About Sampan - Philadelphia

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Hot Spot
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (169)
hot spot (135)
good for groups (114)
See All
vibrant bar scene (101)
special occasion (72)
neighborhood gem (71)
romantic (42)
late-night find (28)
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for lunch (11)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Some favorites we ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was really good. Some favorites were General Tso soup dumplings, pork belly sandwiches,waygu beef satay & duck fried rice! Service was excellent. Ambience was really cool. Can't wait to go back. Credit card machine wasn't working. Cash only.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. The food was ex ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding experience. The food was extremely well prepared and full of flavor. The staff was all very helpful. The ambience was energetic and fun. The sake was good and reasonably priced. Honestly, one of the best meals I have had in quite some time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was excellent. He suggested t ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Our server was excellent. He suggested the $45 prix fixe for the four of us and it proved to be the perfect way to go. Love the design and the energy of the room - and the amazing variety of flavors in each dish we had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Happy Hour!!

Dined 5 days ago

It was my first time here. I had a fabulous time!! The ambience was great. The people working there were very friendly! Happy hour is the best!!! The food and drinks are very good and not expensive at all. I can't wait to go back, and have told all of my friends about this great resturant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

To loud and table wasn't ready even thou ...

Dined 5 days ago

To loud and table wasn't ready even thou I had a reservation. Bathrooms need to be male and female!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As good as it was 8 months ago when I ch ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

As good as it was 8 months ago when I checked it out. The Bowl was awesome too!. Will be checking it out again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

The food was excellent and always quick ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was excellent and always quick to come to the table.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent asian fusion fare....customize ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent asian fusion fare....customized chef's tasting a great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Sampan. Our server, Nate, was at ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Sampan. Our server, Nate, was attentive and lively. Everyone loved the food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small plates with big taste

Dined on May 13, 2016

We ordered a large selection to share and everything had a different delectable flavor. Highlights include edamame wontons, crab tacos, wagyu beef satay, crispy brussels sprouts. The egg rolls had a delicious flavor with mustard aoli mayonaise, but they were not crisp enough for my taste. It was fun to sit at the counter and watch the ballet of the chefs. Prepare for enormous noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently great. Service great ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Always consistently great. Service great too. They always make it special

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service5

Food quality has suffered since we were ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Food quality has suffered since we were there last. All the meat courses were dry, and everything we ordered was lacking in taste. New chef? Food experience was mitigated by an excellent and attentive server.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Great Food, Terrible Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have eaten at Sampan several times and this was by far our worst experience, unfortunately. I brought a friend here from out of town, raving about Sampan, and we were both equally disappointed. We arrived on time for our 8:30pm reservation, to be seated at 9:15. The food was pretty good (we did the chef's tasting as usual) but the service... not on point for the level you'd expect in a restaurant like this. They brought out pad thai with no spoon or fork to serve it. They cleared our plates and forks/knives halfway through dinner but didn't bring us a new set so we couldn't eat the next course that came out. The waitress was never anywhere to be found. No one brought soy sauce dishes. Just really poor attention to detail and service. When you are paying this much for a dining experience, this is completely unacceptable. There are too many great restaurants in Philly to keep Sampan on the list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Noise level so loud difficult to convers ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Noise level so loud difficult to converse. Great food

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

have room to improve

Dined on May 6, 2016

We came here for friend's birthday, overall the service and the ambiance were great. However, the food we ordered was kind of disappointing. Brussels sprout was way too salty, or I should say in general everything is really salty.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Not bad

Dined on May 3, 2016

Some items are delicious Some not Worth the price

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food. No longer WOWS me like when t ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food. No longer WOWS me like when they first opened, lots of menu changes. Vegetarian menu is kinda weak. Happy to see the Chilean sea bass BACK on the menu. But now one of the fried rices is gone....the menu is only a wee bit thing can we stop removing the yum stuff?

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Chefs tasting menu worth every penny

Dined on April 30, 2016

If you're looking for a way to try a lot of food at Sampan for the most economical price, opt for the Chef's Tasting menu, which gets you seven selections of your choice, plus ice cream at the end! The meal was delicious, served as it was ready (so everything was hot and good to go) and made for a nice paced, relaxing dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend took me to this gem and I can't stop

Dined on April 30, 2016

Sampan is my ABSOLUTE FAVORITES restaurant in the city! The food is to die for! The ability to sit and watch the food being prepared is awesome too! I have never ordered anything I didn't like! Love love love me some sampan!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

I like to sit at the prep bar, and watch those amazing guys and girls prep dish after dish, moving as though someone choreographed them! I have been here for dinner and for happy hour, the wait staff have the same great attitude no matter what(remember to tip on what the cheque OUGHT to be, not what it is, because they are working even harder during Happy Hour!) and I love the skewered beef, the kimchee rice, the roasted, toasted Brussels sprouts, and of course that glass or two(or 3) of Chardonney!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Can't understand why it's liked so much!

Dined on April 24, 2016

It's a very avg place with a very average food selection and below average drinks. I would not recommend it at all to my friends

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it

Dined on April 22, 2016

Visiting Philadelphia with my daughter to search for colleges. We ordered the chef's tasting. Food was outstanding. Ceviche, peking duck, kale & squid salad, roasted broccoli, fish on sweet potato puree - all delicious. Only clinker was the shrimp dumplings - the spicy chili didn't quite work with the accompanying vinegar sauce. Would have been better with a sweet & spicy dressing. However, still quite good. Great service, lovely waitress supported by friendly helpers. Would love to return to Philadelphia just so we can have dinner at this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great atmosphere. Seated late.

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food and service was AMAZING! But they seated us 50 minutes after our reservation! They did comp us a few appetizers for our wait, and the service was great once we were seated, but 50 minutes is a LOOOONG time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef's Tasting

Dined on April 17, 2016

Went to Sampan with a group of friends specifically for the chef's tasting. We let our server pick our 7 tastings and she did not dissapoint. Everything was super delicious, especially the edamame dumplings. The only downside was that they brought out 5 of the tastings at once and then the sides and final two instead of spacing it out. It made us feel super rushed to eat everything quickly while it was still hot instead of being able to relax and enjoy or food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Decent but very noisy!

Dined on April 17, 2016

good food but it was VERY noisy....really hard to hear others.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to philly to visit a friend for the ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went to philly to visit a friend for the weekend and had dinner at Sampan - it was one of the best meals I've had in a long time! All the food was absolutely delicious and the perfect amount with some cocktails. Loved the atmosphere and the service was great! I was raving about dinner all night and would definitely recommend this to everyone

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not Bad

Dined on April 15, 2016

Cramped. But the service is attentive. Food is decent. Not the best but def not the worst.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum!

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had dinner on a Friday night. The bar was packed and hopping with the "just after happy hour" crowd. We were seated immediately (we had a reservation) . Waitress was friendly and helpful. The food is eclectic Asian...The chicken bao buns were excellent and the dan dan noodles were a favorite too. Excellent overall. Nice ambience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A different experience

Dined on April 8, 2016

Both ambiance and the food were unique. The food was delicious, although the quantities were significantly small. As long as that's what you're expecting that's great! We were glad to have the different experience, but once is good enough.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place but too NOISY

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Great ambiance, excellent interesting tastes in Pan-Asian cuisine. The seven course chef's sampler menu is a great way to go as you can pick and choose from a variety of things (hot, cold, satay, meat, fish, really good gelato in a small scoop cone sampler), small plate servings, excellent service (Nate) BUT, we went at 6 p.m. on a Thursday night and sat in the dining area off the bar and it was so unbearably noisy we could hardly carry on a conversation. I would like to return but will have to find the time when it's quieter, if that is possible. Perhaps the dining room on the other side of the bar is the better place for a more convivial dining experience?

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Food is amazing and our waitress was ver ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food is amazing and our waitress was very nice. The one downside is that the tasting menu items comes out too fast. It makes you feel a bit rushed. Other than that I love this place and will return. If you do go for dinner make sure to reserve a seat in the more private eating area. We had a seat by the kitchen and it felt like we were in the walkway.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fabulous meal! Staff is attenti ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Always a fabulous meal! Staff is attentive and friendly. Must try the soup dumplings, pork bao buns and Kimchi fried rice!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful Dining Experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

Sampan was a delight; their food was phenomenal, the waiters were attentive, and they did their best to keep our meal to our schedule (reservation @6:30 and our the door by 7:45 so we could walk to the Kimmel Center by 8 when our show started). We stuck to a half dozen of the small plates between us, which were all quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, the tasting menus superb!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and service, the tasting menus superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sampan is a great find

Dined on April 2, 2016

we absolutely loved the whole vibe of Sampan. The food was phenomenal, the waiter was a pleasure..we will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really good food and sevice

Dined on April 2, 2016

I had the beef short rib and it was supurb. Short rib was tender and juicy. The lo mein was cooked to perfection. I would come back here. Also had the mid town punch and that was amazing, not to light nor strong with the alcohol.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great for everyone

Dined on March 31, 2016

went with a group of coworkers and everyone was very happy with the food including our vegetarian. the chicken bao bun was fantastic we had to order more. food came out quickly and servers were attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a rock solid experience at Sampan ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Always a rock solid experience at Sampan. Great go tondate spot also. The food and service were spot on as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is outstanding.

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

This place is outstanding.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.