About Sarabeth's Park Avenue South

381 Park Ave South
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

We serve Breakfast, Lunch, Tea, Dinner and Brunch in this great space, between the hours of 7:30AM and 11PM, daily. With a full bar, private rooms and A/V facilities, this is a perfect location for your next breakfast meeting or private dinner event.
We also have live jazz music every Wednesday evening and offer happy hour daily from 4pm to 7pm.
Join us for Restaurant Week 2014!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:00pm;

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;

Late Lunch/Tea: 4:00-5:00PM;

Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Bar: Open until 11PM. Thursday, Friday, Saturday until Midnight;

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm;

Cross Street:
27th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 335-0093

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
4 and 6 Trains stop at 28th and Park Ave South

Executive Chef:
Freda Sugarman

Private Party Facilities:
Event spaces for 20 to 100 guests with A/V equipment.

Private Party Contact:
Greta Tralongo: 2123350093

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sarabeth's Park Avenue South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (130)
good for groups (74)
great for lunch (69)
See All
fit for foodies (49)
kid-friendly (44)
neighborhood gem (43)
special occasion (32)
great for outdoor dining (10)
hot spot (10)
romantic (9)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. There are so many pl ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I love this place. There are so many places in the city that can't seem to get breakfast right. Sarabeth's definitely gets breakfast right. We went for father's day and were not disappointed. You won't be either. Friendly and efficient staff, great food and pretty good ambience. Really quiet, so you can have a conversation without screaming across the table.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

The food is always amazing, except the m ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always amazing, except the meatballs. Their tuna is sensational as is there tomato soup. The service, is awful.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent and so was servic ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was excellent and so was service. Enjoy it very much!

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The ricotta and lemon pancakes were deli ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The ricotta and lemon pancakes were delicious. I wish I had tried the muffins too. It was expensive bit typical by NY standards. The staff was not attentive and very slow especially since it was not crowded

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

food was Very tasty. The ice cream sandw ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

food was Very tasty. The ice cream sandwiches for dessert made the issues we had with the service not an issue. We ordered an appetizer that never came, no refills for iced teA or checking in on the food. I have the kale Cesar with grilled chicken. The waiter told me about it although it was not on the menu. The chicken was very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday morning breakfast!!!

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great Sunday morning breakfast!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love brunch at Sarabeth's. They are k ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I love brunch at Sarabeth's. They are known for their preserves and their preserves do not disappoint! Delicious. Also I highly recommend a side of crispy bacon. It melts in your mouth.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Bland bountiful

Dined on June 11, 2016

On a Friday Summer evening, the restaurant was empty and the food (seafood cob salad) although plentiful was quite bland

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious food cooked to order. Friendly ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Delicious food cooked to order. Friendly staff.

food3
ambience3
service3

The food was fine, but nothing special f ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was fine, but nothing special for a steep price.

food4
ambience4
service1

The staff was too busy setting for their ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The staff was too busy setting for their breakfast tomorrow to wait on us. Really a shame. I tipped well anyway but I think management needs to pay attention. The place was nearly empty. No excuse for such bad service.

food2
ambience2
service3

Food for breakfast was equivalent to Den ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Food for breakfast was equivalent to Denny's for 3xs the price

food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing location ,great food and service ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazing location ,great food and service as always.

food3
ambience4
service2

We had a 10:15pm reservation on a Friday ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a 10:15pm reservation on a Friday night, the restaurant was nearly empty, seated immediately ordered a cocktail, jalapeƱo and thyme margarita was too spicy to finish. Frissee & Lardon salad was very good. The main course arrived before my salad was cleared from the table, we got the hint, you want to go home and you want us out of the restaurant. Steak frites, minimal amount of skirt steak, truffle fries cold when arrived at table, dissapoiment. No one inquired about how the food was. Before the dinner plates were cleared from the table the waiter informed us that if we were planning on ordering dessert we needed to place that order because the kitchen was closing soon, not very welcoming. The only time anyone inquired about the food was when the check hit the table, too late. In short, don't book tables if you don't plan on allowing your guest to have a nice dining experience. No plans on returning.

food5
ambience4
service4

Our experience was not that good, every ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Our experience was not that good, every time I visit NY, I have to have breakfast in Sarabeth. This time I was very disappointed because they no longer have my favorite, pumpkin waffles. I don't think I have to go back since it was my favorite dish and is no longer in the menu. Very bad decision!! Instead I chose Manchego Omelette but the cheese was not melted.

food3
ambience4
service5

Good breakfast! But long wait for the fo ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Good breakfast! But long wait for the food!

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointed, sad to say

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were really looking forward to this. We booked it 2 months in advance. We were shown our table swiftly, but it was right by the bus boy table. The waiter was not familiar with the menu. And he was not very friendly. I was actually afraid he was going to throw the hot coffee on me as he poured it without looking. The food was okay, but no raves here. I remember the best oatmeal. This was okay. The baked apples were almost raw. The coffee weak. It was sad. When they cleared the plates they took one cup of tea that we were still drinking. That would have been okay, but when we mentioned it the waiter argued with us, saying there was "NO TEA in it". Okay. No more Sarabeth's for us. I never write negative reviews. But this one had to be written. Save your money. Rude waiters and marginal food.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We came on a Monday night after 9.30pm. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We came on a Monday night after 9.30pm. The restaurant was nearly empty and the waiter was really there for us. The food was great; we ordered the octopus as a starter followed by two burgers and one Ahi Tuna. I am not sure the waiter really understood that we wanted to substitue the regular french fries with truffle ones. When the burgers arrived, we let him know about the mistake, but he really didn't seem to get it. No biggie but not on point.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service were fantastic...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Food and Service were fantastic...

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service here excellent!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The service here was impressive, however the food did not live up to the hype, sadly.

Tags: great for brunch
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We arrived on time for our reservation, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We arrived on time for our reservation, but one of our party (of 4) was not there yet, and we had to stand in the lineup until all 4 of us were present. The hostess greeting people had a permanent scowl, and was neither pleasant nor welcoming to incoming customers. The food was mediocre at best, the coffee poor. And yet, the place was packed, with a lineup at the door. So there is obviously some formula there that works for a lot of people, but there are far better places to go for brunch in Manhattan than Sarabeth's, which was a real disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great brunch!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Came to Sarabeth's for a Mother's Day br ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Came to Sarabeth's for a Mother's Day brunch. It was perfect for the occasion. Friendly service & great food!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We spent the weekend in the city and decided to have brunch at Sarabeths before we left on Sunday morning. This place was recommended by friends so I was anticipating having a really nice brunch. We were very pleased with our experience. The service was great and the menu had a great selection. My wife had the French toast and chicken sausage and I have the vegetable omelet with a side of bacon. We enjoyed our meal very much and plan on trying one of their other 5 locations the next time we are in the city.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1

Wonderful food and great natural night. ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful food and great natural night. Service was horrific. Unfriendly and had to as numerous times for water.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Quick service, Wonderful food and a great atmosphere! Would definitely come again and recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

service was poor

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was very poor. Very slow, waiter didn't know anything about dishes including specials.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great for group special occasion. Loved ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for group special occasion. Loved how much room at tables, unlike most NYC restaurants.

food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Not living up to expectations

Dined on May 8, 2016

Sarabeths is such a nice place to be, but the menu is mediocre and service is way too slow. Also the food portions are not big, and do not justify prices in my opinion. Disappointing.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked reservations for mother's day since I had family coming in for the weekend. We arrived and were seated right away and the service was amazing. The food was delicious and was enjoyed by everyone in the party. The overall experience was amazing and I would definitely recommend this restaurant to many people and I will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Great Food, Slow Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were all very happy with the quality of food, our meals were great. However, the service was painfully slow. The restaurant was EMPTY, literally maybe 2 other parties there and the wait staff was not attentive and took at least 40 minutes to bring our first round of drinks and take our dinner order. WHY? there was NO ONE there! Our waitress was very nice but service could have been more prompt. Glad I wasn't in a hurry.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Surprisingly disappointing

Dined on May 2, 2016

Instead of being freshly prepared salad had clearly been made hours earlier and had sat in the fridge since, which given it cost 30 bucks surprised me. My server was sweet but forgot to exclude the onions as requested and disappeared didn't return to pick up the check when I was done. Some of the other staff were a little aloof. I guess they don't feel they need to try anymore...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Came for a late brunch on a Sunday afternoon for a date. Food was amazing, and even though they ran out of peach nectar for the peach bellinis, the four flowered mimosas were delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

A great place for brunch! Awesome menu c ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

A great place for brunch! Awesome menu choices and food. The staff at the front reception and the waiter were all a bit cold - but didn't let this deter our great morning!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Love Love

Dined on May 1, 2016

We loved every minute of our time at Sarabeth's. I booked this as a Sunday brunch while on a visit to NYC for my friend's birthday. Attentive server, impeccable service, food was exemplary - dynamite Bloody Mary! When I booked online, I made a note in the reservation it was for my friend's birthday, so those that I sent the invite too would know. Sarabeth's surprised my friend with a slice of birthday cake and it just topped off a great experience. Love the ambiance and just had a fabulous time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1

Sarabeths is a very nice place but the w ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Sarabeths is a very nice place but the waiter was not very friendly and had a bit of an attitude. The food was just ok and the verity was limited. When I checked the photos on line before we got there it looked great. When we received the menu once there the items weren't available anymore.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good, but a bit overpriced.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good, but a bit overpriced. Service was superfast, which I guess is great if you go with kids, but if you want a more relaxed brunch and enjoy a little "date" is not the best place. The restaurant is very nice, and feels very cozy. I tried the lemon ricotta pancakes and my husband had the french toasts. Both were very good, but again- a little overpriced for what they were. In places like this, you end up paying the location and the brand-named restaurant and not necessarily the food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food2
ambience3
service2

Very disappointed. Had the coconut waffl ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very disappointed. Had the coconut waffles- which were not coconuttey or special, in any way.

food3
ambience1
service2

Pretty unexciting brunch venue, the food ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Pretty unexciting brunch venue, the food is nice but uninspired, and the place reminded us more of a high school cafeteria than of a hot brunch spot for NYC. I do not recommend.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great neighborhood spot. beautiful setti ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great neighborhood spot. beautiful setting and tables spaced apart nicely

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.