About SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

3029 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

SaltAir is a fresh approach to seafood, bringing in the freshest products available from around the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Global, International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
MON- Closed
TUE- 11:00am - 10:00pm
WED- 11:00 am - 10:00pm
THUR- 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
FRI - 11:00am - 11:00 pm
SAT - 10:30am - 11:00pm
SUN - 10:30am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
West Alabama

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 521-3333

Website:
http://saltairhouston.com/

Parking Details:
Additional self-parking available

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • SaltAir Seafood Kitchen
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen introduces a new, original to Houston and surprises guests with Vietnamese, Thai, Moroccan, South American and Middle Eastern influences. Crudos, Carpaccio, shellfish presentations adorn a menu to be admired for its light, fresh and clean nature.

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Good for Groups (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Romantic (22)
Great for Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent. Our entire experienc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. Our entire experience was rushed.we dined on a Sunday night, I would've thought we could have had a leisurely experience. The waiter didn't go over the menu( as heard another waiter doing with his guests) . Our entrees came before our appetizers were finished. I would go back because the food is that good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great seafood expertly prepared. Specia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great seafood expertly prepared. Special mention to Omar (manager) for assisting in our selections of entre. Varied and moderately priced wine list. Should be considered one of the 10 best restaurants in Houston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The four of shared dishes and all were t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The four of shared dishes and all were terrific. My only complaint was the room we were sitting in (enclosed porch area) was FREEZING, very uncomfortable. The staff kept apologizing and said they were adjusting the thermostat, but never really improved.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful place for seafood. The snapper ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful place for seafood. The snapper was amazing. Also loved the scallop ceviche. It was by far the best ceviche I've ever had. The cocktails were very incentive & good as well. I also loved the peanut butter & jelly cheesecake.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been going to SaltAir for a while. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We've been going to SaltAir for a while. The service is great, and the sun room on the west side is pleasant and quiet. Our problem is that the chef makes everything we have had with too much oil, even when we ask them to tone it down. We are both healthy, fitness oriented people, and I expect seafood and fish to be a healthy meal. We aren't certain we are going to return because of this.

The price value equation on the wines by the glass is a bit off. If I want a decent glass of Chardonnay, I'm paying $18+ based on what was on the wine list the last time we went in. How about getting a decent one on there for about $12 to $14 like a simple Sonoma Cutrer? My guess is that they are trying to push customers into bottles. On the bottle list, they did have Newton Unfiltered at a good price.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had been to Salt Air for a drink so d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had been to Salt Air for a drink so decided to try it for dinner. The food was ok and the server ok. I ordered a wedge salad a missed the part that it was served with green goddess dressing instead of blue cheese. The dressing was terrible; the waiter brought me another type and it was just as bad. My husband had a whole Bronzini fish and which overall was good. For the price there are better places to dine. It is a great place to have a cocktail at the bar as the inside is very nice decor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Wine list was poor , salmon not cooked w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wine list was poor , salmon not cooked well, loud and with uneven clientele. Oysters very good for houston, asparagus nice and grouper very well prepared

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The atmosphere was nice when you walk in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The atmosphere was nice when you walk in but very noisy. We ate in the side room which is carpeted and cut back considerably on the noise level. The presentation of the food was certainly nothing special and the taste was bland especially the Pei Mussel sauce -- tasted like a watered down can of Campbells tomato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food, pleasant server, ridiculously ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good food, pleasant server, ridiculously loud. Can't recommend a place where you have to shout from the time you walk in until you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Phenomenal experience. Every preparation ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Phenomenal experience. Every preparation was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be an excellent restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Continues to be an excellent restaurant and one of our favorites.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter had us trying all the appetizers. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Waiter had us trying all the appetizers. Really unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The first time we visited it was just us ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The first time we visited it was just us two. Going back with another couple allowed a deeper experience, since we could sample more from the menu. It is my favorite spot now, in the group, just barely overtaking Ibiza. Our corner table made conversation possible, the food was fantastic, and the ambiance was festive. The service was spot-on, too.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was very good overall, ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Although the food was very good overall, we feel as though we were greatly overcharged for the seafood tower appetizer. In all fairness, we did not inquire about the market price for the tower. We dine out on a regular basis and usually aren't concerned when we order items that are market price. Normally we find that on average, market prices tend to be fairly competitive. After receiving the tower, we were satisfied, but definitely not blown away. We were in fact blown away by the price. If your establishment is comfortable enough charging these prices, your servers should be comfortable enough to inform customers accordingly. If we had been informed, we would have made different choices concerning the appetizers and not left your establishment disappointed and upset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great appetizers and wine selection but ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great appetizers and wine selection but unfortunately they ran out of their specials and basically most of their fish the night we were there...not ALL the fish, but they are a seafood restaurant so that was disappointing. Of the items that we did get to try, the muscles were amazing and the dumplings fantastic! The manager felt so bad about running out that he comp'ed us, which was REALLY nice and above and beyond of him to do. He explained they just served far more people then anticipated on a Saturday night, which I guess is a good sign, lots of people to mean mean it's good food...we'll go back and try to get there early before everybody eats everything up! :) Overall great experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We were very disappointed with the poor ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were very disappointed with the poor quality of the food, portion size, and overall experience. The price did not reflect the experience what so ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was delicious and our server co ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was delicious and our server could not have been nicer; however, after we placed our order at 8:00, she came back at 8:45 to tell us that they ran out of the fish we ordered. OK, we ordered something else, only to have her come back again and say they ran out of that as well. We had no choice but to order "what was left". I felt sorry for the waitress but wondered why it took her so long to let us know they were out of our initial order. She commented "you guys are being so nice, if I came to a seafood restaurant and they ran out of seafood, I would leave". After dinner, she offered "free dessert" as compensation. My husband said thanks, but no thanks we would rather have something taken off our bill. After she checked with the higher ups, they removed all our entrees. At least they did that and we appreciated it, but we will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Underwhelmed. Our dinner for 4 was over ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Underwhelmed. Our dinner for 4 was over $300. Ordered 4 appetizers - 1 each. They brought them one at a time so we had to share rather then each person eat their own. They also forgot 1. Brought 3 entrees at once. 4th didn't come for 10 mins. So then first 3 were cold once we began to eat all together. When we asked where the 4th entree was, server said "they will bring it once it's ready." Weird response. One entree was a crab pasta. Pasta was all stuck together in a clump - not very appetizing or tasty. When server brought the check she said she hoped we weren't disappointed with our experience. Weird to say at end - she never tried to rectify anything during the meal. Just not impressed at all. Decor was nice. Atmosphere pretty good but service and food subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great seafood, fantastic friendly servic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great seafood, fantastic friendly service, with knowledgeable advice. Great small plates, drinks, and entrees with perfect sauces and seasonings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food Great service

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've enjoyed SaltAir before and it was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We've enjoyed SaltAir before and it was perfect for a business dinner. Great service and food. It is a little pricy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool spot. Like sit very much.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Cool spot. Like sit very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The avocado from the light bites section ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The avocado from the light bites section with lump crab added was a delicious surprise. On my two visits the oysters have been some of the best I have found anywhere, and not outrageously priced at $38 a dozen. The redfish on the half shell was also quite good, fair enough to say I have not been disappointed with anything I have had here. Parking is easy with the big lot in front, service has been very good and not intrusive, atmosphere is casual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last visit we didn't have great service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Last visit we didn't have great service and felt the menu was a bit limited. They clearly changed things up both in terms of the menu and the service. Service was great and many more options on the menu. Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has to be the loudest restaurant in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This has to be the loudest restaurant in Houston. I had to shout across the table to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed the Fish special and my wife enj ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyed the Fish special and my wife enjoyed the snapper. Just right amount of sauces. Tempura vegatables were outstnading and light.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Caribbean tasting menu was great! Nice ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Caribbean tasting menu was great! Nice offer! Service and ambiance were spot on. I would recommend it for a night of good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fresh oysters were fabulous and the tast ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fresh oysters were fabulous and the tasting menu was amazing. Great wine and a fun time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great decent portions well ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was great decent portions well prepared . Great presentation . The waiter Brent was outstanding we will come back on days he is working .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent fish, what more can you say O ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent fish, what more can you say Our waiter Thomas was attentive, but not smothering. The room is a little on the cold side. This is a restaurant that one should frequent because the food is that good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this restaurant. But I was freezin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love this restaurant. But I was freezing cold all evening. I am not one to be cold in air conditioning but this was really too much. It kind of killed it for me sadly. I would go back but certainly bring a sweater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Ran out of food really quickly on a Satu ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ran out of food really quickly on a Saturday night. Like after we ordered the server put it in and it sold out. Frustrating I had to substitute my original choice. Everything was delicious though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The scallops weren't as good as I tought ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The scallops weren't as good as I tought they would be but he whole fish (branzino was amazing!!!!!) totallt recommend it, I would just skip the scallops

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was hit and miss. Some items w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was hit and miss. Some items were fine, others were very lackluster.

My friends did not like the Crab Louise salad - particularly the dressing. One friend split the Crab Louise salad and had Lobster Bisque as her main course - she ate very little of the bisque.

One friend ordered the mussels and thought they were very plain - no flavor. We ordered the steamed artichoke appetizer after asking about garlic (which I cannot eat) in another appetizer.

The artichoke had major garlic and I could not eat it - the waiter did not mention it had garlic and the menu said lemon/butter. The wines were very expensive - maybe one at a reasonable price. The snapper was fine and the lemon dessert was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Gwendalyn was our server. She has a goo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Gwendalyn was our server. She has a good personality and enjoyed some fun banter. The fish was cooked nicely. Not over or under. I was disappointed in the crab cake. It is good jumbo lump crab, but the way it's deep fried was not the quality I expected. The wine list is not bad with expected pricing. If you are budget minded, ask the price of a recommended glass of wine or the market price on a dish. We a little surprised on the price that one of the recommended glasses of wine cost. It was very good, but I would not have ordered it if I asked the price. There are definitely other options in that price range or lower. My own fault... I wouldn't call the place "romantic". However, it's not overly trendy either. My wife and I will definitely go back since we love seafood and the dishes are excellent quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good food & service. They were very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good food & service. They were very accommodating to food allergies too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit to this sea food establ ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time visit to this sea food establishment. Oddly, this location has been many various sea food restaurants in the past but it sure looks like this one is going to make it BIG. We ate early on a Friday night and the place quickly filled up with a mixed crowd. The service was friendly, not rushed and even though our waiter was new, he did know the menu and even had some reasonable wine recommendations. The appetizers and salads were fresh and notable. The entree's were exceptional. We both ordered specialty fish dishes and, as expected, cooked to perfection with a light dusting of seasoning. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time to this restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time to this restaurant. The food was so good. Very fresh fish and great presentation. Our server was great about recommending items since it was our first time. The bar was really cool and the tables were comfortable and not too close together. Fabulous evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood platter combo was especially ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The seafood platter combo was especially magnificent looking and even better tasting. the wine wist was amazing. i would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially seafood-loving foodies.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.