About Sarabeth's Park Avenue South

381 Park Ave South
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

We serve Breakfast, Lunch, Tea, Dinner and Brunch in this great space, between the hours of 7:30AM and 11PM, daily. With a full bar, private rooms and A/V facilities, this is a perfect location for your next breakfast meeting or private dinner event.
We also have live jazz music every Wednesday evening and offer happy hour daily from 4pm to 7pm.
Join us for Restaurant Week 2014!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:00pm;

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;

Late Lunch/Tea: 4:00-5:00PM;

Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Bar: Open until 11PM. Thursday, Friday, Saturday until Midnight;

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm;

Cross Street:
27th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 335-0093

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Tails and Tunes
Live Jazz and A special Lobster Tail prix fixe menu on Wednesdays

Public Transit:
4 and 6 Trains stop at 28th and Park Ave South

Executive Chef:
Freda Sugarman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Sarabeth’s houses a three-room convertible event space with retractable paneling designed to fit the needs for events of all sizes.

Sarabeth's Park Avenue South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (63)
Sunday Lunch (47)
Great for Lunch (46)
See All
Comfort Food (35)
Casual (34)
Good for Groups (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Modern Decor (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (17)
Afternoon Coffee (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Family Style (11)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (5)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Music (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Went with 4 adults and 1 toddler. A high chair was provided and they were very child friendly. I will definitely be returning. It was an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The waiter seemed like he was trying to hurry us through our meal. He brought us the check unasked when we actually wanted the dessert menu. There was a lipstick stain on one of the glasses when we sat down and the busboy seemed irritated when we pointed it out and asked for a new one. Lastly, waitstaff dropped glassware near us twice, resulting in shards everywhere. The food was good but I'll be bringing my business to the other Sarabeth's locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was horrible. I never felt so unwanted. Server's name on the check was 'Rangel'. He rushed us through our meal. Never asked if I wanted a drink. Never checked back once the food was dropped. Never asked if we wanted dessert. The host that walked us to the table was amazing (tall African-American gentleman) though. Chit-chatted with us and was very hospitable. Food was cold and I ended up being ill for the rest of the day throughout the evening. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

A delicious brunch with excellent service. Food was a decent value. Cocktails boosted price significantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent ambience, great service. The food was incredible. I would highly recommend if you are into upscale brunching.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a good restaurant for breakfast or lunch, but not dinner. The menu is extremely limited for dinner

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very minimal attention from waitstaff.

Took some time to place order, never checked on us. Took time to remove plates after we were done. Causally asked if we wanted to see dessert when we replied yes felt like he was bothered.

Won't be back due to lack of service. Plenty of other places I can go to for lunch in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Yummy as always. Server was good and the hostess was gracious.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Brunch! Little pricey but its Park Ave. Service was great. Will be back. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I think next time I'll go with the lemon ricotta pancakes. The popovers stuffed with scrambled eggs were good but nothing to write home about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was great and food was amazing. The brunch menu is second to none.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I'm a big fan of Sarabeth's but my meal was a disappointment. It was described as a "Crabcake Sandwich" but there was no roll or bread. The crabcake was quite tasty but also quite small and not good value for the $25 price. I will not get it again. The ambiance on Park Avenue South is subdued elegance and the staff are superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was excellent. Had the octopus and scallop carpacio to share and the cod for my main. Everything I tasted was great. After we were served our meal, no one paid us much attention. Not sure if they just wanted to leave us to enjoy our meal or if the staff was spread too far apart though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went to sarabeth's on a Saturday night and it was fairly empty and slow, to the point that my boyfriend and I were wondering why there was no one there on a weekend night. To that end, it was odd that the service was very slow. We were sitting for about 15+ minutes before a waitress came to help us out. The rest of the dinner was more or less of the same, overall a pretty bad experience and we won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Unlike its sister restaurant on the UES this outpost of Sarabeths features rude, arrogant, dismissive and downright nasty waitstaff. Though the food is still good, the waiters are reason enough to go elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice and quiet for a breakfast meeting for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The ambiance, service, staff, and food are always amazing. Never a bad experience when dining here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really good spot for brunch. Came with a friend on Sunday. It is a very busy place so make a reservation beforehand. The food was absolutely amazing and the service was quick. Very cute and cozy place.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I just found a new favorite. Came with my aunt to celebrate restaurant week and did not order from the restaurant week menu. I can't come here without having my tomato soup, as it's the best in town. They also make a delicious salmon dish I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Spectacular ambiance. High-quality foods. Great selection and great service. Nicest location of Sarabeth's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I booked my reservation for my birthday brunch and they were very accommodating and gave me a separate room I would definitely come back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very spacious, airy room with lots of tables.

Somewhat upscale ambiance typical of the restaurants on the Park Ave South corridor. Service was very professional and the food was very good for brunch with lots of unusual choices. A little on the pricey side but our group enjoyed dining there and plan to go back soon.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good food, the only thing is for their brunch menu the food comes with muffins/bread and for those who are gluten free can't eat them. Our waiter gave me a hard time about substituting the muffin for simple greens and said it would cost extra

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was with a fun group on a Saturday night and the crowd was more elderly and having a quiet night or even families with babies and young children so the vibe was very different at our table compared to those tables.

Our server messed up our order a number of times but was nice about it and the manager took off one of the items off the bill once we said something about it.

Great cocktails!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was amazing! Has the crab cake eggs Benedict and it was fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was extremely bland, as it was the last time we ate there. We will not eat there again. EVER. The tables were so close together and we could hear every word from the table next to us and it made it impossible to relax and enjoy conversation between us.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went to Sarabeth's for brunch, before a 2pm broadway show for my sister's birthday. They kept to our reservation time, provided great service and recommendations and were friendly.

The food was amazing. They do a good job at putting a new flair on traditional breakfasts, sandwiches, etc.

the portions were also good. They were not tooooo much where you feel guilty for leaving (and who really takes the food to go when you are in manhattan for a show), but they were not small either.

When we got there at 11:30 for our reservation the place was alive. It not packed. When we left around 1 it was full.

It's not a place for leggings and uggs, I would be in jeans or better.... but I'm sure no one would stand out if they were dressed down a little.

I also saw some babies there so if you can keep your kids behaving well, they can accommodate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wait staff was so attentive and personable. Food was great. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Not impressed. Portions too large, service too slow and inattentive, food just so so, very limited and overpriced wine list. Best part of the experience was leaving the restaurant at the end of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have dined at this location on many occasions and have always been happy with the service and food. It is my go to place for a quick catch up with friends or a quiet business meeting.

This particular day, things seemed off. It was brunch and at 12:30 they had already run out of some menu items. They offered substitutions without asking or informing me . The wait staff is always attentive and not intrusive but this time I had to ask more than 2x for more hot water for tea.

I will be back but perhaps not for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Cannot believe how great eggs can be. Had the egg frittata and it was amazing!

The blood orange mimosa was worth coming back for as we're the scones and jam

Skip the cappuccino.

Went on a crazy Sunday for brunch and even though we had a reservation still waited 30 minutes at 11:00 am for a table.

Definitely the place to be and it was delicious though pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Brunch was wonderful at Sarabeth's - great options to choose from and everything our group had was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had breakfast with the family on Saturday morning. Had heard great things about the place, so wanted to give it a try. Cool spot and the service was very good, but the food was just fair. Our group of four had two different types of french toast, an omelette, an assortment of muffins, a side of crispy bacon and juices. The highlights were the bacon and juice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was dreadful. Not like the Sarabeths I remember. Who would think of stuffing bacon in mussels?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Did not have to wait long to get our food and everything was great including the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I went to Sarabeths for my birthday and had an outstanding time. The food was excellent as always, and we had a great waiter.

They were able to seat us in a great booth where it was quiet and we could talk.

At the end, without even asking. They brought out a small piece of cake with a candle in it. It really made the night that much more special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

First time in this Sarabeth's. Large and plenty of seats .It was easy to make a reservation (or one was not needed at all). The food and decoration were just Sarabeth's but the atmosphere was different in my personal opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Usual busy, cold food, brisk service. Sarabeths was great when it was a singular restaurant on Madison Ave in the 1980's. Ever since, the name precedes the experience. Breakfast or brunch food is hard to serve hot, and they still havent figured it out as a restaurant for the masses. I have been to 3 locations; all the same experience. Also, I have no issue spending for quality, but the 19.00 pancakes are awful- no buttermilk taste. A single serving of butter and a tiny cup of fancy syrup make the experience even worse as one has to wait 10 minutes to get a server for more condiments as the food gets colder and colder. I will never dine at any location ever again as I have tried to enjoy but just cannot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Frequented Sarabeths original "kitchen" back in 1984 and then over the next couple decades as empire expanded. Haven't been in at least 15 years but was back in NYC for a visit and needed an easy, theoretically "decent, good meal " location....we've had better omelets at a truck stop. They tasted as though they were made with packaged cartons of eggs, actually no taste in spite of three different varieties ordered by our table. And they were not inexpensive. On par with same purported caliber of other nyc eateries like this but certainly expected fast/flavor/freshness. Service was spotty in that had to ask for hot coffee top up but seemed to be lots of wait staff around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Server was very inattentive. Never followed up to see if our meals arrived as ordered. Never acknowledged a new guest had joined. Had to ask for honey 3 times and received it when my tea had gone lukewarm. Food was bland and over priced. To their credit, I will only say that the reservationists was very flexible and accommodating with our large party reservation. Otherwise service and food was subpar.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A+ for family brunch! One of our favorites, but first time to this location!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had a tasty lovely, brunch with a friend. The wait staff was helpful, attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything was fine. We asked for bread. The waitress said they had none. We asked another waiter. He found us bread and brought it. There is no way a restaurant doesn't have bread when they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The hostess was just not nice. The waitress was great and the manager (max) has an attitude. Not enjoyable - I eat at SB a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second time going there...food is outstanding a must go. The waitress was a little rude at first then slowly very slowly warmed up to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I visited here twice a last week.

It was so delicious.I think brunch menus are better than lunch menus.

All the Egg benedict menu was good and waffle and french toast also good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Central Park South店の方が断然美味しかった

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Horrendous service. Every time waitstaff was asked for something (whether it was for a spoon or more coffee) they were very disrespectful and made every excuse to NOT provide the service we asked for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.