Sapporo - Scottsdale Main Dining Room

4.4
736 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Happy Hour
  • Special Occasion
Known for its fresh, high-quality food and vibrant nightlife atmosphere, Sapporo - Scottsdale's dramatic exterior is framed with giant torches that light the Scottsdale sky. The interior is equally dramatic and includes an elegant elliptical bar where the passion-mango martini is a local favorite. The restaurant’s menu includes a variety of premium sushi as well as classic and contemporary Asian specialties, such as Grilled Black Cod glazed in Miso; delicately fried Tempura, and even a spicy take on Hawaiian poki.

Sapporo - Scottsdale popular Happy Hour specials highlight the restaurant’s creative cocktail menu and is available seven days a week from 3-7pm throughout the restaurant. Reverse Happy Hour is offered Thursday through Saturday 10pm to close in the bar area.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, American, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday: 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Saturday: 3:00 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Sunday: 3:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Happy Hour Daily 3:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday - Saturday: 10:00 p.m. - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(480) 607-1114
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Scottsdale & Acoma
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Sapporo offers a large public parking area and valet.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Offering several experiences under one roof, teppanyaki-style dining, Pacific Rim coursed dining and award winning sushi. Sapporo is located on North Scottsdale Road and a great destination for corporate, convention and social groups.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

What 736 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent. The lobster potstickers were delicious. Lots of great appetizers. Had the sea bass - it was perfectly cooked!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Food was great but portion was far less than previous visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Always a great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Outstanding décor, food and service. The second favorite place I ate while visiting Scottsdale.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food here is great, the service was also great. The food is also very reasonably priced. Will most certainly return back here soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Very surprised about the quality and ambience of this restaurant. I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Sushi here is always fresh and innovative. Service is excellent as is the food. Fun atmosphere
w/indoor/outdoor bar area. Friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great sushi!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Always a great choice! Sushi is fresh, teppanyaki tables are exciting and the bar usually has a good crowd! A great place for a fun evening out!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

This was our second visit within one week. We were wowed at our first visit which was during the week. Our second visit was on a weekend which may have impacted the food quality which was only good not great. Restaurant was out of two fishes which we requested for sashimi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Everything from food to service was excellent as usual!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Wonderful fresh food and delightful service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We sat at Tepayaki tables.first time for my business friend,she cant wait to bring her husband.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Excellent evening and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The hoisin ribs were very, very tasty. Bento box was very good as well. Xavier, our server, was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We had a large group of 15 people for a birthday, and Sapporo was the perfect place! We sat on the patio, which was beautiful. Our service was excellent and the food was terrific!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Awesome atmosphere and food was solid. Hibachi food was about the same as others, but sushi was amazing. Very underrated sushi bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This was our first visit and we had an awesome experience!
The food was great and came out timely. The berry cocktail was really good- not too sweet and had a crisp fresh flavor. Our server was very sweet and attentive. Anthony, one of the managers, came over to the table and spent some time chatting with us and making sure we were having a great experience- not once but twice. In addition, he sent us home with a sweet dessert as we were too “stuffed” to enjoy after dinner. Fun atmosphere, great experience- great food- we will be back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 12, 2018

1.5 hours for lunch service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Family reunion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Laurie (or Lori), our bartender, was fantastic! So sweet, personable, and generous. She gets an A+!! We had several servers when we were seated at the Teppanyaki Table, all efficient and the chef was fun to watch with his skills and “show.” Food, while not of the charts, was good and we left full. The raspberry sorbet was a nice touch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

if you like Japanese cuisine Sapporo is one on finest we had dinner at the tapenaki tables and it was great so we came back for the sushi and was not disappointed in the least

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I had not been here in a long time and was very disappointed in the experience. The restaurant was dirty, there were rips in the booths, the servers clothes were disheveled, and the food was not great. Definately not how I remember it- we used to come here several years ago and they had great sushi, a great atmosphere... everything has changed. Dissapointing. We had one appetizer and left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Great Dim Sum, and excellent service. Looking forward to returning for Tepanyaki.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Haven’t been here in over 12 years and it’s still standing so that says something. Food was good, server was nice and helpful albeit little slow and restaurant wasn’t busy at all. A bit pricey for sushi in my opinion $100 for 2 sushi rolls, 1 appetizer, 1 sashimi and glass of wine. Wine is greatly overpriced...I buy it by the bottle in the store for as much as a 6oz glass....but it’s Scottsdale and it’s date night so par for the course I suppose. If you don’t want to leave smelling like a greasy teppan grill definitely sit outside! Our clothes reeked. Was I impressed enough to come back? Maybe in another 12 years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

We went for Happy Hour. There are quite a few choices off their menu. And the drink specials were reasonably priced, too. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We dined on Saturday, March 10th. We had friends visiting from out of town. We had made reservations for outside a week ahead of our visit and unfortunately it was raining when we arrived at the restaurant. We were told by the hostess that she could seat us outside, however there was no one else out there, and it was very windy and rainy out so we declined. She then told us that she could seat us inside, however, we would need to vacate our table by 8 p.m. (Our reservation was for 6:45). The table wasn't ready so she asked us to go to the bar and she would text us when the table was ready. We were finally seated close to 7 p.m. - This allowed the 5 of us to hurry through dinner in an hour. She mentioned this timeline 3 different times. Needles to say we were very embarrassed in front of our guests, we felt this could have been handled differently. I would think they would have a contingency in the event of bad weather. Needless to say we were very disappointed as the one other time we had been there we had a nice experience. I don't think we will be back any time soon, too many other options in the Valley!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Food was incredible. Our meal way exceeded expectations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Graet place to eat and fellowship the atmosphere is wonderful. And the place is close to where we libe

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great as always! Best sushi in the valley. Do yourself a favor and order the Friends with Benefits and the Johnny Dynamite rolls along with a Hendricks martini and you won't be sorry I promise!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Excellent. The food was great. The sushi was great. Friendly people work there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Great ambience, service and food

We look forward to take family for dinner next week

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food and service were above reproach. I highly recommend the Ozzy Roll and Tiger Roll! When we go back, and we will, we will not go on a Saturday night. It was so crowded and so noisy that it was difficult to carry on a conversation. Luckily, we were seated in a 1/4 circle booth, so we could move very close to each other. My only other complaint is that I left smelling like the Teppanyaki stations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Our waiter was amazing!!!!!
We were there for our grand daughter ‘s 13 th birthday- she felt really special!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The food and ambiance was excellent but we did find it somewhat loud. We will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The hostess staff were wonderful. I had a large party, 2 reservations and they accommodated our party so that we could all sit together. Service and food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My favorite restaurant in the valley!! I’ve been there a million times and will go a million more. Great atmosphere and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We dined there on Valentine’s Day. Our server and Anthony, the restaurant manager made us feel very welcome and as valued customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

We sat in the bar area and our server was Byron. Amazing service with a personal introduction/handshake and remembered our names throughout. The sushi was amazing and we had a great time for lunch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 9, 2018

The food has seriously gone down hill. This used to be my favorite restaurant :/

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19