About Sandy Point Beach House

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. The beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11AM to 8PM
Monday-Wednesday: 11AM to 9PM
Thursday-Saturday: 11AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Cory Holleman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sandy Point Beach House
  • Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Restaurants in West Olive ›

fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (27)
great for outdoor dining (25)
See All
special occasion (24)
neighborhood gem (22)
great for lunch (14)
notable wine list (14)
romantic (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Costs were high for all items. Whitefi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Costs were high for all items. Whitefish was ordinary and dry. Waitress was EXCELLENT and so was the whole staff. It was a special birthday and the restaurant knew this but..... gave us a card--- not a complimentary dessert or a card for a drink or dessert in the future. Might try again for lunch but it was not a $65 per person dinner!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is just not that good. 4 out o ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food is just not that good. 4 out of 6 people we were with were not happy. It is our fourth time taking people there and no one wants to return. We will go back for drinks and a burger only.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Sandy Point has been our "go to" place s ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Sandy Point has been our "go to" place since moving to the lake shore area, however, it seems like it has taken some turns recently that are causing us to go elsewhere when given the choice. The menu has not changed much in the past year -- even though they offer specials, they are frequently out of them. This latest time they had listed "crab cakes" but never actually had them (?) and had just stamped "sold out" on all of the menus. The "specials" have also not been very special in that they are always the same thing. We go there frequently, so we do look for the specials for variety. I also find it odd that the hosts never recognize us or realize that we are regular customers. This restaurant is in a high vacation area, so I understand that there are a lot of people who go once or infrequently at best, but we visit Sandy Point regularly in all seasons and have for some time. Many of the servers do know and recognize us -- in fact, Bree gave me a hug when we were seated in her section this last time. I also held my 50th birthday party at the restaurant less than a year ago. I think the staff could do better with this since the regular customers are there all year and as well as in the off season. We are very happy to see that the specialty "mule" cocktails that were tested over Mother's Day have become part of the summer menu. These are excellent and we will be back for those all summer long. For the first time ever, my open table reservation was not recorded by the restaurant, so I received an email saying that I had not honored it, which was incorrect. This was rectified and not a big deal, but I didn't like feeling like I didn't uphold my end. I have never let a reservation lapse and don't intend to in the future.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Found the indoor dining to be very noisy ...

Dined 4 days ago

Found the indoor dining to be very noisy, but the manager went out of his way to accomadate us to outdoor seating upon request. Food overall was good, and service topnotch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Noisy and bustling, but very good food, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Noisy and bustling, but very good food, with both large and small plate options. Lots of outdoor dining space. Good "date night" venue, and nice place to visit with friends. Smart but informal atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Incredibly, in 2 visits, this restaurant ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Incredibly, in 2 visits, this restaurant was out of hamburgers, french fries, most of their desserts, one bottle of wine we requested, and certain specials. Food is quite ordinary in any event but i have never seen a restaurant that so poorly manages its inventory.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service! Our server was very respo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service! Our server was very responsive to our requests and provided excellent recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is always good, the price reaso ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always good, the price reasonable, though not inexpensive. Service good, fun place. This time, there was a very noisy party of 12 that drowned our conversion.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The best part of the dinner was the cock ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The best part of the dinner was the cocktails; I tried the Serrano Mule and the Limoncello Collins, both were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Vastly improved from experience last mon ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Vastly improved from experience last month-booked on Open Table and we were greater and seated immediately. Waitress (Stephanie??) was fast, friendly and helpful Grazed on scallops, pate, cheese bread , salads, and cheese board

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We had an unfortunate experience all aro ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had an unfortunate experience all around. The food ( whitefish) was extremely dry and basically not eatable. The service was poor. The server failed to return to our table until food was served and then we did not see him after that, until he dropped the check without checking to see if we were interested in another drink, coffee or a dessert prior to leaving. We waited nearly an hour for our food. the wait person recognized this and did adjust 20% off our bill for the inconvenience. All in all a poor dining experience at a restaurant that could and should be great as they have a wonderful menu and a great location with an outside venue. So disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice pace, great service, great food!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Nice pace, great service, great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, very good service, beautiful ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, very good service, beautiful setting. Would like a small house salad or a side of seasonal vegetables or cup of soup included in the price of the meal. Would like to see some entree salads offered. The Key Lime Pie and the Almond Cherry Bar were both outstanding. Hope they offer seasonal desserts when the local fruit is in season-- strawberry shortcake or cheesecake and blueberry desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Ottawa County.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Best steaks in Ottawa County. Great service. Very nice, upscale cottage like atmosphere. A gem that always leaves us full and happy. Great whiskey selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food preparation and presentation were first-rate, but service was not as attentive as we had hoped.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overrated

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. My husband and I took my mom and dad here last Thursday. The service was good but I thought the food was overpriced for what we received. The presentation of the food was average. I think this place would be fine for a burger and a beer but I don't think it lived up to it's billing for fine dining.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Ambiance

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great place to dine, especially in the summer as you can sit outside and enjoy the surrounding area. The Mussels on the starters menu are GREAT and are plenty for a meal. We shared a grilled Caesar salad in addition to each getting Mussels. I got the traditional dish with wine and my husband got the spicier rendition. We both loved what we chose. The wine and Bloody Mary was good but pricey. Do not expect to get out of there for under $50, especially if you have drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

The staff was friendly. It did however ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was friendly. It did however take a while about 3 minutes to be acknowledged by host even with a reservation. One of the whitefish dishes was well overcooked and was offered to be replaced which we did not do as we were getting ready to leave. Bill was adjusted.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous atmosphere and food! Looking fo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous atmosphere and food! Looking forward to enjoying dinner outside this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

This is a great out of the way place. Ve ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great out of the way place. Very relaxing and inviting. It's a great place to sit back have a few cocktails enjoy your meal then a few more cocktails. No rush here.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing experience.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Having heard that this was a good local spot for dining, I had high hopes for an enjoyable experience. However, the results did not meet my expectations. The drinks were not made well. The baked chicken was overcooked. The beef stroganoff seemed as if it had been held over since the night before and tasted like leftovers. The young server was eager to please and did his best to overcome the shortcomings that we encountered. He should be commended for his efforts. Maybe we made wrong menu choices, but I will not be returning soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Sandy Point Beach House

Dined on April 9, 2016

Such a great option. Wonderful food, good service, and comfortable elegance!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our fav!!! Heather is amazing!!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Our fav!!! Heather is amazing!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Beach House is a "comfort place," both inside and out (when the weather warms)! It makes you feel good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter dinner.

Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant is conveniently located for us, and has a great atmosphere. Like most places, it is busy on Friday at dinner, but not too bad the rest of the week. Also a nice place to have a drink in the summer, with the outdoor patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food ok. Pricey

Dined on March 27, 2016

Disappointed with lamb dinner. The mash potatoes were very dry. Vegetables were hard to cut. Lamb was cooked medium well.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on March 13, 2016

Maryanne, our waitress was wonderful. We had one bad experience at this restaurant last summer and we were reluctant on returning. The service has greatly improved. The hanger steaks were perfect and the fig salad outstanding. You will never go wrong with the fancy Bloody (we prefer virgin) Mary's. I am delighted with the improved service and highly recommend SPBH, especially if you get Maryanne as your waitperson.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Could be a habit

Dined on March 11, 2016

Latest "dinner out" is for W and I to go for wine, split a classic carmelized onion hamburg and fries with a key lime pie split for dessert....just right . Delicious, relaxing and good for a light change. Food, service and cottage ambiance...semi-rustic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner, food was amazing, ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had a great dinner, food was amazing, we will be back many more times 👍🏻

food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Just OK.

Dined on February 28, 2016

What more is there to say -- they were out of some dishes, overall Just OK.

food2
ambience4
service2

The ambience of Sandy Point is relaxing ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

The ambience of Sandy Point is relaxing and quaint, unfortunately this time the food and service wasn't that great. We started with the cheese board, but when our server delivered it she didn't explain the different cheeses so we were left guessing. My husband ordered a salad before his entree and before he barely cut into it the main courses were on the table. We felt it was poorly timed and were rushed to eat the salad so our entrees weren't too cold. I ordered the filet, which was cooked to order, but didn't have much flavor and could have been better prepared with a hard sear. It also would have been nice to have some kind of sauce to tie the dish together with the rainbow carrots and smashed potatoes. My husband ordered the whitefish, which was very good. Overall, the food was just ok, but not worth the drive for us to go anytime soon.

food4
ambience4
service5

We made a last minute reservation for Va ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We made a last minute reservation for Valentines Day as my husband had just returned from a week long business trip. The menu had many choices for him, but I am celiac so that always presents a challenge when eating out so I stick to roasted chicken, mashed potatoes & veggies. The kitchen ran out of mashed potatoes (which I can typically have) and substituted au gratin potatoes - when I suggested to the young man who delivered our plates that they typically contain flour, he tried to convince me that they didn't - I had to insist that he check with the chef - ugh, I hate being that person. My plate came back sans potatoes and the yummiest veggies - my only negative comment is that someone should have made me aware of the switch prior to serving me. Steph, our waitress was outstanding - she has been our server before and never disappoints. Great atmosphere, great service and really good food. My husband ordered the Beef Stroganoff and said it was delicious!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

love this place

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place, the food is always amazing. Great atmosphere and attentive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Sweetheart of a failure

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Weekend Menu - warn clients in advance of a LIMITED Menu - first time guest we're disappointed with not knowing full menu wasn't available on top of the pre-fix menu. Then we ordered the Brazed Short Rib with mashed (came with fingerling) potatoes which does not match up at all with that entrée. Our waiter acted like she wanted to be anywhere other than at work that night however we have had her in the past and she acted the same each time. It will be a while before we return. There are far too many choices out there to be disappointed and return anytime soon. Good help - is hard to find.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

night out

Dined on January 30, 2016

My husband and I recently had our date night there. We had lennie as a server. She was very friendly and knowledgeable Of the menu specials and drinks. Defiantly a top notch server. We ordered Pierogies For an appetizer And they were amazing! We also ordered bloody Mary's defiantly a worthy recipie. Our burgers were tasty as well.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed.

Dined on January 9, 2016

My husband and I both ordered bleu cheese burgers. The burgers tasted as if they had been premade. They were cold. We were seated for at least 10 minutes before anyone came to our table but once Bri, sp?? did arrive, she was very sweet and attentive. The ambience was nice but I had to keep my coat on through the duration of our visit because it was very cold.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food but...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was terrific as usual. The downside? NO DESSERTS! This was NYE - ok, so the pastry chef was not in that day. But no prior prep? No backup desserts? No back up pastry chef? Desserts there have always been terrific so it was disappointing that we could not indulge for the holiday celebration.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Pleasant Dining experience

Dined on December 31, 2015

Enjoyed the friendly service, knowledgeable recommendations, table was ready on arrival, went with group of seven, all meals prepared as anticipated, great plate ptesentation, would recommend and certainly go back again😃

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

not our best meal

Dined on December 31, 2015

we have been to the beach house several times and have enjoyed the food and service. My husband had the aged Ribeye-- and they did not trim it properly and it wasn't very good. My filet was very good. The Ribeye was very expensive and not worth it-- that was disappointing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great West Coast of MI gem.

Dined on December 19, 2015

My wife and I love to dine out at different types of restaurants and when we go out last minute this is always our go to. They continually have chef specials that are incredible and you can never go wrong with any of their fish entrees.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.