HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Salvatore's-Medford

4.2
37 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (63)
  • Good for Groups (52)
  • Special Occasion (37)

Similar Restaurants

About

With 5 locations in and around Boston, Salvatore’s is the destination for the best Italian food outside the North End. Salvatore’s Restaurants was created by Sal Lupoli, known for his Sal’s Pizza empire, and is the result of Sal’s and his undying passion for high quality, authentic cuisine at an unbeatable value. Unlike the pizza stores, Salvatore’s is a full service restaurant complete with private dining rooms, full bar and a warm ambiance reminiscent of the Lupoli family’s Italian roots. Salvatore’s Medford Square, is not just a fabulous restaurant offering unique cuisine at reasonable prices, this location is the site of the 1980 Bank Robbery made famous by the book: The Cops Are Robbers: A Convicted Cop’s True Story of Police Corruption. The private dining room in the uses the bank’s vault door as an entrance way, and the hole in the corner of the ceiling that the robbers crawled through was left intact for nostalgia.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am – 10:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 11:00am – 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm – 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(781) 393-9333
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a public lot behind the plaza off of Governor's Avenue. The spaces along the side of the restaurant marked for 15 minutes are enforced and ticketed yet the inner spaces are ideal for diners.
What 37 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on June 6, 2017

I love meeting folks at Salvatore's -- the front tables by the window are fun for people-watching, the bar is great for trivia night and those who like sports, and of course, the Vault's perfect for special occasions and meetings. The food's great, lots of choices, you can never go wrong with their pizza choices, and the drinks are really exceptional.

Report
Helpful
vipKiki (New England)
5.0  Dined on November 5, 2015

Great gluten free options!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on November 3, 2015

Excellent food and environment--was a bit quiet when my boyfriend and I first got there at 6:15 on a Thursday. We were seated right away and my only complaint is that we were there 15 minutes (!!!) before our waitress came over and introduced herself. We had to wave down the host just to get our water glasses filled-he asked if we'd been greeted by our waitress yet, we said no and he filled our water glasses and she came over with bread within another few minutes, and apologized saying she "was delayed"...whatever that means. From there out it was a fabulous evening. We split an apple salad (I think the signature) and arancini, both were great, then he got chicken parm and we split a very large pizza (I ordered it to bring some leftovers home, but it was HUGE!) delicious and he and I both enjoyed it for a few more days. The service was great after the first hiccup, our water glasses remained full, my boyfriend got several refills on his soda and we got a second basket of bread. Great meal.

Report
Helpful
SimonGodOfHairdos (New England)
5.0  Dined on October 24, 2015

Great food and even better service! The butternut squash ravioli dish was excellent. Our waiter was extremely informative and helpful.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on September 26, 2015

As someone who needs to avoid foods containing gluten, I was somewhat surprised to find a restaurant close to home that I could enjoy a good gluten free meal. The service was good, food was very good.

Report
Helpful
viploveforfood (New England)
5.0  Dined on September 3, 2015

I went there to celebrate a friend's birthday and everything was wonderful from the hostess to the waitress Georgia and to the food. Everything was just wonderful and I'm glad a discovered Salvatores in Medford.

Report
Helpful
Mimi (New England)
5.0  Dined on August 28, 2015

This was my first time at Salvatore's in Medford.Our waitress was very nice and acomadating .It was only her second night working and she made sure any questions asked,had the right answers.My husband and I got the calamari as an appetizer,it was so tender and crispy(not stringy and hard to chew.)I got the marinated steak tips,which was extremely tender and had a nice marination.My husband got the veal saltanbuca.Very tender and tasty. Not in a sauce,but it's natural juices.Overall a great experience .Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
vipKiki (New England)
5.0  Dined on August 23, 2015

Great food and good portion size.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on July 4, 2015

We went to Salvatores on July 4 so the place was almost empty. It was our first time, and first impressions were very inviting. The decor is welcoming. The drinks were made very well. We both had the salmon, which had a citrus sauce with arugala and onons on top. Very different but very delicious. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
angelasparkles (New England)
4.0  Dined on May 29, 2015

I came here with the gals for a late dinner. The meal was great. I just had a hard time deciding on what to eat! I'd come back here again. Although, the portions are huge. I ate half of my meal and sadly couldn't even stand to look at the dessert menu.

Report
Helpful
rabanker (New England)
5.0  Dined on May 29, 2015

My sisters and I went here for lunch. Delicious! We all had different menu items and we all agreed that the food and service were superb. I had salad with salmon, another had eggplant parm and another had pasta with braised meat (forget what it was called but worth mentioning because it was so delicious!). Our servers were wonderful and bread and dipping oil was brought to the table--yum! Parking is a little tight here but definitely worth the little extra time it might take to park the car. Go here, it's fabulous! We went at lunch so it wasn't crowded and there is a lunch menu.

Report
Helpful
2taste (New England)
4.0  Dined on May 13, 2015

It was a perfect place for dinner with an old friend we had not seen for years. The service was attentive, but not overbearing for continued conversation. The food was excellent with an amazing tuna with oriental flavors over asparagus. Everyone agreed that the appetizer "Burretta and prosciutto"with arugula and roast tomatoes was elegant and enough to share. A lovely drawn out evening with good wine selection in a warm atmosphere. An excellent blend of classic Italian and more modern approach to dining.

Report
Helpful
vipJUMBO32 (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on May 10, 2015

Salvatore's provides very consistent, high level of service and quality of food. Nice choices

Report
Helpful
Phil (New England)
5.0  Dined on May 9, 2015

Great evening for Mother's Day Eve. Very accomodating form my service dog "in training" Great work!!

Sam Adams beef and pasta, linguine and meatballs, lobster rav's and chix broccoli and pasta were all great. Onion soup spectacular. Desserts HUGE!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on April 24, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a nice restaurant for our pre-show meal. We are from out of town, didn't know Medford at all. Looking around Medford in the area near the show only one restaurant stood out.

We had an excellent experience all around and would recommend this fine dining establishment to all.

Report
Helpful
vacation (New England)
3.0  Dined on April 5, 2015

First time to Salvatore's and I will go back. The only complaint I have is that they allowed a dog in the place. The dog was small, but I didn't think that was appropriate. But aside from that, it's a very nice place and the food was good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on March 27, 2015

Wife and I were looking for dinner out while visiting the Medford area. Service was a bit disorganized but overall the waitress was very polite. Food was served in a resaable amount of time.

Report
Helpful
MCHC (New England)
5.0  Dined on March 13, 2015

Wonderful food, wonderful service, wonderful ambience ----wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
vipFstRunr (New England)
4.0  Dined on March 12, 2015

This was our second visit to Salvatore's and like the first, we were not disappointed. This trip, we enjoyed burgers x 2 and listened to what sounded like an enjoable trivia contest at the bar. We made a mental note to partake next time around. A can't miss is a quick look in the former vault which is now a cozy function room. There is a hole in the ceiling, preserved from the days when this restaurant was a bank; a bank robbed of millions. Interesting conversation piece while dining, to be sure.

Report
Helpful
Marie (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 27, 2015

The service was attentive but not overbearing and the warm leather booths made a perfect private space for our party of four. A highlight was the noise level was quiet for a filled restaurant and we conversed comfortably. Arancini were tender and flavorful and the spicy shrimp special appetizer allowed the diner to determine the hot sauce amount. Two of the party had pasta choices, ravioli with butternut squash and brussel sprout, which were appropriate portions with well matched sauces. The pasta special was overflowing with mussels and chicken parm excellent. Cannoli portion set for sharing. We will certainly be returning.

Report
Helpful
1
2