About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Restaurant Photos

  • Gerrard - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Yonge And Gerrard Kitchen Table - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Spaghetti And Meatball - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Diavolo Pizza - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Chocolate Toffee Jar Cake - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Bomba Burrata - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON

Report a photo problem

Gerrard - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Yonge And Gerrard Kitchen Table - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Spaghetti And Meatball - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Diavolo Pizza - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Chocolate Toffee Jar Cake - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Bomba Burrata - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (50)
Good for Groups (50)
Fun (41)
See All
Comfort Food (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Great for Lunch (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Family Style (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Modern Decor (14)
Romantic (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Wood Oven (12)
People Watching (12)
Business Meals (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Music (4)
Live Sports (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took more than an hour to bring my wife ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Took more than an hour to bring my wife and I our entrees on a Thursday night and it wasn't crowded (there were empty tables). Within that time we heard their playlist at least twice and it was terrible and very loud. Because the music was so loud the waitress had to scream for us to hear her, which was very annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

I would NEVER return to this restaurant. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

I would NEVER return to this restaurant.

We made a table reservation through OPEN TABLE...arrived for 6:45 pm on a Tuesday evening.

We waiting 20 MINUTES to even be acknowledged ~ we had 3 different wait-staff look and walk by us - never acknowledged - said hello, brought water - nothing.

Pathetic actually. Being in the hospitality service industry myself -- this is terrible.

It wasn't like the place was so busy that they couldn't have at least acknowledged.

Enough said -- would definitely NOT RECOMMEND

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food. Good portions except for the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food. Good portions except for the "charity bread."

Service was inconsistent but I think it was due to the kitchen. Service was very friendly.

Loud but the atmosphere was fine.

Average value for the money.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had great service but otherwise it wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had great service but otherwise it was only decent. Probably wouldn't go back but only because there are better places in this pricepoint.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice restaurant, very efficient staff, s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Nice restaurant, very efficient staff, seemed to always care about what you asked for and how you're doing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for NYE, place was packed but thank ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE, place was packed but thank God we had a reservation. Hostess was very friendly and professional, smaller sized booth but perfect for just the 2 of us. Waitress was very attentive and helpful, drinks came fast and appetizer just as quick. Only complaint is the charity bread was bathed in garlic and kept reappearing throughout the night haha. Had the pizza and it was amazing, great crust and fresh veggies. Wife loved her pasta, and the tiramisu was amazing. It would've been just as great had we brought our daughter as it was a lovely family atmosphere. Will definitely be going back next time in TO.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good customer service, regularly ch ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good customer service, regularly checking on our food and how we are doing. The tables are quite large and the dining experience is more casual.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I thought the food and drinks were amazi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I thought the food and drinks were amazing and delicious! We had made a reservation in advance and were told partway through our meal that we were only allowed to stay for 15 more minutes! Wasn't impressed by this in any way given we spent a lot of money and had booked a reservation. Thought it was very rude of the server to say this and the "kick out" came from management. We were going to order more drinks but after being told we had a limited amount of time to stay...it definitely dampened the experience. There was barely a line up to get in and other tables available so didn't see a reason for the server to say this. So if you book a reservation be warned they may kick you out after an hour!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a great group of family venue. W ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is a great group of family venue. We booked for two families and it was a perfect restaurant for the kids and us. Food was delicious and the kids loved their food. I loved the family-style servings and very good value for our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful staff and fantastic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely wonderful staff and fantastic meal. Great for upbeat atmosphere but can still hear someone/have a conversation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome, service was great. Amb ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was awesome, service was great. Ambiance was a good combination of tradition and trendy. I'd recommend bread with olive oil to lure more customers ! I think you've got a good thing going.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Try the artichoke and spinach dip -- we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Try the artichoke and spinach dip -- we all agreed it was the best we'd tasted. Salada delicious and good pizza.

Tags: Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner with the family, kids home for ho ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Dinner with the family, kids home for holidays - not often we find a spot where all six of us (five adults one teenager) find something each of us really enjoys - we did this time! Was a great time enjoyed by all!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have enjoyed dining here in the past a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I have enjoyed dining here in the past and this time was no different. Everything was wonderful! I always order the charity bread with the Baked Penne Carbonara and it always hits the spot. My friends and I loved our server who was kind, polite and attentive to our needs. He also took great care of my friend's daughter who was very pleased with her pepperoni pizza and cookies. We had also ordered calamari, sangrias, the Fettuccini Capri, the Spaghetti and Meatball as well as a the Mario Pizza. The food was delicious and the service exceptional. The atmosphere was welcoming and warm. I highly recommend this restaurant location for group dinners and events. It's one of my favourite places to dine at when I'm in the mood to relax and have some good old fashioned, freshly made pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My son got food poisoning after our visi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My son got food poisoning after our visit. Swift but deadly and unfortunate as we've always enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

Second time back to this restaurant. I b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Second time back to this restaurant. I brought my mom this time. Made a reservation 1 hr before coming, with no issues. Quick to get to table. Our waiter Alex A. was EXCELLENT!!! He was knowledgable , very friendly and came by our table to check in on us throughout our stay. He made out experience so so worth it! The food was amazing...mozzarella ball...yum! We both had the Italian burgers, with fries and rosemary garlic fries. I will most definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent, our waiter wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was excellent, our waiter was extremely friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great evening at Scaddabush- f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Enjoyed a great evening at Scaddabush- food was great and service excellent! They also honoured my request for a booth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waited 1 hour, shrimp was missing from m ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Waited 1 hour, shrimp was missing from my seafood pasta when I told them they brought me 3 small shrimp. Pasta sauce was very bland. Calamari were small and overcooked. Mussels and scallops were so small. It was a party of 7 and no one was happy with their meals. Overpriced. I'd go to East Side Mario's for seafood pasta it is way better and comes with bread and salad for 18.00. Scaddabush is 21.00 no bread or salad. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

This place never fails. The flavours exp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place never fails. The flavours explode in your mouth and the atmosphere is divine. It feels as though you are truly getting a taste of Italy. So good, every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portions small should tell you that

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Portions small should tell you that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Great price. Great atmospher ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food. Great price. Great atmosphere. Parking is tricky there. Not alot of leg space. Nice intimate. I dig it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, , Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went there for dinner wit a friend who I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Went there for dinner wit a friend who I hadn't seen in a number of years. CODY our server was outstanding. The food was OK, not outstanding, but I wasn't there or the food. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

I love this place. Food was good. We had ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I love this place. Food was good. We had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing. The wi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. The wine list was great. I wish the LCBO stocked some of them!

The ambiance was nice, but the music was a bit to loud for the setting.

Our waitress was great. The hostess leaves something to be desired ad she was not very personable. Someone from the bar brought a refill of wine and didn't say one word!

Overall it was great and highly recommend going there.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always get their fresh mozzarella that ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I always get their fresh mozzarella that never fails to disappoint. Made fresh everyday , always delicious. Location close to plenty of parking and near Dundas stop. Great place to hang out, great atmosphere with a live DJ on Friday nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Restaurant in great location. This is a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Restaurant in great location. This is a huge restaurant and the orders must've gotten a bit backed up at the kitchen so we had to wait for quite a bit of time.

I ordered the zucca ravioli (small size) and I don't think I really got $20 worth of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Not the greatest food. Pasta was dry, c ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Not the greatest food. Pasta was dry, calamari was so bland we sent it back. The only saving grace was the mozzarella, in which it's known for. So, the caprese salad was the winner of the evening. Sorry, but the restaurant next door...Reds.... was way better.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is delicious & consistent (we'v ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is delicious & consistent (we've been there a few times) - especially love their in-house mozzarella . Servers are polite, friendly and attentive. Only downside is that it's loud and very open so not a great romantic spot for quiet or deep conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Except for the relentless up-sell by the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Except for the relentless up-sell by the waiter - every one of his recommendations was the most expensive choice on the menu - would recommend

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love the Prosciutto Mozzarella Board - c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love the Prosciutto Mozzarella Board - can't get enough of the homemade mozzarella!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful and my squash rav ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was wonderful and my squash ravioli was amazing! We will definitely go back here for future get togethers! Even the kids enjoyed their meals

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food...mozzarella made in house... ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food...mozzarella made in house...WOW!!! Great pasta...the charity bread with it is incredible!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food took longer than usua ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I thought the food took longer than usual to get to our table, considering there were only 3 lunch orders from our table and the restaurant was not busy at all. I believe we placed our orders around 11:45am and didn't get serve until at least 12:20pm. Since we were here during the lunch hour from work, we had to be on track for time, so I watched the clock carefully. I ordered the procuitto and fig jam grilled cheese. It was really oily, to the extent that I couldn't finish it because of how oily it was. I was disgusted by how much grease was left on my fingers from holding the sandwich - it was very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was consistent compared to the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was consistent compared to the other Scaddabush location I've visited. Overall, the only thing that was lacking was the delivery of the food to the table. We ordered two items for dessert and it took 20 minutes for it to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good but the service was te ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was good but the service was terrible. Bad enough not to return. There seemed to be enough staff and servers around but our table had such slow service and we were celebrating a birthday so it was a shame.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our first visit to a Scaddabush ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first visit to a Scaddabush. It was busy and the waitress apologized for the wait, I appreciated that. We waited a long time for everything. I just wish our meals were worth the wait. They nailed the kids pasta with butter! I had the spaghetti and meatball, I wish I had of just ordered a meatball. The meatball was delicious, but the pasta was undercooked and stuck together , like they didn't rinse it or something. It was gluey and the sauce was non existent, which was disappointing since it sounded yummy. The kids pasta was cooked perfectly. We also had the pesto cream sauce pasta dish and it was yummy, the pasta was cooked way better than my spaghetti, it was still not quite al dente, although the sauce made up for that. Our appetizers were awesome, I would go back for those.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Have been to this restaurant several tim ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Have been to this restaurant several times. Food is consistently good and in a fun environment. The service was very good and friendly. The only problem (and this has happened when I've visited before) is that the washroom had a broken hand dryer and also was out of paper towels. This was mentioned to staff and though apologies were made with a promise of it being rectified, a second visit to washroom was exactly the same-no towels had been brought in and the dryer was still broken. Especially disappointing when the problem had already been told to a staff member. I will return but with what our dinner and wine cost for a special occasion, I would expect to have the washrooms in excellent order.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Alex was quite happy to offer ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server Alex was quite happy to offer recommendations, and let us have a very leisurely evening. The goat cheese and avocado crostini was wonderful. Portions are generous - you'd better be hungry if you order the regular size portion!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was trying to rush us out.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server was trying to rush us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.