About Sampan - Philadelphia

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: 8888586536

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Edamame Dumplings - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
General Tso's Soup Dumplings - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Steamed Broccoli - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Korean Fried Chicken - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Pumpkin Cheesecake - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kimchi Fried Rice - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Hamachi Ceviche - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Bao Buns - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Ice Cream Sushi Roll - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
La Terre Cabernet Wine - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crab Taco - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Broccolini - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
The Dragon - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Spanish Octopus - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Gulf Shrimp Satay - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crispy Brussels Sprouts - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
 Carpaccio - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Cobia - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Shrimp & Lobster Dumplings - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe Beef Fried Rice - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crab Wonton Taco - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Pork Bao Buns - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
shrimp pad thai - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
beef short ribs - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Korean BBQ Beef Satay - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Soft Serve ice cream - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Ommegang Witte - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Negroni - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crispy Rock Shrimp - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Sesame Rice Balls - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Ceviche - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chiliean Sea Bass With Long Beans Over Cauliflower Puree - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Korean Fried Chicken Satay - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Philly Cheese Steak - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Cupcake Trio - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
General Taos Soup Buns - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Smores Tart - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Course 5, Tasting Menu - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Peking Duck, Scallion Bun, Cucumber, Hoisin - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Hot & Sour Branzino, Wood Ear, Bean Sprouts, Chinese Sausage - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chocolate Reese's Puff & Fruit Loop Soft Serve Ice Cream - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Peanut Butter Chocolate Tart S'mores - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spring Rolls - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Tofu Lettuce Wraps - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Bao Bun - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted Broccoli - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Twisted Thai - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Vietnamese Spring Roll - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Pumpkin Custard Bar - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Cheese Steak Pot Stickers - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Soy Glazed Salmon - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Charred Lamb Ribs, Chili, Cumin, Curried Cauliflower - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Korean Fried Chicken Satay, Honey Mustard, Ko Choo Jung, Togarashi - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Shrimp & Lobster Dumpling, Miso Broth, Scallion, Tofu - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
General Tso Soup Dumpling, Chicken, Soy, Vinegar - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe Beef Fried Rice, Tomato, Scallion, Crispy Shallot - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe Sliders - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crispy Brussel Sprouts - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken & Pea Shoot Dumpling - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Mushroom Dumplings - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Sake Sangria - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Shrimp And Lobster Dumpling Soup - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spicy Rock Shrimp Tampura - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Tuna Rice Crackers - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Vegetarian Pad Thai - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Fatty Lamb Ribs, Mustard Marinated With Eggplant Confit, Charred Peppers, Roti - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Tartare - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Pork Potstickers - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Tempura Lobster Roll - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Vietnamese Spring Rolls - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Duck Egg Rolls - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe hot dog - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Korean Bbq Satay - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Szechuan Chicken - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Philly Cheesesteak - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Cucumber Margarita Scorpian Bowl - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Filet Mignon - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Fall Back Scorpian Bowl - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spicey Tuna Crackers - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spicey Rock Shrimp - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Tofu Taco - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
edamame wontons - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Thai Shrimp Satay - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crab Wanton Tacos - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe Beef Sampler - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
frog legs - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Seared Scallops - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Seared Tuna - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Shishito Peppers - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
"Philly Cheesesteak" Bao - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
The Heat - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted brussels sprouts - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
General Tso's Dumplings - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
"Philly Cheesesteak" - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kitkat And Vanilla Crunchberry Ice Cream Cones - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kim Che Fried Rice - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Sesame Noodles - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crispy Szechuan Chicken - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Scallop Satay - Sampan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Fun (48)
See All
Modern Decor (43)
Tasting Menu (43)
Tapas (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Special Occasion (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Happy Hour (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Casual (22)
Open Kitchen (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Family Style (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Romantic (16)
People Watching (15)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Spicy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Scenic View (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vegan (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bday with fam - too dark, food was rushe ...

vip
·Dined 2 days ago

Bday with fam - too dark, food was rushed and not as good as in the past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Little bit of a wait but its expected at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Little bit of a wait but its expected at a place like this.. Food was great very fast and ambiance was awesome. I drive from NY to Philly justvto come here for dinner on weekends.. Love this Spot!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, , Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was really ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was excellent. Food was really good but really spicy. A bit overpriced.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a wonderful experience! We come t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful experience! We come to Sampan every year for our anniversary:)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I always love going to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

My boyfriend and I always love going to Sampan whether it's for a date or to stop by for their Happy Hour. We always start off with our favorites, edamame dumplings and bao buns. The service is great from the hostess to the servers and the individuals who bus tables. The scene is energetic, but not overbearing. The food is super quick and the drinks are made very well. What I love about their cocktails are that they do not fill glasses with ice and watered down drinks. The happy hour specials are something to definitely check out as well! Can't beat half price menu items. I come here for edamame dumplings over Buddakan's overpriced edamame dumplings any day!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Our server was great. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing. Our server was great. We were seated 39 minutes after our reservation time and observed people who arrived after us seated before us. Two small apps were delivered as compensation for the wait. Nearly 40 minutes after our scheduled reservation time is a bit excessive though.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Birthday The pest waitress I've ever h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday

The pest waitress I've ever had!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sampan is always a winner! Consistently ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Sampan is always a winner! Consistently delicious food and great cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, , Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service - highly reco ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal and service - highly recommended for both the business traveler and casual diner. Seating can be a bit cramped, with table very close to one another, but that's my only complaint.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant is horribly managed. They ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is horribly managed. They do nothing to help accommodate customers. There's no bar seating and no happy hour seating. Be prepared to wait a long long time for any happy hour special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

I absolutely do NOT understand why a res ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I absolutely do NOT understand why a restaurant won't seat an incomplete party - especially when its a party of 2, so 50% are already in attendance. I was meeting a friend at Sampan for an early (5:45 pm) dinner on a freezing cold day. I arrived maybe 7 minutes early because it was too cold out to walk around and was told I could not be seated. It was 5:40 in the evening. The restaurant was almost empty. When I inquired "Why?" I first got the answer "it would interfere with the kitchen's schedule." How, I asked, would my sitting and having a glass of water (and maybe a glass of wine) interfere with the kitchen? That elicited the response, "It's restaurant policy." Which is really a terrible answer. I stood against the wall and fumed.

When my friend arrived we were seated very politely and the manager came over and apologized but again said, "It is restaurant policy." I was hungry and cold and was not mollified, even when one of our small plates was provided free of charge.

But to the meal and our server. Ryan, our waiter, was excellent - attentive but not too attentive, appropriate on recommendations. The food was very good. At the moment I don't plan to return, but if you and your party can all arrive at once, you will find the atmosphere pleasant and the food tasty and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was delicious. Chef's tasting menu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food was delicious. Chef's tasting menu would be a deal if you got to each create your own menu, but instead the table has to create a shared menu. Mini soft serve at the end is an unexpected highlight. Service for drinks amd food taking was very slow. Once food was ordered it was fine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Food was solid. Girlfriend was craving p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was solid. Girlfriend was craving pork baos and we found this place which had them on the appetizer list. The baos were delicious, and everything came out nice and fresh and to order. A very modern take on Chinese food while also staying true to a more authentic taste.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding, food was fantas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was outstanding, food was fantastic- made dinner out of several small plates- and it was by far the best way to taste the many different options. Hot Chicken Bao Buns- delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and drinks, one of my favor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing food and drinks, one of my favorite go to restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy, overintrusive server, food no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Too noisy, overintrusive server, food not as good as anticipated. Maybe we're too old for this scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Simply awesome. Got the tasting and was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Simply awesome. Got the tasting and was. It disappointed. Plenty of food for table of 4. And the food was some of the best I ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small plate format, medium original and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Small plate format, medium original and certainly pleasant, with excellent dessert. Edamame dumplings merely good. Sea bass served in lumps, which was disconcerting, but nicely spiced and high quality. A bit noisier than the norm. Service very attentive though a bit by the book. Would I return? Sure but not a slam-dunk

Tags: Fun, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My brother is vegan and he was visiting ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My brother is vegan and he was visiting from Portland. He's very particular about his food and fell in love with this restaurant. Thank you for representing Philly so well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Delicious. I'm never disappointed. You c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious. I'm never disappointed. You can't go wrong with the tasting menu but even if you want to order a few items off the menu, that works too. The edamame dumplings, wagyu beef, kimchi fried rice are my top three but the list can go on for days. Great for a date night, special occasion or just in the mood for great food - Sampan is incredible.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited a hour for our table but the staf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waited a hour for our table but the staff and food more than made up for it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun vibe, unique menu, delicious food. W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fun vibe, unique menu, delicious food. We chose the tasting menu of 7 selections (total) for $45. The servings were adjusted for 2 and we got a good assortment of different food. Beef rib, spicy chicken Bao bun, grilled kale and calamari , just to mention a few. The mini soft serve ice cream cones were a perfect ending. A great evening.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious. Crab tacos and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was delicious. Crab tacos and beef short ribs were highlights.

Patrick's service was terrific.

Tags: Kid-friendly, , Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sampan was excellent! Highly recommend ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sampan was excellent! Highly recommend for a date night or just a night out!

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food .. awesome people .. awesom ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome food .. awesome people .. awesome expierience .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent as always. One of my f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food is excellent as always. One of my favorite restaurant in Philadelphia. You can never go wrong with anything on the menu. The only thing is it's always packed and even if you get reservations they don't seat you on time and you have to wait 20 minutes to be seated. The personnel are very nice and efficient. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic food and service!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there. Ordered the tasting me ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time there. Ordered the tasting menu. Amazing is the only word to use. Also, ya just gotta try the sampantini. Best all time drink I've ever had. Returning in a couple weeks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was truly delicious! My boyfriend a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was truly delicious! My boyfriend and I did the tasting menu (7 courses + soft serve for $45 per person). The portions at first were slightly small for my taste. However, it ended up being the perfect amount of food in the end. I was full but not rolling myself out of there because I overate. The food was AWESOME! I highly recommend the Korean BBQ Skewers, Pork Bao Bun, Pork Potstickers, and Filet Mignon. They were some of the items we had with our tasting menu and they were awesome!! I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our fourth or fifth time at Sam ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was our fourth or fifth time at Sampan, and we were not disappointed. Every meal we have had there has been excellent. We always get the chef's tasting menu, and have yet to eat anything we do not like! Seriously, there has not been a single bad bite. The service is good as well. The only thing that is not our favorite is that it is very dark in the restaurant, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

While they were running way behind on re ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

While they were running way behind on reservations, the hostesses made up for it by being super attentive and accommodating. Our waitress was lovely, and as always the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Can't wait to go back

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food! Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Fun, friendly an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and service. Fun, friendly and accomodating staff. Really appreciate having allergy-free menu options (a game changer).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Edamame dumplings and sea bass special w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Edamame dumplings and sea bass special were both delicious! Friendly service too. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, ambience, and staff. It was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, ambience, and staff. It was a really nice way to spend Christmas Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Low lit but not dark, nois ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing food! Low lit but not dark, noise level is good! You can hear each other but no one else could eves-drop on your conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating to our surprise engag ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very accommodating to our surprise engagement party! Great service! Thank you Sampan!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know if they got a new chef but ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I don't know if they got a new chef but the food was not that good.

It came out cold and the portions got smaller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The tasting menu was great. It was also ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The tasting menu was great. It was also a good value for all the food that we got! The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was fun and lively. My only critique is that the tables were so close together that it was almost impossible for someone on the booth side of a table to get out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sampan is my new favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sampan is my new favorite restaurant in the city! The food is amazing! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: , Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.