Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Bud & Marilyn'sBud & Marilyn's
(1288)
$$$$
American | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 58 times today
ParcParc
(7293)
$$$$
French | Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia
Booked 240 times today
Double KnotDouble Knot
(644)
$$$$
Sushi | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 119 times today
Little Nonna'sLittle Nonna's
(1536)
$$$$
Italian | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 69 times today
The DandelionThe Dandelion
(3818)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 117 times today
Barbuzzo RestaurantBarbuzzo Restaurant
(3712)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 74 times today
Harp & CrownHarp & Crown
(407)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia
Booked 64 times today
El VezEl Vez
(3671)
$$$$
Mexican / Southwestern | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 83 times today
Butcher & SingerButcher & Singer
(4357)
$$$$
Steak | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 96 times today
Talula’s GardenTalula’s Garden
(5194)
$$$$
American | Washington Square, Philadelphia
Booked 117 times today
Lolita RestaurantLolita Restaurant
(665)
$$$$
Mexican | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 47 times today
Sampan - PhiladelphiaSampan - Philadelphia
(2503)
$$$$
Asian | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 95 times today
Amis - PhiladelphiaAmis - Philadelphia
(2715)
$$$$
Italian | Washington Square, Philadelphia
Booked 43 times today
ZahavZahav
(5737)
$$$$
Middle Eastern | Old City, Philadelphia
Booked 76 times today
Estia - PhiladelphiaEstia - Philadelphia
(4665)
$$$$
Greek | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 34 times today

About Permanently Closed - Sbraga - Philadelphia

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Top Chef Kevin Sbraga's eponymous restaurant located at 440 S. Broad Street! The menu features a four course seasonal prix fixe tasting menu for $55.00. A la carte dining is available at the bar.

440 S. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19146
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Cross Street:
Pine Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 735-1913

Website:
http://www.sbraga.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Sbraga

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
1847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

It's closing tonight we were told as we ordered!

Would have preferred another restaurant to celebrate a birthday as we shared a dining room with sad staff losing their jobs .

Food was good, but of course not everything was not available--sbraga would no longer be.

Little else to say except a more classy and honest departure could have been communicated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent, unpretentious, well-priced dining experience. Each course was special and perfectly executed, service was prompt but not fawning. Appreciate the thoughtful vegetarian options, even for the amuse bouche. Would definitely recommend and return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at Sbraga. We arrived after a film preview at the Kimmel. We were greeted by very nice hostess and shown to our table. The table was small and one side was a bench, the other side had a single chair. It was a bit difficult to have a conversation because we were close to the other tables and there was lots of chatter. The gruyere popover was good, but it would have been better if it was warm or, better yet, right out of the oven. The service was fine and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the small plates. The dessert was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent meal and service. We got a complementary goodie bag with a cookie, small copy of the tasting menu, and dessert coupon for our Anniversary. Will definitely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've eaten here a few times, but was sadly disappointed with the change in wine pairing and the lamb dish. They are "weaning out" the select wines for the pairing and it's just whatever they serve by the glass. The lamb dish has either changed or I don't remember it being so basic, but it was basically a grilled piece of meat that tasted like beef with barely cooked red onion and some seasoning. Everything else was delicious, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We ate at the bar. The food and drink were all excellent. The new cheese dessert was an innovative cheese option with an almost apple pie like presentation. We always love the salad option to start, and it's hard to choose just one of the pasta options. Thanks to Alexis for taking care of us.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved everything about Sbraga. Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday and we could not be happier. We both ordered separate items from the Pre-Fixe menu so that we could taste all that we could. I told Yulee (I think that is the pronunciation of my waiters name) that each item that came out set the expectation for the next and each item did not disappoint. The food, service and atmosphere was outstanding. We are already making plans to take friends who are traveling into town in the next coming months. Now I have a place to brag about to take them! They take us to outstanding places when we visit their cities.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our second visit to Sbraga was completely satisfying. The prix fixe menu offered great variety in each course and my companion and I each felt we had made the best choices. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable and the other staff were sensitive and courteous, not clearing our plates before we had both finished - a failing in too many places we visit. There was just the barest feeling that once we had placed our orders a train was coming down the track that would bring dishes at intervals a bit faster than we would have preferred, but we were not uncomfortable. The variety of wines by the glass was sufficient for our purposes.

This is not an inexpensive outing, but Sbraga delivers full value for the price.

The presence of the chef/owner at the pass - always a welcome sight - gave us an opportunity to express our pleasure in person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Quite underwhelming in all aspects. Food is okay: the famous popover is cold; half of the dishes are way too salty, including the espagot soup, the octopus, etc. Our table is wobbly so i asked the server to fix it. He did; but acted like he did me a huge favor and never apologized for the problem. Ambience is not good. Tables are set so close to each other that i felt i was having dinner in a party of 6 instead of just the two of us. A business venue not a romantic one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had the prix fixe menu and it was wonderful. So creative with a tasty blend of flavors. Gnocchi with blueberries was amazing! Great variety for people with different tastes and gluten free too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first visit was on New Years Eve, so of course, I was holding my breath. So many times, these nights can mean chaos for a restaurant that's unprepared. Sbraga hit a home run in every single way. From the moment we entered the restaurant and was greeted by the staff, to the perfect cocktail at the bar and then on to one of the most fabulous dinners EVER....attended to by our amazing waiter, Ylli, it was nothing but perfect! We will certainly return!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, a delicious meal and perfect for New Years. From the prosecco upon seating to the popovers and foie gras soup, and lovely courses, it is always impeccable. The hamachi crudo was the best course. So bright and fresh! Loved it all

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

On Dec 31, I got dinner with my girlfriend. She mentioned it was my birthday and only our server said happy birthday
First and second course weren't good or worth the money, the third was just ok, dessert was good

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

That foie gras soup and gruyere popover is just everything. I would like to get a gallon of that to take home with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's a prix fixe 4- course menu. The cuisine is very creative and delicious. Everyone raved about the meal. We licked the platter clean. Wine choice also excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My date who has lived in the city for the last 35 years , knows it well, and serves on over ten city boards, chair of two, invited me to the Vienna Orchestra at the Kimmel but it was my duty to surprise her with pre event dining. With some research I chose Sbraga. We walk everywhere from her brownstone in the Society Hill area so there we were across Broad Street when she says Sbraga?!? I was elated at the tone of her voice! We sat down to the best 4 course dining experience that I have ever had, each course better than the previous! Two days later while watching the Mummers perform she brings up the topic of our dinner again saying that it was the best tasting experience she has ever had in the city. Coming from this accomplished woman who knows the city so well there is no finer compliment in my mind!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food and service were great. However, the portions are way too small. We were still hungry at the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Started with terrific cocktails and a friendly and knowledgable bartender who helped us throughout the meal. We sat at the bar looking into the kitchen and chatted with the chefs. Just an amazing deal for 4 course tasting for $55. Started with foie gras soup (just as good as it sounds and comes with the 4 other courses, so really 5 courses) and my wife and I ordered different items so we had 8 dishes. Really nice variety in dishes - standouts were creamy saffron risotto with uni butter, muscles and calamari; tender gnocchi with blueberries and chèvre; the spicy fried chicken in berbere stew (just great) and the salmon with white beans and apples. Great night - my wife says one of her all-time favorite meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Remarkably creative and always consistently excellent in all respects. If we only had time for one meal in Philly this would be our choice -- and the menu is continually refreshed. The new steak diane preparation was phenomenal -- and that's not an adjective we typically would use to describe a beef steak dish. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Sbraga is one of my favorite restaurants in the city! Everything was fantastic, but the favorites at the table were the octopus, the saffron risotto, and the rabbit pasta dish. Favorite dessert was hands down the chocolate mousse with bourbon cream. Service is always great - we had show tickets (we left 2.5 hours for dinner) and they were extremely accommodating. Very fairly priced for the level of food you get. I didn't happen to try any of them, but they did have a vegetarian offering for each course.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was an amazing meal. Everything was so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The amuse bouche was the highlight. Hamachi crudo was served unappealingly warm, the fish itself wasnt great, and had "meh" (at best) accompanying elements. The pasta course was inedibly salty, could not taste the rabbit at all (true of my dining companions venison as well). The lamb was a tiny bit over cooked but close to right. Companions octopus was very good. The desserts were solid but not why I came. The portion sizes are good for a 4 course prixe fix (plenty for me, even not eating most of the salty pasta - but not the place for a big eater). If I could I'd give the food 1.5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our server was very attentive and the meal was quite nice. This has been my second time here and definitely a repeat.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tapas, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Allow 2 hours for the 4-course special menu. Each course was a taste adventure....hard to beat. We will definitely be back with anticipation.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First time was a charm. Great menu, very creative and excellent taste. Love the portion sizes as it is a 4 course dinner. Lots of variety. The service was excellent with her asking great questions regarding timing, menu, drinks, etc. Right on her game. Small restaurant so some seats are much better than others. would definetley go again. Gnocci was great, salmon very good and fried chicken very spicey.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I loved everything about this restaurant. We had a four course prix fixe dinner and all of it was superb. Tapas sized portions well prepared and presented. Nice ambience but a little loud. Great location before or after a show or concert.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I have dined at Sbraga several times and it has been one of my favorite restaurants in the city. Unfortunately last night the food was terribly disappointing. The fois grae soup was good but was drowned with ginger, the fried chicken dish was too hot and tasted like it had been bathed in extra hot Tabasco sauce and the octopus dish was also very spicey. Probably will go back hoping that this was a one off disappointment, but unfortunately couldn't recommend it based on this last experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food and good service. I'm not fan of big portions but of a great food. I ordered the octa0pus and it was great but the portion was ridiculous small: two pieces of two inches each of octopus, 4 one each potatoes and 2 thin slices of about 2 inch each of what tasted like some type of bacon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Amazing. Simply amazing. Worth every penny. We had been planning to attend a show that evening in Philly for a few weeks and decided last minute to also go to dinner. Dinner outshined the show 1000%.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent meal with exceptional tastes and flavors. Definitely good value for your money.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We love Spraga. It was a bit noisy due to a very large table near us, but we made due and just talked louder. The staff was attentive and the food was delicious. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. Perfect for pre-theater or for a casual evening dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was terrific. The wine list was also very good. The bar scene was happening. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First of all Kevin Sbraga was not in the kitchen last night
The loud rap music sound track playing until we asked that they turn it down is not conducive to fine dining
The foie gras soup had so much ginger in it my mouth was burning
The smoked Gorgonzola cheese in the salad was interesting but to me it was a flavor that did not work
The mussels in the risotto were marinated in a tomato vinaigrette To me when I ate them, it was like drinking vinegar out of a bottle. The calamari were fine
The lamb loin was fine. Although I don't think the plantains were a good accompaniment
The cheese plate and the chocolate mousse with pumpkin ice cream were very good
I would have enjoyed a description of each dish as it was served rather than having to ask when the next course was served "what were those flavors I was tasting in the last course?"

Kevin come back; your restaurant needs you

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food, decent portions, excellent price, creative cocktails.

Friendly and helpful service, but a little rushed.

Ambiance was okay, location made broad street look busy, which gave the place energy, but the interior was overall pretty generic. Liked the open kitchen.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Experience was delightful. Food is unique and well done w a fine blend of ingredients and presentation. The portions are appropriate for appetite satiation and pricing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Sbraga is one of our favorite places in a neighborhood of great restaurants. We took our cousin to Sbraga for her 50th birthday. She couldn’t have been more pleased. The menu is always tweaked, even if you go more than once a month, there’s something new to try. The toughest part of the night is always deciding which option to select from #2. They are all too good. Special thanks to Carmen and Alexis at the bar.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Amazing food. Complexity of flavors is something special that will make it hard to choose another place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a fantastic experience! This is truly up there with some of the very best meals I've had in my life. My wife and I visited this restaurant for the second time (it had been two years since the first) with very high expectations and they were exceeded. The flavors are superb, perfectly balanced, and very creative. Service was excellent and the courses were perfectly paced. Bravo, Sbraga!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.