About Salt Wine Bar

225 Ossington Ave
Toronto, ON M6J 2Z8
View Larger Map

Located at the top of the Ossington strip, Salt wine bar offers a modern progressive approach to Iberian/Canadian tapas. Salt is a bustling, cozy, communal tapas bar with great energy. Our guests enjoy artisanal cheeses, Iberian charcuterie and an excellent variety of small plate dishes. Chef Dave Kemp is strongly committed to using seasonal and local products whenever possible. Our cellar contains an extensive list of Portuguese and Spanish wines which complement each and every dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Dundas street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 533-7258

Website:
http://saltrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Dave Kemp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras Terrine - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
fish tacos - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Fluke Carpaccio - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Benny - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Passionfruit Creme Brulee - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Scallops - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Yukon Gold Frites - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Bacon Cesar - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Bison Tartare - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Tuna Tartar - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Grilled Lamb Merguez Sausage - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Patatas Bravas - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Shellfish Paella - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
  Cinnamon Churros, Chocolate Sauce - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Grilled Spanish Octopus - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Manchego Crostini - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Scallop Ceviche - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Pork Belly - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Vanilla Bean Churros W/ Dulce De Leche - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Iberico Bacon - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Wild Grouper Ceviche Verde - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Sticky Bbq Baby Back Ribs - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Yellowfin Tuna Ceviche + Avocado Puree - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Grilled Octopus Sans Choizo - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Yellowfin Tuna Tiradito - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
beef short ribs - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Crab Cakes - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
lamb tartare - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Cod Taco - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Foie Gras Terrine W/ Pickled Grapes - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Bacon Ceasar - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
oxtail - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Fluke Ceviche - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Pulled Pork Tacos - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Beat Salad - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Cocktails - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Crispy Salt Cod Croquettes - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Crispy Confit Chicken Wings   Sweet Thai Chile Sauce &  Kaffir Lime Crema - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Hawaiian Yellowfin Tuna Ceviche   Pineapple, Jicama, Mint, Jalapeno, Coriander, Lime & Avacado  - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Alberta bison tartar w/ red chile, citrus soya, watercress coriander & ginger aioli - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Spicy Grilled Calamari w/ chickpeas, sweet peppers, chorizo, lime & coriander  - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Wild Ox Tail Ravioli w/ Mushrooms & Cream Sauce - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
baby arugala   figs, goat cheese, Jamon serrano & hazelnut vinaigrette - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Chipotle Wild Boar Taco - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Alberta Bison Carpaccio - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON

Salt Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (22)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Average on taste buds, below average in ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Average on taste buds, below average in portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

I thought the restaurant was superb. Th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I thought the restaurant was superb. The food was excellent and well priced, however, the wine (where your profit margins are) we felt was a bit pricey. We'd return again but, would simply reduce our wine consumption.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great overall service! It was my first t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great overall service! It was my first time trying Iberian inspired food, I was expecting something different, unfortunately it was below my expectations! The atmosphere is very trendy and eye catchy. Really like the concept of showing off Spanish and Portuguese wine bottles, prodominately!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We have been to Salt a few times and eve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to Salt a few times and every meal is executed with attention to flavour and freshness. The unique, Portuguese wine list is a treat as are the dessert wines. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Lots of great tastes and flavours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place - highly recommend it....per ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place - highly recommend it....perfect for date night or even girls night out....

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was really good but the cha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

everything was really good but the charcuterie tray lacked a bit , it was not enough for 3 people

and I thought the waiter should have mentioned that

having said all that Tristan our server was AWESOME on wine selection and he was very attentive without hovering

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Really enjoyed all the dishes, very rela ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Really enjoyed all the dishes, very relaxed and fun atmosphere . Wine was fantastic.

Price point is a bit high considering you would need quite a few dishes to share.

I would still go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2ND VISIT AND LOVED IT! GRAP TAPAS AND ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 3, 2016

2ND VISIT AND LOVED IT! GRAP TAPAS AND THE WINE WAS OUTSTANDING. WILL BE BACK AGAIN!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed the varied menu - especially goo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Enjoyed the varied menu - especially good - spiced lamb meatballs

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious as always. The sea breem cevi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Delicious as always. The sea breem ceviche is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I read about the tapas at Salt and decid ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I read about the tapas at Salt and decided to make a reservation for a nice Saturday evening dinner. I particularly enjoy the Ossington strip for their selection of great dining and drink options.

Arriving on time for my reservation, my first impression was not great; waiting at the front reception desk for 8 mins without any staff acknowledgment. The restaurant was busy, but not particularly full and it wasn't until I walked to the end of the bar and asked about being seated, before anyone looked up. I was dismissed by a gentleman behind the bar, saying he'd be a minute. A young lady approached me and I thought she'd seat my husband and I, but instead she demanded I go back to the front and wait. I was upset and normally would have made my way to the Greek tapas restaurant with superb customer service up the street, but I wanted to give the restaurant and dining experience a fair shot, so we stayed.

We ordered the shishito peppers (an absolute must! They are perfection!) , octopus and meatballs. The cocktails were good and well bodied.

As a foodie and a frequent visitor of the Toronto dining scene, I am particularly disappointed by the service provided by Salt and would not recommend the restaurant based on the lack of professionalism by their staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Very good food; excellent Portuguese win ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very good food; excellent Portuguese wine selection. Very loud and with a self absorbed birthday group there on Saturday night almost unbearable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Went last Saturday for girls-night-out. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went last Saturday for girls-night-out. Food was excellent - our fave was the gnocchi...if we could have licked the plate, we would have! Our server was excellent and attentive despite the packed restaurant. My only complaint is that we found it a little too loud and it felt like we were screaming to hear each other talk. Other than that, excellent restaurant...will definitely be back!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here was great. Not so many glu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food here was great. Not so many gluten free options but the food was so great! Service and cocktails were great too.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is exce ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is exceptional! We have gone at least 10 times and have always been blown away.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt Wine Bar is the perfect place to go ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Salt Wine Bar is the perfect place to go to sample all sorts of delicious food. It is fun to try a lot of different dishes. The food is excellent so it doesn't matter which dishes you choose. It is great for 2, 4 or a party of 8 people. Service is always excellent. This is my 4th time back and again it did not disappoint in any way.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was below average. Ironically, way ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was below average. Ironically, way too salty. Wine was fine. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Really enjoyed the menu and ambiance, th ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the menu and ambiance, the service was outstanding. Will return once again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was forgettable.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great meal. Amazing duck, gnocchi, pate ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great meal. Amazing duck, gnocchi, pate (portion rather small), olives were delicious, outstanding ceviche, short-ribs were fantastic, octopus too. Amazing service from Tristan and the vino verde was worth every penny. Thank You! we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently tasty, great house wines an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Consistently tasty, great house wines and solid service. Try the venison carpaccio- perfect and the grilled calamari is excellent. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it. Highly recommended. Every di ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Loved it. Highly recommended. Every dish we ordered was very good. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I saw the reviews were great for Salt Wi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I saw the reviews were great for Salt Wine Bar but it exceeded my expectations. The food was phenomenal. The braised short ribs just melted, the calamari was perfectly cooked and the meatballs were perfectly spiced. I often go to Patria and like Carmen as well for tapas but this was the best of the three.

Great service as well and the wine selection and knowledge is fantastic. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! Food, drinks, pe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was amazing! Food, drinks, people. The only thing was our server would periodically not hear us when we were ordering (i.e. forgot a dish, forgot drinks) and we would have to remind her or repeat a few times. Other than that, wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent tapas and wine bar

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2016

What a great find in a cool area of Toronto. The service was very familiar, each dish we had was delicious and the wine options were robust and eclectic. Definitely try this restaurant if you are in city of Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine selection was amazing! ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and wine selection was amazing!! Best churro see have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My entire group was impressed with off-t ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

My entire group was impressed with off-the-radar Salt. Food was great ... wine advice was valuable. Try one of the Portuguese wines recommended by the sommelier.

We all said we want to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great spot for date night

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot for date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

NICE BUT PRICEY TAPAS

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2016

We just came home from visiting Lisbon and Porto and falling love with their food, which was our motivation to try this restaurant.

I loved the decor and ambience. A long table for a group was fun, but it was rather problematic for those seated against the wall/opposite to the aisle or in the middle to get up and visit a washroom.

Our hostess was very charming, agreeable and attentive as well as accommodating. Servers were both polite and expeditious — we had no complaints for their food or service.

Tapas dishes are fun. All the dishes we ordered were delicious and very well presented, but we felt they were pricey for what they were. We were glad we decided to try this restaurant but not sure if any of us would return for this reason.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

30th Birthday with Friends!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2016

We met a few friends here for a small surprise 30th birthday dinner for my boyfriend. It was our first time dining at this restaurant and I was very happy that we chose this place. It was the perfect ambiance and space for the type of dinner we were having. Very interesting and extensive wine list. The small plates menu was creative and everything was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I went to Salt Wine Bar with most closes ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2016

I went to Salt Wine Bar with most closest friends to celebrate my birthday. It was everything I wanted.

A few of us arrived and got seated. The rest of my friends arrived and we started ordering. The atmosphere is relaxing and inviting; I feel like it encourages conversation and stepping away from our phones (albeit we were checking the Score to see how the Raptors were doing).

The food is delicious. I am never disappointed. With a good number of options, the menu accommodated all the food preferences at the table. We practically ordered everything on the menu. My favourite was the paella. The seafood was well cooked and the rice was al dente with the crispy texture you expect.

Service was exceptional. Norm and Tristan were working in the front that evening. Big shout out to Tristan, who was very attentive and frequently made sure we were taken care of.

Thank you to Salt for making my birthday special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If there are 4 of you don't bother with ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2016

If there are 4 of you don't bother with the cheese board or charcuterie - it's not value for money and comes across very very cheap. Otherwise the Resto is fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Outstanding cuisine

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2016

I have eaten here several times and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was alright. Nothing I felt stuck o ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was alright. Nothing I felt stuck out. The scallops and pork belly was the best dish we had. The table set up is a bit tight... Makes it annoying if you have a middle table, servers constantly knocking your elbow and placing their booty in your face.

Service, the weakest part of my experience. Order drinks... The food came first? ... My girlfriend got her glass of wine about 10 minutes before I got my drink. Why serve only one? ... Says bartender was busy. Yea ok, either he forgot my drink or the waitress did. Also, told us to order all at once or our next order will take 45 minutes. Tables were empty in 45min... Seemed a bit exaggerated. Overall, for the price don't think I'll revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Still just as amazing!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2016

So when I lived in Toronto over a year ago my husband and I would come to Salt wine bar every month or so and it was our spot for dates. I booked our dinner last week after not having been in Toronto for over a year. We got there and everyone remembered us, asked us about our move to New York, gave us hugs and made us feel like family. Once again the food and wine was absolutely fantastic, and we're already planning our next trip to Toronto, including this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great experience

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Top notch food - well thought out menu with great cocktails in an intimate space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Always Amazing

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Toronto. We've been coming for years and have loved every penny spent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

such a wonderful evening! can't wait to go back!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2016

we hada great evening and every dish was better then we expected!

our server suggested the duck dish which we wouldn't normally have ordered and it was phenomenal!

the wine recommended was the perfect bottle (or 3) to compliment our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Perfect Night

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We went on a Sunday night during the Super Bowl, so the place was practically empty. This was fine with us because the staff were very attentive. I had a glass of the Acon Crianza Tempranillo... nice easy to drink full-bodied wine. We enjoyed the bread & olives (the spicy spread was so good!), charcuterie board, steak & frites, crab cakes, crispy prawns, baby back ribs fell off the bone, and the duck confit was delish. The gnocchi was alright... it could have been richer and cheesier. Love the vibe of the place. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect pre show destination

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2016

A go-to spot for a quick tapas, cocktails and wine pre-show at the local Lower Ossington Theatre. Staff is always accommodating for quick turnaround without sacrificing service and quality taste and presentation of dishes !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.