Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar

4.5
529 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Fit for Foodies
Almost ten years ago Sargasso started a food revolution in Morgantown, bringing fine dining to a city that had previously not seen anything like it. Locally owned and operated, we strive to provide the premiere dining experience in the region by utilizing ingredients of the highest quality from local to international with each season. Our culinary team is led by a duo of experienced chefs -European-trained Austrian native Chef Thomas Metzler and local talent Chef Dave Halterman, who has been cooking in the Morgantown community for over ten years. We are honored by Wine Spectator for having one of the most outstanding wine lists in the world. The Sargasso family takes great pride in offering our guests world-class service in a hospitable and inviting atmosphere.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Global, International, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Our Lunch Menu is available from 11am- 2pm M-Sa.
Our Bistro Menu is available from 2pm-5pm M-Sa.
Dinner is served from 5pm-close M-Sa.
Brunch is served Sunday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(304) 554-0100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Thomas Metzler, Dave Halterman
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Sargasso Restaurant has a dedicated staff of professionals ready to assist you in planning virtually any event. Please inquire by calling Sargasso for corporate or private catering details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free off-street parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Sargasso occasionally hosts live musicians for special events.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Sargasso has hosted a wide range of special events including holiday parties, and weddings. Our chefs and highly trained front of house staff have the experience necessary to make your event unforgettable. Every event is custom, call us for details.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 529 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was wonderful! Great service and delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My sister in law and I went for a quiet dinner to visit and talk. This was perfect. We both had Artic Char and a celery salad. Very good. Some decent wine at $10 a glass. A perfect dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Very fine service and very well prepared, tasty food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Overall our meal and service was very good and we enjoyed our Mother’s Day brunch. Our only complaint was that we were hoping it would have been a more traditional type brunch with omelet station, carved prime rib etc.. We had been to brunch at Sargasso on Easter in the past couple years and it was excellent. Thanks Kelly S. Riddle

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food and cocktails were excellent! Reservation for group right on time. David was an awesome waiter and helped make graduation celebration a lot of fun! The only reason for 4 starts on ambiance was the temperature - a bit hot on the kitchen side. Will definitely be back! Tks!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

An Underwhelming Experience

My husband and I went here for Sunday brunch. He specifically asked if the apple slaw that came with the fried chicken was vinegar based or mayonnaise based because he did not want it if it were mayonnaise based. The server said she didn’t think it was, but would double check and let him know if so. Our food came out and the portion of chicken was so very small compared to other restaurants in this price range. When we asked the server, she said It was a drumstick and thigh cooked together. This together was about the size of one drumstick from any other place in a comparable price range. After she left and the initial shock about the chicken went away, he realized that the slaw was clearly mayonnaise based as well. This was not at all what he wanted and specifically asked about, especially after the server had been so complimentary towards the dish when we were deciding what to order. We didn’t see her again for quite some time after that and my husband was too hungry to send the meal back, so he ate the small bit of chicken and left the huge pile of apple slaw. She finally returned at the end of our meal to ask if we wanted more coffee and how the checks in our party of four would be broken up. We left hungry and disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Super excellent food and chef even created vegetarian meal for one of us :-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We go here a couple of times a month for our date evenings. The food is always creatively prepared and delicious. The servers are knowledgeable, friendly, attentive and do a great job. Chef Dave, in particular, is a fantastic chef and usually prepares a special vegetarian entree for my husband. Morgantown is very lucky to have Sargasso!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food selections don’t fit a college town. Wine selection outstanding but nothing to pair it with. Service ok but first thing from waitress was what what not available instead of explaining any specials. Burned dessert and had to wait another 20 minutes without notice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Food was excellent and plentiful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The food was excellent and the service matched the food. I had a delicious lunch at a surprisingly reasonable price! I have had great experiences at this restaurant over the years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

My partner and I attended the March Chef's Dinner with Chef Metzler who has been with Sargasso since they opened. Such a fun experience! The meal included six well portioned courses, explained by the Chef himself as well as an amazing beverage pairing, also explained by their Beverage Director. We sat at a big table with other diners and were able to discuss the food with them and each other. Fun times, delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Very nice setting on a Thursday night during spring break at WVU. Appetitizer of burrata was delicious and very filling. Main courses of scallops and the salmon special was delicious also. Amanda our server was nice but did not refill wine glasses with our bottle of wine and sort of disappeared. Serving of main course after appetitizer seemed slow even though there were empty tables. Would return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great atmosphere and excellent service. Interesting drink menu. Will dine again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

As usual Wonderfull!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Excellent meal, excellent atmosphere, excellent experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent food. Good value and great service. The options were numerous and the preparation was excellent. Will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Our second time there and they did not disappoint, we had a great meal and caught up with our daughter who attends the university, so it was nice to see her have a great meal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

They try to come off with food that is better than average, but they fail.
Waitstaff is good, ambiance is great, wine is reasonable priced, but the food is sub-par at best. The potato chips were cold and average, pork belly burnt and heavily spiced to mask the burnt taste. The potato soup was inedible, reeking of sage and also heavily spiced. The "prime strip steak was far from prime beef, choice at best, a heavy char at medium with no juices flowing at all. A huge disappointment.n They tr will give them that, but a total failure at any cusine you would want to experience again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We had dined here about a year ago when we came up to WVU to visit our daughter for the weekend. We wanted to take her somewhere special that she wouldn't normally go to and I found Sargasso and was pleasantly surprised. We liked it so much we returned this year for her birthday. The atmosphere is very nice. The service was very good and the food was excellent. We all enjoyed our meals. There were a lot of good choices on the beer and wine lists. This is not the least expensive restaurant in the area but it's definitely worth it for a special night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Enjoyed our experience at Sargasso's.
I think Sargasso's is one of the best restaurants in Morgantown.
Looking forward to our next visit

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Overall a good experience. We will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

We get to Morgantown at least once a year and cant believe we have missed this place. Food was excellent - very creative and interesting dishes - service was warm and friendly - one of the best meals I have had in this town. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Nice environment. Creative menu but overpriced for just ok food. Small portions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

The sea bass and filet were perfectly prepared. Pumpkin latte icecream was lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 19, 2017

Really good food. My wife is vegetarian and it’s the best vegetarian meal she’s had in Morgantown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

In Morgantown WV for football weekend. Sargassos was great find, off the beaten path. Food cooked perfectly to order. Iceberg wedge salad amazing. Great wine list including reasonably priced selections & half bottles. Service excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Our meals were all excellent. Appetizers unique, beef and seafood flavorful but a little pricy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

The appetizer menu is a bit unorthodox but delicious. The meal and wine selection, superb. Staff was pleasant and professional. Who knew Morgantown had a 5 star restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

I could taste that the food was prepared with care and passion. The ambiance was beautiful, service exelent, and the food paired together perfectly. Enjoyed my time at sargasso, I will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Amazing staff and amazing food!!!! Adam made my wife a drink and it was one of the best drinks she ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

I have eaten several times at Sargasso and have never been disappointed. My wife is vegetarian and can always get a great meal. Service is always top notch. They have a new menu which maintains the same high quality meals. If you are looking for fine dining in Morgantown, this is the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was exceptional and the food was tip notch. The specials for the evening were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 14, 2017

Sargasso has always been one of my favorites in Morgantown. This new menu, however, brings them to the top in Morgantown. Food is excellent, great wine list and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 13, 2017

Great food! Great service! Wonderful atmosphere. We will be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2017

Exciting new menu and the food was outstanding. The Sea Bass and Vegetarian eggplant dish were delicious. My steak was cooked perfect and my husband enjoyed the porkchop. The new cocktail menu and the goat cheese appetizer was a hit. We had a great dinner and bonus there was live music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 31, 2017

The food was excellent as usual. Our server was polite, attentive and gave us our space. No rush fine dining!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Morgantown needs more restaurants of the quality of Sargasso. It is a true gem, and a rarity in this town. Go and enjoy a wonderful experience of fine food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Upscale dining in Morgantown. Great food and good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2017

Fabulous! Great service. First of was incredible.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar