About Savona Restaurant

100 Old Gulph Road
Gulph Mills, PA 19428
View Larger Map

Consistent, creative, high quality dining & seamlessly orchestrated service has been the hallmark of Savona's success for over 12 years. Executive Chef, Andrew Masciangelo, uses his 15 year relationship with local farmers to source the freshest ingredients available. His "farm to table" philosophy involves handling products as few times as possible to capture the natural flavor intensity of each ingredient. Signature dishes include Dover Sole with Capri Lemon & Pignoli, and Salt Crusted Branzino and Shrimp & Scallop "Borsette". Masciangelo's cuisine is supported by world class service maestro'd by Maximilien Grange. Savona has the largest wine cellar in the state of Pennsylvania offering guests over 1,200 selections to choose from. Our Sommelier uses his studied palette, vast wine knowledge & soft approach to heighten each guest's dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you to Savona.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 520-1200

Website:
http://www.savonarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Savona at home. Our Director of Private Dining is prepared to tailor an event considering every detail. Contact Andrea Gaudini at 610 520 1200.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Masciangelo

Private Party Facilities:
Plan a casual private dining event at Savona! Our private dining menus include options from the casual BARSAVONA menu as well as from our formal dining room. Wireless internet connection and all audio/visual equipment are available for multimedia presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Gaudini: 6105201200x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Savona Restaurant
Savona Restaurant

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Savona Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (6)
See All
Notable Wine List (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The meal was prepared beautifully and se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The meal was prepared beautifully and served elegantly. The wait staff were superior without being overbearing. There are not many restaurants around that pay attention to every detail the way Savona does.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great neighborhood upscale option. Full ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great neighborhood upscale option. Full bar is a plus to the amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

very accommodating staff ... had a very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

very accommodating staff ... had a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Most overpriced restaurant I have been t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Most overpriced restaurant I have been to in years. Foie gras was overcomes, as was the octopus. The risotto was tasteless. Main course is filet mignon was boring. Rolls offered to us were cold. Wait staff not very attentive. Went for my son's 26th birthday. Very disappointing. High end NYC prices but cooking like cafeteria food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Old style elegance. Limited menu but eve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Old style elegance. Limited menu but everything was delicious. Decor a little dated and in need of a coat of paint and some outdoor landscaping. Overall wonderful and relaxing anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The patio is a pleasant environment. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The patio is a pleasant environment. The option to select from an upscale or regular menu is

a strong positive. The food from both menus were delicious. The waiter was gracious, attentive and well informed. The wine selection was vast. The foursome spent 2 hours having a good time. Will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Savona, whether its for a date n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We love Savona, whether its for a date night, girls night or family night.

The manager is a master of his E.Q. He has high expectations and his customers are satisfied and expectations are always met. The chef is gifted the food never fails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Main Line Spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The excellent staff at Savona is attentive but not overly so. Food is first rate and there is an extensive wine list. Spare ribs were elegant, especially for what you might think of as an informal dish. Served on a bed of potato with roasted vegetables, they looked and tasted great. My wife's choice of a soft shell crab on a bed of greens was a hit. Savona doesn't have great views and the outside dining is close to the parking, but the formal dining room is cozy, and we understand renovations are planned for this summer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to this restaurant on many occ ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Have been to this restaurant on many occasions, but never before have I suffered such poor service. We have a reservation in July for a special event and I am thinking of canceling. Staff was too busy chatting with each other to seem to care about refilling water glasses or wine glasses. Silverware put down for amuse-bouche, then sometime later removed without serving and plopped our dinners down. When I asked, the waiter said "oh ..did you want that?" He leaves our dinner plates on the table and returns with the amuse-bouche! No checking on meal to see if all was ok...no chance to ask for additional butter or rolls...no coffee or dessert menu offered at the end and no greeter to grab our coats..so we got them ourselves. EXTREMELY disappointed for a dinner that cost $225!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

A lovely special occasion restaurant. Ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A lovely special occasion restaurant. Hardly any vegetarian options on the menu but the kitchen and waitstaff are very accommodating . Excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service. Excellent starters, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Impeccable service. Excellent starters, entrees (Dover Sole), and desserts (twice baked carrot cake). Very knowledgeable and helpful sommelier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Olivia was our server - she was really k ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Olivia was our server - she was really kind and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

It was our first time at Savona's, why have I not been here before. The meal was excellent, very nice wine selection. My wife had the special, pork chop, and she felt it may have been the best one she has ever had. I had the lamb, and it was perfectly prepared. We were there for our anniversary, the night was perfect. The food, the wine, the service, the setting, were all great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely phenomenal evening all the wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal evening all the way around... the food, the service and the ambience. A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Experience!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The entire visit was exceptionally wonderful. From the attendants, to the receptionists, to the bartender, to the servers...everyone was warm, friendly, and efficient. We had a great time. Service and food were great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sommelier/wine tasting event was outstanding!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent wine tasting event. Service outstanding. Food mediocre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good Restaurant for Business Dinner, goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Good Restaurant for Business Dinner, good wine list, nice presentation, different menu, good special, great dessert menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasantly surprised

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Very impressed with service!!! My husband and I have been meaning to try this restaurant for years and finally made it there for my birthday. We had about 4 people serving us.. Haven't had that kind of service in a long time and we go downtown for dinner a lot. Food was delicious but portions are small. We are in the formal

Dining area and next time we will try the causal dining for s different menu. Will

Definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Food was amazin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was amazing, and different! Delicious cocktails--great professional attentive service - can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the second time there in the la ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

This was the second time there in the last 3 weeks. Octopus was chewy, scallops went back because they were not hot, came back as if they passed a match over it, service was lacking--case in point, we order coffee but were not quite ready to order desert--server said he would be right back--15 minutes later, I asked for the check. You were not that busy last Friday night.

I wish you luck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Decent Main Line Option

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Nothing spectacular, slightly overpriced, but nonetheless a superior alternative to the big chain KoP restaurants. The wine list and drink menu was fantastic and the service was very attentive. Albeit a decent sized portion, were really disappointed with our steak entree, but the appetizer and the dessert were enjoyable. Perhaps I expected too much, but I would recommend the usual main line stalwarts - Restaurant Alba, Black Fish, even Paramour - over Savona.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent sole and special lobster pasta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Excellent sole and special lobster pasta dish

Good wine recommendations from sommelier

Soup was good but amuse bouche cauliflower soup was even better; make that an option

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Casual Menu does not mean Casual Atmosphere

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Casual is defined as "relaxed, unconcerned, laid-back". We returned after two wonderful experiences with their Formal Dining menu, sat at a 4 top in the bar area and ordered from the Casual Dining menu. The food was great, the wine by the glass was very good but quite pricey - there were no lesser priced (red) options, and the pour was not generous. There were a few times we felt the slightest bit rushed, but to their credit, staff took the hint and backed off. We arrived at 5:15 for a 5:30 reservation, were seated right away, and were gone in 75 minutes. A pizza, spaghetti and veal meat balls, 4 drinks, two double espressos and one dessert later, our tab was slightly over $130, before tip. The NY Rye Sour (rocks) was out of this world, and made perfectly. This restaraunt is 5 minutes from our home and could be a "go-to" for elegant yet casual spur of the moment dining if it were not so pricey. We will probably restrict our future visits to formal dining for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Savona is Top Notch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Savona always delivers great food. The staff is friendly and helpful -- each makes a real effort to make the experience memorable. The Dover sole is well prepared. I personally look forward to the fois gras. Recommended for everyone who enjoys fine food well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Definitely good, but not worth it

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

A few of the dishes were truly superb. Others were just good. At half the price, I would return. But given the high price, I expect everything to be superb. The wait staff was good, the ambiance is quiet and private (spacious so you aren't sitting on top of another couple/table). But just not worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Don't bother

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Very disappointing meal. Salad was so overly salted we had to send it back. Signature sole entree came without a single side. No vegetarian friendly options and was served a roasted cauliflower head again without anything alongside. We've been to Savona before and been delighted. This was a tremendous disappointment. Won't return for a very long time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Savona lost its' edge

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

I am sad to admit that one of my favorite, go-to places has really fallen. It could have been that we were there between the holidays, and much of the staff, chefs and food purveyors were off, but the quality was poor. The rolls were awful, the salad bland, the wine list minimized etc. The Dover Sole was still quite good, but the overall experience was a disappointment. I do hope this was simply an "off night" but Savona is off my list until I hear differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Elegantly Awesome

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Savona provided great ambiance, excellent service, an expansive wine list, and fantastic food. Top to bottom, the experience was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Savonna December 2015

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

We had not been to Savona in years. Wanted to go someplace special for my birthday. The staff was fine, the décor was pretty, but the food just wasn't that good. It is a four dollar sign restaurant and I expected so much more. The menu was limited. We all ordered something different. My duck (which I SHOULD have ordered Medium rare) was tasteless. The compote it was served on needed salt. Won't be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Have been to Savona many times in the pa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Have been to Savona many times in the past but not in past 2 years. Was disappointed. Menu very limited. not a single salad of any type on the menu. Best part were the servers who were excellent. Wine by the glass also limited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Only place in Philly that you can get Dover Sole

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

This restaurant is one of my all time favorites. Beautiful atmosphere, indulgent food and wine, excellent service, fresh roses on the table - just perfect for a fine dining experience. And it's the only restaurant in the Philadelphia area that I am aware of that has Dover sole on the menu prepared to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the same Savona!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Having frequented Savona many times in the past for client dinners and business meetings in the tasting room, I was more than a little disappointed. A very limited menu and a very pretentious/precious attitude overall. Quite puzzling, actually. Horribly overpriced and overcooked food, too. Really not the delight it once was. They must have lost a lot of former customers by now and I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Delicious food and generous portions. No ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Delicious food and generous portions. Not quite as high end or authentic as promised. Beautiful location and nice atmosphere with many private couples' tables. Waiting staff is professional, courteous, and just snooty enough to make some of the interactions awkward. But all in all, an excellent experience for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

disappointed

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

It's all in the expectations, I expected from Savona more; the service was very good, we had a table in a quieter area but the food was disappointing. I had the Branzino which usually is served as a filet or whole. Here I had a half of a very small fish, frankly looked and tasted more like a small trout, served with over sized portion of white beans over grilled greens topped with a nice sauce.

Everything was served nicely but not nearly as interesting or well executed as I had in this class and this price range restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Savona: No longer a culinary destination . . . .

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

I expected Savona to be "special", a gastronomic destination, a fine dining experience. It did not live up to expectations. I'd been to Savona before, several times, but not recently. The specifics: I informed the host by telephone that we had 1) a food allergy (peppers/eggplant) and 2) a milestone birthday. The server didn't know. The captain didn't know. The kitchen was not informed. The person with the allergy was served an appetizer on a bed of peppers; no substitute was offered. No small acknowledgement of the birthday was offered.

We were seated in a tucked away corner of the restaurant. It felt invisible. In spite of the fact that my friend bought TWO bottles of quality champagne, the service was inattentive, unpolished and unimpressive. We had to ask for bread; it was eventually brought, cold and hard. Olive oil was requested. It arrived after a long wait. The Dover Sole ($55) was served cold. A box was requested to take home the surplus. It was left in the kitchen and almost left behind. In year's past, the GM and captains ran a formal, but not stiff, well-trained dining room. At present, they seem to have given up any pretense of being a destination restaurant. The kitchen did a good job. My lamb dish and the other plats principal were well-prepared and presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Staff was very friendly and attentive. F ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

Staff was very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No reason to return

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Our waiter never mentioned an available (as we later learned) alternative "casual dining" menu and so we stumbled over the odd-no salads-and very limited, pricey "fine dining" menu. A very enjoyable and reasonably priced $40 bottle of wine from the extensive list was the high point of a dinner composed of mostly misses. Rubbery lobster, branzino so overcooked it was reduced in size to five dry mouthfuls, and chew-toy worthy octopus were just a few of the problems. An inedibley salty duck gelee amuse-bouche was a poor cover-up for slow service. We did not bother with dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great dinner !

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Recently, I took a work colleague to Savona's for dinner. Food and overall experience was wonderful. We split an appetizer and each ordered dinner. All the food was delicious, especially the rack of lamb and the pasta. Savona is alittle pricey, but, proved to be a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not the same as in the past

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

The main entre was not a WOW as had been our experience before. Not sure I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.