About Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar

215 Don Knott's Blvd
Morgantown, WV 26501
View Larger Map

Sargasso is North Central West Virginia's premier dining destination. Sargasso is a unique, upscale restaurant located in Morgantown, West Virginia. Sargasso presents Morgantown’s only “world fusion” restaurant, which incorporates influences from diverse cultures, Caribbean, French, Italian, Asian, and Continental cuisine. The menu changes frequently to keep up with culinary trends and the freshest ingredients.
Our highly trained chefs come from diverse backgrounds bringing with them experiences from different cuisines, techniques, styles, and regions of the world. Working together, they represent a winning team with a creative perspective on the concept of world fusion cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 554-0100

Website:
http://www.sargassomorgantown.com/

Entertainment:
Sargasso occasionally hosts live musicians for weekend dining during the summer.

Catering:
Sargasso Restaurant has a dedicated staff of professionals ready to assist you in planning virtually any event. Please inquire for catering details. Our corporate catering menu is listed on our Web site.

Parking Details:
Free off-street parking

Executive Chef:
Thomas Metzler, Dave Halterman

Private Party Facilities:
Sargasso Restaurant offers 3 private rooms within the restaurant. "The Bar Room" is in the very front of the restaurant, featuring 4 LCD TV's, and can accommodate up to 22 guests. "The Patio Room" is the largest of the three private rooms, which can accommodate up to 45 guests. The Patio Room and Bar Room may be opened to create a larger space. "The Garden Room" is our most exclusive private dining room. Located in the back of the restaurant, The Garden Room serves as our wine storage area, holding our state-of-the-art wine storage facility. The maximum capacity for The Garden Room is 15 guests. All dining rooms have Audio/Visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Caridi: 304-554-0100x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sargasso has hosted a wide range of special events including holiday parties, and weddings. Our chefs and highly trained front of house staff have the experience necessary to make your event unforgettable. Every event is custom, call us for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
3 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Best Restaurants in Morgantown ›

Special Occasion (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Romantic (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had 5 for post-game dinner. My Marli ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We had 5 for post-game dinner. My Marlin was dry. Others enjoyed their meals: pork chop, salmon, steak, pasta. I have had other great meals at Sargasso. I will give them another chance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every aspect of the experience was delig ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Every aspect of the experience was delightful. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Gluten free bread wa ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was delicious. Gluten free bread was our #1 favorite. However, desserts were a bit on the "too sweet" side. I know there are people who like them really sweet, but I would appreciate if you could make it less sweet and add a small cup of syrup or sauce on the side to make an adjustment of sweetness to cover wider range of customers. Overall, good food, great atmosphere and great experience. Our guest enjoyed the dinner very much. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first visit to Sargasso. We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first visit to Sargasso. We are new to the Morgantown, WV area and were celebrating out 22nd wedding anniversary. The food was outstanding. Great atmosphere also.

The choice of each dish was unique and each bite was a burst of flavor. The ability to taste each ingredient in the prepared soup, salad and main dish was wonderful. Many compliments to the chef(s). Our server was friendly and attentive.

We have traveled the world and spent time at a multitude of 5 star restaurants and Sargasso is in our top 5 meals of our dining experiences.

We will return!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were in town for the weekend visiting ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were in town for the weekend visiting our daughter who is attending WVU. We wanted to take her somewhere special. I really had no idea about restaurants in the area but got lucky finding Sargasso. It was just what we wanted. It was quiet and relaxed so we could talk. I struggled over the special NY Strip and the fillet. I went with the strip and my daughter the fillet. Both were excellent. My husband got the lamb chops and loved them. The calamari was an exceptional start. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent but service was lacki ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was excellent but service was lacking. Ambiance very nice but TV's were not getting high definition signal and a bit blurry and not full screen.

Restaurant also has a 10% surcharge on total bill for what they claim as higher wages (a good thing) but not sure what the tip should be. I left another 10% but a little confusing how to handle the tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We visited on a Friday evening. The rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We visited on a Friday evening. The restaurant was not busy but service was poor.

Our waitress forgot about us several times (when we requested a second glass of wine, when we requested our check). Our waitress brought us the wrong food, too.

Food was very expensive for what you get and where you are (Morgantown not NYC). They automatically add 10% service charge to ALL bills (not just large parties). Our service was so poor that 10% was too much. I guess the servers don't have to try as hard since the tip is mandatory.

We are in Morgantown about 20 weekends a year but we will not be going to this restaurant ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Finally made it to the Buzz! A fun wine ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Finally made it to the Buzz! A fun wine tasting theme event at bar. The three wines selected were wonderful includung a brut champagne from Austria, a Chenin Blanc from South Africa, and a great Cabernet Franc from the Fingerlakes! They offer some nice complimentary snack as well. I ordered the mushroom soup and steak frites which i enjoyed both. If in Morgantown on a Wednesday, stop by from 530 to 7 and enjoy the Buzz, a fun time with many others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought a group here for business meetin ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Brought a group here for business meeting and everything was outstanding. Private room in back is perfect for group of 12 or less and service was very good. Food is always the best Morgantown has to offer and the same can be said of Wine list. Feature was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Every time that we stay in Morgantown we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Every time that we stay in Morgantown we always have one dinner at Sargasso. My wife enjoys the vegetarian entree that has tofu and I always get a seafood meal. The meals are consistently very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari best I ever had. Sargasso s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The calamari best I ever had. Sargasso salad was delicious. Salmon was very good.

I expected the a la carte pricing, the 10% service fee....., didn't notice it up way over tipping

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great, leisurely meal. Service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a great, leisurely meal. Service was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What stood out was that after we were se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

What stood out was that after we were seated and handed an iPad drink list, we placed our drink order and had to wait for our menus. When we received our menus, our jaws dropped. Very, very expensive, and a very limited menu. We got our bill to go have dinner elsewhere, and one round of drinks for 5 people was over $60. We live in Baltimore, and eat at very nice restaurants frequently, and this was not worth it. I used OpenTable and trusted their 2$$ review. I will double check the menu next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

The food was absolutely excellent-no que ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was absolutely excellent-no question! However, the restaurant management has decided to charge an automatic 10% service fee (not a gratuity) on all checks. This was a surprise to me and I asked about what it was...apparently it is to cover the difference to minimum wage for the workers. Basically, on top of their high prices (especially for Morgantown!), the managers are passing their duty to pay their workers onto the consumer. I think this action lacks class, particularly because it is not made apparent up front. It certainly puts the servers in an awkward position, as I saw our own server have to explain it to two other tables as well. If the restaurant cannot afford to pay their workers their wage I suggest they do some thoughtful work on how to run their business, rather than adding another charge to the patron. I will probably not return, despite the excellence of their food and their large wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was excellent. Presentation was gre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was excellent. Presentation was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First rate cuisine. Not what you typical ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

First rate cuisine. Not what you typically find in Morgantown. We had the lamb and filet, both perfectly cooked. And the sauces were as good as you can find in NYC. Mussels were fresh and fabulous and not salty. Highly recommend the panna cotta, not sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The evening started slow, we waited too ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The evening started slow, we waited too long, 10mins, to get water and a drink order in. Waitress apologized, stated there was confusion between staff and only two wait staff on. As a customer i don't care, I'm for an experience. The move was on the floor, an apology would have been nice or first drink on them? The server did great after that and it ended well. I like the unsafe dining room better, it's more clasy and vs the patio room., would choose to sit inside next time. Great foodand overall great time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was great too. I do hope they will revise their dessert menu and include more varieties of dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sargasso is always a quality experience.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Sargasso is always a quality experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Another fantastic experience! Always te ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Another fantastic experience! Always tempted to order what I've had before because I know I like it (being a creature of habit). Trying to experiment and try new things, I recall the last time the host recommended the Dan Dan Noodles, something I'd probably not order on my own. I tried it and absolutely LOVED IT. It's mushrooms and tofu in Piquant chili sauce over Szechuan Noodles! Nice heat and fantastic! Once again, bartender recommend towards something other than what I planned on ordering, the Shrimp and Grits with aged Vermont cheese and Nueske's Bacon jam, and Fresno chili sauce. It too was excellent. Tried 2 new wines too. The Alberino and the Simon Minor Pinot Noir were both refreshing and wonderful! Love experimenting and trying new things at this restaurant. Haven't had a bad experience and looking forward to the next time! Hopefully a Wednesday to experience their Bar Buzz wine tasting and snacks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice service. Cuban chicken very good. S ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Nice service. Cuban chicken very good. Shrimp also good, just a little different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best brunch in Morgantown! Everything wa ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best brunch in Morgantown! Everything was delicious, service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect. Keep up the great work. Hope to see a Sunday brunch soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner while on business by myself. Ate ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Dinner while on business by myself. Ate at bar and bartender was fantastic, very personable and chatted about wines and restaurants. The Calamari over Bok Choy was one of the best I've ever eaten. Flash fried, not deep fried. Yum! Ordered the burger too which was excellent. Enjoyed a glass of wine, most were pricey, but the least expensive ones, Chardonnay and Bordeaux ($10), were both great! Love to come back. They have a Wednesday Buzz night from 5:30-7PM at bar for $10- $12 for 3 wine Tastings (theme oriented) with food to enjoy! I need to try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a special occasion

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We looked up fine dining in Morgantown and this was one of the restaurants that came up. The food was very good and it was quiet enough so that we could chat. Our room did not have a view but the river could be seen from the other room. The server was solicitous and friendly but we weren't rushed and overall it was a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch was wonderful. We were, S was the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Brunch was wonderful. We were, S was the firefly that flew into s fan----delighted !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal with great service... The ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fantastic meal with great service... The Ahi Tuna was on point as well as my Calamari appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Brunch!

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten Free

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2016

This restaurant was a great find. Gluten Free items predominantly noted on the menu. The meals, ambiance and service on par with the fine dining in larger cities. The ability to observe the chef and kitchen staff create culinary magic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistency

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Even though the menu changes from season to season, the food quality is consistently good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A bit pricey but very good. Will definit ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2016

A bit pricey but very good. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We won't go back

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was mediocre for the price. Portions were small and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great lunch, disappointing dinner.

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 2, 2016

This is for your information regarding my experience dinning at Sargasso’s.

My first visit was during lunch hour. My wife an I were both favorably impressed with both the food quality and service. As a result we again had lunch there the following week. Again we were positively impressed. As a result of these two positive experiences, my wife and I decided to host an evening dinner at Sargasso’s for three friends. I’m sorry to say that, to my surprise, the evening was a gross disappointment. Following are the reasons:

•We could not order white zinfandel wine by the glass — a first for us after extensive dinning in 4 states.

•After ordering 2 glasses of a suggested alternative wine, I later discovered that each (approximately 1/3 of a glass) cost $11 !

•Both my wife and I independently rated the quality of our meals as C and C- respectively. I ordered lobster bisque soup and the evening special, which was a lobster dish. The soup was quite cool when I received it and of average quality at best. (By contrast, the soup I had during my first lunch was outstanding.) My main course of lobster tail was a real disappointment. The tail, which itself was fine, was plopped in a small heap of fettuccine and tomato sauce. Once the shell was removed from the plate, the display was dismal , and the taste combination was awful. The wonderful taste of lobster was destroyed.

•I did not quiz my guests about their food, but I could tell by their lack of enthusiasm that they were disappointed after the fine dinning experience I lead them to expect (based on my lunch experience).

•I have no objection to paying high-end prices for high-end food, but I felt offended by having to pay very high prices for less than average food.

•The final insult came when I looked at the bill and discovered a mandatory 10% “service charge.”

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good food, for the price you are better ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2015

Good food, for the price you are better off dining in much nicer venues for less $

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Greedy

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2015

Joins the Greenbrier in tacking on a 10% fee just so they can. They explain that it is not part of the waiter's tip, but to defray "expenses". Tacky and cheap.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful meal!

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 20, 2015

First time eating at Sargasso and absolutely loved it. We had a gift card that we saved for a special occasion. It was our anniversary dinner. I've traveled extensively and eaten in many upscale restaurants. Sargasso is right at the top. Best in Morgantown.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met here with friends after hours on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Met here with friends after hours on the road. We were greeted warmly and waited in the bar for the rest of our crew to arrive. They had our table ready and gave us excellent service. The food was excellent! I had the game hen but the whole group of us (7 friends meeting for a WVU game) tried most of the big items and they were all amazing. Excellent selection of drinks at the bar and table. We had a great experience. None of us had ever been to Morgantown and this was our first meal. Great start to our weekend thanks to Sargasso!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unhappy for the second time

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2015

the restaurant has decided to add a 10% "service charge" to all tables. This is not the server's tip. Mathis is just an up-charge the restaurant adds. If they want to raise prices, they should raise prices but a 10% service charge is ridiculous. I had an issue a couple offers ago, where I had a large group for dinner and we asked is we could be in the back room since it was empty. They said yes, but then wanted to add $500 to the bill for a room charge. They indicated we could use the room for no charge, but the manager decided to add the extra $500. This was my last visit to Sargasso. On the upside, it's the best restaurant in Morgantown, and I have been there numerous times. The server was great also. Unfortunately I'll go elsewhere in the future

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Sargasso review

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Although the ambiance is excellent and the food is good, the overall experience at Sargasso is not worth what you pay. A particular irritation is the 10% mandatory gratuity that does not go to the server so your tip is essentially becomes 25 or 30% of the cost of the meal. It would be preferable for this to be added to the already high price of the entrees rather than to have the waiter have to explain this surcharge. My wife and I decided that we can have an equally wonderful experience at less cost elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Quality of Food

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 16, 2015

My dinner was good, but not great. For the price it should be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Mediocrity at it's "Finest"

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 11, 2015

We made a reservation. The restraurant only had 5 tables seated when we arrived. So the seating was extremely quick. My husband and I honestly thought our server forgot about us, as we had to request the dinner menu when she finally reappeared. Food was okay we have had more delectible food for the cost. My bed of rice pilaf was over cooked and the salmon tasted more like a Logans Steakhouse salmon. All in all for a $130/bill, We expected much better service and food quality. We were actually excited to learn of Sargasso as we tend to venture out and splurge on fine meals quite often and always have to travel to pittsburg. Looks like we will continue to travel to the Burg for fine dining. Sargasso was not worth the $$.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.