Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.

909 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Travis St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We understand that every moment deserves its own special detail. We will work with you to make your event extraordinary.

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (22)
Happy Hour (14)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Dancing (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great food. Once the band starts can be hard to gave good conversation but it's great for dancing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server was slow with drinks--I was without a drink for 12 minutes. The tuna was gray in color--the dipping sauce tasted like it was poured from a jar. The calamari was bowling alley-quality--straight up frozen. The highlight was our cutie server--that's it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great except for the food. My mom had the spring chicken and it was so tough she didn't want to eat it! I tried it and it was so nasty (dry and chewy like it had be sitting there). I asked her if she wanted me to send it back but being old school she said no and ate the veggies (brussel sprouts were under done). Needless to say for the amount of money we paid we will not be back... I would rather spend my money at the Rainbow Lodge or Artista then here.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I have dined at Sambuca many times in the past and enjoyed the meal. Unfortunately on this occasion, this was not the case. The snapper was poorly seasoned and the sauce was thin and watery. My date's shrimp and pasta dish lacked character as well. Hopefully this was only a one time occurrence.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Really enjoyed the overall environment
Great place,wife really enjoyed it there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love it when The Fab 5 Beatle's Tribute Bank is there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always very accommodating - I love listening to the Fab 5 at Sambuca. Good food & not too loud.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great waiter and excellent live band. Had a fantastic time with a first date.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The service was absolutely horrible! We went on a Wednesday and it was dead, but someone the service was terrible not attentive at all. They sat us right in front of the the entertainment and on the side of the kitchen window in which my husband felt like he was baking , he was so hot. Last time I went to Sambuca was about 10yrs ago and everything about it was excellent! They've diffidently went down hill. Reason for our visit is we had a concert to attend near by and decided to go there since it's been so long since we've been there . Sadly we will not be returning again! Appetizers we're good, my lobster was chewy , not very good. My husbands food wasn't bad. If the service didn't let us down we'd have maybe considered going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Location is great for out of town visitors staying downtown. nice environment and the food was good, but not great.
BUT, the live music was really good and we ended up staying for a while after the meal to listen to the music.
I wouldn't go there again for the food, but I would for the music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very nice music and food scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My guest and I arrived on time and the hostesses were very nice, professional, and seated us immediately. Decor is lovely, though it was hard to see in the dark. Also very hard to read menus. Service from the waitress was slow. Super slow. We ordered wine and then waited about 15 minutes. When she brought the wine, she finally asked about appetizers. Once dinner plates were delivered, she did not return until she was ready to bring the check. In other words, when the food became cold and congealed on the plate and it was useless to ask her for anything.
We ordered the vegetable lasagna and the pork chop but substituted the side dish, requesting Au gratin potatoes if substitutions were permitted. They are.
The lasagna came out in a giant roll. Not layers, a roll. A huge roll that could have fed the average family of 4. I'm not one to complain about large portions, but it was sort of flavorless so it didn't matter how much of it was there. It lacked any italian seasoning- just a log of veges and ricotta cheese wrapped into a pasta blanket.
The pork chop was very good but a tomato puree of sorts was on top and that was not. The Au Gratin potatoes were also bland and very dry. No salt, pepper, rosemary, or even cheese was in the potatoes. There was some cheese on top, but aren't au gratin potatoes supposed to have a least a little sauce?
After dinner we were planning to sit at the bar, have a drink and enjoy the band. The bar seats about 12 people. It was full. The bartender was really working hard but he was angry and cussing out another bartender while he did. He had lots of lovely opinions about his co-worker and suggestions were made for his (hopefully) post-work personal entertainment.
I used to love this place. What the hell happened?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nicely impressed. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Awesome, I love it here, pricy however that never stops me from returning, very classy and supreme service

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Dancing, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great happy hour to hit up before a show. Buca balls and pizza are excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was great. The food was awesome. We had dinner before the ballet. We had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and get to the ballet on time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Went to Sambuca for my birthday lunch with friends. We were seated right away, our server was great and we had a very nice lunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was good as usual but waiter forgot about us. Typically excellent for a quiet business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I'll start with the appetizers, we ordered the Shrimp Crab Dip. The seasoning was horrible, it was so bland. It was almost like a cream cheese dip. We ordered a Miller Lite that was warm? Who likes to drink Warm beers? No one I know. The pricing was outrageous for the quality of each meal. Around the Table we all ordered the following: The Rib eye dish, ordered it medium rare- was over cooked. Came on the Medium well side. The shrimp scampi, no complaints on that dish. The Miso Bass, the sea bass was over cooked. The Scallops Dish, the menu read that it came with risotto rice, also asparagus. When the dish arrived, the price compared to the meal size was ridiculous. We also ordered a Bloody Mary that was one of the most blan bloody Mary's in a Houston. To finish our meal we ordered the Cobbler, because the waiter complimented it so well. Only for him to come back in a matter of 10 minutes to tell us he didn't realize they ran out of cobbler. Talk about Lack of communication, it wasn't busy. It was a rainy Sunday night so we were a little surprised by that news. We settled for the Cheesecake, it was frozen to start off. The texture was not smooth whatsoever and the taste of a traditional cheesecake lacked completely. Overall, for a birthday dinner I would of loved to spend $250.00 elsewhere. I will not be recommending this place to any friends in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A group of 6 women from work met at Sambuca for dinner before attending a show in the theatre district. We enjoyed the convenience of the location, valet parking, atmosphere and food. We found the service to be very attentive and helpful. We would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food and good service. Ideal for a business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We were looking for a place downtown to celebrate my husband's birthday before the theater and I had received a $25 off coupon to celebrate Samba's 25th Anniversary. It did the trick and got us back to Sambuca and we had a lovely meal. Everything exceeded our expectations. It was a Tuesday night and we were early enough for happy hour so we started with a margarita and mai tai and a flatbread appetizer which was delicious. Next up was shrimp and crab bisque for my husband and the gorgonzola and walnut salad for me. For entrees he went for the scallops and I had the gorgonzola-topped 7 oz filet. We split a creme brûlée which they wrote "Happy Birthday" on the plate. Our reservation was at 5:30 and it was nice and quiet. The band was setting up and the crowd was really picking up as we were leaving for the theater at 7 PM. We had a great time and the food and service was impeccable. $12 for valet parking was a bit high, seems like they could validate it for half price or something but it's downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Ordered a steak, medium, was brought back well done. Sent it back to have redone, they sent it out completely rare. So sent back again. They cooked the same piece of meat and returned it with zero apologies from management. They acted like it was no big deal. If I'm paying $40 for a piece of meat, I want it cooked the way I ordered it. Instead of comping the steak, which they should have, they acted like it was nothing. We won't be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The food was great. The menu has changed - not as many wonderful dishes to choose from which honestly was kind of a surprise. We had dinner with some friends and then went to the Rockets game. We came back after the game for a night cap and the listen to the band. The band/music was a lot of fun as we have seen them in the past.

Tags: Dancing, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overpriced and service was horrible . Took my love for his birthday and I was very disappointed in service and food . Only good experience was the music .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed dinner while listening to the blues-y band 'Delta Flood' on my Feb. 18 visit. I hadn't been for dinner and music in a very long time and was glad to reacquaint myself and introduce a friend to Sambuca. My meal was the Salmon Oscar - excellently prepared and a pretty good deal for wild salmon. Started with the Gorgonzola salad....delicious and a must try. My friend ordered the Med. Veggie Lasagna which I tasted and liked - didn't love - but it was good. Our waiter was attentive but left us in peace enough to enjoy the evening. We were seated at a table two rows back from the dance floor and had a good time watching dancers and just enjoying a fun night out with some really solid music. Will return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The ambiance was amazing! Top notch food and service and the entertainment was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was great; very attentive and helpful when we mentioned this was our first time being at Sambuca. We were there for a Birthday celebration and it was enjoyed by all who attended that night. Definitely would go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Dancing, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

All good
Music was good
Met. A celebrity

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall it was a pleasant experience. The food was great and the service was excellent. Definitely worthy of a return visit.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Not worth the high over inflated prices. Service was great. The dishes were just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was not good, sorry. Either very bland or too salty. Waiter was nice and attentive. Convenient for pre-show dinner (Jones Hall).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great ambiance and service was fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a really fun evening. The costs of the food was a little high in comparison to other Houston night club / dining venues. We went to see the band, Shape Shifters, but also enjoyed the drinks and dancing. I would recommend this place to others and we will try it again at a time when the Super Bowl crowd / visitors are not as prevalent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was great, but pricey. The menu was different than I had seen on review sites such as Yelp. The food selection was very different, more upscale, and more expensive than those sites showed, but it was very good and worth the price. Maybe they changed the menu recently?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Not impressed, had to wait for table even though we had a reservation, when we were seated it took 15 minutes before a waiter came by and the new menu is worse than the old one and overpriced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was great! The waitress was very nice and attentive. The live band was awesome too! Great people watching!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Waiter was a smoker and disappeared often. Steak was tough and not worth the money. Nothing tasted special, only mediocre and next time will enjoy music without the food. There are plenty of places in Houston to eat great food that is worth every penny. Just not here.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wish they had been better with our seating location. I will try making reservations earlier next time to see if that helps.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.