About Sarabeth's Central Park South

40 Central Park South
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Great any time of day! Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Brunch(Sat-Sun)

“Not just for Brunch.” "Not for many, many years now, and certainly not on Central Park South,” comments Frank Bruni of the New York Times about our wonderful dinner menu. Join us for an evening meal and reverse your thinking - Sarabeth's for Dinner.

Dock's Oyster Bar and Jane are the sister restaurants to Sarabeth's.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm;
Afternoon Tea: Monday - Friday: 3:30pm - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 826-5959

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Discounted parking is available at Quik Park Garage located at 125 West 58th Street.

Public Transit:
N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue, A, B, C, D & 1 trains to Columbus Circle, and the F train 57th Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Meyers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events details, pricing and availability please email cpsevents@sarabethsrestaurants.com or leave us a voicemail at 646.590.4184

Private Dining

With three private dining rooms, Sarabeth's Central Park South is the perfect location to host your private event. From brunch, seated dinners, or cocktail receptions, we can accommodate any type of event and will work with you to plan exactly what you envision!

Sarabeth's Central Park South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (76)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Casual (46)
See All
Great for Lunch (43)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Afternoon Tea (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Afternoon Coffee (19)
Fun (18)
People Watching (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Family Style (14)
Business Meals (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (11)
Scenic View (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful place for breakfast! Service was warm, welcoming and fast. Super accommodating for food allergies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We went there based on good reviews. The ambiance was nice enough and the establishment was clean. We were originally seated in a tiny hallway near the kitchen where they obviously jammed more tables in where they shouldn't have been in order to fit more people. We asked to move and were accommodated easily enough.

AThe service was decent although the food was overpriced for the quality. Orange juice is delicious but not quite $10 a glass delicious. The wait staff was polite and efficient. The food I found to be somewhat generic. Overall it was just ok and not quite what it was hyped up to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great brunch after biking Central Park. The crab cake eggs benedict and (huge) french toast were incredible. The portion size of the side items were nice too, fortunately because the price was steep. It was definitely worth the expense though. Also, the bloody mary was one of the best I've had, with gorgeous presentation. Overall a great dining experience, especially with the view of the park.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful ambiance and friendly helpful staff, food was great

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for a business breakfast. They open at 8AM and are not completely ready to go at that time. Ordered oatmeal. Portion was on the small side and not very hot. In summary - mediocre and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great for kids and adults!! Service awesome and no wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined 5 days ago

昨日予約無しで昼間に入ろうとしたら長蛇の列で断念。翌日昼間に予約して待つことなくすんなり入れた。観光地なので、こちらの英会話がうまく出来ないとわかると、簡単な英語でわかりやすく話してくれて助かる。サービスも過剰な感じではなく、必要最低限しっかりやってくれるので、不快に思うことはなかった。食事はサーブされた時にすでに少し冷めていたのが残念。ボリュームは十分。味もまぁ、良かったかな?トマトスープが美味。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, large portions. Kid menu is always a plus! Their system was down so I couldn't modify the arrival time, but they were very accommodating and got us seated quickly. Waitress was very friendly as well. Thank you!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It's a classic restaurant I've been going too since I was younger. One thing I did notice was that they did not find my reservation the first time and the hostess young man was kind of rude but I guess it was busy in the morning. Great food as always best lemon ricotta pancakes was feeling a bit rushed while eating and a huge pet peeve of mine is when they take our plates when the other person I'm with is still eating. Other then that will return again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Accueil sympathique ,serveuse attentionnée .

Entrée + main course trés bien le désert moins bien.

Impression générale favorable .

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was not good. Server didn't take our dinner order for a while. Same thing with bringing the bill. Everything was very very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

家族4人(大学生の子供2名含む)で2017.2.7、NYC旅行の最終日帰国前の午前中に訪問。フレンチトーストを一皿、エッグベネディクトを3種類(ベーシック、クラブケーキ、サーモンエッグ)注文しシェアしました。飲み物は水とコーヒー。味は上品で、フレンチトーストに添えられたイチゴも新鮮。雰囲気も上品で良いのですが、4名で140ドル以上というのは高すぎますね。水はお替わり自由ですが、一人3.5ドルします。ジュースは一杯10ドル以上するので止めました。たまに贅沢なランチをしたいときには良いかもしれません。

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Panama)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Brunch was delicious!! Highly recommend to visitors to New York!! Wonderful muffins and mimosas

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

piped in music detracts from the atmosphere if they must do that they should lower the volume.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Comfortable space, gracious staff, excellent drinks and food. And it was Restaurant Week!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excelent food, specially eggs Benedict. Service and decor could get an upgrade.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I love Sarabeth's UWS and UES - this one is very touristy. Also, seems more expensive although not sure about that. At any rate, the food was good, the staff was pleasant and helpful but it is a tourist joint. As a real NYer, I felt out of place and missed the other spots. Also, they pushed a lot of extras on us. I've never had that happen at the other two locations and I eat at both of them often. Go local!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The lemon ricotta pancakes are wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our waiter was neither friendly nor quick with the service. The salad did not look very fresh. They can improve on the service and food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great for brunch and then a nice walk in Central Park. Our waiter was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Bad service from the manager!

When we called the staff's attention to see the dessert menu, the man leaning against the wall looked and totally ignored us! We saw this man look at us and he immediately turned away to talk to other staff --- giggling and just horseplaying. We were surprised to know that he was the manager! On our second attempt, after waving my hand to get some attention, the waiter gave us the check that we didn't ask for!

From

D Abesamis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

La comida es buena , falla el servicio , el olor a comida dentro del restaurante , tuvimos que pedir cambio de mesa por el humo blanco que había dentro , varias personas hicieron lo mismo , deben poner atención a las chicas que reciben al entrar , mala cara y pocas ganas

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Not bad but not impressive either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful. The food was excellent. The staff was courteous and generally attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The host was inappropriately and obtusely rude and unpleasant. His demeanor was sour and ungracious, which is exactly what you do not want in an employee who is first in line to represent the service team at an establishment. I recommend immediate disposal or intense retraining of this individual if Sarabeth's would like to maintain their positive reputation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was really good

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food is good, but it feels like you pay for the serving.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was a great experience! I really recommend the pancakes and the waffles ( pumpkin is a option as well)! Service was great, and they also can accommodate families as well!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Each dish sounded amazing but I decided on the Seafood Cobb Salad which was the best salad I've ever had. We had a round booth table which was perfect for conversation amongst new colleagues. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I am told this location is always packed with tourists, so I made reservations beforehand, but we were lucky as they were not as busy Monday lunchtime. Large dining space so you don't feel cramped with your neighbors and can have a conversation without feeling like you're being listened to. Prompt service and the food was quick to come out so it's nice if you're in a hurry. We ordered the basket of muffins with preserves along with our entrees and we couldn't finish it so asked it to have it wrapped and they included extra preserves for us which was considerate of them. I can see why this place gets busy, it would be worth the wait.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We came from Florida to celebrate a birthday...enjoy fine dining and see a couple of Broadway shows. Sara Beth's did not disappoint! We had a wonderful experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Ordered the classic eggs Benedict and the eggs were undercooked. Also the food wasn't warm.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Beet and apple salad was delicious. My daughter had the burger and I had mushroom risotto which was rich, creamy and earthy . Perfect comfort food which is what we were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A convenient location near Columbus Circle/Central Park. Easy to eat as much or little as you like. The scones are good. A limited selection of tea, but a nice drink selection. We enjoyed the crab and guacamole with house made (huge) potato chips. I really didn't much care for over half the muffins in the muffin basket, but others may feel differently. Next time, I'll just order scones.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Satabeth's has something for every taste on its menu-- and so reasonably priced for NYC. I had scallops and my husband had the salmon. Both were delicious. Price was less than breakfast at our hotel!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A must do in NY - great food and atmosphere- a fun find

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Highly recommended on Trip Advisor and definitely worth the dining experience.

I enjoyed the lemon ricotta pancakes and the spicy potatoes. The restaurant is decorated very attractively and the waitstaff attentive, groomed, polite. This place has a young contemporary feel to it and the food was amazing. So glad we made reservations to avoid the long lines.

Would definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Such a fabulous experience. The service was fantastic and the food was excellent. I'll definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good, but we were seated right up front by the door which was cold with people coming and going and not a lot of decor to take in. We were also seated next to a family with noisy kids. Next time, I would request to be seated back in the main area or outside depending on time of year.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I had a wonderful birthday dinner with friends on Friday. The service was wonderful, the staff very attentive. Everything, from cocktails and wines to meals, was delicious and the portions are very filling. My crab meat guacamole and chips appetizer was yummy. The salmon with quinoa and beets, and a side of Tuscan kale with roasted garlic, was also delish. My friends all enjoyed their meals as well. I've been to this Sarabeth's before and the one on Park Avenue South and have always come away happy and sated. I highly recommend Sarabeth's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always fantastic and does not disappoint. Everyone had a great time and wants to go back!

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

平日の朝早かったせいか前日に予約できました。

道を挟んでセントラルパークがみえる窓側の席があいていたので最初は奥の席だったのですが気持ちよく変えてくれました。

代官山のお店には行ったことがあったのですが、やはり本場のエッグベネディクトは美味しかったです!フレンチトーストもペロリと食べてしまいました。

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

There was no service detail beyond placing my order and bringing the check. I had to stop a bus boy for assistance and water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We sat at the window overlooking Central Park South. It was a very cold day and every time the door opened it was chilly. The tables are close together. Food was very good and the service great. I had a frittata and my husband had the crab cake benedict. We had a drink and did not feel hurried.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fabulous as always. We enjoyed a late breakfast. It was a bit crowded but we didn't wait long because we had a reservation. Open table is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Loved everything about Sarabeths!!! I enjoyed the lemon ricotta and blackberry pancakes...so amazing!!! This restaurant will be a staple to my future trips to New York. I can't imagine visiting the city and not stopping here. The menu is divine and so much to chose from! I could eat there everyday!! Most meals are $20+ but it's worth it for the delicious items!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great overall, as usual. Delicious Goldie Lox Scrambled eggs 👌🏼👌🏼👌🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We've been to this restaurant several times over the past 5 years; however, dinner on Monday, 1/2/17 was a bad experience. We came into Manhattan for a brief vacation after the holidays and after a long trip into town were looking forward to going to one of the restaurants we've enjoyed that is close to the hotel. However, service was horrible (our waiter cleaned the restaurant after serving our dinner, never stopped to ask how everything was or pour any of the wine from the bottle) and the food choice on the menu was mediocre. Kind of sad. We won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fun place to be for breakfast. Omelettes great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great experience eating here

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.