Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

About Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Private Dining

Our facility hosts events from 10 to 100 persons. We have a variety of menus to choose from with customization available. We specialize in Showers, Club Meetings, Rehearsals, Business Events, Birthdays, Anniversaries and more. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Private Room (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Authentic (7)
Live Music (6)
Historic (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fireplace (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

We have dined here on several occasions and have always had great food and service. We rarely have desert, but did so on this occasion. The bananas foster chees cake was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious as usual! Great place! An upscale, white table cloth steak restaurant where your potato and salad are both included in the price.....and yet you can still dress causal as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Sam's is overall one of the very best restaurants in St. Louis. Their food, servers and atmosphere are all outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent as always but had a couple of hiccups with the service but did not want to rock the boat or throw the wait staff under the bus that day as we were enjoying a special occasion. My wife ordered the medallions which comes with a salad and a potato. She upgraded to the garlic mashed potatoes and asked for her salad to have no dressing on it. The waiter seemed kind of surprised by that but said ok. He then came back 2 minutes later and asked again, "you said no dressing, right?". She said correct. Shortly thereafter, my salad was brought out so I started eating it, assuming that hers would be soon to follow. It never came out. They just came out and cleared my salad and her big plate. I did not want to cause a scene so we just ate our main entrees. Then, I was done before her as my meal was a lot bigger. The bus boy came by and cleared her plate. She clearly asked him if she could have a dessert menu. He too seemed puzzled with this question. Our thought was that she was the only one who was going to have dessert so she might as well eat it while I was still finishing my meal. The kid never came back with any type of menu for her. Finally as I was finishing, our waiter came back by and she asked him the same question and he verbally gave her the options--which was fine but not sure why the busser did not explain that he could not complete the task or send our waiter over to do it. Anyway, my wife felt like she was treated like she was invisible throughout the meal due to her lack of salad and attention to her request for dessert. We usually get great service here but today was not the case.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was excellent, but the twice baked potatoes tasted like they had been sitting out for awhile and were poorly reheated. Otherwise, everything else was excellent and what we expect from sams.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our service could not have been any better. Everyone was friendly & attentive. We did have a couple gnats flying around us & the restaurant could use some updating. The food was great & making reservations with Open Table was ideal for us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

WE went there with some friends that had not been there before. They were suitably impressed, as we have always been. Our waiter Charlie, did an excellent job.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Really liked the newly decorated areas. The service was great and the steaks my wife and I had were fantastic. Really enjoyed coming there to celebrate our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything was great except the wedge salad lettce was completely white, no taste.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was cooked perfectly and service impeccable. Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The meal was amazing as usual, the steak was great along with the famous pork chop! Can't wait to return...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My husband and I both had porterhouses and they were amazing. Neither one of us are huge fans of Sam's sauce so we both got it on the side and the steak and the food was much more satisfying this time then the last time when it came on it. We went a bit later so it was quite and very nice. We enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A wonderful meal beginning with a fantastic Bloody Mary. The salad with Mayfair dressing was superb. The filet was cooked perfectly...delicious! Our server, Brian, was very attentive, but not intrusive.
We had a very pleasant dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cozy and quaint - we had a fantastic Mother's day dinner at Sam's Steakhouse. The service was wonderful. The ribeyes were cooked to perfection and had the best flavor. No salt or sauce needed!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and great service!! SAMs never fails! Steaks were amazing as were the crab cakes. Wines were good not sure I like the new wine list time will tell.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

From the beginning through the main courses, the whole experience was awesome. Great appetizers, delicious steaks, and wonderful service. Will be going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good on Mother's Day Brunch Buffet. Hot and plentiful. Custom omelets delicious. Could use a few more salad choices. Gary gave us very good service. Would like to come back to enjoy some steak.
Suggestions on layout: Knockout wall where clock is to enlarge space. Put bar on far wall of bar room to open that space up more. Feels tight in there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious Mother's Day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

MOTHER'S Day brunch: food was overall very good, just wish there was more variety. I also felt soft drinks/coffee/tea, should have been included in the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sam"s Steakhouse is one of my favorite places. The food and service are fabulous!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and service was great! The steak was in the top 3 in St Louis to my opinion. The service was just as good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Did not let us down. Service was great and food was awesome

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was good, although service was somewhat slow.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The filet is always perfect. Twice baked potato is delicious. Service is wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I have eaten at Sam's before as the guest of others and always enjoy their beef entrees. I'm not sure I'll be back as a paying customer though. My issues:
1) When I select a restaurant that has a dated-but-traditional linen tablecloth atmosphere, I expect some old fine-dining practices to be in place. When I dirty utensils during the appetizer course, I expect them to be taken away along with the dirty plates, not handled by a bus person and placed directly on the linen tablecloth, leaving bits of food and grease at my place. I also expect fresh utensils appropriate to whatever my next course is to be brought without asking. 2) For the substantial entree prices charged, I don't think there should be a $6+ upcharge to substitute steamed spinach for a potato, especially since no non-starchy vegetable accompanies the protein.

It's not the 1960s anymore -- people are more cognizant about what they're eating. I understand the generous protein sizes may be expected by some, but smaller portion sizes and non-starchy vegetable options would be a welcome change, in my opinion.

The beef was DELICIOUS! The waiter and busgirl were friendly. My guest of honor enjoyed her meal. I'm not completely dissatisfied, but would love to see a few small tweaks if I were to return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The staff at Sam's were very friendly, courteous and accomodating. They portions of food were massive and the flavor of the steaks were top notch. It was an overall perfect experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great place. Great food. Great atmosphere. Very friendly. Not recommened for young kids. Loved all and will come back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

As I explained to our waiter, Bryon, the steak I had was the BEST steak I have ever eaten. The service was above Great!! Thank you Bryon, you and the entire staff did a wonderful job making my wife, Diana's birthday dinner everything she wanted!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was ok, interior is in need of a remodel. It's very dated.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Sam's has a well deserved reputation as a great place to go
for a STEAK

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

very good restaurant. next time we r in town we will be returning.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We went to the Restaurant on a Monday night for my husband's birthday. It was empty and did not get very full before we left an hour and a half later. We ordered non-alcoholic beers and they only had one, when they found another they gave it to us for free, which was very nice.
We ordered steaks with a twice baked potato. My steak was under cooked and had to be sent back. The potato was frozen inside. They said the cooler froze them by mistake and they would cook a new one, but it would be 10 minutes. By then the re-cooked steak would have been cold.
I ordered a baked potato and it came in time to eat with the steak.
It was just a weird experience and I would not want to go back for a special occasion especially.
On a positive note. The steaks were very good. Our waitress was sweet as can be.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Sam's is a great restaurant when you want straight forward very good dinner food. Fantastic steaks and several delicious potato options (garlic mashed, twice baked). Great "old school" dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service, food was delicious, atmosphere was great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our food was fine, but for a party of 3, over two hours was much too long .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My first time going was in April. I have herd great things, and it did live up to the expectations! Location was easy to find, from entering the front door to leaving the service was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Atmosphere wonderful, as usual. We always like a booth in the bar side. Food was good also as usual. Even though prices are on the high side, you get what you pay for.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice Easter brunch. Nice selection of food. Our server, Chris, was very nice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was good, Buffett type set up is usually not the best if you want your food to be hot (temperature) and is was no exception. Most of the food was luke warm. Most of items were good. I definitely would not say GREAT. Biscuits were hard, muffins assortment were stale! I think their regular menu is a much better choice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Private Room, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was under whelming. The omelette station was great but everything else was just okay. We expected more from Sam's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.