Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

About Sandy Point Beach House

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual fine dining restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. Located minutes from Lake Michigan, near Kirk Park and West Michigan bike trails, the beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage. An easy drive from Holland, Grand Haven or Grand Rapids.

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 7:30AM to 8PM
Monday: 11AM to 9PM
Tuesday: 11AM to 9PM
Wednesday: 11AM to 9PM
Thursday: 11AM to 9PM
Friday: 11AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Oscar Moreno

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wi-Fi available, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Join us on Father's Day for a Feature Menu created with Dad in mind!

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Casual (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great Beer (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Waterfront (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Sandy Point Beach House was a very pleasant surprise. The food was exceptionally good and I do not recall seeing such an extensive wine list at any other restaurant in West Michigan, other than the Reserve in downtown Grand Rapids. It is definitely worth the drive to West Olive for this dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for mothers day. It took a while from start to finish to order and receive our meal but all in all it was a good experience and the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went there for Mother's Day Brunch, it was a very nice atmosphere and the service was smooth and efficient. The pricing was out of line for the casual environment and the food selection on the buffet. There was only the Brunch option. $35 per person and $10 'momosas' was excessive for the overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have dined here frequently since the Beach House re-opened. Invariably the experience has been good, with nutritious food and a good variety. Value for money is not always consistent - some meals are excellent value, others less so. I usually use Open Table to book, but the value of this is limited as the allocation of the table tends to be rather willy nilly. The advantage of booking on Open Table is sometimes limited.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2017

When we arrived we had immediate seating which was nice. unfortunately it's prom time in West Michigan and out table was right next to several tables of kids enjoying their prom dinners. It was very loud and not so romantic. My wife and I celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary, so looking to be a little more romantic.

the wine selection was great and we enjoyed a couple bottles of wine. Had a fantastic smoked Halibut Pate appetizer off a great appetizer selection. Our main entree's were very good. Great flavors worked into the entree's.

Finished dinner with chocolate ganache cake and flan (off Cinco De Mio Menu) with a cup of coffee.

So overall food quality is excellent, great selections and moderate prices. We will be going back again. Just need to check the school calendar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food. I do wish more came with there pierogies.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Your staff is incredible! Remembers us when we come making the evening very special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our waitperson misheard my order and as a result, my dinner did not arrive with the others. They did not charge me for my meal, but it was disappointing. The facility itself is not very nice considering the prices.

The bacon wrapped dates were awfully good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited for Easter brunch. Brunch options were minimal and poor, especially considering the $35 a person price. Our server was absolutely horrible. We waited over 15 minutes for her to even greet us. No water refills (I had to get my own from the bar) plates stacked up and never picked up, warm orange juice, drink orders wrong. Could be more understandable if she was busy but she only had 3 tables, including ours, she was handling. Most definitely will never be back. Very disappointing first experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter Brunch, at $35.00/person. The service was great-the food not so much. We were there at the beginning of the brunch and the food wasn't fresh and just warm and it was very evident that very little had actually been made in site. I wouldn't recommend the brunch buffet especially at this price, for a special occasion. Sorry.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cool place. First time there. Went for Easter Brunch@ $35 a pop. Very disappointed in quality of offerings, presentation, and number of choices. Looks like would be a neat place in the summer. May give it a try. Would not do brunch there again.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

NY strip is awesome. We had a great date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We eat here at least 2-3 times a month. While the food was great this time, our waitress was not. After waiting for 40 minutes for our appetizer, she admitted she forgot to order it. Then when it came, so did our salads, soup and entrees. So our entrees got cold while we finished the other courses. I also had to ask her 3 times for a glass of ice which finally came after she took the water away which I was going to use the ice in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great evening at SPBH. We arrived early and sat at the bar for a drink. We met Tony, the bar manager, who couldn't have been nicer or more helpful as we selected drinks. He has curated an incredible wine and bourbon selection as well as many craft beers from local and state wide breweries. The more we got talking about bourbon, Tony showed us some off menu bottles that he has collected over the years. He even allowed us to add a couple of these rare bourbons to a tasting flight. He was very helpful and clearly an expert in his field. when we were seated for dinner, we had a very friendly and outgoing server. She gave us some great food and wine recommendations, and we were not disappointed. We started with a cheeseboard, which included several artisanal cheeses, pickled veggies, and other accoutrements.I had coffee rubbed short ribs, which were perfectly braised and very flavorful. Overall, we had a great evening from the moment we walked in the door. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Ambience is great--feels very cozy and is a perfect beach town vibe! Hummous appetizer was good. Baby wedge salad and seafood chowder were delicious!! Vegan Tikka Masala was not a favorite--seemed more like an appetizer kind of dish. Service was great! Beer selection was perfect. Would definitely recommend as a couples' or friends' night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Always love the Sandy Point Beach House, but had an amazing experience this time while celebrating our daughter's engagement. Service was fantastic. Food was great. And, we were with Spanish-speaking friends and the chef, who spoke Spanish, actually came out to go over the menu is Spanish with them! It was above-and-beyond service. Love the food! Love the vibe! Great place to celebrate and eat any time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was outstanding and Mandy, our waitress was superb! we celebrated a friend's birthday and we really enjoyed the whole experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a perfect spot for 6 friends to get together. Only 2 of us had dined with you, before. On-line reservation was a snap and you honored our request for the "casual" side. Food was outstanding- (my husband didn't love the vegan marsala as it was almost all carrots). The Beef Stroganoff was the best I've ever tasted. Can't wait to go back in the summer and wander around outside a bit. Thank you for transforming this location and making it a local treasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great atmosphere, service is excellent. Love the food and Tony & Mark make the best martinis.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The hanger steak with fries was excellent as always. Perfectly cooked steak. The service has improved and I especially like that one of the owners walked around and asked us how our meal was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was very good. I had the coffee braised short rib which was very tender roast meat served in a small iron pot. Wife had the fancy chicken dish which she liked. We went in February but imagine this place is wonderful in the summer on the back patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentines Day dinner. The food and wine were both outstanding. We dine here frequently.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed our Valentines Day dinner at Sandy Point. The scallops where outstanding, cooked just right. We're looking forward to more meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentines dinner, good service and took an appropriate amount of time to take order/deliver food etc. Would be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is our go to place but this stop was probably our best since it opened. A great meal at the bar with benchmark drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We celebrated an early Valentine's Day, and it was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Never disappointed, always a great experience anytime of the year

Tags: Organic, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We are frequent flyers at the Beachhouse! Lucky it is in our neighborhood. Food and atmosphere are both great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Live Music, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice menu selection from burgers, steaks, to seafood. All members of our table enjoyed their meals. The entree's all had a special twist to them... not a basic burger, but were happy to scale them back to satisfy the customers wishes.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My friends and I went for the live jazz. We ordered appetizers and drinks. The drinks were expensive, but very good! The food was expensive and pretty good. I ordered mussels, and while the flavor was great, the mussels were very small. Our server was wonderful....friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Madison was our server and she did an outstanding job. She anticipated our every need, kept us updated on our meal delivery and made sure our wine pairings were delivered just at the right time. The food and wine pairings were delicious. Thank you !! We will be back!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a great place for the price. Staff were very pleasant & professional. Will definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really good food, interesting menu, great cocktails

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were seated by the fireplace until water from a leaky ceiling fell on my head. They moved us but reall never reacted to the water problem.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday and holiday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious breakfast, great service and a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My wife and I have decided that Sandy Point is great for a burger or other casual fare - not as good for a nice night out. This visit is the second time I have been disappointed with the steak I was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food. I had the black and blu burger and my wife had the whitefish. Both were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent food, excellent staff! Excellent restaurant! Worth going to!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good selection, ready availability, lively scene (expect some noise, given the low ceilings and hard surfaces). We are lucky that it is truly just down the street.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.