About Scape American Bistro

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Shimon Diamond

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy European flair, warm hospitality, impeccable service and sophisticated cuisine. Our private dining team will work with you one-on-one to personalize your exclusive event. Whether you prefer a formal plated dinner, cocktail reception or casual, laid-back BBQ in the Courtyard, you'll enjoy a great setting paired with our award winning menu.
FOUNTAIN ROOM

125 seated, 250 reception

WINE ROOM

40 seated, 60 reception
EUROPEAN COURTYARD

175 seated, 300 reception

CHEF'S TABLE

10 seated

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Debold : 3143617227x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Black & Blue Tater Tots
Crispy Rhode Island Calamari
Breakfast Burrito
Carmelized Cauliflower
Pan Seared Florida Black Grouper
Florida Stone Crab Claws
Wimbedon French Toast
Hamachi Sashimi
The Aristocrat
Thai Chili Glazed King Salmon
Oysters
Romeo Y Julieta
avocado egg rolls
Braised Boneless Beec Short Rips Goulash
Braised Short Ribs
Salmon
Grilled Mano de Leon Diver Scallops
The Intern & The Big Negroni
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Smoked Salmon Omelette
Caiparinia
St. Georges Bank Diver Scallops
Breakfast
Belgian Waffle
Vanilla Bismarck
Chicken Sausage
Classic Eggs Benedict
Halibut
Farmers Cheese Pancakes

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
St. Louis
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Central West End ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (40)
great for outdoor dining (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
fit for foodies (36)
great for brunch (33)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (26)
notable wine list (16)
vibrant bar scene (11)
scenic view (9)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our group of seven came for brunch. The ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our group of seven came for brunch. The menu was extensive and imaginative. Special requests and substitutions were no problem. Everyone thought the food was terrific and the service was exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Live music on patio was awe ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Live music on patio was awesome. Shrimp and Grits have been around forever here and so good. Hostess Gina was so polite and wished me happy bday. She's very proud of the place. Patio is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Greg was wonderful! He was s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Greg was wonderful! He was so pleasant, new his stuff, and went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine list was great. Food was ok at bes ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wine list was great. Food was ok at best. Service was fantastic.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Place was rocking! Wedding on their pat ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Place was rocking! Wedding on their patio and new bar was busy too. The general manager remembered my name from my last visit. They have stepped up their game at Scape!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal overall. Beautiful view, gre ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal overall. Beautiful view, great people watching. Two large groups of beautiful women.. They must take great care of special occasions. I had the Ribeye with a really cool Latin sauce and my date had the Halibut. Both were perfectly portioned and our server (Joe) chose a terrific red blend for me and an American un-oaked chardonnay for my date. Music was upbeat and place was pretty busy, My ice cream was a bit melted when it came to the table but overall I would definitely go back and soon. The manager (Jeff) offered us a tour of the new place next door and a nightcap. People don't do that anymore and made me look good to my date. Thanks again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great atmosphere. Our ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fantastic food and great atmosphere. Our server worked to make me a great martini to specs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definite improvement from my last visit ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Definite improvement from my last visit about a year ago. Tentative staff, great food with interesting variety. Managers visible and engaged with the staff. Looking forward to a visit sooner then later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers were really good. We had the ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Appetizers were really good. We had the smoked chicken flatbread pizza. Caesar salad was good too. Our entrees were a different story. I had ordered the filet which was made 3 times none of which were right. Finally gave up and asked for the check. Our server did a good job though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

I rarely write reviews, but the recent e ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I rarely write reviews, but the recent experience at Scape necessitates one. The waiter was rude, and did not offer drink refills. He avoided eye contact, so our only recourse was to yell to get his attention. The food was so cold that it would be hard to rate it's flavor. It seemed like it had been prepared the previous night. I understand that there had been a recent change in management, and the current management does not seem to be able to deliver either good food or good service. They have lost me as a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Incredible atmosphere inside and out! T ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Incredible atmosphere inside and out! This place has the most beautiful patio/garden of any restaurant in St. Louis. Period! To top it off, the food was outstanding and the service is 2nd to NONE! The staff remembers your name and addresses you by Mr. & Mrs (fill in your last name here)! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the fillet. It was very tasty just ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I had the fillet. It was very tasty just a little bit too salty for me. I am a somewhat lower salt person.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed another great dinner at Scape. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Enjoyed another great dinner at Scape. The food was absolutely amazing, with large portions, memorable sauces, and beautiful presentations. The restaurant got busy and our server lost track of us a bit, but that was somewhat understandable. Highly recommend for food lovers. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

While the wine and ambiance were wonderf ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

While the wine and ambiance were wonderful and the service was good, I was very disappointed in the food. I ordered oysters and cheese plate and was disappointed by both. The oysters were very fishy to the point where we were afraid to eat them. The cheese plate lacked substance for its price.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Highest priced wine of comp restaurants ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Highest priced wine of comp restaurants - Napoli, Crossing etc.

Nice bar - but makes the place very noisy.

Very nice patio.

Waitress couldn't pronounce names of dishes correctly.

Food only so-so.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Staff was awesome even when we arrived c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Staff was awesome even when we arrived close to closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only complaint was the kitchen closed at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Only complaint was the kitchen closed at 2 and I was allowed to reserve for 2pm. We were still accommodated.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had Sunday brunch. The food was good ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had Sunday brunch. The food was good (but a little pricey). The service was very, very slow; we waited almost an hour for our food and it was cold when we got it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

I love Scape, especially their Sunday Br ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Scape, especially their Sunday Brunch with mimosas! Patio is also fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We eat here for brunch often! We love th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We eat here for brunch often! We love the food and Fhil is a fantastic server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a great go-to restaurant. You c ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great go-to restaurant. You can always count on excellent food and service! My only criticism is true to our past experiences, their martinis were not filled to the top of the martini glass and the wine seemed very meager as well. This happens every time we go. :(

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

terrible

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Unfriendly host, average food, food not as described on menu, slow service, terrible music playing, stale dessert. Way overpriced. Had to ask for wine/cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food for 3 of us was a ok. One of u ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food for 3 of us was a ok. One of us had a steak that was inedible. Instead of taking two vodka gimlets back to sweeten, the waiter brought out a plastic squirt bottle with simple syrup, twice! Very expensive night for so much disappointment:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I don't think Dawn liked us.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I got cut off above...My one friend did complain a little but It didn't seem like she liked us right from the start

I did like the food, and the silverware and my wine was yummy. She thought her burger was over cooked and didn't eat more than a few bites and Dawn never said was everything OK? She just took her full plate away.

We did get a complimentary birthday cake for my friend and that was delicious. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Amazing!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love the brunch!! I go often for brunch and am never disappointed in the food. The Farmer's Pancakes are my favorite and I crave them like crazy!

I would have liked for the back patio to be opened this past weekend for more outdoor seating. Our server was good but when we asked for another round of drinks he brought us our bill.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delish!!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had guests in town and they wanted to go somewhere nice for dinner. With the new Executive Chef, I decided to try Scape. WOW. Everything from start to finish was excellent. Service was great and the food was outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is average for the price . The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is average for the price . The atmosphere is great . Was hoping for a better tasting meal .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Sea Scallops were amazing! Beautiful eve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Sea Scallops were amazing! Beautiful evening on the patio.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have visited this restaurant numerous ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I have visited this restaurant numerous times and we loved it.. This time the food was not quite as good and we were very disappointed. The service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

There's really nothing special about the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

There's really nothing special about the place. It's very standard, nice-ish American food that is rather over-priced considering how uninteresting it is.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Always a great choice for Sunday brunch!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a great choice for Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Fantastic bloody mary bar. Beignets were a bonus, and excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delivered as promised

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I was visiting my parents a week after Mother's Day and wanted to treat her and my family to a nice brunch. Scape got high marks for brunch and didn't disappoint. The setting is nice, tucked into store fronts facing an elegant residential area. Brunch options were vast and a few unusual choices too which is good for those that frequently dine outside the home. All in all a very nice experience.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating this evening. We ord ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were celebrating this evening. We ordered the scape board, the scallops, and the chicken. The scape board had a good variety. The peppered jelly and pickled onions made for a yummy combo! The scallops were seared perfectly although there were only three on the plate- I would have liked more. However, it left plenty of room for dessert. We ordered the banana cream pie with a nutter butter crust. It was more of a tart, but it did NOT disappoint. Our waiter was super helpful as we had to transition from the patio inside, and was very honest about the food. He asked questions about my personal taste preference compared to what he tended to order. Overall, it was a great night!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my "go to place" when I have out ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is my "go to place" when I have out of town guests.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

brunch

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Checked the website before I made the reservation and it didn't state buffet for Mother's Day. Wasn't expecting the buffet and didn't think it was worth $60/person.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Scape was one of our favorites restaurants last year. The ambience outside is wonderful. The food and service were not as good as last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Saturday 5:30pm

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Love it. Food was great. Service was friendly fast. Wine list good. Atmosphere romantic. Enjoyed the date dinner very much :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Save your money, and eat some where better

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Just because a place has high prices for their food, doesn't mean it's good. I would never crave nor recommend someone to come to Scape. Not one dish stuck out to me, and I tried 5 different dishes. We had the scallops, monkfish and chips, the salmon, the macadamia nut chicken, and the kampachi semi crudo app, as well as the Brussel sprouts. Nothing was good, I would say it tasted below mediocre. So bland, not creative in flavor, and just boring. Not one person liked their food at my table.

I truly wanted to love this place, I can't stress that enough. Heard good things about it, and was extremely disappointed. Maybe this place is just known more for its brunch rather than dinner???

Now, I'm not from St. Louis, I'm from LA where I've had some of the best of the best. So, honestly maybe I'm spoiled. But realistically good food is good food no matter where you are. And this sadly wasn't even close to being good.

-also why are you playing bad 90's Rock at dinner? The atmosphere doesn't make sense. They have a mirror podium with a menu written on it...that isn't even their menu with euro prices? (Not that any of this matters when it comes to food, I just felt like this restaurant didn't know who they were. No sense of identity)

Long story short, just go to Taste if you want delicious food worth some money, with an amazing atmosphere. The whole experience is delicious.

**also, I will give Scape the benefit of the doubt... I believe they're hiring several new chefs. So hopefully they will give this place a new identity of flavor as well as creativity.**

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Awesome all around

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints... Everything from the food & beverage to the service and ambiance is top notch. Great for dates, get-togethers with friends, and special occasions. A real class act.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.