Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room

Known for its fresh, high-quality food and vibrant nightlife atmosphere, Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room dramatic exterior is framed with giant torches that light the Scottsdale sky. The interior is equally dramatic and includes an elegant elliptical bar where the passion-mango martini is a local favorite. The restaurant’s menu includes a variety of premium sushi as well as classic and contemporary Asian specialties, such as Grilled Black Cod glazed in Miso; delicately fried Tempura, and even a spicy take on Hawaiian poki.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room popular Happy Hour specials highlight the restaurant’s creative cocktail menu and is available seven days a week from 3-7pm in the lounge and on the patio. Reverse Happy Hour is offered Thursday – Saturday 10pm to close.

14344 North Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:

DINNER
Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm-10:30pm

Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm-11:30pm

HAPPY HOUR
Everyday 3:00pm-7:00pm

REVERSE HAPPY HOUR
Thursday - Saturday: 10:00pm-close

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Acoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 607-1114

Website:
http://www.sapporoscottsdale.com/

Parking Details:
Sapporo offers a large public parking area and valet.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Stromberg

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sapporo offers sophisticated private or semi-private Group Dining for groups of 15 to 340. Our Group Event Sales Office is ready to assist you anytime, whether you are planning a Business Luncheon or Dinner, Company Meeting, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception, Employee Recognition, Pharmaceutical Sales Meeting or any sort of Social Gathering. For special events or groups over 15, please contact our Sales Department at 480.607.1114. You may also email us at events@sapporoscottsdale.com.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mother's Day and show your appreciation with a freshly prepared meal of elegant flavors and indulgences made with her in mind and served in style.

Private Dining

Offering several experiences under one roof, teppanyaki-style dining, Pacific Rim coursed dining and award winning sushi. Sapporo is located on North Scottsdale Road and a great destination for corporate, convention and social groups.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Modern Decor (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
People Watching (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great spot with great food and awesome service! I definitely plan on visiting Sapporo again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Birthday celebration fell flat even tho restaurant was notified there was no acknowledging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Way too noisy. Very peculiar and unappetizing sushi roll menu. Overall disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Tanner and Alyssa were awesome servers!!! They were over the top helping us make our selections! Very refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Very good hibachi. Spiced nicely, fun table side prep. Get a lot of value for the money and the food quality is high. Chilian Sea bass and filet was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

If you are looking for authentic well prepared traditional Japanese food this is not the place to choose. First reaction is it's to large and music too loud to enjoy a convivial evening. I would be surprised if I was told that the sushi was prepared by Japanese chefs. The tempura was not tempura batter but just fried shrimp and vegetables and over cooked . The ramen bowl was greasy and Luke warm . The sashimi was quite good . The app ribs just coated in over sweet teriyaki sauce. I seldom give a poor review to a restaurant but this unfortunately is a case of poor food preparation . To be fair, the service was good from our waitress but I got the impression that even the staff were aware of poor kitchen prep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Sapporo has the BEST sushi in town. Nothing too exotic, but always fresh and delicious. And, the atmosphere is always lively. It's a great place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We heard about this place through friends and it didn't let us down, definitely didn't let us down and now a favorite to us for the future.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A fine place for a good, not great Japanese meal. But a great place for energetic vibe.

Sushi was extremely good. Rest of the meal, not
at the same level. Very busy place. Be prepared for uneven service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food was great as usual. Great outdoor patio. Service was lacking. Sushi tools took over 45 minutes to come out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Service was so quick, we felt very rushed. Staff hovered waiting for plates to empty. So noisy, my wife and I could not have an across-the-table conversation without yelling at each other. Wish we had more time to linger over our excellent food. Edamame was very fresh, and steamed perfectly. Sashimi was too thickly cut, but fresh. Rolls had balanced flavor. Rock shrimp starter very flavorful. Unfortunately, I don't think that we'll be back to enjoy the cuisine.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been going here for years and it never disappoints. Always a great time, the food is fantastic and the service is always excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Historic, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very nice!!! Fun restaurant with fantastic sashimi!!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Two couples for dinner. Ordered same thing from Tepanaki menu. Ours came, theirs did not-for 15 minutes. Order was mis-read and messed up. Food was good, service was good, but the place is very noisy. We decided that's how the younger generation likes it, because most patrons were much younger. The food was good. The manager corrected the error very generously so we did not go home hungry, dissatisfied, or angry. Just be sure your order is correct from the beginning. And the red velvet cake is soooo good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was good but the service was very slow and the server was not around much. I think he just had too many tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service by server and bar staff . Food was excellent. Enjoyed cocktails at outside lounge and watched sunset and had fabulous dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The location is great, staff always friendly, good food options for vegetarians and vegans, ideal setting for dates and special occasions. Would highly recommend this location for anyone looking for good food and vibe.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Reserved table at 9 pm and we're seated at 9:40, then waited for food for a while. Didn't have enjoyable experience... everyone was nice and welcoming, but waiting 40 MINUTES after reserved time was very bothering...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went here for a date night- Sapporo must have been understaffed as the wait time for our drinks was 30 minutes and our second round didn't come till after the meal and it was incorrect. The food was just ok- we ordered Teppankai as we were told it would be the same as ordering it at the table- but it was cold. I wouldn't recommend the main dining room on a Saturday night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my family's 1st time dining at Sapporo's and we thoroughly enjoy the food. The Rock Shrimp was delicious and a must have. The sauces that come with this dish is so yummy! We ordered the Philadelphia, Tempura Shrimp, Las Vegas & California Rolls and they were great! Next time I will try the Teppanyaki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It is a good place with convenient location. Happy Hour all day on Sundays. Good sushi.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great sushi, the bast in the valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We arrived on time for our reservation and we were told it would be 30 minutes before we could be seated. After waiting at the bar for quite a while we decided just to sit in the bar area which is much better for drinks and appetizers than full menu dining.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Due xfcdrcddidifioikf cxrrdiddddd e drdrxfeddcxfexdd fdsdiiii

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Very good food, very reasonable prices, very loud, hard to carry on a conversation

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server pleasantly welcomed us, took drink and appetizer orders, and disappeared...for 30 minutes! The poke tacos were delicious and comped because of the delay...and the fact that we might never have been served if I hadn't hung around the kitchen for him.
The food was all very good and creatively prepared and presented. Other tables seemed to get well served. We did appreciate the comped appetizer and the apology from the floor manager. But, Sapporro is more expensive, louder, and a little too much work.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Loved the Hot Mama Roll!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and service are much better than I remember. We ate in the main dining area since we wanted sushi and other things. We also made the happy hour time which has fabulous deals on their drinks and food. Definitely we will make the happy hour again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing ambiance and food. Wonderful service. Great for the parents and the little ones. Little one loved the variety of apps for happy hour plus watching the tepannyaki table activities. Mom and Dad loved the ambiance, food, wine and service.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for their Sunday "Happy Hour". They have a discounted limited menu, great value. Sushi was fresh, cooked items were tasty. My only complaint is that they brought too many dishes out at the same time. Had to ask them to take one back until we finished another, there wasn't even room on our table for two to put it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fun time. Pricey, but good food. We'll come back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2016

best sushi happy hour in the valley -- excellent grilled salmon -- steak I wouldn't recommend -- great service --

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 19, 2016

excellent service -- great HAPPY HOUR menu -- grilled salmon YUMMY -- sushi fresh and delicious !!!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fun, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great night out with some friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place to have awesome food and an awesome time!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 30, 2016

the happy hour at SAPPORO is outstanding ... excellent food ... freshly prepared ...
sooo YUMMY YUMMU YUMMY ... and great prices !!!
for sushi lovers the best place in scottsdale :-))
excellent service ... the service couldn't be better --

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We loved Sapporo! We ordered small plates, shared them, and they were all wonderful. The restaurant is warm and friendly with a great staff. It was our first visit to Sapporo but not our last.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Server was EXCELLENT. Food was substandard. Way too loud in restaurant - was like a night club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have eaten at Sapporo every year, when we come out to Scottsdale in the fall. But we will not be back next year. The noise level is simply horrible - we could not even talk. Also - the food was only average this time - and it was so cold in the restaurant that all three of us were miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant is very attractive and eye-catching. The servers were attentive and helpful. Our appetizer and salad were delicious and attractively presented. My husband's fish entree was very good and he would order it again. My noodle dish was terrible. It was unattractive and tasted as if it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a long time. When I ate only part of it the server assumed something was wrong even though I didn't complain or ask for something else. She must have reported to the manager since she appeared at the table next. She alluded to the long time gap between the appetizers and entrees and something in the kitchen. She took the price off our bill when I said I didn't care to try something else at that point. Since this was so nicely handled we will try this restaurant again .

The background music was awful and too loud and made conversation difficult. We would choose to sit outside next time. The hostess agreed that the music was really bad. Loud music is an easy fix if an establishment chooses to correct the problem.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.