Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Sambuca Restaurant - Houston

A word from Sambuca Restaurant - Houston
Located in the historic Rice Hotel downtown, Sambuca is Houston’s only rockin’ dinner club. We serve American food with a side of nightly live music as diverse as our menu. And our talents don’t stop there! Sambuca can cater your next special event in style. Whether it is off-site at Sambuca or in the Crystal Ballroom at the Rice, you can be sure every detail will be handled with the upmost attention. Contact our catering department to book your next party.

909 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday - 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Travis St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We understand that every moment deserves its own special detail. We will work with you to make your event extraordinary.

Sambuca Restaurant - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (29)
Good for a Date (20)
Happy Hour (18)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Dancing (15)
Fun (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Casual (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband took me there for my birthday and it was such a special dinner. the food, ambience, service was all excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible food. Very lots

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved the secluded table, the waiter was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

My ratings would have been higher if not for a switch-a-roo on the wines we ordered. We asked about the $4 Happy Hour wines and the server showed us the list which included Nobilo Sauv. Blanc and Pascual Malbec so we ordered two rounds of each. When the bill was presented, $4 was deducted from the list price of the wine so they were not $4/each. Very deceiving. Also, I would not recommend the bisque nor the bibb salad; very bland and lacking in taste. Our server, Mandy, was well versed on the menu and we had a lovely charcuterie board with a delicious French cheese - highly recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great place for my lunch meeting with a client. Enough attention from our waiter to get us what we needed while letting us have a business conversation. My first time there as a frequent visitor to Houston. Will have to try dinner next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, great wine and excellent company in a very nice ambiance. A great evening. The server was a little green but friendly and willing to learn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had not been back to the restaurant in years but I went on a date with my girlfriend and it was a great start to our long lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had a great steak. Prime ribeye. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great venue. Food was delicious, serice was excellent and ambiance was relaxing with enjoyable live music.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went there with my wife prior to a concert at Jones hall. Waiter was attentive and a nice guy. The food was really very good. The ribeye was excellent and the snapper was excellent too

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The veggie lasagna was inedible. The kalamata olives were overpowering and it was just a big glob of cheese, not enough pasta. The prices were high for what it was, how it was prepared and the presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The staff was attentive and full of positive energy. The ambience was modern, cool and overall vibe was relaxed. My daughter and I enjoyed a quiet pre-show dinner. The etouffe was delightful along with the berry cobbler. I don' think anything is bad. Most importantly was how wonderful the staff was from walking in to walking out; they greeted us, made us feel important by their attentive nature and our smiling server could not have done anything better. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

VERY NICE RESTAURANT WITH A GOOD MENU SELECTION AS WELL AS PRICES. WOULD ABSOLUTELY DINE IN AGAIN

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Dancing, Spicy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I went here for a dinner. We had a cozy table where we could hear the live music, but still have a conversation without yelling to be heard. The food was delicious. After we paid for our meal, we went to the bar and had a couple of drinks while listening to the band. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. Great food, service, and location for the theater.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Atmosphere was great. Waitress had a few issues keeping up with the group but overall it went well. Food was average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I wanted to surprise my fiancée with a weekend he would remember for his birthday. We are still talking about the overall experiance at sambuca. The shrimp and crab dip is an absolute must have. We loved our food and the live band. The wait staff was beyond awesome they catered to our every need. Our water cup never made it to half full, we really really liked that. I was grateful to recieve a call confirming our reservation and sesettin up a shout out from the band. I love this place, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always great food. Once the band starts can be hard to gave good conversation but it's great for dancing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server was slow with drinks--I was without a drink for 12 minutes. The tuna was gray in color--the dipping sauce tasted like it was poured from a jar. The calamari was bowling alley-quality--straight up frozen. The highlight was our cutie server--that's it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great except for the food. My mom had the spring chicken and it was so tough she didn't want to eat it! I tried it and it was so nasty (dry and chewy like it had be sitting there). I asked her if she wanted me to send it back but being old school she said no and ate the veggies (brussel sprouts were under done). Needless to say for the amount of money we paid we will not be back... I would rather spend my money at the Rainbow Lodge or Artista then here.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I have dined at Sambuca many times in the past and enjoyed the meal. Unfortunately on this occasion, this was not the case. The snapper was poorly seasoned and the sauce was thin and watery. My date's shrimp and pasta dish lacked character as well. Hopefully this was only a one time occurrence.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Really enjoyed the overall environment
Great place,wife really enjoyed it there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love it when The Fab 5 Beatle's Tribute Bank is there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always very accommodating - I love listening to the Fab 5 at Sambuca. Good food & not too loud.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great waiter and excellent live band. Had a fantastic time with a first date.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The service was absolutely horrible! We went on a Wednesday and it was dead, but someone the service was terrible not attentive at all. They sat us right in front of the the entertainment and on the side of the kitchen window in which my husband felt like he was baking , he was so hot. Last time I went to Sambuca was about 10yrs ago and everything about it was excellent! They've diffidently went down hill. Reason for our visit is we had a concert to attend near by and decided to go there since it's been so long since we've been there . Sadly we will not be returning again! Appetizers we're good, my lobster was chewy , not very good. My husbands food wasn't bad. If the service didn't let us down we'd have maybe considered going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Location is great for out of town visitors staying downtown. nice environment and the food was good, but not great.
BUT, the live music was really good and we ended up staying for a while after the meal to listen to the music.
I wouldn't go there again for the food, but I would for the music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very nice music and food scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My guest and I arrived on time and the hostesses were very nice, professional, and seated us immediately. Decor is lovely, though it was hard to see in the dark. Also very hard to read menus. Service from the waitress was slow. Super slow. We ordered wine and then waited about 15 minutes. When she brought the wine, she finally asked about appetizers. Once dinner plates were delivered, she did not return until she was ready to bring the check. In other words, when the food became cold and congealed on the plate and it was useless to ask her for anything.
We ordered the vegetable lasagna and the pork chop but substituted the side dish, requesting Au gratin potatoes if substitutions were permitted. They are.
The lasagna came out in a giant roll. Not layers, a roll. A huge roll that could have fed the average family of 4. I'm not one to complain about large portions, but it was sort of flavorless so it didn't matter how much of it was there. It lacked any italian seasoning- just a log of veges and ricotta cheese wrapped into a pasta blanket.
The pork chop was very good but a tomato puree of sorts was on top and that was not. The Au Gratin potatoes were also bland and very dry. No salt, pepper, rosemary, or even cheese was in the potatoes. There was some cheese on top, but aren't au gratin potatoes supposed to have a least a little sauce?
After dinner we were planning to sit at the bar, have a drink and enjoy the band. The bar seats about 12 people. It was full. The bartender was really working hard but he was angry and cussing out another bartender while he did. He had lots of lovely opinions about his co-worker and suggestions were made for his (hopefully) post-work personal entertainment.
I used to love this place. What the hell happened?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nicely impressed. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Awesome, I love it here, pricy however that never stops me from returning, very classy and supreme service

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Dancing, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great happy hour to hit up before a show. Buca balls and pizza are excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was great. The food was awesome. We had dinner before the ballet. We had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and get to the ballet on time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Went to Sambuca for my birthday lunch with friends. We were seated right away, our server was great and we had a very nice lunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was good as usual but waiter forgot about us. Typically excellent for a quiet business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I'll start with the appetizers, we ordered the Shrimp Crab Dip. The seasoning was horrible, it was so bland. It was almost like a cream cheese dip. We ordered a Miller Lite that was warm? Who likes to drink Warm beers? No one I know. The pricing was outrageous for the quality of each meal. Around the Table we all ordered the following: The Rib eye dish, ordered it medium rare- was over cooked. Came on the Medium well side. The shrimp scampi, no complaints on that dish. The Miso Bass, the sea bass was over cooked. The Scallops Dish, the menu read that it came with risotto rice, also asparagus. When the dish arrived, the price compared to the meal size was ridiculous. We also ordered a Bloody Mary that was one of the most blan bloody Mary's in a Houston. To finish our meal we ordered the Cobbler, because the waiter complimented it so well. Only for him to come back in a matter of 10 minutes to tell us he didn't realize they ran out of cobbler. Talk about Lack of communication, it wasn't busy. It was a rainy Sunday night so we were a little surprised by that news. We settled for the Cheesecake, it was frozen to start off. The texture was not smooth whatsoever and the taste of a traditional cheesecake lacked completely. Overall, for a birthday dinner I would of loved to spend $250.00 elsewhere. I will not be recommending this place to any friends in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A group of 6 women from work met at Sambuca for dinner before attending a show in the theatre district. We enjoyed the convenience of the location, valet parking, atmosphere and food. We found the service to be very attentive and helpful. We would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food and good service. Ideal for a business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We were looking for a place downtown to celebrate my husband's birthday before the theater and I had received a $25 off coupon to celebrate Samba's 25th Anniversary. It did the trick and got us back to Sambuca and we had a lovely meal. Everything exceeded our expectations. It was a Tuesday night and we were early enough for happy hour so we started with a margarita and mai tai and a flatbread appetizer which was delicious. Next up was shrimp and crab bisque for my husband and the gorgonzola and walnut salad for me. For entrees he went for the scallops and I had the gorgonzola-topped 7 oz filet. We split a creme brûlée which they wrote "Happy Birthday" on the plate. Our reservation was at 5:30 and it was nice and quiet. The band was setting up and the crowd was really picking up as we were leaving for the theater at 7 PM. We had a great time and the food and service was impeccable. $12 for valet parking was a bit high, seems like they could validate it for half price or something but it's downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.