About Salt Wine Bar

225 Ossington Ave
Toronto, ON M6J 2Z8
View Larger Map

Located at the top of the Ossington strip, Salt wine bar offers a modern progressive approach to Iberian/Canadian tapas. Salt is a bustling, cozy, communal tapas bar with great energy. Our guests enjoy artisanal cheeses, Iberian charcuterie and an excellent variety of small plate dishes. Chef Dave Kemp is strongly committed to using seasonal and local products whenever possible. Our cellar contains an extensive list of Portuguese and Spanish wines which complement each and every dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Dundas street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 533-7258

Website:
http://saltrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Dave Kemp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Foie Gras Terrine - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
fish tacos - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Fluke Carpaccio - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Benny - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Passionfruit Creme Brulee - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Scallops - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Yukon Gold Frites - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Bacon Cesar - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Bison Tartare - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Tuna Tartar - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Grilled Lamb Merguez Sausage - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Patatas Bravas - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Shellfish Paella - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
  Cinnamon Churros, Chocolate Sauce - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Grilled Spanish Octopus - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Manchego Crostini - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Scallop Ceviche - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Pork Belly - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Vanilla Bean Churros W/ Dulce De Leche - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Iberico Bacon - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Wild Grouper Ceviche Verde - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Sticky Bbq Baby Back Ribs - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Yellowfin Tuna Ceviche + Avocado Puree - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Grilled Octopus Sans Choizo - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Yellowfin Tuna Tiradito - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
beef short ribs - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Crab Cakes - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
lamb tartare - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Cod Taco - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Foie Gras Terrine W/ Pickled Grapes - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Bacon Ceasar - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
oxtail - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Fluke Ceviche - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Pulled Pork Tacos - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Beat Salad - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Cocktails - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Crispy Salt Cod Croquettes - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Crispy Confit Chicken Wings   Sweet Thai Chile Sauce &  Kaffir Lime Crema - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Hawaiian Yellowfin Tuna Ceviche   Pineapple, Jicama, Mint, Jalapeno, Coriander, Lime & Avacado  - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Alberta bison tartar w/ red chile, citrus soya, watercress coriander & ginger aioli - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Spicy Grilled Calamari w/ chickpeas, sweet peppers, chorizo, lime & coriander  - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Wild Ox Tail Ravioli w/ Mushrooms & Cream Sauce - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
baby arugala   figs, goat cheese, Jamon serrano & hazelnut vinaigrette - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Chipotle Wild Boar Taco - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON
Alberta Bison Carpaccio - Salt Wine Bar, Toronto, ON

Salt Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (16)
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We very much enjoyed the restaurant. It ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We very much enjoyed the restaurant. It was our first time at Salt. The food was great; it's a nice space; and the staff were helpful and friendly. Overall it was excellent; and we look forward to returning in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice ambience. The food was good but no ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice ambience. The food was good but not outstanding. The service was good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome experience. I would recommend ha ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome experience. I would recommend having a cocktail at the bar before dinner. The bar staff are not only knowledgeable but creative. The food was excellent, we ordered the beef tenderloin , ceviche, meat balls and octopus plus the special green vegetable. Finished off with an order of the churros, which were excellent. Our servers were super and professional. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Salt was great. Tasty cocktail ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always Salt was great. Tasty cocktails at the bar to begin with. Fabulous Portuguese wines. Delicious tapas. Hillary is the quintessential server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Server noted my ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was outstanding. Server noted my dinner partner was lactose-intolerant and had salad's cheese topping placed Into a separate container. Was also very pro-active in telling her what dishes to avoid ordering.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as always.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fifth visit. Salt is consistently delic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fifth visit. Salt is consistently delicious high quality tapas. Seabream ceviche, duck and tenderloin were particularly good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cocktails. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and cocktails. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wines. Highly recommend the bacon infused old fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely room, attentive and knowledgeab ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A lovely room, attentive and knowledgeable service and of course delicious pitch-perfect food. My favourite restaurant in Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were warmly welcomed. The service was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were warmly welcomed. The service was discreet and professional. The food was superb, the ambiance warm. We had the Cape Breton Snow Crab Cakes with Grapefruit and Aioli Salad, the Cheese Board with Quince Paste and the Churros with Dulce de Leche with Calvados. I had a Stella & Liane had water. Phénoménal!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We keep coming back here for the amazing ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We keep coming back here for the amazing food that takes your palette on an adventure. Had the fall salad, lamb meatballs, sea bream ceviche and grilled octopus. All were delicious but especially enjoyed the ceviche, so many flavours! Topped it off with their version of cream brûlée and it made for a perfect meal. Our server was also excellent and suggested some nice Portuguese wine to go along with our food. Highly recommend Salt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average on taste buds, below average in ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Average on taste buds, below average in portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

I thought the restaurant was superb. Th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I thought the restaurant was superb. The food was excellent and well priced, however, the wine (where your profit margins are) we felt was a bit pricey. We'd return again but, would simply reduce our wine consumption.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great overall service! It was my first t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great overall service! It was my first time trying Iberian inspired food, I was expecting something different, unfortunately it was below my expectations! The atmosphere is very trendy and eye catchy. Really like the concept of showing off Spanish and Portuguese wine bottles, prodominately!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We have been to Salt a few times and eve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to Salt a few times and every meal is executed with attention to flavour and freshness. The unique, Portuguese wine list is a treat as are the dessert wines. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Lots of great tastes and flavours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place - highly recommend it....per ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place - highly recommend it....perfect for date night or even girls night out....

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was really good but the cha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

everything was really good but the charcuterie tray lacked a bit , it was not enough for 3 people

and I thought the waiter should have mentioned that

having said all that Tristan our server was AWESOME on wine selection and he was very attentive without hovering

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Really enjoyed all the dishes, very rela ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Really enjoyed all the dishes, very relaxed and fun atmosphere . Wine was fantastic.

Price point is a bit high considering you would need quite a few dishes to share.

I would still go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2ND VISIT AND LOVED IT! GRAP TAPAS AND ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 3, 2016

2ND VISIT AND LOVED IT! GRAP TAPAS AND THE WINE WAS OUTSTANDING. WILL BE BACK AGAIN!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed the varied menu - especially goo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Enjoyed the varied menu - especially good - spiced lamb meatballs

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious as always. The sea breem cevi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Delicious as always. The sea breem ceviche is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I read about the tapas at Salt and decid ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I read about the tapas at Salt and decided to make a reservation for a nice Saturday evening dinner. I particularly enjoy the Ossington strip for their selection of great dining and drink options.

Arriving on time for my reservation, my first impression was not great; waiting at the front reception desk for 8 mins without any staff acknowledgment. The restaurant was busy, but not particularly full and it wasn't until I walked to the end of the bar and asked about being seated, before anyone looked up. I was dismissed by a gentleman behind the bar, saying he'd be a minute. A young lady approached me and I thought she'd seat my husband and I, but instead she demanded I go back to the front and wait. I was upset and normally would have made my way to the Greek tapas restaurant with superb customer service up the street, but I wanted to give the restaurant and dining experience a fair shot, so we stayed.

We ordered the shishito peppers (an absolute must! They are perfection!) , octopus and meatballs. The cocktails were good and well bodied.

As a foodie and a frequent visitor of the Toronto dining scene, I am particularly disappointed by the service provided by Salt and would not recommend the restaurant based on the lack of professionalism by their staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Very good food; excellent Portuguese win ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very good food; excellent Portuguese wine selection. Very loud and with a self absorbed birthday group there on Saturday night almost unbearable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Went last Saturday for girls-night-out. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went last Saturday for girls-night-out. Food was excellent - our fave was the gnocchi...if we could have licked the plate, we would have! Our server was excellent and attentive despite the packed restaurant. My only complaint is that we found it a little too loud and it felt like we were screaming to hear each other talk. Other than that, excellent restaurant...will definitely be back!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here was great. Not so many glu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food here was great. Not so many gluten free options but the food was so great! Service and cocktails were great too.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is exce ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is exceptional! We have gone at least 10 times and have always been blown away.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salt Wine Bar is the perfect place to go ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Salt Wine Bar is the perfect place to go to sample all sorts of delicious food. It is fun to try a lot of different dishes. The food is excellent so it doesn't matter which dishes you choose. It is great for 2, 4 or a party of 8 people. Service is always excellent. This is my 4th time back and again it did not disappoint in any way.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was below average. Ironically, way ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was below average. Ironically, way too salty. Wine was fine. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Really enjoyed the menu and ambiance, th ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the menu and ambiance, the service was outstanding. Will return once again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was forgettable.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great meal. Amazing duck, gnocchi, pate ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great meal. Amazing duck, gnocchi, pate (portion rather small), olives were delicious, outstanding ceviche, short-ribs were fantastic, octopus too. Amazing service from Tristan and the vino verde was worth every penny. Thank You! we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently tasty, great house wines an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Consistently tasty, great house wines and solid service. Try the venison carpaccio- perfect and the grilled calamari is excellent. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it. Highly recommended. Every di ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Loved it. Highly recommended. Every dish we ordered was very good. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I saw the reviews were great for Salt Wi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I saw the reviews were great for Salt Wine Bar but it exceeded my expectations. The food was phenomenal. The braised short ribs just melted, the calamari was perfectly cooked and the meatballs were perfectly spiced. I often go to Patria and like Carmen as well for tapas but this was the best of the three.

Great service as well and the wine selection and knowledge is fantastic. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! Food, drinks, pe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was amazing! Food, drinks, people. The only thing was our server would periodically not hear us when we were ordering (i.e. forgot a dish, forgot drinks) and we would have to remind her or repeat a few times. Other than that, wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent tapas and wine bar

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2016

What a great find in a cool area of Toronto. The service was very familiar, each dish we had was delicious and the wine options were robust and eclectic. Definitely try this restaurant if you are in city of Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine selection was amazing! ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and wine selection was amazing!! Best churro see have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My entire group was impressed with off-t ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

My entire group was impressed with off-the-radar Salt. Food was great ... wine advice was valuable. Try one of the Portuguese wines recommended by the sommelier.

We all said we want to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great spot for date night

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great spot for date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

NICE BUT PRICEY TAPAS

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2016

We just came home from visiting Lisbon and Porto and falling love with their food, which was our motivation to try this restaurant.

I loved the decor and ambience. A long table for a group was fun, but it was rather problematic for those seated against the wall/opposite to the aisle or in the middle to get up and visit a washroom.

Our hostess was very charming, agreeable and attentive as well as accommodating. Servers were both polite and expeditious — we had no complaints for their food or service.

Tapas dishes are fun. All the dishes we ordered were delicious and very well presented, but we felt they were pricey for what they were. We were glad we decided to try this restaurant but not sure if any of us would return for this reason.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.