About Sardine Factory

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 47 years under the same ownership and management!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For 47 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: 8313736625x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
5 More
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (122)
romantic (104)
notable wine list (93)
See All
fit for foodies (79)
good for groups (38)
neighborhood gem (32)
vibrant bar scene (24)
scenic view (18)
hot spot (17)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for lunch (5)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was our daughter's birthday. Arvind was ...

Dined 4 days ago

Was our daughter's birthday. Arvind was excellent in recommending the champagne that she described she liked. Our waiter was excellent in describing the meals and recommending the dishes. Sorry could not recall his name - maybe after the champagne and the sardine specialty beverage. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Expensive for the quality. Fish over coo ...

Dined 4 days ago

Expensive for the quality. Fish over cooked. But great wine list.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you for the amazing anniversary di ...

Dined 7 days ago

Thank you for the amazing anniversary dinner and complimentary dessert. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening with amazing Annie as our server.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Surprising Interior Design

Dined on May 22, 2016

The interior design was not what we expected. It is very lovely an elegant. The food was excellent and the service attentive. We ate in the Captains Room which took you back in time. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very accommodating of my dietary needs. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Very accommodating of my dietary needs. The Conservatory (where we are) would be perfect for a private party such as wedding reception.

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

As early made to wait for table to be ma ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

As early made to wait for table to be made up only to find for 4 and we were 2 No menu given whilst waiting and staff more like go between so kitchen and customer Poor value for money with food not presented well

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Wife and I spent our anniversary dinner ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wife and I spent our anniversary dinner here. Food was great, service was good, and ambience was kind of weird.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5

Clam chowder is good. Abalone bisque jus ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Clam chowder is good. Abalone bisque just ok.

food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Way too expensive, won't return, Can on ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Way too expensive, won't return, Can only afford once, don't fit in your rich class people

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Early Dining is Exquisite 3 course on budget

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The early dining is a prix fixe 3 course meal with full size portions of excellent food. We made an event out of it for our family of four. We all had the prix fixe, but we added a few appetizers. We also brought a special wine for our occasion. We also used Johnny the Sommelier and had him recommend a wine to start with. He has never steared us wrong. It was a wonderful wine. The meals were great. Our wait staff was excellent as well. The Sardine Factory is probably the best fine dining experience in Monterey. The early pre fixe makes it more affordable for dining more often or for entry level folks. We have dined here many times over the years and have never been disappointed in anything on the menu. It is always incredible. The amazing thing is that unlike other restaurants...they do not reduce the portion sizes on their prix fixe meals. It is just as abundant and tasty as any other meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Lovely Evening

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The service was fun, personal -- overall outstanding. Great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We are not pretentious people, but the f ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We are not pretentious people, but the food here was awful. We thought eating anywhere in Monterey would be fine- we were wrong. Please do not throw away your money. The inside is beautiful, but that is all. Everything else-bad. McDonald food is better

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Service was very good, from our greeting ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was very good, from our greeting at the door to the table. The setting was warm and nostalgic. Food was fine, but overpriced. Calamari basket was solid but $19 is too much. I had the swordfish, which was good, but nothing special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If I could give a higher score for ambia ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

If I could give a higher score for ambiance than 5, I would. We had a lovely time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Service was pretty slow and spotty. They ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was pretty slow and spotty. They brought us a melon ball on the house because of the slow service, which I'm pretty sure is their standard practice. Service did not improve though. After hearing about this place from the Somm movie, we came for dinner because of their excellent selection of wine. The sommelier, however, was not helpful. We told him what we normally enjoy but that we would like to try something different. He was afraid to recommend anything different so we had to just pick one on our own. The wine was good, but he was not helpful at all. The food was pretty good, but it was way overpriced for what we got. Happy hour in the lounge was neat beforehand, and was reasonably priced. After our dinner though, we noticed that they do a second happy hour late at night and the low prices attract a level of clientele that probably does not pay the prices to eat dinner there.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best prime rib I think I ever had .... L ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Best prime rib I think I ever had .... Loved the twice baked potato ! Great service as well

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the evening of our engagement and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was the evening of our engagement and we were pampered our entire visit. We want to thank the Sardine Factory for a fabulous evening. Everything was fantastic from the moment we entered the restaurant, escorted to our table, reviewed the wine list, served our appetizer, had our champagne, tasted our fabulous wine, served our salad and entree, finished with a marvelous desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service from servers was terrific. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service from servers was terrific. Food delicious and attentive. The complimentary dessert to celebrate our anniversary was a nice surprise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5

Did not cater to GF menu in the past the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Did not cater to GF menu in the past they did. Initially told they had a full dessert menu and than told they didn't

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Yes it is expensive but the food is delicious .

Dined on May 8, 2016

Well worth the extra price for an unforgettable meal. Perfect for that special occasion and when you want to really impress. The food is wonderful. The settings are cozy and the wait staff is attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite in Monterey!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had walked by the Sardine Factory for years and finally decided to go in and give it a try. We fell in love with the restaurant on our first visit. The Conservatory is great, the food incredible and the wine list is remarkable. We regret not experiencing this great restaurant sooner and made it our new favorite when visiting Cannery Row.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent, beyond extensive wine list. Superb service. Food is outstanding. Just as good as our last visit. No wonder that it's rated best in Monterrey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We always come here when we are in the a ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We always come here when we are in the area. Everything is delicious, my fav is the abalone bisque and the NY strip. Ooh and the cheesecake

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10/10 will definitely be going again!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Took my mom out for her birthday, neither of us had been there before. We did the Prix fixe dinner, it was amazing and a deal! The service was great and the atmosphere was calm and perfect. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What can I say. One of the top restaur ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

What can I say. One of the top restaurants in Monterey. Experiences professional management and staff. Fantastic wine list with some real well chosen "value for money" picks for every price point.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Value

Dined on May 3, 2016

This is a special place that is well known. Even though we live in the area we had not been to the Sardine Factory. It is very expensive so one expects the best. I thought the food was less than spectacular (for the cost). The service was good, but not great. Overall I think I could fine better for the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It has very good food. And good service. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

It has very good food. And good service. But very overpriced, especially wine. Some wines were 4 times retail, which is high by even the standards of upscale restaurants. Would not return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner at the Sardine Factory! ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Wonderful dinner at the Sardine Factory! Food was amazing and service excellent. And the nice touches with dessert were a treat. Thank you so much. We would love to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reunion

Dined on April 25, 2016

During our weekend mini family reunion, we decided to have dinner at the Sardine Factory. Several members of the party had never dined here before. We were thrilled that we were seated in the conservatory room, as requested. Our waiter was excellent, friendly, attentive. The food was amazing, as usual. And although we were a large party, we never felt rushed to hurry through dinner and make room for others. It was a wonderful place to have meaningful conversations with family members and enjoy a delicious meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good time - Good food

Dined on April 24, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at the Sardine factory on the 23rd of April. The waiters were friendly and provided just the right amount of service. I chose an inexpensive bottle of wine but was treated the same as if I chose one o the more expensive bottles. We tried the Abalone bisque and it was really good.along with the Sardine appetizer. My wife ordered the Halibut and I had the diver scallops. The seafood was perfectly cooked and even the vegetable were treated like a main course as they were perfectly cooked also.I would definitely go back when we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very Enjoyable

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a very enjoyable meal in the wonderful greenhouse portion of the restaurant. A first for me to try abalone in the abalone soup, which was nice to hear had been features at Presidents Reagan’s Inaugural. My guest had a wonderful filet while I enjoyed the halibut for the entree. Twice baked potatoes were also very good. Hope to return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice but sorta pricey and fancy to ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very nice but sorta pricey and fancy to bring kids (kids dislike fancy stuff). I.e. Great for a date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW, Perfect evening!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Still the best place for those of us who expect the very bestwhen dining on the Monterey Peninsula. The Sardine Factory always has excellent service, delicious food, and beautiful ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An iconic classic that does NOT disappoint!

Dined on April 22, 2016

For many years, this place has been famous both for its food and its incredibly beautiful interior including a spectacular glass domed conservatory and a gilded golden ladies room that will make you want to take pictures because no one will believe how ornate it is! Gorgeous! But the food is what makes this place really stand out. Everything we ordered on a recent visit was perfection. Nothing could have been improved upon. Whether it was my fish or hubby's meat entree, EVERYTHING was perfect! That doesn't happen very often and we really appreciated the obvious attention to detail and expertise that went into every item on every plate, including all of the veggies and sides. And the dessert was stellar too! For decades The Sardine Factory has maintained the highest level of quality foods and dining perfection; it was a revelation to return after several years and experience the same amazingly high quality of food and service that we enjoyed before. Simply extraordinary! Bravo, Sardine Factory!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 17, 2016

Ate here twice on this trip. Perfect ribeye, great wine and super friendly service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Presentation of food was perfection.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Pricy but worth it. Staff was attentive and accomodating. Had a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

It was my birthday. They knew it. Waite ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was my birthday. They knew it. Waiter was grumpy. Food mediocre. Not offered dessert for my b/d.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Monterey experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

They never fail in the experience to make you feel special. Your treated the same as they if you were a celebrity or the common man. They elevate the customer experience. It's a Monterey Treasure for us the last 35 plus years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Try the specials!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Be sure to ask to see he wine cellar. Very impressed

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good, just one downside for us

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food and atmosphere was great. Atrium is beautiful. We came for the early bird dinner which is a 3 course meal that is great on all levels. The only down side was that the waiter was notable miffed that we did not order from the main menu which is much more pricy than the early bird dinner. I still would recommend this to my friends but when I come back I am going to request another waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.