About Sam's Steakhouse

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Chris McMunn: 3148493033x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
St. Louis
Steak
St. Louis
Most Booked
South County
Best Restaurants in Affton ›

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (45)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Live Music (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the steak was done as requested. server ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

the steak was done as requested. server was very nice and friendly. just a very comfortable dinning experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Sam's many times over the p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been to Sam's many times over the past several decades. Meals have been consistently outstanding as has been the service. I definitely plan to return in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New York strip steak had a good taste an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

New York strip steak had a good taste and was tender, but a little overcooked for medium.

The baked potato was delicious even though it was served barely warm. Service was just okay.

Nothing special about this visit other than the company I was with. We were offered a new baked potato but refused. Had already eaten about half of it. It was good even though almost cold. All in all, it will be a long time before we go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall good experience, just not except ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Overall good experience, just not exceptional. Would return but plenty of other places to go.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This fabulous place can be formal in the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This fabulous place can be formal in their dining room or very casual in the bar area. The food and menu is the same on both sides except that the bar has an unbelievable bar menu as well...not your ordinary bar food menu! Food is always perfect as well as the service. It's our favorite place to dine!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the entree took entirely too long to coo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

the entree took entirely too long to cook well over an hour to hour and a half to get it served after ordering

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Our anniversary and birthday were specia ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our anniversary and birthday were special in part because of your outstanding steaks and chicken. We appreciated the free champagne and cake dessert. Our waiter and assistant met all of our needs. The host greeted us with a smile and made sure our table was the right one for us. Thanks to the chef and his crew for outstanding tasty food. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Sam's for a number ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have been going to Sam's for a number of years and always enjoy our dinner. Sometimes this is for special occasions or a special dinner with family or friends.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Sam's Steakhouse was s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our experience at Sam's Steakhouse was superb, as usual. The service is very good, the selections are outstanding, and the quality of the steak and other offerings is excellent. Sam's also has that traditional steakhouse "feel" to it, and brings you back to an earlier fine dining era.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the best filet of my life here! Th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I had the best filet of my life here! The food is absolutely incredible... you will have to wait a decent amount of time for the food to be prepared, but it is worth the wait!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an absolutely wonderful meal server ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Had an absolutely wonderful meal server Chris was always attentive but did not hover the restaurant is beautiful appointed and very clean have said nothing but good things to my friends and some have told me to come and see the Christmas wonderland so see you soon

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. We had strip steak a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was great. We had strip steak and pork chop. Baked potatoes are always good. Only small issue, we were back in the bar -a little noisy and cold. I changed places with my husband to get out of the draft. Two service people commented and both offered a solution to make me more comfortable. Very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service from our wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food and great service from our waiter(Greg). We were seated in the bar area(our request) and the piano player added to our enjoyment on Friday night. We have always had a good experience at SAM'S.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the front door to the server: every ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

From the front door to the server: everything was superb! Hostess was extremely friendly and helpful. The assistant never allowed our glasses to empty. Server was professional yet friendly and attentive. Salad was cold and crisp. Dressing was phenomenal. Steaks were SO tender and flavorful. Side dishes were delicious. All around, a fantastic experience. We will certainly return! Perfect for a regular, celebratory dinner. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great quiet dining experience, and when ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great quiet dining experience, and when I say dining experience that's what I mean. No rushing you around plan on spending 2-3 hours trying tasting and just relaxing in a low light with lovely music and a fine staff to boot. It's a nice business casual dress code with an old Victorian house feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Sam's for my husbands birthda ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went to Sam's for my husbands birthday and left very disappointed. The food was under cooked and over priced. His steak came out well on one side and med rare on the other. I got the salmon which was cooked fine but was covered in a weird thick sauce and my sweet potato was under cooked. When you order a salad make sure you get the dressing on the side because ours were swimming. Also open table needs to ask if it's a special occasion when you make the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The food and service was excellent! Wai ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service was excellent! Waiter and bus boys very attentive and the whole evening was a pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will never be going back and in fact r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I will never be going back and in fact recommend to others not to dine there either. Before I begin I would like to say I worked in food service for many years so I understand that there are mistakes and I am a very nice friendly person and all of this information to come was approached in a nice friendly manner. I ordered their special Filet Oscar which included their 8 oz filet topped with crab and hollandaise sauce. I ordred it medium rare to rare. I was served a med well to well done steak, I was not upset at all I figured I would just let the server know and that they would get me a new , correctly cooked steak. I was wrong. As soon as he came over before I said a single word he said, "Is your steak over done?" So I assume since he knew ths issue he either knew before hand or it is an issue they have. I said very nicely that it was and that I was happy to wait for a new one. He looked at me and said, "I can't get you a new steak. How about I take care of a round of drinks and dessert?" and walked away. Now I should also add not only was it over done, it was an awful steak. Our family raises and butchers cattle so I eat a lot of steak and for $50 that was the worst steak I had ever had. I would venture to say it was frozen and thawed before cooking b/c of the grey in the meat. The quality of meat was horrible and it was very over done. When I again told the waiter I just couldn't eat it his response was "Do you want me to wrap it up?" I told him I was not interesting in dessert I just really wanted my meal taken off b/c I could not eat it and he said he just could not do that. I was in shock and not sure what to say and he brought the check and hadn't even taken care of the one round of drinks as he said he would. My husband and I each had a glass of wine both over or around $11-12 each and he took $15 off the bill! My meal was around $49 I could not eat it and you took $15 off? I will make sure to spread the word so no one else gets treated that way again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Sam's is great, especially for special o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Sam's is great, especially for special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries. Great steak, salads, sides. Everything is good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When our server brought the food to our ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When our server brought the food to our table, he put it down and then went to the table next to us to take their drink order before he came back and distributed our food to us. It was very rude. We felt as if we were not as important as the other people and our food was getting cold as it sat there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Our first time there but not our last. G ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first time there but not our last. Great atmosphere, excellent service without being overly attentive. Our steaks were perfectly prepared and delicious. Definitely worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our first time at sams. we went ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

this was our first time at sams. we went for our anniversery and we will most likely go for every future anniversery. this was the best steak and shrimp we have ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sam's has a very warm entry, staff was e ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sam's has a very warm entry, staff was efficient and our waiter was very personable. Salads were generous, bread was warm with plenty of butter. Entree steaks were cooked perfectly, the potatoes are very large.

Dessert was offered, but no one had room.

Our party had a red wine and Guinness stout. The stout was under carbonated for Guiness, however the wine was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice place for a special occasion ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A very nice place for a special occasion. Delicious food, nice atmosphere. Attentive wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a nice meal at Sam's with my wif ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Enjoyed a nice meal at Sam's with my wife and daughter. Requested and was given a corner table. Chris our server was attentive but not overbearing.

The Louisiana shrimp was outstanding and our steaks were cooked to perfection.

Sam's never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant is old, needs updating an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The restaurant is old, needs updating and other guests made it so loud we were uncomfortable. Probably will be quite a while before we go back. Steak was just OK! Atmosphere much "darker" than it needed to be and definitely "table stability" was an issue. I was disappointed for my family's night out!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Filet wasn't the best I've had there bef ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Filet wasn't the best I've had there before and the prime rib was just OK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We enjoy going to Sam's for any special ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoy going to Sam's for any special occasion but it is great for dinner anytime. All of the employees are super friendly and helpful. We have enjoyed going to Sam's for over 20 years.

Highly recommend it to family and friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at Sam's several times with m ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Have dined at Sam's several times with my wife and family (Anniversarys, Birthdays. Extremely). Alway enjoyable, and never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Continue's to be an incredible experienc ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Continue's to be an incredible experience everytime

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a great place to celebrate special ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It's a great place to celebrate special occasions. The food is awesome. For the most part the service is good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sam's Steakhouse never lets us down!! Yo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sam's Steakhouse never lets us down!! You don't ever have to hesitate taking guest there!!

Just when you think it can't get any better, it does.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a special occasion as we were cel ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was a special occasion as we were celebrating my husband's 80th birthday and our

57th wedding anniversary with our family. As always,everything was wonderful-food,

service and I had requested the corner table by the window as we enjoy eating in

that corner and that request was honored. Always a wonderful evening for special

occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top-notch as usual. Sam's is our go to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Top-notch as usual. Sam's is our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent!! The service was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was excellent!! The service was phenomenal!! The price was expensive but it was well worth it!! The over all experience at Sams Steak House was very pleasing. Our waiter was very enthusiastic. He had a wonderful personality!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We choose Sam's Steakhouse to celebrate ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We choose Sam's Steakhouse to celebrate our Anniversary, it was a great choice! We had a 6:30 reservation and were seated as soon as we arrived, our server Justin or his helper were close by at all times without hovering over our table. Our meal was prepared perfectly and was excellent. We had a wonderful anniversary because of Justin and Sam's Steakhouse.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Not only is the food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Never disappoints. Not only is the food outstanding, the service is second to none. For an exquisite fine dining experience that leaves you feeling fine dined, this is the place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and food. Sam's never di ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Awesome service and food. Sam's never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, food was delicious and they g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As always, food was delicious and they give healthy portions. Steak was cooked exactly as I like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

While the food was good, the experience ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While the food was good, the experience started off poorly when they seated our party of 8 at a corner table where servers had no way of reaching members of our group at the back of the table. Within ten minutes a server, trying to reach, had spilled an entire glass of iced tea on my sister. Management moved us to a different table, but that took 1/2 hour. They made up for it by offering free apps and other extras, but dinner (my mother's birthday dinner) took over 3 hours. It was simply not that busy for a Friday night, and there were plenty of table options, so I don't know why they seated us where they did. There was an overall impression of a front of the house being run by amateurs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.