About Sandstone Grillhouse

Family owned and operated since 1974, Sandstone Grillhouse provides a warm, welcoming environment, generations-old recipes, made-from-scratch dishes, and the very best Steak Niagara has to offer. Serving Angus Reserve steaks, housemade Italian and succulent seafood, Sandstone has something for everyone, including burgers made from scratch, wine and dine features for $29/person, and our famous Chef's Table prix fixe. Join us indoors or on our patio (weather permitting) -- we're also Niagara's ONLY Dog-friendly patio! Perfect for romantic dinners, wedding celebrations or family night outs, Sandstone Grillhouse has something for everyone. No gimmicks, just great food.

5467 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kitchener St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 354-7225

Website:
http://www.sandstonegrillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available! Drive up parking on the north face of the restaurant, and a full parking lot on the south side. Overflow parking available for a nominal fee at the city lot just adjacent to Sandstone.

Public Transit:
Less than a 2 minute walk from the WEGO Victoria Avenue/Bender Hill stop.

Executive Chef:
Greg Bushie

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Sandstone Grillhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
See All
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great.

Service was great.

Active, involved owner stopped at our table to enquirer. Nice touch

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had made an 8:15pm reservation through open table for a saturday night. We arrived there at 8:05pm and the host told us our table would be "ready shortly". We didn't get a table until 8:40! What's the point of making reservations? They didn't even acknowledge that we were waiting or offer anything for the inconvenience. The only person who acknowledged us was the bartender and he mentioned "it shouldn't take this long, you guys have been waiting a long time". Food was ok but I will not be returning to this place. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We would most definately return for another meal. Thank you

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I took my husband to Sandstone for his Birthday on January 10th and we really enjoyed it.

The food was excellent and the staff wonderful . We had not not dined at Sandstone for some time but soon found out what we were missing. We shared the Mixed Grill and it was exceptional. Prepared the way we like it and even got dessert which came with the meal.

We will definitely drop by very soon again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Good food and friendly staff. Nice change from the over priced restaurants in the hotels and waterpark area.... and no promotional fee! It's very close and worth the short walk (or drive) to have a nice meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent restaurant pour un steak. Cuisson parfaite pour tous. Nous avions à notre table différentes préférences de cuisson de medium-bien cuit à bleu et tous ont adorés. Prix raisonnables. Carte des vins et décor corrects. Propre. Très Bon retaurant pour un endroit touristique. Vous ne serez pas déçus, comme dans certaines chaines de restaurant avec des prix déraisonnables et une nourriture très ordinaire. Parfois le décor époustoufflant a un prix et la nourriture en souffre un peu. Ici vous aurez une belle expérience et pourrez profiter de vos conversations avec vos propres , plutôt que de parler de votre bouffe ordinaire et trop chère. :) ça vaut le détour!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Better than expected. Reserved table and still had to wait 15-20 min but that wasn't waiter's fault, just previous patrons were slow to vacate table. Very good food.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service for New year's Eve. We will definitely be back for more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went there for our 22nd anniversary, was looking for Italian food. We where not disappointed would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Enjoyed very much with some co-workers. Your staff are A++

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fun, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The staff were very accommodating and the menu had an excellent variety.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fish and chips came in 2 big portions.

Seafood fettuccine was on the watery side and bland.

Good garlic bread starter.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I booked this for my husband's birthday dinner. Not worth the money , it wasn't anything special.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice place, Staff was very nice and helpful a shout out to our bar tender Kurt. Food was very good and served in a very timely manner. will be going back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent tasting food!

Had lamb shank with polenta - really goooood!

I ordered local wine and my friend ordered an import. Both were very nice.

Our waitress was friendly and attentive.

There was a small wedding (5:00 pm.) so a few fairly small children ran about. They did have

adults after them right away. A bit of noise, but not to the point of where you could not think.

I think the wonderful food and the good conversation overcame whatever small noise we had.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back for other menu choices, as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This place is a gem. We were a group of four and we were all very impressed by the quality of our meals, the presentation and the excellent service. Food was cooked to perfection. On top of it all, price of alcohol was surprisingly reasonable. The ambiance was perfect. This restaurant was the highlight of our four day trip to Niagara Falls. The easiest way to sum up our experience: WOW!!!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent steaks, veges, service and great kids menu. Loved the lava cake dessert - generous portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A good experience. Wait time between courses as a little long. Server while attentive needs to follow-up on details like drinks and course follow up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was a lovely restaurant with a nice atmosphere. Steak and seafood pasta meals were very good as was the service. Would definitely come back next time we're in Niagara Falls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

An overall fantastic restaurant. Everything about our experience was great. We had reservations and were seated immediately. We had a friendly waitress who provided great service. Our food and drinks were also very good. I had a steak cooked medium rare and that's exactly how it came out. This is a bit of an expensive place, but it is a great choice for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great find! Food was delicious....ONLY complaint was the dinner salads are TINY and the mixed drinks/martini's were Extra Tiny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The steak I ordered was not grilled to my liking ordered medium rare and it came out medium to medium well,my wife ordered a steak medium to medium well and it came out to be well done and some more.The restaurant took it back and she placed another order of pasta and it was even worse.Tasted horrible.The waitress was very good,took her order off the final

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant was pleasant enough. Not anything to get crazy about. My standard is this: would I go back? My answer is no, I wouldn't. Food was... just ok. Service was...just ok. I'm sure there are many better places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I selected this restaurant based on reviews of others and we were so pleased. Nice to go to a non-touristy restaurant in a touristy city. Most other guests were locals, a good sign as they live in this city. Had a delicious anniversary meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The corner table with armchairs was very relaxing.

Reluctant to leave. Good service.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very good restaurant. Service very friendly, attentive. Had to wait slightly for our reservation but not a huge deal (maybe 15 mins, was a busy Friday). Would recommend for all types of events. Food was very fresh. Pricing very reasonable for the quality of menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

the sandstone was everything that was expected from a steak house perfectly grilled steaks and the seafood pasta was excellent service great location perfect very good experience will return....;-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant is pleasant and the service was good. We ordered steaks and they were reasonable, but included some hard tissues that were probably due to insufficient aging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was great! A good value as well. I'm sorry we don't have one of these back home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went for our 50th Wedding Anniversary and did not mention this to the restaurant. Those that mentioned their special occasion got a special treat. We wanted to just relax and enjoy it. The 4 course meal we chose was just wonderful and right portions. We did not have room for dessert. We definitely recommend this restaurant to any one for any occasion or just for a night out for a great meal.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Andrew was our server. He was very knowledgeable about the menu. He made great suggestions. My husband and I had the chateaubriand for 2 and it was superb. Cudos to the chef! My sons girlfriend had the grilled steak and it was the best! The mushroom soup was flavorful and divine. Panoko crusted goat cheese starter was fabulous! If you haven't been to the Sandstone Grillhouse get there soon! They will impress! It's only 5 min from Niagara Falls tourist area. Give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and great service. I have a gluten and dairy allergy and our waitress was very knowledgable about what my options were. She communicated with the chef and made sure my food was prepared correctly. On top of that, the food was delicious. They had great prices and good deals. Restaurant is near Clifton Hill area but not too touristy. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were in Niagara Falls for our wedding anniversary and booked Sandstone for our arrival dinner through Open Table and great reviews of the place. We weren't disappointed. It was everything people say. It was busy and bustling with noise but expected and our waitress was above average for her age and made us feel comfy when we arrived late due to long weekend traffic over our four hour drive.

I ordered the New York strip loin special with veggies and garlic mashed potatoes. Steak was cooked perfect and great cut of meat. I didn't even need sauce on it. It was on of the best steaks I've had anywhere.

Wife is vegetarian and had House-made Spinach Gnocchi which was also excellent

The whole dining experience was exceptional. It is evident that the owner takes pride in every aspect of his establishment and was visiting guests to ask how things were. We like that.

We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I like the their food and atmosphere service was good and dining room was little noisy.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent local restaurant with excellent food and great service. Family owned and operated. Nice experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I were in Niagara for just one night, and we could not be happier that we chose to spend our one dinner eating at Sandstone! Not only was it a good value, but the food was delicious! We both went for the four course prix fixe, starting with crab cakes and fried goat cheese, moving on to Caesar salads, enjoying a great 8 oz strip steak, and finish with some lava cake a la mode. The steak in particular was on of the best simple preparations I've had. Great meal overall!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

CJ,our waitress that evening was friendly and attentive.She had recommendations for us.We eventually took her suggestion and was Very Happy with what we had.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were traveling back to Niagara Falls from Niagara on the Lake and were starving. This place had good yelp reviews. We were leery at first because area was so crazy busy, but once inside it was nice and quiet. Our waiter was great and the food was outstanding! We had "The classic" which is dinner for 2. Best Greek salad I've ever had and the Rib-eye steak and chicken were delicious! Enjoyed the brownie a la mode as well! Will definitely go back next time in town!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were in Niagara for the weekend. We had just been to one of the wedding chapels for a commitment ceremony and read reviews on your restaurant that were favourable. The food was great but the service was bad. We were seated quickly but it was 25 minutes before our server came to our table and asked if we were ready. Not for a drink order but for our food order. Then she asked about drinks. Our server was absent most of the night. She even left us alone with the debit machine.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding service, fabulous meal. Great attention to detail, generous portions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waiter was excellent, steak was one of the worst I have ever had. I couldn't eat it all, I left hungry. My steak should have been compensated for or replaced, my girlfriend had the same experience that night. She was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved our meal here! I had the seafood fettucene and hubby had chicken cordon blu. Both were excellent. We paired it with a bottle of Konzelmann Cab Sav which was fantastic! Excellent service, loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2016

With all of the good reviews I had seen, I was surprised by how mediocre the food was. Quality and originality was comparable to what I had been used to in a steak house of the 1950's/ 60's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The service was good. The waitress was friendly. The food was good and worth the money. You could park across the street and walk to the Falls. I would go there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a delicious dinner. Everything was fresh and hot and tasty! Staff was super nice and helpful as I forgot my wallet and had to scramble to get my credit card number! Extremely memorable and satisfying evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The whole dining experience was exceptional. It was evident that the owner takes pride in every aspect of his establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I was in Niagra with my 3 teenagers. We had an awesome meal and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Although I will recommend the restaurant as a whole, I am not sure that I will return. It was our first time here and when it came down to the main course, the steak had a lot of fat/grizzled in it. Not my cup of tea... Otherwise, the food was good. Waiter was great, the host who greeted us, so/so, did not seem to interested in us... I am sure there are lots of other restaurants in the area that will be happy to provide my wife and I with a great overall experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The steaks were very good and comparable to any steak I have had at the pricey a la carte places. Highly recommended and will be a stop on future visits to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.