Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.

909 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Travis St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We understand that every moment deserves its own special detail. We will work with you to make your event extraordinary.

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (29)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Romantic (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Dancing (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Scenic View (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great music on a Saturday night. That band was amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Omg this was the first time going, we went for my husband birthday we had been searching for a romantic jazz (live jazz) restaurant and we tried it. I can say we had the best first experience with our waiter Marcel I hope I spelled his name right he's the BEST he took gis time explained the menu he remembered my husband name and made him a beautiful birthday treat, the customer service is what gets me alllll the time. However I was a bit disappointed because we got there at 6 the band took 2 hours setting up and we didn't get to hear any music not sure maybe their set didn't start to 8 however the food was amazing the red snapper and salmon was amazing we will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Caught a show at the Symphony and had dinner before. The service was great and or waiter was on top of it. The food was ok for the price so this is why i gave it 4 stars out of 5.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We needed a relatively good and quick meal before a concert with the Houston Symphony. They were good about getting us through the meal on a schedule. We were seated RIGHT NEXT TO the band, and we asked, "when do they start?" concerned about our ability to carry on a conversation. We were told they started at 7:30, the same as the concert we were going to, so we assumed we could talk through the meal. No sooner did we place our drink order, and we had Jackson Browne rolling across our table. It might have been perfect if we had come out for the music, but we didn't.

Our unofficial greeter outside was a cigar-smoker enjoying the front patio. It seemed like the smoke was drifting into the restaurant with each entry of new people. Perhaps it is just my northern expectations being applied to Houston.

The food was good - when I want an evening with live music, I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My party and I arrived and were served by one waiter. In the process of trying to decide what we were going to order, our waiter informed us he was being moved to a different section. He then described our new waiter to us. The waiter he described walked past our table several times severing several tables around us in close proximity. When I attempted to get his attention, he continued walking and serving tables around us, never acknowledging we were there. Finally after almost and hour of sitting with nothing but water and menus, my party and I left. This was truly disappointing, even more so because my cousin recently lost her daughter weeks before her birthday, which is what we were there to celebrate. Despite the manager promises to make things right, I will not attempt to dine here again. This was the worst experience I've had at any restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The music was the best thing about this place. The food is VERY over priced and not very good. The menu selection is slim also. If I ever go back it would be solely for the live entertainment.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Everything was poor, the worst dining experience in a 3 week tour of Texas by a long way. The Cheescake factory was better than this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I enjoyed not being rushed in any way. My wife and I were able to enjoy our 10th anniversary with great food and an excellent band and never once did we get the impression that we needed to hurry, not after 3 hours. The food was first rate, and the server was very professional. We'll be back!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Need a kids menu for dinner. Killed the whole vibe and it didn't help the my shrimp scampi taste like the water you boiled the noodles in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I hadn't been here in a number of years and after this visit I'll most likely not return. I arrived at 8:15pm, many open tables so they can't say they were busy. It took nearly 20 minutes before a waiter stopped by to take our drink order and then another 15 before he came back around. After ordering our meals I finally had to grab a manager to get another beverage. The waitstaff was extremely inattentive.

Both of us order the Ribeye steaks, at $40 each I expected them to be good but they were both very tough without much flavor.

It's rare I leave any review but this place has gone way down in their service even since my last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Felt very rushed. Steak was good, sides were cold.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Meh. Not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The apps were very good. Both our steak dinners were cooked perfectly and nicely seasoned. Waiter was friendly and timely, although we went there before a show on a weekday, so not terribly busy yet. They had live music. A little pricey but overall good. Wine menu decent, but doesn't list vintages. Our red was served too warm, well above room temp even. Food came out quickly from the kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Saw the Fab Five there. Great music, good food, and even had an opportunity to dance. Would be nice if they expanded the dance floor a little, because it got quite crowded. But, other than that, it was a great night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was my first time visiting for dinner. I would have scheduled my 7:15 p.m. reservation for a slightly later time if I had known the live band wasn't going to began until 8:30 p.m.. Otherwise, I enjoyed the experience and had a great time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I absolutely loved everything about Sambuca. From the live music, to the delicious food. The servers were great, and it was the perfect place to have a date night in downtown Houston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Hadn't been here in years, but the food was awesome and service was spot on. The live band could had been better, but was still entertaining.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Went for my honey's birthday and we had an amazing time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Well.... I checked almost all of the options on the list. This time it was a friends-get-together before the ballet. The weather was great so we sat outside. Shared apps and a few entrees. Several options for vegetarians. Band was just starting up. The bar had a fun HH crowd - but there were quiet tables also available away from the bar area

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Special Occasion, Casual, Tapas, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

My husband took me there for my birthday and it was such a special dinner. the food, ambience, service was all excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Incredible food. Very lots

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We loved the secluded table, the waiter was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My ratings would have been higher if not for a switch-a-roo on the wines we ordered. We asked about the $4 Happy Hour wines and the server showed us the list which included Nobilo Sauv. Blanc and Pascual Malbec so we ordered two rounds of each. When the bill was presented, $4 was deducted from the list price of the wine so they were not $4/each. Very deceiving. Also, I would not recommend the bisque nor the bibb salad; very bland and lacking in taste. Our server, Mandy, was well versed on the menu and we had a lovely charcuterie board with a delicious French cheese - highly recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great place for my lunch meeting with a client. Enough attention from our waiter to get us what we needed while letting us have a business conversation. My first time there as a frequent visitor to Houston. Will have to try dinner next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food, great wine and excellent company in a very nice ambiance. A great evening. The server was a little green but friendly and willing to learn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had not been back to the restaurant in years but I went on a date with my girlfriend and it was a great start to our long lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had a great steak. Prime ribeye. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great venue. Food was delicious, serice was excellent and ambiance was relaxing with enjoyable live music.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went there with my wife prior to a concert at Jones hall. Waiter was attentive and a nice guy. The food was really very good. The ribeye was excellent and the snapper was excellent too

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The veggie lasagna was inedible. The kalamata olives were overpowering and it was just a big glob of cheese, not enough pasta. The prices were high for what it was, how it was prepared and the presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The staff was attentive and full of positive energy. The ambience was modern, cool and overall vibe was relaxed. My daughter and I enjoyed a quiet pre-show dinner. The etouffe was delightful along with the berry cobbler. I don' think anything is bad. Most importantly was how wonderful the staff was from walking in to walking out; they greeted us, made us feel important by their attentive nature and our smiling server could not have done anything better. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

VERY NICE RESTAURANT WITH A GOOD MENU SELECTION AS WELL AS PRICES. WOULD ABSOLUTELY DINE IN AGAIN

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Spicy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I went here for a dinner. We had a cozy table where we could hear the live music, but still have a conversation without yelling to be heard. The food was delicious. After we paid for our meal, we went to the bar and had a couple of drinks while listening to the band. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. Great food, service, and location for the theater.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Atmosphere was great. Waitress had a few issues keeping up with the group but overall it went well. Food was average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I wanted to surprise my fiancée with a weekend he would remember for his birthday. We are still talking about the overall experiance at sambuca. The shrimp and crab dip is an absolute must have. We loved our food and the live band. The wait staff was beyond awesome they catered to our every need. Our water cup never made it to half full, we really really liked that. I was grateful to recieve a call confirming our reservation and sesettin up a shout out from the band. I love this place, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Always great food. Once the band starts can be hard to gave good conversation but it's great for dancing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our server was slow with drinks--I was without a drink for 12 minutes. The tuna was gray in color--the dipping sauce tasted like it was poured from a jar. The calamari was bowling alley-quality--straight up frozen. The highlight was our cutie server--that's it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great except for the food. My mom had the spring chicken and it was so tough she didn't want to eat it! I tried it and it was so nasty (dry and chewy like it had be sitting there). I asked her if she wanted me to send it back but being old school she said no and ate the veggies (brussel sprouts were under done). Needless to say for the amount of money we paid we will not be back... I would rather spend my money at the Rainbow Lodge or Artista then here.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I have dined at Sambuca many times in the past and enjoyed the meal. Unfortunately on this occasion, this was not the case. The snapper was poorly seasoned and the sauce was thin and watery. My date's shrimp and pasta dish lacked character as well. Hopefully this was only a one time occurrence.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.