About Sandy Point Beach House

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. The beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11AM to 8PM
Monday: 11AM to 9PM
Tuesday: 11AM to 9PM
Wednesday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Thursday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Friday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Cory Holleman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sandy Point Beach House
  • Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in West Olive ›

great for outdoor dining (33)
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (30)
See All
special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for lunch (14)
romantic (12)
notable wine list (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food; GREAT BURGERS; Excellent serv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food; GREAT BURGERS; Excellent service; lovely ambiance.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Beach House's outdoor space is cute ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Beach House's outdoor space is cute but that isn't enough to warrant your very pricey bill. Drinks are weak, too-sweet, and served in plastic cups. Everything is over priced. My whitefish was dry and bland, and came with what were clearly frozen green beans (a travesty, given Michigan's excellent green beans right now!) for something like $25/plate. My boyfriend's pasta was fine at best and didn't even come with enough bread for the sauce (want a side of bread? $4!). His pasta was overcooked and also clearly not homemade (again, something I'd expect for a $24 plate of noodles). They were out of several menu items and we weren't told until we tried to order those items. We paid over $100 in the end (and each had just one drink). I wouldn't recommend anyone go there, and we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We sat outside. Generally quiet and it w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We sat outside. Generally quiet and it was a nice evening. My wife said it was very loud inside. The outside is a large court with sidewalks with sand and bocce courts. There is a separate bar for service - but not for sitting at the bar.

The food was great. The only downside is several tables had little kids they just let run free around the courtyard and play in the sand like a sandbox. Was a little distracting and they would not have done this inside of course. Was hoping to try the scallops but they were out that might. 😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service was great . The onl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service was great . The only knock I have is that we requested outside seating and there wasn't any available. They have a great patio space they just don't have enough tables.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and a nice place for a spe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service and a nice place for a special occasion. It is quite loud, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the food wasn't disappointing it w ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

While the food wasn't disappointing it was pricier than expected....entrees were in the $25 price range. Service was great and everything was prepared as expected. The ambience was casual and it was very loud.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outdoor space is fantastic. The appetize ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Outdoor space is fantastic. The appetizers were great! My entree was a dissapointment. Seemed to be pre prepped and reheated. Not good. (Chicken)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

There were at least 2 items on the menu ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

There were at least 2 items on the menu that were not available when the orders were being taken. Seems strange that at 11:45 @ lunch they were already out of items? ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Sandy Point Beach House is my favorite r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Sandy Point Beach House is my favorite restaurant in the Grand Haven area. The menu and wine list are top notch. The ambiance is sophistication with the laid-back feel of the shore reminding me of a number of restaurants that I have visited in the northern California.

All of the dishes I have had there are outstanding. On this occasion, I had the halibut cheek, which was fantastic. On previous visits, I have had the mussels, Coffee Braised Short Rib, and Rigatoni Bolognese. For an appetizer, the bacon wrapped dates are phenomenal.

We sat on the deck for this occasion on a spectacular Western Michigan June evening. The restaurant is a stone's throw from Pigeon Lake which is a bay leading into Lake Michigan. The lake breeze was another big plus that night. Once we were done with dinner and dessert, we played a few games of bocce on one of the two bocce courts.

I highly recommend this restaurant to locals and visitors. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not my first time to the Beach H ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is not my first time to the Beach House. I had very good food and service before. This experience was horrible. We ordered the appetizer Pierogi which were ok but nothing special ...especially for $3/ea. There were 4 of us. Two ordered the fish Tacos, one Lobster mac and cheese and one person got the short ribs. I had both the tacos and the mac n cheese and both lacked flavor and the tacos were over cooked. The person that got the short ribs tried a few bites and had similar issues...bland and tough.

We left not having eaten more than a few bites of any plate. The server didn't seem to notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Costs were high for all items. Whitefi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Costs were high for all items. Whitefish was ordinary and dry. Waitress was EXCELLENT and so was the whole staff. It was a special birthday and the restaurant knew this but..... gave us a card--- not a complimentary dessert or a card for a drink or dessert in the future. Might try again for lunch but it was not a $65 per person dinner!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The food is just not that good. 4 out o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is just not that good. 4 out of 6 people we were with were not happy. It is our fourth time taking people there and no one wants to return. We will go back for drinks and a burger only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Sandy Point has been our "go to" place s ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sandy Point has been our "go to" place since moving to the lake shore area, however, it seems like it has taken some turns recently that are causing us to go elsewhere when given the choice. The menu has not changed much in the past year -- even though they offer specials, they are frequently out of them. This latest time they had listed "crab cakes" but never actually had them (?) and had just stamped "sold out" on all of the menus. The "specials" have also not been very special in that they are always the same thing. We go there frequently, so we do look for the specials for variety.

I also find it odd that the hosts never recognize us or realize that we are regular customers. This restaurant is in a high vacation area, so I understand that there are a lot of people who go once or infrequently at best, but we visit Sandy Point regularly in all seasons and have for some time. Many of the servers do know and recognize us -- in fact, Bree gave me a hug when we were seated in her section this last time. I also held my 50th birthday party at the restaurant less than a year ago. I think the staff could do better with this since the regular customers are there all year and as well as in the off season.

We are very happy to see that the specialty "mule" cocktails that were tested over Mother's Day have become part of the summer menu. These are excellent and we will be back for those all summer long.

For the first time ever, my open table reservation was not recorded by the restaurant, so I received an email saying that I had not honored it, which was incorrect. This was rectified and not a big deal, but I didn't like feeling like I didn't uphold my end. I have never let a reservation lapse and don't intend to in the future.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Found the indoor dining to be very noisy ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Found the indoor dining to be very noisy, but the manager went out of his way to accomadate us to outdoor seating upon request. Food overall was good, and service topnotch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Noisy and bustling, but very good food, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Noisy and bustling, but very good food, with both large and small plate options. Lots of outdoor dining space. Good "date night" venue, and nice place to visit with friends. Smart but informal atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Incredibly, in 2 visits, this restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Incredibly, in 2 visits, this restaurant was out of hamburgers, french fries, most of their desserts, one bottle of wine we requested, and certain specials. Food is quite ordinary in any event but i have never seen a restaurant that so poorly manages its inventory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service! Our server was very respo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service! Our server was very responsive to our requests and provided excellent recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always good, the price reaso ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always good, the price reasonable, though not inexpensive. Service good, fun place. This time, there was a very noisy party of 12 that drowned our conversion.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The best part of the dinner was the cock ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best part of the dinner was the cocktails; I tried the Serrano Mule and the Limoncello Collins, both were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Vastly improved from experience last mon ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Vastly improved from experience last month-booked on Open Table and we were greater and seated immediately. Waitress (Stephanie??) was fast, friendly and helpful

Grazed on scallops, pate, cheese bread , salads, and cheese board

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had an unfortunate experience all aro ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had an unfortunate experience all around. The food ( whitefish) was extremely dry and basically not eatable. The service was poor. The server failed to return to our table until food was served and then we did not see him after that, until he dropped the check without checking to see if we were interested in another drink, coffee or a dessert prior to leaving. We waited nearly an hour for our food. the wait person recognized this and did adjust 20% off our bill for the inconvenience. All in all a poor dining experience at a restaurant that could and should be great as they have a wonderful menu and a great location with an outside venue. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Nice pace, great service, great food!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Nice pace, great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, very good service, beautiful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, very good service, beautiful setting. Would like a small house salad or a side of seasonal vegetables or cup of soup included in the price of the meal. Would like to see some entree salads offered. The Key Lime Pie and the Almond Cherry Bar were both outstanding. Hope they offer seasonal desserts when the local fruit is in season-- strawberry shortcake or cheesecake and blueberry desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant in Ottawa County.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Best steaks in Ottawa County. Great service. Very nice, upscale cottage like atmosphere. A gem that always leaves us full and happy. Great whiskey selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food preparation and presentation were first-rate, but service was not as attentive as we had hoped.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overrated

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. My husband and I took my mom and dad here last Thursday. The service was good but I thought the food was overpriced for what we received. The presentation of the food was average. I think this place would be fine for a burger and a beer but I don't think it lived up to it's billing for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Ambiance

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great place to dine, especially in the summer as you can sit outside and enjoy the surrounding area. The Mussels on the starters menu are GREAT and are plenty for a meal. We shared a grilled Caesar salad in addition to each getting Mussels. I got the traditional dish with wine and my husband got the spicier rendition. We both loved what we chose. The wine and Bloody Mary was good but pricey. Do not expect to get out of there for under $50, especially if you have drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The staff was friendly. It did however ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was friendly. It did however take a while about 3 minutes to be acknowledged by host even with a reservation. One of the whitefish dishes was well overcooked and was offered to be replaced which we did not do as we were getting ready to leave. Bill was adjusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fabulous atmosphere and food! Looking fo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous atmosphere and food! Looking forward to enjoying dinner outside this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a great out of the way place. Ve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great out of the way place. Very relaxing and inviting. It's a great place to sit back have a few cocktails enjoy your meal then a few more cocktails. No rush here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Disappointing experience.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Having heard that this was a good local spot for dining, I had high hopes for an enjoyable experience. However, the results did not meet my expectations. The drinks were not made well. The baked chicken was overcooked. The beef stroganoff seemed as if it had been held over since the night before and tasted like leftovers. The young server was eager to please and did his best to overcome the shortcomings that we encountered. He should be commended for his efforts. Maybe we made wrong menu choices, but I will not be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Love Sandy Point Beach House

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Such a great option. Wonderful food, good service, and comfortable elegance!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fav!!! Heather is amazing!!

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Our fav!!! Heather is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The Beach House is a "comfort place," both inside and out (when the weather warms)! It makes you feel good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter dinner.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant is conveniently located for us, and has a great atmosphere. Like most places, it is busy on Friday at dinner, but not too bad the rest of the week. Also a nice place to have a drink in the summer, with the outdoor patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food ok. Pricey

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Disappointed with lamb dinner. The mash potatoes were very dry. Vegetables were hard to cut. Lamb was cooked medium well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Maryanne, our waitress was wonderful. We had one bad experience at this restaurant last summer and we were reluctant on returning. The service has greatly improved. The hanger steaks were perfect and the fig salad outstanding. You will never go wrong with the fancy Bloody (we prefer virgin) Mary's. I am delighted with the improved service and highly recommend SPBH, especially if you get Maryanne as your waitperson.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Could be a habit

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Latest "dinner out" is for W and I to go for wine, split a classic carmelized onion hamburg and fries with a key lime pie split for dessert....just right . Delicious, relaxing and good for a light change. Food, service and cottage ambiance...semi-rustic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great dinner, food was amazing, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

We had a great dinner, food was amazing, we will be back many more times 👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just OK.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

What more is there to say -- they were out of some dishes, overall Just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.