About Sandstone Grillhouse

5467 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L3
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated since 1974, Sandstone Grillhouse provides a warm, welcoming environment, generations-old recipes, made-from-scratch dishes, and the very best Steak Niagara has to offer. Serving Angus Reserve steaks, housemade Italian and succulent seafood, Sandstone has something for everyone, including burgers made from scratch, wine and dine features for $29/person, and our famous Chef's Table prix fixe. Join us indoors or on our patio (weather permitting) -- we're also Niagara's ONLY Dog-friendly patio! Perfect for romantic dinners, wedding celebrations or family night outs, Sandstone Grillhouse has something for everyone. No gimmicks, just great food.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kitchener St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 354-7225

Website:
http://www.sandstonegrillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available! Drive up parking on the north face of the restaurant, and a full parking lot on the south side. Overflow parking available for a nominal fee at the city lot just adjacent to Sandstone.

Public Transit:
Less than a 2 minute walk from the WEGO Victoria Avenue/Bender Hill stop.

Executive Chef:
Greg Bushie

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Sandstone Grillhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara Falls ›

special occasion (14)
good for groups (11)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
romantic (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
notable wine list (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
60 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food; wonderful service; resta ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food; wonderful service; restaurant is owned by husband and wife who come around and help with service and meet their customers.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Good food,

Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our meal, very friendly staff, and best of all we were able to take our dog and dine in the patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner there to celeb ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a very nice dinner there to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Had a nice quiet table at the back. Our server was exceptional - not too intrusive and timed everything perfectly. My husband and I both had the Ceasar salad - good but not the best one I have had. My husband had the chicken parmesan - said it was good but the coating could have been crispier. I had the lamb shank - not what I was expecting but still good - couldn't finish it which says a lot about their portion size. We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a party of 11 out for a good eve ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were a party of 11 out for a good evening and a fine meal. All but one enjoyed their meal as it was just as ordered, cooked perfectly and very tasty. The one individual who had a problem did not receive his steak as ordered (ordered medium well but received medium rare) but did not tell the waiter until the meal was finished, therefore, the staff were unable to correct the error. Service was fantastic and overall we annoyed our evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Not your typical steakhouse. Place was s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Not your typical steakhouse. Place was small for what I was expecting but the food was good. You get a lot for your money. Would go back if I were in the area again.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great steak!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I enjoyed the Prix Fixe Prix Menu. We were enjoying the music "SiriusXM Coffee House." All was great until the family with the screaming child was seated next to us. We left and went back to the Greystone Manor B&B where we were staying. It was too bad. We were really enjoying our time when the racket started.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I found This place on Trip ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

My friend and I found This place on Trip advisor and it was very highly ranked. We were warmly greeted immediately at the door and felt very comfortable. The environment was very well decorated with subdued lighting that was just perfect for dining. Our waitress, Trinity, was wonderful! She had an excellent knowledge of the menu. I ordered a craft beer that was delicious. The wine menu was very nice with many different wines from all over the world. The bartender was quite knowledgeable and helpful. My friend ordered the 4 course dinner that was delicious. She choose the strip steak which was cooked perfectly and has minimal fat. I had the gnocchi which were "pillow-perfect." I definitely recommend The Sandstone. Not a great environment for boisterous children as it's quite quiet.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

sorry, but a disappointment

Dined on February 14, 2016

I was looking forward to the Sandstone Grill., I reserved ahead for a special Valentines dinner.,I'm afraid to say it was disappointing.The gentleman at the door was very friendly but from there it went a down hill.The waitress seemed to be very rushed.,like she wanted to get us in and out quickly?,at one point a drink was taken away that we weren't even finished with. The meal itself was a disappointment, a very salty filet,soggy vegetables,over cooked shrimp skewer, not what i expected from the reviews that i read.The crab cakes were the highlight.Dessert was served, we weren't offered a choice,a very nice cheesecake though,and the bill came quickly after ,again like you wanted us to get out!.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Really great place to eat! It was a litt ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Really great place to eat! It was a little pricey but not too expensive. And some of the best garlic bread i have ever had!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place to Eat! Very convenient location!

Dined on January 30, 2016

We had the Classic Grill, which was a shared plate, included greek salad (yummy!), grilled chicken, 6-once steak, veggies and potatoes, plus dessert. My wife and I shared it and enjoyed the whole meal thoroughly! Our server was also quite good. I don't remember her name, but she was pleasant and efficient. The owner or manager even popped by and asked if we were enjoying. He then cleared some plates, which was great!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak that I have had in a rest ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

The best steak that I have had in a restaurant in years. Cooked to perfection and the sides were fabulous as well. Great service and ambiance,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upscale Dining, Comfortable Service

Dined on January 8, 2016

When we arrived, we were greeted as if we were long lost friends. Our waiter Jason was EXCELLENT! He graciously tested the water to see what our personality type was and then adjusted his service to fit. He was fun, attentive (without being overbearing), eager to help and made the whole dining experience one we want to experience again. When you add to that the quality of the food, this restaurant is a no brainer! My husband had Steak, I had Chicken, they were very accommodating to a food allergy of mine and we are still talking about the food 3 days later. Will definitely return and recommend! Thank you for a Great Experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A nice dinner

Dined on January 2, 2016

I went there with a large group of friends on New Year Day. We chose this place because there weren't too many restaurants open. However, it was a good decision. The atmosphere was nice and quiet. The smoked salmon was delicious and I like how they have lots vegetables on the side with the steak. I know sometimes it's difficult to serve a large group, but the service was excellent. I would recommend this place to my friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing find!

Dined on November 21, 2015

We came upon this restaurant accidentally as we checked into our B&B in Niagara Falls at 7 pm and still needed dinner on a Friday night so wanted something that wasn't going to be overly busy with a long wait. We were pleasantly surprised! I would definitely return here for dinner and would recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Niagara Falls. The best steakhouse I have been to in a very long time. Portions were more than enough and price was quite reasonable! Service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

Upscale Denny's

Dined on November 14, 2015

The experience was not what Iwe expected. The quality of service and food would be better described as Upscale Denny's. We were disappointed with experience. The server was a extremely disenchanted with his job. We booked with Open Table but were not given the same level of service we've received from other venues Open Table supports. I think this restraurant needs to review their processes and customer service. Their prices on items are a little expensive but others are out of this world compared to the quality of the food. I would not be jumping to recommend this place as a fine dining destination. If you want just an average place to go for a bite to eat, it may be just the place for you. The overall experience was not a complete disaster but I think they have a long way to go to be a place I would frequent over and over.

food4
ambience4
service2

Fantastic steaks which I don't say often ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Fantastic steaks which I don't say often. Had the Chef's Table for two. I would definitely come again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on November 1, 2015

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, the experience was great. The host knew my name, he was expecting us. Our waitress was great, the drinks were phenomenal and the food --presentation and taste was great. I would go back here in a heart beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Anniversary Meal

Dined on November 1, 2015

this was an evening out for our 10th wedding anniversary and it didn't disappoint, our waitress was very knowledgeable and extremely accommodating throughout the evening, we both had steaks, I had Fillet Mignon and my wife the Rib eye, which also came with soup... both cooked to perfection. Wine list was good too.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

Dined on November 1, 2015

Our favourite special occasion restaurant. Walking distance to the hotels around Clifton Hill but also ample free parking on site. Best steaks anywhere. Reasonable corkage service for bring your own wine, but also nice wine list highlighting Niagara wines. I suggest ordering the Caesar salad, steak, seafood, and dessert, as they are all good. Interesting Prix Fixe and a la Carte menus. Very attentive service, but you never feel rushed. I saw families welcomed and children are accommodated with no problem. There are enough nooks in the restaurant that everyone has a private place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good steak, excellent service. Than ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Very good steak, excellent service. Thank you

food3
ambience3
service3

The place was nothing special, but it wa ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

The place was nothing special, but it was overall an average meal. If you have no where else to go, definitely a solid spot to stop in if you need somewhere to eat. They had a pre-fixe menu that was a little pricey but again, solid food, nothing was bad.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!!

Dined on October 16, 2015

Very pleased with entrees and server was great. I would definitely recommend !! Barry was a lot of fun and hubby had the BEST steak ever!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Service & Great Food!

Dined on October 9, 2015

My wife & I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary with dinner at Sandstone Grillhouse. We ordered 3 cheese garlic loaf as an appetizer and had the 8 OZ and 12 0Z New York steaks. They were out of this world! Best steak we've had yet! Our service by 'Cassy' was impeccable. She was very professional and accommodating. The atmosphere was great. The Owner visited our table and wished us well with a complimentary slab of delicious strawberry cheese cake with a lit candle - very thoughtful. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to be treated like a king!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

One negative point : I ask for a baked p ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

One negative point : I ask for a baked patato with my filet mignon and, no bake patato in a steak house that weird!!! but the overale are meals was very good. The waitress was very good and very nice

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

No Real Problems

Dined on September 19, 2015

My steak was slightly under done & the sides were skimpy. Overall not bad for the price.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2

Tourist Trap

Dined on September 12, 2015

Food was overpriced and not worth it. More expensive than the Keg and nowhere near as good! Took my husband for his birthday. He ordered a steak and it came way undercooked - blood was all over plate. By the time the waitress returned he had ate most of it as he was hungry. She asked how it was, and he should her that it was not cooked the way he asked, she took a look and she even agreed. She said she would show and mention to the cook. No one came over to apologize, no discount was taken...absolutely nothing was done at all to make up for the bad experience he had. This is a complete tourist trap as they don't care about people returning at all. Just take them as fast as they can, and get them out just as fast. Never again!

food4
ambience4
service5

Well worth visiting

Dined on September 1, 2015

Best restaurant we visited in Niagara Falls, excellent food and service. Well worth visiting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Steaks were excellent.

Dined on August 31, 2015

Great steaks cooked perfectly. Engaging waitstaff very friendly and knowledgable

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Good, not great.

Dined on August 22, 2015

Was expecting more from the reviews online. We did the fixed menu. The food was good, not great. There was a major staffing issue and everyone seemed very rushed, hyper and on edge. Not sure what was going on, but you could see the tension.

food4
ambience5
service5

Something for everyone!

Dined on August 18, 2015

Recommended to us by the owner of the B & B we were staying at and was within walking distance. Food was very good and their menu had a large variety from salads to pasta, chicken and steak. There was definitely something for everyone. Prices were reasonable and I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

OPEN TABLE RESERVATION FLOP

Dined on August 6, 2015

It would have been impressive if the open table reservation that I reserved was at least typed into the Sandstone reservation computer. My guest and I arrived and I advised that I had booked with Open Table and gave my name and the hostess did not find my reservation and advised that someone did not type the reservation into the computer at the restaurant. We did get a table as we had booked for 5:30 pm and the dining room was not full. I was expecting the Thursday special advertised which was I believe $55 and included steak, salad, potatoes and veg with a glass of wine and may have even been desert. The meal we shared was $89.00 and did not have a glass of wine but the salad and the food was very good. I made the open table reservation because it was my friends and my birthday celebration and no mention of this by any one of the staff, so the open table reservation as far as I am concerned was a flop.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Worst people I've ever encountered in a ...

vip
Dined on August 2, 2015

Worst people I've ever encountered in a restaurant- we arrived for a 9pm reservation and waited at host stand with no staff onsite for 10 minutes. When a server arrived he proceeded to ignore us while discussing a tab a length with a patron at the bar. When he finally spoke to us he said he'd send a host then returned to tables outside - no one came to seat us and in meantime another clearly frustrated passed by shaking his head and said "Eat anywhere but here!" then proceed to tell his table thus be comping their meal due to who-knows-what mistakes....after another 5-10 minutes the 1st server finally returned and proceed to straighten the entry rug for what felt like eternity despite us being inches from him still waiting at host stand. He finally declared his intention to seat us, at which moment another couple arrived saying they had a reservation. A woman who also worked there appeared and brusquely informed them "Can't you see we're closed!" despite there being many tables both inside and outside with people eating. At which point we decided to leave - it was late and we didn't know where else to go but in the end had an amazing meal at Weinkeller a few blocks away, which had far better ambiance, delicious food and wine and 1000x better service. A local had recommended Sandstone to us but never in my life have I encountered such dysfunctional staff- don't waste your time even walking in the door of this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had and excellent waiter. We had ord ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

We had and excellent waiter. We had ordered the 8oz fillet mignon rare and the fish and chips. Both were done very well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience1
service1

No atmosphere. Old carpeted restaurant. ...

vip
Dined on July 28, 2015

No atmosphere. Old carpeted restaurant. Boring vibe. Average food and wine. Server acted annoyed by having to wait on us and it wasn't even that crowded. Not on a great street either.

food2
ambience3
service3

Just OK

Dined on July 5, 2015

We did have a reservation for 8:00 p.m. and they had a table available. it was a busy night and the servers continuously shared that the kitchen is backed up. Things did take a bit of time but not too bad. Our server Barry was pleasant and kind. Food was bland - all of it. Complimentary garlic bread was hard as rock and must have been left over from lunch; Cesar salads were watery and had no taste and large croutons that would not fit in your mouth; stead had absolutely no seasoning and the 3 shrimp that came with it were overcooked and one even still had the shell on it; and the seafood fettuccine albeit the shrimp and scallops were tender had no taste to the cream sauce - not a bit of Parmesan or anything. For the price, I would not go again, and certainly if you like food that does not have any seasoning or spice I would not recommend.

food2
ambience2
service2

Will not return

Dined on July 2, 2015

My party of 4 were seated on the patio which is noisy with traffic. Server was not attentive and the food was not anything special. Interior decor is quite outdated and they failed to acknowledge that we honoured our open table reservation. Would not recommend and will not be returning.

food3
ambience1
service2

Decent food, Strange ambiance

Dined on June 14, 2015

Very strange dining experience. It was a last minute decision to eat at the Sandstone, being locals we have seen this restaurant but never dined there. We were greeted promptly and after quickly cleaning g a table we were seated he even apologized for the wait. It seemed fairly busy that evening our server quickly came to the table explained the specials and returned with water. We decided to go with the 4 course menu. The food was good french onion soup was delicious, steak and veggies also very good. What made our evening not very enjoyable, we were seated near the bar. A young lady came in and asked if they were hiring, she sat at the bar,our server approached her and said "If you really want to work here you shouldn't come in during g a busy dinner service, he won't like that". The young girl looked very confused left her phone number for the owner to call her and left, at that point another server went running out to find the girl, when she returned she proceeded to argue with our server right I front of our table. Both their moods instantly changed and you could feel the tension around our table. They had another argument a few minutes later that caused the bartender to step outside . All in all the food was good but the drama in the open from the staff ruined our night due to this I will not return to the Sandstone nor would I recommend it to my friend's

food5
ambience4
service5

Impressive

Dined on June 13, 2015

The food was very good, nice selection. As a Couple, we got out of there for under $100 which included an alcoholic beverage but no dessert. We were in charge of finding the Restaurant in Niagara Falls to dine with Friends. They were impressed with our choice. Thank you Sandstone Grillhouse for living up to your good reviews.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

acceptable dining

Dined on May 17, 2015

Food was mediocre, staff was great. Overall I probably wouldn't come back based on the price and food. Not many beers on draft.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Enjoyable evening!

Dined on May 16, 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful meal....salmon...the best ever! Very friendly staff, Cassie was very friendly and made us feel welcome. We celebrated our anniversary, received a complimentary cheesecake dessert, lovely. We'll be back! Thanks to Danny and staff once again.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.