Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 57 times today

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

4.3
987 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Groups
Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 879-0004
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Carl Yeh
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Halelani Pl.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Self Parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 987 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
3.8
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

All was excellent with meal except do not ruin good fish with a thick hard crusty tasteless panko! Otherwise food would have been 5 stars!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

We love Sansei, we’ve been to the one in Kapalua many times, this was our first time dining in the Kihei location. Food was amazing, as always. We always share a hot dish and sushi, because we can never choose what to get. Great way to try a little of everything. The only thing that was a bummer, was that our server was either slammed or she didn’t care that much. She wasn’t mean, or did anything wrong, but she was just going through the motions. The kitchen must have been slammed as it took 30 minutes to order a few pieces of nigiri, and a roll. But the other items came out within a reasonable time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Overall, I think this was a 3.5 star dining experience. The food was good (albeit a bit pricey), while the service and ambiance were both alright. If you want a “hole-in-the-wall” sushi experience, then this is a good option.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food, flavor, and fast service. As in most things in Maui, it's on the pricier range of meals, but if you're looking for good sushi and fish - this is a good place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Friendly service, love the sushi, Always leaving the restaurant satisfied!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Some of the best sushi i have eaten anywhere - but especially here on maui. They aim to please - service is excellent - quality is top notch. Its a real treat if you appreciate the best quality. Weve been going to sensai for many years and we will continue. A couple of helpful notes.. do make reservations!! Early bird discounts are great - but speciality rolls are not part of the discount. They often have daily specials and they change seasonally - a sign of truly great restaurant - Its fairly low key (no fancy clothes required) and family friendly - but do be courteous to those around you and take screaming children outside.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

good food, atmosphere always seems hectic, server was pleasant and attentative

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Very fast efficient service. The sushi came quickly. We got the sushi combo, ramen noodle soup, and shrimp tempura and rice. The food was typical and good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Dining at Sansei's is always fantastic. The server knew the menu extremely well and was very helpful in pairing sake to our sushi choices

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

First time for us. We will definitely go again! A little loud but great for any occasion or just to eat.
Excellent service and they even catered to my wife's picky tastes!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Sashimi special was awesome, but otherwise unimpressed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We ordered the Dynamite Shrimp, Sashimi special, and Dragonfly Roll. All were superb! Make sure to save room for the fried ice cream! Worth every bite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great Sushi and service

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Food was okay but not as "outstanding" as we were hoping for given the exorbitant prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great meal!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Awesome food and suggestions by server Bryan! He was very patient with our two boys ages 9 and 11. May come back and eat again this trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

we asked our server to make our food choices... he rocked it!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went for Easter Brunch on our last day on the island. I called and verified the reservation twice. When we showed up the waitress was pretty rude and basically

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Sensei is one of my all time favorite restaurants. It never fails to be fabulous!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We were in a big hurry to catch a flight and the staff was unwilling to accommodate us. After close to an hour of waiting we had to take it in the car to go and eat it on the way to the airport. That said, the sushi was great. So the overall review — food was terrific, staff not so much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The shrimp dynamite always awesome. Tried the crab ramen for the first time and loved it. My fave ramen ever.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Service was great, so glad we had a reservation! I had high hopes, but the food was just OK.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Been here a couple of times. Totally missed our appetizer of edamame. Hot rolls came out first..just Ok . Panko sushi roll was delicious. When we asked about our edamame we were offered a dessert, which we did and was charged for it....so not great...sorry Steve, didn’t provide the best service or experience. Probably won’t come back in future as so many other good options in Kihei.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The most amazing tempura ever. And our Ultimate Roll was fantastic. We have great sushi in Seattle and this meal was right up there with the best ever.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Not bad but not great. Place has a weird smell going.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Food was great but not as good as our waitstaff!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

1st time eating here but has been recommended by many. The Nigiri and rolls were great! The one exception was the Octopus. Very fishy and tough....steer clear of this one
Overall good dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

My boyfriend and I have lived on Maui our whole lives and never ate at sanseis before. Finally decided to make a date out of it and we were not disappointed! Server was so funny and recommended great sake for us!! Loved the ahi sashimi and calamari was delicious. We will be back very soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We love the special rolls. Have been coming here for over a decade. Service is almost too fast! Order slowly for a more leisurely experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Unbelievable food, great service! Best sushi we have ever had

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Always great food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We've been wanting to try Sansei for a few years and finally did. We had 4 rolls of the sushi menu (all Sansei originals). We loved them. So good, great wait staff, and the place is always full. Reservation recommended but so worth the wait for us and we really enjoyed everything we tried. Aloha on a plate. A must try when on Maui. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Ordered their specials—-
dragonfly roll- delicious( now on regular sushi menu)
Shrimp Dynamite— lovely shrimp but probably not so necessary
Derp fried Calamari salad — OK
Blue crab hand roll— too goopy — only really disappointment
Panko crusted Ahi roll- - very good !!
Next time- more sushi and sashimi

Our server Brian was terrific——knowledgeable and dear
T’was an easy evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

The first specialty roll on the menu, cannot remember the name, was absolutely FANTASTIC! I ordered mackerel and it was so fresh and divine. Everything from our server to the food was perfect. We are returning tomorrow!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

High volume low quality sushi. Some of it was sent back because the fish was not fresh ... maybe even gone bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Actually ate here twice during our Maui stay. First time both enjoyed their special: ahi tuna topped with a shrimp cake. Unusual and incredible delicious, it turned out to be the most memorable dinner of many excellent ones on this trip. And we had a sunset view. Service was excellent. The restaurant is a bit hard to spot driving down S. Kihei Road; however, watch for it right next to the Foodland grocery store. Reservations are essential. On our second visit we reserved late in the afternoon and were lucky to get one of two remaining openings. This time we another of their specials: duck breast, and again most delicious. If in Maui, don't miss this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Always lovely to come to Sansei when visiting the island. Creative and delicious. Service is friendly and on top of your needs.
Thank you for a great experience for the family and foodies ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

We arrived early and they were super busy but they said they would call us as soon as a table opened up, we didn't have to wait long. It is such great fresh sushi

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Food was awesome!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25