About Saranello's

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Saranello's
Saranello's

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Good for Groups (93)
Special Occasion (90)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
See All
Great for Lunch (54)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Kid-friendly (36)
Great for Brunch (29)
Hot Spot (21)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Business Meals (11)
Private Room (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (7)
Family Style (6)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had not been to Saranello's for over a y ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined a day ago

Had not been to Saranello's for over a year but we will be back again soon. My husband had the short ribs over mashed potatoes-talk about melt in your mouth and the gravy was very flavorful. I had the spinach gnocchi with housemade chicken sausage & mushrooms - what a wonderful flavor combination. Our waitress was efficient, without pushing us out the door. Surprisingly it was very crowded for a Tuesday night.

The Lettuce restaurants know how to put out a consistently good product.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you haven't been there go there. Grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you haven't been there go there. Great Italian food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal in one of the side rooms so n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal in one of the side rooms so noise was not an issue. Friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant evening and pleasant waiter. Fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Pleasant evening and pleasant waiter. Food was great. Yummy pork chop.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eggplant is excellent! Service is great. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Eggplant is excellent! Service is great. Nice wine list and theater menu is terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was sub par and the service was wor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was sub par and the service was worse. Would not recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

I was expecting a little more food. Want ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was expecting a little more food. Wanted the prime rib, however chef mentioned that he was going to have more brought over. The prime rib was never brought over.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine glasses were dirty and had lipstick ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wine glasses were dirty and had lipstick on them when we got them, they don't tell you there is an additional charge if you want a side salad or soup. I'm not cheap by any means but really 10 for a side salad. I probably won't go again. Stay at the hotel it's connected to pretty often but I'll go to Cooper's hawk instead and get my money's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have been here many times before, and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been here many times before, and the food is good as usual. However, this time the service was really terrible. They obviously did not have enough wait staff for a Saturday night, even though we were there early (5:45 pm). The waiter was friendly at first, but once it got busier, we never saw him again. We couldn't get our check when we needed to leave for the theater, and when the manager tried to help it just made it worse. The bus boy was also terrible - spilled things on me and on the floor, tried to take plates before we were finished. He needs better training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We frequent this restaurant, and were lo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We frequent this restaurant, and were looking forward to another good meal at Saranello's. Unfortunately, this experience was disappointing. I needed to find a manager to finally get our meal after a 45 min wait. We understand that kitchens get backed up and busy and accept that unexpected delays happen. But our main complaint was the lack of acknowledgment once we complained. The manager never followed up, our server seemed to avoid us, coffee/dessert was never offered. I would have hoped that management would have found a way to offer us something for our inconvenience instead of ignoring us

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent service and very good food. A ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent service and very good food. A little loud though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great----but service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is always great----but service was disappointing this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Saranello's is the restaurant to go to f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Saranello's is the restaurant to go to for the best chicken parmigiana. Our friends had chicken with peppers that looked very good too. A side of pasta made our meals so good. Just another great meal at Saranello's .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dining was great, the bar not so much. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Dining was great, the bar not so much. Server said we could take wine glasses with us since we had an event at the hotel. We returned the glasses when we came back for more glasses of wine. The bartenders would not serve the wine in glasses, only plastic cups, even though we were staying in the hotel. Some in our party went to a liquor store and returned with bottles of wine and plastic wine glasses. It ended up being a cheaper night of drinking. So maybe it was good that the bartenders would not let us reuse our wine glasses.

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for anniversary celebration!. They ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great for anniversary celebration!. They treated us to a SURPRISE complementary champagne toast & a yummy chocolate molten mousse cake to share.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best eggplant parmesan in metro Chicago ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Best eggplant parmesan in metro Chicago & best marinara sauce to go on top!

Service was awesome! (Thank you Drew S!)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great server. Food is always good ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Had a great server. Food is always good and plentiful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, starting with the Calamari, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food, starting with the Calamari, Caesar Salad, and especially the Whitefish which was encrusted in Pecans. Didn't have room for desert. Wonderfully charming waitperson.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A wonderful dining experience.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love my dinner choice fine service very ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love my dinner choice

fine service

very good food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of us had an excellent veal milanais ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of us had an excellent veal milanaise that could be cut with a fork. The other had an outstanding pasta dish with shrimp

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent meal. The service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always an excellent meal. The service is alway great. We really enjoy coming here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautifully appointed restaurant. Serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A beautifully appointed restaurant. Service was excellent.

I am getting more & more disgusted with a la carte restaurants. For a Chicken Parmigiana at $18.95 to come to the table with nothing on my plate but the chicken (which in my opinion was flattened way too much as if it were veal) and NOTHING else on my plate makes no sense to me. Not even a small vegetable or a small side of pasta. It is a total turn off to have to add $4.95 for a small side serving of pasta or even $6.95 for a vegetable serving.

So many restaurants in the area offer a complete meal for the price. I don't appreciate being nickel an dimed. The restaurant was so noisy that my guest & I could hardly hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

We love Sarenello's! We always dine ther ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We love Sarenello's! We always dine there on our way to the Marriott Theater The food is very good and there are lots of choices. Deb B. was our server, and she was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my father's birthday ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were celebrating my father's birthday and when we told the waitress she brought us complimentary champagne and a delicious chocolate cake dessert. The service was friendly and attentive and the food was some of the best Italian food we have had. They made my father's birthday very special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Never a bad meal at Saranello's. Great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Never a bad meal at Saranello's. Great service, great food and an overall great experience.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Private Room, People Watching, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went on a Sunday night and the noise le ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went on a Sunday night and the noise level was more than I anticipated I could barely hear my husband . I was constantly saying what ?what? There was nothing to absorb the noise and with four or more people at every table that just creates the noise level for everyone else to go up and up. The food was excellent but wouldn't add to my restaurant rotation. I would only go on a special Occasion knowing what I'm dealing with noise level wise. As a sidenote the dessert was excellent we had the special caramel cake and it was divine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our experience was good for the Sunday b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our experience was good for the Sunday brunch, however I did put in the reservation that we were celebrating birthdays but it was never mentioned. Our server was great and the food was good! Overall, good experience for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. The only disappoi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food as always. The only disappointment was that they discontinued Mama Rowe's Sunday gravy which was our favorite red sauce anywhere on the planet!!

All five of us loved our dinners. The veal Parmesan is incredible and the portion is big enough for two meals. The gluten free pasta is the best I've had at any restaurant. The Caesar salad was excellent as was the chopped salad.

Our server, whose name I forgot, was outstanding. She knew the wine list and made great wine recommendations . She was attentive and efficient and very pleasant.

We love Saranello's and will be back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food Service questionable. We d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Love the food

Service questionable. We did not order drinks and servers do not like when their diners don't order drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Linguini with clams was full of dried he ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Linguini with clams was full of dried herbs, unpleasant to eat. Chicken parmesian was served undercooked, had to be sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent! Try the pork chops.. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent! Try the pork chops... Outstanding! The staff is friendly a little too busy. Asked if we wanted desert but didn't ask about coffee. Little things. Overall a good experience

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always. a good experience.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always. a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was great! We celebrated our an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was great! We celebrated our anniversary and wanted to try somewhere different.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are going to the theater and chec ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

If you are going to the theater and check in by 5:45 you can request their theater menu and for $19.95 you get a salad or appetizer,a main course and a dessert. It's a great price and the food is Delicious. I usually get the nona"s lasagna and my husband gts a chicken dish.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The eggplant Parmesan is amazing. Servi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The eggplant Parmesan is amazing. Service is great. Love the location and the pre-theatre menu. One of my favorite places to eat !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 52nd wedding ana ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were celebrating our 52nd wedding ananniversary and had a very enjoyable time!great food and especially Great Service with Kristina.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saranello's is the best Italian restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Saranello's is the best Italian restaurant on the North Shore. Great pizza, homemade pasta, chicken meatballs and the best scallop special I have ever had the Tuesday night I was there!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overwhelmed server We were not attended ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Overwhelmed server

We were not attended to timely & request were ignored

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Wonderful as usual!!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful as usual!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.