Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Local Ingredients (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (28)
Authentic (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Healthy (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Kid-friendly (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Fun (16)
Family Style (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Great Beer (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Spicy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Romantic (8)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing! Different take on sushi! Would recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, Sansei was good. Always noisy, though, and not really for any reason other than it has terrible acoustics. Sashimi's always good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was excellent and service was awesome! The sushi and drinks were very tasty!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was delicious - had the Dynamite shrimp, teriyaki beef, tempura, ramen w/ crab, butterfish appetizer , 3- way sashimi, & the desert: deep fried macadamia nut pound cake rolled w/vanilla ice cream. Our server Charlotte was wonderful: knowledgable & kept the food coming!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had an excellent time at Sansei's for my birthday. We order the panko crusted ahi roll, which is one of their long term specialties. It was so good we ordered ab2nd roll. We made reservations on Open Table and let them know it was my birthday and they gave me an excellent creme brûlée. The service was very good as well. Thanks for a wonderful birthday dinner! 😊

Tags: Tasting Menu, Spicy, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I always eat the same thing when I go to Sansei. I have the chili porchini steak, it's my favorite! And for appetizers, we have the shrimp dynamite & dragonfly sushi roll which are the bomb! If I could, I would eat there once a week lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We love Sansei. Have been to both of their locations and the food is great.
Always on our list when we go to Maui

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Have eaten here before and it is very consistent. Good quality sushi with some other entrees such as tempura. Cost is moderate with 25% discount off entrees in the first half hour or so. Quick and efficient service. Fairly large open restaurant makes it a bit noisy. They have a sushi bar. Usually very busy but less so in late May for this visit. Quiet time of year here. Some children at dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food , great service ! If you go for happy hour sun or mon expect a line but well worth the wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 17, 2017

On vacation and wanted good fresh sushi. Was great good!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Just a consistently great restaurant. Best Sushi in Wailea.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I gave special instructions for the reservation since it was for a birthday. Hostess was confused upon our arrival, sat us hastily, then a manager came and asked us to move after 10 minutes. Server was great, food was just OK, but definitely not worth the price. Sad that the seating request and birthday request was completely ignored. Not recommended for a special night out. Fine dining prices without the expected effect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A must stop for sushi lovers! The freshest fish served in creative sushi preparations. Again, if you love sushi, don't miss this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food was great, but service was definitely not the best!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went on Mothers Day. very crowded. Wow did they pull it off. We were seated on time. Most important the food was fantastic. Had hamachi w tobiko and lobster ravioli. Don't miss it!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The owners are not paying attention to service quality and customer satisfaction ,unfortunately sooner this will result in the closure of this restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Best restaurant on the island! Unique and creative food that shocks the senses and leaves you smiling and content. Ready to go back for more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Special crunchy sansei sushi, butter fish, japanese calamari salad and tempera ice cream were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was not your traditional sushi. It had flare and style and was better then most others I have experienced.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were so excited to go here since the reviews were great but the menu was just not great, I felt like we're were eating unhealthy sushi as there were not many choices without something fried or added fats...I just enjoy fresh rolls but this isn't the place for it.

The drinks had added purées or sorbet in them making them very sweet...even all the warm sakis had syrup added.

Ambiance is not nice at all and the service is attentive but delivered with attitude.

Not going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This was the best sushi ever. We were on vacation and a friend recommended that we gomthere for dinner and it was great. The staff was very helpful with the menu

Tags: Spicy, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding. Service was excellent and fast. Food was great as usual. I always highly recommend this restaurant. Best sushi :)

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

In rolls with crab they use half fake crab unless you pay $3 for an upgrade to 100% real crab. Service was also not good, they never mentioned specials to us but we heard them tell the next table about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Always love going to Sansei. Shrimp Dynamite is the best. All the rolls are fantastic. Staff very friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The sushi was great. The appetizer of calamari was just ok. Our server was awful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The oyster and uni are not fresh at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were seated immediately and our waitress was very helpful. The food was very good. Some interesting sushi rolls with unique combinations. Seaweed salad was fresh and crunchy. Seafood pasta had an unusual sauce but good. Overall very nice evening out- just think the prices in Maui are a bit outrageous!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2017

One of the most reliable eateries on the island! Good for all types of food; specializing in JAPANESE STYLE and the most wonderful Sushi bar!

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This food was phenomenal and the service was wonderful! The server was super friendly and made great recommendations to us. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

DK and Sansei never disappoints! Great sushi, always fresh and love the unique rolls.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

For the 9 yrs we've come to Maui, we have eaten at Sensei 2-3 x each year and have enjoyed consistently excellent innovative sushi and fresh fish, even though the service has always been with weary servers in a hurry to flip the tables. We eat early so this may not be true later in the evening. This time, the server was even more indifferent and abrupt. My green bean tempura appetizer was made with over-mature tough beans, sent back with no apology forthcoming. The $20 butterfish appetizer, a treat which I've enjoyed before, tasted like it had been prepared quite a bit earlier and looked like it was just slapped on the plate. My husband's generous portion of jerk chicken was delicious although the out of season stale vegetable side added nothing to his experience. Sadly, I believe Sensei is tired, the food, the people and our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We love SANSEI!!! What an awesome menu; we love all of your signature menu Items!!! Congratulations on winning "Best Sushi" on Maui/Aipono Award Winner!!!! Well deserved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Overpriced - don't waste your time. Too expensive with small portions.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great creative sushi, sashimi and meat dishes as well as vegetarian. Custom cocktails, amazing sake and wine list. Food is very good quality. Must have a reservation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything at Sensei was very good. I would not say outstanding but do feel comfortable with using very very good as the proper adjectival description. The ambience is a bit plain, true. Still I liked it. We get spoiled here in Maui with all the restaurants that have outstanding ocean views, and exquisite dining rooms. So one can see why some guests might feel it is a little bit under-done. The service was as I expected, quick and friendly, from an extremely knowledgeable service person who answered every menu question easily and with a smile. I found the portions to be well worth the price and the flavors and tastes were close to perfect! I would recommend Sensei to any, except the most discriminating of hypocritical foodies. Aloha.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Seafood and sushi menus were very impressive and exceeded our expectations. This is a must visit in Kihei.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Went in for a birthday dinner with my husband. Food was awesome and amazing, great presentation and a special dietary request was honored. We were seated immediately and service was exemplary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was of a very high standard but decor and service left a bit to be desired. Not a very Japanese place if that's what you're after but dishes were solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

A decent spot for local, trendy sushi dishes. More trendy than traditional, a good spot if you are looking for Asian fusion. Tends to get busy, make reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

BEST sushi ever!!!
Was told this is where locals go
No ambiance
No view
AWESOME FOOD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.