Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sarabeth's Central Park South

Great any time of day! Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Brunch(Sat-Sun)

“Not just for Brunch.” "Not for many, many years now, and certainly not on Central Park South,” comments Frank Bruni of the New York Times about our wonderful dinner menu. Join us for an evening meal and reverse your thinking - Sarabeth's for Dinner.

Dock's Oyster Bar and Jane are the sister restaurants to Sarabeth's.

40 Central Park South
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm;
Late Lunch: Monday - Friday: 3:30pm - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 826-5959

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Discounted parking is available at Quik Park Garage located at 125 West 58th Street.

Public Transit:
N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue, A, B, C, D & 1 trains to Columbus Circle, and the F train 57th Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Meyers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events details, pricing and availability please email cpsevents@sarabethsrestaurants.com or leave us a voicemail at 646.590.4184

Private Dining

With three private dining rooms, Sarabeth's Central Park South is the perfect location to host your private event. From brunch, seated dinners, or cocktail receptions, we can accommodate any type of event and will work with you to plan exactly what you envision!

Sarabeth's Central Park South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (107)
Casual (47)
Great for Lunch (47)
See All
Sunday Lunch (46)
Comfort Food (38)
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for a Date (28)
Scenic View (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Cozy (25)
Afternoon Coffee (24)
People Watching (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Afternoon Tea (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3068 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Been to other locations in the city, and this was my least favorite! Too many tourists, poor service, looked a bit run down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food as usual. Unfortunately the service was not up to par. Saw our waiter maybe twice the entire time. Had an empty glass the majority of the meal. Won't stop us from visiting again but a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and our server were amazing!! The only negative part of the experience was the greeter, he was rude and unwelcoming. He should not be a greeter at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 5 days ago

I made sure to note that we were celebrating by daughter's birthday on my reservation but nothing special was said or done. I've been to this restaurant before and had a wonderful visit. However, this time our experience didn't go so great. We ordered bacon and it was delivered to the table with a hair on the plate. I understand this kind of thing happens but when I showed the waiter he brought fresh bacon but I never talked with a manager or even apologized. We were charged full price for the order of bacon. I'm totally fine with paying for it but I thought the manager or at the very least our waiter should have apologized for the mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent choice for breakfast!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 11, 2017

NYC family trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The receptionist did not acknowledge the fact that we have reserved a table and was ready to order, eventhough my husband was still parking parking the car. The "rude" receptionist "insists" (in a not customer focused way) not to sit us till our party was complete. Then, what is the purpose of having "timed reservation"? In addition, their salad was not fresh at all and the dressing was horrible. I did like the French toast. However, the French toast was not something you cannot find in other restaurants near Central Park.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Sarabeth's I know is a famous NY eatery. This is my second time there and super unimpressed. The restaurant is dirty. It needs a major facelift. The waitress we had was horrible. Overall service was very poor and all the employees seemed miserable and hated life. When we asked a second time for coffee she's said ok it'll be a bit...? The food is just mediocre. I think giving it two chances is more than enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Awful experience. Staff were incredibly rude and disinterested. Food was cool when we got it. Travelling from NZ this was supposed to be a special experience. We left after half an hour extremely disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I brought my guests from out of town for a nice breakfast. Food was okay, and the restaurant ambiance was very cozy. However, the service we received was just so awful that I will probably never return again. The server was so rude throughout the meal. He even pretended not to be listening when taking orders and ignored all my questions and requests. He also forced me to order "specialty" coffee by telling me that there was no REGULAR coffee. Later when I realized that there was actually a regular coffee available, I had to request him and other servers multiple times to correct my order. Maybe he thought he could be rude to our table because our group looked like tourists, and I hope so because I do not want to bring up too much of the race or gender issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent food, nice and fine ambience, but way too loud. A bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Was a great brunch as always. Smoked salmon eggs Benedict was to die for! Love this gem! I come here every time I am in NYC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Blown away by the service level and attention by the staff.
The food was amazing!
I will be coming back

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Nice place - very good food though slightly overpriced for what you get. Great choice for breakfast/brunch. Lemon ricotta pancakes and the chicken apple sausage are terrific. Perfect for a lazy weekend morning.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always delicious and never disappoints with the food and service
I always make it my go to place for breakfast when I am in New York

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything about our experience was average. Nothing bad to report but there are much better places to dine. Location is great though! Probably a great place for some drinks! Get dinner elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We read the bad reviews (cold food etc) and didn't believe it ...so we went for brunch last Saturday....unfortunately the bad reviews were correct and true. Service was great...but what was delivered (including cold room temperature breads, rolls, biscuits, etc) was sub par. Both of our omelettes were cold ..seriously! We paid a ridiculous amount for poor quality brunch and left most uneaten. Sara Beth needs to take her name off this eatery or whip it into shape. we will not be back and will definitely tell others to avoid this "tourist trap".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Service was awful. Waiter was brand new - it wasn't his fault. It appeared he was the only one trying. The fault lies with the 2 or 3 managers who were doing nothing helpful. One was literally leaned over with his head down on the maitre d podium as we left. While the table next to us was waving their hands in the air to get someone's attention and get their bill. A disappointing mess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This place was amazing! I went for a friend's birthday and was not at all disapointed. Great food, nice people, pretty restaurant. Order the waffles!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was another place recommended by two different friends. Visiting NYC for the weekend and made sure to stop in. There were 3 people in our party and two had the grilled cheese and tomato soup -- both items were delicious! Third person had crab cake and it was served with salad and French fries - also very good. Nice, clean interior all white and mirrors. Would highly recommend breakfast or lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Delicious NY restaurant week choices, and steps from the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent breakfast food! Terrific service, a great way to start the day!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

One of the worst experiences I've ever had. The food was terrible. The restaurant looked like the inside of an IHOP. The only reason I went was because it was ft on a gossip girl restaurant but the food was terrible and the service wasn't even good. Would definitely not recommend to a friend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

This restaurants is famous in Japan, but really so good taste.
Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We have eaten at this location of Sarabeth's several times. We usually enjoy it, but the food did not seem quite as good on this visit, except for the tomato soup (which was fabulous). It is always crowded and busy, so I recommend making a reservation. The service was efficient and acceptable.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Wonderful food and location! Try to get a seat outside or up front. Servers and staff were not friendly and actually acting frustrated if I asked for something---but the food more than made up for their attitudes!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Accueil froid, impersonnel... carte restreinte et insuffisante à notre gout.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We decided to hit Sarabeth's at the recommendation of our son and he certainly knew what he was talking about. We had breakfast...and it was amazing. We try not to return to restaurants we have visited...UNLESS...they are as outstanding as this one. We will be back...no doubt. Awesome restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We are tourists from Dubai and located this place by chance.We had opted for the lunch option during Restaurant Week. Food was uniformly very good. . Draft Beer was very good too! Service at the table was prompt and efficient. Would certainly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was just so-so. Very crowded, SLOOOW service, my daughter has a gluten allergy and the server was not helpful at all. Mediocre food. Would not come back and I was surprised since it's so highly rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Nothing to write home about. Limited options in the menu. Asked for a basket of muffins that took forever to brought to the table with decent muffins but no more than that. There are better places for a good breakfast. The place is not bad but wouldn't be my first (nor second or third) option next time in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This is the only Sarabeth's that looks bad. The restaurant appears to have been a turnkey takeover from the last owners. I took a friend from out of town there and the ambiance was poor. Dated decor, very old/dark and unlike any other Sarabeth's. Very depressing. Also, I ordered the sweet pea risotto which was (at best) OK. A disappointing visit to a generally consisten restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Italy)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Concurri con una expectativa que no fue cumplida. Se corto el agua. Apuraron el servicio. La relación servicio pago no es congruente. No volveria. Creo esta sobrevaluado

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Front of the house was rude and no smiles.
Gave us first a bad seat uner the sun and when we asked for a different table she told us to return to the front of the house for another table.
After my friend politely but firmly noted that she is being rude and unprofessional, then we got our table.
Food was average, poor taste.
Orange juice was not fresh for $10. It was overrated.
The waiter was actually nice. but thats it though.
Will I be coming back? Not by my own free will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The atmosphere is totally different from Sarabeth's Tribeca. Quieter and more intimate, perfect for a romantic date. Actually one of the first restaurant we had the pleasure to have a quiet talk, absolutely not a noisy place. We were seated by the window and we loved watching the 'caleches' passe by.
Dinner was fine although glasses were dirty.
Nevertheless we prefer the Tribeca style more than this location.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The service was unacceptable and made the experience less enjoyable

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Utensils, glasses and cups where dirty. Service was bad. Food mediocre for price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant. I particularly liked the variety on the menu - I can't imagine anyone not being able to find something that appealed to them. The food was great, as was the service and I will definitely return, even though I am not from the NYC area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

How many guest are in there !!
How much noisy are in there !!
but I understand it.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Price is not reasonable to the proposed offer. Staff on the other hand, very friebdly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.