About Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan

21 Westpark Blvd
Fort Saskatchewan, AB T8L 2C5
View Larger Map

With beautiful decor, and award winning food, The Sawmill is pleased to be serving the area of Fort Saskatchewan. Certain to be one of the finest dining establishments in the community, all the foundations are in place to be a success with the launch of The Sawmill’s seventh location.


The perfect atmosphere for any occasion, nestled within a corridor of lodging accommodations and with direct access from Highway 21, the Company continued its modernizing restaurant vision of providing guests with comfort and relaxation through extruded wood and art finishes while accenting the surroundings with modern day design features reflected within the seating, lighting and architectural footprint.


This rural market operation has an adapted floor plan and offers its world renowned Alberta "AAA' and Certified Angus Beef as its culinary legacy. The menu cuisine is unparalleled in quality and simplicity and regarded as one of the finest dining experiences ever.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 21 & Southfort Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 992-2255

Website:
http://www.sawmillrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The Sawmill Loyalty Program - This Program was designed to show you, the customer, our appreciation for your loyal patronage. Membership is free! This Loyalty Card has two accounts; a Point account and a Dollar account. The Sawmill will issue 1 point for every dollar spent. When your account reaches 500 points, 500 points will be debited from the Points account and $25 Dollars will be credited to the Sawmill$ Earned Account. These Sawmill Dollars can be used to pay for food, non alcoholic beverage and merchandise on future bills at any Sawmill or Moose Factory Location.

Catering:
For all your banquet & catering needs, please contact the Sawmill Banquet and Catering division at 780-468-4115.

Parking Details:
Free, Private Lot

Public Transit:
#198

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil McCandless

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
By joining us one week before or one week after the special guest’s birth date you will receive $25.00 off your guest cheque for dinner or $15.00 off during lunch. 4 or more regular priced entrees must be purchased.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
  • Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan
Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan

Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Steakhouse
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Fort Saskatchewan ›

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Romantic (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location, excellent food and atmos ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great location, excellent food and atmosphere, we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service overall is just simple. I like t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service overall is just simple. I like to tip,but at this sawmill location,don't feel obligated to tip at all. Service is just basic.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Took my spouse here for dinner , cause I ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Took my spouse here for dinner , cause I have been working out of town. She came to visit and I wanted a nice quite yet romantic atmosphere and good food. The Sawmill provided both. Thanks for good times and great food. Cheers

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were not cooked properly. Chicke ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Steaks were not cooked properly. Chicken cordon bleu was hard as a rock and uneatable.

The only good thing was the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We returned and were so pleased to enjoy ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We returned and were so pleased to enjoy superior quality food and service.

The manager is very engaged in making sure the restaurant is perfect. He mentioned he hired a new assistant manager who is equally involved. That is great news for us and bodes well for the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quality of the food is ok. just ok. not ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quality of the food is ok. just ok. not bad, but nothing to write about- which wasn't always the case here. The atmosphere and ambience is nice, and interesting to look at the fir beams and the old pictures. The value is medium, they charge for kids under 2 the full brunch price, so we will likely pick another venue next time we go out as a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The meals were just good. This is our s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The meals were just good. This is our second trip in a month that has been just "good" compared the the 30+ before that were great. I don't know if it is a new Chef???

Salads seemed they were prepped much earlier. I had salmon that seemed overcooked/the edges sealed with time or heat rather than flakey. I hope things pick up...we were underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Family of 6 went for brunch. Food and s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Family of 6 went for brunch. Food and service was excellant

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. We made our reservation ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Disappointed.

We made our reservation for our rehearsal dinner here thinking it was one of the more upscale options. I will start off by saying most of our party was late which was 100% our fault, that said the restaurant was not busy by any means. So we didn't hurt the possibility of someone else having our tables.

I requested seating for 20 and on arrival realized they had us at 2 different tables. This was a problem as we needed to be able to communicate wedding plans to everyone and we couldn't yell across the room. We all ended up standing as they rearranged the tables.

They gave us 1 server for nearly 20 people, so you can imagine how long it took to get drinks/refills. Our server was polite but when it came time to pay the bill she was incredibly incompetent. She checked with me 3 times to confirm how I wanted the bills split up and I had asked that 3 people in addition to my husband and I be on the same bill. She ended up adding 6 people to our bill and had other peoples food on our bill. She put all the mandatory gratuity on one of our guests bill. She had to correct that and once everyone had their correct bill she took payment from only 75% of the people and then left. We had to wait for her to come back so we could finish paying. All together I would guess it took about 30 minutes to pay. Annoying since we had to go set up the hall for our wedding.

I wouldn't recommend going to this restaurant with a large party. If you decide to anyway I would be VERY clear on how you want your tables set up and request more than one server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was great. Wonderful steak and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was great. Wonderful steak and wild mushrooms. Cheesecake was terrific. We felt the waitress needed a bit more training in regards to pouring the wine from craffe!! Also, paying a bit more attention to beverage request. She was extremely pleasant and has potential.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Met some friends for the Monday special ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Met some friends for the Monday special of sirloin and lobster tail. It was excellent and great value! The service was prompt and friendly and didn't feel rushed after dinner as we visited with our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food . great service very freindly ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

great food . great service very freindly staff and food always taste great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special occasion with another ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was a special occasion with another couple. Our table was in a quiet location. Wine was good, service was great. Prime rib is always good here, but portions were not very evenly distributed although all ordered same (regular).

Always a great place to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic prime rib and great service fr ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Fantastic prime rib and great service from Anita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was a good dining experience...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We frequently dine at the Sawmill. We ordered the table d'hote (steak and lobster meal with salad and dessert), a meal we have often and have always enjoyed. This time, parts of the meal were good but not excellent as is the normal standard. Other parts were the usual excellent quality. We believe this was a one-off experience and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

our waitress was most obliging and pleasant.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

was a special occasion so we were seated off from the general public which was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the buffet at the Sawmill.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I do think the prices are a bit steep for child for the buffet. No 3 or 4 year can eat over $10 worth of food. This I think is something that should be looked at for the smaller children. Maybe start your children's pricing at school age.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I was sad to see they, once again under- ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was sad to see they, once again under-cooked my steak and over-cooked my mother's lobster. There was no seasoning on the lobster either. I feel like this location has gone downhill in quality, like its other locations. The ONLY thing holding this location together is its expert and understanding Management. He will offer to recook the meal and sometimes he will also your drink off the bill to make things right.

I will not be going back, even despite this beautiful Management. I simply pay too much for the food there to be dissapointed in quality. The Keg or Red Lobster are better places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Reserved for early evening meal, quiet t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Reserved for early evening meal, quiet time, server was prompt and efficient and friendly, food was good, portions were good, would dine there again, good family setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Sunday brunch review

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Brunch is always good here, salad selection is a little weak, and this last time desert section was too, which is unusual,usually very good selection for desert. My only complaint is my usual one, when will the wifi be working? Been going here for at least the last 2 years and the public wifi has never worked

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food, friendly welcome. Service w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, friendly welcome. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love the sawmill in Fort Sask! I've neve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Love the sawmill in Fort Sask! I've never been disappointed with service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nothing special pretty predictable . The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Nothing special pretty predictable . They no longer serve bread and the prices are higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Frequently dine. Rarely disappoint.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food is great almost everytime we dine at sawmill. Service is excellent even during busy times. Only complaint is the temperature always feels like 105 degrees inside.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing !!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We are dieting and my husband is a bodybuilder he was able to get steak veggies and rice with no sauce and spices and they were bang on with our order ! Service was amazing and the food was delicious !! Hard to find a place you can stick to your meal planning and still really enjoy the quality and experience ! Our waitress was Amber! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice n easy

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Good food, there was a time after this location opened that the quality tailed off but lately it has been great again. Always the best prime rub around. Steaks tend to be over cooked so order accordingly. Staff is always courteous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food!!!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Just really good food and awesome service,my girlfriend and I have been there several times !!!! 😃

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was just OK

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with brunch - we have been there for dinner and it was good.

Food was just average. Eggs Benedit eggs were hard but the hollandaise was good. Waffles were dry. Everything looked great but things like the fish entrees (which my husband loves normally) were not good. He did not like either. The roast beef was pretty good and there was a decent selection of other items as well as fresh fruit (chocolate fountain) and cheesecakes for dessert. Our server was very nice and looked after us well.

Overall I would give it 3 out of 5.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We were pleased with our experience. It was a special anniversary dinner date for us and it was lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible service

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The food was delicious and arrived in a timely manner. The server, however was not great. She did not introduce herself. She filled our water glasses only once. She took away the basket of buns while two of us were still eating. We gave her a credit card before she brought the bill - we were tired of waiting. She only brought back the payment receipt - not the bill. Definitely not a great experience. Not sure if we'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great Family Memories

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We recently had a reservation, as a family of four, for Valentine Dinner. We actually arrived early and asked if there was a possibility for us to get a table at that time. The friendly staff was happy to accommodate us. With two small children the menu really doesn't have a lot for them to choose from, but the kids were very happy with their meals and the staff was very patient with their indecisiveness. My wife was happy with her meal as well. My meal, unfortunately, was a little overcooked but not to the point where I needed to bring it to attention. Our dinner was what I would call a great memory for our family!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

VEGETABLES!!!!!!!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Getting really bored of the peppers and beans. Seems like it has been close to a year with the same vegetable. A special entre different from the main menu would be nice once in a while. Changes for us "regulars" would be nice to keep us interested in supporting this establishment. I think we have had every dessert on the menu several times each. While we appreciate the Loyalty program, we need to be as excited about going out to the Sawmill as we once where.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

great family get together

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was excellent and the service even better...thoroughly enjoyed our family evening

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food!! Excellent as always!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food!! Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had crab cakes as a starter and they w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I had crab cakes as a starter and they were amazing!!! Cory was our waiter tonight and it's the best service we've ever had at the sawmill!! Thanks for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here a few times, including la ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Have been here a few times, including last new year and has become a favorite but this visit was definitely an exception. Steak was not prepared as I asked, to avoid another wait for myself and guests with me, i said I would just take it while the manager said he would do something about it on the bill (nothing was done at the time, he pushed a gift certificate on me to be mailed which I eventually just said ok to, i would've preferred the issues fixed that night... like any other place would try to do) it is something I am still waiting for. Also both mine and my guest couples bill was charged for dessert after the waitress said she would ask and let us know if we could get the dessert substituted from the one selection on their new years menu. She brought the desserts out, us assuming that it was good to go but when we got the bill, it was full charge for them without asking us if it was ok to add on. I ended up getting one dessert free but nothing done about my meal which I paid a premium on already for new years. The waitress said the free dessert was approved on my bill which ticked off my guest and he paid and left in a huff. Then the manager came out and I asked what he had in mind for reparations for my meal, he said he would take care of it. He did not know how to refund credit cards as I had already paid which has me waiting to find out what a customer is worth to them. My rating may change depending on what they try to do to make me and my 3 guests happy with the visit. Better communication by all staff who dealt with us seems to have caused the issues and I hope it is better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Best service ever!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

We went in with a group of 11; I had e-mailed our order in so the food would be ready when we arrived. Everything was perfect - excellent service, our food was ready, it was hot, and it was delicious. Overall, it was a great dining experience. Only complaint was that Lobster Pot Pie was no longer available on the menu......too bad, it was a favourite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

terrible place

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Waiter was terrible, not attentive at all, I had to go ask the greeter to find the waiter because he was awol for 10+ minutes.

Was seated at 4:30 with only 1 or 2 other tables filled, yet still took 2 hours until left restaurant. VERY SLOW SERVICE, don't go there hungry or with small kids.

Manager refused to honour the free entrée for birthdays

Loud, do not go here for a quiet atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Service, slow & the food was old and bad Quality

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

I have had better meals but for my son and daughter to have a birthday meal like this was extremely disappointing. The manger did take the two dishes off our bill but that hardly made up for an enjoyable double birthday!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

We were there for the Brunch Buffet. It ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We were there for the Brunch Buffet. It was really good and the selections were great. Definitely coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.