About Sardine Factory

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 48 years under the same ownership and management!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For over 48 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: (831) 373-6625

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Notable Wine List (35)
Historic (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Business Meals (18)
Authentic (18)
Fireplace (17)
Casual (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Private Room (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (8)
Live Music (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Waterfront (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I chose this place to celebrate my anniv ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

I chose this place to celebrate my anniversary. The food was exquisite. The atmosphere was so inviting. The room we were sitting it was beautiful. The evening was perfect in everyway.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, , Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Private Room, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit every 5-6 years for the past 46 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

We visit every 5-6 years for the past 46 years and are always very pleased with the drinks, wines, food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I expected more from such a popular rest ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

I expected more from such a popular restaurant but our entrees were disappointing to say the least. The appetizers and our waiter was great. We are foodies so we were hoping for some amazing cuisine but I guess it is more tourist catered than we like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Delightful as usual. We had the Valentin ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Delightful as usual. We had the Valentines multi course dinner. It was wonderful. Our sommelier Johnny recommended a wonderful white Burgundy in our price range to pair with our starters. He's always been great to us and makes our dining experience complete.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dining there on Valentines Day. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We were dining there on Valentines Day. The service was great & the food was very good with the exception of the cold lobster bisque. We ordered the prix fixe menu, which can be mediocre, but the main entree (filet) was cooked perfectly. One goes to Sardine Factory knowing it is not cheap, but it was a little disappointing. Our table was near the kitchen and entryway, so constant stream of people flowing past. Out the door, with the least expensive wine, our bill was well over $200 for two. Be prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a lovely Valentines dinner. Four of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a lovely Valentines dinner. Four of us enjoyed the prix fixe filet which was cooked perfectly. Requested a table in the Conservatory and wasn't disappointed. Prior to dinner had cocktails in the bar. Both bartenders were friendly and accommodating. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, fresh, locally sourced and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing food, fresh, locally sourced and the The World Famous" Abalone Bisque was as advertised, incredible!! Excellent service, unique décor and we enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With my wife!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

With my wife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've frequented many restaurants in the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've frequented many restaurants in the Monterey Bay for years, yet never visited The Sardine Factory although heard many rave reviews and recommenations by friends so decided it was time to experience this historical restaurant. Perhaps years of high praise raised my expectations of the dining experience; however I don't believe this was the case as my husband and I dine out quite often, preferring family and small business venues over chain or tourist traps. The Sardine Factory's dining rooms were lovely, and the host escorting us to the table quite friendly. The waiter was slow, focusing more on our water and took a long time to serve the wine, take our order while we watched him take several minutes to focus on resetting a table which I found odd. The food was okay, but way overpriced based on the quality. The Prime Rib was over seasoned and cooked (I requested medium rare), the vegetables were soggy, and the Caesar Salad was drenched in dressing. I did like the homemade hummus, but that shouldn't have been the headline item which isn't even part of the menu. I also noticed the extensive wine list was quite overpriced compared to other fine restaurants.

In general, the restaurant was okay, but given the high priced menu for ordinary quality food, and average service not worth paying for the historical ambiance and getting short changed on the overall dining experience. So, I will say...been there, done that, no need to go back.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

First time. It was nice. I had a soup an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time. It was nice. I had a soup and the snails. An hour or so later, I had food poison. Could not leave the restroom for a couple of hours. Ruined my hotel stay. My family enjoyed but felt bad for me.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Dining with my 15-year-old daughter we w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dining with my 15-year-old daughter we were sat by the maître d', who told us if we would have a romantic experience. Really? Waiter brought me wine list after asking him 4 times. food came fairly quickly but he brought us the wrong entrées.

Dinner for two was $150, but overall experience was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The only thing that kept this experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The only thing that kept this experience from being perfect was a somewhat reserved and aloof waiter. He did seem to warm up as the evening progressed and otherwise provided flawless service. The calamari was the best that I have ever experienced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Rachel, our waitperson, was super! And.. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Rachel, our waitperson, was super!

And.. I wish I could remember her name... the Maitre d' was as well.

The room in which we ate was delightful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is advertised as one of the p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This place is advertised as one of the premier Fine Dining establishments on the Monterey Peninsula. The facility lives up to that reputation, but the food was AWFUL. Three of us had three awful entrees (ahi, clam linguine, and calamari.) The food was very 1950s and tasted as though it had been around since then. This was supposed to be a special 80th B-day treat. The bill was big but the enjoyment/value was miniscule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We came here for our 4 year anniversary. ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We came here for our 4 year anniversary. We had come in to town for only a couple of days. This is by far the best place to dine in the area. The wait staff is the best around. We had Don taking care of us and he was just great and Louis helping out as well. The food was delicious as always. I had the filet cooked medium rare and it was exactly how I Like it. My husband had the King Salmond and crab with a light hollandaise sauce. I'm not much a Salmon fan but his was very delicious. Then we were presented with a lovey dessert for our anniversary. This place really does go above and beyond.

On another note...they also have an amazing Happy Hour 7days a week, with live music. We got into town a little late the night prior to dinner and we didn't want anything fast foodish. So popped around Yelp to see what was open and saw they had happy hour earlier in the day that we had missed but they also had it from 9:30-10:30pm (everyday) the menu was extensive especially for a happy hour menu and the drinks were wonderful. Do yourself a favor and try this place if you haven't already.

By the next evening when we can back, the staff remembered us. That is always nice.

Thank you Sardine Factory for always going out of the way to make us feel special and taking care of our needs even before we needed to ask.

On a side note. If you have time, find Donald and as for a tour of the cellar. It is truly something everyone should see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my son for his 40th birthday. They ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Took my son for his 40th birthday. They even brought him a cake with candle. We all loved the food, he particularly wanted calamari steak and we checked out all the menus in Monterey and finally found it at the Sardine Factory.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the overall restaurant w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service and the overall restaurant was very good. The food was good but our calamari appitizer was over cooked and the lobster was good buy an odd coupling to be laying in a rague of beans.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Sardine Factory has been our favorit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Sardine Factory has been our favorite restaurant in Monterey for many years. Service has always been excellent and very professional. The Wine Cellar private dining room is the best we have ever reserved in thirty years of family dining in private rooms. Don is one of if not the best waiter we have ever had wait on us and we dine out frequently and in some of the best restaurants in San Francisco. The Sardine Factory is a must go to restaurant in Monterey/Pacific Grove area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, , Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very overcooked and over season ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was very overcooked and over seasoned. Clams Linguini should not have the pasta cooked in clam juice and the clams should be lightly cooked to opening, so as not to be tough. Scallops should not be swimming in a highly seasoned sauce so that their flavor is masked. A light touch is necessary. And Clam Chowder should have a delicate side, not with so much going on that you can't tell it's a clam chowder, or what spices are even used. The Spumoni was interesting and OK with an interesting assortment of dried fruit and nuts, but could have been finished better to have the gelato with no ice crystals.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We really enjoy the frozen Swans that th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We really enjoy the frozen Swans that the sorbet between the appetizer and entree is served on. My wife keeps hers through dinner and enjoys it through desert.

The Sardine Factory is a yearly favorite of ours when we are in town for our timeshare. They did not disappoint this year. Food, ambiance, and service was top notch.

Michael & Mary Jo

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good. Tuna was very goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was very good. Tuna was very good. Scampi was OK. Our server Mason was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

A wonderful anniversary celebration for ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A wonderful anniversary celebration for out-of-town guests who have dined in the past when in town.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was beautifully decorated. Service w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was beautifully decorated. Service was great. It was a nice quiet environment with low conversation around you from other tables but you could still have your own conversation without a problem.

Food was excellent and the menu had options for everyone's taste.

Their drinks were also done very well. They didn't skimp on the alcohol in the cocktails.

The 20% off coupon for a special occasion was also a great plus. Would go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Totally enjoyable. From the moment we ar ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Totally enjoyable. From the moment we arrived until we departed all was FIRST-CLASS.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and service, the ambiance was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and service, the ambiance was very comfortable!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. We met the chef and we're t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Outstanding. We met the chef and we're treated like old friends. Were seated in the conservatory and received excellent service from the staff. The food was top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, poor service got the wrong d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, poor service got the wrong dish had to wait and got wrong check. Pretty disappointed with servive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Bartenders before dinner we only paying ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Bartenders before dinner we only paying attention to the people they knew. I asked a few questions about the place and food they kept it short got distracted and forgot to finish up the conversation. Our waiter was awesome and so was the guy who helped out with the wine list. We had a great dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great time celebrating my siste ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great time celebrating my sister's birthday. The food was delicious and the service was great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made my daughter's 16th birthday special

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Made my daughter's 16th birthday special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our patronage goes back over 40 yrs. Whe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Our patronage goes back over 40 yrs. When we go to Monterey we always make it a point to dine here. It's consistently good with great wine & menu selections. This time it was a family birthday celebration & the overall experience was as good as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been visiting the Sardine Factor ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been visiting the Sardine Factory since May 22, 1972, our first wedding anniversary. Each visit has been a wonderful eating experience with impeccable service, lovely atmosphere and an exciting menu. We were able to visit with the Owner/Master Chef Bert Cutino a gracious and amiable host at the beginning of our latest dining experience. We would and have recommended the Sardine Factory to anyone we know that is heading to the Monterey Peninsula.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, , Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Main courses were delicious! Wine list w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Main courses were delicious! Wine list was extensive. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed a delightful eveni ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed a delightful evening in the Captain's Table room which was decorated beautifully for New Year's Eve. Our scampi rigatoni, salmon topped with fresh crab, and a side of jack cheese mashed potatoes were served attractively and were delicious. I selected this cozy room with a nice fireplace nearby because of the ambiance and where the four of use could converse and hear each other.

We had great service and enjoyed James wait ability to be attentive and unobtrusive. He was very personable and pleasant. The friendly valet service was also appreciated. We all enjoyed our experience at this fabulous and renowned restaurant. We I'll be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, a wonderful experience. Great ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, a wonderful experience. Great service! Wonderful treat for my son and mother.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. A family had 4 kids and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great evening. A family had 4 kids and did not / could not control their youngest. She ran all over the retaurant. Very annoying. I paid for a nice New Years Eve meal not a session at pre-school

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Bert Cutino and his staff at Sardine Fac ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Bert Cutino and his staff at Sardine Factory are so great, never had a bad experience and their menu is tasty and presentation is super....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Live Music, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, , Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Dancing, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service, food was cold (Twice), and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Poor service, food was cold (Twice), and forgot our salads. Did not receive a discount for cold food or partial order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The entire staff was awesome and helped ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The entire staff was awesome and helped my family with celebrating my dad's birthday! The food was excellent, it's was an inviting atmosphere and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average and not worth the $$$.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Average and not worth the $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.