About Sandy Point Beach House

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. The beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Tues: 11am-8pm
Wed-Thurs: 11am-9pm
Fri-Sat: 11am-10pm

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Cory Holleman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate dad at SPBH with lunch or dinner.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in West Olive ›

special occasion (22)
fit for foodies (21)
good for groups (20)
See All
neighborhood gem (19)
great for outdoor dining (18)
romantic (17)
notable wine list (14)
great for lunch (13)
scenic view (7)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food

Dined 6 days ago

Food preparation and presentation were first-rate, but service was not as attentive as we had hoped.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overrated

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. My husband and I took my mom and dad here last Thursday. The service was good but I thought the food was overpriced for what we received. The presentation of the food was average. I think this place would be fine for a burger and a beer but I don't think it lived up to it's billing for fine dining.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Ambiance

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great place to dine, especially in the summer as you can sit outside and enjoy the surrounding area. The Mussels on the starters menu are GREAT and are plenty for a meal. We shared a grilled Caesar salad in addition to each getting Mussels. I got the traditional dish with wine and my husband got the spicier rendition. We both loved what we chose. The wine and Bloody Mary was good but pricey. Do not expect to get out of there for under $50, especially if you have drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

The staff was friendly. It did however ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff was friendly. It did however take a while about 3 minutes to be acknowledged by host even with a reservation. One of the whitefish dishes was well overcooked and was offered to be replaced which we did not do as we were getting ready to leave. Bill was adjusted.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous atmosphere and food! Looking fo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous atmosphere and food! Looking forward to enjoying dinner outside this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

This is a great out of the way place. Ve ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great out of the way place. Very relaxing and inviting. It's a great place to sit back have a few cocktails enjoy your meal then a few more cocktails. No rush here.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing experience.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Having heard that this was a good local spot for dining, I had high hopes for an enjoyable experience. However, the results did not meet my expectations. The drinks were not made well. The baked chicken was overcooked. The beef stroganoff seemed as if it had been held over since the night before and tasted like leftovers. The young server was eager to please and did his best to overcome the shortcomings that we encountered. He should be commended for his efforts. Maybe we made wrong menu choices, but I will not be returning soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Sandy Point Beach House

Dined on April 9, 2016

Such a great option. Wonderful food, good service, and comfortable elegance!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our fav!!! Heather is amazing!!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Our fav!!! Heather is amazing!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Beach House is a "comfort place," both inside and out (when the weather warms)! It makes you feel good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter dinner.

Dined on March 27, 2016

This restaurant is conveniently located for us, and has a great atmosphere. Like most places, it is busy on Friday at dinner, but not too bad the rest of the week. Also a nice place to have a drink in the summer, with the outdoor patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food ok. Pricey

Dined on March 27, 2016

Disappointed with lamb dinner. The mash potatoes were very dry. Vegetables were hard to cut. Lamb was cooked medium well.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on March 13, 2016

Maryanne, our waitress was wonderful. We had one bad experience at this restaurant last summer and we were reluctant on returning. The service has greatly improved. The hanger steaks were perfect and the fig salad outstanding. You will never go wrong with the fancy Bloody (we prefer virgin) Mary's. I am delighted with the improved service and highly recommend SPBH, especially if you get Maryanne as your waitperson.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Could be a habit

Dined on March 11, 2016

Latest "dinner out" is for W and I to go for wine, split a classic carmelized onion hamburg and fries with a key lime pie split for dessert....just right . Delicious, relaxing and good for a light change. Food, service and cottage ambiance...semi-rustic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner, food was amazing, ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had a great dinner, food was amazing, we will be back many more times 👍🏻

food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Just OK.

Dined on February 28, 2016

What more is there to say -- they were out of some dishes, overall Just OK.

food2
ambience4
service2

The ambience of Sandy Point is relaxing ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

The ambience of Sandy Point is relaxing and quaint, unfortunately this time the food and service wasn't that great. We started with the cheese board, but when our server delivered it she didn't explain the different cheeses so we were left guessing. My husband ordered a salad before his entree and before he barely cut into it the main courses were on the table. We felt it was poorly timed and were rushed to eat the salad so our entrees weren't too cold. I ordered the filet, which was cooked to order, but didn't have much flavor and could have been better prepared with a hard sear. It also would have been nice to have some kind of sauce to tie the dish together with the rainbow carrots and smashed potatoes. My husband ordered the whitefish, which was very good. Overall, the food was just ok, but not worth the drive for us to go anytime soon.

food4
ambience4
service5

We made a last minute reservation for Va ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We made a last minute reservation for Valentines Day as my husband had just returned from a week long business trip. The menu had many choices for him, but I am celiac so that always presents a challenge when eating out so I stick to roasted chicken, mashed potatoes & veggies. The kitchen ran out of mashed potatoes (which I can typically have) and substituted au gratin potatoes - when I suggested to the young man who delivered our plates that they typically contain flour, he tried to convince me that they didn't - I had to insist that he check with the chef - ugh, I hate being that person. My plate came back sans potatoes and the yummiest veggies - my only negative comment is that someone should have made me aware of the switch prior to serving me. Steph, our waitress was outstanding - she has been our server before and never disappoints. Great atmosphere, great service and really good food. My husband ordered the Beef Stroganoff and said it was delicious!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

love this place

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place, the food is always amazing. Great atmosphere and attentive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Sweetheart of a failure

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Weekend Menu - warn clients in advance of a LIMITED Menu - first time guest we're disappointed with not knowing full menu wasn't available on top of the pre-fix menu. Then we ordered the Brazed Short Rib with mashed (came with fingerling) potatoes which does not match up at all with that entrée. Our waiter acted like she wanted to be anywhere other than at work that night however we have had her in the past and she acted the same each time. It will be a while before we return. There are far too many choices out there to be disappointed and return anytime soon. Good help - is hard to find.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

night out

Dined on January 30, 2016

My husband and I recently had our date night there. We had lennie as a server. She was very friendly and knowledgeable Of the menu specials and drinks. Defiantly a top notch server. We ordered Pierogies For an appetizer And they were amazing! We also ordered bloody Mary's defiantly a worthy recipie. Our burgers were tasty as well.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed.

Dined on January 9, 2016

My husband and I both ordered bleu cheese burgers. The burgers tasted as if they had been premade. They were cold. We were seated for at least 10 minutes before anyone came to our table but once Bri, sp?? did arrive, she was very sweet and attentive. The ambience was nice but I had to keep my coat on through the duration of our visit because it was very cold.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food but...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was terrific as usual. The downside? NO DESSERTS! This was NYE - ok, so the pastry chef was not in that day. But no prior prep? No backup desserts? No back up pastry chef? Desserts there have always been terrific so it was disappointing that we could not indulge for the holiday celebration.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Pleasant Dining experience

Dined on December 31, 2015

Enjoyed the friendly service, knowledgeable recommendations, table was ready on arrival, went with group of seven, all meals prepared as anticipated, great plate ptesentation, would recommend and certainly go back again😃

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

not our best meal

Dined on December 31, 2015

we have been to the beach house several times and have enjoyed the food and service. My husband had the aged Ribeye-- and they did not trim it properly and it wasn't very good. My filet was very good. The Ribeye was very expensive and not worth it-- that was disappointing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great West Coast of MI gem.

Dined on December 19, 2015

My wife and I love to dine out at different types of restaurants and when we go out last minute this is always our go to. They continually have chef specials that are incredible and you can never go wrong with any of their fish entrees.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Skip the steak

Dined on December 18, 2015

I have been three times to this restaurant and on two occasions I ordered a steak. Others in our party always seemed to order fish and were generally very happy with their food. However, on both occasions, the steak I received for $30 was a piece of grizzle that most restaurants would be embarrassed to serve. They should definitely switch beef suppliers if they want to keep steaks on the menu. Great restaurant in so many ways....just avoid the steaks!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

As always, very pleased!

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

We love the ambiance of Sandy Point Beach House, which is one reason we keep going back! It's quaint and cozy, yet you don't feel like you are sitting on top of each other while you're dining. We love that they have weekend features, which you can find out about by subscribing to their newsletter. On this occasion we sampled everything from the cheeseboard to lobster mac and cheese to steak and potatoes, everything was absolutely delicious, hot, and fresh!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gets a little loud, but not much else to ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Gets a little loud, but not much else to complain about. Very good fish.

food4
ambience4
service5

Wait at front

Dined on October 11, 2015

When we arrived there was a group of 4 people in front of us who had not made reservations. We did have reservations but we still had to wait 10-15 min for them to seat the group They should have asked us upon arrival if we had reservations and seated us first instead of making us wait to decide if they had a table for the walkins

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for entertaining

Dined on October 11, 2015

Our friends from out of town were very impressed with Sandy Point. There was live entertainment and the wait staff was attentive and personable. It made for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Special Dinner Surprise.

Dined on September 19, 2015

I get the emails from Sandy Point and just jumped on it this weekend, boy was I lucky. It was their salmon fest and they just had submitted entries in a local contest. So salmon items were on the menu. we had the Wedge Salad , crispy with garganzola bacon and a light dressing, very delicious. Salmon cakes appetizer. Wow blew me away, crispy on the outside , lots of fresh salmon and a wonderful light sauce. We had the Salmon with a fresh salsa and the Halibat for dinner. The Salmon was crisp on the outside and thick and perfectly cooked inside, the halibat was excellent but a bit small on the serving size I could have eaten another. Overall this place is a pleasant surprise. Rustic setting, sports bar in side, but they are stepping up the food entries. I went there 3 months ago for a Tequilla tasting combined with food and it also was unique and outstanding and the bar manager showed a good grasp of the breath of good tequilla. A great find and I hope they keep it going.

food4
ambience4
service4

Special Occassion

Dined on September 9, 2015

Very enjoyable dinning experience. Food and service were excellent. Will be returning soon.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Good Food Reasonable Prices

Dined on September 7, 2015

Good for lunch or dinner. Much better than previous ownership. Ok for families. Glad it's in our neighborhood.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun!!

Dined on September 5, 2015

We have been going to the Beach House for years, for lunch & dinner. The service is always fabulous & the food delicious. We have never been disappointed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Friendly with good food

Dined on September 3, 2015

The small plate menu was varied and delicious. Main courses ranged from burgers to steak with a good vegan option. The service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3

Mixed Bag

Dined on August 29, 2015

This restaurant lives up to its description as cottagey and beachy. It's rustic inside with cement floors and wood ceilings and walls. There are virtually no sound absorbing materials which make it extremely noisy, and very hard to visit with people around the table. The food was generally good, although there was too much pepper in the chowder, and on one plate the mashed potatoes were delicious, but the potatoes on the other plate were not hot when served. One plate had vegetables that weren't cooked even to al dente. The service was good, but three times dishes and glassware crashed to the floor by servers going in and out of the kitchen! Prices seemed high -- meals were advertised as $30 and under, but many of the items were between $30 and $34. Overall, our experience was disappointing and we probably won't go back, mainly because of the ambience -- way too noisy!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great! And what a fun plac ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

The food was great! And what a fun place! The service was a little slow, but nothing that would make me think twice about going back.

food5
ambience3
service4

Why do all the tables rock?

Dined on August 28, 2015

Everything is really great here, the food, the waitstaff, the convenient location. The only thing that seems "off" is that the last two times we have dined here the tables are shimmed up with some little pieces of wood to keep them from rocking, and these seem to always get kicked out of place allowing the table to rock enough to spill everyone's drink! Really, a place with food this good and prices this high should be able to adjust the leveling feet so that patrons won't have to deal with the possibility of everything on the table being spilled in their laps. and by the way, the food and service are both great, just so you don't think that I'm a chronic grouch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

Service not that great this time

Dined on August 24, 2015

I don't know what was going on during our last visit to Sandy Pointe but if had not been for the help of the server for the surrounding tables, I doubt we would had our refreshments refilled. Our waiter just must have been having an off day as generally the service is great at Sandy Pointe. The food was great and the waitress who ended up checking on us was very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.