About Salt Wine Bar

Located at the top of the Ossington strip, Salt wine bar offers a modern progressive approach to Iberian/Canadian tapas. Salt is a bustling, cozy, communal tapas bar with great energy. Our guests enjoy artisanal cheeses, Iberian charcuterie and an excellent variety of small plate dishes. Chef Dave Kemp is strongly committed to using seasonal and local products whenever possible. Our cellar contains an extensive list of Portuguese and Spanish wines which complement each and every dish.

225 Ossington Ave
Toronto, ON M6J 2Z8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Dundas street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 533-7258

Website:
http://saltrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Dave Kemp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Wine

Salt Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
See All
Authentic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Lovely ambiance, friendly staff, great food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Salt is a fabulous restaurant. My wife and I enjoyed dinner early on a Saturday evening. The atmosphere is very casual. The décor reveals a series of wine bottles along wooden shelves on the side walls, interspaced with wine crates and lids. Europe immediately comes to mind. The menu has a wide selection of dishes. The wine list features varietals from Spain and Portugal. The wait staff were very helpful with pairing the wines and ensuring that we avoided any allergies with the food. We were surprised at how reasonably priced this elegant little dinner was. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I am a big fan of Salt - excellent wine list that leans heavily to Portugal (as it is a Portuguese focused restaurant) and delicious tapas. Service is very good and atmosphere relaxed and inviting. Love the grilled peppers and seafood choices.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful place...service & food were exceptional.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We loved the feel for this place. Great flavourful tapas choices, great wine and desserts to die for. All in vibrant little Portugal.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This place always makes for great dining experiences. Servers helped with picking a wine I ended up loving! And the food was delicious. I'll always be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Amazing food and wine and perfect service! Definitely a highlight of our short trip to Toronto!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Friendly staff, great food and drinks! Our "go to" restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

4.5 stars. A lovely meal with surprisingly good fried chicken, heritage tomatoes, ribs, crab ravioli. Not typical tapas but all wonderfullyprepared and served. First rate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food itself was very good, but I was surprised at how my reservation was ignored. I went for my girlfriends 21st birthday, and I assumed , like at most restaurants , some sort of gesture would be made to acknowledge this. This wasn't done and this makes me hesitant to go back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Fantastic meal and cocktails. Attentive service. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Loved it! Food was great, nice ambiance and service was awesome!!! The grilled calamari was amazing and everything came out hit and fresh!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always love my visits to 'salt' - very much enjoy being able to sample and share different dishes - like the wine pairing - like the ambiance and the service. I will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fantastic Food!!!!
Ambiance and wine list very good too, but the food is just Amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Every dish we had was excellent. Each had unique flavourings and were well presented

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Each course was very flavorful.. Portion size perfect for sharing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Not just for hipsters! ( We were a party of 4 professional friends in their late 50's). Salt is a classy yet laid back fine dining experience. The Spanish food and wine selection are outstanding and not commonly found in other restos. Service was personal, never obsequious and very informative. Looking forward to our return visit(s).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great sharing menu Tapas style, nice selection of wine.excellent place to meet with friends . background music but not too loud.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here yet again. Every one of our dozen dishes was excellent--from rapini to squid to foie gras to bread and olives. First rate food, reasonably priced Spanish wine and excellent service from a knowledgeable server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was fantastic. The service was exceptional and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Amazing food and great service, people are friendly yet very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I went to Salt Wine Bar this past weekend with 2 other couples, the ambiance its great, food its very delicious (tapas); the service was good enough but not overly attentive. Pricy for sure but worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always always excellent. The service is on point with being too much.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Amazing drinks by friendly bartender Norm, the food was excellent ... those meatballs were VERY tasty!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was good. Price was high. It's possible to spend a lot and leave hungry.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Tapas style which we generally really like but the food came out very slow and in no particular order. The same garnishes/sauce was used in many of the different entrees. Not restaurant quality food. The server wasn't very friendly.. disappointed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food. Very creative and high quality. Engaging staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Second time to Salt - it was even better than the first visit. The staff are attentive and helpful. Food is unique and delicious. Cheese board not the best value but still enjoyable. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Overall very disappointing. Couldn't make a selection of wine based on anything since they didn't give descriptions. Wine we selected was sour and terrible odour. Food wasn't tapas, which is what we went there for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Amazing restaurant menu is always being updated . Staff is very kind and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Interesting food, imaginative wine list, knowledgeable and attentive staff. Would return any time I find myself in Toronto.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Great service. Kitchen is a tad slow with getting the plates out at times. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great night out with great food and service.
Would definitely come back and recommend it to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of our favourite spots in the city! Great food, great service and ambiance. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone for a perfect night out!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server was excellent. It makes for a nice evening out with good food in a nice atmosphere. I really enjoy going to Salt.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was average at best. Too much reliance on a sauce squeezed out of a ketchup bottle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day dinner. Very good meal, service and ambience. Deep list of Spanish and Portuguese wines. Interesting and tasty small plates. We will return

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was outstanding. Service was very good. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.