About Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

909 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Travis St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We understand that every moment deserves its own special detail. We will work with you to make your event extraordinary.

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Late-night Find (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Live Music (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (4)
Dancing (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Spicy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Lady at the front was veryrude. She ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Lady at the front was veryrude. She spoke in a rude manner to my guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I am 38 and have been wanting to go to S ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am 38 and have been wanting to go to Sambuca since high school! I finally got to go 9/17 for my birthday and I have to say I was very disappointed. First, it was so dark inside that you could hardly read the menu and it was so back people had their phones out trying to get more light to see the menu. The menu itself was good but the food, not so much. Food was incredibly salty and otherwise had very little flavor. but on the upside the POMTINI was amazing.

Music was incredibly loud and we were seated behind a huge pillar so we couldn't see the people dancing or the musicians.

I am glad I finally went so that I can stoop thinking about it but I don't think I will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We celebrated a night on the town at Sam ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We celebrated a night on the town at Sambucas in Downtown Houston! Great pork chop and cheesecake. Our server Eduardo was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Acrylic glasses, really? What a surpris ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Acrylic glasses, really? What a surprise to order a bottle of champagne and have it served with acrylic stemware. Unexpected in downtown Houston.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The server made the evening even better ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The server made the evening even better than it already was. Very knowledgeable, engaging and fun.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought that by making a reservation i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I thought that by making a reservation it would be for a nice table and not shoved against the window where I then had to jump over the chairs. It was not very ladylike for sure. Some business men were just in front of us and they got a very nice table. The staff is a little slow in coming around to see to our food and comfort. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and the food was good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

First time here. Came during Houston Re ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

First time here. Came during Houston Restaurant Weeks. Was very pleased. Food, service and ambiance was great. Will come back again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for dinner / drinks be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place to go for dinner / drinks before a concert or show downtown. We had a great time then walked 2 blocked to Jones Hall. Food was very good and service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service , food was not up to the ex ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good service , food was not up to the expectations. Would not recommend to take Steak, I ordered medium rare, it was delivered as well done; increments were not good neither. Starters were okay. I was expecting more after previous visits. Not my place anymore.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We were very disappointed in our steaks. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were very disappointed in our steaks. I had the filet. I had asked for medium rare & it was medium. We were on our way to a 7:30 show at the Alley Theatre, so we didn't have time to send food back. Both of the people at our table who ordered the ribeye said it was flavorless and also overcooked, and I took most of those two steaks home to my dogs.

Tags: Dancing, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to go before a performance a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great place to go before a performance at one of the theatres. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful with a few food & bar choices. Food was just right amount and very delicious.

Tags: Disabled Access, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Vegan, Wood Oven, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, People Watching, Tapas, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall my experience was average. I fre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall my experience was average. I frequent upscale restaurants. I was not impressed except for my server. Extremely attentive. Food was ok.

Tags: Live Music, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

$12 valet parking is absurd--especially ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

$12 valet parking is absurd--especially when we had a $200 dinner bill!

We thought we went earlier enough (630) to avoid the band, but didn't. I love live music, but I want to be able to have a conversation with the person at my table. Band was entirely too loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This was our first visit. The menu was e ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first visit. The menu was eclectic with interesting dishes. We both loved our meals. The dinning waiter was very attentive and service was very good. Nice modern decor and noise level was down. Prior to dining we went to the bar for a drink and despite a meager crowd , bar service was below par. We will go back to try some of the other menu items.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great except my duck. It ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was great except my duck. It had great flavor but it was really tuff. My steak knife couldn't cut through the piece of meat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Took a group for a business lunch, and e ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Took a group for a business lunch, and everyone was very pleased with my choice of venue. The crab and shrimp dip appetizer was wonderful. The menu choices are great, everyone was able to find just what they wanted. The fish tacos were a big hit. Waiter was attentive, atmosphere is very nice and well suited for a professional group. I would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last time we went to Sambuca was abo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The last time we went to Sambuca was about 4 years ago and the food, presentation and ambiance were GREAT! Since then they must have changed their menu as well as their chef. The presentation was poor and the food was cold and tasted microwaved. Our waiter was pleasant but with our reservations, they stuck us back in a small cubby booth with lighting so dim that it was hard to read the menu. Sadly, our first experience was our best and will not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

I always enjoy my experience at Sambuca! ...

vip
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I always enjoy my experience at Sambuca! The food is always well prepared, the staff is knowledge and friendly and the vibe is super cool!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak was overcooked and way over-season ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Steak was overcooked and way over-seasoned, potatoes were still raw, the bisque was barely warm and the service was very slow even though we told them we had tickets to the theater. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Great meal before taking in the theatre. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great meal before taking in the theatre. Enjoyed the Houston Food Bank restaurant week menu. Will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good but the service was unacce ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was good but the service was unacceptably slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The Sea Bass was delicious.

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Sea Bass was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food and excellent service. I wou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and excellent service. I would definitely visit them again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Convenient to the theaters downtown. Men ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Convenient to the theaters downtown. Menu looks promising but the kitchen does not deliver. Ingredients, preparation, wait staff skills, and wine list are what you might expect from a low cost family restaurant. The prices are out of line with the food and wine quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Atmosphere was good, but where we were s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Atmosphere was good, but where we were seated was very dark so we needed to use our cell phone light to see the menu. Food was okay at best - overpriced for what it was. I had the blackened fish which appeared to be cooked very fast because it was overly cooked on the outside and okay on the inside. The band, ShapeShifters was okay if you like to kick back and listen to oldies but goodies. If you like to party, dance, and have a great time, then don't go when that band is playing or you will be horribly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was spot on. I chose this re ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was spot on. I chose this restaurant for my date and I and I came out looking really good! He was impressed. The food, the ambiance, the music, the waiter all was really really good!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick apps and drinks before Wicked. Gre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Quick apps and drinks before Wicked. Great atmosphere. Yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to take friends for a night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great place to take friends for a night out. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant is one of the finest in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This restaurant is one of the finest in Houston!! Everything about it is awesome!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food looked amazing and was deliciou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food looked amazing and was delicious. The ambiance was nice. Overall, we were very pleased.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a very enjoyable dinner with our ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was a very enjoyable dinner with our friends before the play. I would love to come back and listen to the bands you have. The service was fantastic and the food was some of the best we have ever had. Desserts were so delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a nice dinner before the theat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We wanted a nice dinner before the theater but this went all wrong. We ordered in plenty of time (2 hours before the show) but after appetizers had been served and eaten and we were waiting on entrees, they came out with a menu to tell one guest their selection was not available. This was very late in the process to learn this. She changed her order quickly but we were served long after tables seated after us. We asked twice for the check and then still had to wait for the server to bring it back. The end result was we missed the first act at the show because they had already closed the door. The food was bland and overpriced. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

If you're looking for great tasting food ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

If you're looking for great tasting food and live music, this place is excellent; great atmosphere for the grown and sexy.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dressed real cute for a bday.. G ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were dressed real cute for a bday.. Got stuck in the back..:(

But 20 people came by to tell us how cute we were.. Waiter was off..no tea refilling without begging for it.. Got checks wrong..

BAND WAS GREAT..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I ate there while staying do ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My wife and I ate there while staying downtown for our wedding anniversary. My Ribeye was tough, with lots of gristle, no seasoning, and no flavor. Tator tots were bland. My wife wanted the Cobb salad but it was not a dinner menu item. She ordered a regular salad instead but did not even finish half of it. Steak dinner was refunded. Very disappointed. Would not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

When I walked into the restaurant, I was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

When I walked into the restaurant, I was asked if I had a reservation and I told her No. She told me with no reservation the wait to eat would be 1 to 1.5 hrs. I went outside, checked Open Table, saw they had reservations for 15-30 mins later, which I booked. I still had to wait over 1 hour. I feel like I made the hostess mad so she made me wait regardless.

Service was horrible. We spent over $50 per person at my table of 5, I had heard so much good about this place. I will probably never go back as nothing I tasted there would make it worth a 2nd try....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I had requested for them to write "Happy ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I had requested for them to write "Happy 10th Anniversary" in our dessert and I wanted to surprise my husband and they didn't do it so they did comp our dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I wanted to have a rela ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My boyfriend and I wanted to have a relaxing and romantic evening and enjoy music while doing so. The ambiance was great, the food and drinks were delicious, and our service was fantastic. All around a great night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible . Food was unedible . Service w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Horrible . Food was unedible . Service was horrible . Music was terrible . 😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The live music was fantastic! The Fab 5 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The live music was fantastic! The Fab 5-Beatles Tribute Band. We ate, drank, and danced the night away!! Loved it! Always do. Service was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.