Sam's Steakhouse

4.6
1784 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 849-3033
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Greg Manuel
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Laclede Station Road
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our facility hosts events from 10 to 100 persons. We have a variety of menus to choose from with customization available. We specialize in Showers, Club Meetings, Rehearsals, Business Events, Birthdays, Anniversaries and more. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

View Private Dining Details
What 1784 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Sams is our go to place for special occasions ! The atmosphere is lovely and the service is alwayd good even when they are busy!
The steaks on the menu are always tender and tasty and the baked potatoes are the size of a child’s football! Be sure to go early and have a cocktail in the bar..sometimes there is a piano player in the bar area that we enjoy singing Along!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Sam’s Steakhouse always aims to please

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

We went to Sam’s for Father’s Day with our family. When we were seated, the place settings were not complete. We did not get the place settings that we needed until after the salads were served and we had to ask for them a second time. My husband’s salad had too much dressing on it and the lettuce was swimming in it. Also, we were not asked if we wanted cracked pepper on our salads and my husband asked for it, but no one else was offered it when he got his. Our glasses were not refilled and we had to ask for tea and water. My son and husband did not get sour cream for their baked potatoes, and they had asked for it. Our waiter came back to us once and only a second time when our meal was completed. We didn’t feel the meal was worth the money we spent for 8 people even with the Father’s Day special for my husband and son. We have eaten at Sam’s Steakhouse before, and it wasn’t the dining experience we’ve had in the past.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good and made for a wonderful father's day celebration.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

We were here to order the prime ribs steak, but they told us that they can not make that request for my husband father's day. I was told that the Sunday buffet cost $13.95, so I agreed to get the buffet. After we were done with our buffet. I was surprised that we had to pay $129 for 3 adult and a child. I just realized that I must had heard it wrong.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

We have dined at Sam's several times over the years, mostly for dinner in the evening, and that has always been good - both the food and the atmosphere. However, we were disappointed with the Father's Day brunch. Too many heavy foods, not much variety for the price. Bottomless mimosas were $15, which is great if one drinks several, but if one only wanted one, it was $11? Too much for such a small drink. Many people were casually dressed, which is okay for brunch in most places, but at a more upscale restaurant, as Sam's Steakhouse is, the last thing we expected to see was a diner dressed in flip flops, cut off jean shorts and a tank undershirt. It was appalling to witness him leaning over the food with his arm hair glistening with sweat. It about ruined my appetite. At the very least he should have been asked to wear a collared shirt to such an establishment. There was a woman wearing ripped short shorts (that barely covered her rear end), with the pockets hanging below the 'hemline' and she wore a tight tank top as well. They both looked like they came in off the beach. I might expect that level of casualty at a more moderately priced, less formal dining place, but not at Sam's. It's unlikely we will go back to Sam's for brunch again. If I'm going to spend over $200 on a special occasion meal for my guests and myself, I prefer a more pleasant, palatable atmosphere in which to enjoy it. That was why we chose to eat at Sam's Steakhouse in the first place, but it appears their standards have been lowered. What a shame.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Completely disappointed with our brunch experience this morning. Service was terrible. Our waiter refilled our drinks once, never asked if our meal was ok, never even told use anything about the buffet or even invited us to the buffet after getting our drink order. Constantly had plates stacked on our table that we would eventually set on other tables. When we were there it was not that busy so there really isn’t any excuse for this.

None of the food was marked to say what it was...some of it was obvious but the white pasta with seafood should have been clearly marked that there was seafood in it. I will say the young man at the egg station was really nice and helpful.

Definitely not worth $30.95 with subpar service at best. We won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Steaks were outstanding. Service was a little slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Sam's Steakhouse never fails in delivering the best in food and service. My wife and I go there at least seven times a year and we always have a fantastic experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Ignored by server (Stephan)...we watched him interact with other tables and we were definitely treated differently....not sure why. He did not go over specials with us, pour our wine, offer cracked pepper, check on us, or refill cocktails (we got up and went to the bar to get our drinks). Food was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

food was very good, prices seemed somewhat extreme

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Ordered Filet Oscar. Filet was great. All ingredients in he Oscar were cold. Crab meat was awful. Ordered creamed Spinach. Got a bowl of super garlicy cream sauce and a little bit of spinach. Caesar salad was all the rib part of the Caesar and not fresh at all.
If we do it again we will stick to just steaks. Sides and salad were mediocre at best. Too bad....cause the tab was over-inflated.
Laura A Tumminia

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Amazing food , service and atmosphere! Perfect place to take my husband for his birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

We don't get to enjoy Sam's very often but when we do it is always great and the food is always very good. My last visit I ordered a steak and it couldn't have been better. The waiters are always very friendly, always explain the menu items and make suggestions if you ask

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Greg was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Everything was wonderful. Natalie was a lovely waitress! She took very good care of us. As did the young man who assisted her! Food was awesome!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Our server Brian was knowledgeable and friendly, the food was fantastic and they gave us a molten lava cake for our anniversary!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Very nice steaks and sides. Baked potatoes are gigantic. Wanted to take home half my steak and baked potato. When I got home, they had put only the steak in the box.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great experience, we’ll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We were in town for Washington University graduation and after scouring the internet for steak places, I came across Sams and decided to give it a try. Oh. My. Word!!! They it dinner out of the park!! Mom and I both got the 6 oz filet and it was fantastic! Our server was even better!! Thanks for making my graduation dinner so tasty and fantastic!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I brought my mom for Mother’s Day! Our server, Brian was attentive and engaging. He provided excellent service and helped to make the evening a very special event indeed! The food was amazing and our steaks were cooked perfectly! Sam’s Steakhouse is perfection, and we will be customers for life.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We have gone to Sam’s for mother’s day brunch for the last 2 years. Great food and service. Huge shrimp cocktail! Wonderful salad, smoked salmon, pork loin, prime rib, along with all the usual breakfast fare. Delicious desserts made in house by the pastry chef. Lemon layer cake!!Yum!
Our server, Tom, was top notch too.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We took Mom for Mother’s Day Brunch. The restaurant was not busy which we thought was peculiar based on dinners we had enjoyed there. We were seated and went to the brunch line. There we found shrimp floating in water and few from which to choose. The baked goods were dry and also a poor selection. The fruit salad was good but the melons were tough. The prime rib was exceptionally pink. What was most surprising was that my ham and cheese omelette was tasteless and gave me indigestion later in the day.

We eat dinner there often. We have never had a bad dinner meal. We will NEVER return for brunch. For the price we expected the same quality food as a dinner meal. That did not happen and we spent a good deal of money for three people to have a terrible meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We always enjoyed our visits to Sam's Steakhouse, typically for dinner. So, we decided to try the Mother's Day Brunch. We were underwhelmed with the quality of the food--especially the prime rib. We may continue to enjoy Sam's for regular dinner, but we'll skip the Mother's Day Brunch in the future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We've eaten at Sam's a few times. We just found this time around that the quality of the food did not match the high prices. My pork chop was not a great cut of meat and the Brussel Sprouts were not cooked properly. My expectations are higher for price we paid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Best service ever! Brian was our serverer and he was just wonderful. He was attentive and listened to our needs. He let us go at a slow pace, made great recommendations. The food was just amazing. My filet was cooked perfectly the brussel sprouts were wonderful. Husband prime rib was done to perfection and had very little waste. Wine was wonderful. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food was superb, service was very nice but a little slow. I recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Wonderful experience as far as the food, ambiance and busboy service. Not quite sure what happened with the waiter. He was kind and had good manners, but I think he might have been new.

We waited over an hour for our food between the appetizers and the main meal. He did mention that there was a problem with the lobsters and that the chef wanted to cook some new ones. However, the wait was horrendous!

By the time the food came we were exhausted and ready for bed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Sam's is my go-to place for a good meal whether casual or formal. Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was fine but even though we had a reservation they seated us at a table right in front of the piano player. We asked our waiter several times to reduce the volume form the speakers or move us to another table but nothing happened. We spent nearly $300.00 on dinner and drinks but had to scream at each other for two hours. Very inattentive for a restaurant in this price range!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Meeting with some long time friends wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We had a party of six and the place was not busy on a Friday evening about 6 pm. Our main entrees were very late, and when the meals came out our potatoes were at room temperature as well as the steaks.

I did contact the hostess and thought the manager would at least come over, but he did not. The waiter did not apologize.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Great food at a good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Everything that should be excellent in a restaurant experience - Sam's Steakhouse is. A family favorite for many years. Kudos to all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

A wonderful dinner, as usual. Steaks done perfectly, great wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

First time here to celebrate my and a friend's birthday.

It was one of the best steaks I've ever had delivered with excellent service in a timely manner.

Expensive, so we'll return for another special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Attentive service. Excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great steaks and service! We go for the food and the piano bar...adds a fun element to dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Absolutely outstanding! From the front desk to the Service to the meal and through dessert, they never missed a step. Our server,Alex, was knowledgeable and just a lot of fun. The meal was cooked to perfection. Well worth the trip.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
45