About Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room

14344 North Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Known for its fresh, high-quality food and vibrant nightlife atmosphere, Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room dramatic exterior is framed with giant torches that light the Scottsdale sky. The interior is equally dramatic and includes an elegant elliptical bar where the passion-mango martini is a local favorite. The restaurant’s menu includes a variety of premium sushi as well as classic and contemporary Asian specialties, such as Grilled Black Cod glazed in Miso; delicately fried Tempura, and even a spicy take on Hawaiian poki.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room popular Happy Hour specials highlight the restaurant’s creative cocktail menu and is available seven days a week from 3-7pm in the lounge and on the patio. Reverse Happy Hour is offered Thursday – Saturday 10pm to close.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:

DINNER
Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm-10:30pm

Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm-11:30pm

HAPPY HOUR
Everyday 3:00pm-7:00pm

REVERSE HAPPY HOUR
Thursday - Saturday: 10:00pm-close

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Acoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 607-1114

Website:
http://www.sapporoscottsdale.com/

Parking Details:
Sapporo offers a large public parking area and valet.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Stromberg

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sapporo offers sophisticated private or semi-private Group Dining for groups of 15 to 340. Our Group Event Sales Office is ready to assist you anytime, whether you are planning a Business Luncheon or Dinner, Company Meeting, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception, Employee Recognition, Pharmaceutical Sales Meeting or any sort of Social Gathering. For special events or groups over 15, please contact our Sales Department at 480.607.1114. You may also email us at events@sapporoscottsdale.com.

Restaurant Photos

soft shell crab roll - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Lobster Potstickers - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Vodka Martini - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Wagyu Sliders - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Kirin Ichiban - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Uni - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Hamachi Sashimi - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Red Snapper Sashimi - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Martini - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Spider Roll - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room
Spicy Grilled Salmon Rice Bowl - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room

Private Dining

Offering several experiences under one roof, teppanyaki-style dining, Pacific Rim coursed dining and award winning sushi. Sapporo is located on North Scottsdale Road and a great destination for corporate, convention and social groups.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious, the service exce ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious, the service excellent. Noise level high, but everyone was having a great time, good vibes

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only complaint we have is that every ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The only complaint we have is that everything came out at once. We ordered soups, salads and Sushi. The Sushi got to the table almost immediately after the soup and salad. Felt rushed. We were on vacation and were hoping to enjoy a nice relaxing meal.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good and we all enjoye ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was very good and we all enjoyed it. My main complaint is that the wait staff needs more training. Our waitress was very sweet, but: we were asked almost right after we sat down about drinks. We asked for water, and were never asked about drinks again. Isn't she supposed to upsell? Then my daughter's entrée order somehow never made it to the kitchen, so that was late. My husband and I ordered the summer special menu and my daughter ordered from the regular menu. Her appetizer arrived first; ours arrived after she was almost done. Then our two entrees arrived, and of course hers didn't. Then she wanted to order dessert, and again, the waitress didn't come back to take that order until our two desserts were done. "Come back in a minute" means "Come back in a minute," not "Come back in 10 minutes." They did take my daughter's entrée off the bill as is appropriate, and both the manager and waitress apologized profusely. She just needs to learn a) to check in with her tables more often and b) timing (or else the kitchen does). Also the guy with the water pitcher completely ignored me and I had to ask for water two more times before I got any.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

1st time experience. Great food, service ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

1st time experience. Great food, service and employees . We will definitely be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinning room was being drowned out b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The dinning room was being drowned out by the loud singer in the bar area. It was so loud that you could not have a conversation at the table. Also the wait staff had difficulty in getting our order . Will not go there again,

to bad it's a restaurant not a nightclub !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was great with the resteraunt ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was great with the resteraunt and service. However my party and I were bummed out because we booked a reservation online thinking we were going to be on the teppanyaki grill. However apparently the reservation was not booked as a chef cook view and it was only a diner. The booking is not clear at all online when you're trying to make reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music too load...Food was great...Servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Music too load...Food was great...Service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious sushi with great happy hour pr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious sushi with great happy hour prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was very good but we went at 4: ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was very good but we went at 4:30 on a Sunday for a quiet birthday dinner. The live music from the bar area was too loud for us to talk even though the hostess seated us away from the band area. It ruined the occasion for my wife, we will call next time and not return if the live band is playing. Your noise level indicator above should have a selection for obnoxious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was marginal. Sashimi was fresh ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was marginal. Sashimi was fresh not very fresh. Bustaff very slow and not trained. Greeting at door was unassuming. Overall just another restaurant

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was excellent, and the birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent, and the birthday ice cream at the end was a nice touch. It is very noisy in the restaurant so if you're sensitive to noise this may not be the place for you. The grapes on my Sapporo Chopped Salad weren't that fresh, but the Sauté roll more than made up for it. Will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was quite terrible - we spec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service was quite terrible - we specifically asked for there to be no sesame seeds on the food due to an allergy yet everything came sprinkled with sesame seeds. We were never asked about drink refills and much of the food was bland and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Best sea bass ever!!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Best sea bass ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 stars all around

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The fire pots out front caught my eye as I was driving by. The decor is seductive, modern with an Asian flair.. the menu is the same. Sushi, pan Asian, cocktails were all top notch. If you like cooked sushi... you must try the "Friends with benefits" roll. Best sushi I have ever had...hands down. I almost ordered another. My mouth is currently watering thinking about it! This place is sexy, cool, fun, elegant nut laid back. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service and food was wonderful. As g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our service and food was wonderful. As good as we remember from several years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No table available, not sure why we made ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

No table available, not sure why we made reservation, we ended up sitting at the bar. Food was still good just disappointed that I even made a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We hadn't been to Sapporo for a long tim ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We hadn't been to Sapporo for a long time and hadn't planned to... but, a friend/colleague wanted to go there and we were pleasantly surprised. The menu had changed a lot since our last visit and the sushi was much better than we remembered. We actually went back for Mother's Day and enjoyed it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I always enjoy dining at Sapporo. Chef ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Sapporo. Chef Mark offers great choices through his creative cooking and servers like Julia are first rate. The new GM, Maryanna leads the solid management team and it shows with the professional, friendly staff who work hard to ensure you have a good time. Ask for creative cocktails from bartender Martine. Great social scene in the bar and excellent sushi, seafood & wok dishes. Continues to be a destination for our family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome 1st experience

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We made reservations for a celebratory dinner and was recommended by a friend. Amazing experience and the server Rachel was fantastic. Because of her is the main reason for a 5 star review. The restaurant is upscale and very professional. Staff and management were also wonderful and helpful. Food was amazing and fresh. I have honestly not been to a place that can compete. Thank you all for making us feel welcome and like celebrities.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's my favorite place in Scottsdale. Wo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

It's my favorite place in Scottsdale. Would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go to Sapporo when visiting Sc ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We always go to Sapporo when visiting Scottsdale. It's a favorite for food and s lively but pleasant ambience. This time we waited over a half hour for our appetizer. Manager was then able to retrieve our appetizer on a TH, notably less busy than usual. Remainder of the evening found staff attentive. Still overwhelmingly positive Ed Sapporo, but they do need to upgrade management or instruct servers to be attentive to time in ensuring food delivery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

When reserving i could have sworn i put ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

When reserving i could have sworn i put in that we wanted to sit where the chef cooks in front of you *this was the second time this happened but canceled the other one* and when they called to confirm was told all of the chefs tables were booked :/ not happy as we only went there for the kids to be distracted and entertained while celebrating my hubby's birthday. We were sat kind of near them so the kids were able to see but it wasn't the same. the food was okay... i wouldn't say great as i thought it would have been but it wasn't bad. my dish and my brothers dish never made it out so once i got the waiters attention and asked where it was he went to check and came back and said there was a mistake and they were making it right away. they did comp us for those 2 dishes but us 2 were the only ones still eating while everyone else was done and waiting for us to finish. they brought out a complimantary dessert for the hubby which i believe wasn't anything special. We will probably not be coming back for any special occasions but maybe for a family dinner and will make sure we get the tables with the chefs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Customer service and food quality were a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Customer service and food quality were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not a good dining experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

when a family sits for an hour after they finish their meal and their kids are out of control yelling and running / rolling around I think the waitress or manager should step up and tell them to get control of their kids. This went on for way to long. And I as a customer had to say something while everyone on the staff ignored the issue. Not Good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I really enjoy just ordering from the su ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I really enjoy just ordering from the sushi roll menu. Haven't had a bad one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We think this is a gorgeous place with a ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We think this is a gorgeous place with a great atmosphere. They were off their game when we went recently. Service very sketchy. Waitress took our drink order then never came back for at least 20 minutes. Another waitress took over after we asked what was going on. Food very good except boring fried rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Impeccable service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Before coming to saparro, the idea of this being an up-tight typical Scottsdale restaurant, was in our minds. Although it still has the typical snooty Scottsdale feel, the pricing, the service, and the food were great. Our waiter was very attentative, but not too much, and was super ever to make sure our experience was excellent. Dinner for two started with a plentiful mixed tempura plate, followed by very fresh salmon and yellowtail nigiri, finished up with a chicken, steak, and shrimp ramen bowl. Their sangria is excellent, and potent. The ambiance was quiet enough to make conversation, but had enough background music to fill in the dead space. Will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Outstanding food!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The menu was filled with a lot of great items to choose from. The food was outstanding. The lobster stuffed shrimp was delicious. The Friends with benefits roll was one of the best I've ever had. Decent wine list with many selections to choose from. Sea bass taco's were fabulous! And lastly the service was exceptional! Victoria was our waitress and I would ask for her the next time we go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good.... service... eh. W ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was very good.... service... eh. When I asked her to tell me about the lamb, she said "what do you want to know about it"...... didn't seem to know her menu very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

SAPPORO - Great Sushi

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Had a family gathering last weekend, great sushi, liked the three flavors of edamame, friends with benefits roll, and many other sushi rolls, lobster dumplings were amazing, caterpillar roll (Unagi), crab roles, even a hand roll we specified. Only downside was its a bit pricey so bring your "checkbook" but the sushi was excellend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappoints**

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Always have a great experience when we dine at Sapporo! One of our favorite spots in Scottsdale!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal except for the scallops

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Five of us went for dinner, the meal was great for most of us , the exception was the 2 who had ordered scallops which were not as fresh tasting as they should have been.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just an overall great experience. Fantas ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Just an overall great experience. Fantastic service, outstanding food and great drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent variety is Sushi

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Excellent variety is Sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sapporro

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The food is great. The service at the bar very good and the service at table OK. The hostess work need a great deal of improvement. First some of the very young greeting you as you enter need a better command of communications. I have been there when the place is very busy but that was not the case this time. We were some early so given a flasher and made to wait. Told them we are at bar, but no interest in finding us. Girls to busy visiting with each other. Felt like I was in a fast food restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The server was sooooo anoying -- very rude.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

i used to dine here years ago and i was not interrupted several times by a server. -- but this time around, the server was very annoying. -brought us go box when we didnt ask for, not even done eating.

Will defenitely not recommend the restaurant-- service very annoying. If not for my son, i could have said something but my son stopped me ftom confronting the server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Rude waitress

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Overall it was an "okay" experience. The waitress seemed extremely rude, she kept rushing us to order, and seemed irritated when we ordered items from the happy hour menu. It was my birthday and I felt liken Sapporo would be a good place to celebrate it, however, I doubt that I will go there for any special occasion again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Usually a good experience but not so good tonight

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Usually a good place to go but were shorthanded the night we went. Service was slow and had to ask several times for drinks refilled. Chef was awesome and food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Nice atmosphere; ok service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

We had a nice happy hour menu and continuation into dinner. The service was not the greatest; I felt that although the restaurant was not very busy, the staff was very pushy to get us moving along when we wanted to leisurely look the menu over and relax. It was kind of annoying.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.