About Sampan - Philadelphia

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: 8888586536

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
General Tso's Soup Dumplings
Steamed Broccoli
Kimchi Fried Rice
Chicken Bao Buns
Korean Fried Chicken
Hamachi Ceviche
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Ice Cream Sushi Roll
La Terre Cabernet Wine
Crab Taco
Crispy Brussels Sprouts
Broccolini
The Dragon
Grilled Spanish Octopus
Gulf Shrimp Satay
 Carpaccio
Tofu Lettuce Wraps
Cobia
Shrimp & Lobster Dumplings
Kobe Beef Fried Rice
Crab Wonton Taco
Pork Bao Buns
shrimp pad thai
beef short ribs
Korean BBQ Beef Satay
Soft Serve ice cream
Ommegang Witte
Negroni
Crispy Rock Shrimp
Sesame Rice Balls
Lobster Ceviche
Chiliean Sea Bass With Long Beans Over Cauliflower Puree
Korean Fried Chicken Satay
Philly Cheese Steak
Cupcake Trio
General Taos Soup Buns
Smores Tart
Course 5, Tasting Menu
Peking Duck, Scallion Bun, Cucumber, Hoisin
Hot & Sour Branzino, Wood Ear, Bean Sprouts, Chinese Sausage
Chocolate Reese's Puff & Fruit Loop Soft Serve Ice Cream
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart S'mores
Spring Rolls
Chicken Bao Bun
Roasted Broccoli
Twisted Thai
Vietnamese Spring Roll
Pumpkin Custard Bar
Cheese Steak Pot Stickers
Soy Glazed Salmon
Charred Lamb Ribs, Chili, Cumin, Curried Cauliflower
Korean Fried Chicken Satay, Honey Mustard, Ko Choo Jung, Togarashi
Shrimp & Lobster Dumpling, Miso Broth, Scallion, Tofu
General Tso Soup Dumpling, Chicken, Soy, Vinegar
Kobe Beef Fried Rice, Tomato, Scallion, Crispy Shallot
Kobe Sliders
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Chicken & Pea Shoot Dumpling
Mushroom Dumplings
Sake Sangria
Shrimp And Lobster Dumpling Soup
Spicy Rock Shrimp Tampura
Tuna Rice Crackers
Vegetarian Pad Thai
Fatty Lamb Ribs, Mustard Marinated With Eggplant Confit, Charred Peppers, Roti
Lobster
Tartare
Pork Potstickers
Tempura Lobster Roll
Vietnamese Spring Rolls
Duck Egg Rolls
Kobe hot dog
Korean Bbq Satay
Szechuan Chicken
Philly Cheesesteak
Cucumber Margarita Scorpian Bowl
Filet Mignon
Fall Back Scorpian Bowl
Spicey Tuna Crackers
Spicey Rock Shrimp
Tofu Taco
edamame wontons
Thai Shrimp Satay
Crab Wanton Tacos
Kobe Beef Sampler
frog legs
Seared Scallops
Seared Tuna
Shishito Peppers
"Philly Cheesesteak" Bao
The Heat
Roasted brussels sprouts
General Tso's Dumplings
"Philly Cheesesteak"
Kitkat And Vanilla Crunchberry Ice Cream Cones
Kim Che Fried Rice
Sesame Noodles
Crispy Szechuan Chicken
Scallop Satay

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Hot Spot
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Fit for Foodies (88)
Hot Spot (81)
Good for Groups (74)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (58)
Special Occasion (53)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Romantic (32)
Late-night Find (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Modern Decor (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Fun (12)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (9)
Tapas (9)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (4)
Spicy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great seven course prix fixe menu for re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great seven course prix fixe menu for restaurant week. Some dishes were good, and others were excellent. The kale salad with calamari was fantastic, as were the scallops. It was a really fun way to try a new place. In terms of atmosphere, it was kind of dark and on the loud side. The food made up for it though!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Went for restaurant week. They do a uni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went for restaurant week. They do a unique type of restaurant week menu, which I think makes things a little less economically feasible vs. other restaurants' version. However, the food is undeniably amazing, the ambiance is great, and the staff was spectacular. Also, the cocktail list is very good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was okay the waitress didn't ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was okay the waitress didn't really come check on us until everything was finished. we attended for restaurant week and the food was all amazing except the dan Dan noodles were way to salty we didn't even touch them after trying, and the waitress didn't care that I told her how salty they were. The drinks are very expensive for no reason.. I got a cocktail and it was a pretty small skinny glass for $10? no thanks. but everything else was pleasant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food is great. The servers brought o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is great. The servers brought out the food too quickly though, which made us feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and even better food for r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and even better food for restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, service, and food! Por ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere, service, and food! Portions are small, but that's to be expected. A go-to for people with a palate a bit more refined than mine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance was amazing and so was our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance was amazing and so was our food. 7 courses of wonderful! Our server was even better making us feel welcome and special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My second exerience at Sam Pan. it was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

My second exerience at Sam Pan. it was unique, delicious, interesting. I would love to come back with a friend or with a Crowd. great experiences although a little loud. Love the bathrooms. Great service. The beer was icy cold. Look for us again soon.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seating was really tight. It was im ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The seating was really tight. It was impossible to have an intimate conversation because not only were you sitting on top of people, but any movement from adjacent tables caused everyone to shift.

There were quite a few couples who left once they saw the narrow path that they had to squeeze though to sit down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent place for restaurant Week and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent place for restaurant Week and the atmosphere is buzzing at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was so sour, especially the pad tha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was so sour, especially the pad thai and mushrooms in salmon and filet mignon. Not family style portions, more like tapas style on big plates. Definitely overrated and actually think the yelp reviews all rigged

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The service was excellent! Our waitress ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent! Our waitress was very accommodating of a dietary restriction for our of our guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too loud. It felt like a night club. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Way too loud. It felt like a night club. Food was good, but menu was confusing. The "sides" were actually enormous, so we ended up wasting lot of it. Waitress was nice. Crowd was loud and obnoxious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

My wife and I love this place. My person ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I love this place. My personal favorites are the pork bao buns, duck fried rice, and of course the little ice cream cone deserts. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a regular patron of sampan and usua ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I am a regular patron of sampan and usually love it. Went there for restaurant week and it was the WORST experience. Not only were we seated over a half hour late, but when we finally were seated, the food took forever to come out. Furthermore, their restaurant week menu was quite misleading. Online, it appeared that every diner would receive 7 courses, however, this was not the case. The table had to decide on the meal together and they would be portioned for the table. I left hungry and highly unsatisfied. Definitely not worth wasting a Restaurant Week pick on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I was a little disappointed with Sampan. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was a little disappointed with Sampan. I have been wanting to go for several months now, having herd awesome things about it. I went for restaurant week last week, and it was just alright. The restaurant week special was the chef's tasting menu, priced at $35 instead of $45 - so a pretty good deal. I was with 1 other person, and we got to choose 7 items to share (from various parts of the menu). The food was good. There were a couple things that were great - the edamame dumplings and the filet mignon - but everything else was just good. That's normally not a problem for me, except when I'm at a place where the prices would indicate that it should be above par.

The other thing that bothered me about Sampan was that it was extremely rushed. They have a free flowing kitchen, which means that the dishes come out as they are finished. Normally I like that, especially when you're doing tapas or shareables. However, at Sampan they had delivered all 7 dishes plus dessert in under 45 minutes. We were in and out, including ordering food and drinks, eating, drinking, and paying the bill in about 50 minutes. It felt incredibly rushed, and again, when you're paying $30+ per person (not including alcohol), I expect to have a nicer dining experience, which means time to actually enjoy the meal and the people you're with.

Also - I'm sure this is restaurant-week specific so for anyone thinking of going for that time - it was very crowded. We shared a table for 4 with another couple because the tables were packed in so tightly. It was also really loud, so maybe not a great place for intimate conversation. This doesn't bother me much and didn't really impact my ratings, but just FYI.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

starving when you leave ha not kidding i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

starving when you leave ha not kidding i's serious. 4 people 35.00 each. one dumpling , one scallop, one tiny piece of filet thought I was getting punked omg

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

food was really good. went during restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

food was really good. went during restaurant week and got the chef's tasting menu. food came out in a weird order. didn't get our side dish of rice until 6 items in. Very loud. don't go if you really want to have a conversation.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took my friend here to celebrate going b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Took my friend here to celebrate going back to college. For it being restaurant week the service was really good and our food came out in a very timely manner. Not to mention we got to pick from every section of the menu! Which means it was an AWESOME value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful! Best choice for re ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Best choice for restaurant week yet. I loved every dish that came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food. Wasnt sure what I was g ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Loved the food.

Wasnt sure what I was getting myself into but it turned out really well.

Even with small app style dishes it packed a lot of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a very long wait for a random Wednes ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was a very long wait for a random Wednesday night but the Philadelphia restaurant week menu here was wonderful. We will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I went to Sampan for restaurant week wit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I went to Sampan for restaurant week with 3 other people. We had to choose meals to share, which was fine but not what we thought originally. When our first course came out, there were only 2 small tacos for a table of 4 people. We asked our waitress and she told us we should've 4. For every part of our meal had to continue asking for the rest of our portions. When the main course came out, it was a small piece of fish that we had to split between 4 people, so we each got about 2 forkfuls. The bill was 198$ for the 4 of us, which is ridiculous for the amount of food we were given. It was very disappointing. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I found food not to be so good that you ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I found food not to be so good that you would want to come back. Some dishes were good. We tried restaurant week Menu and portions were veery small. I do not eat much, but I came home hungry.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We visited Sampan for dinner before the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We visited Sampan for dinner before the Adele concert at the Wells Fargo Center. The food and service was excellent. It was a touch pricey -- especially the wine -- but certainly a great meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was awesome, had loads of fun with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was awesome, had loads of fun with friends but our server was not very nice. When we ask questions she gave us look made us feel dumb. I would have order more food but because of her attitude we decided not to. I wanted a drink and she was talking to person next to me so I gave a chance to finish. I did put my hand up and she looked at me and I thought she was ask me what I wanted to order instead she walked away. Not a good experience..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

As always, Sampan is consistent with it' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

As always, Sampan is consistent with it's flavors, service, and overall experience. This visit felt a bit rushed, with course coming out just moments after ordering, however, the food and service were fantastic and the meal was satisfying. I never leave disappointed! On this visit, I tried a few new flavors and was not disappointed. The edamame dumplings are sublime...

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my first time and my birthdays ce ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was my first time and my birthdays celebration. The host was a tad uptight that I wanted to sit down until my date arrived. Otherwise, very good she a birthday treat was added 🤓👍🏾

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were great however ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food and service were great however the noise lever was horrible. If you would like to have a conversation or intimate dinner this is not the place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had the tasting option and enjoyed it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had the tasting option and enjoyed it very much. This option allowed us, a party of four, to select a variety of dishes, which enabled us to sample a sizable part of the menu. This only enhanced our desire to return to Sampan to have those dishes we sampled and those we didn't get to. My only complaint is the loud music, which makes conversation challenging.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesomefood especially loved the chef sp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Awesomefood especially loved the chef special being able to pick a bunch of options from all over the menu and the scorpionbowl

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife for her birthday. This was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday. This was our second time at Sampan. Enjoyed the dumplings and really loved the duck fried rice. Pad Thai was okay. We also had crab tacos and they were good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and drinks. Great ambianc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food and drinks. Great ambiance also great location.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

stupid loud, couldn't even talk to eacho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

stupid loud, couldn't even talk to eachother. stacked ontop of other people. very small portions. disappointing for sure.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We did the chefs tasting and it was so r ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We did the chefs tasting and it was so rushed that we had to ask them to stop bringing the food. We had 3 dishes brought out within 5 minutes and before we even had gotten our bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

SO load - tough to communicate with wait ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

SO load - tough to communicate with wait staff and friends - need to do something with fabrics and internal cosmetics to reduce noise levels = takes away from the overall experience

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience at Samp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always a great dining experience at Sampan. Every vegitarian option is a good pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. We asked for a q ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was very good. We asked for a quiet table because we were having a special reunion with a friend and her daughter. Unfortunately the restaurant was so loud that you could only hear the person seated next to you and you could barely hear the person across from you. Great restaurant with good energy. Not a good choice if you want to have a discussion. We were very disappointed that we were unable to catch up with our friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

I booked a reservation at Sampan to cele ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I booked a reservation at Sampan to celebrate my birthday with some friends. They called me the day before to confirm the reservation - which I appreciated. The ambiance of the restaurant is very lively, even on a Tuesday night which I appreciated because it isn't much fun to go to a dead restaurant. The service was subpar. Maybe our server was having a bad day or just didn't like our table, but there was an air of distaste from the moment she sat us down and my friend asked how much a tea would cost. The food was okay, the appetizer portions are a bit small. I would recommend the edamame dumplings and the duck fried rice as my two favorites. I do give the waitress/restaurant credit for bringing complimentary ice cream out for my birthday. Overall, I think it was a good experience, with decent food, and good energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great venue, never disappoints.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great venue, never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.