About Sarabeth's Central Park South

40 Central Park South
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Great any time of day! Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Brunch(Sat-Sun)

“Not just for Brunch.” "Not for many, many years now, and certainly not on Central Park South,” comments Frank Bruni of the New York Times about our wonderful dinner menu. Join us for an evening meal and reverse your thinking - Sarabeth's for Dinner.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm;
Afternoon Tea: Monday - Friday: 3:30pm - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 826-5959

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Discounted parking is available at Quik Park Garage located at 125 West 58th Street.

Public Transit:
N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue, A, B, C, D & 1 trains to Columbus Circle, and the F train 57th Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Meyers

Private Party Contact:
Greta Tralongo: 646-590-4184x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events details, pricing and availability please email cpsevents@sarabethsrestaurants.com or leave us a voicemail at 646.590.4184

Restaurant Photos

Almond Crusted French Toast
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Crabs Eggs Benedict
Popeyes Omelette Breakfast
Cosmosa
Pumpkin Tart
Steak-Frites
Lobster Risotto
Tomato Soup
Lentil Soup
Duck Breast
Homemade Nachos With Guacamole
Shrimp Risotto
Pickled Bloody Mary
Ricotta And Lemon Pancakes With Strawberries And Maple Syrup
Red Ome
Bread Pudding
Avocado hamburger
Banana Stuffed French Toast

Sarabeth's Central Park South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (151)
Great for Lunch (76)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Special Occasion (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Scenic View (38)
Hot Spot (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Kid-friendly (33)
Romantic (25)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've dined at Sarabeth's multiple times ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

We've dined at Sarabeth's multiple times and we love the food. I was bit disappointed that we were asked to leave right after we were done paying. We were told that there is a 2 hour limit for brunch. It would be nice to have known that beforehand. The wait had to confirm the order again and when the food came out, they weren't sure who ordered what. I'm glad i used to restroom afterwards because i saw cockroaches in there and grossed me out. I can only imagine what i would find in the kitchen. I was disappointed and expected better from a place that's not the cheapest.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Love this place! The food is excellent , ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place! The food is excellent , the service is great and the location is fabulous. I'm surprised to see reviews saying it's expensive. We paid less than we would have at the same quality restaurant in our small town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent, I just found it craz ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, I just found it crazy that a glass of orange juice cost $10, but again food was amazing. I had the toasted coconut waffles and they were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast food seem to be reheated

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Breakfast food seem to be reheated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Had a late lunch with my girlfriends and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a late lunch with my girlfriends and the staff was friendly. The food was outstanding. We ordered the seafood guacamole as an appetizer. I got the seafood Cobb salad also Delicious, my friend got the adult grilled cheese it came with a tomato soup on the side( it complimented the grill cheese), and my other friend got the crab cake sandwich which came with fries. I would go there again for a date or even another hang out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of "the" New York places for breakfa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of "the" New York places for breakfast and brunch, but a splurge.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was outstanding!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was good food and good coffee. For ra ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was good food and good coffee. For rather a bigger sized restaurant it only had one unisex bathroom which was a little annoying.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast. Best scone I have ever ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great breakfast. Best scone I have ever eaten. My daughter loved the French toast and my omelette was great also. Will come back again the next time I'm in NYC

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

extremely over-priced, over-rated, food ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

extremely over-priced, over-rated, food was bland, atmosphere was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Sarabeth's is our go-to restaurant whene ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Sarabeth's is our go-to restaurant whenever we go to Manhattan. The food is good. The prices are reasonable. The service is friendly. Always a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was a big disappointment. The p ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was a big disappointment. The poached eggs on the eggs Benedict had to be sent back as they were over cooked.

The French Toast was dry which was a shame since it was a good quality bread (they needed to soak a bit more in the eggs).

At least my short rib hash was good.

Would not likely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

I was alone and seated as soon as I came ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I was alone and seated as soon as I came in. Shortly afterward, two 2-top tables were seated on either side of me. I ordered first (a Berry Bowl and pancakes) then the two tables shortly afterward. Both tables were served their food and nearly done with their dishes (all egg orders) by the time our waiter decided to check on everyone's progress. This was the first time I was able to ask about where my order was. It finally appeared about five minutes later. I can only assume that he originally failed to give my order to the kitchen. I never received an apology from him. Unfortunately, I was only able to eat the berry bowl as the pancakes were under cooked and gummy. I wasn't about to request a new order as there was no telling how much longer everything would take. Coffee, berry bowl, and pancakes came to just under $50.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The buttermilk pancakes are still the be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The buttermilk pancakes are still the best and my daughter has them every time we come to visit. I try something different and this time had the short rib hash. It was ok...not amazing. I think I will go back to the lemon ricotta pancakes. Our reservation was for 8 am and though the place was not packed (yet), the server was not as attentive. I am not sure if I prefer the ones who are constantly checking to refill your cup of coffee or the ones who leave you alone to enjoy and "stay a while" ( I.e. not rushing you out the door to make way for the next party). There must be a nice balance somewhere. I always look forward to Sarabeth's but maybe it's time to try something new for breakfast in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was good! Ice cream sandwich desser ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was good! Ice cream sandwich dessert was poor at best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice but not super special

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Nice but not super special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Sarabeths is a NY standard. The breakfa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Sarabeths is a NY standard. The breakfast bread basket is always a must have. Service is calm and never rushed. The food is always delicious and that's why I keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Although Sarabeth's is famous for brunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Although Sarabeth's is famous for brunch, we went for dinner and the food was pretty good - the beet salad and the farm chicken were great even. The desserts were good, but nothing to write home about. The service was inconsistent - our waitress went from overly bothersome when we were waiting for one of the guests to arrive (he was in the restroom and the same waitress came by THREE times to try to take his place setting away) to unable to track her down to get dessert menus. Overall, it was fine for dinner. Simple, American food at reasonably elevated NYC prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great little find in the heart of NYC. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great little find in the heart of NYC. The food was delicious and the ambiance was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SARABETHS NEVER DIAPPPOINTS. ALWAYS FANT ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

SARABETHS NEVER DIAPPPOINTS. ALWAYS FANTASTIC FOOD.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! Food was great - large portio ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent! Food was great - large portions too!! Location is right across from Central Park. Will return !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The French toast was not soaked through ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The French toast was not soaked through with egg and was a big bread that was unappealing and not tasty at all. The bacon was delicious and it was a large portion.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I thought this restaurant was incredibly ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I thought this restaurant was incredibly overrated. Not one person cracked a smile the entire time. The hostess just seemed perturbed and the waiter had a scowl on his face and walked away before I had even finished ordering. If the food had been any good I might have overlooked this. The omelette was mediocre at best and I have had better at my local greasy spoon. The French toast was okay but nothing special and pretty dry. Decor is completely dated and the bathroom was disgusting. Honestly, there are many better places to eat in New York and this was by far the worst meal we had on our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Good food, great location, terrible serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food, great location, terrible service. The crabmeat guacamole was worth going back for on it's own, the tomato soup was the best part of the adult grilled cheese, the meatballs left me wanting more, while the charred broccolini was not charred at all but doused and sauteed in too much butter - disappointing. Awesome location just across from Central Park and next to The Plaza. Cute and quiet outdoor patio. Waiter would not stop pressing us to order cocktails - at least 4 or 5 times he mentioned it and followed up with multiple 'are you sure's when we continued to decline. Took forever to order and get the bill.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I took my 11 year old niece to Sarabeth' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I took my 11 year old niece to Sarabeth's for brunch before a Wednesday matinee theatre performance. Brunch was very good, as expected. I had lemon ricotta pancakes, she had buttermilk pancakes and of course, we took home some signature muffins and preserves. The omelettes looked delightful, but we did not order one.

Sarabeth's is popular with locals and tourists, so we had to wait about 20 minutes beyond our after our reservation before being seated, but food was served quickly and it did not impede our outing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I book Sarabeth's for business breakfast ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I book Sarabeth's for business breakfasts on a fairly regular basis. The food is not cheap, but the quality is very high and the service is good- they always are quick and attentive. At times it can be bit noisy, but not overbearing by any means. For breakfast, it is a good option outside of the hotels and you don't have to wait in line as you would in a diner. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed in the Restaurant Week Lunc ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Disappointed in the Restaurant Week Lunch Menu. Two of us dining. The first courses were good, not great: Gazpacho and Bruschetta. The main courses were good, not great: Crepes and Jumbo Prawns. The desserts were forgettable for sure and seemed to just be an accommodation. We had both and only ate barely half of each. We will only go back for breakfast and hope it is as good as we remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Expensive for two people for an ordinary ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Expensive for two people for an ordinary breakfast. Service was not The decor is unappealing. Low ceiling and crowds of people waiting for tables surrounded us while we ate. It was loud and generally unpleasant. I prefer other Sarabeth locations more than CPW one. The location on CPS is convenient to where we live, but I probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

To be clear, Sarabeths is one of my favo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

To be clear, Sarabeths is one of my favorite brunch places- anywhere. That being said, the Central Park South location was a far cry from the Madison Ave location. The food was great -- but the noise and service was a far cry from what makes Sarabeth's special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We anticipated a great breakfast based o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We anticipated a great breakfast based on the menu. It was mediocre and while we never mind high prices for a great experience and food, this was overpriced for the value. Every coffee they poured me was cold. The wait staff was aloof.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

My wife and I dined on Sunday early even ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I dined on Sunday early evening with a friend. Our first visit. We made our reservation via Opentable for 6:15pm. We arrived a few minutes early to find they did not have our reservation. I found out later that they had actually canceled it for some unknown reason. Anyway, they sat us a nice table and our dinner began with no issue. We had questions on the menu due to some minor food restrictions we have. The waitress was certain that any vegetable changes to our entrée would require a "side dish" upcharge. I politely insisted for her to check with the Chef or her management and she reluctantly did so. Amazingly, they would substitute one vegetable for another. The overall service level was just average. Seemed forced!

Food was good. When our bill arrived I'm glad I reviewed it carefully as there was a significant mistake. The manager corrected it.

Maybe we just caught them on a bad night or they feel that their location on 59th across from Central Park is enough but I will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very disappointed for a restaurant that ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointed for a restaurant that came so highly recommended. Staff seemed irritated, breakfast food while large portions was woefully overpriced. It's breakfast--seriously?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I loved the food and smoothies! The plac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I loved the food and smoothies! The place was very busy so needed a reservation but was wept th it. Didn't have wifi which was disappointing in a restaurant so lovely. The waiter who served us seemed very unhappy to be there, again a shame. But overall, I would be back for the delicious food. Well done Sarabeths!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I used to go to upper east side one of t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I used to go to upper east side one of their restaurant, and first time to go to CPS one.

Good ambiance and we like it.

One thing we would like them to improve is that they have very limited choice of things for the gift. Hope they have a few more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First time at this specific Sarabeth's l ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

First time at this specific Sarabeth's location. A little too touristy, but the same excellent food, and the best coffee in New York City. Had the lemon ricotta pancakes. The best pancakes I've eaten. Everyone (4 of us) loved the brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated. I don't get the hype. I can g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Overrated. I don't get the hype. I can get a better, cheaper breakfast at a diner than this place. I went there on a Friday morning for breakfast. I ordered apricot coconut waffles and a side of sausage; my friend ordered lemon ricotta pancakes and a side of bacon. In addition, we had two glasses of juice and one cup of coffee. The waffles were awful. They were so over-cooked and tough that I needed a knife to saw through them. In addition, the flavor was bland. They simply burned up some plain waffle batter and threw some apricot preserves and coconut on top. The sausage had decent flavor but I really didn't taste any apricot, except for the dollop of apricot preserves that were on top of the sausage. The lemon ricotta pancakes were pretty good. Light and flavorful. The bacon was so-so. The service was awful. Perhaps their brunch is worth the time and money but based on my experience, I'm not a fan and don't plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I don't normally write reviews but I was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I don't normally write reviews but I was so disappointed with Sarabeth's that I feel compelled to write this review. Bottom line - very overpriced and uninspired. I would not have minded spending over $100 for three people if the food was great. It was not. For over $100 we received one orange juice, two cups of coffee and three entrees. My omelette came with two small pieces of toast - nothing else. Not even a sprig of decoration. Other higher end venues (Norma's, The Smith, Bubby's, Fig and Olive) are a much better value and more fun. I had taken two people from out of town for a treat. I left feeling disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Coffee wasn't hot, eggs Benedict was bar ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Coffee wasn't hot, eggs Benedict was barely warm. Winter didn't offer any apologies. Very disappointed. Had been there several times before but was very disappointed on this visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I apologize this is so long but it's nec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I apologize this is so long but it's necessary.

Food was great. Service was terrible from start to finish. Visited for dinner on a Wednesday night during restaurant week. Place was relatively empty. Our server was very nice but that was about as far as the service went. Took a while to get our drinks & in the 40 minutes we sat waiting for food, we were never offered bread (i had to ask a random person for it who told our waitress & then 10 minutes later I had to ask the waitress again), our drinks (water included) were refilled once during the hour & a half we sat at the table. It was like everyone was told to look busy but no one was actually doing anything. Except our server, who was running back & forth constantly. She never had anything in her hands mind you. If she wasn't running around she could be found at the computer station. Entrees were dropped by a food runner & our server came over once during the meal to ask how things were - fine. I ended up doing the restaurant week menu but my boyfriend ordered from the regular menu. 15 minutes after we finished eating our plates were cleared by someone other than our server & then she came over to ask if I was ready for dessert. (just me, no acknowledgement to my boyfriend) We were never offered coffee & my boyfriend wasn't even offered a dessert menu. When the dessert came I then had to wait to separately find the server again & ask for a spoon. Ugh! if the food wasn't so good...

On a side note: I made mention of the bad service to the "manager" before we left. She took my name, phone number & email address & seemed shocked & completely understanding & horrified when I told her about our experience. My guess is she is an actress waiting to be found because I did not hear one peep from the place!! I waited 2 weeks to hear from anyone before writing this. I shouldnt've.

There are thousands of restaurants in the city & this one just got put on my never visit again list.

-Sincerely, a first & last time customer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Service was not good. But food was great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service was not good. But food was great. Delicious. Nice atmosphere. Just needed a better waitress could have been an off night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.