About Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Martin: (314) 849-3033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Romantic (65)
See All
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Cozy (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Seasonal (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Casual (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Historic (11)
Authentic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Live Music (9)
Fun (9)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fireplace (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (0)
Sort By:
S
1494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I tried Sam's Steakhouse for the first time, and we didn't care too much for it. The place look nice and cozy. Services is great, but the food wasn't all there. Especially for the price of each meal. My wife had the lobster meal, and I had the 24oz steak. She told me her lobster had a raw taste to it, and it was pretty chewy. Our 14 months old love lobster, and he normally eat half of a lobster by homself. But with this one, he took about 3 pieces and won't take another bit. My steak was good, but there wasn't much flavor to it. It's very rare that I want to wish I had some A1 sauce with my steak, and this was one of those moment. I don't think my wife will every agree to give Sam's steakhouse another try. For the prices, it's very hard to give it another chance.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience, met our every expectation which was great food, casual bar, fantastic service....we were extremely pleased with every aspect of the evening !

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Atmosphere was great and the food is wonderful. Great place to take that special someone for celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic steaks, excellent service & traditionally-great atmosphere. Our event was for an inaugural 'steak club for men' event for a bunch of dads...and Sam's Steakhouse lived up to the reputation that we all remember. We will be back...and thanks again. Well cone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great - steak melts in your mouth!! Entrees include salad and side which makes it a great value compared to other steakhouses. Love the rice wine vinegaret on the salad. The only negative this time for me was that I'm sad to see that long time bartenders Aaron and Lisa left. Huge loss!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great food and a romantic atmosphere. I always dine here when I'm celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Have watched many of my friends post that they were at Sam's Steakhouse on Facebook and since I had to work on Valentine's Day.... decided that I would treat my wife.

We were delighted with the service and awed by the quality of our steaks.....

Hands down a perfect 10!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our table for 2 was round and too small. Best to have a square table.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service was great. BUT...Our table was in the back room with a bunch of derelicts...rude loud and drunk. Request to sit in the front dinning room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Steaks are wonderful. Very cordial hostess Waitress was nice but our orders didn't come out correctly and even a small apology would have gone a long way but nothing. Was a busy night being Valentines Day and gave her the benefit of the doubt. Just know that having dined there many times, some of the more veteran wait staff would have gone to lengths to make things right rather than attempt to rationalize the order snafu when even the busser recognized the order was incorrect Will still recommend and return but truly the least satisfying experience overall.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best prime rib of any restaurant we've been to. Best decor. We visited for Christmas and the decorations were outstanding. Also visited for Valentine's Day and the decoration, again, were outstanding. Sam's is our choise of any restaurant for our special times.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My only complaint is that it took over 30 minutes to get our food. That was a bit too long, but once it came the food was fantastic. Sam's is pricy, but a great venue for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The go to place for my husband and I on special occasions. The food is excellent, ambience perfect and service is impeccable. If you go, ask to sit in Greg's section. He is the absolute BEST!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We celebrated a delicious Valentine's Dinner! Best filet around!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One steak was actually cold and one warm. Had to send back and still not hot. For the price the food has to be hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great date night dinner or special occasion dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We decided to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary with a delicious steak dinner, and Sam's did not disappoint! We were somewhat surprised at how crowded it was for a Monday evening, but then again, it was the night before Valentine's Day. The steak was outstanding, the service good! I've never seen fit to mention the busboy before, but he was wonderful. Very welcoming, and polite throughout our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went to Sam's for my son's 13th birthday. The steak was tender and delicious, salads and sides were all great. Our waiter did a great job with special requests and making sure we were taken care of. It was a delicious dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service and food are always outstanding and the reason we continue to go here frequently.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always enjoy going to Sam's Steakhouse. The prime rib and other steaks are very good. It's also a good value because the entrees come with a salad and side dish. The wine and beer menu is also very fairly priced. Service was attentive, although not as polished as other St. Louis steak houses. Try not to get seated at a table near the entrance as this is a high traffic area and can sometimes be noisy.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steaks were excellent, service was also very good. We were seated within minutes of our reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I had a very nice evening spent at Sam's Steakhouse. We will for sure be back !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The food is incredible, the staff are kind and courteous, and you will leave a happy group. It is a steakhouse, so it isn't exactly cheap, but it's worth it to spoil yourself every once in a while.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was very good and our server - Stephen - was excellent - will go back and ask for him as our server.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ambiance and service as always was great! Food was not as gods as in the past, was a little cold. My steak was not as hot as it should have been. Also the lava cake did not have the chocolate lava in it.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was outstanding. Our server (Joe) was very attentive and made no mistakes. The steak was perfectly cooked, (I had the pepper strip) and the sides were delicious. A bit more pricey than I normally eat, but worth it in my book! Would definitely go back, and recommend to my friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The steak was very fatty. Not very good. Salad was loaded down with dressing. I could not eat it. But the service was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our only complaint was that the music was quite loud until we asked that it be turned down. If the restaurant is full, I can understand it, but there were only a few diners in this Mobday night and the music was very loud

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

First time and had a really enjoyable experience. The place was busy, but we nabbed a seat in the bar...good choice...dining room is a bit dated, but the bar area was a lot of fun. Our server Chris did a great job on a very busy night.

The owner Pat stopped by and was gracious, fun and wanted to make sure we had a good time.

had a great time overall and recommend to others!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Exceptional as always. Hope to continue the tradition for years to come. You always make us feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This used to be our favorite restaurant. Have not been here in a while. The food was fair at best. The steaks were not the temperature ordered, baked potatoes were almost cold. We asked for butter on the potatoes got sour cream instead. Service was fair. This is a tired old restaurant. Decor is old, our tablecloth was dirty in spots. Everyone seemed to be going through the motions. As you can tell it was not the best night. We were very disappointed. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It was an early dining time, so somewhat quiet. The waiter was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Received our meal after a short time. My wife's dinner, she said, was very good and mine, as well. We were able to take leftovers home due to the large portion of our meals.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service and food were great very cozy and comfortable

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awful table in a corner next to bussser station.

No one should have to sit there furthermore 10 minutes after we arrived several tables opened up and stayed open until we departed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Another great meal served at Sam"s Pierre did another outstanding job advising on everything down to the wine choice Naturally we will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We celebrated our parents anniversary the food was great, the service was great, we had a wonderful time I would definitely recommend. We also come every year for my son's birthday it is his favorite steak restaurant.😋

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

AMAZING. The staff. The food. The drinks. All amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The steaks are of highest quality beef cooked to order. Never dry always tender and juicy along with their housemate steak sauce it is delicious. I love their choices of sides to accompany the

meals. The salads are always crisp and fresh along with housemate dressings. I would highly recommend Sam's Steakhouse for all occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Despite it being late January it was still decorated for Xmas. Seated quickly but waited forever at table for service. Had to return undercooked steak... came back way overdone. They did take it off the bill but after this experience I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was my first visit to Sam's and I was thoroughly impressed. The service was fantastic and the food was even better. You would be hard pressed to find a meal of similar quality for a better price in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

One of my favorites. The food is delicious and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Prices are high. Food was good but not melt in you mouth good. Portions are good and and meals prepared well but cuts were about the same has I've had at a ponderosa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants; a true hidden gem in this area. Excellent food and service in a great atmosphere! Love to entertain out of town guests here.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Old fashioned steak house. Lots of Christmas lights. Food was good with nice selection. Drinks were weakened expensive. Service was okay. I think overall the place is trying to be nicer than it actually is. I would recommend it to others but they didn't really hit this out if the park.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Steak and crab was the special. I did not care for the crab on top as it tasted watery.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent Steak House, great ambiance, great service, wonderful steaks, pork chop. Perfect place for a special birthday dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

our meals were perfect. chairs were very comfortable. There was plenty of room around tables and the waiter was fantastic. will come again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

While the steak was really good, the sides were lackluster at best. Showed up early with a reservation and still had to wait almost a half hour. Staff seemed unbothered by this. The young lady at the front was not attentive and spoke to us only when we arrived and when our table was ready (lots of gap time; was our table ever going to be ready?)

The waiter was a bit pretentious and that would be an apt way to describe the entire restaurant. For a mediocre 80s style interior and a lackluster menu, this place is definitely overbilled and oversold on yelp.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sam's steakhouse hold's it's own with the large Corp "Higher End Ala Carte Steakhouses." The service was 1st class, and the food was perfectly done to order. We never felt rushed and had a wonderful dining experience. I certainly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.