About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (47)
good for groups (41)
neighborhood gem (34)
See All
special occasion (27)
kid-friendly (20)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (5)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful restaurant! You can tell all ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful restaurant! You can tell all the local crowd loves this place! The food was wonderful! Our server was very attentive and pleasant! Would definitely return again and again. Food was delicious !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sushi was just okay for being in Hawaii ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Sushi was just okay for being in Hawaii I would have thought it would have been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Really enjoyed the hot sake, Sensei & Ta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Really enjoyed the hot sake, Sensei & Takah sushi rolls. Service was excellent & the meal was a great value. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If can clean dishes and glasses well wil ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

If can clean dishes and glasses well will be perfect. Has red lic mark on the glass,and one plate wasn't washed well.

Food is really nice and creative.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have eaten at the site in kapalua many ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have eaten at the site in kapalua many times and loved the food. Was very disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A big disappointment. Quality of sushi l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A big disappointment. Quality of sushi low. A little dirty and run down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I've been to Japan 4 times and have had ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I've been to Japan 4 times and have had sushi at numerous places. Sansei is the closest to Japanese quality I've ever had outside of Japan. I make sure to stop there every time I'm in Maui. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but kind of expensive. Th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was great but kind of expensive. The service was exceptional, she's polite and professional and also very attentive. She would gave us refill for drinks without even asking her. A pair of shrimp sushi is about $8, I think that is so pricey even if it taste better than other sushi that I've been to.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I don't understand the hype about this p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I don't understand the hype about this place. Food was average but way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

What can I say? Dynamite rock shrimps!!! ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

What can I say? Dynamite rock shrimps!!! As always the food was awesome. Between the rock shrimps, the sushi and the butterfish, it was a wonderful dinner. We come from very far to enjoy it and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great sushi. A favorite place whe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always great sushi. A favorite place when in Hawaii. Costs a little more and worth it. The only thing I don't like is that all the food comes out at the same time. When asked about this I was told, "That's how we do it here". So, just don't order everything at once.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were surprised they still had the ear ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were surprised they still had the early bird special between 5:30 and 6:00. We were able to order in time to get the discount. The food was fresh and well prepared. Always a great place for sushi in Kihei!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! Should you decide to go, you must try their Ahi specials. Best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This sushi place was ok, more hype than ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This sushi place was ok, more hype than needed. The sushi flavors was standard but tourist prices.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We come once a year during our vacation. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We come once a year during our vacation. It is always delicious sushi and great service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, memorable in fact from o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food, memorable in fact from our visit about 13 years ago. The pace of the service felt rushed. Otherwise wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Visited with friends for some good sushi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Visited with friends for some good sushi, but also needed other food types for those that didn't eat sushi. The nigiri sushi was delicious, and the serving portions were generous. Prices were what I would expect on Maui. The others had a variety of other dishes (teriyaki, tempura, rolls, noodles, etc.) and all raved about the quality of the food presented. The service was simply outstanding and our server (she) was at the table constantly making sure we were attended to. Corkage fee ($25.00) was a bit high (more than the cost of the wine we brought!), but that was the only negative to the dinner event. We will certainly be back again when visiting Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went twice on our trip to Maui. If y ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We went twice on our trip to Maui. If you're seated before 6pm, you get 25% the entire bill. On Sunday and Monday, it's 50% off. The sushi is spectacular. Try the specials, they are all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good sushi. Order the beef udon that we ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Good sushi. Order the beef udon that we sent back & our server was very nice about it. It's casual and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were seated soon after we arrived. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were seated soon after we arrived. The hostess was friendly and attentive. Our waitress was also friendly and attentive. We received our drinks and food in reasonable time. Food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you love sushi this is the place to d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

If you love sushi this is the place to dine! The fish was very fresh and the presentation was great. If I lived on Maui I would definitely be a frequent visitor.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Had incredible food at a great value and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Had incredible food at a great value and incredible service! We were a fun party of 6 and our server was very knowledgeable about sake and specialty items. We enjoyed everything! Would definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast service and friendly staff Good foo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fast service and friendly staff

Good food for the most part.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

quick and friendly service, good food at ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

quick and friendly service, good food at reasonable prices

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen managed to mix up our order - pr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Kitchen managed to mix up our order - preparing desert prior to the entrée. After a long delay the entrée was served. Then they delivered desert a burnt black apple tart. The server did nothing to fix the problem. Don't go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We came here just after the happy hour a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came here just after the happy hour and the place was packed, though it nearly emptied during our stay. That, and the fact that we had a waiter on his second day was probably the reason why we got our cocktails when we were nearly done with the food. To be fair, there is just one person mixing at the bar. The ambience is that of a fast food joint - glass covered tables, etc. - and for an unknown reason, all the blinds were shut, so the only light came from very dim (and ugly) ceiling lamps. A pity and a missed opportunity. What positively surprised us was the taste of the food - all of the rolls that we ordered, including the signature ones were much to our liking and much better than expected. Should we (as tourists) return, we will order take-away and eat at the park across the road.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

never disappoints. LOVE LOVE LOVE i eat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

never disappoints. LOVE LOVE LOVE

i eat here3 times a week!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Eater

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I always enjoy Sansai Seafood Restaurant and Sushi Bar. i recommend that reservations are made during the busy hours for seating. the food is always great and we have never had any problems with the service or quality of the food or drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good. Shrimp dynamite and v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Consistently good. Shrimp dynamite and veggies in black bean butter sauce are standouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent sushi and tempura.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Ultimate roll tempura shrimp with ahi topping was awesome.

Great casual atmosphere in quaint Kihei.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went here while honeymooning in Maui and it was great. Loved the sushi!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi in Kihei

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good sushi at a reasonable price. Great place to visit for dinner while in Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent sushi. Very fresh

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent sushi. Very fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easy sushi spot- nothing fancy, but good ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Easy sushi spot- nothing fancy, but good sushi rolls and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our favorite sushi restaurant on the isl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Our favorite sushi restaurant on the island.

Everything they bring out is delicious

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been coming for years and love t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been coming for years and love this place. We each order something different. It simply fantastic!

I love their sushi, my brother loves the miso white fish and my parents love the tempura. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best fish in Maui!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Don't go any further than this treasure in Kihei when seeking the freshest fish and best sushi in Maui! Always consistent and great deals on sushi if you arrive after 10 pm. Make reservations or you will be waiting in line with the locals.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Experience was great overall, our server ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Experience was great overall, our server was very nice. Was expecting a more lively ambiance but being from Las Vegas probably sets unrealistic expectations of some places for me.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not bad too average for Japanese food. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Not bad too average for Japanese food. The butter fish was great. Sushi was average. Soup was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.