Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sarabeth's Park Avenue South

We serve Breakfast, Lunch, Tea, Dinner and Brunch in this great space, between the hours of 7:30AM and 11PM, daily. With a full bar, private rooms and A/V facilities, this is a perfect location for your next breakfast meeting or private dinner event.
We also have live jazz music every Wednesday evening and offer happy hour daily from 4pm to 7pm.
Join us for Restaurant Week 2014!

381 Park Ave South
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:00pm;

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;

Late Lunch/Tea: 4:00-5:00PM;

Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Bar: Open until 11PM. Thursday, Friday, Saturday until Midnight;

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm;

Cross Street:
27th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 335-0093

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Tails and Tunes
Live Jazz and A special Lobster Tail prix fixe menu on Wednesdays

Public Transit:
4 and 6 Trains stop at 28th and Park Ave South

Executive Chef:
Freda Sugarman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Sarabeth’s houses a three-room convertible event space with retractable paneling designed to fit the needs for events of all sizes.

Sarabeth's Park Avenue South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (70)
Sunday Lunch (56)
Great for Lunch (48)
See All
Casual (39)
Comfort Food (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Modern Decor (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Afternoon Coffee (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Quick Bite (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Fun (16)
Kid-friendly (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Afternoon Tea (13)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Family Style (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Live Music (3)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

First time the host recognized me and welcomed me back -- she said she recognized my smile. I've being going there several times monthly for more than a year. I had a very light business breakfast and it lingered, buy we never felt the staff was pushing us out or rushing us AT ALL which sometimes happens on weekends. Very impressed with our waiter. Very happy we avoided "the rude host" -- he can ruin any meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Yummy eggs and coffee. Always a breakfast staple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good, worst service ever experienced. Took 30 minutes for anyone to approach us and were rude once they did

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Attentive service. Solid, yet overpriced for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was so inefficient. Servers were preoccupied. Seems like a union environment. Coffee delivered with no milk/cream. Cream came but delay was so long coffee was cold. Took twenty minutes to be greeted. Food came fast and was good. But service was overall poor.even after a manager came by to help.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I am giving it a fair mark for service only because the waiters kept trying to clear our plates when we were obviously in the middle of our meal. We couldn't understand why they were rushing us out when there were a lot of open tables. Nothing worst then being rushed out. . .

Otherwise the food was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Sarabeth's in the evening is the perfect place to go as it's quiet and you can talk. We were a large group and there is something for everyone. While the wine is very good, it's a bit pricey for an ordinary bottle of wine. The food, service are great. Highly recommend not just for brunch, but other quieter times of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Tragic, Sad. Huge new location woefully understaffed. Food remains very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Made reservations for 1245 pm brunch; please note despite having reservations it still feel like waiting in line for a diner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Large modern space can accommodate an intimate meal to large group get-togethers. Varied menu that would suit everyone. Went recently for brunch, food served quickly, everything was hot, food was tasty. Sometimes it's hard to find a good brunch space so I'm glad this space is around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

not all it is cracked up to be. I have heard about it for years and was so excitied to have breakfast there. The blueberry pancakes were dry. I asked the wiater to keep our food warm while my friend was in the ladies room. He couldn't figure out how to do that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had an early Sunday dinner with my boyfriend and another couple. The ambiance is beautiful, clean, modern. The bar has bar snacks and nice cocktails. Service was wonderful and attentive without being intrusive. The menu is very varied and has lots of wonderful appetizers for sharing. We loved the oysters and meatballs. The grilled octopus was okay but a little overcooked and sitting in a big bowl of beans. Just the octopus sliced on a plate with seasoning would have been more appetizing. The entrees were all great - we had everything from lobster roll, a seafood salad and personal pizza to a filet of branzino. The desserts were terrific and appealing to the eye- we had a cookie plate and a flight of ice cream sandwiches! The only real negative for me was that the restrooms are located ALL the way in the back, out a door, down a hallway and then you had a choice of steps to a full restroom (which was very nice) located in a freezing basement OR two unisex, clean restrooms on the main floor but with a very bad odor problem. Something definitely wrong with the air intake/outtake system. Overall, a great restaurant and bar, in a nice area but with TERRIBLE restroom issues.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was extremely slow, but otherwise good brunch venue

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sarabeth's has great service, delicious food and the best people watching. You will not be disappointed. There is something for everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is the least kid friendly Sarabeth's I've been to. We were asked to switch tables after we've settled down-- because we had two toddlers! They also didn't offer crayons and such as other Sarabeth's do. Service was slow and we had to call someone's attention to get service. And it was just 10am. The pastry basket we ordered was not freshly baked, they were stone hard and so not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food is Always delicious👍🏻 the bellini was great as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our waiter Jared made the experience amazing. He was so attentive (not too much so), anticipated our needs (always there with coffee--iced and regular) and was just lovely. Everyone who works at Sarabeth's should be like Jared. The food was good as always, too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I went here for brunch yesterday and the food was nothing notable. I had the farmer's omlette and my husband had the chicken sausage and kale frittata. Both were lacking flavor and the frittata was thin and had no color to it. I did have a five flower mimosa which was very good and the service was good. I wouldn't go back based on the caliber of food served. We have had better at our local diners for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

i was very disappointed with sarabeth's.
the service was less than stellar...when we asked the waiter if he liked a particular dish, his answer was "no"...when asked if it was the popover he didn't like, his response was "i've never tried it, i just don't like the way it looks"...and the service didn't get any more impressive from there...and a minimally talented home cook would have prepared more flavorful food.
thankfully, it was only breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great experience; was there for business lunch had a great experience. The food was great and the service was amazing.
We were able to speak quietly without interruptions

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Servers were very slow taking our order and bringing check at the end of our meal. Wish they were a little more attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Disconnect with back and front of the house on specials. My guest ordered lobster bisque and was served vegetable minestrone. Waiter insisted it was lobster bisque. Mussels were Sandy, too many served unopened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Classic Sarabeth's - always fresh and delicious. Excellent friendly service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Met friends for brunch after. It seeing each other for months. Food was fantastic and the service exceptional. We never felt rushed even if the servers felt it. Would definitely return next time we're in NYC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I live in the neighborhood and eat here occasionly. The food is solid if not exceptional for brunch. Service is awful. They interrupted my conversation 5 times to ask if they could clear my plate, which still had food on it. Really annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Perfect place for a classic brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Staff was TERRIBLE, the waiter ignored us and all the food was cold by the time it was served to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time here, since the wonderful Primehouse shut down. Friends from out of town were in the city, and we came here for brunch. They were having what they said were 'excellent' cocktails when we arrived, and they looked pretty happy (!) The four of us sampled different brunch items: the regular eggs benedict, the salmon version, the "goldie lox" plate and the egg and chive cheese stuffed popover. All were served with a delicious side salad, perfectly dressed. The winner was the popover, which my friend let me (reluctantly) taste. These incredibly light fluffy eggs were stuffed into an equally light and fluffy popover. My salmon benedict was good, but I'll be going back for that! Even though it was crowded at 10:45 a.m. on a Sunday, the service was top notch and the noise level very reasonable. All in all, very enjoyable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent! Our waiter was wonderful and HOT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Sarabeth's was disappointing. The maitresse d' was not especially friendly or helpful, the service was very slow and the food was in no way special other than in costliness. On the plus side, it's an attractive room, they are kid friendly (I guess that's a plus) and the menu is broad enough to have something for everyone. My conclusion is that there are many better brunch options nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We should have gotten the pancakes. The eggs Benedict was bland and on homemade bread that was bland. The egg stuffed popover was supposed to be amazing yet very underwhelming. I ordered a crossiant with fresh preserves to get a better taste in my mouth. Crossiant was not fresh baked. Apricot Preserves were delicious. They sell that there The pancakes looked amazing. Overrated. Disappointing.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went to Sara Beth's for an early Saturday brunch and everything was lovely - food, service and ambiance. It's nice to sit down for a meal with friends and actually be able to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Went with 4 adults and 1 toddler. A high chair was provided and they were very child friendly. I will definitely be returning. It was an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The waiter seemed like he was trying to hurry us through our meal. He brought us the check unasked when we actually wanted the dessert menu. There was a lipstick stain on one of the glasses when we sat down and the busboy seemed irritated when we pointed it out and asked for a new one. Lastly, waitstaff dropped glassware near us twice, resulting in shards everywhere. The food was good but I'll be bringing my business to the other Sarabeth's locations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was horrible. I never felt so unwanted. Server's name on the check was 'Rangel'. He rushed us through our meal. Never asked if I wanted a drink. Never checked back once the food was dropped. Never asked if we wanted dessert. The host that walked us to the table was amazing (tall African-American gentleman) though. Chit-chatted with us and was very hospitable. Food was cold and I ended up being ill for the rest of the day throughout the evening. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A delicious brunch with excellent service. Food was a decent value. Cocktails boosted price significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent ambience, great service. The food was incredible. I would highly recommend if you are into upscale brunching.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a good restaurant for breakfast or lunch, but not dinner. The menu is extremely limited for dinner

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very minimal attention from waitstaff.
Took some time to place order, never checked on us. Took time to remove plates after we were done. Causally asked if we wanted to see dessert when we replied yes felt like he was bothered.
Won't be back due to lack of service. Plenty of other places I can go to for lunch in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.