About Sandstone Grillhouse

5467 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L3
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated since 1974, Sandstone Grillhouse provides a warm, welcoming environment, generations-old recipes, made-from-scratch dishes, and the very best Steak Niagara has to offer. Serving Angus Reserve steaks, housemade Italian and succulent seafood, Sandstone has something for everyone, including burgers made from scratch, wine and dine features for $29/person, and our famous Chef's Table prix fixe. Join us indoors or on our patio (weather permitting) -- we're also Niagara's ONLY Dog-friendly patio! Perfect for romantic dinners, wedding celebrations or family night outs, Sandstone Grillhouse has something for everyone. No gimmicks, just great food.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kitchener St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 354-7225

Website:
http://www.sandstonegrillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available! Drive up parking on the north face of the restaurant, and a full parking lot on the south side. Overflow parking available for a nominal fee at the city lot just adjacent to Sandstone.

Public Transit:
Less than a 2 minute walk from the WEGO Victoria Avenue/Bender Hill stop.

Executive Chef:
Greg Bushie

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Sandstone Grillhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The corner table with armchairs was very ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

The corner table with armchairs was very relaxing.

Reluctant to leave. Good service.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good restaurant. Service very frie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good restaurant. Service very friendly, attentive. Had to wait slightly for our reservation but not a huge deal (maybe 15 mins, was a busy Friday). Would recommend for all types of events. Food was very fresh. Pricing very reasonable for the quality of menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

the sandstone was everything that was ex ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

the sandstone was everything that was expected from a steak house perfectly grilled steaks and the seafood pasta was excellent service great location perfect very good experience will return....;-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant is pleasant and the servi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant is pleasant and the service was good. We ordered steaks and they were reasonable, but included some hard tissues that were probably due to insufficient aging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great! A good value as well ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was great! A good value as well. I'm sorry we don't have one of these back home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our 50th Wedding Anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went for our 50th Wedding Anniversary and did not mention this to the restaurant. Those that mentioned their special occasion got a special treat. We wanted to just relax and enjoy it. The 4 course meal we chose was just wonderful and right portions. We did not have room for dessert. We definitely recommend this restaurant to any one for any occasion or just for a night out for a great meal.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew was our server. He was very knowl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Andrew was our server. He was very knowledgeable about the menu. He made great suggestions. My husband and I had the chateaubriand for 2 and it was superb. Cudos to the chef! My sons girlfriend had the grilled steak and it was the best! The mushroom soup was flavorful and divine. Panoko crusted goat cheese starter was fabulous! If you haven't been to the Sandstone Grillhouse get there soon! They will impress! It's only 5 min from Niagara Falls tourist area. Give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. I have a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and great service. I have a gluten and dairy allergy and our waitress was very knowledgable about what my options were. She communicated with the chef and made sure my food was prepared correctly. On top of that, the food was delicious. They had great prices and good deals. Restaurant is near Clifton Hill area but not too touristy. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Niagara Falls for our wedding ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were in Niagara Falls for our wedding anniversary and booked Sandstone for our arrival dinner through Open Table and great reviews of the place. We weren't disappointed. It was everything people say. It was busy and bustling with noise but expected and our waitress was above average for her age and made us feel comfy when we arrived late due to long weekend traffic over our four hour drive.

I ordered the New York strip loin special with veggies and garlic mashed potatoes. Steak was cooked perfect and great cut of meat. I didn't even need sauce on it. It was on of the best steaks I've had anywhere.

Wife is vegetarian and had House-made Spinach Gnocchi which was also excellent

The whole dining experience was exceptional. It is evident that the owner takes pride in every aspect of his establishment and was visiting guests to ask how things were. We like that.

We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I like the their food and atmosphere ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I like the their food and atmosphere service was good and dining room was little noisy.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent local restaurant with excellen ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent local restaurant with excellent food and great service. Family owned and operated. Nice experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were in Niagara for just o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I were in Niagara for just one night, and we could not be happier that we chose to spend our one dinner eating at Sandstone! Not only was it a good value, but the food was delicious! We both went for the four course prix fixe, starting with crab cakes and fried goat cheese, moving on to Caesar salads, enjoying a great 8 oz strip steak, and finish with some lava cake a la mode. The steak in particular was on of the best simple preparations I've had. Great meal overall!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

CJ,our waitress that evening was friendl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

CJ,our waitress that evening was friendly and attentive.She had recommendations for us.We eventually took her suggestion and was Very Happy with what we had.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were traveling back to Niagara Falls ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were traveling back to Niagara Falls from Niagara on the Lake and were starving. This place had good yelp reviews. We were leery at first because area was so crazy busy, but once inside it was nice and quiet. Our waiter was great and the food was outstanding! We had "The classic" which is dinner for 2. Best Greek salad I've ever had and the Rib-eye steak and chicken were delicious! Enjoyed the brownie a la mode as well! Will definitely go back next time in town!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Niagara for the weekend. We h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were in Niagara for the weekend. We had just been to one of the wedding chapels for a commitment ceremony and read reviews on your restaurant that were favourable. The food was great but the service was bad. We were seated quickly but it was 25 minutes before our server came to our table and asked if we were ready. Not for a drink order but for our food order. Then she asked about drinks. Our server was absent most of the night. She even left us alone with the debit machine.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Outstanding service, fabulous meal. Grea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding service, fabulous meal. Great attention to detail, generous portions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was excellent, steak was one of t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waiter was excellent, steak was one of the worst I have ever had. I couldn't eat it all, I left hungry. My steak should have been compensated for or replaced, my girlfriend had the same experience that night. She was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Loved our meal here! I had the seafood f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved our meal here! I had the seafood fettucene and hubby had chicken cordon blu. Both were excellent. We paired it with a bottle of Konzelmann Cab Sav which was fantastic! Excellent service, loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all of the good reviews I had seen, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

With all of the good reviews I had seen, I was surprised by how mediocre the food was. Quality and originality was comparable to what I had been used to in a steak house of the 1950's/ 60's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was good. The waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The service was good. The waitress was friendly. The food was good and worth the money. You could park across the street and walk to the Falls. I would go there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a delicious dinner. Everything w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a delicious dinner. Everything was fresh and hot and tasty! Staff was super nice and helpful as I forgot my wallet and had to scramble to get my credit card number! Extremely memorable and satisfying evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole dining experience was exceptio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The whole dining experience was exceptional. It was evident that the owner takes pride in every aspect of his establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in Niagra with my 3 teenagers. We ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I was in Niagra with my 3 teenagers. We had an awesome meal and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although I will recommend the restaurant ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Although I will recommend the restaurant as a whole, I am not sure that I will return. It was our first time here and when it came down to the main course, the steak had a lot of fat/grizzled in it. Not my cup of tea... Otherwise, the food was good. Waiter was great, the host who greeted us, so/so, did not seem to interested in us... I am sure there are lots of other restaurants in the area that will be happy to provide my wife and I with a great overall experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The steaks were very good and comparable ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The steaks were very good and comparable to any steak I have had at the pricey a la carte places. Highly recommended and will be a stop on future visits to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent place. Great food, fast serv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place. Great food, fast service, intuitive wait staff. Free parking. A bit crowded, and they need a better AC. It was hot outside and the AC struggled to reduce the humidity inside. They had to open windows so that let in flies. Apart from the weather everything else was very good and I would go again (outside of tourist season).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated promptly and took drink orders as ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Seated promptly and took drink orders as we looked over the menu. Kitchen was backed up and was given free potato soup as we waited. I could sense the waiter was doing the best he could but everything was governed by the kitchen. While bringing the dishes out hot sauce juice spilled and barely missed my son and I had to level the plate to stop it as the waiter was unaware. Food was average but felt with the service the value for the money was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The atmosphere is very elegant. Very cle ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The atmosphere is very elegant. Very clean. Quiet atmosphere inside. Delicious expresso martini's. This was my second time here. Service was very attentive to detail of the table from beginning to end and very attentive to us as well. I would rate the entrees with a 5 out of 5. Definitely above average. Exceptional! No opinion on dessert, we didn't leave room unfortunately. We will be going back and highly recommending it to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent! Food was delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was excellent! Food was delicious. We were not sure what to expect when we drove up- definitely a great find. The owner was extremely friendly and checked on us during our dinner. If in the area, we would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The menu is limited and the hamburger wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The menu is limited and the hamburger was very good. Unfortunately the lamb shank was not cooked enough - did not fall off the bone and the bokchoy was gritty. Overall average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a really nice dinner here. They w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a really nice dinner here. They were able to accommodate my gluten-free diet. I had a salad with a large steak. Others in our group had seafood pasta or steak. The steak was done to perfection. The restaurant is large and able to accommodate groups. There is a parking area across the street from the restaurant and a few spots on the side of the restaurant. However, we were there on Canada Day and the entire parking lot was filled with people going to the falls for the evening. If you go on a busy weekend give yourself some extra time to get a parking spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family gathered at Niagara, coming f ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our family gathered at Niagara, coming from all over tge east coast. We spent one evening having a nice dinner together in a location that was not too touristy. The Sandstone Grill was perfect. Tables were set up so that we could all intereact. The food and service were terrific. Everyone had a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice relaxed atmosphere - food wa ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really nice relaxed atmosphere - food was great and the service was excellent. Really enjoyed a relaxed, well paced, tasty dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Definitely worth a visit. Family run ge ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely worth a visit. Family run gem and away from the hustle/bustle of touristy Niagara Falls. The food was delicious with a good variety to choose from and the portions were very generous. This will be our "go to" restaurant in the Falls from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were on vacation and found Sandstone ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were on vacation and found Sandstone through Open Table. What a find! Casual atmosphere, family friendly and excellent food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks were very good. Everyone in our g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Steaks were very good. Everyone in our group of seven enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not What You Expect

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on reviews on Yelp and here on Open Table, however we were disappointed. This was our anniversary dinner and the meal was not at the level we anticipated based on the reviews we read.

We both did the Prix fix menu. The appetizers were okay at best. The Greek salad had a sweet vinaigrette dressing which does not present a cohesive salad.

We both had the NY Strip which was a good cut however lacked flavor. There was minimal seasoning used which was disappointing. Our steaks were cooked perfectly to a medium rare and medium. The Asiago potatoes were not evenly mixed, you had bites with and bites without.

We both selected the Chocolate Lava Cake ... that had no Lava. This was very disappointing, especially to find a white cream filling in the cake.

This is not a restaurant we will return to during future visits to the area. We also shared our opinion with our Innkeepers, who had stopped referring their guests their based on personal experience and feedback from guests.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our overall experience at the Sandstone ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our overall experience at the Sandstone Grillhouse was very positive. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. For a "casual upscale" kind of restaurant, we enjoyed ourselves completely. I highly recommend the Sandstone to anyone who finds themselves in the Niagara Falls area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great new find as we live here in the Fa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great new find as we live here in the Falls. Nice ambiance and great service from our server Becky. Our steaks were seasoned and cooked perfectly. We'll be back. I requested a booth when I booked on Open Table and got a really nice private booth near the front of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a real gem in the middle ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place was a real gem in the middle of Niagara. The staff was really welcoming. The decor felt upscale, I would have taken a date here for fun. The cocktails from the bar were wickedly good and the food tasted great. Honestly I'm surprised by how good this place. Might have to make it a regular stop in Niagara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.