Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

About Sandy Point Beach House

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. The beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage.

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 7:30AM to 8PM
Monday: 11AM to 8PM
Tuesday: 11AM to 8PM
Wednesday: 11AM to 9PM
Thursday: 11AM to 9PM
Friday: 11AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Oscar Moreno

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Romantic (8)
Great Beer (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fireplace (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Live Music (5)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Ambience is great--feels very cozy and is a perfect beach town vibe! Hummous appetizer was good. Baby wedge salad and seafood chowder were delicious!! Vegan Tikka Masala was not a favorite--seemed more like an appetizer kind of dish. Service was great! Beer selection was perfect. Would definitely recommend as a couples' or friends' night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Always love the Sandy Point Beach House, but had an amazing experience this time while celebrating our daughter's engagement. Service was fantastic. Food was great. And, we were with Spanish-speaking friends and the chef, who spoke Spanish, actually came out to go over the menu is Spanish with them! It was above-and-beyond service. Love the food! Love the vibe! Great place to celebrate and eat any time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was outstanding and Mandy, our waitress was superb! we celebrated a friend's birthday and we really enjoyed the whole experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a perfect spot for 6 friends to get together. Only 2 of us had dined with you, before. On-line reservation was a snap and you honored our request for the "casual" side. Food was outstanding- (my husband didn't love the vegan marsala as it was almost all carrots). The Beef Stroganoff was the best I've ever tasted. Can't wait to go back in the summer and wander around outside a bit. Thank you for transforming this location and making it a local treasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great atmosphere, service is excellent. Love the food and Tony & Mark make the best martinis.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The hanger steak with fries was excellent as always. Perfectly cooked steak. The service has improved and I especially like that one of the owners walked around and asked us how our meal was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was very good. I had the coffee braised short rib which was very tender roast meat served in a small iron pot. Wife had the fancy chicken dish which she liked. We went in February but imagine this place is wonderful in the summer on the back patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentines Day dinner. The food and wine were both outstanding. We dine here frequently.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed our Valentines Day dinner at Sandy Point. The scallops where outstanding, cooked just right. We're looking forward to more meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentines dinner, good service and took an appropriate amount of time to take order/deliver food etc. Would be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is our go to place but this stop was probably our best since it opened. A great meal at the bar with benchmark drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We celebrated an early Valentine's Day, and it was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Never disappointed, always a great experience anytime of the year

Tags: Organic, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We are frequent flyers at the Beachhouse! Lucky it is in our neighborhood. Food and atmosphere are both great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Live Music, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice menu selection from burgers, steaks, to seafood. All members of our table enjoyed their meals. The entree's all had a special twist to them... not a basic burger, but were happy to scale them back to satisfy the customers wishes.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My friends and I went for the live jazz. We ordered appetizers and drinks. The drinks were expensive, but very good! The food was expensive and pretty good. I ordered mussels, and while the flavor was great, the mussels were very small. Our server was wonderful....friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Madison was our server and she did an outstanding job. She anticipated our every need, kept us updated on our meal delivery and made sure our wine pairings were delivered just at the right time. The food and wine pairings were delicious. Thank you !! We will be back!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a great place for the price. Staff were very pleasant & professional. Will definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really good food, interesting menu, great cocktails

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were seated by the fireplace until water from a leaky ceiling fell on my head. They moved us but reall never reacted to the water problem.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday and holiday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious breakfast, great service and a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My wife and I have decided that Sandy Point is great for a burger or other casual fare - not as good for a nice night out. This visit is the second time I have been disappointed with the steak I was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food. I had the black and blu burger and my wife had the whitefish. Both were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent food, excellent staff! Excellent restaurant! Worth going to!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good selection, ready availability, lively scene (expect some noise, given the low ceilings and hard surfaces). We are lucky that it is truly just down the street.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I was really pleased to see such a diverse menu. We both had different entree's and enjoyed them greatly. The vegan tikka masala was especially delicious. There is a nice wine list to accompany the creative items on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food overpriced for the overall dining experience We were seated on the porch and with a concrete floor quite chilly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Atmosphere and quaintness as we celebrated our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I love to my friends and family to sandy point beach house.
The service and food is always on point.
I usually order the weekend specials.
You can never go wrong with a pub burger either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service! We really enjoyed our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food! Great service! Excellent cocktails! Really nice experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I am regular user of Open Table and travel a good bit for work and pleasure. So I can say with some true confidence that our meal and experience on Sunday evening was just "OK". You come to expect a certain level of quality and professionalism of an establishment when the entrée prices range from $39-$60+.
It just so happened it was my birthday. And I certainly wasn't expecting anyone to place a funny hat on my head, and have all the wait staff sing. (Actually everyone gets a kick out of that except the person having the birthday.) But when half of the table ordered Desert, I did expect at least a Free Desert. But no Free Desert was provided. And its no big deal.
What was a big deal was the fact they place was slow, I would say less than 20% full and so I did expect perfect service and food from a high end (high priced) establishment.
My Filet was way over cooked. Closer to Well or Med Well. When I ordered it Med (even said to the waiter....warm pink center.) Which brings me to my waiter. He never checked on my table after the food was served to make sure the entrees were as expected..... Glancing over my shoulder, I saw him laughing at the bar talking with a friend. So yeah, I was a little disappointed. The appetizer was excellent (dumplings). Bread was nice (even if you have to pay for it too). But the overall experience was mediocre at best. Oh did I mention I picked out a great wine?

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good upscale dining, but way too loud! Building needs some acoustic work. The volume of noise wasn't bad when we were first seated, but as the dining room filled it became increasingly hard to hear my table-mates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Awesome food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Enjoyed service and food quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Really good food, a little slow but a nice local choice to eat out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Overall a good experience, however the wait staff member we had for the night was clueless. Multiple questions about the menu items we answered poorly. One example was desert...one of the options was NY Style Cheesecake which we ordered - but she came back and said it was gone. Then the other option was Key Lime Pie, which we asked if had a Meringue top. it was mentioned that yes indeed it was, but when the pie was delivered to the table, it had whip topping. Clearly not in tune with what was ordered.
Will think twice before going back...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our first time ever at Sandy Point Beach House. We located it via Open Table and checked reviews on YELP and went. The outside would be a lot of fun during the summer, but inside was nice also. We had a good server for the most part. The New fashioned drinks and all our drinks were excellent. The cheese appetizer platter was also one of the best I have had, but it stopped there. Ordered a Delmonico steak Medium Rare that was good on the edge, but rare on the inside (really rare) - I should have sent it back, but did not. They do not have A1 or any steak sauce, just a house bistro which is basically brown gravy. It did not add to the steak at all.
We did not get asked about drink refills and did not get asked about dessert (still not sure, maybe they don't have dessert, never asked because the bill came so quickly).

My girlfriend and I dine many places around West Michigan and for the $120 + tip meal, I would just have expected better. This would have been fine for a $50 or $75 experience, but to pass this off as the same price as 616 in downtown Grand Rapids doesn't work for me.

I hear they used to be known for the burgers, may go back and just try a burger and fries because it is a nice setting between Grand Haven and Holland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Acoustics are terrible. Twice I have been seated next to a very, very loud group when I was with just one other person and we could hardly talk to each other. However, I love the service, the food and the location so I will keep coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.