About Sampan - Philadelphia

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
General Tso's Soup Dumplings
Kimchi Fried Rice
Steamed Broccoli
Chicken Bao Buns
Hamachi Ceviche
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Korean Fried Chicken
Ice Cream Sushi Roll
Crab Taco
La Terre Cabernet Wine
Crispy Brussels Sprouts
The Dragon
Grilled Spanish Octopus
Broccolini
Gulf Shrimp Satay
 Carpaccio
Tofu Lettuce Wraps
Cobia
Shrimp & Lobster Dumplings
Kobe Beef Fried Rice
Crab Wonton Taco
Pork Bao Buns
shrimp pad thai
Soft Serve ice cream
beef short ribs
Korean BBQ Beef Satay
Ommegang Witte
Negroni
Crispy Rock Shrimp
Sesame Rice Balls
Lobster Ceviche
Chiliean Sea Bass With Long Beans Over Cauliflower Puree
Korean Fried Chicken Satay
Philly Cheese Steak
General Taos Soup Buns
Cupcake Trio
Smores Tart
Course 5, Tasting Menu
Peking Duck, Scallion Bun, Cucumber, Hoisin
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart S'mores
Hot & Sour Branzino, Wood Ear, Bean Sprouts, Chinese Sausage
Chocolate Reese's Puff & Fruit Loop Soft Serve Ice Cream
Spring Rolls
Chicken Bao Bun
Roasted Broccoli
Twisted Thai
Vietnamese Spring Roll
Pumpkin Custard Bar
Cheese Steak Pot Stickers
Soy Glazed Salmon
Kobe Beef Fried Rice, Tomato, Scallion, Crispy Shallot
Charred Lamb Ribs, Chili, Cumin, Curried Cauliflower
Korean Fried Chicken Satay, Honey Mustard, Ko Choo Jung, Togarashi
Shrimp & Lobster Dumpling, Miso Broth, Scallion, Tofu
General Tso Soup Dumpling, Chicken, Soy, Vinegar
Kobe Sliders
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Chicken & Pea Shoot Dumpling
Sake Sangria
Mushroom Dumplings
Shrimp And Lobster Dumpling Soup
Spicy Rock Shrimp Tampura
Tuna Rice Crackers
Vegetarian Pad Thai
Lobster
Fatty Lamb Ribs, Mustard Marinated With Eggplant Confit, Charred Peppers, Roti
Tartare
Pork Potstickers
Tempura Lobster Roll
Kobe hot dog
Duck Egg Rolls
Vietnamese Spring Rolls
Korean Bbq Satay
Szechuan Chicken
Philly Cheesesteak
Spicey Rock Shrimp
Fall Back Scorpian Bowl
Spicey Tuna Crackers
Filet Mignon
Cucumber Margarita Scorpian Bowl
edamame wontons
Tofu Taco
Crab Wanton Tacos
Thai Shrimp Satay
Kobe Beef Sampler
frog legs
Seared Scallops
Seared Tuna
Shishito Peppers
"Philly Cheesesteak" Bao
The Heat
Roasted brussels sprouts
Kitkat And Vanilla Crunchberry Ice Cream Cones
"Philly Cheesesteak"
General Tso's Dumplings
Kim Che Fried Rice
Sesame Noodles
Crispy Szechuan Chicken
Scallop Satay

Private Dining

Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Hot Spot
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (133)
hot spot (125)
good for groups (107)
See All
vibrant bar scene (84)
neighborhood gem (65)
special occasion (63)
romantic (37)
late-night find (25)
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for lunch (11)
scenic view (6)
notable wine list (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I NEVER write BUT my at Sampan was TOO G ...

Dined 3 days ago

I NEVER write BUT my at Sampan was TOO GOOD not to! The service was spot on and the food was DELICIOUS nice and hot and flavorful. be disappointed!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I do not like to write bad reviews howev ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I do not like to write bad reviews however get me once, get me twice... that's it! This was my second try. I was displeased the first time but everyone raved so I went back. The service is horrible, waiters are rude and they ignore you, and the timing of the food and the quality both lack greatly!!!! Example: a bus boy brings over the fried rice and said he will be back to mix it and never came back. We called someone over and he said well, I need a spoon to mix it and went to look for one and it took another 10 minutes for him to come back. I will not go back!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is DE-LI-SIOUS!!! Boa buns...AMAZIN ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food is DE-LI-SIOUS!!! Boa buns...AMAZING! drinks are good too! all worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

The food is amazing. The vegetarian menu ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food is amazing. The vegetarian menu is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

I've hesitated to submit a review of thi ...

Dined 6 days ago

I've hesitated to submit a review of this restaurant as I don't usually post negative feedback. However, if an establishment is going to accept online reservations for large parties, they need to not have such a group wait for over 45 minutes for their reserved table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Quick service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Quick service and attentive staff

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good I eat everywhere and it is a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good I eat everywhere and it is a high recommendation of mine

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This was our second time at Sampan and w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second time at Sampan and we were disappointed about not getting half the food we ordered as part of the tasting menu before we had to leave for the theater. We were there before on a Saturday night and everything came quickly, but this experience was quite different. Our main courses never came, despite the fact we informed our server of our time constraints; we were fortunate that we were able to locate the manager who took a portion of the charges off our bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The edamame dumplings were a huge hit wi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The edamame dumplings were a huge hit with everyone at our table and we were daydreaming about thise delicious morsels even on the next day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This place came highly recommended and w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This place came highly recommended and while the food was enjoyable, there was not enough for the price we paid. We ordered 4 chef tastings at $45ea (there were 5 of us) and we were still hungry at the end and had to order more food. If you are a real eater, eat something first before you go.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy the selection of food ite ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I always enjoy the selection of food items here. My fav is the kale & calamari salad. We ordered a few different small plates and then shared between the 4 of us. Sampan is definitely a favorite of mine. Though I was a bit surprised to find that it was considerably crowded for a Mon night & the noise level were more consistent with Fri or Sat night.

food5
ambience5
service5

We did the chef tasting and boy oh boy w ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We did the chef tasting and boy oh boy was it a lot of food , and all our favorites! The service was amazing ! We had a party of 15 and Patrick didn't miss a beat !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow! If all you read of this review is ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wow! If all you read of this review is this line, ORDER THE DAN DAN NOODLES!! I opted to go to Sampan, versus another local Asian Cuisine after reading the reviews and looking at the menu and MAN am I happy. The other meal might have been great, but SamPan was AWESOME!!! This was a Date night with the wife. We appreciated the "shared" plates menu style and enjoyed the constantly flowing order delivery versus a single table seating of food all at once. This ensured we were at least nibbling on something great the whole time, and whatever was on the table was hot and as fresh as can be. We went on a Saturday night, and it was quite busy inside, but our reservations were held exactly as they should have been and we were seated immediately. We each ordered a drink- the wife enjoyed a cocktail and I had a local beer on tap. Food wise we ordered the Lamb Chop Satay, Crispy Rock shrimp, Filet Mignon, Dan Dan Noodles and Crispy Brussel Sprouts. Everything was very flavorful and uniquely seasoned. All items were cooked exactly as ordered. The Dan Dan Noodles were the shining star. Tons of complex flavors, and just the right amount of heat. The Brussel Sprouts were a bit bitter for my taste, however my wife loved them. Overall We would easily return to SamPan, and intact we hope we do soon, next time perhaps with a larger group of people to all share the awesome food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Sampan is a very good restaurant. It's ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Sampan is a very good restaurant. It's perfect for an Asian small plates dinner. The Dan Dan noodles are fabulous. All of the small plates are good. The Korean chicken was delicious.

food5
ambience3
service1

We had reservations but they were worthl ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had reservations but they were worthless. Hostess forgot about is after my full party checked in. Just a night mare. Will not go back

food3
ambience4
service4

The edamame dumplings were amazing, I wi ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The edamame dumplings were amazing, I wish I could eat them everyday! The service was good, the atmosphere was lively and fun. The shrimp satay was not good, I could only taste a burnt flavor, I actually thought it was awful. I would definitely go back but I would stay away from the satay. Overall: I would return.

food5
ambience4
service4

I cannot get enough of the buns. They ar ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

I cannot get enough of the buns. They are my absolute favorite thing on the menu.

food2
ambience5
service5

Asian junk food, lots of fried and very ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Asian junk food, lots of fried and very salty food

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious food as always but our server ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious food as always but our server did not seem too pleased to be waiting on us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good but not great

Dined on May 29, 2016

I would really just go there for a cool environment and good drinks. If you are looking for amazing food this may not be your first choice! Overall though I had a good time

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

must go

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I tried Sampan for the first time a year a go and it quickly became one of our regulars. The food is delicious! We tend to stick to the smaller sharing plates as we like them a lot more than the bigger dishes. The edamame dumplings and the soup dumplings are to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service3

This was our first visit to Sampan and I ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first visit to Sampan and I can safely say we will not be returning. The atmosphere was lively, so we really thought we were in for a fantastic meal. Unfortunately, this was not the case. We ordered several small tapas plates. Grilled peppers, chicken and shrimp satay and the sea bass. Apparently the only seasoning they use at Sampan is salt and they use it sparingly. The grilled peppers was just that. Grilled peppers. No seasoning( not even salt), no sauce, nothing. The peppers weren't even spicy. The chicken and the shrimp satay were at least salted, but that didn't help much. The sea bass was the most flavorful, but it wasn't good enough for a return visit. My husband, who will pretty much eat everything and enjoy it, was disappointed. Earlier that day, we invited friends to join us and thankfully they were unable to do so. I wouldn't subject anyone to that meal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing with a capital "A"

Dined on May 28, 2016

I love this place! The few times I've been, I have not had any issues with service, food, drinks, etc. The food is great! Pork Bao Buns are my favorite and everything new I've tried, I have thoroughly enjoyed. It is very lively and can get loud. Didn't bother us a bit though. This is a great spot for catching up with friends, having drinks with your fun coworkers after work, and even casual date night. I suggest everyone try this place! I can't see you being disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious loved the tuna ri ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was delicious loved the tuna rice crackers! Yum! Service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Asian Fusion

Dined on May 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants of its genre--or really at all--that I've eaten at in a while. The menu is plates of various sizes and is really designed to be shared. We had a group of 8, got 2 entree-sized portions and about 10 of the smaller plates, and all of them were delicious. The rock shrimp was to die for. The cocktails were very tasty, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was terrible, over salted, Cook ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was terrible, over salted, Cookie cutter food, not worth the price. Obviously taken over by new management that is more interested in turning over a fast table then providing quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Yummy...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. My husband loves the Asian flavors and sampan does it great. Small plates so you get lots of tastes...not inexpensive though. Yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Even with a reservation you still have t ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Even with a reservation you still have to wait too long for your table

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a Disappointment

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had been here before without our kids. This time, we took our family to celebrate a son's birthday. Again, we were blown away by how great the food, service and atmosphere was. We had the tasting menu and we were all stuffed by the time dessert was brought to the table. Yummy! Can't wait o go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3

Very hot ( temperature). Not very friend ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very hot ( temperature). Not very friendly staff.

food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I was so disappointing. I go to Sampan a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I was so disappointing. I go to Sampan all the time and it's always a hit. This time the service was awful, the waitress disappeared often, other people tried to help us, then they disappeared when we requested things, they never came. I love the brussel sprouts and that is why I keep coming back. I had to send the first batch back - they were dry, and not cooked all the way. the second batch was awful to. The crab tacos weren't the same, and the chicken skewers were just ok. I never have had such a bad experience in food and service. I brought my sister for her birthday and was raving, and we were both so disappointing. I will give it another try, I'm hoping they just had an off night, but I sure hope that it doesn't happen again.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Waitress Failure

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and understood the family style dining except after we ordered our waitress cornered the "men" telling them we did not order enough. Since we were six people and it was very loud they added items, essentially padding the check, and a few items were duplicated. We really did not appreciate the duplicate orders and ended up taking a lot of food home, because of this I think we will pass on eating at Sampan again. It is a shame that a greedy waitress ruined our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Some favorites we ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was really good. Some favorites were General Tso soup dumplings, pork belly sandwiches,waygu beef satay & duck fried rice! Service was excellent. Ambience was really cool. Can't wait to go back. Credit card machine wasn't working. Cash only.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. The food was ex ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Outstanding experience. The food was extremely well prepared and full of flavor. The staff was all very helpful. The ambience was energetic and fun. The sake was good and reasonably priced. Honestly, one of the best meals I have had in quite some time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was excellent. He suggested t ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Our server was excellent. He suggested the $45 prix fixe for the four of us and it proved to be the perfect way to go. Love the design and the energy of the room - and the amazing variety of flavors in each dish we had.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Food

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went for a special occasion with family and were not disappointed! Made a reservation but a table inside was going to be a while, so the hostess offered outside and it was phenomenal. We made friends with the 2 men at the table next to us, and the street noise was minimal (especially in comparison to the noise inside). Food was excellent, our server was friendly and informative, and we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Happy Hour!!

Dined on May 19, 2016

It was my first time here. I had a fabulous time!! The ambience was great. The people working there were very friendly! Happy hour is the best!!! The food and drinks are very good and not expensive at all. I can't wait to go back, and have told all of my friends about this great resturant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

To loud and table wasn't ready even thou ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

To loud and table wasn't ready even thou I had a reservation. Bathrooms need to be male and female!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As good as it was 8 months ago when I ch ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

As good as it was 8 months ago when I checked it out. The Bowl was awesome too!. Will be checking it out again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

The food was excellent and always quick ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was excellent and always quick to come to the table.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.