Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Sandstone Grillhouse

Family owned and operated since 1974, Sandstone Grillhouse provides a warm, welcoming environment, generations-old recipes, made-from-scratch dishes, and the very best Steak Niagara has to offer. Serving Angus Reserve steaks, housemade Italian and succulent seafood, Sandstone has something for everyone.

Join us indoors or on our patio (weather permitting) -- we're also Niagara's ONLY Dog-friendly patio! Perfect for romantic dinners, wedding celebrations or family night outs, Sandstone Grillhouse has something for everyone. No gimmicks, just great food.

5467 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kitchener St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 354-7225

Website:
http://www.sandstonegrillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available! Drive up parking on the north face of the restaurant, and a full parking lot on the south side. Overflow parking available for a nominal fee at the city lot just adjacent to Sandstone.

Public Transit:
Less than a 2 minute walk from the WEGO Victoria Avenue/Bender Hill stop.

Executive Chef:
Damian Harrington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Sandstone Grillhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Too much money for a bottle of sparkling wine.

37 dollar for a 10 dollar bottle ?

Other than that a very nice place.

This was my second visit but I won't be back.

Over charging is a bad thing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for partner's birthday. Got seated at a corner table with wing chairs. Haven't sat in a wing chair for many years. This was *very* nice. Asked the waitress (Mary - wonderful) to hold our meals until we had finished our cocktails. After a while, she asked if the cook could get to work. Timing was perfect. So was the food - seafood linguine, ribeye steak. As a surprise, Mary brought in a piece of delicious cheesecake with a candle for dessert. The experience was perfect in every way.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and food. A little pricey, but great ambiance. Barry, our waiter, was exceptional!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Just a bit off the main drag in this carnival town. Very nice all around meal and great friendly hosting and service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was fantastic, the service prompt, and the staff were personable and friendly. An excellent restaurant that I'm certain we'll be going back to our next time in Niagara Falls!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a family dinner to celebrate multiple birthdays and an anniversary while visiting Niagara Falls. The staff was excellent and the food was varied enough to please the crowd of 5 adults and 3 children. From the Embassy Suites it took us 25-30 minutes to walk and the WEGO bus isn't reliable enough to get you to your reservation on time. A cab cost us $9 CAD to return to the hotel. Nice restaurant but I don't think I'd go out of my way to dine there again. If you're staying on the north side of town I'd highly recommend the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 15, 2017

A friend and I spontaneously decided to treat ourselves to steak. Sandstone was a great choice! I had the beet and goat cheese salad with New York strip, my friend had the filet mignon special. The service was attentive but not intrusive, the steak was perfectly cooked. The restaurant was busy but the tables were spaced well so our conversation was easy and comfortable. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great evening out. Quality of food first rate with top class service. We had the soup and Greek salad for starters, house burger and Caesar salad with chicken for mains and chocolate and caramel sundaes for dessert. All choices were well presented and great tasting. Definitely worth a visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and I had asked for that acknowledgement. I was not expecting anything more than a quiet recognition of that event. Don, our waiter, made it so delightful that we truly had a wonderful time, even with a slice of cheese cake and a candle. I will never return to Niagara Falls and NOT go by this restaurant. The weather was not that good, but it all became good once we entered and was greeted as guest. GREAT place and the service was great! Even compared to some of the fancy restaurants, this one had the basic things right: personal service, food, and ambience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything about Sandstone was amazing! We brought our two dogs to Niagara falls with us and found this was the only restaurant in the area with a patio which was pet friendly.
From the start, everything was perfect. All of the employees were so friendly to our dogs and brought treats and water to them and came by often to give them lots of attention. The owner(I think his name was Danny?) even made a point to stop by to talk to us.
The food was incredible! We started with the crab cake appetizer, then each had a burger(delicious).
The French fries weren't like any other French fries we have had before. Whatever seasoning they used, we loved them. We also split a Caesar salad which did not disappoint. The next time we go back to Niagara falls, we will make a point to stop back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Server did not mention meal options until asked nor did she ask what kind of potato until asked.
Was not impressed with the meal and thought it was way overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We made a reservation for our final dinner in the Falls during our first wedding anniversary. A friend joined us from the US. Kirk, our server greeted us and gave us top notch service. He provided for a small corkage fee champagne glasses to enjoy our gift of a 1992 Dom Perignon that our friend brought. The food was great, we had the crab cakes and calamari for apps and they were amazing. We all had various pasta for our mains, although the pasta is not house made the sauces more than made up for that. The atmosphere is nice and relaxing. The owner offered us a free dessert to share to celebrate our anniversary. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice place to dine that is out of the main tourist trap of the Falls.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our first time at Sandstone. Excellent steaks, excellent salads, loved the roasted veggies. Friendly, efficient staff, and personal interest by Danny, the owner. There was a wedding party going on, and the friendly, social ambience made everything seem very comfortable. We had a leisurely, delicious meal that met our needs and did not disappoint in any way. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food and service. A lot of families with crying babies took away from the ambiance. But the food was worth it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very friendly staff. Food was tasty and served in good time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great.
Service was great.
Active, involved owner stopped at our table to enquirer. Nice touch

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had made an 8:15pm reservation through open table for a saturday night. We arrived there at 8:05pm and the host told us our table would be "ready shortly". We didn't get a table until 8:40! What's the point of making reservations? They didn't even acknowledge that we were waiting or offer anything for the inconvenience. The only person who acknowledged us was the bartender and he mentioned "it shouldn't take this long, you guys have been waiting a long time". Food was ok but I will not be returning to this place. Not impressed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We would most definately return for another meal. Thank you

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I took my husband to Sandstone for his Birthday on January 10th and we really enjoyed it.
The food was excellent and the staff wonderful . We had not not dined at Sandstone for some time but soon found out what we were missing. We shared the Mixed Grill and it was exceptional. Prepared the way we like it and even got dessert which came with the meal.
We will definitely drop by very soon again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Good food and friendly staff. Nice change from the over priced restaurants in the hotels and waterpark area.... and no promotional fee! It's very close and worth the short walk (or drive) to have a nice meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent restaurant pour un steak. Cuisson parfaite pour tous. Nous avions à notre table différentes préférences de cuisson de medium-bien cuit à bleu et tous ont adorés. Prix raisonnables. Carte des vins et décor corrects. Propre. Très Bon retaurant pour un endroit touristique. Vous ne serez pas déçus, comme dans certaines chaines de restaurant avec des prix déraisonnables et une nourriture très ordinaire. Parfois le décor époustoufflant a un prix et la nourriture en souffre un peu. Ici vous aurez une belle expérience et pourrez profiter de vos conversations avec vos propres , plutôt que de parler de votre bouffe ordinaire et trop chère. :) ça vaut le détour!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Better than expected. Reserved table and still had to wait 15-20 min but that wasn't waiter's fault, just previous patrons were slow to vacate table. Very good food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service for New year's Eve. We will definitely be back for more.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went there for our 22nd anniversary, was looking for Italian food. We where not disappointed would highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Enjoyed very much with some co-workers. Your staff are A++

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fun, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The staff were very accommodating and the menu had an excellent variety.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fish and chips came in 2 big portions.
Seafood fettuccine was on the watery side and bland.
Good garlic bread starter.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I booked this for my husband's birthday dinner. Not worth the money , it wasn't anything special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice place, Staff was very nice and helpful a shout out to our bar tender Kurt. Food was very good and served in a very timely manner. will be going back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent tasting food!
Had lamb shank with polenta - really goooood!
I ordered local wine and my friend ordered an import. Both were very nice.
Our waitress was friendly and attentive.
There was a small wedding (5:00 pm.) so a few fairly small children ran about. They did have
adults after them right away. A bit of noise, but not to the point of where you could not think.
I think the wonderful food and the good conversation overcame whatever small noise we had.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back for other menu choices, as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This place is a gem. We were a group of four and we were all very impressed by the quality of our meals, the presentation and the excellent service. Food was cooked to perfection. On top of it all, price of alcohol was surprisingly reasonable. The ambiance was perfect. This restaurant was the highlight of our four day trip to Niagara Falls. The easiest way to sum up our experience: WOW!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent steaks, veges, service and great kids menu. Loved the lava cake dessert - generous portions.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A good experience. Wait time between courses as a little long. Server while attentive needs to follow-up on details like drinks and course follow up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was a lovely restaurant with a nice atmosphere. Steak and seafood pasta meals were very good as was the service. Would definitely come back next time we're in Niagara Falls.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

An overall fantastic restaurant. Everything about our experience was great. We had reservations and were seated immediately. We had a friendly waitress who provided great service. Our food and drinks were also very good. I had a steak cooked medium rare and that's exactly how it came out. This is a bit of an expensive place, but it is a great choice for a date night or special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great find! Food was delicious....ONLY complaint was the dinner salads are TINY and the mixed drinks/martini's were Extra Tiny!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The steak I ordered was not grilled to my liking ordered medium rare and it came out medium to medium well,my wife ordered a steak medium to medium well and it came out to be well done and some more.The restaurant took it back and she placed another order of pasta and it was even worse.Tasted horrible.The waitress was very good,took her order off the final

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant was pleasant enough. Not anything to get crazy about. My standard is this: would I go back? My answer is no, I wouldn't. Food was... just ok. Service was...just ok. I'm sure there are many better places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I selected this restaurant based on reviews of others and we were so pleased. Nice to go to a non-touristy restaurant in a touristy city. Most other guests were locals, a good sign as they live in this city. Had a delicious anniversary meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The corner table with armchairs was very relaxing.
Reluctant to leave. Good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.