Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Salvatore's-Andover

4.1
37 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

With 5 locations in and around Boston, Salvatore’s is the destination for the best Italian food outside the North End. Salvatore’s Restaurants was created by Sal Lupoli, known for his Sal’s Pizza empire, and is the result of Sal’s and his undying passion for high quality, authentic cuisine at an unbeatable value. Unlike the pizza stores, Salvatore’s is a full service restaurant complete with private dining rooms, full bar and a warm ambiance reminiscent of the Lupoli family’s Italian roots. Located in the heart of Andover, our newest location serves all of Salvatore’s favorites as well as some seasonal specialties.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am – 10:00pm, Friday : 11:00am – 11:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm – 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(978) 409-2445
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We host Paint Nite every other Tuesday. Reservations can be made through Paint Nite website.
What 37 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
5.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on November 20, 2015

Meeting a friend for dinner is always fun, but especially when the food is so yummy! We shared an appetizer and a salad (they split it in the kitchen, which was a nice touch). I got the Chicken, Broccoli, Penne Alfredo and my friend got the Eggplant Parm. We both loved our dinners!! We weren't offered bread and oil until after some of our food arrived, but when it did come, it was very good as well. Our server was very friendly and attentive. We will be eating here again the next time we attend a show in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 14, 2015

Very nice, just wish the food was a bit more flavorful. Kids chicken tenders were delicious & dipping sauce with roasted garlic was phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 15, 2015

Delicious food in an unrushed environment. Pamela was great with recommendations and assistance with the menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2015

If you are looking fora hearty Italian meal do not hesitate to go to Salvatore's! Portions are huge, food quality was good, and the wine list is interesting and well priced.

Our waiter was friendly, informative, efficient, and went out of his way to fulfill a few special requests.

Overall a great experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 20, 2015

Worst meal ever. Mushroom Risotto covered in dried domestic cheese, one mushroom. Veal Parmigiano like rubber with 8 Rigatoni on the side. Fruitta di Mare was just a handful of shell fish with watery sauce and bread ... Since when doeI s a main dish not come with pasta for $24? Just a huge disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2015

Had dinner on Friday night, food was great, didn't feel rushed... We took our time, had an appetizer, dinner was salmon, very good.. Restaurant was only 3/4 full so not too noisy, would go again in a heartbeat...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 21, 2015

I happen to live in a town where we have an Italian restaurant where the chef moved here from Italy. His food is amazing and it's impossible not to compare when we try new Italian places.
With that said, the food just was not as good as my local gem. The food was still good though and they had a wine that I enjoyed. The arancini's were excellent. The garlic in the oil was yummy. There were some better things for me here than at my local gem. Wish the mussels were comparable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2015

The food was really delicious and fresh. Just wish they stayed open later on Thursday night's.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 7, 2015

The bar is large and makes it easy to socialize in small groups. Food is average and service is good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2015

Comfortable restaurant with great food every time. Service is reliably good every visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 21, 2015

Pastas needed more sauces; the entries and especially the salad cost too much

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2015

We live in VT and always look forward to going to Salvatore's when visiting our son and grandchildren in Andover. Great menu selections with something tasty for everyone. The meatballs are fabulous and the eggplant parm is the best I've ever had. I usually get another order to go to take back to Vt as it heats up really well. Please don't ever change the recipe!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2015

Our server, Erica, was fantastic. She was very attentive and made great suggestions for our dinner. We ended up trying something new based on her description and it was excellent! We enjoyed a dinner of appetizers...they offer a great variety.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2014

We dined on New Years Eve, our first time at the restaurant. Food was excellent, unfortunately the service was not. First, when we arrived, they couldn't find our reservation. They seated us at a table and then discovered that their system showed us arriving 15 minutes earlier. Our server was not the most attentive and appeared over tasked. Our drinks arrive timely, but our dinner did not, and we had to ask for bread. We were seated at 6:30, had drinks and salad (no apps). About 7:30 our server told us our dinners would be out "shortly". Another 30 minutes passed and no food. Our server came by and apologized for the wait, explaining that there were a couple of large parties be served (we had arrived well before one if them). She said "your dinners are then next tickets out". We watch 2 other tables get served before 2 of our diners came out. 3 minutes later, the other 2 finally arrived. Thankfully the food was excellent and worth the wait. We'll likely give it another try.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2014

Went there on a whim and the atmosphere is decent, it's relatively small and the food wasn't much to get excited about.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 20, 2014

Salvatore's Andover is a nice neighborhood restaurant with generally good food and very good service. The atmosphere is quite pleasant. However, on our most recent visit, for which we had a reservation, the maitre d' felt compelled to try and seat us at the worst tables in the facility. This would have been very annoying if the place was very busy, but in fact, there was a large number of far superior open tables! We asked to be seated at a better table, and after checking with the maitre d', our request was honored. Again, we had a reservation! I hate that nonsense when restaurants try to unload their worst tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2014

My family and I enjoy dining at Salvatore's. We enjoy the menu options. It is very kid friendly and supports large parties. We love to sit in a booth.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2014

food is ok. Much garlic, dishes are rather plain; Risotto salty

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 6, 2014

I've eaten at this restaurant several times and have always been happy. I don't know what happen this time but I hope it's just a fluke. It took 30 mins and 3 trips back to the table to check the order to get drinks. Another 25 mins to get salads. Not a pleasurable time. May think twice next time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2014

Old world meets north end right in our neighborhood. Large portions and delicious. Exceptional service. Our wait person, Courtney, was great in every way. Not fancy or pretentious, bring the kids or grandparents..they will fit right in. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2014

This was our first time at Salvatore's. The food, service, and attention were terrific. Many thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2014

Great service. Our server was very attentive. We love sitting in a booth, especially with a bigger party.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 8, 2014

We must acknowledge how great the waitress was she knew we were in a hurry and did everything to make sure we got in and out as fast as possible and while the resturant was full. The food was also very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2014

We highly recommend the pappardelle bolognese, butternut squash ravioli and geMelli Fra Diavolo.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2014

Food and service are very good. Inviting, informal atmosphere. Nice wines and many choices on the menu. A nice place for a nice meal in Andover. Recommend! 👌😀🍴🍷🍕

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 17, 2014

Loved the Seaport location from previous meals. I wanted to meet a friend in the middle for our dining experience and found the Andover location. Not as fancy as the seaport, but still a great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2014

I took my wife and some friends to Salvatore's in Lawrence to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. It was a perfect day for dining on the deck. The weather was absolutely perfect for dining out there. Our charming waitress, Sofia, made sure that everything was just right. We ended up eating and chatting for five hours out on the deck and no one was looking to rush us out the door. The food was great, the weather was perfect, Sofia was the icing on the cake.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 21, 2014

the food was pedestrian and overpriced. will never eat there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 20, 2014

Salvatore's in Andover offers great environment, excellent food and great service at Boston prices. It is a inviting atmosphere, comfortable though A/C was a little to cold.

Food had a perfect presentation and drinks were made to perfection. Try the banana nut martini!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 21, 2014

Food was salty over cooked perhaps frozen veal out on a Thursday nite with 3 items on the menu with veal frozen chicken shells and the muscle left on scallops light above table blown out and cobwebs

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 16, 2014

I had the best chicken broccoli pasta alfredo I ever had. Yummy! The chicken parm was a very large serving & very good according to my husband. The staff was friendly & efficient. Although a bit pricey, would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2014

This place was great! My husband and I had a wonderful time. The host, bartenders and waitstaff were fabulous. They were all very friendly and accommodating. We loved the food. The butternut ravioli was terrific. My husband ordered the Veal parmesan and thought it was wonderful. They have a good wine list and specialty drinks. This is definitely a neighborhood gem! We will be back. Thank you Salvatore's and your fabulous staff for making our night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2014

Outstanding salad special with goat cheese (and large portion, too!); fantastic lamb with rich cheesy risotto. Unfortunately the angus burger tasted like a loofah. Delicious hand-cut fries! Waitress was attentive and patient with first time customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 7, 2014

The delicious food was served in a friendly and efficient manner. We were not rushed and our waters were refilled. They have a dedicated gluten free menu which always make me more relaxed. We shared a salad, which was plated on two plates without an additional charge. The ravioli and haddock entrees were yummy. We finished up by sharing a scrumptious slice of flourless chocolate torte. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 2, 2014

Despite a half empty dining rooms our server managed to ignore us.. Food was nothing special.. Too bad... Could be a great with a little love and attention..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2014

My husband and I wanted to try the Andover location. We were pleasantly suprised! I got one of their specials of the evening. It was a broussel sprout ravioli and my husband ordered chicken parmesan, delicious! The staff was very friendly Thank you for a nice evening Salvatore's.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 19, 2014

the food was very good, but with downtown Boston prices. A favorite appetizer has been removed from the menu, making the choices just ordinary.

Report
Helpful