About Sapori Italian Restaurant

Sapori Italian Restaurant began with one simple idea, create a comfortable environment where families can come and enjoy authentic Italian food. Sapori by definition means “Flavors.” Sapori’s concept is to reintroduce simple, flavorful, authentic Italian foods. True Italian food isn’t supposed to be complicated and is often improperly prepared! The Italian culinary experience began at home with family and friends coming together at the table and enjoying natural foods and tradition.

At Sapori, we strive to offer our guests the same experience. You can go anywhere and get a dish of pasta smothered in sauce and cheese but once you experience Italian made better… you will never go back! At Sapori, Chef Salvatore has assembled a menu of fresh flavors with the best ingredients. His classic Italian recipes have been perfected at his own restaurant in Italy and are now being shared with you at Sapori.

6067 26 Mile Road
Washington, MI 48094
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 12pm-11pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm, Sunday Dinner 2pm - 9pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(586) 786-4674

Website:
http://saporirestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Salvatore

Sapori Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

We eat there quite often and we are never disappointed. We were there Saturday night and our waitress Angela, we've had her many times, was very busy in a full restaurant but she still took the time to talk and laugh with us. The food there is excellent but we always talk about the service, well trained and happy, makes for a fun night. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Authentic Italian family fare. A gem in our neighborhood.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We've been To Sapori many times in the past and it was great. This time nothing tasted good - calamari, gnocchi, casarecce with bolognese or the eggplant parm. Disappointed and don't think we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Male host wasn’t so accommodating... giving him tiniest bit of slack (it was busy) but I had reservations and I was on a 1st date, barside booths have far greater ambiance than opposite dinning area which is more like a rams horn/big boy floorplan. requested to sit on the bar side and he blew off the request. Female hostess/manager saved him from my lecture about... “having a clue with patrons” by simply apologizing and explaining much of the barside was taken by a party.

Good food - Shrimp appetizer was excellent!
Waiter was busy, but good. I’d go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

I have been a frequent customer and love the place. I was last there in June, since then The menu has changed and you no longer get soup and salad with your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was excellent. This is definitely a neighborhood gem. The only recommendation I would have is if you are looking for a quieter atmosphere, don't sit in the bar area. Our dinner was a little distracting with two couples that were too noisy by the bar. They treated as more of a bar atmosphere then a quaint dining area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Overall, tonight I would say the service was somewhat ok. It wasn't even that busy, and it took us 2 hours in total to dine in. That's too long for my taste, especially when you have young ones. Also, I found out today that the pasta is not homemade, then why would I pay $9 for a kids pasta??? That's 9 x$1 Barilla pasta box from the grocery. And $6 to add chicken? Seriously? I feel robbed!

This time it was not memorable experience and way overpriced. I think this will be our last time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We enjoy the food very much at Sapori, great menu. It is a nice restaurant to have on a Friday or Saturday evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great food, service was also good. I would definitely recommend to friends and family!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was exceptional. The environment was noisy due to children that were literallly allowed to run freely in the establishment. This was a supervision error and does not reflect upon the establishment. I had the Sapori pasta with purple potatoes, pine nuts, peppers, raisins in a olive oil and garlic sauce. My husband had the lasagna. We shared a chocolate salted caramel gelato.
My husband felt fine the next day however, I had cramping and multiple runs to the bathroom. I will not order that entree again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

As always awesome food and service; come here all the time

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Restaurant is typically consistent with good service and good food. Drinks are slightly high compared to what you get and to other restaurants. Overall a good choice.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was excellent 👍🏼👍🏼 and ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have been to Sapori several times. The food is always fantastic. The service was spotty, we decided to sit outside and the service was just OK. Highly recommend the Zuppa di Pesce. Awesome!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our second time dining with Sapori and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time!! We will definitely be back! The food, service, and ambiance is perfect for a casual date night.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We love the menu at Sapori Italian Restaurant. The food is very good always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Good food, very nice wait staff. Will try it again next month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Love Sapori. Great service and wonderful food! The wait staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food and service were really great. We will be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went on a Friday night with spouse. Had the sea bass and spouse had chicken parmigiana. Whole Sea bass was displayed after being cooked which was a nice touch then requested that it be cleaned. Had the Tuscan artichoke appetizer too. Emily was our server and she was fantastic with explanations and the menu. Everything was good and we will return.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a pleasure. Love coming here. Never disappointed

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Something has happened to Sapori that is obvious to regulars like my wife and I. We made a reservation early in the day, arrived on time and even though there were ample tables available in the bar and dining room, we were taken to the table adjacent to the servers station which is right next to the rest rooms. Why seat people in this spot when other tables were open? So the wife ordered the risotto which she had before and it was terrible. I ordered the perch and it came out ladened with butter and no sides. All this for $100+? We have been loyal to Sapori for about two years but will probably not be returning after this last time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I love Sapori. Staff is very friendly and the food is great. Great place to go for a delicious drawn out enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great service! Great Wine. Always a great place to stop in at.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. Lee was our server and the service was impeccable. Great pacing of courses, never felt rushed or without a course. Ammoglio sauce was the best I've ever had. Everything was fresh, hot and just right. Entree portions were very large and priced well. We will definitely be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent food and wonderful service. Server was busy so the manager came over and she asked us why we would like to drink. Food wonderful. Only complaint is that he noise level is deafening in there. Maybe they need to look at how to cushion the noise. Except for that, perfect experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've been dining at Sapori for several years. We like the location, food, and service. They have specials nearly every time we visit and I have enjoyed trying new dishes the chef has prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Overall a good experience. It was about 90% full with a lively crowd so that may have contributed to the loud atmosphere making it difficult to hear my date. Lasagna was good but too salty for my taste. Big selection of wines, we ended up getting a bottle and didn't finish it so they corked it up for us to take home in a nice carry bag.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Not what it used to be, Bolanas pasta was not up to par and
wine prices are too high for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

First time won't be last time!!! Excellent service and excellent food we really enjoyed our date night experience!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I frequent Sapori a lot. I love the tortellini soup and how you get a salad and soup with entrees. The bread basket is delicious with the amougue sauce. The filet is one of the best in the area served with Detroit authentic "zip" sauce. They make a great cappacino and a great espresso martini. I also get the pasta Sapori and I loved it! It's a comfortable atmosphere and if you are lucky you can get a booth, especially in the corner. Real happy with all the choices I've ordered thus far!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Sapori's food is always great, we having been coming here for 4+ years and eat there 20+ times a year and we've never had a problem!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This was a birthday dinner for 2 of our 7 diners. Great selections for all ages and tastes. Service was spot on. We had a reservation and were seated immediately upon arriving. We have eaten at Sapori before and have always been pleased with both the food and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in the area, authentic Sicilian cuisine and amazing service. If you want good Italian and are in the region it's worth the drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This was my first time at Sapori, but it will not be my last. The food was fabulous!!! As was the service and ambiance. What a gift to Lexington!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Awesome food and service. Well done!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is very good at this restaurant, we have tried different selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Their food is homemade and very good. A ton of real chicken in the tortellini soup. Best alfredo sauce around. All meals come with both soup and salad. Prices are very reasonable for what you get.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was fabulous. Did even better. I ordered of the menu something I had in Italy and it was perfect. Great find for my wife and me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was amazing as usual. Great pace, didn't feel rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.