About Sandy Point Beach House

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. The beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11AM to 8PM
Monday: 11AM to 9PM
Tuesday: 11AM to 9PM
Wednesday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Thursday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Friday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Cory Holleman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sandy Point Beach House
  • Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Restaurants in West Olive ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wine and drinks were good. The quie ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

The wine and drinks were good. The quiet atmosphere was terrific for visiting with friends over dinner. But, the prices were very high for the type of food that was served. Most of us had hamburgers because we were put off by the high prices. The burgers were good but not exceptional. The service was excellent; well timed, but not hovering, and very friendly. It was good but not enough to bring us back because of the prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This is a hidden gem, doesn't look great ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is a hidden gem, doesn't look great from the outside, but the ambiance inside is very pleasant and the food is very good (albeit pricey). I stop every time I'm up that way.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As I have been to Sandy Point prior, I h ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As I have been to Sandy Point prior, I have had a number of dissatisfied dinners more due to service and found the food average. My last visit was wonderful, great service and great food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I ordered the white fish and it was over ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I ordered the white fish and it was over cooked to the point of chewy. However, they took care of it, bringing me a new entree and this time the fish was perfectly cooked. It wasn't our first time going there, and we'll be back. Nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The frites are amazing. I had the whitef ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The frites are amazing. I had the whitefish special and it was well prepared with a unique sauce drizzle. Yummy

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here often. Great food and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We've eaten here often. Great food and good service.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Sandy Point Beach House to cele ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Went to Sandy Point Beach House to celebrate a special birthday with family. The service was excellent and our waitress knew the menu well and gave great suggestions. Food was delicious and very filling. The atmosphere was like being on the east coast...very comfortable. Will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor was nice, beachy. The food ok ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The decor was nice, beachy. The food ok and overpriced. I think you would do better with unique brewery type appetizers and food.

Way too many flies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Fantastic food - diverse selection of me ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic food - diverse selection of meals with a gourmet touch. Atmosphere is relaxed, with a fun friendly feeling.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

service was slow. very busy nite. not en ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

service was slow. very busy nite. not enough wait staff.

sad the torches were not lite outside. it was the last weekend of summer.. and no torches to sit out after dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Sandy Point Beach House was an excellent ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Sandy Point Beach House was an excellent choice, a short drive from Grand Haven, bartender was great a bit noisy at the bar however food made up for that. We had the whitefish a nice size proportion fabulous sauce a great little get-away...we definitely will be back to this neighborhood gem, a must go destination!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The baked oatmeal topped with peaches is ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The baked oatmeal topped with peaches is my brunch favorite😋

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My whitefish dinner was tasty and beauti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My whitefish dinner was tasty and beautifully presented. The room we were in was extremely noisy with conversation at other tables. I resented paying an extra $4 for six pieces of bread and butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

This was my 2nd time there for brunch. W ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was my 2nd time there for brunch. While I had a fantastic crepe & bacon breakfast the other 3 people I was there with did not. Omelet was made with bacon(hardly cooked) instead of sausage as ordered and very small portion for $12.00, Club Sandwhich was ordered without cheese & it came with cheese, French Toast was two small pieces of cheap white bread with some fancy sauce for $7.50. Simply way to expensive for what was served. We arrived at Noon and ordered around 12:15pm, wasn't served our food until 1:15pm. The server was well aware of our issues, yet offered only to fix the food. I feel there should have been an adjustment off our bill. I will give them a break knowing they have only been serving breakfast for the past couple of months. Hopefully they will improve over time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

There was no cream available for coffee, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

There was no cream available for coffee, just milk. That did not help the taste of the coffee.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The food at Sandy Point Beach House is f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at Sandy Point Beach House is fabulous - totally top end. Unfortunately, so is the price, so this won't be our "go to" place to go to. But for a special occasion, absolutely. The atmosphere is a cross between industrial chic and beachy, which was fun. The service was great, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I've visited twice. Both times the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've visited twice. Both times the food was excellent. However, both times service was terribly slow and passive. Our server was missing in action for a good 15-20 minutes. And both times I waited at least 40 minutes for my food. The first time I waited about 50 minutes.The answer both times to this was "its so busy"...however there were plenty of empty tables at 9 pm. I would like to return becauseI greatly love the food and the ambiance but service is just so terrible.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

It's refreshing to find a restaurant of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It's refreshing to find a restaurant of this caliber in this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not impressed with the ribs--served in a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Not impressed with the ribs--served in a small iron container. It appeared to be a piece of beef roast. Tender, good, but not really a rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Interesting menu and great presentations ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Interesting menu and great presentations. Great doing menu and wine list as well. Recommend Carrot Curry soup, a staple.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went here at the suggestion of several ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I went here at the suggestion of several friends and family (all of whom, it turns out, had not been back in several months.) It was pretty busy and we were seated in the three seasons area which felt more like a garage with the low ceiling and double garage doors (an interesting choice to leave them closed on a hot day..)

We were seated next to a raucous 12 person table, which certainly added to the noise - my wife and I could barely hear each other. The 'spring bruschetta' appetizer was very good; however my main course (coffee braised short ribs) amounted to around 1 cup of stew accompanied by a completely flavorless (totally unseasoned) baked potato and a few twigs of undercooked late season asparagus. My wife's hanger steak was slightly undercooked and also completely unseasoned, and accompanied by soggy 'frites' with a pinch of seasoning thrown on the top 2 fries. Pretty lame.

The beer selection was not bad but not particularly robust.

Overall we were very dissatisfied. They seem like they are trying to bill themselves as fine dining, but that takes a little more than drizzling a reduction on a plate and adding a 50% to all the prices. from what I heard from my friends this is quite the change from a year ago. Might be worth trying if you sit outside but I would limit dinner to just a burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Staff was outstanding and the food was g ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Staff was outstanding and the food was good. I had not been there in over 40 years but the recent remodel and upgrade was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service there has always been excell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our service there has always been excellent. The wait staff has been very professional and friendly. We found the last time we ate there our food was a little over cooked. The halibut and salmon dishes, to be specific, were over cooked and dried out. We will go back there however and try again. Most nights the food is excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always an experience dining at SPBH. Th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always an experience dining at SPBH. The food is creative and delicious, and served to please the eye.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appreciate the friendliness and hospital ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Appreciate the friendliness and hospitality of staff as well as the freshness and quality of the food. Mussels were very good, especially the broth! Good wine and great service by our waiter!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We ladies had a great time , thanks Birt ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We ladies had a great time , thanks

Birthday card a nice touch

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Discovered a gray new place on the lakes ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Discovered a gray new place on the lakeshore. Fabulous food. Great atmosphere. I door and outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the halibut which was cooked t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered the halibut which was cooked to death! Dry, chewy, like fish jerky. The others in my party had salads. They were fine.

Restaurant is unbelievably noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely excellent Salmon and the Chee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Absolutely excellent Salmon and the Cheese board made for a great start!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived at 8:15pm. Started off on the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We arrived at 8:15pm. Started off on the wrong foot when our wine selection was not available. It took twenty minutes to determine this and order a substitute. Food was warm to cold and not very appetizing. Added to this the live music was blasting at 120 dB which did not make for a particularly intimate occasion. Would not recommend to out of towners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We enjoyed your great food and wine list ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We enjoyed your great food and wine list. The crab cakes were the best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Their hamburgers are delicious and my hu ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Their hamburgers are delicious and my husband loves their margeritas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food; GREAT BURGERS; Excellent serv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food; GREAT BURGERS; Excellent service; lovely ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Beach House's outdoor space is cute ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Beach House's outdoor space is cute but that isn't enough to warrant your very pricey bill. Drinks are weak, too-sweet, and served in plastic cups. Everything is over priced. My whitefish was dry and bland, and came with what were clearly frozen green beans (a travesty, given Michigan's excellent green beans right now!) for something like $25/plate. My boyfriend's pasta was fine at best and didn't even come with enough bread for the sauce (want a side of bread? $4!). His pasta was overcooked and also clearly not homemade (again, something I'd expect for a $24 plate of noodles). They were out of several menu items and we weren't told until we tried to order those items. We paid over $100 in the end (and each had just one drink). I wouldn't recommend anyone go there, and we won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We sat outside. Generally quiet and it w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We sat outside. Generally quiet and it was a nice evening. My wife said it was very loud inside. The outside is a large court with sidewalks with sand and bocce courts. There is a separate bar for service - but not for sitting at the bar.

The food was great. The only downside is several tables had little kids they just let run free around the courtyard and play in the sand like a sandbox. Was a little distracting and they would not have done this inside of course. Was hoping to try the scallops but they were out that might. 😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service was great . The onl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service was great . The only knock I have is that we requested outside seating and there wasn't any available. They have a great patio space they just don't have enough tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and a nice place for a spe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service and a nice place for a special occasion. It is quite loud, though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the food wasn't disappointing it w ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

While the food wasn't disappointing it was pricier than expected....entrees were in the $25 price range. Service was great and everything was prepared as expected. The ambience was casual and it was very loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outdoor space is fantastic. The appetize ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Outdoor space is fantastic. The appetizers were great! My entree was a dissapointment. Seemed to be pre prepped and reheated. Not good. (Chicken)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

There were at least 2 items on the menu ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

There were at least 2 items on the menu that were not available when the orders were being taken. Seems strange that at 11:45 @ lunch they were already out of items? ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.