Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Sardine Factory

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 48 years under the same ownership and management!

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For over 48 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: (831) 373-6625

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate Easter Sunday at The Sardine Factory with a special Easter Lunch. $39 for a three-course prix fixe, featuring soup or salad, entree and dessert. We will also be serving specialty appetizers and entrees. Serving Lunch from 11:30 - 2:00 pm, Dinner 4:00 - 8:00 pm.

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (45)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Notable Wine List (28)
Historic (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fireplace (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (9)
Casual (9)
Live Music (8)
People Watching (8)
Private Room (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Pefect for a date night, is a really special place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional service and delicious food in an unparalleled ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was excellent. Ambience was nice. The mussels were very tasty. We had the abalone dinner and veal and lobster dinner. Abalone was good. Veal was tough. The lobster was extremely small and doused in the same sauce as the veal. The sauce was very bland. They gave us a complimentary ice cream dipped in chocolate dessert to make up for the veal. It would have been better had they allowed us to choose a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

If the Sardine Factory is a very pleasant place to dine, quality in all areas reliable. The butterfish special I had their proved excellent.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Sardine Factory was, as usual, stellar. W were seated in the Atrium room. The service was impeccable; Felix was great. The food and atmosphere were superb. The octopus salad plus crab cakes appetizers were the perfect size for a meal. Others enjoyed the diver scallops and the sand dabs.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great ambiance,service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My first return to the Sardine Factory in 37 years and I was not disappointed in either the quality of the food, nor the solicitous wait staff. The only negative was a band and noisy crowd in an adjoining (?) room which was antithetical to the quiet, elegant baroque decor.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Must go to/see in Monterey. Amazing green room dining room. Very ornately decorated down to the restrooms. Some nights have live pianist who can play ANYTHING! Food is decadent and well prepared. If you have the loot get the abalone!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I wish I could give them more stars, it was that good!! The service was amazing, the food the best! You cant find a better place in Monterey! It was my wife's birthday and what a great place to celebrate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The Sardine Factory has best food Aged grass fed meat.Excellent Sardines.The decor is so beautiful.There is a glass dome that is in one room.You feel like you stepped back in time.The service is first class.It is an all around experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our waiter, Marty, was wonderful and helped to make our anniversary celebration special. The female manager invited us on a private tour of the underground wine cellar. It was amazing and made our evening even more special!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The calamari puffs are way overrated and when you order them you get mostly regular fried calamari and almost no puffs. The dinner was nothing special and we will pass next time!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It's a nice place to eat every so often it's a little pricey the food is very very rich it's about a hundred bucks a plate on average for us. It's definitely a place to indulge.

Haven't been here for a 6 years because had a bad experience last time my friend had ordered a glass of wine they brought him a bottle corked it in front of him and he got the bill for 400 bucks which he disputed and they charge him for a glass after that but we're very rude about it they should have let him know that caused a bad experience for us. But for some reason that many years ago they were very pushy about trying to get the bill as high as possible they were pushing the most expensive dishes I'm not sure why that was. But it happened 2 times in a row that's why we have not gone there for so long. That's the pushing the prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food average restaurant living in the past atmosphere non existent .
Don't sit next to exit in conservatory cold .
Give it a wide berth much better restaurants in Monterey
over rated and disappointing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent as ever, both the food and the service. One negative was excessive raw garlic both in a side dish and a special (stuffed gigantic prawns).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The food and service surpassed expectations. John, our sommelier, was friendly, witty and told great stories. I guess because the restaurant was not very busy on a Sunday night, we were given special attention. A memorable visit.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had our 30 year wedding anniversary dinner there.
Overall we had a fine time. Food was great.

Table placement was plopped in the middle of the atrium room. Was not intimate at all. Too close to the inside table, which even gave the waiters trouble to access and serve without interfering with our table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food!!! Service was fantastic and everyone was very friendly. We sat in the "glass dome" room and it was quite romantic. A bit on the more expensive side, but worth it if you can swing it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very disappointing dinner at Sardine Factory, marred mostly by poor sommelier. Food was ok - clam chowder a little watery, abelone bisque a little too smokey for my wife's taste, but the beef medallions and scallops otherwise good. Main issue was wine - I had question about choosing between a couple of Pinot Gris on the menu. The sommelier arrived and without even listening to my question explained to me condescendingly that Pinot Gris was the same as Pinot Grigio. I knew that. I then told him I was familiar with Etude wine and wanted his advice to choose between Etude Pinot Gris and a Pinot Gris from the Willamette Valley. He said he preferred the Etude (gave no explanation why!). When he came back I gave him another chance "Why do you prefer the Etude ?" and his initial answer was: "The taste" (I kid you not). I think he added one or two other things too after I raised an eyebrow, but it was like pulling teeth to get details. Plus the wine was barely cold, no wine bucket offered...

To be treated this way was frankly insulting - we were left feeling that seeing as we were tourists and likely knew nothing about wine it didn't matter what he said to us, and he didn't want to waste his time on us. Ironically, I have been to a private dinner held in the wine cellar of the Sardine Factory in the past, so know that the restaurant does know how to treat diners and actually does know a LOT about wine - none of that showed to us this weekend. Won't be going back in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very enjoyable dining experience. Food was good and all of the staff were very accommodating, from the hostess when we arrived, to the chef who came around to see how we enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We are locals and we always enjoy a nice evening at the Sardine Factory.
The fixed menu ( or sunset special) cannot be beat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was outstanding as we expected. I had the prime rib w/escargot starter. Wife had the red snapper special and octopus salad. Both very good. Service could have been a little better, but, they were not pushy. They were very fast. I would highly recommend to a friend and want to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Waterfront, Authentic, Disabled Access, Historic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I chose this place to celebrate my anniversary. The food was exquisite. The atmosphere was so inviting. The room we were sitting it was beautiful. The evening was perfect in everyway.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Private Room, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We visit every 5-6 years for the past 46 years and are always very pleased with the drinks, wines, food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I expected more from such a popular restaurant but our entrees were disappointing to say the least. The appetizers and our waiter was great. We are foodies so we were hoping for some amazing cuisine but I guess it is more tourist catered than we like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delightful as usual. We had the Valentines multi course dinner. It was wonderful. Our sommelier Johnny recommended a wonderful white Burgundy in our price range to pair with our starters. He's always been great to us and makes our dining experience complete.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there for a Valentine's Day price fixe offering. The food was tasty. Our waiter "Sammy" seemed to leave the area for long periods of time. We were looking for him to simply get our bill. Would have had a better time with a different waiter? Not sure but willing to try again.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were dining there on Valentines Day. The service was great & the food was very good with the exception of the cold lobster bisque. We ordered the prix fixe menu, which can be mediocre, but the main entree (filet) was cooked perfectly. One goes to Sardine Factory knowing it is not cheap, but it was a little disappointing. Our table was near the kitchen and entryway, so constant stream of people flowing past. Out the door, with the least expensive wine, our bill was well over $200 for two. Be prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a lovely Valentines dinner. Four of us enjoyed the prix fixe filet which was cooked perfectly. Requested a table in the Conservatory and wasn't disappointed. Prior to dinner had cocktails in the bar. Both bartenders were friendly and accommodating. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing food, fresh, locally sourced and the The World Famous" Abalone Bisque was as advertised, incredible!! Excellent service, unique décor and we enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

With my wife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've frequented many restaurants in the Monterey Bay for years, yet never visited The Sardine Factory although heard many rave reviews and recommenations by friends so decided it was time to experience this historical restaurant. Perhaps years of high praise raised my expectations of the dining experience; however I don't believe this was the case as my husband and I dine out quite often, preferring family and small business venues over chain or tourist traps. The Sardine Factory's dining rooms were lovely, and the host escorting us to the table quite friendly. The waiter was slow, focusing more on our water and took a long time to serve the wine, take our order while we watched him take several minutes to focus on resetting a table which I found odd. The food was okay, but way overpriced based on the quality. The Prime Rib was over seasoned and cooked (I requested medium rare), the vegetables were soggy, and the Caesar Salad was drenched in dressing. I did like the homemade hummus, but that shouldn't have been the headline item which isn't even part of the menu. I also noticed the extensive wine list was quite overpriced compared to other fine restaurants.
In general, the restaurant was okay, but given the high priced menu for ordinary quality food, and average service not worth paying for the historical ambiance and getting short changed on the overall dining experience. So, I will say...been there, done that, no need to go back.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dining with my 15-year-old daughter we were sat by the maître d', who told us if we would have a romantic experience. Really? Waiter brought me wine list after asking him 4 times. food came fairly quickly but he brought us the wrong entrées.
Dinner for two was $150, but overall experience was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The only thing that kept this experience from being perfect was a somewhat reserved and aloof waiter. He did seem to warm up as the evening progressed and otherwise provided flawless service. The calamari was the best that I have ever experienced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Rachel, our waitperson, was super!
And.. I wish I could remember her name... the Maitre d' was as well.

The room in which we ate was delightful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This place is advertised as one of the premier Fine Dining establishments on the Monterey Peninsula. The facility lives up to that reputation, but the food was AWFUL. Three of us had three awful entrees (ahi, clam linguine, and calamari.) The food was very 1950s and tasted as though it had been around since then. This was supposed to be a special 80th B-day treat. The bill was big but the enjoyment/value was miniscule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We came here for our 4 year anniversary. We had come in to town for only a couple of days. This is by far the best place to dine in the area. The wait staff is the best around. We had Don taking care of us and he was just great and Louis helping out as well. The food was delicious as always. I had the filet cooked medium rare and it was exactly how I Like it. My husband had the King Salmond and crab with a light hollandaise sauce. I'm not much a Salmon fan but his was very delicious. Then we were presented with a lovey dessert for our anniversary. This place really does go above and beyond.

On another note...they also have an amazing Happy Hour 7days a week, with live music. We got into town a little late the night prior to dinner and we didn't want anything fast foodish. So popped around Yelp to see what was open and saw they had happy hour earlier in the day that we had missed but they also had it from 9:30-10:30pm (everyday) the menu was extensive especially for a happy hour menu and the drinks were wonderful. Do yourself a favor and try this place if you haven't already.
By the next evening when we can back, the staff remembered us. That is always nice.

Thank you Sardine Factory for always going out of the way to make us feel special and taking care of our needs even before we needed to ask.

On a side note. If you have time, find Donald and as for a tour of the cellar. It is truly something everyone should see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Took my son for his 40th birthday. They even brought him a cake with candle. We all loved the food, he particularly wanted calamari steak and we checked out all the menus in Monterey and finally found it at the Sardine Factory.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service and the overall restaurant was very good. The food was good but our calamari appitizer was over cooked and the lobster was good buy an odd coupling to be laying in a rague of beans.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.