HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Sam's Steakhouse

4.5
1717 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 849-3033
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Greg Manuel
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Laclede Station Road
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our facility hosts events from 10 to 100 persons. We have a variety of menus to choose from with customization available. We specialize in Showers, Club Meetings, Rehearsals, Business Events, Birthdays, Anniversaries and more. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

View Private Dining Details
What 1717 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipJKBH (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

Sam's offers excellent fresh and well prepared food. The service is consistently professional, attentive and sincere. We have never had a bad meal. I had a 6 oz. filet with brussel sprouts and their house salad with the rice wine vingerette. The salad was fresh and crisp-delicious meal.

Report
Helpful
CaseyM 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Steak was done perfectly and melted in your mouth. Service was excellent and very attentive. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great meal with a great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
Cara (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

Fun time in the bar for dinner with the live entertainment! Steak was perfect!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

One of our most favorite places to eat. Service is incredible, elegant dining environment, incredible food!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

Great - expensive though.

Report
Helpful
philyd17 (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

Old interior. Badly in need of a face over 10 years ago!

Report
Helpful
RobinH (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

We want for Valentines Day with some of our friends on Thursday. When we got our food the steaks were luke warm and so was the chicken. The baked potatoes were cold. When we sat down for dinner it was late so there should have been no problems. Last one’s to leave. We went for our Anniversary in December and everything was amazing. Disappointed. Especially since we recommend to our friends

Report
Helpful
BobJ (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Food and service was outstanding. Great for special occasion dinners.

Report
Helpful
GregoryH (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

This is the "Go TO" place for a romantic dinner. Great food, great service and great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Everything was amazing

Report
Helpful
Traci (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The prime rib was cooked to perfection. The waitress was attentive, yet she did not hover. I thought we would feel rushed because this was Valentine's Day. Just the opposite. The first time I looked at my watch was 1.5 hours into the meal. We have dined at Sam's before and we will dine there again.

Report
Helpful
ScottO (St. Louis)
3.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

34th anniversary celebration. Restaurant was overcrowded and hard to have conversation. $50 per person and prime rib was stringy and somewhat tough. Rather disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

As always, a truly wonderful meal. Everything is delicious! The appetizer, the bread, even the Sam's salad. Utterly perfect steak, YUM! Went with our three adult children and their significant others! We were seated at a large round table, which is perfect for conversation. Delicious wine as well. We drive about 45 minutes to get to Sam's Steakhouse, but it is so worth it.

Report
Helpful
MS31 (St. Louis)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Our experience was overall mediocre, the service could have been better. At first our server was great, very attentive. I did not like the cocktail I got, and he took it away and brought me something else, which I appreciated. But once our meal came, he either disappeared for long periods or would walk right by without looking at us, and the only service we seemed to get was from the young kids that would fill our water and take our plates (which is why I'm giving the service three stars instead of one). I finally requested to see our server and when he eventually came to our table, he said "did you need something?" Since it was obvious he no longer cared to serve us, I simply requested the check and it appeared as if he was put out by the request. He never offered dessert (which I would have taken him up on the offer had he given us a dessert menu), and instead he disappeared again for a few more minutes. When he came by to drop the check, he set it on the table and walked away. I was still charged for the drink I did not enjoy, instead of just taking it off the check and charging me for the drink he exchanged it out for (but that would have cost $3 less on our part). Considering the prices at this establishment, I expected my server to be much nicer than he was. The food was delicious though, so no complaints there.

Report
Helpful
KellyB (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

We go to Sam's at least every Christmas, if not more throughout the year. We always love the experience and the food. My husband and I highly recommend Sam's to anyone!

Report
Helpful
vipJKBH (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

We love Sam’s for any occasion. They have excellent service and delicious food. Their salads are crisp and fresh and the quality of their meats is excellent. We love dining there and frequently go there.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Very nice place and excellent service but the food was very comparable to chain steakhouse. However it was a lot more expensive that your local chain steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
1.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

The front desk at check in was very unfriendly. The restaurant list our left overs then she finally brought them and when we went to eat them today they were not ours. My wife ate 20 percent of her steak and me about 35%. Of course we end up with nothing since they gave us the wrong leftovers.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

I prefer the piano bar area because of ambience and character. I wear hearing aids and the music with background noise have never been an issue. Good food with excellent service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

When asked about seating I chose to be in dining room and NOT in the bar. We were a group of 12 and they sat us at a high top table in the bar area. We were VERY crowded at that table. No elbow room and so much stuff on the table it was just really uncomfortable. Other than that, service and food was great but overpriced.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on January 23, 2018

Little disappointed...Steak wonderful as always, cooked medium rare. Asparagus under cooked, very hard and untasty, chocolate layer cake had hard frosting on it, and not sweet enough. Also, ordered soda and specifically asked for Grenadine to be added...cherry juice instead, I can tell the difference, and I had to ask twice for. Also red and white Christmas lighting to flashy and busy...lost ambiance of restaurant.

Report
Helpful
Noname (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

This was my second time at Sam's. This experience solidified it within my top 3 favorite restaurants of all time.

Report
Helpful
mlbstl (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

The food at Sam's Steakhouse as always was delicious and the service was fabulous as well.

Report
Helpful
GeoJetson (St. Louis)
3.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

We had a great meal with expertly prepared steaks. Our waitress was knowledgeable and friendly. Unfortunately we dined on a night that included a large banquet going on simultaneously and the wait for our meal was way too long. We also didn't appreciate the full blown Christmas decorations hanging everywhere. It was January 20 for crying out loud. It looked tacky, not festive or religious. The restaurant can get very noisy and the prices are steep. Did I mention the great steaks>

Report
Helpful
Stacy (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Delicious! Celebrated a birthday here. Food was fantastic. The steaks were cooked perfectly. Wait staff was attentive but not intrusive. Just great!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 17, 2018

Great staff, we love this place!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
2.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

I was pretty disappointed with our food. I had a Sam’s side salad with blue cheese, and the dressing had such a strong mayonnaise taste that I couldn’t eat it. My son had ranch dressing and he ended up not wanting to eat it either. I also ordered a 6oz filet that tasted smoky or burnt on the outside. The twice baked potato was great, and if I ate the steak with a bite of the potato, I didn’t notice the burnt flavor. I haven’t been to Sam’s in years, so I don’t know if they were having an off night or if this is typical??

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Highly recommended and a very pleasurable dining experience. Steaks were top notch!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Very crowded on a Saturday night. Parking was difficult as the lot was very full. After arriving everything was great. Got our table on time as we made reservation. Extensive wine list. Server was knowledgeable of wines and the specials. Food was served at a very nice pace. Didn't feel rushed or waiting a long time for next course. Overall fantastic dining experience.

Report
Helpful
Timmy (St. Louis)
3.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

We eat at Sam's probably once a year at least for the last several (15) years. It's consistently good food...sometimes fantastic food. For whatever reason this past time it was super crowded without good parking and no valet option. We also got stuck at a table that was in possibly the worst spot in the restaurant where the wait staff and other patrons could barely get in and around the tables behind us. It felt like someone said "hey we could jam one more table for four right here in this kind of open area". Overall we kind of feel that the quality of service and ambiance was not up to par with what we expect from them after all these years. This was the second time we had a less than awesome experience there...we assumed the last time was a fluke but I expect it will be awhile before we go back again as their are other places closer to our house where we can get the same level of food and service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
58