About Sardine Factory

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 47 years under the same ownership and management!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For 47 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: 8313736625x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Octopus Salad
Aged Ny Strip Steak
Filet And Lobster
Wild California Sardines
Intermezzo - Sorbet
Pacific Coast Sand Dabs
Boneless Beef Short Rib
Chocolate Sardines
Center-Cut Wild Abalone Medallion
Fresh Berries
Cabernet Sauvignon
Abalone Bisque
Petit Filet Mignon and Wild Caught Salmon
Creme Brulee
Clam Chowder
Sand Dabs
Linguini With Mussels And Clams
Twin Lobster Tails On Risotto Bed
Mini Cherry Pie
Caesar Salad
Steak
Filet Mignon
USDA Prime Rib Eye Steak
House Salad
Spinach Dungeness Crab Ravioli
Whole Maine Lobster
Dessert tray
Bread Basket
Chocolate Cake
Branzino
Crab Filled Mushroom
Seared Diver Scallop
Grapefruit Ice Cream
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Baked Oysters Rockefeller
Caesar Salad With Shrimp
Sardines
Steak and Lobster
Spicy Bloody Mary
Lamb Chops
Joyce Pinot Noir
Zinfandel
Espresso
Salinas Salad
Warm Chocolate Lava Cake With Tahitian Vanilla Cream
Seared Salmon, Buttered Dungeness Crab, Artichoke Ring, Aparagus, Hollindaise Sauce
Spumoni Gelato
Scampi And Clams
Assorted Bon Bons
Salmon and File Mignon

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
4 More
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (114)
romantic (98)
notable wine list (86)
See All
fit for foodies (77)
good for groups (35)
neighborhood gem (28)
vibrant bar scene (21)
scenic view (15)
hot spot (14)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Oyster Rock was fabulous. I would order ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Oyster Rock was fabulous. I would order the house special Veal dish. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here for a much anticipated meal ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went here for a much anticipated meal at this famous restaurant. Unfortunately there is really nothing positive to say. We've eaten in some of the best fish restaurants in Europe. This doesn't reach anywhere near even a reasonable standard.

Starters - dry, chewy calamari. Looked like it was not freshly cooked. The speed it came out I think it was sitting under heater lamps on the side. Easily beaten for taste and price by calamari in Greek tavernas. Sardines were also disappointing (ironically)

Mains - baby dabs and chive risotto. Both cooked to an identical mush like baby food. Couldn't eat it.

Scallops. Overlooked and not sweet. Hard, chewy peas (when it was fresh pea season - so much for fresh local produce).

Chicken tenders - tasted like they were from frozen. Not freshly made.

Service - so much of a hurry to get covers through, no wine list was brought to the table. Finally it came with the starters, so I couldn't eat starter as wine menu so huge. And no wine until we managed to get the waiter back.

Horrendously expensive poor food and lacklustre service.

The hype is unfortunately not in any way deserved. Seems like what was a great restaurant is now sadly going downhill and living off history.

I told the manager. He refunded the dabs and offered another meal. But why would I return??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Perfect place for any occasion! Outstand ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect place for any occasion! Outstanding service, delicious food and great atmosphere! Very enjoyable experience! Spending our 2nd wedding anniversary there!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both of our entrees were under-whelming. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Both of our entrees were under-whelming. My husbands sea bass was dry and my salmon meal tasteless. Salad and desert/coffee were great. Service was great. Expected better.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

We decided to try the Sardine Factory be ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We decided to try the Sardine Factory because of its historical relevance. Our servers were polite and attentive, the Sommelier was uninterested and rude. The sea bass was over cooked and dry. Atmosphere was crowded and loud. Not a top choice to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

my wife and I hadn't been there in yrs.w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

my wife and I hadn't been there in yrs.we started off with a sardine appetizer which was canned not fresh.we bought a bottle of wine and were charged $25.00 which is the highest we have ever payed.will stick to our favorite in the future(the chart house)

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food, service and sommelier were all ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food, service and sommelier were all top notch! We can't wait to return. The main dining room was loud due to a bridal party but they were able to move us to the alcove. It was a bit odd but quieter. The server made up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

They seated us in a room with a bunch of ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

They seated us in a room with a bunch of Asian people. I don't know if being Asian they thought we might be more comfortable being grouped together. Even our waitress was Asian. Both my wife and I are American born and are college educated. We live in Orange County and have not experienced this phenomenon before. Four out of the seven of the occupied tables in the room were Asians. 🤔

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the New York strip and it was very ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the New York strip and it was very tender and cook just as I asked. I also started with a cocktail which was well balanced in flavor. My husband had the sand dabs and although good he has had better. We had lobster ravioli and abalone bisque and both were delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After living in Monterey for 13 years, m ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

After living in Monterey for 13 years, my wife and I always eat the Sardine Factory when we visit...not anymore!

The Sardine Factory used to be known for its quiet atmosphere and restricted dress code, but that has apparently been changed to encourage more tourists. 7:00 pm in the Atrium was so loud, we could barely understand the waiter describing the daily specials, let alone talk to each other. And the clothes worn by some of the customers would have embarrassed Wal-Mart shoppers. Overall, this meal was a huge disappointment and I'm afraid we will not be returning to the Sardine Factory anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We were lucky enough to eat at the Sardi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were lucky enough to eat at the Sardine Factory last week while on vacation. The food and service as well as the view were all top notch. We enjoyed Sand Dabs and Swordfish. I have dietary intolerances and even without dairy the chef managed to make my swordfish delicious. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad service

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Given the ratings I had high hopes for t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Given the ratings I had high hopes for this place. I was very disappointed. The food was slow, it had been plated at least 20 minutes before it was served. Apart from its age it was good, but by no means extraordinary. The appetizer was only fair, I realize calamari is difficult to get right, but cutting the pieces smaller would give more control.

The cocktails were quite good, I especially enjoyed my blue sardine and the lemon drop was quite nice as well. The irish coffee was totally unacceptable, it was not at all sweet, and the whiskey was totally undetectable.

The cheesecake was absolutely perfect. Best I've ever had in a restaurant. Normally this would add a star by itself.

However I need to discuss the piano player. When he stuck to songs in his range he was ok. Sadly he kept singing stuff he shouldn't have and kept doing affectations from the songs he was attempting to reproduce poorly. He and the glacial service further reduced the enjoyment of a meal that started out below any meal I payed half as much for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

This restaurant was horrible. I regret ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant was horrible. I regret going there on our last night in Monterey. The restaurant itself is old and dated. They put us outside in a glass dome. I felt like i was eating in a terrarium. Food not good. Kept having to refill my own wine glass. Baby cried through our whole meal and when I asked waiter to have manager talk to parents, he gave me some attitude. Worst meal ever. Don't waste your time and money. We should have gone back to the Chart House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

My wife and I went for our 10th annivers ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I went for our 10th anniversary. The food was superb and the service was excellent. We both had a full three courses and were very satisfied (and full). Everything was cooked just right, seasoned well, and plated beautifully. Great experience all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a disapointment. The menu was ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was a disapointment. The menu was predictable and uninspired. Food was executed well enough but lacked excitement or.innovation. there are better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

-great food , excellent service- On vaca ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

-great food , excellent service- On vacation restaurant recommended by a friend great atmosphere, wonderful food, especially the clam chowder. Will definitely visit again on next visit to Monterey.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have to visit the Sardine Factory ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Always have to visit the Sardine Factory whenever I visit Monterey or pebble beach. Service is on point. Food is wonderful and portions are plentiful. Great place!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Sardine Factory every time we a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We visit Sardine Factory every time we are in Monterey. Spent honeymoon there 53yrs ago. The food was disappointing this visit because both dishes ordered looked unappetizing. Swordfish was not seasoned at all & vegetables were mostly red peppers. Don't think peppers were even mentioned in the menu description. Abalone was very tough this time, almost as if it was not tenderized. Not at all like I've eaten there previously. Also, presentation dull and unappetizing and included too many rich tasting vegetables. All in all, dish too overwhelming! Nice gesture to acknowledge anniversary with a piece of cake, but sorry to say, that too was bad. Tasted dry & old. Our evening was not ruined, however. Service still very good and piano bar fun. We'll be back.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

I don't mind paying for a quality meal a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I don't mind paying for a quality meal and while the service was good the ambience fantastic and the bar scene off the charts our meal was so so.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant used to be a gem; not an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This restaurant used to be a gem; not anymore. We were underwhelmed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My family went there for an out out of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My family went there for an out out of town experience. The food was delicious; the meat melted in my mouth even though it was well done. The server suggested a great wine that matched my request perfectly. We ate under the glass gazebo which was noisier than the inside of the restaurant. I'm sorry we were too full to try a dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood, old school feel. Excellen ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great seafood, old school feel. Excellent service, felt like a fine dining experience but without fine dining prices.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly atmosphere. Staff was help ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very friendly atmosphere. Staff was helpful and accommodating.

the food was amazing and exquisitely presented. Wine list offered various choices that afforded a wide variety for every palate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the highlights of our tr ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip! We asked for a table in their atrium, and was blown away by it. These guys have been around for a long time from what I gather, and it shows: they are pro in every way. Really great use of space from the bar, to the private dining rooms, wine room to the atrium, etc. A must-visit when you are in Monterey!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy! Abalone was excellent.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Yummy! Abalone was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Went with larger group an ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great service. Went with larger group and everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

great food. however, the Spumante icecre ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

great food. however, the Spumante icecream was already melting when came to the table and the server had spilled the expresso so the biscotti and sugar already were soaked!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we went here for our anniversary. We sat ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

we went here for our anniversary. We sat in the solarium (it was overcast out). our waiter made us feel like we were the only people in the place. The food was outstanding. worth the cost. and I'll keep my husband another 30 years!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We always enjoy the Sardine Factory when ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We always enjoy the Sardine Factory when we go there. We've been going there for our anniversary dinner almost every year for the last 30+ years. The food is excellent, the ambiance is great, and the overall experience is always exceptional. Good wait staff and attentative service. Just an exceptional place for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very attentive. The host ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server was very attentive. The hostesses were very inviting upon our arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Never a disappointment! Love the food, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Never a disappointment! Love the food, ambience and of course the service. See you next time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super service. They made my 3 year old g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Super service. They made my 3 year old grand daughter feel comfortable and special. Yet the feeling was elegant and casual. Great selection of food choices - delicious fish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The dining experience was fantastic. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The dining experience was fantastic. The ambiance was just what we were looking for on our date night. The food was excellent and the New York cheesecake was to do die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been here 1 other time the food w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had been here 1 other time the food was excellent, and the service was amazing. The last time we were at this restaurant we just happened to find it, and walked in. This time we reserved through open table, they put us in the solarium it is so beautiful and romantic in the room. The food is excellent, it came very quickly we got the halibut and the salmon. They make the dish so pretty, and mix the meal with some type of fruit. Which I really like, it makes the flavors so special. I highly recommend the Sardine factory. The meal is amazing, the atomsphere is romantic, and the service is very very good

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Legendary, excellent food...great wind l ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Legendary, excellent food...great wind list.

Service was frequently rushed, at times awkward....great setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

They were so nice about seating us in th ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

They were so nice about seating us in the Conservatory room, but the Captain's Room is very romantic and beautiful too. We had the clam chowder with some of the freshest clans I've had. I had the half chicken with lemon risotto and mushroom ragu. So rich and good. My husband had the filet mignon and prawns skewers with garlic mash...delicious. We had mousse in an edible tulip cup and Tahaitian vanilla creme brule for the finish. Both desserts were well presented and delicate and delicious. I can't wait to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre service, extremely high prices. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Mediocre service, extremely high prices. Food was very good, but not exceptional. Had to put up with a shrieking child for too long. Dinner took an unusually long time to come, without any explanation or apology.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food, impeccable service and a win ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food, impeccable service and a wine list to die for. It made for an incredible Father's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere here is always great. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The atmosphere here is always great.

The must-get is the abalone bisque. It is simply divine.

We sampled the bone marrow and lobster ravioli appetizers. Both were outstanding.

I got the Ribeye steak. It tasted "pedestrian" - until I had a bite with the truffle butter topping. Holy cow what a game changer!!!! Simply amazing.

My fiancée got the calamari steak, with scallops and shrimp. The coating on the calamari was awesome. Calamari was cooked perfectly; no chewiness/ rubberiness at all. Scallops were great. Shrimp was overlooked.

I had ordered a lobster tail with my steak; it was forgotten. That's why service got 4 stars, not 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.