Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Sardine Factory

Every city has that one can’t miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory’s cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine’s "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge’s live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Celebrating over 48 years under the same ownership and management!

701 Wave Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday 5 PM to 10 PM Friday & Saturday 5 PM to 11 PM Monday through Thursday 5 PM to 10:30 PM.

Cross Street:
Prescott

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 373-3775

Website:
http://www.sardinefactory.com/

Entertainment:
David Conley at the Piano Tuesday through Saturday.

David has been a professional musician since the age of 17. He has played in numerous bands, opening for various acts such as Steppenwolf, Black Oak Arkansas, Rick Derringer, Crash Test Dummies and more. Versatile and accommodating David takes and plays requests from Led Zeppelin to Elvis Presley to the Everly Brothers.

Parking Details:
Enter off of Wave Street ascending the driveway. Self park Sunday through Thursday with self park or valet service available Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.

Private Party Facilities:
For over 48 years the Sardine Factory restaurant has been creating distinctive and memorable private events for discriminating customers. Whether a family gathering or corporate event, each private party receives our full attention and commitment.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Rodriguez: (831) 373-6625

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sardine Factory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Romantic (61)
Notable Wine List (57)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Cozy (25)
Fun (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Scenic View (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Waterfront (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (5)
Live Music (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Maitre d' Donald was excellent and assisted to remedy a mistake I had made in reservations. It was my birthday, my wife's birthday and our Anniversary dinner celebration with my 80+ year old parents. Donald and the Team were absolutely impressive and outstanding. The food and service were first and best class. Hats off to the Sardine Factory!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been going there for 33 years so that tells it all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything was perfect. We could not have asked for better service, and the food was amazing! I can not wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our sommelier Paul Wetterau selected exquisite wine pairings by the glass for our entrees.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was great. Ambience a little noisy for special occasion. Would return to dine again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Can't say enough about this place. The sardine factory was the most memorable romantic dinner my wife and I have ever been on. Must try the crab cake. That and the calamari steak was amazing. More than anything, make sure to request seating in the conservatory. Unbelievable view in your open quiet romantic garden Paradise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. Service was great!
We would highly recommend it to anybody who was visiting the Monterrey-area.
Pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We choose this restaurant for both its menu (veal) and the garden glass dome (similar to Tavern on the Green NY). The maître d' was very welcoming and made you feel like an old friend. This setting made for the perfect anniversary celebration.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I am so very sorry, but our dinner was not what it should have been. We eat there every time we are in the area and have always been very happy, this time, not so much!
The service was just ok and both my wife's meal and mine were below what we had come to expect st your establishment!
I have loved the Abalone in the past, but this time is was very chewy.
My wife had jumbo prawns stuffed with crab, it had a very bad aroma to it.
Just way below what we had come to expect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Incredible service, incredible food and incredible wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant! We had one night in Monterey so we had to make the right choice! Our neighbors at the Spindrift hotel told us that they always go to the Sardine Factory whenever they are in town and that the food was terrific! We were not disappointed! The abalone soup was creamy and wonderfully delicious! The steak and lobster was cooked to perfection! I wish we didn't live so far away in Indiana because I would definitely return! It was charming and the staff were attentive! Thank you for a wonderful memory!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 6, 2017

2nd return in 1 year from out of state. Enjoyed this gem during 80's as a local resident and its been a wonderful experience to return with friends. Love this for dining, atmosphere, exceptional staff. Introduced friends for first time here and they/we WILL return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food and service was excellent! The ambience was excellent! But the clientele look like I was at a KOA Campground! Not what you would expect for a higher price sophisticated restaurant! Tank tops, ghetto shorts, tie dye! I paid top-dollar I expect a high-class establishment! Very disappointed will never go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The Sardine Factory is always a treat! Food beautifully presented, delicious and the wait staff knows how to describe each dish to perfection! Our waiter was present, not hovering, and we were well taken care of by all the staff.
My husband had mussels and I had a filet of beef. Both served elegantly.
We had not been to The Sardine Factory for years, and we were a bit surprised to see baseball hats worn backwards, T-shirts and all manner of informal dressing. I guess it's the way of the new world, but I would love to see a little more strict dress code. I suppose it's old fashioned of me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I've always loved this restaurant and highly recommended to my friends. My friend LOVED it. We ordered the Prime Rib and Fillet Mignon medallions but my go to dish here is the Abalone. Of course I had the abalone bisque soup...DIVINE! Anyway, every time I visit Monterey I always make sure that I eat here. See you next time TSF!

Mark our server was very nice! Everyone is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a very hot day in Monterey so the bar area was extremely hot while we were waiting for our table. Thank goodness the air was working in the main dining area! Food was great, staff and service is always really good. Wonderful cocktails! Amazing smoking bonbons for dessert...a must have!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As usual it was fantastic. It was very hot this past weekend and we sat in the conservatory room with the ac right behind us. It was heaven. The abalone soup was the highlight and I wanted to go back again the next day for it. Service was spot on. Although our menu was missing the pris fixed and didn't realize it till after we ordered. We love this place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. However, I found everything on the menu to be severely overpriced. The stuffed shrimp special consisted of two shrimp and was priced at $48.00.......it was a marginal dish and certainly not worth what was charged. Also note that when the server went over the specials, he did not mention price. A small piece of salmon was priced at $35.00......it was well prepared, but not for that amount of money.

If you want a nice atmosphere, it's a great place to go, but in terms of value, I could not recommend and would not go back.......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful experience. Great if you are on vacation in Monterey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had a great time and meal last night. Mark , our server, was great! Very friendly.

We had the two specials for the night, crab stuff prawns w/ filet steak and the Alaskan Halibut. Both were delicious. Then they gave us a free dessert to celebrate our anniversary. A chocolate cake that was delicious but not too sweet. We were so stuffed, couldn't finish the dessert.

Will come again when we go to Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great waiter by the name of Don.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Outstanding service, superb food. Quiet atmosphere, subdued lighting. An enjoyable and appetizing evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our party of 8 enjoyed dinner in the atrium which was absolutely beautiful! Everyone seemed to enjoy their selections. The famous cheese bread was just OK. The ice cream "bon bons" are quiet a show and worth the extra calories; kids would love it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The last time I was at the Sardine Factory was about 20 years ago. I was pleased that the food, service and ambiance was still wonderful. It was my adult sons birthday and he wanted to go here because he loves it too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our dining experience was outstanding. The restaurant is lovely combined with a friendly and professional staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had friends visiting and I was able to get a reservation on the busiest weekend of the year. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Really good sea food and steaks
Loved it
We were in the glass atrium room and it was very nice

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food, great experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went there to enjoy dinner with our soon to leave friend from Australia. George did a great job describing the specials. Angie and I got the Wagu Beef which was incredible. Mary and Stacy got the prawns specials, I should have done that.
The Sardine Factory remains one of my favorite restaurants in the world. Setting, décor, SERVICE, and FOOD.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Super. Job as always tku!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Monterey Car

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was our third visit to The Sardine Factory and each time it was a wonderful experience. The first time was just after they opened in 1968 just after we became engaged. The second time was our wedding night and this last time was our 48th anniversary. The food and service were great each time. Since it was our anniversary, we received a 20% discount which was really nice. We were seated in the room with the statue of the goddess; can't remember the name of it, but it was really special.
The service was wonderful. At one point I dropped my salad fork and an employee was right there immediately to pick it up and remove it. The chef came to our table to ask how the food was, so that was special.
We both ordered the calimari and were not disappointed. It was thick and meaty, but tender and seasoned perfectly. For dessert, we shared a creme brulee which was the perfect ending to a fine dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Anbiance and service was impeccable. Dinner was cooked to perfection. Restaurant is suited for special occasions and dates. Worth the drive for a great meal...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The "human touch" was the most enjoyable, starting with the welcome from the Manager, the choice of location, and service. I felt like a princess. It is too bad that it is closed for lunch, I have to spend a night to be able to dine at the Sardine Factory. The sardines were not better than the ones I buy in a can. The artichoke bisque was like a puree, not taste or consistancy. It needs some chunks of artichoke. The main dish was superb., and the mousse. The sorbet made me happy. Thanks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good and service is always top notch. A must if you visit Monterey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This was for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I have eaten here many times in the past and always found everything to be top drawer. The ambience of course is the same, however, something has happened to the food. I ordered their signature dish the veal.
Two small strips of mystery meat and a tiny lobster tail neither of which could be tasted due to being drowned in a horrid sauce. The potato was even worse. Possibly the chefs revenge? The whole mess wouldn't qualify for McDonald's and I certainly won't eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Husband Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I don't know which was worse, my wife's flavorless halibut special or my scallops which made me sick. Oh wait, yes I do. While the service was good, and the room was lovely, there were bugs flying all about from the plants in the room. It did not make for a good dining experience. Also, the restaurant felt very touristy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience very much! The staff was engaging and friendly, the food was excellent and the ambience was wonderful! So glad we chose the Sardine Factory! The cocktails were wonderful and my son and his date enjoyed the wine!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.