About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:30 am - 1:00 am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Adrian Andaya

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (44)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Groups (40)
See All
Good for Birthdays (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Fun (31)
Comfort Food (31)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Cozy (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Live Sports (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort by
S
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very tasty food. Great service too. Pre-show dinner on a Saturday night. Busy but was seated immediately thanks to reservations.
Waiter knew we only had 1.5 hours to be in and out and paced our meal perfectly.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to get together with friends for a night out. Wonderful food and drinks too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

I have eaten here about 4 times while in Toronto for business and pleasure and the service is always awesome. You can't not have a great time here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Hot Spot, People Watching, Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Good lunch options....a little pricey for lunch though. Service was good, server very friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 4, 2017

Gnocchi was hard and chewy but gorgonzola sauce was very good.
Appetizer platter was tasty but extremely overpriced.
Pizza very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 4, 2017

At the very first moment we had to ask for the waiter so he could serve us - they didn’t pay attention to us, but after that the service was incredible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Our dinner was great from cocktails to cappuccinos. The fresh-made mozzarella was especially delicious and our server was lovely.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

First time dining here and booking with open table. Made a note on kid coming over for lunch... surprised to find out when arriving there's no kid's menu. They tried to accommodate with alternatives. At least some effort... Anyway, they made up in the end with a surprise birthday dessert giveaway for kid. Caesar salad with grilled salmon is acceptable. The grilled salmon was a bit dry but the pasta with garlic bread is awesome! It's crispy but oily.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

We were stuck in traffic and running late for our reservation. I called the restaurant and they were very accommodating in changing our reservation time. The food and service was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Been 14 years since a return to TO and we end up here! First and last time ever coming to this restaurant. No cutlery at table when we sat, (party of 6). When we asked they brought 2 settings only, we got up to get our own. Water condensation dripping on one of us , waiter spilled beer all over a dress , did not even offer a complimentary. Got drink orders wrong, forgot two of the drinks. Saucer plates(coffee cup plates) were given to us to share food, rather than bigger plates.
Spaghetti was way over cooked and shrimps within were undercooked. Very well unprofessional and disregarded service. Wouldn’t recommend bringing my dog there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Our table was ready right away, but service was sluggish and strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

We arrived for a reservation at 4:45 pm - Nov 18 - No contact with a server for 30 mins - Had to attract a server who waved then came over to say "We were not sure who was serving this table" - took drink order - arrived 20 mins - took appetizer order - arrived quickly - waited another 15 minutes to order entrée - food did not arrive 20 mins - asked for manager - apologized - very busy - order had not been given in kitchen - now a priority - waited another 15 mins - no food - server came apologized - it is coming etc - food arrived -cold - manager says he will give us dessert free - waited long time for dessert to arrive - Total time in the restaurant was 3 hours - Shelley stated our disassifaction - negotiated 50% off total bill - Seated at 4:40 - Left at 7:45 - Total disaster - would not recommend again - Guests of Shelly who booked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Dinner was really good, went there with children and they enjoyed their meal.. kids menu is a good option.
I would recommend it our waitress was really good too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Drove all the way from Ottawa and went there twice. Both in different timing and different season. Food was great. Late afternoon is the best time to visit with their freshly made cheese.
Friendly service, decent price, great food. Wish you'll open one up here soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our table wasn't ready for our reso time, it was 25 min later that we got our table. Our apps came before our drinks. The servers were great but they seemed rushed and behind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

I have eaten at the chain on front street and had a very good experience. My soup was cold even after a replacement bowl. The server was new so I will give her a break. The food in general was ok. The mozzarella ball appetizer was fantastic as expected. The lighting was so low I could not read the menus.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great food, especially the fresh mozzarella and fried calamari, great service and loved the atmosphere and decor. The manager Charlotte came over to our table to chat and see how we were doing which was a nice touch. Would definetly recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Nice ambiance, food... a little loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Was a little annoyed as I got an email about missing the reservation- I clearly identified the reservation as soon as I arrived and mentioned the birthday we were there to celebrate. Food was ok, a little overpriced but service was good. Very frustrating about the email notification that I had supposedly missed it. Wonder about restaurants accountability. Would like clarification. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

I had vegetarian food and it was awesome experience. Ambience was excellent and service was excellent too. Would definitely recommend my friends to eat and spend time together.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Loved Scaddabush! Our server Natasha was a gem :) The selection of appetizers we chose were exactly like she described. Mille grazie!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Service was a bit slow, but the staff were all very friendly. When we explained we had to get going to the show they quickly brought the bill and debit machine. Restaurant was very nice inside, food and drinks were excellent. Good value for money. Definitely recommend the fresh mozzarella!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2017

This is not your typical Italian restaurant. However we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and flavour of the food. Definitely worth a return visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food and drinks were subpar. Nice restaurant and ambiance, but I won't be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Excellent food; a bit noisy but would be great for having a good time with friends.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Scaddabush was a lovely place to go for a birthday dinner. Our server was funny, and the food was good. We got a free dessert for the birthday. The only strange part (and this is a minor complaint) was that the food runners seemed to guess who got what food, and they were always wrong. It would have been easier to just call out the food and wait for us to claim it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Only problem it is too dark! Everyone had their phone flashlight on to see the menu...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

1st time visitor. The food was very good as well as the wine. It's a little loud and it didn't really bother us but I thought I should mention it. The lighting is dim and the menu writing is difficult to read. I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2017

What should have been a quick casual lunch, turned into almost a 2 hour event.

The restaurant was next to empty, so a busy kitchen is not the reason.

The server was great, and the food very good.

I will return, hopefully the kitchen will be more efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Had an overall pleasant dining experience - good food, good cocktails - however was very disappointed that the restaurant did not acknowledge my daughter's birthday that I highlighted in the Open Table reservation. When we ordered a dessert I gave the server a wink, thinking it would come with the requested candle and maybe a "musical birthday wish" from the staff, but it arrived without either. What's the point of providing space to inform the restaurant of a special occasion if they're going to ignore it?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2017

It took about 1.5 hours to receive our main courses. At the very least the food was quite good but not worth waiting so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was excellent but service was extremely slow. Price was very reasonable. Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food and service were good. There was a live DJ in the house on a Friday night, so it was pretty loud and we had to sometimes almost scream at each other to be heard across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

The service was outstanding with a friendly staff as always. There was a mix up with the reservation but they worked around it to accommodate us. Food was fantastic and I had my first chance to try the mozzarella. It was a fantastic start to my night. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

The atmosphere was great, love the decor. Our waitress was very friendly and polite. The food took some time to get to the table, but was well worth the wait. The food was AMAZING!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Other than the restaurant telling Open Table we were a no show, our server Craig was awesome & the special touches he provided for us helped us celebrate our anniversary. We def will come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Though it was a busy night, my friends and I had a great time for a friend's Bachelorette party!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Service was fine. Food was ok! Ambiance we where sitting in a corner booth upstairs which I did not like too dark my date and I made the best of it.
Food took long, not impressed with the Saguetti and stuffed meatball dish.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2017

If you want a quieter place then this is not where you want to go but if you don't mind that kind of atmosphere then definitely a great choice. We went for a good pasta dinner and that's exactly what we got. The service was great and the price was affordable. I would come again for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2017

This restaurant had the greatest pasta. We enjoyed the chicken parmesan. We were happy that we did not order any salad or bread because the main course was very filling. The staff was very friendly. We sat in the back where it was very noisy but the front area appeared to be quieter. The lighting is dark for those of us with eye issues and we had some trouble reading the menu in the light that was available. The restaurant is across from the Chelsea Hotel which made it very convenient for us.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.