About Sbraga - Philadelphia

440 S. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19146
View Larger Map

Top Chef Kevin Sbraga's eponymous restaurant located at 440 S. Broad Street! The menu features a four course seasonal prix fixe tasting menu for $55.00. A la carte dining is available at the bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Cross Street:
Pine Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 735-1913

Website:
http://www.sbraga.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Sbraga

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Octopus
Complimentaty Gruyere And Truffle Popover
Foie Gras Soup
Artisanal Cheese Plate
Hake
Roast Pork. Provolone Bread Pudding. Long Hots
Rigatoni With Pork Sugo
Gewürztraminer
Gummy Worms On Chocolate "Dirt" Pudding
Fravolato Blend
10-Year Tawny Port
Torrontes
txakoli
Gravlax
Four Course Meal
Amaretto Strawberry And Cream Cocktail
Popover
Bbq Chicken With Onion Rings
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli
Cherry Coke Float
Rinfresco
Pappardelle
Raspberry Cheesecake
Napoleon
Caesar Salad
Barley Risotto. Rabbit. Fava Bean Ragout.
Spring Lamb. Porcini Mushrooms. Curly Kale. Sauce Bordelaise.
Hazelnut-Crusted Meatloaf
Colin's Final Word
Chocolate Tart With Pistachio Ice Cream
Pork Belly
Key Lime Pie
Scalop And Pork Belly
homemade mozzarella
Blue Fish With Onion Rings
English Pea Risotto With Pancetta & Frog Leg Tempura
Lamb Chop & Belly W/ Oatmeal
Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Lamb With Brussel Sprouts
Homemade Churros With Chocolate
Course #1: Bread
chicken liver and foie gras mousse
Scallop, Oxtail Tamale, Escabeche

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 10:45PM

Sbraga - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Fit for Foodies (85)
Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (40)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was much better the first time around ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was much better the first time around. The meals came out too slowly for my liking. We did go for the safe options this time and the main protein course didn't meet my expectations. Overall it was a good meal but perhaps after a long absence it'll taste fonder.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

After our third meal at Sbraga it has be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

After our third meal at Sbraga it has become a tradition when we are in Philadelphia. Amazing food, phenomenal service. It never fails to make us smile.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary, the meal was f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for our anniversary, the meal was fantastic. Just don't forget to mention it to your server like we did, as we saw another couple get complimentary prosecco for their anniversary as we were on our last course.

The plates are small, so despite the four courses (plus foie gras soup to start), we weren't overly stuffed by the end. Every course was fantastic, and very easy to share.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent. Your service i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was excellent. Your service is as impeccable as your food. Sbraga is one of the best places to eat in Philadelphia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had to go Sbraga since heard Kevin Sbr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had to go Sbraga since heard Kevin Sbraga opened it. It did not disappoint. From moment we walked in until the moment we left, we were treated with gracious hospitality, patient waiters and an amazing meal. From the pop overs to the Foie Gras amuse Bouche, we knew the meal would be special. My fiance and I then shared each of our dishes (Hamachi crudo, escargot, fettuccine with rabbit, rigatoni and pork shoulder, grilled octopus, lamb, olive oil cake and chocolate cake with peanut butter mousse) and loved them all! Overall, a wonderful experience! My only regret is that I didn't trust my gut that Chef Sbraga was at the bar when we walked in or I would have told him how happy I was to be there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sooo delicious! We were seriously blown ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sooo delicious! We were seriously blown away by every dish. Such incredible flavors. Definitely going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my new favorite spot in Philly, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is my new favorite spot in Philly, it's beyond difficult to find restaurants that are willing to go above and beyond for their guests. I finally found it here. All of the staff, from the bussers/managers/servers/cooks were professional, yet personable. The food is impeccable, I think this is some of the best food I have eaten in my life... (and that is saying a lot). I highly recommend the Escargot, and Gnocchi, absolutely incredible (the blueberry really makes that dish). I will definitely become a regular guest here at S'braga; where you feel nothing short of royalty. Thanks to all the staff for making my boyfriend and I feel so special. xo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is more than its signatur ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The restaurant is more than its signature fois gras soup. The crudo, fettuccine, risotto, octopus and lamb loin were memorable. The desserts yummy. Service is among the best in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food, a pleasant atmosphere and g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Superb food, a pleasant atmosphere and great staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was very attentive, knowledgeab ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Everyone was very attentive, knowledgeable & personable. The food was exceptional. Wine suggestion was on point. Gnocchi was like little pillows that burst in your mouth. Foie gras soup was phenomenal. The balance of textures and flavors were a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

- The steaks we ordered were improperly ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

- The steaks we ordered were improperly cooked and the chewey texture was surprising given that it was a filet. At a restaurant of this caliber, what was brought to the table was unacceptable.

- plates should have been better inspected before being put on the table. There is no excuse for a plate brought to the table to have the last customers food remnants on it.

- Dishes/appetizers needed to be executed with more care and inspected before being delivered. The Gruyere popovers were burnt and the soups we ordered were supposed to contain rabbit, not small jagged rabbit bones.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Delicious tasting menu, very nice romant ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious tasting menu, very nice romantic night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sbraga, located at 440 South Broad Stree ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Sbraga, located at 440 South Broad Street, has a $55 four-course tasting menu which will delight anyone searching for a culinary adventure. My husband and I visited on a Monday in the early evening. Service was professional and knowledgeable. A standout from the imaginative menu was the king crab pasta with Calabrian chili butter sauce. You may order wines by the glass to complement each of the four courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food unique preparation. Will ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent food unique preparation. Will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really enjoyed our dinner at Sbraga la ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I really enjoyed our dinner at Sbraga last week. The decor and feel of the place was very comfortable, not too fancy but very nice. The three course menu offered quite a bit of food for a great price. The foie gras soup was amazingly smooth and went well with the popovers. All of the pasta dishes (spaghetti, risotto, and rigatoni) were very good, and the entrees also went over well. The service was smooth, and the place was busy for a Monday night. Overall an excellent meal for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food. Great atmosphere. Will eat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing food. Great atmosphere. Will eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal! Loved it and will ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal! Loved it and will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very enjoyable meal would recommen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had a very enjoyable meal would recommend this restaurant to my family and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a must try. The menu allows for ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is a must try. The menu allows for much exploration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third time to Sbraga in 9 mo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was my third time to Sbraga in 9 months. The food is consistently unique and delicious. The portions are perfect size, as there are five courses counting the soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely meal. Delicious, beautifully pres ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lovely meal. Delicious, beautifully presented, thoughtfully conceived dishes. Perfect portion size. Professional service- warm and accommodating, including phone and reception. Reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely evening with good drinks, food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely evening with good drinks, food and conversation. Food was beautiful and delicious. Service was impeccable. So happy that we chose Sbraga as our special dinner destination on our trip to Philly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've run out of superlatives for this p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We've run out of superlatives for this place. It NEVER disappoints on any front, except maybe the wine list (could be larger) -- but that's really stretching for something to criticize. The menu constantly introduces new and memorable dishes so Sbraga is a restaurant that we never tire of. The portion sizes are perfect, the creativity remarkable, the execution flawless. The service staff is the most professional and at the same time as friendly and relaxed as contemporary dining demands. Bravo! It's become our favorite upscale restaurant and in our opinion, Philly's most consistently impressive.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went to dinner here and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I went to dinner here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was wonderful! We will be dining here again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Prix fixe menu selections were varie ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Prix fixe menu selections were varied and abundant and each course was delicious. I especially loved my pre dinner cocktail, "French New Wave."

We enjoyed our friends' company and were able to converse and dine without feeling rushed and staff was attentive throughout the meal. We highly recommend Sbraga!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service but menus see ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food and service but menus seemed unchanged from February.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal, on the pricey side but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very good meal, on the pricey side but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic and services was grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was fantastic and services was great. We went early so we were only 1 of 3 parties but it gets louder as night progresses. Perfect date night is to sit at chef's counter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about Sbraga was first class. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything about Sbraga was first class. From the fois gras soup to the olive oil cake with strawberries and sorbet for dessert. Each of us ordered different apps and entrees so that we could taste the other food. Loved the crab salad, the risotto and the salmon. Husband loved the escargot,

Fettuccine with rabbit, and loin of lamb. The cheese plate was his dessert choice.

The pace of the courses was slow but necessary to have room for the food. Spent a good 2 hours there. My only complaint is that the seating for two is a bit too close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love prix fixe menu, as it usually gu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love prix fixe menu, as it usually guarantees you'll get to try a little bit of everything that the chef has created. Sbraga's prix fixe menu has done just that. There were 4 of us, and we each ordered something different and shared among ourselves. There was not a bad dish from the 12+ dishes that we sampled. Each was put together with thought and innovation. What a treat! The portions were just right, we each felt content. We enjoyed the attentive service from our waiter(s), and will certainly look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently went for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Recently went for our anniversary dinner. Enjoyed the experience. Food was excellent. The foi gras soup was very good. I had the octopus which had a nice grilled flavor yet tender and my wife had the Salmon whixh she liked very much. Tables were a bit close for a quiet intimate dinner. Service was good, not rushed. Would go back again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We chose to do the chef's tasting with w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We chose to do the chef's tasting with wine pairing for a special occasion. Everything was unique and outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Let me start with the overall experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Let me start with the overall experience was great, even though we were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. I will say that they have great drinks, so that helped pass the time. Once we were seated, our server was very nice and didn't miss a beat all night. The food on the prix fixe menu was delicious. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Courses timed perfectly and executed wel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Courses timed perfectly and executed well. Waitstaff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ran into traffic coming into town and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We ran into traffic coming into town and called ahead to hold our reservation, as we had tickets for a show and needed to have dinner before. Ylli our waiter was extra attentive and helped us to get served quickly so we would not be late for the show. He also was extremely helpful in describing the various dishes and suggested a wine pairing that was superb. Could not be happier with the service or the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great! could accomodate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The service was great! could accomodate dairy free, gluten free/vegearian and did it with a smile.

Great suggestions on cocktails and food.

Was a bit too dark (to take photos of the food) and very romantic vibe

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

what a great meal! the server was great, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

what a great meal! the server was great, the food was awesome, i guess if i were going to knock it i would say to give a bit more food but really i cant complain, very cheap and incredibly tasty

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reviewer 18

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

the first course of escargot was delicious, the 2nd of risotto also good. but the salmon was overcooked and they need a new pastry chef. we all had different desserts and we all agree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

After binge-watching 13 seasons of Top Chef...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

After binge-watching 13 seasons of Top Chef I took my family to Sbraga. It was the perfect way to end an epic amazon binge - tasting all the different courses, passing around the dishes. The food was satisfyingly different from anything I make at home, tasty, and filling without being too much. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food but expect a pause between courses

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first visit to Sbraga. The menu is prix fixe. Four courses. There were three at our table, and we enjoyed each dish. At $55 per person, slightly higher with some variations (such as a steak entry), the meal was reasonably priced. We will certainly go back. But I do have two cavils. 1) The interior could use some sound-deadening baffles. It gets quite noisy. 2) The pace of service is slow. We were in no hurry, but two hours elapsed between the time we sat down and when we left. If you're with family or good friends, you may only be vaguely aware of time passing. If you are doing an obligatory meal with someone with whom you do not want to spend two hours, you might want to go elsewhere and save Sbraga for those with whom you do want to spend time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.