About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Restaurant Photos

  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (175)
fit for foodies (85)
special occasion (81)
See All
great for lunch (79)
neighborhood gem (71)
hot spot (53)
vibrant bar scene (44)
late-night find (39)
romantic (35)
kid-friendly (31)
great for outdoor dining (24)
notable wine list (21)
great for brunch (14)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall great experience, I brought frie ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Overall great experience, I brought friends who were visiting from Germany and they loved it! The service was excellent and very understanding with the language barrier, they did everything they could to make my friends feel comfortable.

I enjoy Scaddabush every time I go, great atmosphere and great food.

Its perfect for both groups and intimate dates with a significant other

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Twice a year my husband and I come to Sc ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Twice a year my husband and I come to Scaddabush for dinner after a Blue Jays game. We are from Ottawa and this is my favorite Italian restaurant to come to but last weekend July 23 we had reservations. Our server was the worst I've ever encounter in my life. It made my evening not pleasant at all. We basically ate and left as we usually have more drinks and stay longer but this time we did not.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

This was our favorite restaurant while v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant while visiting Toronto. We even thought about going back for a second night. I would highly recommend the spaghetti and meatballs and anything with the fresh mozzarella. The DJ was playing great music. I only wish that we had room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place was extremely noisy, the waite ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The place was extremely noisy, the waiter was very inexperienced and kept pushing the alcohol sales but actually knew nothing about the wine and gave wrong information on the Pinot Grigio in order to sell me a more expensive glass of wine. My friend ordered the smallest glass of red wine after he tried to convince her to go with the next bigger size. Then he brought the bigger size anyway. We pointed it out after we noticed it and he charged her for it anyway.

The food was mediocre at best. It was a summerlicious meal so they didn't seem to take much care with it. The bruschetta was tasteless. The red snapper was okay but the potatoes were dry as a bone and they could only spare to put 6 green beans on the plate! The Tiramisu dessert was full of Espresso flavour but nothing else so not very good. Sad because we had enjoyed a winterlicious meal there in February but things have gone downhill and I won't be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The Summerlicious mains were a let down ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Summerlicious mains were a let down although the app and dessert were much better. Service was quick and friendly.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was slow and it was very lou ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was slow and it was very loud. We had difficulty hearing each other. However, the food was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We have been here before and haven't had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been here before and haven't had many complaints. Unfortunately, this time around service was incredibly slow and there were a couple of hiccups with our order. My pasta was only 'okay'. It was definitely overcooked. Will be less inclined to suggest this place again for a gathering.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant bec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant because I didn't have a special experience. It didn't stand out from other Italian restaurants. My colleague and I went there for Summerlicious . She enjoyed her burger, and I had the pasta. I don't usually add salt and pepper to food, but it was quite bland and so I had to resort to that. The service was great though, it just didn't stand out from any other Italian restaurant. I'm not opposed to visiting again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

there was hair in my food, too busy to f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

there was hair in my food, too busy to flag waitress down, too pricey summerlicious not worth it. portions are too small. bad choice of pasta out of the 3 options.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The booths made for 2 are well suited fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The booths made for 2 are well suited for private conversations.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to Scaddabush for the Summerlicio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I went to Scaddabush for the Summerlicious event and had an amazing time. I had the Pizza Fritta for the appetizer, Italian Burger for the entree, and the tiramisu for dessert. I really liked the appetizer and I would definitely come back to eat it again. I thought the Italian burger was delicious (really liked the balsamic vinegar) but it was way too big and I could not finish it. I didn't like the tiramisu because the coffee flavour was way too strong. I thought the restaurant's lighting was too dim as it was hard to see the surrounding area. Service was good, and the servers were polite. Overall, it was a good experience and I would come again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The website had the incorrect summerlici ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The website had the incorrect summerlicious menu, so it was disappointing to see the options on the menu in the restaurant that did not match the website. They have since corrected the menu on the website. The restaurant wasn't crowded, but the service was slow for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent service and food! We'll be bac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent service and food! We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They always have amazing food!!! Never a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

They always have amazing food!!! Never a let down with any menu choice you make. Down side is that the service was very slow that night and took over an hour for our food to come out to us but our server was very nice and kept checking up on us to make sure we were doing ok. A little tip, if you are going to eat there make a reservation cause its always super busy and wait times are usually 35-40min, unless you sit at the bar then its faster

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food portion was horrible. Two of u ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food portion was horrible. Two of us ordered from the Summerlious menu. I would have gotten bigger portion if I ordered off regular menu. I was also told I couldn't get the chicken on the side because they can't deviate from set menu. Meanwhile I saw the same dish at a different table, the chicken was placed on top of noodles (I would been content with that. Waitress should of knew). I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Food was good for a first time visit but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good for a first time visit but the restaurant was not able to handle a summerlicious menu when a number of larger groups were on site. It took 2.5 hours for lunch. This was way too long when people have to get back to work. The manager did try to right the situation for us but the time was lost as a result. I would not go back for lunch but if you are looking to go for a leisurely dinner or are not in a hurry, then I would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Was unhappy that we did not get a booth ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Was unhappy that we did not get a booth ( as requested) - especially as there were empty booths the entire time we were there

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Took my sister here for her birthday din ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Took my sister here for her birthday dinner. I had put a note on my online reservation to put a candle on her dessert, when I got there I also asked the hostess, she asked if I could tell the barman or if she should tell him, I asked her to tell him because our table was near the barman and I did not want my sister to see. The desert came without the candle!! I had to tell the waiter in front of my sister, ruined the surprise.

We had the summerlicious dinner, I had the salad which was really good, the main and desert nothing to shout on rooftops about.

The bill also came wrong though the waitress apologized and had it changed.

Overall, it was not bad but wouldn't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I came on a Saturday afternoon (around 2 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I came on a Saturday afternoon (around 2:30 pm). The restaurant was somewhat empty but it had a great atmosphere. It took the hostess a minute to sit us down and our server showed up less than a minute after we sat down at my table. I ordered from the summerlicious lunch menu. I ended up having the pizza fritta, italian burger and the strawberry sundae. I also had spicy bread to add some kick to my meal! Overall, the meal was delicious, very filling and the price was very decent for such great food. ($18) I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for 2 through Open ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 through Open Table using my name. My friend and I arrived separately a few minutes apart and each of us told the person when we arrived that we were there for the reservation under my name. We were seated at two different tables on opposite sides of the restaurant. After about 20 minutes of waiting for the other person to arrive, we texted each other to realize that we were both there but at different tables. The host should have checked to see if the other person had already arrived before seating us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good food overall. And great servi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very good food overall. And great service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance great, service this ti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and ambiance great, service this time was super slow, our lunch hour turned into 2. It took good 45 min to get our food and second order of wine never came. It wasn't busy either.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Loved the entire evening but, forgot to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Loved the entire evening but, forgot to ask for candlelight ;(

Otherwise, everything was great :)

w

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great. The food was amazing. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service was great. The food was amazing. The cheese was very fresh. Overall excellent place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of our favorite meals while ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was one of our favorite meals while visiting Toronto. The fresh-made mozzarella is a must. The pizza was delicious and the cheesecake and deep fried dough bites with chocolate sauce for dipping was heavenly. The white sangria was very refreshing. We will definitely be back next time we visit Toronto!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had several friends visiting from out ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had several friends visiting from out of town and we chose this because it was close to their hotel. Our server was AMAZING! She and I chatted before my friends arrived, she took the time to give us her recommendations and even found the perfect spot for our group photo. The food was great and her drink suggestions were on point. It was a great experience and my friends loved the restaurant and kept complimenting me for choosing it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at this restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant and we really enjoyed the food. The well know fresh Buffalo Mozzarella was amazing and lived up very well to the hype. Unfortunately, we were seated in the lounge and found it very cramped and dark. Almost dingy dark with very poor lighting. This location is desperately in need of a refresh and some new light bulbs.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

We always enjoy visiting and bringing ou ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always enjoy visiting and bringing our friends from out of town to Scaddabush. Food will fill you up. The waitstaff is friendly. Food never disappoints. And ambiance is great - not too loud to be able to chat but not too quiet that the silence is deafening. Something in between is always good. Will come back again... and again.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was amazing! ! The service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The ambience was amazing! ! The service very slow. Great environment, very busy . I'dlike to go back at a less busy time and during a different meal

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Everything we had was awesome. Despite b ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Everything we had was awesome. Despite being swamped with two gigantic groups that were being ridiculous, our server took good care of us. We've always enjoyed the food here but for some reason it just seemed a little bit better this time. Polenta tots and chicken parm were highlights. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No big deal. Good staff. Overpriced ordi ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

No big deal. Good staff. Overpriced ordinary food. Look for alternatives.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious food, especially grateful for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food, especially grateful for the Gluten Free options! You have to try the fresh mozzarella- it's delicious. Service is typically slow (perfect for a social night out, not if you are in a hurry) but wait staff is super-helpful and friendly. Pizza is fantastic- Our party had the Butcher (meat lover!) the American (peperoni) and the Gluten Free vegetarian (oh-my-gosh... It was incredible!) Daughter had kids pasta- looked amazIng and got 2 thumbs up!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We made reservations online based on a r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made reservations online based on a recommendation from the hotel. We were thrilled with the mozzarella and the overall food options.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed it and the fresh mozzarel ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Really enjoyed it and the fresh mozzarella too!! Lobster pasta very good! Nice wines! Overall great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was an excellent meal with friendly ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was an excellent meal with friendly and efficient service. We were greeted in a professional manner and seated promptly. The wait staff were prompt and friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this Restauraunt for any and all occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally enjoyed the dining experience at ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Totally enjoyed the dining experience at Scaddabush! Atmosphere was casual, food was great and the service was excellent. Will definitely return to Scaddabush!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We noticed Scaddabush right outside our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We noticed Scaddabush right outside our hotel (Chelsea) and stopped in for dinner - my wife had a pizza and I had a pesto chicken, with the red sangria, which we topped off with the apple ravioli dessert. We enjoyed sitting outside under the red umbrellas as it seemed pretty vibrant inside. Our server was very friendly and helpful and her suggestions (including the dessert) were spot on.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I go here all the time and I love it. Th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I go here all the time and I love it. The wait staff is friendly, the food is good, and the ambiance is rustic and charming.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as I remembered... Was a bi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not as good as I remembered...

Was a bit disappointed with our second visit here. I remember being more impressed the first time, last year.

We ate on their narrow sidewalk seating, which was fine, not much traffic and quieter than inside. Servers were all very friendly, but not that efficient. We asked for bread about five times, and when it came out it was two little crusts on a plate for four people! server realized how stupid that looked, and went back for more.

Food was fine, but nothing special. I feel like there are so many "just fine" Italian restaurants, it has to be particularly good or unique to earn any special kudos.

The girls enjoyed their frozen bellini's, aka slushies.

Each couple shared a salad, pizza, and pasta which was enough food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was great and the chicken Parm s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great and the chicken Parm sandwich was amazing. Recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.