About SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

3029 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

SaltAir is a fresh approach to seafood, bringing in the freshest products available from around the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Global, International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
MON- Closed
TUE- 11:00am - 10:00pm
WED- 11:00 am - 10:00pm
THUR- 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
FRI - 11:00am - 11:00 pm
SAT - 10:30am - 11:00pm
SUN - 10:30am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
West Alabama

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 521-3333

Website:
http://saltairhouston.com/

Parking Details:
Additional self-parking available

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Private Party Facilities:
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen introduces a new, original to Houston and surprises guests with Vietnamese, Thai, Moroccan, South American and Middle Eastern influences. Crudos, Carpaccio, shellfish presentations adorn a menu to be admired for its light, fresh and clean nature.

Private Party Contact:
SaltAir Group Dining: (877) 381-3675

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • SaltAir Seafood Kitchen, Houston, TX

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Sat 10:30AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food and excellent wine list.. ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food and excellent wine list.... service was not very good nor attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was not that great and they have th ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was not that great and they have the most uncomfortable, tacky beach chairs in the side area of the restaurant. If our waitress wasn't so nice we probably would have left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value3

uncomfortably cold they did turn off ac ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

uncomfortably cold they did turn off ac as everyone was complaining, BUT they said they could not turn on heat as it was not working? Had Shrimp Lobster salad.... just ok.... not a pretty presentation at all....just all thrown on plate. Two very small rolls were brought to the table. we had to request two more. I was not impressed and disappointed as I was treating a friend for her birthday. They brought cotton candy to table with sparkler... a great idea for a 10 year old... not for adults.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The last review I wrote for SaltAir was ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The last review I wrote for SaltAir was glowing. We used to love this place. The only reason I'm giving it two stars is because the restaurant still curates quality seafood, especially the PEI oysters. We started with the cold seafood platter that I remember looking more like a tower in the past, and we added an additional half dozen oysters. The quality of the raw bar mix was still very good, but I would appreciate fewer shells in the crab salad. Our warm appetizer and main course arrived at the same time. The saffron fettuccine had no saffron flavor, and while I appreciate that saffron is expensive, this was a child's butter pasta dish. The lobster bisque was tasty but not a cream bisque, and that's okay. Dessert was extremely disappointing. The flavor of the peanut butter dessert still reminds me of the original dish that was on the menu in the beginning, but this dish is a far cry from the same quality. It was one of my husband's all-time favorites and it's really changed. I ordered the pot de creme, and dessert I used to dream about. It's not at all right. The old one was perfect, creamy, half way between a mousse and a custard. What I had tonight was bread-like--spongy--and dry. Not at all a pot de creme. Service was mediocre. The waiter was not knowledgeable about the food and not attentive. We were excited about going back and I was surprised to find reservations on short notice. But now I know why. While all the other good restaurants in Houston were out of tables tonight SaltAir had quit a few empty for walk-ins. With all the great options for food in Houston we've decided that we won't be going back. It's worth it to exercise a little quality control and consistency. Not everyone in this town appreciates it when a good restaurant cuts corners smoother than a Landry's Corp restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Wonderful, very lightly battered, fried ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful, very lightly battered, fried shrimp. Superb chocolate mousse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

food was just ok i had crab benedict tha ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

food was just ok

i had crab benedict that the waitress said was a favorite

there were shells & mush that made up the crab cake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place if you like seafood but are ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great place if you like seafood but are not a big eater. There are so many delicious items on the raw bar and many appetizers to choose from. All the food was yummy and our service was excellent. So many servers working together makes for a great experience. I must add, the salads and dinner choices are numerous and varied, we just "filled up" on the starters! Be sure to try it, if you have not already dined there!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Jazz concert & brunch. Was ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went for the Jazz concert & brunch. Was seated near the band and had a great time! Good service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome jazz brunch! Excellent oysters!

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome jazz brunch! Excellent oysters!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Saltair Seafo ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first time at Saltair Seafood. We dined there before attending a musical in downtown Houston. Our server was very friendly, helpful, and attentive. The other staff members were very attentive. We all had the red snapper, which was delicious. Two of us had the wedge salad, which was somewhat plain compared to others that we have had elsewhere. Our son had the lobster bisque, which he enjoyed. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. The restaurant w ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was excellent. The restaurant was not very busy and staff were attentive. Food was average. The Cesar salad was tasteless. Had the lobster salad and it was average. Crab pasta was good, with fresh pasta. We didn't order from the brunch menu, but I saw others with their brunch items, which looked very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Probably won't go back. During pre-dinne ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Probably won't go back. During pre-dinner drinks, our table of 9 was informed by the waiter that two of the whiskeys that were ordered were gone after serving only one drink. It was early enough that they could have gone out to get a couple bottles since customers were drinking them. When food was served, plates were all given to wrong people. Service was not organized well at all. Food was good, but nothing spectacular. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Went on NYE and sat at the bar. Couldn't ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on NYE and sat at the bar. Couldn't have been more perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here with a group of couples and ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went here with a group of couples and had a great time. The wine list is very good and is reasonably priced. We had the seafood tower appetizer, which was expensive ($100) but delicious. The grilled lobster tail, and redfish on the halfshell were also hits, as well as the sides of carrots, asparagus and baby bok choy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the red snapper. It was very fres ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had the red snapper. It was very fresh and simply prepared (pan seared). It was excellent. The best that I've had in a long time. My wife had the grilled shrimp with asparagus. It was perfectly grilled and very tasty. Overall, the ambiance and service was very enjoyable. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Daly Air twice and both ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been to Daly Air twice and both times were greatly impressed with the ambiance, the food, service, and value. Look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely amazing! The food was impecca ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Absolutely amazing! The food was impeccable - perfectly presented and delicious! Was quiet at lunch, but I hear they do a huge dinner and late night business. Definitely going back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and great food. Nick's sug ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good service and great food. Nick's suggestions were spot on.

Portions were very reasonable (instead of massive) and everything was well seasoned (not over-seasoned). We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty, inventive food in a beautifully m ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Tasty, inventive food in a beautifully modern setting with great service. We sure didn't need anything else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious seafood and outstanding servic ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious seafood and outstanding service. It's a keeper on my list.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Birthday Kirsten -- We visited on ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Happy Birthday Kirsten -- We visited on a Saturday night for my daughter's 50th birthday (Which was actually on Monday 12/26) . She was visiting from Omaha and was looking for some very good sea food. We took her to SaltAir as we were very familiar with the food and service. We had Tune , Redfish and Scallops - -all were done to perfection. She was most please as she tweeted as we drove away and looked at the Christmas lights in River Oaks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful setting with excellent seafood

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Beautiful setting with excellent seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is lovely. Service was go ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

The restaurant is lovely. Service was good. The food was fine, not out of the ordinary. My issue with Salt Air is the price point. It is too expensive for what is offered. If you are into caviar and raw oysters you might have a different take on this restaurant. For scallops, shrimp, crab and fish, its good but there are places where you can get the same fare that are as good or better for less money.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Love this restaurant! Always attentive s ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love this restaurant!

Always attentive service and excellent food.

Great menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I wanted to try SaltAir f ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

My husband and I wanted to try SaltAir for some time and made a reservation for Friday evening. The noise level was noticeably high and we were seated opposite one another at a skinny table at one of the long upholstered benches . To make up for the narrowness, the skinny tables were sooo long and we were so far apart that we almost needed to text one another to communicate. Since it was our first time dining there, we didn't make a fuss, but it made the very good food a lot less appreciated. Other couples were seated at normal tables for four. This would be the only way we'd return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our annual Christmas dinner wit ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our annual Christmas dinner with friends and the second year at Saltair. We enjoy the cocktails and appetizers and it's hard not to have a well cooked fish filet. Try the butterscotch dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Nick was outstanding and the ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our waiter Nick was outstanding and the bar was very lively and enjoyable to return. Was surprised that lobster tail was not available for a seafood restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was quite good and the wait staff w ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was quite good and the wait staff were nearly perfect. There when we needed them but not hovering. Probably will not go back however because we like to converse and the noise level is almost unbearable. Good for young people and a bar crowd, not so pleasant if you want to talk.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We've read about SaltAir in the Houston ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

We've read about SaltAir in the Houston Chronicle, which has reported on it extensively. The menu looked tempting so we tried it. We were sadly disappointed after having high hopes. The tuna poke tasted like it had been stored too long in the refrigerator. Any traditional poke seasoning was so subdued it was almost nonexistent. We actually wondered if someone forgot to prepare it. Garlic spaghetti was very good, but something you can get almost anywhere. All in all, probably won't give this another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This reservation was for my wife and two ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

This reservation was for my wife and two guests. They arrived a few minutes late. When they arrived, the hostess was very rude because they were late. The restaurant was less than half full. They were very disappointed in the way the hostess treated them. The rest of the dining experience was great, as usual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very much enjoyed SaltAir. I had met th ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very much enjoyed SaltAir. I had met the chef at an event and she was kind and thoughtful. Service was excellent for such a big place and the food was very good. The pulpo was probably our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay...waitress came by way too ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was okay...waitress came by way too often. She clearly wanted to take our order and get us out as quickly as possible. The water guy also came by so often it was annoying. This is NOT a place to have a relaxing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service was prompt. The Belvedere Vodka ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was prompt. The Belvedere Vodka martini was nice and cold and choices for the type of olive. I had the best Lobster Bisque, my husband had a good salad. Our entrees were good but not spectacular. Not a special event type of restaurant, but we did enjoy the evening and the noise level wasn't super quiet but we were able to carry on a conversation easily. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

$78 (before tip) for 2 salads and 2 glas ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

$78 (before tip) for 2 salads and 2 glasses of wine at lunch is really too high. Please consider a lunch menu with lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good... had a steak an ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was very good... had a steak and it was great ... as good or better than well know steak house

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Great Food! Very Attent ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great service! Great Food! Very Attentive and enjoyed this special occasion!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very fresh and excellent quality seafood ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very fresh and excellent quality seafood and great service

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

we really had a terrific dinner - thank ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

we really had a terrific dinner - thank you for a perfect evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the surf & turf and 1lb of the alask ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had the surf & turf and 1lb of the alaskan king crab legs... Everything was cooked and prepared as ordered. Our server and staff attended to us greatly. It was an unusually slow night though for the restaurant as a whole - but that was to our benefit! Bar seating looking cozy and fun.

Can definitely see us coming back for drinks/appetizers while sitting at the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved our evening at Saltair. The food ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved our evening at Saltair. The food and service were outstanding

We will be back as will our friends.

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.