Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.99mi
  4. Distance: 2.00mi

About SASSI

**An OpenTable U.S. top 100 Romantic Restaurant!** Sassi is Scottsdale's nationally known destination for fine Italian dining, wine and special events. Located at the base of Pinnacle Peak. Sassi offers rustic, artisan style cuisine inspired by small towns in southern Italy. Sassi's villa style architecture, comfortable surroundings and rustic elegance are the perfect setting for a romantic dinner for two, or a company event or wedding for up to 300 guests. Dine in one of four main dining rooms or on the patio (weather permitting), or reserve the private wine cellar for up to 14.

10455 E Pinnacle Peak Pkwy
(Not Pinnacle Peak Road)
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday - Saturday:
Restaurant opens for dinner at 5:30pm
Bar opens at 5:00pm

ALL DAY SUMMER HAPPY HOUR IN THE LOUNGE!
$2 OFF SELECT ANTIPASTI ITEMS, WINES BY THE GLASS
AND WELL BRAND COCKTAILS!


Cross Street:
N Alma School Rd & Pinnacle Peak Parkway

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 502-9095

Website:
http://www.sassi.biz/

Entertainment:
Join us Fridays and Saturdays in our lounge October-May for live entertainment!

Friday & Saturday Entertainment 6:30-9:30:
Rich Howard - Contemporary classics and Jazz

Catering:
We offer limited off premise catering by special arrangement. Call for details. 480-502-3335

Parking Details:
Valet service is complimentary and available Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings.

Executive Chef:
Chef Chris Nicosia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

SASSI makes events all the more memorable and meetings more successful. The comfortable elegance and stirring architecture create an exclusive environment making Sassi the perfect Scottsdale facility for corporate dinners, group meetings and small daytime gatherings.

SASSI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (49)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Worth the Drive (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Scenic View (25)
Authentic (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Tom, or server, was very knowledgable of the menu. Attentive without being bothersome. The meal was perfectly timed with each course. Even with a wedding taking place at the restaurant, it was pleasant and very relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful evening - not just a meal, at Sassi. The beautiful setting, tasteful decor, incredible service and outstanding food made it a very memorable night! It was our 33rd anniversary and we have enjoyed Sassi for many special occasions. So so sad that Sassi as we know it will close in June 2018. Don't wait - go sooner than later....

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding meal. Consistently good restaurant. Bummer that they will be closing in June 2018.
Will be touch to find a replacement up in the Troon North area

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We felt the place is reflective of the fact that they are closing down. $12 for a one ounce cocktail, waiter interested in nothing but upselling. Food still good but portions small and prices sky high. won't be back unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The meal was excellent, just like in Tuscany, OTTIMO

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This reservation was for my wife's birthday celebration along with two other couples. Chef Chris out did himself in the preparation of the food. Steve selected the wines to go along with each course. The waitstaff sis an outstanding jog taking care of our needs. I have never been disappoint in the quality of the food and servic

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We decided to have dinner at Sassi this week, for no particular reason, other than we hadn't been in a long time.
It is quite beautiful. The rooms, the building...The stone work, fireplaces...I'm sure it's wonderful to sit outside, which we didn't.
All of that said, overall, it was disappointing.
I don't enjoy dining in a restaurant that isn't, at least, partially busy. I think there was one other couple in the room to which we were taken. Then a business group came in...So at least we weren't dining in silence.
There are several pages of wine options, but only THREE wines were offered "by the glass".
The menu wasn't terribly exciting, and fairly limited. There were FAR more wines than food options.
Maybe this is a restaurant to go to on the weekend, later in the evening...I don't know.
But my food was so-so, and we won't go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always an exceptional evening. Food and service we're incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Love this restaurant. Ambiance, service, food, tried a new beer the bar recommended and it was great. I was surprised they didn't recognize our anniversaries. Why ask if there a special occasion if you don't recognize it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Delicious, authentic, Italian dishes prepared with a light touch. Homemade pastas are a heavenly delight. Light, creative and beautifully presented dishes are not overpowered by cheesy, garlicky sauces. Real food. One of the most beautiful restaurants in all of Scottsdale.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Unfortunately they are closing in May. Get there while you can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The service and food was outstanding....Better go this year as they will close next June 2018....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent. Enjoyed it. Not noisy. Service and setting was great

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wow!! The bruschetta got us started and it kept getting better. The pork and veal meatballs and mozzarella caprese were amazing. Then the orecchiette was one of the best dishes I ever had. Their signature dish for obvious reasons. The pappardelle was great as was the Bronzino. Atmosphere fantastic. The woodwork simply incredible. One of my fav restaurants ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Sassi has long been one of our favorites, and this was a birthday celebration for a dear friend who had not been to Sassi in over 10 years. We shared the eggplant cakes and the caprese, both of which are always wonderful. I tried the parmesan chicken thighs for the first time, our friend had the corn ravioli and hubby had one of his favorites - the orrichette with sausage and rabe. We shared the tartufe for dessert, and left happy campers. We are so sorry to hear the news that Sassi will be closing next year. There's no place like it around here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It breaks my heart that Sassi is closing just as we discovered it. And I understand they are going to tear down the beautiful building to construct an assisted living facility. That whole area is being ruined.

Nonetheless, absolutely delicious meal at Sassi to celebrate my birthday. We started with the Caprese Salad---mundane, but extraordinary due to the Buffalo Mozzarella imported from Italy. So rich and unctuous---oh! And also the Wood-Grilled Octopus because it was so highly touted. It was super-chewy and tasted of nothing but char and I would not order again. With two Antipasti courses, we skipped the Primi and went straight to Secondi. I had the Branzino and it was perfectly cooked, beautifully accompanied and just a wonderful birthday meal. DH got the Waygu Flat Iron Steak and had to return it. Cooked precisely to medium rare, it was unappetizingly chewy and not a quality piece of meat. The server took it off the bill with a gracious smile and DH just made a meal of his sides and bites of my fish. It was okay. We finished with this incredible dessert---all I can remember is lots and lots of rich chocolate!

Service impeccable and we enjoyed the dining room itself. Just a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We have always enjoyed our meals at Sassi. Very sad to hear that they are closing this summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our dinner was outstanding! I love dining at Sassi's! It's a beautiful restaurant! The food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Once again, we had a spectacular time at Sassi. Our waiter, Tom, was very helpful and also accommodated all our wishes. If you've been before then you need to go again. If you haven't been then you need to get there before they close for good sometime next June.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Whenever we have had visitors from out of town, we have relied on Sassi to impress. This week's meal was a very special occasion and we had promised our guests an outstanding meal in incredible surroundings.

Instead we had an awful experience.

The restaurant was (literally) dead - a handful of diners and none of the usual bustle. The greeting was uninspiring and it was impossible to find anyone to take our picture.

We could not show our guests the amazing back area - the door was bolted shut. By 9:00 the restaurant was as good as closed.

The food was very ordinary. The bruschetta (normally the best around) were burnt beyond edible. The famous Caprese was amateurishly presented (tomatoes not cut properly, no balsamic), the fingerling potatoes weee clearly just dumped in the dryer.

We hear that Sassi is closing in 2018. Clearly they have already given up and I would absolutely not recommend it to anyone. It's a shame - this was a fine restaurant that cared about its standards and to see it operating at this low level is sad.

They should just close now.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Beautiful restaurant but menu was not extensive and we all FROZE in the restaurant which made the experience unpleasant !!! Really put a damper on things unfortunately !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Sassi is one of the most beautiful restaurants in North Scottsdale nestled near the base of Pinnacle Peak. Food was excellent as always. Service was a little slow as our waiter was busy with a full room of people.

Try to visit before June 2018 as Sassi is being sold and will no longer operate as a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Sassi was fabulous as always.
Went to dinner with my neighbors from California and they loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We love Sassi and visit once a month. Thomas is the best server and we ask for him always. !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

As always, the food, service and atmosphere were wonderful. On this visit, I discovered their Pear Martini...amazing! Sassi never disappoints! ❤️

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This has become our favorite restaurant. Scottsdale is a food destination and Sassi is at the top of our list. We love to take friends and family here when they visit. Their reaction is the same as ours - love the beauty, ambience, service and food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our third visit as we are from another state. The service and food was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner at Sassi. Menu was very limited but it's August in Arizona and many restaurants cut back on their offerings. The octopus appetizer was not as good as usual. Waiter said it was the same recipe, but the preparation was off somehow . . perhaps a different chef.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Sassi continues to impress. We've been many times now and will continue to come for our favorite events.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

For the last three years we have been sampling weekly all the better and most of the best Italian restaurants in the Metro Phoenix/Scottsdale area. we have a few favorites in Phoenix. We have a few in Scottsdale. SASSI is now the reigning champion in our informal competition. It's got it all: What a wonderful venue. What wonderful tastes ! Wonderful value. Wonderful service, wonderful ambiance, and a wonderful view. Best of all, my wonderful wife loved it and made me her hero for the night ! Nobody will have to wonder if we'll return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our dinner was perfect! Great wine selection, ambiance for dining and fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful meal as always. The squash blossoms are cooked perfectly. Salads very fresh and dressed en point. I had the gnocchi-wonderfully piquant. My date had the corn ravioli;rich and satisfying.
We really enjoyed having Maureen as our server. She will be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Scottsdale, with the greatest views

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Chef Christopher and his staff are outstanding. The ambience and variety of dinning area's within this large facility are unique and interesting. Great food prepared with enthusiastic flavor.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food took a while to arrive, which was okay with us. However, it was definitely overlooked. I found myself picking out crusted pieces and somewhat dry chicken. For the price, it was not worth it. The staff, however were awesome and were there when we needed them and very considerate.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Sassi is always fantastic!! My husband and I go for special occasions and so do my parents. This last time we went for my birthday and were treated like VIPs! My mom has dietary allergies and the chef is always happy to come talk to us about the seasonal selections. The wait staff are all attentive! The restaurant is beautiful! I definitely recommend Sassi to anyone looking for a special spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and I had our wedding at Sassi last year. The interior and exterior of this restaurant is beautiful and the staff efficient. All of our guests had a wonderful time and enjoyed a great meal.

Our one year anniversary was last weekend and we decided to go back to celebrate and have another memorable dinner. Our server, Tom, was excellent, and again, our meal was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Mediterranean Sea Bass was just ok....small thin filet. Gnocchi was delicious. Limited wine by the glass. Beautiful facility

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Curt and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at your gorgeous restaurant. SO GLAD WE DID. What an amazing experience, from the location, to the landscaping, to the ambiance, the wonderful staff and servers; it was a breathtaking occasion. The food was outstanding, at an incredible value, and we were served free champagne and dessert, which was remarkable. Everything, even the clean and thoughtful bathrooms were amazing. Can't wait to return. Your chef is not only extremely talented, but even took the time to show us around his kitchen. What a class act you are, Sassi!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Quick Bite, Vegan, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We trusted Sassi for our daughter's wedding ( many of our friends and family said they had never had a better meal at any wedding they had ever been to before ). and we trusted them for our 36th wedding anniversary. We highly recommend it !!

When you're ready for the best this is the place to go!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.