About SASSI

10455 E Pinnacle Peak Pkwy
(Not Pinnacle Peak Road)
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
View Larger Map

**An OpenTable U.S. top 100 Romantic Restaurant!** Sassi is Scottsdale's nationally known destination for fine Italian dining, wine and special events. Located at the base of Pinnacle Peak. Sassi offers rustic, artisan style cuisine inspired by small towns in southern Italy. Sassi's villa style architecture, comfortable surroundings and rustic elegance are the perfect setting for a romantic dinner for two or a company event or wedding for up to 150 guests. Dine in one of four main dining rooms or on the patio (weather permitting), or reserve the private wine cellar for up to 14.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday - Sunday:
Restaurant opens for dinner at 5:30pm
Bar opens at 5:00pm
***Patio sections usually fill up by 6:00***
***We will be closed on Sundays from June 1-September 30***

HAPPY HOUR IN THE BAR TUESDAY-THURSDAY 5-7
$2 OFF SELECT ANTIPASTI ITEMS, WINES BY THE GLASS
AND WELL BRAND COCKTAILS


Cross Street:
N Alma School Rd & Pinnacle Peak Parkway

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 502-9095

Website:
http://www.sassi.biz/

Entertainment:
Join us Fridays and Saturdays in our lounge for live entertainment!

Friday Entertainment 6:30-9:30:
Renee Patrick and Judy Roberts - Soulful Jazz

Saturday Entertainment 6:30-9:30:
Rich Howard - Contemporary classics and Jazz

Catering:
We offer limited off premise catering by special arrangement. Call for details. 480-502-3335

Parking Details:
Valet service is complimentary and available Friday and Saturday evenings.

Executive Chef:
Chris Nicosia

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

***Happy Hour in the Sassi Lounge!!!***

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

***Happy Hour in the Sassi Lounge!!!***

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Please join us Tuesday-Thursday from 5-7 pm in our lounge for discounted wines, cocktails, and appetizers!!!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour discounts are only available in the lounge and on the lounge patio. Special valid Apr 1, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

SASSI makes events all the more memorable and meetings more successful. The comfortable elegance and stirring architecture create an exclusive environment making Sassi the perfect Scottsdale facility for corporate dinners, group meetings and small daytime gatherings.

SASSI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
1 More
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

romantic (180)
special occasion (180)
great for outdoor dining (161)
See All
scenic view (161)
fit for foodies (130)
notable wine list (95)
good for groups (71)
neighborhood gem (67)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (14)
kid-friendly (13)
great for lunch (5)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found Sassi and will return with friends.

Dined 6 days ago

Maureen made us so comfortable us attention. We talked Christopher, the chef, who made us feel pampered and appreciated. There was a wedding going on and scenery makes one understand why they have 150+ wedding a year

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Lovely setting in beautiful facility in ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Lovely setting in beautiful facility in the mountains, tastefully prepared , nice presentation. We will be back:)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Executive Chef Chris Nicosia has really ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Executive Chef Chris Nicosia has really kicked the food up a notch at Sassi. We've been eating here for over 10 years when our son was a line cook here. The restaurant is a gem we ate in the library, our favorite room inside. Outside, try to time your meal for sunset, which give a truly spectacular view of Pinnacle Peak. The octopus appetizer is a must have. The main courses have enough variety to satisfy anyone. Many delicious gluten free options for me. The wine list has a good selection from moderate to very expensive, with good selections by the glass. Our server, Tony, was highly professional, with good recommendations. Attentive without being on top of us. We never felt rushed. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the soft shell crabs!!! So hard ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I loved the soft shell crabs!!! So hard to find . Impeccable service and lo ely view as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Scottsdale.

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The food is amazing , always. The service and wait staff are well trained and professional, they are knowledgable and generous with recommendations etc. We are going to Sassi again on Saturday, our last night in Scottsdale for this trip, and we both chose to go to Sassi.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A very special way to celebrate Mother's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A very special way to celebrate Mother's Day. The food was really excellent, especially the beef tenderloin and porchetta! Loved the cheese selection. The seafood was a very nice addition. We enjoyed a nice quiet corner in the dining room where we two could easily talk and hear each other. The tables being set up in multiple separate rooms makes the seating more private and controls the noise of other diners very well. This was our second time celebrating Mother's Day here and we will do it again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outdoor dining was fantastic because our ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Outdoor dining was fantastic because our friend w/hearing problem could hear our dinner conversation.

food5
ambience5
service4

Caprese salad and beet salad were both d ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Caprese salad and beet salad were both delicious and could be easily shared. Gayles chicken in skillet was citrusy and cooked perfectly. The lobster tarragon risotto was filled with lobster and flavor. We enjoyed the fact that each dish had fresh herbs.

food3
ambience5
service4

Although Open Table credited me the dini ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Although Open Table credited me the dining points, Sassi marked me as not filling my reservation, which we did. Dinner and ambience was fantastic though, and service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hello Italian Dining

Dined on May 7, 2016

First time and it was worth every dollar. Food was excellent and cooked to perfection. Service was impeccable. They were their when you needed them but we could still talk privately. Will be back. Next time reserving a table on the patio for the views.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always good

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Sassi is consistently good. It is a bit pricey but the quality of the food is great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful, classy, romantic, tasty!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Couldn't ask for more. A very special place. A bit pricey but worth every bit of it. It's hard to find places this lovely and intimate. The food was creative and delicious. The service superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely intimate location. Gorgeous patio ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Lovely intimate location. Gorgeous patio dining!b super service & super food. Loved it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic atmosphere, excellent service a ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Romantic atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service in a beautiful locat ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Outstanding service in a beautiful location!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal, Great Place

Dined on April 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Sassi. We had the extra benefit of sitting outside and being able to watch a garden wedding taking place. The food was excellent. The presentation was lovely. Altogether a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance. I recommend it ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and ambiance. I recommend it for a romantic dinner

food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful setting! If weather pe ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

What a beautiful setting! If weather permits reserve patio seating-so romantic. Food is amazing. Had some of the best bruschetta and squash blossoms. Red Snapper was perfect. Wine cellar is deep and unique. Able to purchase the wonderful prosecco I enjoyed.

food1
ambience1
service1

Very poor all around.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Very poor all around.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sassi - best Italian and very best patio dining

Dined on April 25, 2016

There are a lot of Italian dining options in Scottsdale but none as special and delicious as Sassi. The menu is more northern Italian and includes items not commonly found (be aware, however, the "commercial" Italian offerings are not on the menu, eg pizza). Everything is fresh and delicious. Service is impeccable. A fabulous feature is the beautiful patio dining, unexpectedly intimate yet offering a magnificent view of Pinnacle Peak. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Salt

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was good but extremely salty. I had the veal chop with shaved truffles, but it had a pure salt rub. The restaurant was kind enough to make me another one. It was very good. My wife had the gnocchi. It was good but nothing special. The warm olives are very good. The restaurant is beautiful inside, but it is quite expensive. All in all a good meal, not great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disapointing dinner on the terrace

Dined on April 22, 2016

Setting is breathtaking. Terrace is beautiful but the have led spotlights trained on the table creating way too much light for such a romantic setting. Food was undercooked and service, though efficient, was snooty. Second visit but left feeling like we should have celebrated elsewhere.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Don't go on busy nights

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went at 8pm on a Sat night. Apparently not a good time to go, because they were out of the special two of us ordered, an app and a beverage we ordered. I totally understand that restaurants run out of things, but the server needs to announce that to the table when he greets us - esp if it's a special entree for the night and a very popular appetizer. On all three accounts, we ordered, he left to go put the order in, and then he had to come back to tell us he was out and we had to re-pick. He then claimed "Well, it's just not your night!". The things we did end up ordering were mediocre at best. We have been before and the food and service were great but perhaps a busy Sat night is not the time to go.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Sassi experience is always spot on! ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The Sassi experience is always spot on! Amazing food and great wait staff. My favorite Italian in Scottsdale

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place

Dined on April 17, 2016

Sassi always delivers more than it promises. The decor is very impressive and comfortable. I called ahead to ask that the waiter bring the check to me personally, as we wanted to host our friends. The waiter identified me by name, and did a great job with specials, service etc. Be sure to get reservations - don't just drop by.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Restaurant!!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

The Chef an GM both were out making sure that everyone was HAPPY!!! Great food, great views , great everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Jeanne

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was beautiful ambiance, good food, good service, but too noisy. If you could only find a way to absorb some sound - it would have been perfect.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Best setting in ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food and service. Best setting in town.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food and Service was matched only by the ambiance... Tom kids a top notch server!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic!!!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great dinner for romantic dinner or special occasion. Service, food and view were just perfect. Special place for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant!! Always on their game!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The setting is gorgeous and they make you feel welcomed and truly appreciated to have you as their guest. The wait staff is attentive and the food is to die for. You won't be embarrassed to bring your date, your in-laws, your out of town guests. A restaurant that will truly impress!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was generally very good and a very good Italian wine list. Room we were in allowed conversation which was very nice. Truffles were pitched and didn't add much to the dishes. Service was very good. All in all a very enjoyable experience and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly rcommend

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Very good upscale Italian Cuisine served professionally in a charming environment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance! Love the setting / architecture.

Dined on April 6, 2016

The food was great. We had scallops, lobster dish and the lamb chops. Everyone loved the dish they ordered. The antipasta dish - cappresi was delightful - the cheese was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A treat

Dined on April 4, 2016

Ate here last year when vacationing in North Scottsdale/Troon area. We returned again this year and it was just as memorable as ever. We are "snowbirds" that enjoy fine dining. It's been the best place we've dined in Scottsdale, and was suggested to us by our friends who are locals. Can't say enough good things about this place! Ambiance is wonderful. Service is excellent and unpretentious. food fabulous. My husband loved the wood-grilled octopus. Sublime. We will be back next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Sometimes Less is More

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great atmosphere and professional service staff. Dishes were oddly and overly spiced and not traditional Italian fare. Stay away from the chicken dish - just awful and so over-spiced I burped it up for two days. Very good meatball appetizer and caprese salad. Heard the ribeye dish was excellent - will try that next time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent fish Bronzino had no bones Ver ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent fish Bronzino had no bones Very tender steak

food4
ambience5
service4

Really enjoyable ! I've been told to di ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Really enjoyable ! I've been told to dine at Sassi a few times and have heard great things. It absolutely met every expectation ! The setting is stunning ! Food and service was very good . Price was reasonable ! It's great for special occasions !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious, great service and scenic view!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We visit the area every year and Sassi is a must on our list. My Mom joined us last year on her last night visiting from NYC. We treated her to an early Mother's Day dinner and it was fabulous. We sat outside near rather fire and so enjoyed the ambiance, rose' wine, food and service. Last Friday was her last night here and she treated us to another great experience at Sassi. Our waiter was excellent, the food was superb as well as the wine and dessert that we shared. One of our favorite spots in Scottsdale. A must for those who appreciate seasonal, quality ingredients and cooking in a beautiful setting. Don't miss this special experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food every time we dine at Sass ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing food every time we dine at Sassi. Love the bar and live music on the weekends. One of our favorite restaurants in the valley

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.