Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.

909 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Travis St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We understand that every moment deserves its own special detail. We will work with you to make your event extraordinary.

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (22)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (11)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great and I had one of the best tasting steaks ever. We didn't feel rushed while listening to the band. This is probably the best place in Houston with food and entertainment. We had an awsome time and plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We've visited Sam Buca about 20 times and this time the food just wasn't what we were hoping for. I'm not sure if it had to do with Hurricane Harvey or what but we both ordered streaks and his was wayyy under cooked and my filet was over cooked. The overall meal was pretty cool coming out to, the butter was not melting that is how cold the steaks were.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very disappointing. Group of 6, and the best thing was the charcuterie board. Drinks did not stay full, the steak was over cooked and the ravioli was undercooked.

The scallops were decent. Don't bother with dessert. The cappuccinos that were ordered became lattes on arrival. The cobbler was uninspired and the sticky toffee was so dry it was practically inedible. We even had to send a brewed coffee back because it was served stale and at room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great atmosphere ! The fillet we ordered was well prepared . Good music. The bottle of wine (Cab) we ordered was warm and not chilled to correct temperature . Wayne our waiter did his best to chill it. I would return for the music and atmosphere but not for the wine.
Overall a good time !

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great local for good food and music. You can dance if you so desire, that is sure to make points with you wife or significant other! The wine selection is excellent with reasonable prices. The food was a little slow after the first course, but was tasty and a good value. Our server did a great job and was there when needed. We'll definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Seated immediately on arrival per reservation . Was a pre- theatre meal for 5. Service was good but a little slow for show time. Food was good & would return .

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Our waiter Chris was absolutely AMAZING !!! The atmosphere was so romantic and absolutely lovely ! We will be going back and my daughter is considering having her wedding in the upstairs ballroom !

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great server named David that was outstanding. Music was very, very good. Definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Probably one of the most disappointing meals I have had in many years. First my wife's entree was incorrect, then almost 30 minutes for correct order to come out and it was undercooked. My steak requested medium-well was more rare than friend's medium filet.
They comped wife's entree and offered free dessert, but we were going to a play and we did not want to be late.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Restaurant Weeks menu this year is outstanding. We had the steak and the salmon; both were wonderful. The shrimp & crab bisque was likewise luscious.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Requested a booth and location given was facing the noisy kitchen. Service was slow but food excellent. Bathrooms floors and stalls unkept. Not the experience we expecting from over a decade of coming to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Houston Restaurant Week - Filet was awesome and the bread pudding was as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our server, Wayne, was outstanding. He was prompt and courteous and
he made my wife's birthday celebration successful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was terrible. The food came quickly even though we asked for it to slow down. It was cold. We waited for fifteen minutes for utensils which made it colder. It took over twenty minutes to get the check. The jazz band was amazing and played well to the audience. I would skip the food and come for the music in the bar. The restaurant used to be great, but should be shut down as a public service. Eat elsewhere and come for the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I used to dine here a lot, but haven't in years. I was excited to bring a friend who had never been. We were literally the only table besides a larger party being helped and our waiter was also the bartender. He was very, very nice, but way too busy so we often waited in between courses and had to ask for our bill multiples times and then just went to the bar to pay so we could get out and onto our theatre tickets. It was just disappointing. I was surprised with being the only other table to not have better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food and service were good. The band starts at a good time and doesn't overpower your conversation. We had an enjoyable date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent food and enjoyed the 80s music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Really good food here. I was very impressed with my meal. Worth every dollar. Cheesecake was fantastic. Service was also great

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Atmosphere was upbeat and fun. Food was phenominal and large enough portions for us to share and it was an awesome meal. Everyone had a great time and enjoyed everything. Wait staff was very attentive and great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We enjoyed our pre-concert dinner at Sambuca. The food was tasty and our seating was quiet enough for good conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was excellent, and the service was great. The waiter appeared at the right moments but was not rushing us at all. We had our small grandson with us and they were able to provide a pizza for him although it is not part of their dinner menu. We will definitely visit Sambuca again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great music on a Saturday night. That band was amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Omg this was the first time going, we went for my husband birthday we had been searching for a romantic jazz (live jazz) restaurant and we tried it. I can say we had the best first experience with our waiter Marcel I hope I spelled his name right he's the BEST he took gis time explained the menu he remembered my husband name and made him a beautiful birthday treat, the customer service is what gets me alllll the time. However I was a bit disappointed because we got there at 6 the band took 2 hours setting up and we didn't get to hear any music not sure maybe their set didn't start to 8 however the food was amazing the red snapper and salmon was amazing we will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Caught a show at the Symphony and had dinner before. The service was great and or waiter was on top of it. The food was ok for the price so this is why i gave it 4 stars out of 5.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We needed a relatively good and quick meal before a concert with the Houston Symphony. They were good about getting us through the meal on a schedule. We were seated RIGHT NEXT TO the band, and we asked, "when do they start?" concerned about our ability to carry on a conversation. We were told they started at 7:30, the same as the concert we were going to, so we assumed we could talk through the meal. No sooner did we place our drink order, and we had Jackson Browne rolling across our table. It might have been perfect if we had come out for the music, but we didn't.

Our unofficial greeter outside was a cigar-smoker enjoying the front patio. It seemed like the smoke was drifting into the restaurant with each entry of new people. Perhaps it is just my northern expectations being applied to Houston.

The food was good - when I want an evening with live music, I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My party and I arrived and were served by one waiter. In the process of trying to decide what we were going to order, our waiter informed us he was being moved to a different section. He then described our new waiter to us. The waiter he described walked past our table several times severing several tables around us in close proximity. When I attempted to get his attention, he continued walking and serving tables around us, never acknowledging we were there. Finally after almost and hour of sitting with nothing but water and menus, my party and I left. This was truly disappointing, even more so because my cousin recently lost her daughter weeks before her birthday, which is what we were there to celebrate. Despite the manager promises to make things right, I will not attempt to dine here again. This was the worst experience I've had at any restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The music was the best thing about this place. The food is VERY over priced and not very good. The menu selection is slim also. If I ever go back it would be solely for the live entertainment.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Everything was poor, the worst dining experience in a 3 week tour of Texas by a long way. The Cheescake factory was better than this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I enjoyed not being rushed in any way. My wife and I were able to enjoy our 10th anniversary with great food and an excellent band and never once did we get the impression that we needed to hurry, not after 3 hours. The food was first rate, and the server was very professional. We'll be back!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Need a kids menu for dinner. Killed the whole vibe and it didn't help the my shrimp scampi taste like the water you boiled the noodles in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I hadn't been here in a number of years and after this visit I'll most likely not return. I arrived at 8:15pm, many open tables so they can't say they were busy. It took nearly 20 minutes before a waiter stopped by to take our drink order and then another 15 before he came back around. After ordering our meals I finally had to grab a manager to get another beverage. The waitstaff was extremely inattentive.

Both of us order the Ribeye steaks, at $40 each I expected them to be good but they were both very tough without much flavor.

It's rare I leave any review but this place has gone way down in their service even since my last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Felt very rushed. Steak was good, sides were cold.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Meh. Not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The apps were very good. Both our steak dinners were cooked perfectly and nicely seasoned. Waiter was friendly and timely, although we went there before a show on a weekday, so not terribly busy yet. They had live music. A little pricey but overall good. Wine menu decent, but doesn't list vintages. Our red was served too warm, well above room temp even. Food came out quickly from the kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Saw the Fab Five there. Great music, good food, and even had an opportunity to dance. Would be nice if they expanded the dance floor a little, because it got quite crowded. But, other than that, it was a great night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was my first time visiting for dinner. I would have scheduled my 7:15 p.m. reservation for a slightly later time if I had known the live band wasn't going to began until 8:30 p.m.. Otherwise, I enjoyed the experience and had a great time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I absolutely loved everything about Sambuca. From the live music, to the delicious food. The servers were great, and it was the perfect place to have a date night in downtown Houston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Hadn't been here in years, but the food was awesome and service was spot on. The live band could had been better, but was still entertaining.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Went for my honey's birthday and we had an amazing time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Well.... I checked almost all of the options on the list. This time it was a friends-get-together before the ballet. The weather was great so we sat outside. Shared apps and a few entrees. Several options for vegetarians. Band was just starting up. The bar had a fun HH crowd - but there were quiet tables also available away from the bar area

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Special Occasion, Casual, Tapas, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.