet resonance. Elegant. Friendly. Great food and great location

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A hidden gem. Beautiful outdoor patio, wonderful food, excellent service. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food and service were perfect . The lighting in the restaurant was cool and unfriendly . Sometimes the LED lights can be a downer.It would not stop me going back but if you want to look nice for your date then this may not be the best restaurant for you

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

An amazing experience. The restaurant is tucked away into a courtyard and oh so charming! Food was excellent. They even give you an amuse-bouche for breakfast and a little treat of toffee when your bill comes. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant offers good and tasting breakfast choices. Amazing cinnamon rolls (aside from great creative egg dishes👍). They are not afraid to go beyond your basic scrabbled egg dish, etc. check out their menu and see for yourself. A must try if you are only visiting Santa Barbara. Excellent quality food and taste.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was wonderful. We ordered the dirty fries, lemon ricotta pancakes, and brioche French toast. Must try them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was a cute place. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our third time to the restaurant. We love that it's tucked away on a courtyard behind all the hubbub of State Street. It feels private and special. Generally, we've enjoyed most of what we've had at this cute little find. But, our brunch got mixed reviews this time. My daughter always loves her fresh pretzel with mustard butter, and the fresh cinnamon rolls that they serve as an appetizer. We were disappointed in a new dish that was added to the menu a fried chicken sandwich. The portion was quite small ( more of an appetizer size) the chicken was chewy and not seasoned to our liking. The restaurant was very nice and quickly offered us a replacement dish. My husband had an excellent egg and cheese sandwich served on a freshly baked croissants. It was delicious! unfortunately he had the last one and I was not able to order the dish for myself! The last dish we tried was the Ricota cheese pancakes. They were just OK – a bit too dry for our taste. One of the standouts are the mocktails. We had a fabulous coconut milk lavender mint concoction, and two others. All fabulous. All in all we enjoyed our visit to the restaurant but would be careful what we order at our next visit and stick to our known favorites!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I have loved this restaurant since it opened it's patio. However, it is feeling a little shabby lately. The food is good but a little overpriced. Our waiter put our check down while we were half way through our lunch. That didn't feel right.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

slow service, under staffed. medium ok food. ambience great, however, the need more "focused" staff peeps.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service here was pretty much non-existent. Our waiter never even checked back with us to see how we liked the food or if there was anything else that we needed. We had to flag him down to get our check as did other customers. The food was fine tasting, but very small portions. We had really wanted to like this restaurant after reading about it, but were very disappointed with our experience!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We arrived ten minutes before they opened, which was also ten minutes before our reservation. No one acknowledged us, which was fine. But, as we say there right near their host station, other patrons began forming a line. when we said we had reservations, the host didn't note it, & we ended up wasting time because the restaurant and Open Table thought we no-showed. Both issues are due to poor training.

We were seated at a table that wasn't clean because it was underneath trees that had leaves and petals falling on it. They don't clean the outdoor tables before they open?

Our waiter wasn't very attentive, & acted like we were wrong to request that the cream be replaced because it had brown swirls in it. It happened again when she brought more cream, but hat time we didn't request another.

The food was delicious. We enjoyed the late summer scramble.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were on a family trip and found this restaurant on Yelp we were excited to go there and did an online reservation for breakfast so we didn't need to wait more than we had to since we were on a schedule, upon entering everything was great and we ordered . We waited a rather long time and noticed a few tables getting g their food before us and we had gotten there and ordered before they did. At this point we had our 2 kids asking why other people were getting there food and wanted to know why it was taking so long. Eventually the waitress came and said oh there was a mix up with the order tickets and your order should be out soon. No apology, just that out order should be out soon. Still waited another 10 minutes or so and finally our food arrived. I was so very disappointed!!!! I was upset that there was no apology either! I felt that because we were the only brown people that we didn't get the same service that the other Caucasian people got. We got out with our kids to dine very frequently and normally tip very generously but I do not feel that this restaurant gave us the customer service that is expected. I will not be back and will tell anyone I can NOT to go there. I really feel that we were overlooked and neglected as customers because of our color and I have never been to a restaurant that I felt that. What made it worse was the lack of an apology. Sometimes all a customer wants to hear is "sorry" and a sincere one at that! But here we didn't even get an apology! So sad that a restaurant would do this.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We always enjoy the ambiance of Scarlett's. It's beautiful to eat outside. It was a VERY hot day but the patio was cool and pleasant.
The menu has some different items not found in all restaurants. Delicious.
I have enjoyed eating there many times. I was happy to see that it has enlarged and will be able to accommodate more diners…

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Hidden little gem! What a great find - this was recommended to us by a server at another great restaurant and we're so happy we asked, "where is a great place for brunch"! Tucked in a courtyard the ambiance is very nice and quiet. The food was delicious (fantastic shrimp and grits and the brioche french toast was tasty! and the service great. I have to be honest, their version of the bloody mary did not rock my boat (maybe it's too "organic") but I still finished it. I love that it's not on the main street and doesn't feel touristy. You feel like it's your own neighborhood secret. I highly recommend it and we'll be sure to dine there again next time we're in the beautiful city of Santa Barbara.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The setting was lovely and the food good, but the service was terrible.We were told several times that they were short staffed, or "everyone had come at once," which was not true, as the place was practically empty when we arrived. It took a half hour to get two draft beers (how long does it take to pour a draft beer?) and another half hour to get four slices of French bread (for an additional $3). My husband asked that one of the heat lamps be turned on, but was told they were out of propane. We were both offered blankets, however, which my husband took and I declined. When our dinner eventually arrived (we were told the kitchen had lost our order) the food was piping hot and quite good. Fortunately, we were not in a rush (no tickets at the Vic or Granada that evening), so the long wait was merely inconvenient, but critical.

Under the circumstances, it would have been nice to be comped a dessert or a drink, but no such offer was made. I don't think either of the (only) two wait staff had the authority to make such an offer. They were apologetic, but something extra might have made us willing to come back another time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Love this place for breakfast but dinner was very disappointing. The portions were small. The fish was over-cooked. The price was high. The outdoor heaters didn't work.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. It was funny, our waitress struggled to help us differentiate between the dishes we asked about saying "both are amazing". She was exactly right. We ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes and the french toast. After we both tasted both, we knew immediately she was correct - you can't recommend one over the other. Great food and service in a great location.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was friendly but SLOW, and food was only mediocre.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.