About Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

909 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Travis St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We understand that every moment deserves its own special detail. We will work with you to make your event extraordinary.

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Houston
Hot Spot
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (43)
good for groups (38)
romantic (33)
See All
hot spot (27)
vibrant bar scene (27)
fit for foodies (23)
late-night find (21)
notable wine list (10)
great for lunch (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a very enjoyable dinner with our ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was a very enjoyable dinner with our friends before the play. I would love to come back and listen to the bands you have. The service was fantastic and the food was some of the best we have ever had. Desserts were so delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a nice dinner before the theat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We wanted a nice dinner before the theater but this went all wrong. We ordered in plenty of time (2 hours before the show) but after appetizers had been served and eaten and we were waiting on entrees, they came out with a menu to tell one guest their selection was not available. This was very late in the process to learn this. She changed her order quickly but we were served long after tables seated after us. We asked twice for the check and then still had to wait for the server to bring it back. The end result was we missed the first act at the show because they had already closed the door. The food was bland and overpriced. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

If you're looking for great tasting food ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

If you're looking for great tasting food and live music, this place is excellent; great atmosphere for the grown and sexy.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dressed real cute for a bday.. G ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were dressed real cute for a bday.. Got stuck in the back..:(

But 20 people came by to tell us how cute we were.. Waiter was off..no tea refilling without begging for it.. Got checks wrong..

BAND WAS GREAT..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I ate there while staying do ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My wife and I ate there while staying downtown for our wedding anniversary. My Ribeye was tough, with lots of gristle, no seasoning, and no flavor. Tator tots were bland. My wife wanted the Cobb salad but it was not a dinner menu item. She ordered a regular salad instead but did not even finish half of it. Steak dinner was refunded. Very disappointed. Would not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

When I walked into the restaurant, I was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

When I walked into the restaurant, I was asked if I had a reservation and I told her No. She told me with no reservation the wait to eat would be 1 to 1.5 hrs. I went outside, checked Open Table, saw they had reservations for 15-30 mins later, which I booked. I still had to wait over 1 hour. I feel like I made the hostess mad so she made me wait regardless.

Service was horrible. We spent over $50 per person at my table of 5, I had heard so much good about this place. I will probably never go back as nothing I tasted there would make it worth a 2nd try....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I had requested for them to write "Happy ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I had requested for them to write "Happy 10th Anniversary" in our dessert and I wanted to surprise my husband and they didn't do it so they did comp our dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I wanted to have a rela ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My boyfriend and I wanted to have a relaxing and romantic evening and enjoy music while doing so. The ambiance was great, the food and drinks were delicious, and our service was fantastic. All around a great night!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible . Food was unedible . Service w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Horrible . Food was unedible . Service was horrible . Music was terrible . 😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The live music was fantastic! The Fab 5 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The live music was fantastic! The Fab 5-Beatles Tribute Band. We ate, drank, and danced the night away!! Loved it! Always do. Service was excellent, as usual.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overly friendly service but attentive. D ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Overly friendly service but attentive. Drinks were good. Food was subpar and overpriced. The best part was the toffee bread pudding that probably wasn't made in house. Very dark and can hardly see the menu. Go for live music and drinks but eat before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great Restaurant!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Went for a business meal- farewell lunch. Great service, food was delicious and came fast. Will definitely come in the evening for the live music!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What happened?

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I ordered the pork chop which was delicious. However my spouse ordered the Chilean Sea bass, one of our favorites. The fish was mushy and tasted awful. Although we were not charged for the fish, I felt as though they could have thrown in maybe something extra, for ruining our romantic getaway, which happened to be our anniversary. To top it off, the musicians were an hour late. Count me as disappointed this time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu selection, great drinks, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent menu selection, great drinks, terrific service! Would definitely return if I lived in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Ribeye was good. My guest sent back ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Ribeye was good. My guest sent back the shrimp due to a bad taste. The live music was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Happy Birthday to me!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A definite jewel, in downtown Houston!

Great service.... food and drinks, along with live music. Loved the ambiance of this spot! Will definitely return here, when in Houston again. Much better than ours here in Dallas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was great, as it had liv ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant was great, as it had live music, colorful lights and delicious food. My girlfriend said before we even finished the meal that this should be a recurring spot for us. I agree

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the Jones Band and the food! Our ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the Jones Band and the food! Our meals were excellent and the staff very friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing time great food,great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had an amazing time great food,great band, and our waite Donald was awesome!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I Love the Idea of This Place for Houston....but

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to Sambuca looking for a fun night out with great food and music. We found an OK time. The idea of this place is great, but things about the restaurant and how they run it kept it from being what it could be. We thought the entrees were excellent, but about 20% too highly priced. The menu did not specify that the main dishes came with a side so we got 2 more sides to split and ended up with way too much food (gee thanks waitress). After dinner we made it over to the bar to enjoy the band. The club setup is really strange. They have dining tables in front of the stage and in order to go see the band, you have to stand in front of someone dining. Instead the lounge crowd stands/sits around the bar off to the side of the stage and it keeps you from connecting with the musicians. In turn they are playing to 3 or 4 tables full of people 30 feet away - with a bunch of people looking at their sides and backs. There was a bunch of space in the back corner to the right of the stage that did not seem to be used. They should move the stage to the back left corner to try and pull the bar crowd in better. We saw the Jones band perform. They were pretty good for Texas Blues. The left handed guitarist was excellent and we enjoyed his voice more than the lead singer. While I enjoy Texas Blues in the right setting, the Cajun themed menu and cocktails and ambiance suggested the place was really supposed to be geared more towards New Orleans style blues/jazz - you know the kind with trombones and trumpets. So it was an interesting clash of styles. So great potential, poor execution. The management should take a trip to Maison in New Orleans to see how to do it. Serve dinner in that space till 9:00. Then pull up the tables and let a great band take over. Lastly stay away from the coffee drinks at the bar. Mine was served cold (it wasn't supposed to be) and I watched the bar tender smell the cream before serving it up. Apparently not a popular seller.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Dinner before Concert

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My wife, son, and his fiancee went to Sambuca, and they were ready for us. Service was fast and friendly, and the food was perfectly prepared. Since this was our first visit to Sambuca, we tried a variety of menu items, including the flatiron steak, chili-rubbed scallops, the margarita shrimp, and the pork chop. The margaritas were average, and I had the lemon grass martini, which was served in the wrong glass (old fashioned) and was too sweet. Having said that, I would enjoy going back, especially since they are located so close to Jones Hall, and would recommend Sambuca to any of my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

BAd meal before the theatre

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The lobster enchilada was tasteless and dry. Would have sent it back if we were not going to a theater performance immediately after dinner. My date's shrimp linguini looked and tasted good. Our waiter Christopher had a weird sense of humor. Will try another restaurant in the theatre district next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Wonderful food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Great historic location and flavorful food! I would recommend Sambuca for an occasion when you have time to enjoy the ambiance and savor the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always great!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Sambuca's is a 'sure thing'. I have been several times over the last few years and each time is better than the last. The ambiance, as always, was perfect and the band playing kept surprising us with old and new music. The food was worth the $$. Our server, Donald, was awesome! He allowed us a bit more time at our table to enjoy the band. I look forward to my next outing there. :-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Close to theater

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This restaurant was en route to the Alley Theater, a great performance venue in downtown Houston. It has a chic interior and a decent pour in drinks. Food is pricey but tasty. The evening we were there, we were offered a free appetizer with purchase of two entrees...and we got to choose ANY appetizer on their list! Very generous. Our server was efficient and attentive.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great pre-theater dining

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Sambuca is conveniently located near Houston's theater district. Park in the City's parking garage, walk to Sambuca & enjoy a wonderful dinner along with good wine before your show. Servers are attentive & polite. There is usually a band later if you want to return after the show.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great business meal or date

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was good, a little slow, but it was a crowed Friday night. Waiter was very knowledgeable and the food was fantastic. Very nice setting with linens. Margherita Pizza was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food downtown

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

This is the second time my boyfriend and I have been tonSambuca for dinner. It was convenient for us to walk there from our hotel to the music concert afterwards. There is a nice selection of mixed drinks, wine etc. we had the oysters to start that were good. We really enjoyed the ribeye steak we split with vegetables. Prices were mid ranged, but we split the entree so it wasn't as expensive. We will be back next time we stay downtown.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced and underwhelmed!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was terrible.... Dry chicken, terrible drinks! How does a fine dining establishment no know how to make a mint julep? The place was super noisy and the waitress seemed like she didn't care and had too many tables!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great place to eat

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The waiter was awesome. My food was delicious. I definitely have to go back soon

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu leaves something to be desired

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Don't look for foodie items on this menu, it is two pages with no out-of -the-ordinary offerings; the wine/drink list is 4-5 pages. Great for non-serious diners!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Lively Downtown Hotspot

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Even for a Sunday night it was a lively and delicious environment for a special occasion! The menu is exciting and the live music was festive. The team of servers were lovely, friendly and quite attentive. They made us feel like very special guests!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my husband's birthday and I decid ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and I decided to take him somewhere new. I made reservations on Open Table, like I usually do and made a note that we would be celebrating my husband's birthday. We arrived and were seated immediately in a VERY cozy area. I'm vegan and I was able to find something on their menu. The waiter was very helpful. My husband had a ribeye steak and crab dip, which he enjoyed. It was a bit warm where we were sitting, but overall it was bearable. We received the check and there was no celebration or mention of my husband's birthday. I'm not sure we enjoyed it so much to go back or refer people to check it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Ambiance is amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Ambiance is amazing and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Time

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I visited Sambuca with my husband and we enjoyed the scenery as well as the live music. A perfect place to go relax and have a good time. We had the ribeye, cooked to perfection. Overall the food quality met my expectations. I will def go back.

I had 3 different cocktails and they were all delicious! A must go.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small plates are amazing!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fun place with great food and bands are always good as well!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return of the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We keep coming back - we love this place - love the ambiance, the food, the music, the drinks. We hit it just right the other night for Happy Hour - so we got drinks and small plates (appy's) discounted. Food was very good - we did order one dish and it was very spicy. It took us by surprise because it did not indicated on the menu. Portions are always just right - we never feell over stuffed but Dessert put us over the top. Andrew was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

HCSO86

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great atmosphere, waiters were attentive, food was very good (a little pricey but good). They have live music every night.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beignets were great apps!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I loved the beignets! Those were awesome! Waiter was great!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was ok my wife's pork over cooked twice

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was ok. Over priced and the quality was average at best. Services was good but I was not impressed with food. The music was good but not sure if I will ever go back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.