Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Sardine Factory

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 48 years under the same ownership and management!

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For over 48 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: (831) 373-6625

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Romantic (58)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Notable Wine List (44)
Historic (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Cozy (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Fireplace (22)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Business Meals (12)
People Watching (11)
Private Room (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Live Music (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent choice of entrees with great specials. Service was excellent and good ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday for my husband was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We checked in on time and we're told they're running a little late which was fine because there's entertainment at the bar area and we ordered cocktail while waiting. Not long and we got seated. The whole experience was fantastic - the food, the service, the ambience. We did indulge.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

food was good
service good
will be back
will recommend to our friends and family tondone here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was overpriced and underwhelming. The sell is the unique milieu. Work on the menu and pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Really good food!! Service could be improved. The waiter forgot a drink and a side dish.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Unbelievable food and service with a very unique seating in what is known as the "conservatory" room added up to the most amazing dining experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Glad they didn't run out of prime rib unlike our last experience there. Nice Mother's day dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great mother's day dinner at the Sardine Factory, one of our favorite local restaraunts. We've been there many times over the past 40 years. My pasta with wild mushrooms and shrimp was perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sardine Factory NEVER fails to WOW me!!! The food, service, and atmosphere is the best in Monterey County!!

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Authentic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love the bean spread that comes with the bread. Good atmosphere. Reservation right on time. Friendly dining guests next to us in Atrium. Bob bons were great for my husband. The best ice vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

i took my family here for mothers day. party of 5. great menu choices - pleased everyone. exceptional wine list. I think its the best fine dining experience I've had in the bay. the waiter and sommelier were very fun, professional and made our evening. I couldn't be more pleased. exceeded all expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great ambiance, but overpriced, especially on wine. They charged us extra for the birthday cake even though we didn't ask for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My 93-year-old mother absolutely loves the conservatory dining room. The calamari was fabulous as was the Monterey Bay clam chowder and the fresh bread. Both salads were very mediocre and the prime rib while very large was not in its natural juice but rather some concocted gravy which detracted from the taste of the prime rib.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary weekend with 2 dinners on Friday and Saturday nights. Everyone from the host and hostess, servers, and the "wine guy" treated us like rock stars. It was a truly memorable experience. The food, service, and ambiance was amazing. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cuisine excellent best ever. Service friendly helpful and prompt. Pricey but well worth the experience

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Sardine Factory is a Monterey tradition, with and excellent creative menu. It's pricey, but it's food and ambience make it worth the splurge.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As always, food and service quite good. However the outdoor greenhouse room was extremely noisy. Do not sit in that space if you wish to enjoy conversation with your dining companions.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Captains room was mellow and quiet with fireplace and coziness. The bar is also a great spot for just two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Horrible experience. My friend is still sick even now, after two days. Food was awful, meat tasted like Costco steak, shrimp was sickening, literally so. Decor is creepy and so are the waiters. Not worth the 200 bucks spent. Not even worth twenty bucks. AVOID THIS TOURIST TRAP AT ALL COST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good food and service. 3 different dining rooms provide 3 different experiences. the garden type room is a little loud, quiet inner dining room and bar type more social so let them know what type of experience you desire.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We live in Carmel and usually don't like to drive out for dinner. Sure glad we did! Prime Rib was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had an outstanding time. Our server and the rest of the staff were great
I loved that it was quite and we could hear each other
Outside seating is beautiful
Good was great

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The atmosphere and service are fantastic; however, the food is nothing to write home about. The pork chop was too fatty, and the burger from the kids' menu was dry. We had expected more of such a nice place. Our party left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I first went to the Sardine Factory in the early 1970's. It was great then, continued to be super on every subsequent visit, and was equally as wonderful on this last visit. If we are in the Monterey/Carmel area, we are always certain to dine here. You get it right on every point. Great job!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The fireplace and bar area as you arrive sets the tone for a great evening. To eat in the Crystal room or the wine cellar are really a treat. We usually eat at the bar which is really great especially with the Big Mike replacement of "Andrew". Great conversation and service at its best. Special cocktails and accommodating for anything we needed. Since we were celebrating our 48 years together and my wife's birthday, he even made things better. We had the Lobster Ravioli's and they were incredible with a side of sauteed spinach. He made a special dessert for us called "The Andrew Surpise". French vanilla ice cream, chocolate syrup, crushed biscotti and Grand Mariner over the top. Absolutely incredible. Hats off to a great evening. Ask for Andrew.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nice restaurant. The ambiance was a little dated. Truffle tater tots were outstanding. Clam chowder is a must.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were seared early which we appreciated. However, after consuming the oysters my husband got very sick. With 5 of my 6 oysters I still had the shell and remnants after consuming the oyster. For such an upscale restaurant we were surprised at the lack of quality of the oysters. We also ordered the abalone soup (which they are known for). It tasted fine, but to me it was like a bacon and potato soup. No defined chunks of abalone. My husband couldn't finish his because he began to get ill and we left. The server was fine, and the wine list was extensive. A little crowded, it seemed they were trying to stuff more tables into a space than there should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Never disappoints! Absolute gem. Food is superb and the staff is outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The incredible service we received from the moment we entered until our departure made for a memorable celebratory birthday dinner! Food was excellent and matched by the professional, yet friendly, service. Our first time but certainly won't be our last!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Two bone rack of lamb was flavorful but over cooked, more medium well rather than medium rare as ordered.

Great tater tots.

World class service, especially from waiter Sunny who had excellent knowledge of the restaurant's history, as he should since he's been there for 39 years!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Took my father and husband to dinner here for their birthdays that are less than 2 weeks apart. We were celebrating my fathers 75th birthday so it was a very special occasion. When we entered the restaurant and the host greeted us, I instantly felt like we were out of place, he made me feel very uncomfortable. He sat us in the conservatory, which was beautiful but I felt like he wanted to stick us in the back of the restaurant. The waiter was very nice and accommodating but did not check on us very often. My husband's filet mignon was over cooked, food seemed a little over priced for what we got. Overall my experience was not horrible but to spend $300 on a dinner you weren't very happy with is upsetting. I don't think I'll return to the Sardine Factory.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Went to celebrate anniversary at this "Italian" food restaurant and were disappointed on two levels. Although server performed his job, that was all. Staff was totally disconnected from the patrons. Probably would've enjoyed the evening better somewhere else as food was not worth the price. Special evening ended up not so special.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Can't beat this classic dinner house with local flair.
Choose the elegant conservatory room or the more casual bar/club room.
Excellent menu and experienced wait staff. Extensive wine list.
Perfect to impress a date or mark a special occasion.
Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

my wife's chicken was bland and swimming in a greasy sauce. My was salted and covered in too much sauce. The waitress took both entrees off our bill. She was very attentive and saw that we barely ate anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Loved the food and service. Best place in town to eat...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We pretty much hated our experience. It was overrated. My food was over-cooked. The restaurant and menu was dated and very heavy. We would have preferred to have gone to a restaurant in Carmel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful service (thank you Annie) and absolutely beautiful dining room- the conservatory.
The food was perfect. A new place for us to sneak away to as a couple and to bring our family to :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent as usual. We often go for special occasions as well as just in mood for great dinner in a nice quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.