About Sandstone Grillhouse

Family owned and operated since 1974, Sandstone Grillhouse provides a warm, welcoming environment, generations-old recipes, made-from-scratch dishes, and the very best Steak Niagara has to offer. Serving Angus Reserve steaks, housemade Italian and succulent seafood, Sandstone has something for everyone.

Join us indoors or on our patio (weather permitting) -- we're also Niagara's ONLY Dog-friendly patio! Perfect for romantic dinners, wedding celebrations or family night outs, Sandstone Grillhouse has something for everyone. No gimmicks, just great food.

5467 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kitchener St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 354-7225

Website:
http://www.sandstonegrillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available! Drive up parking on the north face of the restaurant, and a full parking lot on the south side. Overflow parking available for a nominal fee at the city lot just adjacent to Sandstone.

Public Transit:
Less than a 2 minute walk from the WEGO Victoria Avenue/Bender Hill stop.

Executive Chef:
Damian Harrington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Sandstone Grillhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately, we were disappointed with the service.
It was too late to serve meal for children. So they ate appetizer and got full before main kids meal coming.
Also, the waitress mentioned that she would provide refill of water, but she didn't, even we request again.
It's because she was so busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Vacation Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Very friendly staff. Wonderful food. Worth enjoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We were visiting from the UK and found u on recommended website for midprice family gluten free family meal. Menu choice was good but it wasnt clear which items were g/free without asking. Fabulous steaks. Best EVER had. However rather ther stodgy looking lasagne with no salad. No desserts were suggested (but to b fair we were full up). Left a bit too long by the waitress between courses. Rather expensive but worth it for the steaks alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was very good and our waiter was fun and entertaining. Overall great experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is definitely the best kept secret in Niagra Falls. It is not listed on any of the tourist brochures. A charming neighborhood restaurant with excellent food, lovely ambiance and professional staff. It was the best meal we had on our trip.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our 42nd Anniversary was made special by the wonderful dining experience we had at Sandstone. The service from the greeting to the deserts and after dinner shot of Bailey's was excellent. Our waiter Barry was very attentive to our needs, polite and friendly.
We had the prix fixe meals with delicious crab cake appetizers, fresh and tasty 2nd course salad, a superb North Atlantic Salmon in Lobster Sauce and a New York cheesecake that was to die for. BTW, the house made fresh baked (warm) bread that accompanied the meal was outstanding. Barry recognized our Anniversary with an after dinner drink of Baileys on the house. For a special occasion it would be hard to beat. Wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This is my second time to Niagara Falls and my second visit to Sandstone Grill. Once again I was not disappointed. My table for six was ready on time and the service was outstanding. Everyone at my table was very happy with the appetizers and the main courses which included salmon, steak and seafood pasta. This restaurant will be on my regular stop each time I'm in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here our first night at Niagara Falls. We chose it, in part, because of the good ratings on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the servings were generous. We enjoyed a tasty dessert. The prices were very reasonable, given the restaurant’s location in a resort town at peak season

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raum Düsseldorf)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Awesome meal. Meat cooked to perfection. Way better than Canyon Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

All of our food was really delicious. Our waiter did a great job with some food/dessert recommendations. Great place for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The staff was EXTREMELY nice, and very helpful. We were visiting the area on vacation, and this dinner was the best meal we had the entire week. I highly recommend this establishment to anyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2017

My family of four visited Sandstone for dinner while visiting Niagara Falls, Ontario. The filet minon was delicious. It melted in my mouth. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I wouldn't recommend it. Too pricey for the ordinary food. Food was not special enough for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Enjoyed our meal, steak was really tender. Enjoyed our meal on the patio. It started to rain but all was good as they have a covered area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Easy walk in Niagara Falls- listen for the special as they are best value. Food was delicious and service friendly

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

We dropped in for dinner while on vacation. I ordered the evening's special, salmon with lobster cream sauce. My companion ordered seafood fettuccine. Both excellent. Our waitress was friendly and professional. Very nice dining experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Not good at all. Tough very undercooked steak that was suppos d to be the nightly special. Tasteless shrimp. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were looking for a nice place to have dinner with outdoor seating that wasn't a chain restaurant. Found this one and was very pleased! The service was excellent! The food was delicious! I loved that they allow dogs in the outside seating area! We didn't have a dog but I think pet friendly places are fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great meal and service. The music was perfect, not too loud.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was very good and the service we got from Don, was excellent.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Too much money for a bottle of sparkling wine.

37 dollar for a 10 dollar bottle ?

Other than that a very nice place.

This was my second visit but I won't be back.

Over charging is a bad thing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went here for partner's birthday. Got seated at a corner table with wing chairs. Haven't sat in a wing chair for many years. This was *very* nice. Asked the waitress (Mary - wonderful) to hold our meals until we had finished our cocktails. After a while, she asked if the cook could get to work. Timing was perfect. So was the food - seafood linguine, ribeye steak. As a surprise, Mary brought in a piece of delicious cheesecake with a candle for dessert. The experience was perfect in every way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent service and food. A little pricey, but great ambiance. Barry, our waiter, was exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Just a bit off the main drag in this carnival town. Very nice all around meal and great friendly hosting and service.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was fantastic, the service prompt, and the staff were personable and friendly. An excellent restaurant that I'm certain we'll be going back to our next time in Niagara Falls!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a family dinner to celebrate multiple birthdays and an anniversary while visiting Niagara Falls. The staff was excellent and the food was varied enough to please the crowd of 5 adults and 3 children. From the Embassy Suites it took us 25-30 minutes to walk and the WEGO bus isn't reliable enough to get you to your reservation on time. A cab cost us $9 CAD to return to the hotel. Nice restaurant but I don't think I'd go out of my way to dine there again. If you're staying on the north side of town I'd highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 15, 2017

A friend and I spontaneously decided to treat ourselves to steak. Sandstone was a great choice! I had the beet and goat cheese salad with New York strip, my friend had the filet mignon special. The service was attentive but not intrusive, the steak was perfectly cooked. The restaurant was busy but the tables were spaced well so our conversation was easy and comfortable. We will be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great evening out. Quality of food first rate with top class service. We had the soup and Greek salad for starters, house burger and Caesar salad with chicken for mains and chocolate and caramel sundaes for dessert. All choices were well presented and great tasting. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and I had asked for that acknowledgement. I was not expecting anything more than a quiet recognition of that event. Don, our waiter, made it so delightful that we truly had a wonderful time, even with a slice of cheese cake and a candle. I will never return to Niagara Falls and NOT go by this restaurant. The weather was not that good, but it all became good once we entered and was greeted as guest. GREAT place and the service was great! Even compared to some of the fancy restaurants, this one had the basic things right: personal service, food, and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything about Sandstone was amazing! We brought our two dogs to Niagara falls with us and found this was the only restaurant in the area with a patio which was pet friendly.
From the start, everything was perfect. All of the employees were so friendly to our dogs and brought treats and water to them and came by often to give them lots of attention. The owner(I think his name was Danny?) even made a point to stop by to talk to us.
The food was incredible! We started with the crab cake appetizer, then each had a burger(delicious).
The French fries weren't like any other French fries we have had before. Whatever seasoning they used, we loved them. We also split a Caesar salad which did not disappoint. The next time we go back to Niagara falls, we will make a point to stop back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Server did not mention meal options until asked nor did she ask what kind of potato until asked.
Was not impressed with the meal and thought it was way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We made a reservation for our final dinner in the Falls during our first wedding anniversary. A friend joined us from the US. Kirk, our server greeted us and gave us top notch service. He provided for a small corkage fee champagne glasses to enjoy our gift of a 1992 Dom Perignon that our friend brought. The food was great, we had the crab cakes and calamari for apps and they were amazing. We all had various pasta for our mains, although the pasta is not house made the sauces more than made up for that. The atmosphere is nice and relaxing. The owner offered us a free dessert to share to celebrate our anniversary. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice place to dine that is out of the main tourist trap of the Falls.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our first time at Sandstone. Excellent steaks, excellent salads, loved the roasted veggies. Friendly, efficient staff, and personal interest by Danny, the owner. There was a wedding party going on, and the friendly, social ambience made everything seem very comfortable. We had a leisurely, delicious meal that met our needs and did not disappoint in any way. We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food and service. A lot of families with crying babies took away from the ambiance. But the food was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very friendly staff. Food was tasty and served in good time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great.
Service was great.
Active, involved owner stopped at our table to enquire. Nice touch

Tags: Cozy, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had made an 8:15pm reservation through open table for a saturday night. We arrived there at 8:05pm and the host told us our table would be "ready shortly". We didn't get a table until 8:40! What's the point of making reservations? They didn't even acknowledge that we were waiting or offer anything for the inconvenience. The only person who acknowledged us was the bartender and he mentioned "it shouldn't take this long, you guys have been waiting a long time". Food was ok but I will not be returning to this place. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We would most definately return for another meal. Thank you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I took my husband to Sandstone for his Birthday on January 10th and we really enjoyed it.
The food was excellent and the staff wonderful . We had not not dined at Sandstone for some time but soon found out what we were missing. We shared the Mixed Grill and it was exceptional. Prepared the way we like it and even got dessert which came with the meal.
We will definitely drop by very soon again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.