About Sarabeth's Central Park South

40 Central Park South
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Great any time of day! Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Brunch(Sat-Sun)

“Not just for Brunch.” "Not for many, many years now, and certainly not on Central Park South,” comments Frank Bruni of the New York Times about our wonderful dinner menu. Join us for an evening meal and reverse your thinking - Sarabeth's for Dinner.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm;
Afternoon Tea: Monday - Friday: 3:30pm - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 826-5959

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Discounted parking is available at Quik Park Garage located at 125 West 58th Street.

Public Transit:
N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue, A, B, C, D & 1 trains to Columbus Circle, and the F train 57th Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Meyers

Private Party Contact:
Greta Tralongo: 646-590-4184x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events details, pricing and availability please email cpsevents@sarabethsrestaurants.com or leave us a voicemail at 646.590.4184

Restaurant Photos

Almond Crusted French Toast
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Crabs Eggs Benedict
Popeyes Omelette Breakfast
Cosmosa
Pumpkin Tart
Lobster Risotto
Steak-Frites
Tomato Soup
Lentil Soup
Duck Breast
Homemade Nachos With Guacamole
Shrimp Risotto
Pickled Bloody Mary
Ricotta And Lemon Pancakes With Strawberries And Maple Syrup
Red Ome
Bread Pudding
Avocado hamburger
Banana Stuffed French Toast

Sarabeth's Central Park South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (152)
great for lunch (72)
neighborhood gem (63)
See All
fit for foodies (62)
great for outdoor dining (46)
special occasion (46)
hot spot (45)
good for groups (41)
scenic view (40)
kid-friendly (38)
romantic (27)
late-night find (7)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went for my birthday. The eggs were go ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined 3 days ago

I went for my birthday. The eggs were good but the scone and banana muffin were very dissapointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing food! Lobster roll was great! Se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Lobster roll was great! Service was very good! Make reservations or plan to wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a must in NYC! I love to have bre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

It is a must in NYC! I love to have breakfast in Sarabeth's! Always so many people. I recomend previous reservation! Enjoy egg benedictine! Fabulous!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was adequate, except for the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was adequate, except for the fact that they would not recognize my OpenTable reservation. The woman up front told me they tell customers all the time that they don't recognize those for brunch but seemed uninterested in fixing the issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was good and menu includes a variet ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good and menu includes a variety of options. It was very crowded, but maybe that's summer in NYC. The Central Park location is very dated and perhaps that takes away from the experience. We ate lunch and while it was good, I didn't find it particularly amazing. I'd give it another try and stick to the breakfast options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything was very good except the muff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was very good except the muffins were all very heavy and had cornmeal in muffins that should be lighter. They just were not that good. Lemon ricotta pancakes were excellent. Egg Benedict was good. Coffee was excellent😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very disappointed , very loud inside in ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very disappointed , very loud inside in back areas . VERY SMALL PORTION FOR A SEAFOOD COBB SALAD FOR $31.

The salad that came with the Crab cake Benedict had NO dressing on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Always great! I ordered French Toast and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always great! I ordered French Toast and my friend ordered crab cake eggs benedict. Toast were very thick and delicious. I preferred salmon eggs benedict but my friend was happy to have crab cake one. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great location. Outdoor seating cute yet ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great location. Outdoor seating cute yet elegant. We were seated inside, the ambiance was sophisticated yet laid back. I would recommend the lemon ricotta pancakes and salmon eggs benedict. Very happy to have reserved for an early Saturday breakfast. Strongly recommend making a reservation, fills up pretty quickly ;)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very disappointing, NY prices, average ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

very disappointing, NY prices, average food at best, sub average service, no reason to revisit and return, ---the kid friendly atmosphere was acceptable, especially as a visitor to NY, but other than that, no reason to return,

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great location, nothing fancy but good b ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great location, nothing fancy but good basics, with the current sterling exchange rate it is expensive.

Tags: brunch, outdoor eating, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Had lunch/brunch here w/boyfriend's fami ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had lunch/brunch here w/boyfriend's family, were visiting from Austria. Ordered garden omelette w/o peas. Omelette was riddled with peas! No cheese, no squash and very little mushrooms. Muffin was good. Would have sent back, but was with hungry travelers.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

No ambiance...felt like a crowded ihop. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

No ambiance...felt like a crowded ihop. 3 kids and 1 adult - was $130 breakfast for pancakes and french toast. Super expensive...crowded, loud, average food. wouldn't go again...sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

All the food here is wonderful!! Love th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

All the food here is wonderful!! Love the eggs Benedict!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch is probably why people come here, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Brunch is probably why people come here, dinner was a mistake for us. Aside from a little view of Central Park from the dining room I didn't find anything appealing. The dining room needs major updating, Food is mediocre; octopus I didn't like (it was swimming in something); salad was good, salmon dish good as well, my Cobb salad was a mistake for me.

They have a nice looking bread basket, but we didn't have any, gf bread was not available.

Didn't have dessert, espresso no good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

The tomato soup was outstanding! I had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The tomato soup was outstanding! I had the crab cakes which were good but I have had better. Good was good overall. Would consider going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Hostess outside could have been friendli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Hostess outside could have been friendlier, she basically just stared at us until we spoke. Inside much different very friendly hostess and servers. Location was perfect right across from Central Park. Food was perfect for brunch, prices are on par with NYC pricing.

would definitely go back the next time we visit

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The bread was stale which was a major di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The bread was stale which was a major disappointment. I had a sandwich and I had a muffin and scone for appetizer and none of it was fresh at all. For this particular restaurant which features Sarabeth's preserves, it was unexpected. I should have ordered something different but how would you know since this was brunch? I felt like it was also too expensive to have such a poor food experience and expected more.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I was expecting too much -loud and crowd ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was expecting too much -loud and crowded -wait staff was nice -still had to wait for table even with reservation but got us in timely -pancakes were the best I've ever tasted -French toast and eggs Benedict were dry and not memorable -would not recommend but rather found a neighborhood breakfast spot that the food was to die for and overall more fun experience -since y'all already have people thinking this is the "must eat breakfast here" place -then make it so the customer leaves confirming that statement

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Overall the place is good. The food, dr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Overall the place is good. The food, drinks, most of the staff, location, etc. - all good.

Our grip is the rigid rules put in place by the new owners. We were there Friday at 5:00 which fell during their happy hour. We didn't mention it when being seated. I asked the waiter about the happy hour drink specials and she looked at me like I was speaking a foreign language. Another waiter and a manager were brought in. In spite of the manager's desire to help us, apparently he was instructed by someone above him that if we wanted the happy hour drink prices we would have to move to a different table. This seemed silly, all he had to do was say, sure I can adjust the prices. Nope, we had to move per the big boss.

In the end it worked out well for us, we sat by a window in the bar room. Our drinks were 1/2 price and and the evening was great. The restaurant however lost out. We had no intention of ordering any food off the happy hour food list, but since we were moved back to the bar, we ordered half of our food off that menu.

The person we were with has been a long time regular and she shared that the new owners are very rigid, so while the food is still very good, who wants to go to an unaccommodating restaurant. There are too many places who appreciate the business.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food and great service - would defi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Good food and great service - would definitely go back when in NYC.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Breakfast was good. Outdoor seating was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Breakfast was good. Outdoor seating was great but limited. Waitstaff was very friendly and we were seated right away thanks to a reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I recently had brunch at Sarabeth's and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I recently had brunch at Sarabeth's and it was a terrible experience. I have severe dairy allergies and ordered an omelet with ONLY spinach. I reminded the waiter about my dairy allergies several times so I felt confident that my omelet would be right. Wrong! After taking a few bites of the omelet, I realized, in fact, they put goat cheese inside the omelet. The manager came over & apologized but it ruined my entire experience. They didn't charge me for the omelet BUT they also did nothing else to compensate for their mistake. Very disappointing all around considering how expensive this place is. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Horrible - restaurant only 1/4 full so n ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Horrible - restaurant only 1/4 full so no need for our reservation. In fact hostess sat two walk ins who came In after us before us. The worst part is the waitress hardly ever showed up - she seemed to disappear to a back hallway or kitchen for long periods of time. We tried flagging down the other waiters standing around but they were not interested in helping another table. One even said he was busy and couldn't get us water.

Over two hours we had one water refill after the table next to us begged another waiter. We only got one drink from the bar and had to get up to get silverware. End of meal I finally got up and got hostess to get our bill. Horrible horrible service.

How about food - for the price- 50$ a person not good. Fish was bland and slightly over cooked. Blue cheese burger was missing the blue cheese and dry. The calamari was chewy and just like the entree - very bland. So disappointed b/c good ratings-however we weren't the only ones disappointed table next to us and across from us were complaining too. I suggest a manager start walking around asking customers how everything is going and figure out how to improve the place.

I wil never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I felt a little expensive. The food is d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I felt a little expensive.

The food is delicious, but the coffee is not good.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing and delicious food, great servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing and delicious food, great service, great environment! I highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress never checked on our table and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Waitress never checked on our table and served our food to the table next to us and they started to eat it and we got served much later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

My husband and I spent the weekend in NY ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I spent the weekend in NYC and reserved Sarabeth's for breakfast. We were lucky enough to get an outside table and take in the beautiful views of Central Park and took a long stroll in the park afterwards. The food was fabulous! Had the Lemon Ricotta pancakes - Delish!! The service was on point. Next time we are in NY I plan on having breakfast there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite breakfast spots in t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of our favorite breakfast spots in the city. This is the first time we have sat outside. It was right after 8am opening...facing Central Park, you can't beat it. Great eggs Benedict and coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great time. Food was great, ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a great time. Food was great, service was good our waiter was friendly. We made a reservation, if we hadn't the wait would have been long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dinner, the duck entree and Barbera wine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Dinner, the duck entree and Barbera wine, was delicious. Somewhat oddly, all three of us ordered the same and all loved it. Service was very attentive but not over-bearing. The only negative was that I arrived a couple of minutes before my guests and instead of welcoming me graciously, the maitresse d' peremptorily offered me the bench by the door or the bar. The place was almost empty at 6 pm so there would not have been too much of a risk of seating me at our table ...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

During visit to NYC and after long walk ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

During visit to NYC and after long walk in the park, we went to Sarabeth for lunch. I went there years ago for a ladies' brunch and it was just as good today. Great menu, friendly, relaxed service and in as central a location as you can enjoy. The Baby Kale salad, grilled cheese, and tomato soup split between us made for a full lunch and we were not rushed at all. Outside is first come first served but we sat inside and it was a wonderful experience.

Highly recommend for anytime dining.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor place can't be really deserves

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outdoor place can't be really deserves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

$150 dollars for 3 people for breakfast ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

$150 dollars for 3 people for breakfast - and the coffee wasnt even good. Total tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The menu was extensive but the food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The menu was extensive but the food was mediocre at best. I ordered the roasted chicken salad and could not eat the chicken because it was slimy and unappealing. Also they don't bring any bread (for lunch) but charge $14.50 for a bread basket with muffins. It is overpriced unexciting food and the service wasn't even good- we had to hunt down our waiter after asking for one minute to review the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

I am not really a brunch person which is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I am not really a brunch person which is what most people enjoy there. But, their tomatoe soup is the best in the world. You must make reservations, which the restaurant is good at honoring.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place, food and service! Efficient ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great place, food and service! Efficient in serving food and definitely top on my list for Brunch in New York!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is just mediocre. Ambiance was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food is just mediocre. Ambiance was just okay. Wouldn't be coming back or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was horrible. Waiter very non-at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was horrible. Waiter very non-attentive. We were promised a complement bread basket for the the long wait. And had to remind the waiter to bring it...bad management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We went to Sarabeth's for Father's Day a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Sarabeth's for Father's Day and had brunch. We were all pleased with our meals as well as the service and ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.