About Scape American Bistro

48 Maryland Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Set in the center of the historic Central West End of St. Louis, Scape serves an eclectic menu featuring classic dishes hand crafted from the freshest ingredients. Nationally acclaimed and award winning, Scape's menus are innovative, seasonal and sustainable. Its skillfully prepared menu is complimented by a warm, sophisticated setting and knowledgeable service staff that shares a passion for dining well.
The dining room inside provides an intimate experience with its turn of the century belle époque décor. Or you may put in a request for a view to enjoy the magnificent fountain and mansions built for the 1904 World’s Fair or a table on the back courtyard where you’ll enjoy the majestic setting of a brick patio, a 60 foot wall of ivy, stone columns and Italian rope lighting . All outside dining requests will be accommodated by availability and can not be guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 361-7227

Website:
http://www.scapestl.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available 6 days a week. Metered & Garage Parking also available.

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy European flair, warm hospitality, impeccable service and sophisticated cuisine. Our private dining team will work with you one-on-one to personalize your exclusive event. Whether you prefer a formal plated dinner, cocktail reception or casual, laid-back BBQ in the Courtyard, you'll enjoy a great setting paired with our award winning menu.
FOUNTAIN ROOM

125 seated, 250 reception

WINE ROOM

40 seated, 60 reception
EUROPEAN COURTYARD

175 seated, 300 reception

CHEF'S TABLE

10 seated

Private Party Contact:
privatedining@scapestl.com: (314) 361-6944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Shrimp and Grits - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Breakfast Burrito - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Ahi Tuna Tacos - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Carmelized Cauliflower - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Florida Stone Crab Claws - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Pan Seared Florida Black Grouper - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Black & Blue Tater Tots - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Crispy Rhode Island Calamari - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Wimbedon French Toast - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
The Aristocrat - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Hamachi Sashimi - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Thai Chili Glazed King Salmon - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Oysters - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Romeo Y Julieta - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
avocado egg rolls - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Braised Boneless Beec Short Rips Goulash - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Braised Short Ribs - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Salmon - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
The Intern & The Big Negroni - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Grilled Mano de Leon Diver Scallops - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
BBQ Shrimp and Grits - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Caiparinia - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Smoked Salmon Omelette - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
St. Georges Bank Diver Scallops - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Breakfast - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Belgian Waffle - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Vanilla Bismarck - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Chicken Sausage - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Classic Eggs Benedict - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Farmers Cheese Pancakes - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Halibut - Scape American Bistro, St. Louis, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Scape American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really busy for Wednesday night. Ahi Ti ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Really busy for Wednesday night. Ahi Tina plate was beautiful and tasted amazing. Descent list of French wines and prices are more than fair to their competition. Mike was a lot of fun and you would think he's an owner based on how knowledgeable he's is of the building. A must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve experience lovely. Wait s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve experience lovely. Wait staff superb. Food and presentation good. Overall enjoyed our evening .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service. I had the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and great service. I had the salmon, which did not disappoint. My date had the catch of the day, which was a Chilean Sea Bass. The Sea Bass was also top notch. All in all, Scape was a wonderful experience and I would recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for great food and not to worried about spending some money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been here several times - all good ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been here several times - all good experiences until this snafu. Granted it was New Year's Eve, but little excuse for burned side dishes, bread pudding that tasted like they erred by adding green curry to the sauce, and marginal service. Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner at ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner at Scape. Amazing tasting menu, took all of the decision making out of the equation. Each of the 5 courses was fantastic! Service was wonderful. Overall made for a great night out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was nice. As a vegetarian, no vegeta ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All was nice. As a vegetarian, no vegetarian entrée choices. New Year's Eve...soup and salad only...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great choice for dining. Our reception ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great choice for dining. Our reception was warm. Our server, Dawn, was really nice, both attentive and informative; readily describing each dish we asked about. Food was very good, My steak was not only a good cut, it was cooked just as I asked. My wife said her chicken breast entrée was as good as they come. Definitely will go again. Prices are moderately substantial, but the facility, food, and service make it worth the expense.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful place, professional service an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful place, professional service and great vibe. Oysters were delicious, sea bass was perfectly cooked and presentation was killer. Ask for Chelsea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner after a show. Food w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Anniversary dinner after a show. Food was excellent and service was impeccable. Wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ours was a pre-Christmas dinner (12/23) ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ours was a pre-Christmas dinner (12/23) with friends from Chicago, and Scape made it special for all 8 of us. Great food & immaculate service. Everyone could not stop talking about how good it was the next day. Walking distance from the Chase where we stayed was extra bonus.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a consistently good restaurant. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a consistently good restaurant. It is, however, not inexpensive; yet worth the price. Good size, can accommodate large parties. During Spring, Summer and Fall the outside dining area is spectacular with plenty of ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best cocktail list in town. Witty and d ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best cocktail list in town. Witty and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. We let them kn ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The service was terrible. We let them know we were in a hurry to get to an event and she proceeded to tell us they needed to take another tables wine order but would be back. It took forever and then our food came out 15 min before we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Overall, I was beyond impressed with thi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Overall, I was beyond impressed with this restaurant! Our server was incredible. He had a great attitude, great knowledge of the menu, and recommended the perfect glass of wine to accompany my dish. My boyfriend and I went for his birthday. We had the meat/cheese board and artichoke for our appetizers. The variety on the board was great, and everything was delicious, but I wish there would've been a little more cheese (I love cheese). The grilled artichoke had good flavor, but I almost wish the sauce was served on the side instead of smothered on top. Both of our entrees were amazing. I had the fish of the day (Chilean sea bass) and he had the ribeye. Like I said, great environment, great food, and good portions. They even gave us a complimentary desert for his birthday!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First date and Greg knew exactly how to ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First date and Greg knew exactly how to play it with us. He treated us like family, pointed out his favorite dishes and what wines would be great with them. Artichoke was awesome, pasta was hot and homemade. He brought us out a little dessert at the end to celebrate our great date. He sealed my opportunity for a second date. Good place to impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of my favorite restaurants in ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 15, 2016

By far one of my favorite restaurants in St. Louis. I highly recommend the filet, the salmon, sea scallops, the mac and cheese, brussel sprouts, whipped potatoes, and to finish, the banana cream pie!!!! Not to mention their bar program is phenomenal. My favorite is the large selection of wines to choose from. Their cocktail list is exceptional and Perfectly balanced. The service is fantastic. I recommend sitting at the bar if you enjoy a seamless and fun interaction. The bartenders really know how to engage and serve with the upmost knowledge. My server was John , and he was so great at explaining his knowledge of spirits and foods to compliment for my boyfriend and I to enjoy. Will definitely be going back soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was awesome, we had the best waite ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Place was awesome, we had the best waiter, his name was john unbelievable how good he was, so nice to find someone who loves what he does

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and very nice brunch. My ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service and very nice brunch. My wife loved the spinach and goat cheese omelet. The potato side was exceptional. The seasoning on them is great

I had the pork belly eggs Benedict and they were done perfectly and the hollandaise sauce was great. Were served with mentioned potatoes.

We had drinks immed and small cream puffs filled with pistachio cream as a free starter. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy going to Scape. The food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy going to Scape. The food is consistently good, the ambiance warm and the service friendly and competent. In the summer it's wonderful to sit on the big patio. There are big TVs outside to watch the game!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. Beautiful ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Beautiful holiday decor and food place to impress. You have to return the White cosmo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine were delicious. Very q ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food and wine were delicious. Very quiet, romantic atmosphere. And the service was excellent! Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful place for brunch. Ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is a wonderful place for brunch. Our server Cory was excellent, food service was fairly quick and the food was oh so delicious. Generous portions as well. Can't go wrong with this one.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The night was chilly and the diners were ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The night was chilly and the diners were sparse. Our server was a delightful young gal. We enjoyed her attention and joyfulness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, good food, but pricey. Only ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place, good food, but pricey. Only go about once a year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall we were very happy with our expe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall we were very happy with our experience. The food was excellent as was the service. Scape is one of our favorites and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great service! Excellent mus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food! Great service! Excellent music!

It is great for romantic dates, special ocasions and looking to get some good food for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, , Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had a 4:30pm reserevation on Thanksgi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we had a 4:30pm reserevation on Thanksgiving day, the raw bar was wonerdul then it was all down hill from that point. you ran out of turkey! on thanksgiving day!!! and the tenerloin was not and on the grill vs a roast. By the time we got to the desert bar most was also gone. we will not return and we will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing. Thanksgiving dinner but t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing. Thanksgiving dinner but they ran out of white meat-2 hours before we arrived. Out of other food too. Stuffing was soggy. Tenderloin over cooked. Ham cold-not lukewarm but cold. $45 a person for this! And nothing offered to make up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Scape was an excellent to way to spend t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Scape was an excellent to way to spend the Thanksgiving holiday. The food was phenomenal and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

thanksgiving EXPERIENCE WAS WAY BEYOND O ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

thanksgiving EXPERIENCE WAS WAY BEYOND OUR EXPECTATIONS

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, People Watching, , Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the prices I would expect the food t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

For the prices I would expect the food to be great. The food was very disappointing. The decor is pretty. But it was dead and quiet inside.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was okay. A $16.00 burger shoul ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was okay. A $16.00 burger should be cooked to perfection which was not the case. I felt the portions were a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great cocktails and wine list. Sea Bass ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great cocktails and wine list. Sea Bass is a must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was prompt and on point, as alwa ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was prompt and on point, as always. We were there for "date night" and Scape came through with flying colors! On this night, whether it was the burger with (delicious) truffle fries, or chef's sea bass special, we left with our respective expectations perfectly fulfilled. Bravo!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Biscuits and gravy were gross. Tasted li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Biscuits and gravy were gross. Tasted like they put sugar either in the biscuits or the gravy which ruined it. Also my food came out super fast, like within five minutes which tells you that it was probably sitting around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Pre movie dinner at Scape was great. Tol ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Pre movie dinner at Scape was great. Told host we. Refer to be out in an hour so we could attend show. Not only did they make that happen, the food and service and treatment was five stars! Chelsi was so sweet and passionate about working for Scape. The Chilean Sea Bass was amazing and the banana cream pie didn't disappoint. Fun place, tons of energy and you can determine your pace. Check it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, and so was our waiter, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was amazing, and so was our waiter, Greg. We highly recommend him for server!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful weather, amazing patio, perfec ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful weather, amazing patio, perfect music and great company. Had a pitcher of Bellini's and it was the best one since I was in NOLA. Had the eggs Benedict and it was delicious. The server indicated that "Emmie" just made the hollandaise from scratch and it was yummy. The patio was completely full and the view is breathtaking. Definitely a place where I could see and a large group of friends being lazy on a Sunday with the elite of STL. Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a lovely, leisurely Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a lovely, leisurely Sunday brunch. The food - French toast, spinach omelet & breakfast burrito- was delicious, and we had great service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a new waiter. Drinks and appetize ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a new waiter. Drinks and appetizers came out in reasonable time. Entrees took forever. He kept apologizing but not handling it very well, for instance bringing more bread or asking if we'd like more drinks. We felt abandoned for much of that time. I have sympathy for a new waiter but management should have stepped in to help the situation. We were given parking voucher when we left but it did not work. Food was great once we were served. Had to ask for forks and steak knives for entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.