Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 1.42mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

About Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar

Almost ten years ago Sargasso started a food revolution in Morgantown, bringing fine dining to a city that had previously not seen anything like it. Locally owned and operated, we strive to provide the premiere dining experience in the region by utilizing ingredients of the highest quality from local to international with each season. Our culinary team is led by a duo of experienced chefs -European-trained Austrian native Chef Thomas Metzler and local talent Chef Dave Halterman, who has been cooking in the Morgantown community for over ten years. We are honored by Wine Spectator for having one of the most outstanding wine lists in the world. The Sargasso family takes great pride in offering our guests world-class service in a hospitable and inviting atmosphere.

215 Don Knott's Blvd
Morgantown, WV 26501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am-2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 554-0100

Website:
http://www.sargassomorgantown.com/

Entertainment:
Sargasso occasionally hosts live musicians for special events.

Catering:
Sargasso Restaurant has a dedicated staff of professionals ready to assist you in planning virtually any event. Please inquire by calling Sargasso for corporate or private catering details.

Parking Details:
Free off-street parking

Executive Chef:
Thomas Metzler, Dave Halterman

Private Party Facilities:
Sargasso Restaurant offers 3 private rooms within the restaurant. "The Bar Room" is in the very front of the restaurant, featuring 4 LCD TV's, and can accommodate up to 22 guests. "The Patio Room" is the largest of the three private rooms, which can accommodate up to 45 guests. The Patio Room and Bar Room may be opened to create a larger space. "The Garden Room" is our most exclusive private dining room. Located in the back of the restaurant, The Garden Room houses our wine collection inside our state-of-the-art wine storage facility. The maximum capacity for The Garden Room is 15 guests. All dining rooms have Audio/Visual equipment available.

Private Party Contact:
Katy Trupo: (304) 554-0100

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sargasso has hosted a wide range of special events including holiday parties, and weddings. Our chefs and highly trained front of house staff have the experience necessary to make your event unforgettable. Every event is custom, call us for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sargasso of Morgantown Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Waterfront (4)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience staff was great, I have a Gluten allergy and the staff was extremely accommodating. Food was excellent. Great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had a very nice experience. Great wine and cocktail listing to go with the wonderful salmon and steak! Bread and dipping sauce were delicious as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Crisp and comfortable decor at a splendid riverside location help make this restaurant a hit. It's greatest draw, however, is one of the best and most value-conscious wine lists I have seen anywhere in the state. If I lived in Morgantown I'd be a regular for that reason alone. The list is compact in big city terms, but nicely covers the spectrum, from inexpensive but well chosen bottlings to serious but very fairly priced classified Bordeaux and other standouts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was good, ordered the pork dish and my wife ordered the trout dish, with my only complaint of the clams appetizer being a bit to salty for my taste. The service was excellent and the noise level was good for our occasion. Prices were as expected in a nice dining establishment.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Meals created with a flair for sure! Chef Dave always accommodates my vegetarian husband with something delicious! Can't say enough about the staff and how friendly and knowledgeable they are. Extensive wine list, but plenty of modestly priced good wines. We have only lunched there a couple of times, and have not taken advantage of the wine tastings and special Chef meals, but love to go for dinner. The rooms are lovely and more on the romantic side, so good place to go for special occasions. Living in a college town presents a lot of fun and funky casual places to dine, but if you are a foodie looking for delicious and creatively prepared/presented dishes -- as well as a quieter more romantic setting -- this is the place to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My husband and I went to Sargasso for our wedding dinner. Everything was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great experience and atmosphere. Family enjoyed a quiet classic evening together. Staff was great and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My girl friend and I went to Sargasso's before prom. We were both amazed with Sargasso's, especially with the friendliness of the employees. They recognized our special occasion and treated us with a free, festive, non-alcoholic drink. We will definitely return for more special occasions and recommend to our friends!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Appreciate the new menu. Also the new vegetarian option was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food; excellent service. Our wait person couldn't have been nicer. Best meal we've had in Morgantown.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We stopped in on a Wednesday and ordered from the "small plates" menu. The three dishes we ordered (Chicken wings in a Blueberry Fresno Chile BBQ glaze, Asado Tacos and the Steak Frites
4 oz Tenderloin with Peppercorn Cognac Sauce and Hand-Cut Fries) were beautifully prepared and delicious. Nice wine and beer list and attentive wait staff. Overall, it was a relaxed and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely beautiful place, however the food was not very good, had an unpleasant aftertaste, had the open faced ravioli and chicken curry,neither was up to bar, staff was friendly and setting was good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

First time there. Morgantown I on the rise. Great place!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing brunch. Had the pho and it was worth every penny. Always impressed with food quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service and atmosphere. I would recommend for anyone to try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dining experience was very nice. Food, service and overall dining were great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Choose this restaurant for a special occasion or make any day special by dining at Sargasso, the food and service are that good. From the taste of the food you can tell the ingredients is fresh and the chefs focus on making each dish a culinary delight. This was my second visit and I will be looking for more reasons to visit Morgantown so I can dine at Sargasso.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was different but not bad. The steak was very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful and delicious meal. Kim took great care of us which made the evening very nice

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Yes this is a pricey restaurant , but the food was delicious and beautifully prepared . Wine suggestion by staff was right on! Would recommend for special occasions as dinner for 2 with moderately priced bottle of wine and dessert will exceed $150.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good food. It's a bit expensive, but the portions are great because it will leave you with just enough room for a filling dessert

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great lunch. I love the soups here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Graduation dinner! Very yummy. Server seemed a little wet behind the ears- food, as always, amazing. Recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Unfortunately the food was cold. We were one of the only tables yet service want great. Drinks were forgotten, water left unfilled, and our food was visibly left under the lamps for quite an extended period of time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Celebrated our first wedding anniversary here and it was wonderful! The food was amazing and the service was great! We'll definitely come back for special occasions and the occasionally nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always- wonderful. Best environment in morgantown, elegant, comfortable- a place that always impress out of town friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was great and the service was good. They need to improve on the wine selections and the overall price was high compared to the area...But all in all we had a great experience..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was VERY slow. Our food was dry and some hard from sitting under the warming lights for close to 40 minutes. Will not eat there again any time soon. We were a party of eight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sargasso is the best restaurant in Morgantown. Excellent wine list, food, service and friendly staff. High quality restaurant that delivers excellent food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Sargasso has a warm atmosphere. We enjoyed two hours of great conversation and good food. We did not feel rushed, but the service was not slow. We were greater warmly by all staff and the food presentation was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always great food...and that nice corner table in the main room.....but the service has always been questionable. We ordered right just after the noon hour and it took forever for our food to arrive. The place did not get busy until around 12:30, and even then it was not a full house.

The slowness of service has always been my main contention with Sargasso. Otherwise, everything else is always very, very good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had 5 for post-game dinner. My Marlin was dry. Others enjoyed their meals: pork chop, salmon, steak, pasta. I have had other great meals at Sargasso. I will give them another chance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Every aspect of the experience was delightful. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was delicious. Gluten free bread was our #1 favorite. However, desserts were a bit on the "too sweet" side. I know there are people who like them really sweet, but I would appreciate if you could make it less sweet and add a small cup of syrup or sauce on the side to make an adjustment of sweetness to cover wider range of customers. Overall, good food, great atmosphere and great experience. Our guest enjoyed the dinner very much. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first visit to Sargasso. We are new to the Morgantown, WV area and were celebrating out 22nd wedding anniversary. The food was outstanding. Great atmosphere also.
The choice of each dish was unique and each bite was a burst of flavor. The ability to taste each ingredient in the prepared soup, salad and main dish was wonderful. Many compliments to the chef(s). Our server was friendly and attentive.

We have traveled the world and spent time at a multitude of 5 star restaurants and Sargasso is in our top 5 meals of our dining experiences.

We will return!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were in town for the weekend visiting our daughter who is attending WVU. We wanted to take her somewhere special. I really had no idea about restaurants in the area but got lucky finding Sargasso. It was just what we wanted. It was quiet and relaxed so we could talk. I struggled over the special NY Strip and the fillet. I went with the strip and my daughter the fillet. Both were excellent. My husband got the lamb chops and loved them. The calamari was an exceptional start. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was excellent but service was lacking. Ambiance very nice but TV's were not getting high definition signal and a bit blurry and not full screen.
Restaurant also has a 10% surcharge on total bill for what they claim as higher wages (a good thing) but not sure what the tip should be. I left another 10% but a little confusing how to handle the tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We visited on a Friday evening. The restaurant was not busy but service was poor.

Our waitress forgot about us several times (when we requested a second glass of wine, when we requested our check). Our waitress brought us the wrong food, too.

Food was very expensive for what you get and where you are (Morgantown not NYC). They automatically add 10% service charge to ALL bills (not just large parties). Our service was so poor that 10% was too much. I guess the servers don't have to try as hard since the tip is mandatory.

We are in Morgantown about 20 weekends a year but we will not be going to this restaurant ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Finally made it to the Buzz! A fun wine tasting theme event at bar. The three wines selected were wonderful includung a brut champagne from Austria, a Chenin Blanc from South Africa, and a great Cabernet Franc from the Fingerlakes! They offer some nice complimentary snack as well. I ordered the mushroom soup and steak frites which i enjoyed both. If in Morgantown on a Wednesday, stop by from 530 to 7 and enjoy the Buzz, a fun time with many others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Brought a group here for business meeting and everything was outstanding. Private room in back is perfect for group of 12 or less and service was very good. Food is always the best Morgantown has to offer and the same can be said of Wine list. Feature was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.