About Sam's Steakhouse

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Chris McMunn: 3148493033x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
St. Louis
Steak
St. Louis
Most Booked
South County
Best Restaurants in Affton ›

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (44)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to Sam's for my husbands birthda ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Sam's for my husbands birthday and left very disappointed. The food was under cooked and over priced. His steak came out well on one side and med rare on the other. I got the salmon which was cooked fine but was covered in a weird thick sauce and my sweet potato was under cooked. When you order a salad make sure you get the dressing on the side because ours were swimming. Also open table needs to ask if it's a special occasion when you make the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The food and service was excellent! Wai ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was excellent! Waiter and bus boys very attentive and the whole evening was a pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will never be going back and in fact r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

I will never be going back and in fact recommend to others not to dine there either. Before I begin I would like to say I worked in food service for many years so I understand that there are mistakes and I am a very nice friendly person and all of this information to come was approached in a nice friendly manner. I ordered their special Filet Oscar which included their 8 oz filet topped with crab and hollandaise sauce. I ordred it medium rare to rare. I was served a med well to well done steak, I was not upset at all I figured I would just let the server know and that they would get me a new , correctly cooked steak. I was wrong. As soon as he came over before I said a single word he said, "Is your steak over done?" So I assume since he knew ths issue he either knew before hand or it is an issue they have. I said very nicely that it was and that I was happy to wait for a new one. He looked at me and said, "I can't get you a new steak. How about I take care of a round of drinks and dessert?" and walked away. Now I should also add not only was it over done, it was an awful steak. Our family raises and butchers cattle so I eat a lot of steak and for $50 that was the worst steak I had ever had. I would venture to say it was frozen and thawed before cooking b/c of the grey in the meat. The quality of meat was horrible and it was very over done. When I again told the waiter I just couldn't eat it his response was "Do you want me to wrap it up?" I told him I was not interesting in dessert I just really wanted my meal taken off b/c I could not eat it and he said he just could not do that. I was in shock and not sure what to say and he brought the check and hadn't even taken care of the one round of drinks as he said he would. My husband and I each had a glass of wine both over or around $11-12 each and he took $15 off the bill! My meal was around $49 I could not eat it and you took $15 off? I will make sure to spread the word so no one else gets treated that way again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Sam's is great, especially for special o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Sam's is great, especially for special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries. Great steak, salads, sides. Everything is good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When our server brought the food to our ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When our server brought the food to our table, he put it down and then went to the table next to us to take their drink order before he came back and distributed our food to us. It was very rude. We felt as if we were not as important as the other people and our food was getting cold as it sat there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Our first time there but not our last. G ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our first time there but not our last. Great atmosphere, excellent service without being overly attentive. Our steaks were perfectly prepared and delicious. Definitely worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was our first time at sams. we went ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

this was our first time at sams. we went for our anniversery and we will most likely go for every future anniversery. this was the best steak and shrimp we have ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sam's has a very warm entry, staff was e ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sam's has a very warm entry, staff was efficient and our waiter was very personable. Salads were generous, bread was warm with plenty of butter. Entree steaks were cooked perfectly, the potatoes are very large.

Dessert was offered, but no one had room.

Our party had a red wine and Guinness stout. The stout was under carbonated for Guiness, however the wine was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice place for a special occasion ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A very nice place for a special occasion. Delicious food, nice atmosphere. Attentive wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a nice meal at Sam's with my wif ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Enjoyed a nice meal at Sam's with my wife and daughter. Requested and was given a corner table. Chris our server was attentive but not overbearing.

The Louisiana shrimp was outstanding and our steaks were cooked to perfection.

Sam's never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant is old, needs updating an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The restaurant is old, needs updating and other guests made it so loud we were uncomfortable. Probably will be quite a while before we go back. Steak was just OK! Atmosphere much "darker" than it needed to be and definitely "table stability" was an issue. I was disappointed for my family's night out!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Filet wasn't the best I've had there bef ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Filet wasn't the best I've had there before and the prime rib was just OK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We enjoy going to Sam's for any special ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoy going to Sam's for any special occasion but it is great for dinner anytime. All of the employees are super friendly and helpful. We have enjoyed going to Sam's for over 20 years.

Highly recommend it to family and friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at Sam's several times with m ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Have dined at Sam's several times with my wife and family (Anniversarys, Birthdays. Extremely). Alway enjoyable, and never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a great place to celebrate special ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It's a great place to celebrate special occasions. The food is awesome. For the most part the service is good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sam's Steakhouse never lets us down!! Yo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sam's Steakhouse never lets us down!! You don't ever have to hesitate taking guest there!!

Just when you think it can't get any better, it does.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a special occasion as we were cel ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was a special occasion as we were celebrating my husband's 80th birthday and our

57th wedding anniversary with our family. As always,everything was wonderful-food,

service and I had requested the corner table by the window as we enjoy eating in

that corner and that request was honored. Always a wonderful evening for special

occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top-notch as usual. Sam's is our go to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Top-notch as usual. Sam's is our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent!! The service was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was excellent!! The service was phenomenal!! The price was expensive but it was well worth it!! The over all experience at Sams Steak House was very pleasing. Our waiter was very enthusiastic. He had a wonderful personality!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We choose Sam's Steakhouse to celebrate ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We choose Sam's Steakhouse to celebrate our Anniversary, it was a great choice! We had a 6:30 reservation and were seated as soon as we arrived, our server Justin or his helper were close by at all times without hovering over our table. Our meal was prepared perfectly and was excellent. We had a wonderful anniversary because of Justin and Sam's Steakhouse.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Not only is the food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Never disappoints. Not only is the food outstanding, the service is second to none. For an exquisite fine dining experience that leaves you feeling fine dined, this is the place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and food. Sam's never di ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Awesome service and food. Sam's never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, food was delicious and they g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

As always, food was delicious and they give healthy portions. Steak was cooked exactly as I like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

While the food was good, the experience ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While the food was good, the experience started off poorly when they seated our party of 8 at a corner table where servers had no way of reaching members of our group at the back of the table. Within ten minutes a server, trying to reach, had spilled an entire glass of iced tea on my sister. Management moved us to a different table, but that took 1/2 hour. They made up for it by offering free apps and other extras, but dinner (my mother's birthday dinner) took over 3 hours. It was simply not that busy for a Friday night, and there were plenty of table options, so I don't know why they seated us where they did. There was an overall impression of a front of the house being run by amateurs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Responsive and attentive service, delici ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Responsive and attentive service, delicious steak, strong drinks, and classic style. One of the best steakhouses in St. Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great experience for 50th birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a great experience for 50th birthday. The Shrimp Cocktail had jumbo shrimp, which were truly jumbo. The cocktail sauce was very good. Ordered the Prime Rib for an entree. Not only did it cover almost the whole plate, it was delicious. The Turtle Cheesecake for dessert was very rich, creamy, and the chocolate didn't overpower the cheesecake. If there was a disappointment to the evening, it would have been the salad, which seemed a bit skimpy, although the house vinaigrette was very good. Our server was Brad, and he was extremely attentive and personable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service!!! Steaks ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding food and service!!! Steaks were awesome and cooked perfectly!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was exceptional, as usual. Waiter s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was exceptional, as usual. Waiter seemed to be over-worked with several tables; one having 12 people, who took away the ambience with their noise. Table of 12 seemed in close proximity to booths in bar area. A party that size should be set up in the dining area with more space.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Sam's steakhouse delivers excellent serv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sam's steakhouse delivers excellent service and steaks. We always look forward to a fabulous meal every time we dine there. Highly recommend Shrimp Louisiana for an appetizer; remember to save some bread for sopping up the remaining sauce-yummy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time I had been there and it was v ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time I had been there and it was very good food. It is a little pricey, so probably won't be back any time soon. We all enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the experience. Will definitely re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved the experience. Will definitely return. Great for special occasions! Our server was totally awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were cooked perfectly. The t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The steaks were cooked perfectly. The twice baked potato was awesome. Charly provided excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prime rib was amazing! I would highl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The prime rib was amazing! I would highly recommend the appetizer combo platter. The dinner salad was just so-so. Our baked potatoes were large. We were there for a birthday celebration and enjoyed the relaxed pace of our meal. We will return to Sam's Steakhouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Appetizers were great. Dessert was grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Appetizers were great. Dessert was great.

Largest porterhouse steak was supposed to be rare but came medium rare & was riddled with gristle making it very chewy. baked potato was overrated & a bit dry for my taste. Drove 45 minutes to experience this place & we were disappointed. Wait staff very attentive& friendly though & work hard to please.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great, wine was good and servic ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was great, wine was good and service was excellent all around. The only drawback was the table was very large for 5 people so it was difficult to hear others during conversation. But that is better than having a table that is too small, so it is all relative.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generous portions. Bread was great and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Generous portions. Bread was great and food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

sams

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The service was excellent, the food was delicious, the Ambiance was that of a fine restaurant. One of the better restaurants where one might take a lady in order to impress her.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Sam's. We like the filets and they were very tender and cooked to perfection. Our wine selections fit perfectly and our server was very nice. Only disappointment was that Sam's used to comp a desert on b-days and anniversaries. Apparently they no longer do that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you want a quite dinner DON'T sit in ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

If you want a quite dinner DON'T sit in the bar area, there was a piano player (Friday evening) and a baseball game on tv with moans & groans, cheers & jeers from bar patrons.

<-- lesson learned!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Sam's is always great. Only shortcoming ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Sam's is always great. Only shortcoming was we got a dessert to go and it was not put into our to go bag. This was not discovered until we got home. We called Sam's they apologized, took the item off the bill and offered to comp the item next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.