About Sandy Point Beach House

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. The beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 7:30AM to 8PM
Monday: 11AM to 8PM
Tuesday: 11AM to 8PM
Wednesday: 11AM to 9PM
Thursday: 11AM to 9PM
Friday: 11AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Oscar Moreno

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sandy Point Beach House, West Olive, MI
  • Sandy Point Beach House, West Olive, MI

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Saturday, February 11, and Tuesday, February 14, celebration of Valentine's Day!
On Saturday, order from a featured Valentine's Day menu with special love potions from the bar from 5pm-10pm.
On Tuesday, order from our regular menu with Valentine's Day features from 5pm-8pm.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fireplace (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vegan (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice menu selection from burgers, steak ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice menu selection from burgers, steaks, to seafood. All members of our table enjoyed their meals. The entree's all had a special twist to them... not a basic burger, but were happy to scale them back to satisfy the customers wishes.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My friends and I went for the live jazz. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My friends and I went for the live jazz. We ordered appetizers and drinks. The drinks were expensive, but very good! The food was expensive and pretty good. I ordered mussels, and while the flavor was great, the mussels were very small. Our server was wonderful....friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Madison was our server and she did an ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Madison was our server and she did an outstanding job. She anticipated our every need, kept us updated on our meal delivery and made sure our wine pairings were delivered just at the right time. The food and wine pairings were delicious. Thank you !! We will be back!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a great place for the price. S ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a great place for the price. Staff were very pleasant & professional. Will definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Really good food, interesting menu, grea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really good food, interesting menu, great cocktails

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were seated by the fireplace until wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were seated by the fireplace until water from a leaky ceiling fell on my head. They moved us but reall never reacted to the water problem.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday and holiday dinner

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday and holiday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious breakfast, great service and a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious breakfast, great service and a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have decided that Sandy Po ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My wife and I have decided that Sandy Point is great for a burger or other casual fare - not as good for a nice night out. This visit is the second time I have been disappointed with the steak I was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. I had the black and blu burg ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food. I had the black and blu burger and my wife had the whitefish. Both were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent staff! Excelle ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent food, excellent staff! Excellent restaurant! Worth going to!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good selection, ready availability, live ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good selection, ready availability, lively scene (expect some noise, given the low ceilings and hard surfaces). We are lucky that it is truly just down the street.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I was really pleased to see such a diver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I was really pleased to see such a diverse menu. We both had different entree's and enjoyed them greatly. The vegan tikka masala was especially delicious. There is a nice wine list to accompany the creative items on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food overpriced for the overall dining e ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food overpriced for the overall dining experience We were seated on the porch and with a concrete floor quite chilly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Atmosphere and quaintness as we celebrat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Atmosphere and quaintness as we celebrated our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love to my friends and family to sandy ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I love to my friends and family to sandy point beach house.

The service and food is always on point.

I usually order the weekend specials.

You can never go wrong with a pub burger either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service! We really enjoyed our vis ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service! We really enjoyed our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food! Great service! Excellent c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food! Great service! Excellent cocktails! Really nice experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am regular user of Open Table and trav ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I am regular user of Open Table and travel a good bit for work and pleasure. So I can say with some true confidence that our meal and experience on Sunday evening was just "OK". You come to expect a certain level of quality and professionalism of an establishment when the entrée prices range from $39-$60+.

It just so happened it was my birthday. And I certainly wasn't expecting anyone to place a funny hat on my head, and have all the wait staff sing. (Actually everyone gets a kick out of that except the person having the birthday.) But when half of the table ordered Desert, I did expect at least a Free Desert. But no Free Desert was provided. And its no big deal.

What was a big deal was the fact they place was slow, I would say less than 20% full and so I did expect perfect service and food from a high end (high priced) establishment.

My Filet was way over cooked. Closer to Well or Med Well. When I ordered it Med (even said to the waiter....warm pink center.) Which brings me to my waiter. He never checked on my table after the food was served to make sure the entrees were as expected..... Glancing over my shoulder, I saw him laughing at the bar talking with a friend. So yeah, I was a little disappointed. The appetizer was excellent (dumplings). Bread was nice (even if you have to pay for it too). But the overall experience was mediocre at best. Oh did I mention I picked out a great wine?

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good upscale dining, but way too loud! B ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good upscale dining, but way too loud! Building needs some acoustic work. The volume of noise wasn't bad when we were first seated, but as the dining room filled it became increasingly hard to hear my table-mates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food and staff!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Awesome food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed service and food quality!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Enjoyed service and food quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really good food, a little slow but a ni ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Really good food, a little slow but a nice local choice to eat out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall a good experience, however the w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Overall a good experience, however the wait staff member we had for the night was clueless. Multiple questions about the menu items we answered poorly. One example was desert...one of the options was NY Style Cheesecake which we ordered - but she came back and said it was gone. Then the other option was Key Lime Pie, which we asked if had a Meringue top. it was mentioned that yes indeed it was, but when the pie was delivered to the table, it had whip topping. Clearly not in tune with what was ordered.

Will think twice before going back...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

This was our first time ever at Sandy Po ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our first time ever at Sandy Point Beach House. We located it via Open Table and checked reviews on YELP and went. The outside would be a lot of fun during the summer, but inside was nice also. We had a good server for the most part. The New fashioned drinks and all our drinks were excellent. The cheese appetizer platter was also one of the best I have had, but it stopped there. Ordered a Delmonico steak Medium Rare that was good on the edge, but rare on the inside (really rare) - I should have sent it back, but did not. They do not have A1 or any steak sauce, just a house bistro which is basically brown gravy. It did not add to the steak at all.

We did not get asked about drink refills and did not get asked about dessert (still not sure, maybe they don't have dessert, never asked because the bill came so quickly).

My girlfriend and I dine many places around West Michigan and for the $120 + tip meal, I would just have expected better. This would have been fine for a $50 or $75 experience, but to pass this off as the same price as 616 in downtown Grand Rapids doesn't work for me.

I hear they used to be known for the burgers, may go back and just try a burger and fries because it is a nice setting between Grand Haven and Holland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Acoustics are terrible. Twice I have be ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Acoustics are terrible. Twice I have been seated next to a very, very loud group when I was with just one other person and we could hardly talk to each other. However, I love the service, the food and the location so I will keep coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Delicious food and was a hit for parents ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious food and was a hit for parents 35th Anniversary dinner with 6 people. Accommodating service, friendly, and without reservation, highly recommended. We look forward to dining again on our next visit to Holland.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good, wait staff did a fine job. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food is good, wait staff did a fine job. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The wine and drinks were good. The quie ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The wine and drinks were good. The quiet atmosphere was terrific for visiting with friends over dinner. But, the prices were very high for the type of food that was served. Most of us had hamburgers because we were put off by the high prices. The burgers were good but not exceptional. The service was excellent; well timed, but not hovering, and very friendly. It was good but not enough to bring us back because of the prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This is a hidden gem, doesn't look great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is a hidden gem, doesn't look great from the outside, but the ambiance inside is very pleasant and the food is very good (albeit pricey). I stop every time I'm up that way.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As I have been to Sandy Point prior, I h ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2016

As I have been to Sandy Point prior, I have had a number of dissatisfied dinners more due to service and found the food average. My last visit was wonderful, great service and great food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I ordered the white fish and it was over ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I ordered the white fish and it was over cooked to the point of chewy. However, they took care of it, bringing me a new entree and this time the fish was perfectly cooked. It wasn't our first time going there, and we'll be back. Nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The frites are amazing. I had the whitef ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The frites are amazing. I had the whitefish special and it was well prepared with a unique sauce drizzle. Yummy

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here often. Great food and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We've eaten here often. Great food and good service.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Sandy Point Beach House to cele ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Went to Sandy Point Beach House to celebrate a special birthday with family. The service was excellent and our waitress knew the menu well and gave great suggestions. Food was delicious and very filling. The atmosphere was like being on the east coast...very comfortable. Will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor was nice, beachy. The food ok ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The decor was nice, beachy. The food ok and overpriced. I think you would do better with unique brewery type appetizers and food.

Way too many flies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Fantastic food - diverse selection of me ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic food - diverse selection of meals with a gourmet touch. Atmosphere is relaxed, with a fun friendly feeling.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

service was slow. very busy nite. not en ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

service was slow. very busy nite. not enough wait staff.

sad the torches were not lite outside. it was the last weekend of summer.. and no torches to sit out after dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Sandy Point Beach House was an excellent ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Sandy Point Beach House was an excellent choice, a short drive from Grand Haven, bartender was great a bit noisy at the bar however food made up for that. We had the whitefish a nice size proportion fabulous sauce a great little get-away...we definitely will be back to this neighborhood gem, a must go destination!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The baked oatmeal topped with peaches is ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The baked oatmeal topped with peaches is my brunch favorite😋

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.