About Sampan - Philadelphia

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: (888) 858-6536

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (63)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Tasting Menu (59)
See All
Hot Spot (56)
Good for a Date (50)
Fun (46)
Happy Hour (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Good for Groups (43)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Tapas (38)
Casual (34)
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Authentic (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
People Watching (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Quick Bite (14)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (11)
Spicy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vegan (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time during restaurant week. The tasting menu was excellent and our server Ryan was super attentive. We will return soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Pros - food and service.
Cons - strong odor of Clorox, coming from the kitchen. OK, they clean it, but I do not want to smell it. To be fair, we were there before 6, and perhaps they just opened up... but still, clorox is not a smell I like to have, while dinning.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went to Sampan for restaurant week. The tasting menu for restaurant week was similar to the standard tasting menu for $35 each. All of our courses were served beautifully, and were delicious. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

MY wife and I went for restaurant week with a recommendation from co-worker. The food had interesting twist and surprises that were tasty. While I did enjoy the experience, I asked my wife the most important question, would you go there again? Her and my answer was no....
So if you like trying new spots, this is good. Just not good enough for repeat in a philly town with a lot of variety.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

What's fun experience!! Food was amazing!! We tried the chefs tasting & afterwards my husband ordered a little extra food bc he was full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had the seats overlooking the kitchen and the chefs and waitress were so nice. The food was amazing and the drinks were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great. It happened to be restaurant week, so 7 courses were only $35. The only problem was seating was too tight for wheelchair access. Two diners had to move in order for wheelchair to get by.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Even though things were hopping for restaurant week, the servers were very friendly and accommodating. Food was delish. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Although Sampan came highly recommended to me, it was not quite what I envisioned. I had hoped for quieter ambiance, ability to hear friends' conversation at my table, and food that was a little less spicy (and salty). I can see how it might appeal to a younger crowd, but frankly I prefer a more meditative space in which to eat, less rock music blasting in the background, (and with service that moves a little more quickly...)

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food at Sampan is delicious. We all ordered the chef's sampling. The food came out VERY fast. Every dish was very tasty. We all enjoyed the sampling.
It is a very busy place, thankfully we had a reservation.
Noise level was very high. We had trouble hearing each other at our table and had to ask the waitress to repeat things.
Overall, a fun night out.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and attentive service. Good value. Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had the Chef's Tasting menu for Restaurant Week. Everything we picked was very good, especially the edamame dumplings and the beef satay. The salmon and filet were really good, but small portions. Beautiful ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were seated to see the open flow kitchen which was quite amazing. Everything on the menu looked so good so we ordered additional food after ordering from the restaurant week menu. Really recommend the Korean BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The tables are really close together which became a nuisance when the waiter was serving food to the table next to us. The waiter's behind was at the height of our table and nearly made contact with our food. It was a very tight and uncomfortable space. The restaurant was also very loud. I kept having to ask the waiter to repeat himself and he kept asking us to repeat ourselves. Also, the restaurant was too dark. Many people had to use the light on their cell phones to read the menu.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The Chef's tasting for Restaurant Week was outstanding. The options they allow you to pick is well worth even the everyday price. Sampan is appropriate for all occasions - casual dining to a formal occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great place, great food, I'll definitely be back! But they pack people in there. We were basically sharing a table with the people at the table next to us, and it was hard for me to get to my seat without bumping the couple on the other side of us, and I'm not a particularly large person.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Overpriced for the tasting menu even during restaurant week, as the portions were small. The food was good, but nothing special. We were asked multiple times during each (of 7 courses) how the food was. Although we appreciated the attentive staff, it felt intrusive. We felt rushed and received bill prior to receiving our final course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Everything was really good, the only problem was that they forgot to give us our fried rice. However the manager did bring it over for us to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

small portions for restaurant week, good service. Manger did a good job of dealing with disrespectful customers

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Best Restaurant Week deal in city. $35 for their Tasting Menus which is normally $45. Not only is the food great but there are plenty of things to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Amazing all around experience. The food was amazing! We went for restaurant week and the portions were very large and enough for us to feel satisfied. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It's super dark in there, so bring a flashlight to read the menu. The food was great, a lot of options for sharing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Overall the restaurant was great and my first time there. However, the menu is a shareable one, so it was somewhat difficult to pick from menu due to my boyfriend having food allergies and I do not (to shellfish).

I would eat there again, but go with my girls who aren't allergic to seafood since we are sharing plates.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very pleasant all round. Good, thoughtful service. Excellent food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had never been to Sampan before but was Highly recommended by our son. We enjoyed the food and the fact that the daily tasting menu was available for Restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food! All the dishes were excellent. It has been 8yrs and the menu never disappoints !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing food. Had the Edamame dumplings, vegetable fried and pad thai. The service was excellent as well, food came out very quickly. My only critique is that it was very dark inside and sometimes difficult to see the menu/food. Would definitely recommend and go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

One member of our party has food allergies. From my pre-reservation call about available options, to check-in at the podium (our reservation was flagged so the server was aware), to our wonderful server, we could not have asked for a better experience. Oh, I must not forget the kitchen's willingness to tweak some things to accommodate. I've always loved Sampan, and its really earned my loyalty now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was wonderful and the service was great. Will absolutely go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I would recommend the tasting menu. You get to taste a variety of the menu choices.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was so good to be able to have Pekin Duck after so many years being gluten intolerant! Great food and ambiance

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We ALWAYS get jammed in a corner and crowded by other parties. Otherwise excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Sampan on Friday night & listed that in the reservation. Not sure why we are prompted to list that if it is not recognized. The food was very good, the server was very polite & friendly, the ambiance was very nice. The big miss was the service time- food came out very slowly. The server took extremely long to process our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Loved it! Service was great. Food was delicious. We got the tasting menu. Left stuffed. Everyone had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

New good food, nicely lite environment, fast serving , kind informative waiters, reasonable prices and good cocktails

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food and service were great as always. The tasting menu is one of the best in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was pretty dark in there. Hard to see the menu. Overall it was a pretty nice restaurant. I had the Kung pao wings which had a bit of a spicy kick to it and the crab Rangoon which was so good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. Couldn't ask f9r better service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had dinner on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was very full and bustling but still intimate enough to share a nice meal. My absolute favorite menu item is the edamame dumplings. So good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was as good as ever but the portions were very small. Tasting used to be 9 courses with 4 dinning now 7. One bite per course. Not worth the money anymore

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.