About Sambuca Grille

234 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
View Larger Map

Sambuca Grille is an Italian restaurant located in Downtown Scranton.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 961-5205

Website:
http://sambucagrillebar.com/

Entertainment:
Come and enjoy our Live Piano Singer every Friday and Saturday night

Catering:
Please call 570-961-5205 to inquire and ask for Benny

Parking Details:
Free Street Parking Dinner time

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken And Eggplant - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Mango Martini - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Rumchata - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Chicken Arribiatta - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
  • Rack of Lamb - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA

Report a photo problem

Chicken And Eggplant - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Mango Martini - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Rumchata - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Chicken Arribiatta - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA
Rack of Lamb - Sambuca Grille, Scranton, PA

Sambuca Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Live Music (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were well pleased with everything on ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were well pleased with everything on our first visit which was New Years Eve 2016/2017.

The atmosphere was cozy and intimate. The food was excellent. If you are looking for a special place to go with your spouse or family that will be long remembered this is the place. The staff is professional and friendly. They make you feel very comfortable.

I did not realize there would be a special menu for the holiday which has its limitations compared to there general everyday menu. We were happy with the selections available and really enjoyed our evening,

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sambuca Grille is one of my favorite pla ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Sambuca Grille is one of my favorite places. The food, service, and hospitality is always consistent.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last minute Christmas Eve dinner decisio ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Last minute Christmas Eve dinner decision. Only local place I could find with later evening reservations. Very very accomodating. Very nice dinner for my family of 5.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere, service, and food were a ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The atmosphere, service, and food were all exceptional! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Would recommend ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for an intimate dinner. My h ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place for an intimate dinner. My husband and I have never been disappointed in the food. Extremely pleasant wait staff who have been there for years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sambuca is a great, cozy Italian restaur ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

Sambuca is a great, cozy Italian restaurant located in downtown Scranton. The staff is friendly and attentive; the food is consistently delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Dijon chicken was amazing a little p ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The Dijon chicken was amazing a little pricy for chicken(18.95) but really delish! I think though that meal should include a salad for that price but very very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sambuca is hands down, my FAVORITE place ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Sambuca is hands down, my FAVORITE place!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing food and excellent servi ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Always amazing food and excellent service. Super friendly staff

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Sambuca and ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our second time at Sambuca and it was outstanding once again. It's a very romantic setting, but would be fun for a couples night or girls night out. The service is top notch. No detail is missed. We've gone both times on a Saturday and each time they had a very talented pianist. It created a nice atmosphere and ambiance. The wine list has a large variety and bottles started at $26+, they also sell wine by the glass and have a full bar. Food is fantastic and prepared fresh. It's also worth noting, the restaurant is very clean. The proprietor takes great pride in his restaurant and it shows.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy to make reservations with Open Tabl ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Easy to make reservations with Open Table site. Friendly service by all of the staff. Great atmosphere with the piano player in the front creating nice sound to not hear the other tables. Small establishment but very cozy. Meals are prepared just enough to make them different from other fine dining restaurants but the meals are delicious! Fresh meats and pastas. Sauces were prepared just right. We are only wine drinkers so I can't say anything about the bar other than it looked to be prepared for anything. Great date night choice for couples of all ages.

Tags: Cozy, , Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always good and never disa ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is always good and never disappoints.

The food, music,atmosphere and staff always make it a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Enjoyed the ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. Enjoyed the evening with co-workers and would certainly come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We followed Benny from his restaurant in ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

We followed Benny from his restaurant in Flemington NJ and did an overnight in Scranton. Ad usual Benny did not disappoint my wife and I. After 5 years he still remembered our meal preferences. The food was fantastic and Benny is a gracious host. We will go back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor, , Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted with Sambuca Grille. T ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were delighted with Sambuca Grille. The food, the atmosphere, the staff, the cost, we're all way above par. Highly recommend. We were back in Scranton the following week and were disappointed we did not have the time to make a return visit.

Tags: , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The combination of amazing food, excell ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The combination of amazing food, excellent service , music and cozy ambiance make this place my favorite in Scranton!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Reasonable pric ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service. Reasonable prices. Some areas are a little dark to see menu ..

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing all around took my wife and we h ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing all around took my wife and we had the best time ..food rocked it the service was great and piano bar was so much fun ❤️

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner in Scranton at ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner in Scranton at Sambuca Grille! This was our third visit to Scranton but first time at Sambuca's and it was by far the best meal we have had in the area. Plus we are from NYC so our bar is high! Terrific and varied classic Italian menu. My husband and I both had pasta (I had penne a la vodka and my husband had a pasta and shellfish dish). Our salads were great - interesting ingredients and high quality. While it has an "adult" atmosphere, we were there early (5pm) with our 5 year old daughter and it was lovely and she enjoyed pasta and chocolate cake (they were also very gracious and brought her some plain cucumber slices). We also had a nice bottle of wine. The service was warm and welcoming. It must be one of the best places in Scranton! We will definitely go back the next time we are there.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little gem in the heart of scranto ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great little gem in the heart of scranton pa! Food was outstanding

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's always a pleasure to dine at Sambuc ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

It's always a pleasure to dine at Sambuca! Excellent food, lovely ambiance and a fabulous wait staff. A+!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent portabello mushroom appetizer ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent portabello mushroom appetizer excellent specials. Truly is my favorite place for food drink and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

There was no reason to read the menu as ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

There was no reason to read the menu as all the specials were so enticing! Each in our party of 4 ordered different item. By far the winner was the meat filled tortelloni. Just the right size portion for a rich dish. While my beef with rissoto was not disappointing, I found the beef just a little tough.

We sat next to the pianist and initially i thought it would be too loud, but it was lovely and enjoyable.

The wait staff was attentive, friendly and made us feel like regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

reviews for this restaurant read well be ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

reviews for this restaurant read well before we made a reservation.. well what a huge disappointment this place was . Our meals lacked any bit of taste at all. And the entrees we ordered were the specials of the evening. i would not recommend this place to go to for good italian food,, i have had better italian food in pizzeria's.. the service was good if thats what you want. if good food is what you want this place should not be your choice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The piano player created a beautiful and enjoyable ambiance. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came up for Scranton family weekend and ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Came up for Scranton family weekend and was looking for a nice place to eat. The food was excellent, the service exceptional and the ambiance was lovely. Piano player saturday night but just the right volume as to not interfere with dinner conversation. A Scranton gem!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the staff was ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was delicious and the staff was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sambuca is one of our favorite restauran ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Sambuca is one of our favorite restaurants and we try to get here as often as possible. I am always recommending this restaurant to others as well! For the best Italian food in our area and exceptional service, I highly recommend Sambuca!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience at Sambu ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything about our experience at Sambuca was excellent. We visit Scranton regularly and are thrilled with this find. It is, by far, the best restaurant in downtown Scranton and we intend go back every chance we get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and wait staff ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service was excellent and wait staff was happy to provide recommendations. The eggplant and portobello appetizers were very good. I had the dinner special which was chicken topped with smoked mozzarella, roasted red pepper, and asparagus. The cutlets were very thin and the real flavor was from the toppings. Fortunately, those flavors were great. Another person in the party had a different chicken dish and again the cutlets were extremely thin. One diner had veal and that was outstanding.

The food balanced out to be okay but a little pricey for the serving sizes. Serving temperature of the food was not as hot as it could have been.

Atmosphere was great and I would consider returning but will stay away from the chicken.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great meal. Piano player adds t ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always a great meal. Piano player adds to romantic environment. Great ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice. One of the best ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always a great choice. One of the best in Scranton, the food and service are excellent. Daily specials are always a good choice and we are never disappointed at Sambuca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sambuca delivers on all fronts. A friend ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sambuca delivers on all fronts. A friendly waitstaff, quality food, incredible ambiance, and a setup that makes you feel like you're getting your money's worth all contribute to the great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always enjoy going to Sambucci. Food and ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always enjoy going to Sambucci. Food and staff are wonderful. Prices a little high but worth the night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

An authentic gem in downtown Scranton. ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

An authentic gem in downtown Scranton. Attentive staff that takes pride in their restaurant. One of the best experiences and rivals being in Italy itself. Dining was an evening event and the table became the hub of good conversation, great food, and the smooth ambience of a "Tony Bennett-like "piano player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having just relocated from New York City ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Having just relocated from New York City it was refreshing to find a restaurant serving quality food. The atmosphere was special, the staff was friendly and the service was accommodating. A lovely night out to celebrate any event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best meal I have had in a long time. Out ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best meal I have had in a long time. Out with friends that I don't see often. If you want to talk and aren't there for the entertainment, ask to not be seated near the piano player. He was looking for applause and even called us out for it. We were looking for a night out of conversation. Service and food were phenomenal. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food although pasta portions are s ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food although pasta portions are small for the price and in comparison to other Italian restaurants we've been to . My husband had he frutti de mare and again the size was small compared to other italian dining restaurants. The specials were amazing as was everything else . And yes I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

New York City type dining experience tha ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

New York City type dining experience that you can't find around here. Excellent food. Authentic Italian servers and staff. Awesome date night

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.