About Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

909 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Travis St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We understand that every moment deserves its own special detail. We will work with you to make your event extraordinary.

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (11)
Live Music (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Dancing (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Cozy (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a nice experience although it was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a nice experience although it was really loud even though seated upstairs. Not so much from the music but the large table seated by us were really, really loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends and I have dined here several ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My friends and I have dined here several times. The cocktails are very good. The coconut mojitos are light and not too sweet. The crab dip and chips is delicious. The filet and ribeye are very good as well. My friend had the striped bass and enjoyed it very much. Overall food was fantastic although slow at times and it wouldn't have been a big deal but we had tickets to Adele and were trying to walk to the Toyota center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a business lunch, but al ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great place for a business lunch, but also for an evening cocktail and music.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a terrible experience. We were se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a terrible experience. We were seated at 7pm with our reservation. There was not a wait list, yet we waited 30 minutes for our drinks. The server spilled the tray of drinks because he tried to put reach across his tray and the table to put down a drink. The entire tray of drinks (5) landed on my son's lap. We asked for the manager, who said, "Things happen" - we left and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The food won'twwon'twin any awards but t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food won'twwon'twin any awards but the ambiance, location, and service was great for my moms 59th birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The red snapper etouffee was delicious a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The red snapper etouffee was delicious and the Cucumber Pineapple Crush was refreshing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place, everything was great we had ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place, everything was great we had a wonderful time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service and kitchen was slow. The Fab 5 ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service and kitchen was slow. The Fab 5 was great for dancing but recently all the other bands are for easy listening only; no uptempo dancing except the Fab 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and service were outstanding. J ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Julie, our waitress, was extremely engaging and fun to spend a few minutes in conversation. Our small plates were very good and tasty. Will absolutely go back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were gnats in my food. I think th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

There were gnats in my food. I think that is all that is needed to summarize this experience. Then again, on the upside, the server was nice and attentive. I ordered the lunch tacos and was surprised that they were served with tortilla chips and no salsa. I asked if there was a salsa option, and the thoughtful server, brought me a cup of of Pace Picante from the kitchen. He was kind enough to name the salsa by brand. This concluded my dining experience. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We had a lovely time here while we were ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had a lovely time here while we were in town. Our hotel was just down the street. There was a jazz band. We sat away from them so it wasn't too loud, but I could see how it could be very loud. Really good ribeye.

Tags: Dancing, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was wonderful, but the band was too ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

food was wonderful, but the band was too loud. I love live music, but still want to be able to have a conversation. Left after our apps & found someplace we could speak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal and ambiance! Our waiter was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great meal and ambiance! Our waiter was attentive and gave great suggestions. The jazz music was really great and energetic but we were still able to visit at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lady at the front was veryrude. She ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Lady at the front was veryrude. She spoke in a rude manner to my guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I am 38 and have been wanting to go to S ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am 38 and have been wanting to go to Sambuca since high school! I finally got to go 9/17 for my birthday and I have to say I was very disappointed. First, it was so dark inside that you could hardly read the menu and it was so back people had their phones out trying to get more light to see the menu. The menu itself was good but the food, not so much. Food was incredibly salty and otherwise had very little flavor. but on the upside the POMTINI was amazing.

Music was incredibly loud and we were seated behind a huge pillar so we couldn't see the people dancing or the musicians.

I am glad I finally went so that I can stoop thinking about it but I don't think I will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We celebrated a night on the town at Sam ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We celebrated a night on the town at Sambucas in Downtown Houston! Great pork chop and cheesecake. Our server Eduardo was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Acrylic glasses, really? What a surpris ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Acrylic glasses, really? What a surprise to order a bottle of champagne and have it served with acrylic stemware. Unexpected in downtown Houston.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The server made the evening even better ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The server made the evening even better than it already was. Very knowledgeable, engaging and fun.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought that by making a reservation i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I thought that by making a reservation it would be for a nice table and not shoved against the window where I then had to jump over the chairs. It was not very ladylike for sure. Some business men were just in front of us and they got a very nice table. The staff is a little slow in coming around to see to our food and comfort. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and the food was good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

First time here. Came during Houston Re ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

First time here. Came during Houston Restaurant Weeks. Was very pleased. Food, service and ambiance was great. Will come back again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for dinner / drinks be ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place to go for dinner / drinks before a concert or show downtown. We had a great time then walked 2 blocked to Jones Hall. Food was very good and service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service , food was not up to the ex ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good service , food was not up to the expectations. Would not recommend to take Steak, I ordered medium rare, it was delivered as well done; increments were not good neither. Starters were okay. I was expecting more after previous visits. Not my place anymore.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We were very disappointed in our steaks. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were very disappointed in our steaks. I had the filet. I had asked for medium rare & it was medium. We were on our way to a 7:30 show at the Alley Theatre, so we didn't have time to send food back. Both of the people at our table who ordered the ribeye said it was flavorless and also overcooked, and I took most of those two steaks home to my dogs.

Tags: Dancing, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to go before a performance a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great place to go before a performance at one of the theatres. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful with a few food & bar choices. Food was just right amount and very delicious.

Tags: Disabled Access, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Vegan, Wood Oven, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, People Watching, Tapas, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall my experience was average. I fre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall my experience was average. I frequent upscale restaurants. I was not impressed except for my server. Extremely attentive. Food was ok.

Tags: Live Music, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

$12 valet parking is absurd--especially ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

$12 valet parking is absurd--especially when we had a $200 dinner bill!

We thought we went earlier enough (630) to avoid the band, but didn't. I love live music, but I want to be able to have a conversation with the person at my table. Band was entirely too loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This was our first visit. The menu was e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first visit. The menu was eclectic with interesting dishes. We both loved our meals. The dinning waiter was very attentive and service was very good. Nice modern decor and noise level was down. Prior to dining we went to the bar for a drink and despite a meager crowd , bar service was below par. We will go back to try some of the other menu items.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great except my duck. It ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was great except my duck. It had great flavor but it was really tuff. My steak knife couldn't cut through the piece of meat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Took a group for a business lunch, and e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Took a group for a business lunch, and everyone was very pleased with my choice of venue. The crab and shrimp dip appetizer was wonderful. The menu choices are great, everyone was able to find just what they wanted. The fish tacos were a big hit. Waiter was attentive, atmosphere is very nice and well suited for a professional group. I would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last time we went to Sambuca was abo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The last time we went to Sambuca was about 4 years ago and the food, presentation and ambiance were GREAT! Since then they must have changed their menu as well as their chef. The presentation was poor and the food was cold and tasted microwaved. Our waiter was pleasant but with our reservations, they stuck us back in a small cubby booth with lighting so dim that it was hard to read the menu. Sadly, our first experience was our best and will not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

I always enjoy my experience at Sambuca! ...

vip
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I always enjoy my experience at Sambuca! The food is always well prepared, the staff is knowledge and friendly and the vibe is super cool!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak was overcooked and way over-season ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Steak was overcooked and way over-seasoned, potatoes were still raw, the bisque was barely warm and the service was very slow even though we told them we had tickets to the theater. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Great meal before taking in the theatre. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great meal before taking in the theatre. Enjoyed the Houston Food Bank restaurant week menu. Will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good but the service was unacce ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was good but the service was unacceptably slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The Sea Bass was delicious.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Sea Bass was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food and excellent service. I wou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and excellent service. I would definitely visit them again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Convenient to the theaters downtown. Men ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Convenient to the theaters downtown. Menu looks promising but the kitchen does not deliver. Ingredients, preparation, wait staff skills, and wine list are what you might expect from a low cost family restaurant. The prices are out of line with the food and wine quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Atmosphere was good, but where we were s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Atmosphere was good, but where we were seated was very dark so we needed to use our cell phone light to see the menu. Food was okay at best - overpriced for what it was. I had the blackened fish which appeared to be cooked very fast because it was overly cooked on the outside and okay on the inside. The band, ShapeShifters was okay if you like to kick back and listen to oldies but goodies. If you like to party, dance, and have a great time, then don't go when that band is playing or you will be horribly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was spot on. I chose this re ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was spot on. I chose this restaurant for my date and I and I came out looking really good! He was impressed. The food, the ambiance, the music, the waiter all was really really good!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick apps and drinks before Wicked. Gre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Quick apps and drinks before Wicked. Great atmosphere. Yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.