About Saranello's

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

good for groups (124)
special occasion (114)
neighborhood gem (98)
See All
great for lunch (88)
fit for foodies (87)
romantic (47)
kid-friendly (43)
hot spot (41)
notable wine list (31)
great for brunch (30)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Braised beef short rib was excellent. On ...

vip
Dined 3 hours ago

Braised beef short rib was excellent. On the appetizer page, go for the stuffed mushrooms!

food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast crowd was quiet. Great food a ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Breakfast crowd was quiet. Great food and service

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time

Dined 6 days ago

We had a very good time and will return to this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have a pre-theatre special for $19.95

Dined 6 days ago

Great value and you must all be seated by 5:45 to qualify but it includes a salad or appetizer, a choice of many different entrees and dessert. Tom had the chicken lemone and I had their lasagna, both very tasty .

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service - great value in the f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service - great value in the family-style menu. Just a great experience! This is consistent, too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Birthday lunch. First time we ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Fabulous Birthday lunch. First time we were seated in the bar. Kyle was our server and he helped to make our birthday lunch an event. Everything was perfect from start to finish.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

We should not have to request bread beca ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We should not have to request bread because it's lunch. That's chincey.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Hotel Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Usually hotel restaurants are run of the mill and expensive. This is not the case with Saranello's. I found the food to be above average and then some (they make their own pasta which to me is major plus). The portions were excellent and prices very reasonable. This being a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant may have been a contributing factor. All and all I found it very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reservations were made through Open Tabl ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

reservations were made through Open Table. A s always there was no hassle when we arrived. Seated immediately. We were there prior to going to theater and had learned that Saranello's offered a preheater package. We did order this from their menu which consisted of: soup or salad; main entrée; and desert. Wow! it certainly was more than enough food and met our needs. We were happy with the price of this package too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Both lunch and dinner a ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food. Both lunch and dinner are delicious !! Give it a 5 star rating !!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't lose staple of the North Shore gen ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Can't lose staple of the North Shore general vicinity. Easier than going downtown, collect Lettuce points, always good eats.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good place

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have been to Saranello's before. Always good food. Service though, prior to the his visit, had always been slow and fair. Not this time. Service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

A birthday lunch with friends was made ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

A birthday lunch with friends was made special by our terrific server and a complimentary cordial with our birthday dessert.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was there for day brunch, style. Food was for money we paid. I think it tell a lot about itself when u order off the menu though. ..

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mothers day Brunch was outstanding although crowded as expected. A great assortment of food items to please everybody! The quality was top notch and the service was excellent. I will return to try the Italian specialty items!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We really enjoy your brunch. We think the quality of your food is exceptional, even on such a busy day like Mothers Day when we were there. Even tho it was crowded, we were pleased. We also enjoy the complimentary champagne. We don't eat a lot, but still feel we get our money's worth.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. We ordered the Chic ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent. We ordered the Chicken Parmesan and Scallops with Risotto.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We did have a reservation but it was ver ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We did have a reservation but it was very chaotic at the front desk when we arrived. Table wasn't ready but, thankfully, we only had to wait about ten minutes. We were there on a Wednesday night, not a weekend! Our server was great and that helped make our overall experience positive.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1

We have given Saranello's more chances t ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We have given Saranello's more chances than they deserved. But this last time will be just that....the last time. Why people are frequently clamoring to get in here is a mystery to me. But we will no longer be amongst those waiting for bad food and mediocre service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from Jessica

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent service from Jessica

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not great

Dined on May 3, 2016

We were right by the GM giving a pep talk to the servers and what he was saying was nothing nice about their customers. Maybe they should go in back for that talk and not do it by the diners. The food was not good, I ordered a salad that the menu stated had 4 ingridents and it came with a lot more and was stuff I did not eat. Waste of money. The only reason we went is because we had a coupon, other than that I would not go back and I would not recommend to anyone.

food2
ambience3
service1

Went for lunch for a 130 reservation and ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Went for lunch for a 130 reservation and ordered from the "Express Lunch Menu", though we asked server, host and manager where our meal was after waiting 30 minutes it took another 30 minutes to bring meals. Then when time for dessert they were out because they said they were so busy for lunch. LOL, the place was 3/4 empty. Other few diners had the same issues Put a fork in this one and go somewhere else, that's what we will do.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good experience on a busy night

Dined on May 2, 2016

Good experience on a busy night

food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Dinner Out 5/1/16

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Two years ago, our first time here, was amazing and perfect. Since then, especially this night, it felt overcrowded, very loud, understaffed, and though the food was decent and well worth the price, the ambiance was overtaken by noise, large groups, and a squeezed in feeling.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food & service!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Pasta dishes are excellent as well as the warm bread with olive oil. Portions big enough for taking some home for a future lunch! Service was great as well, we will be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Food ok, Noisy

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was passable but not remarkable. The service was a bit slow and they were out of many items on the menu. It was very, very noisy and bustling. Not ideal for a relaxing dinner and conversation.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Breezy

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were sat at a booth near the bar and by the door connecting to the hotel. It was like being in a wind tunnel. Brrrrrrr!! Food was good and service was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Host and Service!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The host, Mike, was incredibly accommodating and made sure that our meal and the other diners at my table were well taken care of. He really took his role to the next level. We will definitely be returning!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Reservation

Dined on April 29, 2016

There were no Open Table Reservation times between 5 and 8:45 pm. Had to reserve at 4:30 pm and was disappointed that the restaurant did not get crowded until 6 pm. At 4:30 pm there was apparently limited kitchen staff, so had to wait an hour for food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2

Another evening at Saranello's. We came ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Another evening at Saranello's. We came back for the Minestrone soup. It's very delicious. We had the Chicken Vesuvio. The only problem tonight was the service. Very slow. Management had to help her. My husband was disappointed. They offered us a dessert but my husband refused it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a special event with ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We were celebrating a special event with our granddaughter. Our server was Brittany and she was outstanding in every way !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Another nice evening at Saranello's. The ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Another nice evening at Saranello's. The food was incredible. Minestrone soup, Beet salad, and the fish special...Branzino. Wow!!! The food was outstanding.

food4
ambience4
service5

Always good value and excellent servers.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Always good value and excellent servers.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best brunch spot I've been t ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is the best brunch spot I've been to in years! A must and a great place to celebrate a special occasions.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been here before and have always enjoyed the food and service. This last time I came here I was a bit disappointed. First, they didn't have any lasagna that my boyfriend ordered and didn't tell us right away. This was upsetting because the server didn't even know about it and someone else had to come out and ask what he wanted instead. The second thing that I wasn't impressed by was our server. She was not very friendly, just to the point of doing the motion then leaving us.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great service. The restaurant was very busy. We didn't know that they had a special dinner for some diners. Our waiter had a HUGE party of about 16 - 20 people. He was very good, but very busy. The food was great and we would go back again, but we would check to see if they had anything special going on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Dinner on April 23rd

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was very good. The restaurant was packed and thus service was very slow. Hard to hear as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

perfect for Passover meal--we have never ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

perfect for Passover meal--we have never been disappointed here and this occasion was masterfully done

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good experience

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great service. Accommodating, efficient. Went with a salad and a pizza, to share. Ample portions for two. Loved the bread. Dined there many times.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.