About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Restaurant Photos

  • Gerrard - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Yonge And Gerrard Kitchen Table - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Spaghetti And Meatball - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Diavolo Pizza - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Chocolate Toffee Jar Cake - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
  • Bomba Burrata - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Gerrard - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Yonge And Gerrard Kitchen Table - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Spaghetti And Meatball - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Diavolo Pizza - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Chocolate Toffee Jar Cake - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON
Bomba Burrata - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard, Toronto, ON

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (56)
Casual (50)
Comfort Food (37)
See All
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fun (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (27)
Great for Lunch (21)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Family Style (19)
Authentic (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Romantic (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Bar Seating (15)
People Watching (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Live Sports (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (4)
Live Music (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always get their fresh mozzarella that ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

I always get their fresh mozzarella that never fails to disappoint. Made fresh everyday , always delicious. Location close to plenty of parking and near Dundas stop. Great place to hang out, great atmosphere with a live DJ on Friday nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Restaurant in great location. This is a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant in great location. This is a huge restaurant and the orders must've gotten a bit backed up at the kitchen so we had to wait for quite a bit of time.

I ordered the zucca ravioli (small size) and I don't think I really got $20 worth of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Not the greatest food. Pasta was dry, c ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Not the greatest food. Pasta was dry, calamari was so bland we sent it back. The only saving grace was the mozzarella, in which it's known for. So, the caprese salad was the winner of the evening. Sorry, but the restaurant next door...Reds.... was way better.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is delicious & consistent (we'v ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is delicious & consistent (we've been there a few times) - especially love their in-house mozzarella . Servers are polite, friendly and attentive. Only downside is that it's loud and very open so not a great romantic spot for quiet or deep conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Except for the relentless up-sell by the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Except for the relentless up-sell by the waiter - every one of his recommendations was the most expensive choice on the menu - would recommend

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love the Prosciutto Mozzarella Board - c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love the Prosciutto Mozzarella Board - can't get enough of the homemade mozzarella!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful and my squash rav ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was wonderful and my squash ravioli was amazing! We will definitely go back here for future get togethers! Even the kids enjoyed their meals

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food...mozzarella made in house... ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food...mozzarella made in house...WOW!!! Great pasta...the charity bread with it is incredible!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food took longer than usua ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I thought the food took longer than usual to get to our table, considering there were only 3 lunch orders from our table and the restaurant was not busy at all. I believe we placed our orders around 11:45am and didn't get serve until at least 12:20pm. Since we were here during the lunch hour from work, we had to be on track for time, so I watched the clock carefully. I ordered the procuitto and fig jam grilled cheese. It was really oily, to the extent that I couldn't finish it because of how oily it was. I was disgusted by how much grease was left on my fingers from holding the sandwich - it was very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was consistent compared to the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was consistent compared to the other Scaddabush location I've visited. Overall, the only thing that was lacking was the delivery of the food to the table. We ordered two items for dessert and it took 20 minutes for it to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good but the service was te ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was good but the service was terrible. Bad enough not to return. There seemed to be enough staff and servers around but our table had such slow service and we were celebrating a birthday so it was a shame.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our first visit to a Scaddabush ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first visit to a Scaddabush. It was busy and the waitress apologized for the wait, I appreciated that. We waited a long time for everything. I just wish our meals were worth the wait. They nailed the kids pasta with butter! I had the spaghetti and meatball, I wish I had of just ordered a meatball. The meatball was delicious, but the pasta was undercooked and stuck together , like they didn't rinse it or something. It was gluey and the sauce was non existent, which was disappointing since it sounded yummy. The kids pasta was cooked perfectly. We also had the pesto cream sauce pasta dish and it was yummy, the pasta was cooked way better than my spaghetti, it was still not quite al dente, although the sauce made up for that. Our appetizers were awesome, I would go back for those.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Have been to this restaurant several tim ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Have been to this restaurant several times. Food is consistently good and in a fun environment. The service was very good and friendly. The only problem (and this has happened when I've visited before) is that the washroom had a broken hand dryer and also was out of paper towels. This was mentioned to staff and though apologies were made with a promise of it being rectified, a second visit to washroom was exactly the same-no towels had been brought in and the dryer was still broken. Especially disappointing when the problem had already been told to a staff member. I will return but with what our dinner and wine cost for a special occasion, I would expect to have the washrooms in excellent order.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Alex was quite happy to offer ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server Alex was quite happy to offer recommendations, and let us have a very leisurely evening. The goat cheese and avocado crostini was wonderful. Portions are generous - you'd better be hungry if you order the regular size portion!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was trying to rush us out.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server was trying to rush us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I wasn't sure about this place, as it's ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I wasn't sure about this place, as it's so big and in a tourist area, but the food was SPECTACULAR. I had the burger with garlic-rosemary fries and it was seriously fine-dining quality. The service was super friendly and lovely. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Although this certain trip to this locat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Although this certain trip to this location was quite horrendous. Our server, Adam was great... he was helpful, funny and his service made up for everything else that went wrong. I will be back to see him. This location is my go-to and it is usually fantastic but this time they dropped the ball HARD. I will be back but you guys let me down.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The hamburger and the ravioli came to th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The hamburger and the ravioli came to the table luke warm

which was disappointing because we were really looking forward to those dishes. The mozzarella balls were amazing as usual and the pizzas are always on point.

Service is always consistently good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great energetic atmosphere with DJ. Frie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great energetic atmosphere with DJ. Friendly, tentative staff. Good food and good value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Music, Comfort Food, Family Style, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall! Very much enjo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience overall! Very much enjoy our service, the waitress was amazing and very polite! Found she was very helpful and resourceful about the menu and picking options! The overall feel of Scaddabush was welcoming and warm! Its a great place for date night or just even going out to enjoy some really good food! I very much enjoyed the fact that everything is made fresh and its super delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great staff, and great price ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food, great staff, and great prices. We were very happy with the overall experience at dining there, we would definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic! GREAT portions! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food was fantastic! GREAT portions! I DREAM of the mozzarella!

Highly recommend!

The service was slow, our waiter was young and in absolutely no rush for anything.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

My husband and I went to Scaddabush for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I went to Scaddabush for the first time on Sunday evening as we were staying across the street at the Chelsea. We shared the naked mozzarella appetizer; he had lobster spaghetti and I had baked penne carbonara.....our meal was fabulous!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredibly noisy, poor service (long wai ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Incredibly noisy, poor service (long waits to get food and drink), and pretty expensive. There are better places to go.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Slow, unapologetic service, brought us t ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Slow, unapologetic service, brought us the wrong food, most of the things we wanted were not available any more, went back and forth on the ones that were ("sorry, we don't have it" and five mins later "nevermind, we do"), and left the dirty dishes from the apps up until we finished the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

If you want to actually converse and hea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

If you want to actually converse and hear people at your dinner table, this is not the place for you.

Not sure why the music has to be so loud. I come to enjoy the food and the company, not to hear the inaudible blarring music.

But the food was good

Tags: Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

For the most part the visit was good. Ho ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

For the most part the visit was good. However, the seating was not ideal. There is not an area in the online reservation guide to request a table or a booth and we were seated at a high, uncomfortable table. When we asked to be moved it was met with resistance and were given the excuse that the lower tables are for seniors only. The other issue was the meal itself, my wife did not receive what she ordered and the waitress just shrugged it off as though she didn't hear us when it was brought to her attention. The other 3 meals served were very good and the ambience was as well. I would return to the restaurant and recommend calling to create the reservation so as to secure proper seating.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Went out for dinner to celebrate finishi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Went out for dinner to celebrate finishing mid term exams as well as birthdays, amazing service cannot get over it. Alex(male)was brilliant and I would strongly recommend him. The mozzarella was also delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time - great food. Served qu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had a great time - great food. Served quickly. Good server.

Did not have any idea what this place was - took a chance..we were not disappointed

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, as always! But the service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Amazing food, as always! But the service was inattentive and tough to reach...

Tags: Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Loved the melted mozzarella with truffle ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved the melted mozzarella with truffle oil. The noise level was unfortunately quite unpleasant and meant we left as quickly as possible.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Our server made the evening. She was at ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our server made the evening. She was attentive and patient. We enjoyed our food and seating. I would only ask that servers should remind patrons that the soups come with this ball of bread crumbs and cheese that take up nearly a third of the serving. I will remember to opt out of that - it is too much for a cup of soup. But to be sure - I enjoyed the BEST roasted vegetable sandwich that I have ever tasted ANYWHERE! Thank you.

Side note: Too noisy for my liking, which is a common issue for open ceiling concepts at these types of large eateries. I have heard many people complain about the noise levels and ambience at these types of restaurants. You would think that would have influenced changes to interior decor and design of modern restaurants by now. It's 1990's industrial style. Did not want to rate the noise as energetic, is energetic is noisy? should offer other as an option - because I could recall the noise disruptions.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I had a great experience here with my fr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I had a great experience here with my friends! We came early on a Friday night and luckily escaped typical dinner rush, so we had a nice, relaxing time. Highly recommend, the food and service were superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The fresh mozzarella was delicious as we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The fresh mozzarella was delicious as well as the spaghetti and meatballs. I would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always the burrata was on point! Gre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2016

As always the burrata was on point! Great food, great drinks, definitely a restaurant I'll return to

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, delicious! I come here for th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2016

As always, delicious! I come here for the amazing house-made mozzarella with prosciutto, which was wonderful, but quantity was less than usual...little skimpy on the prosciutto.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was the equivalent to an East Side ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was the equivalent to an East Side Mario's. Nothing spectacular and lacked flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Lots of small errors. Wrong side dishes. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Lots of small errors. Wrong side dishes. Entrees given to wrong people. Lack of garnishes. Didn't tell me items on menu weren't available prior to ordering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food here is delicious -- be sure to ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food here is delicious -- be sure to get the Charity Bread! The homemade mozzarella is spectacular. The restaurant isn't quiet but it still has a great ambiance. The service was outstanding-- our waiter, Chris, made many helpful suggestions and was attentive and friendly. We were visiting Toronto from out of town, otherwise we'd be returning to Scaddabush often. We can't wait to get back there for another visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.