About Sambuca Grille

Sambuca Grille is an Italian restaurant located in Downtown Scranton.

234 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 961-5205

Website:
http://sambucagrillebar.com/

Entertainment:
Come and enjoy our Live Piano Singer every Friday and Saturday night

Catering:
Please call 570-961-5205 to inquire and ask for Benny

Parking Details:
Free Street Parking Dinner time

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sambuca Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Live Music (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great drinks too. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent food and service. Pasta Vodka is the best around. And the baclava is extraordinary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I do not live in the area but make sure to have at least one meal there when in town. I have only had wonderful dining experiences. The attention to detail for every aspect of ones dining experience is phenomenal. I highly recommend dining at Sumbuca Grille.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always a treat to come here. I've never had bad service or good.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the area. Never ever disappoints!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We didn't expect to find an awesome Italian restaurant on the level of Sambuca Grille in Scranton, PA. Of course, we had never been to Scranton! The restaurant was lovely, the service was impeccable and the food was amazing! It's a little pricey, but well worth it if you're looking for a great authentic Italian meal. Make a reservation because it appears to be a local favorite.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As usual, food was excellent. Service is always prompt and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sambuca never disappoints. We have been to Sambuca many times while visiting my daughter at the University of Scranton. The food is absolutely delicious-always offer specials that are "to die for" but there regular menu is anything but "regular". It's a family run establishment - each person makes your meal an experience making you want to return. If you are in Scranton, go to Sambuca.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. We will be going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The service was wonderful. The food delicious. It was served hot which is important too us and in a timely manner, not too fast, but not a long wait. Great atmosphere. will go again and will recommend to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere were superb. The wait staff were very helpful (and friendly) explaining food selection. I will frequent this gem more often but I do feel the appetizers and desserts were more pricey than other restaurants. Not sure about drink prices. A great find and experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to sambuca grille for mother's day, food was delicious,would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day dinner. Unlike other places, didn't force a Mother's Day menu with jacked up prices. Regular menu has a great variety and everything is prepared wonderfully. Accommodated my vegetarian daughter. Expert, friendly staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous From Start to Finish!

We were a party of four at this fabulous restaurant on Sat; 5/13/17. It was fantastic!

We all enjoyed our appetizers (clams, calamari, shrimp cocktail, tomato with fresh
mozzarella and balsamic) to the Caeser Salad to our entrees (Veal Parm, Grilled Tuna,
Penne Vodka and a Seafood Fra-Diavolo). All food was fresh and expertly prepared.
Servers were very attentive.

The piano player is a special added touch. Highly recommend this restaurant. Can't
wait to go back.

EllenC.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food.. nice place to meet friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The waiters were all attentive and friendly. They have a nice bar for pre-dinner drinks. Our table was ready when requested. And everything laid out nicely. The dinner service was good, but we were both disappointed in the rack of lamb that we each ordered. We requested rare and some parts were rare, but other parts were almost raw. The sauce on the lamb was sparse and was nothing special. The wine, desserts and after dinner espresso were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Every single dish is absolutely wonderful. From soups to salad to protein and pasta, every dish is perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. It gets a little loud next to the piano, so keep that in mind when being seated. However, the pianist is very talented and does a fantastic job so it's not a bother to us, just something to keep in mind.

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Must visit when in Scranton, PA. Food is truly amazing.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was amazing! I love bolognese, and this may have been the best I've ever tasted. I highly recommend the rigatoni bolognese.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic restaurant...Frequent visitor,,,atmosphere is perfect, food is excellent and Paul on piano singing on Saturday is fantastic. Always a great experience.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were visiting Scranton to see a show at the Cultural Center and celebrate my father-in-law's birthday. We chose Sambuca Grille after reading positive reviews on another site and for its proximity to the Cultural Center (about 7 minutes walking). We had a table of 6 and all of us enjoyed our food immensely. We had the tomato and mozzarella and calamari for our appetizers. The pasta was delicious and the serving sizes were large. The sides were small; without appetizers, we may have needed to order an additional side. The dessert was varied and tasty. The staff were all very competent and polite. Some of them even joked around with us a bit. Many different staff interacted with us throughout the night. There was also a piano player! It was a wonderful experience. If we return to Scranton, we will definitely return to Sambuca Grille.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant in the Scranton area. The food is delicious and we never leave hungry. The service is spectacular!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We ate here once before and I must say the food was as good on this trip as last time. I had the tuna special, my husband had veal Sambuca. Both were excellent and plentiful. We also shared a salad special that was delicious. Our aunt only wanted a salad as a main and the restaurant was fine with this and served her when we got our entrees. The restaurant is family owned and they are very friendly and make you feel right at home. We would definitely go back to this restaurant on our next visit to Scranton.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vegan, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Comfortable bar area. Bartender, waiters, waitresses very effient and courteous. Dinners presentation great and delicious. Enjoyed live music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 4, 2017

overall comfort and relaxed atmosphere is a big plus. service is very good , knowledgeable with a professional friendly staff. food is an a +

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Family operated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Buono! Great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was my wife's birthday and our first time here. OUTSTANDING! We both ate everything on our plates. Even our salads. We didn't leave a strand of cheese. :-)
The entrees were mouth-watering and awesome. Best Vodka sauce I have ever had - anywhere!
We had at least 6 people take care of some aspect of our experience, and there was a piano player/singer that was just right for the atmosphere.

We cannot wait to go back and take friends with us!
Place isn't huge, so I would suggest reservations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Among the very best in Scranton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant and the people that own it. Great food, great atmosphere and the best service always. Love Thursdays thru Saturday with Paul on the piano. Definitely a 5-star restaurant. A true gem!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food and service are outstanding! One of my go to spots whenever im in Scranton. Love the piano ambiance and family owned vibe here! Great tome always!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've been here many times over the years and I have never been disappointed, not even slightly. My favorite is the Spinach Ravioli, but the Penne Vodka w/ Grilled Shrimp is amazing. They are kind, considerate and the staff moves as one - keeping up with the needs of a filled restaurant. Their specials are one of a kind (get the lobster if they should happen to have it as a special). Drinks are perfect and dessert is not to be missed. I simply can not say enough about this place.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Outstanding meal - outstanding service. We will be back again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food, great service in this family-run Italian gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

What a great spot in Scranton! Was here on business and was craving Italian - this place was fantastic! The chicken and pasta was delicious! Would definitely visit town again just for the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I have dined at the Sumbucca Grille on three occasions...each visit was as good as the first,..outstanding!! The staff is most congenial as well as attentive , great service and friendly attitude is the norm....and the food is by far second to none! We don't often dine at restaurants that are considered "pricey" as most would admit.....but we feel we owe it to ourselves to suck up the atmosphere and attention offered by the staff.....we will certainly return when we need a "boost!!"

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was our first trip to Sambuca's but it won't be our last. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and obliging. My husband and I ended up ordering all specials of the day. We started with a Caprese Salad with roasted red peppers and balsamic vinegar. We shared the salad and it was plenty. For dinner my husband ordered Ravioli filled with a short rib filling and mushroom sauce. He loved it. I had their Tuna on Spinach with a lemon sauce. Also delicious. Our Aunt only ordered a green salad and the staff was fine with just bringing that to her as her entrée. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you want outstanding Italian food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love going here anytime we visit Scranton. Staff is friendly. Food is terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome. Great service and great food. Buono!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.