Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Sam's Steakhouse

4.6
1748 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 849-3033
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Greg Manuel
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Laclede Station Road
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our facility hosts events from 10 to 100 persons. We have a variety of menus to choose from with customization available. We specialize in Showers, Club Meetings, Rehearsals, Business Events, Birthdays, Anniversaries and more. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

View Private Dining Details
What 1748 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Everything that should be excellent in a restaurant experience - Sam's Steakhouse is. A family favorite for many years. Kudos to all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

A wonderful dinner, as usual. Steaks done perfectly, great wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

First time here to celebrate my and a friend's birthday.

It was one of the best steaks I've ever had delivered with excellent service in a timely manner.

Expensive, so we'll return for another special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great steaks and service! We go for the food and the piano bar...adds a fun element to dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Absolutely outstanding! From the front desk to the Service to the meal and through dessert, they never missed a step. Our server,Alex, was knowledgeable and just a lot of fun. The meal was cooked to perfection. Well worth the trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

What a great steak! If your looking for a incredible cooked steak, seasoned just right and melt in your mouth. Cowboy Ribeye is what your looking for from Sam’s Steakhouse. We will definitely be returning, many times. Sam’s just got a lifetime customer. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The ambiance is unmatched and the food never disappoints. The staff is attentive without being in the way. When we want to celebrate or just have a top notch meal, we always choose Sam's Steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

It was mostly good
They really need to do some updating though
Carpet was ripped up by my chair
My husbands chair was slightly broken
I order my steaks well done and never had a problem here before. This night it came out medium-medium well
While the sever highly apologized I feel like when I am paying $150+ for dinner for two it should be correct the first time and then my husband felt bad eating while I waited about 10 mins for it to be fixed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food and service is excellent! Crisp fresh salads, delicious steaks and the twice baked potatoes are amazing! Consistently delicious and the service attentive but intrusive. We frequent Sam's and have dined there for many birthdays and celebrations and regular everyday dining too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Sam's is a neighborhood gem we've heard raves about but never visited in our fifteen years together, so we chose it for our 15th anniversary night out. We were seated on the bar side, which to me seemed a bit cozier, darker and romantic than the "restaurant" side, but maybe that's just me.

The wine list was extensive (though neither of us are wine drinkers); we did have cocktails before dinner, though, and they were exceptional. As to appetizers, my wife doesn't care for seafood, but I do, so as an appetizer we chose the combo which had shrimp, crab rangoons, toasted ravioli (a local favorite) and ...? I don't remember it all because I was zeroed in on the shrimp; those things were amazing - large and in a sauce that seemed to be a mix of garlic, butter and cajun, and it was so good I had to ask the waiter just what the heck it was.

For dinner we both had prime rib with garlic roasted mashed potatoes, though I opted for the sauteed mushrooms on top. It was thick, tender and delicious. I would have opted not to have so much sauce, had I known, on what is by itself an incredibly flavorful cut of meat but I certainly can't complain. It was outstanding. The bread and salad were as good as expected, and the chocolate lava cake with a candle for our anniversary was a nice little (surprise) touch.

Speaking of surprises, they had a two-person band that night, and we enjoyed them. I'm not certain if live music is an every-evening thing there or we just happened to catch them on a great night, but it was a terrific atmosphere. And as to the service, it could not have been better. Attentive and not overbearing, and they pay great attention to detail. The waiter clearly knew his stuff; we've been to places where that's not the case.

I'm pretty open about it when I don't enjoy something so believe me I'd say so. But overall, though more expensive than our typical night out, it was well worth the visit. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Great service with top-notch food. Everything we ordered was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The steaks were cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Sam's is a traditional steakhouse with a variety of steaks and other dishes fixed and served with sides. Nice salad, vegetable and potato choices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I had the filet (Oscar style) and it was melt in your mouth fantastic! I will definitely be coming here again. Our waiter Brian was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

The food was outstanding! The steak was very tasty and not dry. The potatoes were done to perfection and the Mayfair dressing was wonderful. And they have live music in the bar 3 evenings every week that was perfect for dining and having a conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Sam's Steakhouse has always been a personal favorite for its great food and ambiance. Weekends are very crowded, so be sure to make reservations in advance. Service has always been exceptional .... especially if you have Charlie (long time employee)as your server! The only reason I rated the food as four stars instead of five, is because on the last visit (and a previous visit) I had to return my steak for being undercooked. I prefer med-well and my steak was initially served med-rare. However, it was corrected immediately by the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Always delicious and well-prepared!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

After a 15 year hiatus, my wife and I tried Sams because she wanted a sweet potato baked potato. It was soooo good we went back 6 days later. Same experience. Sam's has become one of our favorites in STL. Great steaks. Try the special peppercorn cream sauce for the steaks. It is worth the price of admission.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was really good I would go back again. It takes time for the food to be prepared but it was worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Sam's has always been a favorite. Food is always top notch. Service is always good. Can't really say enough good things.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Food and service was excellent.The atmosphere was quiet ant romantic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Have been going to Sam's for 20+ years and it never disappoints. Steaks are outstanding and service is exceptional. Charlie is a wonderful waiter and always request him. Great place for special occasions and an active bar scene too for happy hour. By far my favorite restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

We were celebrating the birthday for one in our party. As usual the filet's were outstanding. The salad with Mayfair dressing was very good and you could make a meal out of their baked potato. It was an excellent birthday celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We arrived at our scheduled time but without the other couple in our party of 4. We were given the option of being seated at the bar or at our table. We chose our table. The other couple arrived a few minutes later. We have a great server who was with us during the entire dinner.
She got assistance from another throughout the meal. The food and wine were excellent and the environment was just right. Will definitely dine there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We love Sam’s Steak House! They have a signature sauce on their steaks that is delicious. Their food is fresh and well prepared and their service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Food was okay, but the server Art was awful. He forgot to place our order and then returned to our table to take our order again, having forgotten to take it. A dinner for 4 on a super slow night took 2 hours. The server never apologized for his mistake or acknowledged our exceedingly long night. It felt like he was out of sorts the whole evening. For a nearly $300 dinner, we expected a lot better (our first experience here was better). I doubt we will return in the future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 26, 2018

The steaks were okay but nothing special. They did not have a lot of flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Very nice atmosphere , the tenderloin filet is always perfect every time we go here

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food was outstanding and service was great. Have already recommended to 2 different people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We were celebrating our 39th anniversary. We received excellent service and nice conversation with our server. The food was very good. The music was very nice. We will let our friends know that we really enjoyed the evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Sam's offers excellent fresh and well prepared food. The service is consistently professional, attentive and sincere. We have never had a bad meal. I had a 6 oz. filet with brussel sprouts and their house salad with the rice wine vingerette. The salad was fresh and crisp-delicious meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Steak was done perfectly and melted in your mouth. Service was excellent and very attentive. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great meal with a great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Fun time in the bar for dinner with the live entertainment! Steak was perfect!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

One of our most favorite places to eat. Service is incredible, elegant dining environment, incredible food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Great - expensive though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Old interior. Badly in need of a face over 10 years ago!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We want for Valentines Day with some of our friends on Thursday. When we got our food the steaks were luke warm and so was the chicken. The baked potatoes were cold. When we sat down for dinner it was late so there should have been no problems. Last one’s to leave. We went for our Anniversary in December and everything was amazing. Disappointed. Especially since we recommend to our friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Food and service was outstanding. Great for special occasion dinners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This is the "Go TO" place for a romantic dinner. Great food, great service and great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Everything was amazing

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
44