Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (39)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Authentic (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Fun (17)
Healthy (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Spicy (8)
Tapas (8)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (6)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 15 hours ago

Always great! A must when in Maui. I normally go to the Kapalua location. First time at the Kihei. The ambiance in Kapalua is better, but it's easier to get a reservation in Kihei.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, amazing food, great sunset, an overall great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

FOOD WAS DELICIOUS, THE WAITRESS WAS VERY ATTENTIVE, THE FOOD CAME QUICKLY. EVERYONE ENJOYED THEMSELVES.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Dinner with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good seafood at reasonable price outside the usual resort restaurants. Lively and a bit noisy. Good service.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We have been to the location in Kapalua many times, so when we had a conference at the Marriott in Wailea we thought it would be great to try this location. We had dinner there both Wed and Thursday night and stayed late Thursday for the Karaoke. The service was great and this location was a little less crowded than Kapalua usually is. I highly recommend either location and love all the sushi there. Every time that we have visited a Sansei the fish is very fresh and itr is our favorite Sushi spot on the planet. Go and if they have any O'Toro eat it up... ha ha

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Love the Butterfly Roll which is Salmon, Crab, fresh Shiromi and Veggies in a crisp-fried Panko-crusted Sushi Roll, served with tangy Ponzu sauce and the PANKO-CRUSTED FRESH AHI SASHIMI is my FAVORITE, served in a soy butter wasabi sauce that is very unique and spectacular. This is one of my favorite places to eat, never disappointed and always leave stuffed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Tapas, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great sushi, fresh, innovative menu and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was our 9th wedding anniversary celebration. Our reservation was at 7pm and we were seated promptly, but tucked all the way in the back near the kitchen. I believe this is where they seat their customers with little children. This is an observation I made as we were surrounded by other families with little ones. Our server did not smile once. Seemed very stoic or not interested in serving us. The specials were not mentioned until my husband finally asked him. After a few minutes of looking through the menu, we put in our order for the panko crusted ahi sashimi, shrimp dynamite, crab Ramen with truffle broth, a 69 roll, and Shrimp tempura from the Keiki menu. All, but the keiki tempura plate was served at a timely manner (about a 15-20 min wait). By the time we were done with our entrees, the tempura was still not served. Finally, our server retuned and I had asked him to cancel the order. He seemed very annoyed and stormed into the kitchen. I have never seen this type of behavior at a restaurant before. He returned shortly and said they were currently plating the Keiki tempura. Again, I told him to cancel the order as it was already too late and our meals were shared with my 4 year who had originally ordered the tempura plate. Because it was our anniversary, we decided to end our dinner with a sweet treat. We ordered the Tempura fried Mac nut ice cream, which we had later regretted because it took about 20 minutes to receive it. Overall, the food was delicious, but the service was very poor and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent sushi! Food was very fresh and came quickly. Service was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

I was disappointed because most of the sushi rolls were cooked

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Never disappoints! The butterfish is a must every time with the way it melts in your mouth. And the sangria is delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This place gets busy but if you are staying in Wailea and want good and non resort priced sushi this is the place

We were staying at the Four Seasons and 2 sushi rolls were $52 and tasted like airport quality , Sansei fed 3 of us and it was fresh tasty and definitely good back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Service from waitress was very good.
Sushi "chef" Jessie looked uninterested and was not very welcoming. Sushi itself was mediocre, this place is for tourists not for guests who what sushi is. Please hire sushi chefs who know how to make sushi and who actually want to be there. Restaurant is not very clean, sushi bar was sticky and I saw rice and edamame under the chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great fusion Japanese resto. Has a kids menu so kid friendly! Happy hour 25% discount is the best!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Just ok. Nothing to write home about . Could use more creativity and personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Having never been here before, we expected the usual looking through the menu to try and find something a bit different, but there was no need! Nicole introduced herself and gave us an in-depth rundown of the menu with tips galore! She was so sweet and helpful and had all the time in the world for us. We opted for most of the specials - the Hawaiian Rainbow Roll and Panko crusted ahi are both not to be missed! Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Sansei is one of our favorite on Maui. During a 7-day stay on the island, we normally go at least three times. This past August, our dning experience was below marginal. The Panko Crusted Ahi had only four pieces - normally six and the Ahi with the shrimp cake entree, the Ahi was totally overdone. We brought it up to the attention of the waitress but there was no offer to fix the issue - disappointing.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great variety on the easy to read & understand menu, service was excellent & our New York guests thoroughly enjoyed it. You can go back there multiple times & order different things each time. We love it here!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The ahi collar was very good. Sashimi is fine (we had the local fish sashimi), but I definitely expected something more special in both quality and presentation. A noisy place, just be aware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Creat fish! Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was the best food I've ever had. Please don't take my revue lightly. I am a huge sushi lover and this is the BEST I've ever had. Trust the waitress on recommendations and have a good time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Quality of the sushi was very disappointing. We have been going here for over 10 years, and something has definitely changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Pleasant waiter, very familiar with menu, tasty food, quick service. Chef should condense menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food was ok. The price was too expensive for what u get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Unfortunately it was a very disappointing evening. The service was terrible and our sushi smelled and tasted fishy. I won't go back to the Kihei location, but will visit Kapalua again and our experience there has always been very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

They are awesome....great food....great quality.... Service was on point .....a must too experience

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. Nice atmosphere. The calamari, ahi and maui maui are out of this world!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Late-night Find, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The panko crusted Ahi roll was awesome with the poke equally good. The hoisin ginger duck breast was top notch with a smoked flavor and tender, moist duck breast meat. All around great restaurant. We also got a dish with the shrimp cake which was different but surprisingly good.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always a great spot for great Japanese style food with a Pacific fusion influence. Sunset maintains its classic specialties yet elaborates on new styles and influences. A casual eatery with great food. A little pricier than some but we'll worth the cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This was our first time and Maui and we were recommended to eat here and it was everything we were told. FRESH, TASTY and some unique chef offerings. We will definitely eat on our next trip and recommend to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Absolutely love all items on their menu, when you have a special request or a food allergy they are very conscious and we're sure to make it as you asked . Has to be my all-time favorite sushi establishment !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The last time we ate at Sansei, I was not too happy because we had to wait so long for a table, after not being able to get in on the Sunday half price seating. This time, I made a reservation for a party of 6 (no reservations for the half price seating time), so waited about 5 min to be seated. The place is clean and our server was excellent! The food was pretty tasty, of good quality, and decent amount of food, but a little pricey. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and our meals, and will definitely return again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Over all an okey dinner. The lighting set up was very very inconvenient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We love Sansei and go multiple times each time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed the butterfry roll and the Ahi tuna roll, rainbow and the edamame appetizer. Our waitress was very pleasant and knowledgeable of the menu choices and daily specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

If you visit Maui Sansei is a MUST! They are more that a sushi restaurant. The menu has excellent sushi options, traditional and very creative, there is also steak, chicken, salads and noodle dishes as well as a kids menu. Be certain to make a reservation EARLY, both the Kihei and Kapalua locations are extremely popular with tourists and locals alike.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 27, 2017

It was my friends first time at Sansei's. She's usually one to find little things to complain about, but she really had nothing to whine about. We both really enjoyed our dinner and look forward to eventually trying everything on the menu! Sushi is very fresh and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.