Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (42)
Local Ingredients (36)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Authentic (32)
Good for Groups (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Healthy (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fun (25)
Happy Hour (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Business Meals (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Spicy (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quick Bite (7)
People Watching (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tapas (5)
Vegan (5)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
922 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

This place is a mess. Reservations are treated like walk in. Cleanliness is awful with filthy floors and walls. Tables are stark with soy sauce as the only adornment. Windows are few, and so dirty you can barely see out of them. Service is very slow, and kept making mistakes.

We went for Valentine’s Day and were disappointed. A medium expensive place ($50 per person) but without any of the atmosphere one would expect at this price range.

Food was average, and a little over cooked. Ordered beer so no idea if the bar is good.

We are locals and won’t go back. If you’re here on vacation, there are many other places better worth your time. We consider in line with Zippys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Sansei is a favorite of mine when I have guest visiting me from the mainland. The food, service and pricing are great. Some of the best sushi my friends have eaten.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We were back in Maui in 2012 and absolutely loved this place. And ate here twice. Today we ate here and it was easily the worst sushi I have ever had. Who blends their spicy tuna? What shrimp tempura is thin and gross? And who in world serves edamame cold? Your were good and you have given up! Disgusting period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Bennett took great care of us and allowed us to string along our food order. Everything came out perfect including the DOCG Prosecco! Great job sushi chefs! Loved the Panco-crusted ahi and the Hamachi carpaccio! Excellent flavors and the tempura vegetables were so delicate! Mmmm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

The quality of the sushi was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2018

As always the service was amazing and the food was excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2018

This is our go to restaurant when we want an excellent meal. We like that they have a wide variety of authentic dishes that are special. Yeah you can get the typical sushi combo but why, as they have some great specials like the mango crab roll, Panko crusted Ahi and the calamari salad. We love this Sansei

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2018

I am glad we made a reservation for 5:30 pm as the restaurant filled very quickly and we were seated at a prime table for 2 with a clear view of the sunset. Our server was exceptionally informative. We decided to order appetizers only as the options were numerous and I am so glad we did as we had a wonderful selection of favours. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for your special evening with your loved one.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Nick, our server, was great! Attentive to our needs. Loved the food. We come back as many times as we can!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2018

I had the grilled ahi dinner with the shrimp cake on top. Best dinner I have had on Maui! Might be the best dinner in the 6 times that I have visited Maui!. Absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 3, 2018

Very good food. Extremely loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Love Sansei! Everytime! Great for locals and tourist alike.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2018

Everyone in our group ordered different menu items and they were all excellent. Awesome mai tais

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2018

We never miss going to Sansei in Maui. Highly recommend reservations as this place is always crowded and the wait can get long. The Crab Ramen is to die for. We always have friendly staff. The food never disappoints!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Sushi was delicious, highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Our food was delicious. This was our first time in the Kihei location. Our server was perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2018

I recommend this restaurant to everyone I know going to Maui! It is a must for us every time we visit Kihei! The dynamite shrimp is our favorite!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Good standard sushi restaurant. You won’t likely be disappointed. Service is very fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2018

I was disappointed as we have eaten there before but this time was not as enjoyable. We orderered soup, sushi and an entree. While eating the appetizer the sushi came and then the entree and we were still eating the appetizer. The tempura did not seem to be cooked long enough. There were open tables yet we felt rushed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 25, 2018

The waiter was awesome and his recommendations for us were spot on.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Our server Nick was great. Too bad the food wasn’t as good as he was. Started with the fried calamari. Obviously frozen. Not good. Bad omen. I then had a panic crusted ahi roll. Decent. Tuna had membrane running thru the pieces. Dinner companion had California roll. Fine.
Had local snapper, unagi, and five different sushi pieces.Local snapper was the best. The sushi, other than the local snapper, did not have wasabi in between the fish and the rice. Seemed odd. Place felt like a sushi/sashimi factory. Will look for a smaller place in the future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2018

We had a nice dinner at Sansei. Decor less fancy than at the one near the Ritz, but prices still up there. Loved the butterfish, onion rings, duck and hamachi ceviche. Miso soup good as well. Shrimp appetizer ok but nothing to write home about. Major service complaint was that I asked specifically for butterfish to come as an entree and server said ok. Yet it showed up way before everything else. When I protested they said that was just the way it had to be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Good value with the 25% discount before 5:30 pm on weekdays. Butterfish was our favorite but food quality excellent overall. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2018

We look forward to Sensei every year when we visit Maui. It never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2018

Always amaing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Management was extremely nice and helpful. Make reservations because it gets busy because it is so good.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The sushi is always fresh, if not lacking a bit in creativity.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2018

We have been coming to Sansei while on vacation for over 15 years; something has changed. I felt that the food was very good however it came out of the kitchen sporadically and the whole meal had to be eaten separately over a long period of time. The service was friendly but a little inattentive.

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Most of the sushi was very fresh and our waitress was very attentive. But we were hoping to top off the meal with the crab sushi and we were terribly disappointed. It was dry & tasteless and definitely not worth what we paid for it. It left a bad feeling after an otherwise enjoyable experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2018

We tasted most of their signature dishes and they were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2018

We Are always please God we have supper here. We come in early at 5:30 request the sushi bar in our reservation and we have been very fortunate to get it. The service is very good and the guys at the sushi bar are great chatting back-and-forth it’s perfect. The fish is fresh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2018

Good value for the money. Reasonably priced great selection of sushi and sashimi. Ono was very good. Definitely worth returning?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2018

This restaurant was disappointing. The food was not that good and we waited too long. Had to remind the waiter several times of things that were missing. We were here a couple of years ago and it was much better. Sorry to see it go downhill.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2018

Good food good price good people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Food was mediocre, service was enthusiastic but robotic - same patter at every table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Good food. Hostess and scheduling was painful.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great food and fair prices. Ambiance is not wha you go here for. Good beer and wine options. Some creative dishes. All very good. One disappointment- the Toro. Likely a step or two below the real thing. Too lean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Sansei is one of my all time favorite restaurants anywhere. So sorry we’re only here ever 2-3 years but whenever we are, it’s the first reservation I make. Even before Mama’s! True story.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Altho our waiter spilled water all over my lap. He was awesome. Its obvious it wasnt his first day on the job, he remembered all of our orders without a pen & paper! Bradda stay saving trees! ;-D.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.