Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Sardine Factory

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 48 years under the same ownership and management!

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For over 48 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: (831) 373-6625

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Good for a Date (70)
See All
Romantic (67)
Notable Wine List (62)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Worth the Drive (30)
Cozy (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Authentic (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Historic (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Fun (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (12)
Fireplace (12)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Live Music (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Waterfront (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Service and staff were acceptional! Food was outstanding. So glad we were able to try this restaurant. I can understand now how they received so many "best of" awards.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This is an old well established restaurant, it is one of our favorite places in Monterey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We came here a few years back and really liked it; however they always try to seat us in another area when we do a special request for the atrium. This time I asked at the front desk and the guy said most likely we can then he called us back and proceeded to seat us elsewhere. We didn't even sit told him we wanted to sit in the atrium as the restaurant is very old looking besides the atrium it has a
totally different elegant vibe. He told us might be a 30 minute wait we told him we'll wait, 15 mins later they took us back. We had water we got at the bar luckily because throughout the entire time we were never offered water again. The waiter took our order & didn't return for one thing for 45 minutes. We were so confused as to why it was taking so long, and we were dehydrated wanted water yet nobody came by, finally we called him over when we could get his attention and got some water. Our food finally came out and the steak we got was the prime filet it was really good but we won't be back due to the very poor service it ruined our night as we expected so much more and had high hopes for the restaurant. We didn't even drink our wine as we were waiting for our food and we wanted water to stay hydrated as we had wine earlier as well, we expected the food to be out within 20 minutes or so or we could've ordered more apps while we waited, they didn't even offer that they simply tried to give us dessert but we didn't want anything except our check immediately after we were done eating we wanted to leave. We wanted to love this place again but from the beginning where the guy didn't even seat us jn the atrium or offer an explanation after we specifically asked to be seated there was just awkward in itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was better than I expected and mostly worth the money. Would go there again

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Simply perfect.... treat your honey to the best. Atmosphere, service and the food is the elite. We enjoy coming here every time we're in town. Many thank you's to Martin and Miguel. They made sure this was a night to remember. Enjoy your time at the Sardine factory, you'll find that once you've experienced it that you can't stop boasting about this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Martin, our server made our evening even more special because of the attention he provided. Lovely night in observatory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We usually share the main course, my husband and I, and most all restaurants do the split in the kitchen. This time they didn't and the server told us that if they do it, it will cost #35.00!!! I could not believe it. That's a little tooo much...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2017

There were seven of us out for an evening of elegance and fun. We got everything we wished for. There were 3 of us that were celebrating birthdays. Our service was excellent and the food was delicious. Thank for a wonderful evening!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent from start to finish. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was first class and the wine list was extensive. Will definitely come again and highly recommend to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Manager Don was the best, very excellent customer service and his team was very well organized and efficient. Thanks!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Victorian decor. Very attentive staff. Abalone medallions were very good if somewhat pricey. Clams with linguine also good. Sardine appetizer was tasty, big enough to share. Would visit again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was impeccable and very friendly. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food and service was absolutely amazing. So worth it all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Terrible food. I ordered a clam chowder, but I chewed clam with sand in it so many times. Three soup wasn't fresh, and it tasted like combination of canned corn soup and chowder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing food. The calamari steak was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always enjoy a classic like the Sardine Factory. Service is attentive and never feel rushed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Outstanding service! The meal was fantastic and they even brought us a dessert to celebrate our anniversary (even though our actual anniversary was back in April and we were just able to celebrate in July!) The evening dining experience was just lovely! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Overpriced for quality of food, but a cool experience and great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely amazed by the ease of booking, service, food taste and quality, wine list.
The menu was varied, and all in our party of six found wonderful. The young lady that was our server was incredibly knowledgeable, attentive and professional. A must stop on any trip to the Monterey area

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was our first visit to Monterrey and we decided to try out the Sardine factory. We dined in the observatory and it was a wonderful experience. The meals are quite pricey, but were delicious and worth the price. A beautiful venue and a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Enjoyable evening! The food was delicious, and the service was excellent. Don was terrific! We celebrated my husband's birthday. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Fantastic service and food, as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food and service was less than adequate for the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Beautiful dining rooms, great food, spectacular service. Been going here for 30 years and they are still the best.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful old school service and food at this classic Monterey fine dining restaurant. Chilled forks for salad. Loved Sardine Factory; and very reasonable price as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Bartender treated us like a regular and when they sat us at are table he made sure they took good care of us. We will be back as the Service and food we're great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

If you loved lobster done right-this is the PLACE!! Nothing broiled or grilled, but good ole POACHED lobster the way it is meant to be prepared!! This cooking style keeps the meat tender and not tough as is usually the case elsewhere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant is pricey, but the experience, food, service and attention to detail was top notch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food of course was amazing but our waiter Marty was excellent and made our experience that much more

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Overall food good except the salmon was too cooked

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The Sardine Factory has always been one of my favorite places. It has an excellent atmosphere with antiques all over the place. We ate in the Captain's Room which is just fine for a romantic dinner. Execellent all around and they treat you like family. The food is changing over the years and quite frankly either I'm changing or they are not doing quite as well as they did a few years ago. Still one of the best meals on the West Coast though. I would stronly recommend this place for any special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I paid 8 dollars for a beer and it was not even filled up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I will start by saying the gentleman who called to arrange a better table and seating for us day of was phenomenal, and the lady who greeted us, as well as the gentleman who walked us to the table, were very pleasant and friendly. However, our server fell short in a big way. Things that just CANNOT be overlooked for a restaurant of this caliber and price. First off, when we sat I ordered two glasses of wine to START with. You would think that would be a clue to the server to ask once we were done if we wanted to enjoy something else to drink with our meal, nope! I had to flag him down for the wine list and then waited and waited until another gentleman, possibly the sommelier, had noticed that I was waiting to order. It's hard to enjoy conversation when you're constantly looking to get someone's attention. Secondly, the whole reason we chose this restaurant was because my boyfriend wanted STEAK and LOBSTER for his birthday. We ordered a soup and salad to start, and for dinner we went all out with an order of their ribeye, lamp chops, TWO main lobster tails and TWO sides. The ribeye and lamb chops were dropped to the table. We waited. And waited. I finally flagged our server down to ask if the rest of our dinner is coming and guess what? He had forgot to order them! It was hard for me to contain my disappointment, as I know mistakes happen and I did not want to ruin this special dinner but this was HUGE in my opinion. The sides came out next but we sent one back because it was cold and flavorless. Then the lobster tails finally came out, which were delicious. They sent out a birthday dessert for my boyfriend which was sweet, but I got no apology for forgetting our order, or any other compensation to say "hey, we're sorry you didn't enjoy this special meal." At $400 for two, I left extremely disappointed because I had LOVED this place until now. Great food in a BEAUTIFUL space, but I will be thinking twice about coming here on my next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sardine Factory is fabulous for "that special moment". An evening at Sardine makes every event a special occasion.

GeoffH

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was not our first visit to the Sardine Factory and we were not let down. This establishment is always consistent with their food quality and service levels. This restaurant ranks up with the best as far as service goes. They are very friendly and attentive, but let you have your space so you can enjoy a wonderful meal with your significant other. The food never disappoints and is of good portion. Their wine list(Binder) is INSANE! if you can afford it. :) Double thumbs up to the Sardine Factory! We will be back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My whole life I've heard about the Sardine factory. Good food, average service (we had to pour our own wine and water all night), good wine list.
Way over hipped with great ambience...
There are many other better choices...
Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My late partner, Roy-Ami Hamlin, who originally decorated the restaurant would be pleased with the new color schemes and how well the restaurant has maintained its excellence. It is, afterall, an historic cornerstone of Cannery Row. I took two dear friends who wanted to see what Ernie's in San Frncisco looked like. So
I showed them a 1974 photo of Ted and Burt opening the Captain's Room which hangs in my stairway. And we decided to have dinner there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was quite good. Sandabs very good, although chard with it needed to be cooked just a little more. Calamari, shrimp, scallop combo also good. Service efficient, although waiter not very engaging or personable. Manager was very fun. He took us down for a tour of cellar room which was quite fun. Overall, nice meal

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very disappointed. Was truly looking forward to a very romantic special evening. Ordered the filet mignon with the twice baked potato. I wanted the twice baked potato because of the restaurants reputation of this dish. It never arrived even after the waiter guaranteeing us it would be out shortly. Huge disappointment as it ruined The entire dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.