About Sbraga - Philadelphia

440 S. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19146
View Larger Map

Top Chef Kevin Sbraga's eponymous restaurant located at 440 S. Broad Street! The menu features a four course seasonal prix fixe tasting menu for $55.00. A la carte dining is available at the bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Cross Street:
Pine Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 735-1913

Website:
http://www.sbraga.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Sbraga

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Octopus
Complimentaty Gruyere And Truffle Popover
Foie Gras Soup
Artisanal Cheese Plate
Rigatoni With Pork Sugo
Hake
Roast Pork. Provolone Bread Pudding. Long Hots
Gewürztraminer
Gummy Worms On Chocolate "Dirt" Pudding
Fravolato Blend
10-Year Tawny Port
Torrontes
txakoli
Gravlax
Four Course Meal
Amaretto Strawberry And Cream Cocktail
Popover
Bbq Chicken With Onion Rings
Rinfresco
Cherry Coke Float
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli
Pappardelle
Napoleon
Raspberry Cheesecake
Caesar Salad
Spring Lamb. Porcini Mushrooms. Curly Kale. Sauce Bordelaise.
Barley Risotto. Rabbit. Fava Bean Ragout.
Key Lime Pie
Chocolate Tart With Pistachio Ice Cream
Colin's Final Word
Blue Fish With Onion Rings
homemade mozzarella
Pork Belly
Scalop And Pork Belly
Hazelnut-Crusted Meatloaf
English Pea Risotto With Pancetta & Frog Leg Tempura
Lamb Chop & Belly W/ Oatmeal
Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Lamb With Brussel Sprouts
Course #1: Bread
Homemade Churros With Chocolate
chicken liver and foie gras mousse
Scallop, Oxtail Tamale, Escabeche

Sbraga - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (104)
special occasion (85)
romantic (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (27)
hot spot (21)
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (17)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a must try. The menu allows for ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a must try. The menu allows for much exploration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third time to Sbraga in 9 mo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was my third time to Sbraga in 9 months. The food is consistently unique and delicious. The portions are perfect size, as there are five courses counting the soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely meal. Delicious, beautifully pres ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lovely meal. Delicious, beautifully presented, thoughtfully conceived dishes. Perfect portion size. Professional service- warm and accommodating, including phone and reception. Reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely evening with good drinks, food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely evening with good drinks, food and conversation. Food was beautiful and delicious. Service was impeccable. So happy that we chose Sbraga as our special dinner destination on our trip to Philly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to dinner here and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I went to dinner here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was wonderful! We will be dining here again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Prix fixe menu selections were varie ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Prix fixe menu selections were varied and abundant and each course was delicious. I especially loved my pre dinner cocktail, "French New Wave."

We enjoyed our friends' company and were able to converse and dine without feeling rushed and staff was attentive throughout the meal. We highly recommend Sbraga!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service but menus see ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food and service but menus seemed unchanged from February.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal, on the pricey side but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very good meal, on the pricey side but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic and services was grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was fantastic and services was great. We went early so we were only 1 of 3 parties but it gets louder as night progresses. Perfect date night is to sit at chef's counter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about Sbraga was first class. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything about Sbraga was first class. From the fois gras soup to the olive oil cake with strawberries and sorbet for dessert. Each of us ordered different apps and entrees so that we could taste the other food. Loved the crab salad, the risotto and the salmon. Husband loved the escargot,

Fettuccine with rabbit, and loin of lamb. The cheese plate was his dessert choice.

The pace of the courses was slow but necessary to have room for the food. Spent a good 2 hours there. My only complaint is that the seating for two is a bit too close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love prix fixe menu, as it usually gu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love prix fixe menu, as it usually guarantees you'll get to try a little bit of everything that the chef has created. Sbraga's prix fixe menu has done just that. There were 4 of us, and we each ordered something different and shared among ourselves. There was not a bad dish from the 12+ dishes that we sampled. Each was put together with thought and innovation. What a treat! The portions were just right, we each felt content. We enjoyed the attentive service from our waiter(s), and will certainly look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently went for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Recently went for our anniversary dinner. Enjoyed the experience. Food was excellent. The foi gras soup was very good. I had the octopus which had a nice grilled flavor yet tender and my wife had the Salmon whixh she liked very much. Tables were a bit close for a quiet intimate dinner. Service was good, not rushed. Would go back again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We chose to do the chef's tasting with w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We chose to do the chef's tasting with wine pairing for a special occasion. Everything was unique and outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Let me start with the overall experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Let me start with the overall experience was great, even though we were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. I will say that they have great drinks, so that helped pass the time. Once we were seated, our server was very nice and didn't miss a beat all night. The food on the prix fixe menu was delicious. I would recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Courses timed perfectly and executed wel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Courses timed perfectly and executed well. Waitstaff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ran into traffic coming into town and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We ran into traffic coming into town and called ahead to hold our reservation, as we had tickets for a show and needed to have dinner before. Ylli our waiter was extra attentive and helped us to get served quickly so we would not be late for the show. He also was extremely helpful in describing the various dishes and suggested a wine pairing that was superb. Could not be happier with the service or the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great! could accomodate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The service was great! could accomodate dairy free, gluten free/vegearian and did it with a smile.

Great suggestions on cocktails and food.

Was a bit too dark (to take photos of the food) and very romantic vibe

Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

what a great meal! the server was great, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

what a great meal! the server was great, the food was awesome, i guess if i were going to knock it i would say to give a bit more food but really i cant complain, very cheap and incredibly tasty

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reviewer 18

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

the first course of escargot was delicious, the 2nd of risotto also good. but the salmon was overcooked and they need a new pastry chef. we all had different desserts and we all agree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

After binge-watching 13 seasons of Top Chef...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

After binge-watching 13 seasons of Top Chef I took my family to Sbraga. It was the perfect way to end an epic amazon binge - tasting all the different courses, passing around the dishes. The food was satisfyingly different from anything I make at home, tasty, and filling without being too much. The service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food but expect a pause between courses

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first visit to Sbraga. The menu is prix fixe. Four courses. There were three at our table, and we enjoyed each dish. At $55 per person, slightly higher with some variations (such as a steak entry), the meal was reasonably priced. We will certainly go back. But I do have two cavils. 1) The interior could use some sound-deadening baffles. It gets quite noisy. 2) The pace of service is slow. We were in no hurry, but two hours elapsed between the time we sat down and when we left. If you're with family or good friends, you may only be vaguely aware of time passing. If you are doing an obligatory meal with someone with whom you do not want to spend two hours, you might want to go elsewhere and save Sbraga for those with whom you do want to spend time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of the best in the city

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the city. Great prix fixe menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fresh and delectable food.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very fresh and delectable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible experience for the right occasion.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food, atmosphere, and service were impeccable. I'd highly recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a thoughtfully curated prix fixe meal that explodes with flavor. This is a great special occasion restaurant for a small party or couple...and could make for a lovely pre-theatre dinner if you're looking to spoil yourself or your guests.

Excellent wine pairings available. Definitely NOT an inexpensive restaurant...portions are modest but delectable. Alcohol at this restaurant is pricey. One could navigate around cost at this place but probably best enjoyed if you're willing to just let go of all price consideration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Philadelphia is a city with great innova ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Philadelphia is a city with great innovative restaurants and this is one of them. The four course prix fix menu offered many fantastic dishes. Most notable was the Hamachi, gnocchi, and salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food delicious, prices reasonable for th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food delicious, prices reasonable for the high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Four courses of imag ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Four courses of imaginative choices makes for a very good value at $55 per person. Wine at $14/glass is somewhat steep. One pet peeve: Iced tea is served in a smaller sized vessel for $3/glass; not a terrible price considering the rest of the menu. However, there are no free refills (something that is NOT identified) as are offered in almost all restaurants. Seeing the final cost for iced tea was a bit shocking.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Seriously good. Food was on point and th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Seriously good. Food was on point and the service was outstanding. Highly recommended. Very reasonably priced for such an excellent meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great! We had a wonderful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was great! We had a wonderful evening. The food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful prix fixe surprises. Small en ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful prix fixe surprises. Small enough portions so we could manage 4 courses. The fois gras soup and cheese brioche gifts were superb and the snails a Le Bec Fin were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sbraga's never disappoints.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is always delicious! I love the new tasting menu but the wait staff really make it a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Night at Sbraga

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have frequented this establishment several times and it continues to amaze me in the consistency and excellence of the restaurant staff. The menu still changes with the seasons but the food is always outstanding including my old favorite, foie gras soup. Sbraga never disappoints, so if you have never had the opportunity to dine there make it your next dining destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last time I went, I loved. The food was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Last time I went, I loved. The food was a bit disappointing this time around, but good service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The service was attentive and well time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The service was attentive and well timed, but not rushed.

The food was excellent and adequate with four courses.

This is a good pre-theater choice.

The seating is cozy.

Good location.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place excellent food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overrated

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was overly salty and not inspiring. The service rushed and unfriendly. Huge disappointment. There are so many better places to eat in Philadelphia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

A Great Meal with My Mother Before the Orchestra

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

A great Meal with My Mother Before the Orchestra . The menu is always changing but always excellent. m

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again a Wonderful Meal

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We've dined at Sbraga's several times and never been disappointed. The tasting menu is simply a fun way to explore the creative and tasty dishes the fantastic kitchen continues to send out. Our server Carrmen was very helpful and service was spot on. Pace of the meal was excellent and we were able to enjoy our meal yet had plenty of to get to our show. Great meal, great service, great location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A real treat

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

This was a Christmas gift to my wife before a night at the orchestra. What a fabulous way to start the night. Staff was professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. The food was to the table at a nice pace, presented beautifully, hot when placed on the table, and delicious.

I have already recommended Sbraga top co-workers and plan on going again to this location or another.

Thank you for starting our night out memorably.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Our server was quick and efficient, without being intrusive. The food -- a four-course tasting menu with choices, was delicious and imaginative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.