About Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan

21 Westpark Blvd
Fort Saskatchewan, AB T8L 2C5
View Larger Map

With beautiful decor, and award winning food, The Sawmill is pleased to be serving the area of Fort Saskatchewan. Certain to be one of the finest dining establishments in the community, all the foundations are in place to be a success with the launch of The Sawmill’s seventh location.


The perfect atmosphere for any occasion, nestled within a corridor of lodging accommodations and with direct access from Highway 21, the Company continued its modernizing restaurant vision of providing guests with comfort and relaxation through extruded wood and art finishes while accenting the surroundings with modern day design features reflected within the seating, lighting and architectural footprint.


This rural market operation has an adapted floor plan and offers its world renowned Alberta "AAA' and Certified Angus Beef as its culinary legacy. The menu cuisine is unparalleled in quality and simplicity and regarded as one of the finest dining experiences ever.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 21 & Southfort Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 992-2255

Website:
http://www.sawmillrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The Sawmill Loyalty Program - This Program was designed to show you, the customer, our appreciation for your loyal patronage. Membership is free! This Loyalty Card has two accounts; a Point account and a Dollar account. The Sawmill will issue 1 point for every dollar spent. When your account reaches 500 points, 500 points will be debited from the Points account and $25 Dollars will be credited to the Sawmill$ Earned Account. These Sawmill Dollars can be used to pay for food, non alcoholic beverage and merchandise on future bills at any Sawmill or Moose Factory Location.

Catering:
For all your banquet & catering needs, please contact the Sawmill Banquet and Catering division at 780-468-4115.

Parking Details:
Free, Private Lot

Public Transit:
#198

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil McCandless

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
By joining us one week before or one week after the special guest’s birth date you will receive $25.00 off your guest cheque for dinner or $15.00 off during lunch. 4 or more regular priced entrees must be purchased.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan, Fort Saskatchewan, AB

Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton
2 More
Romantic
Edmonton
Steakhouse
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Fort Saskatchewan ›

Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there to celebrate my husband's ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday and enjoyed a great evening of food and fun with family and friends.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the variety of food at the Su ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We enjoyed the variety of food at the Sunday brunch, good value and terrific service

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was very disappointed that the King Crab ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was very disappointed that the King Crab legs have been taken off the menu. That is what I always order here. Although online it still shows them as being on the menu. Also had the clam chowder. Not impressed. It was way to thick and Luke warm. Did not finish it. Had some stomach issues when I got home from it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Great place, we go there lots It was lo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place, we go there lots

It was loud, but we were the loud ones.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A good place for special occasions. All ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A good place for special occasions. All forms of beef could not be be cooked any better and service is the best. Somewhat disappointing is the amount of vegetable that comes with the entrees and the house salad now seems to be like leftover pieces scrapped into a bowl. Presentation is good but not a substitute for expected food. I'm sure we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

New Menu good. Especially like the pumpk ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

New Menu good. Especially like the pumpkin creme brûlée.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went out for my wife's birthday and l ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went out for my wife's birthday and left just feeling ok on a $320 bill. The appies we had calamari and Cesar salad were good. We felt the dinner was rushed (6:45 -8:10) and that on its own made the experience feel more like a fast food experience.

I had a 14 oz rib eye and lobster for a side. I asked for my steak medium to med rare and it came way undercooked, and yes I know how steak cooking is rated. It was also way too fatty (even for a rib eye ) for the $50 cost. The lobster was tried by all and we all agreed it was way over cooked and rubbery. I did not say anything as everyone else was enjoying their meal and I don't like causing a problem at the restaurant. I shouldn't have to this is supposed to be their specialty.

The table was way too small for four of us also. We have been here a few times before and always had a good experience. For the money I spent on the evening both my wife and I felt a bit disappointed this time as it was mostly a food bill as we only had 5 drinks on the bill.

Dont know if it's the economy or different management, but we both talked about it the next day and said how disappointed we were in the meal. The waitress was great, no issues with staff, just the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great main course and nice service. Dess ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great main course and nice service. Desserts needs variety and creativeness

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great food. We had a fair ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great service, great food. We had a fairly large party and they were accommodating and patient (especially with the kids).

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, wine and service. We go ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent meal, wine and service. We go fairly regularly for dinner and service and quality have always been consistently very good. Reasonably priced for the quality-the chicken Neptune is an absolute favourite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and ambiance. We had a gr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. We had a great night. Food taste great except the chocolate brownie sunday was not as good as the first time. But still good

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed, the food and service ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Never disappointed, the food and service is always very good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, excellent food and atmos ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great location, excellent food and atmosphere, we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service overall is just simple. I like t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service overall is just simple. I like to tip,but at this sawmill location,don't feel obligated to tip at all. Service is just basic.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Took my spouse here for dinner , cause I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Took my spouse here for dinner , cause I have been working out of town. She came to visit and I wanted a nice quite yet romantic atmosphere and good food. The Sawmill provided both. Thanks for good times and great food. Cheers

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were not cooked properly. Chicke ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Steaks were not cooked properly. Chicken cordon bleu was hard as a rock and uneatable.

The only good thing was the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We returned and were so pleased to enjoy ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We returned and were so pleased to enjoy superior quality food and service.

The manager is very engaged in making sure the restaurant is perfect. He mentioned he hired a new assistant manager who is equally involved. That is great news for us and bodes well for the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quality of the food is ok. just ok. not ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quality of the food is ok. just ok. not bad, but nothing to write about- which wasn't always the case here. The atmosphere and ambience is nice, and interesting to look at the fir beams and the old pictures. The value is medium, they charge for kids under 2 the full brunch price, so we will likely pick another venue next time we go out as a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The meals were just good. This is our s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The meals were just good. This is our second trip in a month that has been just "good" compared the the 30+ before that were great. I don't know if it is a new Chef???

Salads seemed they were prepped much earlier. I had salmon that seemed overcooked/the edges sealed with time or heat rather than flakey. I hope things pick up...we were underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Family of 6 went for brunch. Food and s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Family of 6 went for brunch. Food and service was excellant

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. We made our reservation ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Disappointed.

We made our reservation for our rehearsal dinner here thinking it was one of the more upscale options. I will start off by saying most of our party was late which was 100% our fault, that said the restaurant was not busy by any means. So we didn't hurt the possibility of someone else having our tables.

I requested seating for 20 and on arrival realized they had us at 2 different tables. This was a problem as we needed to be able to communicate wedding plans to everyone and we couldn't yell across the room. We all ended up standing as they rearranged the tables.

They gave us 1 server for nearly 20 people, so you can imagine how long it took to get drinks/refills. Our server was polite but when it came time to pay the bill she was incredibly incompetent. She checked with me 3 times to confirm how I wanted the bills split up and I had asked that 3 people in addition to my husband and I be on the same bill. She ended up adding 6 people to our bill and had other peoples food on our bill. She put all the mandatory gratuity on one of our guests bill. She had to correct that and once everyone had their correct bill she took payment from only 75% of the people and then left. We had to wait for her to come back so we could finish paying. All together I would guess it took about 30 minutes to pay. Annoying since we had to go set up the hall for our wedding.

I wouldn't recommend going to this restaurant with a large party. If you decide to anyway I would be VERY clear on how you want your tables set up and request more than one server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was great. Wonderful steak and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was great. Wonderful steak and wild mushrooms. Cheesecake was terrific. We felt the waitress needed a bit more training in regards to pouring the wine from craffe!! Also, paying a bit more attention to beverage request. She was extremely pleasant and has potential.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Met some friends for the Monday special ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Met some friends for the Monday special of sirloin and lobster tail. It was excellent and great value! The service was prompt and friendly and didn't feel rushed after dinner as we visited with our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food . great service very freindly ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2016

great food . great service very freindly staff and food always taste great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special occasion with another ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was a special occasion with another couple. Our table was in a quiet location. Wine was good, service was great. Prime rib is always good here, but portions were not very evenly distributed although all ordered same (regular).

Always a great place to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic prime rib and great service fr ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Fantastic prime rib and great service from Anita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was a good dining experience...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We frequently dine at the Sawmill. We ordered the table d'hote (steak and lobster meal with salad and dessert), a meal we have often and have always enjoyed. This time, parts of the meal were good but not excellent as is the normal standard. Other parts were the usual excellent quality. We believe this was a one-off experience and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

our waitress was most obliging and pleasant.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 29, 2016

was a special occasion so we were seated off from the general public which was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the buffet at the Sawmill.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 22, 2016

I do think the prices are a bit steep for child for the buffet. No 3 or 4 year can eat over $10 worth of food. This I think is something that should be looked at for the smaller children. Maybe start your children's pricing at school age.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I was sad to see they, once again under- ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was sad to see they, once again under-cooked my steak and over-cooked my mother's lobster. There was no seasoning on the lobster either. I feel like this location has gone downhill in quality, like its other locations. The ONLY thing holding this location together is its expert and understanding Management. He will offer to recook the meal and sometimes he will also your drink off the bill to make things right.

I will not be going back, even despite this beautiful Management. I simply pay too much for the food there to be dissapointed in quality. The Keg or Red Lobster are better places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Reserved for early evening meal, quiet t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Reserved for early evening meal, quiet time, server was prompt and efficient and friendly, food was good, portions were good, would dine there again, good family setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Sunday brunch review

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch is always good here, salad selection is a little weak, and this last time desert section was too, which is unusual,usually very good selection for desert. My only complaint is my usual one, when will the wifi be working? Been going here for at least the last 2 years and the public wifi has never worked

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Specifically for the bar side of the res ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Specifically for the bar side of the restaurant, great service, terrific prime rib, and a really well made martini! Enjoyed the good quality of the food and service at this location. Sawmill is not always top of our list for dining, but this location is very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, friendly welcome. Service w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, friendly welcome. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love the sawmill in Fort Sask! I've neve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Love the sawmill in Fort Sask! I've never been disappointed with service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nothing special pretty predictable . The ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Nothing special pretty predictable . They no longer serve bread and the prices are higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Frequently dine. Rarely disappoint.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food is great almost everytime we dine at sawmill. Service is excellent even during busy times. Only complaint is the temperature always feels like 105 degrees inside.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing !!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We are dieting and my husband is a bodybuilder he was able to get steak veggies and rice with no sauce and spices and they were bang on with our order ! Service was amazing and the food was delicious !! Hard to find a place you can stick to your meal planning and still really enjoy the quality and experience ! Our waitress was Amber! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice n easy

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Good food, there was a time after this location opened that the quality tailed off but lately it has been great again. Always the best prime rub around. Steaks tend to be over cooked so order accordingly. Staff is always courteous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food!!!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Just really good food and awesome service,my girlfriend and I have been there several times !!!! 😃

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.