About Sampan - Philadelphia

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: (888) 858-6536

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (59)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Hot Spot (56)
See All
Happy Hour (51)
Fun (47)
Good for a Date (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Tasting Menu (41)
Special Occasion (40)
Tapas (39)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Casual (34)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Romantic (23)
Authentic (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
People Watching (21)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Spicy (10)
Family Style (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Vegan (7)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
2527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

It was so unbearably hot this evening that it made for a not so great visit to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. Food was delicious, but the temperature was incredibly uncomfortable that it was truly hard to enjoy your meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the tapas like dishes with a unique fusion between asian and modern/american tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A/C was not working and we were not informed before being seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The short rib dinner had two small pieces of meat for $22.00. Management said there should have been three.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was my 4th or 5th time here. Every other experience was phenomenal! This time the restaurant had hardly no air on a hot day, server got 1 of our dishes wrong, duck was overcooked and the replacement was also overcooked. Overall food was subpar. Chicken tasted reheated and soft shell crabs were not cleaned properly. The beginning of the meal was very rushed then the end of the meal slow. I also did not think the service was very attentive. Very disappointing experience from what use to be 1 of my favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was great. There was a problem with the hoods when we got there, so the menu was limited, but they did repair them before we were finished and we were able to get everything we wanted. The reason for the lower ambiance mark is only because the temperature was so warm in the restaurant that a summer humid night in Philly was cooler than outside than inside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Came here for my 25th birthday celebration with friends! Very nice restaurant, great food. Restaurant was busy so it was loud but that can be overlooked as the overall experience was nice .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Sampan made a wonderful first impression. The food was amazing and the wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive. I especially loved how as the food was ready it was brought directly to the table. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The AC wasn't working so it's was incredibly hot inside the restaurant. No notice provided guests with reservations of this situation. The server was overwhelmed and forgot to bring items to the table. The food was mediocre to bad, when it had been great so many times before. Very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Noisy inside, so chose to sit outside. Did the chef's tasting menu which was great.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Delicious twist on Asian food, but it was so incredibly dark and very noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food and service...as usual! I have been back many times and always enjoy the food here...crab tacos are a must if you go!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very very noisy and a little crowded so the effects of the AC were minimal and warm in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food quality and presentation is going downhill, in addition the restaurant felt dirty and needs an update in decour and utencils.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love it here. No complaints. Will always be my favorite restaurant to dine in.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This place has no air conditioning in the summers and it has an open kitchen. It was a horrible experience.The food is too expensive for the quality. The taste is so bland, they call it fusion but I think they just lazy. Service is quick which means it's inconsistent. Many alternative avaliable right around the corner.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great experience! Too hot inside on a muggy day outside. I sweated through most of the dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Truly a great place with fruend a special someone or even by yourself. Service and food always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great but the air conditioning sucked it was hot as hell in there

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Visit this place often for happy hour and decided to try dinner here. Everything we ordered was great from the spring rolls, Kim chee fried rice, and the pekin duck among others . . .

There was a strange situation where they sat us very close to each other when there were plenty of empty seats (it was a Monday night). The two couples surrounding us were clearly agitated as well.

Otherwise I would always recommend this place for the food and prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Booked Sampan for Father's Day dinner and we were not disappointed. Because we had our toddler in tow, our waitress did an amazing job getting all of our plates out quickly which worked out perfectly as he went into tantrum mode at the end of our meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Soooooo good. Angelica only smiled 3 times, but she was excellent. Recommendations were in point and she kept up with my water intake. Great time for everyone. Just need to be wealthier so I can come back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I took a spontaneous road trip to Philly. A fellow person in our elevator of hotel heard us mention we were looking for somewhere to eat and he recommended Sampan to us. He said every time he is in town he makes sure to go. He was correct as we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. We were stuffed. We did have to wait awhile for our table but hung out at the bar. The girl was very nice and recommended items to us as well. Our waitress was also so nice and gave great suggestions. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have been there before but only for drinks. This time we brought our friends to ty our first meal experience. We wanted to try as much as we could and we ended up ordering around 13-15 plates. A good mix of small plates and entrees. Everything we had was delicious. Our only complaints were that they tried sitting our party of 4 at a table meant for 2/3. I'm glad we spoke up bc there was no way our meals would have fit. Also it was really hot in there? We would definitely return. The food was amazing and our waiter was really helpful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent Excellent food. Very loud and the loud music with a not very good sound system didn't help.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and fun atmosphere. The waitress was far from accommodating when the wrong food was brought to us. We didn't make a big deal since it was a birthday dinner- but she could have been nicer about the situation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The absolute BEST hh in philly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food, fun atmosphere, but if you're over 40 bring your reading glasses and cell-phone flashlight - menu print is tiny and room is dark!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I come to Sampan pretty often but the hosts and servers on this occasion were extremely rude. I had a reservation and the hosts were completely unapologetic about my table not being ready on time although I was there almost thirty minutes early. I had to wait extra time and when I went to check, the host was visibly annoyed by my asking for an update.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good food served at the kitchen bar. Quick service. Reasonable food & drink prices. Loud & lively.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I went to Sampan with a classmate for happy hour. I had the kim chee fried rice and crab rangoon. She ordered the crispy brussel sprouts and BBQ beef chow fun. We both ordered sage blossoms to drink. First, the sage blossom was surprisingly smooth and refreshing. The fried rice, crab rangoon and brussel sprouts were also good. But the chow fun was AMAZING. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We had an awesome experience at Sampan while visiting Philadelphia. We arrived 30 minutes before our reservations and they took us right away. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and our food came out quickly. We did the chef's tasting for the table and everything we tried was delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Love sampan usually. Was not so good this time, short rib was horribly over cooked, no flavor at all. Service was great and other food was good as usual! Beer also came out warm but probably just from warm glass. Waitress replaced and service was great!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Good Pan-Asian food. We liked the uniqueness of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I've been here twice and i'm loving the food each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server was great at identifying vegan concerns and pointing out best options for our picky eaters. A little inattentive after ordering, sadly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I did the tasting menu. Each item was a flavor explosion in your mouth. We loved the mushroom satay.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It always has been good and this time was no exception. The food was great, and our server, Christine, was very informative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Tapas, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food, drinks and service. The party seated in our area was loud and yelling, causing our table as well as our neighbors to have an unpleasant experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.