About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (41)
Good for Groups (38)
Fun (34)
See All
Comfort Food (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (21)
Cozy (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Authentic (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
People Watching (14)
Romantic (14)
Family Style (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Great Beer (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

great service from attentive waiter. Great with the kids. Noise level was a little high.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was not hot, every poor experience. Not coming back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! Please open a restaurant in Durham Region.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I was really impressed. Cool vibes. Food was tasty. Service was fantastic. Our server was joking with us the whole time and everything was speedy. We were celebrating a graduation and our server definitely made it that much more special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The food was awesome and so was the atmosphere !will be returning in the future !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Service was great. We were celebrating a graduation and our server made it a very special occasion

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great before theater lunch with several sharing options from the appetizer menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went here because we were staying across the street at the Chelsea Hotel. We had 2 10 year olds and 4 adults. The kids loved drawing on the placemats and making their own Gelato sundaes. The food was great and staff was so accomodating. We showed up an hour early hoping to get in because the kids were starving after swimming. They fit us in no problem. The food was amazing. Such friendly staff. Next time we are in Toronto we would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love this restaurant on a warm night outside on the patio...umbrellas for rain or shine...impeccable service...always gorgeous food!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Authentic, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loved this place! My first time here but my daughters had been here a few times. Celebrating a graduation. Food was fantastic and service was great.

Quite the happening place! If you are looking for a quiet dinner you may want to go somewhere else!

Wheelchair accessible including an accessible washroom was also important to my family. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Not great. The place is very loud. Basically just another big chain restaurant with a slight effort put into looking like an Italian restaurant. The pasta was under seasoned and the home made mozzarella was very chewy. There are many other Italian restaurants in the city that put a lot more effort into their food and ambiance. Overall this place was not terrible but definitely disappointing and not great value for the money.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I love the fresh mozzarella you have. Though the pasta selection isn't my favourite, I wish you had the classes spaghetti with tomato sauce - and more overall vegetarian options for pastas. Also wish there is better options for desserts, personally.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My gluten-free friend was not accommodated and was brushed off when she asked if there were any options for her.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I absolutely love the Mozzarella here- staff are very friendly and accommodating for people with wheel chairs and strollers. Fridays and Saturdays are super busy so come before 9pm on those days to avoid a wait.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Automatic doors. The accessible bathroom is large and great for a wheelchair user.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was awful. Pasta simply was not. Not sure what it was, more like dry string. Chicken dry and mealy...like it was microwaved. Dinner took too long. Wine was very expensive. We would never return ...a very disappointing meal and whatever it was it was not Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

First time going there for my birthday and I absolutely loved it! Great atmosphere, amazing employees and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food here is quite good and their lunch specials are great for a quick meal. The food is very good and is served relatively fast. I have been here a few times and have never been unhappy with the overall experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My meal (shrimp spaghetti) was amazing, but others at my table were not as pleased. Scaddabush ran out of ravioli after we ordered, so two of the diners at my table had to reorder, and felt like they were rushed into placing their second-choice orders. One of the two does not eat pork, and was advised to have the baked carbonara sans bacon (sensible,) but was also encouraged to leave the poached egg off because the server (not the waitress we had for the rest of the meal) told her it wasn't good with it. They trusted him and ended up with what was basically a very bland mac n cheese. It was at least comped due to the ravioli outage, but still very disappointing. Not sure why the server assumed he knew how to make a better carbonara than the chef, but I don't see how it could have possibly been any worse with the egg.

Despite our waitress's best efforts (she was honestly great,) the service was so slow I can't give it more than one star. We only had 2 courses, and were in the restaurant for almost four hours. There was a massive party at the next table over (at least 20 people,) which could account for some delay, but four hours to order and eat a plate of pasta and dessert? Plus despite having been informed that many elements of the meal would be comped due to outages or slowness (1 mozzarella, 2 entrees, 2 desserts,) this was not reflected on the initial bill, and that had to be corrected at least twice.

Also this place was LOUD. I couldn't hear anyone at my table unless they were directly next to me, and I was extremely hoarse after shouting for four hours.

The shrimp spaghetti was really good, though, and I'd love to be able to eat it again, but I wouldn't come during prime dining hours (even on a Tuesday.) Perhaps the noise would be down to a dull roar at lunch. I also wouldn't come back with a group larger than 4, though 2 might be ideal to make conversation as easy as possible.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Overall my experience was only so-so. There were a few issues dining that evening. 1. Was dining with my sister, mom and aunt who were both 60+ but got seated at the high tops. And cause of age they both struggled to sit on their chairs. We also had shopping bags with us too. 2. There was 4 people but we only recieved 3 sets of menus. 3. It was definitely too dark. I couldn't read my menu at all. Had to use my flashlight on my phone inorder to make out the words on the menu. Service wise: I believe the hostess was inattentive. There were many 4 person booths opened that she could have sat us but gave us the high tops. I would be more understanding if the restaurant was full. But it wasn't on a Monday at 6pm. Our server did a decent job. I wouldn't say he went above or beyond. He did his job. Checked up on us a few times, answered all the questions we had about or menu, recommending the right porpotions, and made sure our jug of water was full. A server assistant offered larger sharing plates when she found out we were sharing all pur orders. Only issue was that my sister had to ask twice for chili flakes before it was brought. Food was delicious. I loved the buttersquash raviloi. The mario pizza was a fave as well. In total the table ordered 2 pastas regular size, a social size salad, and a pizza as well a side of charity bread. The total was aprx $93 not including tips. Rating overall is 3 and its mainly because of the food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The charity bread is a nice little calorie splurge to start your meal. So many dishes to choose from, anyone should be happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food and wine selection. Delicious! Kirsten was awesome!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

lively atmosphere, very friendly service. We were in no hurry, had a long dinner and they were very obliging. Dinner was very tasty. Had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We really enjoy the food, and the restaurant is very convenient to our residence (College Park). However, it is really noisy, probably due to the decor, and not suitable for quiet conversation.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Staff were amazing and catered to our parties special dietary needs

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Had a great lunch here and say on the patio. I had the Sophia Pizza and my friend had the ravioli. Both were very tasty. Server was friendly and attentive. Would go back again .

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service was great. Our waiter was awesome. The food on the other hand was just okay. The chicle parm bites were over cooked to the point that they were cardboard like. The use of oregano was overkill. It was in everything and way too much. Disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The music was so loud. We could barely have a conversation without yelling. It was also so hot that my jeans were wet when I stood up. The thermostat happened to be next to be and was set for 77 and said call for service...may want to look at that before the heat comes to stay. Our server was amazing and attentive. The food was good as expected.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2017

good selection and good service the salad could use a little more dressing mixed into it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I quite enjoy Scaddabush. I am one if their social club members and had recommended this location to a colleague for lunch as she wanted Italian. Service was good, our server was kind and helpful with suggestions and explaining menu items. If you're looking for a lunch spot that's a bit more than a sandwich and soup.. would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for mothers day. It was an overall great experience! We ordered pasta, which was amazing. Mine was the lobster pasta and i couldn't get enough. We also ordered the fresh mozzarella which came to the table still warm, and the charity bread which was like a focaccia with parmesan cheese. All amazing. The only problem was when we arrived they gave us a really small table which was hard to fit 4 people at even though i made a reservation. After asking they did change us to a larger table. The service was a bit slow but the waiter explained that they were a bit backed up in the kitchen, and was nice enough to offer us a free dessert. 10/10 would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Casual, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day and it was very busy. Food took forever to come and wasn't worth the wait the food didn't taste very good at all!The pasta noodles were over cooked and the marinera was bland. Didn't eat the pasta but was so hungry Ihad to grab something good to eat from Salad King

Going downtown to eat at Scaddabush wasn't worth the time and effort.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious and fresh, wonderful service and atmosphere - highly recommended!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Terrible service, forgot several things. Like the beer I ordered, and slices of lemon (which we asked for several times). The food was pretty decent though. Good spaghetti and meatballs. Real comfort food

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

1st time here. Great, friendly and informative service from all employees. Came with 4 girlfriends. Ordered pasta, pizza, salad and your signature dishes, handmade mozzarella and meatballs.
Everything was excellent. Will definitely come back. We all had a great evening!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I will definitely recommend the mozzarella served with fig jam and sea salt.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Sold out of the Wine we wanted

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Although the food was outstanding, the service was below subpar. The only thing I wanted was not delivered on - I made a request through opentable to have a dessert delivered after the main course with writing on the plate to surprise my companion, this was not delivered and we were not even asked if we wanted to order dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The entire experience was fabulous...staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

great music, very warm and comfortable decor and ambience- good food!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.