About Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan

21 Westpark Blvd
Fort Saskatchewan, AB T8L 2C5
View Larger Map

With beautiful decor, and award winning food, The Sawmill is pleased to be serving the area of Fort Saskatchewan. Certain to be one of the finest dining establishments in the community, all the foundations are in place to be a success with the launch of The Sawmill’s seventh location.


The perfect atmosphere for any occasion, nestled within a corridor of lodging accommodations and with direct access from Highway 21, the Company continued its modernizing restaurant vision of providing guests with comfort and relaxation through extruded wood and art finishes while accenting the surroundings with modern day design features reflected within the seating, lighting and architectural footprint.


This rural market operation has an adapted floor plan and offers its world renowned Alberta "AAA' and Certified Angus Beef as its culinary legacy. The menu cuisine is unparalleled in quality and simplicity and regarded as one of the finest dining experiences ever.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 21 & Southfort Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 992-2255

Website:
http://www.sawmillrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The Sawmill Loyalty Program - This Program was designed to show you, the customer, our appreciation for your loyal patronage. Membership is free! This Loyalty Card has two accounts; a Point account and a Dollar account. The Sawmill will issue 1 point for every dollar spent. When your account reaches 500 points, 500 points will be debited from the Points account and $25 Dollars will be credited to the Sawmill$ Earned Account. These Sawmill Dollars can be used to pay for food, non alcoholic beverage and merchandise on future bills at any Sawmill or Moose Factory Location.

Catering:
For all your banquet & catering needs, please contact the Sawmill Banquet and Catering division at 780-468-4115.

Parking Details:
Free, Private Lot

Public Transit:
#198

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil McCandless

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
By joining us one week before or one week after the special guest’s birth date you will receive $25.00 off your guest cheque for dinner or $15.00 off during lunch. 4 or more regular priced entrees must be purchased.

Restaurant Photos

Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Steakhouse
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Fort Saskatchewan ›

special occasion (37)
good for groups (24)
romantic (14)
See All
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (13)
great for lunch (12)
fit for foodies (12)
kid-friendly (10)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I was sad to see they, once again under- ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was sad to see they, once again under-cooked my steak and over-cooked my mother's lobster. There was no seasoning on the lobster either. I feel like this location has gone downhill in quality, like its other locations. The ONLY thing holding this location together is its expert and understanding Management. He will offer to recook the meal and sometimes he will also your drink off the bill to make things right. I will not be going back, even despite this beautiful Management. I simply pay too much for the food there to be dissapointed in quality. The Keg or Red Lobster are better places to go.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Reserved for early evening meal, quiet t ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Reserved for early evening meal, quiet time, server was prompt and efficient and friendly, food was good, portions were good, would dine there again, good family setting.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Sunday brunch review

Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch is always good here, salad selection is a little weak, and this last time desert section was too, which is unusual,usually very good selection for desert. My only complaint is my usual one, when will the wifi be working? Been going here for at least the last 2 years and the public wifi has never worked

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, friendly welcome. Service w ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, friendly welcome. Service was excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5

Love the sawmill in Fort Sask! I've neve ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Love the sawmill in Fort Sask! I've never been disappointed with service or food.

food3
ambience3
service3

Nothing special pretty predictable . The ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Nothing special pretty predictable . They no longer serve bread and the prices are higher.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Frequently dine. Rarely disappoint.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food is great almost everytime we dine at sawmill. Service is excellent even during busy times. Only complaint is the temperature always feels like 105 degrees inside.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing !!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We are dieting and my husband is a bodybuilder he was able to get steak veggies and rice with no sauce and spices and they were bang on with our order ! Service was amazing and the food was delicious !! Hard to find a place you can stick to your meal planning and still really enjoy the quality and experience ! Our waitress was Amber! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice n easy

Dined on March 26, 2016

Good food, there was a time after this location opened that the quality tailed off but lately it has been great again. Always the best prime rub around. Steaks tend to be over cooked so order accordingly. Staff is always courteous.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!!!

Dined on March 8, 2016

Just really good food and awesome service,my girlfriend and I have been there several times !!!! 😃

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch was just OK

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with brunch - we have been there for dinner and it was good. Food was just average. Eggs Benedit eggs were hard but the hollandaise was good. Waffles were dry. Everything looked great but things like the fish entrees (which my husband loves normally) were not good. He did not like either. The roast beef was pretty good and there was a decent selection of other items as well as fresh fruit (chocolate fountain) and cheesecakes for dessert. Our server was very nice and looked after us well. Overall I would give it 3 out of 5.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food.

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were pleased with our experience. It was a special anniversary dinner date for us and it was lovely.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Terrible service

Dined on February 18, 2016

The food was delicious and arrived in a timely manner. The server, however was not great. She did not introduce herself. She filled our water glasses only once. She took away the basket of buns while two of us were still eating. We gave her a credit card before she brought the bill - we were tired of waiting. She only brought back the payment receipt - not the bill. Definitely not a great experience. Not sure if we'll be back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Family Memories

Dined on February 15, 2016

We recently had a reservation, as a family of four, for Valentine Dinner. We actually arrived early and asked if there was a possibility for us to get a table at that time. The friendly staff was happy to accommodate us. With two small children the menu really doesn't have a lot for them to choose from, but the kids were very happy with their meals and the staff was very patient with their indecisiveness. My wife was happy with her meal as well. My meal, unfortunately, was a little overcooked but not to the point where I needed to bring it to attention. Our dinner was what I would call a great memory for our family!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

VEGETABLES!!!!!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Getting really bored of the peppers and beans. Seems like it has been close to a year with the same vegetable. A special entre different from the main menu would be nice once in a while. Changes for us "regulars" would be nice to keep us interested in supporting this establishment. I think we have had every dessert on the menu several times each. While we appreciate the Loyalty program, we need to be as excited about going out to the Sawmill as we once where.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

great family get together

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was excellent and the service even better...thoroughly enjoyed our family evening

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food!! Excellent as always!

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food!! Excellent as always!

food5
ambience5
service5

I had crab cakes as a starter and they w ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

I had crab cakes as a starter and they were amazing!!! Cory was our waiter tonight and it's the best service we've ever had at the sawmill!! Thanks for a great night!

food3
ambience3
service2

Have been here a few times, including la ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Have been here a few times, including last new year and has become a favorite but this visit was definitely an exception. Steak was not prepared as I asked, to avoid another wait for myself and guests with me, i said I would just take it while the manager said he would do something about it on the bill (nothing was done at the time, he pushed a gift certificate on me to be mailed which I eventually just said ok to, i would've preferred the issues fixed that night... like any other place would try to do) it is something I am still waiting for. Also both mine and my guest couples bill was charged for dessert after the waitress said she would ask and let us know if we could get the dessert substituted from the one selection on their new years menu. She brought the desserts out, us assuming that it was good to go but when we got the bill, it was full charge for them without asking us if it was ok to add on. I ended up getting one dessert free but nothing done about my meal which I paid a premium on already for new years. The waitress said the free dessert was approved on my bill which ticked off my guest and he paid and left in a huff. Then the manager came out and I asked what he had in mind for reparations for my meal, he said he would take care of it. He did not know how to refund credit cards as I had already paid which has me waiting to find out what a customer is worth to them. My rating may change depending on what they try to do to make me and my 3 guests happy with the visit. Better communication by all staff who dealt with us seems to have caused the issues and I hope it is better next time.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best service ever!

Dined on December 23, 2015

We went in with a group of 11; I had e-mailed our order in so the food would be ready when we arrived. Everything was perfect - excellent service, our food was ready, it was hot, and it was delicious. Overall, it was a great dining experience. Only complaint was that Lobster Pot Pie was no longer available on the menu......too bad, it was a favourite.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

terrible place

Dined on December 15, 2015

Waiter was terrible, not attentive at all, I had to go ask the greeter to find the waiter because he was awol for 10+ minutes. Was seated at 4:30 with only 1 or 2 other tables filled, yet still took 2 hours until left restaurant. VERY SLOW SERVICE, don't go there hungry or with small kids. Manager refused to honour the free entrée for birthdays Loud, do not go here for a quiet atmosphere.

food1
ambience3
service2

Service, slow & the food was old and bad Quality

Dined on November 21, 2015

I have had better meals but for my son and daughter to have a birthday meal like this was extremely disappointing. The manger did take the two dishes off our bill but that hardly made up for an enjoyable double birthday!!!

food5
ambience4
service4

We were there for the Brunch Buffet. It ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

We were there for the Brunch Buffet. It was really good and the selections were great. Definitely coming back soon!

food4
ambience4
service2

New Server Recommended

Dined on November 12, 2015

For a nice evening I would not recommend this Sawmill . The server we had was unattentive, slow at serving, always giving excuses . The buns came so late that it almost came with the meal when I believe they should be at the table very shortly after ordering dinner. My wife's meal was wrong when it finally arrived, of which it took a very long time to be made and served ??????? The Manager did offer dessert free for the wrong meal , had to decline as my wife is diabetic so then the Manager did take the price of my wife's meal off the bill. ( Thanks to him ) All in all it was the server that made this evening a bust along with the slow time for the food to arrive at the table . ( Also the soup du jour , Mushroom , was tasty but almost cold )

food4
ambience4
service4

J's Birthday

Dined on October 19, 2015

The whole experience was great as always.......we have ate here many times and have never been disappointed........

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food Great Service

Dined on October 7, 2015

Birthday celebration, we enjoyed a bottle of wine, spinach salad - exellent. The prime rib was done to perfection, even the yorkshire pudding was fresh, great and delicious. Enjoyable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I PROPOSED!!! The staff were great with it!

Dined on October 2, 2015

My new fiance and I had a wonderful experience at the FS Sawmill. I had called ahead to request a special table, and asked a few small favors of the staff to make my wedding proposal special and romantic. They were outstanding! The staff even brought us each a glass of champagne for us to celebrate. Proposal aside though...the food was fantastic, staff were wonderful, and overall the restaurant was excellent! We'll be going back often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food & service

Dined on September 14, 2015

Huge kudos to the staff at Fort Saskatchewan Sawmill. Made dining reservations for a girls supper out and the service and meals couldn't have been better! Steaks were awesome! 5 stars! We'll be back! :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food, but...

Dined on August 31, 2015

I am allergic to seafood/fish and almost everything has one or the other in it. Please, please, please add more appetizers and soups without.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

No Complaints

Dined on August 30, 2015

We celebrated an anniversary here on the 30th. There was no problem making the reservation, getting prompt and efficient service and the food met our expectations.We'll go back lots of times. One of our party was able to us his Reward Card [?]

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for a Birthday Celebration. Fantastic!!

Dined on August 23, 2015

We go to the Fort Saskatchewan Sawmill quite frequently. Always fantastic. We have been to some in Edmonton, not so good. One of our daughters is Vegetarian, they always make a very tasty pasta dish with lots of vegetable for her, which is not on the menu, but they are very accomadating. My other daughter enjoys grilled chicken breast , fries, and raw carrots, again this is not on the menu, but as I said before very accomodating. My wife always has the beef tenderloin, medium with a side of Yokshire pudding, awesome!! I get the Prime rib, excellent! Our favorite local restaraunt, we will return again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fort Saskatachewan Sawmill

Dined on August 15, 2015

My wife and I visited the Sawmill for a special occasion dinner and were once again treated to a great evening of delicious food properly prepared to our liking, great service and a very nice atmosphere. We have dined at all of the restaurants in the Sawmill line-up and find the consistency of the Fort Saskatchewan restaurant is a treat. Neil, the GM, dropped by to visit and ensure this visit was as memorable as the others. We weren't disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely Brunch

Dined on August 9, 2015

We took the family here for brunch on our Daughter's birthday. It was lovely. Service was great. Food was very good. I have no complaints at all.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Poor food quality for the amount charged.

Dined on August 1, 2015

We have tried the Sawmill before but were not all that impressed with the quality of food for the price. We haven't gone back for a while, but thought we would give it a third chance and founs that the food quality has not changed. We prefer the KEG over the Sawmill, and for quantity and quality of the food the KEG definitely has the Sawmill beat. If the costs were a bit more reasonable it would be more appealing. I would recommend going to the KEG if you are interested in steak and not the Sawmill. On a positive note, the service received at the Sawmill was very good.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome time

Dined on July 27, 2015

Awesome time

food4
ambience2
service4

ribs

Dined on July 4, 2015

We found way to much barbeque sauce on our ribs but it was delicious. I find it way to dark at the tables which makes it hard to read the menus.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Food Great Service

Dined on June 5, 2015

Pleasant evening with partner and a friend. This location is in our local community, so we get there every once in a while for a quiet evening, good food and wine. Prime rib is always a good choice and we enjoyed it this trip - all 3 of us. We shared a chocolate brownie sundae with mocha ice cream. Great way to finish off a great meal. Service was excellent, and very friendly as usual, they always make us feel welcome.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

This is my review which MUST be 50 chara ...

Dined on May 18, 2015

This is my review which MUST be 50 characters which has been achieved.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasant Family Lunch

Dined on May 7, 2015

The lunch service was fabulous, 3 out of 4 meals were excellent. The lobster pot pie was perfect, as was the chicken wrap special. Unfortunately, the beef dip was dry and lukewarm. Mom didn't want to complain so we didn't mention it. I'm sure our waiter would have replaced it without question.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

From start to finish a wonderful experience. Excellent service with a warm , friendly atmosphere and great food! Highly recommendable to all. Thank you, I / we'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.