Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 43 times today

Sardine Factory

4.5
2569 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 49 years under the same ownership and management! Voted "Best Restaurant in Monterey" by Monterey County Herald and Carmel Pine Cone readers.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(831) 373-3775
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For over 49 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, our professional and warmly attentive staff assists in coordinating each detail, eliminating stress and ensuring that the planning is as enjoyable as the event itself. The Sardine Factory offers three unique and elegant dining rooms, which provide a choice of ambiance for groups of 12 to 220 guests. Personalizing an event to your group's particular needs is our specialty. Call our Private Events Manager at 831-373-3775 to discuss how The Sardine Factory can help you to create an unequaled memory for your private party. http://sardinefactory.com/private-events/
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Dawn Rodriguez: (831) 373-6625
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Prescott
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2569 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

This is the third visit that my wife and I have paid to The Sardine Factory. Each one has been unique in that the experience has been tailored to each occasion. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and our accommodations while we were there.

Our server Orlando did a magnificent job of making this latest experience memorable for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We had a free night in Monterey and chose to go to the Sardine Factory for dinner. We were absolutely delighted that they had a super inexpensive special menu before 6 pm. The food was great, the service was spectacular. Enjoyable and delicious all the way around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Very good service. Early menu with good pricing. Good kid menu. Good experience for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We found unusual and fresh approaches in their seafood diahes.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I ordered their Prime Rib, Medium Rare. It came well done and by the time the waitress came by to check on us, my husband was almost finished with his dinner. So, I did not want to wait for another dinner. However, the restaurant did deduct the price of my dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Celebrated mom's birthday here and we pleased with the relaxed atmosphere, menu variety and attentive service. We had the lobster, salmon, pork chop and chopped salad and all were excellent. We will return and not just for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Their service was great, and the food was wonderful, if a little over the top. Very rich, so make sure to order sparingly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We ordered the 40 oz ribeye. Was cooked perfectly and was seasoned exactly how I like it. Three of us shared it with a pasta side and a salad. The grilled veggies were great too. Next time I am in Monterey, will definitely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

A Classic for 50 years on famous Cannery Row -- same family owners.
A "do not miss" experience for visitors to Monterey.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Very sad experience! Planned the trip for over two months and then to be rushed through, with kids screaming on both sides, was unacceptable. I will not waste my time coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Our waitress Rachel was outstanding! Very attentive, kind and made us feel like valued guests. The lobster ravioli was the best I have ever had!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The service was excellent, tables are a little close together for fine dining. My meal was good but the filet was very small and not worth the price it was covered with about a cup of mushrooms, so it was more of a mushrooms with three large week done bites of steak. The baby ice berg lettuce was huge and very good, enough for two people. Our child's red sauce was way too spicy, and the waiter took care of it for us. I would stay just too pricey for the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

The Sardine Factory is a must on any visit I make to Monterey/Santa Cruz area. In my opinion it is the best restaurant in Monterey and surrounding area. I have never been disappointed in any menu selection as well as libations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Lamb was a little and we could have used a sharper knife. Soup was great, salad was tasty, lamb was plentiful but a little tough to cut. A little noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Excellent seafood and steaks! Service was awesome and the atmosphere is really neat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We had a great time at Sardine Factory. The service was excellent and the food was great to the last bite. We had a wonderful evening there celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary. Rich & Margaret Rodriguez

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Wonderful food and service but very pricy and small portions

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Good classic food. Nothing innovative but what they have is very tasty and well -done. A very nice seafood/steak house.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

It was our second time here. Food was great but the service was horrible! First our waiter Aaron did not bring us the right wine so we had to ask to change it. I don’t know if they really pay attention to a brand of the wine you want or just normally bring you “your red”. So be careful and ask to see the bottle so you can see what is actually in your wine glass. Then our food took super long to get to our table. Waiters were not in focus and made our date night very uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Wonderful experience for my birthday !!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 28, 2018

I realize sardine factory has been around 50 years, for such a grand lady you expect much better. They are existing on reputation instead of putting effort into creativity, and taste. Even their old standbys need help. Our server Don really made the evening. His willingness to be real with us made the experience successful. Food in not why you come here, you come because you want to pay homage to another time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We had a wonderful experience at The Sardine Factory. The entire staff we really friendly and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Have been going here for about 38 years. My wife and I were celebrating our 39th anniversary and the accommodations were superb. Had the best table in the restaurant, right by the fireplace in an almost private room. One of the few places that serves abalone as a main course. Delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Fantastic ambience, food and service! Wine cellar tour was fun, as was delicious flaming dessert. Ice swans were piece Dr resistance. Our family will remember our dinner for years to come.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is a place I had been wanting to visit for years. The restaurant itself is very beautiful. The service was excellent. However the food itself was not the quality I was expecting. I am not sure I would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Very accommodating, great service, food & wine menu. Also nice piano bar open till later. Very lively & friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great food great service. Wayyyy overpriced. Plan on close to $300.00

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Best lobster ever!!!! I have enjoyed everything I have ever ordered here, but the lobster is worth the 3 hour drive by itself. The service is excellent, wine list the size of the phonebook, beautifully decorated. This place never disappoints. It is my favorite restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The Sardine factory is a special place to dine when visiting Monterey/Cannery Row. The service was great- we were not able to sit in atrium due to a party but the staff was gracious enough to give us a peek at it. We had fun ordering the ice swan and bonbons for dessert. It is pricey, but worth it for a memorable vacation experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Beautiful setting inside the glass enclosed patio area. Excellent food accompanied by exceptional service. We will return again for an encore of this wonderful experience in dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Great service / Good drinks / Good food / Impressive wine cellar

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Very slow service. Having eaten there before, I was disappointed that they didn’t have fresh fish specials. The Food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

great experience. encore for sure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Very good food but the place is not cool. There is no atmosphere there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Very good meal and very good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Fantastic food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Everything was very good!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Awful! Waited forever for drinks and the food. Close to 1.5 hours for dinner to come and the restaurant wasn’t busy. Could never get the waiters attention for another drink. He forgot the side dishes. Dinner came cold. Way overpriced. Tourist trap. Would never go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

My husband I arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation. We sat at our table without water or menus for 15 min. Finally received water and menus then waited another 20 min to order with our menus laying on our plates. Once we received our food and everything was eaten, we sat for another 20 min waiting to order our desserts. Once desserts were eaten we waited another 20 min for our bill and after waiting another 20 min we took our bill up to the bar to pay. We felt like our waiter was more focused on the other, wealthier people than on us. We spent over $220 for our meal. We might not be the wealthiest that you see in your restaurant but we make pretty decent money. We felt forgotten. Besides the service, our meal was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Only let down was they were out of Prime Rib on a Saturday evening by 6:30. Everything else was great, we had our hearts set on prime rib. Fodd as always was excellent.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
65