About Saranello's

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

good for groups (119)
special occasion (105)
neighborhood gem (92)
See All
great for lunch (90)
fit for foodies (69)
kid-friendly (41)
great for brunch (38)
hot spot (31)
romantic (26)
vibrant bar scene (21)
notable wine list (21)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been coming here since they open ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been coming here since they opened. It is my favorite restaurant for brunch lunch or dinner. We never hesitate to take friends family there as we have always found everything to be wonderful. The only problem as it is always filled you need a reservation for diner. We love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We arrived about 1pm and a lot of the ta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived about 1pm and a lot of the tables were not cleaned up until we were leaving.

Dream of asparagus soup and Rushing Waters trout was too salty. My friend had the rigatoni pasta dish which was very good. Very nice touch: delicious, complimentary chocolate birthday dessert with candle!

Server bent over backwards for us.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great! Servers were attentive. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was great! Servers were attentive. The only upsetting part was that the Parmesan Onions were taken off the menu :( one our favorites & reason we live to come for dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant, with wonderful foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent restaurant, with wonderful food and usually fantastic service. Our server was not very good, she must be new, otherwise, service here is like the food - warm and good!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

visit here 5 times a year and this last ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

visit here 5 times a year and this last visit was a bit off. slow service and a extra meal charge on the bill while trying to make a show in time. we'll be back but was a bit disappointed but everyone has an off day

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Saranellos food is consistently good whe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Saranellos food is consistently good whether for lunch, dinner and any time of day. My family has celebrated many bday dinners there and their lunch specials cannot be beat! For under $15 you get an entree, soup or salad and an amazing dessert. And always go home with a doggy bag.

The service is usually pretty good but on our recent visit for lunch our waiter was slow, forgetful, and somewhat inattentive. I would and do recommend Saranellos restaurant to everyone! Everything on the menu is good from their crusted whitefish to anything with braised beef. And of course their pastas are made in house and you can tell!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We were able to easily get a reservation ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were able to easily get a reservation for Saturday night at 8 pm just an hour before on Open Table. We weren't seated until 8:20, and at 8:40 my boyfriend had to ask the host to get a waiter to come to our table, then he ended up taking our drink order. The waiter first appeared almost 15 minutes later to deliver the drinks and take our food order, explaining that the kitchen was super busy. This is a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant and I would expect they would have food service down to a science by now. So we didn't end up eating until almost 9:30, and while the caeser salad was drowning in dressing, the linguine and clam sauce and the spaghetti and meatballs was delicious. However, that will not be enough for me to return. This was my second poor experience at this restaurant, the first being at brunch a few months ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great meal, highly recommend. Only negat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great meal, highly recommend. Only negative is the server quickly grabbed my current drink (before it was finished) when I ordered a second...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Everything was fantastic. The service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything was fantastic. The service was perfect. Very friendly environment and the staff was wonderful. I would recommend this to all. Great dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't let water mislead you into thinkin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Don't let water mislead you into thinking that soup or salad is included with the meal. Ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Went before our Marriott theater play. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Went before our Marriott theater play. They have a three course special for theater diners. Not only was it a great value but the selection was varied and the food top quality. Since I am a theater subscriber will definitely book to eat at Saranellos beforehand each time. I've also had their brunch which was very good. A must try!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there to celebrate my husband's ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went there to celebrate my husband's birthday. We enjoyed other than 2 things- our server did not check on us timely- we waited a fair amount of time to order entree after ordering and even finishing our appetizers. We had to stop another server to add salad as she left in hurry before checking with everyone if the order is complete. Also for our leftovers- the packets got mixed up and we ended up getting someone else's leftovers .. so that was a bad exp. Food and quantity was great for the price and place.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Server did not bring drinks to table at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Server did not bring drinks to table at same time. She was unaware of the Seafood salad on the menu. Seemed like she was not that familiar with restaurant menu. Also next day received an email from Open Table saying we weren't at restaurant for our reservation. Called restaurant and gentlemen who spoke to me said hostess never entered it and was not very apologetic. Normally, we have had outstanding service and meals at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our first visit to this restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant and we were impressed by the creativity of the chef and attentive waitstaff. We would have given the food 5 stars if the pork chop had been a little less dry. The salad with balsamic pearls and Italian doughnut dessert were outstanding. We are looking forward to returning to this restaurant and bringing our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was such a great place to go for br ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was such a great place to go for brunch! The mimosas were included in the price so it was definitely an amazing deal! It wasn't super busy so there weren't long lines for anything and it was pretty quiet too which was nice. The food choices were vast and since we stayed awhile and talked, they switched some of the things they had in the buffet. My absolute favorite thing that they had was the short ribs egg benedict that was so delicious, I probably would have eaten two of them if I wasn't saving some room for the dessert! The creme brulee and the chocolate covered strawberries are always my favorite but they had banana tiramisu that was amazing too!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience in every respect---fr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A great experience in every respect---from the accommodations made by the manager, great food, great service, helpful staff, appropriate prices. We brought the family back twice in one week

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saranellos has very excellent food, albe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Saranellos has very excellent food, albeit a little purposely plentiful. They have nice wines and good service. Very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a deal! Get the family style packag ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a deal! Get the family style package for groups - can't beat it and the food tastes great. Servers are fabulous and make it a truly pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J. D. took fabulous care of my grand-dau ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

J. D. took fabulous care of my grand-daughter who is on a soft food diet. He is the best. Food always good! Was a great evening!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Lovely restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was great to sit outside and enjoy th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was great to sit outside and enjoy the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey but food and service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A little pricey but food and service was great. Too dark for older eyes ... had to use the flashlight app to read the menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had reservation and arrived right on tim ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had reservation and arrived right on time. Manager/host there is rude, very poor representative of LEYE. Shocked he is still there, they are usually well managed. We checked in and he was pushing us hard to take a high top in the bar. Otherwise, he said the wait would be twenty minutes for a table, despite our reservation. He was trying to save tables and fill up bar area. We declined and, sure enough, tables opened up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was so so but the server was ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was so so but the server was very attentive. The people at the hostess stand (a 55ish oaf of a man, 2 ditsy 20 somethings) are not who you want as a first impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value4

Best chicken dish & plenty for two peopl ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best chicken dish & plenty for two people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and enjoyed the speci ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent and enjoyed the special treat that was served for a birthday. Our server, David, was a delight. We will return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was extremely slow and took ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The service was extremely slow and took very long for our drinks and order to be taken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Only thing spoiled our night was the wai ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Only thing spoiled our night was the waiter lost our lettuce entertainment card and had the manager come over and express her regret not the waiter as he was new and was too embarrassed. Waiting on a new card and hope no one uses our to redeem our credits on it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was very bad. It didn't matter w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very bad. It didn't matter what we asked, the waitress said it was "fantastic"

She didn't listen, put order in wrong and was hard to find throughout the dinner. I had a free dessert coupon but they wouldn't accept it because I didn't print it. I have never been to a restaurant where they wouldn't honor or comp a dessert. Final straw was when they had additional items on the check!

Complete incompetence. I will never return. Too many other great restaurants in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Terribly disorganized. Buffet went to 2p ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terribly disorganized. Buffet went to 2pm, so we set reservation for 2pm since we had no interest in the buffet. The staff put the pressure on for us to select buffet, even offering a discount. Then said ordering off dinner menu would be delayed because of the buffet. The buffet went to 2pm. They should have been prepared for dinner menu guests at 2pm. Our table ordered Bruchetta. Was told it would take 7-8 minutes. It arrived 30 minutes later. No lie. 30 minutes later, our dinners arrived. Total time in the restaurant was nearly 2 1/2 hours. Ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We usually go to Saranellos for dinner a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We usually go to Saranellos for dinner and have never had a bad meal. For Father's day we decided to go to the buffet. We were a party of 7 and there were many dishes to choose from. Everything was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch I've ever had, great food an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best brunch I've ever had, great food and service. Loved everything.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is great. Great atmosphere, r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place is great. Great atmosphere, really good food, high energy, great service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved the Sunday brunch. Had something f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the Sunday brunch. Had something for everyone and had quality, unique choices for the price. WOuld definitely return for a special occasion, as a little pricey for an everyday event.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with a diversified men ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Lovely restaurant with a diversified menu. Reservations are important.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Met a friend for dinner. Ate outside on ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Met a friend for dinner. Ate outside on a hot summer evening. The ambiance is great. The food was outstanding. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Waitress was pleasant. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was good. Waitress was pleasant. However, forgot to to bring soups and salads before meal. Also we had to request food be taken back to keep warm or reserve after soup and salad. A bit annoying but otherwise good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I've always enjoyed dining at Saranello' ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've always enjoyed dining at Saranello's and usually request two particular servers. Neither one of them were available. Although, our server was pleasant, he wasn't very attentive.

I was disappointed in my entree. I ordered the sautéed scallops for $30.00. Although, I didn't ask how many scallops would be served, I was surprised to receive only 4. The portion of mushroom risotto was equally small.

The pistachio crusted whitefish and the gnocchi was enjoyed by the other diners. I wouldn't order the scallops because of the price and the lack of value

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Always delicious food. Never disappoint ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always delicious food. Never disappoints. The service was especially terrific and our server was very attentive. The entire staff makes dining here a pleasure.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating joint anniversaries with fri ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Celebrating joint anniversaries with friends. Our server made our evening very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.