Sandy Point Beach House

4.4
413 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Sandy Point Beach House is a casual fine dining restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. Located minutes from Lake Michigan, near Kirk Park and West Michigan bike trails, the beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage. An easy drive from Holland, Grand Haven or Grand Rapids and just down the road from Camp Blodgett.

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon-Thu 11:00 am–9:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am–10:00 pm
Sat 8:00 am–10:00 pm
Sun 8::00 am–9:00 pm
Brunch at 8am-3pm Saturday and Sunday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(616) 796-8210
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Elliot Rappleye
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lakeshore and Butternut
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Local bands
Jazz Thursday Nights
Reggae/Live Music Saturdays

icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Book your special event with us!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details
What 413 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Good food, but took nearly 1 hour after seating for us to get our brunch food to arrive (40 minutes after ordering). Seemed like the kitchen was extremely backed up. Waiter also couldn’t remember 5 straightforward drink orders. I’ve waited tables, so that’s a pretty basic task unless ten section is disproportionately large.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

We did not have a good experience here....again...and it’s mostly due to poor service. I’ve been multiple times and this may be the last. The service is sub-par at best. The servers are not very knowledgeable of the menu, and do not care to ask when they don’t know an answer. The host/hostesses ALWAYS seems confused like there is not a plan in place for seating.

The food for the Fathers Day was terrible, which I will say is odd. First, they we’re out of crab cakes for brunch, which is weird because it was on the menu and it was only 1030am. So, my wife and I both ordered the chorizo hash - came with about 10 potatoes, very few (crumbs) of chorizo, and 2 eggs. This was supposed to come with “greens and grains” (salad), but neither of our meals did. My kids had a parfait, one had pancakes, and one had eggs/sausage. This took 1-hour to get to my table and it was NOT busy, as the server suggested. In his words, “the kitchen is chaotic right now.” He didn’t even apologize when we politely mentioned the issues.

This place has so much potential - a great location, great atmosphere and decor, decent menu and drinks, (usually) good food - but the management and service needs an overhaul or training in customer service and kindness.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

We have dined many times at Sandy Point but this time was bad...made a reservation to take my husband out for Father’s Day brunch with our children...seated without menus a d when we asked we were told they were on a ‘menu shortage’! They had just opened for the day! We also sat for over 20 minutes with hungry children and never saw a waiter or waitress...when we finally got up to leave we again waited for 5 minutes at the host stand to try and tell someone we weren’t going to stay but no one ever showed back up at the stand. Ultimately had to call from the car as we were headed home with no brunch but a very bad taste in our mouths!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 15, 2018

mussles were not cleared from our table-which attracted flies. the scallop entree for $32 came with 4 scallops, 5 (smaller than fingerling) potatoes amd a vegetable sprinkle. an early sat. dinner and we were seated inside in the back room when there were several open tables outside-we asked for outside. it was very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We had dinner mid week at Sandy Point with my nephew and his bride. The staff was more than accommodating with our request to move inside, and even allowed us a table in a section that was "closed". Our server was very attentive and well informed, and had a good sense of timing. Menu has a nice variation, and is not too large. Value is the only grey area in that our evening's meal wound up at approx. $100.00 per person (including tip 20%). Nothing excessive, one appetizer, three salads, four entries, two cocktails, two bottles of wine....that adds up quickly, and two desserts. "You gotta pay to play"! as they say. Not something that we could do every week, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Just need to know what to expect, and plan accordingly, or order accordingly. Not sure if they have promotions for drinks, appetizers, etc.., but their daily menu specials were very good, but both @ $30.00 ea.. Still far prefer this choice to what our local venue has to offer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service and food were awesome. We will certainly be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Wonderful restaurant, always one of our first choices for a night out, special occasion or just a delicious dinner with our own family. Great menu and always something new and special on the menu that features local fare like fresh caught fish! Love love!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Our server Hailey was excellent. My wife had the Filet with potatoes and BrusselSprouts. The filet was the best she ever had, the Brussels Sprouts were almost raw and not very appetizing. I had the Beef Stroganoff which was bland and the noodles were quite waxy. The meat seemed like it was leftover as it was quite dry and tough.
I am willing to give it another go due to so many good reviews from others. But for the higher prices I expect high quality with consistency across all food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Service was great! Food was good but not as great as expected for the price! Overall a cute spot and would go back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Fun small dining spot! Good food and entertainment weekly. Making a reservation has its perks, it was a busy weekend and we were well accommodated as others were told there would be a 45 min. Wait. Love the atmosphere here, can be dressy or casual. Patio is fun with outdoor games and bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Our server was just amazing. She said is was only here fourth day there but she was very good. Food was delish and it was just overall a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

My husband and I went here for the first time on a date night. It was fantastic. The food was amazing, unique flavors. He had the stroganoff and I had the chef's special ribs. Both were delicious. Our server was attentive and friendly. She had great recommendations. Was a bit pricey, but not sad when we were finished.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Unfortunately it was too cold to dine on the deck as we hoped but accommodated us with a window table near the deck.
Service was perfect and food delicious! Ordered beef ribs and chicken. Great place to dine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Everything was pretty great save for service being on the wee bit slow side. Our server was very nice and apologized.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Great service. Superb food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was my first visit to the Beach House and had high hopes for Mother's Day. I understand the holding company also runs MeXo and Zoko 822 in Grand Rapids. Had visited both of the GR restaurants and was impressed with food quality and service (although both in GR are pricey). The restaurant was pretty empty upon our arrival in early evening. Host staff seemed very confused and took a long time to bus a table for us which was surprising because so many were empty and clean. Our server was delightful but she would disappear for long periods of time. My parents both enjoyed their meal (which was different from ours). My husband and I ate the same thing and it was served cold..very unappetizing. Did we complain and let the server know about the poor quality of the food? No, at that point we just wanted to pay our bill and exit the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Mother’s Day. A little to crowded at buffet but the service and food was great !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had a lovely Mother's Day brunch here this past Sunday. The food was delicious, the service was exceptional, and everyone had a wonderful time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Way to expensive for the quality of food served.Fish dishes served with a too sweet sauce ruined what would have been a decent Sea Bass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

fun Spot, Jazz every month! great Bourbon selection with flights

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The only thing that was not great was the waitor, he was slow. Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great time and great food!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was not very good. Burger ordered medium rare. It came well done and with the wrong fixings. Squash dish was uncooked and difficult to digest. Salmon good but vegetable medley was radish and some spinach. Yuck! Chicken was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Such a nice location, the place itself is beautiful with an amazing atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

we were seated in the small room with carpet and table cloths - brilliant! made for our best dining experience there yet and def will try to get seated there whenever we go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great service, great food, we’ll be going back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great restaurant highly recommend. Perfect for a date night. Great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Food was good. We were among the first for Sunday Brunch, and they had only one item available for dessert, and it wasn't chocolate. Poor planning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch and my husbands 50th birthday. Food was great and the restaurant is very quaint and comfortable. We had a good time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch was wonderful! Love be this restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

good food and nice atmosphere and friendly wait staff

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Early dinner in dining room without other customers, so service could have been more attentive. Food was good though, but a little on the expensive side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Our first visit on a Sunday afternoon in March was quite and lovely. We were seated at a corner table in the sunlight, a perfect spot for this time of year. Food was great. Staff was friendly. Our waiter was great, took care of everything thing we needed, including singing "Blue Moon" when I ordered my beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Our server Anneke was excellent and very attentive. However she was not overbearing.
Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The food was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

We had a lovely birthday dinner (for me)! My son came in from out of town and wanted to take the family out for a “fine dining experience.” It was indeed!! Great service and excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Absolutely phenomenal food! Beef Stroganoff was to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This is our most favorite place to eat! We are on first name basis with many! Food is amazing and the service just as awesome!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Tweets by Sandy Point Beach House