About Salt Wine Bar

225 Ossington Ave
Toronto, ON M6J 2Z8
View Larger Map

Located at the top of the Ossington strip, Salt wine bar offers a modern progressive approach to Iberian/Canadian tapas. Salt is a bustling, cozy, communal tapas bar with great energy. Our guests enjoy artisanal cheeses, Iberian charcuterie and an excellent variety of small plate dishes. Chef Dave Kemp is strongly committed to using seasonal and local products whenever possible. Our cellar contains an extensive list of Portuguese and Spanish wines which complement each and every dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Dundas street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 533-7258

Website:
http://saltrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Dave Kemp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Wine

Salt Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Great night out with great food and service.

Would definitely come back and recommend it to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of our favourite spots in the city! Great food, great service and ambiance. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone for a perfect night out!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server was excellent. It makes for a nice evening out with good food in a nice atmosphere. I really enjoy going to Salt.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was average at best. Too much reliance on a sauce squeezed out of a ketchup bottle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day dinner. Very good meal, service and ambience. Deep list of Spanish and Portuguese wines. Interesting and tasty small plates. We will return

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was outstanding. Service was very good. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food. Great wine list. Hideously bad music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I live in Texas and have been coming to Salt EVERY time I travel to Toronto, for at least the last 3 years. The food is always unbelievable, and the service is even better. I usually come with a group of business associates, so between the 5-10 of us, we pretty much order everything on the menu and share (it is a Tapas place). Very creative and the attention to detail regarding the mixing of flavors, textures, and spices always makes me wanting more. The ambiance is inviting with it being wall to wall wine bottles, of which they have a fantastic selection for any budget. I will most definitely be back the next time I'm in Toronto.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good restaurant but our particular server this time around was sub-par. Hopefully won't get the same one the next time around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent meal! Each of the tapas was delicately flavoured and nicely presented. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Loved the staff! Even got a complementary birthday shot! :)

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Organic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Loved the calamari and winter salad. The venison meatballs could be made into four small instead of two huge making the dish more appealing. Service was fast but lacked any warmth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant for it's laid back casual vibe, great sharing menu, and decent wine list. Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised to find out it is a Portuguese wine bar with several Vino Verdes on the wine list. The service and the food was fabulous--all four us, all foodies, enjoyed every dish. The menu has selection sufficient enough to work around the plant-based eaters, carnivores, nut allergy, gluten sensitivities, etc., etc., etc.

The only criticism would be the value. Each sharing plate was relatively small with literally only enough for one bite for four people. At about $15/plate I would have expected a little bit more food per plate. Our server recommended 10-12 plates for a table of 4 which we felt was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first time at Salt Wine Bar and it won't be the last. The food was absolutely incredibly and the recommendations by our server were fantastic. I would highly recommend trying!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went out to eat with another couple with baby - we also had a baby with us. They don't have high chairs (we assume that was a message of "we don't want babies here") but regardless they accommodated us and the service was great. All our dishes were really good but I thought somewhat pricey for the portion sizes. I would recommend as the good was delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Booked this restaurant sight unseen for my birthday. The staff was great and so was the food and drink. A definite recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My favourite restaurant in the city. Good people. Delicious food. Amazing atmosphere. Fantastic wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We very much enjoyed the restaurant. It was our first time at Salt. The food was great; it's a nice space; and the staff were helpful and friendly. Overall it was excellent; and we look forward to returning in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice ambience. The food was good but not outstanding. The service was good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome experience. I would recommend having a cocktail at the bar before dinner. The bar staff are not only knowledgeable but creative. The food was excellent, we ordered the beef tenderloin , ceviche, meat balls and octopus plus the special green vegetable. Finished off with an order of the churros, which were excellent. Our servers were super and professional. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always Salt was great. Tasty cocktails at the bar to begin with. Fabulous Portuguese wines. Delicious tapas. Hillary is the quintessential server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was outstanding. Server noted my dinner partner was lactose-intolerant and had salad's cheese topping placed Into a separate container. Was also very pro-active in telling her what dishes to avoid ordering.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fifth visit. Salt is consistently delicious high quality tapas. Seabream ceviche, duck and tenderloin were particularly good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and cocktails. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wines. Highly recommend the bacon infused old fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A lovely room, attentive and knowledgeable service and of course delicious pitch-perfect food. My favourite restaurant in Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were warmly welcomed. The service was discreet and professional. The food was superb, the ambiance warm. We had the Cape Breton Snow Crab Cakes with Grapefruit and Aioli Salad, the Cheese Board with Quince Paste and the Churros with Dulce de Leche with Calvados. I had a Stella & Liane had water. Phénoménal!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We keep coming back here for the amazing food that takes your palette on an adventure. Had the fall salad, lamb meatballs, sea bream ceviche and grilled octopus. All were delicious but especially enjoyed the ceviche, so many flavours! Topped it off with their version of cream brûlée and it made for a perfect meal. Our server was also excellent and suggested some nice Portuguese wine to go along with our food. Highly recommend Salt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Average on taste buds, below average in portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I thought the restaurant was superb. The food was excellent and well priced, however, the wine (where your profit margins are) we felt was a bit pricey. We'd return again but, would simply reduce our wine consumption.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great overall service! It was my first time trying Iberian inspired food, I was expecting something different, unfortunately it was below my expectations! The atmosphere is very trendy and eye catchy. Really like the concept of showing off Spanish and Portuguese wine bottles, prodominately!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to Salt a few times and every meal is executed with attention to flavour and freshness. The unique, Portuguese wine list is a treat as are the dessert wines. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Lots of great tastes and flavours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place - highly recommend it....perfect for date night or even girls night out....

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

everything was really good but the charcuterie tray lacked a bit , it was not enough for 3 people

and I thought the waiter should have mentioned that

having said all that Tristan our server was AWESOME on wine selection and he was very attentive without hovering

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Really enjoyed all the dishes, very relaxed and fun atmosphere . Wine was fantastic.

Price point is a bit high considering you would need quite a few dishes to share.

I would still go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 3, 2016

2ND VISIT AND LOVED IT! GRAP TAPAS AND THE WINE WAS OUTSTANDING. WILL BE BACK AGAIN!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Enjoyed the varied menu - especially good - spiced lamb meatballs

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Delicious as always. The sea breem ceviche is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I read about the tapas at Salt and decided to make a reservation for a nice Saturday evening dinner. I particularly enjoy the Ossington strip for their selection of great dining and drink options.

Arriving on time for my reservation, my first impression was not great; waiting at the front reception desk for 8 mins without any staff acknowledgment. The restaurant was busy, but not particularly full and it wasn't until I walked to the end of the bar and asked about being seated, before anyone looked up. I was dismissed by a gentleman behind the bar, saying he'd be a minute. A young lady approached me and I thought she'd seat my husband and I, but instead she demanded I go back to the front and wait. I was upset and normally would have made my way to the Greek tapas restaurant with superb customer service up the street, but I wanted to give the restaurant and dining experience a fair shot, so we stayed.

We ordered the shishito peppers (an absolute must! They are perfection!) , octopus and meatballs. The cocktails were good and well bodied.

As a foodie and a frequent visitor of the Toronto dining scene, I am particularly disappointed by the service provided by Salt and would not recommend the restaurant based on the lack of professionalism by their staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very good food; excellent Portuguese wine selection. Very loud and with a self absorbed birthday group there on Saturday night almost unbearable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went last Saturday for girls-night-out. Food was excellent - our fave was the gnocchi...if we could have licked the plate, we would have! Our server was excellent and attentive despite the packed restaurant. My only complaint is that we found it a little too loud and it felt like we were screaming to hear each other talk. Other than that, excellent restaurant...will definitely be back!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food here was great. Not so many gluten free options but the food was so great! Service and cocktails were great too.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is exceptional! We have gone at least 10 times and have always been blown away.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Salt Wine Bar is the perfect place to go to sample all sorts of delicious food. It is fun to try a lot of different dishes. The food is excellent so it doesn't matter which dishes you choose. It is great for 2, 4 or a party of 8 people. Service is always excellent. This is my 4th time back and again it did not disappoint in any way.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was below average. Ironically, way too salty. Wine was fine. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the menu and ambiance, the service was outstanding. Will return once again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great meal. Amazing duck, gnocchi, pate (portion rather small), olives were delicious, outstanding ceviche, short-ribs were fantastic, octopus too. Amazing service from Tristan and the vino verde was worth every penny. Thank You! we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Consistently tasty, great house wines and solid service. Try the venison carpaccio- perfect and the grilled calamari is excellent. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Loved it. Highly recommended. Every dish we ordered was very good. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.