Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi
  1. Distance: 1.78mi
  2. Distance: 9.77mi
  3. Distance: 10.45mi
  4. Distance: 11.62mi

About Sandy Point Beach House

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual fine dining restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. Located minutes from Lake Michigan, near Kirk Park and West Michigan bike trails, the beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage. An easy drive from Holland, Grand Haven or Grand Rapids and just down the road from Camp Blodgett.

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 7:30AM to 8PM
Monday: 7:30AM to 8PM
Tuesday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Wednesday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Thursday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Friday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Chris Doebler

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
See All
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We have visited many times before, but this was out first visit since Summer. The salad with tuna and black and bleu burger (old favourites) were just right, and service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Food was good as was the service, but when you make a reservation and get seated in the bar it leaves something to be desired.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Disappointing experience. We had made a reservation using OpenTable noting it was our anniversary. Restaurant was not busy so the hostess didn't bother to look us up when we told her we had a reservation. Server did not seem to know the menu & he was distracted. Food arrived cold & quality was average at best. Beautiful location & really wanted to like it but we won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great spot and really good food. Live entertainment is a nice touch but challenging given all of the hard surfaces in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

it might have been the company, but it was a wonderful night. Our waiter was slow, but we didn't care because we were havimg too much fun catching up. Food was great, but a bit expensive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Nice local restaurant, nice staff, good food. All in all a nice dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Was very disappointed! Over priced for the amount of food !!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food is consistently very good and the service is usually good as well. The menu has a variety of options that should please everyone. The only caution I would offer is that when the restaurant starts to fill up the noise level is not "energetic" which was the noisiest option above - it is positively deafening. When you are seated near a large table it is next to impossible to have a conversation with your dinner companions without shouting since it seems that everyone else feels the need to scream and there is absolutely no sound abatement in the restaurant - all hard surfaces. This happens every single time that we dine there although we really like everything else about the place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Fun atmosphere - good food choices for vegan and regular eaters - prompt service - nice wine list - we woukdnt hesitate to come again and play some bocci

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our dinner was EXCEPTIONAL!!! Our server Stephanie was excellent and personable. We totally enjoyed our evening here. Such a great menu selection! We will go back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Pleasant surprise. Great food and service. Will visit again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was a little noisy...we had hoped for an outdoor table...but it was great food and a fun time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food and service were very good. The noise level was annoying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great time and food was really good. Sat outside and enjoyed it except the music was way too loud. Would go back again though.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

From the Hostess to the waiter everyone was welcoming and delivered outstanding service.

Great food, great fun, great place!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food is expensive. Some items are not worth it. Some wait staff are not as attentive they should be at this price. We only eat here because they take reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great date night location with several appealing food options. Good wine list.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We've enjoyed three meals at Sandy Point this year. This was our anniversary so we tried some new dishes. My pork with blueberry topping and quinoa was excellent. Not too sweet, great combination. We splurged with some dessert and it was great as well. They have a wide range of entrees from burgers to filet, fish, pasta. We keep saying we're going to just have something simple but then get tempted by the variety of interesting food. Service has been great every time. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have eaten twice here but won't be back. Salmon was not cooked we left the raw parts on our plates ,the noise level was high. The first time we ate outside and grandkids played in the sand, we had sandwiches it was ok but did not reflect the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had never been here before, but it was recommended and I can see why! The food was delicious--best burger I've had in a long while. The mojitos were quite good too. Nice atmosphere near the Lake. Worth coming from either Holland or Grand Haven.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Beautiful place to enjoy a meal and relax.
Great food great service would hilghly recomend this place.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had dinner with family, total of 8 people. All food was great. Grandkids could go outside and play Bocce ball while waiting for food. Our waiter, Amanda, was fantastic. Did not miss a beat. It's our new favorite place to eat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Normally a great place to eat, but not apparently on a Monday. The food did not seem fresh, possibly leftover from a busy weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We arrived late but had called to say we were delayed and our table was ready for us. The food was good but the noise level was bothersome for normal conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was our second visit on a Friday night. We liked it so much the first time, we brought friends here. The halibut was excellent one week ago. Key Lime pie & beet salad were very good. Everyone ordered different things: short ribs, steak, scallops, salmon, pasta with seafood. Everyone enjoyed their dinner with a bit of room for improvement. Scallops were small for U10 & were a bit greasy. Salmon was prepared well, but served skinside up...not a pretty presentation. Grilled Caesar salad was good, but didn't appear to be grilled at all. Short ribs very tasty. Steak was cooked correctly. Risotto was mushy & looked more like mashed potatoes. Overall, we might come back, but more likely will choose another restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great night out with friends for our annual vacation. The halibut was delicious & nicely prepared. The mussels, Newport chowder, beet salad, and green salad were tasty starters. The key lime pie was a great finish to our dinner. The restaurant was easily reached from Holland. We hope to come back with more friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Love the atmosphere, love the salads and drinks, dinner entrees are a HUGE disappointment. I had beef shortrib stroganoff that was almost inedible - gloppy flavorless sauce on mushy old noodles with a big pile of dry shortrib on top. My husband had the shortrib entree and had the same way, clearly cooked hours or days before and dried out in the oven with a sweet potato side dish and root vegetables. Kids waffles were freezer waffles (Eggos) with a tiny bit of fruit on the side. We love the location and the atmosphere but have decided we just can't stomach the food and the prices here anymore.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

It was very expensive for the quality of the food quite honestly ... we will most likely not be returning ... $80 by the time it was all said & done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our server Joe was extremely attentive without being annoying, understand that we wanted to take our time and not rush through dinner since it was our anniversary. Could make reservations on-line which is awesome. Great decor, and the Hanger Steak and frites was wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 16, 2017

A little too expensive for the portion size. Ice cream was soft serve frozen yogurt type, which wasn't specified before we got it and I was disappointed. Food was beautifully prepared and perfectly cooked. Could have been more sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We really like this gem we recently found. Plus a nice drive to get there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had some pricy scallops, good beef/chicken but very weak Seafood Pasta. The Burgers going by looked fabulous!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and food! The service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Our server was knowledgable about the menu, and was able to give a really great recommendation. I like the atmosphere, very comfortable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

LOVE that grilled Caesar salad!!! The Salmon is also yummy each time.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The check in WITH a reservation was ridiculous. Three women working on only one guest at a time left a long frustrated line of people waiting to be seated. Tables were open, yet we were told to step aside and wait, for what?
While I appreciate that some guests enjoyed the music, not all guests were interested in the loud volume. We would have enjoyed after dinner drinks and talking with each other, however cut our evening short.
Our waitress was very good however.
I do agree with other reviewers that your prices are too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary with a group of high school friends which was noted when we made the reservation and the staff never even said anything. The portions were small. They were out of our request but they should have noted that from the start. The wine list was good!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

A unique dining experience in Holland! Beautiful location, great food, and good service. We really enjoyed our dinner here and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday with our son, DIL, and three g'kids on a summer Friday night. We like the drive to Sandy Point along wooded roadways and the menu has improved considerably in the last year or so. All were satisfied with their meal, and probably because it was Friday service was a bit slow. We will surely return, and really enjoy the setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We made a reservation here to celebrate my parents' wedding anniversary. We notified restaurant of special occasion in advance & requested a dessert be brought to table and servers/hostess knew nothing of it. In fact, they were even out of desserts that night - only ice cream which was being served in paper cups. We passed on the ice cream not wanting to extend our evening there. We had terrible service, long wait to receive drinks and a mix up in dinner orders that came out to the table. The food was good, but service and front of house really needs to step it up... as a customer it was utterly insulting and humiliating to bring my family here for a celebratory dinner. The only thing this place has it going for it is its lack of competition in the area. It's a shame, hope they can figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.