About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Restaurant Photos

  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (146)
Special Occasion (71)
Great for Lunch (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (65)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Hot Spot (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Kid-friendly (34)
Romantic (33)
Late-night Find (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Brunch (14)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food in a comfortable, clean setti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food in a comfortable, clean setting at a very convenient location.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our time at Scaddabush. It's a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed our time at Scaddabush. It's a lively restaurant with pretty good menu. The fresh mozzarella and burrata is always good and we enjoyed the mixed drinks--sangria and sophistocato were yummy. Pasta and steak were done well and good sized portion. Unfortunately the service was fair at best--very slow and ordering was challenging. They did provide a free appetizer due to the extensive wait however which was appreciated. Would definitely return, hopefully the service improves though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Freshly made mozzarella was amazing! Ne ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Freshly made mozzarella was amazing!

Never felt neglected nor rushed by staff

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are from Orillia ON. Whenever we visi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

We are from Orillia ON. Whenever we visit Toronto we make it a point to have supper at Scaddabush, best restuarant I've ever eaten at!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had booked a reservation, but upon arr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

I had booked a reservation, but upon arriving on time, we were told the table had been taken by another server. Our server was particularly inexperienced, spilling two drinks while setting them on the table. He was disorganized, asking for drink, appetizer and meal orders all at once. He seemed unfamiliar with the menu, and he spoke way too fast.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Food is fine, service is way too slow (c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is fine, service is way too slow (claimed back up at bar?) , tough to run down a waiter/waitress and when the food came, the server put all the wrong meals in front to people.

We made a reservation for a regular level table, But were put first in the bar area (which we asked not to have), ,then ultimately at at a high level table in the back restaurant part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Decent Italian food not authentic but No ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Decent Italian food not authentic but North American style. Osso Buco bites were tasty. Server was nice but kitchen was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I ate the lobster linguini and suffered ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I ate the lobster linguini and suffered the effects of food poisoning...the effect was fairly immediate and i was close to the restaurant's bathroom. I am not allergic to seafood so that is not a factor. I am ok now.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Corporate manufactured overpriced food n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Corporate manufactured overpriced food no better in taste or quality than a Pizza Pizza joint chain. The proprietors - who are very rich - would never ever eat there, and neither should you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Tried the Yonge St. location for conveni ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Tried the Yonge St. location for convenience. Won't be back. Food was extremely bland, portions and quality were also different. Scarborough location is 1000 times better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Calamari was a disappointment. The lobs ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Calamari was a disappointment.

The lobster pasta was not worth the money, it is good but the sauce was very little and not much lobsters.

Other stuff might be better but it seems I got the wrong things.

Will not give up on them yet, will try it again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great pizza and extremely nice ambiance! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great pizza and extremely nice ambiance! I really enjoy the whole atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food was good. On ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good. Only real negative was that it was freezing cold inside so we were cold and our food quickly got cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service did not meet expectatio ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and service did not meet expectations set from other reviews I had heard. Pasta was overlooked and under seasoned although the meatball was tasty. Calamari was almost like chewing rubber bands. I would have sent it back but we waited so long for food, we were starved by then.

Can't say it would be worth a repeat trip. We were a table of 3 and food took forever to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I came here for my birthday, the food wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I came here for my birthday, the food was fantastic, the server was lovely, i would definitely come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

My friend and I come here a lot. Quality ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My friend and I come here a lot. Quality of service and food has been dropping consistently for the last little while. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Ambience was amazing didn't even notice ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Ambience was amazing didn't even notice all the kids around us as we usually do at other restaurants.

The food was a little underdone for my liking (I had the carbonara). loved the stuffed Meatball. Next time going to have to try the mozzarella.

Staff were great to seat us right away even though we were 30 minutes early for our reservation. Our waiter checked on us every chance he could it got to be a little much at times as we were there for our anniversary and wanted the alone time.

OVerall I would be willing to give this place another chance.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value5

Great dinner after a long day out site s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great dinner after a long day out site seeing. Wait staff worked well together for a great dining experience. We will be telling other to put it on their list of need to try restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta was terrible! I mean awful! Ou ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The pasta was terrible! I mean awful! Our serving staff were very good and the music was enjoyable. If only the food was edible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food and sevice. However, the musi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and sevice. However, the music was too loud the entire time we spent at the restaurant. At the end of the meal, everyone (table w/ 6 pleople) had a headache.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Overall great experience, I brought frie ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall great experience, I brought friends who were visiting from Germany and they loved it! The service was excellent and very understanding with the language barrier, they did everything they could to make my friends feel comfortable.

I enjoy Scaddabush every time I go, great atmosphere and great food.

Its perfect for both groups and intimate dates with a significant other

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Twice a year my husband and I come to Sc ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Twice a year my husband and I come to Scaddabush for dinner after a Blue Jays game. We are from Ottawa and this is my favorite Italian restaurant to come to but last weekend July 23 we had reservations. Our server was the worst I've ever encounter in my life. It made my evening not pleasant at all. We basically ate and left as we usually have more drinks and stay longer but this time we did not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

This was our favorite restaurant while v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant while visiting Toronto. We even thought about going back for a second night. I would highly recommend the spaghetti and meatballs and anything with the fresh mozzarella. The DJ was playing great music. I only wish that we had room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place was extremely noisy, the waite ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The place was extremely noisy, the waiter was very inexperienced and kept pushing the alcohol sales but actually knew nothing about the wine and gave wrong information on the Pinot Grigio in order to sell me a more expensive glass of wine. My friend ordered the smallest glass of red wine after he tried to convince her to go with the next bigger size. Then he brought the bigger size anyway. We pointed it out after we noticed it and he charged her for it anyway.

The food was mediocre at best. It was a summerlicious meal so they didn't seem to take much care with it. The bruschetta was tasteless. The red snapper was okay but the potatoes were dry as a bone and they could only spare to put 6 green beans on the plate! The Tiramisu dessert was full of Espresso flavour but nothing else so not very good. Sad because we had enjoyed a winterlicious meal there in February but things have gone downhill and I won't be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The Summerlicious mains were a let down ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Summerlicious mains were a let down although the app and dessert were much better. Service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was slow and it was very lou ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was slow and it was very loud. We had difficulty hearing each other. However, the food was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We have been here before and haven't had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been here before and haven't had many complaints. Unfortunately, this time around service was incredibly slow and there were a couple of hiccups with our order. My pasta was only 'okay'. It was definitely overcooked. Will be less inclined to suggest this place again for a gathering.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant bec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant because I didn't have a special experience. It didn't stand out from other Italian restaurants. My colleague and I went there for Summerlicious . She enjoyed her burger, and I had the pasta. I don't usually add salt and pepper to food, but it was quite bland and so I had to resort to that. The service was great though, it just didn't stand out from any other Italian restaurant. I'm not opposed to visiting again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

there was hair in my food, too busy to f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

there was hair in my food, too busy to flag waitress down, too pricey summerlicious not worth it. portions are too small. bad choice of pasta out of the 3 options.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The booths made for 2 are well suited fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The booths made for 2 are well suited for private conversations.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to Scaddabush for the Summerlicio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I went to Scaddabush for the Summerlicious event and had an amazing time. I had the Pizza Fritta for the appetizer, Italian Burger for the entree, and the tiramisu for dessert. I really liked the appetizer and I would definitely come back to eat it again. I thought the Italian burger was delicious (really liked the balsamic vinegar) but it was way too big and I could not finish it. I didn't like the tiramisu because the coffee flavour was way too strong. I thought the restaurant's lighting was too dim as it was hard to see the surrounding area. Service was good, and the servers were polite. Overall, it was a good experience and I would come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The website had the incorrect summerlici ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The website had the incorrect summerlicious menu, so it was disappointing to see the options on the menu in the restaurant that did not match the website. They have since corrected the menu on the website. The restaurant wasn't crowded, but the service was slow for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent service and food! We'll be bac ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent service and food! We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Home made mozzarella is a chewing ball. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Home made mozzarella is a chewing ball. Food was decent. Waitress was partly paying attention but friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

They always have amazing food!!! Never a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

They always have amazing food!!! Never a let down with any menu choice you make. Down side is that the service was very slow that night and took over an hour for our food to come out to us but our server was very nice and kept checking up on us to make sure we were doing ok. A little tip, if you are going to eat there make a reservation cause its always super busy and wait times are usually 35-40min, unless you sit at the bar then its faster

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food portion was horrible. Two of u ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food portion was horrible. Two of us ordered from the Summerlious menu. I would have gotten bigger portion if I ordered off regular menu. I was also told I couldn't get the chicken on the side because they can't deviate from set menu. Meanwhile I saw the same dish at a different table, the chicken was placed on top of noodles (I would been content with that. Waitress should of knew). I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Food was good for a first time visit but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good for a first time visit but the restaurant was not able to handle a summerlicious menu when a number of larger groups were on site. It took 2.5 hours for lunch. This was way too long when people have to get back to work. The manager did try to right the situation for us but the time was lost as a result. I would not go back for lunch but if you are looking to go for a leisurely dinner or are not in a hurry, then I would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Was unhappy that we did not get a booth ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Was unhappy that we did not get a booth ( as requested) - especially as there were empty booths the entire time we were there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Took my sister here for her birthday din ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Took my sister here for her birthday dinner. I had put a note on my online reservation to put a candle on her dessert, when I got there I also asked the hostess, she asked if I could tell the barman or if she should tell him, I asked her to tell him because our table was near the barman and I did not want my sister to see. The desert came without the candle!! I had to tell the waiter in front of my sister, ruined the surprise.

We had the summerlicious dinner, I had the salad which was really good, the main and desert nothing to shout on rooftops about.

The bill also came wrong though the waitress apologized and had it changed.

Overall, it was not bad but wouldn't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I came on a Saturday afternoon (around 2 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I came on a Saturday afternoon (around 2:30 pm). The restaurant was somewhat empty but it had a great atmosphere. It took the hostess a minute to sit us down and our server showed up less than a minute after we sat down at my table. I ordered from the summerlicious lunch menu. I ended up having the pizza fritta, italian burger and the strawberry sundae. I also had spicy bread to add some kick to my meal! Overall, the meal was delicious, very filling and the price was very decent for such great food. ($18) I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.