About Sampan - Philadelphia

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: 8888586536

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
General Tso's Soup Dumplings
Steamed Broccoli
Kimchi Fried Rice
Chicken Bao Buns
Korean Fried Chicken
Hamachi Ceviche
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Ice Cream Sushi Roll
La Terre Cabernet Wine
Crab Taco
Crispy Brussels Sprouts
Broccolini
The Dragon
Grilled Spanish Octopus
Gulf Shrimp Satay
 Carpaccio
Tofu Lettuce Wraps
Cobia
Shrimp & Lobster Dumplings
Kobe Beef Fried Rice
Crab Wonton Taco
Pork Bao Buns
shrimp pad thai
beef short ribs
Korean BBQ Beef Satay
Soft Serve ice cream
Ommegang Witte
Negroni
Crispy Rock Shrimp
Sesame Rice Balls
Lobster Ceviche
Chiliean Sea Bass With Long Beans Over Cauliflower Puree
Korean Fried Chicken Satay
Philly Cheese Steak
Cupcake Trio
General Taos Soup Buns
Smores Tart
Course 5, Tasting Menu
Peking Duck, Scallion Bun, Cucumber, Hoisin
Hot & Sour Branzino, Wood Ear, Bean Sprouts, Chinese Sausage
Chocolate Reese's Puff & Fruit Loop Soft Serve Ice Cream
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart S'mores
Spring Rolls
Chicken Bao Bun
Roasted Broccoli
Twisted Thai
Vietnamese Spring Roll
Pumpkin Custard Bar
Cheese Steak Pot Stickers
Soy Glazed Salmon
Charred Lamb Ribs, Chili, Cumin, Curried Cauliflower
Korean Fried Chicken Satay, Honey Mustard, Ko Choo Jung, Togarashi
Shrimp & Lobster Dumpling, Miso Broth, Scallion, Tofu
General Tso Soup Dumpling, Chicken, Soy, Vinegar
Kobe Beef Fried Rice, Tomato, Scallion, Crispy Shallot
Kobe Sliders
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Chicken & Pea Shoot Dumpling
Mushroom Dumplings
Sake Sangria
Shrimp And Lobster Dumpling Soup
Spicy Rock Shrimp Tampura
Tuna Rice Crackers
Vegetarian Pad Thai
Fatty Lamb Ribs, Mustard Marinated With Eggplant Confit, Charred Peppers, Roti
Lobster
Tartare
Pork Potstickers
Tempura Lobster Roll
Vietnamese Spring Rolls
Duck Egg Rolls
Kobe hot dog
Korean Bbq Satay
Szechuan Chicken
Philly Cheesesteak
Cucumber Margarita Scorpian Bowl
Filet Mignon
Fall Back Scorpian Bowl
Spicey Tuna Crackers
Spicey Rock Shrimp
Tofu Taco
edamame wontons
Thai Shrimp Satay
Crab Wanton Tacos
Kobe Beef Sampler
frog legs
Seared Scallops
Seared Tuna
Shishito Peppers
"Philly Cheesesteak" Bao
The Heat
Roasted brussels sprouts
General Tso's Dumplings
"Philly Cheesesteak"
Kitkat And Vanilla Crunchberry Ice Cream Cones
Kim Che Fried Rice
Sesame Noodles
Crispy Szechuan Chicken
Scallop Satay

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

Fit for Foodies (111)
Hot Spot (104)
Good for Groups (87)
See All
Special Occasion (64)
Vibrant Bar Scene (63)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Romantic (38)
Late-night Find (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Great for Lunch (11)
Scenic View (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great dining experience at Samp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great dining experience at Sampan. Every vegitarian option is a good pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. We asked for a q ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good. We asked for a quiet table because we were having a special reunion with a friend and her daughter. Unfortunately the restaurant was so loud that you could only hear the person seated next to you and you could barely hear the person across from you. Great restaurant with good energy. Not a good choice if you want to have a discussion. We were very disappointed that we were unable to catch up with our friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

I booked a reservation at Sampan to cele ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

I booked a reservation at Sampan to celebrate my birthday with some friends. They called me the day before to confirm the reservation - which I appreciated. The ambiance of the restaurant is very lively, even on a Tuesday night which I appreciated because it isn't much fun to go to a dead restaurant. The service was subpar. Maybe our server was having a bad day or just didn't like our table, but there was an air of distaste from the moment she sat us down and my friend asked how much a tea would cost. The food was okay, the appetizer portions are a bit small. I would recommend the edamame dumplings and the duck fried rice as my two favorites. I do give the waitress/restaurant credit for bringing complimentary ice cream out for my birthday. Overall, I think it was a good experience, with decent food, and good energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great venue, never disappoints.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great venue, never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sampan used to be one of our top ten res ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sampan used to be one of our top ten restaurants in the area. The beef dishes were too salty and tough. The tuna tartar used to be excellent. Unfortunately, we knew it was not right when we both bit into it. It was fishy. We ended up being ill for the past three days -- ill enough that we probably lost a few pounds but not ill enough for us to end up in the hospital. Very unfortunately. We are crossing Sampan off our list of places to eat. Sorry.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Was there to celebrate my grandson's 9th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was there to celebrate my grandson's 9th birthday. He enjoyed trying different food to eat. Thought it was very nice someone bought him a little ice cream cone, but taken aback to see that I was charged for it. Otherwise, pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server brought all of our food out a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our server brought all of our food out at one time and was very obviously trying to turn our table over so he could get a new table. It was incredibly rude.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Always a great meal. 4 of us arrived o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a great meal.

4 of us arrived on time, we asked to be seated but were told they could not seat us until all arrived. We squeezed through the crowd in hopes of getting to the bar. I went back to the Hostess stand and said that the remainder had just parked, could we be seated so we could get drinks. The hostess was accommodating.How server Eric came over quickly for drink orders. He was brand new and of course our table was asking for vodkas that he was not sure about. He did know what they had but did go to check on other request, absolute mandarin, (who drinks absolute anymore LOL) The last two arrived and he took their drink orders also.

We all agreed on the tasting menu @ $45 ea... well worth the price. Eric did a great job of explaining the items we could choose... all of his recommends were spot on.

Some key items were The Korean BBQ Beef satay were melt in your mouth outstanding!. TheXO Scallop were wonderful, crusty flavorful and done perfectly. The duck fried rice and roasted broccoli (yes broccoli) were worth the trip themselves.

Only item that was just "OK" was the filet... we may try the short ribs next time back.

The only issue that drives us and many others nuts is that the "side dishes" always seem to come out at the end of the meal (yes we have been here before). The food is served "as ready" we talk about ordering just the sides, then 5-10 min later order the rest so we can enjoy them all together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The place is fantastic food is great dri ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The place is fantastic food is great drinks are awesome it will become my new favorite in philly will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Celebrated our 5yr wedding anniversary t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Celebrated our 5yr wedding anniversary there. We plan on returning next month. Great food...get the chef's tasting option!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except for the nois ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was great except for the noise. It was very loud. People were talking loud sitting right next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely freaking spectacular Every pl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Absolutely freaking spectacular

Every plate kept getting better and better

Spend $45 and get 7 amazing options - you'll be full by the time you're done and get unique mini ice cream treats to finish off an amazing experience in an energetic setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Jessica was a great server and tequila w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Jessica was a great server and tequila watermelon cocktails were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the tasting menu, you can't go wrong ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Get the tasting menu, you can't go wrong. This allows you to pick from different types of food and has a nice eclectic mix.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small plates are great, tasteful and fun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Small plates are great, tasteful and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great good as always! Only thing was 2 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great good as always! Only thing was 2 separate items that were delivered to our table that we didn't order. Oh well, we got to eat those items anyway and they were awesome. They did not forget to bring anything we ordered.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was extremely warm. The a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The restaurant was extremely warm. The air conditioning was malfunctioning. This impacted my experience. The food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Sampan never fails to satisfy! Food is a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sampan never fails to satisfy! Food is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No air conditioning. Disaster. Still pa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

No air conditioning. Disaster. Still packing people in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

The food and service at Sampan were both ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service at Sampan were both great. We got several dishes and they were all delicious. I recommend the General Tso's soup dumplings -- yum! We went for our anniversary dinner and I had done a search for "romantic" restaurants and found Sampan. Although the lighting was low, the restaurant was loud and crowded. Better for non-romanitc dinners.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good, innovative Asian fusion. D ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Really good, innovative Asian fusion. Definitely recommend. Lots of choices. Sea bass was superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I had dinner at Sampan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My boyfriend and I had dinner at Sampan to celebrate his 21st birthday. I called the restaurant ahead to let them know about the birthday and was really excited because I read that they bring a sparkler out with dessert. However, unfortunately they must've missed the note about the birthday and we didn't get to celebrate as hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent! Everything was great. We ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent! Everything was great. We had a variety of small plates and everything was delicious. The spice level was spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hostess problem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Hostess problem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was very good. It is a bit nois ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was very good. It is a bit noisy and dark for my taste. Service was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding food and excellent service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding food and excellent service. Noisy as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, although dishes came out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was great, although dishes came out a little fast, faster than we were consuming them, so table got very crowded. Noise level was high making it hard to have a conversation. Service was very friend and efficient. Would definitely go back for the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was just as good a second time back ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was just as good a second time back. Fried chicken, edamame dumplings, Brussels sprouts, DanDan noodles, and pork bao buns were all tasty and the perfect amount for 5 people. It is unclear that happy hour doesn't happen in the dining room. Service could have been a bit more attentive, the last two dishes came out pretty slowly after our server checked twice to see if they had been brought out. We were not asked if we'd like dessert either. Would return for the food and sit at the bar if we go back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We took friends out to dinner who had no ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We took friends out to dinner who had not been here before. We had the chef's tasting menu; a great choice. We have always had a great meal at Sampan; can't wait to return. Always a five star dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sampan is my go-to. Always great service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Sampan is my go-to. Always great service, excellent food and awesome soft serve. Never a dull moment at the kitchen bar..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love!! We enjoyed the tastin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Love, love, love!! We enjoyed the tasting menu! Every course was amazing!

Yummy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sampan is me and my boyfriends favorite ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Sampan is me and my boyfriends favorite restaurant in the city and tonight we celebrated out one year anniversary with them. Our waitress Alex was great she even brought us two mini comes with a sparkler for our celebrating. The food was phenomenal as always and the drinks were delicious as well. It's never a bad review! A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pork buns are where it's at. We also ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The pork buns are where it's at. We also had some sake, which was really tasty. My man had a cocktail and he liked it a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great small plates, Edamame Dumpling was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great small plates, Edamame Dumpling was amazing, as well as the crab wonton taco's. All the dishes we had were spot on, some nice veggie options as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Can't say enough good things about this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Can't say enough good things about this place. The food and the ambiance continue to impress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre at best. Felt very rus ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was mediocre at best. Felt very rushed to eat and get out. Super loud. Hard to have conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Wonderful food and cocktails! The varie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful food and cocktails! The variety of food and flavors were amazing! Restrooms were entertaining with one line movie real playing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Sampan is definitely a great restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sampan is definitely a great restaurant to eat at if you're willing to try new types of food and never leaving hungry!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We definitely recommend the small plates ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We definitely recommend the small plates and satay and sides! I would probably leave out ordering from the large plate selection, our char Sui pork was very chewy and difficult to eat when put in the bao buns and we did not have a knife to attempt to cut the chewy pieces. They were lacking the flavor that you could get with the other steamed buns. Our server was attentive at first and very helpful with our seafood allergy. Unfortunately our service declined as our dinner went on, he checked on us for the first half our meal but then forgot about us. We were sitting for about 30 minutes with nothing on our table until one of our party went to go find our server and ask for our check since we gave up hope of any type of dessert course and just wanted to leave. We were not the only ones to notice that we had been forgotten. He dropped our check off but did not return the processed receipts and had someone else drop them off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The food was very good, the only thing I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was very good, the only thing I would like to add is additional lighting. The restaurant is very dim and when you're ordering food that you've never tasted/had before its a bit difficult to check out what you're really eating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.