Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.70mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.70mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.70mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.70mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi

About Sapori Italian Restaurant

Sapori Italian Restaurant began with one simple idea, create a comfortable environment where families can come and enjoy authentic Italian food. Sapori by definition means “Flavors.” Sapori’s concept is to reintroduce simple, flavorful, authentic Italian foods. True Italian food isn’t supposed to be complicated and is often improperly prepared! The Italian culinary experience began at home with family and friends coming together at the table and enjoying natural foods and tradition.

At Sapori, we strive to offer our guests the same experience. You can go anywhere and get a dish of pasta smothered in sauce and cheese but once you experience Italian made better… you will never go back! At Sapori, Chef Salvatore has assembled a menu of fresh flavors with the best ingredients. His classic Italian recipes have been perfected at his own restaurant in Italy and are now being shared with you at Sapori.

6067 26 Mile Road
Washington, MI 48094
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 12pm-11pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm, Sunday Dinner 2pm - 9pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(586) 786-4674

Website:
http://saporirestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Salvatore

Sapori Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (14)
Authentic (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time at Sapori, but it will not be my last. The food was fabulous!!! As was the service and ambiance. What a gift to Lexington!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Awesome food and service. Well done!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is very good at this restaurant, we have tried different selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Their food is homemade and very good. A ton of real chicken in the tortellini soup. Best alfredo sauce around. All meals come with both soup and salad. Prices are very reasonable for what you get.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was fabulous. Did even better. I ordered of the menu something I had in Italy and it was perfect. Great find for my wife and me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was amazing as usual. Great pace, didn't feel rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Did a very nice job. Good food, good service. Good reasonably priced wine.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is good. Not exceptional. But Good. I had the chicken and artichoke pasta. The creamy sauce was tasty. But I like my pasta al dente. This pasta was way overcooked and mushy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and food is delicious. I had scallops and they were unbelievably out of this world!! Our waitress Taylor did an exceptional job and very attentive. Definitely a place to dine, either casual or dressy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The restaurant was nice but I had gone on line before going and it was indicated that they had a happy hour till 7:00 p.m. When we got there the waitress said that was incorrect, it was only till 6:00. It had changed over 6 months ago, they need to update their information on the website. The waitress was nice and brought us each a glass of sparkling wine from her because we were celebrating our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

First time here and really enjoyed the food. Made a reservation and we were seated immediately. Our server wasn't on their game. We had to request a bread basket when everyone around us had one. We had to asked for water refills. Our food was delivered and we asked for more tomatoe sauce on the side since it was alittle dry and we waited 10-15 minutes. By that time, the other two were finished with their meal, so I just took mine home.
We will give it another try since the food was good. Hopefully we will get a better server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 31, 2017

As always...outstanding! The food, the service, the table side chat with Chef Sal...worth going back for!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wasn't as good as last time. The food didn't impress, perhaps because most of us ordered non-meat items for a Lenten Friday. The place has great atmosphere and now I've had a very good experience and an average experience. Service was also average, nothing drastically bad, but a few low points - left our empty dinner plates in front of us for too long, a forgotten drink came late. Again nothing major but not what you would expect for the price. The $35 sea bass special was nowhere near the quality it should have been. The calamari was also less than expected. The rest of the food - soups, salads, entrees were pretty much to the level they should be. If I go again, I will stick with the true Italian fare.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Casual, relaxing atmosphere, and the food is very good. Portions sizes are perfect, and I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The moment we arrived everyone was so friendly and wanted to make sure our first time there was a great experience -- and it was! The food is EXCELLENT! We highly recommend and cannot wait to go back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our food was good but not worth how expensive it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have celiac disease and have to eat gluten free. The preparation of the my food cannot have any cross contamination. The staff was very knowledgeable and it was wonderful to have a very nice evening out with great food and service without worrying about whether I was going to get sick. I had gf calamari and it was fantastic, followed by salad, gf bread basket and chicken Marsala. I did not have room for dessert. I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner very much. Food was excellent although a little show to come to the table. Almost 2 hours for dinner for four including appetizers.

Will most definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Sapori is in a strip mall, but the outdoor lighting makes you notice it - lighting changes colors.

The interior is very pleasant and welcoming.

Very good selection of Italian food, well presented and very tasty. Very good service.

We'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food is very good here, it was our second dining there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great service, food was solid but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went on a Saturday night, we had a reservation but unfortunately were late. That was not a problem, we got seated right away and got menus and drinks in good time. Our waitress was friendly and forthright with her opinions on what meals she preferred. There seem to be two parts to the restaurant--the dining area, which was quite loud but kid-friendly, and the bar area, which had a few booths and then seating at the bar. Luckily we got a booth in the bar area, so we missed the worst of the noise. It would definitely have been a problem if we were in the more open area.
The food was good, it seemed the portions were ample; the entrees came with both salad and soup so the ladies were not able to finish their entrees. The plates sat there for quite a little while before they were collected and boxed. We were still finishing up our wine so that was OK.
Desserts were also good, and the pricing wasn't out of this world--still reasonable.
If we went back (and there is no reason why we wouldn't), I would order a pasta dish. The ravioli was fabulous and so was the gnocchi. Definitely hit a home run with those dishes.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a very good meal. The server indicated that she was new but she seemed to know the menu well. She even indicated to my husband that the eggplant Parmesan wasn't the same as he may be used to. She was right! It was very good too. Not deep fried breaded eggplant but a delicious, bubbly crock of eggplant. The linguine with clams was also very light but filling. Everything had garlic, which I love. Also, every entree comes with soup and salad. This really adds to the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding meal as usual. We can always count on Sapori. Our waitress was friendly, but still professional. I know they're an Italian restaurant and focus on Italian wines, but I would love to see some high quality Michigan wines on the wine list. There are many California wines on the list, why not support your local wine industry?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is my husband's favorite restaurant, so I made reservations there for Valentines Day. Food was very good, but I wasn't thrilled with the dessert I picked. It was still OK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Sapori is always great! From there Tortellini Soup to their amazing salad with a fresh lemon oil dressing, you can't miss. I always have their pasta with the Palomino sauce. My wife always gets the Filet. Their desserts are tasty and the service is excellent. We see the owner there all the time. The chef comes out and asks how the food is almost everytime we are there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have been to this restaurant several times. Very good food and service. Nice bar area. Love the veal Parmesan. Will keep going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lots of food! Good octopus salad, calamari was tough. All meals come with soup and salad. The salad has a good lemon dressing. You won't leave hungry. Enjoy!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Sapporo remains a favorite! Consistently great food and friendly, attentive service earn nearly weekly visits from my wife and I.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Normally I would rate Sapori a 5, but not on this visit. Food quality was lacking. Artichoke appetizer was superb, cut Calamari was chewy. Risotto Pescatore had gritty rice and seafood was overlooked and rubbery. Ordered Asparagus soup, waitress returned saying they just ran out ( this stuff happens, no big deal). She recommended mushroom soup. It was disgusting. It had no mushrooms, just a purée that looked and tasted like baby food. I never complain, but I couldn't eat the soup (I eat everything). She brought us chicken tortellini soup which had an off flavor. Service and drinks were good.
When you spend over $130.00 for dinner for two, you expect higher quality. As I stated, I usually LOVE Sapori and will be back, but if I have another experience like this, I'm not sure what I'll do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my second visit to Sapori and I enjoyed this time so much more. Not sure if they just got a new chef or what the reason is for the food being so much better. But obviously I wasn't alone in my thinking because during the dinner hour time the restaurant filled with patrons and as we were leaving the restaurant tons more were parking in coming in so the word is out it's a good place to eat. I certainly plan on going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place has good ambiance but just so so food. We had the calamari appetizer which was very "rubbery". The meatballs didn't arrive with the pasta and were kinda of bland and not really hot. Server was new and had to go ask someone else for the few questions we asked. May go back and sit at bar for a drink and appetizer, but don't think we'd make it a dinner destination again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great place. Great service. Knowledge was great and very kind

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Out of town visitors, enjoyed authentic Sicilian food from apps to dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The only complaint is how loud it is. Other than that, the service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was our first time dining at Sapori Italian Restaurant. The food was very good.
Our guest had to wait for his espresso, his desert was almost gone when drink arrived.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I got a gift card from my sister. This was the first time going there and it was a good time. The service and food was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love the fact that they don't rush you during your meal. Every time we've been here they provide outstanding service, delicious food, and a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We live nearby and have always had a great dining experience there. Keep doing what you're doing! Thanks.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was awesome and there service was great! Pleasantly surprised because of the location in a strip mall. The ambience was really nice. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.