Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

About Sandy Point Beach House

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual fine dining restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. Located minutes from Lake Michigan, near Kirk Park and West Michigan bike trails, the beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage. An easy drive from Holland, Grand Haven or Grand Rapids. Just down the road from Camp Blodgett.

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Monday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Tuesday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Wednesday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Thursday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Friday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Chris Doebler

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Casual (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (7)
Live Music (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Waterfront (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Our server Joe was extremely attentive without being annoying, understand that we wanted to take our time and not rush through dinner since it was our anniversary. Could make reservations on-line which is awesome. Great decor, and the Hanger Steak and frites was wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

A little too expensive for the portion size. Ice cream was soft serve frozen yogurt type, which wasn't specified before we got it and I was disappointed. Food was beautifully prepared and perfectly cooked. Could have been more sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We really like this gem we recently found. Plus a nice drive to get there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had some pricy scallops, good beef/chicken but very weak Seafood Pasta. The Burgers going by looked fabulous!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and food! The service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Our server was knowledgable about the menu, and was able to give a really great recommendation. I like the atmosphere, very comfortable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

LOVE that grilled Caesar salad!!! The Salmon is also yummy each time.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The check in WITH a reservation was ridiculous. Three women working on only one guest at a time left a long frustrated line of people waiting to be seated. Tables were open, yet we were told to step aside and wait, for what?
While I appreciate that some guests enjoyed the music, not all guests were interested in the loud volume. We would have enjoyed after dinner drinks and talking with each other, however cut our evening short.
Our waitress was very good however.
I do agree with other reviewers that your prices are too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

A unique dining experience in Holland! Beautiful location, great food, and good service. We really enjoyed our dinner here and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday with our son, DIL, and three g'kids on a summer Friday night. We like the drive to Sandy Point along wooded roadways and the menu has improved considerably in the last year or so. All were satisfied with their meal, and probably because it was Friday service was a bit slow. We will surely return, and really enjoy the setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We made a reservation here to celebrate my parents' wedding anniversary. We notified restaurant of special occasion in advance & requested a dessert be brought to table and servers/hostess knew nothing of it. In fact, they were even out of desserts that night - only ice cream which was being served in paper cups. We passed on the ice cream not wanting to extend our evening there. We had terrible service, long wait to receive drinks and a mix up in dinner orders that came out to the table. The food was good, but service and front of house really needs to step it up... as a customer it was utterly insulting and humiliating to bring my family here for a celebratory dinner. The only thing this place has it going for it is its lack of competition in the area. It's a shame, hope they can figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Love the outdoor deck! Food is very good, service was excellent! I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We went out for a special celebration. Had the filet, salmon and a couple of different salads in addition to drinks. Exceptional flavors in the salads and meals. We will definitely be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The Newport Chowder was great. The 2 pasta dishes were modestly warm in temperature rather than hot enough. I would not reorder either one even if hey were higher in temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I was very pleased with this restaurant, and didn't even know it existed until a friend suggested we go. The food was delicious, our waiter was wonderful in recommending dishes and desserts. I had the beef stroganoff with mushrooms and a grilled Caesar salad. Both so yummy. The only sad part was when the key lime pie and the fresh strawberry dessert were sold out...But our chocolate cake and truffles we settled on were amazing. I will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great little find, always had good meals. Craft cocktails available and extensive wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful, fun, casual, great food wonderful for Summer but great any time, any season.
I

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our server was very efficient and pleasant. She had been misinformed about the menu for the day and two in our party had to reorder. This was breakfast and they had no jam or jelly for the toast. We were offered a lime sauce for our toast. It was strange and not particularly tasty. I know there is a learning curve to serve breakfast and there is room for improvement.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had high hopes but we're quickly let down. Started with great Martinis (best part of the night) & appetizers that can be found everywhere, nothing special. Our BCW salads had almost no dressing and were served 3 minutes prior to our entrees. The overstresses manager apologized & comped our salads. Then the $65 dollar steak that was ordered well was brought out super rare & had to be sent back. The cleaning staff was in such a hurry to clean tables that 4 items were dropped and glass was shattered each time. A large spill next to our table, looked like sautéed spinach, was never cleaned up. A couple near us left before they got their meal. We were given free desert for all of the trouble we were put through. Hoping they had a very bad night because he heard great things. It will be a very long time before we try it again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great beach house feel, nice food and music. A couple of wrinkles: bartender forgot to serve one of us, food took an hour to arrive on a busy Saturday evening, and 2 of 4 dishes were cold when it did. They fixed all the problems, and we'll return but they might try to figure out how to better handle a weekend night crowd.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had the blue marlin; outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fabulous waitress, good food, nice atmosphere, a bit overpriced. Like the bruschetta was $12 and had 3 very small pieces. That was odd. It was a good spot though, we'll go back. Wish the sandwich menu carried in to evening for outside diners at least.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The option to eat outdoors is nice but, the plastic molded seats are very uncomfortable.

The presentation of the food is amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The burgers are great, but we have consistently found the entrée selection and execution to be underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went to Sandy Point Beach House to celebrate my wife's birthday and also our anniversary. It was our first time going there. We had an amazing brunch and loved sitting out on the deck. Our server was fantastic. It was everything we hoped it would be and more. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The atmosphere and accommodations are very good. It was a very nice day so the place was busy. The service was slow and the food was average. The staff was helpful and friendly. If you have plenty of time for dinner in a great atmosphere on a good weather day this place is a good choice.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overpriced, noisy and just ok food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Sandy Point Beach House was a very pleasant surprise. The food was exceptionally good and I do not recall seeing such an extensive wine list at any other restaurant in West Michigan, other than the Reserve in downtown Grand Rapids. It is definitely worth the drive to West Olive for this dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good but on the pricey side. We have gone to this restaurant many times over the past several years and the menu does not seem to change. They need to change it up some. We went on Mothers Day for dinner. Once we got seated it took about 10 minutes to even get noticed by our server. He apologized and stated that it was busy. He took our drink orders and dinner orders at the same time. It took about 15 minutes to get our drinks, appeared that he didn't submit the order to the bartender. Out of the four drinks one was wrong (my wife's drink). He apologized for the mixup and got her another drink. Meals shortly followed and were good. Our waiter never came back to ask us if we needed another drink and once he noticed that we were done with the meal he cleared the plate and then presented the bill. Never asked us if we wanted dessert. We were flabbergasted at this as he cut himself out of some tips. Once we left we went to a restaurant in downtown Grand Haven for a drink and dessert. I will definitely have to think real hard about returning to this restaurant. This is the second time in four trips to this restaurant where this type of poor service occurred.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for mothers day. It took a while from start to finish to order and receive our meal but all in all it was a good experience and the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went there for Mother's Day Brunch, it was a very nice atmosphere and the service was smooth and efficient. The pricing was out of line for the casual environment and the food selection on the buffet. There was only the Brunch option. $35 per person and $10 'momosas' was excessive for the overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have dined here frequently since the Beach House re-opened. Invariably the experience has been good, with nutritious food and a good variety. Value for money is not always consistent - some meals are excellent value, others less so. I usually use Open Table to book, but the value of this is limited as the allocation of the table tends to be rather willy nilly. The advantage of booking on Open Table is sometimes limited.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

When we arrived we had immediate seating which was nice. unfortunately it's prom time in West Michigan and out table was right next to several tables of kids enjoying their prom dinners. It was very loud and not so romantic. My wife and I celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary, so looking to be a little more romantic.

the wine selection was great and we enjoyed a couple bottles of wine. Had a fantastic smoked Halibut Pate appetizer off a great appetizer selection. Our main entree's were very good. Great flavors worked into the entree's.

Finished dinner with chocolate ganache cake and flan (off Cinco De Mio Menu) with a cup of coffee.

So overall food quality is excellent, great selections and moderate prices. We will be going back again. Just need to check the school calendar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food. I do wish more came with there pierogies.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Your staff is incredible! Remembers us when we come making the evening very special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our waitperson misheard my order and as a result, my dinner did not arrive with the others. They did not charge me for my meal, but it was disappointing. The facility itself is not very nice considering the prices.

The bacon wrapped dates were awfully good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited for Easter brunch. Brunch options were minimal and poor, especially considering the $35 a person price. Our server was absolutely horrible. We waited over 15 minutes for her to even greet us. No water refills (I had to get my own from the bar) plates stacked up and never picked up, warm orange juice, drink orders wrong. Could be more understandable if she was busy but she only had 3 tables, including ours, she was handling. Most definitely will never be back. Very disappointing first experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter Brunch, at $35.00/person. The service was great-the food not so much. We were there at the beginning of the brunch and the food wasn't fresh and just warm and it was very evident that very little had actually been made in site. I wouldn't recommend the brunch buffet especially at this price, for a special occasion. Sorry.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cool place. First time there. Went for Easter Brunch@ $35 a pop. Very disappointed in quality of offerings, presentation, and number of choices. Looks like would be a neat place in the summer. May give it a try. Would not do brunch there again.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

NY strip is awesome. We had a great date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.