About Sampan - Philadelphia

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: 8888586536

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
General Tso's Soup Dumplings
Steamed Broccoli
Kimchi Fried Rice
Chicken Bao Buns
Hamachi Ceviche
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Korean Fried Chicken
Ice Cream Sushi Roll
Crab Taco
La Terre Cabernet Wine
Crispy Brussels Sprouts
The Dragon
Grilled Spanish Octopus
Broccolini
Gulf Shrimp Satay
 Carpaccio
Tofu Lettuce Wraps
Cobia
Shrimp & Lobster Dumplings
Kobe Beef Fried Rice
Crab Wonton Taco
Pork Bao Buns
shrimp pad thai
Soft Serve ice cream
beef short ribs
Korean BBQ Beef Satay
Ommegang Witte
Negroni
Crispy Rock Shrimp
Sesame Rice Balls
Lobster Ceviche
Chiliean Sea Bass With Long Beans Over Cauliflower Puree
Korean Fried Chicken Satay
Philly Cheese Steak
General Taos Soup Buns
Cupcake Trio
Smores Tart
Course 5, Tasting Menu
Peking Duck, Scallion Bun, Cucumber, Hoisin
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart S'mores
Hot & Sour Branzino, Wood Ear, Bean Sprouts, Chinese Sausage
Chocolate Reese's Puff & Fruit Loop Soft Serve Ice Cream
Spring Rolls
Chicken Bao Bun
Roasted Broccoli
Twisted Thai
Vietnamese Spring Roll
Pumpkin Custard Bar
Cheese Steak Pot Stickers
Soy Glazed Salmon
Kobe Beef Fried Rice, Tomato, Scallion, Crispy Shallot
Charred Lamb Ribs, Chili, Cumin, Curried Cauliflower
Korean Fried Chicken Satay, Honey Mustard, Ko Choo Jung, Togarashi
Shrimp & Lobster Dumpling, Miso Broth, Scallion, Tofu
General Tso Soup Dumpling, Chicken, Soy, Vinegar
Kobe Sliders
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Chicken & Pea Shoot Dumpling
Sake Sangria
Mushroom Dumplings
Shrimp And Lobster Dumpling Soup
Spicy Rock Shrimp Tampura
Tuna Rice Crackers
Vegetarian Pad Thai
Lobster
Fatty Lamb Ribs, Mustard Marinated With Eggplant Confit, Charred Peppers, Roti
Tartare
Pork Potstickers
Tempura Lobster Roll
Kobe hot dog
Duck Egg Rolls
Vietnamese Spring Rolls
Korean Bbq Satay
Szechuan Chicken
Philly Cheesesteak
Spicey Rock Shrimp
Fall Back Scorpian Bowl
Spicey Tuna Crackers
Filet Mignon
Cucumber Margarita Scorpian Bowl
edamame wontons
Tofu Taco
Crab Wanton Tacos
Thai Shrimp Satay
Kobe Beef Sampler
frog legs
Seared Scallops
Seared Tuna
Shishito Peppers
"Philly Cheesesteak" Bao
The Heat
Roasted brussels sprouts
Kitkat And Vanilla Crunchberry Ice Cream Cones
"Philly Cheesesteak"
General Tso's Dumplings
Kim Che Fried Rice
Sesame Noodles
Crispy Szechuan Chicken
Scallop Satay

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Hot Spot
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (111)
hot spot (108)
good for groups (91)
See All
vibrant bar scene (67)
special occasion (62)
neighborhood gem (50)
romantic (38)
late-night find (22)
great for outdoor dining (19)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (6)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sampan is me and my boyfriends favorite ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 12 hours ago

Sampan is me and my boyfriends favorite restaurant in the city and tonight we celebrated out one year anniversary with them. Our waitress Alex was great she even brought us two mini comes with a sparkler for our celebrating. The food was phenomenal as always and the drinks were delicious as well. It's never a bad review! A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things about this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Can't say enough good things about this place. The food and the ambiance continue to impress.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre at best. Felt very rus ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was mediocre at best. Felt very rushed to eat and get out. Super loud. Hard to have conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Wonderful food and cocktails! The varie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food and cocktails! The variety of food and flavors were amazing! Restrooms were entertaining with one line movie real playing!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Sampan is definitely a great restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Sampan is definitely a great restaurant to eat at if you're willing to try new types of food and never leaving hungry!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We definitely recommend the small plates ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We definitely recommend the small plates and satay and sides! I would probably leave out ordering from the large plate selection, our char Sui pork was very chewy and difficult to eat when put in the bao buns and we did not have a knife to attempt to cut the chewy pieces. They were lacking the flavor that you could get with the other steamed buns. Our server was attentive at first and very helpful with our seafood allergy. Unfortunately our service declined as our dinner went on, he checked on us for the first half our meal but then forgot about us. We were sitting for about 30 minutes with nothing on our table until one of our party went to go find our server and ask for our check since we gave up hope of any type of dessert course and just wanted to leave. We were not the only ones to notice that we had been forgotten. He dropped our check off but did not return the processed receipts and had someone else drop them off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The food was very good, the only thing I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was very good, the only thing I would like to add is additional lighting. The restaurant is very dim and when you're ordering food that you've never tasted/had before its a bit difficult to check out what you're really eating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was pretty loud and busy but we lived ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was pretty loud and busy but we lived the good. The edamame dumplings were delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Everyone & everything was wonderful!

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everyone & everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the food was incredible as always, the d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

the food was incredible as always, the date... Not so great!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was terrific and the food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waitress was terrific and the food was good. It was our first time there and she efficiently explaining how the menu worked. Love the small plates/sharing concept. Very good satay, spicy delicious new cucumber salad on their menu, and good, but not great, soup dumplings. Edamame dumplings were mushy and disappointing, and skip the duck fried rice - tasted packaged, more rice and fried than duck flavor or duck itself.

We were there at 7 for dinner on a Sunday night, place was pretty empty and they sat us way in the back which I didn't love. If I go again, would sit outside, or at the counter facing the kitchen - darkly lit restaurants are one thing, but when you have to hold up the very small tea-light candle in order to even read the menu, your lighting needs work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best restaurant and service I have ever ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best restaurant and service I have ever had. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Waiter was a little rude. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good. Waiter was a little rude. It was really hot inside the restaurant. Have been there many times before, so maybe it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

I love Sampans happy hour. 4pm-7pm. Chea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I love Sampans happy hour. 4pm-7pm. Cheap apps and drinks that are so delicious. The crispy Brussels are the best and we loved the beef satay. We got their shrimp rice bowl. It was a huge portions and for $4 I couldn't complain too much about the shrimp being bland (still delish)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Amazing food and great atmosphere.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had reservations and wait was over 1 h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had reservations and wait was over 1 hour to be seated. Is extremely loud. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

While the waitress was very accommodatin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

While the waitress was very accommodating of our special food requests, the service was very slow and the short rib was incredibly overcooked. We ordered the tasting menu and it took so long to get our dishes that the waitress went to bring us our dessert before our last dish came (she thought we had received all of our dishes). The food, other than the short rib, was very good, but this was our second trip to this restaurant and it was not nearly as good as our first trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We came here for our once in a blue moon ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We came here for our once in a blue moon date night and it was wonderful! Samantha, our waitress was fantastic and made our experience lovely. She never missed a beat. The food was out of this world as always. We probably should've sat inside because all of our food didn't even fit on our table. All in all it was amazing and we walked out happy and full!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with friends from out of town to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went with friends from out of town to Sampan for dinner because we heard great things, and it lived up to the hype! We all split 5 or 6 plates and there was nothing I wouldn't recommend. The edamame dumplings, chicken bao buns & dan dan noodles were all amazing. Our waiter was so helpful and not pushy even when we were debating what to get, he was great and the service was quick. Highly recommend Sampan for almost any occasion or just a casual dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The edamame dumplings are to die for!!!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The edamame dumplings are to die for!!!!! So delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always have a great meal and great tim ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I always have a great meal and great time. I will defiantly go back again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Philly ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Philly, and didn't disappoint. The food was phenomenal - we got the edamame dumplings, duck fried rice, lamb satay, and dan dan noodles. They got rid of the Junmai Fizz but replaced it with an equally tasty champagne cocktail. No sake in it anymore though which is a bummer.

I just moved away from Philly and Sampan was where I chose to get my last meal from - at the end of the meal the waitress brought our table some ice cream on the house to say goodbye. A wonderful end to my time in Philly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I NEVER write BUT my at Sampan was TOO G ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I NEVER write BUT my at Sampan was TOO GOOD not to! The service was spot on and the food was DELICIOUS nice and hot and flavorful. be disappointed!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Slow to seat us and slow to serve but th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Slow to seat us and slow to serve but they were really busy and gave us two complimentary small plates. However, they didn't tell us they were comp-ed and we were confused, then they accidentally charged us for them. It all worked out in the end, but the food was really good. I'd definitely just order their small plates at Graffiti Bar next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I do not like to write bad reviews howev ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I do not like to write bad reviews however get me once, get me twice... that's it! This was my second try. I was displeased the first time but everyone raved so I went back. The service is horrible, waiters are rude and they ignore you, and the timing of the food and the quality both lack greatly!!!! Example: a bus boy brings over the fried rice and said he will be back to mix it and never came back. We called someone over and he said well, I need a spoon to mix it and went to look for one and it took another 10 minutes for him to come back. I will not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is DE-LI-SIOUS!!! Boa buns...AMAZIN ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is DE-LI-SIOUS!!! Boa buns...AMAZING! drinks are good too! all worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is amazing. The vegetarian menu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is amazing. The vegetarian menu is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

I've hesitated to submit a review of thi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've hesitated to submit a review of this restaurant as I don't usually post negative feedback. However, if an establishment is going to accept online reservations for large parties, they need to not have such a group wait for over 45 minutes for their reserved table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great food and atmosphere. Quick service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Quick service and attentive staff

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good I eat everywhere and it is a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good

I eat everywhere and it is a high recommendation of mine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our second time at Sampan and w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second time at Sampan and we were disappointed about not getting half the food we ordered as part of the tasting menu before we had to leave for the theater. We were there before on a Saturday night and everything came quickly, but this experience was quite different. Our main courses never came, despite the fact we informed our server of our time constraints; we were fortunate that we were able to locate the manager who took a portion of the charges off our bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Love it here. One of my favorites.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love it here. One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The edamame dumplings were a huge hit wi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The edamame dumplings were a huge hit with everyone at our table and we were daydreaming about thise delicious morsels even on the next day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place came highly recommended and w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This place came highly recommended and while the food was enjoyable, there was not enough for the price we paid. We ordered 4 chef tastings at $45ea (there were 5 of us) and we were still hungry at the end and had to order more food. If you are a real eater, eat something first before you go.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I always enjoy the selection of food ite ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I always enjoy the selection of food items here.

My fav is the kale & calamari salad.

We ordered a few different small plates and then shared between the 4 of us.

Sampan is definitely a favorite of mine.

Though I was a bit surprised to find that it was considerably crowded for a Mon night & the noise level were more consistent with Fri or Sat night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did the chef tasting and boy oh boy w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We did the chef tasting and boy oh boy was it a lot of food , and all our favorites! The service was amazing ! We had a party of 15 and Patrick didn't miss a beat !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! If all you read of this review is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wow! If all you read of this review is this line, ORDER THE DAN DAN NOODLES!!

I opted to go to Sampan, versus another local Asian Cuisine after reading the reviews and looking at the menu and MAN am I happy. The other meal might have been great, but SamPan was AWESOME!!! This was a Date night with the wife. We appreciated the "shared" plates menu style and enjoyed the constantly flowing order delivery versus a single table seating of food all at once. This ensured we were at least nibbling on something great the whole time, and whatever was on the table was hot and as fresh as can be.

We went on a Saturday night, and it was quite busy inside, but our reservations were held exactly as they should have been and we were seated immediately. We each ordered a drink- the wife enjoyed a cocktail and I had a local beer on tap. Food wise we ordered the Lamb Chop Satay, Crispy Rock shrimp, Filet Mignon, Dan Dan Noodles and Crispy Brussel Sprouts. Everything was very flavorful and uniquely seasoned. All items were cooked exactly as ordered. The Dan Dan Noodles were the shining star. Tons of complex flavors, and just the right amount of heat. The Brussel Sprouts were a bit bitter for my taste, however my wife loved them.

Overall We would easily return to SamPan, and intact we hope we do soon, next time perhaps with a larger group of people to all share the awesome food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sampan is a very good restaurant. It's ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Sampan is a very good restaurant. It's perfect for an Asian small plates dinner. The Dan Dan noodles are fabulous. All of the small plates are good. The Korean chicken was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reservations but they were worthl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had reservations but they were worthless.

Hostess forgot about is after my full party checked in.

Just a night mare. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

The edamame dumplings were amazing, I wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The edamame dumplings were amazing, I wish I could eat them everyday! The service was good, the atmosphere was lively and fun. The shrimp satay was not good, I could only taste a burnt flavor, I actually thought it was awful. I would definitely go back but I would stay away from the satay. Overall: I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.