About Sambuca Grille

234 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
View Larger Map

Sambuca Grille is an Italian restaurant located in Downtown Scranton.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 961-5205

Website:
http://sambucagrillebar.com/

Entertainment:
Come and enjoy our Live Piano Singer every Friday and Saturday night

Catering:
Please call 570-961-5205 to inquire and ask for Benny

Parking Details:
Free Street Parking Dinner time

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken And Eggplant
  • Mango Martini
  • Rumchata
  • Chicken Arribiatta
  • Rack of Lamb
Chicken And Eggplant
Mango Martini
Rumchata
Chicken Arribiatta
Rack of Lamb

Sambuca Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
15 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Scranton ›

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Live Music (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sambuca is one of our favorite restauran ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined 4 days ago

Sambuca is one of our favorite restaurants and we try to get here as often as possible. I am always recommending this restaurant to others as well! For the best Italian food in our area and exceptional service, I highly recommend Sambuca!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience at Sambu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything about our experience at Sambuca was excellent. We visit Scranton regularly and are thrilled with this find. It is, by far, the best restaurant in downtown Scranton and we intend go back every chance we get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and wait staff ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service was excellent and wait staff was happy to provide recommendations. The eggplant and portobello appetizers were very good. I had the dinner special which was chicken topped with smoked mozzarella, roasted red pepper, and asparagus. The cutlets were very thin and the real flavor was from the toppings. Fortunately, those flavors were great. Another person in the party had a different chicken dish and again the cutlets were extremely thin. One diner had veal and that was outstanding.

The food balanced out to be okay but a little pricey for the serving sizes. Serving temperature of the food was not as hot as it could have been.

Atmosphere was great and I would consider returning but will stay away from the chicken.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great meal. Piano player adds t ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always a great meal. Piano player adds to romantic environment. Great ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sambuca delivers on all fronts. A friend ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sambuca delivers on all fronts. A friendly waitstaff, quality food, incredible ambiance, and a setup that makes you feel like you're getting your money's worth all contribute to the great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always enjoy going to Sambucci. Food and ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always enjoy going to Sambucci. Food and staff are wonderful. Prices a little high but worth the night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

An authentic gem in downtown Scranton. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

An authentic gem in downtown Scranton. Attentive staff that takes pride in their restaurant. One of the best experiences and rivals being in Italy itself. Dining was an evening event and the table became the hub of good conversation, great food, and the smooth ambience of a "Tony Bennett-like "piano player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having just relocated from New York City ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Having just relocated from New York City it was refreshing to find a restaurant serving quality food. The atmosphere was special, the staff was friendly and the service was accommodating. A lovely night out to celebrate any event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best meal I have had in a long time. Out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best meal I have had in a long time. Out with friends that I don't see often. If you want to talk and aren't there for the entertainment, ask to not be seated near the piano player. He was looking for applause and even called us out for it. We were looking for a night out of conversation. Service and food were phenomenal. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food although pasta portions are s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food although pasta portions are small for the price and in comparison to other Italian restaurants we've been to . My husband had he frutti de mare and again the size was small compared to other italian dining restaurants. The specials were amazing as was everything else . And yes I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

New York City type dining experience tha ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

New York City type dining experience that you can't find around here. Excellent food. Authentic Italian servers and staff. Awesome date night

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing !!!!!! Great food and great serv ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Amazing !!!!!! Great food and great service - local gem !!!!! Can't say enough about it - except GO THERE !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sambuca Grill never disapoints. I HIGHL ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sambuca Grill never disapoints. I HIGHLY Recommend this place for anyone who loves food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very good. Service and staff Ple ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always very good. Service and staff

Pleasurable. Good food and good value

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

GREAT FOOD. GREAT SERVICE. Enoyed the at ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

GREAT FOOD. GREAT SERVICE. Enoyed the atmosphere alot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Scranton!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The best restaurant in Scranton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall Pretty Good

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We hadn't been to the Sambuca Grill in several years so we thought we would return. We were seated promptly at 7pm, our reservation time. We were seated fairly close to the piano player, who was doing a good job, but was a tad too loud. It was hard for us to carry on conversations with this. The service seemed a bit slow for us...not exceptionally...but still a little off. Frankly we like our dining out to move at a pretty brisk pace. Everything was ala carte. The food was good, but portion sizes were smaller than expected. The chocolate flourless cake was very good for dessert. We will probably return someday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Delicious and authentic

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were here to celebrate my graduation and the people were so friendly, plus the food was delicious! Great value and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and specials. Always somethin ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and specials. Always something new and excellent to taste. Fantastic old world service. My favorite restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff could have been friendlier

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I really felt the staff could have been friendlier. It was Mother's Day and they didn't even extend a Mother's Day wish. The food was average and came out pretty quick. No one asked us how our meal was and they barely could crack a smile. It really makes a difference when the owner/manager comes to your table. It wasn't too crowded so there was time to do this. The real highlight of the day was the piano player. He was awesome....the only one who smiled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I drove three hours to take my mother ou ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I drove three hours to take my mother out for Mother's Day, so I wanted it to be very special and Sambucca's didn't disappoint in any way. There are two Italian restaurants in my family, so I am particular. The atmosphere, the service, the food choices, wine list as well as the way the family of waiters worked in tandem with each other to maintain a flawless dining experience impressed me. The place filled up very quickly. As I watched this unfold, I was impressed as to how they were able to serve, bus and refill all the tables twice while we were there. The food was delicious and all the details were flawless as well. (Wine pouring, pepper grinding, cheese sprinkling...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places. Personnel ar ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

One of our favorite places. Personnel are always friendly and efficient. Food is always good and dependable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place@

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Excellent service and the food was wonderful. Will be back and will recommend to friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my Favorites

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Walk in here and you will forget you are in downtown Scranton. Fine dining in a cozy ambiance will remind you of some big city gems. Food in always fabulous and service is superb. Like a family visit each time. Highly recommend Sambuca Grille !! You'll love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

My husband's steak was done to perfection as was my shrimp in a creamy type sauce, really delicious. My son had a specially prepared chicken piccata dish since he eats gluten free, also very good. The service was great and they make the best martini ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and very friendly staff. High ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food and very friendly staff. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Once again a great time

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Second time at Sambucca and will be going back. From the service to the food probably the best Italian restaurant in the Poconos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband I ate there for the first time on the recommendation of a friend.

We were not disappointed. Our food was delicious, from the appetizer to

the dessert. The staff was friendly and we did not have a long wait for our food. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Frank

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Very good, the dinner I had was excellent and the other 3 people also had an excellent meal.. This was my first time there (on business) next time I am in town I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great. Service friendly and ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was great. Service friendly and attentive. Loved the piano.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place had a large table and could not ke ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Place had a large table and could not keep up with servicing the room. Very long waits for ordering, water refills, and follow ups. I'll still try it again but very disappointed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Not as good as its ratings.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Local street parking generally available in the evening. It took at least 10-15 minutes to get a menu. Two people ordered soup, one a salad. Soups were served, but salad didn't come until we found the waiter 10 minutes later. Menu is primarily Italian cuisine. Veal saltimboca is not served, but 2 veal dishes are similar, one substituting red pepper for the Italian ham, and one omitting the cheese (this was the better choice). Entrees came with chef's choice of potato & vegetable, although the menu does not state that there are side dishes included. There were 5 white wine choices, but 4 were pinot grigio, which is ridiculous. People who arrived after us received their food long before we did, which probably reflects better on the kitchen than on the server. There was a piano player performing, but the noise level was so high that it was hard to hear the music over the people talking if you sat in the back of the dining room. This restaurant gets high ratings, and was generally good, and we will probably go back eventually, but there are better choices for Italian cuisine in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

Great night as usual !!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 11, 2016

The food was great and our waiter and waitress were amazing !! Felt like honored guest in there home . Warm atmosphere , great drinks and wine !! We were a party of 5, celebrating our sons 21st birthday . Nice relaxing place to enjoy dinner .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sambuca Grill

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent experience. Nice and relaxing evening. Service outstanding and ambiance calm. Piano/singer excellent. Loved the evening overall!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dreaming

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

I would like to mention in this review there was not ONE con! I've taken a client there for dinner a few months ago and was please. During the week didn't stop the people from patronizing Sambuca.

This time I took my husband here for our anniversary dinner. He and I simply loved it!

1st Armosphere

You walk into the quaint local establishment with a packed bar. Not standing room only but every seat was taken. I believe the family manages its patrons well enough for the quaint quarters so there isn't room to walk and work. Very nice!

The BEST for atmosphere is the pianist! He added the icing to the cake in this department. Loved the Sinatra feel we had and added to our experience.

Service...its family owned. Father, daughter and sons on the floor. Not just one waiter for our table but all of them. Each one making certain we are well taken care of.

Food...AUTHENTIC ITALIAN! Worth every red cent. Our crab cake appetizer is exactly the kind I look for. Lots of shredded crab with great sauce. Veal parm was out of this world. The sauce was to die for and veal perfectly cooked tenderly. Chicken Sambuca was unique with the liquor flavoring however with it as a cream based sauce was Devine. I'm glad I took my chances.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my experience

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Great food selection and service. Specials are wonderful and try the rolanti

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always GREAT!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

The menu selections are excellent, the specials are well designed, extremely well prepared and served with appreciation to the dining patrons!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true Gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

A surprising find after several recent different restaurant let downs. I will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great spot.

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

We had friends visiting from Philadelphia and thought Sambuca would be a nice alternative on a Tuesday evening from the usual restaurants we visit. It was a perfect choice. Food was great. The room was busy, but not packed. Our waiter was very professional. Our friends loved the place; so I expect we'll be back again pretty soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Sambuca Grille is my go to place for great food. The menu is substantial and they always have a large number of specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.