About Saranello's

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Casual (51)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for Groups (44)
Comfort Food (40)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Business Meals (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Family Style (29)
Fun (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Authentic (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Romantic (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Private Room (19)
Cozy (17)
People Watching (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined a day ago

Terrific fish and salad options but a very disinterested server took the bloom off of the rose. I'd still go back since the location is good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

My friend and I were fortunate to have Ethan as our server. He was personable, helpful, accommodating and professional, all that you would want your servers to be :-)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was average. Asked for water repeatedly. Never asked if we want another drink after first one. Long wait to be greeted and order. Menu changes not for the better.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Large place rather noisy but not uncomfortably so. Great food and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Tables are too close together. Two people in our party were bumped by other patrons moving to or from the exits. One we member was asked multiple times to pull their chair in to allow food carts to go by.

Service was good while the food was above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love Saranello's. The pasta is house made and very fresh. Servings are very nice size. Staff is so nice, our server was fantastic. The gelato was amazing and I can't wait to have it again! Love the bread before meal, too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food & beverage chioces. Good service on a Saturday night. We will go back.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was excellent, and the waitress we ultimately had was really great, but the experience we suffered at the hands of the Host was awful. We had a 6:45pm table reservation for 3. We showed up early at 5:45pm. The hosts and hostesses refused to seat us until 6:45pm even though it had not gotten busy yet. They told us to go sit in the bar which we did. There was a table for four in the bar, which we asked to use, but were refused, and were told it was being held for other guests. I checked several times to make sure they had not forgotten about us, which they had not, but they still refused to accommodate us in any way. We sat at a tiny table in the bar well past 6:45pm. The waitress serving us drinks in the bar felt sorry for us and tried to help us get a table. They finally sat us at the VERY table they refused to sit us at over an hour before, which was never used by any "other guests."

I would recommend this restaurant for the food and the service by the wait staff, as long as you don't mind being treated like garbage by the Host and Hostesses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is about the 4 th we have eaten here. Consistently good and wait staff always good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Saranellos has always been outstanding in every way. Unfortunately, not tonight. The food was still outstanding. The service started out good and felled off halfway through the meal. We were just sitting there waiting. We finished our entrees and waited 20 minutes for dessert. Then we waited another 20 minutes for our check. The final straw that broke my back was when my husband put $70 cash for a $52 bill and the waiter said "Do you need change?" A 35% tip for poor service. Ridiculous. I missed our regular waiter David.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had a wonderful waiter, Joshua. Recommended delicious wine , was very attentive but not overly, and more than pleasant! Great experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Saranello's is another great Lettuce Entertain You property that will not disappoint on dining and service. The Italian menu delivers on traditional dishes. Great for lunch and dinner; family and couples; and/or special events and business.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful place friendly servers and great to take your family or a date to

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was great. Food delicious. Our server was very attentive. Only small glitch, a friend phoned in a message and champagne for our anniversary, but we never got the message or champagne!

My friend did call next day and there was a note in reservation book ,. The Mngr apologized and offered a gift card.

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The spinach gnocchi is the absolute best. I order it each time. If you feel like treating yourself to dessert, you can't go wrong with banana tarimasu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Disappointing all around

We've been patrons of Saranello's since it opened and the quality, value and service have been consistently diminishing with tonite being the worst

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything we had was great beef wellington was outstanding....not usually on the menu

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Saranellos is our favorite restaurant & we never hesitate to eat there. Valentine's Day was really special. Lobster bisque was terrific & garlic knots were out of this world. Favorite dish is Chicken Lemone. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

If I can rate this place 10 star I would! The place was so cozy and the extra special that make this place even more great is our server! The best server I ever have in my entire life, sadly I forgot her name.

The food is tasty, I order beef ravioli, just perfect! Never seen so much meat in pasta and it did fill me. I would definitely come back here again, because of the food and a friendly server, she knows our taste 😊

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Family Style, Private Room, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

On a Sunday evening and Saranellos was packed with people enjoying great dining. We had a great booth with a great waiter, David. The food was amazing. Lobster bisque for him, Minestrone for me. Blackened Sea Bass over Lentils with onion, topped with fennel for him, Chicken Parmigiana for me. Banana tiramisu to finished the evening with a Cappuccino . Outstanding dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Been very disappointed lately in the food choices and service. Keep going back every once in awhile hoping it goes better. Brunch starts a 10. They are never ready

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service are good... wine list needs help.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Date night with my husband and we're never disappointed with Saranello's. I ordered the Hankerchief Pasta with Sunday Gravy and Italian Sausage and my husband ordered the Spaghetti with House Made Meatballs in a spicy tomato sauce. Both were wonderful and very generous portions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Family Style, Private Room, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience! Debbie our sever was amazing, friendly and fun! We had a great table in the Ali-Leo room. This was second time we had Debbie as our server and we might be requesting her next time too! Thanks for making our dinner special.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter was training a new waitress. We ordered a chopped salad and split an entree along with 2 sides. Our salad came out right away. It took an hour for our entree to come out. In the meantime a larger table of about 8 women sat behind us and obviously the waiter knew them because he was hugging half of them. They sat down about 15 after us. Their food came out long before ours did. When I asked our waiter why our food took so long his only response was they cook to order sorry. He then asked if I wanted to speak to the manager. I have never heard of a filet taking 1 hour to cook! I told him that was ridiculous. Not once did he even check to see why our food was taking so long. Very disappointing. He should have taken matters into his own hands. Poor choice to be training that woman! Doubt we will be back if that's the type of service we will be getting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Perfect spot for getting together for a catch-up with an old friend. Value wise it's great to have smaller soup & salad choices. Only wish the alcohol choices weren't $10 and up, but I guess that's everywhere now.

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Eggplant Parmesan was not very hot. The food came out too fast, had not had enough time to eat salads and soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had called previously to find out when lunch ended and no one told us lunch is not served on Sunday brunch day. We had a great meal but with lunch you get a free soup or salad. We told them this is what we came for but still had to use the dinner menu

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Rather disappointed at our most recent visit with friends. The food was very good but the tables are squeezed in so close together that it makes the space feel very claustrophobic and loud. One of our friends kept getting hit by people walking down the main aisle. Not very relaxing, to say the least. They were also out of lasagna when my husband ordered his meal. How could an Italian restaurant be out of lasagna? Probably wouldn't recommend for these reasons. But, if these things don't bother you, it does have good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food as always & Joanne our server was fantastic! We will come back for the food and to see her! and the banana tiramisu was heavenly. Ask her for the sweetart martini too

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great and the service was wonderful. Our server in particular was very accommodating given we had two small children. We really enjoyed the experience and will continue to frequent this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always great food with top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best service ever!!! Have not had that good of a waitress in forever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great lunch! Great service! Everyone enjoyed their meals at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is always excellent. The cocktails need improvement. My lemon drop martini was watery and flavorless.

The waitress was curt and unfriendly. If it wasn't for the great food, I don't think I'd recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I can always count on a exceptional dinner at this place !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food and drink prices were reasonable. Service and quality of food was great. We were celebrating four birthdays that evening and Saranallo's went out of their way to insure it was a great celebration with a complementary champagne toast and dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

3rd time. Good food, great cocktails & excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our waiter was horrible. I don't know his name but poor service- no connection. Just an overall bad waiter.

food was good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great service and food. Even my 4 and 7 year olds liked everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Services was TOP NOTCH. Our server was friendly, attentive and extremely accommodating. Food was tasty. A bit crowded (tables close together where we were seated). This resulted in servers having to reach over table to take dishes and my chair was nearly touching chair of next table. One dish was sent back (too spicy for my mother-in-lawz) and our server was EXTREMELY helpful and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We particularly love your Sunday brunch. The variety of food selection is always good and the champagne is a great addition.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I called ahead and asked the lady if they offered vegan options, she said yes, just tell the server and the chef will come out and talk to us and create any dish we wanted. When we arrived, we told the server we wanted a vegan option and he acted very surprised and disappointed, as if we made the wrong choice coming here. We asked if the stuffed mushroom cap appetizer was vegan, he checked and came back and said no - he didn't even find out what appetizers were vegan. So we ordered a main course. My girlfriend, the vegan, ordered noodles with sauce and a side of vegetables. I ordered spinach gnocchi and grilled calamari. The calamari was great, and the bread and oil was also good as we waited. Our dishes arrived, mine was delicious. Hers had cheese on it, which isn't vegan. The waiter took it back and got us a new plate after 10 minutes. He apologized and said he forgot to write "vegan" on the order, so they garnished it with cheese. Not a big deal. The food was good, we enjoyed the night. My only disappointment was that the chef didn't come speak with us regarding making something without cheese and meat, and I could understand they were busy, but the waiter didn't become a liaison for us and figure out what on the menu would be vegan or could be made vegan. I would go back, maybe on a less busy night where we could order properly and know all of our options.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Disappointed in service.... friendly server-but forgot things through out the meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My waiter was David and he was awesome my bill was 69.00 I left him 50.00 cause he deserves it. My wife and I have both been servers and we know what and how good service should be. Big thank you to him he made it an awesome time. Food was very good, valet was an extra treat. This was a first time here and it won't be our last.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was lacking, past few times I've been here the service is not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is second time . Always great food ! Also server is very kind!

So everything was perfect day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and ambience are decent. We decided to sit at the bar for dinner, and the bartenders were less than enthusiastic about helping us. It was difficult to get their attention to order or for the check, and it wasn't super busy. A little disappointing service-wise and not what we expect from a Lettuce restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A disappointment. Food was only ok. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.