About Saranello's

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (113)
special occasion (108)
neighborhood gem (86)
See All
great for lunch (78)
fit for foodies (73)
kid-friendly (39)
great for brunch (34)
romantic (33)
hot spot (31)
notable wine list (24)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for outdoor dining (11)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A little pricey but food and service was ...

Dined 3 days ago

A little pricey but food and service was great. Too dark for older eyes ... had to use the flashlight app to read the menu.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had reservation and arrived right on tim ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Had reservation and arrived right on time. Manager/host there is rude, very poor representative of LEYE. Shocked he is still there, they are usually well managed. We checked in and he was pushing us hard to take a high top in the bar. Otherwise, he said the wait would be twenty minutes for a table, despite our reservation. He was trying to save tables and fill up bar area. We declined and, sure enough, tables opened up.

food3
ambience1
service4
value4

The food was so so but the server was ve ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was so so but the server was very attentive. The people at the hostess stand (a 55ish oaf of a man, 2 ditsy 20 somethings) are not who you want as a first impression.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and enjoyed the speci ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent and enjoyed the special treat that was served for a birthday. Our server, David, was a delight. We will return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was extremely slow and took ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The service was extremely slow and took very long for our drinks and order to be taken

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Only thing spoiled our night was the wai ...

Dined 5 days ago

Only thing spoiled our night was the waiter lost our lettuce entertainment card and had the manager come over and express her regret not the waiter as he was new and was too embarrassed. Waiting on a new card and hope no one uses our to redeem our credits on it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Service was very bad. It didn't matter w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was very bad. It didn't matter what we asked, the waitress said it was "fantastic" She didn't listen, put order in wrong and was hard to find throughout the dinner. I had a free dessert coupon but they wouldn't accept it because I didn't print it. I have never been to a restaurant where they wouldn't honor or comp a dessert. Final straw was when they had additional items on the check! Complete incompetence. I will never return. Too many other great restaurants in the area!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Terribly disorganized. Buffet went to 2p ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Terribly disorganized. Buffet went to 2pm, so we set reservation for 2pm since we had no interest in the buffet. The staff put the pressure on for us to select buffet, even offering a discount. Then said ordering off dinner menu would be delayed because of the buffet. The buffet went to 2pm. They should have been prepared for dinner menu guests at 2pm. Our table ordered Bruchetta. Was told it would take 7-8 minutes. It arrived 30 minutes later. No lie. 30 minutes later, our dinners arrived. Total time in the restaurant was nearly 2 1/2 hours. Ridiculous

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go to Saranellos for dinner a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We usually go to Saranellos for dinner and have never had a bad meal. For Father's day we decided to go to the buffet. We were a party of 7 and there were many dishes to choose from. Everything was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch I've ever had, great food an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Best brunch I've ever had, great food and service. Loved everything.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is great. Great atmosphere, r ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This place is great. Great atmosphere, really good food, high energy, great service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the Sunday brunch. Had something f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the Sunday brunch. Had something for everyone and had quality, unique choices for the price. WOuld definitely return for a special occasion, as a little pricey for an everyday event.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

Lovely restaurant with a diversified men ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Lovely restaurant with a diversified menu. Reservations are important.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met a friend for dinner. Ate outside on ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Met a friend for dinner. Ate outside on a hot summer evening. The ambiance is great. The food was outstanding. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good. Waitress was pleasant. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was good. Waitress was pleasant. However, forgot to to bring soups and salads before meal. Also we had to request food be taken back to keep warm or reserve after soup and salad. A bit annoying but otherwise good.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I've always enjoyed dining at Saranello' ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

I've always enjoyed dining at Saranello's and usually request two particular servers. Neither one of them were available. Although, our server was pleasant, he wasn't very attentive. I was disappointed in my entree. I ordered the sautéed scallops for $30.00. Although, I didn't ask how many scallops would be served, I was surprised to receive only 4. The portion of mushroom risotto was equally small. The pistachio crusted whitefish and the gnocchi was enjoyed by the other diners. I wouldn't order the scallops because of the price and the lack of value

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious food. Never disappoint ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Always delicious food. Never disappoints. The service was especially terrific and our server was very attentive. The entire staff makes dining here a pleasure.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Celebrating joint anniversaries with fri ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Celebrating joint anniversaries with friends. Our server made our evening very enjoyable!

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was excellent!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waitress was great and so was the fo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our waitress was great and so was the food, however, the manager or whoever is always at the front desk is rude and you cannot understand a word that comes out of his mouth. He does not acknowledge when you arrive or ask if he can be helpful. I booked the reservation on this website so I assumed i would get sat at an actual seat and not at the bar seating that was loud and crowded. The waiter who sat us also mentioned that he doesn't understand most of what he says due to his accent/general mumbling of words.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

We had some food issues but management a ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We had some food issues but management and the server did an outstanding job of making thing right Great job and good training

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice birthday treat

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Besides the great dinner, we were treated to a wonderful chocolate dessert and cordial for my friend's birthday. The dessert was beyond delicious. Thank you for making a nice dinner even more special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening celebrating a family birt ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Lovely evening celebrating a family birthday

food1
ambience1
service3

All of the hot food was cold. For 35.00 ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

All of the hot food was cold. For 35.00 a person it was pathetic. I was there at 12:15. I can't stand cold bacon cold sausage cold potatoes etc ...

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

The evening couldn't have been better. The food was outstanding and our server was attentive without being obtrusive. The food and wine were appropriately priced. We have been there before and will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

AS USUAL OUTSTANDING IN ALL AREAS. TRY T ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

AS USUAL OUTSTANDING IN ALL AREAS. TRY THE 3-6 BAR MENU for the first time.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

a less than perfect meal totally out of character

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our fifth visit in the last six months. It was also the first time that our meals weren't outstanding. The sause for the veal parmesan was overly sweet. The lasagna was oversalted, as was the bolognese on the spaghetti. It appeared the kitchen was a bit off, but considering it was at the height of a busy Saturday night, we will definitely return again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it there best wait staff. Always fr ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Love it there best wait staff. Always friendly. Joe in front and for sure Jd as a waiter.

food5
ambience5
service5

Braised beef short rib was excellent. On ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Braised beef short rib was excellent. On the appetizer page, go for the stuffed mushrooms!

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

We have been here many times and have noticed the quality slipping, but nothing like this time. My wife and I had the Chicken Parmigiana. It was dry and had no real taste. The sauce had an almost tinny taste. This is very unusual for a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast crowd was quiet. Great food a ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Breakfast crowd was quiet. Great food and service

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a very good time and will return to this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have a pre-theatre special for $19.95

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great value and you must all be seated by 5:45 to qualify but it includes a salad or appetizer, a choice of many different entrees and dessert. Tom had the chicken lemone and I had their lasagna, both very tasty .

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service - great value in the f ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful service - great value in the family-style menu. Just a great experience! This is consistent, too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Birthday lunch. First time we ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Fabulous Birthday lunch. First time we were seated in the bar. Kyle was our server and he helped to make our birthday lunch an event. Everything was perfect from start to finish.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

We should not have to request bread beca ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We should not have to request bread because it's lunch. That's chincey.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Hotel Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Usually hotel restaurants are run of the mill and expensive. This is not the case with Saranello's. I found the food to be above average and then some (they make their own pasta which to me is major plus). The portions were excellent and prices very reasonable. This being a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant may have been a contributing factor. All and all I found it very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reservations were made through Open Tabl ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

reservations were made through Open Table. A s always there was no hassle when we arrived. Seated immediately. We were there prior to going to theater and had learned that Saranello's offered a preheater package. We did order this from their menu which consisted of: soup or salad; main entrée; and desert. Wow! it certainly was more than enough food and met our needs. We were happy with the price of this package too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Both lunch and dinner a ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food. Both lunch and dinner are delicious !! Give it a 5 star rating !!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't lose staple of the North Shore gen ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Can't lose staple of the North Shore general vicinity. Easier than going downtown, collect Lettuce points, always good eats.

Tags: kid-friendly

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.