Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

About Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Martin: (314) 849-3033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Romantic (60)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Cozy (28)
Worth the Drive (23)
Business Meals (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Seasonal (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (11)
Historic (10)
Fun (10)
Private Room (9)
Live Music (8)
Fireplace (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (0)
Sort By:
S
1508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated anniversary dinner with my husband. We were there many years ago early in our marriage but hadn't been there in years. I'm so glad we returned. It was absolutely wonderful, just like we remembered. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding! I would definitely recommend it and we will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice relaxed atmosphere, comfortably subdued lighting and great service. Very pricey for my taste though.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

This was the first time I have been disappointed at Sam's Steakhouse. The menu has changed. They are offering fewer options and charging more for anything extra.

I was also disappointed in the service. I told the waiter we were there to celebrate a birthday, but he quickly dismissed it, and brought us the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Everything was great until their accounting system crashed and we waited 1 hour to pay our bill. The waiter did offer free drinks for the inconvenience. I applaud that!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The best steaks you can find. Always great. Will keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Live Music, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful experience with food and service. We decided on Sam's steak house for a special occasion and we were not disappointed. We would recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We came here for my husbands birthday, it was very romantic with linen table clothes and napkins, it is hard to find places that have those little touches anymore. Our server was on point, brought us all we needed and checked on us without it being a bother.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Been going there for awhile. One of the best steak house's in Saint Louis.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Looking for a great steak and wanting to have conversation with great friends we decided to try Sam's. we were pleasantly surprised. Our service was excellent and the food was delicious, with generous portions. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was a bit loud. Also, it appeared that the restaurant overbooked but our wait for a table wasn't long - about 10 to 12 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

What a great place to get an inclusive menu meaning salad , side and meat are one price. Some would consider it pricy but still a great value for special occasion. Steak and prime rib was delicious and they had our favorite wine. Awesome service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our first time at Sam's, though we've talked about going for many years. It was a great experience. Delicious food, super service, and a great place for a married couple like us to relax and discuss our kids. Thanks for the great time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a reservation but still had to wait about 15 minutes before we were seated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My wife and I tried Sam's Steakhouse for the first time, and we didn't care too much for it. The place look nice and cozy. Services is great, but the food wasn't all there. Especially for the price of each meal. My wife had the lobster meal, and I had the 24oz steak. She told me her lobster had a raw taste to it, and it was pretty chewy. Our 14 months old love lobster, and he normally eat half of a lobster by homself. But with this one, he took about 3 pieces and won't take another bit. My steak was good, but there wasn't much flavor to it. It's very rare that I want to wish I had some A1 sauce with my steak, and this was one of those moment. I don't think my wife will every agree to give Sam's steakhouse another try. For the prices, it's very hard to give it another chance.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience, met our every expectation which was great food, casual bar, fantastic service....we were extremely pleased with every aspect of the evening !

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Atmosphere was great and the food is wonderful. Great place to take that special someone for celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fantastic steaks, excellent service & traditionally-great atmosphere. Our event was for an inaugural 'steak club for men' event for a bunch of dads...and Sam's Steakhouse lived up to the reputation that we all remember. We will be back...and thanks again. Well cone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always great - steak melts in your mouth!! Entrees include salad and side which makes it a great value compared to other steakhouses. Love the rice wine vinegaret on the salad. The only negative this time for me was that I'm sad to see that long time bartenders Aaron and Lisa left. Huge loss!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always great food and a romantic atmosphere. I always dine here when I'm celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Have watched many of my friends post that they were at Sam's Steakhouse on Facebook and since I had to work on Valentine's Day.... decided that I would treat my wife.
We were delighted with the service and awed by the quality of our steaks.....
Hands down a perfect 10!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our table for 2 was round and too small. Best to have a square table.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service was great. BUT...Our table was in the back room with a bunch of derelicts...rude loud and drunk. Request to sit in the front dinning room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Steaks are wonderful. Very cordial hostess Waitress was nice but our orders didn't come out correctly and even a small apology would have gone a long way but nothing. Was a busy night being Valentines Day and gave her the benefit of the doubt. Just know that having dined there many times, some of the more veteran wait staff would have gone to lengths to make things right rather than attempt to rationalize the order snafu when even the busser recognized the order was incorrect Will still recommend and return but truly the least satisfying experience overall.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best prime rib of any restaurant we've been to. Best decor. We visited for Christmas and the decorations were outstanding. Also visited for Valentine's Day and the decoration, again, were outstanding. Sam's is our choise of any restaurant for our special times.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My only complaint is that it took over 30 minutes to get our food. That was a bit too long, but once it came the food was fantastic. Sam's is pricy, but a great venue for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The go to place for my husband and I on special occasions. The food is excellent, ambience perfect and service is impeccable. If you go, ask to sit in Greg's section. He is the absolute BEST!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We celebrated a delicious Valentine's Dinner! Best filet around!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One steak was actually cold and one warm. Had to send back and still not hot. For the price the food has to be hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great date night dinner or special occasion dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We decided to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary with a delicious steak dinner, and Sam's did not disappoint! We were somewhat surprised at how crowded it was for a Monday evening, but then again, it was the night before Valentine's Day. The steak was outstanding, the service good! I've never seen fit to mention the busboy before, but he was wonderful. Very welcoming, and polite throughout our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went to Sam's for my son's 13th birthday. The steak was tender and delicious, salads and sides were all great. Our waiter did a great job with special requests and making sure we were taken care of. It was a delicious dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service and food are always outstanding and the reason we continue to go here frequently.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always enjoy going to Sam's Steakhouse. The prime rib and other steaks are very good. It's also a good value because the entrees come with a salad and side dish. The wine and beer menu is also very fairly priced. Service was attentive, although not as polished as other St. Louis steak houses. Try not to get seated at a table near the entrance as this is a high traffic area and can sometimes be noisy.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steaks were excellent, service was also very good. We were seated within minutes of our reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I had a very nice evening spent at Sam's Steakhouse. We will for sure be back !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The food is incredible, the staff are kind and courteous, and you will leave a happy group. It is a steakhouse, so it isn't exactly cheap, but it's worth it to spoil yourself every once in a while.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was very good and our server - Stephen - was excellent - will go back and ask for him as our server.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ambiance and service as always was great! Food was not as gods as in the past, was a little cold. My steak was not as hot as it should have been. Also the lava cake did not have the chocolate lava in it.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was outstanding. Our server (Joe) was very attentive and made no mistakes. The steak was perfectly cooked, (I had the pepper strip) and the sides were delicious. A bit more pricey than I normally eat, but worth it in my book! Would definitely go back, and recommend to my friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The steak was very fatty. Not very good. Salad was loaded down with dressing. I could not eat it. But the service was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.