About Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui

1881 S. Kihei Rd. #KT-116
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Sansei, meaning third generation, is a locally owned contemporary Japanese Restaurant offering new wave sushi. The force behind the food is Chef/Owner Dave "DK" Kodama. An Oahu native, he is fearless when it comes to flavors and one of the most adventurous chefs you will meet. At Sansei, he has combined his Japanese heritage with Hawai'i's incredible ethnic mix and the flavors he experienced in his travels to create a New Wave Sushi, Japanese-inspired Pacific Rim, Contemporary Japanese type of cuisine. Call it whatever you like. What you will taste are unique combinations of flavors and textures.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Monday 5:00pm-10:00pm; Tuesday-Wednesday: 5:30pm-10:00pm; Thursday-Saturday: 5:30pm-1:00am with only Late night menu after 10pm

Cross Street:
Halelani Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-0004

Website:
http://www.sanseihawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Free Karaoke on Thursday,Friday and Saturday Nights for 21+, 10pm-1am 50% off Sushi & Appetizers & Drink Specials

Catering:
Off property caterings and private dinners from 20-200 covers.

Parking Details:
Free Self Parking

Public Transit:
Maui Public Bus stop 100 yards away

Executive Chef:
Carl Yeh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sansei Kihei - Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI
  • Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI

Report a photo problem

Sansei Kihei - Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui, Kihei, HI

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - KIHEI, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Healthy (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Family Style (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful date with fantastic fresh sush ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful date with fantastic fresh sushi, great options for all types of rolls and cocktails. Our server was very helpful and friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends & I really enjoyed eating out ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

My friends & I really enjoyed eating out at Sansei. Great food & great service went well with many laughs and a friendly environment. Great selection on the menu for food & drinks for everybody and child & family friendly. I strongly would recommend Sansei to a friend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good value. noisy. some dishes bett ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

very good value. noisy. some dishes better than others. raw fish

sushi was good

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

This one of our go to places in Kihei fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This one of our go to places in Kihei for sushi. Always friendly service. Great to have Open Table to use for reservations. So convenient!

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic, unique food! Was very satisfi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic, unique food! Was very satisfied with the food. However, our sushi appetizer came with the meal when we were hoping to have it beforehand. Service was quick!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only negative was that we were seated on ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

Only negative was that we were seated on the stage where the band sets up. Lighting was poor, making it difficult to read the menu. Otherwise, everything else was truly enjoyed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dependable great sushi. Always a highlig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Dependable great sushi. Always a highlight of our trip. Lucky to have a location in Kihei. Ordered a second miso butter fish as it was so delicious.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was informative, friendly and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The server was informative, friendly and professional. The food was presented nicely and the ingredients were fresh and tasty. We have dined here in the past when visiting Maui and will continue to do so.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great tasting food and excellent prompt ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great tasting food and excellent prompt

service, will be back next time in Maui

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Japanese food. Superb ingredi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent Japanese food. Superb ingredients. Would go there any time.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic & Funtastic I have been coming ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fantastic & Funtastic I have been coming to this restaurant for 15 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food was the Brussels sprouts and g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best food was the Brussels sprouts and green bean appetizers! Fish was overlooked. Desserts were bad. Should have stayed with sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was delicious. We had traditional J ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was delicious. We had traditional Japanese tempura shrimp and vegetables and cracked pepper corn steak over arugula with fingerling potatoes and au jus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was good

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food. Good service. Didn't like the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good food. Good service. Didn't like the fact there was an extremely loud and obnoxious woman at the bar who should have been cut off. She must have known the staff. She was walking around the restaurant yelling and laughing very loudly disrupting most patrons. Very annoying.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was average at best. My calamar ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was average at best. My calamari tested like dried out leather, the sushi rolls looked and tasted like they were made from a cooking class. The Hamachi kama was ok.

I got sick later that evening as did my daughter. My mom was visiting wanted to try the place since she saw an ad for Sansei. I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Very fresh fish and the hamachi was outs ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very fresh fish and the hamachi was outstanding. the simple rolls carry the best value for flavor, quality and cost. Service was quick and the two drinks we tried were very good. The two negatives would be the high prices and the cold air conditioning (reason we left early).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awful! Went here based on the numerous p ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Awful! Went here based on the numerous positive reviews. Sushi was about the worst I've ever had, sushi rice was terrible, tuna roll was soggy, edamame tasted old. Nothing fresh about the place. Three babies crying (not the restaurant’s fault, but it’s evidentially just the the kind of place where people bring a lot of babies and children). We left hungry (because we just didn't want to finish), and very disappointed. There are much better places in Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

I was recommended by 3 people to go and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I was recommended by 3 people to go and we were all disappointed, terrible service terrible waitress.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food...slow service and very loud. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great food...slow service and very loud....good prices...worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

My husband and I were to Sansei for dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I were to Sansei for dinner on New Year's Eve. The place was packed, but we were able to get two seats at the bar. Our waitress was very friendly and seemed happy to answer our questions. The food was okay. The nigiri specials were not as fresh as we would have wanted. The oyster appetizers and sushi rolls were flavorful, but the combinations of elements were a bit off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great sushi. Highly recommend for a mea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great sushi. Highly recommend for a meal in Kihei

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite on Maui. Excellent, interes ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite on Maui. Excellent, interesting menu:food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Nice options including sushi, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food

Nice options including sushi, full entres , extensive appetizers, ramen,and specialty rolls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sansei was on time and No waiting to be ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sansei was on time and No waiting to be seated. As always we had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is okay, but prices are expensive. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is okay, but prices are expensive. I get better sushi in my land locked city at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Excellent food, service... really enjoye ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food, service... really enjoyed the entire experience be ourvserve was phenomenal!! Great choice of wine, craft beers and mixed drinks too... will definitely be back on next trip to Maui.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been patronizing this restaurant s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We've been patronizing this restaurant since opening on this night for the first time the quality has changed. Portions was much smaller on nigiri sushi, sauce for the Pablo crusted ahi was broken and did not taste the same at all. Not sure what happened and I was a little disappointed considering it was my family's Xmas dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Exceptional wide variety and exquisite t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Exceptional wide variety and exquisite taste Japanese restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No atmosphere, nothing like the one in k ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

No atmosphere, nothing like the one in kapalua that we are use to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Absolutely fabulous sushi and apps. A ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Absolutely fabulous sushi and apps. A must if you are a sushi lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual Sansei was an enjoyable treat. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual Sansei was an enjoyable treat. Good service and great sushi thanks to our sushi chef Brad. We will be returning many times while we are in Maui.

Great to use Open Table for reservations.

Thanks

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelkent value

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excelkent value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Sushi is much better at home. Small port ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Sushi is much better at home. Small portions for the amount charged! A $14.95 roll was 1/2 the size of other places. We truly were shocked and disappointed. Sansei was great in its hay day but is no longer. Happy hour prices maybe acceptable if you can get in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic food and value in Maui!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic food and value in Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Panko encrusted ahi appetizer was on ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Panko encrusted ahi appetizer was one of the tastiest dishes I've ever eaten!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was awesome!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a very good restaurant. Must to try ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It's a very good restaurant. Must to try! I went to twice in 3 days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sansei Kihei is a great place for Japane ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Sansei Kihei is a great place for Japanese food, Sushu and Sashimi. Creative, fresh and very well prepared. Great bar, wine, beer and sake lists. Really good desserts. Service is good, servers are friendly, helpful, and never rushed. Winner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really loved our hot sake with our su ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We really loved our hot sake with our sushi - we got some Unagi and also their tempura appetizers were great. We got there early so we missed the karaoke night. Crowded but not overwhelming -- more like busy because the food is good. I recommend booking a reservation ahead of time with open table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.