About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:30 am - 1:00 am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Adrian Andaya

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (41)
Good for Groups (41)
Fun (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (32)
Special Occasion (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (31)
Comfort Food (28)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Romantic (9)
Live Sports (9)
Tapas (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great Beer (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Good place to go for drinks with friends. The pasta was good but it was a bar more than a restaurant

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I have been to this location many times and it never disappoints... with my most recent visit we were serviced by "Natasha" she had great energy and was very attentive... I look forward to eating here again very soon as it's one of my favorite restaurants in the neighborhood.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Loved the service, atmosphere, and, of course, the food. A great variety of dishes from all over Italy, as well as North America. A cozy but creative birthday experience! Would definitely recommend. :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great central location, friendly attentive service, good fresh food. The kids enjoyed the pasta and pizza. Nice to have plenty of options.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Beer had a fly in it. Server came back and told me she could only get it filled a little or I could buy another beer. Terrible service, on top of the fact that it took us 35minutes to order our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Enjoy this restaurant but the service continues to be just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Our waiter was very slow. He took our order after 45 mins. And only came back to check on us once. We had to flag him down to ask for our bills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This restaurant was wonderful! We are vegetarians and everything that was prepared for us was delicious. The mozzarella and pasta are made in-house and you can actually watch the chefs in the kitchen through a window make them. The restaurant is lively, but you can actually hear the conversations at your table, which is great!

I would definitely go back to this restaurant again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Everything was great except the sound. My husband had to take off his hearing aids and it was still too loud. Why do restaurant owners think that people go to restaurants to get a headache.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very noisy. Couldn't talk or even hear our waitress.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very disappointed this visit. We were rushed through your meal. The server didn't offer a drink or prior to out app order. We had to ask if we could have a drink first. The entree came half way through your apps. It also took extremely long for the beverages to arrive. The food quality has drastically declined since our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Restaurant was very busy for a Friday evening of dining. Seated quickly as we had made a reservation. Seated at a high top near bar area. Ordered a salad, chicken parmigiana and a pasta bolognese . Salad came within minutes, even before wine arrived. Was incredibly fast. Sadly the mains didn't arrive until over an hour after ordering. It was acknowledged. And they offered some bread as a gesture. After the long wait though, the chicken was room temperature, at least pasta on the side was hot. The music was much too loud that we couldn't converse. Not the most pleasurable dining experience. At least the server was good. He was efficient, and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was my first time to visit Scaddabush and my overall experience here was good.
Since there were so many customers, my friend and I had to wait a long time for our food but they served us with bread and they also apologized several times about this. The taste of pasta, calamari and lemon rosemary soda were worth the long wait. I would definitely revisit and recommend this place to my friends as well.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The restaurant service was poor. Early Saturday night, not too busy. We ordered a bottle of wine and we were nearly finished it when our food - one pizza and small pasta dish - arrived 35 minutes later. Hard to hear the manager and the waiter when they told us the kitchen was having issues. We were offered a complimentary dessert, which was then added to our bill. The waiter then waited at the table as we put the cash into the cheque. Over all a very poor experience. Not my first time at this restaurant, but won't be returning. The staff are just not good enough for the prices you're charging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It's an amazing place.. love the ambience, and service.. very friendly attitude as well.. definitely one of my regular go-to places.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was fabulous! The charity bread was just the right portion for two ladies, the small portions of the meals were as well. We had the butternut squash ravioli and the spaghetti and meatballs - great flavours and wonderful to have fresh pasta at a chain.
Our server was wonderful and visited the table just the right amount. We weren't offered cheese, fresh ground pepper or chili flakes (which I found odd) - but by the time I tasted my food to the servers return, it was too late to ask.
The only complaint I have is with the volume of the music. We were literally yelling across the table and had to repeat ourselves to the server a couple of times throughout the meal.
Otherwise, a surprisingly good Italian meal for a chain.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome ambiance and music, really enjoyed the set up of the restaurant. The waitress went out of her way to ensure everything was good. She was attentive and honest even when things didn't go right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

service was quite good. all 3 pasta dishes were excellent but 1 was not quite hot enough. we had two appetizers - the mozzeralla was excellent but the charity bread was less than satisfactory. overall very nice and enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent food. Very noisy, which made talking to people across the table difficult. I made a reservation through OpenTable and got seated right by the kitchen which made the noise worse and the ambience terrible. Our server was very nice and did their best to accommodate us. Would go again but will specifically ask not to get seated near the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Very mediocre food. Flatbreads were too salty. Pasta had very little flavor. Caprese salad was just lettuce with a little buffalo mozzarella and a dressing. Underwhelming experience and no reason to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We loved this place!! We are from BC and if we ever go back to Toronto we will definitely be going here again! And I hope we do!!!! The fresh mozzarella is a MUST and I can’t stop thinking about it! We loved everything about this place. You can even doodle on the tables! Make a reso now! You won’t regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Scaddabush is a great place to hang with friends for a fun, casual dinner. Good food, good value.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Overall our experience was good, just a tad too noisy and a tad too dark as we were seated by the kitchen.

Waitress was Excellent. Food was yummy!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The restaurant is very noisy. Staff are polite but the place seems chaotic. All of our food and drinks came at the same time. Not good. One dish, one of the Mains was cold.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I really expected to love this place. The ambience is cool and the menu looked delicious. Our server was amazing and was so considerate and attentive to my friend with very specific food restrictions.

The mozzarella with prosciutto was good, the signature meatball was ok (not not great enough that I would rush back for it) and the cheesecake also delicious (and a huge portion), but I was disappointed by the pasta - the 3 of us who had pasta all found it to be under-seasoned. I had the pesto pollo chicken and also found the sauce unappealing - it didn't look or taste great (mushy pieces of spinach, unflavourful cream sauce). I won't rush back, but would eat here again if the occasion presented itself (ie. someone else wants to go because of location or gluten free options)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Good service, lots of space for groups and kids, kid friendly and good food. They have nice sharing options and we left fully satisfied!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

I brought friends from Spain and they were very happy. Cody was courteous, helpful and wonderful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I took my family, who were visiting from back home and they absolutely loved it! The staff is very quick and help each other out, which as a previous server that shows a lot in a restaurant. Unfortunately my dad was not crazy about his steak, however he told the waiter who informed the kitchen and manager. The manager proceeded to come over very quickly and was very apologetic and professional. Again, shows great customer service!! I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants great food and a cool ambiance :)

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Ambiance was nice. Looks like a good place for a group gathering. Everything went downhill after the fresh mozzarella. My gluten free pizza was bland and tasted more like crunchy bread with tomato sauce on it. I would not go back a second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good food! Good. Service! Friendly without being overbearing! Enjoyed our meal

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Scaddabush is a great place for lunch or after work drinks and munchies... always great service, always great food... their sangria is amazing! :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great night, Our waiter Craig was awesome, foods and drinks were delicious

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

My only disappointment was that I wasn't informed there is a discount with the company I work for. I made the reservation with my work email and even mentioned it when I arrived but no staff mentioned or offered the discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

First time at this restaurant & it was a great night out for dinner with my 20 something daughter, great mojitos & large wine list! We both loved the overall atmosphere -modern twist on rustic Italian, good for fun night out or family dinner as well. We had an awesome server who was bang on with his recommendations, we tried the naked mozzarella appetizer & it was very tasty - mozzarella madefresh in house with focaccia bread, preserves & sea salt -delicious! As a main course I had the spaghetti & meatballs, my daughter had the flatbread pizza. Both dishes were flavorful & fresh with very generous portions, definitely value for your money. Will definitely be back to this location & will bring friends as well!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was typical of a chain restaurant. Salad and bread should be included with your meal, not as an extra.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It notoriously takes a long time for your server to welcome you to the restaurant and take even your drink order. Food makes up for the delayed service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

A disappointing experience. The food was good, but our server was not attentive. He did nothing and came around perhaps twice during our two hour stay.
Took 20 minutes to wait for the machine to arrive so that we could pay, while the server was visibly chatting with friends by the stairwell.
Crostini/bread was not provided with the pasta, and ground pepper and cheese was not offered on our pasta when the meal was served. This was unlike our past visit to this restaurant.
Noise level was excessively loud, and the restaurant not a pleasant place to eat with friends.
We (party of 3) were shoved and then forgotten at a tiny table upstairs, despite having made a reservation and despite there clearly being larger tables around us that were available and which did not fill up during our time at the restaurant.
I will stick with other Italian places in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing night! Waitress was very kind, ambience was inviting, food was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our first trip to Scaddabush. It was fantastic!! The mozzarella was delicious, and the pasta dishes were excellent!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on August 23, 2017

They have the Best Mozzarella! Love to share appetizers with great wine.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.