About Sambuca Grille

Sambuca Grille is an Italian restaurant located in Downtown Scranton.

234 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Spruce Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 961-5205

Website:
http://sambucagrillebar.com/

Entertainment:
Come and enjoy our Live Piano Singer every Friday and Saturday night

Catering:
Please call 570-961-5205 to inquire and ask for Benny

Parking Details:
Free Street Parking Dinner time

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sambuca Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (16)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Live Music (11)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my wife's birthday and our first time here. OUTSTANDING! We both ate everything on our plates. Even our salads. We didn't leave a strand of cheese. :-)
The entrees were mouth-watering and awesome. Best Vodka sauce I have ever had - anywhere!
We had at least 6 people take care of some aspect of our experience, and there was a piano player/singer that was just right for the atmosphere.

We cannot wait to go back and take friends with us!
Place isn't huge, so I would suggest reservations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 4 days ago

Among the very best in Scranton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely love this restaurant and the people that own it. Great food, great atmosphere and the best service always. Love Thursdays thru Saturday with Paul on the piano. Definitely a 5-star restaurant. A true gem!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service are outstanding! One of my go to spots whenever im in Scranton. Love the piano ambiance and family owned vibe here! Great tome always!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've been here many times over the years and I have never been disappointed, not even slightly. My favorite is the Spinach Ravioli, but the Penne Vodka w/ Grilled Shrimp is amazing. They are kind, considerate and the staff moves as one - keeping up with the needs of a filled restaurant. Their specials are one of a kind (get the lobster if they should happen to have it as a special). Drinks are perfect and dessert is not to be missed. I simply can not say enough about this place.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Outstanding meal - outstanding service. We will be back again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food, great service in this family-run Italian gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

What a great spot in Scranton! Was here on business and was craving Italian - this place was fantastic! The chicken and pasta was delicious! Would definitely visit town again just for the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I have dined at the Sumbucca Grille on three occasions...each visit was as good as the first,..outstanding!! The staff is most congenial as well as attentive , great service and friendly attitude is the norm....and the food is by far second to none! We don't often dine at restaurants that are considered "pricey" as most would admit.....but we feel we owe it to ourselves to suck up the atmosphere and attention offered by the staff.....we will certainly return when we need a "boost!!"

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was our first trip to Sambuca's but it won't be our last. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and obliging. My husband and I ended up ordering all specials of the day. We started with a Caprese Salad with roasted red peppers and balsamic vinegar. We shared the salad and it was plenty. For dinner my husband ordered Ravioli filled with a short rib filling and mushroom sauce. He loved it. I had their Tuna on Spinach with a lemon sauce. Also delicious. Our Aunt only ordered a green salad and the staff was fine with just bringing that to her as her entrée. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you want outstanding Italian food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love going here anytime we visit Scranton. Staff is friendly. Food is terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome. Great service and great food. Buono!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My fiance and I went to Sambuca for Valentines Day. I made a reservation and the table was ready to go upon our arrival. The service was fantastic and the food was outstanding. Great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The decor of this place is reminiscent of some cozy New York restaurants. The menu has a variety of primarily Italian dishes. There were four of us and each had a different entre that were excellent. Service was very good. We were not rushed even as the crowd gathered for dinner. This a family business from the host father to the son and daughter waiters and sweet granddaughter dessert waitress. We will be back again even though it is 30 miles from home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Italian fare, the staff was excellent and professional. Small room, but intimate. Good options on the menu. The calamari was a little soggy, but maybe I'm just accustomed to American fried food. Recommended. The house sauce with the chicken and shrimp was excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, awesome service & affordable. We'll definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was outstanding. The service was also fantastic and very prompt! Looking forward to visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Exceptional service as always. Food is very good and specials are always great!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 28, 2017

food was great with good atmosphere and excellent service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was great. The service was great. We would definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous as always! The best food with the best customer service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had dinner at Sambuca before seeing a musical at the Scranton Cultural Center, which was a quick 4 minute drive away. The staff was incredibly friendly, professional, and accommodating. We enjoyed the fact that father and daughters worked together to serve our table. We had pasta dishes which were delicious and generous in portion size. The homemade dessert was a perfect end to the meal. We left feeling satisfied and like part of the family!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were well pleased with everything on our first visit which was New Years Eve 2016/2017.
The atmosphere was cozy and intimate. The food was excellent. If you are looking for a special place to go with your spouse or family that will be long remembered this is the place. The staff is professional and friendly. They make you feel very comfortable.

I did not realize there would be a special menu for the holiday which has its limitations compared to there general everyday menu. We were happy with the selections available and really enjoyed our evening,

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Sambuca Grille is one of my favorite places. The food, service, and hospitality is always consistent.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Last minute Christmas Eve dinner decision. Only local place I could find with later evening reservations. Very very accomodating. Very nice dinner for my family of 5.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The atmosphere, service, and food were all exceptional! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place for an intimate dinner. My husband and I have never been disappointed in the food. Extremely pleasant wait staff who have been there for years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Sambuca is a great, cozy Italian restaurant located in downtown Scranton. The staff is friendly and attentive; the food is consistently delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The Dijon chicken was amazing a little pricy for chicken(18.95) but really delish! I think though that meal should include a salad for that price but very very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Sambuca is hands down, my FAVORITE place!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Always amazing food and excellent service. Super friendly staff

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our second time at Sambuca and it was outstanding once again. It's a very romantic setting, but would be fun for a couples night or girls night out. The service is top notch. No detail is missed. We've gone both times on a Saturday and each time they had a very talented pianist. It created a nice atmosphere and ambiance. The wine list has a large variety and bottles started at $26+, they also sell wine by the glass and have a full bar. Food is fantastic and prepared fresh. It's also worth noting, the restaurant is very clean. The proprietor takes great pride in his restaurant and it shows.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Easy to make reservations with Open Table site. Friendly service by all of the staff. Great atmosphere with the piano player in the front creating nice sound to not hear the other tables. Small establishment but very cozy. Meals are prepared just enough to make them different from other fine dining restaurants but the meals are delicious! Fresh meats and pastas. Sauces were prepared just right. We are only wine drinkers so I can't say anything about the bar other than it looked to be prepared for anything. Great date night choice for couples of all ages.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is always good and never disappoints.
The food, music,atmosphere and staff always make it a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. Enjoyed the evening with co-workers and would certainly come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We followed Benny from his restaurant in Flemington NJ and did an overnight in Scranton. Ad usual Benny did not disappoint my wife and I. After 5 years he still remembered our meal preferences. The food was fantastic and Benny is a gracious host. We will go back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were delighted with Sambuca Grille. The food, the atmosphere, the staff, the cost, we're all way above par. Highly recommend. We were back in Scranton the following week and were disappointed we did not have the time to make a return visit.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The combination of amazing food, excellent service , music and cozy ambiance make this place my favorite in Scranton!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service. Reasonable prices. Some areas are a little dark to see menu ..

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.