About Salvatore Ristorante

1627 N Broadway
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Take Time to Stop and Smell the Sauces! It is the scent of fresh cut herbs, seafood just pulled from the ocean and sauces prepared with passion & regard to classic ingredients that reveal the essential energy of Salvatore Ristorante cuisine. We serve authentic Sicilian and Northern Italian specialties enjoyed in a warm family atmosphere. Sicilian born chef Salvatore Piccione prepares homemade Fettuccine al Gamberetto, Vitella (veal) Salvatore and Melenzana Ripiena to delight the palate

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: T-F 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Civic Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 932-2828

Website:
http://salvatoreristorante.com/

Parking Details:
The First Republic Bank at the corner of Broadway and Civic Drive is allowing all of Salvatore Ristorante diners to park at their lot at no cost.

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Piccione

Private Party Facilities:
We have a banquet area that comfortably seats approximately 36 people for private events and cocktail parties. Our banquet facility is available for lunches and/or dinners upon request. Please visit our website for samples of our menus that can be customized for your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Angela Alagna: 9259322828

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Long wait for our entrees after we order ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Long wait for our entrees after we ordered, but the food was amazing once we got it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is always consistently good. I am n ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is always consistently good. I am never disappointed eating here. I bring guests who enjoy it so much that they start bringing guest here too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine regularly at Salvatore's. Sadly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We dine regularly at Salvatore's. Sadly they are closing for a remodel because they were sued for not fully complying with ADA. Recently, our state legislature passed a new law giving small businesses 90 days to comply with a suit. This was done to counter predatory lawyers looking to capitalize on ADA violations.

Upon reopening under a new name, but in the same location and same owners I encourage everyone to patronize this excellent local (non-chain) restaurant. You won't be disappointed. Let's all do what we can to help Angela pay the plaintiff's attorney fee, and any award given to the plaintiff or fine imposed upon this neighborhood gem.

It's just too bad our legislature hadn't acted sooner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful place. It's my favor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is a wonderful place. It's my favorite restaurant for a few reasons: the food is delicious, the drinks are great, the ambience is wonderful (small, but not too small... beautiful interior and even a small outside dining area.) The service is wonderful and they make you feel like family. (They always remember us by name!) We make sure to go here for special occasions like birthdays, and such. We will definitely be bringing our friends in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and ambience are just gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food, service, and ambience are just great! Have been there a number of times, and it's been great every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood dish did not meet expectatio ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The seafood dish did not meet expectation but I will try a pasta dish (everybody seems to be ordering this) next time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our first visit- we just moved ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our first visit- we just moved to the area. Reasonable prices; we paid about $120 for two people, two entrees/salads and two drinks each. Very good service. We sat in the very back so the ambiance wasn't great, but it was fairly quiet and we each thought our entrees were good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Friendly staff that caters to you and yo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Friendly staff that caters to you and your party. Plates weren't to big or small and were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We were celebrating our 64th Anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were celebrating our 64th Anniversary. It is one of our favorite restaurants and consider it one of the local places to go for great food! Attentive staff & friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good overall experience. Food was e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good overall experience. Food was excellent, start to finish. Excellent service also. Would definitely recommend to others. Will return ourselves soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Explorer - It had been awhile since my h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Explorer - It had been awhile since my husband and I had eaten here. However, nothing had changed. It is still excellent. The service was superb, friendly with good recommendations. We received each of our items in a timely fashion. Also, each of our food items was excellent - salad, salmon, veal, and tiramisu. We will definitely go back soon. We highly recommend the restaurant. Based on the number of people in the restaurant, so do a lot of other.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service wonderful! Noisy but d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food and service wonderful! Noisy but doable.

Looking forward to returning after renovation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have eaten at Salvatore's several tim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2016

We have eaten at Salvatore's several times and never been disappointed in any way. The food is excellently prepared, always fresh, and the servers are very attentive. No hesitation to go back again and try something new on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite place on earth!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at - the food is always on the mark and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the great food and service. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Enjoyed the great food and service. They the best calamari on the planet. The lasagna was awesome. Great wines.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great restaurant for Italian fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always a great restaurant for Italian food. On Friday evening the special bay shrimp and asparagus salad was excellent. We especially love the lasagna when it is on the menu. The best lasagna in the area! The service is always excellent, too!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Experience

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

My date did not show up so I waited for 45 minutes before ordering. Serving staff were concerned and attentive. I ordered a salad but did consider their Lemonciello. They brought over a small glass of wine telling me they were concerned about my date. All and all it was a positive experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Salvatore Dinner w In-laws

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

While the service was outstanding, the overall value for the prices paid are low. Everything is ala carte and $50 per person is high for small portions. The veal entree came with four small slices of potato and few carrot sticks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We visited Salvatore after a 20 year gap ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We visited Salvatore after a 20 year gap. Found out they had just opened back then. We celebrated our 22 wedding anniversary with our two girls. The food was fabulous!! The service wonderful! We had a fantastic time. I dare to say this is our new favorite family Italian restaurant in Walnut Creek!! Just lovely.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very nice neighborhood resturant

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was very good and the noise level was very good compared to so many resturants

these days. The owner/hostess is very gracious and the service is very good. In our party

of five persons, everyone was very happy with their meal. We would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was timely and friendly. Food wa ...

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was timely and friendly. Food was average (Chicken Parm / Salmon). Pricing was in line with other similar restaurants in Walnut Creek - about $110 with tip for salad, 2 entree's, and a couple of drinks. Problem is we sat up front near the window and had little bugs flying around and there was a noticeable smell of mildew.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Food, service and ambience all above ave ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food, service and ambience all above average at a good price point. That will bring me back every time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Prices were moderately high for pasta, but fine for special occasions. Very nice ambiance, but a bit crowded. I wouldn't recommend it for large groups or families with small children. Service was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious lively restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I had a very enjoyable experience here. The food and service was very good. It was very busy so I recommend making a reservation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not for Groups

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Booked dinner for 13 people far in advance. Not enough staff, waited 40 minutes for menus, water was not refreshed, had to clear our dishes to another table to make room for dessert plates. Overall, the food did not disappoint; however, the basic service was lacking. They were pleasant and we did not complain...it wouldn't have made a difference since they just didn't have the servers available.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Never disappointed!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2016

Have enjoyed this wonderful restaurant many times and never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience and smooth

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We arrived late for reservation, but nothing was said. Thank you. Very smooth experience, water, wine, dinner ordering and sharing a salad 3 ways. Awesome attitude by wait staff. And they explained 'restaurant week' to us clearly. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong here. All is great. Do yo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Can't go wrong here. All is great. Do yourself a favor and go. You won't be disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Love that it is a family owned business and that they all work together!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always high quality food and great servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Always high quality food and great service. Never an empty water glass!

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service with the best waiter, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Wonderful service with the best waiter, Gusieppe. He was fantastic and served our group of 7 with a smile and a great sense of humor.

The food is classic Italian and the Complimentary bruschetta is worth the trip alone.

Salvatore's is one of my favorite restaurants in the East Bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice seafood and pasta; excellent service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We went on a Friday, 2 couples, close friends. We had the shrimp appetizer; seafood pasta; and other dishes -- all quite well-prepared and very nicely presented. We paid corkage (reasonable) on the 2 bottles we brought with us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Salmon was outstanding. Only sorry they ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Salmon was outstanding. Only sorry they didn't have their lemon cake. Husband had the cannoli for dessert. Said it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food in the Bay Area!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Salvatore Restaurante has been our go to Italian spot for the past six months. The service is always great and the food is AMAZING! I recommend the Caesar salad, the best I've ever had. All of the pastas I've tried were so yummy as well. This place is great for a romantic night out to just a great dinner with a group of friends. I will be back many more times to come:)

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience.

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 23, 2016

What a delight to dine at this restaurant. The fixed price dinner menu is a great way to sample different meals.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four for dinner

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Food was very good. Good service but not pushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great as always! Love the food and the s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Great as always! Love the food and the service. We have been eating here for years. We always come back. This is a wonderful local restaurant. You always know the food is going to be great. The menu offers the same great Italian food so you know what you are eating. Their lasagne is the best. Tonight I had the veal piccata, really nice and tender with capers and served with mashed potatoes and fresh carrots. A very lovely meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic, Delicious Italian Food in Walnut Creek

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2016

Salvatore's a gem, serving delicious and authentic Italian food that is as good as what you can experience in Italy! It's a fairly small space so reservations are often necessary and the noise level can be deafening when there are groups in attendance. In my experience - and I confess to being a bit of an Italian food fan - the food is among the best that you can get in the East Bay. Our server wasn't quite up to expectations, forgetting to serve a salad and allowing our water glasses to remain empty for quite awhile. Will assume the positive that he had a rare off night. An added plus is the owner, who is a very sweet lady and gives you a warm welcome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.