Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Sapori Italian Restaurant

4.3
309 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
Sapori Italian Restaurant began with one simple idea, create a comfortable environment where families can come and enjoy authentic Italian food. Sapori by definition means “Flavors.” Sapori’s concept is to reintroduce simple, flavorful, authentic Italian foods. True Italian food isn’t supposed to be complicated and is often improperly prepared! The Italian culinary experience began at home with family and friends coming together at the table and enjoying natural foods and tradition.

At Sapori, we strive to offer our guests the same experience. You can go anywhere and get a dish of pasta smothered in sauce and cheese but once you experience Italian made better… you will never go back! At Sapori, Chef Salvatore has assembled a menu of fresh flavors with the best ingredients. His classic Italian recipes have been perfected at his own restaurant in Italy and are now being shared with you at Sapori.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Mon–Thu 12:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri 12:00 pm–11:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu 12:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri 12:00 pm–11:00 pm
Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm
Sun 4:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(586) 786-4674
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Salvatore
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 309 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

I was disappointed in food choices! We were very pleased with ambience and service! I was entertaining friends for the first time and his steak was tasty but tough! We had a nice lunch previously but this was our first visit for dinner ! Too pricey for quality and choice!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Been to Sapori many times and its always pretty good. The entrees are good portions and decent quality with pretty good balance. Very nice wine list. Good but a long way from Great but always consistent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

First off once we saw your restaurant website we were hooked! So we went to your website and made our reservation for the same day. And within seconds our reservation was confirm. And once we were inside your wonderful restaurant, it was even better then your website! Your friendly staff, your menu. The food and wine from beginning to end, made the two of us very happy. And we have let some others know that they too need to book your restaurant soon! So thank you, so much for our GREAT DATE NIGHT. GJ

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

First time timers with friends. Good food, great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food was excellent and our server was great! Quite cramped seating and hard to maneuver through people and tables to get to restroom

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Small portions for the price. Everything is a la carte. Glasses of wine were less than 1/3 full while costing $9-12. Wait staff was fair. Although the food was pretty good, there are many Italian restaurants in the area that offer much more. We will not be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Good food and variety

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great service Linda is outstanding the tasting menu is something new every week . Outstanding

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We arrived on time for Open Table reservation. We were seated within minutes of our arrival. We waited 20 minutes with no service, no water, no drink orders, no one even knew we were there. My husband had to go to the front desk and ask for a waiter. They were very apologetic along with our assigned waiter. It was very busy it felt as if they were short staffed. I felt like we waited too long for everything to arrive. The food was very good however I think next time I wouldn't go at peak time, 7p.m.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Service and food are excellent. Restaurant is noisy when it is packed. Never have had bad service or dinner. Great Italian Restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great food and atmosphere. We’ve been here many times and love it every time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Love the atmosphere! Food was really good. Definitely will go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Tables were a bit too close together. Otherwise, everything was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The three day late Valentine Day date for my wife and me was spoiled by having our bruschetta appatizer and main course arriving at the same time; we felt rushed out by the staff. If this is the case our fix is simpler -TO NEVER RETURN !
Our food was fantastic and the restaurant is very classy and attractive. Too bad all this was ruined by such poor service and what should have been a happy experience.
A very disappointed former customer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I’ve been to Sapori a few times, and this was our best experience yet. We had a reservation and were seated right away. The waitress was very friendly and very knowledgeable on the menu. She made wine recommendations based on our preferences. When asked one dish vs. another, she explained the dish and what people prefer. Food overall was very good and we had a great time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food for locals, wish it was as a little bit bigger. The salmon is great! Lemon chicken awesome, How salad dressing is to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Both service and food were excellent. It was a relaxing atmosphere even though it was very busy due to Valentines day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Frank (owner) and Ryan (bar tender) were friendly, personable and helpful. Our date was very nice.
We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great looking interior, great food, and fairly priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Great fun , sat at the bar

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

First time !! food good and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Our second date night at this restaurant. Well done decor, great service, innovative tastes combined with normal Italian “comfort” foods. We’ve yet to even try a dish weren’t impressed by!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Beautiful place.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Food was horrible, no flavor and expensive

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

First time to Sapori. Ordered a chicken and artichoke dish. The chicken tasted terrible. Notified server. Only ate 1/4 of dish. The server talked to management and they took 6 dolllars off of bill They never offered to remake dish. Very disappointed in this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Good service, great Octopus appetizer and the Tenderloin salad. Salmon was good. I will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Washington! ...by far,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Dinner and service was fabulous . Had the gnocchi and it was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Great waitstaff and as usual, wonderful food. Very large holiday party seated directly behind us was a bit disruptive. Probably not the best venue for a large group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Great food and service....had a nice night with our little grandson.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

We had a very nice time. Good food choices, not just typical Italian

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Food was good but didn't think it was the best Italian I've had. Ambiance was just ok. Was hoping for a more intimate feel but lights were bright and tables stacked right on top of each other.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was AWESOME! But I cannot even express to you how SLOW THE SERVICE WAS!!! And clearly, we had 3 little kids with us!!! But, food was so good that I again will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

My favorite Sicilian restaurant !! We always have a phenomenal meal and wonderful waitstaff. Best drinks and dinner in Washington

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 1, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30, checked in at 7:15 but weren’t sat until almost 7:50. There was a party of 30 that was dominating the entire restaurant. It was quite apparent because we weren’t “regulars” or ordering bottle after bottle of wine we were neglected. Used to offer soup & salad with a meal but now it’s one or the other. The waiter took our drink order and said he would return with bread but brought drinks without bread. Then somebody different brought our salads and again said they’d return with bread but never did. We had to ask for bread three times. I ordered coffee with dessert and the coffee was cold. From start to finish horrible experience. Plenty of other Italian restaurants to pick from going forward.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

We eat there quite often and we are never disappointed. We were there Saturday night and our waitress Angela, we've had her many times, was very busy in a full restaurant but she still took the time to talk and laugh with us. The food there is excellent but we always talk about the service, well trained and happy, makes for a fun night. We'll be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2017

Authentic Italian family fare. A gem in our neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 22, 2017

We've been To Sapori many times in the past and it was great. This time nothing tasted good - calamari, gnocchi, casarecce with bolognese or the eggplant parm. Disappointed and don't think we'll be back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Male host wasn’t so accommodating... giving him tiniest bit of slack (it was busy) but I had reservations and I was on a 1st date, barside booths have far greater ambiance than opposite dinning area which is more like a rams horn/big boy floorplan. requested to sit on the bar side and he blew off the request. Female hostess/manager saved him from my lecture about... “having a clue with patrons” by simply apologizing and explaining much of the barside was taken by a party.

Good food - Shrimp appetizer was excellent!
Waiter was busy, but good. I’d go back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 13, 2017

I have been a frequent customer and love the place. I was last there in June, since then The menu has changed and you no longer get soup and salad with your meal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8