About Sammy D's

777 Harrah's Blvd
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Sammy D’s is an all-you-could-ask-for eatery from culinary sensation Chef Sam DeMarco! At Sammy D’s, a retro restaurant, bar and lounge, Chef DeMarco takes East Coast favorites to the next level with his Signature Dumplings, Lollipop Wings, SAM-Whiches, craft beers and the ultimate Shelltacular. Before hitting the boardwalk, or the jackpot, pull up a chair or grab a stool and relax with us in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Please Note: Parties of 12 or more are subject to choose between one of our many large party, Pre Fix menu options. Thank you, We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant:
Monday - Thursday 7am - 2pm
Friday 7AM - 2PM, 5PM - 11PM
Saturday-Sunday 7AM- 3PM, 5PM - 11PM

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday 5PM - 11PM
Friday 5PM - 11PM
Saturday-Sunday 12PM – 11PM

Cross Street:
Brigantine Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 441-5402

Website:
http://www.sammyds.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our multi-level parking garage or valet.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sammy D's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (2)
See All
Special Occasion (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
 (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
26 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a bachelorette party dinner at Sa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a bachelorette party dinner at Sammy D's. Overall food and service was pretty good. But when we went back for breakfast in the morning, food took over 45 mins. Our server was polite and helpful. In general, food is extremely overpriced, but so is everything in atlantic city.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Breakfast isgood, butdinner wasnot. Foo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Breakfast isgood, butdinner wasnot. Food is very salty. ...prices too high for what you get. Server messed up our orderseveral times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Flat out the worst experience I have had ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Flat out the worst experience I have had at a restaurant. The restaurant was basically empty and yet our food and drinks took forever. They brought one beer that was clearly incorrect and told us it was correct (light beer vs. a dark beer). When the food finally arrived it was terrible. Portion sizes were fine, but just not quality food. The French Onion soup looked like it was something that was defrosted if that is possible and wasn't hot. We were a small bachelor party and because of the wait they offered us a free round of shots. They brought pretty much the cheapest whisky they had and it was terrible. We complained pretty heavily and were able to get our bill reduced. We saw other smaller parties leaving after they realized how long their food was taking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

On a Friday night at 8pm the restaurant ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

On a Friday night at 8pm the restaurant was EMPTY. Food was good but we wanted a more vibrant atmosphere. We were there for a bachelorette party dinner, and tried to order shots to our table and were told that we could only have shots of fireball. You have a fully stocked bar but we can only get fireball at the table? Was hoping for a much better experience. Safe to say we left as quickly as we could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved the food. My husband had the cowb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved the food. My husband had the cowboy steak and really enjoyed it. I had a pasta dish with broccoli rabe and cannelli beans which was so tasty. Enjoyed every bit of it. Also the ambiance was very cool. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Poor service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food wasn't anything to brag about, and the server was super slow (and the place was not busy). I would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Service was very good and fast

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The hamburger was very tasty and the service was very quick. I would return there

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Food!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The food exceeded my expectations! Everyone enjoyed their meal and the portions were huge! I look forward to my next trip to AC as this is where I would like to dine again. Wait staff was also very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our service was amazing! There was no wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our service was amazing! There was no wait time and our DELICIOUS food came out so quick! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dinner at Sammy D's

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Stopped by for an early dinner on a Saturday. It wasn't as crowded as it can get sometimes which was excellent. Our server Tommy was a sweetheart and very attentive. Would definitely recommend, because besides the service the food was delicious. Steak was cooked well and Philly cheese steak dumplings were very tasty also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I had 730 reservations and sat down right away but we waited almost 2 hours for food. It felt like we were forgotten about the waiter and the hostess told us that their was an issue in the kitchen but there was not a lot of people. I would not recommend this restaurant it was overpriced for getting just burgers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great Prine Rib

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Wife and I both ordered the Prime Rib. Portion was huge and great taste.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Not worth it. Not sure what this place k ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Not worth it. Not sure what this place knows what it is cause it is trying to be something its not. And the food is actually decent, not 5 star but good. Couple this with the service which was terrible from the start. The hostess who seated us not pleasant at all. The waiter added to the first impression by not be attentive at all and disappearing for long period of time barely checking in on us. It was laughable at the end when the , cashier I guess, took the unnessacerly pricey bill. We were asked how was everything , after we passed a comment he did nothing but swipe and said have a nice day. Won't be back, much better places elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Was good not great

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

Waiter was great, food was good but the seafood dinner for 2 was not enough for 2. The Lobster tail had no meat. Just a suggestion, a children's menu would be nice. Overall, our experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Over rated

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Sammy's burger isn't worth it....$18 and almost tasteless and the "special" sauce is nothing more than tartar sauce. Food is overrated . Service was average, not overly attentive...had to call the server for refills. Decent wines by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Always great food at Sammy D's -

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

A dependable spot for breakfast or lunch - just haven't had dinner here but it's most likely equally good !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

disappointed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

Went here with a group of eight to celebrate a 50th birthday. Had a 7:30 reservation. We were seated right away however a server did not come to our table for well over 15 minutes and when Michael did come he didn't even greet us, he just took our order. We ordered a few appetizers, drinks, at our entrees. We waited a significant amount of time for everything and the food was just okay at best but the service was horrible. If there's any consolation we went back for breakfast because we had a coupon and the food was better and our server Kim was excellent!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

What's going on at Sammy D's?

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

Very disappointed with breakfast Saturday, Apr. 11 - we arrived at our specified time and the greeter didn't even seem to know that they accepted Open Table for breakfast - she was fumbling with the computer, then thought I said push us to 9:30 so we had to wait longer than necessary. Also another lady asked if we wanted to sit in the bar area and we would have but then she reneged and said sorry, we are using those tables in order of people arriving. Yet folks walked right off the floor and sat down without even waiting in line. Then when our food arrived, the eggs were a paltry portion and the home fries had green peppers in them that weren't even cooked and the toast was cold and wasn't even toasted as it should be. The waitress, tho, did a very good job.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Just ok

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

sunday first day of restaurant week,tried sammy d and they only had a lunch rr week special,ok so tried dinner since we were already there and it was just average.one thing i will say is that the wait staff and hostess are really nilce and friendly,but the food is just so so . we ordered drinks,i ordered brooklyn lager and it was warm,wifes wine ok. i ordered the chickem parm and she another chicken dish,just ok not great,at least this place is not pretentious it is not a 3-4-5 star restaurant it is along the lines of an old bally6ix,cafe roma,et al only eat here if lyoui have no other options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

chill environment

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We decided on Sammy D's after we spent a fortune on our meal the night before at another restaurant. The food was priced perfectly, it came out quickly and was prepared to perfection. Our server was nice and saw to our needs with no issues. After having dinner we decided to stop at the bar and have a few drinks before going to play some slots. The drinks were reasonably priced and good. There were two free pools tables that we decided would be good fun. Overall we had a very nice dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Super Service

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Service at Sammy D's is always superb and the Chicken Parmesan is the best in Atlantic City. Put Mamma D's lasagna back on the menu please. The Doritos macaroni and cheese is so creamy and delicious-- worth the calories!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 3, 2015

This place was great - just what we were looking for. Made the reservation online for 15 people, showed up with 16 people and they quickly added space to the table.

Outstanding service by our server, Steve. Great food, huge portions. Overall a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Surprise

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

We picked the restaurant through Open Table and we had never heard of it before. The bar was nice and our bartender was good and attentive. We moved over to the restaurant for dinner and everything was good, reasonable priced and the server was wonderful. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

Waited over an hour just for a bread basket. Was about to walk out

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Casino Gem

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

Good way to get away from the casino buffet. Food is good and simple

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2014

Came here for brunch the morning after a Bachelorette party. The servers were friendly and food was plentiful. Would def come back again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.