About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (43)
Casual (42)
Fun (34)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Cozy (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Family Style (24)
Romantic (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great Beer (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Sports (4)
Spicy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

It was my first time here and I loved it. However, I wasn't a fan of the Sophia Pizza. There wasn't enough goat cheese and too much dry chicken. The calamari was amazing, especially the sauces it came with. So delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was the second time we went to Scaddabush. Both times we were on our way to a movie. Both times the food took forever. They did comp one of the appetizers once they realized we were peeved and after we had been trying to catch the eye of our server (she must have had a split section because she was difficult to locate). I am a big guy and I usually never leave food on my plate but my Carbonara was so over salted that I couldn't finish it. You have to expect it to be a bit salty with the smoked bacon, but... We were running late for the movie so there was no time to send it back. Not sure if I will go back even tho' most of the food we've had there was really amazing. Definitely try them out, just only go when you have lots of time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Not really my kind of place, but the food was good. It was also nice to have choices when it came to the size of your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great decor, casual and lit well for dining anytime of day. Outside patio as well. Food was good, menu included a good mix of choices.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great place!

Good food!

Awesome options!

A bit too loud when crowded.

Love the candle at the table!

Thanks guys for another fine meal!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with Scaddabush. The food was really good. I got the Spaghetti with Shrimp and it was awesome. My wife got the butternut squash ravioli.

We especially liked the poor man's parmesan.

Jasmine, our server, was attentive and friendly.

Gelato was great.

This is not the place to go to for a quiet dinner. Embrace the energy and the music as part of the experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We didn't make it past our appetizers. Arrived very hungry and left disappointed. We had to send back the soggy calamari for more fry, to not notice it needed it prior to bringing it to table was all we needed to know. Unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had a fantastic meal on our last night in Toronto. The fresh Mozzarealla was to die for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We enjoyed our experience and the discount offered because we stayed at the Delta across the road. Our table was a little dark for reading the menu but server was very helpful. Looks like a fun place and makes me wish I was younger.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Been there before but first time during the day - pizzas are good, service could have been better

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

It was our first time at Scaddabush and we had an amazing experience. Our very knowledgable and friendly server Cody made some delicious recommendations. He was very warm and attentive throughout our meal. Drinks & food were absolutely delicious, we will certainly be back again.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 21, 2017

A good place if you are looking for an energetic atmosphere while still able to maintain easy conversation.

We were two, split the greens, calamari and the spaghetti shrimp dish. Great value. I would skip the calamari as it's bland but the rest was good. We didn't try the mozzarella ball, which is their signature starter, but it looks like it is worth a try.

Waitress was fantastic. Friendly, quick and very knowledgable about the entire menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Sat at bar area and we were served by bartender. She was great, food was good. Very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was fine but our first waiter was problematic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Six of us planned a pre-theatre dinner outing. The food came out super-fast and the GIANT stuffed meatball did not disappoint. Our server was amazingly attentive and we got in and out lickety-split! My only comment would be that I would have liked to have the spaghetti al dente, not overdone. All the food looked very impressive. The menu had just enough options. Our reservation was for 6pm and although not full, the restaurant did have a nice fun ambiance. I look forward to going back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food is decent but uninspiring. Generic and safe Italian food. Service is really slow, took us about 45 minutes in between each course. Drink service is also slow too. Decent atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great service, very attentive staff. Excellent lunch, good variety.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Never had a bad menu item in my life. That mozzarella is to die for, that's all I can say.
Super friendly staff. Little bit dark and loud, but you can bet I'll be back soon enough. Thanks again for a fantastic meal!
I loved this place so much that I had my wedding rehearsal dinner here, haha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

When an Italian restaurant gets recommended to you by a number of people who themselves have grown up on homemade Italian fare that was honed to perfection as a result of a prodigious historical pedigree stretching back to Italy, it deserves checking out.

So was my reasoning in choosing to give Scaddabush a try. Let me assure you that my experience will certainly not be my last. Exceptionally central and easily accessible location, a varied menu, fantastic service and a wide variety of truly delicious food are the discernible hallmarks of this establishment.

My only knock against it is that the lighting is rather low in intensity. Next time, I plan on bringing my snazzy magnifying glass with built-in lights that I got at the dollar store for about $2, if memory serves. However, otherwise, a real pleasurable experience. Highly recommended to all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Another good meal. Had lunch this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food and sevice, meeting up with friends so location was central. Our server was informative and pleasant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I enjoyed everything except, disappointingly, my entree. I'm lactose intolerant, so my options were pretty limited. I went with the fettuccine capri, which I found tasted more like lemon and parsley than seafood or tomato sauce. It wasn't terrible, but the seafood was few and far between. I loved the zeppole dessert though, and my partner enjoyed his stuffed spaghetti and meatballs.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I took my family there. Kids (6 & 8) enjoyed their meal. We enjoyed ours and the martini's were yummy. Great spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was our first time eating at Scaddabush. The charity bread was so good, we'll definitely go back for that. The chicken parmesan bites, too. The penne bolognese was delicious. Makes us want to try all of their other pasta dishes (and I'm not big on pasta). Craig did a great job making us feel welcome & comfortable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Waitress was very attentive and warm during our dinner. It made the experience that much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Enjoyed our visit. Food was very good. Staff outstanding. Will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was too slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went for the first time to celebrate a friend's birthday. Everything was excellent. (However the music was a bit loud.) Great place for a social gathering with friends, family, and co-workers. Staff were friendly and nice. Go try it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Staff was very friendly. Called beforehand to ask if there were any questions and if we had prefered seating. Food was delicious when we arrived.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Place was good it was my first time there , food wasn't bad . Would recommend to a friend , nice place if you want to feel comfy and relaxed . It's a very xholl place .

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food , great atmosphere! It's was our first time dining here and will definitely be back. The fresh house made mozzarella was delicious and the Caesar salad was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fun ambiance and good food!!
The food very tasty and unique.
The decor and location is perfect!
The DJ is excellent!

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Waiter was great. Atmosphere was great. Longest time sont in a restaurant ever

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love Scaddabush! Always good food and great service!

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been in 3 Scaddabush locations and the consistency of the quality remains my motive to keep coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Fun, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I had been to the Front and Simcoe location and found the food (steak) to be superior. I found the steak a bit gristly at this location. Service was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great fresh mozzarella, made in full view. Service was excellent - efficient and knowledgeable, though didn't encourage any lingering. Pasta (butternut squash ravioli) was quite good though a bit unnecessarily rich (cream sauce).

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Winterlicious menu was very good value although I would have preferred another main course choice. The presentation of the food was very well done. The service was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was exceptional We went for Winterlicious and the food and price were very reasonable. Loved it.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.