About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (55)
Casual (52)
Fun (40)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Comfort Food (32)
Special Occasion (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Cozy (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (21)
Family Style (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Business Meals (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Wood Oven (8)
People Watching (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Great Beer (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed our visit. Food was very good. S ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed our visit. Food was very good. Staff outstanding. Will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was too slow

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was too slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went for the first time to celebrate ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for the first time to celebrate a friend's birthday. Everything was excellent. (However the music was a bit loud.) Great place for a social gathering with friends, family, and co-workers. Staff were friendly and nice. Go try it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was very friendly. Called beforeha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Staff was very friendly. Called beforehand to ask if there were any questions and if we had prefered seating. Food was delicious when we arrived.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Place was good it was my first time ther ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Place was good it was my first time there , food wasn't bad . Would recommend to a friend , nice place if you want to feel comfy and relaxed . It's a very xholl place .

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food , great atmosphere! It's wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food , great atmosphere! It's was our first time dining here and will definitely be back. The fresh house made mozzarella was delicious and the Caesar salad was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun ambiance and good food!! The food ve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fun ambiance and good food!!

The food very tasty and unique.

The decor and location is perfect!

The DJ is excellent!

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Waiter was great. Atmosphere was great. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Waiter was great. Atmosphere was great. Longest time sont in a restaurant ever

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Scaddabush! Always good food and g ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love Scaddabush! Always good food and great service!

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, , Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been in 3 Scaddabush locations and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been in 3 Scaddabush locations and the consistency of the quality remains my motive to keep coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Fun, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to the Front and Simcoe locat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I had been to the Front and Simcoe location and found the food (steak) to be superior. I found the steak a bit gristly at this location. Service was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great fresh mozzarella, made in full vie ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great fresh mozzarella, made in full view. Service was excellent - efficient and knowledgeable, though didn't encourage any lingering. Pasta (butternut squash ravioli) was quite good though a bit unnecessarily rich (cream sauce).

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The Winterlicious menu was very good val ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Winterlicious menu was very good value although I would have preferred another main course choice. The presentation of the food was very well done. The service was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding and service was exc ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was exceptional We went for Winterlicious and the food and price were very reasonable. Loved it.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would highly recommend. Food excellent. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Would highly recommend. Food excellent. great experience. Will absolutely go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, , Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant...delicious food an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this restaurant...delicious food and great service every time. Can't resist the fresh mozzarella !! Sure not to disappoint!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing, and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was amazing, and the atmosphere was great as well. It was a Saturday at dinner time so I understand the service being slow, sometimes it was a little too slow. Overall was a great time though!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were in TO for a weekend. This totall ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were in TO for a weekend. This totally filled our need for yummy Italian. Fresh pasta is awesome. Great menu. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Scaddabush with my father-in-law ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went to Scaddabush with my father-in-law for a belated birthday dinner and enjoyed it. The classic bruschetta was excellent - and the large is a lot of food! Not that we had trouble finishing it. My father in law had the calamari and said it was "pretty good" - not the best he's ever had but he enjoyed it. He also had the seafood pasta which again was pretty good, and the small was a good portion. Without the appetizers you might want the large but with, he was stuffed. I had the butternut squash ravioli, which I always love. I did get the large, because ravioli servings are always so small! This was more than enough though, and very creamy and sweet and savoury and delicious. It was quite loud in there, so we had a little trouble hearing each other from time to time. I'd go again though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my first time at Scaddabush. M ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was my first time at Scaddabush. My family went for Winterlicious. The food was awesome especially the mushroom and sherry soup which unfortunately doesn't appear to be on the regular menu. Too bad they should reconsider. The charity bread was tasty and the fact that they donate the cost to charity like Sick Kids and others is amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and will definitely go back. Wonderful first time experience, can't wait for the next trip definitely trying the fresh made pasta.

Tags: Local Ingredients, , Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant is great!!very delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This restaurant is great!!very delicious mozzarella cheese..good sangria..very good attendant..Thank you kevin!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Wood Oven, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seven of us dined at Scaddabush pre-conc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Seven of us dined at Scaddabush pre-concert, and having read the reviews on-line had anticipated good food and good service - I don't really feel we received either. The food was alright, but there are much better options at that price point in downtown Toronto. Our server tried to be engaging but fell extremely short, especially given the numerous errors in service. Scary part? She was training a new server - let's hope the new server won't actually try to emulate her lacklustre service. A number of us have worked in the hospitality industry and are patient, forgiving and understanding on many, many levels, but were disheartened by our service on Thursday night. Worst part? While we were anxious to wrap up our dinner and get to our show she completely dropped the ball on billing and payment. Needless to say we were late for the show.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food with friendly and helpful serv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good food with friendly and helpful service, it can however be quite loud. Love the charity bread! Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Fabulous service, excellent food

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fabulous service, excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff nice. Gelato rock frozen and unabl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Staff nice. Gelato rock frozen and unable to eat, including whipped cream. Frozen in dish, not plated for customer. 10 minutes later, still couldn't get a spoon in it. Sent it back and didn't return for another 10 minutes, dish was warmed. All about kitchen convenience, not customer. Only green beans as vegetable for all entries, although menu states "seasonal vegetables". No substitution and not in season, and not vegetables, but vegetable. You get what you get......too bad customer! Really average food, and desert was appalling. Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The decor is pleasing, creative light fi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The decor is pleasing, creative light fixtures! Food however, mediocre and at times disappointing. Beet/goat cheese salad was greens with tiny teasers of beet and cheese morsels. Dressing far too tangy. Had to ask for more beets and cheese! Gluten free pizza came charred, so we asked our server to remake it and he tried to tell me they couldn't make it better so I should order something else. I said I didn't want anything else, but wanted to speak with the manager. I told the manager if they couldn't make it properly it shouldn't be on the menu. The manager handled the situation perfectly, made sure the chef 'babysat' my new pizza and it came perfectly baked. She saved my meal, but not enough for me to recommend this restaurant to anyone. Too many other great places to try in TO!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The attentiveness of your staff impresse ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The attentiveness of your staff impressed us. The restaurant is

lovely and we will return!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Wedding anniversary

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was amazing. Such great servi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was amazing. Such great service and ambiance and great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time eating there mozzarella app ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Second time eating there mozzarella app is outstanding and stuffed meatballs were excellent

Tags: , Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for lunch with 3 other friends ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went here for lunch with 3 other friends from work. 3 out of 4 of us were on limited time due to unexpected work demand. Our awesome server went above and beyond to ensure our meals came right away and she was very understanding and accommodating. The taste & quality of our meals and service were not compromised at all in all of this haste. Highly recommend Scaddabush Yonge & Gerrard.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere was lively. Beautiful decor. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Atmosphere was lively. Beautiful decor. Fresh made mozzarella and pasta are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to go with a big group. The f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good place to go with a big group. The food was tasty, service was attentive and the prices are reasonable. Would be nice if downtown Toronto restaurants offered to validate parking for bills over $500...

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took more than an hour to bring my wife ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Took more than an hour to bring my wife and I our entrees on a Thursday night and it wasn't crowded (there were empty tables). Within that time we heard their playlist at least twice and it was terrible and very loud. Because the music was so loud the waitress had to scream for us to hear her, which was very annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

As a foodie who travels and had a few It ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As a foodie who travels and had a few Italian spots, I was disappointed. The good was not flavorful as it should be for their meatball speciality. Well I know you don't come to an Italian spot and order Salmon but I gave it a try. It was mediocre at best.

However the drinks were awesome and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I would NEVER return to this restaurant. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I would NEVER return to this restaurant.

We made a table reservation through OPEN TABLE...arrived for 6:45 pm on a Tuesday evening.

We waiting 20 MINUTES to even be acknowledged ~ we had 3 different wait-staff look and walk by us - never acknowledged - said hello, brought water - nothing.

Pathetic actually. Being in the hospitality service industry myself -- this is terrible.

It wasn't like the place was so busy that they couldn't have at least acknowledged.

Enough said -- would definitely NOT RECOMMEND

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food. Good portions except for the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food. Good portions except for the "charity bread."

Service was inconsistent but I think it was due to the kitchen. Service was very friendly.

Loud but the atmosphere was fine.

Average value for the money.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had great service but otherwise it wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had great service but otherwise it was only decent. Probably wouldn't go back but only because there are better places in this pricepoint.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice restaurant, very efficient staff, s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Nice restaurant, very efficient staff, seemed to always care about what you asked for and how you're doing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for NYE, place was packed but thank ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE, place was packed but thank God we had a reservation. Hostess was very friendly and professional, smaller sized booth but perfect for just the 2 of us. Waitress was very attentive and helpful, drinks came fast and appetizer just as quick. Only complaint is the charity bread was bathed in garlic and kept reappearing throughout the night haha. Had the pizza and it was amazing, great crust and fresh veggies. Wife loved her pasta, and the tiramisu was amazing. It would've been just as great had we brought our daughter as it was a lovely family atmosphere. Will definitely be going back next time in TO.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.