Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Casual (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Authentic (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fun (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Spicy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Family Style (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tapas (5)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Romantic (4)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (0)
Sort By:
S
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a great sushi restaurant for the money. Located in central Kihei, it is very easy to get to for anyone staying on Maui's South side. If the Hawaiian Rainbow Roll is on the night's menu, I suggest it. Also the mango crab hand roll suffices as a tasty salad. Don't hesitate to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

This is always one of our favorite go to spots when we visit the Island. It is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Good as I remember. Restaurant could use a good deep cleaning. Menu has sticky food in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Staff excellent and service was great. Menu was easy to read with an abundance of choices. Friendly orientated restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 18, 2017

It wasn't like it used to be. The prices keeps going up. I get it because of the economy. Foie gras was over cooked for $20 was not worth it. Not sure if we would go back again after that. It's one of the reasons we keep going to Sansei, but this time might be the last. The other dishes were good but it's too pricey now. Glad we got to enjoy them the last 10 years we've been coming to Maui. It's a must for newbie to Maui. I would still recommend it to friends to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Not fine sushi or tempura.
Tempura was over battered, oily, and even had flour not mixed in to batter.
Definitely over priced for sushi for the masses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food & cocktails were really great. Portions were small on signature sushi items. Noisy and not private. Go there every visit. Brian is a great waitperson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Busy night and hostess was pretty cold and unwelcoming. However, once seated, our server was charming and attentive. The sushi was fresh and innovative with a wonderful Hawaiian style. We really enjoyed the Sansei Poke Duo off the chefs special menu. All in all a wonderful evening with friends and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Danielle is my favorite server! Excellent service made my mom special creme brûlée for her birthday! Love this place go at least once a month!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Sansei has been one of the best places for sushi for many years. It is always consistent and high quality. There are several special rolls and the tempura is excellent too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Best meal we had while vacationing in Maui! Fantastically delicious food, wonderful service, and not too expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

made a reservation for 7:15pm.
Got there at 7:10pm.
Hostess barley greeted us. ( why have a hostess if they don't meet and greet and welcome you?
Said we had to wait for 20 mins.
Finally she got a table, never thanked us for waiting passed the reservation time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Decent food - the sashimi was great but the rolls were just ok. We may have just ordered wrong, but we did not like the panko crusted options we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was very good, as usual. Service and seating were in some disarray, probably because we came in just after there 1/2 price seating promotion. Though we had requested a window seat when reserving,upon arrival we were told that the last window seat had been reserved???

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Family dinner stop during our stay at The Grand Wailea. Service was fast and wait staff helpful and attentive. We would go again and recommend for families!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Loved the lobster ravioli
Server was knowledgeable but a bit distracted
Overall nice place

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Nice table. Sushi was unique and excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Food presentation and flavor was exceptional. Service was prompt and courteous and not overbearing or rushed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The Panko-crusted ahi sashimi, rainbow roll, and takah sushi roll were all good. Service was not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was amazing! Reservation was on- time and service was great. We had a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Staff was amazingly friendly and knowledgeable! Food was fantastic! We enjoyed our dinner and time there. We were not sure what to order so the bartender made recommendations and it was superb. Thank you!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Good food, great service, family fun environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was amazing but the service was very disappointing. We went over 15 minutes with empty water glasses and I had to actually go find someone to fill them. We ordered additional rolls and server forgot to put the order in. When the food finally came we asked for the check as we had been there forever. Took another 15 minutes for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Several rolls made perfectly and much to my liking! This will be a repeat offender for me, it was OH NO!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vegan, Romantic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Fresh & unique sushi plates and delicious appetizers. Entire family loved every dish. Service was spot on...continually checking on us, bringing us food and keeping our glasses full. Third visit here on successive trips and will continue to come here in the future. Wish we were here for the Sunday & Monday 50% off the ENTIRE menu special!!

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We ordered our entree before Happy Hour ended and requested our main meal arrive after our appetizers. Unfortunately, our entree arrived before the sushi we ordered as appetizers. Disappointed on the timing of our dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Sansei was highly recommended to us. We had eight of us in our party, all from the mainland, celebrating a 60th birthday. We all loved the food! And the fried green beans were especially fabulous! Service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Seated all the way in the back, unsure if it is dishwashing area? Very noisy. There was a ceiling fan over our table and it got too cold

Food and service is awesome, noise and fan were just annoyance but we still had a good time

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The absolute best sushi in the world. I have never tasted anything like it. Plus the service is impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great-tasting sushi and sashimi at reasonable prices, although setting (in a strip mall) lacks seaside ambience of other nearby restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our Reservation was honored and we were seated immediately. Service was friendly and attentive.
Menu was amazing. Chef specials, sushi were excellent.
Yellow Tail Collar is not on the menu but ask your server if it is available-Ono!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great spot for sushi with reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2017

LOVE LOVE LOVE SANSEI. Sansei IS a great reason to visit Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Even though this place is known for sushi, I always always get the Caesar salad with calamari. It is amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food is good, as always. Service was decent, considering what you're paying for dinner. We went at 5:45pm and the place was a graveyard which was nice for a change. Usually they are very busy at that time. It's the better side of the mainstream sushi bars but by no means is the seafood high quality, but that's to be expected here on Maui. Over all a good spot, if you can afford it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Sansei has gone downhill big time, it's been a few years since my wife and I have eaten there but it used to be considerably better food, service, everything overall. Maybe it's just this newer Kehei location, but we won't be going back, unfortunately.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Some of the best hamachi kama I've ever had. It's not on the menu so you have to ask for it.

They were very accommodating to our two small children.

Experimented by ordering a couple of the more "creative" rolls, and they weren't the greatest, but overall the quality was good and we'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food was great and the menu offered a variety of choices. The waitress we had was very informative and helpful with the menu and she was also very attentive but not overbearing. I would say the prices seemed reasonable. I would recommend this place for dinner. But if you're looking for a quiet place to eat this may not be for you. Otherwise I really liked it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Awesome everything. Staff always show aloha and the food is always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.