About Sanfords Restaurant

30-13 Broadway
Astoria, NY 11106
View Larger Map

Sanfords has been an Astoria landmark since 1922. The Sanfords of today serves exceptionally well prepared American comfort food, in a modern, casual & sleek environment. The space is bright & alive during the day. Dim, candlelit and relaxing in the evening, with loungy tunes playing in the background. The combination of lighting, sound & warm colors create a truly unique vibe in the space.
Aside from the great food & atmosphere, Sanford’s also boasts Queens Largest Whisky Bar stocking over 300 single malts and bourbons, as well as 30 wines by the glass. All of our wines are maintained in the Le Ver devin Wine preservation system, which pumps the precise amount of air out of each bottle of wine that is opened.
The only things we love more than food & wine at Sanford’s, is people, and the fact that
Good food and drink brings people together. Sanford’s is a place for people old and young, to come to eat, drink and celebrate life, family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00am; Late night: Daily: 12:00am - 2:00am; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
31st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 932-9569

Website:
http://www.sanfordsnyc.com/

Entertainment:
While Sanfords has no live music, it has become known for the unique bossanova, chill-out, and international tunes played in its state of the art sound system for diners to enjoy in the background while enjoying their meals.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available from 8:30am – 7:00pm, a private parking lot is located around the corner on 31st Street, and a municipal public parking lot is located on 31st Street next to McDonalds.

Public Transit:
N & W trains to Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Verdis

Private Party Contact:
Gus: 646-739-9582x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Sanfords Restaurant
Sanfords Restaurant
Shrimp Scampi
Gouda Stuffed Duck Burger
Crab Cakes
Stuffed Shells Mac N Cheese
Organic Field Greens
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Nutella S'mores Waffle
Fries
French Toast Panini
Crunchy Chicken Thai Wrap
Lobster Bisque
Sesame Crackers
Rustic Tomato Soup
Hot Cocoa
Fried Calamari
Waffles
Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes
Skirt Steak Sandwich
Caesar salad w/ skirt steak
Red Wine
Bread
Eggs Benidict
Falafel Wrap
Chicken BLT
Mimosa
Steak Skillet
Bbq Pulled Pork Burger
Cheese Burger
Waffle With Maple Syrup
Mushroom Ravioli and Steak
Eggs Benedict
Mussels
Cobb Salad
Florentine Benedict
Crab Cake Benedict
Crab Cake Sandwich
Bistro Burger
Complimentary Bread
Croque Madame
Certified Black Angus Cheese Burger
Timmermans Framboise Beer
Wells Banana Bread Beer
Crispy Duck Confits And Waffles
garden salad
Gouda Duck Burger
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon
Whole Wheat Banana Nut Pancakes!
Mac and Cheese
Scampi Shrimp Pasta
Omelette
Zucchini Tomato And Ricotta Fritatta
Crabcake Benedict
Mimosas
Pecan Crusted Tilapia
Point Judith Calamari
Chicken Orzo Soup
Wild Miso Salmon
Seared Diver Scallops
Kir Royale
Cocoa
Death by Mushroom Ravioli
Manhattan Clam Chowder
French Onion Soup
Pan Fried Half Chicken
Jalapeno Mac and Cheese
Brownies Bowl
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb
Banana Caramel Cheesecake Xangos
Hanger Steak & Mushroom Ravioli
Grand Marnier Creme Brulee
Crispy Duck Leg Confit & Waffle With Sweet Plantains
Peacan Crusted Chicken Salad
Veal Millenese
Grilled Hanger Steak
Butternut squash ravioli
Chicken Noodle Soup
Filet Mignon
Burrata

Sanfords Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Brunch
Queens
Best Restaurants in Astoria ›

great for brunch (22)
neighborhood gem (18)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
good for groups (13)
great for lunch (13)
special occasion (8)
notable wine list (7)
romantic (7)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We went for breakfast and the menu had s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for breakfast and the menu had some classics as well as some interesting/different choices. I would come back for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Sesame chicken teriyaki was over saturat ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Sesame chicken teriyaki was over saturated in sauce. Barely any rice, you could not even taste it without having an extreme amount of mushy vegetables to accompany it.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great service, good beer menu.

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service, good beer menu.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

perfect brunch spot very affordable the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

perfect brunch spot very affordable they serve 2 drinks and a coffee for $18 as a brunch special and all the food is amazing

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

The menu on here is not updated. Not m ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The menu on here is not updated. Not many vegetarian options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great "fancy" NY diner

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a great place to eat during the weekend! Their brunch menu is amazing and well priced, and the food is amazing! It's like a "fancy" diner. Make sure you make a reservation since there is always a long wait if you go at a popular time!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Truffle Mac and Cheese

Dined on May 20, 2016

Truffle Mac and Cheese

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Good Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

I came here for brunch with my parents and the food was great. The staff was a little over-attentive - we had to turn down extra coffee or tea upwards of five times - but that's not the worst problem to have. It does get a little loud when people bring kids in, but it was never above moderate while we were there. Overall, very good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service3

How loud the music was

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

How loud the music was

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sanford's is an amazing spot in Astoria!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Sanfords is a great option in Astoria! Everything on the menu is great. Some of my favorites include the steak with peppercorn sauce, skirt steak ciabatta, chicken avocado club and the shell pasta. For appetizers, you can't go wrong with oysters or mussels. The chicken fingers are great too! They have a great wine list also.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighborhood Go-to-Spot

Dined on April 3, 2016

This place still has the best tuna tartare I've had in a long time. If you live in the Astoria area, it's a great brunch spot.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Well-deserved longevity

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was excellent, service attentive and atmosphere both chic yet comfortable. Can't wait to return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been twice in this place and I lo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

I have been twice in this place and I love it. The food is great, staff too ( the bartender and waitress).

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Saw the menu and decided I wanted to sto ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Saw the menu and decided I wanted to stop in, and the food exceeded my expectations. Kinda sad that I live 30 miles away and won't be able to really delve in to the bourbons that are offered.

food5
ambience5
service5

Eat here immediately, if not sooner! The ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Eat here immediately, if not sooner! The food, the wine and beer and liquor offerings, the service...we could not pick our favorite part of our dining experience here!!! Treated like a family friend, my co workers and I enjoyed every bite of our meal from the filet spring rolls to the yellowfin tuna. Thank you to Leo and his team for one of the best tasting meals we have had!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cool place, good food

Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was excellent here. wait and bus staff were friendly and attentive. menu had a lot of delicious looking choice as well as the wine list. cool atmosphere but it was really loud due to music in the bar area. not a place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Overall it was OK. Would not recommend t ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall it was OK. Would not recommend the crab cake Benedict. The taste of fish overwhelms dish. Crabcake is frozen type heated up. Hollandaise sauce lacked flavor (or may have been masked by fishy crab cake) Sausage was good. Service good. Ambience nice. Would love to try different dishes but not running back there.

food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely for Brunch

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food presentation. Great value. Lovely ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I like it even more now that it's renovated.

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have been to Sanford's once before the renovation. This time I came to Sanford's to do a early Valentine's Day celebration. The place was absolutely beautiful,the Decour stunning. While the waitress was average, she spent most of her time talking to one person and was not attentive as she should be. The dish cleaners and water service was immediate and efficient. The food on the is superb and Cooked to perfection! We had appetizers of the fried mozzarella ravioli which was decadent and delicious. The chicken wrap that I had gotten was probably the best wrap I'd ever tasted. In overall I would choose to experience Sansford's again, over and over.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere was pleasant, service was att ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Atmosphere was pleasant, service was attentive, and food was good. Definitely worth a second visit.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Brunch with the "younger generation"

Dined on February 6, 2016

Took my son and his significant other to brunch and they were impressed that Mom could find such a great place. Many young professionals in groups and with their families but us older adults fit in fine. Will say that it is not a quiet place for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent as Always

Dined on January 15, 2016

We have gone to Sanfords several times in the past and always enjoyed our meal immensely. For no real reason, we hadn't been in a while and decided to go back this weekend (we make the trip from Long Island). It was as perfect as always. It's almost impossible to get a bad meal here. The food is eclectic and delicious, well-priced, and the restaurant itself is unique (a charmingly converted diner). It is definitely one of our all-time favorite restaurants.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great time, great food.

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Modern scene since upgrading. Food is really great. Huge portions and good prices. Best crispy chicken sandwich. Wish it wasn't so crowded ALL the time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Food as always great !!

Dined on December 17, 2015

Food as always great !!

food4
ambience3
service5

Try a little of everything. No bad menu choices!!

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

Love the duck burger. Love the Florentine Spring Rolls. Outrageously good yellowfin tuna salad. Portions are more than generous. Go with friends and share the menu. Enjoy! But one small issue, turn the lights up a bit. No one should need to shine a bright cellphone light to read a menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3

It was okay

Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was good, like their truffle Mac and cheese. But my butternut squash ravioli was very salty and did not have a lot of filling so it was mostly pasta. They had a good wine list but their happy hour was only wine and whiskey. The restaurant was cozy.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Food at 11pm

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Arrived in NYC late; needed to eat and keep to new food regime; Sanford was perfect. Organic ingredients, gluten options and comfortable portions. Wonderful service from start to finish. Only recommendation is to add a sorbet or sweet berry mix to dessert menu. Desserts were to rich after a well-portioned meal. Please go!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT FOOD,

Dined on October 31, 2015

This place is always great there has never been an off day . The food is amazing

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Dinner

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

The newly renovated Sanfords is beautiful. We were heading into the City and stopped in for an early dinner. The menu is extensive. The pecan crusted chicken salad was delicious. My husband enjoyed the chicken parm. Definitely a great choice....any time of the day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth the wait!

Dined on September 22, 2015

After long wait on renovations it was worth the wait! Still great food, best brunch & larger place with a beautiful whiskey bar! Will be back for dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal, great job on remodel, ver ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Fabulous meal, great job on remodel, very good service, above expectations!

food3
ambience4
service4

Please offer lettuce, tomato, pickle, on ...

Dined on September 17, 2015

Please offer lettuce, tomato, pickle, onion, etc. with burgers. At least say it's available on the side.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was an absolute delight to be back at ...

Dined on September 7, 2015

It was an absolute delight to be back at Sanfords again, after their renovation they are even better than before. They added an incredible selection of whiskey to their already phenomenal food. The ambience has always been and continues to be amazing, one of my favorite places in Astoria morning, afternoon or evening.

food1
ambience1
service1

Wish I Never Booked

vip
Dined on May 27, 2015

This place apparently shut down on May 18 for renos. This was not advertised on their website. This was not communicated to Open Table. I made resos for when I got into Astoria after my flight. We show up and find an empty place with construction going on. I had also booked another reso for 2 days later. Open Table App wouldn't let me CX the resos, neither would the regular site - claims Sanford's reservation system couldn't be reached. No kidding! I then couldn't make alternative resos through Open Table due to being stuck in these resos. So thanks, Sanfords! Not only did I not get to try your restaurant, I didn't really get to book and try any other good ones.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good neighborhood place

Dined on April 30, 2015

I found restaurant on line when searching for a good place in the neighborhood. I made a reservation for 6 pm but we got there earlier and they seated us promptly. Service was excellent. Food was good to excellent. They have an extensive wine and beer menu. I was somewhat disappointed that they had no draught beers but my selection was good anyway. Food was delicious. I would recommend this place.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Brunch spot in Astoria

Dined on April 26, 2015

Came here to celebrate a special occasion with a group of friends. Everything seemed to be organized and the place looked very clean and cozy. We had a variety of dishes and all of them were well cooked and served. We enjoyed our meal and had some coffee too. The prices were very reasonable and the portions of the plates were very big, without that being a bad factor for the quality. Overall very pleased and my recommendation to anyone that happens to be in the area and wants to have a greek, mediterranean or american food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

average Breakfast

Dined on April 5, 2015

Unfortunately our experience at Sanfords did not live up to our expectation which had been based on reviews we read. This was probably due to the fact that the brunch menu, which has a more interesting selection of dishes, does not start until 10am and we were there at 8am. The breakfast menu is very ordinary at this time.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

A good, but not great, brunch place

Dined on March 22, 2015

We've been there on a Monday for brunch and it was quieter, less rushed, and better service. Sunday brunch will not be repeated. It is noisy, very crowded, and the service was not so attentive. The food on the brunch is decent, but nothing exceptional. The frittata was bland and overcooked; the crabcake Benedict came with overcooked egg and a Hollandaise that had started to film over. The Bloody Mary didn't have much alcohol in it.

food4
ambience4
service2

A "So-so" Experience Compared to Better Visits

Dined on March 15, 2015

As an avid-lover of Sanford's weekend brunch, I was a bit disappointed with my most recent dining experience. I was unable to snag a reservation for brunch on my birthday, and opted for a later reservation at 4pm. I understand Sanford's policy of not seating full parties, but when it's for a reservation that is a completely different story. I had a guest arrive right on time (I followed a few min after), but she was not allowed to be seated, when in reality our table should have been ready to go and available for guests to be seated. The point of the reservation is to guarantee a table at a specific time; there was no reason to deny my guest access. I had also made a note on my reservation that I wanted to bring my own cake, but no employee ever followed up to tell me I'd have to pay a $2.00 plating fee per guest. I understand why they have a fee, but if I had known I would have provided my own plates and silverware to not be bothered by it. I also would have appreciated if the waitress sang 'Happy Birthday' to me when my cake was brought out- maybe that's a silly thing to be disappointed about, but it just didn't feel like I was having a celebration while I was dining there. My previous brunch and dinner experiences have been better, so I'd suggest just sticking to their brunch, or don't bother to make a reservation as it doesn't seem to guarantee much here. The food is still great which is why I will always suggest it to my friends regardless.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Brunch Find

Dined on January 5, 2015

This is a neighbourhood restaurant with a relaxed environment and great food. We had brunch from the prix fixe menu and it was well worth it. The food was very good, the portions generous, and the servers were very attentive. There were many interesting dishes to choose from but we had the eggs Benedict to see how they compared with other places. The eggs were cooked perfectly, but the Hollandaise was not as fresh as we would have liked. We are pretty picky about that. Nonetheless, we will definitely return and try their dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.