About Salt Wine Bar

Located at the top of the Ossington strip, Salt wine bar offers a modern progressive approach to Iberian/Canadian tapas. Salt is a bustling, cozy, communal tapas bar with great energy. Our guests enjoy artisanal cheeses, Iberian charcuterie and an excellent variety of small plate dishes. Chef Dave Kemp is strongly committed to using seasonal and local products whenever possible. Our cellar contains an extensive list of Portuguese and Spanish wines which complement each and every dish.

225 Ossington Ave
Toronto, ON M6J 2Z8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Dundas street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 533-7258

Website:
http://saltrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Dave Kemp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Wine

Salt Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (15)
Fun (15)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was good. Price was high. It's possible to spend a lot and leave hungry.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Tapas style which we generally really like but the food came out very slow and in no particular order. The same garnishes/sauce was used in many of the different entrees. Not restaurant quality food. The server wasn't very friendly.. disappointed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food. Very creative and high quality. Engaging staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Second time to Salt - it was even better than the first visit. The staff are attentive and helpful. Food is unique and delicious. Cheese board not the best value but still enjoyable. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Overall very disappointing. Couldn't make a selection of wine based on anything since they didn't give descriptions. Wine we selected was sour and terrible odour. Food wasn't tapas, which is what we went there for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Amazing restaurant menu is always being updated . Staff is very kind and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Interesting food, imaginative wine list, knowledgeable and attentive staff. Would return any time I find myself in Toronto.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food. Great service. Kitchen is a tad slow with getting the plates out at times. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great night out with great food and service.
Would definitely come back and recommend it to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of our favourite spots in the city! Great food, great service and ambiance. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone for a perfect night out!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server was excellent. It makes for a nice evening out with good food in a nice atmosphere. I really enjoy going to Salt.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was average at best. Too much reliance on a sauce squeezed out of a ketchup bottle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day dinner. Very good meal, service and ambience. Deep list of Spanish and Portuguese wines. Interesting and tasty small plates. We will return

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was outstanding. Service was very good. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food. Great wine list. Hideously bad music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I live in Texas and have been coming to Salt EVERY time I travel to Toronto, for at least the last 3 years. The food is always unbelievable, and the service is even better. I usually come with a group of business associates, so between the 5-10 of us, we pretty much order everything on the menu and share (it is a Tapas place). Very creative and the attention to detail regarding the mixing of flavors, textures, and spices always makes me wanting more. The ambiance is inviting with it being wall to wall wine bottles, of which they have a fantastic selection for any budget. I will most definitely be back the next time I'm in Toronto.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good restaurant but our particular server this time around was sub-par. Hopefully won't get the same one the next time around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent meal! Each of the tapas was delicately flavoured and nicely presented. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Loved the staff! Even got a complementary birthday shot! :)

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Organic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Loved the calamari and winter salad. The venison meatballs could be made into four small instead of two huge making the dish more appealing. Service was fast but lacked any warmth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant for it's laid back casual vibe, great sharing menu, and decent wine list. Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised to find out it is a Portuguese wine bar with several Vino Verdes on the wine list. The service and the food was fabulous--all four us, all foodies, enjoyed every dish. The menu has selection sufficient enough to work around the plant-based eaters, carnivores, nut allergy, gluten sensitivities, etc., etc., etc.

The only criticism would be the value. Each sharing plate was relatively small with literally only enough for one bite for four people. At about $15/plate I would have expected a little bit more food per plate. Our server recommended 10-12 plates for a table of 4 which we felt was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first time at Salt Wine Bar and it won't be the last. The food was absolutely incredibly and the recommendations by our server were fantastic. I would highly recommend trying!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went out to eat with another couple with baby - we also had a baby with us. They don't have high chairs (we assume that was a message of "we don't want babies here") but regardless they accommodated us and the service was great. All our dishes were really good but I thought somewhat pricey for the portion sizes. I would recommend as the good was delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Booked this restaurant sight unseen for my birthday. The staff was great and so was the food and drink. A definite recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My favourite restaurant in the city. Good people. Delicious food. Amazing atmosphere. Fantastic wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We very much enjoyed the restaurant. It was our first time at Salt. The food was great; it's a nice space; and the staff were helpful and friendly. Overall it was excellent; and we look forward to returning in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice ambience. The food was good but not outstanding. The service was good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome experience. I would recommend having a cocktail at the bar before dinner. The bar staff are not only knowledgeable but creative. The food was excellent, we ordered the beef tenderloin , ceviche, meat balls and octopus plus the special green vegetable. Finished off with an order of the churros, which were excellent. Our servers were super and professional. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always Salt was great. Tasty cocktails at the bar to begin with. Fabulous Portuguese wines. Delicious tapas. Hillary is the quintessential server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was outstanding. Server noted my dinner partner was lactose-intolerant and had salad's cheese topping placed Into a separate container. Was also very pro-active in telling her what dishes to avoid ordering.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fifth visit. Salt is consistently delicious high quality tapas. Seabream ceviche, duck and tenderloin were particularly good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and cocktails. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wines. Highly recommend the bacon infused old fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A lovely room, attentive and knowledgeable service and of course delicious pitch-perfect food. My favourite restaurant in Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were warmly welcomed. The service was discreet and professional. The food was superb, the ambiance warm. We had the Cape Breton Snow Crab Cakes with Grapefruit and Aioli Salad, the Cheese Board with Quince Paste and the Churros with Dulce de Leche with Calvados. I had a Stella & Liane had water. Phénoménal!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We keep coming back here for the amazing food that takes your palette on an adventure. Had the fall salad, lamb meatballs, sea bream ceviche and grilled octopus. All were delicious but especially enjoyed the ceviche, so many flavours! Topped it off with their version of cream brûlée and it made for a perfect meal. Our server was also excellent and suggested some nice Portuguese wine to go along with our food. Highly recommend Salt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Average on taste buds, below average in portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I thought the restaurant was superb. The food was excellent and well priced, however, the wine (where your profit margins are) we felt was a bit pricey. We'd return again but, would simply reduce our wine consumption.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great overall service! It was my first time trying Iberian inspired food, I was expecting something different, unfortunately it was below my expectations! The atmosphere is very trendy and eye catchy. Really like the concept of showing off Spanish and Portuguese wine bottles, prodominately!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to Salt a few times and every meal is executed with attention to flavour and freshness. The unique, Portuguese wine list is a treat as are the dessert wines. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Lots of great tastes and flavours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.