About Sapori Italian Restaurant

6067 26 Mile Road
Washington, MI 48094
View Larger Map

Sapori Italian Restaurant began with one simple idea, create a comfortable environment where families can come and enjoy authentic Italian food. Sapori by definition means “Flavors.” Sapori’s concept is to reintroduce simple, flavorful, authentic Italian foods. True Italian food isn’t supposed to be complicated and is often improperly prepared! The Italian culinary experience began at home with family and friends coming together at the table and enjoying natural foods and tradition.

At Sapori, we strive to offer our guests the same experience. You can go anywhere and get a dish of pasta smothered in sauce and cheese but once you experience Italian made better… you will never go back! At Sapori, Chef Salvatore has assembled a menu of fresh flavors with the best ingredients. His classic Italian recipes have been perfected at his own restaurant in Italy and are now being shared with you at Sapori.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 12pm-11pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday Brunch 11am-2pm, Sunday Dinner 2pm - 9pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(586) 786-4674

Website:
http://saporirestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Salvatore

Sapori Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (6)
Casual (6)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Romantic (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went on a Saturday night, we had a re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

We went on a Saturday night, we had a reservation but unfortunately were late. That was not a problem, we got seated right away and got menus and drinks in good time. Our waitress was friendly and forthright with her opinions on what meals she preferred. There seem to be two parts to the restaurant--the dining area, which was quite loud but kid-friendly, and the bar area, which had a few booths and then seating at the bar. Luckily we got a booth in the bar area, so we missed the worst of the noise. It would definitely have been a problem if we were in the more open area.

The food was good, it seemed the portions were ample; the entrees came with both salad and soup so the ladies were not able to finish their entrees. The plates sat there for quite a little while before they were collected and boxed. We were still finishing up our wine so that was OK.

Desserts were also good, and the pricing wasn't out of this world--still reasonable.

If we went back (and there is no reason why we wouldn't), I would order a pasta dish. The ravioli was fabulous and so was the gnocchi. Definitely hit a home run with those dishes.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was a very good meal. The server in ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a very good meal. The server indicated that she was new but she seemed to know the menu well. She even indicated to my husband that the eggplant Parmesan wasn't the same as he may be used to. She was right! It was very good too. Not deep fried breaded eggplant but a delicious, bubbly crock of eggplant. The linguine with clams was also very light but filling. Everything had garlic, which I love. Also, every entree comes with soup and salad. This really adds to the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding meal as usual. We can alway ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding meal as usual. We can always count on Sapori. Our waitress was friendly, but still professional. I know they're an Italian restaurant and focus on Italian wines, but I would love to see some high quality Michigan wines on the wine list. There are many California wines on the list, why not support your local wine industry?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my husband's favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my husband's favorite restaurant, so I made reservations there for Valentines Day. Food was very good, but I wasn't thrilled with the dessert I picked. It was still OK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sapori is always great! From there Torte ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Sapori is always great! From there Tortellini Soup to their amazing salad with a fresh lemon oil dressing, you can't miss. I always have their pasta with the Palomino sauce. My wife always gets the Filet. Their desserts are tasty and the service is excellent. We see the owner there all the time. The chef comes out and asks how the food is almost everytime we are there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to this restaurant several tim ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have been to this restaurant several times. Very good food and service. Nice bar area. Love the veal Parmesan. Will keep going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Lots of food! Good octopus salad, calam ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lots of food! Good octopus salad, calamari was tough. All meals come with soup and salad. The salad has a good lemon dressing. You won't leave hungry. Enjoy!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally I would rate Sapori a 5, but no ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Normally I would rate Sapori a 5, but not on this visit. Food quality was lacking. Artichoke appetizer was superb, cut Calamari was chewy. Risotto Pescatore had gritty rice and seafood was overlooked and rubbery. Ordered Asparagus soup, waitress returned saying they just ran out ( this stuff happens, no big deal). She recommended mushroom soup. It was disgusting. It had no mushrooms, just a purée that looked and tasted like baby food. I never complain, but I couldn't eat the soup (I eat everything). She brought us chicken tortellini soup which had an off flavor. Service and drinks were good.

When you spend over $130.00 for dinner for two, you expect higher quality. As I stated, I usually LOVE Sapori and will be back, but if I have another experience like this, I'm not sure what I'll do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my second visit to Sapori and I ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my second visit to Sapori and I enjoyed this time so much more. Not sure if they just got a new chef or what the reason is for the food being so much better. But obviously I wasn't alone in my thinking because during the dinner hour time the restaurant filled with patrons and as we were leaving the restaurant tons more were parking in coming in so the word is out it's a good place to eat. I certainly plan on going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place has good ambiance but just so ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place has good ambiance but just so so food. We had the calamari appetizer which was very "rubbery". The meatballs didn't arrive with the pasta and were kinda of bland and not really hot. Server was new and had to go ask someone else for the few questions we asked. May go back and sit at bar for a drink and appetizer, but don't think we'd make it a dinner destination again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great place. Great service. Knowledge w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great place. Great service. Knowledge was great and very kind

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, , Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of town visitors, enjoyed authentic ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Out of town visitors, enjoyed authentic Sicilian food from apps to dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The only complaint is how loud it is. Ot ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The only complaint is how loud it is. Other than that, the service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time dining at Sapori ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was our first time dining at Sapori Italian Restaurant. The food was very good.

Our guest had to wait for his espresso, his desert was almost gone when drink arrived.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I got a gift card from my sister. This w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I got a gift card from my sister. This was the first time going there and it was a good time. The service and food was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the fact that they don't rush yo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love the fact that they don't rush you during your meal. Every time we've been here they provide outstanding service, delicious food, and a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live nearby and have always had a gre ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We live nearby and have always had a great dining experience there. Keep doing what you're doing! Thanks.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and there service w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was awesome and there service was great! Pleasantly surprised because of the location in a strip mall. The ambience was really nice. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here several times and neve ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We have been here several times and never disappointed but this time was different. One of our meals was cold and the service was not great. Hope that this is a one time occurrence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

First time at Sapori and we were not dis ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First time at Sapori and we were not disappointed. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Tables for two are situated close to one another, which I am not a fan of... this would be my only complaint. Buffalo Negra cocktail I ordered was different twist on an Old Fashioned somewhat and I thought it was well-crafted. Gnocchi was delicious and the scallops my wife had were large and equally delicious. We will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The pasta was fresh and cooked perfectly ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The pasta was fresh and cooked perfectly. The service was fast, friendly and courteous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't let the classy chic look of Sapor ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Don't let the classy chic look of Sapori fool you. When going to a restaurant that has majority of their plates priced over $20 you'd typically expect excellent customer service and delicious food. This place was the complete opposite of either of those. Our waitress had no idea if she was coming or going. With the amount of times we had to ask for refills on our drinks we could have ran to the local store and back ten times and made our own drinks. Mind you, our refills were for $10 Martinis. If the waitress wanted to make a great tip off us she wouldve been all over our table. My husband asked for a coke. I had to remind her 20minutes later that he didnt get his coke, so she ends up looking at him and asks if he still wants a coke...? No ... he changed his mind and isn't thirsty.

She never asked us once how anything was. I told her 3x no shrimp on my salad, I get my salad with shrimp. Again...We had to complain more than five times because our glasses were empty. Our table probably spent close to $500 and we would've been treated better at a Coney Island. The manager had no clue how to rectify the situation, his solution was to buy us a round of drinks. He clearly has no idea how to manage a restaurant other than look good in a suit. Our food took over an hour to come out. Then it took another 30minutes to just get our bill.

This place has no sense of urgency and really doesn't care about their customers. It finally got so bad that the entire experience was comical to us. If you like to spend a lot of money on food that taste like frozen dinners and deal with the slowest snail speed unorganized people then you will love this place. The only person that had his self together was the assistant waiter Michael.if anything, he needs the manager title.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Staff not well educated as to wine and c ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Staff not well educated as to wine and cheese. Overall, service was fair and prompt. Food excellent. Would like to see a traditional Italian three course fixed price menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great service Taylor was spot on for our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service Taylor was spot on for our every need Just a great place to enjoy a great meal

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dinner. Our waiter, Marco, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A wonderful dinner. Our waiter, Marco, gave us excellent service as well as great dinner recommendations.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was very pleasant, but may have b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Server was very pleasant, but may have been a bit inexperienced. The restaurant was busy, drinks took a while along with refills/ bread etc. We enjoyed the octopus appetizer and baked Brie appetizer. Greens of the house salad weren't crisp and the plate was warm. Pasta was very under-seasoned, was sent back. Manager touched the table to see how he could help which was appreciated. Overall average experience. I think we could have a much more enjoyable experience here another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We really enjoyed our meal and plan on r ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal and plan on returning. Our service was paced well and Angela was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was extremely slow and unorganiz ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was extremely slow and unorganized. Food was not as good as it used to be. Won't be going back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Went at 7:00 pm for a family dinner. Wai ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went at 7:00 pm for a family dinner. Waitress was great took kids orders first and got their food out quick. Food was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food ! Wonderful place to go with ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food ! Wonderful place to go with a group of friends!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always, love amogue and Past ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fabulous as always, love amogue and Pasta Arrabiatta

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance!! Great food!:) Loved the ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great ambiance!! Great food!:) Loved the Chicken Marsala.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic soups and Italian food! The se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Authentic soups and Italian food! The service and staff are well trained and stay on top of

things. The minestrone soup is my favorite and try the swordfish it's great !!

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Staff and Management made our celebr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The Staff and Management made our celebration of three couples Anniversary a special one.

The food, service and the complimentary Champagne was a very nice touch!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice server it just didn't go well. Foo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Nice server it just didn't go well. Food did not meet expectations. Timing was off on everything from soup to after dinner drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

A nice surprise in a strip mall--I don't ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A nice surprise in a strip mall--I don't think sitting on the patio overlooking the parking lot and the road would have been pleasant. The Bar area was very nice inside though. We sat in the dining room. It took a devil of a long time to get a drink order taken--it was nearly 20 minutes before I had a drink. And I was thirsty.

Service remained slow for the evening. But the food was quite good. Soup and salad come with your entree (that is rare these days). The appetizer, fried calamari, was a bit tough but ok. The entrees were outstanding.

Prices were reasonable--a solid choice in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Been there a few times now and every tim ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Been there a few times now and every time we have had a great experience. The food is fresh, high quality and reasonably priced. Danielle is the best! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there many times, always exce ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We've been there many times, always excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sapori's is one of our favorite places, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sapori's is one of our favorite places, but to be honest our last visit was very disappointing, I reserved (days in advance) a table for 2 for our 11 year anniversary. When we were seated we got sat at a McDonald's style bench next to a couple that basically fingered our food when it arrived. Our waitress was so bad I asked the bus boy if he wanted to take over, she was over 30 minutes to take our order and our glasses stayed empty. Like I said sapori's is by far one of our favorite places and we STILL go there, I just recommend they Ditch the McDonald's style table cus I wasn't happy about the lady sitting next us trying to talk to us about our food as we were trying to eat it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

What a wonderful find right in my neighb ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a wonderful find right in my neighborhood. The lake perch was cooked to perfection. Great service - even making suggestions for each course of the meal. A "must go" destination for a special evening or just to get a superb meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.