Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Salvatore's-Medford

4.2
37 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

With 5 locations in and around Boston, Salvatore’s is the destination for the best Italian food outside the North End. Salvatore’s Restaurants was created by Sal Lupoli, known for his Sal’s Pizza empire, and is the result of Sal’s and his undying passion for high quality, authentic cuisine at an unbeatable value. Unlike the pizza stores, Salvatore’s is a full service restaurant complete with private dining rooms, full bar and a warm ambiance reminiscent of the Lupoli family’s Italian roots. Salvatore’s Medford Square, is not just a fabulous restaurant offering unique cuisine at reasonable prices, this location is the site of the 1980 Bank Robbery made famous by the book: The Cops Are Robbers: A Convicted Cop’s True Story of Police Corruption. The private dining room in the uses the bank’s vault door as an entrance way, and the hole in the corner of the ceiling that the robbers crawled through was left intact for nostalgia.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am – 10:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am – 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm – 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(781) 393-9333
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a public lot behind the plaza off of Governor's Avenue. The spaces along the side of the restaurant marked for 15 minutes are enforced and ticketed yet the inner spaces are ideal for diners.
What 37 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 6, 2017

I love meeting folks at Salvatore's -- the front tables by the window are fun for people-watching, the bar is great for trivia night and those who like sports, and of course, the Vault's perfect for special occasions and meetings. The food's great, lots of choices, you can never go wrong with their pizza choices, and the drinks are really exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2015

Great gluten free options!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2015

Excellent food and environment--was a bit quiet when my boyfriend and I first got there at 6:15 on a Thursday. We were seated right away and my only complaint is that we were there 15 minutes (!!!) before our waitress came over and introduced herself. We had to wave down the host just to get our water glasses filled-he asked if we'd been greeted by our waitress yet, we said no and he filled our water glasses and she came over with bread within another few minutes, and apologized saying she "was delayed"...whatever that means. From there out it was a fabulous evening. We split an apple salad (I think the signature) and arancini, both were great, then he got chicken parm and we split a very large pizza (I ordered it to bring some leftovers home, but it was HUGE!) delicious and he and I both enjoyed it for a few more days. The service was great after the first hiccup, our water glasses remained full, my boyfriend got several refills on his soda and we got a second basket of bread. Great meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Great food and even better service! The butternut squash ravioli dish was excellent. Our waiter was extremely informative and helpful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2015

As someone who needs to avoid foods containing gluten, I was somewhat surprised to find a restaurant close to home that I could enjoy a good gluten free meal. The service was good, food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2015

I went there to celebrate a friend's birthday and everything was wonderful from the hostess to the waitress Georgia and to the food. Everything was just wonderful and I'm glad a discovered Salvatores in Medford.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2015

This was my first time at Salvatore's in Medford.Our waitress was very nice and acomadating .It was only her second night working and she made sure any questions asked,had the right answers.My husband and I got the calamari as an appetizer,it was so tender and crispy(not stringy and hard to chew.)I got the marinated steak tips,which was extremely tender and had a nice marination.My husband got the veal saltanbuca.Very tender and tasty. Not in a sauce,but it's natural juices.Overall a great experience .Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2015

Great food and good portion size.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 4, 2015

We went to Salvatores on July 4 so the place was almost empty. It was our first time, and first impressions were very inviting. The decor is welcoming. The drinks were made very well. We both had the salmon, which had a citrus sauce with arugala and onons on top. Very different but very delicious. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2015

I came here with the gals for a late dinner. The meal was great. I just had a hard time deciding on what to eat! I'd come back here again. Although, the portions are huge. I ate half of my meal and sadly couldn't even stand to look at the dessert menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2015

My sisters and I went here for lunch. Delicious! We all had different menu items and we all agreed that the food and service were superb. I had salad with salmon, another had eggplant parm and another had pasta with braised meat (forget what it was called but worth mentioning because it was so delicious!). Our servers were wonderful and bread and dipping oil was brought to the table--yum! Parking is a little tight here but definitely worth the little extra time it might take to park the car. Go here, it's fabulous! We went at lunch so it wasn't crowded and there is a lunch menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2015

It was a perfect place for dinner with an old friend we had not seen for years. The service was attentive, but not overbearing for continued conversation. The food was excellent with an amazing tuna with oriental flavors over asparagus. Everyone agreed that the appetizer "Burretta and prosciutto"with arugula and roast tomatoes was elegant and enough to share. A lovely drawn out evening with good wine selection in a warm atmosphere. An excellent blend of classic Italian and more modern approach to dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Salvatore's provides very consistent, high level of service and quality of food. Nice choices

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2015

Great evening for Mother's Day Eve. Very accomodating form my service dog "in training" Great work!!

Sam Adams beef and pasta, linguine and meatballs, lobster rav's and chix broccoli and pasta were all great. Onion soup spectacular. Desserts HUGE!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a nice restaurant for our pre-show meal. We are from out of town, didn't know Medford at all. Looking around Medford in the area near the show only one restaurant stood out.

We had an excellent experience all around and would recommend this fine dining establishment to all.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2015

First time to Salvatore's and I will go back. The only complaint I have is that they allowed a dog in the place. The dog was small, but I didn't think that was appropriate. But aside from that, it's a very nice place and the food was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2015

Wife and I were looking for dinner out while visiting the Medford area. Service was a bit disorganized but overall the waitress was very polite. Food was served in a resaable amount of time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2015

Wonderful food, wonderful service, wonderful ambience ----wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2015

This was our second visit to Salvatore's and like the first, we were not disappointed. This trip, we enjoyed burgers x 2 and listened to what sounded like an enjoable trivia contest at the bar. We made a mental note to partake next time around. A can't miss is a quick look in the former vault which is now a cozy function room. There is a hole in the ceiling, preserved from the days when this restaurant was a bank; a bank robbed of millions. Interesting conversation piece while dining, to be sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2015

The service was attentive but not overbearing and the warm leather booths made a perfect private space for our party of four. A highlight was the noise level was quiet for a filled restaurant and we conversed comfortably. Arancini were tender and flavorful and the spicy shrimp special appetizer allowed the diner to determine the hot sauce amount. Two of the party had pasta choices, ravioli with butternut squash and brussel sprout, which were appropriate portions with well matched sauces. The pasta special was overflowing with mussels and chicken parm excellent. Cannoli portion set for sharing. We will certainly be returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 8, 2015

The service is consistently slow and it's hard to find your wait person when you need something and/or want to pay and leave. I have been there a dozen or more times and this has been a consistent problem.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2015

We had a 6:30 reservation and didn't get seated til after 7:00. Had a theater res for 8:00 which I noted on reservation. Had to settle for a quick pizza though the menu looked inviting. Wait and hostess staff very young. Maybe they need more seasoned help.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 12, 2014

We were at the table for 15 minutes before anyone offered to take our drink order. The server just disappeared after pouring water. The drinks came soon after we ordered. When the food came he started walking away and we had to call him back to get grated cheese and our water refilled. My food was warm, like it sat for a long time before being served. When done we sat in front of empty plates for a long time waiting for the server to show up. This was on a Wednesday night when most tables were empty. Have had better service from there in the past. I'll probably go to Bertucci's next time, their service is usually pretty good, the food's always hot and the servers take time to make sure you are happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2014

Delicious food, wonderful staff and a nice ambiance! The front girls were a little frazzled by the traffic but other than that it was a great experience. Absolutely recommend the brusselsprout rravioli!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 8, 2014

I commend the servers at Salvatore's! They are hardworking, energetic and customer- service oriented.
I am truly hoping we were there on an off night as far as the food is concerned.

The dishes we ordered were not good except the ravioli.
My steak tips looked fabulous but I couldn't slice it with the steak knife. I tried to eat it but it was too chewy. I sent it back.
The calamari was done perfectly but were too salty so only ate some. The garlic bread was burnt.
The ravioli was excellent.
Through it all our server, Michelle, was great.
In addition, I offer high praise to a young man, Thomas, who was serving that Saturday evening, November 8. He was personable,hard working and energetic. He is an asset to the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 18, 2014

Just dined for first time. Coming from NYC with those standards in mind, the food here is excellent and the portions are large. The red sauce was particularly good. I wish the hostess and server were a little more attentive at first, but as we settled in the service improved tremendously, maybe a busy Saturday night. I would definitely return again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 17, 2014

the noise was too much,Don't come if your looking for a quiet night. The food was just ok. I got the chicken Marsala, the chicken was dry and tasteless, the veg that was supposed to come with the meal seemed boiled away and there was hardly a spoonful on the plate. The app faired not much better, the fried calamari was without any distinction whatsoever ever. Deep fried an thrown on a plate with some aioli sauce, they were greasy and "meh" . This would be ok if you got some value,but the prices are plenty high. If your looking for great food you can do much better.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 8, 2014

Normally I wouldn't rate the place so hard but I ordered gluten free risotto and asked if there were onions. The waiter said they can make it to order so I wouldn't have an issue. I asked to confirm and if it couldn't be onion free I would like to order something else. He assured me it was onion free but when I started eating the risotto it was chock full of onions.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 4, 2014

over all the food is very tasty. However the portion size is kind of small for the price.the hostesses seemed confused at times and disorganized as well as the wait staff. The atmosphere is very elegant and ambience is very stylish. Overall I would definitely recommend for an experience, but the portion sizes need to accommodate the prices without affecting the quality of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2014

We both had a meal with red sauce and it was excellent. I had the veal which was also excellent. Our server was cheerful and friendly. we will definitely be coming back to Salvatore's

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2014

We went here to celebrate my daughter's last night before heading off to college. The atmosphere was comfortable. The service was very good. And the food was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 23, 2014

We had some nice cocktails, delicious veal piccata, and pleasant waitstaff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2014

I thoroughtly enjoyed my dining experience at Savatores. The atmosphere is pleasant and quiet, and very spacious. Love the high ceilings and the dark woody decor. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The food was great. Love the scallop limoncello sauce. Amazing. I had the haddock and I was quite surprised when I was greeted with a filet the size of the dish. It was cooked to perfection and the sauce was again very good. The price is a bit on the steep side, but I'd definitely recommend it for a special occasion or the rare night out to indulge.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 6, 2014


We usually have a pleasant experience. The food is tasty, great prices, good size servings and casual environment. Reilly was an attentive and caring waitress. I do have concern about the Veal Rollatini. We did email my concern to the Medford Salvatore Restaurant on 8/7/2014. Still waiting for a response from this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2014

The atmosphere is elegant without being overly formal, while the service was very attentive and prompt. The Chicken Croccante was a nice appetizer especially with the sriracha teriyaki glaze, well flavored and tender. For the main, the Veal Rollatini was perfectly cooked and balanced with the risotto. Definitely planning to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2014

Have always wanted to try one of the Salvatore's restaurants and finally had the chance. Everything was delicious and service was great. Freshly made ziti was amazing as was my veal parm. Had the canollis for dessert...YUM! Would definitely return and recommend highly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2014

Salvatores was very good, food and service were good. It was a great night out

Report
Helpful