About Scape American Bistro

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy European flair, warm hospitality, impeccable service and sophisticated cuisine. Our private dining team will work with you one-on-one to personalize your exclusive event. Whether you prefer a formal plated dinner, cocktail reception or casual, laid-back BBQ in the Courtyard, you'll enjoy a great setting paired with our award winning menu.
FOUNTAIN ROOM

125 seated, 250 reception

WINE ROOM

40 seated, 60 reception
EUROPEAN COURTYARD

175 seated, 300 reception

CHEF'S TABLE

10 seated

Private Party Contact:
privatedining@scapestl.com: 3143616944x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Breakfast Burrito - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Ahi Tuna Tacos - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Carmelized Cauliflower - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Florida Stone Crab Claws - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Pan Seared Florida Black Grouper - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Black & Blue Tater Tots - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Crispy Rhode Island Calamari - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Wimbedon French Toast - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
The Aristocrat - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Hamachi Sashimi - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Thai Chili Glazed King Salmon - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Oysters - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Romeo Y Julieta - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
avocado egg rolls - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Braised Boneless Beec Short Rips Goulash - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Braised Short Ribs - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Salmon - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
The Intern & The Big Negroni - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Grilled Mano de Leon Diver Scallops - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
BBQ Shrimp and Grits - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Caiparinia - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Smoked Salmon Omelette - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
St. Georges Bank Diver Scallops - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Breakfast - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Belgian Waffle - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Vanilla Bismarck - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Chicken Sausage - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Classic Eggs Benedict - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Farmers Cheese Pancakes - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Halibut - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Central West End ›

Special Occasion (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Fun (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The night was chilly and the diners were ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

The night was chilly and the diners were sparse. Our server was a delightful young gal. We enjoyed her attention and joyfulness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, good food, but pricey. Only ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place, good food, but pricey. Only go about once a year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall we were very happy with our expe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall we were very happy with our experience. The food was excellent as was the service. Scape is one of our favorites and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great service! Excellent mus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food! Great service! Excellent music!

It is great for romantic dates, special ocasions and looking to get some good food for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. Thanksgiving dinner but t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing. Thanksgiving dinner but they ran out of white meat-2 hours before we arrived. Out of other food too. Stuffing was soggy. Tenderloin over cooked. Ham cold-not lukewarm but cold. $45 a person for this! And nothing offered to make up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

we had a 4:30pm reserevation on Thanksgi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we had a 4:30pm reserevation on Thanksgiving day, the raw bar was wonerdul then it was all down hill from that point. you ran out of turkey! on thanksgiving day!!! and the tenerloin was not and on the grill vs a roast. By the time we got to the desert bar most was also gone. we will not return and we will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Scape was an excellent to way to spend t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Scape was an excellent to way to spend the Thanksgiving holiday. The food was phenomenal and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

thanksgiving EXPERIENCE WAS WAY BEYOND O ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

thanksgiving EXPERIENCE WAS WAY BEYOND OUR EXPECTATIONS

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the prices I would expect the food t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

For the prices I would expect the food to be great. The food was very disappointing. The decor is pretty. But it was dead and quiet inside.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was okay. A $16.00 burger shoul ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was okay. A $16.00 burger should be cooked to perfection which was not the case. I felt the portions were a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great cocktails and wine list. Sea Bass ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great cocktails and wine list. Sea Bass is a must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was prompt and on point, as alwa ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was prompt and on point, as always. We were there for "date night" and Scape came through with flying colors! On this night, whether it was the burger with (delicious) truffle fries, or chef's sea bass special, we left with our respective expectations perfectly fulfilled. Bravo!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Biscuits and gravy were gross. Tasted li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Biscuits and gravy were gross. Tasted like they put sugar either in the biscuits or the gravy which ruined it. Also my food came out super fast, like within five minutes which tells you that it was probably sitting around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Pre movie dinner at Scape was great. Tol ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Pre movie dinner at Scape was great. Told host we. Refer to be out in an hour so we could attend show. Not only did they make that happen, the food and service and treatment was five stars! Chelsi was so sweet and passionate about working for Scape. The Chilean Sea Bass was amazing and the banana cream pie didn't disappoint. Fun place, tons of energy and you can determine your pace. Check it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, and so was our waiter, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was amazing, and so was our waiter, Greg. We highly recommend him for server!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful weather, amazing patio, perfec ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful weather, amazing patio, perfect music and great company. Had a pitcher of Bellini's and it was the best one since I was in NOLA. Had the eggs Benedict and it was delicious. The server indicated that "Emmie" just made the hollandaise from scratch and it was yummy. The patio was completely full and the view is breathtaking. Definitely a place where I could see and a large group of friends being lazy on a Sunday with the elite of STL. Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a lovely, leisurely Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a lovely, leisurely Sunday brunch. The food - French toast, spinach omelet & breakfast burrito- was delicious, and we had great service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a new waiter. Drinks and appetize ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a new waiter. Drinks and appetizers came out in reasonable time. Entrees took forever. He kept apologizing but not handling it very well, for instance bringing more bread or asking if we'd like more drinks. We felt abandoned for much of that time. I have sympathy for a new waiter but management should have stepped in to help the situation. We were given parking voucher when we left but it did not work. Food was great once we were served. Had to ask for forks and steak knives for entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Beautiful main and outdoor dining. Frie ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful main and outdoor dining. Friendly staff. Waited an hour and a half for our food. They took one of the entrees off our bill because the kitchen was so backed up without us asking. That was nice. My filet was delicious but the mushrooms and asparagus were cold, not meant to be. The bathrooms were out of toilet paper when we left, around 9:30. And there were paper towels all over the floor. Always heard you can tell how well a restaurant is managed by the cleanliness of the bathroom. Would go back for the atmosphere though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

the garden is wonderful. ivy on the wall ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

the garden is wonderful. ivy on the wall, lights strewn across the patio, lots of space. food is creative and delicious. they don't rush you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My cousin recommended this restaurant an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My cousin recommended this restaurant and so did our St. Louis friends who joined us for dinner. We had a super visit and an outstanding meal. Our waiter Mike made the meal even more special by being so attentive and accommodating. He even brought me a lemon sorbet (not on the menu) for dessert when I exclaimed that there was nothing for dessert for dairy allergy diners. I highly recommend this restaurant to locals and visitors.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had no idea they had such a beautiful pa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Had no idea they had such a beautiful patio. Huge tv's and breathtaking view of the hotel. Had a great bottle of Neal Cab, suggested by the manager Jeff paired with a large cut of ribeye. My guests all had seafood and we shared a meat and cheese board. A perfect place to impress someone. Going back for sure..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside and there were crowds of ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We sat outside and there were crowds of unruly kids at the fountain. Food was just ok. Menu was interesting but limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great menu-nice wine list. Service was a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great menu-nice wine list. Service was a bit rushed, maybe because it was not busy on a thrs night- not sure why? Would have been nice to have more time to linger or enjoy our conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

First visit to Scape for a Sunday brunch ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

First visit to Scape for a Sunday brunch. Food was fantastic with lots of interesting choices. The beignets are incredible! Even the coffee was good!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely brunch. Our server was very nic ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

A lovely brunch. Our server was very nice, and efficient. The food came quickly and was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Scape for brunch on my girlfrien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went to Scape for brunch on my girlfriends birthday. The host/hostess stand staff was excellent. Very warm, welcoming and attentive to our needs. Our server started out on a really good note, but then disappeared for a really long period. Thus the 4 stars on service instead of 5. Great cocktails and the food was excellent as well. Good ambience and lots of happy, friendly people as patrons of this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Incredible interior decor with an unbeli ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Incredible interior decor with an unbelievable outdoor patio surrounded by a 2 story wall of ivy!

Food and service are A++

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor and atmosphere was very pleasa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The decor and atmosphere was very pleasant. While we dined inside it has a very nice patio area in the back. There is raised seating around the main seating area. The bread was very fresh and warm. We had a dozen east coast oysters, they were good but small, the only complaint here was the horseradish was not that strong. The gazpacho was excellent so was the Scape salad, which was a good sized portion. For entrees we had the daily catch which was ahai tuna, prepared perfectly and the second entree was the scallops, again excellent preparation and presentation with all items. The restaurant also has a nice wind selection. I recommend for a nice meal and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great atmosphere, really cool space. Wa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great atmosphere, really cool space. Wanted the patio but weather didn't allow it. Sat inside on Glover wall and they didn't disappoint. The manager Geoff brought over the burger they talked about on radio today. What a great place and people watching is the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best patio in the state without a doubt. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Best patio in the state without a doubt. Place was packed and service didn't suffer one bit. Trent the bar manager took care of us and the meal was exceptional. He even let us try some cocktails they are considering for their fall list. Tuna entrée is out of this world and I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking to impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. The lo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food and service were great. The local airconditioner noise was a little bit of a distraction. It was a nice evening, but the mosquito's were out. A better barrier to the adjacent building would be a plus. The airconditioner noise may not be a distraction with more people talking. We were there pretty early.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd Anniver ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd Anniversary at Scape, a place of special significance to us as that is where we got married! A quick note through Open Table was all it took let Scape know why we'd be there, and they delivered a truly exceptional evening for us!

The food and drink was just as exceptional as we come to expect. The service was as great as we've experienced in the past, but they truly went above and beyond. From the well wishes from almost every staff member, to the special menus and desserts... we were truly touched at the effort Scape put forth to help us celebrate! We can't thank them enough!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall everything was wonderful and del ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall everything was wonderful and delicious. Our only issue was that our waiter took the young adult appetizer order and did not ask the older adults for an order. He was not very "polished" for a restaurant of this caliber. But we had a great experience and would definitely recommend Scape. We will be back!

Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first visit, upon a recomme ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first visit, upon a recommendation from a friend. We went for a birthday celebration, and everything was EXCELLENT - from the service to the food to the ambiance. Wonderful experience, and we'll definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow, we got our appetizer b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was slow, we got our appetizer before our drinks were served. Meat & Cheese Appetizer was not worth $19.00 there was barely enough for 4 people.

Food was very boring, 2 of us got the Macadamia Chicken, nothing special, tasted like fried chicken. The salad dressing on the scape salad was very tart and the salad was boring. The new pasta dish tasted like chili mac.

We were very disappointed in the meal, service staff was friendly.

We all felt like we wasted our money, each couple spent $100.00 NOT Worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Restaurant empty. Didn't have our table ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Restaurant empty. Didn't have our table ready even though they called to confirm our reservation. Menu over priced for the quality. Wouldn't recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Scape is a beautiful place. Food is de ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Scape is a beautiful place. Food is delicious. In a great location. We loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome brunch! Can't wait to go back. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Awesome brunch! Can't wait to go back. Outstanding service too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Sunday Brunch. Wonderful food ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic Sunday Brunch. Wonderful food and very good service. Both delicious and a lot of fun. Highly recommend this restaurant. Enjoy

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.