About Sampan - Philadelphia

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: (888) 858-6536

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Creative Cuisine (89)
Tasting Menu (77)
See All
Hot Spot (77)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Fun (70)
Special Occasion (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (56)
Tapas (54)
Happy Hour (50)
Modern Decor (49)
Good for Groups (46)
Casual (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Open Kitchen (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Bar Seating (39)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Romantic (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Authentic (25)
Outstanding Value (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (17)
Family Style (16)
Spicy (16)
Late-night Find (15)
People Watching (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Business Meals (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Healthy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vegan (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

The food at Sampan was simply AMAZING. The service was 4/5 stars, but the quality of food pushed it to 5/5 stars for me! I had a reservation at 730, arrived on time, but waited probably about 20 minutes to be seated. The server did a great job explaining the menu to us and offering suggestions. She even suggested that we add a piece to several of our dishes since there were 3 of us and the dishes usually only had 2 pieces. This ended up being a savvy suggestion, as the food was so good, that it probably would've started a brawl, had we not had a piece/person! We ordered from the small plates section, about 7 items. The food came out quickly, with the exception of 1 item. The best dish that we had were the Edamame Dumplings - absolutely divine - we ending up ordering a second bowl of that! We splurged and ordered 2 desserts - the sushi ice cream roll (amazing) and the kombucha cheesecake, which was our least favorite item of the night. All in all, this is a must-try place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food with a very cool atmosphere! Service was fantastic too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We had the chef tasting menu (45 pp) and it was very good.
Had some dietary restrictions and the dishes were replaced to our liking.
Very good spot, we are going to come back

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dinner and our waiter Ryan was fantastic and helped with our suggestions from Sake all the way to dessert and he did a fabulous job!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious-creative and exotic dishes with fabulous spices and flavor and great presentation. I'm still thinking about it. However, we weren't told they were out of Peking Duck until 30 minutes after we ordered it. One main course came out before our starters. Our end of the table was served while the other end sat waiting for their food. We received no apologies for the sub par service. And it was verrry loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Can't say enough good things about the restaurant. Food was outstanding, waitress was great, dinner bill was less than I thought, parking within a block. Would go back again for a special occasion or no occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

While the restaurant was quite busy, we had attentive service throughout our delicious meal in celebration of our daughter's birthday. My only disappointment relates to the fact that the staff did not honor my request to recognize her birthday by putting a candle in the dessert (despite the written request on my reservation and my reiteration of my request when I called back to confirm my reservation).
It's the attention to those kinds of details that keeps people coming back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is quite yummy. Music/noise levels are a little too high for my liking, and lighting is a bit low. Good for small groups but a little hard to enjoy the company of larger groups. Service was "okay" (not bad but not exceptional). There was a $2/person cake cutting fee that they didn't bother mentioning (just popped up on the bill). Overall, pricing is good. Again, the food is quite yummy! You have to ask for the vegetarian menu, btw.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I threw my best Friends birthday dinner there.... THEY WERE PERFECT... and the waitress ( I wish I remembered her name) she was Perfect.... Like I wanted to give her a hug for making everything perfect!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love Sampan! So much fun and the food is always great. Suggestion, make a reservation before hand and you'll get in right away. Totally worth it! Staff and service are friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Spicy, Fun, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great staff, great food. First time going and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Post-show dinner at my favorite restaurant. Staff is always nice. Usual 10m wait with reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food at a super happy hour price. The chef's table provided an interesting view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful service and food!! Did the chefs tasting option and the entire group loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was pretty good, not super impressed. I was surprised by the presence of cilantro because that isn't typically in Asian dishes. I really don't like cilantro so it kind of ruined part of my meal. Also, one reason I chose this restaurant was because they have a gluten free menu and I was disappointed by the fact that they didn't offer gluten free soy sauce. I feel like it wouldn't be too hard to keep that on hand, especially if you advertise the gluten free menu. It was very loud, which wasn't terrible, because it was a Saturday night. The waitstaff was very helpful and quick.

I wouldn't dine here again, or really recommend it to friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The dumplings were great! The breaded fish (I think that's what it was suppose to be in the bun) was edible. Pad Thai was not good. The sea bass was delicious. We did the chefs tasting and they rushed out every dish, rushed explaining what it was unless I just couldn't hear because it was so loud. Servers need to slow down. I felt like they wanted us out of there as soon as we sat down. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Would still go back but...They are trying to serve too many people. We waited almost 30 minutes after our reservation to be seated. The tasting menu was the most rushed I have ever experienced. They brought two courses at a time and didn't let us finish those before the next two arrived. Seven courses plus dessert in 1 hour is ridiculous. Would return only because the food is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was exceptionally tasty and beautifully presented.

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We'd never been here very and the enthusiastic waitress did a great job working with us on the tasting menu. Food was great but the portions were tiny so we appreciated her steering us towards the pad Thai side dish that had a little bulk. We like to eat after a cultural event so we are glad they're open late on weekends.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love Sampan, it was the first Starr restaurant I went to in Philly 1 year ago and to this day I've been to about half of them. The food is delicious and it comes out fast. It's on the pricy side for Philly but it's worth it. Best soup dumplings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Every single dish we ordered was incredible. We ate as a group so picked dishes from every category and got to try a bit of everything. The bartenders were great when we arrived and got a drink before dinner, our server was polite and accommodating, and the whole experience was excellent. Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The decor is shabby at best and the noise level extreme with heavy music that prompts all to shout. The food was mediocre but service was good. A reservation means little unless you push the issue. All in all this restaurant is a big disappointment and is highly overrated.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I had heard that they have an amazing Happy Hour, so I made reservations for a Friday night at 6 and my party was promptly seated. Unfortunately, when we inquired about the HH menu, our waitress explained that HH is only served at the bar! That really sucked! I wish we had known in advance and even then I am not sure if it would have mattered as the bar was packed. After being let down, we ordered the following items from the regular menu:
Kale and calamari salad
Hot chicken bao bun
Hamachi crudo
Beef short rib
Glazed chilean sea bass
Duck fried rice

Wow...everything was freaking delicious!!!! I really can't say which was the best as the dishes were just so different and they were all incredible. I can not wait to come back here and not only savor the above mentioned dishes, but to also try some of their other offerings.
Sampan rocks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love Sampan, the skewers are always great, very cool menu for trying a lot of unique things.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Energetic ambiance
Host and waiter were nice and on point
There is an outdoor bar area on the back
Bar has a waitlist so you don't have to keep looking for who's leaving
Amazing happy hour choices and values : happy hour menu is only available at the bar, ordered 6 dishes on happy hour menu and everything came out within 5 minutes
Impressive and interesting food
I would recommend to anyone looking for classy happy hour with friends or date

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Casual, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Well prepared fusion, with a wide menu. Ambiance is energetic and fun, but very loud. Wait times can be extensive, even with reservations (which I strongly recommend). Service is efficient and well organized.

The pot-stickers and hamachi crudo appetizers are excellent, as are the spicy mustard wings. An absolute must-have is their duck fried rice: best we've ever tasted. The beef short rib is a melt-in-your-mouth savory delight. The lancaster chicken stir fry is wonderful and fresh.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

All of the food was absolutely amazing except for the fried chicken, which was a little dry. The service was also very very good, we got our food within 10 minutes of ordering.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We loved our dinner experience! We did the tasting menu, and they sized it to our group which was awesome. All the food was excellent, and we got to try a variety of things. Our server was great, and made some excellent drink recommendations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always delish! Consistently good! The tasting menu is great! Love the mini ice cream cones!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sampan is a cornerstone of philly dining. The trendy decor and atmosphere combined with a diverse menu at a somewhat affordable price make this restaurant a philly hot spot. The cocktail menu offers interesting concoctions that pair well with the Asian fusion menu. Grab a drink at double knot before or after your meal. Must haves are the edamame dumplings and a few personal favorites are shrimp pad Tai and wagu beef satay. Can't go wrong when dining here; only caution is do not go during philly restaurant week- that is the only bad dining experience we had there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Sampan! I can not recommend this place enough, fantastic food, trendy ambiance, fast (but not rushed) service, and very reasonably priced. The edamame dumplings are not to miss and the ice cream sushi roll is the perfect way to end your dinner!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A bit gimmicky but the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A little rushed for it being a chef's tasting. Dessert served about 45 minutes after we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Met up with some friends here. Caught the end of a good happy hour and then got some interesting food items that were all tasty. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food is amazing - good amount of choices. My only suggestion is to ask them to better pace the food as our dishes all came out extremely fast and at same time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Elizabeth made the experience very uncomfortable. She was rude and talked to us like we were stupid. It made us all want to leave and get out of there quickly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Completely adore Sampan. The food is delicious. The service is fantastic. Fast becoming one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

A GREAT place to eat. Asian fusion I guess you can call it. It is just WONDERFUL. I always get the Calimari and kale salad and the Kim chi fried rice. Both are most wonderful. Try the chef tasting and get a little of everything. The place is hot and the food is even better. Perhaps my favorite restaurant.
Always wanting to go back any time of day or night.
I always sit at the kitchen table and love watching them prepare the food. Just a good time, good food and the staff are the nicest. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The chef tasting it's a must, loved the Korean bbq!

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We loved it and our waiter was awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.