About Savoie French Italian Eatery

2015 Birch Rd. Suite 720
Chula Vista, CA 91915
View Larger Map

Welcome to the first and only French and Italian eatery in Chula Vista.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
EASTLAKE PARKWAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 591-5747

Website:
http://www.savoieeatery.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday Saturday

Parking Details:
Large Public Lot

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Macias

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room seats up to Thirty Guest.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Savoie French Italian Eatery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (10)
special occasion (9)
romantic (8)
See All
great for outdoor dining (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
fit for foodies (6)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service was amazing. I had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and service was amazing. I had the stuffed sole. The fish was perfectly prepared and melted in my mouth. The lobster and crab stuffing was perfectly seasoned. The other guests at the table also enjoyed their dishes. They had the chicken al picante and salmon. Our server was incredibly attentive and fun. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening.

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have gone to dinner several times. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have gone to dinner several times. This time food was lacking. Steak was over cooked and my pasta was sweet. Hope it was just a off night.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

What a great evening celebrating my husb ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

What a great evening celebrating my husband's birthday at this wonderful restaurant. The ambience, the soulful music, the incredible food, the company of framily, and especially our delightful server Dean made for a magnificent evening out. ❤️🎶🎂🎈❗️👍🏻🎉 Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wE HAVE BEEN TO THIS RESTAURANT SEVERAL ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

wE HAVE BEEN TO THIS RESTAURANT SEVERAL TIMES, WE LIVE NEAR BY, AND HAVE ALWAYS LIKED IT, EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE MUSIC, WHICH IN THIS CASE, WAS LOUD AND VERY MODERN, THANK YOU

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited the Savoie for my daughter's bir ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Visited the Savoie for my daughter's birthday. We were a party of 5 (4 adults, 1 11Yr old).

Very diverse menu from pizza to lobster ravioli. We had the cheese platter and meatballs as appetizers they were a big hit even to the 11 year old. Everyone said their meal was very good. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, horrible Service

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were a table of 16, the Manager and our waiter was very nice and attentive. Unfortunately the they took our order 40 minutes later, when the food arrived it all came in at the same time, appetizer and main dinner, they never asked if we wanted our appetizers first, which is obvious. Waiter did the best he could by being nice and curteous. The food and the place is nice. They never turned on the AC, and we were melting. We asked several times, but it was never turned on. It is a shame they only had like 5 tables at the restaurant, so you could imagine that the service would be superb.

It's a shame this restaurant could have a lot of potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Night out with friends

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our friends and I had a wonderful time at Savoie and look forward to dining there again! !!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and reasonably pr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We were there for early dinner, and we would have liked stay for the live music starting at 7pm. Recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Since this restaurant opened my husband ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Since this restaurant opened my husband and I have been going there where he originally proposed to me. Really enjoy the ambiance and the creative cooking. I would recommend more vegetarian dishes however

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This place felt really unique. It was a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This place felt really unique. It was a fascinating ambience with striking rock and wood accents. The stuffed sole was the star of the show, but the pistachio dessert was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I have been here a few times and the ser ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I have been here a few times and the service is always great. I was a little disappointed that the menu was so limited today. All our food tasted great but my favorite dish was not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day menu was very limited, not ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day menu was very limited, not much little children would choose

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Excellent service, great food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Service and ambiance were terrific, and the desserts were just as great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There were two things we disliked about ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

There were two things we disliked about our dinner visit. We waited awhile before the waitress came to our table. Someone should have attended our table, because of the shift change. Then the waitress kept speaking to us in spanish & my husband doesn't speak spanish. They should speak to you in english not spanish.

Our bill was about $120.00 & the food very good, so we will try the restaurant one more time.

Thank you.

Jennie Develasco

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our server Brianna was amazing! She made ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our server Brianna was amazing! She made excellent suggestions for my entree and wine. Brussel sprouts, the rib eye and the tiramisu were to die for! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious and fun!!!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Delicious and fun!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the guitar players!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Loved the guitar players!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The hostess did not look up to see that ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The hostess did not look up to see that we had a reservation and tried to Seat us at a very small cocktail table for dinner. I complained to the manager who made it right and put us on a four top. We were unaware of the prefix menu which is fine but would have preferred to have known about it in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

They had 1 special menu on V-day which t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

They had 1 special menu on V-day which they did not deviate for kids or gluten free diet. Good place, but bad menu planning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Pleasant surprise

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I wasn't thrilled to discover that the restaurant was located in a mall, complete with mall-style parking. BUT... once inside and seated, it was everything that I had hoped for our new adventure. I would suggest that the menu posted online be updated more frequently, as I was hoping for French onion soup which is no longer available every day, and my daughter was interested in the White Pizza, which is also no longer on the menu though it is still listed online. But the food that IS available was delicious with very attractive presentation. And our server was the BEST, bringing extras that made us feel special and valuable as customers.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambience is amazing!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Ambience is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am very sad to write this review becau ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I am very sad to write this review because I have eaten here many times and the food is very good. Unfortunately this last time I was sorely disappointed so much that we just walked out. I made a reservation for "date night" with my wife. I asked the girl who was seating us for a quiet table for 2. She completely ignored me and walked us into the dining room and sat us next to a table of 20 with kids literally rolling on the floor next to the table she was trying to seat us. I asked her if we could have another table because the big group of people was very loud and I didn't want to have to deal with loud and unruly kids. She told me that the other part of the restaurant was closed (there was no less than 10 available tables) and this was all she could offer. I asked her if there was anything she could do by asking someone. She said no. Bad hostess!!! Needs training. Also this is not the first time I was to put up with out of control kids. The management needs to grow a pair and ask patrons to keep their kids in order if they want to be considered an "upscale" restaurant. We told her that we would go to a different restaurant. Not even a "wait! Let me see if there is something I can do to accommodate you!" Nada!! Very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
ambience1
service1

Yummy food with live music

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Great place with yummy food and delicious drinks. The vibe was mellow most of the happy hour, then it kicked up with the live band. Hot spot and great place for groups.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The decor was nice but the food was Horrible. They murdered the wonderful seafood we ordered. We had the shrimp appetizer and it was served room temperature. The sauce was just a un-flavorful sticky mess. Not even sure where they were going with this. Then we had the Bouillabaisse. Clearly they do not know that leeks, wine, butter and some salt and pepper (aka seasoning) can do wonders. No flavor at all. It tasted like they opened a can of tomato soup and poured it on some beautiful seafood. We also had the Scallops. Again No flavor!!! Shame. I thought the menu looked good but these people need to take a trip to France, or at least New Orleans. They can not cook!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Almost

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Everything was superb - cute ambiance and hostess and waiter were nice. The food portions however were too small for the price. I ordered the Lobster Ravioli.. $18 for only 5 ravioli. FIVE?!! Tasty, but definitely do not go here expecting to get full.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Always a pleasure

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

This is my go to for all of my ladies' night outs, and dates with my husband! service is always and consistently excellent. A very finely manicured staff and establishment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent dinner

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

As always we had a wonderful dinner. Wine list has a very good variety. Food is amazing and service is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicieux - Delicious

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Everything we ate was delicious and prepared expertly. The coziness of their table settings were romantic. Omar, our waiter was superb. This was a great experience. Loved the European atmosphere. Brought back memories of our trip to Paris last year. Everyone should put this restaurant on their go to list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service was wonde ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

Food was delicious and service was wonderful. The waitress was helpful in recommending entrees. Try the Salmon and the Linguine Vongale was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

My friends and family enjoyed our whole experience while dining at Savoie. The whole service team was very professional and quietly observant meeting our needs.

Thank You!

Bob McAlister

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consider ordering the tomahawk steak

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Consider ordering the tomahawk steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Decor & Great Food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

This is our 3rd time here and the food and service are very good. They don't rush you through dinner. We celebrated a friend's birthday last night. The decor and ambiance are amazing! Lots of outside seating with cozy fireplace areas for couples and small groups, comfortable indoor booths for mediums size group and indoor/outdoor dining areas for large groups. I really enjoyed the music, but thought it was a little loud in the dining area. The owner came up and chatted with our group after dinner which was a very nice touch. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bigmatt

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

In recent weeks, Mario has brought in a new chef with notable background restaurants. Their revamped menu is quite an improvement over what was a decent menu previously. Mario (manager) is almost always on site and is a delight to visit. My only suggestion to Mario was to improve his dinner bread offering. Savoie is part of the Karina chain; I would think they could perhaps arrange something with Bread and Cie for their bread selection, especially their kalamata olive bread which is great!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I was pleasantly impressed by this place.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Food was amazing! Our server was so nice and welcoming. Wine was great! Very classy and décor is superb. Will definitely be back with my foodie friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

New Chef is amazing

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

The new chef at Savoie has really made a difference. Each of the four meals I have tried have been outstanding. I'm looking forward to returning and am so glad it is in the neighborhood!

The server (Rama) was excellent and personable as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff is a team of caring peo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

The entire staff is a team of caring people with intentions and action to make sure you are well accommodated for. Food selections are incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bigmatt

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Very good once again! Mario now has new chef with good background at other local fine dining spots. Menu has been revised, in some cases prices lowered.

Keep up the good work, Mario!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful place

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Love the design and Art work. A very peaceful and romantic place for special occasions

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.