About Sanfords Restaurant

30-13 Broadway
Astoria, NY 11106
View Larger Map

Sanfords has been an Astoria landmark since 1922. The Sanfords of today serves exceptionally well prepared American comfort food, in a modern, casual & sleek environment. The space is bright & alive during the day. Dim, candlelit and relaxing in the evening, with loungy tunes playing in the background. The combination of lighting, sound & warm colors create a truly unique vibe in the space.
Aside from the great food & atmosphere, Sanford’s also boasts Queens Largest Whisky Bar stocking over 300 single malts and bourbons, as well as 30 wines by the glass. All of our wines are maintained in the Le Ver devin Wine preservation system, which pumps the precise amount of air out of each bottle of wine that is opened.
The only things we love more than food & wine at Sanford’s, is people, and the fact that
Good food and drink brings people together. Sanford’s is a place for people old and young, to come to eat, drink and celebrate life, family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00am; Late night: Daily: 12:00am - 2:00am; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
31st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 932-9569

Website:
http://www.sanfordsnyc.com/

Entertainment:
While Sanfords has no live music, it has become known for the unique bossanova, chill-out, and international tunes played in its state of the art sound system for diners to enjoy in the background while enjoying their meals.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available from 8:30am – 7:00pm, a private parking lot is located around the corner on 31st Street, and a municipal public parking lot is located on 31st Street next to McDonalds.

Public Transit:
N & W trains to Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Verdis

Private Party Contact:
Gus: 646-739-9582x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Shrimp Scampi - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Gouda Stuffed Duck Burger - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Crab Cakes - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Stuffed Shells Mac N Cheese - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Organic Field Greens - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Nutella S'mores Waffle - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Fries - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Crunchy Chicken Thai Wrap - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
French Toast Panini - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Lobster Bisque - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Sesame Crackers - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Rustic Tomato Soup - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Hot Cocoa - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Fried Calamari - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Waffles - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Skirt Steak Sandwich - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Eggs Benidict - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Bread - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Caesar salad w/ skirt steak - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Red Wine - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Falafel Wrap - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Chicken BLT - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Mimosa - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Bbq Pulled Pork Burger - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Steak Skillet - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Cheese Burger - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Waffle With Maple Syrup - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Mushroom Ravioli and Steak - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Eggs Benedict - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Mussels - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Cobb Salad - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Crab Cake Benedict - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Florentine Benedict - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Bistro Burger - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Crab Cake Sandwich - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Complimentary Bread - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Croque Madame - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Wells Banana Bread Beer - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Certified Black Angus Cheese Burger - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Timmermans Framboise Beer - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Crispy Duck Confits And Waffles - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
garden salad - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Gouda Duck Burger - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Mac and Cheese - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Scampi Shrimp Pasta - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Whole Wheat Banana Nut Pancakes!  - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Omelette - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Zucchini Tomato And Ricotta Fritatta - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Crabcake Benedict  - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Mimosas - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Pecan Crusted Tilapia - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Seared Diver Scallops - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Wild Miso Salmon - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Chicken Orzo Soup - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Point Judith Calamari - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Cocoa - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Kir Royale - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Death by Mushroom Ravioli - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Manhattan Clam Chowder - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Pan Fried Half Chicken - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Jalapeno Mac and Cheese - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Banana Caramel Cheesecake Xangos - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Brownies Bowl - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
French Onion Soup - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Hanger Steak & Mushroom Ravioli - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Crispy Duck Leg Confit & Waffle With Sweet Plantains - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Peacan Crusted Chicken Salad - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Chicken Noodle Soup - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Veal Millenese  - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Grilled Hanger Steak - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Butternut squash ravioli - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Filet Mignon - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY
Burrata - Sanfords Restaurant, Astoria, NY

Sanfords Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Queens
Best Restaurants in Astoria ›

Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious, the ambiance was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was delicious, the ambiance was lively and the overall service was amazing and welcoming!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the mushroom risotto and was o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I ordered the mushroom risotto and was offered the ravioli. When they finally brought the risotto (in 5 min. How can it be done so fast?!?) it ws over cooked, salty and I had to return it.

That is not the service I had other times in the restaurant and I´ll give them another chance when it comes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Seated on time, delicious brunch! Lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Seated on time, delicious brunch! Looking forward to returning! (Parking can be an issue, but was easier on Sunday.)

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They do a great brunch, service was grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

They do a great brunch, service was great as was atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food here is great. Its very worth it. $ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food here is great. Its very worth it. $10 for two drinks and coffee at brunch is a hit too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Sanford's tuna tartare and daily seafood ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Sanford's tuna tartare and daily seafood specials are delicious and filling. Love the BBQ pull pork sandwich!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good ambiance, comfy seats. Great ribs! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good ambiance, comfy seats. Great ribs! Avoid the rib eye though..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great place-delicious food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great place-delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffle Mac and CHEESE was divine BBQ Me ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Truffle Mac and CHEESE was divine

BBQ Meat balls delicious

Duck Burger incredibly moist and flavorful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it here! Have been there for Brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Love it here! Have been there for Brunch and dinner! Great ambience, good food and drinks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ive visited this place prior to the reno ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Ive visited this place prior to the renovation. I can say that the renovation made the dining a more pleasurable eating experience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a great night at Sanfords. They didn ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not a great night at Sanfords. They didn't acknowledge my Open Table reservation, so I had to follow up to make sure my points were rewarded. We were seated promptly, brought water and bread promptly and then it seemed like they forgot about us.

Apps came before drinks. Three different waiters/bussers/runners came back and forth. There were four of us - everyone got steak. Three entrees came out - long pause before the fourth. Entire service experience seemed a bit confused. Maybe they were new?

Food was just okay. Chicken soup needed salt. Tomato soup needed something (we added a bit of butter and then it was good). Steaks were okay. Sauces were a bit off -- bernaisse was a little greasy and the wine reduction a little salty.

Wine and cocktails were good. Very nice selection to choose from. Coffee was good. Chocolate mousse desert was excellent.

Hoping it was just an off night - they are in a great spot and seemed to do a lot of business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The veal sandwich and the jumbo spicy ca ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The veal sandwich and the jumbo spicy calamari are unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for brunch last Saturday with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came here for brunch last Saturday with a couple friends, the place underwent renovations in the last year or two and the inside is very modern with ample seating and a full bar.

We ordered the boozy brunch which is two brunch cocktails plus one juice, coffee or tea for +$10 on top of your brunch entree. Well worth it!

The food was delicious and portions generous--between the three of us, we ordered the crab cake eggs Benedict, the pulled pork eggs Benedict and the chilequiles verdes which were all excellent. I can't wait to go back again for brunch and also try some of their dinner items!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated right away and had a good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were seated right away and had a good selection of breads and crackers put on the table. Our drinks were made very quickly and were very yummy. We ordered the ranch chicken quesadilla which was just okay, nothing special. I ordered the special, braised short rib and it was SCRUMPTIOUS. My boyfriend ate the steak panini and he said it was really good too. I recommend ordering one of their specials because my entree was stellar. Definitely going to head back to this restaurant and see what's next on their specials menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The newly renovated space is a good addi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The newly renovated space is a good addition to an already great neighborhood place. Try the tuna tartare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was basically forced out of this place ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I was basically forced out of this place because my baby was "loud" according to another patron. Mind you, the restaurant had about 10 other kids whom were also loud and it was a sunday morning. The food was good but unfortunately i was so angry at the way i was treated (walked out in tears) i will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Sanfords looked great in the online pict ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sanfords looked great in the online pictures. In person it was like a gray cafeteria.

It was so noisy that conversation was almost impossible. The food was passable.

None of us finished our entrees. None of us would order what we had again.

The service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Loved this place. The food was great and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved this place. The food was great and the service was just as great. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't go wrong at Sanford's the food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

You can't go wrong at Sanford's the food is always great , The butternut squash is amazing and the rib eye steak is really great. Also the staff and manager are so very nice . Great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a friends' get together, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great spot for a friends' get together, the food was good, not AS good as I remember it a couple years ago, but worth a try.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was friendly and helpful, food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Server was friendly and helpful, food was delicious, prices were reasonable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Service too

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was great. Service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've walked past Sandord's many times on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've walked past Sandord's many times on a weekend and noticed the long lines of people waiting for a table. I finally understand what they were waiting for. My party of 3 sampled several brunch menu items including the chocolate chip banana pancakes, the monte cristo sandwich and the avocado toast and everything was delicious! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First few visits here were good. This l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2016

First few visits here were good. This last time was different. I wish the chicken in my salad was edible. It was as hard as a rock, but gummy and chewy at the same time. I couldn't even cut through it. The rest of the salad was fine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We went for breakfast and the menu had s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for breakfast and the menu had some classics as well as some interesting/different choices. I would come back for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Sesame chicken teriyaki was over saturat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Sesame chicken teriyaki was over saturated in sauce.

Barely any rice, you could not even taste it without having an extreme amount of mushy vegetables to accompany it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Great service, good beer menu.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service, good beer menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

perfect brunch spot very affordable the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2016

perfect brunch spot very affordable they serve 2 drinks and a coffee for $18 as a brunch special and all the food is amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The menu on here is not updated. Not m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The menu on here is not updated. Not many vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great "fancy" NY diner

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a great place to eat during the weekend! Their brunch menu is amazing and well priced, and the food is amazing! It's like a "fancy" diner. Make sure you make a reservation since there is always a long wait if you go at a popular time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truffle Mac and Cheese

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Truffle Mac and Cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I came here for brunch with my parents and the food was great. The staff was a little over-attentive - we had to turn down extra coffee or tea upwards of five times - but that's not the worst problem to have. It does get a little loud when people bring kids in, but it was never above moderate while we were there. Overall, very good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

How loud the music was

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

How loud the music was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Sanford's is an amazing spot in Astoria!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Sanfords is a great option in Astoria! Everything on the menu is great. Some of my favorites include the steak with peppercorn sauce, skirt steak ciabatta, chicken avocado club and the shell pasta. For appetizers, you can't go wrong with oysters or mussels. The chicken fingers are great too! They have a great wine list also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Go-to-Spot

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2016

This place still has the best tuna tartare I've had in a long time. If you live in the Astoria area, it's a great brunch spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Well-deserved longevity

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was excellent, service attentive and atmosphere both chic yet comfortable. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I have been twice in this place and I lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2016

I have been twice in this place and I love it. The food is great, staff too ( the bartender and waitress).

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saw the menu and decided I wanted to sto ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Saw the menu and decided I wanted to stop in, and the food exceeded my expectations. Kinda sad that I live 30 miles away and won't be able to really delve in to the bourbons that are offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Eat here immediately, if not sooner! The ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Eat here immediately, if not sooner! The food, the wine and beer and liquor offerings, the service...we could not pick our favorite part of our dining experience here!!! Treated like a family friend, my co workers and I enjoyed every bite of our meal from the filet spring rolls to the yellowfin tuna. Thank you to Leo and his team for one of the best tasting meals we have had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.