About Savoie French Italian Eatery

2015 Birch Rd. Suite 720
Chula Vista, CA 91915
View Larger Map

Welcome to the first and only French and Italian eatery in Chula Vista.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
EASTLAKE PARKWAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 591-5747

Website:
http://www.savoieeatery.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday Saturday

Parking Details:
Large Public Lot

Executive Chef:
Ricardo Macias

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room seats up to Thirty Guest.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Savoie French Italian Eatery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (11)
romantic (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
See All
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (5)
fit for foodies (5)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
79 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Since this restaurant opened my husband ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Since this restaurant opened my husband and I have been going there where he originally proposed to me. Really enjoy the ambiance and the creative cooking. I would recommend more vegetarian dishes however

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

This place felt really unique. It was a ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This place felt really unique. It was a fascinating ambience with striking rock and wood accents. The stuffed sole was the star of the show, but the pistachio dessert was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

I have been here a few times and the ser ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have been here a few times and the service is always great. I was a little disappointed that the menu was so limited today. All our food tasted great but my favorite dish was not available.

food2
ambience5
service2

Mother's Day menu was very limited, not ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day menu was very limited, not much little children would choose

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, great food

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent service, great food

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Service and ambiance were terrific, and the desserts were just as great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

There were two things we disliked about ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

There were two things we disliked about our dinner visit. We waited awhile before the waitress came to our table. Someone should have attended our table, because of the shift change. Then the waitress kept speaking to us in spanish & my husband doesn't speak spanish. They should speak to you in english not spanish. Our bill was about $120.00 & the food very good, so we will try the restaurant one more time. Thank you. Jennie Develasco

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server Brianna was amazing! She made ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our server Brianna was amazing! She made excellent suggestions for my entree and wine. Brussel sprouts, the rib eye and the tiramisu were to die for! We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and fun!!!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Delicious and fun!!!

food4
ambience5
service4

Loved the guitar players!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Loved the guitar players!

food4
ambience4
service5

The hostess did not look up to see that ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The hostess did not look up to see that we had a reservation and tried to Seat us at a very small cocktail table for dinner. I complained to the manager who made it right and put us on a four top. We were unaware of the prefix menu which is fine but would have preferred to have known about it in advance.

food3
ambience4
service3

They had 1 special menu on V-day which t ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

They had 1 special menu on V-day which they did not deviate for kids or gluten free diet. Good place, but bad menu planning

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant surprise

Dined on February 14, 2016

I wasn't thrilled to discover that the restaurant was located in a mall, complete with mall-style parking. BUT... once inside and seated, it was everything that I had hoped for our new adventure. I would suggest that the menu posted online be updated more frequently, as I was hoping for French onion soup which is no longer available every day, and my daughter was interested in the White Pizza, which is also no longer on the menu though it is still listed online. But the food that IS available was delicious with very attractive presentation. And our server was the BEST, bringing extras that made us feel special and valuable as customers.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience is amazing!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Ambience is amazing!

food
ambience1
service1

I am very sad to write this review becau ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

I am very sad to write this review because I have eaten here many times and the food is very good. Unfortunately this last time I was sorely disappointed so much that we just walked out. I made a reservation for "date night" with my wife. I asked the girl who was seating us for a quiet table for 2. She completely ignored me and walked us into the dining room and sat us next to a table of 20 with kids literally rolling on the floor next to the table she was trying to seat us. I asked her if we could have another table because the big group of people was very loud and I didn't want to have to deal with loud and unruly kids. She told me that the other part of the restaurant was closed (there was no less than 10 available tables) and this was all she could offer. I asked her if there was anything she could do by asking someone. She said no. Bad hostess!!! Needs training. Also this is not the first time I was to put up with out of control kids. The management needs to grow a pair and ask patrons to keep their kids in order if they want to be considered an "upscale" restaurant. We told her that we would go to a different restaurant. Not even a "wait! Let me see if there is something I can do to accommodate you!" Nada!! Very sad.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy food with live music

Dined on December 30, 2015

Great place with yummy food and delicious drinks. The vibe was mellow most of the happy hour, then it kicked up with the live band. Hot spot and great place for groups.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Horrible!

Dined on December 19, 2015

The decor was nice but the food was Horrible. They murdered the wonderful seafood we ordered. We had the shrimp appetizer and it was served room temperature. The sauce was just a un-flavorful sticky mess. Not even sure where they were going with this. Then we had the Bouillabaisse. Clearly they do not know that leeks, wine, butter and some salt and pepper (aka seasoning) can do wonders. No flavor at all. It tasted like they opened a can of tomato soup and poured it on some beautiful seafood. We also had the Scallops. Again No flavor!!! Shame. I thought the menu looked good but these people need to take a trip to France, or at least New Orleans. They can not cook!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Almost

Dined on December 9, 2015

Everything was superb - cute ambiance and hostess and waiter were nice. The food portions however were too small for the price. I ordered the Lobster Ravioli.. $18 for only 5 ravioli. FIVE?!! Tasty, but definitely do not go here expecting to get full.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure

Dined on November 7, 2015

This is my go to for all of my ladies' night outs, and dates with my husband! service is always and consistently excellent. A very finely manicured staff and establishment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent dinner

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

As always we had a wonderful dinner. Wine list has a very good variety. Food is amazing and service is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicieux - Delicious

Dined on October 24, 2015

Everything we ate was delicious and prepared expertly. The coziness of their table settings were romantic. Omar, our waiter was superb. This was a great experience. Loved the European atmosphere. Brought back memories of our trip to Paris last year. Everyone should put this restaurant on their go to list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service was wonde ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

Food was delicious and service was wonderful. The waitress was helpful in recommending entrees. Try the Salmon and the Linguine Vongale was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience!

Dined on September 20, 2015

My friends and family enjoyed our whole experience while dining at Savoie. The whole service team was very professional and quietly observant meeting our needs. Thank You! Bob McAlister

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consider ordering the tomahawk steak

Dined on September 17, 2015

Consider ordering the tomahawk steak

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Decor & Great Food

Dined on September 17, 2015

This is our 3rd time here and the food and service are very good. They don't rush you through dinner. We celebrated a friend's birthday last night. The decor and ambiance are amazing! Lots of outside seating with cozy fireplace areas for couples and small groups, comfortable indoor booths for mediums size group and indoor/outdoor dining areas for large groups. I really enjoyed the music, but thought it was a little loud in the dining area. The owner came up and chatted with our group after dinner which was a very nice touch. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

bigmatt

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

In recent weeks, Mario has brought in a new chef with notable background restaurants. Their revamped menu is quite an improvement over what was a decent menu previously. Mario (manager) is almost always on site and is a delight to visit. My only suggestion to Mario was to improve his dinner bread offering. Savoie is part of the Karina chain; I would think they could perhaps arrange something with Bread and Cie for their bread selection, especially their kalamata olive bread which is great!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

I was pleasantly impressed by this place.

Dined on September 12, 2015

Food was amazing! Our server was so nice and welcoming. Wine was great! Very classy and décor is superb. Will definitely be back with my foodie friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

New Chef is amazing

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

The new chef at Savoie has really made a difference. Each of the four meals I have tried have been outstanding. I'm looking forward to returning and am so glad it is in the neighborhood! The server (Rama) was excellent and personable as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff is a team of caring peo ...

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

The entire staff is a team of caring people with intentions and action to make sure you are well accommodated for. Food selections are incredible.

food4
ambience5
service4

bigmatt

vip
Dined on June 27, 2015

Very good once again! Mario now has new chef with good background at other local fine dining spots. Menu has been revised, in some cases prices lowered. Keep up the good work, Mario!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place

Dined on June 21, 2015

Love the design and Art work. A very peaceful and romantic place for special occasions

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday dinner

Dined on June 21, 2015

Our server Rama coincidentally was a familiar face. She was wonderful and very helpful with our questions. We were a party of 4 and 2 ordered the Tomahawk steak . It was beautifully cooked to med-well, great quality and just yummy. Rama was happy to hear that the food was greatly enjoyed she wanted us to meet the awesome chef. We also had appetizers the Calamari, Octopus and Shrimp flavors for each was undeniably fabulous. Great food , great drinks and dessert to top off a wonderful dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Only tried happy hour thus far..

Dined on May 27, 2015

Went for happy hour - had fun. Food was okay, but I want to rate on entrees. I will go back, but for dinner next time.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service1

Not great service

Dined on May 23, 2015

Unfortunately the service wasn't so great, so it took away from the overall experience. They have young energetic bus boys working very hard, but the waiters, ours in particular, seem older and forgetful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding place, I come here often!

vip
Dined on May 11, 2015

One of the best neighborhood gems I have come across. The staff is great and always welcoming; a definite reflection of the GM, Mario! Fortunately, each time we've dined here, we have been helped by Yova. She is amazing and always so accommodating; She knows how we like our meals prepared, and treats us like family!!! Hats off to all the staff at Savoie! A great restaurant for all ages to enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4

Good people, ambiance, and service. Poor food

Dined on May 9, 2015

Very accommodating waiters and customer service, however the food left a lot to be desired, especially considering the tiny portions and high price. The wait was long as well. This place is due for an upgrade in the kitchen.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find in our area of Chula Vista!

Dined on May 2, 2015

I had the Lollipop lamb. I asked that it be cooked "medium" and it was cooked to perfection. Best I've had in a long time. My husband had the bone in Tomahawk steak. Oh my! What a steak -- he finished eating it at home the next day -- he said it was delicious. My brother had the rib eye and he was still talking about it the next day. He can hardly wait to return to San Diego and have dinner again at Savoie. Need to also mention our waiter, Luis. He was very amicable and attentive -- good sense of humor. We will definitely be visiting Savoie again -- soon I hope.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Good

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

Although our initial experience with this restaurant when it opened started out rocky, each return has given us another reason to try it again. The ambiance is absolutely beautiful, the servers thus far have been friendly and efficient, and the food is very good. We especially like Rana, our server of 3 times who is friendly and attentive and a joy to see every time we go.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service, delicious food & wine to match

Dined on March 1, 2015

This is truly a unique restaurant for C.V. Close to the theatre makes it a wonderful way to end a date night (or start one)! Food has a French Italian blend with an emphasis on San Diego's local seafood fare. Staff has a collective history of some of San Diego's best seafood restaurants so they definitely know their food and wine. Highly recommend sharing a few of the dishes as they are huge portions!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved their food...romantic ambiance!

Dined on February 25, 2015

Loved their food...romantic ambiance!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.