About Sarabeth's Park Avenue South

381 Park Ave South
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

We serve Breakfast, Lunch, Tea, Dinner and Brunch in this great space, between the hours of 7:30AM and 11PM, daily. With a full bar, private rooms and A/V facilities, this is a perfect location for your next breakfast meeting or private dinner event.
We also have live jazz music every Wednesday evening and offer happy hour daily from 4pm to 7pm.
Join us for Restaurant Week 2014!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:00pm;

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;

Late Lunch/Tea: 4:00-5:00PM;

Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Bar: Open until 11PM. Thursday, Friday, Saturday until Midnight;

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm;

Cross Street:
27th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 335-0093

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
4 and 6 Trains stop at 28th and Park Ave South

Executive Chef:
Freda Sugarman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Sarabeth’s houses a three-room convertible event space with retractable paneling designed to fit the needs for events of all sizes.

Sarabeth's Park Avenue South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (66)
Great for Lunch (48)
Sunday Lunch (41)
See All
Casual (36)
Comfort Food (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Modern Decor (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Business Meals (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Family Style (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Healthy (11)
Quick Bite (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (4)
Romantic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wait staff was so attentive and personab ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Wait staff was so attentive and personable. Food was great. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed. Portions too large, servi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Not impressed. Portions too large, service too slow and inattentive, food just so so, very limited and overpriced wine list. Best part of the experience was leaving the restaurant at the end of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I have dined at this location on many oc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I have dined at this location on many occasions and have always been happy with the service and food. It is my go to place for a quick catch up with friends or a quiet business meeting.

This particular day, things seemed off. It was brunch and at 12:30 they had already run out of some menu items. They offered substitutions without asking or informing me . The wait staff is always attentive and not intrusive but this time I had to ask more than 2x for more hot water for tea.

I will be back but perhaps not for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Cannot believe how great eggs can be. Ha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Cannot believe how great eggs can be. Had the egg frittata and it was amazing!

The blood orange mimosa was worth coming back for as we're the scones and jam

Skip the cappuccino.

Went on a crazy Sunday for brunch and even though we had a reservation still waited 30 minutes at 11:00 am for a table.

Definitely the place to be and it was delicious though pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Brunch was wonderful at Sarabeth's - gre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Brunch was wonderful at Sarabeth's - great options to choose from and everything our group had was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had breakfast with the family on Saturda ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Had breakfast with the family on Saturday morning. Had heard great things about the place, so wanted to give it a try. Cool spot and the service was very good, but the food was just fair. Our group of four had two different types of french toast, an omelette, an assortment of muffins, a side of crispy bacon and juices. The highlights were the bacon and juice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was dreadful. Not like the Sar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was dreadful. Not like the Sarabeths I remember. Who would think of stuffing bacon in mussels?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Did not have to wait long to get our foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Did not have to wait long to get our food and everything was great including the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Sarabeths for my birthday and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I went to Sarabeths for my birthday and had an outstanding time. The food was excellent as always, and we had a great waiter.

They were able to seat us in a great booth where it was quiet and we could talk.

At the end, without even asking. They brought out a small piece of cake with a candle in it. It really made the night that much more special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time in this Sarabeth's. Large and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

First time in this Sarabeth's. Large and plenty of seats .It was easy to make a reservation (or one was not needed at all). The food and decoration were just Sarabeth's but the atmosphere was different in my personal opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Usual busy, cold food, brisk service. S ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Usual busy, cold food, brisk service. Sarabeths was great when it was a singular restaurant on Madison Ave in the 1980's. Ever since, the name precedes the experience. Breakfast or brunch food is hard to serve hot, and they still havent figured it out as a restaurant for the masses. I have been to 3 locations; all the same experience. Also, I have no issue spending for quality, but the 19.00 pancakes are awful- no buttermilk taste. A single serving of butter and a tiny cup of fancy syrup make the experience even worse as one has to wait 10 minutes to get a server for more condiments as the food gets colder and colder. I will never dine at any location ever again as I have tried to enjoy but just cannot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Frequented Sarabeths original "kitchen" ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Frequented Sarabeths original "kitchen" back in 1984 and then over the next couple decades as empire expanded. Haven't been in at least 15 years but was back in NYC for a visit and needed an easy, theoretically "decent, good meal " location....we've had better omelets at a truck stop. They tasted as though they were made with packaged cartons of eggs, actually no taste in spite of three different varieties ordered by our table. And they were not inexpensive. On par with same purported caliber of other nyc eateries like this but certainly expected fast/flavor/freshness. Service was spotty in that had to ask for hot coffee top up but seemed to be lots of wait staff around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Server was very inattentive. Never follo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Server was very inattentive. Never followed up to see if our meals arrived as ordered. Never acknowledged a new guest had joined. Had to ask for honey 3 times and received it when my tea had gone lukewarm. Food was bland and over priced. To their credit, I will only say that the reservationists was very flexible and accommodating with our large party reservation. Otherwise service and food was subpar.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

A+ for family brunch! One of our favorit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A+ for family brunch! One of our favorites, but first time to this location!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a tasty lovely, brunch with a friend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had a tasty lovely, brunch with a friend. The wait staff was helpful, attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was just not nice. The wait ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The hostess was just not nice. The waitress was great and the manager (max) has an attitude. Not enjoyable - I eat at SB a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Everything was fine. We asked for bread. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything was fine. We asked for bread. The waitress said they had none. We asked another waiter. He found us bread and brought it. There is no way a restaurant doesn't have bread when they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Second time going there...food is outsta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second time going there...food is outstanding a must go. The waitress was a little rude at first then slowly very slowly warmed up to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I visited here twice a last week. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I visited here twice a last week.

It was so delicious.I think brunch menus are better than lunch menus.

All the Egg benedict menu was good and waffle and french toast also good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Horrendous service. Every time waitstaff ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Horrendous service. Every time waitstaff was asked for something (whether it was for a spoon or more coffee) they were very disrespectful and made every excuse to NOT provide the service we asked for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

For a place that is famous for brunch, i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

For a place that is famous for brunch, it was disappointing. I had the egg w kale salad which was so boring and uninspired. The sausage and veggie frittata was dry and tasteless. The pastries were slightly dry and on the stale side. The waiter was pleasant but did not listen well or answer questions properly. There is better - skip this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Nice but egg is overcooked than i predic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice but egg is overcooked than i predict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love it here for Breakfast, Lunch and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We love it here for Breakfast, Lunch and even Dinner. Modern decor with a corner location makes it bright and airy. Food is delicious and varied, breakfast is amazing. The staff are very pleasant and the Hostess Andrea is definitely what any "front of the house" should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I often attend this location for brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I often attend this location for brunch and have had many great meals. However, my last experience at this restaurant for dinner was far below satisfactory. The waiter was a little pushy, the food was cold and flavorless and my date and I immediately felt sick. I will most definitely not be attending this location again for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

味は美味しかった 席が2名席だとやや狭さを感じる

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

味は美味しかった

席が2名席だとやや狭さを感じる

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch on a trip to NY and were ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went for brunch on a trip to NY and were lucky to find parking in the neighborhood. We sat at a table in the bar to avoid waiting for a table in the dining room. The service was good and the menu interesting--breakfast and lunch options. Among us we had avocado/burrata on toast where the bread was deemed too hard, french toast that was voted one of the best ever, a spinach and goat cheese omelet that was just fine but nothing spectacular. It was enjoyable and tasty but expensive--but then it is NY!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed Sarabeths on the Upper West S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed Sarabeths on the Upper West Side, both the ambiance and food, and hoped for the same from Sarabeths in another part of the city. We were disappointed with the ambience at the park Ave south location, and the food was extremely disappointing, and completely overpriced given the poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Over-cooked steak, dry muffins, so-so pa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Over-cooked steak, dry muffins, so-so pancakes, lukewarm soup. Omelette was good, but for the price you'd think there would be more on the plate than the omelette and a recently defrosted horribly dry muffin. Potatoes and fries that we paid for to round out the plates came out after we'd halfway finished our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Folks working there. The food w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great Folks working there.

The food was great but the service was even better.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Family Style, Private Room, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughters Birthday

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Daughters Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very expensive even by New York standard ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very expensive even by New York standards for what you get. The food is good but breakfast for two with out alcohol or dessert for $65 isn't worth it. There a better tastier and more reasonably priced options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Had always heard about SaraBeths and tho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Had always heard about SaraBeths and thought it would be a pleasure to dine here. Boy was I wrong, the facility was a bit dumpy, my first cup of coffee was cold and the food although good was nothing special. Completely disappointed in everything except the preserves

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Delicious breakfast! Love the lemon and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Delicious breakfast! Love the lemon and ricotta pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not worth the hype. Maybe it's become a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Not worth the hype. Maybe it's become a tourist trap but nothing about our meal stood out. My eggs stuffed in popovers were the blandest thing I've eaten. 21 bucks later and a bad cup of coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

This was my first trip to sarabeth's and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was my first trip to sarabeth's and it won't be my last. I went with my mom for brunch and the service and food were great. We shared a corn muffin with sarabeths famous preserves and it was delicious. I also had the grilled cheese with tomato soup and my mom had the eggs Benedict. We both really enjoyed our food. The waitress was nice and helpful. It was fairly busy when we went but it wasn't too loud. Fairly reasonable price. Overall I enjoyed it a lot and will definitely go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable -- great place for break ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always reliable -- great place for breakfast/brunch, etc. Enjoyed!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for brunch and it was outstandin ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went for brunch and it was outstanding! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I can't say enough about the creamy toma ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I can't say enough about the creamy tomato soap. I'm a big fan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good, reliable and by far t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Consistently good, reliable and by far the best and hippest Sarabeth's in NYC.

Delicious late breakfast and perfect for a quiet meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always thought about this place as a b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I always thought about this place as a brunch place. It was my first dinner there. There was live jazz, which is always great. The seating was comfortable, very good service, good food - I was positively surprised and will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.