Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

4.1
654 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Live Music
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday : 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight. Sunday: 11-11.-
Brunch: Suanday 11-3.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 224-5299
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Entertaining groups of any size is one of our specialties. Let our staff plan your next corporate lunch, business networking happy hour, rehearsal dinner or social event; whether it's cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for 20, or a seated dinner for 500. Each of your guests will feel like a VIP! Sambuca is where Houston comes for their parties and events. If you would like to speak with someone please call 713.227.7423 for immediate assistance.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Travis St.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Sambuca is Houston's premier location for 4-star dinner and live music nightly. Any evening is great for dining, drinking, and enjoying the show. Sambuca is the ultimate location to entertain on a night out in downtown Houston.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Entertaining groups of any size is one of our specialties. Let our staff plan your next corporate lunch, business networking happy hour, rehearsal dinner or social event; whether it's cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for 20, or a seated dinner for 500. Each of your guests will feel like a VIP! Sambuca is where Houston comes for their parties and events. If you would like to speak with someone please call 713.227.7423 for immediate assistance.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card

Private Dining

Sambuca parties and events engage the senses through tantalizing food, gorgeous ambiance and live nightly entertainment.

View Private Dining Details
What 654 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Reservation was early to make a show later. Service and food were outstanding. Will be back to stay and catch the music next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great spot with live music and excellent food and drink.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was excellent. Always enjoy Sambuca before the symphony.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed my evening at Sambuca's. My date/boyfriend enjoyed his birthday dinner and loved the atmosphere. We will most definitely be there again. He said that this establishment will be "our spot".
Our waiter, Timothy, did an exceptional job!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Nice place for live music. food and ambiance was great.
band was awesome

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great food for lunch and went back that evening to hear The Fab 5. Great time! Only thing they ran out of champagne for my Sambuca 75's!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great downtown spot for a date or hanging out with friends. Great drinks and food and friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

After reading very mixed reviews, I was hesitant to try this restaurant, but we were going to a symphony concert and wanted something within walking distance, so we decided to try it. The service was good. The food was very good. The location was great. We had a 5:45 reservation for four adults, and we were finished with plenty of time to get to the concert. (We did not have dessert, but we would have had time if we wanted it.) I would definitely dine here again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

My first time here in two or three years. I remembered the food and atmosphere being good. Went for dinner and dancing. Food was verry mediocre and service no better. Let's just say it was indifferent. Band never played anything I could dance to so we left never dancing a step. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

I made a reservation with details that were carried out superbly, from seating, to the birthday shout out from the live band and the personalized dessert which was YUMMY. The hostess Ashley B and my server Zach was very attentive. Thanks Sambuca

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

My wife and I ate here on a weekend getaway in Houston. The food was great and the atmosphere was even better. I really wish we had a restaurant like this where we live.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The food was good. The staff was terrible. Sadly our waiter tried to do his best to help us, but he was overwhelmed. There was 1 waiter for about 30 guest in second level. Not his fault, I feel that management should have more waiters working.
The drinks were terrible. I asked for a doble shot of Crown and coke and it tasted just like coke. We waited over an hour and the waiter never came back.
We got up from the table and left. We had to walk over to the hostess to get our bill wish was over $200.00.
Sad experice for a place with great potential.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

While the food here is pretty decent (good but not the best I've ever had), the real reason to go is the live music! We were able to get a table front and center of the band and dance floor and enjoyed a night of music and dancing after we finished with our dinner and drinks.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Cool spot for a date. Ambience was great but the food I felt was not up to par.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was excellent and the live music is wonderful! The staff was very attentive and there were no hitches in the evening. This is a great date place. Guaranteed to impress your lady!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

I love Sambuca! I've enjoyed dining at the Houston venue several times and it's always an enjoyable experience. If you like live music while you dine, they have great bands come through to play Jazz and classic rock. The only thing I noticed with this visit is the menu changed. There's more wine and liquor choices than food. I'd still go back, but I like the old menu better. More food choices!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Food was mediocre. Service was mediocre. Band didn’t start playing until after 8pm.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 21, 2018

I had very high expectations and was so let down & embarrassed.
It was my moms bday. I reserved our table in advance and made a special request to recognize her BDay.
It was Sunday and we had tickets to a 1:00 play across the street at Joneshall . I thought brunch would make for a perfect day.
After being seated about 10 minutes we were finally recognized, menus were brought to the table.
After another 10 min our drink order was finally taken. Mind you we were the first table of the day then just one more table was sat when our drinks came. We then placed an order for smoked salmon appetizer and waited.
Glasses were empty then Waiter came and said they were out of salmon.
We skipped appetizer and ordered French soup and gyro because brunch menu was out of duck fat biscuits and was not appealing. I kid you not, another waiter came out from kitchen and said they did not have French soup. We laughed and mom ordered fish and chips. She jokingly asked if they had the fish... the second table of ladies next to us was sat and finally given the opportunity to turn in there drink order. The waiter came back to their table and said they do no have any COFFEE? We fell out of our chairs with laughter and felt like we were on a tv show “what would you do if?”
Sadly, we were not on tv.
Out food arrived and the gyro was dried chips of lamb and beef with barely any tzaini sauce and dried purple onions. I didn’t even eat it. Moms fish & chips were ok. I even made a comment about the meat when I was asked if everything is good and nothing was said or done. Moms bday was never recognized and jazz band only played the first 15 min then we never saw them again.
I paid my bill and tipped the waiter very good because it wasn’t his fault.
Whoever is in charge of the kitchen should be fired.
Very poor management. In the right hands, this place could rock!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Good service, and food and nicely presented. Decent wine selection. Had filet which was properly cooked. Crab and shrimp appetizer is a heavy cheese dish, more reminiscent of mac and cheese than crab and shrimp dip. Comfortable seating and good access to small, but adequate dance floor. Lots of bar seating with proximity to stage.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Chose this spot for dinner prior to a show.

Reservations made through Open Table were fine. Note that if you have reservations, arrive early to park nearby and walk to restaurant or pay $12 to valet.

Floor in restaurant is uneven so tables were a bit wobbly. 2 of the 6 chairs at our table were about to fall apart.

Food - ordered the ceviche and the seared ahi tuna as starters. Not sure how you do ceviche without citrus. The tuna was over cooked and bland. Dinner entrees were ok, but overpriced when you have broken chairs and wobbly tables to deal with.

Pretty sure our waiter had been drinking as he was slurring his words and we had to repeat our orders several times for him.

Would not recommend this place unless they make some serious changes.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

I was under the impression this was a good dinner date spot. Unfortunately we were sat with bright blue stage lights shining right in our eyes and on our food, despite ours and another couple’s request to turn them off or down — and let me tell you how appetizing food looks with a blue hue...

Perhaps the hostess should have asked if we wanted to sit in front of the stage? Don’t just assume the pregnant couple are there to party. <eye roll>

Despite looking unappetizing, the steak and chicken were quite good, but the so called “prosciutto Mac and cheese” was nothing but flavorless penne. They will up sell everything but we didn’t bite, so to speak.

They were clearly more concerned about music than being a restaurant. In addition to the empty stage lighting up our dinner, the alt rock was loud over the speakers, like we were at House of Blues. Service was friendly but slow. Will not be returning for dinner. In no way relaxing or romantic.

We walked by a few hours later and it was clearly a hot spot for the 50+ crowd.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 20, 2018

I very rarely review restaurants and i certainly don’t like to be negative but this was an awful dining experience. The prosecco I ordered was completely flat, the waiter pushed the daily specials which sounded lovely but weren’t good at all (describing the beef as “central market quality”, mistakenly calling it “figyu style” ... he meant “wagyu beef”, which it was not), the pork chop was completely dry and tasteless, the scallops were cold and my side of potatoes didn’t come out until I was more than half done with the three scallops on the plate. The raw asparagus and sliced tomatoes on the plate were just awkward and didn’t go well with the scallops. It’s like Applebee’s quality with an Underbelly price point. We will never go back with this being our second terrible experience at a Sambuca (the first being in Dallas).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Had the pork chop and a Caesar salad. Wife had shrimp and a Caesar. Had the crumble for dessert it was excellent. Overall good. A little pricey on drinks but it's Houston.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Food was fantastic for my party of 4 (we had the filet, salmon, pork chop and spring chicken); service was on point. The drinks were very good and reasonably priced for the venue. The live music (1/13/18) was outdated and did not fit the atmosphere/expectation . Sambuca should’ve simply continued playing Sade in the background rather than try to fill the spot with whatever “that” was. We walked down the street to another bar and had a great “after dinner” time. I would go back; I’d just be ready to bail if the music isn’t a fit for the evening (which was the case for my group).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Great Jazz Brunch! $3 mimosas and bloody marys and great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

My husband & I went to Sambuca on New Year’s Eve Eve & the music, food, & service was top notch. I only gave the value 4 stars because the side I got (potato tots) & my husband’s plate (chili rubbed scallops) were a bit small.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Good food and live music

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

It was our 10 year Anniversary dinner and the food was great. I had the 7oz filet and it very soft and juicy. My husband had the pork chop and it was very delicious as well. The shrimp and crab dip was also very tasty. The ambience was nice, we went at 6pm so it was rather empty for a Saturday. But the band started playing around 8pm and it was filled with people by then. We did not stay very long but it seems like a good place to listen to a good salsa band. Will definitely go there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Went here since it was close to Jones Hall where we were going to see a show. Drinks before dinner took way too long to get. Bartender clearly did not want to be there...we had to ask for service, silverware, etc. After sitting down to dinner, food took too long to prepare; some was cold. Waitress did her best under the circumstances.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

A fantastic experience - great ambience with live music. Very convenient location near the theater. Delicious food. Will definitely be returning!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 19, 2017

must have been poor management - kitchen ran out of multiple options in early lunch time, restaurant was empty, yet still slow. I felt bad for kitchen and wait staff, as they had no control but received the blame. what food we were able to receive, an hour later, was mediocre at best. lost a lot of nearby customers from our office.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2017

They were out of ingredients for several dishes that we tried to order. The guy running the kitchen cussed like a sailor in front of my wife and kids, He as least did apologize. They didn't have any dessert except chess cake. I generally enjoy this place but was sorely disappointed with my last visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

This is a great hang out for above average live entertainment.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2017

First time for dinner after many lunch occasions. Appetizers and entrees were no where near the quality I expected.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Absolutely the best food I've had in awhile the oscar salmon was to die for. The head chef even came out to say hello and talk to us about the food and her background which we truly loved that she did. Our waitress Jessica had great suggestions for both food wine and cocktails and was always on top of checking on us. Plan on going back this weekend for sure!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 15, 2017

It is very convenient to Jones Hall but the service here is ALWAYS terrible. I had to get up and get my own plate and silverware when the appetizer was served. Its been this way for years.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

We have had very good experiences here in the past but not tonight. The service was slow and our waiter was very inattentive.
The salad greens were wilted and brown and were replaced with more wilted but not brown ones. My wife’s chicken wasn’t thoroughly cooked. The waiter didn’t come around to check if our food was okay.
We ordered coffee and tea with two desserts for our table of four. We received two coffees and one tea and three spoons. No creamer and sugar. When I got his attention to ask for another spoon and the cream and sugar, he stated that he “was really busy and would get to us when he could”.
I mentioned the poor service to whom I thought was a supervisor but he had no comment.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 8, 2017

The worst service imaginable. We had an 8:15 Reservation. Sat by 8:15 which was fine. Ordered drinks by 8:30. Got those drinks at 9pm. Ordered appetizers at 8:40. Got them at 9:15. Although we were starving, the waiter didn’t come to take our Order dinner 915pm. Still didn’t have any dinner plates by 10:20pm. No one took our menus or refilled drinks or cleared our appetizer plates. I ordered a drink that I watched sit on the bar for 15 minutes before the server brought it to me watered down ice melted. We left by 10:40 with no food on the table and had the manager cancel our orders.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 3, 2017

We had several issues with this meal, including poor food and poor service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17