About Sampan - Philadelphia

Sampan, an intimate new restaurant located in Center City, Philadelphia, serves a fun menu of modern Asian small plates, ideal for mixing, matching and sharing. The comfortable, inviting setting offers guests an intimate, up-close-and-personal experience with Chef Michael Schulson and the acclaimed cuisine that has made him one of the country’s most sought-after chefs. Designed by Philadelphia’s Sparks Design and Urban Space Development, Sampan offers seating for up to 120 guests in a warm, comfortable setting. The restaurant features reclaimed timber, distressed metals and a rustic, natural aesthetic anchored by a custom-crafted, color washed painting that illuminates the room and lends a soft, glowing ambiance to the cozy space.

124 South 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Everyday Happy Hour: Everyday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 732-3501

Website:
http://www.sampanphilly.com/

Catering:
Hors d' oeuvres packages start at $15 per person per hour and dinner packages start at $40 per person. Open bar packages start at $25 per person for the first two hours and $7 for each additional hour should you be looking to entertain. Bar packages must be combined with either an hors d' oeuvres package or a dinner package and are not offered on their own.

Parking Details:
Limited street parking is available, in addition to public parking lots on Sansom Street in between 12th & 13th Streets and 13th & Broad Streets. There is also a parking garage on the corner of 13th Street, in between Chestnut Street & Market Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Schulson

Private Party Facilities:
Sampan was designed with entertaining in mind. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar to allow for a total of 120 guests to occupy both dining rooms or a cocktail reception in excess of 150. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host up to 75 additional guests with the same menus offered.

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Baran: (888) 858-6536

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sampan is the perfect location for entertaining. Two identical dining rooms flank a central bar for a welcoming feeling with great energy. The restaurant can seat up to 120 for a sit down dinner or in excess of 150 for a social gathering. The outdoor Graffiti Bar can host an additional 75 and is fully heated and open 10 months out of the year. Our event coordinator will work with you personally and all menus are fully customizable.

Sampan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (83)
Tasting Menu (76)
Creative Cuisine (74)
See All
Fit for Foodies (69)
Hot Spot (61)
Fun (59)
Special Occasion (56)
Tapas (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Modern Decor (46)
Happy Hour (42)
Good for Groups (42)
Bar Seating (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Casual (34)
Open Kitchen (34)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Family Style (21)
Authentic (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Cozy (16)
People Watching (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Spicy (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Healthy (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love love Sampan!!! Never disappointed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 11 hours ago

I love love Sampan!!! Never disappointed! Food is outstanding! Favorful, cooked to perfection! The Filet mignon and Brussel sprouts are unreal! My fave place always!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sampan has incredible food options and e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Sampan has incredible food options and everything is delicious! I highly recommend making a reservation before you arrive or expect wait times of over an hour. I love the Pork Bao Buns, the Dan Dan noodles, the Korean BBQ Beef, and the Kim Chee Fried Rice!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Open afternoon opera

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Open afternoon opera

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

For the most part everything was good. S ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

For the most part everything was good. Service and drinks were the best part of the night, but the food was good, not great. It used to be better but the portions were smaller than they once were. Very flavorful dishes and great cocktails overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent as always, service was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is excellent as always, service was a bit lacking.

It took 45 minutes to receive sea bass and we had to ask the server what was going on 4 times.

They did offer complimentary mushrooms as an apology.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great service, great selection of dishes ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, great selection of dishes and great food! Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food! The portions are small so or ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food! The portions are small so order a few things and share with the table. Food comes out as soon as it is done, unlike typical dining. Highly recommend for a date or happy hour.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Restaurant food was tasty, wait staff wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant food was tasty, wait staff was a bit disorganized and not the most attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I had a reservation and the hostess REFU ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I had a reservation and the hostess REFUSED to seat our party until EVERY PERSON WAS THERE. I thought that was absolutely ridiculous that there were 5 out of 7 of us there and we could not be seated. We ultimately went and sat down ourselves at the table we were told would be ours and then we finally received menus. Food was good, portions were small and my shrimp in my fried rice were extremely small and over cooked. The drink prices were expensive as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

My husband and I LOVE Sampan! We've been ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I LOVE Sampan! We've been here multiple times and have never been disappointed. We brought 2 friends of ours and it was their first time. They ate everything and thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. As always, we'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd time here and lived up to the first ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

2nd time here and lived up to the first time!! Food was amazing. Service incredible!!

Tags: , Tapas, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was fabulous. Very accommod ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress was fabulous. Very accommodating and very patient with our big group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, cocktails were tasty; ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great, cocktails were tasty; had a very trendy atmosphere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Very good food, great atmosphere and coz ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good food, great atmosphere and cozy with dim lighting. Very yummy mixed drinks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Comfort Food, , Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great manager.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant . I recommend doin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent restaurant . I recommend doing the Chef tasting because every dish from this restuarant needs to be tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good however the service wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good however the service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently good food. Good service as ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently good food. Good service as well, only issue is that the food comes out when ready, so if you are in a rush you need to tell the server otherwise you could be waiting a while.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fabulous menu options. The tasting menu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous menu options. The tasting menu was the perfect selection to try multiple items on the menu. Plenty of food and delivered hot at every turn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fish was slimy and undercooked and my ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My fish was slimy and undercooked and my mothers meat was undercooked as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Chicken dumpling was amazing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chicken dumpling was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great and service was terrific. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was great and service was terrific. Loved everything I ate!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The meal was incredible!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The meal was incredible!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My daughters 18th Birthday

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My daughters 18th Birthday

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too long of a review. Please read it on ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Too long of a review. Please read it on yelp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food, definitely enough food just ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, definitely enough food just ordering a variety of small plates/apps. The Kale and Calamari Salad was phenomenal, and as someone who rarely drinks sake, the "Specialty" was unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess and the server were great!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The hostess and the server were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time coming this time tried seven ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Second time coming this time tried seven different items on the menu. Everything was delicious. My boyfriend and I enjoyed everything. Plus the server was great. Very attentive even though it was very busy.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Restaurant Week!! Patrick was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We loved Restaurant Week!!

Patrick was a great server and was super cute!!

We will definitely return!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We dined during restaurant week... did t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We dined during restaurant week... did the 7 course for 2. Everything we tried was fantastic. Loved it all. Can't wait to go back again. Would highly recommend! FANTASTIC SERVICE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but the service was ho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was good but the service was horrible. My reservation was at 8:15 we weren't seated until 9. When we got to the table our plates and glasses and forks were dirty. Our steak satay was under cooked and our filet mignon took an hour almost to come out.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

My first time here for Resturant Week an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My first time here for Resturant Week and my first time dinning here period everything was great to the food the staff magnificant I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE IT HERE!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

LOVE IT HERE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sampan is an energetic, hip restaurant i ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Sampan is an energetic, hip restaurant in Philly's 13th St district. The food is great and has many great choices for different pallets and preferences. You are certainly paying for the location and ambiance, but it does provide a great experience for a nice night out or a special occasion!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Me and my girlfriends went for restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Me and my girlfriends went for restaurant week to celebrate my friends birthday. Everything about our experience was fantastic from the service to food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great..service was great..was s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was great..service was great..was super crowded but we had reservations and were seated right away...beautiful restaurant! Will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent find... food was delicious, s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent find... food was delicious, service was outstanding... I definitely will be going again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Quick Bite, , Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Cozy, Fun, Tapas, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun to taste a variety of foods. Servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fun to taste a variety of foods. Service good with wait staff knowing menu selections. Nice atmosphere and good music. Seating a bit too crowded for quiet conversation, maybe better on an off night.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our time at Sampan. Lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Sampan. Lovely service, amazing food and beautiful atmosphere!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experienced this restaurant during Phill ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Experienced this restaurant during Philly Restaurant Week. Excellent food and service. Noise level was a little louder than expected. Hard time reading menu because of the lighting.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.