About Saranello's

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Saranello's
Saranello's

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North Suburbs
Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Good for Groups (103)
Special Occasion (101)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
See All
Great for Lunch (67)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Kid-friendly (39)
Great for Brunch (34)
Hot Spot (27)
Romantic (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

DELICIOUS AND GREAT VALUE The lunch spec ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

DELICIOUS AND GREAT VALUE

The lunch special was outstanding. Really enjoyed the salad (Caesar), entrée (eggplant parmesan), and dessert. Elegant food choices and surroundings for a very reasonable price. My friend had a nut allergy, and waiter was very accommodating in adjusting the dessert so she could eat it. Will definitely return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server made everything perfect! We r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server made everything perfect! We returned because of her. Ask for Kristine. We opted for the $14.95 lunch and it is fabulous! Choice of soup or salad, lots of entree choices and an amazing dessert. Hopefully, this special will continue, as I've told lots of people.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Have been to Saranello's many times and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been to Saranello's many times and have usually been sat in the main area of restaurant. Had reservation and table was awful location visually and sound produced by wait staff station adjoining the table.Our wait staff was too busy, too many tables to take care of. She tried to give her best service, but she was only one person and many tables. Not a great experience we felt like we were sitting in the wait staff station.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We have been to Saranello's several time ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Saranello's several times and this is the first time we were disappointed. I realize we were there on a very busy Saturday night, but we were shoved in a very tight corner and the service left something to be desired. Our meals overall were O. K., but we have come to expect more.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

One of my favorite places to eat.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was great but service was spotty at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great but service was spotty at best. Dinner took unusually long to arrive, sauce missing and 3 attempts to get it. Had to flag down staff for water refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

My fish was cold and over cooked. One of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

My fish was cold and over cooked. One of my Childs chicken tenders where raw.

Service was awesome !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Nice place to get together with family a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Nice place to get together with family and friends. Good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the food was fantastic. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As always, the food was fantastic. The three-course "express" lunch is a great deal. However, the service is extremely slow - again, as always. Over lunch I'm not there to linger. I don't know why it takes way too long to get through a meal there. It happens way too often. This last time there was also a table that hadn't been cleared when we sat down (11:50am) or by the time we left (1pm). Really? Someone couldn't clear the dirty napkins, etc. away?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

The waitress came to the table and said ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The waitress came to the table and said the kitchen had dropped my meal on the floor, but they were making another. My other three quests were served their meal while I waited for the remake of mine. Not a great experience for two of my quests that were there for the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Dinner was great, as was our waiter. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner was great, as was our waiter. The only complaint was the loud music emanating from the wedding next store.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Good at good prices. Waiter was kno ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good Good at good prices. Waiter was knowledgeable and offered recommendations that my family always seek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Last night I had a reservation for 7:30, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Last night I had a reservation for 7:30, was finally offered a table at 8:15 in the bar area behind a pillar. What's the point of having a reservation if it's not honored. The hosted area is a cluster f*ck. I finally ate at the bar with my wife, drinks were good,food was also good. I've been at this restaurant about 4 times, but don't know if I'll return after this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great place to go for a special occasion ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great place to go for a special occasion. Well done and thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service was great too. en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

great food and service was great too. enjoyed the entire dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inexperienced hostess and grumpy waitres ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Inexperienced hostess and grumpy waitress..........

Hostess was not professional and seemed disinterested in greeting customers. No warmth in her welcoming. Confusion ensued when we were directed to two different tables, none of which we originally asked for. Server arrived after 10-15 minutes and it was at the 5:00 hour with few patrons seated at that time. No apologies except from other servers who kept telling us she was on her way. Maybe someone else should have taken our drink order????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Fabulous service. Great lunch express de ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fabulous service. Great lunch express deal for $14.95. Lots of choices, ample portions. Already planning on returning with a different group of friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As always, everything was perfect and de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

As always, everything was perfect and delicious. Ambience and service was excellent. Server made our experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last time we met up with friends there t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Last time we met up with friends there the menu was different. The offering of the different homemade pastas weren't on there. I really was looking forward to the mushroom sauce that is no longer offered. Also some of the pasta choices were not the same.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love it here

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We had reservations because we were goi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had reservations because we were going to the Marriott Theatre which we mentioned to our waitress four times and she did not understand it, We waited 20 minutes to place our order and waited 1-2 hour for salads. We again had to stress our time frame and they brought dinner, We finally said again we had to order dessert which came with the meal and asked her to bring the bill at the same time. We rushed down dessert and made it to the play as the last call was being called. A rush of a meal made it so un enjoyable which in the past was always pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Great variety on menu! They were very ac ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great variety on menu! They were very accommodating to my gluten free needs! Good service and ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Food, Atmosphere, Service are all in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Food, Atmosphere, Service are all in the Lettuce Entertain You mode. Great all of them.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our third visit to this restaurant and t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our third visit to this restaurant and the food was, once again, excellent. Tasty and fresh, each of our entrees was pleasing to the palette!

The service staff on the there hand, needs direction and serious coaching. While arriving early to a (more than) 1/2 empty restaurant, we were promptly seated at what was probably the worst table in the restaurant. When a new table/booth was requested, clearance from the seating hostess was required and received.

Our waiter was pleasant and friendly, but apparently had little concept about customer care and service. We appreciated some time to relax and chat, but it's a rare place that doesn't offer a beverage fairly quickly after seating (we requested drinks after waiting for more than a brief while).

The food was redeeming and we will probably go back...anticipating that our group will receive better seating and service than the last time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I was surprised to see that either Saran ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I was surprised to see that either Saranellos or Lettuce has altered their policy on birthday celebrations. I clearly indicated to our server that we were celebrating my husbands birthday, however, he didn't receive either acknowledgement or a complimentary birthday desert. In the past we've enjoyed many birthday celebrations at Saranellos as well as other Lettuce restaurants. Last night's experience will definitely cause us to think twice before we choose to celebrate another birthday at Saranellos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We had a lovely lady server....wish I co ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had a lovely lady server....wish I could remember her name...our first experience years ago was not the best...had a group setting up a private party around our table...cleaning, moving things etc...likely would have been better to recommend not staying that evening. But we came back...and not it is a favorite place near home!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jane, our server was excellent. Very att ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Jane, our server was excellent. Very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saranello's is not as good as other Lett ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Saranello's is not as good as other Lettuce Entertainment restaurants. We sat outside. The table and the chair were dirty. Service was average. Husband got the Ravioli and thought it was a skimpy portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The service was way below our previous ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was way below our previous experiences at Saranellos. The server was very nice but we rarely saw her. When we needed help, we flagged down someone else to get our server. It was a my sisters anniversary & my brother In laws birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Excellent place to eat. Great food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent place to eat. Great food and great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Host was so nice, Demetri was his na ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The Host was so nice, Demetri was his name. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

excellent dinner. The chopped salad was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

excellent dinner. The chopped salad was really fresh and crisp. Ihad the lasagna which was excellent with bits of beef brisket in it. The marcapone pie was very tasty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

The only thing I would say is that the s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The only thing I would say is that the service was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Loved it. Food was great. Waiter and Man ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Loved it. Food was great. Waiter and Manager very attentive. The special pre theater dinner for $19.95 was a great value: included great selection of appetizers, entrées, and desserts. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great find for an Italian res ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was a great find for an Italian restaurant with delightfully fresh food and rich, ornate decor in the Westin hotel. It is not a typical hotel restaurant - much better. Food was delicious, fresh and wine was spectacular. My only regret is that I did not specify the size wine glass I wanted. THe waiter assumed I wanted 8 oz. when I really only wanted 5 oz. Thus, the wine was expensive as my meal! Just make sure you know what you are ordering , wine-wise. Moderately expensive, and you can certainly get a meal salad or soup and salad instead of their pasta meals. But, why would you? The gnocchi was tender, and the vodka cream sauce had the addition of large tomato pieces, which made it more flavorful. The chicken limone was the tenderest I have eaten. Nice !

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The server disappeared for long periods ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The server disappeared for long periods of times and we sat with empty drinks for 3/4 of time at table. Sever finally came and asked if we wanted refills and then forgot them until it was time to get check. Overall good food, terrible service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

I've eaten here several times and it's c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've eaten here several times and it's consistently good. I tried the pork/veal meatballs this time - outstanding! Great wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent as always. Ordered th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Ordered the skirt steak and salmon, along with three kids meals. We were at Saranello's celebrating my wife's birthday. The wait staff was very patient and accommodating to my family, including three children. Only issue we had was with the service, as it related to waiting for water to be refilled and not seeing our server for long periods of time (the restaurant wasn't terribly busy when we were there, so the delay was unexpected). The other times that we have gone to Saranello's our servers were always attentive in filling water/beverages and checking-in with us to ensure we had everything we needed for our meals.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was the first time we'd been here b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was the first time we'd been here but we'll definitely be back. When they tell you the pasta is house-made and truly special, believe it. As a vegetarian I often end up with a veggie pasta dish at Italian restaurants, so I can tell you that the pasta surrounding the delicious cheese mixture in my cheese ravioli was exceptional. Light, almost delicate, instead of thick and chewy like many I've had. Any Italian cook would be proud to serve any of the pasta dishes our party of 4 enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server Tom, though not the server r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server Tom, though not the server requested on reservation, was wonderful. Accommodating, knowledgeable, personable...........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.