HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Salvatore's-Lawrence

4.0
39 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Good for Groups
  • Scenic View

Similar Restaurants

About

With 5 locations in and around Boston, Salvatore’s is the destination for the best Italian food outside the North End. Salvatore’s Restaurants was created by Sal Lupoli, known for his Sal’s Pizza empire. It is the result of Sal’s undying passion for high quality, authentic cuisine at an unbeatable value. Unlike the pizza stores, Salvatore’s is a full service restaurant complete with private dining rooms and function facility, full bar and a warm ambiance reminiscent of the Lupoli family’s Italian roots. Our Lawrence location, perched on the serene Merrimack River in a beautifully restored historic mill building, is the perfect place to bring friends and family for an enjoyable night out. Our large bar with lounge area is the perfect place to watch the game or listen to live entertainment Thursdays in the bar, Fridays in both the dining room and the bar, Saturdays in the bar and Sundays on the deck.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Kitchen is Open:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am – 9:30pm
Friday 11:00am – 10:30pm
Saturday 12:00pm – 10:30pm
Sunday 12:00pm – 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(978) 291-0220
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Willie Laboy
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is free
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Wednesday Nights-Trivia in the Bar
Thursday Nights-Dan Sky in the Lounge
Friday Nights-Tony Ciobotti in the Dining Room
Sunday Afternoons-Ralph Allen on the Deck
Every other Sunday-Paint Night in the Lounge
Every Friday & Saturday-Live entertainment in the Bar
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 39 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Miami)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

Can't remember my servers name but I can tell you she was very attentive. The food came out the way ordered and pretty quick... the vie from the windows are very romantic and nice... well recommend

Report
Helpful
Stacy (New England)
2.0  Dined on November 7, 2015

We went for a family dinner. We were seated right away. Our waitress was nice..... It took forever for bread to come ( our waitress said they didn't have any at the moment, but would have some shortly) our appetizers were good. We got the calamari, arancini, and meatballs. The meatballs were a bit salty. It also took forever for our main meal to come. Manager came to apologize for the wait. The Italian Wedding soup tasted like beef boullion, the Chicken Parmagiana entrees were just ok. The pasta was hard, not to my liking. One diner in our party liked the Squash raviolis. She said they were good.
The music was not to my liking, either. In an Italian restaurant, you wouldn't expect to hear hard rock loudly playing while we were dining. It was almost a distraction.
All in all, we won't return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
3.0  Dined on October 24, 2015

Not an extensive menu but food is good, could be a little less expensive.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New England)
1.0  Dined on October 23, 2015

We used to come here quite often but they have recently changed the menu. Service was very good and friendly but the meatball app came out cold. We sent it back and it came back lukewarm.
Veal picatta was tough and the breading was mushy. Mashed potatoes were cold, plate presentation was a big sloppy mess.
Will not go back unless they redo the menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on October 23, 2015

Had my sons wedding rehearsal diner there last year was fabulous.

Report
Helpful
vipSherz (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on September 6, 2015

We were able to get a seat outdoors on the terrace overlooking the river. And it hapened to be on a Sunday evening, when the reggae band was performing out there. It was a delightful spot. The salmon was prepared perfectly, and we really also enjoyed the steak tips. We'd definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Baltimore)
2.0  Dined on September 5, 2015

I'll first start by saying that the food at this particular Sal's was very good, however the service attentiveness was a huge let down.

Our waiter was running around (sweat dripping from his face), and still didn't have time to serve us. We waited ages for him to come and take our drink order and bring bread. Once we placed our order the food came quick, but we didn't see our waiter until it was time to ask about coffee/desert.

Again, not our waiter's fault, however when we spoke to the hostess about over seating the wait staff she pleasently took our feedback with the manager coming up in the background at the tail end of the conversation. A little disappointed that the manager didn't speak up though as we were finishing our conversation with the hostess.

Unfortunately, as convenient as this restaurant is to our house, I can't say I'll be back for the food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on August 29, 2015

Everything was fantastic, until the sun went down and then there were the bugs/Mosquitos on the deck. We were sitting right next to the rail and the huge spiders were making me queezy!!

Report
Helpful
vipJMC1 (New England)
5.0  Dined on August 29, 2015

We hadn't been to Salvatore's for quite a while and we're pleased with both food and service. I would recommend it to anyone.

Report
Helpful
neumie (New England)
5.0  Dined on August 16, 2015

late lunch here on a summer Sunday after a Lowell tour. the outside deck wonderful; food great

Report
Helpful
vipBosFoodie (New England)
2.0  Dined on August 14, 2015

Unattentive server in the outdoor dining/bar area. Forgot to take our dinner order. Several times went inside empty handed when he should have been clearing appetizer dishes to make room for entrees. Took 20 minutes to get a drink...other servers had to come help his tables.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
4.0  Dined on August 7, 2015

First visit for a business lunch. address was easy to get to, but restaurant was tricky to find, as it is tucked in back of a large former factory complex. Ate outside on a patio overlooking the river.
Every plate that was brought out looked and tasted great. Had the meatball and calamari appetizers. The 3 meatballs were huge, covered in mozzarella in a nice marinara sauce. The calamari was lightly breaded and not rubbery at all.
My boss and I had the pappardelle bolagnese, which was perfect portioned, melt in your mouth fresh past ribbons, in a light meat cream sauce. Our guest had the salmon salad, where the large piece of sweetly glazed salmon looked light it was perfectly cooked.
Would definitely go back if I was in Lawrence for a meal.

Report
Helpful
vipRinny (New England)
3.0  Dined on July 31, 2015

There were several mistakes with our food/drinks. Also, don't try to switch things on the menu or drinks as there are upcharges. Side came late, 2nd drink was different so bartender made right drink & it was missing an ingredient so she had to re-do it. Frustrating!

Report
Helpful
Dinah (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on July 25, 2015

Salvatore's specialty is still pizza. The flatbread app was delicious. Liked that our party of four was able to linger and visit for three and a half hours without feeling rushed. Surprised that it wasn't more crowded. Outdoor seating was a plus.

Report
Helpful
Craphound (New England)
5.0  Dined on July 24, 2015

The food was great! The veal parm is excellent and the portion was well worth the price. Excellent appetizers and great wine selection. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
1.0  Dined on July 17, 2015

Awful! Several wait staff asked us if we would like a drink, we had already ordered with someone, than another staff member told us they would be our server, then we saw no one again until they dropped our meals off which were cold and then 45 minutes later when we had to wave someone down to get our check! Left feeling ripped off! Will not be returning. Have been to the one in Medford totally different, enjoyable experience!

Report
Helpful
vipxxxxxx (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on July 13, 2015

Enjoyed lunch with a friend on the terrace overlooking the river. Too bad that the walkway below the terraceis overgrown, which distracts from the view. It is my understanding that the restaurant owner is also the owner of the building.

The food was acceptable although the tomato sauce is a bit oily.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on June 21, 2015

Not the most varied menu and the food is always fresh and well prepared.

Report
Helpful
QueenMab (New England)
5.0  Dined on June 20, 2015

Wonderful place to take a baby. Noise level is low. We were permitted to sit where we liked. Also, it was easy to get in to this place even though the internet suggested it might be booked up.

Great deck on the Merrimack.

Report
Helpful
vipHdhej (New England)
2.0  Dined on June 7, 2015

The food here use to be very good, but it was just okay. The veal was very tough. The gluten free pasta was good. The restaurant is a bit expensive for tough veal. I think there are so many other places that serve great meals, that this isn't on my favorite list.

Report
Helpful
Wowee75 (New England)
4.0  Dined on May 23, 2015

Loud atmosphere. Crammed seating. Mojitos were not good though our dinner was delicious. Our server Kaylynn was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
Louise (New England)
5.0  Dined on May 10, 2015

I have eaten at most of the Salvatore's Restaurants, and I always enjoy the food, the wine list, the service and the ambiance. The outdoor deck at the Salvatore's in Lawrence is my favorite place to eat dinner during the warm weather.

Report
Helpful
IceDog (New England)
5.0  Dined on April 25, 2015

I've been here three times now. First time was with my wife to try it out, the second for a romantic Valentines dinner with my wife, and most recently with my wife and 5 & 7 year old daughters, and my parents. Each time the ambiance was just right. It was set up very romantically for Valentines Day, and more casual during a 5:00 PM dinner.

The food was excellent each time. The fresh pasta tastes great. I had the Chicken Pasta Broccoli Alfredo, my wife have the veal Parmesan, and my daughters each had chicken tenders and we split their french fries and steamed broccoli (I forget what my parents had but know they both enjoyed it). The dinners were great. I finished my dinner, and my wife ate about half of hers. We split the left overs for lunch and enjoyed it together the second time. The chicken tenders were fancier than traditional children's chicken tenders and both children ate them right up, and I may have had a couple of bites myself.

Prices are just right for the portion sizes, and quality. The atmosphere is also very nice, and with the quality of service, I plan on coming back.

Report
Helpful
vipM123 (New England)
3.0  Dined on April 18, 2015

We arrived to a pleasant atmosphere and seated by the friendly staff. The wine was acceptable. The service was very good. The cabrese salad was good with a nice salty seasoning. My guests salmon was good. My sirloin was literally so tough I could not cut it and very undercooked for what I requested. I ordered the Risotto. The Risotto was good and piping hot. They were all apologies and took both my entrées off the bill without my asking.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2015

Great service and food was hot and fresh

Report
Helpful
jnettie (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 23, 2015

Went there with a friend to have dinner and see a solo artist we went to school with. It was the first time there for both of us. The waitress was exceptional, the manager checked on us personally, we got prompt service at the bar during the musical performance, and the host was extremely patient and friendly. He went out of his way to show us where everything was and made it a great experience.

Report
Helpful
Angie (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2015

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch with my family. The dining area was spotless, the service was exceptional and food OUTSTANDING! Plus the prices were very reasonable. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
Margo1 (New England)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2014

The service at Salvatore's was amazing!! Our waitress was one of the best servers I have ever had, and all the other staff was very attentive to all the customers. Everyone was so polite and great to us! I would definitely go back because of the excellent service!

Report
Helpful
Patty48 (New England)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2014

We have eaten at Salvatore's many times but not for a while. We ordered what we normally would, but found the chicken parm dry like it had been made much earlier and heated up. The veal Marsala was very different than before. The sauce was non existent and the veal was ok. Also the prices were much higher. Love the signature salad but at $9! The salad caprese was a rip off at $11. Won't be back!!

Report
Helpful
Retired (New England)
5.0  Dined on December 4, 2014

My group of retired friends get together a couple of time a year for lunch. We try to pick a different place each time. Sal's was great, no pressure on us to hurry up - we like a place that doesn't rush us. Also, it was nice not to have other diners on top of us, we felt we had some privacy. We will be back in the future.

Report
Helpful
1
2