Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room

Known for its fresh, high-quality food and vibrant nightlife atmosphere, Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room dramatic exterior is framed with giant torches that light the Scottsdale sky. The interior is equally dramatic and includes an elegant elliptical bar where the passion-mango martini is a local favorite. The restaurant’s menu includes a variety of premium sushi as well as classic and contemporary Asian specialties, such as Grilled Black Cod glazed in Miso; delicately fried Tempura, and even a spicy take on Hawaiian poki.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room popular Happy Hour specials highlight the restaurant’s creative cocktail menu and is available seven days a week from 3-7pm in the lounge and on the patio. Reverse Happy Hour is offered Thursday – Saturday 10pm to close.

14344 North Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi, Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:

DINNER
Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm-10:30pm

Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm-11:30pm

HAPPY HOUR
Everyday 3:00pm-7:00pm

REVERSE HAPPY HOUR
Thursday - Saturday: 10:00pm-close

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Acoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 607-1114

Website:
http://www.sapporoscottsdale.com/

Parking Details:
Sapporo offers a large public parking area and valet.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Stromberg

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sapporo offers sophisticated private or semi-private Group Dining for groups of 15 to 340. Our Group Event Sales Office is ready to assist you anytime, whether you are planning a Business Luncheon or Dinner, Company Meeting, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception, Employee Recognition, Pharmaceutical Sales Meeting or any sort of Social Gathering. For special events or groups over 15, please contact our Sales Department at 480.607.1114. You may also email us at events@sapporoscottsdale.com.

Private Dining

Offering several experiences under one roof, teppanyaki-style dining, Pacific Rim coursed dining and award winning sushi. Sapporo is located on North Scottsdale Road and a great destination for corporate, convention and social groups.

Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Doesn't matter how many new sushi bars open in Scottsdale. Sapporo is the BEST! Always great tasting fish and other options, great service and lively atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

a staple for sushi lovers. We find this a consistent source of great sushi and other asian dishes. Very good saki and wine list

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

It was my daughter's Birthday. The manager, Anthony, made our dinner very special and we plan to go back to Sopporo's because of the terrific evening we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Will come back, good sushi, friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were on vacation in Scottsdale saw the restaurant and were excited by the description, reviews were good so we made reservations and went to Sapporo for dinner. Awful experience restaurant was so loud you couldn't hear anything but the lousy music and people screaming to be heard. Getting hot tea in Asian restaurant should be easy but it was a chore food was far from the Asian fusion we expected Sushi rolls are very fancy and look like pastry but ingredients are odd
We were excited To have dinner here but was not enjoyable and the food was average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Chef's Demonstration table was full when I made the reservation but when someone cancelled, they called and changed us from the main dining room to the chef's table. We came early and had a drink in the bar. All of the service was outstanding including management who stopped to fill out wine glasses on the way by. Such an enjoyable evening visiting with friends, very relaxed and not rushed. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Had filet mignon teppanyaki & shrimp fried rice. It was OK - not the best, but also not bad. They don't serve sparkling saki or Japanese soda, which is unfortunate but not a total write-off

Very big inside and the chef was entertaining; wait staff was friendly but not attentive. We had to look out for her constantly to get her attention for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very tasty. Waiter was helpful with choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As usual, the service was great from check in to exit! Luana and Co provided very attentive, but not intrusive service, and the sushi was perfectly prepared and presented! Kudos to the bartender for some tasty beverages as well!! There is a reason we keep coming back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great sushi with very creative rolls and a fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Sushi is always great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very good happy hour. Sea bass was very tasty too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Went there for the sushi and wasn't disappointed. Definitely a splurge date for me though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Place is nice. Very noisy. Not the place to sit and talk. We had reservations for 4 at 7:00 pm. We were seated at 7:25. The hostess station seemed very disorganized. Food was good. Both my NY steak and my brother-in-law's filet were ordered medium rare and came medium well to well. Meat was very tender. Rice was perfect. Mushroom soup was great. Waitress was good but we could not hear so we kept asking her to repeat herself. Don't look for refills on your drinks. Place has nice atmosphere. We have been here before and it was very nice. This time I give it a three stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We so enjoyed our first visit to Sapporo. The food was fresh and delish, the service on point. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The service was excellent and the food outstanding. We had a great dinner and the atmosphere was fun and vibrant. I highly recommend Sapporo

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The building is beautiful. There's a waterfall when walking up to the door and you can see that the bar opens to the outside for people to sit on the patio. The hostess greeted us and sat us right away. The waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. She would squat next to our table to be at eye level while talking to us which was great. We ordered the lobster potstickers which were generously filled and came with a delicious sauce and the hosin glazed ribs, which were meaty, tender, sticky and delicious. For our main entrée we had the spicy yellowfin rolls and tempura lobster rolls and also ordered the lettuce wraps. Everything was delicious, although we only received 4 lettuce leaves and had filling leftover so we were eating it out of the bowl. For dessert, we tried the bananas foster. It's perfect for sharing with another person and something I would definitely order again. We definitely plan on going again, but next time we want to try the teppanyaki table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great spot with great food and awesome service! I definitely plan on visiting Sapporo again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Birthday celebration fell flat even tho restaurant was notified there was no acknowledging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Way too noisy. Very peculiar and unappetizing sushi roll menu. Overall disappointing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Tanner and Alyssa were awesome servers!!! They were over the top helping us make our selections! Very refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good hibachi. Spiced nicely, fun table side prep. Get a lot of value for the money and the food quality is high. Chilian Sea bass and filet was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

If you are looking for authentic well prepared traditional Japanese food this is not the place to choose. First reaction is it's to large and music too loud to enjoy a convivial evening. I would be surprised if I was told that the sushi was prepared by Japanese chefs. The tempura was not tempura batter but just fried shrimp and vegetables and over cooked . The ramen bowl was greasy and Luke warm . The sashimi was quite good . The app ribs just coated in over sweet teriyaki sauce. I seldom give a poor review to a restaurant but this unfortunately is a case of poor food preparation . To be fair, the service was good from our waitress but I got the impression that even the staff were aware of poor kitchen prep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Sapporo has the BEST sushi in town. Nothing too exotic, but always fresh and delicious. And, the atmosphere is always lively. It's a great place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We heard about this place through friends and it didn't let us down, definitely didn't let us down and now a favorite to us for the future.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A fine place for a good, not great Japanese meal. But a great place for energetic vibe.

Sushi was extremely good. Rest of the meal, not
at the same level. Very busy place. Be prepared for uneven service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food was great as usual. Great outdoor patio. Service was lacking. Sushi tools took over 45 minutes to come out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Service was so quick, we felt very rushed. Staff hovered waiting for plates to empty. So noisy, my wife and I could not have an across-the-table conversation without yelling at each other. Wish we had more time to linger over our excellent food. Edamame was very fresh, and steamed perfectly. Sashimi was too thickly cut, but fresh. Rolls had balanced flavor. Rock shrimp starter very flavorful. Unfortunately, I don't think that we'll be back to enjoy the cuisine.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have been going here for years and it never disappoints. Always a great time, the food is fantastic and the service is always excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very nice!!! Fun restaurant with fantastic sashimi!!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Two couples for dinner. Ordered same thing from Tepanaki menu. Ours came, theirs did not-for 15 minutes. Order was mis-read and messed up. Food was good, service was good, but the place is very noisy. We decided that's how the younger generation likes it, because most patrons were much younger. The food was good. The manager corrected the error very generously so we did not go home hungry, dissatisfied, or angry. Just be sure your order is correct from the beginning. And the red velvet cake is soooo good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was good but the service was very slow and the server was not around much. I think he just had too many tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service by server and bar staff . Food was excellent. Enjoyed cocktails at outside lounge and watched sunset and had fabulous dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The location is great, staff always friendly, good food options for vegetarians and vegans, ideal setting for dates and special occasions. Would highly recommend this location for anyone looking for good food and vibe.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Reserved table at 9 pm and we're seated at 9:40, then waited for food for a while. Didn't have enjoyable experience... everyone was nice and welcoming, but waiting 40 MINUTES after reserved time was very bothering...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went here for a date night- Sapporo must have been understaffed as the wait time for our drinks was 30 minutes and our second round didn't come till after the meal and it was incorrect. The food was just ok- we ordered Teppankai as we were told it would be the same as ordering it at the table- but it was cold. I wouldn't recommend the main dining room on a Saturday night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my family's 1st time dining at Sapporo's and we thoroughly enjoy the food. The Rock Shrimp was delicious and a must have. The sauces that come with this dish is so yummy! We ordered the Philadelphia, Tempura Shrimp, Las Vegas & California Rolls and they were great! Next time I will try the Teppanyaki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It is a good place with convenient location. Happy Hour all day on Sundays. Good sushi.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great sushi, the bast in the valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.