About Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room

14344 North Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Known for its fresh, high-quality food and vibrant nightlife atmosphere, Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room dramatic exterior is framed with giant torches that light the Scottsdale sky. The interior is equally dramatic and includes an elegant elliptical bar where the passion-mango martini is a local favorite. The restaurant’s menu includes a variety of premium sushi as well as classic and contemporary Asian specialties, such as Grilled Black Cod glazed in Miso; delicately fried Tempura, and even a spicy take on Hawaiian poki.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room popular Happy Hour specials highlight the restaurant’s creative cocktail menu and is available seven days a week from 3-7pm in the lounge and on the patio. Reverse Happy Hour is offered Thursday – Saturday 10pm to close.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:

DINNER
Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm-10:30pm

Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm-11:30pm

HAPPY HOUR
Everyday 3:00pm-7:00pm

REVERSE HAPPY HOUR
Thursday - Saturday: 10:00pm-close

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Acoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 607-1114

Website:
http://www.sapporoscottsdale.com/

Parking Details:
Sapporo offers a large public parking area and valet.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Stromberg

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sapporo offers sophisticated private or semi-private Group Dining for groups of 15 to 340. Our Group Event Sales Office is ready to assist you anytime, whether you are planning a Business Luncheon or Dinner, Company Meeting, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception, Employee Recognition, Pharmaceutical Sales Meeting or any sort of Social Gathering. For special events or groups over 15, please contact our Sales Department at 480.607.1114. You may also email us at events@sapporoscottsdale.com.

Restaurant Photos

soft shell crab roll - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Lobster Potstickers - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Vodka Martini - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Wagyu Sliders - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Kirin Ichiban - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Uni - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Hamachi Sashimi - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Red Snapper Sashimi - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Martini - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Spider Roll - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Spicy Grilled Salmon Rice Bowl - Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Pull up a seat at our table and delight in our holiday specials complete with festive favorites and traditional offerings.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Pull up a seat at our table and delight in our holiday specials complete with festive favorites and traditional offerings.

Private Dining

Offering several experiences under one roof, teppanyaki-style dining, Pacific Rim coursed dining and award winning sushi. Sapporo is located on North Scottsdale Road and a great destination for corporate, convention and social groups.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (4)
See All
Happy Hour (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to have awesome food and an ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to have awesome food and an awesome time!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the happy hour at SAPPORO is outstanding ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

the happy hour at SAPPORO is outstanding ... excellent food ... freshly prepared ...

sooo YUMMY YUMMU YUMMY ... and great prices !!!

for sushi lovers the best place in scottsdale :-))

excellent service ... the service couldn't be better --

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Sapporo! We ordered small plat ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

We loved Sapporo! We ordered small plates, shared them, and they were all wonderful. The restaurant is warm and friendly with a great staff. It was our first visit to Sapporo but not our last.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was EXCELLENT. Food was substan ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Server was EXCELLENT. Food was substandard. Way too loud in restaurant - was like a night club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

We have eaten at Sapporo every year, whe ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have eaten at Sapporo every year, when we come out to Scottsdale in the fall. But we will not be back next year. The noise level is simply horrible - we could not even talk. Also - the food was only average this time - and it was so cold in the restaurant that all three of us were miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

The restaurant is very attractive and ey ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant is very attractive and eye-catching. The servers were attentive and helpful. Our appetizer and salad were delicious and attractively presented. My husband's fish entree was very good and he would order it again. My noodle dish was terrible. It was unattractive and tasted as if it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a long time. When I ate only part of it the server assumed something was wrong even though I didn't complain or ask for something else. She must have reported to the manager since she appeared at the table next. She alluded to the long time gap between the appetizers and entrees and something in the kitchen. She took the price off our bill when I said I didn't care to try something else at that point. Since this was so nicely handled we will try this restaurant again .

The background music was awful and too loud and made conversation difficult. We would choose to sit outside next time. The hostess agreed that the music was really bad. Loud music is an easy fix if an establishment chooses to correct the problem.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

What happened? We waited for 15 min in t ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

What happened? We waited for 15 min in the lobby for a table despite them being full and with reservations. Kids food took 40 min to come out. Manager was apologetic and gave us some french fries and sorbet. Our waitress was great. Perhaps it was just an off night?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and service was fine but the li ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food and service was fine but the live music was way too loud for conversation to take place without shouting. We requested that they take it down a notch but nothing changed. I would not go back because it just was not a pleasant dining experience. If I wanted that I could have eaten at a local bar for a much lower price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was mediocre. Service was bad. Bro ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was mediocre. Service was bad. Brought our drinks out with the first coarse and then never saw her again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food at the Sapporo Main Dining Room ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food at the Sapporo Main Dining Room was delicious. We had several appetizers and a "shareable entrée", which was about the same size as the appetizers. Think of the shareable entrees as Japanese Tapas. The servers were attentive and willing to explain the items on either the sushi menu or the main menu. Unfortunately, the music throughout the restaurant was set very loud. It made it difficult to hear each other or the servers. It felt as if we had walked into a dance club not a restaurant. I don't know if this is just on Saturday nights, but the music was so loud it really took away from the experience, to the point that we are not likely to return, which is a shame because the food was definitely worthy of a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Always a destination when I am in Phoen ...

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

Always a destination when I am in Phoenix. Great Sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious, the service exce ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was delicious, the service excellent. Noise level high, but everyone was having a great time, good vibes

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only complaint we have is that every ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The only complaint we have is that everything came out at once. We ordered soups, salads and Sushi. The Sushi got to the table almost immediately after the soup and salad. Felt rushed. We were on vacation and were hoping to enjoy a nice relaxing meal.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good and we all enjoye ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was very good and we all enjoyed it. My main complaint is that the wait staff needs more training. Our waitress was very sweet, but: we were asked almost right after we sat down about drinks. We asked for water, and were never asked about drinks again. Isn't she supposed to upsell? Then my daughter's entrée order somehow never made it to the kitchen, so that was late. My husband and I ordered the summer special menu and my daughter ordered from the regular menu. Her appetizer arrived first; ours arrived after she was almost done. Then our two entrees arrived, and of course hers didn't. Then she wanted to order dessert, and again, the waitress didn't come back to take that order until our two desserts were done. "Come back in a minute" means "Come back in a minute," not "Come back in 10 minutes." They did take my daughter's entrée off the bill as is appropriate, and both the manager and waitress apologized profusely. She just needs to learn a) to check in with her tables more often and b) timing (or else the kitchen does). Also the guy with the water pitcher completely ignored me and I had to ask for water two more times before I got any.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

1st time experience. Great food, service ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

1st time experience. Great food, service and employees . We will definitely be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinning room was being drowned out b ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The dinning room was being drowned out by the loud singer in the bar area. It was so loud that you could not have a conversation at the table. Also the wait staff had difficulty in getting our order . Will not go there again,

to bad it's a restaurant not a nightclub !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was great with the resteraunt ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was great with the resteraunt and service. However my party and I were bummed out because we booked a reservation online thinking we were going to be on the teppanyaki grill. However apparently the reservation was not booked as a chef cook view and it was only a diner. The booking is not clear at all online when you're trying to make reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music too load...Food was great...Servic ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Music too load...Food was great...Service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious sushi with great happy hour pr ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious sushi with great happy hour prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was very good but we went at 4: ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was very good but we went at 4:30 on a Sunday for a quiet birthday dinner. The live music from the bar area was too loud for us to talk even though the hostess seated us away from the band area. It ruined the occasion for my wife, we will call next time and not return if the live band is playing. Your noise level indicator above should have a selection for obnoxious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was marginal. Sashimi was fresh ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was marginal. Sashimi was fresh not very fresh. Bustaff very slow and not trained. Greeting at door was unassuming. Overall just another restaurant

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was excellent, and the birthday ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent, and the birthday ice cream at the end was a nice touch. It is very noisy in the restaurant so if you're sensitive to noise this may not be the place for you. The grapes on my Sapporo Chopped Salad weren't that fresh, but the Sauté roll more than made up for it. Will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was quite terrible - we spec ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service was quite terrible - we specifically asked for there to be no sesame seeds on the food due to an allergy yet everything came sprinkled with sesame seeds. We were never asked about drink refills and much of the food was bland and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Best sea bass ever!!

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Best sea bass ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 stars all around

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The fire pots out front caught my eye as I was driving by. The decor is seductive, modern with an Asian flair.. the menu is the same. Sushi, pan Asian, cocktails were all top notch. If you like cooked sushi... you must try the "Friends with benefits" roll. Best sushi I have ever had...hands down. I almost ordered another. My mouth is currently watering thinking about it! This place is sexy, cool, fun, elegant nut laid back. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service and food was wonderful. As g ...

 
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our service and food was wonderful. As good as we remember from several years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No table available, not sure why we made ...

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

No table available, not sure why we made reservation, we ended up sitting at the bar. Food was still good just disappointed that I even made a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We hadn't been to Sapporo for a long tim ...

 
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We hadn't been to Sapporo for a long time and hadn't planned to... but, a friend/colleague wanted to go there and we were pleasantly surprised. The menu had changed a lot since our last visit and the sushi was much better than we remembered. We actually went back for Mother's Day and enjoyed it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I always enjoy dining at Sapporo. Chef ...

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Sapporo. Chef Mark offers great choices through his creative cooking and servers like Julia are first rate. The new GM, Maryanna leads the solid management team and it shows with the professional, friendly staff who work hard to ensure you have a good time. Ask for creative cocktails from bartender Martine. Great social scene in the bar and excellent sushi, seafood & wok dishes. Continues to be a destination for our family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome 1st experience

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We made reservations for a celebratory dinner and was recommended by a friend. Amazing experience and the server Rachel was fantastic. Because of her is the main reason for a 5 star review. The restaurant is upscale and very professional. Staff and management were also wonderful and helpful. Food was amazing and fresh. I have honestly not been to a place that can compete. Thank you all for making us feel welcome and like celebrities.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's my favorite place in Scottsdale. Wo ...

 
·Dined on April 17, 2016

It's my favorite place in Scottsdale. Would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go to Sapporo when visiting Sc ...

 
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We always go to Sapporo when visiting Scottsdale. It's a favorite for food and s lively but pleasant ambience. This time we waited over a half hour for our appetizer. Manager was then able to retrieve our appetizer on a TH, notably less busy than usual. Remainder of the evening found staff attentive. Still overwhelmingly positive Ed Sapporo, but they do need to upgrade management or instruct servers to be attentive to time in ensuring food delivery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

When reserving i could have sworn i put ...

 
·Dined on March 25, 2016

When reserving i could have sworn i put in that we wanted to sit where the chef cooks in front of you this was the second time this happened but canceled the other one and when they called to confirm was told all of the chefs tables were booked :/ not happy as we only went there for the kids to be distracted and entertained while celebrating my hubby's birthday. We were sat kind of near them so the kids were able to see but it wasn't the same. the food was okay... i wouldn't say great as i thought it would have been but it wasn't bad. my dish and my brothers dish never made it out so once i got the waiters attention and asked where it was he went to check and came back and said there was a mistake and they were making it right away. they did comp us for those 2 dishes but us 2 were the only ones still eating while everyone else was done and waiting for us to finish. they brought out a complimantary dessert for the hubby which i believe wasn't anything special. We will probably not be coming back for any special occasions but maybe for a family dinner and will make sure we get the tables with the chefs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Customer service and food quality were a ...

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Customer service and food quality were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not a good dining experience

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

when a family sits for an hour after they finish their meal and their kids are out of control yelling and running / rolling around I think the waitress or manager should step up and tell them to get control of their kids. This went on for way to long. And I as a customer had to say something while everyone on the staff ignored the issue. Not Good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I really enjoy just ordering from the su ...

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I really enjoy just ordering from the sushi roll menu. Haven't had a bad one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We think this is a gorgeous place with a ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We think this is a gorgeous place with a great atmosphere. They were off their game when we went recently. Service very sketchy. Waitress took our drink order then never came back for at least 20 minutes. Another waitress took over after we asked what was going on. Food very good except boring fried rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Impeccable service

 
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Before coming to saparro, the idea of this being an up-tight typical Scottsdale restaurant, was in our minds. Although it still has the typical snooty Scottsdale feel, the pricing, the service, and the food were great. Our waiter was very attentative, but not too much, and was super ever to make sure our experience was excellent. Dinner for two started with a plentiful mixed tempura plate, followed by very fresh salmon and yellowtail nigiri, finished up with a chicken, steak, and shrimp ramen bowl. Their sangria is excellent, and potent. The ambiance was quiet enough to make conversation, but had enough background music to fill in the dead space. Will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Outstanding food!

 
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The menu was filled with a lot of great items to choose from. The food was outstanding. The lobster stuffed shrimp was delicious. The Friends with benefits roll was one of the best I've ever had. Decent wine list with many selections to choose from. Sea bass taco's were fabulous! And lastly the service was exceptional! Victoria was our waitress and I would ask for her the next time we go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good.... service... eh. W ...

 
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was very good.... service... eh. When I asked her to tell me about the lamb, she said "what do you want to know about it"...... didn't seem to know her menu very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.