Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

About Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Private Dining

Our facility hosts events from 10 to 100 persons. We have a variety of menus to choose from with customization available. We specialize in Showers, Club Meetings, Rehearsals, Business Events, Birthdays, Anniversaries and more. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Quiet Conversation (27)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Live Music (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious but rather pricey. Our waiter was outstanding. He took special care of us. It was our 50th wedding anniversary. My husband had beautiful yellow roses on our table when we got there. We were in a large room that was quiet. Would go back on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Sam's is always great, especially for birthdays or anniversaries. We started with toasted ravioli which were great. The Sam's Salad with bacon was a great choice. We both got filets which were cooked perfectly as usual. Sides were all good as well and my fiancé got a free dessert for her birthday. Sam's always gets a perfect score.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was very good, attentive and responsive without being overbearing. Steaks were prepared correctly. Good value for the level of meal when salad, entrée and side are included. Sam's Steakhouse will always be in the mix when considering a destination for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

The service beginning at the front desk to the waiter and busboy was excellent. The food was delicious. The prices are too high for us to be frequent customers. Both of us have high blood pressure. There didn't appear to be any choices on the menu for no or low sodium and sugar. We cannot eat out anywhere at this time without eating a lot of sodium and sugar. We suggest that Sam's and other restaurants take this into account in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Normally I love Sam's! Our go to steakhouse! However, we had the worst experience EVER!! Arrived at 5:50 for my birthday dinner with my 87 year old mom and hubby! Got a drink, ordered appetizers and they came out Separately????Shrimp cocktail and toasted ravioli can't be served together. Art, our server never asked if we wanted another cocktail. I had to stop him and ask. My mom was not done with salad when food came out, I hate that but the busboy grabbed the server plate out from under her salad plate and knocked her butter knife off on purpose! But the worst was the strip steaks were tough, chewy and over cooked and crunchy on the outside! Server asked if food was okay and I responded okay and he seemed upset what is wrong I explained. The entire meal was rushed they never asked if we wanted more drinks or if we wanted a bottle of wine! They lost money! Did not mention my birthday or offer me a dessert! We were in the car and little after 7. We were so rushed barely put a utensil down and they were taking it. Horrible, felt like change in management or owners???? Not happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to Sam's after hearing it was really good and it was my husbands birthday. The service was top notch! The food wasn't quite as great as I expected for the price. We had prime rib and it was hard to cut. I've never had it to where you could barely cut it. Seems a bit rough for prime rib. I would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place but tonight the busser gave better service then the server. It was for a birthday. They did pay attention to open table notes for that though..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We enjoy Sam's for special occasions. The food is delicious, service suburb and it feels like we are in a fancy restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Aly. was terrific -- made us feel special ---- excellent service . Really enjoy music from piano bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD. A GREAT VALUE. WE DRIVE 30 MINUTES TO SAMS ABOUT 6 TIMES A YEAR, AND I ALWAYS ASK MY WIFE WHY WE DO NOT COME MORE OFTEN.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

1/3 of our prime rib was fat. Was cooked the way we like it. Our friends had chicken, which was very thin portions- disappointed; had salmon filet, which was very small portion for the price.
The restaurant was not busy, but it took about an hour to receive the main entree.

All four of us felt everything was over priced. We even tried to retrieve a coupon from a website provided by Sam's employee. It did not work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We have been going to Sam's steakhouse for 26 years, usually 3 to 4 times per year for special occasions. The last 2 times we ate there, which were in the past 4 months, have been very disappointing. The food has gone down hill, while the prices keep going up. We're willing to pay the prices, but the food need's to get back to the quality it used to be. My husband and I have always looked forward to our meals at Sam, but we're sad to say this meal was so disappointing that it will probably our last.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Decor hasn't been updated since the nineties. Steaks were okay but not worth the price. Service pushy and intrusive. We don't need to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I have heard rave reviews about SAms and decided to try it for our anniversary. From start to finish everything was impeccable. Crab cakes to start, filets for entrees and the chocolate cake my wife had for dessert. Our server Alyssa was top notch. After dinner head to the bar for live music on weekends. Well done Sam's we will be back soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The filet with mushrooms as a side made a great combination. Excellent service and variety of choices make for great dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our waiter Charlie was great! Food was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

everything was outstanding with one exception. I don't know when it became so popular with restaurants to play their music so loud. Sports bar I can understand. But when you go to a restaurant like Sams which I consider to be upscale, you want to be able to carry on a conversation with your wife and friends and not have to talk loudly over the music. Please keep the music down.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great meal with great friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Only issue for me was the amount of fat on my prime rib. That could have been trimmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The server was laid back, very engaging, and attentive. The wine was amazing. The steaks were cooked to our liking and the twice baked potato was very appetizing. The minor drawback was the price for what you got- sides all cost close to 4.00 no matter what it was, but it is an amazing place for a special night out and the food was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

OUTSTANDING SERVICE, FOOD IS WONDERFUL, GREAT SETTING

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We ordered the small filet and the New York strip. Both choices came out perfectly cooked and were very flavorful, especially considering we ordered them both well-done. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Overall, congratulations to your staff for providing a great dining experience. We'll be back for sure!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing, delicious, wonderful, accommodating , Allison (our waitress) was wonderful and made our evening so pleasant and sweet. Best Steak ever. Never felt ignored, everyone was polite, courteous and the attention to detail was out of this world!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was an amazing restaurant. The food, we had a New York strip and salmon. Both items were amazing and the drinks were nice and strong. Our waiter Alex was exceptional and was there when you needed him. Live music on Fridays, was a lounge singer, who was a bit kitchy, but fit the ambience, which was subdued and relaxing. Definitely worth your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was good, but nothing special. Over priced for what it was. Waiter was snobby too. Great wine selection though. I love eating local but this just isnt worth the price or the additude of the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Brought our 91 year old father for his birthday and he said his steak was one of the best he has had! Great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We enjoyed our meal. Our steaks were cooked perfectly. The twice baked potatoes were a little bland. The salad was good.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We have been coming to Sam's for special occasions for at least the past 15 or more years. It is always good. This past experience was for our 19th wedding anniversary. As always, Sam's lived up to our expectations. My husband and I enjoyed New York strips and split a lobster tail. Nothing short of marvelous! We really enjoyed the expertly prepared cocktails as well. The service was fantastic, very friendly and attentive with out being overbearing. We would for sure continue to come there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was my first visit to Sam's, the food was great, the service was fast and friendly. Our waiter, Art, was very attentive and Robbie the waiters assistant was very, very courteous.
Our only complaint is that there were two of us, and we were seated next to a table of 10 very loud people. Now don't get me wrong, they deserve to have a good time, they are paying too, but I wish we hadn't been sat next to them, it ruined much of our conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent as always! Our server ,Hannah did a great job!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very disappointed. Service was questionable at best. Had to flag the waiter down to get refills. Food was subpar. Ordered Filet Medallions. Meat was tough and the sauce had a burned scorched taste. On a positive note the salad and baked potato were very good. We had heard so many positive comments about SAM's and I wanted to take my husband someplace special for his birthday. Decided on Sam's because he loves A good steak. At least that was good. I doubt if we'll ever go back and definitely won't recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have dined here on several occasions and have always had great food and service. We rarely have desert, but did so on this occasion. The bananas foster chees cake was wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious as usual! Great place! An upscale, white table cloth steak restaurant where your potato and salad are both included in the price.....and yet you can still dress causal as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Sam's is overall one of the very best restaurants in St. Louis. Their food, servers and atmosphere are all outstanding!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was excellent as always but had a couple of hiccups with the service but did not want to rock the boat or throw the wait staff under the bus that day as we were enjoying a special occasion. My wife ordered the medallions which comes with a salad and a potato. She upgraded to the garlic mashed potatoes and asked for her salad to have no dressing on it. The waiter seemed kind of surprised by that but said ok. He then came back 2 minutes later and asked again, "you said no dressing, right?". She said correct. Shortly thereafter, my salad was brought out so I started eating it, assuming that hers would be soon to follow. It never came out. They just came out and cleared my salad and her big plate. I did not want to cause a scene so we just ate our main entrees. Then, I was done before her as my meal was a lot bigger. The bus boy came by and cleared her plate. She clearly asked him if she could have a dessert menu. He too seemed puzzled with this question. Our thought was that she was the only one who was going to have dessert so she might as well eat it while I was still finishing my meal. The kid never came back with any type of menu for her. Finally as I was finishing, our waiter came back by and she asked him the same question and he verbally gave her the options--which was fine but not sure why the busser did not explain that he could not complete the task or send our waiter over to do it. Anyway, my wife felt like she was treated like she was invisible throughout the meal due to her lack of salad and attention to her request for dessert. We usually get great service here but today was not the case.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of our favorite St. Louis steak houses. Great food, great service and great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was excellent, but the twice baked potatoes tasted like they had been sitting out for awhile and were poorly reheated. Otherwise, everything else was excellent and what we expect from sams.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our service could not have been any better. Everyone was friendly & attentive. We did have a couple gnats flying around us & the restaurant could use some updating. The food was great & making reservations with Open Table was ideal for us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

WE went there with some friends that had not been there before. They were suitably impressed, as we have always been. Our waiter Charlie, did an excellent job.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Really liked the newly decorated areas. The service was great and the steaks my wife and I had were fantastic. Really enjoyed coming there to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.