About SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

3029 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

SaltAir is a fresh approach to seafood, bringing in the freshest products available from around the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Global, International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Opens Daily at 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Alabama

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 521-3333

Website:
http://saltairhouston.com/

Parking Details:
Additional self-parking available

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • SaltAir Seafood Kitchen
SaltAir Seafood Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen introduces a new, original to Houston and surprises guests with Vietnamese, Thai, Moroccan, South American and Middle Eastern influences. Crudos, Carpaccio, shellfish presentations adorn a menu to be admired for its light, fresh and clean nature.

SaltAir Seafood Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (79)
Special Occasion (74)
Good for Groups (43)
See All
Notable Wine List (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Hot Spot (38)
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The avocado from the light bites section ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

The avocado from the light bites section with lump crab added was a delicious surprise. On my two visits the oysters have been some of the best I have found anywhere, and not outrageously priced at $38 a dozen. The redfish on the half shell was also quite good, fair enough to say I have not been disappointed with anything I have had here. Parking is easy with the big lot in front, service has been very good and not intrusive, atmosphere is casual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last visit we didn't have great service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Last visit we didn't have great service and felt the menu was a bit limited. They clearly changed things up both in terms of the menu and the service. Service was great and many more options on the menu. Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has to be the loudest restaurant in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

This has to be the loudest restaurant in Houston. I had to shout across the table to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed the Fish special and my wife enj ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the Fish special and my wife enjoyed the snapper. Just right amount of sauces. Tempura vegatables were outstnading and light.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Caribbean tasting menu was great! Nice ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Caribbean tasting menu was great! Nice offer! Service and ambiance were spot on. I would recommend it for a night of good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fresh oysters were fabulous and the tast ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fresh oysters were fabulous and the tasting menu was amazing. Great wine and a fun time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great decent portions well ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was great decent portions well prepared . Great presentation . The waiter Brent was outstanding we will come back on days he is working .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent fish, what more can you say O ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent fish, what more can you say Our waiter Thomas was attentive, but not smothering. The room is a little on the cold side. This is a restaurant that one should frequent because the food is that good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this restaurant. But I was freezin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love this restaurant. But I was freezing cold all evening. I am not one to be cold in air conditioning but this was really too much. It kind of killed it for me sadly. I would go back but certainly bring a sweater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Ran out of food really quickly on a Satu ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ran out of food really quickly on a Saturday night. Like after we ordered the server put it in and it sold out. Frustrating I had to substitute my original choice. Everything was delicious though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The scallops weren't as good as I tought ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The scallops weren't as good as I tought they would be but he whole fish (branzino was amazing!!!!!) totallt recommend it, I would just skip the scallops

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was hit and miss. Some items w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was hit and miss. Some items were fine, others were very lackluster.

My friends did not like the Crab Louise salad - particularly the dressing. One friend split the Crab Louise salad and had Lobster Bisque as her main course - she ate very little of the bisque.

One friend ordered the mussels and thought they were very plain - no flavor. We ordered the steamed artichoke appetizer after asking about garlic (which I cannot eat) in another appetizer.

The artichoke had major garlic and I could not eat it - the waiter did not mention it had garlic and the menu said lemon/butter. The wines were very expensive - maybe one at a reasonable price. The snapper was fine and the lemon dessert was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Gwendalyn was our server. She has a goo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Gwendalyn was our server. She has a good personality and enjoyed some fun banter. The fish was cooked nicely. Not over or under. I was disappointed in the crab cake. It is good jumbo lump crab, but the way it's deep fried was not the quality I expected. The wine list is not bad with expected pricing. If you are budget minded, ask the price of a recommended glass of wine or the market price on a dish. We a little surprised on the price that one of the recommended glasses of wine cost. It was very good, but I would not have ordered it if I asked the price. There are definitely other options in that price range or lower. My own fault... I wouldn't call the place "romantic". However, it's not overly trendy either. My wife and I will definitely go back since we love seafood and the dishes are excellent quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good food & service. They were very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good food & service. They were very accommodating to food allergies too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit to this sea food establ ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time visit to this sea food establishment. Oddly, this location has been many various sea food restaurants in the past but it sure looks like this one is going to make it BIG. We ate early on a Friday night and the place quickly filled up with a mixed crowd. The service was friendly, not rushed and even though our waiter was new, he did know the menu and even had some reasonable wine recommendations. The appetizers and salads were fresh and notable. The entree's were exceptional. We both ordered specialty fish dishes and, as expected, cooked to perfection with a light dusting of seasoning. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time to this restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time to this restaurant. The food was so good. Very fresh fish and great presentation. Our server was great about recommending items since it was our first time. The bar was really cool and the tables were comfortable and not too close together. Fabulous evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood platter combo was especially ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The seafood platter combo was especially magnificent looking and even better tasting. the wine wist was amazing. i would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially seafood-loving foodies.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday. The whol ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday. The whole dining experience was great. The whole Red Sapper was excellently prepared and the waitstaff totally professional. I will return ASAP!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Salt Air is always good. This is why I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Salt Air is always good. This is why I selected the restaurant for an evening meal with business colleagues. Everything was good, with one exception.

I had visited the restaurant for a social occasion the week previously with friends and had asked for my fish to be prepared "extra crispy". The fish was served perfectly.

However, during my last visit I was advised that it was not possible, this time, to prepare my fish in the same way, despite my requesting this 3 times. Consequently I ended up having to make a selection for my entrée which was not entirely to my liking. After 3 initial requests, I decided not to pursue the matter further with my waiter and consequently I was a little disappointed with my meal choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I loved the Snapper Crudo, it was dreamy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I loved the Snapper Crudo, it was dreamy, but the portion was too small, especially when sharing the dish with my friend. We then ordered the Crab Cake. The crust tasted like tater tots, so I didn't get to taste much of the crab. We also ordered the Red Fish on the half shell. The "mediterranean seasoning" which I can't recall was quite overwhelming and gave me a particularly strong after taste in my mouth for the rest of the evening. We were still hungry so we ordered the Salt and Pepper Calamari to fill us up. Unfortunately, we had to send it back because it was way too salty and had no real pepper flavor to it. The ambience was hopping, but overall I feel the food was not up to par for the portions and pricing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Dinner with my wife Food was superb Ser ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dinner with my wife

Food was superb

Service was professional and un-intrusive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The calamari and avocado appetizers were ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The calamari and avocado appetizers were very good and the red snapper was good but nothing special. I found the menu less interesting than when they first opened. Overall good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My family and I had dinner here for my b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My family and I had dinner here for my birthday. The food was amazing, the service was outstanding, and atmosphere was festive, but not too loud. My only negative comment is that the desserts weren't really that good. I would suggest not "saving room for dessert" and just order an extra small plate to share instead!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time for the four of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was the first time for the four of us to dine at Saltair. We liked the atmosphere when we walked in and were greeted in a friendly manner. We were shown to a table that was indoors, but next to the patio. The chairs were director's chair a that looked cool, but were uncomfortable. The dining room was very cold. However, when we asked them to make it warmer they did, which was great. Our server was very good and very attentive. We started with the octopus and ceviche appetizers. We really liked the octopus-it was very tender and tasty. The ceviche was interesting, very different from any other ceviche we had before and liked the crispy things they were served with. Unfortunately, we did not ask what they were! Both couples had the fresh seafood of the day, which was the whole snapper. It came with 3 sauces and we liked the Asian sauce the most. We got 4 vegetable side dishes, as we were told that each vegetable was portioned for one person. However, the servings were very generous. Two vegetables would have been plenty for the 4 of us. The beets were colorful and delicious. The grilled asparagus, potatoes, and bok choy were wonderful as well. We had a leisurely dinner and shared 2 desserts, key lime pie and the chocolate Bon Bon with mango sauce. Both were delicious. Overall, we liked the restaurant and would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sitting in the sun room is the way to go ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Sitting in the sun room is the way to go. Much quieter in there. Oysters were terrific and the whole fish-tops. Desserts a lemon ice. Awesome. Thanks Nikki

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great oysters and appetizers! Our server ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great oysters and appetizers!

Our server, Gwen was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt Air has such potential, but this re ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Salt Air has such potential, but this recent experience was our second disappointing experience at the restaurant. For positive notes, the menu format has been simplified, service is friendly, food is presented well and is tasty. Wines are priced fairly. However, the management does not seem to know how to order food properly. We have been on 2 occasions in which we've ordered fish entrees and then been informed that they are out of those offerings (multiple times on multiple entrees on more than one occasion). The first time we'd had this experience, we were hosting our family. We decided to give the restaurant some time to "figure it out" and returned several months later to celebrate some friends' wedding anniversary with a party of 8. It was Sunday, July 3, and the restaurant was not very busy. The members of our group placed their food orders only to be told a few minutes later that the kitchen was out of most of the fish we'd selected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Just had the best tasting red snapper th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Just had the best tasting red snapper that I have ever known. The service was superb, drinks were fabulous and the ambience perfect. The noise level was lively, however, with hearing problems, I was still able to hear without a problem. This is a keeper.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my wife's parents there to celeb ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We took my wife's parents there to celebrate their 30th wedding anniversary. The food was delicious and the menu had many different options. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I didn't find anything on the menu that ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I didn't find anything on the menu that was interesting including the side dishes. I ended up ordering a steak. It was just ok. Prices weren't bad, just wasn't anything about the place that sets it apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All dishes were delicious and nicely siz ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

All dishes were delicious and nicely sized. I would have lived something besides a breadstick to lap up the delicious chimichurri and other sauces that came with our food. Outstanding service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was okay. The calamari was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was okay. The calamari was good because of good sauce. The cerviche we did not care for definitely different from any we've ever had. The sides were good especially the beets. The whole fish was excellent but the filets of fish (3) were overlooked. Did not eat dessert as the chairs we were sitting in got uncomfortable. So we went to the House of Pies accross the street for pie which we enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food is delicious and service was very g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is delicious and service was very good! Wine list is very good and priced extremely well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brought all of the in-laws for Father's ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Brought all of the in-laws for Father's Day dinner!

Everything was spot on! We had a great time, great service, great food! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My unedited review can be read on Facebo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My unedited review can be read on Facebook: Jenny Genoway

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This was our first visit to SaltAir, and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first visit to SaltAir, and we will definitely be return customers!! The service is amazing, very friendly and professional. The food, outstanding!! There are so many delicious choices available ! We had Lobster Bisque, Wedge Salad, Grilled Shrimp, Trout, and Potatoes followed by Butterscotch Pots de Cream and Chocolate Mousse. Can't wait to go back and try their gluten free choices. We met manager, Omar, who was very attentive. Thank you to everyone at SaltAir for a delicious evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with a wide assortment of m ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great dinner with a wide assortment of menu choices! I loved the snapper and my husband really enjoyed the branzino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very disappointed in the food. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. It lacked taste and was displayed in a boring manner.

Nearly all fish dishes have a lemon butter sauce with white rice on a white plate. The plates looked and tasted like an overseas airline dish in coach class. The fish portions were small and not tasty at all. Both snapper dishes were dry and overlooked. The redfish was so heavily spiced, it was unedible. In fact , every dish looked the same, regardless of the fish. The salads were bland and used wilted romaine. It was a very disappointing experience for all of us. We really expect better from this restaurant group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I love the grilled octopus at SaltAir! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I love the grilled octopus at SaltAir! Delicious champagne selections and always fresh catches of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.