About Sam's Steakhouse

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Chris McMunn: 3148493033x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Steak
St. Louis
1 More
Most Booked
South County
Best Restaurants in Affton ›

special occasion (81)
romantic (58)
neighborhood gem (32)
See All
good for groups (23)
notable wine list (20)
fit for foodies (18)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was exceptional, as usual. Waiter s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was exceptional, as usual. Waiter seemed to be over-worked with several tables; one having 12 people, who took away the ambience with their noise. Table of 12 seemed in close proximity to booths in bar area. A party that size should be set up in the dining area with more space.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Sam's steakhouse delivers excellent serv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Sam's steakhouse delivers excellent service and steaks. We always look forward to a fabulous meal every time we dine there. Highly recommend Shrimp Louisiana for an appetizer; remember to save some bread for sopping up the remaining sauce-yummy!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time I had been there and it was v ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

First time I had been there and it was very good food. It is a little pricey, so probably won't be back any time soon. We all enjoyed it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the experience. Will definitely re ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved the experience. Will definitely return. Great for special occasions! Our server was totally awesome!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks were cooked perfectly. The t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The steaks were cooked perfectly. The twice baked potato was awesome. Charly provided excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The prime rib was amazing! I would highl ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The prime rib was amazing! I would highly recommend the appetizer combo platter. The dinner salad was just so-so. Our baked potatoes were large. We were there for a birthday celebration and enjoyed the relaxed pace of our meal. We will return to Sam's Steakhouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Appetizers were great. Dessert was grea ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Appetizers were great. Dessert was great. Largest porterhouse steak was supposed to be rare but came medium rare & was riddled with gristle making it very chewy. baked potato was overrated & a bit dry for my taste. Drove 45 minutes to experience this place & we were disappointed. Wait staff very attentive& friendly though & work hard to please.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, wine was good and servic ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was great, wine was good and service was excellent all around. The only drawback was the table was very large for 5 people so it was difficult to hear others during conversation. But that is better than having a table that is too small, so it is all relative.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Generous portions. Bread was great and ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Generous portions. Bread was great and food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sams

Dined on June 8, 2016

The service was excellent, the food was delicious, the Ambiance was that of a fine restaurant. One of the better restaurants where one might take a lady in order to impress her.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Sam's. We like the filets and they were very tender and cooked to perfection. Our wine selections fit perfectly and our server was very nice. Only disappointment was that Sam's used to comp a desert on b-days and anniversaries. Apparently they no longer do that.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

If you want a quite dinner DON'T sit in ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

If you want a quite dinner DON'T sit in the bar area, there was a piano player (Friday evening) and a baseball game on tv with moans & groans, cheers & jeers from bar patrons. <-- lesson learned!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sam's is always great. Only shortcoming ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Sam's is always great. Only shortcoming was we got a dessert to go and it was not put into our to go bag. This was not discovered until we got home. We called Sam's they apologized, took the item off the bill and offered to comp the item next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been going to Sam's for several ye ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We've been going to Sam's for several years and have loved it! This time, we wanted to split an entree and were told there would be a $15 fee on top of the price in the menu! When we asked for just an extra plate, they said the fee would still apply. Really? Unacceptable. Most restaurants would at least bring another plate! Disappointing!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Celebrated my Mom's 87th birthday. Stea ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Celebrated my Mom's 87th birthday. Steaks and chicken dishes were well-prepared and delicious. Twice-baked potatoes were huge and yummy. Salads seemed fresh and were tasty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive wait staff. Knowledgable about ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Attentive wait staff. Knowledgable about the food offerings. No pressure. No rush. Relaxed atmosphere. Steak was tender and prepared just right. Salmon had a nice glaze. Complimentary chocolate to die for birthday cake. Nice touch!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sam's is our favorite restaurant for spe ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Sam's is our favorite restaurant for special occasions. The service is impeccable & the food is wonderful. My husband loves the lettuce wedge for his salad. Our steaks were perfectly cooked. A great meal !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited for her birthday. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I visited for her birthday. It was perfect. Service was great and the food was too. Fair portions and quality cuts of steak. Flavorful appetizers and the Ceasar salad was fantastic. It's not cheap...after 25% tip our total was near $200, but to be fair that included four drinks, an appetizer and two steaks. Would definitely go back again. Will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was EXCELLENT!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was EXCELLENT!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in town

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best steak in town

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Mother's Day brunch and it wa ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the Mother's Day brunch and it was a huge buffet filled with delicious selections such as an omlet station offering ham, bacon, onion, cheese, tomatoes and green pepper. The chef made mine as ordered and it was delicious and I filled my plate with breakfast potatoes and fresh fruit. Then went back for fresh green beans, prime rib, chicken Marsala with mushrooms and a small salad with peel and eat shrimp! The desserts offered everything from cookies assorted muffins and breads to lemon bars. Definitely will return for brunch!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a get together for Mom's Day. It was great food and a great value. A very good selection of food for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

First time at what we were told was a St ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time at what we were told was a St. louis landmark. Caesar salad was nothing special and the waiter forgot my anchovies. I ordered prime rib med rare and it arrived well done. I had to flag down another waiter to ask ours to come out so I could send my entre back to be cooked properly. Second time it was better, but still a little overdone. At this point there were only 3 tables occupied in the dining room so the inattention to the food and service was not due to workload. My cocktail was comped to make up for the prime rib which was a nice gesture. I would give this restaurant a second chance because the quality and flavor of the beef were present. I would request the original dining room (we were seated in the newer annex) and I will order my meat rare to adjust for their cooking technique.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our salad and dinner were very good. The ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our salad and dinner were very good. The appetizer was a little sparce. The dessert we requested was already gone. Our waiter Joe did a good job.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great staff

Dined on April 23, 2016

the wait staff is great... on top of everything and work well together.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Sam's Steak House - Overpriced

Dined on April 20, 2016

Steak was not tender and not very tasty. Very overpriced. You can get better food for the same price at Ruth Chris. Very disappointed. $135.00 for 2 people without tip, and only one glass of wine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Date Night Spot

Dined on April 15, 2016

Sam's is the perfect place for a first date or your standard date night. The staff is great and the ambiance is fantastic. The food is outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The ambiance was compromised by sloppily ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

The ambiance was compromised by sloppily dressed bar patrons meandering in and out through the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 12, 2016

Our steaks were excellent as was our service from both the waiter (Chris) and bus boy. One of our baked potatoes had to be sent back as it wasn't hot. We had a family with young kids next to us in a group of about 10. They were a little loud. Had a booth that I didn't care for but that's on me as I should have asked for another location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We, a party of four, enjoyed an good tim ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

We, a party of four, enjoyed an good time visiting and having some great tasting appetizers. Our main dishes, all different, were to everyone's satisfaction. I had the three beef medallions that was plenty. The beef was very tender and it was served with a tasty sauce that I could have used more of. All in all our experience was very good and would return when the opportunity presents itself.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

good dining experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

good steak, crab cakes and service. Atmosphere was comfortable almost subdued and wait staff very professional and attentive. Overall, If you want a well cooked steak, good salad, sides and appetizers in a restaurant where you can talk to each other without yelling or hearing other peoples conversations over your own, this is the place. Not inexpensive, but well within the current market price for this kind of food/service. Steaks we have had there have been very good and cooked exactly as we requested.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Night To Remember

Dined on April 8, 2016

We came to Sam's Steakhouse in January for a friend's birthday and thought it was a really nice place; good food and great service, so we came back for our anniversary. There were a few more people than the previous visit and the noise level was up, but you could still carry on a conversation. We both had prime rib, the house specialty, and it was outstanding. The service was exceptional also. Nice place for a romantic or special occasion. We plan to return a little more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner as usual. The piano mu ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful dinner as usual. The piano music was a bonus for great ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I both love Prime Rib and ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I both love Prime Rib and Sams is a great place to get it. Food fantastic and service great. Prices are affordable. We always choose Sams for our celebrations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great date!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We went there for our "first weekend without kids in months" date. The server (I wish I could his name) was amazing! He was always smiling, and he paid attention to every detail. We ordered prime rib, and the filet special...both were delicious, but the prime rib was definitely one of the I've ever had! We had left overs come Sunday evening that were just as good. It was our first experience at Sam's Steakhouse, but it definitely won't be our last. The only single thing that would say that was ever so slightly negative was the noise level.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was excellent! Wide choice of not only breakfast food, but meats and shrimp as well!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sam's steakhouse

Dined on March 26, 2016

I really enjoy sam's steakhouse great atmosphere. Thankful for the experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse in St Louis! Excellent s ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Best steakhouse in St Louis! Excellent servers, fantastic food good wines and drinks! I love this place!

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Somewhat disappointed

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food at Sam's Steakhouse was good and the service was very good. The only aspect that marred the occasion was being seated in a overly well lit back room. The front rooms of the restaurant aren't as brightly lit and are much nicer. I don't understand why this back room looks so different from the rest of the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner with entertainment at Sam's

Dined on March 19, 2016

Steaks and salads (included) were great, and we all really enjoyed the excellent piano bar entertainment. Service was good but a little slow, understandable since the restaurant was full.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.