About Sam's Steakhouse

10205 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
View Larger Map

Sam's Steakhouse is a hidden gem in St. Louis. We offer amazing steaks, wines to compliment any palate, desserts to appease any sweet tooth & top notch service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

We will be open Christmas Eve from 4:00pm - 9:00pm. Advance reservations are suggested.

Cross Street:
Laclede Station Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 849-3033

Website:
http://www.samssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights from 7-11.

Catering:
Have your party at work or home. We offer a variety of catering packages, from full meals to appetizers.

Executive Chef:
Greg Manuel

Private Party Facilities:
Sam's Steakhouse offers both private & semi-private banquet rooms. Holiday availability is booking quickly. Please call us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Martin: (314) 849-3033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have private rooms that accommodate from 10-100 people.

Sam's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Business Meals (23)
Cozy (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Seasonal (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Live Music (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (5)
Private Room (4)
Historic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steak and crab was the special. I did no ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Steak and crab was the special. I did not care for the crab on top as it tasted watery.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Steak House, great ambiance, g ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent Steak House, great ambiance, great service, wonderful steaks, pork chop. Perfect place for a special birthday dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our meals were perfect. chairs were very ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

our meals were perfect. chairs were very comfortable. There was plenty of room around tables and the waiter was fantastic. will come again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the steak was really good, the sid ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

While the steak was really good, the sides were lackluster at best. Showed up early with a reservation and still had to wait almost a half hour. Staff seemed unbothered by this. The young lady at the front was not attentive and spoke to us only when we arrived and when our table was ready (lots of gap time; was our table ever going to be ready?)

The waiter was a bit pretentious and that would be an apt way to describe the entire restaurant. For a mediocre 80s style interior and a lackluster menu, this place is definitely overbilled and oversold on yelp.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Sam's steakhouse hold's it's own with th ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sam's steakhouse hold's it's own with the large Corp "Higher End Ala Carte Steakhouses." The service was 1st class, and the food was perfectly done to order. We never felt rushed and had a wonderful dining experience. I certainly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I love going to Sam's to hav ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I love going to Sam's to have a wonderful meal and relax in a nice atmosphere....Great place for us to spend time together.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Unfortunately our experience was very di ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Unfortunately our experience was very disappointing. We had reservations for 7pm. I called twice to check on the reservations and informed them that this was an important business dinner and also asked for a nice table. We got seated at 7:35pm even though our reservations were at 7, then we got seated in the back room by an emergency exit door. Our waiter was great but the food was horrible. My steak was dry and my baked potato was cold. My butter wouldn't even melt. For the amount of money we spent I really expected more. I don't think we'll be back 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

My wife and I along with another couple ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

My wife and I along with another couple had a great evening at Sam's. Food and service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great evening was had by all. Seated w ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great evening was had by all. Seated within 15 minutes of reservations for New Years fantastic and all steaks where excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reservations for a table of 6 on ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had reservations for a table of 6 on New Year's Eve. We made the reservations about 3 weeks in advance for 7:30. We arrived a few minutes early & our table was being set up. We were seated even though we were missing 2 people. Our waiter was very nice and efficient. There was a special and a special menu for the evening. Everyone at our table seemed to enjoy their food. The entire restaurant was decorated for the holidays...very festive! It was suggested that we come back next NYE, and I think everyone was in agreement...a good way to start 2017.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's an awesome place to celebrate speci ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's an awesome place to celebrate special occasions. The staff is very friendly. The waiters and waitresses are very helpful in choosing a main course for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sams was so delicious! Highly recommend ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sams was so delicious! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Sam's for years! ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been going to Sam's for years! Love the ambiance, food and great service! Never a disappointment!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ombionce and the best steak in the ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great ombionce and the best steak in the city. Always go there for special occasions. Service is fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always! Both the food and s ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent as always! Both the food and service ate wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sam's is one of the best in St. Louis. ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Sam's is one of the best in St. Louis. From the ambiance to the service to the food - outstanding. Greg is a fantastic server. And their Christmas decorations have earned them the honor of the most beautifully decorated restaurant in St. Louis. It is truly amazing. I would encourage everyone to make a reservation during this time of year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Sam's for the firs ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I went to Sam's for the first time for our anniversary. Everything was fantastic, including the food, service and decor. They do an amazing job decorating for the holidays. We will definitely put this on our list of places to return to!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect, perfect, perfect. The holiday ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Perfect, perfect, perfect. The holiday decorations are just beautiful

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been pleased with Sam's every ti ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been pleased with Sam's every time we have visited. Service has been excellent, everyone has been nice , helpful and courteous, food has been delicious and enjoy sitting in the bar area with the piano which adds to the atmosphere. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service for a special Christmas Ev ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service for a special Christmas Eve dinner with my family. As always food was delicious and service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite Saint Louis Steakhouse. Awes ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

My favorite Saint Louis Steakhouse. Awesome holiday decorations. Tastey perfectly cooked steaks. Highly recommended for anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Sam's many times before, ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been to Sam's many times before, however, this time we seemed rushed. We hadn't finished our salads when the entrée arrived.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great holiday decor, wonderful staff and ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great holiday decor, wonderful staff and amazing food. Highly recommend the filet and lobster tail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff and food are consistently awes ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

The staff and food are consistently awesome, and the atmosphere is much more than merely “going out to eat”. It is much more like coming home, every time we visit.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sam's is fantastic! Its a perfect place ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sam's is fantastic! Its a perfect place for a holiday dinner! Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sams never fails to impress. The service ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sams never fails to impress. The service is always outstanding and the wait staff go out of their way to make your meal enjoyable. It is always a treat to dine here during the holiday season as the directions are so festive. Will be back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great as always. Felt a li ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was great as always. Felt a little rushed by the staff and the pace of food delivery. Our table was small and a we had to juggle plates at times to handle courses arriving before we were ready. Overall a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service great as always . Chris ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food and service great as always . Christmas decorations were special and added to the ambience.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had wonderful meals at Sam's Stea ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

I have had wonderful meals at Sam's Steakhouse but this one was way off. I started with a Caesar salad and it was soggy. The only way you can get it that way is to make it far in advance and serve it as people order - it was really bad. They forgot the anchovies and brought a plate with a clump out later. The prime rib was prepared "frenched" which sounded good and I ordered it MRare and it came out MWell. Tasted okay but covered in paste and swimming in Sam's sauce. Not bad but not good. The entire meal was just off right down to dessert - the "chocolate cake with the warm gooey center" came out a cold muffin. Apologies and a few items taken off the menu but Sam's is not what it used to be. The decor (Christmas lights) and the bread were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Sam's has wonderful steaks & bloody mary ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Sam's has wonderful steaks & bloody marys. This time the service was not up to par. When they brought our steaks there was no butter for the baked potatoes. By the time they brought it our food was cold. They took our steaks & potatoes to reheat. They did bring us new potatoes. Everything was fine after that. Our server did comp our drinks for the inconvience. This is our favorite place for steaks so we will return. They decorate beautifully for the Christmas season.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had a table of 8 of my family members ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a table of 8 of my family members celebrating a nice Christmas meal out together. Sam's Steakhouse was highly recommended by my nephew. The ambiance was awesome. We dined there on December 10, 2016 and it was quite busy. The service was slow (don't know if it was because of the crowd), but I felt our waiter really didn't care about serving us. After waiting about 45 minutes for our food to be served, three of our dishes (Prime Rib) came out cold and one Filet was not cooked enough after being asked for "pink in the middle". I was disappointed in all of this as Sam's had been highly recommended.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great meal with fantastic service. Would ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great meal with fantastic service. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made the mistake of going on a date d ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

We made the mistake of going on a date during the holidays. They sat us between a table of 20, a table of 10 and a table of 8. It was horrible! Server couldn't handle his work load and since we were the smallest tip he put his priorities elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Pleasantly surprised that Sam's has not ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Pleasantly surprised that Sam's has not lost it's touch for a great meal. Everything was outstanding. Glad things changed on pricing too! A salad and side item is now included in the price of your steak! In years past that was not the case! We will definitely be returning in the very near future!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked the reservation about a month ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We booked the reservation about a month in advance. We were seated in the bar. The table was too small for four people having a full meal. It was extremely noisy and difficult to have a conversation. The food was exceptional as always. And their Bloody Mary is the best in town. The service was good considering how busy they were. I would return, but make sure before hand the table will not be in the bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Always outstanding food but at Holiday t ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always outstanding food but at Holiday time the restaurant is glowing with beautiful decorations.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect. We were celebra ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was perfect. We were celebrating my daughter's Sweet 16th birthday. They really took care of us and we appreciate it! Food, service, and ambiance were all great. We will continue to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took a friend to dinner to see the Ch ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

We took a friend to dinner to see the Christmas decorations and had a fantastic time. The decorations are worth the trip. The food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to take care of us. Had a great time singing with the piano man after dinner. A great night!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ran out of pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving! ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ran out of pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving! Very disappointing

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was wonderful ! Great steaks ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our server was wonderful ! Great steaks and well presented !!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.