About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Kihei ›

Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Groups (36)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Kid-friendly (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Hot Spot (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good, but the waiter was not at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, but the waiter was not attentive- and not in an island laid back not attentive, but as in forgetting to bring water, take orders and bring out the sushi all at the same time not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Really good meal - definitely will come ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really good meal - definitely will come back. Calamari with subtle, tasty Japanese sauce. Sashimi was extremely fresh and yummy. Also ordered the Issei sushi combo - just the right variety of sushi with rolls.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not the best sushi but ok. We tried 5 di ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not the best sushi but ok. We tried 5 dishes and none were outstanding. Very disappointed in our seating/table. We reserved on open table 4 days in advance and were seated right next to kitchen in the back of restaurant. Clearly the worst and loudest, most highly trafficked table in the house. It was obvious this restaurant doesn't care about open table customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

The service was excellent. The meal was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was excellent. The meal was served at a great pace. We even had leftovers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The nori on the sushi was chewy and gumm ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The nori on the sushi was chewy and gummy. Service was nothing special and they never did bring me the fork I asked for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I honestly don't know why Sansei has suc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I honestly don't know why Sansei has such great reviews, other than the fact that it's inexpensive. The quality of the fish was poor, and our server was less than pleasant. If you're on vacation and are looking forward to a nice evening with good sushi, make reservations elsewhere. I was honestly concerned about food poisoning due to the really fishy smell of our sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Our waiter Nick, made the night that muc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our waiter Nick, made the night that much more special. Very attentive, his recommendation was on spot and the speed of service was great. I had the Cracked Peppercorn Grilled New York Steak and my wife had the Grilled Hawaiian Ahi and Sansei's Award Wining Shrimp Cake. Both were awesome. Not to mention the Spicy Tuna Dragon Roll.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is az amazing sushi restaurant. I l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is az amazing sushi restaurant. I loved the special rolls, they are really creative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Nissei Sushi Combo was great (I love ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My Nissei Sushi Combo was great (I love sushi), and there were tons of other options for my friends that didn't like raw. Everyone loved their food, especially the tempura (every type).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Sansei was outstanding. Serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food at Sansei was outstanding. Service was great and friendly as well. I'd definitely return to get some more of their creative and authentic Japanese cuisine. The miso butterfish was out of this world.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of top 3 fish places in Maui. An ove ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of top 3 fish places in Maui. An overwhelming menu hard to decide what you want, every kind of sushi roll you can imagine. Prices high but standard Maui and not as high as the other two. Service good and food came promptly. Desserts are good the fresh guava sorbet was particularly good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although ostensibly a sushi restaurant, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Although ostensibly a sushi restaurant, Sansei has a number of highly creative and award-winning appetizers and entrees which it has wisely retained on its menu, year after year, as well as continuously adding and expanding its entree options. Its sashimi is both local and of incredible freshness and quality, and all I can say is - keep on bringing the hamachi! And the kampachi! And the salmon dynamite!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh. It's a chain. It tastes like a ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Meh. It's a chain. It tastes like a chain. It looks like a chain.

The crab soup with noodles was very good. The sushi we ordered was good, but nothing special. I wouldn't say don't go there, but I couldn't say I'd recommend it either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We absolutely love this place. Sansei is ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We absolutely love this place. Sansei is our go to whenever we come to Maui. The best tasting sushi, sashimi and great Hawaiian food. And great prices and service. We have never gone wrong coming to Sansei. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is great!! Had the Tempura Praw ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food is great!! Had the Tempura Prawns special and three delicious rolls!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

A little pricey but good mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A little pricey but good mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sansei was amazing! Their specialty roll ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Sansei was amazing! Their specialty rolls were on point! Fairly priced, delicious food and awesome ambiance! Definitely going back here while in Maui!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to go to this restaurant ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were excited to go to this restaurant on our vacation, but, unfortunately, this was our only bad experience dining on Maui. We made a reservation for 7pm and arrived on time, but we not seated until 20 minutes later, which we dismissed at first as a minor inconvenience. However, the service continued to be slow and inattentive. The first roll was brought out quickly, but then we waited 40 minutes for the rest of our rolls. The sushi was falling apart for the most part and wasn't great, our dirty plates remained on the table for a long time and we never got the ginger that we asked for. The waitress or the restaurant didn't seem particularly busy. Overall, we left disappointed, especially given the more than average price we paid for our sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I eat there twice a week! It's always GR ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I eat there twice a week! It's always GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the experience I was hoping for. I b ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Not the experience I was hoping for. I believe there are some definite die hard fans of this place, judging by how far in advance we had to book reservations and line up on the day. Online I found they had great menu's for gluten free, and vegan options (which we required). The service was great, as was the atmosphere. I had it in my mind that being so close to ocean would mean really great sushi, but suspect that most of my fish has to be shipped in as it's probably not local to Hawaii. So nothing too special there, but way more expensive than back home! Things really started falling apart when we had to start picking fish eggs out of the "vegan" maki. At that point the starts to question everything.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ate at most of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We ate at most of the best restaurants in the Wailea area and this was recommended as one of the best sushi places and it was excellent. Very low key place in Kihei that has great food and great service. The service was some of the fastest I ever recall and the food was great, whole family loved each of the plates, sashimi was very fresh. It was the only restaurant for which we returned twice. Definite thumbs up!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sensei is Stunning!!! We've been going f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sensei is Stunning!!! We've been going for 10+ years and it's amazingly freshest bestest sushi on Maui. Tip:; Do some homework Research on Yelp ahead of time to figure your dishes it's a vast menu and Yelp is awesome with photos!! Wish you forever continued success---management service and ambience is super-deserving of 10/10 accolades. Many mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was attentive. Staff was nice..sh ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Waiter was attentive. Staff was nice..shrimp dynamite was fantastic and so was the butterfish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were a little hesitant at first... we ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were a little hesitant at first... we are not big sushi fans, but I picked this resaurant because if offers more than just sushi. It seems like a "hole in the wall" type place, but they are often the best and this was THE BEST AHI TUNA I ever had! Our waitress recommended two appetizers that were delicious (SANSEI’S LOBSTER & BLUE CRAB RAVIOLI and the SANSEI’S MANGO CRAB SALAD HAND ROLL)!

My husband ordered SHICHIMI SEARED SALMON AND TIGER PRAWN for his entree and it was Very Good. I ordered GRILLED HAWAIIAN AHI AND SANSEI’S AWARD WINNING SHRIMP CAKE and it was amazing!!! The chili-lime butter made that dish!

I would definitely recommend this restaurant, there is something on the menu for everyone and I do not belive you will be disappointed!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Visiting from the East Coast, and heard ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Visiting from the East Coast, and heard about Sansei on TripAdvisor. My brother got the Dragonfly Roll, and loved it! I got a sushi assortment. The presentation was okay, and the food was really good. I highly recommend the sea water and fresh water eel, which almost melts in your mouth!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Too fast bringing the meal. Totally ru ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Too fast bringing the meal. Totally rushed. We had 9 fishes on the table at one time. Would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The best part was the dessert! Apple tar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The best part was the dessert! Apple tart with lapperts vanilla ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The place gets very busy and reservation ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The place gets very busy and reservations are a must. It has a full bar and a nice sushi selection. Food was fantastic and the fish was very fresh. On the downside, the place is not what I would call upscale and the only view is to a very busy street. In addition you will be seating very close to other people so depending on your luck, it might feel like family style communal table dining :-) So come here to eat, not suitable for dates or special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fresh , great tasting rolls and sushi . ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fresh , great tasting rolls and sushi . Gluten free options and will work to make any specialty roll you'd like that not on the menu. Thank you for the new found, "Elly" roll!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As soon as we entered, the noisy, energe ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

As soon as we entered, the noisy, energetic crowd got us excited to be there to celebrate a 50th birthday, 25th birthday and 20th anniversary combined into one. The Sashimi trio was JUST right, and the additional hand rolls complemented our dinners perfectly. One member of our party ordered a variety of sashimi with a miso glaze and that was over the top.

We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super sushi house with some very creativ ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Super sushi house with some very creative selections and specials. Always crowded and it seems like a locals place judging by the long line for happy hour "half priced" sushi and drinks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the watermelon soup, cookies yello ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved the watermelon soup, cookies yellowtail, fish stew and sushi. Chocolate unique dessert was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but it was a little p ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good, but it was a little pricey even with the 25% discount for ordering before 6pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I was surprised at the line outside this ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was surprised at the line outside this restaurant and really expected something special. The service was very good, but the food was less than average. We had sushi and it tasted pre-made and old. There are so many beautiful restaurants on Maui this is not one of them.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was great. Food, service, fri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was great. Food, service, friendly staff, ambience on point

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, best sushi on the island ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was great, best sushi on the island for sure! If you order before 6pm you get 25 percent off!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We only wish we found this restaurant so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We only wish we found this restaurant sooner while on our vacation in Maui. The appetizers were delicious, we especially enjoyed the roasted Japanese eggplant and the tempura sweet potato. The sashimi was the freshest I have ever had, and it melted in your mouth like butter! We loved our meal here! The service was also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! You can tell all ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! You can tell all the local crowd loves this place! The food was wonderful! Our server was very attentive and pleasant! Would definitely return again and again. Food was delicious !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sushi was just okay for being in Hawaii ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Sushi was just okay for being in Hawaii I would have thought it would have been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Really enjoyed the hot sake, Sensei & Ta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Really enjoyed the hot sake, Sensei & Takah sushi rolls. Service was excellent & the meal was a great value. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.