Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

About Saranello's

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 3:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Casual (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Good for Groups (51)
Comfort Food (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for a Date (43)
Great for Lunch (35)
Business Meals (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Authentic (27)
Great for Brunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Fun (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Family Style (15)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (14)
Private Room (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (9)
Healthy (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Live Sports (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food quality and service excellent, it was s but pricey .

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Jay was outstanding and very funny. The place is pretty but the food is mediocre. My skirt steak was overdone not medium rare as requested, more medium. My friend sent her fish back twice. They took it off the bill. A very hectic dinner. Will not return any time soon. They just never got it together there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Steve was wonderful. We had a special birthday celebration and he made it a wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We were disappointed that our "go to" pizza didn't make the new "update"...hoping it returns. Sat outside...it was a lovely evening. I think our waiter had a bunch of inside tables as we began to feel...invisible. He was aware and apologetic, and overall it was, as usual a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was below normal. Chicken and peppers: chicken was dried out and came with no side for $22.00! Large Chopped salad was mostly lettuce radish, and carrot. Way below normal standards. Bruschetta was fine, but skimpy for the price. Would not come back to sarenellos unless they respond to this review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our Server Danny was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Went for lunch with friends. Had the best Caesar salad I've ever had. Added grilled shrimp, which were delicious on their own. Another person had the same, and she agreed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The large chopped salad is small only only serves 3 people. The chicken and peppers had no flavor. The skirt steak special was a very small portion. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food
Eggplant Parmesan was the best ever. Pistachios encrusted white fish excellent. Caesar salad excellent. Great service

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Two loud groups were sitting around us. Very corporate atmosphere. Waiter was nice, but unhelpful. Food was mediocre, nothing special. This place has no face or personality. Last time for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Met a new waitress today, Debbie, was her name. Friendly and helpful , she made our favorite restaurant even more favorite. I had the chicken Parmesan , so crispy and tender and Tom had the chicken lemone that was very flavorful too. This is our go to restaurant for a great casual meal. Everyone should try this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I have had a taste for Cacio de Pepe for days. I keep seeing pictures of friends in Italy eating this lovely dish at every meal. My mom makes a great dish of pasta too but she wasn't available to make it for me. My friend and I decided that a girl's night out for dinner was needed and we decided to dine at Saranello's. Neither one of us had eaten here previously. I read their menu online and didn't see my dinner of choice so I was a bit bummed but I was going to be happy with any fresh pasta. When our waiter arrived he indicated that the restaurant was known for its in house prepared pastas and sauces and they could make anything. So I asked can they make the Cacio de Pepe I've been dreaming of. I take out my phone to google the dish so that he could ask the chef to prepare it. When my dinner arrived, I was blown away. The pasta was fantastic. The salt and pepper taste along with the cheese was super. This dish definitely hit the spot. I'm so glad I asked them to make it for me. This dish should be on their menu daily. It was without a doubt some of the best pasta I've had in a while. Simple and perfectly seasoned. Best part was that I got to meet the chef and tell him it was fantastic and most of all that I appreciated that he consented to make it for me. I will definitely return to Saranello's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great pre theater special! Delicious entrees, appetizers and desserts. Can't beat the prices!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was overall very good, especially "homemade" pasta and sausage. Service was friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and efficient. Only negative at peak dinner time is high noise level.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We ordered white fish and it was loaded with salt and pepper you couldn't eat it.
Then they brought us another one and it was like rubber!
We decided to change it and get salmon which came cold in the middle and was raw! Not a great experience!!!! The waiter was nice and brought us dessert but to be honest it didn't make up for the bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Granddaughters 14th birthday!!! She loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The chicken vasuvio as well as the ravioli stuffed with braised beef were superb. The ravioli
was the best that my wife and I have ever had, which is saying something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We've been going to Saranello's once they opened. There has been a change to the menu and a few of our favs are no longer on the menu. However the waiter said the chef would make what I liked he wamould just use a different pasta. So nice of them!!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Nancy was a very attentive server! My gnocchi was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have frequented this restaurant for a year or two and we love going there. The food is always great and we all seem to have a good evening. I do have to report that on Sat. night, our waiter, whose name was Danny, was the best we ever had and we hope he is still there when we return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I requested outdoor seating. When we arrived the host mentioned that they were busy outside and that it would be at least 20min until we could get seated. That's fine. But when we did get seated it took over 20min for a waiter to say hello to us. He also was extremely overbooked and didn't see us very often. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love this place. Upscale food in casual, but nice atmosphere. The prices are great! There's something for everyone on the menu. Great portion sizes. You'll have enough for one or two more meals after!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love the food especially the pistachio crusted fish. Nice rose' wine and great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Terrific Fathers Day brunch buffet. Lots of variety.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Best Sunday brunch around!! Tons options and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Way too crowded. Very long lines, cold food, rude people. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

excellent service, very attentive and detailed explanation for a first timer.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great waitress! Very vast amount of food with several different choices for brunch. Great place to celebrate a holiday or special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

LOVE Saranello's! We always hate going out to eat because we are always disappointed - we can cook better at home usually. Saranello's does not disappoint, one of my favorites!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First time trying the pistachio- crusted whitefish. It was a winner! Very crowded (good for them) but makes it hard to carry on a conversation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was very good but chicken limone was served as 3 very small pieces of chicken with capers, they forgot the bed of spinach. I had to call it to the servers attention. Took 5 minutes to get the spinach, asked for more sauce and was told it had to be made and would take more time. I waited. Had to ask for a refill of ice tea. The restaurant was VERY busy and so noisy we could not hear the friends next to us. We had to shout just like the people at the next table.
We were celebrating a birthday, I indicated it on our Open Table reservation. It didn't happen but by then we just wanted to get out of the noise. We went elsewhere for coffee. On the whole everyone was pleased with the food but I would not go back on a Saturday night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was excellent, including the skirt steak, trout, and salmon entrees, and their bread is wonderful and fresh. However the service was excruciatingly slow and the restaurant was very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a wonderful special birthday dinner for my husband and friends. Carlos is still our favorite server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Chef is a great guy and we love the place besides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I was at Saranello's with my family celebrating my grandson's middle school graduation. We were hoping for a relaxing dinner but unfortunately that did not occur. Our server kept bringing out our plates of food prior to finishing the appetizers. This was quite annoying and I mentioned that we did not want our dinner until after the salads were finished. In fact at one point, there wasn't enough room on the table for our dinners.
The food was quite delicious and I most likely will return to give it another try.
Hopefully the servers will comply with our wishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Convenient location. (In the Westin Hotel. Great food. Pre theater price fix menu is delicious and very affordable. Disappointed on our server as she neglected to help us celebrate a birthday. I told her, and it was also noted on my reservation. Dessert was served by bus boy. A few minutes later she came to the table and said " oh. I meant to add a candle. " We previously had outstanding birthday experiences at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was fine but service was poor. Will not hurry back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Service was great. The short ribs were outstanding. I would recommend tis restaurant to all my family and friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Both of our dinner choices were excellent. The Chicken Parmesian is by far the best I've ever had. My choice of wine went very well with my meal. Service was excellent too. We will be dining there again this summer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

OMG....best night ever at Saranellos. We had 2 birthdays to celebrate and our fantastic server, Debbie absolutely MADE our night. We had a wonderful meal, wonderful table, outstanding service. While this is a standard restaurant we dine at regularly, we really had a special night last Saturday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.