About Sapori Italian Restaurant

6067 26 Mile Road
Washington, MI 48094
View Larger Map

Sapori Italian Restaurant began with one simple idea, create a comfortable environment where families can come and enjoy authentic Italian food. Sapori by definition means “Flavors.” Sapori’s concept is to reintroduce simple, flavorful, authentic Italian foods. True Italian food isn’t supposed to be complicated and is often improperly prepared! The Italian culinary experience began at home with family and friends coming together at the table and enjoying natural foods and tradition.

At Sapori, we strive to offer our guests the same experience. You can go anywhere and get a dish of pasta smothered in sauce and cheese but once you experience Italian made better… you will never go back! At Sapori, Chef Salvatore has assembled a menu of fresh flavors with the best ingredients. His classic Italian recipes have been perfected at his own restaurant in Italy and are now being shared with you at Sapori.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 12pm-11pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm, Sunday Dinner 2pm - 9pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(586) 786-4674

Website:
http://saporirestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Salvatore

Restaurant Photos

  • Sapori Italian Restaurant, Washington, MI
  • Sapori Italian Restaurant, Washington, MI
Sapori Italian Restaurant, Washington, MI
Sapori Italian Restaurant, Washington, MI

Sapori Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Washington ›

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Staff not well educated as to wine and c ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Staff not well educated as to wine and cheese. Overall, service was fair and prompt. Food excellent. Would like to see a traditional Italian three course fixed price menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great service Taylor was spot on for our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service Taylor was spot on for our every need Just a great place to enjoy a great meal

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dinner. Our waiter, Marco, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A wonderful dinner. Our waiter, Marco, gave us excellent service as well as great dinner recommendations.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal and plan on r ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal and plan on returning. Our service was paced well and Angela was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was extremely slow and unorganiz ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was extremely slow and unorganized. Food was not as good as it used to be. Won't be going back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Went at 7:00 pm for a family dinner. Wai ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went at 7:00 pm for a family dinner. Waitress was great took kids orders first and got their food out quick. Food was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food ! Wonderful place to go with ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food ! Wonderful place to go with a group of friends!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always, love amogue and Past ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fabulous as always, love amogue and Pasta Arrabiatta

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance!! Great food!:) Loved the ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great ambiance!! Great food!:) Loved the Chicken Marsala.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic soups and Italian food! The se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Authentic soups and Italian food! The service and staff are well trained and stay on top of

things. The minestrone soup is my favorite and try the swordfish it's great !!

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Staff and Management made our celebr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The Staff and Management made our celebration of three couples Anniversary a special one.

The food, service and the complimentary Champagne was a very nice touch!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice server it just didn't go well. Foo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Nice server it just didn't go well. Food did not meet expectations. Timing was off on everything from soup to after dinner drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

A nice surprise in a strip mall--I don't ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A nice surprise in a strip mall--I don't think sitting on the patio overlooking the parking lot and the road would have been pleasant. The Bar area was very nice inside though. We sat in the dining room. It took a devil of a long time to get a drink order taken--it was nearly 20 minutes before I had a drink. And I was thirsty.

Service remained slow for the evening. But the food was quite good. Soup and salad come with your entree (that is rare these days). The appetizer, fried calamari, was a bit tough but ok. The entrees were outstanding.

Prices were reasonable--a solid choice in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Been there a few times now and every tim ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Been there a few times now and every time we have had a great experience. The food is fresh, high quality and reasonably priced. Danielle is the best! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there many times, always exce ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We've been there many times, always excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sapori's is one of our favorite places, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sapori's is one of our favorite places, but to be honest our last visit was very disappointing, I reserved (days in advance) a table for 2 for our 11 year anniversary. When we were seated we got sat at a McDonald's style bench next to a couple that basically fingered our food when it arrived. Our waitress was so bad I asked the bus boy if he wanted to take over, she was over 30 minutes to take our order and our glasses stayed empty. Like I said sapori's is by far one of our favorite places and we STILL go there, I just recommend they Ditch the McDonald's style table cus I wasn't happy about the lady sitting next us trying to talk to us about our food as we were trying to eat it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

What a wonderful find right in my neighb ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a wonderful find right in my neighborhood. The lake perch was cooked to perfection. Great service - even making suggestions for each course of the meal. A "must go" destination for a special evening or just to get a superb meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit to Sapori. We w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is our second visit to Sapori. We went for dinner on a Tuesday evening, so it was not real busy and was nice and quiet. The food and service again were excellent. There was only one slight disappointment. I loved the Risotto del Pescatore so much the first time that I ordered it again. This time the sauce was lighter and had more of a tomato flavor. It was still very good, but just not as rich tasting as before. Others in our party also recommend the Drunken Watermelon martini, the Chicken & Artichoke and Pizzaiola dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good price

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Good food, good price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food is inconsistent. Ordered the pa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is inconsistent. Ordered the pasta sapori (my fav dish) and it was awful. Too spicy too many peppers no pine nuts. This happens with many entrees, one time they are good the next time yuck The soups are bland It will be a while before I go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I was really excited about going - we to ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 12, 2016

I was really excited about going - we took my 87 year old grandma for her birthday. They set us next to a group of 10+ men who yelled and were so loud we couldn't talk. We had hair in our food, there was moldy packets of butter, waited on refills and it was overpriced for what we got.

Needless to say I won't be back. Hopefully it was just out one time experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice lunch selections. Attentive servic ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice lunch selections. Attentive service. Pleasant atmosphere and freshly prepared food made with real ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been there over 20 times in the la ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been there over 20 times in the last year and the food is fantastic! Everything tastes homemade. The Tortelini soup, The salad with the lemon house dressing is great! The Palomino sauce on Pasta is the best!. Actually everything that my wife and I & Friends ever had there has been great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, tasty, original pasta dishes. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful, tasty, original pasta dishes. Great cocktails and great wine selection. Portions are a bit large; so we split, considering we'd already had appetizer and bread with amogiu. Didn't like the extra $3 charge because of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service and ambience, did not care ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good service and ambience, did not care for soup ( sparce minestrone) menu, heavily breaded appetizer or my entree( too rich and over salted) . May have to try again , choosing another entree. Have heard mixed reviews from friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Sappori is a wonderful fine dining estab ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Sappori is a wonderful fine dining establishment. The food is always fresh and tastes fantastic. We were there with my in laws from out if town. The waiter was so gratuitous as answer all of my mother in laws questions and to listen to her stories of her close friends that are from Italy. She asked some personal questions to him, and he answered with genuine interest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service & food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Found Sapori by way of Yelp as I was looking for a place for my daughter's graduation lunch/dinner. Arrived at 2pm and we had the restaurant to ourselves. Our server was excellent and the food was vibrant and fresh. Definitely recommend. I'm anxious to try them at dinner time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, never been disappointed here ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2016

great food, never been disappointed here, would highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reasons to visit Sapori

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2016

First, the menu and food are very good. The servers we have had have been friendly, helpful and give the right amount of attention. They want to be there and you can tell. Bar area is nice and bartenders and servers in that part of the restaurant are just as friendly and outgoing. We dined in a booth in the bar area before and that experience went very good too. Try Sapori. You will go back like we do and we live near downtown Rochester and prefer Sapori.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a great birthday celebration at Sapori! Thank you to Marco who went out of his way to make my daughters evening very special with her friends, bringing out surprise dessert with candles. It was our first time at Sapori and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

WE had a great time. Linda, our handler ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2016

WE had a great time. Linda, our handler, was perfect. Thanks to Sal and team for great food and wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great place to celebrate our 45 ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a great place to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary ad Mother's Day too. I'll be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Mother's Day Dinner

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was delicious. A bit pricey but not out of line with other local restaurants

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sapori

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server Linda was personable and very accomodating. We both found one of the pasta dishes kind of bland. She quickly offerred to take it off the bill and to choose something else from the menu. She said if you don't enjoy it, you certainly should not have to eat it. Our second choice was delicious. Craft cocktails were inventive and satisfying and the food was appealing and enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent night out

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Salvatore Sciarrino helped our family make a very special occasion, even better! It was a night to remember, and I look back on our family celebration at Sapori fondly. The staff was very friendly, courteous and prompt. Excellent service and a delicious meal. Could come back just to try all of the drinks! I will dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh food and an awesome menu

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Fresh food and an awesome menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Sapori

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Went with a friend and knew that we had a lot to chat about so told our waitress and she was very patient with us and didn't rush us at all. This was during the week so didn't feel we

really held anyone up from being seated. Every thing we ordered was delicious. All the wait staff were very personable. I'd return to this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was top notch and Food was excellent we even loved the deserts. 😀

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely worth it.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Each of our selections were excellent. Slight wait for the dinners, definitely worth it. Before we paid the check we already knew we would be visiting again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Italian at its finest!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The fooed is homemade and excellent. Good variety. Excellent wine list. Nice place to go with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.