About SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

3029 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

SaltAir is a fresh approach to seafood, bringing in the freshest products available from around the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Global, International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
MON- Closed
TUE- 11:00am - 10:00pm
WED- 11:00 am - 10:00pm
THUR- 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
FRI - 11:00am - 11:00 pm
SAT - 10:30am - 11:00pm
SUN - 10:30am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
West Alabama

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 521-3333

Website:
http://saltairhouston.com/

Parking Details:
Additional self-parking available

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Private Party Facilities:
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen introduces a new, original to Houston and surprises guests with Vietnamese, Thai, Moroccan, South American and Middle Eastern influences. Crudos, Carpaccio, shellfish presentations adorn a menu to be admired for its light, fresh and clean nature.

Private Party Contact:
SaltAir Group Dining: 8773813675

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • SaltAir Seafood Kitchen, Houston, TX
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen, Houston, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Sat 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Romantic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've read about SaltAir in the Houston ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We've read about SaltAir in the Houston Chronicle, which has reported on it extensively. The menu looked tempting so we tried it. We were sadly disappointed after having high hopes. The tuna poke tasted like it had been stored too long in the refrigerator. Any traditional poke seasoning was so subdued it was almost nonexistent. We actually wondered if someone forgot to prepare it. Garlic spaghetti was very good, but something you can get almost anywhere. All in all, probably won't give this another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This reservation was for my wife and two ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This reservation was for my wife and two guests. They arrived a few minutes late. When they arrived, the hostess was very rude because they were late. The restaurant was less than half full. They were very disappointed in the way the hostess treated them. The rest of the dining experience was great, as usual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very much enjoyed SaltAir. I had met th ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very much enjoyed SaltAir. I had met the chef at an event and she was kind and thoughtful. Service was excellent for such a big place and the food was very good. The pulpo was probably our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay...waitress came by way too ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was okay...waitress came by way too often. She clearly wanted to take our order and get us out as quickly as possible. The water guy also came by so often it was annoying. This is NOT a place to have a relaxing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service was prompt. The Belvedere Vodka ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was prompt. The Belvedere Vodka martini was nice and cold and choices for the type of olive. I had the best Lobster Bisque, my husband had a good salad. Our entrees were good but not spectacular. Not a special event type of restaurant, but we did enjoy the evening and the noise level wasn't super quiet but we were able to carry on a conversation easily. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

$78 (before tip) for 2 salads and 2 glas ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

$78 (before tip) for 2 salads and 2 glasses of wine at lunch is really too high. Please consider a lunch menu with lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good... had a steak an ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was very good... had a steak and it was great ... as good or better than well know steak house

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Great Food! Very Attent ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great service! Great Food! Very Attentive and enjoyed this special occasion!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very fresh and excellent quality seafood ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very fresh and excellent quality seafood and great service

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

we really had a terrific dinner - thank ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

we really had a terrific dinner - thank you for a perfect evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the surf & turf and 1lb of the alask ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had the surf & turf and 1lb of the alaskan king crab legs... Everything was cooked and prepared as ordered. Our server and staff attended to us greatly. It was an unusually slow night though for the restaurant as a whole - but that was to our benefit! Bar seating looking cozy and fun.

Can definitely see us coming back for drinks/appetizers while sitting at the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved our evening at Saltair. The food ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved our evening at Saltair. The food and service were outstanding

We will be back as will our friends.

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Everyone enjoyed their food, ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great meal! Everyone enjoyed their food, the waitstaff was attentive and friendly. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Service was fantastic. The ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome food. Service was fantastic. They were even super sweet to my kids (we went for brunch). Overall lovely experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always! The Food is always pe ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome as always! The Food is always perfect, the service is just right! Not too pushy always just as you need them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time eating there and was very ple ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

First time eating there and was very pleased with the over all service and food. The food was excellent. Would recommend you give it a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The seafood was fresh and service good. ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The seafood was fresh and service good. The only negative was that the waiter was somewhat annoying at the beginning. He insisted on reading almost every word of the menu. I told him that all of us knew how to read and that we had a play to go to that evening. Typically a waiter goes over specials and answers questions but otherwise assumes customers are literate. Other than that, good experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent restaurant with a very good se ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent restaurant with a very good seafood based menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I love the place

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

I love the place

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best seafood in town- listen for special ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Best seafood in town- listen for specials. Been several times and never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived at 715 on a sat night - just ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

We arrived at 715 on a sat night - just my husband and I. We were shown a table near the "bus station" and asked for something else so we were seated in another area. After we sat down I realized it was a more like an extension of the outdoor area - diff chairs (director chairs and not comfy) and most of the guests were older or had kids. The good was great and the server knowledgable but we went out to get away from our kids and feel like grownups! The ambiance left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The Houston Chronicle ranks this as the ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Houston Chronicle ranks this as the 16th best restaurant in town. The Chronicle's restaurant critic must have been paid off. Food was pretty good, but service was simply awful. Attractive interior, but the noise level is such that it's impossible to enjoy the scene.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I usually try to avoid places inside the ...

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

I usually try to avoid places inside the loop but SaltAir is worth the drive and the inner loop congestion. There is plenty of parking space, you don't have to valet. The service is sharp so you don't have to plan on spending the entire night waiting for the waiter to fashionably slow.

Food is very good as is the value.

I don't like inner loop dining but if you have to go inside the loop this is a good place.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to SaltAir for a business dinner. ...

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

Went to SaltAir for a business dinner. Server was not attentive and entrees were not served together. One meal did not arrive until about 15 minutes after all the other meals had been served. Manager came by at one point to say he was checking on the meal and would bring the side and then disappeared for about 10 minutes. Food was ok but there are so many other choices in Houston that I probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Tasty food, atmosphere was much louder t ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Tasty food, atmosphere was much louder than expected - had to almost yell to hear each other at a larger table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

1 of the Service personnel could have be ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

1 of the Service personnel could have been far more accommodating but aside from her, full stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Love this place!! It's good for any occa ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love this place!! It's good for any occasion. One of the best places in town...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, very good service. Went ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very good food, very good service. Went there to celebrate a birthday and it w3as the right choice

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time visiting SaltAi ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was our second time visiting SaltAir, and it was a fantastic meal. The cocktail list is creative and delicious. There's a great wine list with affordable options. And the food! The branzino was SO delicious. It's buttery and definitely big enough to serve 2. We shared several sides - the mashed potatoes were our favorite. We'll be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mussel appetizer was the best thing of t ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Mussel appetizer was the best thing of the evening, wish we had more French toast to soak up the soup, drinks average, waiter appeared distracted and unfocused on us, cold seafood platter not worth the cost.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I met a dear friend there for lunch. I w ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

I met a dear friend there for lunch. I was not impressed! I have been going to Brasserie 19 for some time now and enjoy it very much. The waiters are always friendly and the food and wine pours very generous. I thought since this was part of the same group my experience would be similar, wrong! Our waiter could have cared less and was barely understandable. The food was ok but compared to Brassiere 19, I'd rather spend my money where it's appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Very pleasant Saturday Brunch. The lobs ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very pleasant Saturday Brunch. The lobster BLT with thick cut bacon was excellent with a nice selection of wines to complement the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for intimate dinner, nice bu ...

 
·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great place for intimate dinner, nice but comfortable surroundings, great staff; unique preparation - redfish was excellent; viennese coffee superb. Lovely evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, nothing special. The food was ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good food, nothing special. The food was fresh and prepared well, there was just nothing memorable about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were seated immediately and our serve ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were seated immediately and our server was helpful and attentive. Based on our description he suggested a wine that was exceptional. Our shared salad was excellent, and we both had the 1/2 shell redfish--quite good and perfectly seasoned. The coffee, French press, was a good, final test that was well passed! There was a lot of energy and, perhaps, the only drawback was the noise level which made conversation a bit challenging at times. Overall, it was a great place for seafood.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had the seafood platter as an appetiz ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had the seafood platter as an appetizer and it was great. I ordered the snapper and it was nothing to write home about. The restaurant is quite pretty. We sat on the side room. Next time I will ask to sit in the main room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We like this restaurant for the oysters ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We like this restaurant for the oysters and fish. Great taste and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Will be back

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great food. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Superb superb superb

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Superb superb superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious and beautiful restaurant. gre ...

 
·Dined on September 27, 2016

delicious and beautiful restaurant. great menu. lemon desert a little disappointing. other deserts not that appealing sounding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.