About Sardine Factory

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 47 years under the same ownership and management!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For 47 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: 8313736625x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Octopus Salad
Aged Ny Strip Steak
Filet And Lobster
Wild California Sardines
Intermezzo - Sorbet
Pacific Coast Sand Dabs
Boneless Beef Short Rib
Chocolate Sardines
Center-Cut Wild Abalone Medallion
Fresh Berries
Cabernet Sauvignon
Abalone Bisque
Petit Filet Mignon and Wild Caught Salmon
Creme Brulee
Clam Chowder
Sand Dabs
Linguini With Mussels And Clams
Twin Lobster Tails On Risotto Bed
Mini Cherry Pie
Caesar Salad
Steak
Filet Mignon
USDA Prime Rib Eye Steak
House Salad
Spinach Dungeness Crab Ravioli
Whole Maine Lobster
Dessert tray
Bread Basket
Chocolate Cake
Branzino
Crab Filled Mushroom
Seared Diver Scallop
Grapefruit Ice Cream
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Baked Oysters Rockefeller
Caesar Salad With Shrimp
Sardines
Steak and Lobster
Spicy Bloody Mary
Lamb Chops
Joyce Pinot Noir
Zinfandel
Espresso
Salinas Salad
Warm Chocolate Lava Cake With Tahitian Vanilla Cream
Seared Salmon, Buttered Dungeness Crab, Artichoke Ring, Aparagus, Hollindaise Sauce
Spumoni Gelato
Scampi And Clams
Assorted Bon Bons
Salmon and File Mignon

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
5 More
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (106)
romantic (91)
notable wine list (83)
See All
fit for foodies (79)
good for groups (35)
neighborhood gem (28)
vibrant bar scene (22)
scenic view (15)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for lunch (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server was very attentive. The host ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our server was very attentive. The hostesses were very inviting upon our arrival.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment! Love the food, ...

Dined 5 days ago

Never a disappointment! Love the food, ambience and of course the service. See you next time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was fantastic. The ...

Dined 6 days ago

The dining experience was fantastic. The ambiance was just what we were looking for on our date night. The food was excellent and the New York cheesecake was to do die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been here 1 other time the food w ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had been here 1 other time the food was excellent, and the service was amazing. The last time we were at this restaurant we just happened to find it, and walked in. This time we reserved through open table, they put us in the solarium it is so beautiful and romantic in the room. The food is excellent, it came very quickly we got the halibut and the salmon. They make the dish so pretty, and mix the meal with some type of fruit. Which I really like, it makes the flavors so special. I highly recommend the Sardine factory. The meal is amazing, the atomsphere is romantic, and the service is very very good

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Legendary, excellent food...great wind l ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Legendary, excellent food...great wind list. Service was frequently rushed, at times awkward....great setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were so nice about seating us in th ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

They were so nice about seating us in the Conservatory room, but the Captain's Room is very romantic and beautiful too. We had the clam chowder with some of the freshest clans I've had. I had the half chicken with lemon risotto and mushroom ragu. So rich and good. My husband had the filet mignon and prawns skewers with garlic mash...delicious. We had mousse in an edible tulip cup and Tahaitian vanilla creme brule for the finish. Both desserts were well presented and delicate and delicious. I can't wait to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Mediocre service, extremely high prices. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Mediocre service, extremely high prices. Food was very good, but not exceptional. Had to put up with a shrieking child for too long. Dinner took an unusually long time to come, without any explanation or apology.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, impeccable service and a win ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food, impeccable service and a wine list to die for. It made for an incredible Father's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere here is always great. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The atmosphere here is always great. The must-get is the abalone bisque. It is simply divine. We sampled the bone marrow and lobster ravioli appetizers. Both were outstanding. I got the Ribeye steak. It tasted "pedestrian" - until I had a bite with the truffle butter topping. Holy cow what a game changer!!!! Simply amazing. My fiancée got the calamari steak, with scallops and shrimp. The coating on the calamari was awesome. Calamari was cooked perfectly; no chewiness/ rubberiness at all. Scallops were great. Shrimp was overlooked. I had ordered a lobster tail with my steak; it was forgotten. That's why service got 4 stars, not 5.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Place is great and staff wonderful, very ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Place is great and staff wonderful, very old school. Food is tired. Except calamari, which was very good. Steaks not good! Salad drowning in dressing. Dessert just fine. We will not be returning as the dining did not justify the cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service and atmosphere, woul ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding service and atmosphere, would recommend to couples going out for a nice dinner or special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The calamari steak is delicious. You do ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

The calamari steak is delicious. You don't find this very often and it's hard to cook. I like the conservatory dining room the best.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Special Restaurant, not the be Missed!

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Our Fish could not have been Fresher or more Delicious! The Service was Friendly and Professional. This is Very Special Restaurant that you do not come across very often. Their many years of Service confirms this. Recommend Dining in the All Glass Emporium Room. It is very beautiful. One of the Highlights of our Trip to Carmel!

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service5

Sardine Factory was advertised as a Mont ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Sardine Factory was advertised as a Monterey classic. It felt dated and old. The food was excellent, albeit overpriced for what it was. I think there are several other choices in Monterey that would be just as good for less.

food4
ambience5
service5

We never miss an opportunity to go to th ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We never miss an opportunity to go to the Sardine Factory. It is an integral part of Monterey History. The food, service and ambiance are fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Misty

Dined on June 3, 2016

I am old enough to have watched the movie "Play Misty For Me" more than once. When in the Monterrey area after many years, we had to go to the Sardine Factory. Not sure how good it was in 1971 but in 2016, it was excellent. Ambiance, wine list, service and the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delightful experience. Food and ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Always a delightful experience. Food and service wonderful.

food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Ok night out

Dined on May 30, 2016

Made reservations and was hoping for an awesome experience. I did inform them on my reservation page that we were celebrating my RETIREMENT. I guess should have made a point of requesting a romantic, private seating spot. Upon arrival we had to walk by some very nice romantic seating spots but were seated in the Garden area. Nothing romantic or special about this area. In fact, there was a child making loud noises during our meal. We were from out of town traveling the coast. This was to be our special night out. There was nothing special about the seating. Food and service was great. Just hated the atmosphere ruined it for me.

food5
ambience5
service5

Some things never change...and that is a ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Some things never change...and that is a good think if you are taking about Sardine Factory. We go once a year while on vacation and it is our favorite restaurant on the peninsula!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice restaurant with gluten free options

Dined on May 29, 2016

Nice steak and seafood restaurant but the best part was there are gluten free options for my family member that has a gluten intolerance. They even brought him gluten free bread when they brought the rest of us some wonderful rolls.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Need more mid priced wine choices. Food ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Need more mid priced wine choices. Food portions very large but quality is average for the price

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Never Again

Dined on May 28, 2016

Old School menu, very small portions. Way Way overpriced! Will never go there again. Save your Money and go to the Chart House or Whaling Station

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was overpriced for the amount, ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was overpriced for the amount, presentation, flavor. the "Filet Mignon Medallions" were actually one medallion sliced into three 1/4 inch pieces that had to be sent back as they were horribly overcooked. The "Veal Cardinal with petite Maine lobster tail" was a 1/4/inch piece of a small lobster tail with two small strips of veal. My wife is unable to consume truffle/truffle oil and the restaurant was unwilling to substitute an alternate sauce on her dish, even though they put the truffle sauce on the side. The waiter was condescending and rude. Overall a poor dining experience and I will not return, nor recommend the restaurant to anyone else. Many better, accommodating choices in the immediate, and surrounding area.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

tradition of elegance

Dined on May 27, 2016

Traditional fine dining experience in the heart of the tourist hubbub of the cannery area, we enjoyed the excellent service, which was not over-attentive yet there when you needed someone. To me, this is perfect. Wine service and selection was superb. Food menu contained traditional fare along with some pleasant surprises. All areas were attractive but we dined in the conservatory, which was extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was our daughter's birthday. Arvind was ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Was our daughter's birthday. Arvind was excellent in recommending the champagne that she described she liked. Our waiter was excellent in describing the meals and recommending the dishes. Sorry could not recall his name - maybe after the champagne and the sardine specialty beverage. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Expensive for the quality. Fish over coo ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Expensive for the quality. Fish over cooked. But great wine list.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you for the amazing anniversary di ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Thank you for the amazing anniversary dinner and complimentary dessert. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening with amazing Annie as our server.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Surprising Interior Design

Dined on May 22, 2016

The interior design was not what we expected. It is very lovely an elegant. The food was excellent and the service attentive. We ate in the Captains Room which took you back in time. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very accommodating of my dietary needs. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Very accommodating of my dietary needs. The Conservatory (where we are) would be perfect for a private party such as wedding reception.

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

As early made to wait for table to be ma ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

As early made to wait for table to be made up only to find for 4 and we were 2 No menu given whilst waiting and staff more like go between so kitchen and customer Poor value for money with food not presented well

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Wife and I spent our anniversary dinner ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wife and I spent our anniversary dinner here. Food was great, service was good, and ambience was kind of weird.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5

Clam chowder is good. Abalone bisque jus ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Clam chowder is good. Abalone bisque just ok.

food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Way too expensive, won't return, Can on ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Way too expensive, won't return, Can only afford once, don't fit in your rich class people

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Early Dining is Exquisite 3 course on budget

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The early dining is a prix fixe 3 course meal with full size portions of excellent food. We made an event out of it for our family of four. We all had the prix fixe, but we added a few appetizers. We also brought a special wine for our occasion. We also used Johnny the Sommelier and had him recommend a wine to start with. He has never steared us wrong. It was a wonderful wine. The meals were great. Our wait staff was excellent as well. The Sardine Factory is probably the best fine dining experience in Monterey. The early pre fixe makes it more affordable for dining more often or for entry level folks. We have dined here many times over the years and have never been disappointed in anything on the menu. It is always incredible. The amazing thing is that unlike other restaurants...they do not reduce the portion sizes on their prix fixe meals. It is just as abundant and tasty as any other meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Lovely Evening

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The service was fun, personal -- overall outstanding. Great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We are not pretentious people, but the f ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We are not pretentious people, but the food here was awful. We thought eating anywhere in Monterey would be fine- we were wrong. Please do not throw away your money. The inside is beautiful, but that is all. Everything else-bad. McDonald food is better

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Service was very good, from our greeting ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was very good, from our greeting at the door to the table. The setting was warm and nostalgic. Food was fine, but overpriced. Calamari basket was solid but $19 is too much. I had the swordfish, which was good, but nothing special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If I could give a higher score for ambia ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

If I could give a higher score for ambiance than 5, I would. We had a lovely time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Service was pretty slow and spotty. They ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was pretty slow and spotty. They brought us a melon ball on the house because of the slow service, which I'm pretty sure is their standard practice. Service did not improve though. After hearing about this place from the Somm movie, we came for dinner because of their excellent selection of wine. The sommelier, however, was not helpful. We told him what we normally enjoy but that we would like to try something different. He was afraid to recommend anything different so we had to just pick one on our own. The wine was good, but he was not helpful at all. The food was pretty good, but it was way overpriced for what we got. Happy hour in the lounge was neat beforehand, and was reasonably priced. After our dinner though, we noticed that they do a second happy hour late at night and the low prices attract a level of clientele that probably does not pay the prices to eat dinner there.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best prime rib I think I ever had .... L ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Best prime rib I think I ever had .... Loved the twice baked potato ! Great service as well

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.