Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

About Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Martin: (314) 849-3033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (64)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Romantic (50)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Cozy (23)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Authentic (12)
Private Room (12)
Historic (11)
Fun (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Live Music (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fireplace (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great Beer (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (0)
Sort By:
S
1532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was ok, interior is in need of a remodel. It's very dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Sam's has a well deserved reputation as a great place to go
for a STEAK

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

very good restaurant. next time we r in town we will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to the Restaurant on a Monday night for my husband's birthday. It was empty and did not get very full before we left an hour and a half later. We ordered non-alcoholic beers and they only had one, when they found another they gave it to us for free, which was very nice.
We ordered steaks with a twice baked potato. My steak was under cooked and had to be sent back. The potato was frozen inside. They said the cooler froze them by mistake and they would cook a new one, but it would be 10 minutes. By then the re-cooked steak would have been cold.
I ordered a baked potato and it came in time to eat with the steak.
It was just a weird experience and I would not want to go back for a special occasion especially.
On a positive note. The steaks were very good. Our waitress was sweet as can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Sam's is a great restaurant when you want straight forward very good dinner food. Fantastic steaks and several delicious potato options (garlic mashed, twice baked). Great "old school" dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service, food was delicious, atmosphere was great!

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our food was fine, but for a party of 3, over two hours was much too long .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My first time going was in April. I have herd great things, and it did live up to the expectations! Location was easy to find, from entering the front door to leaving the service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Atmosphere wonderful, as usual. We always like a booth in the bar side. Food was good also as usual. Even though prices are on the high side, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice Easter brunch. Nice selection of food. Our server, Chris, was very nice.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was good, Buffett type set up is usually not the best if you want your food to be hot (temperature) and is was no exception. Most of the food was luke warm. Most of items were good. I definitely would not say GREAT. Biscuits were hard, muffins assortment were stale! I think their regular menu is a much better choice.

Tags: Family Style, Private Room, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was under whelming. The omelette station was great but everything else was just okay. We expected more from Sam's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great for brunch! Lots of great food and fresh fruit! Hubby and I enjoyed!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our daughter moved to St Louis last August and we pass Sam's Steakhouse every time we visit and the parking lot is always full. We looked up the reviews and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed in anything - from the exquisite appetizers to the superb steaks! The service staff was outstanding and were very attentive to our needs with 2 young children.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We went for a friends birthday. As usual the cocktails and wine were very good. Everyone enjoyed their filets and filet medallions, which were cooked just as everyone requested. You cannot beat their house salad with Mayfair dressing and their baked potatoes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

No problem with OpenTabke reservation system, but this visit to Sam's was disappointing. Food was good as usual, we have been there 5 or 6 times before, but this time our server was inattentive & very slow. Parties that came after us were served before us, from other servers.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Second time at Sam's and we were very satisfied. Very attentive staff and delicious food. I had the 8 oz filet, Caesar salad, and sweet potato. Fantastic spicy bloody Mary!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday celebration! The food is exceptional and we love Sam's for not only their steaks but their chicken as well. Its our go to place for celebrations and everyday dining as well. Their food is always fresh and delicious!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The food is always great. The ambiance, this time, was not so great. Although we were the only diners (they was a seminar apparently too), they placed us in the most conspicuous heavy traffic area possible. Then we heard what sounded like a tornado siren going off. Since the weather was rainy my wife asked if that was what is was and was told it was a mixer! All in all it was a pleasant evening, just not as romantic as I had hoped.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Best steak I've ever tasted anywhere. And I'm a steak-a-Holic

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Two of us had the Delmonico Steak and it was outstanding. The server was perfect and even the busing persons were on top of things through the entire evening.

It was my mother's 86th birthday and she was very pleased with the whole evening. Thank you for making my Mom a very Happy Birthday event!

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

As always, everything was excellent. Service was superb, and we chose Sam's because we knew exactly what we wanted for our anniversary... and we got it. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Each of us had something different. Salmon, prime rib, filet and strip steak. All excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Celebrated anniversary dinner with my husband. We were there many years ago early in our marriage but hadn't been there in years. I'm so glad we returned. It was absolutely wonderful, just like we remembered. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding! I would definitely recommend it and we will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Nice relaxed atmosphere, comfortably subdued lighting and great service. Very pricey for my taste though.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was the first time I have been disappointed at Sam's Steakhouse. The menu has changed. They are offering fewer options and charging more for anything extra.

I was also disappointed in the service. I told the waiter we were there to celebrate a birthday, but he quickly dismissed it, and brought us the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Everything was great until their accounting system crashed and we waited 1 hour to pay our bill. The waiter did offer free drinks for the inconvenience. I applaud that!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The best steaks you can find. Always great. Will keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Live Music, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful experience with food and service. We decided on Sam's steak house for a special occasion and we were not disappointed. We would recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We came here for my husbands birthday, it was very romantic with linen table clothes and napkins, it is hard to find places that have those little touches anymore. Our server was on point, brought us all we needed and checked on us without it being a bother.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Been going there for awhile. One of the best steak house's in Saint Louis.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Looking for a great steak and wanting to have conversation with great friends we decided to try Sam's. we were pleasantly surprised. Our service was excellent and the food was delicious, with generous portions. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was a bit loud. Also, it appeared that the restaurant overbooked but our wait for a table wasn't long - about 10 to 12 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

What a great place to get an inclusive menu meaning salad , side and meat are one price. Some would consider it pricy but still a great value for special occasion. Steak and prime rib was delicious and they had our favorite wine. Awesome service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our first time at Sam's, though we've talked about going for many years. It was a great experience. Delicious food, super service, and a great place for a married couple like us to relax and discuss our kids. Thanks for the great time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a reservation but still had to wait about 15 minutes before we were seated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My wife and I tried Sam's Steakhouse for the first time, and we didn't care too much for it. The place look nice and cozy. Services is great, but the food wasn't all there. Especially for the price of each meal. My wife had the lobster meal, and I had the 24oz steak. She told me her lobster had a raw taste to it, and it was pretty chewy. Our 14 months old love lobster, and he normally eat half of a lobster by homself. But with this one, he took about 3 pieces and won't take another bit. My steak was good, but there wasn't much flavor to it. It's very rare that I want to wish I had some A1 sauce with my steak, and this was one of those moment. I don't think my wife will every agree to give Sam's steakhouse another try. For the prices, it's very hard to give it another chance.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience, met our every expectation which was great food, casual bar, fantastic service....we were extremely pleased with every aspect of the evening !

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Atmosphere was great and the food is wonderful. Great place to take that special someone for celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fantastic steaks, excellent service & traditionally-great atmosphere. Our event was for an inaugural 'steak club for men' event for a bunch of dads...and Sam's Steakhouse lived up to the reputation that we all remember. We will be back...and thanks again. Well cone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.