About Sax

734 11th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

SAX is here… DC's premiere special occasion venue. Celebrate your occasion in an opulent setting with live entertainment including dance revues and aerialists. SAX offers a full Contemporary French/American dinner menu & specialty cocktails with late night bottle service specials. SAX features nightly continuous performances throughout every evening.
SAX enforces a strict dress code. Please visit our website for further details and special themed evenings.

Whether its a celebration party or corporate event, SAX's full service event team handles every detail. Our opulent venue, exceptional cuisine and outstanding service ensures a memorable event. If you are interested in hosting a 350-person corporate event or a bachelorette party for 10 of your closest friends, our team will ensure your event is a success.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday: 10pm-2am
Thursday: 6pm - 11:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 6pm - 3am

Cross Street:
H Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-0101

Website:
http://www.saxwdc.com/

Entertainment:
A 20-foot enclosed infinity stage is visible from almost all of the two-story space and hosts a theatrical entertainment revue throughout the evening.

Parking Details:
Valet every night. $12 before 10pm $20 after 10pm

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Joseph Evans

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Specialize in bachelorette and birthday celebrations!
Buyouts and corporate events please contact mandy@saxwdc.com

Restaurant Photos

Sax
Sax
Sax
Sax
Sax
Sax
Sax
Sax
Sax
Sax
Lemon Miroir
Cold Corn Soup
Scandalous
Peanut Pave
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Sea Scallop Carpaccio
Saxual Chocolate Cake
Apple crème brûlée, almond dacquiose, Granny Smith sorbet, apple frangipane
American Wagyu Beef Sliders
Vintage Beef Strip Loin
Yellowfin Tuna
Fresh Fruit Marnier
Braised Shenandoah Lamb
Les Deux
Short Ribs
Tellicherry Pepper Crusted Rib Eye
Tart
Braised Lamb
Ribeye
Chocolate Blackout Cake
duck duck goose
Braised Short Ribs
Filet Mign
Scallop Stuffed Lobster Tail
Sweet Pepper Fondue
Lobster Hash
Butternut Squash Soup
Seafood Bisque
Cappucino Creme Brulee

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Thu - Fri 6:00PM - 11:30PM

Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Planning a special celebration or event? We have a plan for you & now you have your own personal event planner. Whether it’s a bachelorette, bachelor, anniversary celebration for 10 of your closest friends or a corporate event for 350 of your best clients, your personal event planner will do it all

Sax Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
Hot Spot
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
3 More
Hot Spot
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
Special Occasion
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

special occasion (38)
romantic (30)
good for groups (22)
See All
late-night find (21)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (15)
scenic view (9)
fit for foodies (9)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
841 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was amazing. The atmosphere is very i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was amazing. The atmosphere is very intimate and sexy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Add some sort of chicken dish to the me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Add some sort of chicken dish to the menu. The menu is very seafood and beef heavy.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service, elegant and fun atmos ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service, elegant and fun atmosphere, excellent food for hor dourves and appetizers and drinks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, ambience and waitress were gre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food, ambience and waitress were great! The flaw was that there was a $75/ person min and no one said anything until after I was finished. I had appetizer, entree, and dessert drink for 2. The waitress asked if it was my first time here when I sat down. In addition, there's a second line on bill for additional tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Service was excellent as usual food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was excellent as usual food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was overpriced and equivalent to wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was overpriced and equivalent to what they serve for a first-class airplane seat. Performances were ok for kids and not what was expected for a "high-end" burlesque performance. Something you would see in a lobby of a Vegas hotel. Drinks were too sugary even though they were not supposed to be. Servers were "nice" but did not appear well-groomed - meaning like - did they take a shower? Have been here several times before and the service, entertainment and food have gone WAYYY downnnnn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was extremely disappointing and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was extremely disappointing and not good actually.

The wine list was not up to date. I ordered a Cabernet 2009 and was served a 2012.

Great place for drinks and late night but not for dinner.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Decor and ambience very elegant. The foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Decor and ambience very elegant. The food was excellent, entertainment show great, overall bill lil expensive but with it. Went for anniversay and will go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great way to celebrate my 23rd birthday. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great way to celebrate my 23rd birthday. So fun and entertaining! Food was also delicious

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place everytime I go.Show is g ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love this place everytime I go.Show is great and the food is fabulous.On the pricey side but it is worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I were celebrating our bir ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays and had a great time. The only downside is the hostess seated us on the first floor RIGHT next to another dining party (the men kept hitting on us) when we specifically requested second floor seating. It was hard to see the first few performances; however (thankfully) our server was AWESOME and seated us on the second floor mid-meal. We were pleasantly surprised when she brought us mini birthday cakes. We made sure to leave her a hefty tip. ;-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Sax. The entertainment is outsta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Sax. The entertainment is outstanding and the food is good. It's just a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the bar area was still dead at 11: ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

While the bar area was still dead at 11:30pm on a Friday, we absolutely loved our dining experience. Great seats and loved the entertainment!! The food was good, but we'd totally come and do this again just because its way more fun than just a regular dinner date. Oh and fun to dance in my seat while I ate...great music.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Sax was a great night out for adults in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Sax was a great night out for adults in celebration of my husbands birthday. They gave us a round of free shots and a free single serving birthday cake on the house. The food is very tasty and generous portions but on the pricier side for both food and drinks. However they have an amazing selection at the bar and can make any obscure drink you want!

On a Friday there is a $75/person minimum and don't forget the 20% service charge added to make sure your servers are tipped. The service was amazing and we had a fun flirty time! Definitely worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a great experience mainly because of the food.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our shrimp appetizer was severely undercooked. My steak was burnt on the outside and contained way too much fat. My veggies were of salted and the potatoes re uneventful. For the amount of money charged it's just not worth it. The service was good but you just can't overcome subpar food. We most likely will not return.

If you need more feedback please don't hesitate to contact me.

Ted

(703) 338-9891

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The Chilean Sea Bass & Scallops are amaz ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The Chilean Sea Bass & Scallops are amazing! The drinks were delicious as well and not watered down with ice. I also really enjoyed the live entertainment as well as the décor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a Birthday celebration and they r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It was a Birthday celebration and they really made the guests feel important..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

entertainment and atmosphere was great, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

entertainment and atmosphere was great, food was just so - so; therefore it was a very expensive dinner for not great food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

A Fine Anniversary Celebration

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our experience was phenomenal -- I'd been for a bachelorette party before, but taking my husband back to celebrate our Anniversary was absolutely wonderful. The show was breathtaking, and the food and drinks were exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rushed Service + Bad Treatment = No Return

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I met a date there for a dual birthday celebration. She had never been and was excited to be there. Unfortunately they found a way to make us both uncomfortable both during and after our meal. During the course of our meal, they were extremely quick in getting our food out and onto the table. They were as quick removing it. There was one gentleman who stood very close to our table and basically glared at us all night. He never smiled. He never introduced himself nor did he seem to be helping our service person with anything. There was another very large table of nice young women behind us who seemed to be mostly African American. There was also a table closest to the stage where there seemed to be a table of other people having their own dinner. At some point, my date and I noticed that the ladies abruptly just got up and left the building. A very short time after it became clear to me why. Sometime very shortly after our dinner we sat talking while my date enjoyed the shows. At that point the service person came over and asked us to leave because the needed our table. I was quite shocked to hear this but did not want to cause a scene so I walked my date to her car and made sure she was OK.

I brushed this off and returned to their bar area thinking maybe the service was just a bit weird in that area. I returned to the very edge of the bar and ordered a drink. I sipped as the bar area got very crowded. At some point some guy walks up and says I have to leave the corner of the bar because I was blocking the "paying customers". By that time I had spent about $350 dollars in food and drinks I was drinking at his bar. I told him this and he dismissed it so I did the same to him. By then that weird "you don't belong here" feeling was way worse. The person left then returned very soon with the front door staff who asked me to talk to him. I thought he wanted to help me. Boy did he! Right out the now locked gate! Yes, I am African American.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Horrible experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service is very good however the seating arrangement or placement is crucial. This spot caters to large parties because of the revenue, for just the regular dinner for two they will sit you anywhere and rush you thru dinner. Let's understand that you have to spend $75 dollars pp, therefore you are paying for an experience which I did not get. I only hope others have a better time then I did because I will never go back. Try Delfriscos!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Anniversary

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My partner and I visited this establishment for our anniversary. It was a surprise for him that I was extremely excited to plan. The decor, which in our opinion, is remesemblant of french opulence consists of a lot of bright golds and dark reds- which was right up our alley. The hostess was very polite and the service from everyone was far from disappointing. The food was wonderfully comforting and satisfying, TRY THE TRUFFLE FRIES, and the drinks were refreshing. Their signature drink of the night, Scandalous, was something neither of us expected but we had to order more than one! The lighting in the establishment is low but it compliments the purpose and design perfectly. The performers and shows were exciting to watch and we could not have been more pleased with our time there. We both agreed that this is not the last time we will frequent SAX.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

A special place for girls night out

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We celebrated my dear friends birthday in a group of 8 and it was a blast!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but over priced

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was okay, a little disappointed that my steak was over cooked, ordered medium-raw and came out medium to medium-well. Asparagus was very salty and potato side was burnt on top. A single Jameson was a little less than twice as much in comparison to over dinning experiences. Fondue was very good.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambiance, but a bit pricey on the entrees.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

It was just good, not great. Not sure if it's worth going to again. However, I did enjoy the experience.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Extremely impressed.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

From the phone call at initial booking throughout the night of my girlfriends birthday everything was amazing. All staff members were so professional and courteous. Lindsay was amazing! I highly recommend her. The entire experience brought night life clubbing to an entire new level. I had more fun here then I did in Las Vegas...! Thank you SAX.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timer

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place to have dinner and spend a great time with my wife. She was very happy with every from the food, service and the shows. Definitely will come back.

Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food wasn't great clearly a place you go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Food wasn't great clearly a place you go for the experience. Would go back but just for drinks at the bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Loved It!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

A great place to go for a special occasion- entertainment was great and the room itself is lavish!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Ambiance magnificent, service spectacular, but....

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a perfect romantic spot for my husband and I and the service was amazing. I was very disappointed that with the price of the food there were only 5 minute shows every 20 minutes. My expectations were much higher so I was overall disappointed with the value. I do appreciate the beauty of the restaurant and the service that was provided.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Was Still Hungry

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The ambiance and the restaurant staff was great. The meal began with Popcorn, which was tasty. We ordered appetizers the truffle fries were really good and an order of shrimp which was just OK. The entrees were not filling at all. All of the entrees that we tried were really good, The sea Bass, scallops, and the ravioli, but the portion sizes of the sides were very disappointing, we were all still hungry afterwards. For the price of the entrees, that was very disappointing and we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Elegant French decor

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

great attentive staff and food superb

Dancing best this side of Vegas or Cirque du Soleil

reminiscent of the Louvre

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Beautiful restaraunt. Nice variety in performances and meal was good. Was a bit dissapointed that the desserts on the menu weren't all available. They really only had 2 options out of like 6. Our waitress was friendly and responsive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Fun

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

There were mixed reviews for Sax when I was researching a place to celebrate my birthday but I am glad I picked Sax. Food was not out of this world but it hit the spot. Drinks were great and the atmosphere was fantastic. It was super luxurious and the entertainment was a 10! We stayed after dinner and had drinks at the bar. Overall, if your looking for good entertainment and a fancy spot, Sax will do the trick.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Grown and Sexy

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had a birthday dinner for my sister at Sax. It was amazing. The entertainment was wonderful! The food and cocktails were wonderful as well! I couldn't have picked a better place!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for live entertainment while ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great place for live entertainment while you eat. Now they have an service charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Night!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. Once the staff found out why we were there, we received extra special treatment. The food was delicious. Drinks perfectly poured. And flawless entertainment. He loved every minute.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and I had the BEST wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

It was my birthday and I had the BEST waitress!! I loved the show as well! I definitely plan on coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Service was excellent with a wonderful ambiance. Food is very good. Ask for Tori as your server!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing!!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I fell in love with this place, so beautiful and great entertainment! Great food and drinks. Overall just amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.