Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 64 times today

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

4.3
1034 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Casual
  • Creative Cuisine
Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 879-0004
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Carl Yeh
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Halelani Pl.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Self Parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1034 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
3.8
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The server was excellent. I sent back the New York peppercorn steak because there were no peppercorns on it. Then the second steak came back with no peppercorn again with a mushroom glaze. It was not what I expected at all. Years ago, they had a very good peppercornn steak. The ‘entrees came out at different times, with much time in between the service of the entree, that were not able to eat together. The sushi bar was extremely slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Great food for the price! We always dine here at least 3 times during our 2 week stay!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Good fresh sushi. Bring your appetite.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Disappointing service. Was seated fairly quickly, and our order was taken right away. Waited a while for our order, and had to remind waitress. I guess she forgot and she finally put our order in. She still missed one of our orders, which I just asked to cancel after waiting so long, but they brought it out anyway at no charge. Sadly, I only had the one order of sushi which didn’t get there until we were ready to leave.

She also took our glasses away to refill our water, and when she brought it back to us she couldn’t remember which glass belonged to who so she just set the glasses on the table and said, “oh well”. 😳

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Excellent. Loved the fresh oysters, but they were expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Go there every year we are here. Luv it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Excellent oysters and a knowledgeable and friendly staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

One of the best Sushi Restaurants we have ever been to. We have been many times and will be back many more!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Recommended by many as the best sushi on the island. Did not disappoint! The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

LOVE every time! We loved our visit, ordered for kids and they were content. Sushi fresh, everything awesome !!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Seems like the servers don't like to work there, no smiles and zero team work. Servers avoid to engage on an other table when customers wave them down. This is NOT a friendly restaurant for tourists.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Everything was great we will be going back way more often

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Nice selection of sushi and great food. Loved the tuna roll in panko. The only thing we didn’t like was calamari which tasted like buffalo wing sauce was poured on it. Good service but server was very busy. They could use more staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Less of a quaint dining experience and more of a fast food feel....like herding cats. Food was decent and service was overwhelmed. Would highly recommend Koiso nearby instead for a fantastic experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Food was ok... everyone for sure over seller this place! It was just ok!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The food is good but inconsistent. I've had great meals and mediocre meals here, ordering the same menu. But overall I keep on going back, it's a nice place. The wine menu is inconsistent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Reserved on open table; was told at the front desk that they don't use it for reservations?? There were 2 lines out front as well, one for reservations and one for walk-ins. Very odd, but the food and service was very good and prices were reasonable. Accommodates food allergies as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Best sushi I’ve ever had, every time I go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The fresh fish was very good but a little on the spendy side. There could have been a better cooked menu. Those who didn't care for raw fish were limited on variety. The staff were professional and very friendly. It was a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Nunes the waiter was excellent he gives exceptional service and I would highly recommend him as your server. “GIVE HIM A RAISE”!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Awesome food, excellent service. Try the tempura shrimp or calamari salad! Exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

As always very good Quality and very consistent. Food was out really fast

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Very disappointing. Ordered my favorite Ahi, not good at all. Ordered their signature desert Apple Tart. Needed a hack saw to cut it. None of us enjoyed our meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Always a great place to eat, regardless of which island one is visiting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Love, love, love the food at Sansei! The super friendly service is an added bonus. Their award winning dishes are to die for! If you like Japanese food and appreciate culinary creativity, you will adore this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great food - LOVE the fried ice cream dessert, specifically came
back again seeking it out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food was delicious and our waiter made the evening even that more pleasurable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Delicious and creative take on Japanese food! Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Mother’s Day/Birthday

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Dinner out with the family...Sansei was dead for a Saturday night surprisingly...it took nearly 10 minutes from the time we were seated for the waiter to stop by and offer us water or drinks...we always order shrimp dynamite and panko crusted ahi...both are flash fried and both were over cooked..the crust was burnt because it was in the oil too long or the oil needed to be changed...food quality at this sensei has slowly declined over the years..so has portion size...the panko crusted ahi was especially skinny...it used to be a thick roll...only when our waiter overheard us complaining about not refilling our glasses did he come back with water...then brought a huge side of wasabi and pickled ginger when we didnt have a sushi roll to use it with...poor experience and the food was substandard...with so many other sushi restaurants on maui, especially in kihei, I think we'll move on from sansei and let them trick the tourists into thinking they're eating good sushi

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Really great sushi and tempura, the folks that work there are super nice and kept up well for such a busy place. We visit Maui once or twice a year, found a favorite restaurant in Sansei.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very good food interesting atmosphere with vibes of happiness and Hawaii

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

It was long time since we dined at Sansei, Kihei and being that it was our anniversary I decided to make reservations for my family, party of 8. At first, I was really impressed with the courtesy call from Melissa to confirm the reservations. Melissa also asked if we needed any booster seats or high chairs and she she said they would have it ready at 7:30pm. I immediately texted my wife and felt really good about dining at Sansei, Kihei. However, that was the beginning and ending of the service.
When we arrived, Melissa remembered my party. I saw that our table was set for us except the booster seat and high chair was not ready yet. So we waited for a minute. No big deal I thought.
We arranged ourselves with the 2 babies and started to look over the menu. Our orders were 3 New York steaks, 1 Sansei Seafood Pasta, Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura, 2- Ramen Noodles(Keiki menu) and drinks.
There are three areas I critique restaurants on; ambiance, service and food.
1). Ambiance was exactly what I expected. Japanese sushi restaurant. Dark however warm! I nice feel. Slightly loud however it was in the middle of dinner hours and it is a sushi bar. I didn’t like the alcohol sports bar. I think that kind of took away from it being a nice family restaurant.
2) Service was below par. However, Melissa was impressive with her courtesy phone call to confirm my reservations. Not having the booster chair and high chair ready was a let down especially after such a wonderful phone service from Melissa. After bringing our entree’s the server didn’t come by once to check on us or refilling our drinks especially when she kept walking by our table and she could easily glance at our empty cups. It wasn’t until we sat for awhile after eating that she then brought the check and I had to ask her to refill our drinks.
3) Food was not anything to say wow! I was a bit disappointed with the lack of seasoning on the Peppercorn New York Steak. It was quite bland. The Seafood Past

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The service was excellent but we were not blown away by the cuisine. That said, I worked in a traditional sushi restaurant though and my standards are quite high.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Sensei sushi is excellent and very fresh. We have not enjoyed the cooked entrees. Service is brusque, move em in, move em out. Unless, and this is a big unless - you are with a big group ordering lots of food and drink. Then you get great service. For early diners, small appetites it is still worth it for terrific fresh sushi, sashimi and rolls but not for the atmosphere or service. No view but a very lively bar scene.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our favorite sushi in Maui. Always stellar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Very enjoyable family meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Fresh and delicious. Attentive service; and the food was truly outstanding!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

One of our favorite places to eat in Kihei. Go before 6pm and get 25% off. Can't beat that deal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Great sushi and it was very reasonable prices

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26