About Sandy Point Beach House

7175 Lakeshore Ave.
West Olive, MI 49460
View Larger Map

Sandy Point Beach House is a casual restaurant featuring gourmet burgers and a market driven rotating feature menu. These features will showcase Chefs ingredient focused fusion cuisine that the lake shore knows and loves. The beach house atmosphere is best described as modern Chicago loft space meets lake-shore cottage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11AM to 8PM
Monday: 11AM to 9PM
Tuesday: 11AM to 9PM
Wednesday: 7:30AM to 9PM
Thursday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Friday: 7:30AM to 10PM
Saturday: 7:30AM to 10PM

Cross Street:
Lakeshore and Butternut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 796-8210

Website:
http://sandypointbeachhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Local bands

Executive Chef:
Cory Holleman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sandy Point Beach House
  • Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House
Sandy Point Beach House

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Sandy Point Beach House can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sandy Point Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in West Olive ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for Groups (33)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There was no cream available for coffee, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

There was no cream available for coffee, just milk. That did not help the taste of the coffee.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The food at Sandy Point Beach House is f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Sandy Point Beach House is fabulous - totally top end. Unfortunately, so is the price, so this won't be our "go to" place to go to. But for a special occasion, absolutely. The atmosphere is a cross between industrial chic and beachy, which was fun. The service was great, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

I've visited twice. Both times the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've visited twice. Both times the food was excellent. However, both times service was terribly slow and passive. Our server was missing in action for a good 15-20 minutes. And both times I waited at least 40 minutes for my food. The first time I waited about 50 minutes.The answer both times to this was "its so busy"...however there were plenty of empty tables at 9 pm. I would like to return becauseI greatly love the food and the ambiance but service is just so terrible.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Not impressed with the ribs--served in a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Not impressed with the ribs--served in a small iron container. It appeared to be a piece of beef roast. Tender, good, but not really a rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Interesting menu and great presentations ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Interesting menu and great presentations. Great doing menu and wine list as well. Recommend Carrot Curry soup, a staple.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went here at the suggestion of several ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I went here at the suggestion of several friends and family (all of whom, it turns out, had not been back in several months.) It was pretty busy and we were seated in the three seasons area which felt more like a garage with the low ceiling and double garage doors (an interesting choice to leave them closed on a hot day..)

We were seated next to a raucous 12 person table, which certainly added to the noise - my wife and I could barely hear each other. The 'spring bruschetta' appetizer was very good; however my main course (coffee braised short ribs) amounted to around 1 cup of stew accompanied by a completely flavorless (totally unseasoned) baked potato and a few twigs of undercooked late season asparagus. My wife's hanger steak was slightly undercooked and also completely unseasoned, and accompanied by soggy 'frites' with a pinch of seasoning thrown on the top 2 fries. Pretty lame.

The beer selection was not bad but not particularly robust.

Overall we were very dissatisfied. They seem like they are trying to bill themselves as fine dining, but that takes a little more than drizzling a reduction on a plate and adding a 50% to all the prices. from what I heard from my friends this is quite the change from a year ago. Might be worth trying if you sit outside but I would limit dinner to just a burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Staff was outstanding and the food was g ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Staff was outstanding and the food was good. I had not been there in over 40 years but the recent remodel and upgrade was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service there has always been excell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our service there has always been excellent. The wait staff has been very professional and friendly. We found the last time we ate there our food was a little over cooked. The halibut and salmon dishes, to be specific, were over cooked and dried out. We will go back there however and try again. Most nights the food is excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always an experience dining at SPBH. Th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always an experience dining at SPBH. The food is creative and delicious, and served to please the eye.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appreciate the friendliness and hospital ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Appreciate the friendliness and hospitality of staff as well as the freshness and quality of the food. Mussels were very good, especially the broth! Good wine and great service by our waiter!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We ladies had a great time , thanks Birt ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We ladies had a great time , thanks

Birthday card a nice touch

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Discovered a gray new place on the lakes ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Discovered a gray new place on the lakeshore. Fabulous food. Great atmosphere. I door and outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the halibut which was cooked t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered the halibut which was cooked to death! Dry, chewy, like fish jerky. The others in my party had salads. They were fine.

Restaurant is unbelievably noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely excellent Salmon and the Chee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Absolutely excellent Salmon and the Cheese board made for a great start!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived at 8:15pm. Started off on the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We arrived at 8:15pm. Started off on the wrong foot when our wine selection was not available. It took twenty minutes to determine this and order a substitute. Food was warm to cold and not very appetizing. Added to this the live music was blasting at 120 dB which did not make for a particularly intimate occasion. Would not recommend to out of towners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We enjoyed your great food and wine list ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We enjoyed your great food and wine list. The crab cakes were the best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Their hamburgers are delicious and my hu ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Their hamburgers are delicious and my husband loves their margeritas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food; GREAT BURGERS; Excellent serv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food; GREAT BURGERS; Excellent service; lovely ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Beach House's outdoor space is cute ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Beach House's outdoor space is cute but that isn't enough to warrant your very pricey bill. Drinks are weak, too-sweet, and served in plastic cups. Everything is over priced. My whitefish was dry and bland, and came with what were clearly frozen green beans (a travesty, given Michigan's excellent green beans right now!) for something like $25/plate. My boyfriend's pasta was fine at best and didn't even come with enough bread for the sauce (want a side of bread? $4!). His pasta was overcooked and also clearly not homemade (again, something I'd expect for a $24 plate of noodles). They were out of several menu items and we weren't told until we tried to order those items. We paid over $100 in the end (and each had just one drink). I wouldn't recommend anyone go there, and we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We sat outside. Generally quiet and it w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We sat outside. Generally quiet and it was a nice evening. My wife said it was very loud inside. The outside is a large court with sidewalks with sand and bocce courts. There is a separate bar for service - but not for sitting at the bar.

The food was great. The only downside is several tables had little kids they just let run free around the courtyard and play in the sand like a sandbox. Was a little distracting and they would not have done this inside of course. Was hoping to try the scallops but they were out that might. 😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service was great . The onl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service was great . The only knock I have is that we requested outside seating and there wasn't any available. They have a great patio space they just don't have enough tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and a nice place for a spe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service and a nice place for a special occasion. It is quite loud, though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the food wasn't disappointing it w ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

While the food wasn't disappointing it was pricier than expected....entrees were in the $25 price range. Service was great and everything was prepared as expected. The ambience was casual and it was very loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outdoor space is fantastic. The appetize ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Outdoor space is fantastic. The appetizers were great! My entree was a dissapointment. Seemed to be pre prepped and reheated. Not good. (Chicken)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

There were at least 2 items on the menu ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

There were at least 2 items on the menu that were not available when the orders were being taken. Seems strange that at 11:45 @ lunch they were already out of items? ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Sandy Point Beach House is my favorite r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Sandy Point Beach House is my favorite restaurant in the Grand Haven area. The menu and wine list are top notch. The ambiance is sophistication with the laid-back feel of the shore reminding me of a number of restaurants that I have visited in the northern California.

All of the dishes I have had there are outstanding. On this occasion, I had the halibut cheek, which was fantastic. On previous visits, I have had the mussels, Coffee Braised Short Rib, and Rigatoni Bolognese. For an appetizer, the bacon wrapped dates are phenomenal.

We sat on the deck for this occasion on a spectacular Western Michigan June evening. The restaurant is a stone's throw from Pigeon Lake which is a bay leading into Lake Michigan. The lake breeze was another big plus that night. Once we were done with dinner and dessert, we played a few games of bocce on one of the two bocce courts.

I highly recommend this restaurant to locals and visitors. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not my first time to the Beach H ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is not my first time to the Beach House. I had very good food and service before. This experience was horrible. We ordered the appetizer Pierogi which were ok but nothing special ...especially for $3/ea. There were 4 of us. Two ordered the fish Tacos, one Lobster mac and cheese and one person got the short ribs. I had both the tacos and the mac n cheese and both lacked flavor and the tacos were over cooked. The person that got the short ribs tried a few bites and had similar issues...bland and tough.

We left not having eaten more than a few bites of any plate. The server didn't seem to notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Costs were high for all items. Whitefi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Costs were high for all items. Whitefish was ordinary and dry. Waitress was EXCELLENT and so was the whole staff. It was a special birthday and the restaurant knew this but..... gave us a card--- not a complimentary dessert or a card for a drink or dessert in the future. Might try again for lunch but it was not a $65 per person dinner!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The food is just not that good. 4 out o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is just not that good. 4 out of 6 people we were with were not happy. It is our fourth time taking people there and no one wants to return. We will go back for drinks and a burger only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Sandy Point has been our "go to" place s ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sandy Point has been our "go to" place since moving to the lake shore area, however, it seems like it has taken some turns recently that are causing us to go elsewhere when given the choice. The menu has not changed much in the past year -- even though they offer specials, they are frequently out of them. This latest time they had listed "crab cakes" but never actually had them (?) and had just stamped "sold out" on all of the menus. The "specials" have also not been very special in that they are always the same thing. We go there frequently, so we do look for the specials for variety.

I also find it odd that the hosts never recognize us or realize that we are regular customers. This restaurant is in a high vacation area, so I understand that there are a lot of people who go once or infrequently at best, but we visit Sandy Point regularly in all seasons and have for some time. Many of the servers do know and recognize us -- in fact, Bree gave me a hug when we were seated in her section this last time. I also held my 50th birthday party at the restaurant less than a year ago. I think the staff could do better with this since the regular customers are there all year and as well as in the off season.

We are very happy to see that the specialty "mule" cocktails that were tested over Mother's Day have become part of the summer menu. These are excellent and we will be back for those all summer long.

For the first time ever, my open table reservation was not recorded by the restaurant, so I received an email saying that I had not honored it, which was incorrect. This was rectified and not a big deal, but I didn't like feeling like I didn't uphold my end. I have never let a reservation lapse and don't intend to in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Found the indoor dining to be very noisy ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Found the indoor dining to be very noisy, but the manager went out of his way to accomadate us to outdoor seating upon request. Food overall was good, and service topnotch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Noisy and bustling, but very good food, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Noisy and bustling, but very good food, with both large and small plate options. Lots of outdoor dining space. Good "date night" venue, and nice place to visit with friends. Smart but informal atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Incredibly, in 2 visits, this restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Incredibly, in 2 visits, this restaurant was out of hamburgers, french fries, most of their desserts, one bottle of wine we requested, and certain specials. Food is quite ordinary in any event but i have never seen a restaurant that so poorly manages its inventory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service! Our server was very respo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service! Our server was very responsive to our requests and provided excellent recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always good, the price reaso ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always good, the price reasonable, though not inexpensive. Service good, fun place. This time, there was a very noisy party of 12 that drowned our conversion.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The best part of the dinner was the cock ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best part of the dinner was the cocktails; I tried the Serrano Mule and the Limoncello Collins, both were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Vastly improved from experience last mon ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Vastly improved from experience last month-booked on Open Table and we were greater and seated immediately. Waitress (Stephanie??) was fast, friendly and helpful

Grazed on scallops, pate, cheese bread , salads, and cheese board

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had an unfortunate experience all aro ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had an unfortunate experience all around. The food ( whitefish) was extremely dry and basically not eatable. The service was poor. The server failed to return to our table until food was served and then we did not see him after that, until he dropped the check without checking to see if we were interested in another drink, coffee or a dessert prior to leaving. We waited nearly an hour for our food. the wait person recognized this and did adjust 20% off our bill for the inconvenience. All in all a poor dining experience at a restaurant that could and should be great as they have a wonderful menu and a great location with an outside venue. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Nice pace, great service, great food!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Nice pace, great service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, very good service, beautiful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, very good service, beautiful setting. Would like a small house salad or a side of seasonal vegetables or cup of soup included in the price of the meal. Would like to see some entree salads offered. The Key Lime Pie and the Almond Cherry Bar were both outstanding. Hope they offer seasonal desserts when the local fruit is in season-- strawberry shortcake or cheesecake and blueberry desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.