About Sambuca Grille

234 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
View Larger Map

Sambuca Grille is an Italian restaurant located in Downtown Scranton.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 961-5205

Website:
http://sambucagrillebar.com/

Entertainment:
Come and enjoy our Live Piano Singer every Friday and Saturday night

Catering:
Please call 570-961-5205 to inquire and ask for Benny

Parking Details:
Free Street Parking Dinner time

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken And Eggplant
  • Mango Martini
  • Rumchata
  • Chicken Arribiatta
  • Rack of Lamb
Chicken And Eggplant
Mango Martini
Rumchata
Chicken Arribiatta
Rack of Lamb

Sambuca Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
15 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Scranton ›

special occasion (31)
romantic (25)
neighborhood gem (25)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in Scranton!

Dined on June 14, 2016

The best restaurant in Scranton!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Overall Pretty Good

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We hadn't been to the Sambuca Grill in several years so we thought we would return. We were seated promptly at 7pm, our reservation time. We were seated fairly close to the piano player, who was doing a good job, but was a tad too loud. It was hard for us to carry on conversations with this. The service seemed a bit slow for us...not exceptionally...but still a little off. Frankly we like our dining out to move at a pretty brisk pace. Everything was ala carte. The food was good, but portion sizes were smaller than expected. The chocolate flourless cake was very good for dessert. We will probably return someday.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious and authentic

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were here to celebrate my graduation and the people were so friendly, plus the food was delicious! Great value and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and specials. Always somethin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and specials. Always something new and excellent to taste. Fantastic old world service. My favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Staff could have been friendlier

Dined on May 8, 2016

I really felt the staff could have been friendlier. It was Mother's Day and they didn't even extend a Mother's Day wish. The food was average and came out pretty quick. No one asked us how our meal was and they barely could crack a smile. It really makes a difference when the owner/manager comes to your table. It wasn't too crowded so there was time to do this. The real highlight of the day was the piano player. He was awesome....the only one who smiled!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I drove three hours to take my mother ou ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I drove three hours to take my mother out for Mother's Day, so I wanted it to be very special and Sambucca's didn't disappoint in any way. There are two Italian restaurants in my family, so I am particular. The atmosphere, the service, the food choices, wine list as well as the way the family of waiters worked in tandem with each other to maintain a flawless dining experience impressed me. The place filled up very quickly. As I watched this unfold, I was impressed as to how they were able to serve, bus and refill all the tables twice while we were there. The food was delicious and all the details were flawless as well. (Wine pouring, pepper grinding, cheese sprinkling...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places. Personnel ar ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

One of our favorite places. Personnel are always friendly and efficient. Food is always good and dependable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place@

Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Excellent service and the food was wonderful. Will be back and will recommend to friends!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my Favorites

Dined on April 6, 2016

Walk in here and you will forget you are in downtown Scranton. Fine dining in a cozy ambiance will remind you of some big city gems. Food in always fabulous and service is superb. Like a family visit each time. Highly recommend Sambuca Grille !! You'll love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

My husband's steak was done to perfection as was my shrimp in a creamy type sauce, really delicious. My son had a specially prepared chicken piccata dish since he eats gluten free, also very good. The service was great and they make the best martini ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and very friendly staff. High ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food and very friendly staff. Highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again a great time

Dined on February 21, 2016

Second time at Sambucca and will be going back. From the service to the food probably the best Italian restaurant in the Poconos.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband I ate there for the first time on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed. Our food was delicious, from the appetizer to the dessert. The staff was friendly and we did not have a long wait for our food. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Frank

Dined on February 19, 2016

Very good, the dinner I had was excellent and the other 3 people also had an excellent meal.. This was my first time there (on business) next time I am in town I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Service friendly and ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was great. Service friendly and attentive. Loved the piano.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2

Place had a large table and could not ke ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Place had a large table and could not keep up with servicing the room. Very long waits for ordering, water refills, and follow ups. I'll still try it again but very disappointed this time.

food4
ambience3
service2
value5

Not as good as its ratings.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Local street parking generally available in the evening. It took at least 10-15 minutes to get a menu. Two people ordered soup, one a salad. Soups were served, but salad didn't come until we found the waiter 10 minutes later. Menu is primarily Italian cuisine. Veal saltimboca is not served, but 2 veal dishes are similar, one substituting red pepper for the Italian ham, and one omitting the cheese (this was the better choice). Entrees came with chef's choice of potato & vegetable, although the menu does not state that there are side dishes included. There were 5 white wine choices, but 4 were pinot grigio, which is ridiculous. People who arrived after us received their food long before we did, which probably reflects better on the kitchen than on the server. There was a piano player performing, but the noise level was so high that it was hard to hear the music over the people talking if you sat in the back of the dining room. This restaurant gets high ratings, and was generally good, and we will probably go back eventually, but there are better choices for Italian cuisine in the area.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night as usual !!!

Dined on January 11, 2016

The food was great and our waiter and waitress were amazing !! Felt like honored guest in there home . Warm atmosphere , great drinks and wine !! We were a party of 5, celebrating our sons 21st birthday . Nice relaxing place to enjoy dinner .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sambuca Grill

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent experience. Nice and relaxing evening. Service outstanding and ambiance calm. Piano/singer excellent. Loved the evening overall!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dreaming

Dined on January 2, 2016

I would like to mention in this review there was not ONE con! I've taken a client there for dinner a few months ago and was please. During the week didn't stop the people from patronizing Sambuca. This time I took my husband here for our anniversary dinner. He and I simply loved it! 1st Armosphere You walk into the quaint local establishment with a packed bar. Not standing room only but every seat was taken. I believe the family manages its patrons well enough for the quaint quarters so there isn't room to walk and work. Very nice! The BEST for atmosphere is the pianist! He added the icing to the cake in this department. Loved the Sinatra feel we had and added to our experience. Service...its family owned. Father, daughter and sons on the floor. Not just one waiter for our table but all of them. Each one making certain we are well taken care of. Food...AUTHENTIC ITALIAN! Worth every red cent. Our crab cake appetizer is exactly the kind I look for. Lots of shredded crab with great sauce. Veal parm was out of this world. The sauce was to die for and veal perfectly cooked tenderly. Chicken Sambuca was unique with the liquor flavoring however with it as a cream based sauce was Devine. I'm glad I took my chances. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

my experience

Dined on December 17, 2015

Great food selection and service. Specials are wonderful and try the rolanti

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always GREAT!!!

Dined on December 14, 2015

The menu selections are excellent, the specials are well designed, extremely well prepared and served with appreciation to the dining patrons!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

A true Gem

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

A surprising find after several recent different restaurant let downs. I will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great spot.

Dined on December 9, 2015

We had friends visiting from Philadelphia and thought Sambuca would be a nice alternative on a Tuesday evening from the usual restaurants we visit. It was a perfect choice. Food was great. The room was busy, but not packed. Our waiter was very professional. Our friends loved the place; so I expect we'll be back again pretty soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

Dined on December 4, 2015

Sambuca Grille is my go to place for great food. The menu is substantial and they always have a large number of specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place!

Dined on November 28, 2015

We tried Sambuca for dinner and can't wait to return! The service, the food, the atmosphere.... I loved everything about it. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best in Scranton

Dined on November 14, 2015

you will never be disappointed at Sambuca Grille. Fabulous service and amazing food. This time I brought in guests visiting from Florida and one is trained chef himself. We all enjoyed our meals from soups and appetizers to dinner and desert. Everything, as I expected, was just wonderful. Cant say enough good things about this place. It is truly a favorite and a real must try in Scranton if you have not already.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't Ask for More

Dined on November 6, 2015

Best service I've ever had in a restaurant. Food was amazing and worth every penny of the price (also reasonable for the quality of food). Scranton is lucky to have a place like this!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally Impressed

Dined on October 29, 2015

Great food, pleasant atmosphere, attentive wait staff. Will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Never had a bad meal here. The service i ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Never had a bad meal here. The service is always friendly and prompt. It's a smaller type setting which includes a gentleman playing the piano at an appropriate volume level for dinner, which unfortunately is not common enough.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always love being here. Staff attentive, ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Always love being here. Staff attentive, food delicious

food4
ambience3
service2

Pasta dinner

Dined on October 10, 2015

The food was prepared perfectly and the family restaurant style was entertaining. With the exception of the female server, the service levels were high.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1

Great location

Dined on October 10, 2015

We thought the restaurant was in a great location. Plenty of parking. We had a drink at the bar prior to dinner. We liked the atmosphere and the food was very good. We would definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is such a fantastic place!

Dined on October 3, 2015

The courtesy of the staff is outstanding and they appreciate that they have a place where people come for excellent food and ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

Dined on October 1, 2015

Sambuca is a lovely place for an intimate meal. Service is top-notch, drinks are great, and the food is wonderful. Highly recommend the tortellini Gorgonzola!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Surprise Find!

vip
Dined on October 1, 2015

My wife and I found this restaurant while traveling. What a surprise! Food was excellent, service very good. Ambience was nice, despite a large, somewhat noisy, group dining at nearby tables. Has a small bar that you pass through as you enter and proceed to the dining room. Small but not cramped. Staff were very attentive. Will go there again if we find ourselves in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was great, very friendly.

Dined on September 28, 2015

The food was delicious and served in a timely manner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, Home-made, and Intimate

Dined on September 20, 2015

This place was amazing. I can't believe it has taken us this long to try this restaurant. It was packed and hard to make a reservation but after reading reviews we settled for a later time and were impressed beyond belief. The waiter was patient and explained the dishes and specials to us. There was enough to choose from and the specials were all inciting, making it hard to choose. I got a Lamb and gnoochi special that was out of this world! I mean incredible! My husband got the chicken carbonara which was also delicious. The drinks were priced appropriately and for the incredible dinning experience, our bill was under $100.00. There was live pianist playing, setting us the mood of the night to be romantic. The wait-staff was very friendly, as we all found out they are a family. The mother makes all the desserts and we devoured the bakalava we ordered. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food, poor entertainment

Dined on September 18, 2015

Food was very good. There was a piano player who created a nice ambiance, it is tough to have a table near the piano. A women asked if she could come up and sing with the piano player but unfortunately she did not have the talent and it ruined the experience for us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always Suerb!

Dined on August 13, 2015

I have been here several times and in each instance the menu selections are excellent and the daily specials are varied and always prepared with care. The most recent visit was in the middle of the week and although it was a quiet night the attention to my table was outstanding and we never felt rushed and we had ample time to enjoy our meal and to linger and talk after dinner. It is excelent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.