About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Local Ingredients (24)
See All
Authentic (23)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Fun (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Family Style (14)
Healthy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vegan (5)
Tapas (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every year we come here, always great fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Every year we come here, always great food and fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sansi always has great sushi and tempura ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Sansi always has great sushi and tempura. We got there before 6 and got discount on drinks and menu items.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience to eat here. M ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great experience to eat here. Melt in your mouth fresh sushi, interesting flavour combinations, & great specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The sushi was average. The best dish wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

The sushi was average. The best dish was the apple dessert. Omg delish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We went to Sansei for Valentine's Day an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Sansei for Valentine's Day and the service was great. I would say the quality was good, but about your standard sushi restaurant. Nothing mind-blowing. I would recommend it if you're in the area and looking for a good bite.

Tags: Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very enjoyable experience. Always good ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. Always good food and great service. We ate at SansrI 2x in 3 days.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our favorite sushi place on the island! ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our favorite sushi place on the island! We come once or twice every time we visit Maui!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Menu prices were fair, though some dishe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Menu prices were fair, though some dishes were better than others. Our favourite was the lobster & blue crab ravioli. Place was busy and lively and our server was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Overall food was great, was recommended ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall food was great, was recommended by a friend of ours and the place didn't disappoint. Sushi tasted fresh and great fried ice cream!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy Sansei for their fresh f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We always enjoy Sansei for their fresh fish and Sushi. Good service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious! The firecracker shrimp, Ahi T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Delicious! The firecracker shrimp, Ahi Tuna roll, Butterfish and Miso Soup was perfect for two and it was all great!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great meal/ My wife felt a bit ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a great meal/ My wife felt a bit rushed. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sansei's is our favorite "fancy" restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Sansei's is our favorite "fancy" restaurant for a family outing to Maui. They are family/kid friendly, very good service, and have the creative variety of sushi to choose from that we wouldn't do at home. Our grandkids 4-9 yrs old get to choose their own meal plus we share our plates with each each other. It's not inexpensive but well worth the enjoyment the cuisine and staff provides with friendly efficient service.

We were happy to see a Sansei's opened in Seattle where we enjoyed a special family event last summer.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the service was fantastic the Martinis ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

the service was fantastic the Martinis were amazing I can only say this is one of the best sushi places I have ever been

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always the best

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always the best

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We asked some locals for a restaurant su ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We asked some locals for a restaurant suggestion while we were vacationing in Maui. For local flavor and atmosphere they recommended Sansei Seafood. It did not disappoint. All of the food was delicious and looked beautiful. The waitress was attentive and prompt. It was loud because there was a party going on with the owner and friends but it did not change our visit or the delicious food. I would highly recommend this place. It is fine dining and priced accordingly.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a good time, were served very wel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a good time, were served very well and enjoyed the food a lot. The tempura was crisp, the noodle dish savory and the tempura shrimp cooked perfectly. Obviously a popular place for the locals as well as tourists. Aloha sprit was everywhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I always love the food. Service was a li ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I always love the food. Service was a little slow but it was busy so understandable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I love going to Sansei's to get my sushi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I love going to Sansei's to get my sushi fix and my wife can enjoy her favorite foods as well if it's not sushi. They have very flavorful appetizers and entrees. We both love Sansei for Japanese style foods. Also another reason we went was because I got my in-laws a $100 gift card so they can enjoy a nice dinner on their own and I received a $15 gift card from the website when I was making the gift cards. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such amazing Sushi! Our waitress was ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Such amazing Sushi! Our waitress was very helpful! We ate a late dinner and we were in and out in 45 minutes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Welcome here every year when on Maui. Al ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Welcome here every year when on Maui. Always tasty!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've been here several times and the fo ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We've been here several times and the food is always FABULOUS!!! We look forward to coming back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great quality and value in a happy and h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

great quality and value in a happy and hospitable environment

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Spicy, Family Style, , Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great option while on the island. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Such a great option while on the island. Something for everyone. The pork chop is my favorite though I can never finish it all.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their dishes are the most succulent, sat ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Their dishes are the most succulent, satisfying, creative ones anywhere. They totally exemplify "umami. " and it's great they offer early bird discounts for those appetites are bigger than their wallets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

It's just so good: the food, the service ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It's just so good: the food, the service, the value. Just say yes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hard benches at the table. But the servi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Hard benches at the table. But the service and food make up for them. Panko ahi roll was amazing. The crab ramen with truffle broth was equally amazing. Calamari salad ditto. Teriyaki beef ditto. They have found the sweet spot of combining all the tastes but especially umami. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful date with fantastic fresh sush ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful date with fantastic fresh sushi, great options for all types of rolls and cocktails. Our server was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. We were also very p ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was great. We were also very pleased with the service. Wonderful neighborhood restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My friends & I really enjoyed eating out ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My friends & I really enjoyed eating out at Sansei. Great food & great service went well with many laughs and a friendly environment. Great selection on the menu for food & drinks for everybody and child & family friendly. I strongly would recommend Sansei to a friend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good value. noisy. some dishes bett ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

very good value. noisy. some dishes better than others. raw fish

sushi was good

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

This one of our go to places in Kihei fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This one of our go to places in Kihei for sushi. Always friendly service. Great to have Open Table to use for reservations. So convenient!

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic, unique food! Was very satisfi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic, unique food! Was very satisfied with the food. However, our sushi appetizer came with the meal when we were hoping to have it beforehand. Service was quick!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only negative was that we were seated on ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Only negative was that we were seated on the stage where the band sets up. Lighting was poor, making it difficult to read the menu. Otherwise, everything else was truly enjoyed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dependable great sushi. Always a highlig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dependable great sushi. Always a highlight of our trip. Lucky to have a location in Kihei. Ordered a second miso butter fish as it was so delicious.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was informative, friendly and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The server was informative, friendly and professional. The food was presented nicely and the ingredients were fresh and tasty. We have dined here in the past when visiting Maui and will continue to do so.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great tasting food and excellent prompt ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great tasting food and excellent prompt

service, will be back next time in Maui

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Japanese food. Superb ingredi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent Japanese food. Superb ingredients. Would go there any time.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic & Funtastic I have been coming ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fantastic & Funtastic I have been coming to this restaurant for 15 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food was the Brussels sprouts and g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best food was the Brussels sprouts and green bean appetizers! Fish was overlooked. Desserts were bad. Should have stayed with sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.