About SASSI

10455 E Pinnacle Peak Pkwy
(Not Pinnacle Peak Road)
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
View Larger Map

**An OpenTable U.S. top 100 Romantic Restaurant!** Sassi is Scottsdale's nationally known destination for fine Italian dining, wine and special events. Located at the base of Pinnacle Peak. Sassi offers rustic, artisan style cuisine inspired by small towns in southern Italy. Sassi's villa style architecture, comfortable surroundings and rustic elegance are the perfect setting for a romantic dinner for two or a company event or wedding for up to 150 guests. Dine in one of four main dining rooms or on the patio (weather permitting), or reserve the private wine cellar for up to 14.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday - Saturday:
Restaurant opens for dinner at 5:30pm
Bar opens at 5:00pm
***Patio sections usually fill up by 6:00***
***We will be closed on Sundays from June 1-September 30***

HAPPY HOUR IN THE BAR TUESDAY-SATURDAY 5pm-Close
$2 OFF SELECT ANTIPASTI ITEMS, WINES BY THE GLASS
AND WELL BRAND COCKTAILS


Cross Street:
N Alma School Rd & Pinnacle Peak Parkway

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 502-9095

Website:
http://www.sassi.biz/

Entertainment:
Join us Fridays and Saturdays in our lounge October-May for live entertainment!

Friday Entertainment 6:30-9:30:
Renee Patrick and Judy Roberts - Soulful Jazz

Saturday Entertainment 6:30-9:30:
Rich Howard - Contemporary classics and Jazz

Catering:
We offer limited off premise catering by special arrangement. Call for details. 480-502-3335

Parking Details:
Valet service is complimentary and available Friday and Saturday evenings.

Executive Chef:
Chris Nicosia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Octopus
  • Roasted Chicken
  • Shrimp
  • Lobster Ravioli
  • orecchiette
  • Roasted Field Mushrooms
  • Polpettini
  • Halibut
  • Blue Cheese Martini
Grilled Octopus
Roasted Chicken
Shrimp
Lobster Ravioli
orecchiette
Roasted Field Mushrooms
Polpettini
Halibut
Blue Cheese Martini

Promotions

***Summer Happy Hour!***

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$29 "Little Italy" Summer Dinner Special!

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

***Summer Happy Hour!***

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us in the Sassi lounge for happy hour all summer long! Happy hour includes drink and antipasti specials and will be in effect from open to close Tuesday-Saturday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is only available in the Sassi lounge area. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

$29 "Little Italy" Summer Dinner Special!

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sassi is offering a family style “Little Italy” dinner every night this summer. Served in three courses, the menu offers marinated olives, salad, pasta, and house made sausage with rotisserie chicken. All served family style for the table to share!. Excludes Tax and Tip. No Substitutions. Preferred Diner Card not applicable to "Little Italy" special. Special valid May 31, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

SASSI makes events all the more memorable and meetings more successful. The comfortable elegance and stirring architecture create an exclusive environment making Sassi the perfect Scottsdale facility for corporate dinners, group meetings and small daytime gatherings.

SASSI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
4 More
Notable Wine List
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (94)
Scenic View (85)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (71)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Notable Wine List (54)
Good for Groups (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Brunch (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful!!! Service was excellent and ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful!!! Service was excellent and the food delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We greatly enjoyed celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We greatly enjoyed celebrating our anniversary here last night. We started off sharing the octopus which was amazing (ask your server how the chef gets the octopus so tender; it's a neat trick!) I had the sea scallops with black squid ink pasta - amazing and perfectly portioned! My husband had the veal and we ordered a side of broccoli that was excellent! Thank you for a memorable evening Sassi, we will be back soon to see the amazing sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for thomas or christa. 2 of the top ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Ask for thomas or christa. 2 of the top servers. Food fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a very disappointing experience ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was a very disappointing experience. When we arrived and greeted by the hostess and host I felt uncomfortable and it was not a warming welcome.

We were seated at a lovely table. Our waiter was helpful initially with wine selection. We ordered eggplant cakes. It was not the greatest. Kind of bland. Needed salt and more parmigiana. It really was chopped up eggplant made into a cake that was fried. I ordered the orecchiette sausage and rapini which I grew up eating in my home . I know this was just a version of , but I was hoping to be pleasantly surprised. the pasta was not aldente - but really undercooked. The rapini was minimal and disappointing. The red pepper flakes were way too much and very spicy. My husband had the special veal chop. There was nothing special about it but the price. Don't mind paying good money for good food. There was even large pieces of fat he had to discretely ( better lack of explanation) spit out. Our waiter was pompous and he never came back to ask if I wanted another glass of wine. I asked the bus boy and he told waiter. They did call the next day to ask how our dining experience was, but my husband never likes to say anything negative so he didn't tell them he was unhappy.We also met another family who has eaten there several times and they said it was the worst they ever had and they complained about service and meal was bad too.

Too pompous of a place and not worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Greatlocationforbeautifulviewsandupscale ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Greatlocationforbeautifulviewsandupscalediningataveryreasonableprice lovedtheambianceandthefoodandservicewasfirstclass

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for the first time to celebra ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Went there for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday. The setting has the appearance of a gorgeous old Tuscan estate. It is elegant without being pretentious. The dining setting is spacious and quiet with beautiful views everywhere. The menu is easy to navigate and the wine list is very impressive and accessible for all price points. The food was all delicious and portion sizes were very generous. The service was truly extraordinary. Our wait staff was attentive and precise without hovering. The timing and cadence of food delivered to the table was absolutely flawless. The generous chef and the wait team both went out of their way to make my wife's birthday special. We even got a follow up call from the manager a few days later to ask about our dining experience. We're foodies so I can't believe we had never heard of this place until recently. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although our server was pleasant and wou ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Although our server was pleasant and would give us anything we needed the quality did not match the reastarnt itself. This seems to be always the issue with this place. We only recently started going back food always good and the atmosphere can't be beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Food was very good prices very reasonabl ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was very good prices very reasonable service terrific. Disappointed as it was almost empty for a Friday night but I guess summer in scottsdale might be the reason.

We will go again for sure maybe in the fall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

incredible, friendly service. wine was g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

incredible, friendly service. wine was great, the food was incredible. Pleasantly quiet and a wonderful desert sunset view. Great staff all around and incredible dining experience. Definitely a hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Christopher and his staff are outstandin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Christopher and his staff are outstanding. Warm, friendly and professional. The food experience is truly excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, combined wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and service, combined with a beautiful setting, made for a wonderful dining experience. We had a private room for eight people (four of whom were celebrating birthdays) which was recognized by the kitchen with some complimentary desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sassi is always been excellent. The food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sassi is always been excellent. The food is outstanding. Breads baked daily and beautiful. Octopus off the charts delicious.

Scallops were heaven...wines paired perfect...steak was pefection.

Goat cheese was one of the best I ever tasted. Authentic Tuscan resturant. Want bread any better go to Lucca.

Chris has always done a brilliant job. I no longer live in AZ but ALWAYS tell anyone I know going to Scottsdale Sassi is a MUST.

Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with excellent service. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful dinner with excellent service. Very accommodating re my GF and onion free requirements. However, after all the waiter's hype about the bread, it would have been nice if they had a piece of gluten free bread or a few crackers for me. Many restaurants do and some even serve GF bread to the whole table because it is so good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent Sassi's for our most special ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We frequent Sassi's for our most special occasions as it's at least 45min away from our home. The food is incredible -- great combinations of flavors, great menu options. Their summer menu is a gem! The Caprese is the best we have ever had in the states -- I think they must import that Buffalo Mozzarella from Italy. Our waiter was just terrific. He explained the menu in detail and was great about the fact that we wanted to try a number of things and share them rather than leaving too full. And the wine list is amazing and really reasonable. You just can't go wrong with Sassi's -- I wish we lived closer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant for special occas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Outstanding restaurant for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bar has a great ambiance and friendly ba ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Bar has a great ambiance and friendly bartender. Food was very good, although I was not overly impressed with the Branzino, which I had not had previously. The Grilled Octopus was excellent, as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have visited this restaurant for seve ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We have visited this restaurant for several years and have consistently enjoyed the wonderfully prepared dishes. Their cooking classes, outdoor dining with colorful sunsets, the "Little Italy" summer dinner, happy hour "small plates" on the patio, family gatherings at Christmas time, never cease to impress. It is one of the most beautiful establishments in Scottsdale. The staff is friendly, attentive, professional, and having met the chef, their enthusiasm clearly comes from the top down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it... Menu is amazing. The apps are ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love it... Menu is amazing. The apps are wonderful we love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've long planned a special anniversary ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We've long planned a special anniversary dinner at Sassi. We're planning on 30 guests so brought another couple for a "test drive" of a different room than we usually dine in. The whole scene was perfect: food was great, wine brilliant, service impeccable, and lots of extras befitting our status as regulars. We have now committed to host our anniversary dinner at Sassi and look forward to introducing family and friends to this gem of a restaurant. Of course, many have already enjoyed Sassi but those from out-of-town are in for a treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a memorable experience at Sassi cel ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a memorable experience at Sassi celebrating our wedding anniversary. Enjoyed a romantic evening, our server was friendly and attentive, the lobster ravioli scrumptious ! Will definitely be back to enjoy the patio and views when the weather improves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant. The food and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The food and service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, the service fair. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was good, the service fair. They put us near a very loud table and the restaurant was not crowded,

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Great Dining Experience. All seven of u ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great Dining Experience. All seven of us enjoyed the entire evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was outstanding. First time d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding. First time dining and we were very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely loved Sassi which was recom ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I absolutely loved Sassi which was recommended to me by a good friend. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff are polite and knowledgea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The wait staff are polite and knowledgeable!

Food is spot on and delish. We love the whole dinning experience you get when you go to Sassi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a phenomenal evening. The flat i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was a phenomenal evening. The flat iron steak on the menu was incredible. The entire evening was great, including the service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely birthday celebration. Excellent f ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely birthday celebration. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place - reminds one of being i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful place - reminds one of being in Italy. Service and food was good. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal. Pasta with squid ink was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Delicious meal. Pasta with squid ink was outstanding with a special taste surprise of diced preserved lemon--very inventive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flat iron steak iffy at most places. Nee ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Flat iron steak iffy at most places. Need better beef options and other more plain pasta options. Note everyone likes pasta with lobster, etc. Gorgeous ambience but a shame menu not better.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The summer special prix fixe menu was an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The summer special prix fixe menu was an unexpected treat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very disappointing dinner. The restaur ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very disappointing dinner. The restaurant is still lovely, the service was very good, but the quality and preparation of the veal dish we unfortunately all ordered at the table was truly unacceptable. The veal itself was poor as was the preparation-more like something at a family style chain restaurant than high end dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal, especially special: swee ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent meal, especially special: sweet corn filled ravioli with lobster sauce -- very light with 3oz of fresh lobster. Very good server. It was a birthday and anniversary. SASSI gifted cannoli and a gift certificate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter, Tom from Chicago, did an out ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter, Tom from Chicago, did an outstanding job....as usual!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Sassi, and e ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first visit to Sassi, and everything - food, wine, service, ambience - were excellent. The only negative was that the lamb chops and sausage in one of our meals were very salty. I opted not to return the dish because it was still very edible and delicious, but the saltiness was distinct. Regardless, we were very favorably impressed and will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Most romantic restaurant I have ever ate ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Most romantic restaurant I have ever ate at. The environment was excellent and perfect for a date night. The food was delicious and the waiter recommended some great food for us. If you're looking for a budget restaurant this isn't it, but the prices are indicative of the quality, just so yummy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, outstanding servic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, outstanding service and wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall experience!!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great overall experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.