Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.71mi
  2. Distance: 2.05mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.22mi

About Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We do offer a traditional Thanksgiving dinner as well as our regular menu from 12PM to 9PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

We open at 4PM on Christmas Eve. Make sure to get your reservations in immediately. We book out 2-3 weeks before.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

We open at 4PM on New Year's Eve. Make sure to get your reservations in immediately. We book out 2-3 weeks before.

Private Dining

Our facility hosts events from 10 to 100 persons. We have a variety of menus to choose from with customization available. We specialize in Showers, Club Meetings, Rehearsals, Business Events, Birthdays, Anniversaries and more. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Romantic (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (19)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Live Music (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service as always - been going here for years and never disappointed- always walk away happy full and satisfied!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We always have a nice dinner. Sad that the Delmonico steak is no longer on the menu. That was my favorite. Quite an expensive night but nice. We will try sitting in the bar and having the Burger Bar next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable waitstaff. The food was excellent. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Only wish we had saved room for what looked like equally delicious dessert

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2017

What can I say, they always offer terrific steaks and a memorable evening!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had an excellent experience on our visit. Wait staff was very attentive. The only mark not 5 stars was because there was a mistake in my daughter’s meal. The waiter noticed it and made it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We eat here a lot...todays meal was the very best! Salad was crisp and fresh, the special Sea Bass was incredible! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our first time sitting in the bar/lounge area. We had only eaten in the dining room before. It was a little more relaxed, slightly less formal. It was still a nice experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We like the traditional roasted prime rib which has been excellent here in the past.
The grilled "French version" was encouraged. Not as good as the basic prime rib.
The "Sams Sauce" was good, but hides the amount fat on the cut. There was a lot.
Service was great. Good pour on the cocktails. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

My hubs & I went to celebrate a promotion and to wind down after a hectic week. This was our first time here and we were not disappointed! Our waiter, Charlie, was just attentive enough, knowledgeable and very nice. The only drawback was the noise. There was a party going on in the room next to us and it was a bit noisy. Delicious food (the crab cakes were the best I've had since I visited Maryland!), generous portions and cooked to order. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

I absolutely loved my experience. Food was delicious and the service was excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our food was wonderful the service was excellent. This was the best dinner I've had in a long time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Absolutely a wonderful evening. Excellent service, food and drinks. We all enjoyed the evening. No rush, very private and intimate setting. Was a beautiful evening all the way around.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went to Sam's for my birthday. There were four of us with two of us having a six ounce fillet. It was cooked to perfection! Delicious salad, tasty veggie, wonderful warm bread, AND they gave me a small delectable chocolate dessert with candle for my birthday. Service was excellent! The only thing I would change is not to play country music since it did not fit in with the elegant setting . Fortunately it was played low. All the employees were extra friendly . I can't wait to eat there again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Have been here many times over the years. The service is excellent without being overbearing. The food is always perfectly cooked including the appetizers and especially their steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The owner was very personable. Wait staff was incredibly attentive and cared about every need. The food was outstanding and the drinks were well made. Would very much recommend Sam's for dinner dates.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We have been going to Sam's Steakhouse every year for our anniversary but this was the first time I was taking here for my birthday. It was a wonderful surprise. Food, decor, and service is always perfect.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It's a nice place to celebrate a special occasions. The staff is very friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This was our first time at Sam's in a few years, but it was still great. Busboy was very attentive and did a better job than our waiter. Steaks were great, but they were more medium-well than the medium we ordered. However, a good experience and we will return for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Although known for their fantastic steaks , I love the salmon! Their burgers in the bar are fantastic as well. If you don't enjoy your meal here there is something wrong...with you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

The restaurant temperature was quite cool and a light sweater, jacket or some wrap would have made it more comfortable. It was noticed that (all) women had some kind of wrap, unfortunately we did not. We did mention it to the staff, but nothing was done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

As always the steaks were fantastic. Service was a little off and the live music in the lounge where we were seated was more annoying than entertaining but the food is almost always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was delicious but rather pricey. Our waiter was outstanding. He took special care of us. It was our 50th wedding anniversary. My husband had beautiful yellow roses on our table when we got there. We were in a large room that was quiet. Would go back on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Sam's is always great, especially for birthdays or anniversaries. We started with toasted ravioli which were great. The Sam's Salad with bacon was a great choice. We both got filets which were cooked perfectly as usual. Sides were all good as well and my fiancé got a free dessert for her birthday. Sam's always gets a perfect score.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was very good, attentive and responsive without being overbearing. Steaks were prepared correctly. Good value for the level of meal when salad, entrée and side are included. Sam's Steakhouse will always be in the mix when considering a destination for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service beginning at the front desk to the waiter and busboy was excellent. The food was delicious. The prices are too high for us to be frequent customers. Both of us have high blood pressure. There didn't appear to be any choices on the menu for no or low sodium and sugar. We cannot eat out anywhere at this time without eating a lot of sodium and sugar. We suggest that Sam's and other restaurants take this into account in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Normally I love Sam's! Our go to steakhouse! However, we had the worst experience EVER!! Arrived at 5:50 for my birthday dinner with my 87 year old mom and hubby! Got a drink, ordered appetizers and they came out Separately????Shrimp cocktail and toasted ravioli can't be served together. Art, our server never asked if we wanted another cocktail. I had to stop him and ask. My mom was not done with salad when food came out, I hate that but the busboy grabbed the server plate out from under her salad plate and knocked her butter knife off on purpose! But the worst was the strip steaks were tough, chewy and over cooked and crunchy on the outside! Server asked if food was okay and I responded okay and he seemed upset what is wrong I explained. The entire meal was rushed they never asked if we wanted more drinks or if we wanted a bottle of wine! They lost money! Did not mention my birthday or offer me a dessert! We were in the car and little after 7. We were so rushed barely put a utensil down and they were taking it. Horrible, felt like change in management or owners???? Not happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to Sam's after hearing it was really good and it was my husbands birthday. The service was top notch! The food wasn't quite as great as I expected for the price. We had prime rib and it was hard to cut. I've never had it to where you could barely cut it. Seems a bit rough for prime rib. I would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place but tonight the busser gave better service then the server. It was for a birthday. They did pay attention to open table notes for that though..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We enjoy Sam's for special occasions. The food is delicious, service suburb and it feels like we are in a fancy restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Aly. was terrific -- made us feel special ---- excellent service . Really enjoy music from piano bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD. A GREAT VALUE. WE DRIVE 30 MINUTES TO SAMS ABOUT 6 TIMES A YEAR, AND I ALWAYS ASK MY WIFE WHY WE DO NOT COME MORE OFTEN.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

1/3 of our prime rib was fat. Was cooked the way we like it. Our friends had chicken, which was very thin portions- disappointed; had salmon filet, which was very small portion for the price.
The restaurant was not busy, but it took about an hour to receive the main entree.

All four of us felt everything was over priced. We even tried to retrieve a coupon from a website provided by Sam's employee. It did not work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We have been going to Sam's steakhouse for 26 years, usually 3 to 4 times per year for special occasions. The last 2 times we ate there, which were in the past 4 months, have been very disappointing. The food has gone down hill, while the prices keep going up. We're willing to pay the prices, but the food need's to get back to the quality it used to be. My husband and I have always looked forward to our meals at Sam, but we're sad to say this meal was so disappointing that it will probably our last.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Decor hasn't been updated since the nineties. Steaks were okay but not worth the price. Service pushy and intrusive. We don't need to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I have heard rave reviews about SAms and decided to try it for our anniversary. From start to finish everything was impeccable. Crab cakes to start, filets for entrees and the chocolate cake my wife had for dessert. Our server Alyssa was top notch. After dinner head to the bar for live music on weekends. Well done Sam's we will be back soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The filet with mushrooms as a side made a great combination. Excellent service and variety of choices make for great dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our waiter Charlie was great! Food was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

everything was outstanding with one exception. I don't know when it became so popular with restaurants to play their music so loud. Sports bar I can understand. But when you go to a restaurant like Sams which I consider to be upscale, you want to be able to carry on a conversation with your wife and friends and not have to talk loudly over the music. Please keep the music down.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great meal with great friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Only issue for me was the amount of fat on my prime rib. That could have been trimmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.