About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sansei Kihei - Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
Sansei Kihei - Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Authentic (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (12)
Healthy (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Family Style (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Romantic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best sushi place I have been so far, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

The best sushi place I have been so far, great food with good ambiance :) Just the perfect place I was looking for!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There was no order to the meal. Food ca ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

There was no order to the meal. Food came out as it was prepared. We got our entrees before the appetizers. A way around this is to make separate orders, as the food is made very quickly. Overall, a good place to eat. The sashimi was good quality and large variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was mediocre and was not as goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was mediocre and was not as good as a highly rated restaurant based on the reviews that I have read. I expected good quality sashimi grade and that is not what I received. The service was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We traveled far to come here on a recomm ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We traveled far to come here on a recommendation and it was worth it. I made a reservation which I recommend. Happy hour is 25% off which is good as the rolls are a little higher priced.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual Sansei delivers with good inter ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 29, 2016

As usual Sansei delivers with good interesting food , always a favorite of ours in Maui

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large, creative menu. Food was excellent ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Large, creative menu. Food was excellent. Service just okay. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

waiter didn't listen to our questions re ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

waiter didn't listen to our questions regarding the menu. we were on a family vacation. quite disappointed actually w the dining experience and culinary selection / presentation / taste. wouldn't be on the top of my list of restaurants to recommend to family / friends and colleagues when they vacation in maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Delicious every time.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. Crab ramen is fa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and service. Crab ramen is fantastic. The background music seems out of place; more like it's for the staff's benefit than for the guests.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, fresh and very tasty. Afford ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food, fresh and very tasty. Affordable prices and fast, friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Butterfish preparation is something ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Butterfish preparation is something to die for, sushi has a dintinct twist. Its was 2nd time on our 2nd trip to Maui, definetely revisiting on our next trip

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lived up to expectations- loved the sush ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Lived up to expectations- loved the sushi - lots of options - house white was ok too

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been dining at Sansei for years. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been dining at Sansei for years. My sons request to frequent this establishment for any reason under the sun. Recently, Ive seen many changes. Unfortunately it isn't positive. The hostess are overwhelmed and rude customers flock to the early bird dining. This makes for a rushed experience. The food was ok, not great, can't put my finger on it. Maybe its because we waited so long for some dishes that our appetite was lost. We were seated in a section with other families and the waitstaff had to attend to MANY children at once. Maybe staggering the seating would be best.

I think it will be some time before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a good place to get sushi!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a good place to get sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I ate here 4 years ago and really loved ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I ate here 4 years ago and really loved the sushi, but on this most recent visit I found the food somewhat disappointing. There was nothing bad or wrong with the food, but it also was not what I was anticipating. Great service, prompt food delivery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I had heard of Sensei for months. Every ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I had heard of Sensei for months. Everything I was told is TRUE! This is the best sushi I have ever had. The presentations are exotic and original. We sat at the sushi bar - best place if it's just you a couple of others. Instant service from the sushi chef (if that's what you call them). The staff is friendly and available and accommodating. If you are on Maui, this is a MUST!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Butter fish & uni appetizers outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Butter fish & uni appetizers outstanding; spider roll very good; server was knowledgeable, attentive & excellent; pricey eatery.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and great service. Great for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food and great service. Great for groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sushi was mediocre at best. I would go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Sushi was mediocre at best. I would go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food. Highly recommend this place

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food. Highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm not someone who is usually a big fan ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I'm not someone who is usually a big fan of sushi but heard great things about this restaurant while on vacation in Maui and decided it would be a great time to try it - and it did not disappoint! Honestly one of the best meals I've ever had. We got the Panko Crusted Ahi Roll, the Crunchy Sansei Shrimp Tempura Roll (chef special that night) and a Rainbow Roll and all were delicious, particularly the former. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Glory was helpful with good ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our server, Glory was helpful with good recommendations. Great meal and very busy place filled with locals.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The tables were too close together. Nee ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The tables were too close together. Needed a bit more privacy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love their dragonfly roll & the steak! S ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Love their dragonfly roll & the steak! Steak was better than Ruth's Chris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every meal we have had at Sansei has bee ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Every meal we have had at Sansei has been incredible. The service is prompt and friendly, and there are plenty of options on the menu. We made a reservation, and we were seated immediately in our chosen section. I love tasty cocktails, and in my opinion, the cocktails at Sansei are not as great as the food, so we tend to stick with soda or tea -- the beer and sake are great, though. Overall, we have never been disappointed with our meal at Sansei and return as often as possible -- which is convenient because we live only a few miles away.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place, nice staff, great food! No ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great place, nice staff, great food! Noisy because it is busy and therefore popular!! Making reservation is a must!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bennett is incredible, and the food is s ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Bennett is incredible, and the food is so, so good. Our favorite on Maui. Wish you would come to Park City, Utah.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was almost comical how bad our visit ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 20, 2016

It was almost comical how bad our visit was to Sansei. We arrived at opening, and were seated against the wall, between two very large, loud parties (despite the rest of the restaurant being empty, including a number of seats by the windows). Our table wobbled heavily so we used the drink menu to stabilize the table, which was later ripped away by our waitress even after we explained.

The samosas were okay, and the wasabi miso salmon my husband ordered was good. However, the combination sushi plate and mango crab roll was honestly the worst sushi I've ever had. It was dry and without flavor. I've had better grocery store sushi. I couldn't even finish most of the pieces, and our waitress never asked why I left more than half of it on the plate.

This was the only bad meal we've had on Maui. It was incredibly disappointing since we were celebrating our honeymoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Love the food and the early discounted p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Love the food and the early discounted prices.

Excellent and knowledgable wait people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was fast and attentive. Recepti ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was fast and attentive. Reception area was crowded and confusing upon arrival. Our reservation was quickly honored after I made it up to the desk. Seating seemed a little crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Nothing special. Sushi was adequate, se ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Nothing special. Sushi was adequate, service was slow despite a slow night, and pricing was too high for what we were getting.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent meal and waiter. Great variety ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Excellent meal and waiter. Great variety of sushi and sashimi. Tried their award winners and all four we tried were excellent. A very relaxed atmosphere and a great waiter contributed to a wonderful dinning experience. They also stock a good selection of local beer. Overall a winner!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing food ... enough said!!! It does ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing food ... enough said!!! It doesn't matter that I have eaten here many times over. Each time is like a first as the expectation is met with dish after dish!!

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was great. First bottle of sake tas ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Food was great. First bottle of sake tasted off. Waiter immediately took it back and brought new one. Service was outstanding. Fried calamari shared as appetizer best we've ever had. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

sansei was recommended to us by a maui l ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

sansei was recommended to us by a maui local and we loved our meal there. very creative and unusual sushi and the fish was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took some mainland family and they re ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We took some mainland family and they really enjoyed it . We had pupus and dinner. Everything was so good. Waiter was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Healthy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good, but the waiter was not at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was good, but the waiter was not attentive- and not in an island laid back not attentive, but as in forgetting to bring water, take orders and bring out the sushi all at the same time not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Really good meal - definitely will come ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Really good meal - definitely will come back. Calamari with subtle, tasty Japanese sauce. Sashimi was extremely fresh and yummy. Also ordered the Issei sushi combo - just the right variety of sushi with rolls.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not the best sushi but ok. We tried 5 di ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not the best sushi but ok. We tried 5 dishes and none were outstanding. Very disappointed in our seating/table. We reserved on open table 4 days in advance and were seated right next to kitchen in the back of restaurant. Clearly the worst and loudest, most highly trafficked table in the house. It was obvious this restaurant doesn't care about open table customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

The service was excellent. The meal was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was excellent. The meal was served at a great pace. We even had leftovers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.