About Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

382 Yonge Street
Unit #7
Toronto, ON M5B 1S8
View Larger Map

It's a little of this, a little of that and a whole new take on Italian.
Our story is simple. Everything we can make fresh daily, we do. Including our hand-stretched mozzarella (made-to-order every day between 5pm & 11pm), our pasta, our signature 1/2 lb meatballs, our dough, bread and desserts.
Winner of the TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Wed: 11am-12am
Thurs-Sat: 11am-1am

Cross Street:
Gerrard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 597-8838

Website:
http://www.scaddabush.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights

Parking Details:
Paid parking lots available across the street outside Eaton Chelsea Hotel

Public Transit:
College Subway Station (3 min walk)
Dundas Subway Station (4 min walk)

Executive Chef:
Steve Silvestro

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Regular Social Club events involve menu sneak peeks, multi-course tastings--free or very low cost for Social Club members.

Sign up to receive an invite to our next Social Club event

$10 off $30 on your next visit, just for signing up.
Call-Ahead Seating
Sneak Peek Tastings
Italian-Themed Food and Beverage Experiences

http://www.scaddabush.com/social-club/

Restaurant Photos

  • Gerrard - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Yonge And Gerrard Kitchen Table - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Spaghetti And Meatball - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Diavolo Pizza - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Chocolate Toffee Jar Cake - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
  • Bomba Burrata - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Gerrard - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Yonge And Gerrard Kitchen Table - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Spaghetti And Meatball - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Diavolo Pizza - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Chocolate Toffee Jar Cake - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard
Bomba Burrata - Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard

Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & Bar - Yonge & Gerrard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (111)
Special Occasion (60)
Great for Lunch (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Hot Spot (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Kid-friendly (31)
Romantic (28)
Late-night Find (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Casual (22)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fun (9)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Family Style (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Sports (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (2)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was an amazing experience. The food w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined a day ago

It was an amazing experience. The food was exquisite and great price. The zucchini ravioli spectacular. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my fourth visit to Scaddabusch. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is my fourth visit to Scaddabusch. Excellent food and great service. Always a little too loud for my tast.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

if you do not get he mozzarella you are ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

if you do not get he mozzarella you are missing out!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great time! The food was fantas ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time! The food was fantastic (great price as well!) and we had a fantastic server.

We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrible food. Slow service. Our appetiz ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Terrible food. Slow service. Our appetizer came after more than an hour. My gluten-free pizza was so disgusting I sent it back to the kitchen and left to buy $10 takeout at a nearby fast food jamaican restaurant which tasted better than anything here. My friend's spaghetti and meatballs tasted worse than chef boyardee, which is why I declined the server's offer to order something else. Had such high hopes for this place. What a disappointment. They had good music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

My wife and I were in Toronto on vacatio ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

My wife and I were in Toronto on vacation recently. We were looking for a place near our hotel, did some web searching and found this restaurant. The food was excellent, as was the service, and the prices were reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I go to Scaddabush primarily for the han ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I go to Scaddabush primarily for the handmade mozzarella. So tasty and made when you order. Great ambiance and delicious cocktails.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server seemed fairly new and nervous ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our server seemed fairly new and nervous, albeit very nice and personable. She mistakingly punched in an incorrect main order, a chicken parmesan sandwich instead of a stuffed meatball sandwich. When the wrong order was delivered, our server did not approach the table for 10 minutes. She had also forgotten to deliver drinks at this time as well, when they came they were wrong. When I told her about the meal mistake she did go to correct it immediately but my party were already finishing their meals. The new sandwich did not take long, but it was still not right, it was the regular meatball, not the stuffed (I didn't say anything). It came lukewarm, but seemed edible. That evening my stomach felt quite off, and for the next two days I had terrible food poisoning and associated symptoms. I can only relate it to the meal here, as I had else out of the ordinary.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food! My all-time fav was 'brick ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food! My all-time fav was 'brick chicken', but that is no longer on the menu. The server suggested 'chicken limone' as a substitute and it was fan-tabulous!! It took all my will power to NOT lick the plate!!!

My husband had the chicken parm and he said it was one of the best he's had! He also wanted to lick the plate and we had a good chuckle about it.

The one thing I would change about our dining experiences at Scaddabush is getting to pick an area we would like to sit in. I guess we could always ask our server to move us, but we always seem to get seated in the back corners, away from the action. Not a big deal though.

The food makes up for it!

Tags: Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Great atmosphere... food was delicious a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great atmosphere... food was delicious and fresh - service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu, staff and atmosphere is beyond ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The menu, staff and atmosphere is beyond what I expected. We ended up sharing our meals. "Try this!" Every item was unique and full of tastiness! My mother enjoyed her 82nd birthday. My Aunt who came in from Calgary (world traveller) asked the Executeve Chef "When are ya coming to Calgary?" She's taking a copy of the menu back home.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant with amazing food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing restaurant with amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

None of the options allowed for "Noise L ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

None of the options allowed for "Noise Level" fit my experience, however the survey does not allow you to bypass the question. I was forced to choose energetic, being as the noise level was definitely not quiet or moderate. My only complaint about my dining experience is that the music was too loud at the dinner hour, making it difficult to hear everyone around the table when they spoke.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We didn't get our entrees for an hour an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We didn't get our entrees for an hour and 45 mins

They were backed up... But still was a crazy amount of time

And the music was blasting in there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

While I found the food to be ok, the ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

While I found the food to be ok, the service was amazing!!!! We were celebrating a birthday and the staff went out of it way to make it great night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

After visiting the Scarborough Town Cent ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

After visiting the Scarborough Town Centre location and having a great experience, I was very disappointed with the downtown location. The server forgot to punch our drinks, so it was about 15 minutes before we got them, or she took our order. My Burra Burrata mozzarella arrived cold, we had to send back the lobster pasta as it was a very small portion (compared to other location) with minimal lobster. It was better when replaced. Our sautéed mushrooms were overseasoned with what I believe was rosemary, and I had to send them back as well. We waited ages to get the new order, so the other food was getting quite cold by the time. We found the entire experience very underwhelming, and we will not be returning or recommending this location of Scaddabush.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was too salty and pasta overcoo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was too salty and pasta overcooked. Two meals were not edible. The service was terrible, Our waiter appeared to be on some kind of drug, forgetting many things, constantly repeating himself and appearing very confused.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The reservation system is fantastic! The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The reservation system is fantastic! The servers are super! and the food was fantastic! Keep on!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambience are good. A little ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and ambience are good. A little less formal and much louder than I anticipated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Second time around, somewhat disappointi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Second time around, somewhat disappointing. Had the baked penne carbonara, would not recommend unless you love pepper or they change the recipe..way too peppery! Wrong meatball delivered for my friend (stuffed vs not)..

Our server (Anna I think) was extremely nice, patient in answering our questions and very helpful. Comped my meal (appreciated) and offered desert (zepoles)...appreciated these gesture, will most likely give them a 3rd try 😀

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great spot, fantastic decor, nice family ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great spot, fantastic decor, nice family style dining.

My burger lack salt but the toppings on the sandwich were well seasoned and delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My friend and I love coming here for lun ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My friend and I love coming here for lunch.

Great location. Of course the food is great too!

Kerry Ann

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service is always great with friendly st ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service is always great with friendly staff. Generally good food but often find it salty for my taste.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love Scaddabush and have come here on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love Scaddabush and have come here on many occasions. Unfortunately on this evening, the service was very poor - we waited forever to receive our drink and food orders, which took away from an otherwise great experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Not a very good experience. Floor was di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Not a very good experience. Floor was dirty by the table that we were given, had to ask the staff to clean it up. Food was not very good, had to send back my main course and dessert was not good, wanted to send that back also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food took a long time coming, sandwiches ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food took a long time coming, sandwiches were more bread than anything else which was surprising for the price point. One person's sandwich ended up on floor during delivery so service was delayed even further. When that sandwich came, bacon was still raw. One meal out of three was comp'ed. Would not rush back unfortunately. Great location, décor, etc.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food in a comfortable, clean setti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food in a comfortable, clean setting at a very convenient location.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our time at Scaddabush. It's a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed our time at Scaddabush. It's a lively restaurant with pretty good menu. The fresh mozzarella and burrata is always good and we enjoyed the mixed drinks--sangria and sophistocato were yummy. Pasta and steak were done well and good sized portion. Unfortunately the service was fair at best--very slow and ordering was challenging. They did provide a free appetizer due to the extensive wait however which was appreciated. Would definitely return, hopefully the service improves though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Freshly made mozzarella was amazing! Ne ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Freshly made mozzarella was amazing!

Never felt neglected nor rushed by staff

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are from Orillia ON. Whenever we visi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We are from Orillia ON. Whenever we visit Toronto we make it a point to have supper at Scaddabush, best restuarant I've ever eaten at!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had booked a reservation, but upon arr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I had booked a reservation, but upon arriving on time, we were told the table had been taken by another server. Our server was particularly inexperienced, spilling two drinks while setting them on the table. He was disorganized, asking for drink, appetizer and meal orders all at once. He seemed unfamiliar with the menu, and he spoke way too fast.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Food is fine, service is way too slow (c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is fine, service is way too slow (claimed back up at bar?) , tough to run down a waiter/waitress and when the food came, the server put all the wrong meals in front to people.

We made a reservation for a regular level table, But were put first in the bar area (which we asked not to have), ,then ultimately at at a high level table in the back restaurant part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Decent Italian food not authentic but No ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Decent Italian food not authentic but North American style. Osso Buco bites were tasty. Server was nice but kitchen was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I ate the lobster linguini and suffered ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I ate the lobster linguini and suffered the effects of food poisoning...the effect was fairly immediate and i was close to the restaurant's bathroom. I am not allergic to seafood so that is not a factor. I am ok now.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Corporate manufactured overpriced food n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Corporate manufactured overpriced food no better in taste or quality than a Pizza Pizza joint chain. The proprietors - who are very rich - would never ever eat there, and neither should you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Tried the Yonge St. location for conveni ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Tried the Yonge St. location for convenience. Won't be back. Food was extremely bland, portions and quality were also different. Scarborough location is 1000 times better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Calamari was a disappointment. The lobs ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Calamari was a disappointment.

The lobster pasta was not worth the money, it is good but the sauce was very little and not much lobsters.

Other stuff might be better but it seems I got the wrong things.

Will not give up on them yet, will try it again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great pizza and extremely nice ambiance! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great pizza and extremely nice ambiance! I really enjoy the whole atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food was good. On ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good. Only real negative was that it was freezing cold inside so we were cold and our food quickly got cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service did not meet expectatio ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and service did not meet expectations set from other reviews I had heard. Pasta was overlooked and under seasoned although the meatball was tasty. Calamari was almost like chewing rubber bands. I would have sent it back but we waited so long for food, we were starved by then.

Can't say it would be worth a repeat trip. We were a table of 3 and food took forever to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.