About Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room

Known for its fresh, high-quality food and vibrant nightlife atmosphere, Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room dramatic exterior is framed with giant torches that light the Scottsdale sky. The interior is equally dramatic and includes an elegant elliptical bar where the passion-mango martini is a local favorite. The restaurant’s menu includes a variety of premium sushi as well as classic and contemporary Asian specialties, such as Grilled Black Cod glazed in Miso; delicately fried Tempura, and even a spicy take on Hawaiian poki.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room popular Happy Hour specials highlight the restaurant’s creative cocktail menu and is available seven days a week from 3-7pm in the lounge and on the patio. Reverse Happy Hour is offered Thursday – Saturday 10pm to close.

14344 North Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:

DINNER
Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm-10:30pm

Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm-11:30pm

HAPPY HOUR
Everyday 3:00pm-7:00pm

REVERSE HAPPY HOUR
Thursday - Saturday: 10:00pm-close

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Acoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 607-1114

Website:
http://www.sapporoscottsdale.com/

Parking Details:
Sapporo offers a large public parking area and valet.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Stromberg

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sapporo offers sophisticated private or semi-private Group Dining for groups of 15 to 340. Our Group Event Sales Office is ready to assist you anytime, whether you are planning a Business Luncheon or Dinner, Company Meeting, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception, Employee Recognition, Pharmaceutical Sales Meeting or any sort of Social Gathering. For special events or groups over 15, please contact our Sales Department at 480.607.1114. You may also email us at events@sapporoscottsdale.com.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

soft shell crab roll - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Potstickers - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Vodka Martini - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Wagyu Sliders - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Kirin Ichiban - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Uni - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Hamachi Sashimi - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Red Snapper Sashimi - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Martini - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Spider Roll - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Spicy Grilled Salmon Rice Bowl - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ

Private Dining

Offering several experiences under one roof, teppanyaki-style dining, Pacific Rim coursed dining and award winning sushi. Sapporo is located on North Scottsdale Road and a great destination for corporate, convention and social groups.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Modern Decor (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Romantic (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great sushi, the bast in the valley

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great sushi, the bast in the valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We arrived on time for our reservation a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We arrived on time for our reservation and we were told it would be 30 minutes before we could be seated. After waiting at the bar for quite a while we decided just to sit in the bar area which is much better for drinks and appetizers than full menu dining.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Due xfcdrcddidifioikf cxrrdiddddd e drdr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Due xfcdrcddidifioikf cxrrdiddddd e drdrxfeddcxfexdd fdsdiiii

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good food, very reasonable prices, ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Very good food, very reasonable prices, very loud, hard to carry on a conversation

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Our server pleasantly welcomed us, took ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server pleasantly welcomed us, took drink and appetizer orders, and disappeared...for 30 minutes! The poke tacos were delicious and comped because of the delay...and the fact that we might never have been served if I hadn't hung around the kitchen for him.

The food was all very good and creatively prepared and presented. Other tables seemed to get well served. We did appreciate the comped appetizer and the apology from the floor manager. But, Sapporro is more expensive, louder, and a little too much work.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Excellent food and service. Loved the Ho ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Loved the Hot Mama Roll!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are much better tha ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and service are much better than I remember. We ate in the main dining area since we wanted sushi and other things. We also made the happy hour time which has fabulous deals on their drinks and food. Definitely we will make the happy hour again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing ambiance and food. Wonderful se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing ambiance and food. Wonderful service. Great for the parents and the little ones. Little one loved the variety of apps for happy hour plus watching the tepannyaki table activities. Mom and Dad loved the ambiance, food, wine and service.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for their Sunday "Happy Hour". The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for their Sunday "Happy Hour". They have a discounted limited menu, great value. Sushi was fresh, cooked items were tasty. My only complaint is that they brought too many dishes out at the same time. Had to ask them to take one back until we finished another, there wasn't even room on our table for two to put it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fun time. Pricey, but good food. We'll ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fun time. Pricey, but good food. We'll come back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

best sushi happy hour in the valley -- e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2016

best sushi happy hour in the valley -- excellent grilled salmon -- steak I wouldn't recommend -- great service --

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

excellent service -- great HAPPY HOUR me ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 19, 2016

excellent service -- great HAPPY HOUR menu -- grilled salmon YUMMY -- sushi fresh and delicious !!!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to have awesome food and an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place to have awesome food and an awesome time!

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the happy hour at SAPPORO is outstanding ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 30, 2016

the happy hour at SAPPORO is outstanding ... excellent food ... freshly prepared ...

sooo YUMMY YUMMU YUMMY ... and great prices !!!

for sushi lovers the best place in scottsdale :-))

excellent service ... the service couldn't be better --

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, , Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Sapporo! We ordered small plat ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We loved Sapporo! We ordered small plates, shared them, and they were all wonderful. The restaurant is warm and friendly with a great staff. It was our first visit to Sapporo but not our last.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was EXCELLENT. Food was substan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Server was EXCELLENT. Food was substandard. Way too loud in restaurant - was like a night club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

We have eaten at Sapporo every year, whe ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have eaten at Sapporo every year, when we come out to Scottsdale in the fall. But we will not be back next year. The noise level is simply horrible - we could not even talk. Also - the food was only average this time - and it was so cold in the restaurant that all three of us were miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

The restaurant is very attractive and ey ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant is very attractive and eye-catching. The servers were attentive and helpful. Our appetizer and salad were delicious and attractively presented. My husband's fish entree was very good and he would order it again. My noodle dish was terrible. It was unattractive and tasted as if it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a long time. When I ate only part of it the server assumed something was wrong even though I didn't complain or ask for something else. She must have reported to the manager since she appeared at the table next. She alluded to the long time gap between the appetizers and entrees and something in the kitchen. She took the price off our bill when I said I didn't care to try something else at that point. Since this was so nicely handled we will try this restaurant again .

The background music was awful and too loud and made conversation difficult. We would choose to sit outside next time. The hostess agreed that the music was really bad. Loud music is an easy fix if an establishment chooses to correct the problem.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

What happened? We waited for 15 min in t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What happened? We waited for 15 min in the lobby for a table despite them being full and with reservations. Kids food took 40 min to come out. Manager was apologetic and gave us some french fries and sorbet. Our waitress was great. Perhaps it was just an off night?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and service was fine but the li ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food and service was fine but the live music was way too loud for conversation to take place without shouting. We requested that they take it down a notch but nothing changed. I would not go back because it just was not a pleasant dining experience. If I wanted that I could have eaten at a local bar for a much lower price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was mediocre. Service was bad. Bro ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was mediocre. Service was bad. Brought our drinks out with the first coarse and then never saw her again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food at the Sapporo Main Dining Room ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food at the Sapporo Main Dining Room was delicious. We had several appetizers and a "shareable entrée", which was about the same size as the appetizers. Think of the shareable entrees as Japanese Tapas. The servers were attentive and willing to explain the items on either the sushi menu or the main menu. Unfortunately, the music throughout the restaurant was set very loud. It made it difficult to hear each other or the servers. It felt as if we had walked into a dance club not a restaurant. I don't know if this is just on Saturday nights, but the music was so loud it really took away from the experience, to the point that we are not likely to return, which is a shame because the food was definitely worthy of a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Always a destination when I am in Phoen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Always a destination when I am in Phoenix. Great Sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious, the service exce ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was delicious, the service excellent. Noise level high, but everyone was having a great time, good vibes

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only complaint we have is that every ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The only complaint we have is that everything came out at once. We ordered soups, salads and Sushi. The Sushi got to the table almost immediately after the soup and salad. Felt rushed. We were on vacation and were hoping to enjoy a nice relaxing meal.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good and we all enjoye ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was very good and we all enjoyed it. My main complaint is that the wait staff needs more training. Our waitress was very sweet, but: we were asked almost right after we sat down about drinks. We asked for water, and were never asked about drinks again. Isn't she supposed to upsell? Then my daughter's entrée order somehow never made it to the kitchen, so that was late. My husband and I ordered the summer special menu and my daughter ordered from the regular menu. Her appetizer arrived first; ours arrived after she was almost done. Then our two entrees arrived, and of course hers didn't. Then she wanted to order dessert, and again, the waitress didn't come back to take that order until our two desserts were done. "Come back in a minute" means "Come back in a minute," not "Come back in 10 minutes." They did take my daughter's entrée off the bill as is appropriate, and both the manager and waitress apologized profusely. She just needs to learn a) to check in with her tables more often and b) timing (or else the kitchen does). Also the guy with the water pitcher completely ignored me and I had to ask for water two more times before I got any.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

1st time experience. Great food, service ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2016

1st time experience. Great food, service and employees . We will definitely be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinning room was being drowned out b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The dinning room was being drowned out by the loud singer in the bar area. It was so loud that you could not have a conversation at the table. Also the wait staff had difficulty in getting our order . Will not go there again,

to bad it's a restaurant not a nightclub !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was great with the resteraunt ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was great with the resteraunt and service. However my party and I were bummed out because we booked a reservation online thinking we were going to be on the teppanyaki grill. However apparently the reservation was not booked as a chef cook view and it was only a diner. The booking is not clear at all online when you're trying to make reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music too load...Food was great...Servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Music too load...Food was great...Service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious sushi with great happy hour pr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious sushi with great happy hour prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was very good but we went at 4: ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was very good but we went at 4:30 on a Sunday for a quiet birthday dinner. The live music from the bar area was too loud for us to talk even though the hostess seated us away from the band area. It ruined the occasion for my wife, we will call next time and not return if the live band is playing. Your noise level indicator above should have a selection for obnoxious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was marginal. Sashimi was fresh ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was marginal. Sashimi was fresh not very fresh. Bustaff very slow and not trained. Greeting at door was unassuming. Overall just another restaurant

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was excellent, and the birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent, and the birthday ice cream at the end was a nice touch. It is very noisy in the restaurant so if you're sensitive to noise this may not be the place for you. The grapes on my Sapporo Chopped Salad weren't that fresh, but the Sauté roll more than made up for it. Will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was quite terrible - we spec ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service was quite terrible - we specifically asked for there to be no sesame seeds on the food due to an allergy yet everything came sprinkled with sesame seeds. We were never asked about drink refills and much of the food was bland and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Best sea bass ever!!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Best sea bass ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 stars all around

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The fire pots out front caught my eye as I was driving by. The decor is seductive, modern with an Asian flair.. the menu is the same. Sushi, pan Asian, cocktails were all top notch. If you like cooked sushi... you must try the "Friends with benefits" roll. Best sushi I have ever had...hands down. I almost ordered another. My mouth is currently watering thinking about it! This place is sexy, cool, fun, elegant nut laid back. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service and food was wonderful. As g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our service and food was wonderful. As good as we remember from several years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No table available, not sure why we made ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2016

No table available, not sure why we made reservation, we ended up sitting at the bar. Food was still good just disappointed that I even made a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We hadn't been to Sapporo for a long tim ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We hadn't been to Sapporo for a long time and hadn't planned to... but, a friend/colleague wanted to go there and we were pleasantly surprised. The menu had changed a lot since our last visit and the sushi was much better than we remembered. We actually went back for Mother's Day and enjoyed it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.