About Scape American Bistro

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Shimon Diamond

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy European flair, warm hospitality, impeccable service and sophisticated cuisine. Our private dining team will work with you one-on-one to personalize your exclusive event. Whether you prefer a formal plated dinner, cocktail reception or casual, laid-back BBQ in the Courtyard, you'll enjoy a great setting paired with our award winning menu.
FOUNTAIN ROOM

125 seated, 250 reception

WINE ROOM

40 seated, 60 reception
EUROPEAN COURTYARD

175 seated, 300 reception

CHEF'S TABLE

10 seated

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Debold : 3143617227x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Breakfast Burrito
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Carmelized Cauliflower
Florida Stone Crab Claws
Pan Seared Florida Black Grouper
Black & Blue Tater Tots
Crispy Rhode Island Calamari
Wimbedon French Toast
The Aristocrat
Hamachi Sashimi
Thai Chili Glazed King Salmon
Oysters
Romeo Y Julieta
avocado egg rolls
Braised Boneless Beec Short Rips Goulash
Braised Short Ribs
Salmon
The Intern & The Big Negroni
Grilled Mano de Leon Diver Scallops
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Caiparinia
Smoked Salmon Omelette
St. Georges Bank Diver Scallops
Breakfast
Belgian Waffle
Vanilla Bismarck
Chicken Sausage
Classic Eggs Benedict
Farmers Cheese Pancakes
Halibut

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
See All
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Brunch (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Scenic View (13)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best patio in the state without a doubt. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Best patio in the state without a doubt. Place was packed and service didn't suffer one bit. Trent the bar manager took care of us and the meal was exceptional. He even let us try some cocktails they are considering for their fall list. Tuna entrée is out of this world and I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking to impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. The lo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food and service were great. The local airconditioner noise was a little bit of a distraction. It was a nice evening, but the mosquito's were out. A better barrier to the adjacent building would be a plus. The airconditioner noise may not be a distraction with more people talking. We were there pretty early.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd Anniver ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd Anniversary at Scape, a place of special significance to us as that is where we got married! A quick note through Open Table was all it took let Scape know why we'd be there, and they delivered a truly exceptional evening for us!

The food and drink was just as exceptional as we come to expect. The service was as great as we've experienced in the past, but they truly went above and beyond. From the well wishes from almost every staff member, to the special menus and desserts... we were truly touched at the effort Scape put forth to help us celebrate! We can't thank them enough!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall everything was wonderful and del ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall everything was wonderful and delicious. Our only issue was that our waiter took the young adult appetizer order and did not ask the older adults for an order. He was not very "polished" for a restaurant of this caliber. But we had a great experience and would definitely recommend Scape. We will be back!

Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first visit, upon a recomme ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first visit, upon a recommendation from a friend. We went for a birthday celebration, and everything was EXCELLENT - from the service to the food to the ambiance. Wonderful experience, and we'll definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow, we got our appetizer b ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was slow, we got our appetizer before our drinks were served. Meat & Cheese Appetizer was not worth $19.00 there was barely enough for 4 people.

Food was very boring, 2 of us got the Macadamia Chicken, nothing special, tasted like fried chicken. The salad dressing on the scape salad was very tart and the salad was boring. The new pasta dish tasted like chili mac.

We were very disappointed in the meal, service staff was friendly.

We all felt like we wasted our money, each couple spent $100.00 NOT Worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Restaurant empty. Didn't have our table ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Restaurant empty. Didn't have our table ready even though they called to confirm our reservation. Menu over priced for the quality. Wouldn't recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Scape is a beautiful place. Food is de ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Scape is a beautiful place. Food is delicious. In a great location. We loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome brunch! Can't wait to go back. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Awesome brunch! Can't wait to go back. Outstanding service too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Sunday Brunch. Wonderful food ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic Sunday Brunch. Wonderful food and very good service. Both delicious and a lot of fun. Highly recommend this restaurant. Enjoy

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Scape is a delicious place for dinner or ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Scape is a delicious place for dinner or their outstanding brunch. The menu items are expertly imagined and crafted. A menu for the taste conscious palate. We always have a tough time making a decision so we end up getting things that we both want and share. The same with the brunch menu. From crepes to omelets to main brunch entree, a savory selection to choose from.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, everything was seasoned well. ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food, everything was seasoned well. Great service! Server was attentive and friendly. Thank you for a nice brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first date. I've been here a coup ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great first date. I've been here a couple times and they always seem to get better. They knew my favorite cocktail, asked me if I wanted Greg whom took care of me last time. Everyone there seems to always be in a great mood. Pace of meal was perfect. Tuna app was new and absolutely delicious. Their patio was booming, even for a warmer evening and the energy is always great. The cookie dessert is a must try and always ask for Greg he's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Scape for a special occ ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were visiting Scape for a special occasion (birthday dinner). Both the host and our server knew it was my guest's birthday and brought out a special dessert at the end of dinner. Ambiance on the patio was amazing. Food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service with personal favorite ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent service with personal favorites and suggestions offered. The food was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow considering the small n ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was slow considering the small number of occupied tables inside, but yet our entrees came out before we finished our salad, and our waiter took one of the salad plates while we were still eating! We've been customers of Scape for several years, and will come back, but tonight was not a great experience. Music was obnoxiously loud as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Wonderful dinner, as usual. We really e ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner, as usual. We really enjoy the outdoor patio when the weather is agreeable!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Scape is always good. Our bartender Tra ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Scape is always good. Our bartender Travis was awesome and definitely added to the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Scape on a weeknight, very quiet ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went to Scape on a weeknight, very quiet. I have been there multiple times over the years, most recently about 5 months ago. The ambience was the same, the host and waitress were great. However, there was a new menu, more limited than before and more expensive. Unfortunately, the food was not up to par compared to prior visits. I might go again to see if it gets back to where it was.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was a little slow but the restau ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was a little slow but the restaurant was very busy. The food was salty and not very hot or fresh. The biscuits with the biscuits and gravy were very dry and hard.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a great time enjoying a birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great time enjoying a birthday brunch at Scape. This was our first time having brunch here after a couple of great dinner experiences. The food and service were great and the Bloody Mary bar was just what you need on a rainy Sunday morning!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time to the Central West End and t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time to the Central West End and to Scape. The place is beautiful, Greg our server top notch and the food was excellent. Make sure to try the shrimp and grits and the halibut entrée. Great energy in the room and very busy place. Looking forward to trying their new concept scapegoat. Our server did a great job telling us about it and even walked us over to the space. It really seems like they teach the basics which has been forgotten in the city great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The banana cream pie is amazing. Make su ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The banana cream pie is amazing. Make sure to leave room for it. The tagliatelle was very good, al dente and not too salty. Quiet enough for conversation, and great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great vibe and patio is best ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food, great vibe and patio is best I've seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for dinner because we've heard ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Came here for dinner because we've heard so much about it from the Dave Glover Show (97.1FM). The location is great and easy to get to, glad they had valet parking. The place has a really cool vibe and the atmosphere is great. We were seated outside and I love he courtyard feel. Our server, Joe asked if we were out for a quick bite or a more relaxed evening, when we told him we had all evening for diner he did not seem upset that we would be there for a while. the pace of diner was good and we did not feel rushed. We ordered a bottle of wine that I'd seen on the online wine list but they didn't have it in house but another wine was suggested and proved to be just as good. We ordered the carpacio carne asada and really like the spicy twist to one of my favorite apps. I ordered the tagliatelle and it was delicious, my boyfriend ordered the lamb special and he loved it as well. We finished our dinner with the chocolate chip dessert and it was great. Overall I like this spot, they really seemed to get busy at about 7:30 and there were times I didn't see any wait staff on the floor which leads me to believe the kitchen had gotten a little backed up. Our server seemed to disappear a few times, didn't refill our wine glasses and we had to ask for water refills a couple of times.

Nice atmosphere, great location, really good food, we will be back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had an excellent meal at Scape. John ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had an excellent meal at Scape. John was an excellent server and everything we ordered was delicious. I had the scallops which were prepared perfectly and everything on the plate was delicious! It was my boyfriend's birthday and was a great place to celebrate!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate in the outside courtyard. It was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We ate in the outside courtyard. It was pleasant. Both of us had fish for dinner. Each entrée was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner date before concert at the Fox. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Dinner date before concert at the Fox. Had the filet and date had fish and chips. Patio is beautiful and service was great. Travis was very kind and attentive. Filet cooked perfectly paired with a 4 Hands beer which was perfect for weather. They moved at our pace since we had a show to attend. I strongly suggest the cookie dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting from Texas and had dinn ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were visiting from Texas and had dinner at Scape. From the moment we walked in, the experience was wonderful. Our server was Nancy and she was excellent. She was training a new server and so we got two for the price of one. Our food was outstanding. My halibut was melt in your mouth fantastic and the shrimp cocktail were huge and delicious. Finishing off with the banana cream pie was a great choice-it was delicious as well. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five of us went for dinner to celebrate ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Five of us went for dinner to celebrate our mother's 81st birthday. There appeared to be only one waiter serving the few tables that were booked that night and he was training a new waitress. Service was very poor throughout the entire meal with extremely long waits for him to come to our table. A few times we actually had to find him to be waited on. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Perfect patio weather… Music choice coul ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Perfect patio weather… Music choice could be better through the speakers but they also had live music later in the evening. Service was great, pork pasta dish was hot and delicious. They had a nice bottle list and a promotion for half off select bottles. Great night !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went on a date and it was her first time ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went on a date and it was her first time here. She loved the Nothing Fight signature cocktail. The service was great and we ended up getting a nice bottle of wine half off because of the Tuesday special on select bottles. In addition to that, we had dessert outside and listened to live music. It was a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our first time to Scape and unfortunatel ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our first time to Scape and unfortunately we were sadly disappointed. We were seated on time on a Tueasday night and there were only 4 other tables of guests. The manager who seated us was the one who got our water and offered to open the wine that we brought. He only decanted half the bottle which showed lack of knowledge of wine. We were not offered a cocktail and he left the table before asking if he should pour us each a glass of wine. This might have been okay except that our waiter didn't make it to our table for 10 minutes. We finally poured our own wine which we did for most of our meal. After we ordered we noticed what looked like off menu items listed on a wall but our waiter didn't talk about them. Our orders took a long time to arrive and were not served by our waiter. He also did not come by to ask us how are meals were. My fish was good but our mashed potatoes were cold. We were on a time crunch with no site of our waiter so we ate our meals as they were. We sat for a long time with empty plates before another waiter came to clear them. We paid our bill - including the corkage fee for the wine that our waiter didn't open and we poured ourselves. After, we did speak with the manager and told him everything that I have added here. The attempted to return our money and also included a gift card. We left both on the table as that was not the intention of our complaint. We had high expectations but will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Too expensive for what you get - 35.00 ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Too expensive for what you get - 35.00 for 3 scallops thrown on a plate and half of plate was empty ???

Every thing was good but the plating was

Un inspired and we felt ripped off :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Scape is the most consistent restaurant ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Scape is the most consistent restaurant - Always Great Food and Always Great Service! It's a place I go back to again and again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and atmosphere! We ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere! Went outside after to the patio on a Tuesday night and the music was fab!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of seven came for brunch. The ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our group of seven came for brunch. The menu was extensive and imaginative. Special requests and substitutions were no problem. Everyone thought the food was terrific and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Live music on patio was awe ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food. Live music on patio was awesome. Shrimp and Grits have been around forever here and so good. Hostess Gina was so polite and wished me happy bday. She's very proud of the place. Patio is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Greg was wonderful! He was s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server Greg was wonderful! He was so pleasant, new his stuff, and went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine list was great. Food was ok at bes ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wine list was great. Food was ok at best. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.