About Sarabeth's Central Park South

40 Central Park South
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Great any time of day! Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Brunch(Sat-Sun)

“Not just for Brunch.” "Not for many, many years now, and certainly not on Central Park South,” comments Frank Bruni of the New York Times about our wonderful dinner menu. Join us for an evening meal and reverse your thinking - Sarabeth's for Dinner.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm;
Afternoon Tea: Monday - Friday: 3:30pm - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 826-5959

Website:
http://www.sarabethsrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Discounted parking is available at Quik Park Garage located at 125 West 58th Street.

Public Transit:
N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue, A, B, C, D & 1 trains to Columbus Circle, and the F train 57th Street.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Meyers

Private Party Contact:
Greta Tralongo: 646-590-4184x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events details, pricing and availability please email cpsevents@sarabethsrestaurants.com or leave us a voicemail at 646.590.4184

Restaurant Photos

Almond Crusted French Toast
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Crabs Eggs Benedict
Popeyes Omelette Breakfast
Cosmosa
Pumpkin Tart
Lobster Risotto
Steak-Frites
Tomato Soup
Lentil Soup
Duck Breast
Homemade Nachos With Guacamole
Shrimp Risotto
Pickled Bloody Mary
Ricotta And Lemon Pancakes With Strawberries And Maple Syrup
Red Ome
Bread Pudding
Avocado hamburger
Banana Stuffed French Toast

Sarabeth's Central Park South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (165)
great for lunch (82)
fit for foodies (67)
See All
neighborhood gem (64)
special occasion (45)
great for outdoor dining (44)
hot spot (44)
kid-friendly (43)
scenic view (43)
good for groups (39)
romantic (23)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service1

Horrible - restaurant only 1/4 full so n ...

Dined 2 days ago

Horrible - restaurant only 1/4 full so no need for our reservation. In fact hostess sat two walk ins who came In after us before us. The worst part is the waitress hardly ever showed up - she seemed to disappear to a back hallway or kitchen for long periods of time. We tried flagging down the other waiters standing around but they were not interested in helping another table. One even said he was busy and couldn't get us water. Over two hours we had one water refill after the table next to us begged another waiter. We only got one drink from the bar and had to get up to get silverware. End of meal I finally got up and got hostess to get our bill. Horrible horrible service. How about food - for the price- 50$ a person not good. Fish was bland and slightly over cooked. Blue cheese burger was missing the blue cheese and dry. The calamari was chewy and just like the entree - very bland. So disappointed b/c good ratings-however we weren't the only ones disappointed table next to us and across from us were complaining too. I suggest a manager start walking around asking customers how everything is going and figure out how to improve the place. I wil never return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing and delicious food, great servic ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing and delicious food, great service, great environment! I highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Waitress never checked on our table and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Waitress never checked on our table and served our food to the table next to us and they started to eat it and we got served much later

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our favorite breakfast spots in t ...

Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite breakfast spots in the city. This is the first time we have sat outside. It was right after 8am opening...facing Central Park, you can't beat it. Great eggs Benedict and coffee.

food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great time. Food was great, ser ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time. Food was great, service was good our waiter was friendly. We made a reservation, if we hadn't the wait would have been long.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner, the duck entree and Barbera wine ...

Dined 6 days ago

Dinner, the duck entree and Barbera wine, was delicious. Somewhat oddly, all three of us ordered the same and all loved it. Service was very attentive but not over-bearing. The only negative was that I arrived a couple of minutes before my guests and instead of welcoming me graciously, the maitresse d' peremptorily offered me the bench by the door or the bar. The place was almost empty at 6 pm so there would not have been too much of a risk of seating me at our table ...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During visit to NYC and after long walk ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

During visit to NYC and after long walk in the park, we went to Sarabeth for lunch. I went there years ago for a ladies' brunch and it was just as good today. Great menu, friendly, relaxed service and in as central a location as you can enjoy. The Baby Kale salad, grilled cheese, and tomato soup split between us made for a full lunch and we were not rushed at all. Outside is first come first served but we sat inside and it was a wonderful experience. Highly recommend for anytime dining.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Outdoor place can't be really deserves

Dined 6 days ago

Outdoor place can't be really deserves

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

$150 dollars for 3 people for breakfast ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

$150 dollars for 3 people for breakfast - and the coffee wasnt even good. Total tourist trap.

food1
ambience1
service1
value2

The menu was extensive but the food was ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

The menu was extensive but the food was mediocre at best. I ordered the roasted chicken salad and could not eat the chicken because it was slimy and unappealing. Also they don't bring any bread (for lunch) but charge $14.50 for a bread basket with muffins. It is overpriced unexciting food and the service wasn't even good- we had to hunt down our waiter after asking for one minute to review the menu.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I am not really a brunch person which is ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I am not really a brunch person which is what most people enjoy there. But, their tomatoe soup is the best in the world. You must make reservations, which the restaurant is good at honoring.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, food and service! Efficient ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great place, food and service! Efficient in serving food and definitely top on my list for Brunch in New York!

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is just mediocre. Ambiance was ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The food is just mediocre. Ambiance was just okay. Wouldn't be coming back or recommend to anyone.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Sarabeth's for Father's Day a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Sarabeth's for Father's Day and had brunch. We were all pleased with our meals as well as the service and ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful Father's Day brunch with the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A wonderful Father's Day brunch with the family. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I loved that they gave us a private alcove when we made reservations through the open table app. I look forward to going back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the Garden Vegetable Omelette. It ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

I had the Garden Vegetable Omelette. It was absolutely wonderful! The peas were just the perfect texture in it. Of course the English Muffin was amazing too! Could've eaten more of those with the preserves. Luckily I made reservations with Open Table. Long wait lines. They don't seat the party until everyone is there too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

My dad and I enjoyed a final NYC meal at ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

My dad and I enjoyed a final NYC meal at Sarabeth's. The pre-fixed menu was perfect for us, as we each wanted an entree off of it. The tomato soup to start was especially delicious, and part of me regrets not getting the tomato soup & grilled cheese. Although it may seem basic I'm sure it is incredibly well done based on the soup alone. My main course (the steak) wasn't phenomenal and could have been better seasoned, but was still god. We sat outside and enjoyed watching people & horses go by Central Park while we finished with creme brulee.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The staff was so kind and amiable and ma ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

The staff was so kind and amiable and made sure that we got the seating that we wanted even though we showed up late for our reservation. Kudos to their people skills! The food is always delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We make it a point to go to Sarabeth's w ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We make it a point to go to Sarabeth's whenever we travel to NYC. We love the location and ambiance. The staff is very attentive and professional. Most importantly, the food is absolutely delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2

Mediocre, used to be much better. Main ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Mediocre, used to be much better. Main waiter was inattentive which made no sense since the inside room was only about 20% occupied. Fish was dry which I did not expect based on previous visits. Better get new management or another familiar name will disappear.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We took our 12 year old granddaughter fo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We took our 12 year old granddaughter for brunch. Service was very good but the food! Mediocre at best! We would never go back. Go to The Smith which is just around the corner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was with 2 best friends having a nice ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I was with 2 best friends having a nice girls weekend in NYC and Sarabeths was a fantastic Saturday Night Dinner out. We have great service and wonderful food. Everyone was extremely polite and trying to make our experience a nice one. We had 3 great meals, wonderful cocktails and delicious desserts. We felt the menu offered a wide variety of options without being too expansive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was good, but we felt a bit rus ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was good, but we felt a bit rushed, and was expecting the restaurant to be prettier. It was pretty pricey too.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

You should make a reservation before han ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

You should make a reservation before hand or else you will wait. After being very excited to go to Sarabeth's my girlfriend found an eggshell in her eggs Benedict. They covered her meal but would have been nice to offer something to make up for it. Not going back.

food3
ambience3
service4

Sarabeth's has also glutein-free meals. ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Sarabeth's has also glutein-free meals. We dined as a family and the service was as welcome for the kids as they were for the rest of us. Nice place near the Central Park.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on June 6, 2016

Sarabeths was great. Staff friendly and took my group on time. The food was fresh and delicious. No complaints. The restaurant is actually very big which you would never know from the outside. The location is perfect for tourists spending the day at Central Park. I went during lunch time but I am planning to go back to try their breakfast. This is a pretty popular restaurant so expect a crowd and make a reservation in advance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect romantic breakfast

Dined on June 5, 2016

Amazing food (cinnamon apple French toast was to die for!) the best ambiance seated outside under a canopy overlooking Central Park on a rainy Sunday morning. Wonderful experience!! Will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

good but wasn't wowed...

Dined on June 4, 2016

my family and i ate at sarabeth's on our recent 4-day weekend in new york. it was recommended to us by many. to be honest, we thought it was pretty good but we weren't wowed. could be that 3 of the 5 of us ordered eggs benedict, which was average at best. the muffin it was served on was too thick...and the hollandaise was really thick as well, and had peppers in it, which was different but we didn't really love the flavors they added. my youngest son truly has eggs benedict as one of his top 3 foods, and he didn't even finish it. however, my other two sons ordered the french toast and the pancakes and did really enjoy them. a little ridiculous, in my opinion, that NONE of our breakfast meals were served WITH anything either...no side of fruit or bacon or sausage. everything was "extra"...which is okay if the french toast or eggs benedict isn't already $20+! maybe we just didn't order the right thing...because the restaurant did come so highly recommended...it was fine. i'd be willing to give it another shot...and wouldn't say don't go there...i just wouldn't say DEFINITELY go there just yet...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service,

Dined on June 3, 2016

Absolutely incredible food and service. I ate the Pot Pie and it was frankly the best meal I've ever eaten. The service was exceptional!! I wish I could remember the young ladies name who waited on us outside but she was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch is a hit at Sarabeth

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our third time brunching at Sarabeth's! We love this place, very good service. With a reservation, you skip the long lines. The food is amazing..lemon riccota pancakes to die for! The omelets are always a hit, our favorite the spinach & goat cheese. A side order of the potatoes cannot be missed. The banana muffin is really good too!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Make time to visit this awesome restaurant! The food and drinks are sublime, the waitstaff is well trained and friendly, and the view of Central Park is lovely! My daughter and I have visited NYC for the past seven years and this is by far the best restaurant we've encountered!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Sarabeths Delivers

Dined on June 1, 2016

The food is always top notch whenever I done here. This one night though the service was not up to its usual standard. My friend ordered the same item off the pre-fix as me the salmon and was brought steak. She doesn't touch red meat so it was an odd almost funny sight. They quickly cooked up the right dish in 5 mins and it was fine. We noticed other tables having similar issues. Usually not the case here so I'm hoping it won't happen again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Out of town vacation

Dined on May 31, 2016

This place was decent with a great location. Out server wasn't as focused on making a genuine connection.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food

Dined on May 29, 2016

Worth the wait the four flowers Mimosa is good the juice itself is delish!!! Worth the time to reserve seats. A lot of people eating.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner by Central Park

Dined on May 27, 2016

This Restaurant is well located and faces the south end of Central Park. One can view the horse carriages from the front of the restaurant. (Busy Street as well). The food was good, as was our service. It was a nice dinner out, good value for the money.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Great for large parties. Solid menu wher ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great for large parties. Solid menu where everyone will find someone they like.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good to see and to be seen, great service

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Ask for a table outside overlooking central park. Strong coffee. Not enough wc availables for that many people in the restaurant. I I ever go back I´ll ask for a table outside and maybe for lunch and a glass of wine. It´s a classic next to the Plaza. Always full!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Birthday Brunch

Dined on May 23, 2016

We went to Sarabeth's for bruch to close out our long weekend in NYC celebrating my mom's 75th birthday. Everything was lovely, although our waitress seemed tired/bored. She was efficient and not rude or unkind, just a little aloof. Otherwise, a perfect meal.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful setting across from Central Pa ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Beautiful setting across from Central Park. The food was very good (lobster pasta was delicious), interesting and really good cocktails, Do not skip the bread--really yummy. But I did think the prices were steep.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to have a brunch, kids frien ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great place to have a brunch, kids friendly, great food

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.