About Saranello's

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Saranello's, Wheeling, IL

Report a photo problem

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Comfort Food (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Casual (33)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Family Style (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Fun (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Private Room (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Authentic (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
People Watching (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Sports (3)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2083 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was mediocre. Food came out unde ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was mediocre. Food came out undercooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely wonderful... my 5th trip ther ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely wonderful... my 5th trip there and it did not disappoint! The other visits were with work colleagues; this time I brought my husband, daughter, son in law and grandson. After not starting out well - we were seated at two tables pushed together in the bar area - things worked out fine. I made a last minute reservation, and the other tables did completely fill up within the first 30 minutes we were seated, so I guess it was true that we got their last table for five. The uncomfortable start was all but forgotten with the great service and delicious food. We had everything from the mussels to the braised short ribs, along with salad and sides of pasta. Couldn't offer anything but praise for each dish. Finished with a bomboloni for dessert, made fresh and in-house. My grandson has a nut allergy and our server was great offering advice and checking with the kitchen when needed. Wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We always enjoy the food and ambiance o ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy the food and ambiance of Saranello's.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good excellent, very busy and noisy but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Good excellent, very busy and noisy but our waiter Jay made it a good experience. Rocky start at the host desk, the hostess seem bothered that we were 10 minutes early for our reservation. She needs to always put her best foot forward and make all welcome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Tonight there were six of us. Two were n ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Tonight there were six of us. Two were new to Saranello's. It was a magical dining experience. Perfection. Our table was very nice. The atmosphere was perfect. Service by David was the best. We started with grilled calamari and Mussels in a red spicy sauce. Excellent. My husband and his friends loved the grilled calamari so much they ordered more. Entrees were Chicken parmigiana, egg plant, Chicken Vesuvio, Angel Hair pasta and Ravioli. Just outstanding. We also ordered 4 bottles of wine. 2 Cabernets and 2 Pinots. A night to celebrate. The manager, Jake, brought us a tray of desserts that was so good. We enjoyed all of them. A wonderful dining experience. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A winner every time! Food is excellent, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

A winner every time! Food is excellent, great vibe, just right for our festive celebration!

Thanks!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food... Great service... Friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food... Great service... Friendly staff... Always a great meal!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! I had swordfish that ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was delicious! I had swordfish that was large piece, very well seasoned and well prepared. My husband enjoyed his pasta. We loved the Italian doughnut and banana tiramisu

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place because the food is deli ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Love this place because the food is delicious...the service has also been top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

John, our server, was great. Chicken ga ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

John, our server, was great. Chicken gardenera a solid dish. Disappointed they raised corkage fee from $15 to $25. Won't come back as frequently as a result

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Very good food and large portions. Wond ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good food and large portions. Wonderful for a birthday

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was great, although there reall ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was great, although there really should be spaghetti with the chicken parm, it's just a huge slab of chicken with sauce. The Tortufo was very nice but i wish there was some communication that it is the size of a softball!! The bread is amazing, so flaky and delish. The pizza is great too. No food complaints at all.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This visit was a disappointment...unusua ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This visit was a disappointment...unusually so. I frequent Saranello's often, and often I am very satisfied. This meal was wanting; the chicken Parmesan was tough and chewy. Not the usually gourmet delight it most often is. The chicken might have been overcooked, too thickly cut for the dish, or just not tender. The minestrone soup was excellent and the mascarpone pie divine. But the entree was not up to it's usual excellence. Hope this is not the beginning of a trend...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Saranello's is part of Lettuce Entertain ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Saranello's is part of Lettuce Entertain you which is always good for great food. The staff is courtesy and the food is good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great waiter.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

Saranellos never disappoints!! Food is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Saranellos never disappoints!! Food is outstanding and consistent!! The staff is friendly and informative. Very solid go to for that italian flare. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with large portions. I a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food with large portions. I always get chicken Parmesan with a side of linguini pasta. Nice on Ian Eastwood.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Authentic, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really good carmelized onion/goat cheese ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really good carmelized onion/goat cheese pizza and really good chopped Caesar salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The trout dinner was excellent as was my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The trout dinner was excellent as was my wife's Spinach Gnocchi. She raved about the excellent Minestrone. The small dinner salad was disappointing - unimaginative and blah. Next time I will go with the Minestrone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always enjoy the food. Lunch is a spec ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I always enjoy the food. Lunch is a special value because soup or salad is included.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it every time!! Baked eggplant and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Love it every time!! Baked eggplant and banana tirisimu!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Happy Hour, Private Room, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as well as the servic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was excellent as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated New Year's Eve at Saranello's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated New Year's Eve at Saranello's; excellent food and service; Carlos was our excellent server

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was once my favorite restaurant not ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was once my favorite restaurant not only for the fabulous grilled calamari but for the ambiance as well. The last 3 times, however, have really been a disappointment. I am not a complainer but this last one kind of took the cake. I was thrilled to see prime rib on the specials menu however when it came out, there was a sauce on it that honestly tasted like A1 and totally ruined the whole taste of prime rib! The service is great every time but the kitchen def needs a brush up!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, People Watching, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve can be a difficult. But t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve can be a difficult. But the entire staff made this a great experience. Service was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable. Food was a notch above.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New years Eve night--food was good, serv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New years Eve night--food was good, service was good, the Banana tiramisu was out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had s few issues with the food but th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had s few issues with the food but the manager made it right by crediting our drinks. Overall a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Jake and the staff is on top of it. We h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Jake and the staff is on top of it. We had a outstanding dinner experience. The Mussels and garlic wine sauce was excellent. The Minestrone soup is one of the best in the Chicago area. Lots of vegetables. Chicken Vesuvio is incredible. Very moist with a crispy skin loaded with garlic. Finally the banana tiramisu. The restaurant had a great feel with all the people enjoying a great Thursday night out. Thursday! And the place was packed. Very nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food and service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the restaurant. Consistently good. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love the restaurant. Consistently good. Did notice that some of the portions on the pre-theater menu have shrunk to an embarrassing level. It was really not consistent with the value/quality concept that Lettuce properties are known for. As an example, the cup of soup probably measured out to about one third of a cup and the lemon cookie dessert consisted of three

small, thin cookies tossed on a plate. In the past the cookie was a crescent shape that was much more substantial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess staff , not friendly and walking ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Hostess staff , not friendly and walking pace to fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was very good, but the service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was very good, but the service is always just ok. We eat here quite a bit, and it's always the same story - our table is never ready at our reservation time, and management can't be bothered to care about it. There were 4 hostesses that evening, all bustling around doing not sure what. The manager didn't make any eye contact with any customers, despite standing next to our table when we got our food. No one apologized for the delay in seating and no one, despite the manager standing right next to us, asked if our meal was ok. Couldn't get water from anyone, and couldn't seem to get our drinks with our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Christmas dinner

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

All was good but waitress was poor Which ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

All was good but waitress was poor

Which is disappointing

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Memorable service, nice atmosphere. I ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Memorable service, nice atmosphere. I had the Chicken Vesuvio. Potatoes were too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a special birthday lunch and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We enjoyed a special birthday lunch and were fortunate to have Ethan as our server. He was terrific! Very attentive even with a large holiday crowd of diners. Thanks Ethan, for making our lunch so very special!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent preparation of entrees every ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent preparation of entrees every time we have dined. Seasoned well and we recommend the Chicken and Peppers

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very welcoming. Sometimes service feels ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very welcoming. Sometimes service feels rushed, at other times slow. But it is a very busy restaurant. Great vibe. Excellent food, never a bad dish. Fresh pasta, gnocchi, eggplant parm, salads, all top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Chicken was not moist and tender. Got gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Chicken was not moist and tender. Got grilled whitefish and it was so over seasoned it was difficult to eat. Had to scrape seasoning off. Antipasto was good as well as beet salad. Meals were not as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Sat in the bar area for a delightful lun ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Sat in the bar area for a delightful lunch.

Service was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.