About Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar

215 Don Knott's Blvd
Morgantown, WV 26501
View Larger Map

Sargasso is North Central West Virginia's premier dining destination. Sargasso is a unique, upscale restaurant located in Morgantown, West Virginia. Sargasso presents Morgantown’s only “world fusion” restaurant, which incorporates influences from diverse cultures, Caribbean, French, Italian, Asian, and Continental cuisine. The menu changes frequently to keep up with culinary trends and the freshest ingredients.
Our highly trained chefs come from diverse backgrounds bringing with them experiences from different cuisines, techniques, styles, and regions of the world. Working together, they represent a winning team with a creative perspective on the concept of world fusion cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 554-0100

Website:
http://www.sargassomorgantown.com/

Entertainment:
Sargasso occasionally hosts live musicians for weekend dining during the summer.

Catering:
Sargasso Restaurant has a dedicated staff of professionals ready to assist you in planning virtually any event. Please inquire for catering details. Our corporate catering menu is listed on our Web site.

Parking Details:
Free off-street parking

Executive Chef:
Thomas Metzler, Dave Halterman

Private Party Facilities:
Sargasso Restaurant offers 3 private rooms within the restaurant. "The Bar Room" is in the very front of the restaurant, featuring 4 LCD TV's, and can accommodate up to 22 guests. "The Patio Room" is the largest of the three private rooms, which can accommodate up to 45 guests. The Patio Room and Bar Room may be opened to create a larger space. "The Garden Room" is our most exclusive private dining room. Located in the back of the restaurant, The Garden Room serves as our wine storage area, holding our state-of-the-art wine storage facility. The maximum capacity for The Garden Room is 15 guests. All dining rooms have Audio/Visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Caridi: 304-554-0100x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sargasso has hosted a wide range of special events including holiday parties, and weddings. Our chefs and highly trained front of house staff have the experience necessary to make your event unforgettable. Every event is custom, call us for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
4 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Morgantown
Best Restaurants in Morgantown ›

special occasion (10)
notable wine list (9)
fit for foodies (8)
See All
romantic (7)
good for groups (6)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The evening started slow, we waited too ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The evening started slow, we waited too long, 10mins, to get water and a drink order in. Waitress apologized, stated there was confusion between staff and only two wait staff on. As a customer i don't care, I'm for an experience. The move was on the floor, an apology would have been nice or first drink on them? The server did great after that and it ended well. I like the unsafe dining room better, it's more clasy and vs the patio room., would choose to sit inside next time. Great foodand overall great time.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was great too. I do hope they will revise their dessert menu and include more varieties of dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sargasso is always a quality experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Sargasso is always a quality experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Another fantastic experience! Always te ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Another fantastic experience! Always tempted to order what I've had before because I know I like it (being a creature of habit). Trying to experiment and try new things, I recall the last time the host recommended the Dan Dan Noodles, something I'd probably not order on my own. I tried it and absolutely LOVED IT. It's mushrooms and tofu in Piquant chili sauce over Szechuan Noodles! Nice heat and fantastic! Once again, bartender recommend towards something other than what I planned on ordering, the Shrimp and Grits with aged Vermont cheese and Nueske's Bacon jam, and Fresno chili sauce. It too was excellent. Tried 2 new wines too. The Alberino and the Simon Minor Pinot Noir were both refreshing and wonderful! Love experimenting and trying new things at this restaurant. Haven't had a bad experience and looking forward to the next time! Hopefully a Wednesday to experience their Bar Buzz wine tasting and snacks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice service. Cuban chicken very good. S ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Nice service. Cuban chicken very good. Shrimp also good, just a little different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best brunch in Morgantown! Everything wa ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best brunch in Morgantown! Everything was delicious, service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect. Keep up the great work. Hope to see a Sunday brunch soon.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner while on business by myself. Ate ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Dinner while on business by myself. Ate at bar and bartender was fantastic, very personable and chatted about wines and restaurants. The Calamari over Bok Choy was one of the best I've ever eaten. Flash fried, not deep fried. Yum! Ordered the burger too which was excellent. Enjoyed a glass of wine, most were pricey, but the least expensive ones, Chardonnay and Bordeaux ($10), were both great! Love to come back. They have a Wednesday Buzz night from 5:30-7PM at bar for $10- $12 for 3 wine Tastings (theme oriented) with food to enjoy! I need to try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a special occasion

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We looked up fine dining in Morgantown and this was one of the restaurants that came up. The food was very good and it was quiet enough so that we could chat. Our room did not have a view but the river could be seen from the other room. The server was solicitous and friendly but we weren't rushed and overall it was a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch was wonderful. We were, S was the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Brunch was wonderful. We were, S was the firefly that flew into s fan----delighted !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal with great service... The ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fantastic meal with great service... The Ahi Tuna was on point as well as my Calamari appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Brunch!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten Free

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This restaurant was a great find. Gluten Free items predominantly noted on the menu. The meals, ambiance and service on par with the fine dining in larger cities. The ability to observe the chef and kitchen staff create culinary magic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistency

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Even though the menu changes from season to season, the food quality is consistently good.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A bit pricey but very good. Will definit ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

A bit pricey but very good. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We won't go back

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was mediocre for the price. Portions were small and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great lunch, disappointing dinner.

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

This is for your information regarding my experience dinning at Sargasso’s.

My first visit was during lunch hour. My wife an I were both favorably impressed with both the food quality and service. As a result we again had lunch there the following week. Again we were positively impressed. As a result of these two positive experiences, my wife and I decided to host an evening dinner at Sargasso’s for three friends. I’m sorry to say that, to my surprise, the evening was a gross disappointment. Following are the reasons:

•We could not order white zinfandel wine by the glass — a first for us after extensive dinning in 4 states.

•After ordering 2 glasses of a suggested alternative wine, I later discovered that each (approximately 1/3 of a glass) cost $11 !

•Both my wife and I independently rated the quality of our meals as C and C- respectively. I ordered lobster bisque soup and the evening special, which was a lobster dish. The soup was quite cool when I received it and of average quality at best. (By contrast, the soup I had during my first lunch was outstanding.) My main course of lobster tail was a real disappointment. The tail, which itself was fine, was plopped in a small heap of fettuccine and tomato sauce. Once the shell was removed from the plate, the display was dismal , and the taste combination was awful. The wonderful taste of lobster was destroyed.

•I did not quiz my guests about their food, but I could tell by their lack of enthusiasm that they were disappointed after the fine dinning experience I lead them to expect (based on my lunch experience).

•I have no objection to paying high-end prices for high-end food, but I felt offended by having to pay very high prices for less than average food.

•The final insult came when I looked at the bill and discovered a mandatory 10% “service charge.”

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good food, for the price you are better ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Good food, for the price you are better off dining in much nicer venues for less $

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Greedy

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Joins the Greenbrier in tacking on a 10% fee just so they can. They explain that it is not part of the waiter's tip, but to defray "expenses". Tacky and cheap.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful meal!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

First time eating at Sargasso and absolutely loved it. We had a gift card that we saved for a special occasion. It was our anniversary dinner. I've traveled extensively and eaten in many upscale restaurants. Sargasso is right at the top. Best in Morgantown.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met here with friends after hours on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Met here with friends after hours on the road. We were greeted warmly and waited in the bar for the rest of our crew to arrive. They had our table ready and gave us excellent service. The food was excellent! I had the game hen but the whole group of us (7 friends meeting for a WVU game) tried most of the big items and they were all amazing. Excellent selection of drinks at the bar and table. We had a great experience. None of us had ever been to Morgantown and this was our first meal. Great start to our weekend thanks to Sargasso!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unhappy for the second time

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

the restaurant has decided to add a 10% "service charge" to all tables. This is not the server's tip. Mathis is just an up-charge the restaurant adds. If they want to raise prices, they should raise prices but a 10% service charge is ridiculous. I had an issue a couple offers ago, where I had a large group for dinner and we asked is we could be in the back room since it was empty. They said yes, but then wanted to add $500 to the bill for a room charge. They indicated we could use the room for no charge, but the manager decided to add the extra $500. This was my last visit to Sargasso. On the upside, it's the best restaurant in Morgantown, and I have been there numerous times. The server was great also. Unfortunately I'll go elsewhere in the future

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Sargasso review

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Although the ambiance is excellent and the food is good, the overall experience at Sargasso is not worth what you pay. A particular irritation is the 10% mandatory gratuity that does not go to the server so your tip is essentially becomes 25 or 30% of the cost of the meal. It would be preferable for this to be added to the already high price of the entrees rather than to have the waiter have to explain this surcharge. My wife and I decided that we can have an equally wonderful experience at less cost elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Quality of Food

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

My dinner was good, but not great. For the price it should be better.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Mediocrity at it's "Finest"

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

We made a reservation. The restraurant only had 5 tables seated when we arrived. So the seating was extremely quick. My husband and I honestly thought our server forgot about us, as we had to request the dinner menu when she finally reappeared. Food was okay we have had more delectible food for the cost. My bed of rice pilaf was over cooked and the salmon tasted more like a Logans Steakhouse salmon. All in all for a $130/bill, We expected much better service and food quality. We were actually excited to learn of Sargasso as we tend to venture out and splurge on fine meals quite often and always have to travel to pittsburg. Looks like we will continue to travel to the Burg for fine dining. Sargasso was not worth the $$.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Simply great

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Sargasso has been simply great for dinner. Unique and deliciously prepared dishes and deserts. A+

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining in Morgantown

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

This was the second time that my wife and I have been to Sargasso and we have had great meals each time. My vegetarian wife got the Bhel Puri salad and the Tahitian Tofu. I ordered the Sargasso salad and crab linguine. Both meals were fantastic. We have been to Las Vegas about 20 times in the last 5 years and always eat at the best Vegas restaurants. Sargasso is just as good as any of the best Vegas restaurants. If you want fine dining in Morgantown, Sargasso is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Best meal I have had in Morgantown. Will become a regular stop for our family when we visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Inventive and well executed

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

The dinner special, Sous-Vide venison with mushroom risotto and broccolini was delicious and nicely presented. Venison was tender and perfectly cooked to a medium rare, lovely color and flavor. My Houlami and Watermelon salad starter was very good, would have loved a bit more houlami. Don't miss the Russian honey-lavendar layer cake. My dinner partner had trout served with a deconstructed tabbouleh and yogurt sauce that was delicious.

Service was efficient and friendly. Anxious to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

Our experience was great (as always!), we brought a candidate for a faculty position at WVU and he was very impressed and very much enjoyed himself.

Your staff was very attentive and had worked with our office to obtain payment information and provided me with the itemized statement our office needed.

Everything went very well and that's why we keep coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special dinner

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

My wife and I had heard good things about Sargasso from our friends. We stopped in for dinner on her birthday. Staff were very attentive and gave excellent service. We found the menu to have a number of traditional and fun contemporary options. I was pleased with the wine selection and noted several good options sold by the glass (my wife is pregnant so I was limited to by the glass purchases). Our food was excellent. We'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was very slow, not given a menu ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2015

Service was very slow, not given a menu or approached by a server till 10 mins after being seated. Drinks took another 10 minutes.

No host to greet us and stood at the podium for a few minutes

Wine list is on a tablet and not easy to browse. I love technology but can't quickly see all the wines the way u can on paper

Shrimp special was overly spicy, all three in our party felt not as good as usual fare here.

Sargasso salad was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Our party of four had a very nice 3 hour ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2015

Our party of four had a very nice 3 hour experience at Sargasso. Our server, Amy, knew the menu well, and was happy to assist with our dinner selections. The sommelier, Jason (I believe) visited us at length at our table, and talked about his wine buying philosophy, and then he gave a tour of the wine cellar. Very nice selection of wines, both new and old world. We had a bottle of Carol Shelton's 2011 Rockpile Zinfandel that was superb! At departure, we had a short conversation with Chef David, and complimented him on the creativity and presentation of his tasty dishes. All-in-all, the evening fully met our expectations for a fine dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

Nice atmosphere. Not too loud. My husband and I could carry on a conversation easily. The curried noodles were outstanding. The scallop special was excellent. Great beers . The almond berry cake could have had a little more almond flavor. The chocolate lava dessert was scrumptious. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 23, 2015

Special food for a special celebration. Nice wine list. Pricey overall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was the star rating an error ??? Avoid this place.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2015

It was really bad dining experience. From my salmon having to be made twice and not only looking completely different (#2 looked very nice), but, the side dishes were changed without saying anything to me (risotto and string beans to couscous and asparagus). The actual poor food preparation was not the real issue that bothered me, it was the cook complaining when he had to make the first one, loud enough that I heard it. Then, when it was sent back because it completely lacked seasoning and color, he complained even more. For most of my meal, I heard the cooks complaining about a myriad of things...I'm not sure if there was a Manager there (since I was never visit by one with my issues). Nothing was done to acknowledge or apologize for the bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The food was very good

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Excellent food. I had the calamari appetizer and it was awesome. Not the usual deep fried calamari. I also had the scallop dinner. Scallops cook just right and seasoned perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a good experience

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

It was graduation weekend in town, all restaurants were busy. Even though the restaurant was booked, we were seated right on time, service was excellent and the wait for drinks and the food to get to the table was not too long. The wait staff were hoping but never made us feel rushed. One of our party even complemented the chef on the was out for the excellent tuna special. When we have family and friends come to town we always have one meal at Sargasso.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Graduation Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

What an experience...Sargasso (Morgantown) was better than we could've expected The food was outstanding We were there for my son's graduation dinner and we all loved it there, including the service and atmosphere We will go back and I would highly recommend Sargasso's (Morgantown) to everyone

Thank you Sargasso's for making our special day with a perfect ending...

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was OK

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

I had the tuna appetizer and the wedge salad. It was "OK". The entrees did look good however I was not hungry enough this particular time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

High Price for Mediocre

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

My girlfriend and I decided to go out for dinner to on Saturday night. When we walked in, I was presently surprised at how nice the restaurant was decorated. There seemed to be plenty of good seating but for unknown reasons, we were sat in the corner in the less attractive part of the room. The waiter was very awkward throughout the entire meal as he had no knowledge of the wine list and asked awkward questions multiple times in a interruptive manner throughout our meal. The price for the food was outrageous as we left we a $200 bill after having a appetizer, bottle of wine, two entrees, and a shared dessert. The entrees were excellent but over priced. The appetizer and dessert were far too small of portions for the price. I don't mind paying for a great experience but I could have easily went down the road to Oliverios to be greeted with food that is just as good or better, much better service, and left with a $50 lighter bill. Over all, I can say that I will not be back if I am buying!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.