About Sapori Italian Restaurant

6067 26 Mile Road
Washington, MI 48094
View Larger Map

Sapori Italian Restaurant began with one simple idea, create a comfortable environment where families can come and enjoy authentic Italian food. Sapori by definition means “Flavors.” Sapori’s concept is to reintroduce simple, flavorful, authentic Italian foods. True Italian food isn’t supposed to be complicated and is often improperly prepared! The Italian culinary experience began at home with family and friends coming together at the table and enjoying natural foods and tradition.

At Sapori, we strive to offer our guests the same experience. You can go anywhere and get a dish of pasta smothered in sauce and cheese but once you experience Italian made better… you will never go back! At Sapori, Chef Salvatore has assembled a menu of fresh flavors with the best ingredients. His classic Italian recipes have been perfected at his own restaurant in Italy and are now being shared with you at Sapori.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 12pm-11pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm, Sunday Dinner 2pm - 9pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(586) 786-4674

Website:
http://saporirestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Salvatore

Restaurant Photos

  • Sapori Italian Restaurant
  • Sapori Italian Restaurant
Sapori Italian Restaurant
Sapori Italian Restaurant

Sapori Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Washington ›

neighborhood gem (23)
fit for foodies (16)
special occasion (15)
See All
good for groups (12)
romantic (11)
great for lunch (6)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is inconsistent. Ordered the pa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is inconsistent. Ordered the pasta sapori (my fav dish) and it was awful. Too spicy too many peppers no pine nuts. This happens with many entrees, one time they are good the next time yuck The soups are bland It will be a while before I go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I was really excited about going - we to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I was really excited about going - we took my 87 year old grandma for her birthday. They set us next to a group of 10+ men who yelled and were so loud we couldn't talk. We had hair in our food, there was moldy packets of butter, waited on refills and it was overpriced for what we got.

Needless to say I won't be back. Hopefully it was just out one time experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice lunch selections. Attentive servic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice lunch selections. Attentive service. Pleasant atmosphere and freshly prepared food made with real ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been there over 20 times in the la ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been there over 20 times in the last year and the food is fantastic! Everything tastes homemade. The Tortelini soup, The salad with the lemon house dressing is great! The Palomino sauce on Pasta is the best!. Actually everything that my wife and I & Friends ever had there has been great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, tasty, original pasta dishes. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful, tasty, original pasta dishes. Great cocktails and great wine selection. Portions are a bit large; so we split, considering we'd already had appetizer and bread with amogiu. Didn't like the extra $3 charge because of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service and ambience, did not care ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good service and ambience, did not care for soup ( sparce minestrone) menu, heavily breaded appetizer or my entree( too rich and over salted) . May have to try again , choosing another entree. Have heard mixed reviews from friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Sappori is a wonderful fine dining estab ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Sappori is a wonderful fine dining establishment. The food is always fresh and tastes fantastic. We were there with my in laws from out if town. The waiter was so gratuitous as answer all of my mother in laws questions and to listen to her stories of her close friends that are from Italy. She asked some personal questions to him, and he answered with genuine interest.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service & food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Found Sapori by way of Yelp as I was looking for a place for my daughter's graduation lunch/dinner. Arrived at 2pm and we had the restaurant to ourselves. Our server was excellent and the food was vibrant and fresh. Definitely recommend. I'm anxious to try them at dinner time.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, never been disappointed here ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

great food, never been disappointed here, would highly recommend

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reasons to visit Sapori

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First, the menu and food are very good. The servers we have had have been friendly, helpful and give the right amount of attention. They want to be there and you can tell. Bar area is nice and bartenders and servers in that part of the restaurant are just as friendly and outgoing. We dined in a booth in the bar area before and that experience went very good too. Try Sapori. You will go back like we do and we live near downtown Rochester and prefer Sapori.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a great birthday celebration at Sapori! Thank you to Marco who went out of his way to make my daughters evening very special with her friends, bringing out surprise dessert with candles. It was our first time at Sapori and we will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

WE had a great time. Linda, our handler ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

WE had a great time. Linda, our handler, was perfect. Thanks to Sal and team for great food and wine

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great place to celebrate our 45 ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a great place to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary ad Mother's Day too. I'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Mother's Day Dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was delicious. A bit pricey but not out of line with other local restaurants

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sapori

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server Linda was personable and very accomodating. We both found one of the pasta dishes kind of bland. She quickly offerred to take it off the bill and to choose something else from the menu. She said if you don't enjoy it, you certainly should not have to eat it. Our second choice was delicious. Craft cocktails were inventive and satisfying and the food was appealing and enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent night out

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Salvatore Sciarrino helped our family make a very special occasion, even better! It was a night to remember, and I look back on our family celebration at Sapori fondly. The staff was very friendly, courteous and prompt. Excellent service and a delicious meal. Could come back just to try all of the drinks! I will dine here again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh food and an awesome menu

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Fresh food and an awesome menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Sapori

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Went with a friend and knew that we had a lot to chat about so told our waitress and she was very patient with us and didn't rush us at all. This was during the week so didn't feel we

really held anyone up from being seated. Every thing we ordered was delicious. All the wait staff were very personable. I'd return to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was top notch and Food was excellent we even loved the deserts. 😀

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely worth it.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Each of our selections were excellent. Slight wait for the dinners, definitely worth it. Before we paid the check we already knew we would be visiting again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Italian at its finest!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The fooed is homemade and excellent. Good variety. Excellent wine list. Nice place to go with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food selection is very good with a wide variety of options. Gluten free items too! The service is awesome. Our Waitress helped us pick great entrees and special items. Their Mules are awesome. A little pricey, but well worth.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful !!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Best veal parm ever.....everything here is wonderful !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

From first bite to last, the menu was superb!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I were completely surprised by this neighborhood gem. My wife saw Chef Sal on one of the local morning shows and thought we should pay this place a visit. So, I made reservations for Valentines Day.

An unassuming building occupying a corner of a little strip mall, I was afraid I might have made a mistake coming here. Boy, was I wrong. As soon as we walked in, we both knew we were in for a pleasant night. The hostess clipped a fresh white rose for my wife and the night began.

From couples enjoying a romantic evening to families sharing dinner with their children, the place was alive yet respectful, joyful yet contemplative.

We were directed to a quaint corner of the room right next to a working fireplace. It was lovely.

Marco, our Server took care of us and guided us through the wine list and menu. He was right on! The food was delectable. Delicious. The pairing of wine and entree was meticulous.

We met Chef Sal. Speaking in perfect broken English, his Italian heritage, love for food, humility, and grace rang clearly. We were also blessed to meet one of the owners, Bryan (sp). He too was more than gracious and accommodating.

Folks, you can't go wrong here. I don't give five stars lightly. In fact, this is only the second restaurant to receive such accolades from me.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat yourself!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Exquisite dining experience! Great food in a cozy environment. Excellent for 1st date to anniversary. 4 course meal with a fresh baked bread basket.

Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and wine list

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

the one thing I would suggest is the music. My husband and I love ethnic music that corresponds with the 'flavor " of the restaurant . Soft Italian music would be the best !

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food Everytime

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We have been here many times and have tried most of the items on the menu- none of it disappoints. I personally love the eggplant parmasean.

I do recommend reservations, because they book completely up on the weekends and walk ins can only eat at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

+Too crowdwd

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

the restaurant was way too crowded. the tables were right on top of each other. The waiter could not even get to my side of the table and reached over my husband to fill glasses and set food down.

The waiter was slow and had trouble remebering to fill our water glasses, We had to ask him three times for oil for our bread.

The calamari was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

A great Italian surprise

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We made reservations and based on the line of patrons and waiting to be seated this was a great idea. All the staff was friendly and professional. I was impressed with the attention to my request for gluten free options and preparation. The two other diners with me loved their diners. We definitely intend on returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome food and atmosphere!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I love Sapori as it is so much better than a chain Italian restaurant! I would highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is truly an expeirence!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Chef Sal does an excellent job. All food is freshly prepared and never frozen. Bartenders pour an excellent drink and are prompt with their service. Appetizers were fantastic. Main course is more than enough food and you can taste the freshness. Chef Sal's freshly made Chocolate Sea Salt Carmel Gelato is a must and topping it with the Mid-night Express Martini only makes it that much better. I highly recommend that you call ahead and make reservations for Thursday through Saturday. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bloody Caesars could be better. Add fres ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Bloody Caesars could be better. Add fresh horse radish. Burbon bacon pancakes were light a fluffy. One of the cappuccinos was barely warm

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious !!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Great food and great service been there over a dozen times and the food quality and service has always been fantastic..

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice neighborhood restaurant

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and drinks (especially the Grapefruit Basil Martini) although I think the prices are a bit high. $120 for 2 dinner, 4 cocktails.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great New Restaraunt

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We have been to Sapori about 5 times in the past 5 months and have never been disappointed . Great, service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved Sapori...the food and drinks were awesome.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Loved Sapori Italian Restaurant! My friend and I met for dinner and conversation. Linda our server was wonderful, she had great recommendations for drinks as well as our dinner choices. Will definitely be back :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Love it here, I have my favorite dishes and favorite wine! They have a great cocktail menu too! A neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A bit over-prices

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Went to the restaurant with my wife during the week because of good ratings, and felt the restaurant was cold inside (there was only a handful of folks & they put us by the door), my wife ate with her jacket on. The meal itself was fair at best, but for what we spent, we could have had a lot better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great dinner Great food.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

GREAT

Want to add that we didn't feel rushed, and were able to enjoy our guests.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.