Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

About Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar

Almost ten years ago Sargasso started a food revolution in Morgantown, bringing fine dining to a city that had previously not seen anything like it. Locally owned and operated, we strive to provide the premiere dining experience in the region by utilizing ingredients of the highest quality from local to international with each season. Our culinary team is led by a duo of experienced chefs -European-trained Austrian native Chef Thomas Metzler and local talent Chef Dave Halterman, who has been cooking in the Morgantown community for over ten years. We are honored by Wine Spectator for having one of the most outstanding wine lists in the world. The Sargasso family takes great pride in offering our guests world-class service in a hospitable and inviting atmosphere.

215 Don Knott's Blvd
Morgantown, WV 26501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am-2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 554-0100

Website:
http://www.sargassomorgantown.com/

Entertainment:
Sargasso occasionally hosts live musicians for special events.

Catering:
Sargasso Restaurant has a dedicated staff of professionals ready to assist you in planning virtually any event. Please inquire by calling Sargasso for corporate or private catering details.

Parking Details:
Free off-street parking

Executive Chef:
Thomas Metzler, Dave Halterman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sargasso has hosted a wide range of special events including holiday parties, and weddings. Our chefs and highly trained front of house staff have the experience necessary to make your event unforgettable. Every event is custom, call us for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

I have eaten several times at Sargasso and have never been disappointed. My wife is vegetarian and can always get a great meal. Service is always top notch. They have a new menu which maintains the same high quality meals. If you are looking for fine dining in Morgantown, this is the place.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was exceptional and the food was tip notch. The specials for the evening were outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Sargasso has always been one of my favorites in Morgantown. This new menu, however, brings them to the top in Morgantown. Food is excellent, great wine list and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Great service! Wonderful atmosphere. We will be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Exciting new menu and the food was outstanding. The Sea Bass and Vegetarian eggplant dish were delicious. My steak was cooked perfect and my husband enjoyed the porkchop. The new cocktail menu and the goat cheese appetizer was a hit. We had a great dinner and bonus there was live music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food was excellent as usual. Our server was polite, attentive and gave us our space. No rush fine dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Morgantown needs more restaurants of the quality of Sargasso. It is a true gem, and a rarity in this town. Go and enjoy a wonderful experience of fine food and great service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Upscale dining in Morgantown. Great food and good service.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Fabulous! Great service. First of was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Katy our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating! The meal was to our liking!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Recently celebrated a birthday here. The wine flight (Check out the Wed. PM Buzz) and pairings were wonderful, the food from ap to dessert was perfect, and the service was impeccable. One of our go-to spots in Morgantown, WV for special occasions!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Dinner at Sargasso's is always a delight for the palate. I usually order the special and have never been disappointed. Each ingredient is carefully selected to blend in and at the same time stand out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent experience staff was great, I have a Gluten allergy and the staff was extremely accommodating. Food was excellent. Great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had a very nice experience. Great wine and cocktail listing to go with the wonderful salmon and steak! Bread and dipping sauce were delicious as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Crisp and comfortable decor at a splendid riverside location help make this restaurant a hit. It's greatest draw, however, is one of the best and most value-conscious wine lists I have seen anywhere in the state. If I lived in Morgantown I'd be a regular for that reason alone. The list is compact in big city terms, but nicely covers the spectrum, from inexpensive but well chosen bottlings to serious but very fairly priced classified Bordeaux and other standouts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was good, ordered the pork dish and my wife ordered the trout dish, with my only complaint of the clams appetizer being a bit to salty for my taste. The service was excellent and the noise level was good for our occasion. Prices were as expected in a nice dining establishment.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Meals created with a flair for sure! Chef Dave always accommodates my vegetarian husband with something delicious! Can't say enough about the staff and how friendly and knowledgeable they are. Extensive wine list, but plenty of modestly priced good wines. We have only lunched there a couple of times, and have not taken advantage of the wine tastings and special Chef meals, but love to go for dinner. The rooms are lovely and more on the romantic side, so good place to go for special occasions. Living in a college town presents a lot of fun and funky casual places to dine, but if you are a foodie looking for delicious and creatively prepared/presented dishes -- as well as a quieter more romantic setting -- this is the place to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My husband and I went to Sargasso for our wedding dinner. Everything was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great experience and atmosphere. Family enjoyed a quiet classic evening together. Staff was great and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My girl friend and I went to Sargasso's before prom. We were both amazed with Sargasso's, especially with the friendliness of the employees. They recognized our special occasion and treated us with a free, festive, non-alcoholic drink. We will definitely return for more special occasions and recommend to our friends!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Appreciate the new menu. Also the new vegetarian option was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food; excellent service. Our wait person couldn't have been nicer. Best meal we've had in Morgantown.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We stopped in on a Wednesday and ordered from the "small plates" menu. The three dishes we ordered (Chicken wings in a Blueberry Fresno Chile BBQ glaze, Asado Tacos and the Steak Frites
4 oz Tenderloin with Peppercorn Cognac Sauce and Hand-Cut Fries) were beautifully prepared and delicious. Nice wine and beer list and attentive wait staff. Overall, it was a relaxed and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely beautiful place, however the food was not very good, had an unpleasant aftertaste, had the open faced ravioli and chicken curry,neither was up to bar, staff was friendly and setting was good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

First time there. Morgantown I on the rise. Great place!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing brunch. Had the pho and it was worth every penny. Always impressed with food quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service and atmosphere. I would recommend for anyone to try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dining experience was very nice. Food, service and overall dining were great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Choose this restaurant for a special occasion or make any day special by dining at Sargasso, the food and service are that good. From the taste of the food you can tell the ingredients is fresh and the chefs focus on making each dish a culinary delight. This was my second visit and I will be looking for more reasons to visit Morgantown so I can dine at Sargasso.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was different but not bad. The steak was very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful and delicious meal. Kim took great care of us which made the evening very nice

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Yes this is a pricey restaurant , but the food was delicious and beautifully prepared . Wine suggestion by staff was right on! Would recommend for special occasions as dinner for 2 with moderately priced bottle of wine and dessert will exceed $150.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good food. It's a bit expensive, but the portions are great because it will leave you with just enough room for a filling dessert

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great lunch. I love the soups here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Graduation dinner! Very yummy. Server seemed a little wet behind the ears- food, as always, amazing. Recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Unfortunately the food was cold. We were one of the only tables yet service want great. Drinks were forgotten, water left unfilled, and our food was visibly left under the lamps for quite an extended period of time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Celebrated our first wedding anniversary here and it was wonderful! The food was amazing and the service was great! We'll definitely come back for special occasions and the occasionally nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always- wonderful. Best environment in morgantown, elegant, comfortable- a place that always impress out of town friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was great and the service was good. They need to improve on the wine selections and the overall price was high compared to the area...But all in all we had a great experience..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was VERY slow. Our food was dry and some hard from sitting under the warming lights for close to 40 minutes. Will not eat there again any time soon. We were a party of eight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.