About Sarabeth's Central Park South

40 Central Park South
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Great any time of day! Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Brunch(Sat-Sun)

“Not just for Brunch.” "Not for many, many years now, and certainly not on Central Park South,” comments Frank Bruni of the New York Times about our wonderful dinner menu. Join us for an evening meal and reverse your thinking - Sarabeth's for Dinner.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm;
Afternoon Tea: Monday - Friday: 3:30pm - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 826-5959

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Discounted parking is available at Quik Park Garage located at 125 West 58th Street.

Public Transit:
N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue, A, B, C, D & 1 trains to Columbus Circle, and the F train 57th Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Meyers

Private Party Contact:
Greta Tralongo: 646-590-4184x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events details, pricing and availability please email cpsevents@sarabethsrestaurants.com or leave us a voicemail at 646.590.4184

Restaurant Photos

Almond Crusted French Toast
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Popeyes Omelette Breakfast
Crabs Eggs Benedict
Cosmosa
Pumpkin Tart
Steak-Frites
Lobster Risotto
Tomato Soup
Lentil Soup
Duck Breast
Homemade Nachos With Guacamole
Shrimp Risotto
Pickled Bloody Mary
Ricotta And Lemon Pancakes With Strawberries And Maple Syrup
Red Ome
Bread Pudding
Avocado hamburger
Banana Stuffed French Toast

Sarabeth's Central Park South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (129)
Great for Lunch (65)
Fit for Foodies (52)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Special Occasion (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Scenic View (32)
Kid-friendly (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Romantic (18)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The lobster roll I had was very good. S ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

The lobster roll I had was very good. Service was excellent. Next time I plan to try a breakfast item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I enjoyed Sarabeths. The se ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed Sarabeths. The service was good, timing was good, and the food was very good. I was confused why we didn't get bread as we saw other tables getting it and then at the end we were asked if we wanted more when we didn't get any in the first place, but that's not a huge issue. Probably didn't need those carbs anyway! I'd recommend this. On a Monday evening it wasn't busy at all.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is very good, but the atmospher ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food is very good, but the atmosphere not really.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had made a booking a month out and ar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had made a booking a month out and arrived on time at 8.45am for breakfast. This restaurnt was already very noisy with many people milling around the front check -in desk. The food was OK but nothing out of the ordinary and very expensive for breakfast. Pancakes were very dry, asked for extra maple syrup, which took ages to arrive at the table. We ordered a pot of tea - which was just a tea bag in a pot of hot water. When we asked for an additional tea bag to improve the strength of the tea, we were charged and extra $5, while the couple next to us had cup after cup of coffee for the price of a single cup! Service was abrupt, bordering on pushy. Would not recommend this restaurant or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This park location is a very busy and no ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This park location is a very busy and noisy. The center and rear of the restaurant feels a bit claustrophobic and airless. I asked the staff to turn up the a/c which they immediately did for us. One order of goldie lox eggs which is supposed to have cream cheese, lox and eggs was sans cream cheese. I couldn't get anyones attention to the matter ( the restaurant was crazy busy) until I was halfway through but they gave me a free coffee. We also ordered a bread basket that no one remembered to bring hut we weren't charged for it. I love the food and the staff does Try to accommodate as best they can. Try to ho off hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

The fixed price menu offered great value ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The fixed price menu offered great value. It includes the justly praised steak and frites. The services is well above average.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First, the cheesy crumbly breadsticks ar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

First, the cheesy crumbly breadsticks are habit forming. I ordered the duck breast special and it was amazing! It's been my favorite meal of my trip so far. I tried the rack of lamb as well. Cooked perfectly and a mild seasoning. I wanted to go for brunch but couldn't get a reservation. Dinner did NOT disappoint. It was quiet and relaxing in there after. Long day of being a touristy tourist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were seated at the back of the room. ...

 
 (Istanbul)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were seated at the back of the room. The food was moderate. We were charged double from our credit card and after we called to correct the mistake, they said that it happened before there and we should wait 3 days to get our money back etc. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We allways love Sarabeths. We missed the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We allways love Sarabeths. We missed the 830reservation but were there at 9. Im no te person that likes complaining but we allways ask for the scambled eggs with salmon and cream cheese. Thos time the cream cheese was missing!

Best regards

Javier

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Central location with good food options. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Central location with good food options. Varied menu that is sure to have something for everyone. Restaurant was quiet, so courses came quite quickly. Would have been nice to have longer breaks in between courses. The staff weren't rushing people out though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Shrimp cocktail had jumbo shrimp that we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Shrimp cocktail had jumbo shrimp that were cooked perfectly but cocktail sauce was nothing to brag about. Soup was salty. We tried watering it down but still too salty to eat. Skirt steak was flavorful but also a little heavy handed on the salt. Truffle fries were yummy and creme brûlée perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Pancakes were cold and dry. Frittata wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Pancakes were cold and dry. Frittata was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A place for tourists who don't know any ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

A place for tourists who don't know any better. very disappointed by how they serve their pancakes. They should know what a classic eggs benedict should be like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I was very disappointed in the service. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I was very disappointed in the service. I'm not sure if they're understaffed with waiters but our waiter vanished after taking our drinks order. I couldn't even find him nor ask someone to find our waiter because no one was even around. It took around 15 minutes for our waiter to even appear. He wrote down one of our orders wrong. When it came out, we told him we had ordered something different. Instead of courteously apologizing and taking it back, he proceeded to take out his notepad and state that he wrote down something different than what we told him we asked for. He never repeated our order so I'm not sure how showing us what he wrote down means anything. Unfortunately, I couldn't even eat a normal Benedict as you do not serve any bread without dairy and the hollandaise sauce contains butter (since when? Why does hollandaise need butter?). Tracking down our waiter for the bill was even more of a hassle than earlier. I was expecting a much higher standard for both food and service. Tables shouldn't have to try and play Where's Our Waiter and it's very disappointing that the kitchen can't do more to accommodate food allergies. I should've trusted the other Yelp reviews. Sarabeth's Central Park = overpriced low quality tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Had breakfast at Sarabeth's and was impr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Had breakfast at Sarabeth's and was impressed by the variety on the menu and the portion sizes (huge). Excellent quality and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Tables to close together; don't try to h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Tables to close together; don't try to have a private conversation-and I reserved it the day before and asked for a quiet place. We had to ask for another table, because the one they first assigned was in between two sofas and was quite uncomfortable to sit on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible waited over an hour and still f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Terrible waited over an hour and still food never showed up. Left the restaurant . Extremely terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was really good. I cant reme ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The service was really good.

I cant remember the employee's name who has long ponytail. I was really impressed with her service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Would be good on the patio, the interior ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Would be good on the patio, the interior is too crowded and noisy. The patio is fun for people watching. The food was good but not great. The staff was quick to seat us with our reservation, which is appreciated.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The salmon egg benedict was delicious. I ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The salmon egg benedict was delicious. I loved everything in the Sunday brunch menu. The waiters always refilled my coffee before I needed to ask. I felt welcoming in this restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would love to see more gluten free optio ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Would love to see more gluten free options on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overcrowded with tourists. Food in other ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overcrowded with tourists. Food in other Sarabeth's restaurants in NYC were definitely better. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

good location on Central Park , good fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

good location on Central Park , good friendly service , good tasty food.

nice to seat out side during the evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is very classic restaurant. I loved t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It is very classic restaurant. I loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Location and Food was very good.Bit nois ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Location and Food was very good.Bit noisy.

Except for the ambiance it was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We had the absolutely the most horrible ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had the absolutely the most horrible breakfast. The waffle was dry as a bone and tasteless The pancakes that were labeled on the menu as fluffy were hard as a rock, flat and burnt and absolutely tasteless. They were like frozen pancakes out of a box. Horrible breakfast and equally horrible service !!

We will NEVER go back !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Service was terrible. Mainly almost zer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service was terrible. Mainly almost zero attention after food was ordered. No water glass refills, no checking in on our satisfaction, food was delivered not by our waitress, but by a food runner - never a good sign about service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I went to Sarabeths bc my party of 5 inc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I went to Sarabeths bc my party of 5 included two children and I heard that this place is kid friendly and it's also close to Central Park where we were going afterwards. The location is great! Staff and service was good but the food was not great. Two of us had an eggs Benedict dish (I had the crab cake one which the crab was good) but the bottom part was like a hard biscuit. None of us could cut through it bc it was hard a stale! I expected more for the price. It was about $200 for this brunch and we didn't really have any alcohol.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We've dined at Sarabeth's multiple times ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've dined at Sarabeth's multiple times and we love the food. I was bit disappointed that we were asked to leave right after we were done paying. We were told that there is a 2 hour limit for brunch. It would be nice to have known that beforehand. The wait had to confirm the order again and when the food came out, they weren't sure who ordered what. I'm glad i used to restroom afterwards because i saw cockroaches in there and grossed me out. I can only imagine what i would find in the kitchen. I was disappointed and expected better from a place that's not the cheapest.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Love this place! The food is excellent , ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love this place! The food is excellent , the service is great and the location is fabulous. I'm surprised to see reviews saying it's expensive. We paid less than we would have at the same quality restaurant in our small town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent, I just found it craz ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was excellent, I just found it crazy that a glass of orange juice cost $10, but again food was amazing. I had the toasted coconut waffles and they were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast food seem to be reheated

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Breakfast food seem to be reheated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Had a late lunch with my girlfriends and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a late lunch with my girlfriends and the staff was friendly. The food was outstanding. We ordered the seafood guacamole as an appetizer. I got the seafood Cobb salad also Delicious, my friend got the adult grilled cheese it came with a tomato soup on the side( it complimented the grill cheese), and my other friend got the crab cake sandwich which came with fries. I would go there again for a date or even another hang out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of "the" New York places for breakfa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of "the" New York places for breakfast and brunch, but a splurge.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was outstanding!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was good food and good coffee. For ra ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was good food and good coffee. For rather a bigger sized restaurant it only had one unisex bathroom which was a little annoying.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast. Best scone I have ever ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great breakfast. Best scone I have ever eaten. My daughter loved the French toast and my omelette was great also. Will come back again the next time I'm in NYC

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

extremely over-priced, over-rated, food ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

extremely over-priced, over-rated, food was bland, atmosphere was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Sarabeth's is our go-to restaurant whene ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Sarabeth's is our go-to restaurant whenever we go to Manhattan. The food is good. The prices are reasonable. The service is friendly. Always a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was a big disappointment. The p ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was a big disappointment. The poached eggs on the eggs Benedict had to be sent back as they were over cooked.

The French Toast was dry which was a shame since it was a good quality bread (they needed to soak a bit more in the eggs).

At least my short rib hash was good.

Would not likely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.