About Saranello's

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Saranello's, Wheeling, IL
Saranello's, Wheeling, IL

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Groups (40)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Casual (31)
Comfort Food (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Business Meals (21)
Authentic (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Private Room (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Family Style (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fun (12)
Romantic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and options. Great for lunch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and options. Great for lunch with coworkers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sunday red sauce dinner is the bomb Grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Sunday red sauce dinner is the bomb

Great value and great food

The best chicken dish I gave had great sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I got stuck in a table near the back ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I got stuck in a table near the back server station that was dark and noisy, tried to move but was told that it would be 15 minutes even thou I had an open table reservation. Good food but bad table. Not sure that I would return unless I was guaranteed a better table before hand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Saranello's is one of the best Italian r ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Saranello's is one of the best Italian restaurants on the Northwest suburbs. Excellent food and very good service. The Christmas decorations are very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent and priced well. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was excellent and priced well. The service was excellent. Nice ambiance too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome waiter

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Awesome waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fabulous food, but the waiter was overwo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

fabulous food, but the waiter was overworked with too many tables, so service was slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our family group of 8 dined at Saranello ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our family group of 8 dined at Saranello's before a play. Everyone raved about their meal and the wonderful bread and olive oil while we waited for our order. I had the salmon entree and it was especially good. Also the desserts were outstanding especially the chocolate gelato. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the wine list and our bottle of wine was delicious. The service was great and the waiter was very helpful in getting us out on time for our play.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Reservations right on time. Food was exc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Reservations right on time. Food was excellent! Service was spectacular.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was great about recommending ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The waiter was great about recommending great Pinot Noir. The salad was great. We had the spaghetti and meatballs and the fettuccine. They were both amazing. We'll be back with the kids. And without.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food,beverage and service were wonde ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food,beverage and service were wonderful. I certainly plan to return to Saranellos soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had never been to Saranellos before and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had never been to Saranellos before and thought we'd try it for breakfast.

Limited but tasty menu. Very nice atmosphere.

Service was good,an efficient.Coffee refills always around.

Definetely would like to try brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was poor starting from the front ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was poor starting from the front of the house all the way through the end when we got someone else's receipt for our meal. Food was ok, not spectacular, and not great to overcome poor and slow service experience. It was our first time, and probably the last time there. Normally, we really enjoy LEYE restaurants, but this time it turned out to be a waste. To be more specific, the waitress didn't acknowledge our child at the table, no water/drink was placed for him, I had to request a child menu twice. We had to ask for drinks, ask for appetizers, order was wrong for our child, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was very good. Everything from ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was very good. Everything from Italian basics to more creative variations. Our server, Carlos, was friendly and attentive. Even on a busy Saturday night we didn't feel rushed. Service was prompt but it didn't feel like they were pushing to turn the table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were not disappointed from the positi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were not disappointed from the positive reviews posted on-line. Everyone enjoyed their entree's. Waitress (Kim F.) was terrific and very attentive and timely with the food and drinks. A bit loud in the room for our party (8) due to size of the table, but manageable. Will return!

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful dining experience at S ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Another wonderful dining experience at Saranello's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is always good here as well as ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food is always good here as well as the service. Our waitress Randy is one of the best. I recommend coming here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening - Outstanding service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful evening - Outstanding service by our waiter, David. Food was DELICIOUS -

Wasn't our first time there and it definitely won't be our last!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Saranello's was our "go to" Italian rest ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Saranello's was our "go to" Italian restaurant but this evening and the previous time was not up to par. We were seated 15-20 minutes after our reservation time. The service was poor. Our appetizer come out cold and our entrees took forever to come out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was ok. Had reservations and they ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was ok. Had reservations and they tried to seat us in the bar area. Bread was warm and delicious. We thought the wine and food was a bit overpriced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Italian restaurant with some creati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Nice Italian restaurant with some creative departures from the usual fare. Service was attentive until it got crowded and then we never saw our waiter again. One member of our party even said "Thanks" to our waiter as we were leaving, and the waiter didn't even acknowledge his greeting. Perhaps too many tables per waiter?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious, authentic, and great service! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious, authentic, and great service! Not your typical Italian restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

came here two weeks ago to celebrate my ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

came here two weeks ago to celebrate my husband's birthday and had a great experience. came here tonight to celebrate my son's birthday - he came in from TX - and had a less than stellar experience. food was good, but not as good as it was two weeks ago and I had the same lemon chicken. tonight it was overdone and not as flavorful. my son has a 4+ peanut allergy and I called ahead to see if the chocolate cake that they serve for birthdays had nuts, which it didn't. we also ordered pumpkin chiffon pie and it was topped with some type of seed/nut and the crust tasted like it had some type of nuts or almonds. when my son went to find the waiter to ask him about ingredients, the waiter RUDELY told him 'you're going to have to wait a minute - I'm busy.' not a good attitude for a server to have. I know that peanuts are not used at this venue, but it could have been almonds in the crust and he is also allergic to almonds. so that was a waste of $9.95 since we never found out the ingredients b/c the server was 'too busy'. also, also never got after-dinner cordials that are part of the birthday 'package' or the picture that also comes with the package. the table next to us was so close that it was easy to hear their conversation - partially b/c they talked so loud. all in all it was not a great evening. moral of the story? don't go to this restaurant on a saturday night if you want a dinner where you can have a conversation with those at your table. also had to ask for bread refill three times. we won't be returning any time in the near future. and after reading some of the other reviews it looks like this restaurant has ongoing issues with service. But I guess I should be happy that my chicken wasn't raw like I read about in one review.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Love the food and the service. Nana"s la ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love the food and the service. Nana"s lasagna is the best. My husband's chicken Parmesan was huge . They offer a theater special from 3-5 on weekends and 3-6 on weekdays,Friday included ,that is the bargain of the century at $19.95 that includes a salad or soup ,a choice of alot of entrees and dessert.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this Saranello's twice. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have been to this Saranello's twice. Both times the food was good, but the service was poor. Waiters were disinterested and inattentive. We won't go to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The service was excellent. We were 4 co ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was excellent. We were 4 couples with 4 Nov birthdays and the waiter treated us like we were VIP's. Thank you Saranello's.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Saranello's is my favorite Italian resta ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Saranello's is my favorite Italian restaurant in the area. We always order the Pizza Margarita which is the best anywhere, and the scallops are amazing as well as the homemade pasta!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another great dinner at Saranello ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had another great dinner at Saranello's. They have a beef ravioli dish that is really delicious...not your typical ravioli but truly exceptional. Reminds my partner of his Italian mother's authentic meat sauce and he LOVES it! They offer a number of really good Italian dishes at reasonable prices and a very nice atmosphere, with good a good wine selection. This is a favorite restaurant nearby.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great waiter

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was very good, and the server w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very good, and the server was excellent. She was clearly making recommendations based on her honest opinion rather than what would make the bill higher.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They originally sat us in the bar area ( ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

They originally sat us in the bar area (despite the fact we told them we were celebrating our anniversary) and when the Cubs game came on, we couldn't hear each other. The staff was kind enough to move us to another table but even the then the noise levels were still pretty high. Overall we had a nice experience, the food was great but too noisy for a quiet dinner out. I would recommend it for groups.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good Italian cuisine....average size por ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Good Italian cuisine....average size portions with a little higher than average prices.....very nice bar area with booth seating if you want to eat in the bar area....for a lower noise level request a booth in the main restaurant

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Came here with my family, this wasn't ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Came here with my family, this wasn't our first time. Worked for lettuce for many years, so any lettuce restaurant is always fantastic. Food is always really great and high-quality. We ordered the short rib, shrimp diablo, and eggplant parm - everything was fantastic. The service was the only thing that missed the mark. Our server did not see very pleased with us, nor anyone else she served on. With three previous lettuce servers at the table, we were all very disappointed in her attitude. Overall, we will be back, hopefully we get a server who is a little more cheerful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Celebrated my husband's birthday here. F ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday here. Food was outstanding as was service. Because it was his birthday we each received a glass of champagne and he was given an amazing chocolate dessert as part of the celebration. Our server also took a picture of us! Would definitely return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saranello's was celebrating RedSauce Sun ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Saranello's was celebrating RedSauce Sundays. It was spectacular. Our server David is the best at Saranello's and we always ask for him. He never disappoints. Our friends joined us for this wonderful feast. We started with Raspberry Bellini's, Super Greens salad, Zucchini appetizer, Rigatoni with Italian Sausage, Branzino Fish with potatoes, and for dessert Banana Tiramisu with Cappuccinos. This is living. A wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

love red sauce sunday!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

love red sauce sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Used to be great..this time poor service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Used to be great..this time poor service and mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Wonderful restaurant! Delicious dinner! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Delicious dinner! Excellent service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Family Style, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nothing to say

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nothing to say

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Delicious and service was great!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.