Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (44)
Casual (40)
Local Ingredients (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Authentic (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Fun (19)
Healthy (16)
Family Style (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Spicy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great Beer (5)
Cozy (5)
Vegan (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tapas (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice experience. Enjoyed the food immensely. We were a party of four. Had the eggplant, tempura asparagus, and ravioli for appetizers. All of those were great. Unfortunately, one of the ordered entrees came out about 30 after all the others. The restaurant graciously took that off our bill. Chocolate lava cake for dessert was tremendous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We come here at least two times per trip. We love it. Our waiter was great, he knows the menu like the back of his hand and gave great advice on what to have. Menu is pretty standard for a sushi place. The great thing is they don't have some wild rolls that look cool but taste crappy. Food is always great. We will be back again before we leave.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 21, 2017

great food service an atmosphere highly recommended. love this place

Tags: Tasting Menu, Spicy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 20, 2017

food was terrible, salty, not fresh, etc. server was good so that brought my overall rating to a fair, otherwise it would be poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Whenever I am in Maui this is the only restaurant I make reservations before I leave for my trip.
Their famous Ahi Tuna Panto crusted menu item is the best thing on the menu!
The tempura is light and not greasy. My friend who had never been before was hesitant to try the Rainbow Roll but she says it's the best she's ever had and we live in a city who knows how to make sushi.
I always made reservations for the earliest time as it saves you 25% off for happy hour. Get your order in quickly and we had all our food in ten minutes! Amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I just love the Service every time we come here and the Food is awesome. Karaoke is a Plus. That's why we love coming here. Highly recommended for a get together or a Date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Spicy, Family Style, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have been making Sansei a regular part of our Maui dining for at least the last 5 years. It is consistently excellent, never disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Best sushi ever...anywhere.
Early bird discounts are incredible deals!
Love this place....pinko seared Ahi is just unbelievable!!!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Even though Sansei has several locations on several Hawaiian islands, they manage to keep up a very high quality standard. The waiters and waitresses are very friendly and helpful, which enhances your dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hamachi Kama, sushi, and service was excellent as expected!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were greeted very nicely by our waitress and she was very helpful with her recommendations and the amount we should order for a party of three. Great service!
The food was amazing and I will certainly come back next time we are in Maui!
Excellent food and service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Sansei is our favorite sushi restaurant. We stop in Maui on our way to Molokai just to eat at Sansei. Can't get fresher sushi than this! Love Love Love their sushi!

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The service was terrific and the food was even better--fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Enjoyed the fresh sushi and one entree, seared ahi with shrimp cake. I ordered the sushi and my husband the entree but they came out at (very) different times so we just shared. No complaints though as good and service was good otherwise. I made a reservation just a couple hours before going and were seated right away (there were people waiting for tables). Overall a place I would recommend and return to!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A sushi place in a strip center. Don't let that stop you. Everything we tried was very good; the special of the night was a Fresh Catch over veggies; simple, but very nice flavors. Staff very attentive (water glass never empty); Server knew the menu inside and out. Seemed like a lot of locals were there---always a sign of a good place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

awesome food, great service all around excellent. Highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was fantastic! The Butterfish was out of this world. Shaylee was an excellent server who made the experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Our rolls were just average. We had heard many great things about the reataurant which always mentioned Happy Hour, so maybe that was the appeal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food and even better service. Interesting sushi choices but the traditional was great too

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This was the best overall dining experience we have had in Hawaii. It was a lovely evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Not quite as nice on the inside as the Kapalua location but the food was just as excellent! Great alternative to Wailea.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a house special appetizer with himachi it was awesome. Our daughter ordered a special roll it was great. I ordered a soft shell crab roll which I didn't enjoy at all. The batter was dry/soggy and not fresh. It seemed as though the deep fried crab was made in the morning and sat until dinner. Unfortunately my husbands beer had a clam In it likely due to bad dish washing. Our server was very taken back and did bring us another beer which also had particulars in the beer. Finally another choice was made and we had clear beer. We always visit sansei when on Maui we will again however this visit was disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great sushi and drinks!

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Exceptionally great food, creative combinations, fresh, consistent and fast preparation. Proof you don't have to go high end to have a memorable meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The TV commercial really made the food look great. Once we were there and ordered it looked completely different. Won't be somewhere I will go. Very very overpriced with no service.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Awesome! Sansei is one of my Husband and I favorite places to eat. The service and food is great everytime!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Although the Foie Gras Nigiri Sushi arrived cold on the table (it was resolved to our satisfaction) the dinner experience is always something to look forward to. Great variety of food to choose from. We were guests at this restaurant since it was opened about 14 years ago, and the fact that the food is as good today as it was then, proves that continuity and quality is always important.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We love the Kapalua location. We tried Kihei as we could get in via Open Table and had a party of 5. The server was less than attentive and acted as if he was bothered to have to deal with our table. We were really disappointed with how loud and open feeling it felt in this location. Really disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was a good meal and very child friendly. I preferred the sansei in kapalua to this location in Kihei. The kapalua location had a better ambiance, food and overall experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Brussels sprout special was amazing. I need to figure out how to make these as I don't live in Hawaii. Everything we ordered was very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was just awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a great dinner. The 5:30 pm seating offers the benefit of a substantial discount on meals from the regular menu. We took advantage of that and wow...we saved huge. The quality of the food is superb. With a bottle of cold Christal saki. Must try: Mongo Crab roll...for four should order two servings. The spicy sauce is great. We also tried panco crusted tuna. Another must is miso treated black cod...wow/ Also ate trio of sashimi. Fresh and tasty. There is a huge selection to enjoy. Service is friendly and very responsive. Recommend reservation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Fun experience tasting different types of dishes - bit pricey on the tallyup though

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Nice for family or friends groups. Friendly service.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Every time we go the food is delicious. This time, the service was slow with a mix up on who was serving us. Instead of just going with the first waitress who took our drink orders, we sat around waiting to order until the right waitress got around to taking our order. She also failed to check back with us resulting in less rolls being ordered. The last negative was we had to wait for the check as well. Food A+. Service, not so much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even though we had a reservation we still had to wait about half hour to be seated.
Our waiter Brian was exceptional in personality, and service .
The food was amazing with the perfect sauces for each dish including desert.
I did think putting one shrimp on the entree of salmon and shrimp was a bit stingy but all the flavors were there.
This is certainly a do again place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sansei is a "go to " restaurant when you want something other than the usual steak, chicken, or fish, but you do need reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Every year we come here, always great food and fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was not good as I expected, especially miso soup. It was no good, just salty and tasted like using too much miso in hot water. Needless to say, I couldn't consume it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Sansi always has great sushi and tempura. We got there before 6 and got discount on drinks and menu items.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.