About Scape American Bistro

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Shimon Diamond

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy European flair, warm hospitality, impeccable service and sophisticated cuisine. Our private dining team will work with you one-on-one to personalize your exclusive event. Whether you prefer a formal plated dinner, cocktail reception or casual, laid-back BBQ in the Courtyard, you'll enjoy a great setting paired with our award winning menu.
FOUNTAIN ROOM

125 seated, 250 reception

WINE ROOM

40 seated, 60 reception
EUROPEAN COURTYARD

175 seated, 300 reception

CHEF'S TABLE

10 seated

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Debold : 3143617227x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Ahi Tuna Tacos
Black & Blue Tater Tots
Crispy Rhode Island Calamari
Breakfast Burrito
Carmelized Cauliflower
Pan Seared Florida Black Grouper
Florida Stone Crab Claws
Wimbedon French Toast
Hamachi Sashimi
The Aristocrat
Thai Chili Glazed King Salmon
Oysters
Romeo Y Julieta
avocado egg rolls
Braised Boneless Beec Short Rips Goulash
Braised Short Ribs
Salmon
Grilled Mano de Leon Diver Scallops
The Intern & The Big Negroni
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Smoked Salmon Omelette
Caiparinia
St. Georges Bank Diver Scallops
Breakfast
Belgian Waffle
Vanilla Bismarck
Chicken Sausage
Classic Eggs Benedict
Halibut
Farmers Cheese Pancakes

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (52)
romantic (41)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
great for brunch (36)
great for outdoor dining (35)
neighborhood gem (34)
good for groups (28)
hot spot (23)
notable wine list (15)
great for lunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Highest priced wine of comp restaurants ...

Dined 4 days ago

Highest priced wine of comp restaurants - Napoli, Crossing etc. Nice bar - but makes the place very noisy. Very nice patio. Waitress couldn't pronounce names of dishes correctly. Food only so-so.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was awesome even when we arrived c ...

Dined 6 days ago

Staff was awesome even when we arrived close to closing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Only complaint was the kitchen closed at ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Only complaint was the kitchen closed at 2 and I was allowed to reserve for 2pm. We were still accommodated.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had Sunday brunch. The food was good ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had Sunday brunch. The food was good (but a little pricey). The service was very, very slow; we waited almost an hour for our food and it was cold when we got it.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I love Scape, especially their Sunday Br ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Scape, especially their Sunday Brunch with mimosas! Patio is also fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We eat here for brunch often! We love th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We eat here for brunch often! We love the food and Fhil is a fantastic server!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great go-to restaurant. You c ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great go-to restaurant. You can always count on excellent food and service! My only criticism is true to our past experiences, their martinis were not filled to the top of the martini glass and the wine seemed very meager as well. This happens every time we go. :(

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

terrible

Dined on June 11, 2016

Unfriendly host, average food, food not as described on menu, slow service, terrible music playing, stale dessert. Way overpriced. Had to ask for wine/cocktail menu.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food for 3 of us was a ok. One of u ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food for 3 of us was a ok. One of us had a steak that was inedible. Instead of taking two vodka gimlets back to sweeten, the waiter brought out a plastic squirt bottle with simple syrup, twice! Very expensive night for so much disappointment:(

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I don't think Dawn liked us.

Dined on June 7, 2016

I got cut off above...My one friend did complain a little but It didn't seem like she liked us right from the start I did like the food, and the silverware and my wine was yummy. She thought her burger was over cooked and didn't eat more than a few bites and Dawn never said was everything OK? She just took her full plate away. We did get a complimentary birthday cake for my friend and that was delicious. Thank you

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Love the brunch!! I go often for brunch and am never disappointed in the food. The Farmer's Pancakes are my favorite and I crave them like crazy! I would have liked for the back patio to be opened this past weekend for more outdoor seating. Our server was good but when we asked for another round of drinks he brought us our bill.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Delish!!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

I had guests in town and they wanted to go somewhere nice for dinner. With the new Executive Chef, I decided to try Scape. WOW. Everything from start to finish was excellent. Service was great and the food was outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

The food is average for the price . The ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is average for the price . The atmosphere is great . Was hoping for a better tasting meal .

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sea Scallops were amazing! Beautiful eve ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Sea Scallops were amazing! Beautiful evening on the patio.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I have visited this restaurant numerous ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I have visited this restaurant numerous times and we loved it.. This time the food was not quite as good and we were very disappointed. The service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

There's really nothing special about the ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

There's really nothing special about the place. It's very standard, nice-ish American food that is rather over-priced considering how uninteresting it is.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great choice for Sunday brunch!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a great choice for Sunday brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fantastic bloody mary bar. Beignets were a bonus, and excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delivered as promised

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I was visiting my parents a week after Mother's Day and wanted to treat her and my family to a nice brunch. Scape got high marks for brunch and didn't disappoint. The setting is nice, tucked into store fronts facing an elegant residential area. Brunch options were vast and a few unusual choices too which is good for those that frequently dine outside the home. All in all a very nice experience.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating this evening. We ord ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were celebrating this evening. We ordered the scape board, the scallops, and the chicken. The scape board had a good variety. The peppered jelly and pickled onions made for a yummy combo! The scallops were seared perfectly although there were only three on the plate- I would have liked more. However, it left plenty of room for dessert. We ordered the banana cream pie with a nutter butter crust. It was more of a tart, but it did NOT disappoint. Our waiter was super helpful as we had to transition from the patio inside, and was very honest about the food. He asked questions about my personal taste preference compared to what he tended to order. Overall, it was a great night!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is my "go to place" when I have out ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is my "go to place" when I have out of town guests.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Checked the website before I made the reservation and it didn't state buffet for Mother's Day. Wasn't expecting the buffet and didn't think it was worth $60/person.

Tags: hot spot
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Disappointed.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Scape was one of our favorites restaurants last year. The ambience outside is wonderful. The food and service were not as good as last year.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Saturday 5:30pm

Dined on May 7, 2016

Love it. Food was great. Service was friendly fast. Wine list good. Atmosphere romantic. Enjoyed the date dinner very much :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Save your money, and eat some where better

Dined on May 6, 2016

Just because a place has high prices for their food, doesn't mean it's good. I would never crave nor recommend someone to come to Scape. Not one dish stuck out to me, and I tried 5 different dishes. We had the scallops, monkfish and chips, the salmon, the macadamia nut chicken, and the kampachi semi crudo app, as well as the Brussel sprouts. Nothing was good, I would say it tasted below mediocre. So bland, not creative in flavor, and just boring. Not one person liked their food at my table. I truly wanted to love this place, I can't stress that enough. Heard good things about it, and was extremely disappointed. Maybe this place is just known more for its brunch rather than dinner??? Now, I'm not from St. Louis, I'm from LA where I've had some of the best of the best. So, honestly maybe I'm spoiled. But realistically good food is good food no matter where you are. And this sadly wasn't even close to being good. -also why are you playing bad 90's Rock at dinner? The atmosphere doesn't make sense. They have a mirror podium with a menu written on it...that isn't even their menu with euro prices? (Not that any of this matters when it comes to food, I just felt like this restaurant didn't know who they were. No sense of identity) Long story short, just go to Taste if you want delicious food worth some money, with an amazing atmosphere. The whole experience is delicious. **also, I will give Scape the benefit of the doubt... I believe they're hiring several new chefs. So hopefully they will give this place a new identity of flavor as well as creativity.**

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome all around

Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints... Everything from the food & beverage to the service and ambiance is top notch. Great for dates, get-togethers with friends, and special occasions. A real class act.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Average bistro food but at a high end pr ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Average bistro food but at a high end price. Got the Caesar salad, ribeye and banana cream pie. Loved the croutons, the ribeye with the chimichurri sauce, the wild mushrooms and the crust for the banana cream pie tasted like a peanut butter cookie which fit well. I could tell that they were good ingredients but a bit to pricey for what it was for me. Glad I got to go though. Place looked nice, although I was extremely cold the entire time.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

inconsistent food

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have been to Scape 8-10 times. Half the time the food is good. The other half of the time it is quite mediocre and therefore overpriced. This last time I had the 'halibut that's much like sea bass' that was very overcooked to the point that i couldn't cut it with a fork, and tasteless as well. My wife had the porchetta that was also overcooked and very fatty.

food4
ambience4
service5

We were visiting St. Louis and was surpr ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were visiting St. Louis and was surprised that they had a vibrant food scene scape was one of several during our visit. Frankly this restaurant would be successful in any other major metropolis in the US

food5
ambience5
service3

The waiter was awfully touchy, both to t ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The waiter was awfully touchy, both to the man and the women. We'll definitely go back, the food was awesome and reasonably priced but will be requesting a different waiter/waitress.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Bad service and bad food

Dined on April 17, 2016

I have been to this restaurant on another occasion it was excellent. This past Saturday. The service was terrible and the food was bland,not what I expected for the price. We were told the kitchen was backed up. We were there for 2 hours before our meal was served! We will never return

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. Veal bone marrow appetiz ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Fantastic meal. Veal bone marrow appetizer left me wanting to chew that thing all night. Delicious lamb chops, tender diver scallops, and the Nutter Butter bananna cream pie...the caramelized banannas on top were still warm...definitely worth many return visits.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a perfect place for brunch. Ever ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a perfect place for brunch. Everything was excellent!

food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Easter Brunch a Huge Disappointment

Dined on March 27, 2016

For $50 a head I was expecting more than a seat in the lower level and having to walk up and down a flight of stairs for food. The buffet was extremely limited and they had a hard time keeping what few offerings they had well stocked. Only bread option was bagel. Will never go there for special occasion again. I have dined there for dinner before and it was great. The lower level is fine except not for a buffet that is served on the floor above.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Brunch Fan

Dined on March 27, 2016

As usual, Easter Brunch 2016 had wonderful offerings and we all enjoyed ourselves. The only thing that detracted from this wonderful experience was the seating had been moved to the lower and 2nd floors because the food was on the main floor leaving extremely limited seating there. Understandably the goal was to include as many people as possible; however, this seating arrangement slightly detracted from the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Scape Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding!! Ambiance not so much. At $50 each plus drinks (my bill plus tip was over $300!) I am disappointed that we were placed in some room in the basement. Not only is this inconvenient for a buffet, but my party did not have the same dining experience as those upstairs!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Underwhelmed

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Waited 30 minutes to be seated after 1215 reservation for Sunday brunch. Tried to put us in the basement which looked like a cafeteria. finally got a seat by a window. $50 a head plus drinks for very standard brunch fare. No waffles or pastries. VERY DISAPPOINTED

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration- 1st- Timers of Scape

Dined on March 26, 2016

On Saturday, March 26 I took my best friend to Scape for her birthday. It was the first time either of us dined there and we were pleasantly surprised. We'd heard a lot about it for quite some time and wanted to try it. We were pleased from the moment we hit the curb. The valet staff was pleasant, it was expensive either:-) The host and staff greeted us with smiles and banter upon arrival and the atmosphere was absolutely gorgeous. From the full bar, to the sparkling lights and fixtures to the perfectly shined and buffed floors. We were sat by one of the many windows and by the hostess. Lauren(Lo) was our wait person. She was amazing. Recommended food and drink selections with a big smile on her face. My bestie and I talk a lot (big surprise) and she was so patient and nice to wait on us to finish up silly stories and become equally engaged in conversation. She was simply wonderful. Since my friend is allergic to everything :-), she chose the French Onion soup and the Bistro Steak with the bacon potato gratin. It looked absolutely awesome. Perfectly cooked and seasoned. I enjoyed the crab cakes and the diver scallops...they left me speechless.They were fresh, well seasoned, and quite large. Lastly, we took part in the Pomegranate martini and the Pear sangria (x2 each). They were fresh, fruity, thirst quenching and had the perfect amount of alcohol!!! We were running a bit behind for our play (starting at 8 and it was already about 7:30pm) and we were waiting for one of the many delicious desserts on the menu (because it was my bestie's bday- she was going to be treated to one) since we couldn't wait a moment longer, the host came over and gave us courtesy valet, which was so nice of them, super classy!!! To say the least, my bestie's bday turned out to be an absolute hit and we are so glad we kicked it off at Scape. It set the tone for the rest of the evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful space and wonderful meal

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Our group really enjoyed visiting Scape. One of the three couples had dined there before, but Scape was new to the other two couples. The restaurant is quite beautiful. Our server, John, was professional yet approachable. He helped with gluten free modifications for one of our friends and recommended an outstanding wine for another. The meal and entire evening had a wonderful pace to it, which is also a compliment to John and the kitchen.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

The mussels and crab cakes were great!! ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The mussels and crab cakes were great!! They used a different variety of mussel than the standard PEI's. Better. The Diablo sauce with lardons was delicious. Fun and spirited wine list.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.