About Savoy Bar and Grill Albuquerque

10601 Montgomery Blvd N.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87111
View Larger Map

Abundant and beautiful California Wine Country in the Northeast Heights. Welcome to “Savoy”! A sun-filled, unpretentious but sophisticated, wine-friendly restaurant. As you walk into the dramatic high-ceiling entryway, you are moved in all directions. To the East you have a frosted view of the tasting room, loaded with fresh flowers and walls of glass-encased wine. To the West you get a glimpse of the lounge bar leading to the vine-covered patio. Light, open and airy with butter-colored walls, dark wood and black & white photography of wine country all come together to create an elegant yet surprisingly comfortable atmosphere in the main dining room. The dark and contemporary edge to the room is offset during the day with an abundance of natural light from large windows and three strategically placed skylights. That oven will be our culinary focal point for the exhibition kitchen, where our guests will see and smell the citrus roasted duckling, the roasted platter of shellfish

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner Daily: 5:00pm - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 294-9463

Website:
http://www.savoyabq.com/ourstory.php

Private Party Facilities:
For the truly magnificent and special private setting, we created the “Napa Room”-equipped with a private patio deck and fireplace, state of the art audio/visual dropdown equipment and enough space for 40-50 guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Savoy Bar and Grill Albuquerque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Food
Albuquerque
6 More
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

special occasion (43)
romantic (32)
notable wine list (25)
See All
neighborhood gem (22)
fit for foodies (20)
vibrant bar scene (17)
good for groups (15)
great for lunch (14)
hot spot (10)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Strange water service

Dined on May 16, 2016

The person serving and refilling water glasses would stand in one location near the table and ask each guest to have glasses handed to him. Very odd and disruptive to the guests. Why couldn't he circumnavigate the table?

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service1

Went for Mother's Day. Took my wife/moth ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Went for Mother's Day. Took my wife/mother/grandmother. We had reservations but had to wait for some reason (as 3 other groups that arrived after us were seated). Once seated, our waiter took 10 minutes to greet us and bring us water. My grandmothers steak was COLD, it was to be cooked well done. Not impressed and will not return.

food1
ambience3
service3

This review is strictly based on their f ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

This review is strictly based on their food and time it took to bring our order to the table. We ordered Kobe New York strips from daily special, and rack of lamb and parmesan chicken. Kobe beef supposed to be tender but felt like chewing rubber and their special sauce didn't complement meat at all. Too much sauce that dawned real taste of Kobe(?) beef. Rack of lamb smell too much. I noticed not many places can prepare good rack of lamb so will not expect much from here also. But, their bean side dish was not cooked. I was chewing half cooked beans. So end up not eating at all. We eat maybe few bites and had food to go doggy box. Wine and complementary bread was best part of the meal. Ambience was nice, felt like I was back in one of restaurants at downtown LA. If you are here for drinks then it will definitely be one of good place to hang out in Albuquerque, but for food? I think I can get better tasting food at much more reasonable price at some other venues.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Savoy does not disappoint. The cheese a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Savoy does not disappoint. The cheese and charcuterie appetizer was generous and innovative. Our entrees (prime rib, halibut) followed suit. Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

nothing special...but not bad.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was average. Nothing stands out as great but its a decent dining option for Abq. .............

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

it was nice, but.....

Dined on April 18, 2016

everything was going great until the steak arrived overcooked. Ugh! Savoy comped a dessert, which is nice, but an overcooked 30 dollar steak is a bummer. NM

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, calm ambiance

Dined on April 16, 2016

We took my parents here for dinner. My mother is extremely picky and thoroughly enjoyed her meal. Service was perfect. Friendly and efficient yet calm. I had chicken and it was perfectly cooked. My mom had the seabass. My dad had the salmon and my boyfriend had a caprese salad along with the lamb. We've also eaten here several times on the patio or in the bar area. Food and drink have been consistently good. I particularly enjoy the patio in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucky Me!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I feel so lucky to have the Savoy Bar & Grill right in my backyard. I bring friends and family here all the time and it always becomes a favorite to them as well. It just doesn't get any better than this. You can really tell when the owners of a place love food, wine, and and great mixed drinks, and care about their diner's experience. There isn't a bad thing on the menu. When I say try it, you'll love it, I mean it wholeheartedly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, good wines, excellent service ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Good food, good wines, excellent service- without being stuffy in any way. Very enjoyable evening.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable

Dined on April 3, 2016

It is a neighborhood favorite. Their specials are always great, as is the service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for special occasions

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had a most enjoyable dinner. The service and food are great. We have never been disappointed and like the fact that we can make reservations

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A NIGHT TO REMEMBER

Dined on March 12, 2016

AMAZING WINE LIST, EXCELLENT FOOD, WITH EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE. CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A return visit

Dined on March 12, 2016

We returned to our great find some 5 weeks later and once again were not disappointed. The food was great and Eric, who had served us before, remembered us as well as the wine my wife drinks. Once again a memorable experience

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A gem during Resturant Week

Dined on March 11, 2016

We decided to dine here during Albuquerque's restaurant week and we very pleased with our decision. The 3 course fixed price meal was perfect. The servings were adequate, not too small, but not too large to be able to enjoy the included dessert too. The server was there when we needed her, but neither hovering nor inattentive. All in all we would recommend this restaurant and will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Savoy is one of our favorites, however please:

Dined on February 21, 2016

I sometimes make a reservation at the Savoy for special occasion for me and my sweetheart. In this case I spent $103 (including a twenty percent tip for good service). The prime rib was excellent. The pork special was excellent as well. So then, the meal being great, but then we noticed that plates for appetizores and other dishes, as consumed, were left behind on the table while we were consuming our main dish...table then was a little messy throughout the meal...something to look out for in terms of future waitress services. We love the Savoy! Thanks and see you again, John Lakari

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Belated Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Atmosphere was great, food was tremendous. Our server offered several suggestions on entrees, cocktails and dessert and all were spot on.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat

Dined on February 19, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal here. The room was cozy and warm. Service was top notch and the food was delicious. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent food, lacking service.

Dined on February 17, 2016

We arrived at Savoy on time and were seated promptly. But from then on the service went downhill. I don't know if our waitress was overloaded, overworked, or what, but she rarely came by our table to check how we were doing, ask if we needed anything, ready to order,??? We had to flag her down for everything, and each course took between 30-45 minutes. I Don't know if this is normal but it seemed very excessive since we were there on a Tuesday night, not crowded, only a few other tables were occupied. Never a mention of sorry for the wait, it will be a few more minutes, nothing. Then since we were celebrating our anniversaries, the waitress mentioned that dessert was on the house but when the check came, we were charged. Since it took so long to get our check, we thought it prudent to just pay for it and not have to wait again for the check to be corrected. Disappointment to say the least. Not the 5 star experience we were hoping for. I also noticed that 2 gentlemen seated near us were complaining about the service, she was apologizing to them as we left.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was excellent .......desert not so much.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and drinks were excellent. However the "bread pudding" was horrible. I have never had such a poor attempt at bread pudding, well maybe Golden Corral, maybe.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on February 14, 2016

The filet mignon with lobster tail was perfectly cooked and incredibly delicious. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very Poor Service and Going Down Hill....

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

After requesting not to, our table of four was seated at one if their terrible banquette tables down in a gully with the table legs so spread out you can't get your feet flat. After a delay, our server came over apologizing about slow she was and then only talked to my wife. We finally got our meals after all the other tables who were seated 30 minutes after we were received theirs. We then received the same meaningless and worthless apology about being slow. The food was dry and almost tasteless and the plates very hot indicating that they must have sat in the warmer a long time. We have been to Savoy several times and even had a holiday event there. It has been slowly going downhill and I believe they have reached that destination. They obviously don't care about people who book through open table so don't bother. There are better options out there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Savoy in the Heights

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a pre-Valentines Day dinner out which was our first visit to this restaurant. We will certainly return when the opportunity presents itself in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good assist with picking wines. A great ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Good assist with picking wines. A great evening with close friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Anniversary Spot

Dined on February 6, 2016

We've been celebrating our Anniversary for the past few years at Savoy. It's our favorite place to go, we make a point of only going here once a year to keep it special, even though we could eat here everyday. They always adhere to my request of sitting us in the room with the fireplace, service is always awesome and unlike some restaurants in town they are consistent. I always order the tuna and my husband always gets the filet and it always tastes the way we remember it. Thank you once again for making our experience at your restaurant awesome. We'll see you again next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful find!!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had an outstanding experience. As owners of a casual dinning restaurant with the same quality and atmosphere as the Savoy's, we were very pleasantly surprised. The food was of the highest quality, Eric our server went out of his way to take outstanding care of us during our dining experience. The whole staff was very warm and friendly. What a great experience

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Super Nice!

Dined on January 28, 2016

Four of us went to Savoy for a special occasion. Eric, our waiter, was very helpful. One member of our party is a vegetarian and Eric made suggestions and communicated with the Chef to ensure the satisifaction of our party's vegetarian. We non-vegetarians enjoyed the succulent prime rib which was slow-cooked nice and rare the way we like it. Plus, we were able to substitue butternut squash with kale for the potatoes (delicious!). The restuarant was pretty quiet with nice accoustics. The wine list was extensive and, once again, Eric made great suggestions. We'll be returning in the near future - special occasion or not!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good atmosphere for a business dinner

Dined on January 11, 2016

Nice dinner. Staff were helpful in seating us in a quiet spot for a business dinner. Food very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Evening With Special Friends

Dined on December 13, 2015

Food was wonderful! Great atmosphere and attentive wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Food is too rich for my taste

Dined on November 21, 2015

I have always enjoyed Savoy. The ambience is pleasant, but something has never been right. The food is too rich with sauces for my taste. Otherwise it is a fine establishment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Super

Dined on November 21, 2015

They put us in an alcove-type room with a fireplace and only a few other tables in it. Would have been lovely except for the group of nine women who were loudly celebrating someone's birthday. Our waiter did offer to move us, but we liked the table and the fireplace, so we stayed. Other than that, it was an outstanding evening. Excellent wine, food and service. Pricey, but highly recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

joe

Dined on November 15, 2015

This is the best restaurant in New Mexico. 5 stars, outstanding in every aspect. My wife and I are somewhat foodies, and everything we've ordered (three visits) has exceeded our expectations.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Almost Excellent

Dined on November 15, 2015

Great food. Congenial server. Attentive service. Really nice fireplace room. The only shortcoming was the clearing of the table between courses. Crumbs, etc., from appetizers that were clearly visible were left on the table and entree plates were actually placed on top of the crumbs. Not as professional as Marcello's or Prairie Star.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The wait staff took good care of us; ple ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

The wait staff took good care of us; pleasant atmosphere and nice moderate noise level made for a relaxing visit with friends.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a work dinner

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

We had a terrific night talking about our work and having a very satisfying dinner after a very long day. All four of us enjoyed the appetizers, our entrees and wine. Wonderful to be able to talk with each other without shouting, too. Thanks, we will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Dining at the Savoy

Dined on November 2, 2015

Took some friends from Germany to dinner at the Savoy this weekend. They loved the ambiance. The service was exceptional, with great wine and dessert recommendations. The lamb, soup and salads were outstanding but, next time, would ask the chef to remove the skin from the fish before serving. Prices are reasonable for this type of white-tablecloth setting. Wine prices were very reasonable! I would definitely go here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary and the staf ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

We went for our anniversary and the staff was amazing. Our waiter was okay but the overall experience was great. The noise level in the sun room was a little high.

food4
ambience4
service1

Great food, lousy server

Dined on October 25, 2015

I've been here twice now, and both times the food was very good. During my first visit, the server was fairly average, but during my second visit, the server was AWFUL. Probably one of the worst I and my guests had ever encountered. He was terse, rude, interrupted us, and way too lackadaisical to be working at an upscale restaurant (e.g., "ok, whaddya having?"). Although the food was good, we likely won't be back, given that we dreaded every time the server came to the table!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

They had great seasonal food, fresh and ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

They had great seasonal food, fresh and interesting with a comprehensive wine list to accompany. They also offer many wines by the glass, which adds flexibility. The serving size was larger than expected so we ended up with a lot of leftovers. The squash soup was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the highlights of my wif ...

Dined on October 12, 2015

This was one of the highlights of my wife and I's visit to Albuquerque this October. The food was outstanding and the service was amazing. Our waiter was completely engaged with each table that he worked including ours and seemed genuinely happy to be working at Savoy. He also had excellent recommendations when it came to pairing our food with wine. Next time we are in Albuquerque we will definitely put some time aside to come back to Savoy.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always great

Dined on October 11, 2015

I have had multiple lunches and dinners at Savoy and it has been consistently excellent in all areas. The one issue we sometimes have is that it can get noisy in the big dining room, so lately we have been asking to sit in the quieter back room. Savoy has been great at accommodating our request. All-around fantabulous experience, in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.