About Sam's Steakhouse

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Martin: 3148493033x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
St. Louis
Steak
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Affton ›

Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Live Music (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pleasantly surprised that Sam's has not ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Pleasantly surprised that Sam's has not lost it's touch for a great meal. Everything was outstanding. Glad things changed on pricing too! A salad and side item is now included in the price of your steak! In years past that was not the case! We will definitely be returning in the very near future!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked the reservation about a month ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

We booked the reservation about a month in advance. We were seated in the bar. The table was too small for four people having a full meal. It was extremely noisy and difficult to have a conversation. The food was exceptional as always. And their Bloody Mary is the best in town. The service was good considering how busy they were. I would return, but make sure before hand the table will not be in the bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always outstanding food but at Holiday t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Always outstanding food but at Holiday time the restaurant is glowing with beautiful decorations.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect. We were celebra ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was perfect. We were celebrating my daughter's Sweet 16th birthday. They really took care of us and we appreciate it! Food, service, and ambiance were all great. We will continue to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took a friend to dinner to see the Ch ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We took a friend to dinner to see the Christmas decorations and had a fantastic time. The decorations are worth the trip. The food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to take care of us. Had a great time singing with the piano man after dinner. A great night!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ran out of pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ran out of pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving! Very disappointing

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was wonderful ! Great steaks ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our server was wonderful ! Great steaks and well presented !!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sam's is one of my favorite places for s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Sam's is one of my favorite places for special occasions. The service is wonderful, and during the holidays it is decorated beautifully.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving Dinner and was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving Dinner and was very disappointed everyone (6) ordered Traditional Thanksgiving meal and no plate was the same, Turkey (White Meat) was good rest of food was tasteless and not up to temp. Bread (French bread) is NOT appropriate should have been dinner rolls.

Pumpkin Pie was more like a custard, not a fan.

We are frequent dinners and Will only go back for their GREAT Steaks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Got the Thanksgiving meal. It was okay b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Got the Thanksgiving meal. It was okay but really not up to the quality Sam's usually has. Not worth the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again we loved our dinner at Sam's! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Once again we loved our dinner at Sam's! We enjoy the friendly waiters, good service, and always, the delicious food. We also like the festive decorations during the holiday season. We will certainly dine here again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately, we had a very bad experie ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Unfortunately, we had a very bad experience dining at Sam's for my sister's birthday. The server was not attentive, she got several orders wrong. It was absolutely awful. I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Here at Sam's Steak house the staff is v ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Here at Sam's Steak house the staff is very quick and efficient at taking care of their guests. The owner had introduced himself and showed nothing but the upmost class and hospitality. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes a cozy environment, a good meal, and great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlie, our waiter, was very attentive. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Charlie, our waiter, was very attentive. The food was delicious! The Bloody Mary's are to die for!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have "date night" once a w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My wife and I have "date night" once a week and we decided to change things up this week and go to a new spot. Sam's came up on my google search for fine dining, and I could not be more happy that we decided to take a chance. The food was fabulous, the wine was excellent, I cannot say enough about the staff, and I absolutely loved walking in and seeing people dressed enjoying an evening out with family. We absolutely will come back again and I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a new place. Thanks to everyone at Sam's for contributing to yet another amazing date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional evening all around. Wor ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

An exceptional evening all around. World-class food. Attentive, friendly staff. Perfect ambiance -- high-class atmosphere seasoned with a healthy injection of down-home comfort. The only negative? I wish my home were closer to the place so I could be there more often. My thanks to Patrick and his entire organization for a St. Louis dining experience that compares favorably with anything anywhere else in the world.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Historic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, atmosphere, and service..... ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, atmosphere, and service.......all bases covered.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and ambiance were great, but the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Service and ambiance were great, but the food was only memorable for being overpriced. If your date is impressed by how much money you waste on them, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Our experience was the usual, better som ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our experience was the usual, better sometimes than others. Even when it's bad it's still pretty good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very disappointed in this place. I live ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very disappointed in this place. I live nearby and I drove by it on Friday nights and it was always packed. After looking at reviews online, I decided on Sam's for one of the very few dates that my wife and I go on since we have to hire a sitter.

First to what I liked:

The ambiance was lovely- dark, romantic, spacious seating- it had one of those old school steakhouse vibes that hearkened back to days when a steakhouse has the premier dining establishment in any given locality. Sam's effort to preserve that air of prestige was appreciated. Our server, Charlie, was kind and attentive and was armed with recommendations for two indecisive eaters like us, which was nice as well.

Unfortunately, the food left much to be desired. Our starter, the fried artichoke hearts, tasted like something you would pick up in a bag at Costco and throw in the oven. The salads were humdrum and the homemade Mayfair dressing tasted like they forgot to season it at all. The bread was cheap and nearly cold when brought to table. And most depressingly, my frenched Prime Rib was tough and mostly fat (although to be fair, Charlie did ask me if I liked fatty prime rib before he put the order in. I guess I should have taken him at his word). But it wasn't all bad; the sauce they brushed on was very tasty and the twice baked potato that went with it was absolutely delicious. We passed on dessert.

The sum of all these parts was equal to a let down. I'm not sure how much of this is my fault, since I bought in to a lot of hype about this place, it was close, and I really wanted to like it. And while I hate to discourage support for local establishments, if you are looking to spend triple digits at a steakhouse in the St. Louis area, it honestly would be better spent at Ruth's Chris. It hurts to type. Sorry Sam.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great steaks! The garlic mashed potatoe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great steaks! The garlic mashed potatoes were to die for and the Cajun shrimp is a must, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sam's is a treasure in St Louis South Co ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Sam's is a treasure in St Louis South County....has all the upscale feel and yet is very fun and intimate. The staff is superb and I would ask for "Charley"!!!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was decent, but not necessarily wor ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was decent, but not necessarily worth the price. The décor is very dated. Service was good, especially from the bus boy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Always consistenty good food and service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always consistenty good food and service. Compared to other high end steakhouses I feel it's the best value, and it's a more relaxed atmosphere as well. All of the above is what's kept me coming back for years.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

50/50 chance on the steaks some are grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

50/50 chance on the steaks some are great some are maybe OK. We go about 3 times per year. Music on Fri and Sat (piano or acoustic guitar) that is pleasant. Nice atmosphere. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Piero was a great waiter....very accommo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Piero was a great waiter....very accommodating.

Food, as always, was fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Sams is the place for great se ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

As always Sams is the place for great service and fantastic food.

It is a bit of a drive from St. Charles but worth it.

If you are celebrating a special occasion or just want some of the best food in St. Louis, this is the place to go.

The staff goes out of their way to make sure your dining experience is the best there is.

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place to celebrate ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. The food is excellent as well as the service. We continue to return year after year.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is great and it's a wonderful v ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food is great and it's a wonderful value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We always have a great dinner at Sams. S ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We always have a great dinner at Sams. Service is great too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Sam's. It is one of our favorit ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love Sam's. It is one of our favorite places. When we feel like treating ourselves, or celebrating a special occasion Sam's is such a treat. And, I must say that the service is attentive, and spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and priced fairly f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was amazing and priced fairly for a fine dining experience. The steak medallions and twice baked potato I highly recommend. We were seated on the bar side which was extremely loud. I had requested a booth and the bar side was the only side that had a booth which I did not know. I will ask for the non bar side next time and forego a booth. Water glass was constantly filled and food came out in a reasonable amount of time. Only negative was that our waiter was extremely busy and it took over 15 minutes to get our check. Overall experience was good and I will return there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We were celebrating a friends anniversar ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were celebrating a friends anniversary and Sam's was a perfect setting. Everything was excellent from the cocktails, through the entrees and into the desserts. Always a special dining location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was delicious! Everyone enjoyed th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was delicious! Everyone enjoyed their meal! Our out of town guest loves to come here when he visits!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable filet! Better than Flemings ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Unbelievable filet! Better than Flemings, Ruth Chris, and Tenderloin Room!! My new favorite place and I live 2 hours from Sam's....

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a Prime Rib and it was not coo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I ordered a Prime Rib and it was not cooked correctly and at least 1/3 to 1/2 fat!! When the bus boy came to pick up plate asked if I wanted to take the rest home, I told him no this was not even fit for a dog!!! Nothing more was said. All the times we have been to Sams's I have never had a piece of meat that bad. I did not want to make a big deal out of this because our friends were celebrating their 50th anniversary. Would really like an explanation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Usually, I rate Sam's outstanding in all ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Usually, I rate Sam's outstanding in all categories. However, on my last visit the best vegetable option was called if memory serves 'pan seared spinach'. I'm not a fan of cooked spinach, but thought since this was my most low-carb option (I'm diabetic), I'd give it a try. Bad choice. Those who like cooked Spinach might like it, and should at least give it a try. Interestingly, my steak came with fried asparagus on top. These were outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time there. Our server ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was our 2nd time there. Our server was not as good as the one we had the first time but the food and ambiance were still excellent. I especially like the combo appetizer and the prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I was so disappointed in my filet. We ha ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I was so disappointed in my filet. We hadn't been to Sam's in a while. I expected the filet to be thick and seared, but it was split and barely grilled on outside. The taste was okay, but I would not return to pay $42 for a less than par filet. I should have sent it back and ordered something else. Huge letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The best steaks in St. Louis. Why waste ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The best steaks in St. Louis. Why waste your time anywhere else?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.