About Sambuca Grille

234 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
View Larger Map

Sambuca Grille is an Italian restaurant located in Downtown Scranton.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 961-5205

Website:
http://sambucagrillebar.com/

Entertainment:
Come and enjoy our Live Piano Singer every Friday and Saturday night

Catering:
Please call 570-961-5205 to inquire and ask for Benny

Parking Details:
Free Street Parking Dinner time

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken And Eggplant - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Mango Martini - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Rumchata - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Chicken Arribiatta - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Rack of Lamb - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Chicken And Eggplant - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Mango Martini - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Rumchata - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Chicken Arribiatta - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Rack of Lamb - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA

Sambuca Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
11 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Scranton ›

Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Dijon chicken was amazing a little p ...

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined 6 days ago

The Dijon chicken was amazing a little pricy for chicken(18.95) but really delish! I think though that meal should include a salad for that price but very very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sambuca is hands down, my FAVORITE place ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 7 days ago

Sambuca is hands down, my FAVORITE place!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing food and excellent servi ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Always amazing food and excellent service. Super friendly staff

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Sambuca and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our second time at Sambuca and it was outstanding once again. It's a very romantic setting, but would be fun for a couples night or girls night out. The service is top notch. No detail is missed. We've gone both times on a Saturday and each time they had a very talented pianist. It created a nice atmosphere and ambiance. The wine list has a large variety and bottles started at $26+, they also sell wine by the glass and have a full bar. Food is fantastic and prepared fresh. It's also worth noting, the restaurant is very clean. The proprietor takes great pride in his restaurant and it shows.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy to make reservations with Open Tabl ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Easy to make reservations with Open Table site. Friendly service by all of the staff. Great atmosphere with the piano player in the front creating nice sound to not hear the other tables. Small establishment but very cozy. Meals are prepared just enough to make them different from other fine dining restaurants but the meals are delicious! Fresh meats and pastas. Sauces were prepared just right. We are only wine drinkers so I can't say anything about the bar other than it looked to be prepared for anything. Great date night choice for couples of all ages.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always good and never disa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is always good and never disappoints.

The food, music,atmosphere and staff always make it a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Enjoyed the ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. Enjoyed the evening with co-workers and would certainly come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We followed Benny from his restaurant in ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We followed Benny from his restaurant in Flemington NJ and did an overnight in Scranton. Ad usual Benny did not disappoint my wife and I. After 5 years he still remembered our meal preferences. The food was fantastic and Benny is a gracious host. We will go back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted with Sambuca Grille. T ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were delighted with Sambuca Grille. The food, the atmosphere, the staff, the cost, we're all way above par. Highly recommend. We were back in Scranton the following week and were disappointed we did not have the time to make a return visit.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The combination of amazing food, excell ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The combination of amazing food, excellent service , music and cozy ambiance make this place my favorite in Scranton!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Reasonable pric ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service. Reasonable prices. Some areas are a little dark to see menu ..

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing all around took my wife and we h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing all around took my wife and we had the best time ..food rocked it the service was great and piano bar was so much fun ❤️

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner in Scranton at ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner in Scranton at Sambuca Grille! This was our third visit to Scranton but first time at Sambuca's and it was by far the best meal we have had in the area. Plus we are from NYC so our bar is high! Terrific and varied classic Italian menu. My husband and I both had pasta (I had penne a la vodka and my husband had a pasta and shellfish dish). Our salads were great - interesting ingredients and high quality. While it has an "adult" atmosphere, we were there early (5pm) with our 5 year old daughter and it was lovely and she enjoyed pasta and chocolate cake (they were also very gracious and brought her some plain cucumber slices). We also had a nice bottle of wine. The service was warm and welcoming. It must be one of the best places in Scranton! We will definitely go back the next time we are there.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little gem in the heart of scranto ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great little gem in the heart of scranton pa! Food was outstanding

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's always a pleasure to dine at Sambuc ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It's always a pleasure to dine at Sambuca! Excellent food, lovely ambiance and a fabulous wait staff. A+!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent portabello mushroom appetizer ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent portabello mushroom appetizer excellent specials. Truly is my favorite place for food drink and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

There was no reason to read the menu as ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

There was no reason to read the menu as all the specials were so enticing! Each in our party of 4 ordered different item. By far the winner was the meat filled tortelloni. Just the right size portion for a rich dish. While my beef with rissoto was not disappointing, I found the beef just a little tough.

We sat next to the pianist and initially i thought it would be too loud, but it was lovely and enjoyable.

The wait staff was attentive, friendly and made us feel like regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

reviews for this restaurant read well be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

reviews for this restaurant read well before we made a reservation.. well what a huge disappointment this place was . Our meals lacked any bit of taste at all. And the entrees we ordered were the specials of the evening. i would not recommend this place to go to for good italian food,, i have had better italian food in pizzeria's.. the service was good if thats what you want. if good food is what you want this place should not be your choice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Came up for Scranton family weekend and ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Came up for Scranton family weekend and was looking for a nice place to eat. The food was excellent, the service exceptional and the ambiance was lovely. Piano player saturday night but just the right volume as to not interfere with dinner conversation. A Scranton gem!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The piano player created a beautiful and enjoyable ambiance. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the staff was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was delicious and the staff was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sambuca is one of our favorite restauran ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Sambuca is one of our favorite restaurants and we try to get here as often as possible. I am always recommending this restaurant to others as well! For the best Italian food in our area and exceptional service, I highly recommend Sambuca!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience at Sambu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything about our experience at Sambuca was excellent. We visit Scranton regularly and are thrilled with this find. It is, by far, the best restaurant in downtown Scranton and we intend go back every chance we get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and wait staff ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service was excellent and wait staff was happy to provide recommendations. The eggplant and portobello appetizers were very good. I had the dinner special which was chicken topped with smoked mozzarella, roasted red pepper, and asparagus. The cutlets were very thin and the real flavor was from the toppings. Fortunately, those flavors were great. Another person in the party had a different chicken dish and again the cutlets were extremely thin. One diner had veal and that was outstanding.

The food balanced out to be okay but a little pricey for the serving sizes. Serving temperature of the food was not as hot as it could have been.

Atmosphere was great and I would consider returning but will stay away from the chicken.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great meal. Piano player adds t ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always a great meal. Piano player adds to romantic environment. Great ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice. One of the best ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always a great choice. One of the best in Scranton, the food and service are excellent. Daily specials are always a good choice and we are never disappointed at Sambuca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sambuca delivers on all fronts. A friend ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sambuca delivers on all fronts. A friendly waitstaff, quality food, incredible ambiance, and a setup that makes you feel like you're getting your money's worth all contribute to the great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always enjoy going to Sambucci. Food and ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always enjoy going to Sambucci. Food and staff are wonderful. Prices a little high but worth the night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

An authentic gem in downtown Scranton. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

An authentic gem in downtown Scranton. Attentive staff that takes pride in their restaurant. One of the best experiences and rivals being in Italy itself. Dining was an evening event and the table became the hub of good conversation, great food, and the smooth ambience of a "Tony Bennett-like "piano player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having just relocated from New York City ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Having just relocated from New York City it was refreshing to find a restaurant serving quality food. The atmosphere was special, the staff was friendly and the service was accommodating. A lovely night out to celebrate any event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best meal I have had in a long time. Out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best meal I have had in a long time. Out with friends that I don't see often. If you want to talk and aren't there for the entertainment, ask to not be seated near the piano player. He was looking for applause and even called us out for it. We were looking for a night out of conversation. Service and food were phenomenal. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food although pasta portions are s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food although pasta portions are small for the price and in comparison to other Italian restaurants we've been to . My husband had he frutti de mare and again the size was small compared to other italian dining restaurants. The specials were amazing as was everything else . And yes I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

New York City type dining experience tha ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 11, 2016

New York City type dining experience that you can't find around here. Excellent food. Authentic Italian servers and staff. Awesome date night

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing !!!!!! Great food and great serv ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Amazing !!!!!! Great food and great service - local gem !!!!! Can't say enough about it - except GO THERE !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sambuca Grill never disapoints. I HIGHL ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sambuca Grill never disapoints. I HIGHLY Recommend this place for anyone who loves food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very good. Service and staff Ple ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always very good. Service and staff

Pleasurable. Good food and good value

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

GREAT FOOD. GREAT SERVICE. Enoyed the at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 23, 2016

GREAT FOOD. GREAT SERVICE. Enoyed the atmosphere alot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Scranton!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2016

The best restaurant in Scranton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall Pretty Good

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We hadn't been to the Sambuca Grill in several years so we thought we would return. We were seated promptly at 7pm, our reservation time. We were seated fairly close to the piano player, who was doing a good job, but was a tad too loud. It was hard for us to carry on conversations with this. The service seemed a bit slow for us...not exceptionally...but still a little off. Frankly we like our dining out to move at a pretty brisk pace. Everything was ala carte. The food was good, but portion sizes were smaller than expected. The chocolate flourless cake was very good for dessert. We will probably return someday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Delicious and authentic

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were here to celebrate my graduation and the people were so friendly, plus the food was delicious! Great value and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.