About Sandstone Grillhouse

5467 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L3
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated since 1974, Sandstone Grillhouse provides a warm, welcoming environment, generations-old recipes, made-from-scratch dishes, and the very best Steak Niagara has to offer. Serving Angus Reserve steaks, housemade Italian and succulent seafood, Sandstone has something for everyone, including burgers made from scratch, wine and dine features for $29/person, and our famous Chef's Table prix fixe. Join us indoors or on our patio (weather permitting) -- we're also Niagara's ONLY Dog-friendly patio! Perfect for romantic dinners, wedding celebrations or family night outs, Sandstone Grillhouse has something for everyone. No gimmicks, just great food.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kitchener St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 354-7225

Website:
http://www.sandstonegrillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available! Drive up parking on the north face of the restaurant, and a full parking lot on the south side. Overflow parking available for a nominal fee at the city lot just adjacent to Sandstone.

Public Transit:
Less than a 2 minute walk from the WEGO Victoria Avenue/Bender Hill stop.

Executive Chef:
Greg Bushie

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Sandstone Grillhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara Falls ›

Special Occasion (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Romantic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent local restaurant with excellen ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent local restaurant with excellent food and great service. Family owned and operated. Nice experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were in Niagara for just o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I were in Niagara for just one night, and we could not be happier that we chose to spend our one dinner eating at Sandstone! Not only was it a good value, but the food was delicious! We both went for the four course prix fixe, starting with crab cakes and fried goat cheese, moving on to Caesar salads, enjoying a great 8 oz strip steak, and finish with some lava cake a la mode. The steak in particular was on of the best simple preparations I've had. Great meal overall!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

CJ,our waitress that evening was friendl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

CJ,our waitress that evening was friendly and attentive.She had recommendations for us.We eventually took her suggestion and was Very Happy with what we had.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were traveling back to Niagara Falls ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were traveling back to Niagara Falls from Niagara on the Lake and were starving. This place had good yelp reviews. We were leery at first because area was so crazy busy, but once inside it was nice and quiet. Our waiter was great and the food was outstanding! We had "The classic" which is dinner for 2. Best Greek salad I've ever had and the Rib-eye steak and chicken were delicious! Enjoyed the brownie a la mode as well! Will definitely go back next time in town!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Niagara for the weekend. We h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were in Niagara for the weekend. We had just been to one of the wedding chapels for a commitment ceremony and read reviews on your restaurant that were favourable. The food was great but the service was bad. We were seated quickly but it was 25 minutes before our server came to our table and asked if we were ready. Not for a drink order but for our food order. Then she asked about drinks. Our server was absent most of the night. She even left us alone with the debit machine.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Outstanding service, fabulous meal. Grea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding service, fabulous meal. Great attention to detail, generous portions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was excellent, steak was one of t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waiter was excellent, steak was one of the worst I have ever had. I couldn't eat it all, I left hungry. My steak should have been compensated for or replaced, my girlfriend had the same experience that night. She was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Loved our meal here! I had the seafood f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved our meal here! I had the seafood fettucene and hubby had chicken cordon blu. Both were excellent. We paired it with a bottle of Konzelmann Cab Sav which was fantastic! Excellent service, loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all of the good reviews I had seen, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

With all of the good reviews I had seen, I was surprised by how mediocre the food was. Quality and originality was comparable to what I had been used to in a steak house of the 1950's/ 60's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was good. The waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The service was good. The waitress was friendly. The food was good and worth the money. You could park across the street and walk to the Falls. I would go there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a delicious dinner. Everything w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a delicious dinner. Everything was fresh and hot and tasty! Staff was super nice and helpful as I forgot my wallet and had to scramble to get my credit card number! Extremely memorable and satisfying evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole dining experience was exceptio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The whole dining experience was exceptional. It was evident that the owner takes pride in every aspect of his establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in Niagra with my 3 teenagers. We ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I was in Niagra with my 3 teenagers. We had an awesome meal and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although I will recommend the restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Although I will recommend the restaurant as a whole, I am not sure that I will return. It was our first time here and when it came down to the main course, the steak had a lot of fat/grizzled in it. Not my cup of tea... Otherwise, the food was good. Waiter was great, the host who greeted us, so/so, did not seem to interested in us... I am sure there are lots of other restaurants in the area that will be happy to provide my wife and I with a great overall experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The steaks were very good and comparable ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The steaks were very good and comparable to any steak I have had at the pricey a la carte places. Highly recommended and will be a stop on future visits to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent place. Great food, fast serv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place. Great food, fast service, intuitive wait staff. Free parking. A bit crowded, and they need a better AC. It was hot outside and the AC struggled to reduce the humidity inside. They had to open windows so that let in flies. Apart from the weather everything else was very good and I would go again (outside of tourist season).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated promptly and took drink orders as ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Seated promptly and took drink orders as we looked over the menu. Kitchen was backed up and was given free potato soup as we waited. I could sense the waiter was doing the best he could but everything was governed by the kitchen. While bringing the dishes out hot sauce juice spilled and barely missed my son and I had to level the plate to stop it as the waiter was unaware. Food was average but felt with the service the value for the money was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The atmosphere is very elegant. Very cle ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The atmosphere is very elegant. Very clean. Quiet atmosphere inside. Delicious expresso martini's. This was my second time here. Service was very attentive to detail of the table from beginning to end and very attentive to us as well. I would rate the entrees with a 5 out of 5. Definitely above average. Exceptional! No opinion on dessert, we didn't leave room unfortunately. We will be going back and highly recommending it to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent! Food was delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was excellent! Food was delicious. We were not sure what to expect when we drove up- definitely a great find. The owner was extremely friendly and checked on us during our dinner. If in the area, we would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The menu is limited and the hamburger wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The menu is limited and the hamburger was very good. Unfortunately the lamb shank was not cooked enough - did not fall off the bone and the bokchoy was gritty. Overall average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a really nice dinner here. They w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a really nice dinner here. They were able to accommodate my gluten-free diet. I had a salad with a large steak. Others in our group had seafood pasta or steak. The steak was done to perfection. The restaurant is large and able to accommodate groups. There is a parking area across the street from the restaurant and a few spots on the side of the restaurant. However, we were there on Canada Day and the entire parking lot was filled with people going to the falls for the evening. If you go on a busy weekend give yourself some extra time to get a parking spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family gathered at Niagara, coming f ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our family gathered at Niagara, coming from all over tge east coast. We spent one evening having a nice dinner together in a location that was not too touristy. The Sandstone Grill was perfect. Tables were set up so that we could all intereact. The food and service were terrific. Everyone had a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice relaxed atmosphere - food wa ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really nice relaxed atmosphere - food was great and the service was excellent. Really enjoyed a relaxed, well paced, tasty dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Definitely worth a visit. Family run ge ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely worth a visit. Family run gem and away from the hustle/bustle of touristy Niagara Falls. The food was delicious with a good variety to choose from and the portions were very generous. This will be our "go to" restaurant in the Falls from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were on vacation and found Sandstone ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were on vacation and found Sandstone through Open Table. What a find! Casual atmosphere, family friendly and excellent food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks were very good. Everyone in our g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Steaks were very good. Everyone in our group of seven enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not What You Expect

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on reviews on Yelp and here on Open Table, however we were disappointed. This was our anniversary dinner and the meal was not at the level we anticipated based on the reviews we read.

We both did the Prix fix menu. The appetizers were okay at best. The Greek salad had a sweet vinaigrette dressing which does not present a cohesive salad.

We both had the NY Strip which was a good cut however lacked flavor. There was minimal seasoning used which was disappointing. Our steaks were cooked perfectly to a medium rare and medium. The Asiago potatoes were not evenly mixed, you had bites with and bites without.

We both selected the Chocolate Lava Cake ... that had no Lava. This was very disappointing, especially to find a white cream filling in the cake.

This is not a restaurant we will return to during future visits to the area. We also shared our opinion with our Innkeepers, who had stopped referring their guests their based on personal experience and feedback from guests.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our overall experience at the Sandstone ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our overall experience at the Sandstone Grillhouse was very positive. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. For a "casual upscale" kind of restaurant, we enjoyed ourselves completely. I highly recommend the Sandstone to anyone who finds themselves in the Niagara Falls area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great new find as we live here in the Fa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great new find as we live here in the Falls. Nice ambiance and great service from our server Becky. Our steaks were seasoned and cooked perfectly. We'll be back. I requested a booth when I booked on Open Table and got a really nice private booth near the front of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a real gem in the middle ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place was a real gem in the middle of Niagara. The staff was really welcoming. The decor felt upscale, I would have taken a date here for fun. The cocktails from the bar were wickedly good and the food tasted great. Honestly I'm surprised by how good this place. Might have to make it a regular stop in Niagara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food; wonderful service; resta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent food; wonderful service; restaurant is owned by husband and wife who come around and help with service and meet their customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service, Good food,

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, very friendly staff, and best of all we were able to take our dog and dine in the patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner there to celeb ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a very nice dinner there to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Had a nice quiet table at the back. Our server was exceptional - not too intrusive and timed everything perfectly. My husband and I both had the Ceasar salad - good but not the best one I have had. My husband had the chicken parmesan - said it was good but the coating could have been crispier. I had the lamb shank - not what I was expecting but still good - couldn't finish it which says a lot about their portion size. We will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of 11 out for a good eve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were a party of 11 out for a good evening and a fine meal. All but one enjoyed their meal as it was just as ordered, cooked perfectly and very tasty. The one individual who had a problem did not receive his steak as ordered (ordered medium well but received medium rare) but did not tell the waiter until the meal was finished, therefore, the staff were unable to correct the error. Service was fantastic and overall we annoyed our evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not your typical steakhouse. Place was s ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Not your typical steakhouse. Place was small for what I was expecting but the food was good. You get a lot for your money. Would go back if I were in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great steak!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I enjoyed the Prix Fixe Prix Menu. We were enjoying the music "SiriusXM Coffee House." All was great until the family with the screaming child was seated next to us. We left and went back to the Greystone Manor B&B where we were staying. It was too bad. We were really enjoying our time when the racket started.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My friend and I found This place on Trip ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

My friend and I found This place on Trip advisor and it was very highly ranked. We were warmly greeted immediately at the door and felt very comfortable. The environment was very well decorated with subdued lighting that was just perfect for dining. Our waitress, Trinity, was wonderful! She had an excellent knowledge of the menu. I ordered a craft beer that was delicious. The wine menu was very nice with many different wines from all over the world. The bartender was quite knowledgeable and helpful. My friend ordered the 4 course dinner that was delicious. She choose the strip steak which was cooked perfectly and has minimal fat. I had the gnocchi which were "pillow-perfect." I definitely recommend The Sandstone. Not a great environment for boisterous children as it's quite quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sorry, but a disappointment

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I was looking forward to the Sandstone Grill., I reserved ahead for a special Valentines dinner.,I'm afraid to say it was disappointing.The gentleman at the door was very friendly but from there it went a down hill.The waitress seemed to be very rushed.,like she wanted to get us in and out quickly?,at one point a drink was taken away that we weren't even finished with.

The meal itself was a disappointment, a very salty filet,soggy vegetables,over cooked shrimp skewer, not what i expected from the reviews that i read.The crab cakes were the highlight.Dessert was served, we weren't offered a choice,a very nice cheesecake though,and the bill came quickly after ,again like you wanted us to get out!.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really great place to eat! It was a litt ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Really great place to eat! It was a little pricey but not too expensive. And some of the best garlic bread i have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Place to Eat! Very convenient location!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We had the Classic Grill, which was a shared plate, included greek salad (yummy!), grilled chicken, 6-once steak, veggies and potatoes, plus dessert. My wife and I shared it and enjoyed the whole meal thoroughly!

Our server was also quite good. I don't remember her name, but she was pleasant and efficient. The owner or manager even popped by and asked if we were enjoying. He then cleared some plates, which was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.