Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Sanfords Restaurant

Sanfords has been an Astoria landmark since 1922. The Sanfords of today serves exceptionally well prepared American comfort food, in a modern, casual & sleek environment. The space is bright & alive during the day. Dim, candlelit and relaxing in the evening, with loungy tunes playing in the background. The combination of lighting, sound & warm colors create a truly unique vibe in the space.
Aside from the great food & atmosphere, Sanford’s also boasts Queens Largest Whisky Bar stocking over 300 single malts and bourbons, as well as 30 wines by the glass. All of our wines are maintained in the Le Ver devin Wine preservation system, which pumps the precise amount of air out of each bottle of wine that is opened.
The only things we love more than food & wine at Sanford’s, is people, and the fact that
Good food and drink brings people together. Sanford’s is a place for people old and young, to come to eat, drink and celebrate life, family and friends.

30-13 Broadway
Astoria, NY 11106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00am; Late night: Daily: 12:00am - 2:00am; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
31st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 932-9569

Website:
http://www.sanfordsnyc.com/

Entertainment:
While Sanfords has no live music, it has become known for the unique bossanova, chill-out, and international tunes played in its state of the art sound system for diners to enjoy in the background while enjoying their meals.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available from 8:30am – 7:00pm, a private parking lot is located around the corner on 31st Street, and a municipal public parking lot is located on 31st Street next to McDonalds.

Public Transit:
N & W trains to Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Verdis

Private Party Contact:
Gus: (646) 739-9582

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sanfords Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Comfort Food (15)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fun (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Romantic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was horrible. We waited more than 35 minutes between courses and the food was lacking in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great, the food was amazing, and the drinks were made perfectly. Not one bad thing to say about this place the brunch was fantastic all around I will definitely be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Used to love Sanford's, now it's just eh. Chicken soup was returned. Orzo and veggies were hard. Crab cake was good (decent size too). Seared tuna salad was very flavorful, but some of the tuna was fatty and hard to chew. Wine pours look decent because they are served in a small carafe with a large glass, but....it's a show. Reservation was accommodated. Seated immediately. Menus and water brought timely, however, we had to grab the waiter for a cocktail (isn't that where the profits come from?) He gave us the specials run-down and then walked away. It was loud too. Maybe poor acoustics. All in all it's just ok, not great as it used to be.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sanford's is the perfect modern trendy restaurant for Brunch, Dinner , or a quick dessert date... Drinks are awesome and the service is steller...

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ambiance nicer than service or food. Food has good concepts but seems a little unnecessarily overdone compromising taste. Ordered 2 soft drinks and the glasses had a sticky rim both times. May need attention to cleanliness.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a 12pm reservation on a Sunday for my boyfriend and I and his parents. The one negative part of our experience was having to wait 20 minutes for a table when we had a reservation. Food and service once we were seated were incredible, definitely worth it. Just frustrating having to wait so long when we had a reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We met friends for Sunday brunch. They take reservations which is great. The food was really good and varied. Service was efficient and pleasant and we did not feel rushed even though it was very busy. The only drawback was the noise level which was extremely loud making conversation difficult. Would go again despite the noise level.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. The décor and atmosphere were excellent and the prices were extremely reasonable. This will be a new regular spot.

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Me and my girlfriend love this spot a lil nice gem in queens and it was a experience!!! i loved it and i recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I loved this place!! We went for brunch and it was delicious! The service was great; we felt so welcomed here! Cant wait to go back!

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I had a business meeting there. The ambiance was nice and the food was delicious. I impressed my clients with this place. Service was so so. But over all it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the food here... always meets your expectations. The service on the other hand.... or lack there of..... I'll deal with the poor service cause the food is so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My review would have been better but my waiter made us seem that we were bothering him if we asked for him. Our bus boy was incredible. If it wasn't for him we would have asked for another waiter. The venue and food was very good. I would definitely go back again as long as we have another waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everyone was very nice, and since we had a reservation we were seated quickly. Would recommend for brunch, food portions were large :D

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Like it very much, food was very good. Service was okay, slow bringing the drinks, appetizer on time but we were just enjoying our appetizer and drinks and we got our main dishes, send them back (mistake) after we finish our appetizer we got our dishes back, eggs Benedict cold (obviously), even like that the eggs Benedict were good, so next time we will order first appetizer and then our main course. Beside that small percance, everything else was good. Rene excellent bartender, Saul good waiter. Definitely I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was amazing. Took awhile to get our drinks and food, but our server was very kind and helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was delicious. As it usually is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great menu, good food, bad service. Our waiter was inattentive and un-interested in making sure our needs were met. We were a party of 10 and any time anyone needed anything we had to make various attempts to hail down the waiter. Not once were we asked if everything was ok.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great brunch here with my wife and my parent's this past Sunday. The restaurant was packed and very loud- any louder would have been too loud; it was right at the threshold. Everyone's food was delicious, and the drinks were good as well. Some unique brunch items makes Sanfords stand out. I'm looking forward to returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Made reservations via OpenTable. Parking was tough so was 10 mins late. Usually restaurants keep your table for 10 mins or call you to check if you're still coming. They didn't call me and they gave our table away. We had to wait 20 mins in line for another table. I was pretty upset because we weren't that late and open table asks for your phone contact. Why didn't they call?!

Besides that, the waiter service was great. Food was amazing! Only other slight complaint was the noise factor. On Yelp the photos look upscale and quiet. But there were a lot of families and it was very loud at brunch. It wasn't as upscale as I had thought. But the food and portions made up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything was fantastic! Everyone in our group loved their orders! I would highly recommend having the "Gouda stuffed Duck Burger!" It was absolutely delicious. Great job to the staff for their hospitality. Compliments to the chef. Awesome place! Can't wait to visit NYC again and eat here

Tags: Wood Oven, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Organic, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a get together of college friends from different boroughs so we thought Astoria would be a good place to meet. Food was great, but we didn't know that it would be so loud. So if you want a quiet place for your get together so you can hear each other, Sanford's is not the place. If it's all about the food and drinks, I would definitely recommend Sanford's!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

From a food and service perspective, I enjoyed my time there. Delicious brunch. Great setting, nicely established place. It has history, and is a four-time zagat rated location, so that was very influential for me.

However, I had a reservation for 1:15pm, and I arrived at 1:08-ish. I didn't get seated till around 1:20pm. I understand that it was almost a full house. I don't think I should've waited that long.

Finally, without me mentioning it strictly to my waiter, she brought a cake for my fiancé's birthday. Clutch. Excellent hospitable service. I would come again, just don't know if reservations are truly necessary.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Staff lacks experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was delicious, the ambiance was lively and the overall service was amazing and welcoming!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I ordered the mushroom risotto and was offered the ravioli. When they finally brought the risotto (in 5 min. How can it be done so fast?!?) it ws over cooked, salty and I had to return it.
That is not the service I had other times in the restaurant and I´ll give them another chance when it comes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Seated on time, delicious brunch! Looking forward to returning! (Parking can be an issue, but was easier on Sunday.)

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

They do a great brunch, service was great as was atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food here is great. Its very worth it. $10 for two drinks and coffee at brunch is a hit too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Sanford's tuna tartare and daily seafood specials are delicious and filling. Love the BBQ pull pork sandwich!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good ambiance, comfy seats. Great ribs! Avoid the rib eye though..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great place-delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Truffle Mac and CHEESE was divine
BBQ Meat balls delicious
Duck Burger incredibly moist and flavorful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Love it here! Have been there for Brunch and dinner! Great ambience, good food and drinks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Ive visited this place prior to the renovation. I can say that the renovation made the dining a more pleasurable eating experience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not a great night at Sanfords. They didn't acknowledge my Open Table reservation, so I had to follow up to make sure my points were rewarded. We were seated promptly, brought water and bread promptly and then it seemed like they forgot about us.
Apps came before drinks. Three different waiters/bussers/runners came back and forth. There were four of us - everyone got steak. Three entrees came out - long pause before the fourth. Entire service experience seemed a bit confused. Maybe they were new?
Food was just okay. Chicken soup needed salt. Tomato soup needed something (we added a bit of butter and then it was good). Steaks were okay. Sauces were a bit off -- bernaisse was a little greasy and the wine reduction a little salty.
Wine and cocktails were good. Very nice selection to choose from. Coffee was good. Chocolate mousse desert was excellent.
Hoping it was just an off night - they are in a great spot and seemed to do a lot of business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The veal sandwich and the jumbo spicy calamari are unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came here for brunch last Saturday with a couple friends, the place underwent renovations in the last year or two and the inside is very modern with ample seating and a full bar.
We ordered the boozy brunch which is two brunch cocktails plus one juice, coffee or tea for +$10 on top of your brunch entree. Well worth it!
The food was delicious and portions generous--between the three of us, we ordered the crab cake eggs Benedict, the pulled pork eggs Benedict and the chilequiles verdes which were all excellent. I can't wait to go back again for brunch and also try some of their dinner items!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were seated right away and had a good selection of breads and crackers put on the table. Our drinks were made very quickly and were very yummy. We ordered the ranch chicken quesadilla which was just okay, nothing special. I ordered the special, braised short rib and it was SCRUMPTIOUS. My boyfriend ate the steak panini and he said it was really good too. I recommend ordering one of their specials because my entree was stellar. Definitely going to head back to this restaurant and see what's next on their specials menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.