Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

About Saranello's

Inspired by his travels and passion for Italy's culture, Executive Chef Mychael Bonner has created a broad menu of Italian-fare utilizing the freshest ingredients to create the fullest flavors to bring homemade, hand-crafted pizzas and pastas, as well as prime steaks and fresh fish dishes to the table.



Feel the energy while dining in a casual and rustic 6700-square-foot setting. Dine at natural reclaimed wood tables with seating for 175, surrounded by inviting darker woods, exposed brick and beams, subtle filament lighting, and accented with muted chocolate and caramel tones throughout.

601 North Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee and Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 777-6878

Website:
http://www.saranellos.com/

Catering:
Catering for groups from 8 to 250. We will offer a wide array of family style options that are guaranteed to please.

Executive Chef:
Mychael Bonner

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining facilities also are available for holiday parties, business meetings and other gatherings. A larger space accommodates seating for 50 while two smaller dining rooms each offer more intimate settings for 25 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Saranello's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Casual (64)
See All
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Comfort Food (45)
Worth the Drive (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Family Style (34)
Business Meals (34)
Fun (34)
Great for Lunch (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Private Room (20)
Authentic (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Cozy (19)
People Watching (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fireplace (3)
Spicy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated a birthday with Sunday Brunch. The buffet was fairly extensive and the quality is good. Included mimosas was a nice touch. Good choice in the suburbs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

All was good, only problem was that we did not get seated until 7:45 for a 7:00 reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Reservations right on time. Service was great. Plenty of food on the plate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Nothing worse than cold chicken parm! Minestrone soup was hot and flavorful, salad fresh and tasty. But cold chicken parm? Inexcusable. My dining partner's was served hot, meaning the timing of the entrees was not synchronized. Saturday night busy, but a place of this vintage and renown should have been up to the task.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere and excellent menu choices. Friendly knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food we ate was delicious! Gnocchi was great! Another dish was pasta with a mix of three sauces! Was very tasteful!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

My wife got the chicken and peppers. She loved it. I had the pork chop. It was alright. Others have a pork chop between $20 and $26 that is better. Like Cafe Luchi, Bobbys, or Eddie Merlot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service were both excellent and so was the atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As always, Saranello's doesn't disappoint - one of our favorites being the braised beef ravioli. I ordered a special entree of Sweet Potato Gnocchi with lamb sausage and sage - it was fabulous. My husband had the lasagna and took half of it home and reported it was even better the next day. Our server John was very attentive.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We ordered "Express Lunch" which include soup or salad, entree, and tiramisu. It was a very good deal and cost effective! We really enjoyed that lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Good food, good service, friendly staff, priced right, lots of parking and valet service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was cold when served. The manager offered to take it back but we were time limited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Had the pistacio crusted whitefish and it was delicious. Excellent service and complementary chocolate cake dessert for my birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

GREAT FOOD! Most everything is homemade. Their Sunday Brunch is awesome ($34.95/person). Lunches & dinner's are fabulous. Full menu at the bar. Bartenders are fun and attentive. Separate rooms for parties for 10 to 50 and/or more.

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious Sunday brunch. Atmosphere was wonderful and service was great. Large variety on buffet to please everyone. Also included mamosas and champagne.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great pace to entire meal. Debbie was terrific. Lettuce Ent. restaurants rarely disappoint.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service, flexible with the menu and free valet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and service. Our server, Ethan, was friendly and out going.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love coming to Saranellos, food always good and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was very good, however the service was fair. We felt very rushed throughout our dinner - main entree came before we had finished our salads. Felt like the waiter was trying to get us out quickly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I'm glad I gave this another try after having a bad experience when it first opened six years ago. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience at Saranellos. Much better service than our last visit. Grilled calamari is a must. Very good Caesar salad. Incredible Bronzino. The restaurant was busy even after we left. Great evening at Saranellos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant is always busy especially on Saturday evenings, but we got a reservation for
5 PM and we were seated immediately. All of us had different meals and everyone was happy with theirs. My gnocchi was wonderful. My friend loved his octopus appetizer and scallop entree. The short ribs and fried fish were enjoyed by the other two guests. The waiter was friendly and competent. The manager came over to see how things were going. Parking was extremely difficult. Part of the parking lot was fenced off, maybe for repairs, and the valet was extremely busy. All in all, we enjoyed our meal at Saranello's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good food! Highly recommend
Parking a pain
No bathrooms in restaurant. Have to go upstairs or into the hotel
Give it a total of 4 Stars

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Horrible service!! The female servers were very nice but there was one manager, (short dark haired with gray streaks), that was extremely rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our 2nd time dining here. Like the first time, this restaurant has clear trouble planning their tables. I had reservations both visits. The first dining experience we waited almost an HOUR for our table past our reservation time. This time we had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time. Then they tried to seat us at a small table in the noisy bar, not the dining room. Because we said no we had to wait longer. Server was nice but inattentive. Said it wasn't his fault our appetizer came out wrong!! Noise level is very loud, not good for a date night. Eggplant parmigiana lasagna was very delicious. However, the wait time and staff that didn't seem to care much one way or another is a huge turn off!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Horrible service! Upon seating, there was a manager that was visibly upset and could not control his anger. He began throwing our menus on the table, yes throwing the menus, and knocked over a glass. He then picked up the glass and slammed it on the table. We told him there was no reason for him to be so rude to us. His response was "We have too many parties that need to be seated and everything is mixed up!" in a very rude tone, yelling at us. He never apologized. Something to be noted here, we had five children ages ranged from 6-10 that witnessed this behavior! Disgusted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Waiter was not attentive, had to wait for everything. Food had no taste. Eggplant parma was like eating breadcrumbs with tomato sauce, straight out of the can, poured on it. Pasta was home made, but again the sauce had no taste. Soup and caesar salad was bland. Meatballs again tasted like balls of breadcrumbs. Overall, the food experience needs major improvement. The place is always busy, not sure what the major attraction is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Hostess truly incompetent and unpleasant. Server not great. Price of house wine considerably higher than at other comparable restaurants - compare to Wildfire! Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We always go to Saranello's because the food,service,and quality are always consistently flawless. They have a great selection of dinner items, salads. and pizzas paired with friendly efficient service. You cannot get a better meal in the area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Another wonderful experience for us (my husband and I) at Saranello's. We ordered from the price fixed menu for the North Shore Dining Event for February. Salad or soup, entree, and dessert for $20.17! You can't beat that price and the food, as always, was absolutely delicious. Full size portions too! Cliff was our server and he did an excellent job of taking care of us. We would definitely ask to be seated in his section when we come again.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious Sunday brunch. AND it included mimosas!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Christine is the waitress to ask for. She really took care of all our needs. We had reservations for the Sunday Champagne Brunch, $34.95, worth every penny. The homemade cinnamon rolls are worth the price alone.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was excellent and Carlos our waiter was amazing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always consistently great food! We visit at least once a month

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Terrific fish and salad options but a very disinterested server took the bloom off of the rose. I'd still go back since the location is good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My friend and I were fortunate to have Ethan as our server. He was personable, helpful, accommodating and professional, all that you would want your servers to be :-)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was average. Asked for water repeatedly. Never asked if we want another drink after first one. Long wait to be greeted and order. Menu changes not for the better.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Large place rather noisy but not uncomfortably so. Great food and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.