Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

About Saranello's

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 3:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Casual (52)
Good for Groups (47)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Authentic (36)
Comfort Food (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Business Meals (29)
Fun (29)
Bar Seating (29)
Great for Brunch (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Romantic (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Happy Hour (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Cozy (11)
Disabled Access (9)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 hours ago

We always like Saranellos. Today the service was better than the food. The Minestrone soup is outstanding. The bread is to die for. The Chicken Parmigiana and spaghetti was very good as was the Beef Brisket with mash potatoes. Very good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was well prepared and tasty. My wife and I have been there many times and never had a bad meal. I recommend Saranello's to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Saw the executive chef on the Food Network's Beat Bobby Flay. So on our way home from Milwaukee, we thought we'd give it a try. The BMW PGA event was in town, so the place was packed. But we were seated 30 minutes before our reservation, which was nice. It took 5 minutes before a waiter greeted us, 20 minutes overall before he came back, about 22-25 minutes before we got bread and about 45 before our apps arrived. But again, they were busy. Bruschetta was really good and the crispy calamari was fresh and not at all greasy. I ordered the Fettuccini and my lady had the spaghetti and meatballs (chicken). My pasta was overladen with pancetta (a strong critique from a self-proclaimed bacon lover), with over done pasta and absolutely no seasoning. She described her meal as bland as well. The meatballs, she said, were dry and flavorless and she thought the pasta was too done as well. My honest criticism is that they were a tad bit better than the Olive Garden. One compliment would be to the staff. The front end ladies were phenomenal and very accommodating. We sat near the entrance and I watched them put out fires and keep traffic moving. Also, they have a rare reserve macallan on the drink menu. Highly recommend for scotch loyalist...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was good & the portions are generous. A small salad was enough for three of us.

We had to ask twice for the blue cheese for the salad which was supposed to be served on the side. We also had to ask twice for extra lemon for the fish. We weren't offered a refill on bread. We paid the bill with a manager when our server disappeared.

It is incredibly loud in here, even when it is half empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Awesome evening. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We've have been to Saranello's several times and I feel the food and service gets more disappointing with every visit. Instead of receiving a warm welcome from the hosts, they always seem inconvenienced, overwhelmed and stressed. The noise level is not comfortable to have conversations without losing your voice by the end of the night. And some of the food comes over salted. Just disappointing for a LEYE establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Slow and average at best.

It is a shame because the location and the venue are really good.

Food is not too bad, although more attention to detail is required at the kitchen, particularly around sauces which make quite a difference when well prepared.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fantastic place to eat. Wish I had found it sooner. Have passed this restaurant on to my friends and family to try it out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always good
Food high quality
All choices are well prepared
Service was great

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant 10 to 15 times over the past few years So of our Group (6) liked their food and some didn't. By the time 7:00 came around, your noise comment which was energetic became unbearable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Outstanding food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always consistent good food great service. We celebrated two birthdays and our server made it a special night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Not my first visit, and as always fabulous experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our server was excellent...! Food was good, too... ........What else to say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Good meal with my counterparts. I have eaten there multiple times. Experience and food has been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

As always service was great and food delicious. Great pre theater deal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

I have eaten here several times both personal and business meals. Great food, service and atmosphere. My business colleagues ask to go back given all the choices available.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

From the moment we walked in we felt like a burden on the wait staff. Though the restaurant was about half full, the service staff seemed more interested in setting up for the following days breakfast than for taking care of the diners. Dirty plates were left on our table as the following courses were delivered, water glasses were left empty and silverware had to be requested once appetizers were delivered. For an LEYE restaurant we were shocked by the poor service. This all being said the appetizers and entrees were well cooked and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

food was quite good- our waiter JD was EXCELLENT! Good wine, too. Thanks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went for the brunch. I thought for the what was offered the cost was very good.

The food was very fine! They had a wonderful selection and not cheaper food, that sometimes one finds on a buffet.

Mimosas were included, as were other drinks. The coffee was a rich, flavorful coffee.

Over all, was a great experience, with friendly and attentive workers!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Brunch!! It was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We all enjoyed our dinner at Saranello's. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Seated in area that was cold and windy Server not accomodaring

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Eggplant Parmesan is the best! The crostini special with Crabmeat and avocado was spectacular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our go-to place for a nice dinner out. Everything I've had there was pretty tasty. The halibut was cooked to perfection -- flaky on the inside, crisp on the outside. Pork chops are amazing, not dry at all. The scallops special with ravioli was also delicious. I've had many different dishes over the years -- calamari (grilled is amazing), pasta, zuppe di pesche, chicken limone, minestrone soup is delicious. Always reliable as far as quality and taste of food, and service and ambiance.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

All good great food and time. Waiter was excellent very knowledgeable friendly and concerned that everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

THE FOOD COULD HAVE BEEN SERVED HOTTER. DISAPPOINTED IN THE CHICKEN VESUVIO. IT TURNED OUT TO PIEGON VESUVIO. SUGGEST THEY SERVE BIGGER CHICKENS OR SERVE THIS COURSE WITH MAGNIFING GLASSES.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Don't get me wrong. Love the food and the people here. Debbie our waitress couldn't be better but unfortunately we got charge for our theatre meal package as individual items and was overcharged $24. Didn't notice this til after check and tip was fine so we left it but I would appreciate a gift card to cover the overcharge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We've had breakfast, lunch, and dinner Here. They really have a nice menu and all three meals were very good. I particularly enjoyed the lunch. I had the express lunch with whitefish and it was delicious. It's a good place to feel relaxed enjoy the service and really you have a great selection and good food to eat

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

we had a terrific server who made fabulous recommendations

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food is always consistent from good to very good, but what was special tonight was our service by waiter extraordinaire, David. He was spot on with his exceptional service. Everything we requested was brought to us, and he was as polite and solicitous as you could possibly want in a waiter. Very enjoyable dinner and much of it due to David. Oh, we had a nice chopped salad, whitefish, and chicken fransaise.. Would definitely request David next time we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Lunch is awesome and reasonable. My favorite entree comes with soup or salad for lunch and nothing for dinner. It is a much better value for lunch than dinner.
I think soup or salad should be offered at no charge for dinner too. The prices are high enough to do that. My husband and I would come for dinner more often if it was given. He has ordered a chicken entree for dinner that did not come with any side. It looks skimpy not to serve a pasta side at an Italian restaurant for dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Saranello's is an outstanding member of the Lettuce Entertainment Group. You can always count on good service and good food and it's nice to know they honor your Open Table reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

20 minutes after ordering, we still had not received our drinks. Waiter was inattentive and had to be asked to bring drinks, sweetener, knife, etc. There were 4 people dining; waiter suggested one chopped salad to split. Whitefish order came as 2 small pieces. Sent back for new fish. Side spinach was served cold. Chicken piccata was good. No refill on bread. Unable to get management attention for any difficulties.

As a former mystery diner, it was awful. Not attentive, no check-back.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

My husband wanted to go out for a late dinner. We went to Saranellos and it was great. I love their Minestrone soup followed by Burrata Caprese salad. Then we had the Chicken Vesuvio. The garlic gravy was outstanding. For dessert we had the strawberry banana Nutella pastry. Wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Nick our waiter was great! He made the meal much more pleasant. We dined late afternoon on Sunday so it wasn't to crowded. Food was very good!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a 7:30PM reservation and sat and waited at the bar watching walk-ins get seated immediately.
Also, reservation said "celebrating a birthday" however, this was never acknowledged.
We all thought food was not as good as prior visits.
Would not recommend to anyone going forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

There were 7 of us celebrating a birthday. Our waiter John was outstanding. He was patient , informative and so pleasant. The 7 of us agreed that he made a birthday celebration so much better. Much praise and thanks to him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

milestone birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for everyday and special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.