HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

3.8
642 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Live Music
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday : 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight. Sunday: 11-11.-
Brunch: Suanday 11-3.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 224-5299
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Entertaining groups of any size is one of our specialties. Let our staff plan your next corporate lunch, business networking happy hour, rehearsal dinner or social event; whether it's cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for 20, or a seated dinner for 500. Each of your guests will feel like a VIP! Sambuca is where Houston comes for their parties and events. If you would like to speak with someone please call 713.227.7423 for immediate assistance.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Travis St.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Sambuca is Houston's premier location for 4-star dinner and live music nightly. Any evening is great for dining, drinking, and enjoying the show. Sambuca is the ultimate location to entertain on a night out in downtown Houston.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Entertaining groups of any size is one of our specialties. Let our staff plan your next corporate lunch, business networking happy hour, rehearsal dinner or social event; whether it's cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for 20, or a seated dinner for 500. Each of your guests will feel like a VIP! Sambuca is where Houston comes for their parties and events. If you would like to speak with someone please call 713.227.7423 for immediate assistance.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card

Private Dining

Sambuca parties and events engage the senses through tantalizing food, gorgeous ambiance and live nightly entertainment.

View Private Dining Details
What 642 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8  based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.6
service
4.1
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
RoyP 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I ate here on a weekend getaway in Houston. The food was great and the atmosphere was even better. I really wish we had a restaurant like this where we live.

Report
Helpful
KarenG 
1.0  Dined 5 days ago

The food was good. The staff was terrible. Sadly our waiter tried to do his best to help us, but he was overwhelmed. There was 1 waiter for about 30 guest in second level. Not his fault, I feel that management should have more waiters working.
The drinks were terrible. I asked for a doble shot of Crown and coke and it tasted just like coke. We waited over an hour and the waiter never came back.
We got up from the table and left. We had to walk over to the hostess to get our bill wish was over $200.00.
Sad experice for a place with great potential.

Report
Helpful
erin464 (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

While the food here is pretty decent (good but not the best I've ever had), the real reason to go is the live music! We were able to get a table front and center of the band and dance floor and enjoyed a night of music and dancing after we finished with our dinner and drinks.

Report
Helpful
Lastminute (Houston)
3.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Cool spot for a date. Ambience was great but the food I felt was not up to par.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was excellent and the live music is wonderful! The staff was very attentive and there were no hitches in the evening. This is a great date place. Guaranteed to impress your lady!

Report
Helpful
Skinsfan14 (Houston)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

I love Sambuca! I've enjoyed dining at the Houston venue several times and it's always an enjoyable experience. If you like live music while you dine, they have great bands come through to play Jazz and classic rock. The only thing I noticed with this visit is the menu changed. There's more wine and liquor choices than food. I'd still go back, but I like the old menu better. More food choices!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
2.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Food was mediocre. Service was mediocre. Band didn’t start playing until after 8pm.

Report
Helpful
MomsBDay (Los Angeles)
1.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

I had very high expectations and was so let down & embarrassed.
It was my moms bday. I reserved our table in advance and made a special request to recognize her BDay.
It was Sunday and we had tickets to a 1:00 play across the street at Joneshall . I thought brunch would make for a perfect day.
After being seated about 10 minutes we were finally recognized, menus were brought to the table.
After another 10 min our drink order was finally taken. Mind you we were the first table of the day then just one more table was sat when our drinks came. We then placed an order for smoked salmon appetizer and waited.
Glasses were empty then Waiter came and said they were out of salmon.
We skipped appetizer and ordered French soup and gyro because brunch menu was out of duck fat biscuits and was not appealing. I kid you not, another waiter came out from kitchen and said they did not have French soup. We laughed and mom ordered fish and chips. She jokingly asked if they had the fish... the second table of ladies next to us was sat and finally given the opportunity to turn in there drink order. The waiter came back to their table and said they do no have any COFFEE? We fell out of our chairs with laughter and felt like we were on a tv show “what would you do if?”
Sadly, we were not on tv.
Out food arrived and the gyro was dried chips of lamb and beef with barely any tzaini sauce and dried purple onions. I didn’t even eat it. Moms fish & chips were ok. I even made a comment about the meat when I was asked if everything is good and nothing was said or done. Moms bday was never recognized and jazz band only played the first 15 min then we never saw them again.
I paid my bill and tipped the waiter very good because it wasn’t his fault.
Whoever is in charge of the kitchen should be fired.
Very poor management. In the right hands, this place could rock!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Good service, and food and nicely presented. Decent wine selection. Had filet which was properly cooked. Crab and shrimp appetizer is a heavy cheese dish, more reminiscent of mac and cheese than crab and shrimp dip. Comfortable seating and good access to small, but adequate dance floor. Lots of bar seating with proximity to stage.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
2.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Chose this spot for dinner prior to a show.

Reservations made through Open Table were fine. Note that if you have reservations, arrive early to park nearby and walk to restaurant or pay $12 to valet.

Floor in restaurant is uneven so tables were a bit wobbly. 2 of the 6 chairs at our table were about to fall apart.

Food - ordered the ceviche and the seared ahi tuna as starters. Not sure how you do ceviche without citrus. The tuna was over cooked and bland. Dinner entrees were ok, but overpriced when you have broken chairs and wobbly tables to deal with.

Pretty sure our waiter had been drinking as he was slurring his words and we had to repeat our orders several times for him.

Would not recommend this place unless they make some serious changes.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
65