Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.34mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Modo Mio Italian RestaurantModo Mio Italian Restaurant
(2)
$$$$
Italian | Fort Saskatchewan, Edmonton
Sabor RestaurantSabor Restaurant
(1960)
$$$$
Seafood | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 42 times today
The Melting Pot - EdmontonThe Melting Pot - Edmonton
(434)
$$$$
Fondue | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 68 times today
Hardware GrillHardware Grill
(1567)
$$$$
Canadian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 30 times today
La Ronde - Chateau LacombeLa Ronde - Chateau Lacombe
(404)
$$$$
Canadian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 15 times today
Pampa Brazilian SteakhousePampa Brazilian Steakhouse
(3729)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 34 times today
Colours Restaurant - Northlands ParkColours Restaurant - Northlands Park
(285)
$$$$
Canadian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 3 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - SkyviewThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Skyview
(431)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 13 times today
Sorrentino's DowntownSorrentino's Downtown
(715)
$$$$
Italian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 5 times today
Vaticano CucinaVaticano Cucina
(51)
$$$$
Italian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 8 times today
Canteen - EdmontonCanteen - Edmonton
(1059)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 5 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Sherwood ParkThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Sherwood Park
(118)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Sherwood Park, Edmonton
Booked 14 times today
The MarcThe Marc
(1924)
$$$$
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 28 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - EdmontonRuth's Chris Steak House - Edmonton
(573)
$$$$
Steak | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 3 times today
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - West EdmontonThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - West Edmonton
(396)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 7 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 3.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.34mi

About Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan

With beautiful decor, and award winning food, The Sawmill is pleased to be serving the area of Fort Saskatchewan. Certain to be one of the finest dining establishments in the community, all the foundations are in place to be a success with the launch of The Sawmill’s seventh location.


The perfect atmosphere for any occasion, nestled within a corridor of lodging accommodations and with direct access from Highway 21, the Company continued its modernizing restaurant vision of providing guests with comfort and relaxation through extruded wood and art finishes while accenting the surroundings with modern day design features reflected within the seating, lighting and architectural footprint.


This rural market operation has an adapted floor plan and offers its world renowned Alberta "AAA' and Certified Angus Beef as its culinary legacy. The menu cuisine is unparalleled in quality and simplicity and regarded as one of the finest dining experiences ever.

21 Westpark Blvd
Fort Saskatchewan, AB T8L 2C5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 21 & Southfort Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 992-2255

Website:
http://www.sawmillrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The Sawmill Loyalty Program - This Program was designed to show you, the customer, our appreciation for your loyal patronage. Membership is free! This Loyalty Card has two accounts; a Point account and a Dollar account. The Sawmill will issue 1 point for every dollar spent. When your account reaches 500 points, 500 points will be debited from the Points account and $25 Dollars will be credited to the Sawmill$ Earned Account. These Sawmill Dollars can be used to pay for food, non alcoholic beverage and merchandise on future bills at any Sawmill or Moose Factory Location.

Catering:
For all your banquet & catering needs, please contact the Sawmill Banquet and Catering division at 780-468-4115.

Parking Details:
Free, Private Lot

Public Transit:
#198

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil McCandless

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
By joining us one week before or one week after the special guest’s birth date you will receive $25.00 off your guest cheque for dinner or $15.00 off during lunch. 4 or more regular priced entrees must be purchased.

Sawmill - Fort Saskatchewan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (13)
Family Style (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unfortunately there is little in the way of positive statements to be made. Service was slow, appetizers were not delivered, the food was tasteless cold, tough silver skin left on the prime rib which couldn't be cut with the steak knife, even the coffee was cold. We heard our server tell several other clients the restaurant policy was to "stuff the chair and not give a damn about the poor service or quality of food". It wasn't lost on us that the server spent more time at our table chatting us up when he brought the bill then over the entire evening. We have eaten here many times but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Was Absolutley a horrible expérience for my 42nd birthday night. Not impressed. Sat right beside a kid table that ran around plus i asked for a booth near the frt between the partitian due to hearing aids, did not happen. I can understand if they were all booked up when i booked my request but doubt it, server took an extreme amount of time for drink order, said "sorry" over 16 times, spilled water on the table and did not bother to wipe it up plus flicked water on my wife, the "potato topping" station was empty on sour cream which i dont get. They should be full and ready to go and left at table, very annoying having someone place stuff on your plate. Steak was med rareish but at this point i just wanted to eat and leave. I even booked at 8 pm to ensure not so busy. All i wanted was a nice night for my 42nd birthday and was far from it. Will be awhile till/if i return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had ordered prime rib. But after we already ate appetizers they came out to tell me out of prime rib the way I asked for cooked. Med rare. So I ordered rib steak instead. It comes out under cooked. So I send back. Manager brings back. Still under cooked. I say I'll eat so everyone else not waiting for me. Then get bill which was over $190 and not offered anything for steak being cooked wrong. Twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went with the family for birthday supper. Service and food were excellent as usual. Have. It been disappointed at all at the Sawmill in Ft. Sask.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My food was awesome but my son's lemon chicken was a little well done. Trainee and trainer were both doing some service so orders and delivery were somewhat confused. We originally ordered two full pastas and a side as part of my special. The waitress came back and advised the pasta was not available so we all had to change our orders. I changed mine to potatoes and gravy. I didn't receive the gravy with my order initially so I asked about it. My husband had also ordered gravy for his potatoes. We ended up getting four servings of gravy. We were also billed for at least one of the pasta dishes, even though we weren't able to get it. The trainee compensated us in cash for that part. I hadn't checked or kept the itemized bill so I am not sure what else we may have paid for that we shouldn't have.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I was in Fort Saskatchewan visiting my daughter for the first time since she moved there. It was my last night with her and we decided to have a special dinner. Sawmill lived up to my hopes. The food was delicious and the service was very good. I would definitely recommend Sawmill to anyone visiting Fort Saskatchewan.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Male manager on duty who greeted us was perceived by us to be arrogant. We arrived and advised we made a reservation through open table and gave our name. He proceeded to tell us that the Sawmill does not deal with OpenTable as they are having a disagreement. So I advised they should do something as I had confirmation, he responded that they had a table. When we were heading the the buffet line a passing customer called to the manager to advise that there were no plates at the buffet when the customer walked away the manager very visibly rolled his eyes at the customer as he walked away. Just poor leadership choices that day. As a customer I don't care if your having a disagreement with OpenTable just seat me. It's unfortunate cause I prefer the easibility of booking through it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been here many times. This time the food was not good. Extra salty and 3 out of 4 meals not good. Sawmill charges top dollar and food was 3rd rate. Sorry but true

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Warmly greeted and promptly served. We enjoyed tasty food in a great setting and excellent service. Couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great dining experience with very good food and excellent service. Will return again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good and well prepared. The only negative was my Baked Potato. Never did get the sour cream and butter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall restaurant atmosphere pleasant, fairly quite at time of visit, and warm. Facility was clean and comfortable. Food was very good and served hot. Service was excellent - great servers that engage with customers in a personal and friendly manner. Server was knowledgeable on customer food and drink questions. Had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The price for the Sunday brunch for a 12 year old was the same for an adult. This price is very high.
Our visit for new years day brunch was wonderful because we had a GREAT server! Her name was Marilyn and she was delightful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic service at the champagne brunch, food was outstanding too

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We asked for a slight modification to the set New Year's Eve menu to accommodate a dietary need...done! The sat us in the bar rather than dining room... not sure if that was to avoid questions about our modified menu or to balance clients to wait staff. Still a nice evening but the hockey game on the monitors detracted from what was supposed to be fine dining.

Overall a very nice meal with great service. Being a bar, the ambience wasn't what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We are a young couple with 2 kids. We received a gift card for Christmas and decided we would use it on NYE and do dinner.

The meal and service were fine, but when it came to pay she told me they didn't take the prepaid Visa. I was frustrated and very disappointed. I don't have the extra money to cover the cost of my meal, had we known, we would have never chose your restaurant.

I am now short $145 in my account. Brutal.

I will be going to social media with this as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Disappointed that there is no longer any recognition for special occasions such as anniversary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dined for our adult daughter's birthday, with our pre-teen grand daughter. Both the adult menu and the children's menus were very good. We enjoyed both steak and prime rib dishes (heartily recommend the prime rib!), and all dishes were excellently prepared and presented. Despite being extremely busy with Christmas functions, our server was very attentive and efficient. Bothe the Manager, Josh, and the General Manager, Neil, were in attendance, and both greeted us and ensured our dining experience was enjoyable. Most definitely a place one should not miss!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always great food and service. Frequently visit the Fort Saskatchewan Sawmill. Highly recommend.

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We arrived and were taken to a table at the back of the restaurant even though it was obviously difficult for me as I am walking with a cane. Don't even want to consider going to the bathroom! Too far and difficult. So just don't drink alot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Corey tended to us and did a great job as usual. Nice lunch menu options to choose from.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had a large group lunch and, considering that there were 15 of us, service was quick. While the food may have been a little pricey for lunch, all were satisfied with their food. It was quite a tasty lunch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday and enjoyed a great evening of food and fun with family and friends.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We enjoyed the variety of food at the Sunday brunch, good value and terrific service

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was very disappointed that the King Crab legs have been taken off the menu. That is what I always order here. Although online it still shows them as being on the menu. Also had the clam chowder. Not impressed. It was way to thick and Luke warm. Did not finish it. Had some stomach issues when I got home from it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great place, we go there lots
It was loud, but we were the loud ones.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A good place for special occasions. All forms of beef could not be be cooked any better and service is the best. Somewhat disappointing is the amount of vegetable that comes with the entrees and the house salad now seems to be like leftover pieces scrapped into a bowl. Presentation is good but not a substitute for expected food. I'm sure we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

New Menu good. Especially like the pumpkin creme brûlée.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went out for my wife's birthday and left just feeling ok on a $320 bill. The appies we had calamari and Cesar salad were good. We felt the dinner was rushed (6:45 -8:10) and that on its own made the experience feel more like a fast food experience.
I had a 14 oz rib eye and lobster for a side. I asked for my steak medium to med rare and it came way undercooked, and yes I know how steak cooking is rated. It was also way too fatty (even for a rib eye ) for the $50 cost. The lobster was tried by all and we all agreed it was way over cooked and rubbery. I did not say anything as everyone else was enjoying their meal and I don't like causing a problem at the restaurant. I shouldn't have to this is supposed to be their specialty.
The table was way too small for four of us also. We have been here a few times before and always had a good experience. For the money I spent on the evening both my wife and I felt a bit disappointed this time as it was mostly a food bill as we only had 5 drinks on the bill.
Dont know if it's the economy or different management, but we both talked about it the next day and said how disappointed we were in the meal. The waitress was great, no issues with staff, just the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great main course and nice service. Desserts needs variety and creativeness

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great service, great food. We had a fairly large party and they were accommodating and patient (especially with the kids).

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent meal, wine and service. We go fairly regularly for dinner and service and quality have always been consistently very good. Reasonably priced for the quality-the chicken Neptune is an absolute favourite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. We had a great night. Food taste great except the chocolate brownie sunday was not as good as the first time. But still good

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Never disappointed, the food and service is always very good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great location, excellent food and atmosphere, we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service overall is just simple. I like to tip,but at this sawmill location,don't feel obligated to tip at all. Service is just basic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Took my spouse here for dinner , cause I have been working out of town. She came to visit and I wanted a nice quite yet romantic atmosphere and good food. The Sawmill provided both. Thanks for good times and great food. Cheers

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Steaks were not cooked properly. Chicken cordon bleu was hard as a rock and uneatable.
The only good thing was the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We returned and were so pleased to enjoy superior quality food and service.

The manager is very engaged in making sure the restaurant is perfect. He mentioned he hired a new assistant manager who is equally involved. That is great news for us and bodes well for the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Quality of the food is ok. just ok. not bad, but nothing to write about- which wasn't always the case here. The atmosphere and ambience is nice, and interesting to look at the fir beams and the old pictures. The value is medium, they charge for kids under 2 the full brunch price, so we will likely pick another venue next time we go out as a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.