Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

About Saranello's

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (86)
Casual (83)
Special Occasion (81)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for Groups (64)
Good for a Date (63)
Comfort Food (59)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Great for Lunch (42)
Worth the Drive (39)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Bar Seating (33)
Fun (33)
Family Style (33)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Private Room (24)
Cozy (23)
Romantic (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Modern Decor (14)
People Watching (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Live Sports (3)
Seasonal (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Whatever you do don't order the "Zuppa Di Pesce", unless you're whiling to pay $28.00 for a bowl of spaghetti w/2 small shrimp, one calamari ring, 9 mussel empty shells and a piece of salmon, in a relatively good sauce.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We were greeted at the table with Champayne for my daughters graduation celebration! Staff & meal Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great experience for an early Sunday dinner. We came at a quiet time so not sure if this is the norm. We sat in the bar area which was quiet and cozy. The food and service was excellent - my partner and I enjoyed two pasta dishes. It was my birthday and although I declined dessert, the waiter brought a chocolate mousse cake with a candle, it made the dinner extra special. This was my second visit here - I would definitely come back and would highly recommend to others. I've never been disappointed with Lettuce Entertain You establishments and this was no exception!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Bad service, I wasn't impressed but the brunch was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding meals for everyone at our table. Can't wait to eat the leftovers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Horrendous service , LOUD dining room and so -so food left me frustrated and sad. Saturday night, and they packed our group of 8 into a too small table right in a high traffic lane. The silverware was all over the table. They never refilled the glasses of water and to get someone to come back was really difficult. Even the waiters looked stressed. If you have another choice for your group, go there! The food was not worthy of the price we paid for it. So we complained and they reduced the bill 10%, but it burnt me! I will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was my first time ... loved it!! I was there to celebrate my friend's birthday.
Emily, our server, was excellent ... extremely knowledgeable; really knew the ingredients, highlighted the "homemade" foods; I had salmon, my friend had a pasta ... both were outstanding. She loved the b-day chocolate cake and we both loved the lemon cookies.
I look forward to coming to happy hour and for dinner with a date! Thank YOU!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food , good value, good service, convenience and a lively place to gather with friends. Bar has good scotch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was a great meal and service outstanding. We were celebrating a bday and the waiter gave us each a glass of champagne which I thought was a great gesture. Very satisfied.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Outstanding as usual. Great food, good value and good service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is a very good restaurant to feel special! The bread is warm and the food is fabulous. I love the ambiance! Great menu selections!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mother and mother and in-law there for mother's day and I was so embarrassed with everything.
I had to look for a waiter and he said he would find ours and send him over​. So than we waited for 15 minutes to be asked what we wanted to drink. Than we went up to the buffet and put food items on our plates and walked back to our table. All of us three, said our food be was so cold. I'm part Italian, and pasta is not to be cold!
Thanks for a terrible mother's day brunch!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch. Spread was amazing, room beautiful, service wonderful. Just too many people eating at once so food couldn't be replenished quickly enough! Choices good. Still enjoyed.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant. Great food and ambiance. They also have gluten free menu and bread option

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went of our 22nd Anniversary and was very pleased with the rustic feel, large room with cozy feel and not very noisy with a full house. Food was authentic in preparation and flavor but with slightly updated changes to the dishes. Brought our own bottle of wine and paid reasonable corkage fee of $25. Bruschetta appetizer was delicious with a soft flavorful cheese topping to make an interesting change to the traditional recipe. Overall, very satisfied and will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

had the white fish and spaghetti with meat balls, both were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

service is very slow...but wonderful food and atmosphere!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were there for an early Saturday dinner. The food is great, the service is great. Sangria was sorta "meh". We got the special of $19.95 for a 3 course meal. It's the best deal in town for this level and quality of food and service.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They forgot to include the salumi in our anti pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent reasonably priced food with good service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Tonight Saranellos was a WOW!!! Service by Kim was outstanding. Jake made us feel very special. He had our booth ready before we even walked in. I had a raspberry Bellini. My Beet salad with goat cheese was delicious. I ordered my Chicken parmigiana and my husband had the Halibut special. His meal was incredible. Halibut so moist and flaky with asparagus, small golden potatoes on a bed of Fennel that I found myself indulging bite after bite his wonderful entree. I ended up taking my meal home. He was so impressed he told Jake we will be back tomorrow night. I text friends and they will join us. Just a wonderful dining experience. The Caramel gelato was the cherry on top. Thank you to everyone responsible for a beautiful evening out with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very good service and delicious food. Our request for a table in a quiet corner was honored, and we had no problems hearing one another in our party of 4. A very nice evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place is "hit or miss". Sometimes food and service are good. Today service was poor. There were only about 5 tables filled at 2:30pm for lunch. We had to go up to check-in table to let them know that no waiter or bus person came for the 15 minutes we were seated. The lady at the front check-in counter then came to fill our water glasses which were both dirty with red lipstick markings. One napkin was also stained. they need to do a better job of checking for clean set-ups. Not service represented by a Lettuce restaurant. Not in a hurry to visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Place was crowded for a Thursday night, which was okay as that can be expected. But service was painfully slow. Waiter was nice, but we hardly saw him after our meals were served.

Our appetizer and soup came with our meals. The grilled calamari was buried in capers, rendering the dish too salty and unpalatable. Minestrone soup was also a bit salty. Pizza was excellent; so was the spinach gnocchi. We have been to Saranello's on many occasions. This was the first time we have been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

All silverware was dirty with stuck on food .
Glasses dirty .
Parmesan Cheese bowl empty ,
dirty spoon . Ordered small chopped salad charged for large . Brought it to waiters attention said it was large . Very distracted , had to ask 3 times for straws .
Very disappointed . Used to be very good , not anymore . Won't go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The table, glasses and restaurant overall were not clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Nice option in the Wheeling/Deerfield/Northbrook area. From pizza to steaks. Food was good, service was good, price was fair....

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It was a very medium quality dinner and it was very chaotic when we arrived. Even with a reservation we had to wait about 10 minutes, which is usually the case at this restaurant. I would probably eat there again but I wouldn't be in a rush to go back,

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our waiter, David was outstanding. He was able to answer any question we had and knew when to visit the table or not. Our dishes were excellent and the beet salad was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazing meal at one of my favorite restaurants!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food excellent. Never disappoints. Great gnocchi and best lemon cookies out there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

After negotiations with host due to a family member in a wheelchair (they wanted to sit us in the noisy bar area), they willingly sat us in the main dining room. Dinner and the service was excellent. Would highly recommend this restaurant. Huge selection of meat, chicken, fish and pasta.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food and service were terrific! Drew is a most wonderful server!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Saranellos is a wonderful restaurant. We tried something different. Always the Minestrone soup, a pasta with chicken in a wonderful creamy sauce and Banana Tiramisu. My husband had the Filet Mignon. Excellent meal. The service was slow but the restaurant was very busy. We had a cozy booth so we didn't mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Good food. The service was "GREAT" thanks to Mike M, our server!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Pre-theater menu is fantastic. Many choices, lots of food and great value. We had a fantastic dinner. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely return to Saranello's again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

good food- bus boy was excellent- waitress was fair, at best

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was very slow and food did not come out hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.