About Sandstone Grillhouse

5467 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L3
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated since 1974, Sandstone Grillhouse provides a warm, welcoming environment, generations-old recipes, made-from-scratch dishes, and the very best Steak Niagara has to offer. Serving Angus Reserve steaks, housemade Italian and succulent seafood, Sandstone has something for everyone, including burgers made from scratch, wine and dine features for $29/person, and our famous Chef's Table prix fixe. Join us indoors or on our patio (weather permitting) -- we're also Niagara's ONLY Dog-friendly patio! Perfect for romantic dinners, wedding celebrations or family night outs, Sandstone Grillhouse has something for everyone. No gimmicks, just great food.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kitchener St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 354-7225

Website:
http://www.sandstonegrillhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available! Drive up parking on the north face of the restaurant, and a full parking lot on the south side. Overflow parking available for a nominal fee at the city lot just adjacent to Sandstone.

Public Transit:
Less than a 2 minute walk from the WEGO Victoria Avenue/Bender Hill stop.

Executive Chef:
Greg Bushie

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Sandstone Grillhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Toronto / Ontario
Best Food
Niagara
Best Value
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara Falls ›

good for groups (8)
special occasion (8)
fit for foodies (4)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
romantic (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere is very elegant. Very cle ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere is very elegant. Very clean. Quiet atmosphere inside. Delicious expresso martini's. This was my second time here. Service was very attentive to detail of the table from beginning to end and very attentive to us as well. I would rate the entrees with a 5 out of 5. Definitely above average. Exceptional! No opinion on dessert, we didn't leave room unfortunately. We will be going back and highly recommending it to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent! Food was delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was excellent! Food was delicious. We were not sure what to expect when we drove up- definitely a great find. The owner was extremely friendly and checked on us during our dinner. If in the area, we would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The menu is limited and the hamburger wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The menu is limited and the hamburger was very good. Unfortunately the lamb shank was not cooked enough - did not fall off the bone and the bokchoy was gritty. Overall average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a really nice dinner here. They w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a really nice dinner here. They were able to accommodate my gluten-free diet. I had a salad with a large steak. Others in our group had seafood pasta or steak. The steak was done to perfection. The restaurant is large and able to accommodate groups. There is a parking area across the street from the restaurant and a few spots on the side of the restaurant. However, we were there on Canada Day and the entire parking lot was filled with people going to the falls for the evening. If you go on a busy weekend give yourself some extra time to get a parking spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family gathered at Niagara, coming f ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our family gathered at Niagara, coming from all over tge east coast. We spent one evening having a nice dinner together in a location that was not too touristy. The Sandstone Grill was perfect. Tables were set up so that we could all intereact. The food and service were terrific. Everyone had a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice relaxed atmosphere - food wa ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really nice relaxed atmosphere - food was great and the service was excellent. Really enjoyed a relaxed, well paced, tasty dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Definitely worth a visit. Family run ge ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely worth a visit. Family run gem and away from the hustle/bustle of touristy Niagara Falls. The food was delicious with a good variety to choose from and the portions were very generous. This will be our "go to" restaurant in the Falls from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were on vacation and found Sandstone ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were on vacation and found Sandstone through Open Table. What a find! Casual atmosphere, family friendly and excellent food.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks were very good. Everyone in our g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Steaks were very good. Everyone in our group of seven enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not What You Expect

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on reviews on Yelp and here on Open Table, however we were disappointed. This was our anniversary dinner and the meal was not at the level we anticipated based on the reviews we read.

We both did the Prix fix menu. The appetizers were okay at best. The Greek salad had a sweet vinaigrette dressing which does not present a cohesive salad.

We both had the NY Strip which was a good cut however lacked flavor. There was minimal seasoning used which was disappointing. Our steaks were cooked perfectly to a medium rare and medium. The Asiago potatoes were not evenly mixed, you had bites with and bites without.

We both selected the Chocolate Lava Cake ... that had no Lava. This was very disappointing, especially to find a white cream filling in the cake.

This is not a restaurant we will return to during future visits to the area. We also shared our opinion with our Innkeepers, who had stopped referring their guests their based on personal experience and feedback from guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our overall experience at the Sandstone ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our overall experience at the Sandstone Grillhouse was very positive. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. For a "casual upscale" kind of restaurant, we enjoyed ourselves completely. I highly recommend the Sandstone to anyone who finds themselves in the Niagara Falls area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great new find as we live here in the Fa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great new find as we live here in the Falls. Nice ambiance and great service from our server Becky. Our steaks were seasoned and cooked perfectly. We'll be back. I requested a booth when I booked on Open Table and got a really nice private booth near the front of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a real gem in the middle ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place was a real gem in the middle of Niagara. The staff was really welcoming. The decor felt upscale, I would have taken a date here for fun. The cocktails from the bar were wickedly good and the food tasted great. Honestly I'm surprised by how good this place. Might have to make it a regular stop in Niagara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food; wonderful service; resta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent food; wonderful service; restaurant is owned by husband and wife who come around and help with service and meet their customers.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service, Good food,

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, very friendly staff, and best of all we were able to take our dog and dine in the patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner there to celeb ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a very nice dinner there to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Had a nice quiet table at the back. Our server was exceptional - not too intrusive and timed everything perfectly. My husband and I both had the Ceasar salad - good but not the best one I have had. My husband had the chicken parmesan - said it was good but the coating could have been crispier. I had the lamb shank - not what I was expecting but still good - couldn't finish it which says a lot about their portion size. We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of 11 out for a good eve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were a party of 11 out for a good evening and a fine meal. All but one enjoyed their meal as it was just as ordered, cooked perfectly and very tasty. The one individual who had a problem did not receive his steak as ordered (ordered medium well but received medium rare) but did not tell the waiter until the meal was finished, therefore, the staff were unable to correct the error. Service was fantastic and overall we annoyed our evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not your typical steakhouse. Place was s ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Not your typical steakhouse. Place was small for what I was expecting but the food was good. You get a lot for your money. Would go back if I were in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great steak!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I enjoyed the Prix Fixe Prix Menu. We were enjoying the music "SiriusXM Coffee House." All was great until the family with the screaming child was seated next to us. We left and went back to the Greystone Manor B&B where we were staying. It was too bad. We were really enjoying our time when the racket started.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My friend and I found This place on Trip ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

My friend and I found This place on Trip advisor and it was very highly ranked. We were warmly greeted immediately at the door and felt very comfortable. The environment was very well decorated with subdued lighting that was just perfect for dining. Our waitress, Trinity, was wonderful! She had an excellent knowledge of the menu. I ordered a craft beer that was delicious. The wine menu was very nice with many different wines from all over the world. The bartender was quite knowledgeable and helpful. My friend ordered the 4 course dinner that was delicious. She choose the strip steak which was cooked perfectly and has minimal fat. I had the gnocchi which were "pillow-perfect." I definitely recommend The Sandstone. Not a great environment for boisterous children as it's quite quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sorry, but a disappointment

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I was looking forward to the Sandstone Grill., I reserved ahead for a special Valentines dinner.,I'm afraid to say it was disappointing.The gentleman at the door was very friendly but from there it went a down hill.The waitress seemed to be very rushed.,like she wanted to get us in and out quickly?,at one point a drink was taken away that we weren't even finished with.

The meal itself was a disappointment, a very salty filet,soggy vegetables,over cooked shrimp skewer, not what i expected from the reviews that i read.The crab cakes were the highlight.Dessert was served, we weren't offered a choice,a very nice cheesecake though,and the bill came quickly after ,again like you wanted us to get out!.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really great place to eat! It was a litt ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Really great place to eat! It was a little pricey but not too expensive. And some of the best garlic bread i have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Place to Eat! Very convenient location!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We had the Classic Grill, which was a shared plate, included greek salad (yummy!), grilled chicken, 6-once steak, veggies and potatoes, plus dessert. My wife and I shared it and enjoyed the whole meal thoroughly!

Our server was also quite good. I don't remember her name, but she was pleasant and efficient. The owner or manager even popped by and asked if we were enjoying. He then cleared some plates, which was great!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best steak that I have had in a rest ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The best steak that I have had in a restaurant in years. Cooked to perfection and the sides were fabulous as well.

Great service and ambiance,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale Dining, Comfortable Service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

When we arrived, we were greeted as if we were long lost friends. Our waiter Jason was EXCELLENT! He graciously tested the water to see what our personality type was and then adjusted his service to fit. He was fun, attentive (without being overbearing), eager to help and made the whole dining experience one we want to experience again. When you add to that the quality of the food, this restaurant is a no brainer! My husband had Steak, I had Chicken, they were very accommodating to a food allergy of mine and we are still talking about the food 3 days later. Will definitely return and recommend! Thank you for a Great Experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A nice dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

I went there with a large group of friends on New Year Day. We chose this place because there weren't too many restaurants open.

However, it was a good decision. The atmosphere was nice and quiet. The smoked salmon was delicious and I like how they have lots vegetables on the side with the steak.

I know sometimes it's difficult to serve a large group, but the service was excellent. I would recommend this place to my friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing find!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We came upon this restaurant accidentally as we checked into our B&B in Niagara Falls at 7 pm and still needed dinner on a Friday night so wanted something that wasn't going to be overly busy with a long wait. We were pleasantly surprised! I would definitely return here for dinner and would recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Niagara Falls. The best steakhouse I have been to in a very long time. Portions were more than enough and price was quite reasonable! Service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale Denny's

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The experience was not what Iwe expected. The quality of service and food would be better described as Upscale Denny's. We were disappointed with experience. The server was a extremely disenchanted with his job. We booked with Open Table but were not given the same level of service we've received from other venues Open Table supports. I think this restraurant needs to review their processes and customer service. Their prices on items are a little expensive but others are out of this world compared to the quality of the food. I would not be jumping to recommend this place as a fine dining destination. If you want just an average place to go for a bite to eat, it may be just the place for you. The overall experience was not a complete disaster but I think they have a long way to go to be a place I would frequent over and over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Fantastic steaks which I don't say often ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Fantastic steaks which I don't say often. Had the Chef's Table for two. I would definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Fantastic Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, the experience was great. The host knew my name, he was expecting us. Our waitress was great, the drinks were phenomenal and the food --presentation and taste was great. I would go back here in a heart beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Meal

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

this was an evening out for our 10th wedding anniversary and it didn't disappoint, our waitress was very knowledgeable and extremely accommodating throughout the evening, we both had steaks, I had Fillet Mignon and my wife the Rib eye, which also came with soup... both cooked to perfection.

Wine list was good too.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Our favourite special occasion restaurant. Walking distance to the hotels around Clifton Hill but also ample free parking on site. Best steaks anywhere. Reasonable corkage service for bring your own wine, but also nice wine list highlighting Niagara wines. I suggest ordering the Caesar salad, steak, seafood, and dessert, as they are all good. Interesting Prix Fixe and a la Carte menus. Very attentive service, but you never feel rushed. I saw families welcomed and children are accommodated with no problem. There are enough nooks in the restaurant that everyone has a private place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good steak, excellent service. Than ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Very good steak, excellent service. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place was nothing special, but it wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

The place was nothing special, but it was overall an average meal. If you have no where else to go, definitely a solid spot to stop in if you need somewhere to eat. They had a pre-fixe menu that was a little pricey but again, solid food, nothing was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Excellent!!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Very pleased with entrees and server was great. I would definitely recommend !! Barry was a lot of fun and hubby had the BEST steak ever!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service & Great Food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

My wife & I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary with dinner at Sandstone Grillhouse. We ordered 3 cheese garlic loaf as an appetizer and had the 8 OZ and 12 0Z New York steaks. They were out of this world! Best steak we've had yet! Our service by 'Cassy' was impeccable. She was very professional and accommodating. The atmosphere was great. The Owner visited our table and wished us well with a complimentary slab of delicious strawberry cheese cake with a lit candle - very thoughtful.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to be treated like a king!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One negative point : I ask for a baked p ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

One negative point : I ask for a baked patato with my filet mignon and, no bake patato in a steak house that weird!!! but the overale are meals was very good. The waitress was very good and very nice

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

No Real Problems

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

My steak was slightly under done & the sides were skimpy. Overall not bad for the price.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Tourist Trap

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Food was overpriced and not worth it. More expensive than the Keg and nowhere near as good!

Took my husband for his birthday. He ordered a steak and it came way undercooked - blood was all over plate. By the time the waitress returned he had ate most of it as he was hungry. She asked how it was, and he should her that it was not cooked the way he asked, she took a look and she even agreed. She said she would show and mention to the cook. No one came over to apologize, no discount was taken...absolutely nothing was done at all to make up for the bad experience he had.

This is a complete tourist trap as they don't care about people returning at all. Just take them as fast as they can, and get them out just as fast. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Well worth visiting

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

Best restaurant we visited in Niagara Falls, excellent food and service. Well worth visiting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.