About Salt Wine Bar

225 Ossington Ave
Toronto, ON M6J 2Z8
View Larger Map

Located at the top of the Ossington strip, Salt wine bar offers a modern progressive approach to Iberian/Canadian tapas. Salt is a bustling, cozy, communal tapas bar with great energy. Our guests enjoy artisanal cheeses, Iberian charcuterie and an excellent variety of small plate dishes. Chef Dave Kemp is strongly committed to using seasonal and local products whenever possible. Our cellar contains an extensive list of Portuguese and Spanish wines which complement each and every dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Dundas street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 533-7258

Website:
http://saltrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Dave Kemp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras Terrine - Salt Wine Bar
fish tacos - Salt Wine Bar
Fluke Carpaccio - Salt Wine Bar
Benny - Salt Wine Bar
Passionfruit Creme Brulee - Salt Wine Bar
Scallops - Salt Wine Bar
Yukon Gold Frites - Salt Wine Bar
Bacon Cesar - Salt Wine Bar
Bison Tartare - Salt Wine Bar
Tuna Tartar - Salt Wine Bar
Grilled Lamb Merguez Sausage - Salt Wine Bar
Patatas Bravas - Salt Wine Bar
Shellfish Paella - Salt Wine Bar
  Cinnamon Churros, Chocolate Sauce - Salt Wine Bar
Grilled Spanish Octopus - Salt Wine Bar
Manchego Crostini - Salt Wine Bar
Scallop Ceviche - Salt Wine Bar
Pork Belly - Salt Wine Bar
Vanilla Bean Churros W/ Dulce De Leche - Salt Wine Bar
Iberico Bacon - Salt Wine Bar
Wild Grouper Ceviche Verde - Salt Wine Bar
Sticky Bbq Baby Back Ribs - Salt Wine Bar
Yellowfin Tuna Ceviche + Avocado Puree - Salt Wine Bar
Grilled Octopus Sans Choizo - Salt Wine Bar
Yellowfin Tuna Tiradito - Salt Wine Bar
beef short ribs - Salt Wine Bar
Crab Cakes - Salt Wine Bar
lamb tartare - Salt Wine Bar
Cod Taco - Salt Wine Bar
Foie Gras Terrine W/ Pickled Grapes - Salt Wine Bar
Bacon Ceasar - Salt Wine Bar
oxtail - Salt Wine Bar
Fluke Ceviche - Salt Wine Bar
Pulled Pork Tacos - Salt Wine Bar
Beat Salad - Salt Wine Bar
Cocktails - Salt Wine Bar
Crispy Salt Cod Croquettes - Salt Wine Bar
Crispy Confit Chicken Wings   Sweet Thai Chile Sauce &  Kaffir Lime Crema - Salt Wine Bar
Hawaiian Yellowfin Tuna Ceviche   Pineapple, Jicama, Mint, Jalapeno, Coriander, Lime & Avacado  - Salt Wine Bar
Alberta bison tartar w/ red chile, citrus soya, watercress coriander & ginger aioli - Salt Wine Bar
Spicy Grilled Calamari w/ chickpeas, sweet peppers, chorizo, lime & coriander  - Salt Wine Bar
Wild Ox Tail Ravioli w/ Mushrooms & Cream Sauce - Salt Wine Bar
baby arugala   figs, goat cheese, Jamon serrano & hazelnut vinaigrette - Salt Wine Bar
Chipotle Wild Boar Taco - Salt Wine Bar
Alberta Bison Carpaccio - Salt Wine Bar

Salt Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Toronto / Ontario
Notable Wine List
Toronto / Ontario
Fit for Foodies
Toronto
1 More
Notable Wine List
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Ossington ›

Fit for Foodies (35)
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Tapas (11)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious as always. The sea breem cevi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious as always. The sea breem ceviche is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food; excellent Portuguese win ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very good food; excellent Portuguese wine selection. Very loud and with a self absorbed birthday group there on Saturday night almost unbearable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Went last Saturday for girls-night-out. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went last Saturday for girls-night-out. Food was excellent - our fave was the gnocchi...if we could have licked the plate, we would have! Our server was excellent and attentive despite the packed restaurant. My only complaint is that we found it a little too loud and it felt like we were screaming to hear each other talk. Other than that, excellent restaurant...will definitely be back!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here was great. Not so many glu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food here was great. Not so many gluten free options but the food was so great! Service and cocktails were great too.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is exce ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is exceptional! We have gone at least 10 times and have always been blown away.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt Wine Bar is the perfect place to go ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Salt Wine Bar is the perfect place to go to sample all sorts of delicious food. It is fun to try a lot of different dishes. The food is excellent so it doesn't matter which dishes you choose. It is great for 2, 4 or a party of 8 people. Service is always excellent. This is my 4th time back and again it did not disappoint in any way.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was below average. Ironically, way ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was below average. Ironically, way too salty. Wine was fine. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Really enjoyed the menu and ambiance, th ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the menu and ambiance, the service was outstanding. Will return once again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was forgettable.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great meal. Amazing duck, gnocchi, pate ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great meal. Amazing duck, gnocchi, pate (portion rather small), olives were delicious, outstanding ceviche, short-ribs were fantastic, octopus too. Amazing service from Tristan and the vino verde was worth every penny. Thank You! we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently tasty, great house wines an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Consistently tasty, great house wines and solid service. Try the venison carpaccio- perfect and the grilled calamari is excellent. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it. Highly recommended. Every di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Loved it. Highly recommended. Every dish we ordered was very good. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I saw the reviews were great for Salt Wi ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I saw the reviews were great for Salt Wine Bar but it exceeded my expectations. The food was phenomenal. The braised short ribs just melted, the calamari was perfectly cooked and the meatballs were perfectly spiced. I often go to Patria and like Carmen as well for tapas but this was the best of the three.

Great service as well and the wine selection and knowledge is fantastic. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! Food, drinks, pe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was amazing! Food, drinks, people. The only thing was our server would periodically not hear us when we were ordering (i.e. forgot a dish, forgot drinks) and we would have to remind her or repeat a few times. Other than that, wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent tapas and wine bar

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

What a great find in a cool area of Toronto. The service was very familiar, each dish we had was delicious and the wine options were robust and eclectic. Definitely try this restaurant if you are in city of Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine selection was amazing! ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and wine selection was amazing!! Best churro see have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My entire group was impressed with off-t ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My entire group was impressed with off-the-radar Salt. Food was great ... wine advice was valuable. Try one of the Portuguese wines recommended by the sommelier.

We all said we want to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great spot for date night

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot for date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

NICE BUT PRICEY TAPAS

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We just came home from visiting Lisbon and Porto and falling love with their food, which was our motivation to try this restaurant.

I loved the decor and ambience. A long table for a group was fun, but it was rather problematic for those seated against the wall/opposite to the aisle or in the middle to get up and visit a washroom.

Our hostess was very charming, agreeable and attentive as well as accommodating. Servers were both polite and expeditious — we had no complaints for their food or service.

Tapas dishes are fun. All the dishes we ordered were delicious and very well presented, but we felt they were pricey for what they were. We were glad we decided to try this restaurant but not sure if any of us would return for this reason.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

30th Birthday with Friends!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We met a few friends here for a small surprise 30th birthday dinner for my boyfriend. It was our first time dining at this restaurant and I was very happy that we chose this place. It was the perfect ambiance and space for the type of dinner we were having. Very interesting and extensive wine list. The small plates menu was creative and everything was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I went to Salt Wine Bar with most closes ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I went to Salt Wine Bar with most closest friends to celebrate my birthday. It was everything I wanted.

A few of us arrived and got seated. The rest of my friends arrived and we started ordering. The atmosphere is relaxing and inviting; I feel like it encourages conversation and stepping away from our phones (albeit we were checking the Score to see how the Raptors were doing).

The food is delicious. I am never disappointed. With a good number of options, the menu accommodated all the food preferences at the table. We practically ordered everything on the menu. My favourite was the paella. The seafood was well cooked and the rice was al dente with the crispy texture you expect.

Service was exceptional. Norm and Tristan were working in the front that evening. Big shout out to Tristan, who was very attentive and frequently made sure we were taken care of.

Thank you to Salt for making my birthday special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If there are 4 of you don't bother with ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

If there are 4 of you don't bother with the cheese board or charcuterie - it's not value for money and comes across very very cheap. Otherwise the Resto is fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Outstanding cuisine

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I have eaten here several times and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was alright. Nothing I felt stuck o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was alright. Nothing I felt stuck out. The scallops and pork belly was the best dish we had. The table set up is a bit tight... Makes it annoying if you have a middle table, servers constantly knocking your elbow and placing their booty in your face.

Service, the weakest part of my experience. Order drinks... The food came first? ... My girlfriend got her glass of wine about 10 minutes before I got my drink. Why serve only one? ... Says bartender was busy. Yea ok, either he forgot my drink or the waitress did. Also, told us to order all at once or our next order will take 45 minutes. Tables were empty in 45min... Seemed a bit exaggerated. Overall, for the price don't think I'll revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Still just as amazing!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

So when I lived in Toronto over a year ago my husband and I would come to Salt wine bar every month or so and it was our spot for dates. I booked our dinner last week after not having been in Toronto for over a year. We got there and everyone remembered us, asked us about our move to New York, gave us hugs and made us feel like family. Once again the food and wine was absolutely fantastic, and we're already planning our next trip to Toronto, including this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great experience

 
 (London)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Top notch food - well thought out menu with great cocktails in an intimate space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Always Amazing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Toronto. We've been coming for years and have loved every penny spent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

such a wonderful evening! can't wait to go back!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

we hada great evening and every dish was better then we expected!

our server suggested the duck dish which we wouldn't normally have ordered and it was phenomenal!

the wine recommended was the perfect bottle (or 3) to compliment our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Perfect Night

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We went on a Sunday night during the Super Bowl, so the place was practically empty. This was fine with us because the staff were very attentive. I had a glass of the Acon Crianza Tempranillo... nice easy to drink full-bodied wine. We enjoyed the bread & olives (the spicy spread was so good!), charcuterie board, steak & frites, crab cakes, crispy prawns, baby back ribs fell off the bone, and the duck confit was delish. The gnocchi was alright... it could have been richer and cheesier. Love the vibe of the place. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect pre show destination

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

A go-to spot for a quick tapas, cocktails and wine pre-show at the local Lower Ossington Theatre. Staff is always accommodating for quick turnaround without sacrificing service and quality taste and presentation of dishes !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Salt offers a wonderful combination of warm, interesting ambience with dependably excellent food. We've been to many of the latest hot restaurants that Toronto Life seems to love, but often there's more sizzle than substance. Not so here. This was our third visit. The menu changes each time, but our enjoyment has been constant. The charcuterie was first-rate and varied. The duck confit was incredibly tender and flavourful, maybe the best we've had anywhere. The patatas bravas are always good, and the crab cake was moist, delicious and surrounded by a creative and balancing garnish. Salt remains one of our favourites in TO.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicely presented and well-seasoned tapas ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Nicely presented and well-seasoned tapas style dishes. Attentive and friendly service. Comfortable room. Great menu to share with a small group. Nice selection to suit all tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was fantastic. We've come her ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Everything was fantastic. We've come here many times over the past two years. The service is great, and wine selection is very good. Definitely a must when in Toronto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit to this great little restau ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Second visit to this great little restaurant. Creative dishes and presentation. I would highly recommend the Scallops and Braised Pork Belly and the Grilled Octopus. Oh yes, and the Churros for dessert. Do not miss them! Our waitress was super! Friendly and very attentive. Be forewarned that the small plates are can get expensive, as is the wine list (200% mark-ups). You will need at least 5 dishes for two people...plus those Churros!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Cosy spot, interesting food/drink

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our late dinner at Salt. Ambiance was cosy, good buzz but not terribly loud.

Most of menu items were interesting and well-executed. Winter menu seems filled with hearty small plates, but there were enough non-meat choices for my partner and I (pescatarians) to find some interesting things. Octopus dish was outstanding - we ordered it once, and then re-ordered another one instead of dessert! Interesting wine list, mostly Portugese bottles. I especially appreciated the many interesting choices by the glass - so many places call themselves "wine bars" when they really are not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food is always very good.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Service and food is always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing attention to detail - from food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Amazing attention to detail - from food to service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt is a great dining experience

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Great food - tartar is excellent as us the hamache ceviche. Only item to avoid is the lamb sausage - it is executed in a weird way - rare is okay (but not for everyone) but should be better cooked/charred on the outside.

Everything else is very yummy. Great tapas style place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

With a group of 11 on a snow night in TO, pre-show tapas snacks and some excellent wine greeted us. Food was outstanding and the wine list extensive. Loved the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't miss it!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

The food at Salt is ever changing and always exceptional in a laid back atmosphere. Great cocktails also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.