About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Maui
Best Restaurants in Kihei ›

Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for Groups (42)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Late-night Find (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Hot Spot (13)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little pricey but good mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

A little pricey but good mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sansei was amazing! Their specialty roll ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sansei was amazing! Their specialty rolls were on point! Fairly priced, delicious food and awesome ambiance! Definitely going back here while in Maui!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to go to this restaurant ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were excited to go to this restaurant on our vacation, but, unfortunately, this was our only bad experience dining on Maui. We made a reservation for 7pm and arrived on time, but we not seated until 20 minutes later, which we dismissed at first as a minor inconvenience. However, the service continued to be slow and inattentive. The first roll was brought out quickly, but then we waited 40 minutes for the rest of our rolls. The sushi was falling apart for the most part and wasn't great, our dirty plates remained on the table for a long time and we never got the ginger that we asked for. The waitress or the restaurant didn't seem particularly busy. Overall, we left disappointed, especially given the more than average price we paid for our sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I eat there twice a week! It's always GR ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I eat there twice a week! It's always GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the experience I was hoping for. I b ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Not the experience I was hoping for. I believe there are some definite die hard fans of this place, judging by how far in advance we had to book reservations and line up on the day. Online I found they had great menu's for gluten free, and vegan options (which we required). The service was great, as was the atmosphere. I had it in my mind that being so close to ocean would mean really great sushi, but suspect that most of my fish has to be shipped in as it's probably not local to Hawaii. So nothing too special there, but way more expensive than back home! Things really started falling apart when we had to start picking fish eggs out of the "vegan" maki. At that point the starts to question everything.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ate at most of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We ate at most of the best restaurants in the Wailea area and this was recommended as one of the best sushi places and it was excellent. Very low key place in Kihei that has great food and great service. The service was some of the fastest I ever recall and the food was great, whole family loved each of the plates, sashimi was very fresh. It was the only restaurant for which we returned twice. Definite thumbs up!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sensei is Stunning!!! We've been going f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sensei is Stunning!!! We've been going for 10+ years and it's amazingly freshest bestest sushi on Maui. Tip:; Do some homework Research on Yelp ahead of time to figure your dishes it's a vast menu and Yelp is awesome with photos!! Wish you forever continued success---management service and ambience is super-deserving of 10/10 accolades. Many mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was attentive. Staff was nice..sh ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Waiter was attentive. Staff was nice..shrimp dynamite was fantastic and so was the butterfish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were a little hesitant at first... we ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were a little hesitant at first... we are not big sushi fans, but I picked this resaurant because if offers more than just sushi. It seems like a "hole in the wall" type place, but they are often the best and this was THE BEST AHI TUNA I ever had! Our waitress recommended two appetizers that were delicious (SANSEI’S LOBSTER & BLUE CRAB RAVIOLI and the SANSEI’S MANGO CRAB SALAD HAND ROLL)!

My husband ordered SHICHIMI SEARED SALMON AND TIGER PRAWN for his entree and it was Very Good. I ordered GRILLED HAWAIIAN AHI AND SANSEI’S AWARD WINNING SHRIMP CAKE and it was amazing!!! The chili-lime butter made that dish!

I would definitely recommend this restaurant, there is something on the menu for everyone and I do not belive you will be disappointed!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Visiting from the East Coast, and heard ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Visiting from the East Coast, and heard about Sansei on TripAdvisor. My brother got the Dragonfly Roll, and loved it! I got a sushi assortment. The presentation was okay, and the food was really good. I highly recommend the sea water and fresh water eel, which almost melts in your mouth!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Too fast bringing the meal. Totally ru ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Too fast bringing the meal. Totally rushed. We had 9 fishes on the table at one time. Would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The best part was the dessert! Apple tar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The best part was the dessert! Apple tart with lapperts vanilla ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The place gets very busy and reservation ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The place gets very busy and reservations are a must. It has a full bar and a nice sushi selection. Food was fantastic and the fish was very fresh. On the downside, the place is not what I would call upscale and the only view is to a very busy street. In addition you will be seating very close to other people so depending on your luck, it might feel like family style communal table dining :-) So come here to eat, not suitable for dates or special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fresh , great tasting rolls and sushi . ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fresh , great tasting rolls and sushi . Gluten free options and will work to make any specialty roll you'd like that not on the menu. Thank you for the new found, "Elly" roll!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As soon as we entered, the noisy, energe ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

As soon as we entered, the noisy, energetic crowd got us excited to be there to celebrate a 50th birthday, 25th birthday and 20th anniversary combined into one. The Sashimi trio was JUST right, and the additional hand rolls complemented our dinners perfectly. One member of our party ordered a variety of sashimi with a miso glaze and that was over the top.

We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super sushi house with some very creativ ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Super sushi house with some very creative selections and specials. Always crowded and it seems like a locals place judging by the long line for happy hour "half priced" sushi and drinks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the watermelon soup, cookies yello ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved the watermelon soup, cookies yellowtail, fish stew and sushi. Chocolate unique dessert was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but it was a little p ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good, but it was a little pricey even with the 25% discount for ordering before 6pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I was surprised at the line outside this ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was surprised at the line outside this restaurant and really expected something special. The service was very good, but the food was less than average. We had sushi and it tasted pre-made and old. There are so many beautiful restaurants on Maui this is not one of them.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was great. Food, service, fri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was great. Food, service, friendly staff, ambience on point

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, best sushi on the island ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was great, best sushi on the island for sure! If you order before 6pm you get 25 percent off!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We only wish we found this restaurant so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We only wish we found this restaurant sooner while on our vacation in Maui. The appetizers were delicious, we especially enjoyed the roasted Japanese eggplant and the tempura sweet potato. The sashimi was the freshest I have ever had, and it melted in your mouth like butter! We loved our meal here! The service was also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! You can tell all ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! You can tell all the local crowd loves this place! The food was wonderful! Our server was very attentive and pleasant! Would definitely return again and again. Food was delicious !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sushi was just okay for being in Hawaii ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Sushi was just okay for being in Hawaii I would have thought it would have been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Really enjoyed the hot sake, Sensei & Ta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Really enjoyed the hot sake, Sensei & Takah sushi rolls. Service was excellent & the meal was a great value. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If can clean dishes and glasses well wil ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

If can clean dishes and glasses well will be perfect. Has red lic mark on the glass,and one plate wasn't washed well.

Food is really nice and creative.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have eaten at the site in kapalua many ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have eaten at the site in kapalua many times and loved the food. Was very disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A big disappointment. Quality of sushi l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A big disappointment. Quality of sushi low. A little dirty and run down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I've been to Japan 4 times and have had ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I've been to Japan 4 times and have had sushi at numerous places. Sansei is the closest to Japanese quality I've ever had outside of Japan. I make sure to stop there every time I'm in Maui. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but kind of expensive. Th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was great but kind of expensive. The service was exceptional, she's polite and professional and also very attentive. She would gave us refill for drinks without even asking her. A pair of shrimp sushi is about $8, I think that is so pricey even if it taste better than other sushi that I've been to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I don't understand the hype about this p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I don't understand the hype about this place. Food was average but way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

What can I say? Dynamite rock shrimps!!! ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

What can I say? Dynamite rock shrimps!!! As always the food was awesome. Between the rock shrimps, the sushi and the butterfish, it was a wonderful dinner. We come from very far to enjoy it and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great sushi. A favorite place whe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always great sushi. A favorite place when in Hawaii. Costs a little more and worth it. The only thing I don't like is that all the food comes out at the same time. When asked about this I was told, "That's how we do it here". So, just don't order everything at once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were surprised they still had the ear ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were surprised they still had the early bird special between 5:30 and 6:00. We were able to order in time to get the discount. The food was fresh and well prepared. Always a great place for sushi in Kihei!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! Should you decide to go, you must try their Ahi specials. Best I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This sushi place was ok, more hype than ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This sushi place was ok, more hype than needed. The sushi flavors was standard but tourist prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We come once a year during our vacation. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We come once a year during our vacation. It is always delicious sushi and great service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, memorable in fact from o ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food, memorable in fact from our visit about 13 years ago. The pace of the service felt rushed. Otherwise wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Visited with friends for some good sushi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Visited with friends for some good sushi, but also needed other food types for those that didn't eat sushi. The nigiri sushi was delicious, and the serving portions were generous. Prices were what I would expect on Maui. The others had a variety of other dishes (teriyaki, tempura, rolls, noodles, etc.) and all raved about the quality of the food presented. The service was simply outstanding and our server (she) was at the table constantly making sure we were attended to. Corkage fee ($25.00) was a bit high (more than the cost of the wine we brought!), but that was the only negative to the dinner event. We will certainly be back again when visiting Maui.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went twice on our trip to Maui. If y ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We went twice on our trip to Maui. If you're seated before 6pm, you get 25% the entire bill. On Sunday and Monday, it's 50% off. The sushi is spectacular. Try the specials, they are all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.