Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Sanfords Restaurant

Sanfords has been an Astoria landmark since 1922. The Sanfords of today serves exceptionally well prepared American comfort food, in a modern, casual & sleek environment. The space is bright & alive during the day. Dim, candlelit and relaxing in the evening, with loungy tunes playing in the background. The combination of lighting, sound & warm colors create a truly unique vibe in the space.
Aside from the great food & atmosphere, Sanford’s also boasts Queens Largest Whisky Bar stocking over 300 single malts and bourbons, as well as 30 wines by the glass. All of our wines are maintained in the Le Ver devin Wine preservation system, which pumps the precise amount of air out of each bottle of wine that is opened.
The only things we love more than food & wine at Sanford’s, is people, and the fact that
Good food and drink brings people together. Sanford’s is a place for people old and young, to come to eat, drink and celebrate life, family and friends.

30-13 Broadway
Astoria, NY 11106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00am; Late night: Daily: 12:00am - 2:00am; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
31st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 932-9569

Website:
http://www.sanfordsnyc.com/

Entertainment:
While Sanfords has no live music, it has become known for the unique bossanova, chill-out, and international tunes played in its state of the art sound system for diners to enjoy in the background while enjoying their meals.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available from 8:30am – 7:00pm, a private parking lot is located around the corner on 31st Street, and a municipal public parking lot is located on 31st Street next to McDonalds.

Public Transit:
N & W trains to Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Verdis

Private Party Contact:
Gus: (646) 739-9582

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sanfords Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fun (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were there for breakfast on our way to Belmont Park. We are from out of town. We were looking for something close to the park for breakfast. This restaurant had good reviews. We all really enjoyed what we ordered. Staff was nice, food was great. We would frequent the restaurant if we lived in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful place to meet friend(s) for brunch / lunch / dinner. The food and service always good. Sanfords is a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My cousins and I had Brunch here. The food is amazing! We ordered the Eggs Benedict Flourentine, Truffle egg sandwich, and the French toast with bananas and pecans. Everything was amazing. The coffee was great. The price was reasonable. They have a lot of unique menu options that I haven't seen anywhere else, I would definitely recommend this place for Brunch. The restaurant is quiet enough to carry on a conversation. We stayed around for a while, took a while to order, and did not feel rushed at any point during our experience. The waiter was very friendly. We will definitely be back to try some of the other menu options, like the Smores waffles and peanut butter pancakes! Mmm!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great for brunch. Drink sizes are small but the food made up for it. Was in walking distance of pur hotel which was a great way to see the city. Had a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Definitely not the best food and the service is just ok. We felt rushed to leave as they started cleaning/ setting the table while we were still there.

No second chance needed for this one!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My fiancee went to Sanfords for our weekly date night. The menu was extensive and pleasing for our dietary needs. The fish taco app was great, as were the sesame crusted yellowfin tuna and salmon. The prosecco was refreshing. A great date night meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my wife out for Mother's Day and it was the best place to be deafly will recommend the spot I will be coming back

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Spicy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day is usually intensely busy at restaurants - 25 minutes for the waiter to get to your table to greet you was still too long (especially after waiting 10 minutes past reservation time and 20 min for food arrival). When asked "which items on your menu are gluten free" - waiter looked annoyed and stately rashly, "NONE" - perhaps wishing us to get up and leave? Apparently - he thought the steak and eggs was not gluten free because it had meat. Clearly, he did not know what "gluten free" meant and was highly annoyed when I tried to explain it. Once the food arrived, it was delicious. My mom had a great time, which was all that mattered. Next time - special occasions will be celebrated elsewhere, I'll reserve this place for quieter events.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service excellent
Look forward to returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved the food + boozy brunch option. Service was great!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The waitstaff was just amazing, attentive, and made the entire meal a wonderful experience. We can as a family to celebrate my brother's birthday and we were all more than impressed. I highly recommend considering Sanford's for any special occasion. Thank you Sanfords!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Love coming to this place, vibrant, good service, good food (except, some were salty and dry). The food used to taste better when I went a few years ago. Still, everything was good! I would definitely recommend to friends!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service was horrible. We waited more than 35 minutes between courses and the food was lacking in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was great, the food was amazing, and the drinks were made perfectly. Not one bad thing to say about this place the brunch was fantastic all around I will definitely be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Used to love Sanford's, now it's just eh. Chicken soup was returned. Orzo and veggies were hard. Crab cake was good (decent size too). Seared tuna salad was very flavorful, but some of the tuna was fatty and hard to chew. Wine pours look decent because they are served in a small carafe with a large glass, but....it's a show. Reservation was accommodated. Seated immediately. Menus and water brought timely, however, we had to grab the waiter for a cocktail (isn't that where the profits come from?) He gave us the specials run-down and then walked away. It was loud too. Maybe poor acoustics. All in all it's just ok, not great as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sanford's is the perfect modern trendy restaurant for Brunch, Dinner , or a quick dessert date... Drinks are awesome and the service is steller...

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ambiance nicer than service or food. Food has good concepts but seems a little unnecessarily overdone compromising taste. Ordered 2 soft drinks and the glasses had a sticky rim both times. May need attention to cleanliness.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a 12pm reservation on a Sunday for my boyfriend and I and his parents. The one negative part of our experience was having to wait 20 minutes for a table when we had a reservation. Food and service once we were seated were incredible, definitely worth it. Just frustrating having to wait so long when we had a reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We met friends for Sunday brunch. They take reservations which is great. The food was really good and varied. Service was efficient and pleasant and we did not feel rushed even though it was very busy. The only drawback was the noise level which was extremely loud making conversation difficult. Would go again despite the noise level.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. The décor and atmosphere were excellent and the prices were extremely reasonable. This will be a new regular spot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Me and my girlfriend love this spot a lil nice gem in queens and it was a experience!!! i loved it and i recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I loved this place!! We went for brunch and it was delicious! The service was great; we felt so welcomed here! Cant wait to go back!

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I had a business meeting there. The ambiance was nice and the food was delicious. I impressed my clients with this place. Service was so so. But over all it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the food here... always meets your expectations. The service on the other hand.... or lack there of..... I'll deal with the poor service cause the food is so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My review would have been better but my waiter made us seem that we were bothering him if we asked for him. Our bus boy was incredible. If it wasn't for him we would have asked for another waiter. The venue and food was very good. I would definitely go back again as long as we have another waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everyone was very nice, and since we had a reservation we were seated quickly. Would recommend for brunch, food portions were large :D

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Like it very much, food was very good. Service was okay, slow bringing the drinks, appetizer on time but we were just enjoying our appetizer and drinks and we got our main dishes, send them back (mistake) after we finish our appetizer we got our dishes back, eggs Benedict cold (obviously), even like that the eggs Benedict were good, so next time we will order first appetizer and then our main course. Beside that small percance, everything else was good. Rene excellent bartender, Saul good waiter. Definitely I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was amazing. Took awhile to get our drinks and food, but our server was very kind and helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was delicious. As it usually is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great menu, good food, bad service. Our waiter was inattentive and un-interested in making sure our needs were met. We were a party of 10 and any time anyone needed anything we had to make various attempts to hail down the waiter. Not once were we asked if everything was ok.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great brunch here with my wife and my parent's this past Sunday. The restaurant was packed and very loud- any louder would have been too loud; it was right at the threshold. Everyone's food was delicious, and the drinks were good as well. Some unique brunch items makes Sanfords stand out. I'm looking forward to returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Made reservations via OpenTable. Parking was tough so was 10 mins late. Usually restaurants keep your table for 10 mins or call you to check if you're still coming. They didn't call me and they gave our table away. We had to wait 20 mins in line for another table. I was pretty upset because we weren't that late and open table asks for your phone contact. Why didn't they call?!

Besides that, the waiter service was great. Food was amazing! Only other slight complaint was the noise factor. On Yelp the photos look upscale and quiet. But there were a lot of families and it was very loud at brunch. It wasn't as upscale as I had thought. But the food and portions made up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Everything was fantastic! Everyone in our group loved their orders! I would highly recommend having the "Gouda stuffed Duck Burger!" It was absolutely delicious. Great job to the staff for their hospitality. Compliments to the chef. Awesome place! Can't wait to visit NYC again and eat here

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a get together of college friends from different boroughs so we thought Astoria would be a good place to meet. Food was great, but we didn't know that it would be so loud. So if you want a quiet place for your get together so you can hear each other, Sanford's is not the place. If it's all about the food and drinks, I would definitely recommend Sanford's!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

From a food and service perspective, I enjoyed my time there. Delicious brunch. Great setting, nicely established place. It has history, and is a four-time zagat rated location, so that was very influential for me.

However, I had a reservation for 1:15pm, and I arrived at 1:08-ish. I didn't get seated till around 1:20pm. I understand that it was almost a full house. I don't think I should've waited that long.

Finally, without me mentioning it strictly to my waiter, she brought a cake for my fiancé's birthday. Clutch. Excellent hospitable service. I would come again, just don't know if reservations are truly necessary.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Staff lacks experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was delicious, the ambiance was lively and the overall service was amazing and welcoming!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I ordered the mushroom risotto and was offered the ravioli. When they finally brought the risotto (in 5 min. How can it be done so fast?!?) it ws over cooked, salty and I had to return it.
That is not the service I had other times in the restaurant and I´ll give them another chance when it comes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Seated on time, delicious brunch! Looking forward to returning! (Parking can be an issue, but was easier on Sunday.)

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.