Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (48)
Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Authentic (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fun (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Healthy (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Spicy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tapas (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort by
S
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to the Sansei on Kapalua. The food here in Kihei is just as excellent as ever!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Over priced, poor service, bad food. Seating is cafeteria style with bright lighting, white table cloths no music or ambience what do ever. Server was a rookie who was slow and lacked menu knowledge. Butter fish portion was tiny consisting of 5 pieces about the size of a quarter. Spider crab roll was cold. Calamari is bland. Kid's mac and cheese was overcooked. This was our second time. Last year was much better. Won't be coming again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always good but this time the food came out irraticly. A couple things before our drinks arrived and then nothing for 20 minutes and then again 20 minutes for our final choices...it was weird and our server just blew it off like it was nothing...we took guests there for the first time and it was not as good an experience as we had hoped..But the food was good.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

They opened at 5:30 pm. If you order food between 5:30-6 pm then you get 25% of the menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was prepared well, found out I’m not a fan of purple sweet potatoes. Sushi very fresh and delicious. Table top was not clean and we were the first to sit down at 5:30 when they open. I would go again if I lived here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Not as good as it used to be...and issues with sushi prep. After over an hour we were ready for dessert and sushi was finally ready - they couldn’t keep up. Wasn’t even happy hour. Apple tart not as good as used to be - barely any pastry now to save on costs I was told! We used to love this place - very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2017

great food an awesome service. highly recommend this spot

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2017

EAT SOMEWHERE ELSE. We were so excited to go here. The staff was very unfriendly from the moment we sat down. While on our honeymoon we were looking forward to having sushi from a local spot, and my husband from Sansei. The waitress was incompetent that seated us and passed us off quickly to another server. The atmosphere was odd with today’s hits playing in the background (and not something to highlight the Japanese feel) and the noise level was so loud I could barely talk across the table. The food was ok considering the terrible service. We also heard the staff talking about us a few times just because of our order being so large (we ordered several types of sushi to try the local “only get here” sushi). You’d think they would be happy for such a large order (and future large tip). Again, huge dissapontment especially for the price we paid. Don’t waste your time eating here, unless you look forward to being made feel awkward and overcharged on your vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Have been visiting sushi bars for over 40 years. Very disappointed. Presentation was good, however tempura was over cooked and sweet potatoe tough. Hamachi had too much blood line and portions were less than adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Excellent original food; outstanding service; fun atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Excellent sushi. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable about sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Never disappoints as my constant dining habits indicate, best sushi around!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Romantic, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Sushi and food was great! Service was very slow, had to flag down server to order more food and get the bill, she had the bill and wouldn't drop it off. Never asked if we wanted another drink. Largely ignored by the server. The food is great, so definitely come for the sushi!

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Benson our waiter was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 2, 2017

This is one of our neighborhood favorites...always great value for the money!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Went 4 times in a week. Table service with Glory was excellent. Bar service with Kelly was so good I ate there twice. Sushi bar with Jesse was good, but not on the same level as the others but food was good.
Overall it was excellent and I’ll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Excellent sushi every time. This is an awsome place where you can celebrate a birthday with a party of people or relax on a date night! Service is on spot! A definite must dine while on Maui!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Had a good meal of Tempura; delicious. The Apple tart desert is so good we remembered it from last year, and had it again. This is a good restaurant, and we will be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 17, 2017

All-around excellent restaurant! Fresh fish! We will be back!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 15, 2017

My expectations of this place were set because of the Kapalua location and the Waikiki location but this is way different. This place looked like a sports/karaoke bar more than anything. I know that on certain nights they have karaoke but I didn't expect this place to be so casual...especially for the prices. Nothing really wowed me, the nissei nigiri was ok. At least the fish was good. The rolls were not rolled well so it fell apart when you picked it up. Pass on the Chinese style sashimi and the spicy tuna dynamite roll. The best thing I ate was the nigiri uni. The panko ahi roll was okay. I don't know about "award winning". This is definitely not a Japanese restaurant you would find in Vegas but it's not the worst. Our server was friendly and the food came out quickly. Maybe come when it's 50% off so you won't be so disappointed at the value. You might want to drive out to Kapalua instead.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great sushi! We tried a couple of the special rolls and were impressed. Very fresh! On the flip side there wasn't a lot of parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We went here while on our honeymoon. We are from Las Vegas and used to all you can eat sushi which doesn’t exist here so we knew it was going to be expensive for sushi, but for the price and how fresh the fish is supposedly, we were disappointed. The food was good, but we definitely have had better sushi in landlocked Las Vegas for a much better price. The service was very good and it was quiet and romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

This restaurant is a must every time we come to Maui! The food is so delicious and service was fantastic!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The food was amazing and Nick our server was the best his selections were spot on

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Our server Dar went above and beyond We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

My mother, husband, 3 year old son and I came here for dinner. Nice options on the kids menu, lovely wines to choose from, and even a cocktail special with kombucha! We ordered a little bit of everything, including Brussels sprouts topped with a fried egg, sushi and sashimi, and a vegetarian noodle dish. Everything was wonderful! So fresh and delicious, perfectly spiced and seasoned! We were so satisfied, on our way out the door we made another reservation for our last night in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

It was great as always. Food is of good quality and fast service. Great time with special friends that had never been there.
Thank you
Rocky

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food is fresh and outstanding. I hear the happy hour has a line down the street. The sushi portions are good sized and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Have been to Sansei several times over the years while vacationing in Kihei Maui. Food is always exceptional, especially the sushi, and servers always friendly and attentive. Never been disappointed in any of our visits

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Many delicious choices & great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I always make a point of going to Sansei's for dinner when visiting Maui. They have a wonderful array of sushi as well as items for people who don't care for sushi. They are always fast, friendly and energetic. I had never been to the Kihie location, we usually go to Kapalua, and this location was as good as the other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were a group of four friends getting together for dinner on a Saturday night. It was a pleasant experience at Sansei because we were actually able to talk without shouting to one another. That is an important aspect of dining for me, to be in an environment that is not loud. The service and wait staff was very personable and sincerely wanted us to enjoy the evening. Orders came out quickly and food was very delicious. Thank you, Sansei!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The Sushi was very fresh and there were very creative options. The restaurant was large to accommodate large groups. There were inventive creative sushi options as well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Nice little sushi stop in Kihei. Service was on point, drinks were tasty, and the sushi was well prepared and their portions were larger then most sushi restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food and service were great. The Shrimp Dynamite was a great appetizer . i would recommend anything on the Ahi list as the taste and presentations were outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We loved our meal at Sansei. There are a lot of sushi options in Kihei and as a vacationer to the town, it was really hard to pick where to go! I'm really happy we ended up at Sansei. I loved being able to reserve our table online. And the sushi was amazing! We went at 5:30pm so got a percentage off until 6pm, which really helped out with our end bill. For the two of us to eat until we were full (and we both got a beer), it was $100. I think that is totally reasonable for the quality of sushi and great service we received. Oh and do yourself a favour, get the spicy tuna dynamite roll!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Always great! A must when in Maui. I normally go to the Kapalua location. First time at the Kihei. The ambiance in Kapalua is better, but it's easier to get a reservation in Kihei.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We have eaten sushi all over the island. We loved this place. Sushi was fresh and amazing. Can’t wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great find! Awesome food at awesome prices, especially considering it's in high priced Maui!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.