About Sarabeth's Central Park South

40 Central Park South
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Great any time of day! Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Brunch(Sat-Sun)

“Not just for Brunch.” "Not for many, many years now, and certainly not on Central Park South,” comments Frank Bruni of the New York Times about our wonderful dinner menu. Join us for an evening meal and reverse your thinking - Sarabeth's for Dinner.

Dock's Oyster Bar and Jane are the sister restaurants to Sarabeth's.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm;
Afternoon Tea: Monday - Friday: 3:30pm - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 826-5959

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Discounted parking is available at Quik Park Garage located at 125 West 58th Street.

Public Transit:
N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue, A, B, C, D & 1 trains to Columbus Circle, and the F train 57th Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Meyers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events details, pricing and availability please email cpsevents@sarabethsrestaurants.com or leave us a voicemail at 646.590.4184

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Almond Crusted French Toast - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Crabs Eggs Benedict  - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Popeyes Omelette Breakfast - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Cosmosa - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Pumpkin Tart - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Steak-Frites - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Lobster Risotto - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Tomato Soup - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Lentil Soup - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Duck Breast - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Homemade Nachos With Guacamole - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Shrimp Risotto - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Pickled Bloody Mary - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Ricotta And Lemon Pancakes With Strawberries And Maple Syrup - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Red Ome - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Bread Pudding - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Avocado hamburger - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY
Banana Stuffed French Toast - Sarabeth's Central Park South, New York, NY

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day with your loved one at Sarabeth’s. In addition to our regular menu we will also offer specials.

Private Dining

With three private dining rooms, Sarabeth's Central Park South is the perfect location to host your private event. From brunch, seated dinners, or cocktail receptions, we can accommodate any type of event and will work with you to plan exactly what you envision!

Sarabeth's Central Park South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (71)
Great for Lunch (49)
Casual (48)
See All
Sunday Lunch (43)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (20)
Family Style (19)
Afternoon Coffee (19)
People Watching (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Afternoon Tea (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Fun (15)
Scenic View (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly recommended on Trip Advisor and d ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Highly recommended on Trip Advisor and definitely worth the dining experience.

I enjoyed the lemon ricotta pancakes and the spicy potatoes. The restaurant is decorated very attractively and the waitstaff attentive, groomed, polite. This place has a young contemporary feel to it and the food was amazing. So glad we made reservations to avoid the long lines.

Would definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a fabulous experience. The service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Such a fabulous experience. The service was fantastic and the food was excellent. I'll definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but we were seated right ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good, but we were seated right up front by the door which was cold with people coming and going and not a lot of decor to take in. We were also seated next to a family with noisy kids. Next time, I would request to be seated back in the main area or outside depending on time of year.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

I had a wonderful birthday dinner with f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I had a wonderful birthday dinner with friends on Friday. The service was wonderful, the staff very attentive. Everything, from cocktails and wines to meals, was delicious and the portions are very filling. My crab meat guacamole and chips appetizer was yummy. The salmon with quinoa and beets, and a side of Tuscan kale with roasted garlic, was also delish. My friends all enjoyed their meals as well. I've been to this Sarabeth's before and the one on Park Avenue South and have always come away happy and sated. I highly recommend Sarabeth's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, , Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic and does not disappoint ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always fantastic and does not disappoint. Everyone had a great time and wants to go back!

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was no service detail beyond placi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

There was no service detail beyond placing my order and bringing the check. I had to stop a bus boy for assistance and water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We sat at the window overlooking Central ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We sat at the window overlooking Central Park South. It was a very cold day and every time the door opened it was chilly. The tables are close together. Food was very good and the service great. I had a frittata and my husband had the crab cake benedict. We had a drink and did not feel hurried.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Fabulous as always. We enjoyed a late b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fabulous as always. We enjoyed a late breakfast. It was a bit crowded but we didn't wait long because we had a reservation. Open table is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved everything about Sarabeths!!! I en ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Loved everything about Sarabeths!!! I enjoyed the lemon ricotta and blackberry pancakes...so amazing!!! This restaurant will be a staple to my future trips to New York. I can't imagine visiting the city and not stopping here. The menu is divine and so much to chose from! I could eat there everyday!! Most meals are $20+ but it's worth it for the delicious items!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to this restaurant several ti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We've been to this restaurant several times over the past 5 years; however, dinner on Monday, 1/2/17 was a bad experience. We came into Manhattan for a brief vacation after the holidays and after a long trip into town were looking forward to going to one of the restaurants we've enjoyed that is close to the hotel. However, service was horrible (our waiter cleaned the restaurant after serving our dinner, never stopped to ask how everything was or pour any of the wine from the bottle) and the food choice on the menu was mediocre. Kind of sad. We won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fun place to be for breakfast. Omelettes ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fun place to be for breakfast. Omelettes great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

You need a reservation. Great good and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

You need a reservation. Great good and service. Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was great

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation and seated promptly - ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made a reservation and seated promptly - great location - service was ok but waiter only checked on us once. Seated close to the door and cold breeze kept coming in . Good was fantastic. Have a shared unisex bathroom and had to wait 20 minutes just for 2 people in front of me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food very tasty but felt it was a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food very tasty but felt it was a little cold.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

サービスがすごくよかった。 予約時間前に着いたが対応していただいて助かりました。

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

サービスがすごくよかった。

予約時間前に着いたが対応していただいて助かりました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So so food. Terrible service. over price ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So so food.

Terrible service.

over priced for what you get.

As a nitpicking diner, I never want to return here.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I think this restaurant has great potent ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I think this restaurant has great potential but was horribly unprepared for New Years Eve Most of the staff was outstanding and dealt with the overwhelming crowd the best they could. Who I assume was the manager was rude to guest and more interested in getting off at 12:30 rather than cater to the guests. I quietly approached him at the end of the evening to just let him know that we enjoyed our time and to pay compliments to the staff that helped us, but also offered a little advise to him to not loudly announce that he couldn't wait to get everyone out so he could "finally" start his partying when we all felt like the service and experience could have been a lot better.

Our reservations were for 10:15, we didn't get seated until 11:30, 3 of our 4 meals came out at 12:10. The fourth was rushed and was the worst Filet Mignon ever. We were then rudely rushed out at 12:30.

The worst part was how the manager responded to me. I was speaking to him privately and professionally when he made a scene in front of everyone by loudly saying that it was new years eve and they had a right to go out and enjoy themselves too.

If I were the owner or restaurant manager, I would fire this guy immediately! He is bad for service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

An hour wait past 9:15pm reservation for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

An hour wait past 9:15pm reservation for 4, indifferent managers, unprepared staff, no ambience sums it up. No one offered a free cocktail while we waited. No one apologized. 1st time I have written a negative review anywhere.

Despite advertising a $75 Prix Fixe menu with live jazz for New Year's Eve and after our hour-long wait, manager insisted we couldn't sit in back to hear music because no tables were available. I reserved on December 26. When I protested, another employee said he'd get us a table in the back and did so within a few minutes. One of our party of 4 had momentarily disappeared and I wasn't sure if she was outside or in the ladies room. But the employee refused to seat just 3 of us and direct the 4th to our table when she returned, even though we had been standing in the crowded bar area for an hour. He made me go outside (!) and to the ladies room. While I maneuvered through the crowd, one of our party heard him say, "If she wants music, I'll give her music." And he seated us right next to the musicians, which was fine except for the snarky comment. But there was no festive atmosphere in the back, just bright lights like a diner.

The waitress tried her best. We tipped her well. But staff helping her serve were untrained. They brought dishes to the table without clearing the previous course when we weren't finished yet. They forgot the "amuse bouche" on the Prix Fixe menu. One friend had to return her duck. It was badly overcooked. We had to flag down the waitress, as no one checked on us after serving our main courses.

No manager ever walked through to ask how everything was going, or offered us anything for the restaurant's problems that night.

Since we were so late getting seated, we asked for our included dessert to-go to meet up with visitors before midnight for the fireworks. We missed them except for the last few minutes.

In many years dining out New Year's Eve, this was the worst experience. Oh, the food wasn't bad overall, but...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely food, very busy - to be expected ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely food, very busy - to be expected on New year's eve, however in order to keep filling tables we were rushed in and out which took away from the evening and gave less value for money as a result. Quality v turnover....they took the latter choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Booked here to be close to Central Park ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Booked here to be close to Central Park New Years Eve fireworks.

Excellent food but felt that extra tables had been put in and there was little room between them. Also some of larger tables were very cramped.

Our table was booked for 8.00 pm but we were not told that it would be needed again for another group.

We were approached and told this before we had even been offered the dessert menu.

They had clearly over booked for the night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Un poco desordenado el servicio. Pero er ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Un poco desordenado el servicio. Pero era fin de año y estaba lleno

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Who would have thought Sarabeths would b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Who would have thought Sarabeths would be a great place for NY Eve? It was! They did a great job! Jazz, cozy ambiance, great food and very nice service! We loved it!

The city was crazy but this was a delightful oasis!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter shouldn't demand a tip and didn't ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waiter shouldn't demand a tip and didn't deserve anything when I'm eating to being next course food out to get cold is not acceptable and then demand a tip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Very disappointing dinner experience and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very disappointing dinner experience and would not go back. I love all things Sarabeth and always make her Chelsea Market location a stop on my NYC trips, but she would not approve of the crappy experience at her Central Park South restaurant my daughter and I had: terrible service, mediocre food (undercooked pizza crust and a salad with flat-leaf parsley that really was nothing but flat-leaf parsley and that's all you could taste--skipped dessert for obvious reasons). We stopped in here for a late dinner after a show. Service was awful. I thought the staff just wanted to go home. The best part was the cozy atmosphere and looking out over the bustle of Central Park South. I'm still a Sarabeth fan--she's a neat woman and her bakery and cookbooks are terrific but I won't return to this location.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

My personal opinion was that hosts weren ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My personal opinion was that hosts weren't very friendly greeting felt forced and they didn't bother to say thank you for coming or good night as if it was a chore. Expected more and was disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Love, love this place. Cozy, great food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love, love this place. Cozy, great food, great location, great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

スマートに食事ができた。

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

スマートに食事ができた。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, fun vibe (would love to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food, fun vibe (would love to get their playlist of classic soul and funk deep cuts)... The crusted seared ahi, classic eggs benedict and salmon benedict were delicious. The ice cream sandwich flight was also very good. Cocktails were creative and complemented the outstanding cuisine.

Service was spotty. Our waiter started strong -- very personable, prompt with drinks and getting our dinner order in. Then he disappeared a couple of times. Most notably, we waited in vain for dessert menus (10 - 15 minutes after finishing our entrees and having our table bussed)... Finally I had to track him down.

Overall a great value and I would certainly go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We visted Sarabeths for lunch after book ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We visted Sarabeths for lunch after booking via " Open table". We arrived over an hour late through no fault of our own and were informed that we had no reservation even though I showed my confirmation email. The front of house staff made us feel a little uncomfortable during all this but we were then given a table which seemed to be in a direct walkway through the restaurant. I had to swap places with my wife as there was an air con unit blowing directly on the table.

The wine was vastly over priced and we noticed not one other table had ordered any. The saving grace of our visit however was the food. Very well presented and it tasted lovely. Would we visit again? Hm, difficult really as its pretty expensive but on the other hand the food is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

8 people for dinner. Only 1 was impresse ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

8 people for dinner. Only 1 was impressed with food. Everyone else said it was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food and perfect for a large group ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food and perfect for a large group with teens and small children. Everyone was happy with their meals - and even more excited about dessert. The "banana split" was a big hit with my husband (wanted to return for 2 the next day), and I thought the ice cream sandwiches were wonderful. The team at Sarabeth's was helpful and accommodating to our party and especially the baby. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Honestly the yelp reviews were right. Ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Honestly the yelp reviews were right. Our waiter was personable but not good at being a waiter. We waited 15 min after our reservation to be seated. Asked multiple times for water. He even asked us if we'd like to order and we were like no, we'd like water.

During our meal we had to ask each time for water refills when the cups were completely empty and our last requests went without acknowledgement at all.

The portions were small, the flavor was average and the prices were high. This is not a spot I'd recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Went to breakfast the day after Christma ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went to breakfast the day after Christmas with Wife and 2 kids. Service was fine, we had reservations and the wait was minimal. We found the food very average for the price. Kids had pancakes, wife had French toast and I had Farmers omelette. Nothing any better than I make at home. Cappuccino was weak. For the cost of the meal I would have expected better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Food is barely mediocre

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food is barely mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

It was Christmas Eve and we were seated ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was Christmas Eve and we were seated right away. The food and service were good. No complaints, but nothing to truly brag about either. Location is great right at South Central Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Recommended by several friends which is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Recommended by several friends which is why I reserved Christmas Eve. It was the best restaurant we ate there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Lovely experience- waiters could serve w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Lovely experience- waiters could serve with a smile 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very friendly staff, really good food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very friendly staff, really good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The place in front of Central Park and t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The place in front of Central Park and the taste was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.