About Sambuca Grille

Sambuca Grille is an Italian restaurant located in Downtown Scranton.

234 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 961-5205

Website:
http://sambucagrillebar.com/

Entertainment:
Come and enjoy our Live Piano Singer every Friday and Saturday night

Catering:
Please call 570-961-5205 to inquire and ask for Benny

Parking Details:
Free Street Parking Dinner time

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sambuca Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

Saturday night dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We always go here for a business meal and have never been disappointed. There are so many great specials that we seldom even need or look at the menu! Great food and good wine selection. Great waiters/owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fabulous service delicious food. Great atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Every time we are there we are happily surprised at the specials and appetizers, always something new and different and delectable. Doda and his family and staff are excellent, friendly, accommodating and good looking!!! This restaurant has such lovely atmosphere, low lighting, romantic, cleanliness. Never ever have we been disappointed. Fresh outstanding meals, salads, side dishes, deserts and cocktails, coffee is also excellent, topped off by an after dinner drink and lovely music by Paul! One of our very very favorites, glad to have them in our area. Hard working family that appreciates life, as do we. Thank you for your friendliness and incomparable food. Val & Tony

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Fantastic meal...met or exceeded expectations! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Second visit to Sambuca for dinner. We enjoyed everything so much. Actually sat at the same table as previously. Planning on our next dinner very soon.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food and service have always been excellent. Probably the best all around restaurant in Scranton. Reservations a must to get a table since it's a fairly small place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My wife and I eat here probably twice a month. Food is always excellent. The service top-notch. The ambience was a little loud this particular night but not disappointing. By far one of our favorite restaurants in the entire area!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went for a celebration dinner this past Saturday . Everything we had from appetizers to desserts was delicious. Service was perfect! My only slight complaint was the bread was a but disappointing , would have preferred it to be warm & soft , basket we had was rather dense & not to our liking.
Really enjoyed the piano player in dining room, very nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

we had an incredible time. From the moment we walked in the door the staff was attentive and polite. The drinks were amazing, food was delightful (especially the specialty appetizer which was artichoke hearts), and it was exactly what we were hoping for. A nice romantic anniversary dinner. It was great and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and service . Nice piano music in the background added to the ambience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was my 4th visit to Sambucca Grille...kast visit I ordered a steak..medium rare....( as I always do)..however when it was served....I found center was quite on the "raw" side....I notified the server..she promptly returned it..citing that "perhaps medium" would be the choice.....she returned later with my steak....and I checked....it was perfect...pink ctr and very tender,....( my guess is ..some chefs have different views on what's medium or medium rare)....well this visit..I again ordered the steak....medium was my choice......and I have to say...when it arrived..I checked....and it was pretty much on the "well done" side....NO pink was visible...and the meat was rather tough to chew...a far cry from my last one I ate here.....evidently another chef was on duty!!!.........I did NOT issue a complaint...simply consumed about half and I was finished......desert and after dinner drink followed!

I'm NOT one to complain..I'm sure if I had brought it to the server's attention.....it would have been replaced,...however....again..this is NOT a complaint...merely constructive criticism!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

So great, I came two nights in a row. Danny, the bartender was great and I have told everyone how great it all was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was fantastic! Little issue with leftovers, quickly rectified. Love it will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food done to perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Sambuca Grille is always delicious! Staff is experienced and friendly. Atmosphere is congenial. I have never had a bad meal there. The Short Rib and Risotto special was outstanding. One of my favorite places in NEPA.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great drinks too. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent food and service. Pasta Vodka is the best around. And the baclava is extraordinary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I do not live in the area but make sure to have at least one meal there when in town. I have only had wonderful dining experiences. The attention to detail for every aspect of ones dining experience is phenomenal. I highly recommend dining at Sumbuca Grille.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always a treat to come here. I've never had bad service or good.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the area. Never ever disappoints!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We didn't expect to find an awesome Italian restaurant on the level of Sambuca Grille in Scranton, PA. Of course, we had never been to Scranton! The restaurant was lovely, the service was impeccable and the food was amazing! It's a little pricey, but well worth it if you're looking for a great authentic Italian meal. Make a reservation because it appears to be a local favorite.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As usual, food was excellent. Service is always prompt and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sambuca never disappoints. We have been to Sambuca many times while visiting my daughter at the University of Scranton. The food is absolutely delicious-always offer specials that are "to die for" but there regular menu is anything but "regular". It's a family run establishment - each person makes your meal an experience making you want to return. If you are in Scranton, go to Sambuca.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. We will be going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The service was wonderful. The food delicious. It was served hot which is important too us and in a timely manner, not too fast, but not a long wait. Great atmosphere. will go again and will recommend to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere were superb. The wait staff were very helpful (and friendly) explaining food selection. I will frequent this gem more often but I do feel the appetizers and desserts were more pricey than other restaurants. Not sure about drink prices. A great find and experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to sambuca grille for mother's day, food was delicious,would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day dinner. Unlike other places, didn't force a Mother's Day menu with jacked up prices. Regular menu has a great variety and everything is prepared wonderfully. Accommodated my vegetarian daughter. Expert, friendly staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and great service. We from New York City and this restaurant could complete with any Italian restaurants in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous From Start to Finish!

We were a party of four at this fabulous restaurant on Sat; 5/13/17. It was fantastic!

We all enjoyed our appetizers (clams, calamari, shrimp cocktail, tomato with fresh
mozzarella and balsamic) to the Caeser Salad to our entrees (Veal Parm, Grilled Tuna,
Penne Vodka and a Seafood Fra-Diavolo). All food was fresh and expertly prepared.
Servers were very attentive.

The piano player is a special added touch. Highly recommend this restaurant. Can't
wait to go back.

EllenC.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food.. nice place to meet friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The waiters were all attentive and friendly. They have a nice bar for pre-dinner drinks. Our table was ready when requested. And everything laid out nicely. The dinner service was good, but we were both disappointed in the rack of lamb that we each ordered. We requested rare and some parts were rare, but other parts were almost raw. The sauce on the lamb was sparse and was nothing special. The wine, desserts and after dinner espresso were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Every single dish is absolutely wonderful. From soups to salad to protein and pasta, every dish is perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. It gets a little loud next to the piano, so keep that in mind when being seated. However, the pianist is very talented and does a fantastic job so it's not a bother to us, just something to keep in mind.

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Must visit when in Scranton, PA. Food is truly amazing.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was amazing! I love bolognese, and this may have been the best I've ever tasted. I highly recommend the rigatoni bolognese.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic restaurant...Frequent visitor,,,atmosphere is perfect, food is excellent and Paul on piano singing on Saturday is fantastic. Always a great experience.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.