Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Sanfords Restaurant

Sanfords has been an Astoria landmark since 1922. The Sanfords of today serves exceptionally well prepared American comfort food, in a modern, casual & sleek environment. The space is bright & alive during the day. Dim, candlelit and relaxing in the evening, with loungy tunes playing in the background. The combination of lighting, sound & warm colors create a truly unique vibe in the space.
Aside from the great food & atmosphere, Sanford’s also boasts Queens Largest Whisky Bar stocking over 300 single malts and bourbons, as well as 30 wines by the glass. All of our wines are maintained in the Le Ver devin Wine preservation system, which pumps the precise amount of air out of each bottle of wine that is opened.
The only things we love more than food & wine at Sanford’s, is people, and the fact that
Good food and drink brings people together. Sanford’s is a place for people old and young, to come to eat, drink and celebrate life, family and friends.

30-13 Broadway
Astoria, NY 11106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 12:00am; Late night: Daily: 12:00am - 2:00am; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
31st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 932-9569

Website:
http://www.sanfordsnyc.com/

Entertainment:
While Sanfords has no live music, it has become known for the unique bossanova, chill-out, and international tunes played in its state of the art sound system for diners to enjoy in the background while enjoying their meals.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available from 8:30am – 7:00pm, a private parking lot is located around the corner on 31st Street, and a municipal public parking lot is located on 31st Street next to McDonalds.

Public Transit:
N & W trains to Broadway.

Executive Chef:
Alfonso Verdis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sanfords Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Always consistently delicious food ! Very friendly staff and professional ! Love going to Sanfords !!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Tapas, Vegan, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent all around. Particularly liked the menu as there was something for everyone. We went for brunch and there were great breakfast and lunch choices. The $10 2 drinks + coffee was the kicker. My wife had one drink the the coffee and I the other drink. Service was very good as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Delicious brunch spot to show my dad coming in from out of town! Ridiculously excellent service as well. Can't wait to try at night after hearing about its whiskey fame!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The waiter kept coming to our table WAY TOO MUCH AND CLEANING AROUND US WHILE WE WERE EATING. At one point he tried to take my plate and I wasn't done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Creative menu and food is up to expectations. Very good service and value. Only complaint: noise level.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Awesome . Best lunch I have had in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was great aside from the bloody Mary. It was too watered down for my taste but got a mimosa for the second drink and it was enjoyable. Like the vibe and the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Jay the bartender was really knowledgeable and a pleasure to sit with at the bar.

I had read about the extensive scotch and whiskey selection. My son and husband are scotch drinkers. Then my father in law told us about the diner that it used to be. My husbands grandfather had been a regular there.

We were all pleasantly surprised. And the Scotch selection really impressive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our waiter was awesome. He helped us decide what to order and was very funny. The food was delicious. We had the risotto, seafood paella, and several of the appetizers as our main dishes - including filet mignon egg rolls and chicken fingers. The portions were very filling. The drinks were great - no scimping on the alcohol. They have a great selection of whiskeys. I would really recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good menu, a variety of choices for brunch. Good ambiance too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is my second visit and consistent great ambience an awesome service

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This place near my subway stop has expanded, transformed and upgraded itself in the last few years. It's popular and fairly noisy at the times you would expect it to be, especially weekend brunch. I don't think there are any bargains, but the food is fresh, well prepared and the portions are generous. For me, it is not a destination.
Oh, the owner refuses to turn down the music. Some people, I suppose, like the vibe, but I want to talk to the person I am with, and when I am alone, I like to hear myself think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great 2 drink mimosa add on to brunch entree for only $10! Food, ambiance, service...all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was excellent. The menu had interesting options. The decor was sophisticated. The food was not as great as I was expecting given the Zagat score. There are so many options to try in the area and this is one of them.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Good food but pricey. Drink was 13 and came in small glass with way too much ice. I wouldn't mind the price if it was a good value. Overall it was good but the drunk thing bothered me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Came here for brunch with a friend. I ordered the crab cake eggs benedict and it was INCREDIBLE. Generous amount of crab too. My friend ordered the corned beef hash eggs benedict and it was so big she had to take it home with her. Overall decent experience, just wish the waitress would've been a little more attentive but she seemed busy. She only took our order and brought us the bill, which was actually the wrong bill, so we had to get that sorted out. Will be back though, great brunch spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Music was too loud. We had to yell at each other to communicate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were there for breakfast on our way to Belmont Park. We are from out of town. We were looking for something close to the park for breakfast. This restaurant had good reviews. We all really enjoyed what we ordered. Staff was nice, food was great. We would frequent the restaurant if we lived in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful place to meet friend(s) for brunch / lunch / dinner. The food and service always good. Sanfords is a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My cousins and I had Brunch here. The food is amazing! We ordered the Eggs Benedict Flourentine, Truffle egg sandwich, and the French toast with bananas and pecans. Everything was amazing. The coffee was great. The price was reasonable. They have a lot of unique menu options that I haven't seen anywhere else, I would definitely recommend this place for Brunch. The restaurant is quiet enough to carry on a conversation. We stayed around for a while, took a while to order, and did not feel rushed at any point during our experience. The waiter was very friendly. We will definitely be back to try some of the other menu options, like the Smores waffles and peanut butter pancakes! Mmm!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great for brunch. Drink sizes are small but the food made up for it. Was in walking distance of pur hotel which was a great way to see the city. Had a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Definitely not the best food and the service is just ok. We felt rushed to leave as they started cleaning/ setting the table while we were still there.

No second chance needed for this one!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My fiancee went to Sanfords for our weekly date night. The menu was extensive and pleasing for our dietary needs. The fish taco app was great, as were the sesame crusted yellowfin tuna and salmon. The prosecco was refreshing. A great date night meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my wife out for Mother's Day and it was the best place to be deafly will recommend the spot I will be coming back

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Spicy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day is usually intensely busy at restaurants - 25 minutes for the waiter to get to your table to greet you was still too long (especially after waiting 10 minutes past reservation time and 20 min for food arrival). When asked "which items on your menu are gluten free" - waiter looked annoyed and stately rashly, "NONE" - perhaps wishing us to get up and leave? Apparently - he thought the steak and eggs was not gluten free because it had meat. Clearly, he did not know what "gluten free" meant and was highly annoyed when I tried to explain it. Once the food arrived, it was delicious. My mom had a great time, which was all that mattered. Next time - special occasions will be celebrated elsewhere, I'll reserve this place for quieter events.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service excellent
Look forward to returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved the food + boozy brunch option. Service was great!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The waitstaff was just amazing, attentive, and made the entire meal a wonderful experience. We can as a family to celebrate my brother's birthday and we were all more than impressed. I highly recommend considering Sanford's for any special occasion. Thank you Sanfords!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Love coming to this place, vibrant, good service, good food (except, some were salty and dry). The food used to taste better when I went a few years ago. Still, everything was good! I would definitely recommend to friends!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service was horrible. We waited more than 35 minutes between courses and the food was lacking in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was great, the food was amazing, and the drinks were made perfectly. Not one bad thing to say about this place the brunch was fantastic all around I will definitely be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Used to love Sanford's, now it's just eh. Chicken soup was returned. Orzo and veggies were hard. Crab cake was good (decent size too). Seared tuna salad was very flavorful, but some of the tuna was fatty and hard to chew. Wine pours look decent because they are served in a small carafe with a large glass, but....it's a show. Reservation was accommodated. Seated immediately. Menus and water brought timely, however, we had to grab the waiter for a cocktail (isn't that where the profits come from?) He gave us the specials run-down and then walked away. It was loud too. Maybe poor acoustics. All in all it's just ok, not great as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sanford's is the perfect modern trendy restaurant for Brunch, Dinner , or a quick dessert date... Drinks are awesome and the service is steller...

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ambiance nicer than service or food. Food has good concepts but seems a little unnecessarily overdone compromising taste. Ordered 2 soft drinks and the glasses had a sticky rim both times. May need attention to cleanliness.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a 12pm reservation on a Sunday for my boyfriend and I and his parents. The one negative part of our experience was having to wait 20 minutes for a table when we had a reservation. Food and service once we were seated were incredible, definitely worth it. Just frustrating having to wait so long when we had a reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We met friends for Sunday brunch. They take reservations which is great. The food was really good and varied. Service was efficient and pleasant and we did not feel rushed even though it was very busy. The only drawback was the noise level which was extremely loud making conversation difficult. Would go again despite the noise level.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. The décor and atmosphere were excellent and the prices were extremely reasonable. This will be a new regular spot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Me and my girlfriend love this spot a lil nice gem in queens and it was a experience!!! i loved it and i recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I loved this place!! We went for brunch and it was delicious! The service was great; we felt so welcomed here! Cant wait to go back!

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I had a business meeting there. The ambiance was nice and the food was delicious. I impressed my clients with this place. Service was so so. But over all it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.